A County Older Than the State – Autauga County
Created in 1818 by an act of Alabama Territorial
Legislature. Autauga Indians lived on the creek from
which the county takes its name. Autaugas were members
of the Alibamo tribe. They sent many warriors to resist
Andrew Jackson's invasion in the Creek War. This county
was part of the territory ceded by the Creeks in the
Treaty of Ft. Jackson in 1814. Prattville has been the
county seat since 1868. Earlier seats include: Jackson's
Mill, Washington, Kingston.
Albert J. Pickett
(1810-1858) Scholar, planter, and trader, Alabama's
first historian lived on the plantation nearby. From
traders and Indians he gathered materials for his
authentic history of early Alabama and the Southeast.
Alabama was named for this tribe which lived along
the Alabama River. About 1702 the French found them
settled here. The Treaty of Ft. Jackson forced them to
move east of the Coosa River in 1814.
Buena Vista, Montgomery-Janes-Wittaker Home
(circa 1830) This antebellum plantation house was
completed by Capt. William Montgomery, a contemporary of
Prattville's founder, Daniel Pratt. This "Deep South"
architecture reflects the Federal style with the later
addition of a Colonial Revival facade that includes a
portico with Ionic Columns and a cast ironwork balcony.
Interesting features of this structure are the
delicately crafted fanlights over the front entrance and
in the gable ends. A circular staircase spiraling 24
feet highlights the interior along with the elaborate
plaster cornice moldings and spectacular ceiling
medallions. The home is presently owned by the Union
Camp Corporation and is maintained by the Autauga County
Heritage Association. Buena Vista was placed on the
National Register of Historic Places in 1974.
Daniel Pratt Cemetery
Final resting place of early Alabama industrialist
Daniel Pratt, 1799-1873, and wife Ester Ticknor Pratt,
1803-1875. He was from New Hampshire and she,
Connecticut. Married 1827 at Fortville, Jones County,
Georgia. The former carpenter's apprentice practiced his
craft in Milledgeville, GA, where he gained skill in
building and design. In 1832 Pratt came to Alabama to
build cotton gins. Ester encouraged Pratt to remain in
Alabama in order for him to establish a manufacturing
complex and the village of Prattville, founded 1839. In
1847 Pratt was the recipient of the University of
Alabama's first honorary degree. His design strongly
influenced the 1851 rebuilding of the State Capitol.
Pratt served as a legislator during the Civil War
Daniel Pratt Historic District
Listed on the National Register 1984. Marker placed
by Historic Prattville Redevelopment Authority and
Autauga County Heritage Association for the City of
Southern itinerant painter was born in Maryland in
1793; married Maria Heath of Virginia in 1815. His wide
range of work included landscapes, portraits, and
religious and historical subjects. Many of his works,
including "Interior of St. Peter's- Rome," are owned by
the University of Georgia. Cooke studied in Europe,
1826-1831, where he met poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow,
a lifelong friend. Cooke's 1849 death occurred in New
Orleans, he was buried here near the Pratt gallery which
has displayed his art as a tribute to his life and work.
Indian Springs Post Office
Location of considerable community activity in the
early nineteenth-century Autauga County.
Line 32° 28' North Latitude
Northern Boundary of: British West Florida, 1764-83;
Spanish West Florida, 1783-95; Mississippi Territory,
1798-1804; Washington County, 1800-12; Clarke County,
1812-15. Southern Boundary of: British Illinois,
1764-83; United States, 1783-95. This line fixed in 1764
by the British king across present Alabama-Mississippi.
France had ceded area to Britain in 1763.
Mulbry Grove Cottage McWilliams-Smith-Rice House
Built circa 1840s by A.K. McWilliams, this story and
one-half Federal-style raised cottage with Greek Revival
elements was the residence of Amos Smith, who named the
town of Prattville. Occupied for many years by George L.
and Abbie Holt Smith, the house remained in the hands of
their descendants until 1995. Charles Rice, a nephew by
marriage of George and Abbie Smith's son, Frederick D.
Smith, donated it to the Autauga County Heritage
Association and the City of Prattville for use as a
museum. This antebellum home is listed on the National
Register of Historic Places as inclusive in the Daniel
Pratt Historic District.
Old Autauga County Courthouse
1870 The county's third courthouse was used until
1906. George Littlefield Smith, an early citizen of
Prattville, designed and built the Italianate-style
structure. Earlier county seats were Washington, then
Old Plank Road
Circa 1840's The plank road was constructed of large
pine logs, sawed lengthwise and laid round-side down.
Daniel Pratt built the road for public benefit and to
provide transportation from the Pratt Cotton Gin Factory
to Washington on the Alabama River. Over four-miles
long, the road cost between eight- and ten-thousand
dollars to construct. Cotton gins from Pratt's factory
were shipped all over the globe. Under the name
"Continental Eagle," this factory remains the largest
cotton gin manufacturer in the world.
Pratt Gin Mill
Once the world's largest plant manufacturing cotton
gins. Founded 1833 by Daniel Pratt, the greatest
industrialist of Alabama prior to 1860. Pratt's many
industries were of great aid to Confederacy during
Circa 1842 Daniel Pratt, Prattville's founding
father, constructed an imposing home and garden within a
quarter-mile of this site on Autauga Creek, near his
industrial complex. The large home was designed and
erected by Pratt himself, a noted architect/builder. The
white frame house featured New England architectural
elements characteristic of Pratt's style and
incroporated a narrow, two-story portico and balcony.
Pratt also added an art gallery to the home displaying
paintings by George Cooke, a southern artist supported
by Pratt. The grape vineyard on the hillside behind the
house provided wine for entertaining the Pratt home.
Erected during the 1999 Daniel Pratt "Alabama Year of
Industry" Celebration in Honor of Daniel Pratt's 200th
Prattville Male and Female Academy Site
The 1859 Italianate-style brick structure was built
by Daniel Pratt. The bell which hung in the belfry above
the second floor now may be seen in the school yard on
Washington Street. In April 1861 the Prattville Dragoons
mustered here before departing for encampment and were
presented a silk flag by the young women of the Academy.
In 1927 the original building was replaced by the
present structure, one of several in Alabama built on
the same plan. The architect is unknown but the design
has been attributed to Frank Lockwood. Reverse Sidney
Lanier 1842-1881 The poet and musician, born in Macon,
Georgia, was Academy principal in 1867-68. He married
Mary H. Day of Macon in December 1867. In Prattville,
they lived at the Mims Hotel and later in Dr. S.P.
Smith's home. Following a brief legal career in Georgia,
Lanier became first flutist in 1873 with the Peabody
Orchestra in Baltimore and in 1879 was appointed as
lecturer in English Literature at Johns Hopkins
University. He wrote the words for the American
Centennial Cantata and his poetry includes, "The Marshes
of Glynn" and "Song of the Chattahoochee." The poet's
experiments with musical sound in verse were a
significant literary contribution. Lanier died at the
age of 39 from the tuberculosis he had contracted as an
imprisoned Confederate soldier during the Civil War. He
was buried in Greenmount Cemetery in Baltimore.
Spanish West Florida, 1764-83
Colony's north boundary crossed present-day
Alabama-Mississippi at this point on 32° 28' by edict of
the British king. Colony extended south to the Gulf.
France had ceded area in 1763. Spain invaded and seized
area in 1780. Britain ceded to Spain in 1783. Spain
ceded part to U.S. in 1795.
Thomas Hill House
Site of first Court after Autauga became a County
Union Baptist Meeting House 1830s forerunner of First
Baptist Church The above sites were located within ½
mile radius of this spot.
A County Older Than the State–Baldwin County
Third oldest county in Alabama. Created in 1809 while
still part of Mississippi Territory. Named for Abraham
Baldwin (1754-1807), founder of the University of
Georgia, delegate to the Constitutional Convention,
member of Congress, 1789-1807. This county once lay west
of the Tombigbee River; but, after series of boundary
changes, it now lies east of the Mobile and Alabama
Rivers. County seat at Bay Minette since 1901; earlier
seats at McIntosh Bluff, Blakely, and Daphne. It has
long been a center of conflicting claims: by Spain,
France, and England; by royal governors of Florida,
Louisiana, Carolina, Georgia, and West Florida until the
Mississippi Territory formed in 1798 and from it, the
Alabama Territory in 1817. In struggle for control of
the Southeast, many armies have camped in this area:
1528–Narvez, Spanish conquistador 1588–DeLuna, Spanish
colonizer 1719–Bienville, French colonizer 1780–Galvez,
Spanish conqueror 1813–Red Eagle, Indian revolter
1814–Jackson, American defender 1815–Packenham, British
invader 1864–Maury, Confederate defender 1865–Canby,
Confederate Rest Cemetery
The Grand Hotel and the Gunnison House served as a
hospital for wounded Confederate soldiers from the
Battle of Vicksberg during the Civil War. The
Confederate Rest Cemetery commemorates more than 300
Confederate soldiers who died while in the hospital. The
original tract of seven acres included markers erected
to the Unknown Confederate Dead. The records of the
soldiers were kept in the hotel until a fire in 1869,
when the identities of those buried in Confederate Rest
Erected April 9th, 1799 Marks 1st Southern Boundary
of the United States and the Mississippi Territory
created in 1798 900 feet East Stone marked 31° North
Latitude separating the U.S. & Spanish Florida. This
line of demarcation ran from the Mississippi east, along
the 31° parallel to the Chattahoochie River, thence down
that river to the mouth of the Flint River, thence on a
line to the headwaters of the St. Mary's River, thence
down that river to the Atlantic Ocean. Major Andrew
Ellicott, appointed by George Washington as U.S.
Commissioner to survey the boundary as defined in the
Treaty of San Lorenzo (1795), was engaged in this
expedition from 1796-1800. Esteban Minor was appointed
Commissioner on the Spanish side. In 1803, the Ellicott
Stone was selected as the Initial Point to begin the
U.S. Public Land Surveys which control land boundaries
in southern Alabama & Mississippi (St. Stephens
Built during War of 1812. 1803 United States claimed
Mobile and the bay as part of Louisiana Purchase. 1813
On order of President Madison, this point seized from
Spain by U.S. Regulars under Gen. James Wilkinson and
militia under Col. John Bowyer. This act extended
Mississippi Territory to Bay area. Fort Bowyer, a wooden
fort, was built here. 1814 British with Indian allies
attacked Fort by land and sea. After three days of
fierce assault, the British ship Hermes was sunk; the
enemy withdrew to friendly Spanish port of Pensacola.
1815 After Battle of New Orleans, British under Gen.
Pakenham attacked here with 500 men from land and 38 war
ships. Maj. Lawrence, U.S.A. surrendered with 360 men on
the third day. Since peace treaty had already been
signed, British retained Fort Bowyer only a few weeks.
Americans again occupied the Fort. 1819 work begun on
construction of brick fort. 1822 Fort greatly
strengthened as urged by President James Monroe. Later
renamed Fort Morgan.
1833 This fort replaced Fort Bowyer. Built on the
star-shaped design of Michelangelo, it is one of the
finest examples of military architecture in the New
World. 1861 Seized by Alabama troops on order of
Governor Moore. 1861-1864 Strengthened and garrisoned by
Confederates guarding the pass against Federal
blockading fleet. Guns of fort protected
blockade-runners in and out of Mobile Bay. 1864 Admiral
Farragut, U.S.N., forcing passage into bay, landed 3000
men. After heavy bombardment by Federal fleet, the
interior of Fort lay in smoldering ruins. The garrison
surrendered next afternoon. 1865 General Canby U.S.A.
landed nearby with 32,500 troops and supplies. He moved
up east shore of bay to join 13,200 men from Pensacola
and laid siege to defenses of Mobile. 1898 During War
with Spain the Fort was strengthened and modernized.
1946 Congress deeded the Fort and 400 acres to Alabama
for use as State Park.
Fort Mims Massacre
Here in the Creek Indian War (1813-14) took place the
most brutal massacre in American history. Indians took
the fort with heavy losses, and then killed all but
about 36 of some 550 in the fort. The Creeks had been
armed by British at Pensacola in this phase of War of
Kennedy Mill, C. 1811
Site of one of Alabama's first sawmills. In 1811,
Joshua Kennedy engaged Jesse Ember to build two
water-powered sawmills, convertible to grist mills, for
a total of $1400. The mills were operated by Kennedy
through 1820; were burned twice, once by Indians. The
mill dam and site were later used by the Bryne Brothers,
and then by Hastic & Silver Co. until 1906, when they
The Mound Line
(Ellicott Line) Mile Mound #216 located 1200 feet
East Surveyed in 1799 to mark the 31° North Latitude,
this line charted the first southern boundary of the
United States, separating the U.S. from Spanish Florida.
The line was marked at one-mile intervals by earthen
mounds approximately fifteen-feet square and three-feet
high with a charred lighter-pine post at the center,
hence the name Mound Line. Jointly surveyed by Major
Andrew Ellicott, U.S. Commissioner, and Esteban Minor,
Spanish Commissioner, to determine boundaries as agreed
in the Treaty of San Lorenzo in 1795. The line began at
the Mississippi River, ran east along 31° North Latitude
to the Chattahoochie River, thence eventually to the
Atlantic Ocean. Stockton was divided by this line, with
some residents living in the United States and some in
Spanish Florida. Although Stockton became a "border
town," U.S. law generally prevailed in the area.
Noble Leslie DeVotie
First Alabama soldier to die in the Civil War.
Drowned February 12, 1861, while on duty as chaplain of
the Alabama troops here. Before enlisting, he was the
pastor of Selma Baptist Church. He was 23 at time of
death. Noble Leslie DeVotie–First Alabama soldier to
lose life in Civil War. DeVotie graduated in 1856 from
University of Alabama; Presbyterian Theological Seminary
at Princeton in 1859. In 1856 at the University of
Alabama, he was chief founder of Sigma Alpha Epsilon
Fraternity, the only national social fraternity founded
in the Deep South. (Located at Fort Morgan)
School of Organic Education
On this site, a significant educational experiment
was launched by Marietta Johnson, who founded the School
of Organic Education in 1907. Believing that children
should be motivated by natural free development rather
than by competition, she did away with examinations and
concentrated on the growth of the whole person. In 1909,
the Single Tax Corporation provided this 10-acre plot.
John Dewey, whose progressive education principles were
shared by Johnson, visited the school in 1913. The
school reached its zenith during the 1920's. The City of
Fairhope acquired the campus in 1987 and leased it to
Faulkner State Junior College. Listed on the National
Register of Historic Places in 1988.
Barbour County was incorporated on December 19, 1857.
Bluff city on the Chattahoochee River. Lower Creek
village of the Eufaula Indians antedating 1733. Early
white settlers began moving into the village called
Yufala in 1823. Irwinton was chartered in 1832, and was
renamed Eufaula in 1843. Since it was a hub of a
prosperous plantation region with thriving river trade,
many antebellum homes remain as signs of its wealth and
culture. After becoming an inland port in 1963,
industries began locating here.
Bibb Naval Furnaces Brierfield Furnaces
The principal iron producer for the Confederate
foundry at Selma, where naval guns and ironclads were
made. 1865–Furnaces destroyed by Wilson's Raiders,
U.S.A. 1866–Furnaces rebuilt and operated by Gen.
Gorgas, former Ordnance Chief, C.S.A.
April 1, 1865–A cavalry engagement here among
fiercest of the Civil War. To defend arsenal of Selma,
Forrest (Confederate flag) charged with 1500 into Wilson
(U.S. flag), moving south with 7500. Forrest was seeking
to delay Wilson pending the arrival of scattered
(Confederate flag) units. Forrest, involved in heavy
fighting to inspire his men, suffered a saber wound, but
killed opponent. Swollen streams and intercepted orders
blocked aid for Forrest and forced his retreat. (Located
on Alabama Highway 189)
Haysop Baptist Church
In the Lord's Service At this Location Since Summer
1830 Rededicated With Our Prayers In Its 150th Year
A County Older Than the State – Blount County
Created Feb. 7, 1818 by Alabama Territorial
Legislature from lands ceded by the Creek Indian Nation.
Named for the Tennessee Governor W. G. Blount, who sent
militia under Andrew Jackson to punish the Creeks for
Fort Mims massacre. Jackson fought and won the Creek
War. Creeks gave up half of their lands in Treaty of Ft.
Jackson, 1814. Some of Jackson's men were first settlers
of Blount. County seat moved here in 1889.
May 1, 1863–Nathan Bedford Forrest attacked Colonel
Streight's column as it crossed Locust's swift waters,
causing the Federal troops to make tremendous exertions
to complete the movement, contributing thereby to
Streight's eventual surrender of his entire command to
Forrest some forty hours later and seventy-five miles
from Battle Royal. (Located on Alabama Highway 26 at
Royal near Blountsville)
Famous Health Resort from 1843-1914. Here fashionable
ladies and gentlemen of the South vacationed with their
1820-1889–Seat of Blount County, a county older than
the State. Named for Tennessee Governor W. G. Blount who
sent Andrew Jackson to aid Alabama settlers in the Creek
Indian War, 1812-1814. Indian Chief Bear Meat lived here
at the crossing of old Indian trading paths.
1816–Tennesseans began trading post here and called the
village Bear Meat Cabin. 1820–Name changed to
Blountsville and made county seat. 1819–County seat
moved to Oneonta.
John Hanby came in 1817 and found a rich seam of
brown iron ore. Named Champion in 1882 when Henry
DeBardeleben & James Sloss bought land and brought L & N
Railroad causing county seat to be moved from
Blountsville to Oneonta in 1889. Most ore was mined by
Shook and Fletcher 1925-1967 from Champion & Taits Gap
mines under E. N. Vandergrift, superintendent. Ore was
shipped to Woodward, T.C.I. & Sloss furnaces in
Birmingham and Republic in Gadsden.
Ebenezer Hearn 1794-1862
Methodist Missionary. First minister assigned to
Alabama Territory by Tennessee Conference. Hearn
preached his first sermon two blocks west at Bear Meat
Cabin (present Bountsville), April 18, 1818. He later
organized churches in Shelby, Saint Clair, Jefferson,
Tuscaloosa, and Cotaco (present Morgan) counties; this
is the beginning of Methodism in central Alabama.
Exploit of Murphree Sisters
Incident of May 1, 1863 during Streight (Union
flag)–Forrest (Confederate flag) Campaign. Three
prowling Union soldiers invaded the home of
sisters-in-law Celia and Winnie Mae Murphree taking food
and drink and killing two colts. When soldiers fell
asleep, these two young girls took rifles and marched
the soldiers to the headquarters of General Forrest,
bivouacked at Royal Crossing on Warrior River. (Located
on Alabama Highway 26 at Royal near Blountsville)
May 1, 1863, 1 mile south of marker. General N. B.
Forrest captured a wagon train and supplies of Colonel
Streight's raiders. Forrest continued his relentless
pursuit eastward toward final capture of Streight.
First Baptist Missionary Church
1875 The Macedonia Baptist Church, located between
the communities of Midway and Mt. Coney, was contructed
by freedmen after the American Civil War, replacing the
brush arbors used by the area's antebellum slaves as
sites for religious worship. Four seperate congregations
grew out of the original church: Antioch Baptist Church;
Oak Grove Baptist Church; Mt. Coney Baptist Church; and
Second Baptist Church of Midway. First organized in
1875, Second Baptist was built on a one-acre site
officially deeded to the church by Taylor N. Cox and
wife, M.C. Cox, on April 9, 1885. The original
architecture was of the front gable with central tower
type. Changes included additional rooms and the
enclosing of the vestibule. Church founders included
Warren Williams, John Curry, Alfred Boxer Sr., Ed Curry,
Aaron Hamilton, Bob Walker, Aaron Jordan, Jack
Christian, and Susie Christian, with Donna Pruitt
serving as first secretary. Rev. J.H. Smith was pastor
in 1910 when the church's name was changed to First
Baptist Missionary Church. In 1938, its building began
to be used as a site for classes and commencement
programs for old Merritt Junior High School. During the
1960s, First Baptist was an important site for African
American voter registration and other Civil
Rights-related activities. The church also played a
significant role in the development of the Mt. Hebron
Baptist Convention and the Missionary Baptist
Association. As the only black Baptist church in Midway,
First Baptist has been the site for conversions,
marriages, funerals, religious conventions, and
community events throughout its history. Placed on the
Alabama Register of Landmarks and Heritage, December 4,
Fitzpatrick United Methodist Church
(The Church of the Seven Sisters) 1858 Lacking an
established church nearby, pioneer families of the
Fitzpatrick community into the mid-19th century took
turns hosting worship services in their homes on Sunday
mornings. "The Church of the Seven Sisters" was
established in 1858 by seven women of the community –
Mrs. Phillips Bernard Baldwin (Martha Ann Thompson),
Mrs. David Graves Fitzpatrick (Sara Ann Hooks), Mrs.
John Campbell (Catherine Celia Hooks) Mrs. William
Cicero Hufham (Nancy Henry Gholston), Mrs. Gordon
Sanford Bunkley (Lucinda Morris Keene), Mrs. John
William Templeton Reid (Celia Julia Fitzpatrick) and
Mrs. Robert F. Ligon. Three of the "sisters" were
Methodist, two were Baptist, one was Presbyterian, and
one an Episcopalian, so it was founded as a Methodist
Church. Albert G. Wray deeded one-and-one-half acres for
the original building for one dollar. After the
Montgomery and Eufaula railroad was built through
Fitzpatrick in the 1870s, the church building was moved
here from its nearby site. Placed on the Alabama
Register of Landmarks and Heritage, 1978.
Indian Treaty Boundary Line
The treaty of Fort Jackson on August 9,1814, by Major
General Andrew Jackson on behalf of the President of the
United States of America and the Chiefs, Deputies and
Warriors of the Creek Nation, established a boundary
line between the Mississippi Territory and the Creek
Nation. The line began a point ten miles from the mouth
of the Ofucshee Creek directly to the mouth of the
Summochico Creek on the Chatahouchie River. The Creek
Treaty of Washington, signed on March 24, 1832, ceded
the Indian Boundary Line ran across present-day Bullock
County from northeast of Mitchell Station, Alabama, to
southeast of Pine Grove, Alabama.
Log Cabin Museum
Early settlers of this area cleared land and built
their first homes of logs in the early 1830's. This
cabin was built by Reuben Rice Kirkland (1829-1915)
about 1850. He and his first wife had ten children while
living in the log home. At one time an additional
bedroom and chimney were on the right side, and the back
porch was closed in for cooking and eating. A small log
kitchen stood a few feet from the back and was later
converted to a smoke house. The milk house beside the
well was on stilts to protect butter and milk from
animals. In 1981, the Bullock County Historical Society
moved the cabin into Union Springs from its original
site at Stills Cross Roads in southern Bullock County
and restored it as a museum.
Old City Cemetery
(The Confederate Cemetery) Micajah Norfleet Eley
donated land in 1849 for the Baptist Church and an
adjoining public cemetery. The oldest cemetery in Union
Springs, it served the city for 35 years. The
Confederate Monument at the center of the cemetery was
unveiled at the intersection of Prairie and Hardaway
Streets on March 29, 1895 by the Ladies Memorial
Association. In 1973, it was moved to its present
location. Locally known as the Confederate Cemetery, it
includes the tombstones of some twenty-two Confederate
soldiers. Below the Confederate soldiers' grave sites is
a marker which reads, "Union Prisoners of War,
1861-1865, Victims of Plague."
Midway Baptist Church
Organized July 28, 1852 Midway, a part of Barbour
County in the mid-19th century, was also known as Five
Points, a small community of a handful of dwellings, two
stores, and a Methodist church of logs. In this
Methodist church, Joel Willis, J.M. Thornton, Robert G.
Hall, M.B. Johnston, W.J. Coleman, and Lorenzo Faulk met
in the summer of 1852 to organize the Baptist Church of
Five Points. Articles of Faith and Decorum were approved
August 31 and Joel Sims was called as the first pastor.
By April 1855, the Five Points church was being referred
to in its own records as the Baptist Church of Midway.
The southwest corner of Feagin's field was selected as a
building site in December 1852 and, in February 1853, a
frame structure with glass windows, but no steeple, was
dedicated. A steeple and bell were added to the building
in 1859 and gas lamps replaced candles in 1869. In 1872
the Church was rebuilt with the original materials at
hand. Renovations in 1902 and 1930 added stained glass
windows, Sunday School rooms, restrooms, and a kitchen
but the structure has retained some of its original
building materials and rests upon its original site. The
Church has been actively associated with other
congregations since its beginnings in the Salem
Association of Barbour County to the Bullock Centennial
Association of the present. It has been associated with
the Baptist State Convention and the Southern Baptist
Convention since early in its history.
Mt. Hilliard Methodist Church
Organized 1835. Founded by settlers from Virginia,
Georgia, and Carolinas. Building erected 1856. It was
the central feature of the village of Mount Hilliard.
Named in honor of Henry W. Hilliard–who debated William
L. Yancey in the 1850's. Revivals held at church
inspired ministers who went west to establish churches
and colleges in Texas. Marker erected by Friends of Mt.
Old Merritt School, Midway Community Center
Margaret Elizabeth Merritt of Midway sold two acres
for $5 to the state of Alabama in 1921 as a site for an
elementary school for African-American children. Built
in 1922 with matching Rosenwald funds, the Midway
Colored Public School featured oak and pine construction
and two classrooms divided by a partition. The building
is one of the few surviving of the more than 5,000 rural
black schools built with contributions from the Julius
Rosenwald Fund. Enlarged twice, then renovated in 1978,
it is now used for community activities. Added to the
Alabama Register of Landmarks and Heritage, November 2,
1990 and to the National Register of Historic Places,
February 20, 1998.
St. James C. M. E. Church
Railroad Street Midway, Alabama St. James Christian
Methodist Episcopal Church was founded by Reverend Jack
McMillan, a former slave of Midway's Daniel McMillan.
Initially meeting outdoors under a brush arbor,
ex-slaves and their children constructed a wood-frame
church building soon after this lot was purchased in
December 1882. A storm subsequently damaged the building
which was rebuilt in 1896. Gable-roofed, the structure's
original steeple church bell was enclosed in a main
entrance enclosed. Placed on the Alabama Register of the
Landmarks and Heritage, December 19, 1991.
Samuel Sellers Cemetery
Samuel Sellers (1788-1857) of North Carolina arrived
with his large family at Three Notch Road on January 29,
1835. Here, in what was then the Missouri Beat, Pike
County, the first post office in the area was
established, 2.5 miles west of present-day Perote,
Bullock County. Sellers served as Postmaster between
1846-1850. Sellers' original home was located on land
near this cemetery. Placed on the Alabama Register of
Landmarks and Heritage by the Alabama Historical
Commission, November 2, 1976.
Sardis Baptist Church, Cemetery, and School
Side One Settlers from the Edgefield District, South
Carolina, organized the Sardis Baptist Church on June
10, 1837. The first building, a log cabin, was
constructed in 1841 after John M. and his wife Amy
Youngblood Dozier deeded four and one-half acres to the
church for a building and cemetery. The present
building, constructed in the 1850s, is an exceptionally
fine example of rural antebellum church architecture of
Greek Revival style. Relatively unaltered since
construction, its four columns support a full
entablature and low-pitched roof. Each of the two
primary entrances has double-paneled doors trimmed with
unadorned molding, and each side of the building has
four tall, shuttered, 18-light windows. The building was
repaired in 1940-41 and 1992-93. As membership declined,
Sunday afternoon services were conducted by visiting
Methodist ministers from Union Springs. The church
became inactive in the early 1950s, but was the setting
for a wedding in 1993. Added to the Alabama Register of
Landmarks and Heritage in 1992, it was added to the
National Register of Historic Places in 2001. Sardis
Baptist Church, Cemetery, and School Side Two In the
cemetery, the oldest tombstone bears the name of Moses
E. Martin, died May 18, 1848. Part of the cemetery
nearest the church served the Negro community during the
early years. As the need arose for more space, William
Andrew Martin and his wife Nancy Strom Martin, who had
bought the adjoining land from the Doziers in 1860,
allowed the church to extend the cemetery southward onto
their property. Sardis School, a community school, was
located on the church property across the highway from
the church on the corner of Highway 223 and County Road
22. Newspaper articles indicate the school was operating
in 1861 and 1870. The old Sardis School building was
subsequently moved east on County Road 22, where it
became, as it remains today, the living room of the
Livingston Paulk home. In 1867, the Buena Vista Masonic
Lodge #169 was located just north of the church
A County Older Than the State – Butler County
Created in1819 by Act of Alabama Territorial
Legislature from lands ceded by the Creek Indian Nation
by the Treaty of Fort Jackson, 1814. Named for Captain
William Butler, soldier of Creek Indian War, 1813-14,
early settler killed in Creek Uprising, 1818. Early
settlers from Georgia and South Carolina came by Federal
Roads built by U.S. Army. County seat first at Fort Dale
in 1819, here at Greenville since 1821. Butler
County–Flow of settlers was checked in 1818 by Indian
revolt against Fort Jackson treaty. Indians committed
Ogly, Butler massacres; attacked settlers, drove off
livestock. Settlers fled to Forts Bibb, Dale, Gary. With
the Indians driven east of Coosa River, settlers poured
into area in 1819. In 1821 county seat was moved here.
The town was then called Buttsville in honor of Capt.
Samuel Butts, a South Carolinian killed in 1814 at
Battle of Calabee in Macon County. In 1822 the name
changed to Greenville. (Located at the Courthouse in
Creek Indians, led by Savannah Jack, attacked a
well-armed party of settlers carrying dispatches to Fort
Dale. After this second massacre in 7 days, settlers
sought refuge in forts and stockades.
The Park was developed as a joint effort of the
Father Ryan chapter of the United Daughters of the
Confederacy with the backing of the city government. The
United Methodist Church provided the Park site. The
sixteen-foot marble statue of a Confederate soldier was
erected in 1903. The Park has been maintained by the
city with many local citizens and groups helping to make
improvements through the years.
Greenville Public School--City Hall
The two-story brick, "Greenville Public School" was
built in 1897 on the site where City Hall stands today
in Greenville. When its upper story was partially
destroyed by fire in 1921, the schol was remodeled into
a grammar school. This, too, burned and the buiding was
demolished in 1928. The construction of Greenville City
Hall was completed in 1936-37.
The Creeks, a confederacy of Indian tribes, used this
area as hunting lands. In 1814 these lands ceded by
Treaty of Fort Jackson. In 1819 the first Alabama
Legislature created Butler County from part of these
5 miles west of marker. Built in 1818 by the famous
Indian scout and guide, Colonel Sam Dale. A stage stop,
on Federal Road, from Fort Mitchell on Chattahoochee to
Lower Tombigbee settlements. County seat of Butler 1819.
7 miles from marker. Built in 1818 by Thomas Gary as
protection from the Indians. Settlers, indignant at the
fee charged by Gary, built Fort Dale five miles west of
Two frontier families were tomahawked, killed, and
scalped by Creek Indians, March 13, 1818. This is one of
several such raids on frontier families after Indians
lost their lands.
--1910 The Depot, part of the West Commerce Street
Historic District, highlights the role that the railroad
transportation system played in making Greenville a
major regional trade center. For many years this was the
sole shipping point for a six-county area of
south-central Alabama. It is one of the few remaining
brick and stucco depot buildings remaining in south
Alabama. The Depot was reconstructed in 1924 after being
damaged by high winds, then was restored in 1991.
Site of Fort Bibb
Built in 1818 by settlers as refuge from marauding
Creek Indians, who resented the loss of their land by
the Treaty of Fort Jackson in 1814.
West Commerce Street Historic District
The completion of the railroad in the late 1850s
brought this District into being. The District grew into
a major trade center between Montgomery and Mobile. The
capital accumulated from this trade allowed the
construction of brick commercial buildings, most of them
completed by 1890. The downtown area was revitalized in
the spring of 1997.
10th Alabama Volunteers–Army of Northern Virginia,
This regiment took part for four years in major
battles of the Virginia theater. It served with
distinction for dash and courage, suffering heavy
casualties. Officers regiment's organization June 4,
1861, at Montgomery, Alabama: Colonel John H. Forney,
Jacksonville; Lieutenant Colonel James B. Martin,
Jacksonville; Major Taul Bradford, Talladega. Company A:
Captain John H. Caldwell, Saint Clair County. Company B:
Captain Alburto Martin, Jefferson County. Company C:
Captain Rufus W. Cobb, Shelby County. Company D: Captain
Franklin Woodruff, Calhoun County. Company E: Captain
John T. Woodward, Talladega County. Company F: Captain
James D. Truse, Saint Clair County. Company G: Captain
William Henry Forney, Calhoun County. Company. H:
Captain Woodford R. Hanna, Calhoun County. Company I:
Captain Abner A. Huges, DeKalb County. Company K:
Captain J. C. McKenzie, Talladega County. Among officers
of regiment killed in action: Colonel John J. Woodward,
Lieutenant Colonels James B. Martin and James E.
Shelley, Captains Pickens and W. Black, George P. Brown,
Henry N. Coleman, Walter Cook, Robert W. Cowan, William
Lee, Richard C. Ragan, George C. Whatley. Disbanded at
Appomattox, Va., April, 1865, by order of General Robert
E. Lee. (Located in Jacksonville)
Governor Thomas E. Kilby
1865 - 1943 Outstanding local industrialist as
President, Kilby Steel Company; Chairman, Board of
Directors, Alabama Pipe Company; President, City
National and Anniston National Banks. Served as Mayor of
Anniston (1905-09); state Senator (1911-15); Lieutenant
Governor (1915-19); Governor of Alabama (1919-23). His
administration as Governor of Alabama notable for sound
business principles, for prison reform, for advancement
and expansion of charitable institutions, and for
constitutional amendments which provided state bond
issues for highway and bridge development and for
building the State Docks in Mobile. Governor Kilby was a
member of Grace Episcopal Church and a member of the
vestry. His interment is on the hill, near fence, at
Grace Episcopal Church
Called "A poem of cedar and stone," its history is
intimately related to that of Anniston. Town Founders,
Daniel Tyler and Samuel Noble, inspired its conception,
funded its construction and caused the Woodstock Iron
Company to donate the land on which it was built. George
Upjohn, Architect, and Master Stonemason, William
Jewell, used native pink sandstone and Tennessee knotty
cedar to emulate Solomon's Temple. The Gothic Revival
edifice, the oldest church in town, was organized on
April 8, 1881, built in 1882-5, and consecrated by
Bishop Richard H. Wilmer on May 19, 1886. Its first
service was conducted on Christmas Eve, 1885.
Jacksonville–First County Seat
1833-99. Town first called Drayton. Renamed in 1834
to honor President Andrew Jackson. Seat moved to
Anniston in 1899. Calhoun County originally was Benton
County, named for Colonel T. H. Benton, Creek War
officer, later U.S. Senator from Missouri. Renamed in
1858 for John C. Calhoun, Champion of South in U.S.
Senate. Benton's views by then unpopular in South.
John Horace Forney
1829-1902. Major General, C.S.A. A graduate of West
Point, he resigned from U.S. Army to volunteer services
to the State of Alabama. Ably lead Confederate forces at
Manassas, Pensacola, Vicksburg, Mobile, and Texas.
John Tyler Morgan
1824-1907. Lawyer, Soldier, Senator. Lived here in
1838. 1862-65: Colonel of 51st Alabama Cavalry, which
was raised by him in this county. 1863-65: Brigadier
General C.S.A. with Wheeler's Cavalry. 1876-1907: United
States Senator. Distinguished Statesman of Alabama.
(Located in Jacksonville)
Joseph William Burke
1835-1900. Lawyer, Industrialist, Patriot. Brigadier
General, U.S.A., General Burke helped rebuild Alabama's
mining and manufacturing interests after the Civil War.
He helped establish the Catholic Church at Jacksonville.
His home, "Bellevue," occupied the present site of
Jacksonville State College. (Located in Jacksonville)
Ladiga Calvary Skirmish
October 28, 1864. Last fighting between armies of
Hood and Sherman. Here Ferguson turned back Kilpatrick's
larger force. These two armies fought all summer from
Chattanooga to Atlanta, west to here. To split the
South, Sherman turned and led Union forces in March to
Sea. Hood withdrew to reoccupy Tennessee, fighting the
battles of Franklin and Nashville.
Major John Pelham
Born here September 7, 1838. Commanded Horse
Artillery of Northern Virginia, C.S.A. Killed at Kelly's
Fort, Virginia, March 17, 1863. Styled "The Gallant
Pelham" by Robert E. Lee. (Located in Anniston)
Major John Pelham
1838-1863. "The Gallant Pelham" as called by Robert
E. Lee. Commanded Artillery, Army of Northern Virginia.
Cited for conspicuous valor many times. Killed in action
Parker Memorial Baptist Church
On July 3, 1887, a congregation of 45 people met at
the Opera House on Noble Street to organize a new
church. Originally called Second Baptist Church, the
name soon was changed to Twelfth Street Baptist Church.
In 1889, it became Parker Memorial Baptist Church in
memory of Mrs. Cornelia A. Parker, whose husband gave
the money for a new building that was dedicated in March
of 1891. The mission was and continues to be
"Ministering to the World . . . Beginning at Our Own
Site of Oxford College
1867-1900. Important in latter 19th century by
educating boys and girls of area. Land and two-story
brick building provided by sponsoring citizens. Headed
by John H. Dodson from founding until 1900, when he
became state superintendent of education. Among its
noted graduates were state superintendents of education
J. W. Abercrombie and H. C. Gunnels. (Located in Oxford)
Creek Indian War 1813-14, November 3, 1813. General
John Coffee, commanding 900 Tennessee Volunteers,
surrounded the Indians nearby and killed some 200
warriors. This was the first American victory of the
war. It avenged the earlier massacre of 517 at Ft. Mims
Thomas C. Hindman
1828-1868. The Arkansas Congressman and General had
lived here (1833-1844). Veteran of the War with Mexico.
Elected to U.S. Congress in 1858 and 1860. Served in
Trans-Mississippi Department C.S.A. as Brigadier General
from 1861-1862. Served with the Army of Tennessee as
Major General from 1862-65. (Located in Jacksonville)
Created December 18, 1832, from Creek Indian cession.
Named for Dr. Henry C. Chambers of Madison County,
member of Constitutional Convention on 1819, legislature
of 1819, elected U.S. Senator 1825 but died en route to
Washington. County government organized 1833 by Judge
James Thompson of Jefferson County. First officers were:
Nathaniel Greer, Sheriff; William House, Clerk Circuit
Court; Joseph J. Williams, Clerk County Court; Booker
Lawson, John Wood, William Fannin, John A. Hurst,
Commissioners Roads and Revenue. Permanent court site
selected by Commissioners Thomas C. Russell, James
Taylor, and Capt. Baxter Taylor. A log courthouse was
built here 1833, replaced by brick structure 1837, and
used until present courthouse erected 1899. LaFayette,
county seat, was formerly known as Chambersville and
Chambers Courthouse (Located at courthouse)
Creek Indian villages nearby were affiliated with
either Upper or Lower Confederacies of the Creek Nation.
In colonial times Spain, France, and England contended
for this section. Indian title ceded in 1832.
The Lafayette Presbyterian Church
Organized 1835. This structure was built by early
settlers from Virginia, Tennessee, and the Carolinas,
and subsequently modified. The original building has
stood since 1836. Union Sunday School began here in
1891. Many eminent ministers have filled the pulpit.
West Point Manufacturing Company
Cornerstones of Chattahoochee Manufacturing Company,
Langdale Alabama, and Alabama & Georgia Manufacturing
Company, River View, Alabama, were laid on August 1,
1866. Mills used Chattahoochee River water power for
operation of spindles and looms. Planters and
businessmen of Chambers County, Alabama, and West Point,
Georgia, invested the capital for these ventures,
providing a new way of life to a war-stricken people. In
1880, West Point Manufacturing Company was organized
from the Chattahoochee mill. The business genius,
enterprise, and vision of LaFayette Lanier (1845-1910),
president 1896-1910, were largely responsible for the
industrial and civic development of "The Valley."
(Located on U.S. Highway 29 in Langdale)
Forrest Defeats Streight
May 3, 1863. Here General Forrest with about 500 men
forced the surrender of Colonel Streight's army of about
1500 men. The surrender climaxed a series of running
battles from Muscle Shoals. This was one of the most
brilliant campaigns of General Forrest, master of
Walnut Creek United Methodist Church
Established 1820. Arthur Love, a charter member, was
first pastor. Organized as a Methodist Episcopal Church.
Became Methodist Protestant, 1828. Changed to Methodist
Church, 1939. Affiliated with United Methodist, 1968. In
the original church built of logs, Judge James Q. Smith,
Montgomery, in 1869, presided at first court held in
Baker Co. (now Chilton). Circa 1875, a frame building
replaced log church. Present brick building erected
1935. Walnut Creek United Methodist Church has always
maintained a progressive Sunday School.
First Oil Well In Alabama
On January 2, 1944, the State of Alabama granted Hunt
Oil Company a permit to drill the A.R. Jackson Well No.
1 at this location near Gilbertown. Hunt Oil Company was
owned by the famous oil man, H.L. Hunt of Dallas, Texas.
Drilling commenced on January 10, 1944, and was
completed approximately one month later. The well struck
oil at a depth of 2,580 feet in fractured Selma chalk.
The discovery of this well led to the creation of the
State Oil and Gas Board of Alabama in 1945, and to the
development and growth of the petroleum industry in the
4 miles from marker. This was the northeast corner of
the land first ceded by Indians to whites in the Alabama
area. By the 1765 treaty, Choctaws gave to England the
area from here to the Gulf. This put the British between
the Choctaws and Creeks.
Isham Kimbell (1797-1881) was the only family member
to survive the Kimbell-James Massacre near Fort
Sinquefield, during Creek Indian War in 1813. Elected
Sheriff of Clarke County and in 1833 Clerk of Circuit
Court, serving several terms. He was a successful
merchant until his death in 1881. Married Martha T.
Carney of Carney's Bluff. Both buried at Pine Crest
Cemetery, Jackson. Built circa 1848 by Isham Kimbell on
Lower Commerce Street. Given to city by Woodson family
and moved to this site in 1977 by Jackson Historical
Committee, successors to Jackson Bi-Centennial
Committee, with a grant from the M. W. Smith, Jr.,
Foundation. Restored with funds from public
subscription, local civic organizations, and the City of
September 1, 1813. Creek Indian War, 1813-14. Part of
War of 1812. British used Pensacola as base to arm and
incite Indians against the United States. Prophet
Francis led Indians in this raid on Kimbell home. They
killed and scalped 12 of 14 (two survivors left for
dead); pillaged house, and killed livestock.
Formerly Jenkins Springs. A 19th century watering
place and mineral springs resort. 1832: Ceded to United
States by Creek Indians before being moved to West in
1836. 1841: Bought by William P. Chilton, later Chief
Justice of Alabama. 1873: Bought by John T. Morgan,
general in C.S.A., long a United States Senator.
The area, home of Creek Indians, was held by them
until 1832 when they were forced to move west of
Mississippi River. Remains of aboriginal life show an
earlier people lived here before the Creeks.
Boll Weevil Monument
December 11, 1919 In Profound Appreciation Of the
Boll Weevil And what it has done As the Herald of
Prosperity This Monument was Erected By the Citizens of
Enterprise, Coffee County, Alabama.
Chartered as Clintonville Male and Female Academy by
Alabama Legislature January 11, 1860. Building
constructed 1860, occupied 1861. The first school in
Coffee County to teach beyond the sixth grade.
Clintonville, for many years, was recognized as the
cultural and educational center of the county. This area
was first known as Indigo Head. In 1845, one of the
first voting precincts in the county was located here.
Clintonville post-office established June 16, 1849. Some
of the pioneer families were Fleming, Brooks,
Hutchinson, Gunter, Sawyer, Goynes, Watson, Carmichael,
Moates, Warren, Brock, Harding, Wilks, Peacock, and
Founded 1904 Beloved leader and principal of this
institution, later known as Carroll Street School, was
William M. Donald (1870-1941). His philosophy of
education was: "Apply yourself. Excellence is attained
through self-discipline and hard work. Learn the rules.
Gain knowledge. Knowledge is power. No one can take it
away from you." Erected 1979 by: Delta Sigma Beta
Chapter–Alpha Phi Chi Sorority, Citizens of Enterprise,
Coffee County, Alabama.
FIRST UNITED METHODIST CHURCH Earliest Church in
A congregation of the Methodist Episcopal Church,
South existed in Elba even before Rev. Robert Shaw Rabb
was assigned as the first minister to the Elba Circuit
on December 15, 1853. This site was purchased in 1909
and the Church officially opened on February 12, 1911.
Large panels of stained glass windows are a memorial to
Confederate soldiers from Coffee County. The historic
Church bell was cast on February 21, 1908 in Hillsboro,
Historic Court Square
The first Coffee County Courthouse was at Wellborn
and burned in 1851. This site was given by John B. Simmo
when Elba was selected the county seat, polling 58 more
votes than Indigo Head (Clintonville) in a county
election on October 5, 1852. The first building erected
on this site was a two-story frame structure burned by
Ward's Raiders on September 3, 1863. A new courthouse
was completed in 1867. This building served Coffee
County until 1881 and was sold at an auction. A third
building completed in 1882 was enlarged in 1889. Failing
to meet the needs of Coffee County it was replaced by
the present courthouse in 1903. Listed in National
Register of Historic Places.
Holloway Tabernacle Church
Established 1912 The first congregational meetings
were held in a small former dwelling house. In 1915 this
congregation joined with the Alabama District of The
Assemblies of God. First pastors were: Rev. Elijah
Spence and Rev. Wayne Tomlin. First deacons were: G. W.
Grimes, Jim Holloway, A. D. Grimes and Dan Stinson.
Charter members were: Joe and Mary T. Holloway, George
and Anna Grimes, Dan and Georgan Stinson, John W.
Holloway, Dewey P. Holloway, Jim Holloway, Andrew and
Mary Bell Grimes, Melinda J. Kennedy, Francis Anderson,
Oscar and Mattie Weeks, Ellen Wooten and Alice Grimes.
Mount Pleasant Missionary Baptist Church
1874: Founded near Double Bridges Creek (LeCompte
Place) three miles southwest of the present location.
First pastor: J. W. Bullard. Charter members: Mr. and
Mrs. Tom Mathis, Mr. and Mrs. Tom Barbee, Mr. and Mrs.
Jack Nichols, Mr. and Mrs. Joe Jones, Mr. Bob Howell,
Miss Lizzie Gilbert, and Mr. Lige Cobb. "I was glad when
they said unto me, let us go into the house of the
Lord." Psalm 122:1
Providence Baptist Church
Organized May 26, 1849 First Pastor: Ruben E. Brown
First Deacons: William P. Bryan, Jesse Pouncey, Jonas P.
Bell Charter Members: William Green, David Kelly, Kader
Powell, Elizabeth Kelly, Ardilla Green, Winny Lacy, Bill
Fowler, Nancy Fowler. Bellwood, Cool Springs, County
Line, Daleville, Shady Grove, Midway, New Hope, Shiloh,
and Mount Moriah were formed under the sponsorship of
Providence Church. "I was glad when they said unto me,
let us go into the house of the Lord." Psalm 122:1
Original two-story brick structure built 1903 by
Japheth Rawls, developer of some of the earliest
turpentine plants in Coffee County. Building remodeled
1928 and three-story wings added by Jesse P. Rawls,
founder of the first electric power system in
Enterprise. Hotel was center for business and social
gatherings until its closing in early 1970's. Listed on
National Register of Historic Places 1980.
Approximately two miles east. The First Seat of
Justice for Coffee County, Alabama. Named for General
William Wellborn, an Alabama Commander during the Creek
Indian War of 1836-37. Under the Act of December 29,
1841, establishing Coffee County, Commissioners Britton
T. Atkinson, James Claxton, Thomas Cole, John B. Cruise,
and Amos Wiggins were named to secure a "seat of
justice" not exceeding 160 acres, not more than six
miles from the center of the county, and to erect
thereon a court house and jail and lay off the remaining
lots for sale. The court house burned in March, 1851. In
1852, by election, Elba was chosen as permanent location
for the court house. Wellborn The first seat of justice
for Coffee County was located approximately 500 yards
southeast of this site. The community was named for Gen.
William Wellborn, an Alabama commander during the Creek
Indian War of 1836-37. Under the Act of December 29,
1841 establishing Coffee County, Commissioners Britton
T. Atkinson, James Claxton, Thomas Cole, John B. Cruise,
and Amos Wiggins were named to secure a "seat of
justice" not exceeding 100 acres, and not more than six
miles from the center of the county, and erect thereon a
courthouse and jail, and lay off the remaining land into
lots for sale. The Court House burned March 1851. By
election, Elba was chosen as the permanent location for
the Court House in 1852.
Chickasaw Indian Agency
Was moved by Benjamin Smith from Pontotoc,
Mississippi in 1825 to this site, known as Bennkhinah,
where it remained until 1837. Bennkhinnah Post Office,
established at the Agency in 1829, was named Newport in
1837. In 1856 with D. C. Oates as postmaster, it was
moved to Cherokee, Alabama. Benjamin Reynolds replaced
Smith as Indian Agent in 1830. From this Agency he
worked with Indian leaders arranging for the removal of
the Chickasaw nation from Alabama and Mississippi in
Civil War Skirmishes at Barton
In 1862-63, Confederate forces fought several sharp
skirmishes near Barton as they sought to repel or delay
Union expeditions invading the Tennessee Valley from the
Federal stronghold at Corinth, Mississippi.
Civil War Skirmish at the Barton Cemetery
Bullet-marked tombstones in this cemetery show
evidence of a brisk skirmish here October 26, 1863, when
Gen. P.J. Osterhaus' first division of Sherman's Corps
came under fire from Gen. S.D. Lee's Confederate troop.
CSA artillery on a hill near a frame church (now Zion
No. 1) opened fire at dawn and Union artillery replied
from the cemetery. CSA forces retreated to Little Bear
Creek. USA forces briefly occupied Tuscumbia, then
retreated to Cherokee and abandoned attempt to advance
along the railroad.
St. John's Episcopal Church
This congregation was organized in the 1830s, with
services being held in private homes and the Methodist
meeting house. The present building was first used in
October 1852 and completed the following year. During
the Civil War, Union troops occupied the church and
destroyed some of the parish records. St. John's is an
early example of the "Carpenter's Gothic" style popular
for many Episcopal churches during the mid-19th century.
Damaged by a tornado in 1874, the church afterward was
refurbished and strengthened with iron tie-rods spanning
the nave. Memorial windows also were installed. Concrete
buttresses were added in 1956. A tall spire originally
topped the belltower.
The Old Brick Presbyterian Church
1820 Old Brick Church began in 1820 as the Mt.
Pleasant Cumberland Presbyterian Church and met in a
frame building which burned in 1824. The present
building has undergone few changes since its
construction in 1828 when the congregation was
officially chartered. In 1906 the congregation joined
with what became the United Presbyterian Church in the
U.S.A. It officially took its present name in 1961. In
1983 Old Brick became part of the Presbyterian Church
(U.S.A.). Sunday services have been conducted regularly
since 1820, except during the Civil War.
Tuscumbia Railroad – First Railroad West of
1832: Began here; completed to Decatur, 45 miles
east, in 1834. Cotton shipped by this line around nearby
Muscle Shoals, then by boat down Tennessee-Mississippi
River to world markets. 1851: Expanded to
Memphis-Charleston Railroad. A vital line in the Civil
War, it changed hands several times. 1898: Became part
of Southern Railway.
In 1918, during World War I, the U.S. Government
built this unique village of 85 bungalows, school, and
officers barracks to house personnel at nearby Nitrate
Plant #1. Prefabricated and standard size materials were
used in construction along with red tile roofs and
stucco exteriors. Streets were laid out in an unusual
"Liberty Bell" design. Reverse Village One The village
was owned by TVA from 1933-1949. Its employees occupied
the houses and their children attended a progressive
school in the barracks building 1934-1941. TVA sold the
houses at auction and gave and the school and parks to
the City of Sheffield in 1949.
William Winston Home
Construction on the home which became the center
building of Deshler High School was begun in 1824 by
Clark T. Barton, William Winston purchased and completed
the Georgian-style dwelling in 1833. The largest
remaining antebellum house in Tuscumbia, it features a
winding staircase, eight fireplaces, and ten original
closets along with an inscription on the cellar wall
written during the Union occupation saying: "It is a
damn shame to destroy this mansion." Original log
kitchen placed at N.W. rear corner to avoid having fire
too close to the house. Listed on the National Register
of Historic places in 1982. House and property purchased
by the city of Tuscumbia in 1948 for site of new Deshler
campus, relocating from property bequeathed by Major
David Deshler (from his Main St. residence, 3 blocks
north) memorializing his son, Brig. Gen. James Deshler,
C.S.A., killed leading charge at Battle of Chickamauga,
Sept. 20, 1863. William Winston (1789-1857)-father of
Gov. John Anthony Winston; grandfather of Maud Lindsey,
famed educator and author of children's books;
father-in-law of Robert Burns, only foreign-born
governor of Alabama. Winston family cemetery located
approximately one mile N.W. of the house.
Yellow Fever Epidemic
1878 Responsible for taking 31 lives in Tuscumbia.
Citizens Relief Committee included: F. H. Aydlett, H. M.
Finley, J. L. Davis, James Jackson Chmm., J. W. Rand,
Jr., P. A. Ross, F. W. Ross, J. N. Sampson, Sec., and C.
A. Womble. This committee, together with volunteers,
both white and black–assisted by trained nurses brought
from Memphis, Tennessee–nursed the sick, carried
supplies, prepared the bodies, dug graves, and buried
the dead. Doctors serving around the clock: Robert T.
Abernathy, Samuel J. Cooper, William C. Cross, William
Desprez (who gave his life), and E. P. Rand. The 31
Victims of Yellow Fever who died in Tuscumbia in 1878
included: Crabtree Belcher, Mrs. Amy Boldman, Anna C.
Christian, Mr. Clark, W. A. Clark, DeWitt Cooper, Dr.
William Desprez, Samuel Finley, Mrs. W. A. Gilbert, Mrs.
Bettie Halpine, Miss Bartie Jones, Mrs. W. H. Jones, L.
King, F. Manush and wife, Tom Morton, Alexander Newsome,
Sandy Osborne, Edward Prout, Mrs. G. T. Rather, Mrs. F.
A. Ross, Helen Smoot, Mrs. T. L. Smoot, Mr. and Mrs. W.
L. Stamps, Robert Ventress, Mervyn Warren, Charles
Williams, Mrs. Yohnka and child, William Young.
The Alabama Baptist Children's Home Site
The Louise Short Baptist Widows' and Orphans' Home,
consisting of a 10-room brick residence and related
buildings on 80 acres of land fronted on Main Street,
Evergreen, for more than 1/4 mile. It was established by
the Alabama Baptist State Convention in 1891 and was
chartered by the Legislature of Alabama in the same
year. The idea had been approved by the Alabama Baptist
State Convention in 1863 as a haven for children of
soldiers killed in the War Between the States. The Home
opened on March 8, 1893, with the Reverend John W.
Stewart as the first superintendent. For 30 years it
served on this site. On June 14, 1923, it was removed to
Troy, Alabama, and in 1938 was renamed The Alabama
Baptist Children's Home.
Richard Thomas Baggett
March 30, 1817 - October 26, 1881 Richard Thomas
Baggett was born and buried here on the Baggett family
farm, NE 1/4 Section 4, Township 4 North, Range 10 East.
According to early local histories, Richard, the son of
pioneers Jesse Baggett and Zilla T. Godwin Baggett, was
the first child born to white settlers in Conecuh
County. Richard Baggett married Octavia Olivia Tippins
and fathered four sons: James Augustus, Jesse Pinkney,
George W., and Phillip Henry Baggett.
Andrew Jackson in Seminole War with an army of 1200
camped here in May 1818 en route westward from Fort
Gadsden to subdue marauding Indians abetted by Spaniards
at Pensacola. Jackson determined to seize Pensacola and
thus altered the course of history on the continent.
(Located on shore Lake Jackson in Florala)
New Providence Primitive Baptist Church Site
Constituted in 1833 about 1 mile northwest of this
location with 10 charter members. The Church was
admitted to the Conecuh River Baptist Association in
November 1833. In 1863, the Church moved to this
location on land bought from Benjamin Dorman where a
building was erected. Services continued until August
1981, when the building was destroyed by arson.
Battle of Day's Gap
April 30, 1863. Here Gen. Forrest overtook larger
force of Col. Streight. Forrest attacked three times.
Streight fled toward Rome to destroy Confederate
Battle of Hog Mountain
April 30, 1863. Here Gen. Forrest overtook Col.
Streight's raiders in hand-to-hand battle after dark. 3
horses short from under Forrest. Union force fled
southward with Forrest in relentless pursuit.
Named after a Civil War battle fought April 30, 1863,
between Confederate troops commanded by General Nathan
Bradford Forrest and Union troops commanded by Colonel
Abel D. Streight. Confederates lost 50 to 75 men killed
or wounded. Union lost 30 men. Shortly after the battle
Union forces fled to Hog Mountain pursued by the
Clarkson Covered Bridge
Sometimes called Legg Bridge. This 270 foot bridge
was constructed in 1904, destroyed by a flood in 1921
and rebuilt the following year. The only remaining
covered bridge in Cullman County, it was restored by the
Cullman County Commission in 1975 as an American
Revolution Bicentennial Project. Named to Register of
Historic Places, June 25, 1974.
Cullman Railroad Depot
The Louisville and Nashville Railroad Company
completed building this Mission Style depot in 1913.
When the tracks were laid below ground level, it
replaced Cullman's first station located on First Avenue
at Third Street, SW. Passenger service was discontinued
in 1968. This building then was used by CSX section
crews until it was purchased by the City of Cullman,
March 23, 1990. Restoration began in February, 1991,
funded by donations from Cullman County Historical
Society, citizens of Cullman County, and public grants.
Added to the National Register of Historic Places, June
Evangelical Protestant Church
The first church in the City of Cullman was
established on this block of land donated by the North
and South Railroad in February 1874. Lots 154, 155, 180
and 181 were granted to Henry Dietz, August Henning, and
George Stoback as trustees of the Evangelical Protestant
Church for the sole purpose of constructing a church
building. Col. John Cullman, land agent, was a charter
member of the church. The church building was made into
a dwelling house after the congregation moved to a new
location, 512 Second Avenue East, in 1881.
General Forrest's Pursuit and Union Colonel
From Battle Ground (26 m.–NW) to capture at Lawrence
(80 m.–East)–said to be greatest cavalry fight in modern
warfare. It passed here May 1, 1863. (Located on U.S. 31
at Johnson's Crossing)
Sand Mountain Plateau
Thrifty German colonists, led by Col. John G.
Cullman, in 1873 settled this thinly populated plateau.
This section, previously thought unproductive, became
famous for its diversified crops.
St. Johns Evangelical Protestant Church
The first church at the town site of Cullman. Founded
May 1, 1874, at the beginning of the second year of
settlement. An ethnic German church formed by immigrant
families. Services held exclusively in the German
language until 1932. In 1937, the Evangelical German
churches merged with the Reformed churches and the
national Evangelical and reformed denomination was
established. St. John's became a part of the United
Church of Christ in 1957.
Originally called Dale Court House. County Seat of
Dale County 1831-41. William Harper, Probate Judge. Dale
County originally included: present Coffee County until
1841, present Geneva County until 1868, part of Houston
County until 1903. Dale County named for General Sam
Dale, foremost pioneer guide, scout, messenger, leader
of settlers through Creek and Choctaw Nations of
Southeast and Gulf Coast. General Dale, cautious and
cool in emergencies, was the right arm of frontiersmen
and settlers. He led Tombigbee troops in Creek War,
1813-14, was messenger of British invasion and defeat,
1814-15, led Alabama Territorial Militia in Seminole
War, 1818, served in Alabama Legislature from Monroe
County, 1819-30. (Located in Daleville)
Providence Baptist Church
Organized May 26, 1849 First Pastor: Ruben E. Brown.
First Deacons: William P . Bryan, Jesse Pouncey, Jonas
P. Bell. Charter Members: William Green, David Kelly,
Kader Powell, Elizabeth Kelly, Ardilla Green, Winny
Lacy, Bill Fowler, Nancy Fowler. Bellwood, Cool Springs,
County Line, Daleville, Shady Grove, Midway, New Hope,
Shiloh, and Mount Moriah were formed by members of the
Providence Church. "I was glad when they said unto me,
let us go into the house of the Lord." Psalms 122:1
Battle of Selma
April 2, 1865--On the day Richmond fell General
Nathan Bedford Forrest, his men, home guards and
civilians manned earthworks about this city. They were
overwhelmed by veterans of General James H. Wilson who
burned Confederate facilities and many homes. After a
week of destruction Wilson raided on to Montgomery.
Site of Alabama's first permanent capital 1820-26.
County seat Dallas County, 1820-1866. Confederate Prison
during War Between States 1863-65. Located 5 1/2 miles
south on Alabama and Cahawba Rivers.
Established circa 1819 as Childers Meeting House on
land given by George Childers. Patent for the land was
issued to George Childers March 16, 1819. This Methodist
Church was later known as Childers Chapel. Church burned
in 1842. Congregation rebuilt church in Valley Creek
(Summerfield), construction beginning October 25, 1845.
This site has continued as the burying ground for the
Summerfield Methodist Church congregation and the early
families of the Summerfield Community. The Church was
originally a part of the Cahawba Circuit and was placed
in the Montgomery District in 1837/38.
Edmund Winston Pettus - House Site
Edmund Winston Pettus, lawyer, general C.S.A., U.S.
Senator, was born Limestone County, Alabama, 1821.
Admitted to bar, 1842. Moved to Cahaba, 1858. Major,
C.S.A., 1861. Brigadier General, 1863. U.S. Senator,
1897-1907. Resided here from 1866 until death, 1907.
When in Senate, with John T. Morgan, Selma was home of
both U.S. Senators from Alabama.
Live Oak Cemetery
East portion reserved for graveyard, 1829; west part
purchased by City of Selma, 1877. Here are buried:
William Rufus King, 1786-1853, Vice President of U.S.
1853. John Tyler Morgan, 1824-1907, U.S. Senator, Brig.
Gen. C.S.A. Edmund Winston Pettus, 1821-1907, U.S.
Senator, Brig. Gen. C.S.A. Nathaniel H.R. Dawson,
1829-1895, U.S. Commissioner of Education. William J.
Hardee, 1815-1873, Lt. Gen. C.S.A., author "Hardee's
Prosperity Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church
Cemetery is the resting place of many members of the
church from 1846 until 1961. The Church was organized in
1822 by Isaac Grier. A church building stood on this
site from 1844 until 1891, constructed on five acres of
land donated by William Johnston. The cemetery includes
the graves of two early pastors, Rev. James M. Young
(1844-67) and Dr. James A. Lowry (1867-98). Dr. Lowry
previously served as a Confederate chaplain. His is one
of several veterans' graves in the cemetery, which also
includes that of James Chisolm, who died June 16, 1864,
as a result of wounds received at the Battle of Atlanta.
Selma Historic and Civic Building
Central Alabama Masonic Institute of Alabama acquired
property, 1847, and erected building. Used as female
academy. Confederate hospital during Civil War. Dallas
County Courthouse on removal of county seat from Cahaba,
1866-1901. Presbyterian high school for boys early
1900's. Acquired by Vaughan Estate, 1904. Vaughan
Memorial Hospital, in memory of Samuel Watkins Vaughan,
MD, 1911-1960. 1969, under Mayor Joseph T. Smitherman,
City of Selma purchased property. Dallas County and City
restored original structure.
Summerfield Methodist Church
Organized before 1837, first under charge of Charles
McLeod and next, Asbury H. Shanks. Contract for present
building was let October 23, 1844; dedicated October 5,
1845. Greenberry Garrett was Presiding Elder of
Summerfield District. Original building committee
composed of Greenberry Garrett, A. H. Mitchell, T. B.
Goldsby, John Paulling, George A. B. Walker. Original
trustees were George Childers, Noel Pitts, John
Paulling, David Mims. Here worshipped Bishop J. O.
Andrew and other prominent Methodist leaders and
educators. This church absorbed the congregation at
Childers Chapel, south of this site, where a Medthodist
congregation existed as early as 1824.
One of the finest examples of neo-classic
architecture in the South; designed by Thomas Helm Lee
for Edward T. Watts. Completed in 1853. Sold in 1864 to
John M. Parkman, 1870 to Emile Gillman. Purchased in
1957 through a bequest from Robert Daniel Sturdivant and
operated by the Sturdivant Museum Association.
Valley Creek Presbyterian Church
One of the state's first Presbyterian churches.
Established in 1816 by eight families from Rocky River
Presbyterian Church in Mecklenburg County, North
Carolina. In 1859 this two-story brick building replaced
original wooden structure. Sanctuary and former slave
gallery are on second floor. In nearby cemetery lie
heroes of Alabama's wars since 1776. (Located on Alabama
Highway 22, 3 miles north of Selma)
William Rufus De Vane King
1786-1853 Native Sampson County, North Carolina.
Admitted to bar, 1806. North Carolina House of Commons
1807-1809. U.S. Congressman 1811-1816. Secretary U.S.
Legation Naples and St. Petersburg 1816-1818. Moved to
Dallas County, Alabama, 1818. A founder of Selma; named
city. Delegate Alabama Constitutional Convention 1819.
U.S. Senator 1819-1844, 1848-1853. U.S. Minister to
France 1844-1846. President pro tempore U.S. Senate
1836-1840, 1850-1852. Vice President of United States
Former Site of Battelle
Thriving iron ore and coal mining community of early
1900's Established by Colonel John Gordon Battelle Five
miles north of Valley Head
Fort Payne's Fort
The fort, consisting of a log house and large
stockade, was built in 1838 by order of General Winfield
Scott, commander of military forces responsible for the
removal of Cherokee Indians. Soldiers occupying the fort
were commanded by Captain John C. Payne, for whom the
fort was named. Indians in the DeKalb County area who
refused to move westwards voluntarily were gathered and
held in the stockade pending their forceful removal to
the Indian territory. Chimney still standing on site of
fort near the railroad at 4th Street S.E.
Fort Payne Opera House
Opened September1890. Built during local boom period.
Converted into theatre during era of silent movies.
Closed as a theatre in October 1935. Purchased by
Landmarks of DeKalb County, Inc., 1969. Renovated,
restored, and reopened to public in 1970. The oldest
theatre in Alabama located in a building originally
constructed as a theatre. Listed in the National
Register of Historic Places and the National Register of
19th Century Theatres in America.
Indian Mound, Inn, and Church Site
Cheroke Indians first inhabited this mound site,
subsequently settled by A.H. Lamar, a captian in the
Seminole War and first constable (1836) of DeKalb
County. Lamar and his Cherokee wife operated trading
post and stage coach stop on site, selling the property
to Alfred Collins, ca. 1842. Collins, for whom
Collinsville was named, built home and operated inn on
the stage coach line here between Rome and Guntersville.
Daughter Sallie and her husband, G.W. Roberts, became
owners in 1886. Collinsville Baptist Church purchased
property in 1924, erecting building on site two yeras
Lebanon Courthouse was constructed during the 1840s
when Lebanon, the county seat of DeKalb County was a
thriving community with inns, taverns, and government
offices. This building, built for courthouse use,
remained in use as a courthouse until 1876, when the
stagecoaches serving Lebanon gave way to progress. The
county seat was then moved to Fort Payne, were railway
service was available. This marker was erected as a part
of DeKalb 150 Sesquicentennial Celebration, 1836-1986.
(1760-1843) Born in Tennessee, Sequoyah moved to
Wills Town (DeKalb County, Alabama) area of the Cherokee
Nation in 1818. Here, in 1821, he invented an 86 symbol
alphabet providing the Cherokees with the only written
Indian language in the United States.
1760-1843. Nearby lived the inventor of written
language of Cherokees. Nation adopted it, became only
literate Indians with written language. (Sequoyah, maker
Wills Town Mission
The mission was established in 1823 by the American
Board of Missions to further education and Christianity
among the Cherokee Indians. Mission operated until the
Indian removal in 1838. Grave site of Reverend Ard Hoyt,
first superintendent, marks the location of the mission
near the corner of 38th Street and Godrey Avenue.
First Presbyterian Church Wetumpka Alabama
Founded 1836. Built, 1856, dedicated 1857, combining
exterior Gothic style with Greek Revival interior.
Original part designed as a rectangular block. Wings
were added on eastern and western sides in the middle
1900's. At that time a choir rail replaced original
balustraded corner section. The balcony and chandeliers
are outstanding. The church has served its members
continuously and has been used for civic and patriotic
assemblies significant in Wetumpka's history. In 1861 it
served as a departure point for the Wetumpka Light Guard
upon enlistment in the Confederate Army. Entered in
National Register, Historic Places 1976.
The Hank Williams / Kowaliga Cabin
1952 At this site stands the cabin where country
music legend Hank Williams composed the song "Kaw-liga"
in August, 1952. The song's title was derived from the
name of a Creek Indian town located on the banks of the
Kowaliga Creek until 1836. Hank's September 23, 1952
recording of "Kaw-liga" reached number one on the
country music charts in 1953 and has since been recorded
by numerous country and popular music artists. Built in
1946 by Darwin and Nell Dobbs, the cabin was restored to
its original condition in 2001 by Russell Lands, Inc. as
a tribute to Hank Williams and his music.
Only Confederate armory not destroyed by Federal
forces. Colonel Gorgas (Conf. Flag) ordnance chief, had
carbine shop moved here into Tallassee Manufacturing
Company mill in spring 1864 as war threatened Richmond,
Virginia armory. War ended before plant neared goal of
6,000 carbines per year. In 1864 Rousseau's raid
bypassed it–1865: forces under General Wilson (U.S.
Flag) misled by faulty map, marched 10 miles east;
threat of Forrest (Conf. Flag) barred their return.
(Located in Tallassee)
First county in Alabama. Northern boundary 32° 28',
ran through this point. County extended south to 31°,
present Florida line; from Jackson, Miss., to Columbus,
Ga. Then in Mississippi Territory, it included 25,000
square miles. Since subdivided into counties; 29 in
Alabama, 16 in Mississippi.
(side one) In 1834, the Wetumpka Toll Bridge Co.
built the first of four bridges spanning the Coosa River
at this site. It was destroyed in a flood in 1844. A
second toll bridge was completed the same year by John
Godwin whose slave, Horace King, designed and supervised
construction of this covered bridge. Emancipated in
1846, King built numerous bridges in the South and his
services were much in demand by the CSA during the Civil
War. After the war, he was elected to the state
legislature twice by the citizens of Russell Co. Toll
charges for the new bridge were 5¢ for pedestrians or $1
per month for unlimited passage. Passage to church was
free. Since the wagon gate closed at 9 PM, an extra
charge of 25¢ was due the gatekeeper if he was called to
open the gate. Wetumpka's Bridges (side two) Three
lighted lanterns hanging from the rafters were the last
things seen of the bridge as it washed away in the flood
of March 1886. A ferry operated while an iron bridge was
built by the Southern Bridge Co. of Birmingham in 1887.
By 1927, bridge deterioration led to a joint $177,440
state-county project resulting in the construction of
the fourth bridge in 1931. Denmark-native Edward Houk
designed the graceful Bibb Graves Bridge, named for
then-Governor Graves. The bridge became the picturesque
centerpiece for the "City of Natural Beauty."
Wetumpka Impact Crater
The ridges located here are the remnants of a
six-mile diameter circular feature created some 85
million years ago by an estimated 1,000-foot diameter
asteroid. The area at the time of impact was a shallow
sea. The ridges consist of a variety of metamorphic
rocks and surround a central area comprised of large
jumbled blocks of younger geologic strata. Drilling in
the central area of the crater recovered fragments of
rocks showing characteristic mineral alteration only
associated with impact structures. The structure,
although known for more than a century, was first
identified as an impact crater in the 1970s.
Wetumpka Methodist Church
Organized 1837. Completed in 1854, this building was
the third Methodist Church building erected in Wetumpka
and served both black and white congregations.
Transitional exterior and interior architecture features
elegant simplicity of Greek revival styles. Interior
plaster work is outstanding. Original nave provided
space for 500 persons. Renovation in 1910 included more
space for choir loft, installation of pipe organ,
stained glass windows and pews to follow curve of
chancel rail. In 1954 chandeliers were added and
basement remodeled for Sunday School rooms. Chancel area
enlarged again in 1972. Listed in National Register of
Historic Landmarks 1972.
William Wyatt Bibb
1781-1820, First Governor of Alabama. Only governor
of Alabama Territory 1817-1819. First Governor of state
1819-1820. Died in office after riding accident.
Succeeded by brother, Thomas.
William Wyatt Bibb
First Governor of Alabama 1819-1820. Only governor of
Alabama Territory 1817-1819. Born in Amelia County, Va.,
Oct. 2, 1781. In U.S. Congress from Georgia 1805-1813.
Moved here from Elbert County, Ga., 1817. Buried in
private cemetery near home. Succeeded by brother, Thomas
Bibb, presiding officer of state senate.
East Brewton, 1906-1943 Dr. J. M. Shofner (1863-1926)
founder, dedicated his life to–"Give boys and girls a
chance." Dr. Elisha Downing–Humanitarian First building
erected named in honor of Mrs. Esther Downing.
Trustees–1906: J. M. Shofner, D. Gillis, J. E. Finley,
W. W. Hinote, J. M. Davidson, J. F. Jones, James K.
The Ritz Theatre opened its doors on this site
September 14, 1936, and for more than fifty (50) years
prided itself as the "Hub of the Brewton Community."
Between its first feature, "YOURS FOR THE ASKING," and
its last, "CROCODILE DUNDEE," shown January 22, 1987,
the Ritz served as stage for fashion shows, beauty
pageants, dances, and various other community events.
Stars of the "Grand Ole Opry" and "Hollywood" made live
appearances at the Rtiz. The Ritz was the community's
prime source of reliable news from the battle-front
during World War II. With a seating capacity for 761,
the Ritz was the place to be on Saturday afternoon for
generations of children. This legacy of the Ritz Theatre
has been perpetuated with the construction of this
community message center in March 1996.
Site of Fort Crawford
Fort Crawford was established in 1816 by elements of
the 7th U.S. Infantry under order from Major General
Andrew Jackson. Purpose was to monitor Spanish
activities in West Florida and curtail hostile Creek
Indian activities. Named after Second Lieutenant Joel
Crawford, the fort was occupied by units of the regular
U.S. Infantry and the Alabama Territorial Militia. It
was abandoned in 1819 after the United States purchased
Florida from Spain and the Indian menace abated.
Site of Pollard
Located 1½ miles south, town of Pollard established
in 1861 at juncture of Alabama & Florida and Mobile &
Great Northern railroads. One of the largest military
training camps of Confederacy located here during Civil
War. Also site of major Confederate stores depot. Town
suffered much destruction in Federal raids of December
1864 and March 1865. Served as first county seat of
Escambia County from 1868 until 1883 when county
government moved to Brewton.
May 2, 1863. Here girl heroine led Forrest's men
across Black Creek on way to capture Streight's raiders.
This saved the railroad supplying Confederate Army of
North Alabama Conference
The North Alabama Conference of the United Methodist
Church was organized on this site in the Methodist
Episcopal Church South, of Gadsden, Alabama, November
16, 1870–Bishop Robert Paine, presiding. The Centennial
Convocation of the Conference was held here November 16,
1970–Bishop W. Kenneth Goodson, presiding.
Cedar Creek Furnace
Erected 1840, 8 mi. north. Second producer of pig
iron built in Alabama. Iron made here was shipped to
Mobile for Mexican War ordnance; later to Selma and Rome
for Confederate Arsenals. 1864 Furnaces destroyed by
Federal Cavalry raiders under General Rousseau.
Jackson's Military Road
Built by Andrew Jackson, 1816-20. Shortened by 200
miles the route from Nashville to New Orleans. Provided
much-needed road to Gulf for supply wagons and
artillery. Built with U.S. funds and troops. Jackson's
road served as model for 11 such roads built in 1820's.
This road replaced narrow Indian trails. Lack of supply
roads had hindered Jackson in Creek Indian War and
campaigns against Spanish Florida, British at New
A County Older Than the State – Greene County
Named for Revolutionary War hero, General Nathaniel
Greene, who drove British from Southeast. Area explored
by DeSoto, 1540. Claimed as French Louisiana, 1699.
Ceded to England, 1763. Ceded by Choctaw Nation, 1816.
Made a territorial county, 1819. Eutaw, county seat, is
named for Greene's victory at Eutaw Springs, South
Beulah Baptist Church
Organized February 23, 1833 Charter members
were–Elizabeth Brooks, David S. Brooks, Thomas J.
Drummond, Nancy Leatherwood, John Leopard, Albert M.
Tandy, Matilda Tandy, Ralph Tandy, Luke Thornton, Sarah
Thornton, Rev. Matthew Pickett Smith. The first building
was of hewn logs but today, on the same property, are
located the red brick sanctuary and educational rooms
erected 1948. Rev. Matthew Pickett Smith served as
pastor 1836-1881. The first Sunday School was organized
1877 with Thomas J. Nix serving as superintendent.
Throughout the years, members have gone from this church
to serve as leaders in various places.
First Presbyterian Church
Eutaw, Alabama. Erected 1851, D. B. Anthony
Contractor. Organized by Tuscaloosa Presbytery in 1824
as Mesopotamia Presbyterian Church. John H. Gray first
minister 1826-1836. Educational Building Erected 1959.
Pleasant Ridge Presbyterian Church
By appointment of Tuscaloosa Presbytery, Nov. 18,
1848 Rev. J. L. Kirkpatrick and Rev. C. A. Stillman
organized a Presbyterian Church at Pleasant Ridge,
Alabama. There were 13 charter members. Services were
held in a home near site of present church. The first
pastor, Rev. J. P. McMullen, served from 1855 until he
was killed while serving the Confederacy at Resaca, Ga.
1864. The church building erected 1859, has been a
blessing to all who have worshipped here through the
Saint John's Church (Episcopal)
Organized "in the Prairie" south of Greensboro in
1834 by the Rev. Caleb Ives, pioneer missionary to the
old Southwest. Admitted to parish status in 1838 by the
Rt. Rev. Jackson Kemper, Provisional Bishop of Alabama.
First rector was the Rev. John Avery, D.D. Present
building designed by Mr. Richard Upjohn, renowned
American architect and founder of the American Institute
of Architects. Erected in 1859 and moved across the
Warrior River to its present location in 1878.
Spanish West Florida
Spain seized colony, 1780, from British during
American Revolution. Ceded to Spain in 1783. 32 28 ,
northern boundary, crossed present Alabama-Mississippi
River. In 1795 Spain ceded area to U.S. but kept Mobile
Dr. Benjamin M. Dugger
, 1872-1956 Discoverer of antibiotic, Aureomycin Son
of a beloved country doctor, he carried a dedicated
spirit to the frontiers of science. Having won degrees
at Alabama, Auburn, Missouri, Harvard, and Cornell, he
taught at Cornell, Missouri, Wisconsin, completing his
researches and discoveries at Lederle Laboratories. His
discoveries opened a new era in medicine helping
physicians save the lives of millions. Site of
birthplace and boyhood home-300 yards.
Building of Selma, Marion & Memphis Railroad was
completed to this point in 1870 during the presidency
(1869-1874) of the distinguished Confederate cavalry
leader, General Nathan Bedford Forrest. His fellow
officer, Gen. E. W. Rucker, served as superintendent of
construction. An extension to Akron was finished in
1882. This railroad is now part of the Southern Railway
System. (Located at Greensboro)
Built in 1828-29 by John Gayle, sixth governor of
Alabama. Birthplace of Amelia Gayle Gorgas, wife of Gen.
Josiah Gorgas, Chief of Ordnance, CSA, mother of Wm.
Crawford Gorgas, US Surgeon General who freed Canal Zone
of yellow fever. For many years was the home of
Hobson-Tunstall famliy; Wiley C. Tunstall, Alabama
legislator for 39 years and twice Speaker of House.
(Located in Greensboro)
Greene Springs School
1847-1884–2 miles–One of State's academies. Called
"Rugby" of the South. It prepared exceptional number of
Alabama leaders. Founded by Dr. Henry Tutwiler, one of
State's foremost educators. Closed upon his death. One
of the first schools to add study of science and
government to the usual classics. (Located on Alabama
Greensboro Presbyterian Church
Organized 1823 by Rev. James Hillhouse of South
Carolina with Patrick Norris and William Hilhouse,
veterans of American Revolution, as founding elders.
Original wooden structure replaced by brick building in
1841 under pastorate of Rev. Thomas Sydenham
Witherspoon. Present building erected in 1859 when Rev.
J. C. Mitchell was pastor. Old slave gallery may still
be seen. (Located at Greensboro)
Hobson Bethel Methodist Church
Newbern Methodists held services in Presbyterian
Church until 1884. Present site selected and church
building completed in the fall of 1884. Cornerstone
placed in northeast foundation. Fine, walnut altar rail
is original and hand-hewn. Pulpit and chairs donated
when church erected. Lumber used in construction of
building hand-hewn and mortised. Pews and lighting
system have been replaced. Services held on first Sunday
monthly. Rev. J. Bancoft, presiding elder, and Rev. J.A.
Moore, minister, called meeting of members in 1883
including the names: Hobson, Holcroft, Walker, Scott,
Huggins, Moor, True, Sadler, Turpin. Building committee
consisted of Mr. Will Sadler, Mr. E.B. Holcroft, and Mr.
J.A. Moore. Mrs. Sallie L. Hobson granted privilege of
naming church as she raised and donated largest amount
of funds for construction.
Birthplace, ancestral home of Richmond Pearson
Hobson–1870-1937–Spanish-American War Hero. Admiral
Hobson, as a naval officer, statesman, lecturer, and
author, urged national preparedness; championed human
welfare causes. Alabama made this home a state shrine to
Admiral Hobson in 1943. House built in 1858 by Col.
Isaac Groom. (Located in Greensboro)
Site of Prehistoric Indian Village built by Indians
of unknown tribe as a ceremonial center about 1200 to
1400 AD. Here are preserved ruins of their village,
temple mounds, burials of their dead. Mound State
Monument. (Located at Moundville)
Newbern Baptist Church
Church organized in 1848 by Rev. Thomas Chilton.
Sanctuary stands as built in 1849 with original columns
of solid poplar. Education building added in 1959.
Baptist Historical Society has records of church's first
111 years on deposit in library of Howard College at
Birmingham. Newbern Baptist Church–Organized in April,
1848 by the Rev. Thomas Chilton, moderator; John R.
Hendon, clerk; John G. Huckabee, Wm. F. Hendon, John
Dial, Gray Huckabee, Thomas H. Croom, R. S. Tinker, C.
C. Huckabee, L. A. Seawell, Mary A. Paul, Martha
Huckabee, G. A. Huckabee, Maria Hendon, Hannah Hendon,
Maria P. Hendon, Susan Hendon, Martha Donna Hendon,
Elizabeth Driver, Martha Croon, and Mary Ann Tinker.
Town bell, 500 feet south of this marker, has called all
Newbern congregations to worship services since 1868 and
also served as town fire bell. (Located in Newbern)
Newbern Presbyterian Church
Organized 1844 by North Carolinians who settled area
in 1830's. Built in 1848, church typifies rural church
architecture of "Old South." Building stands in
near-original form: hand-hewn lumber joined with wooden
pegs. Early membership included slaves who sat on
benches flanking pulpit. Church always without resident
minister but has monthly service, active church life.
Newbern Presbyterian Church–Organized November 16, 1844
under Presbytery of South Alabama by the Rev. Thomas
Witherspoon and 21 charter members. Petition to
Presbytery signed by T. A. Borden, Anne Borden, Wm.
Ervin, Eliza Ervin, Mrs. Rebeccah Hanna, A. &. S.
Hardin, Mrs. Martha Jenkins. Names of Croom, Tinker,
Mendow, Pearce, and Huckabee also among charter members.
Two women served on early Board of Elders contrary to
Presbyterian rules of order. (Located in Newbern)
First county seat 1819-1839 of Greene County. This
area of Hale since 1867. Town incorporated December 18,
1820, and had about 1,500 inhabitants a few years later.
Floods and Yellow Fever forced removal of county seat to
Eutaw. Town gradually deserted, and last remaining home
(Dorroh) burned in 1933. The Greene County Gazette
published here as early as 1823 by Thomas Eastin. Rev.
James Monette, who preached first sermon in Greene
County in 1818 at Troy (then Greensboro) moved to Erie
in 1818. He died in 1834, and tombstone is here today.
First county seat of Greene County, which then included
what is now Hale. Incorporated in 1820, with Town
Council composed of James A. Tolbert, Thomas H. Herndon,
Francis L. Gaines, Durrett White, Anthony D. Kinnard,
Howell L. Kennon and Hiram Shortridge. Among early
families: Dorroh, Constantine, McAlpine, Lavergy, Moore,
Brown, Edgerly, Bird, Melton, Monette, Hampton, Steele,
Craig, Snedecor, Grant, Jennings, Kimbrough, Inge,
Kennon, Murphy, Moody, Whitehead, Hobson, Williams, May,
Saint Paul's Episcopal Church
This parish established 1830. Third oldest in Alabama
diocese. Church consecrated in 1843 by Leonidas Polk,
Bishop of Louisiana, (later a Confederate general). Here
Nicholas H. Cobbs was chosen first Bishop of Alabama in
1844. First vestrymen: Dr. Richard E. Meade, Dr. R. C.
Randolph, Dr. R. W. Withers, J. Bell, J. B. Strickney,
Dr. R. Inge, Frank Inge, William Murphy, Col. Samuel
Founded here in 1856 by the Methodist Church.
Weathered War and Reconstruction to prosper in late
1800's. Moved to Birmingham in 1918 on merger with
Birmingham College, founded 1898 by Methodists, to
become Birmingham-Southern College.
The Alabama Baptist State Convention
October 28-29, 1823. Was founded here at Salem Church
by 15 messengers from seven missionary societies. They
met to promote missions, education and closer
cooperation among Baptist churches in Alabama.
A County Older Than the State – Henry County
Created in 1819 by Alabama Territorial Legislature.
Named for Patrick Henry of Virginia, colonial statesman
and orator: "Give me liberty or give me death." This
area ceded by Creek Indian Nation in 1814 under Treaty
of Ft. Jackson. Had been part of Lower Creek
Confederacy. Abbeville made county seat in 1833. Abbe an
Indian name of nearby creek.
Henry County Training School
, Established 1914 Founded by Laura L. Ward. Building
designed and constructed by Jim McCauley on land given
by Glass Maybin. Classes began Sept., 1917. Principals
who served school were: J. H. Jackson, W. R. Rosser,
Felix Blackwood, Sr., and William B. Ward, Sr. First
teachers were: Laura L. Ward, Bertha Matthews and Mattie
Belle. School operated for 53 years until closed June
30, 1970. During this time it served as principal
educational center for black citizens of Henry County,
graduating a total of 1297 students.
Pilgrim Rest Baptist Church – East
Constituted to the glory of God by early settlers in
1859, in then Henry County, Ala. Originally with the
West Florida Baptist Association, joined Columbia
Baptist Association in 1887. First church built of logs.
First members were Nathan Whiddon, Mary Whiddon,
Elizabeth Stephens, Sarah Parker, A.B. Williams, Moses
Parker, Aner M. Blackwell, Sarah Stapleton, Mary Parker.
First deacons were Nathan Whiddon, A.B. Williams. Church
became part of Houston Co. in 1903. Present church built
in 1911, with improvements since added. Church cemetery
began circa 1904, previous burials were in nearby church
and family graveyards.
Vital Memphis-Charleston railroad, "backbone of
Confederacy," spanned Tennessee River here. Bridge
burned several times, 1862-63. General Mitchell (U.S.
Flag), occupying Huntsville after Battle of Shiloh,
seized Bridgeport in April 1862 and held it until
August. Federals recaptured town in July 1863 as
Rosecrans (U.S. Flag) took Chattanooga (upriver). As end
of usable railway from Nashville, town became key base
of operations in U.S. victory at Chickamauga and lifting
siege of Chattanooga. (Located in Bridgeport on U.S.
1821-1825 Created by an Act of the Legislature on
December 7, 1821, Decatur County was comprised of
portions of Madison and Jackson Counties. "Old
Woodville," two miles north along County Highway 7, was
designated as the County Seat. An 1823-'24 completed
survey revealed that it did not contain the
constitutionally required number of square miles. The
county was abolished by an Act of the Legislature on
December 28, 1825, and the territory was returned to
Madison and Jackson Counties.
Robert Thomas Scott
, 1800-1863 Planter, tavern operator, newspaper
editor, legislator, and land developer, he sought in
vain to have the Jackson County Seat moved from
Bellefront to the settlement that bore his name. After
his death in 1863, his widow reached an agreement in
1868 with the county government whereby the site for the
courthouse and jail was deeded to Jackson County on
condition that Scottsboro become the county seat.
Incorporated by the state legislature on January 20,
1870, the town became an important commercial center and
shipping point on the Memphis and Charleston Railroad.
1760-1843. Inventor of system of characters
representing syllables in Cherokee language. This give
them the only written Indian language. Adopted here at
Sauta in 1822, Cherokees used new written language to
print the Bible, hymns and a newspaper named Cherokee
A County Older Than the State – Jefferson County
Created by Alabama Territorial Legislature in 1819
from land of Creek Indian Nation ceded in 1814 by Treaty
of Ft. Jackson. Named for Thomas Jefferson 1743-1828
author of Declaration of Independence founder of
University of Virginia third President of the United
States. Settled by soldiers who fought in Alabama with
Andrew Jackson in Creek War, 1813-14. County seat at
Elyton, 1821 to 1871: at Birmingham since 1871.
The Birmingham Public Library
Birmingham's first library was organized in 1886 and
in 1891 became a subscription library for the general
public. In 1908 the Birmingham Public Library
Association established a free public library, and the
City created an independent Library Board in 1913. For
decades the library was housed in various locations
including the old City Hall where it was destroyed by
fire in 1925. Libraries throughout the U.S. sent books
and local citizens contributed for a new building. It
opened April 11, 1927, was peacefully desegregated in
1963, served as the main library until 1984, and was
renovated and reopened in 1985 as the Linn-Henley
The Linn-Henley Research Librar
y This four-story Neo-Classical structure, designed
by architects Miller, Martin, & Lewis, was built of
Indiana limestone in 1927. A model facility when
completed, the library served as a cornerstone of
Birmingham's cultural and educational development. The
building was renovated in 1984 by architects Kidd,
Plosser, & Sprague and renamed the Linn-Henley Research
Library. Special collections housed here include
extensive southern history resources, maps, and the
city's first municipal archives. Significant interior
features include murals and decorative ceilings painted
and installed in the 1920s by nationally known artist
Cahaba Project "Slagheap Village"
A government project under President Franklin D.
Roosevelt A total of 243 houses and 44 duplex units were
constructed from 1936-1938 at an overall cost of
$2,661,981.26. Cahaba residents rented from the
government until 1947, when the houses and duplexes were
sold to individuals at prices ranging from $4,400 to
First Baptist Church of Trussville
Organized at Cahawba Baptist Church, 1821. Elder
Sission Blythe, pastor. Anderson Robertson, Sherwood
Holley, deacons. John Stovall, Jordan Williams,
trustees. Members of Canaan (now Birmingham) Baptist
Association since its beginning in 1833. This marker
dedicated at the church's 140th Anniversary, July 16,
1961. (Located in Trussville)
1780-1841. "Alabama's first church historian." In
1840 he published his study, History of Rise and
Progress of the Baptists in Alabama. Also an evangelist
and missionary. In 1818 moved to Alabama from Carolinas,
organizing five churches in vicinity. President of
Alabama Baptist Convention 1833-38, he was delegated to
write church history. Lack of cooperation led him to
travel over state to get material for book. He died at
Jonesboro home in 1841, buried in Sadler Cemetery 1 mile
south. (Located Alabama Highway 150-4/10 miles southeast
Liberal Arts–1842–founded at Marion by Baptist
Church. 1887–moved to East Lake now part of Birmingham.
1957–moved to new campus here in Shades Valley. Civil
War did not stop its classes. (Located on campus in
(#2) In the valley to the north is the
Georgian-Colonial campus of Howard College–Liberal arts
institution founded in 1842 by Alabama Baptists–Alumni
serve throughout the world. (Located on Shades Mt. on
U.S. Highway 31)
Jefferson County Courthouses
Territorial legislature designated home of Maj. Moses
Kelly (in Jones Valley) as site of first court in this
area of Alabama, 1818. After creation of Jefferson
County, 1819, court held at Carrolsville (Powderly)
until county seat established at Elyton, 1820. County
seat moved to Birmingham, 1873. Two story brick
Courthouse completed 1875 on NE corner 3rd Ave. and 21st
St., North. Replaced 1887 by elaborate three story
structure which served county until 1931. Separate
Bessemer Division of Circuit Court established 1915.
Bessemer Courthouse completed 1920. Present courthouse
completed 1931. Designed by Holabird and Root of
Chicago. Constructed of reinforced concrete faced with
granite and limestone. North Annex built 1964.
Sculptured reliefs on west face depicting history of
Jefferson County by Leo Friedlander. Murals in west
foyer representing "Old South" and "New South" by John
Norton. Bronze statues of Thomas Jefferson by Birmingham
artist George Bridges.
Jefferson County Courthouse Site
The county seat of Jefferson County was moved from
Elyton to Birmingham in 1873. On this site stood the
first Courthouse in the City of Birmingham. The
Italianate style structure was designed by architect
W.K. Ball. Completed in 1875, the two-story red brick
building cost $30,500. In 1887 it was condemned as
unsafe, and a new Courthouse was planned.
Jefferson County Courthouse Site
In 1889 a second Jefferson County Courthouse was
constructed on this site. Charles Wheelock and Sons of
Birmingham and H. Wolters of Louisville were the
architects. Charles Pearce of Indianapolis was
contractor. Constructed in the Romanesque style, the
four-story brick building had a central clock tower
rising 180 feet. Total cost was $300,000. This
Courthouse was built several blocks to the north. The
structure was raised in 1937.
In honor of the men from Mt. Pinson who formed the
"Jefferson Warriors" in mid-July, 1861. Marching to
Huntsville, they were mustered into the Confederate army
on August 12th as Company C of the Nineteenth Alabama
Infantry Regiment under the command of Colonel Joseph
Wheeler. Engaged in momentous battles at Shiloh,
Murfreesboro, Chickamauga, Missionary Ridge, Atlanta,
Nashville, and Bentonville, N.C., the 19th suffered such
losses that only 76 members of this Regiment were
present at the surrender in April, 1865.
2834 Highland Avenue Dr. Mortimer Harvie Jordan and
his wife, Florence E. Mudd, constructed their home
between 1906 and 1908. After service in the Confederate
army, Jordan studied medicine in Cincinnati and New York
(under Alabama's famous gynecologist, Dr. J. Marion
Sims). As a doctor in Jefferson County, he is especially
remembered for his tireless work in the 1873 cholera
epidemic. He served on the State Board of Health
(1879-83), as president of the State Medical Association
(1884), and as chair of material medical and
therapeutics and clinical medicine in the Medical
College of Alabama at Mobile (1886 for two terms).
Jordan authorized numerous publications on surgery,
epidemiology, and gynecology and read many papers on
these subjects before medical association. Florence Mudd
Jordan was the daughter of Judge William S. Mudd,
builder of Arlington plantation. The Jordan home was
sold in 1928 and was restored to its original condition
in 1969. A fine example of neo-classic architecture, the
house features a wide portico with four Ionic columns
and elaborate detail work on the pediment.
The Linn-Henley Research Library
This four-story Neo-Classical structure, designed by
architects Miller, Martin, & Lewis, was built of Indiana
limestone in 1927. A model facility when completed, the
library served as a cornerstone of Birmingham's cultural
and educational development. The building was renovated
in 1984 by architects Kidd, Plosser, & Sprague and
renamed the Linn-Henley Research Library. Special
collections housed here include extensive southern
history resources, maps, and the city's first municipal
archives. Significant interior features include murals
and decorative ceilings painted and installed in the
1920s by nationally known artist Ezra Winter.
Created in 1918 on this site by merger of two
colleges; Southern University a Methodist college
founded in 1856 at Greensboro. Birmingham College
founded by Methodists as N. Alabama Conference College
on this site in 1898.
Oxmoor Iron Furnaces
1863-1928 Fire blast furnace in Jefferson County
erected near this site (1863) by Red Mountain Coal &
Iron Co. Destroyed (1865) by Federal troops: rebuilt
(1873) and second furnace added. Successful experimental
run made in Furnace No. 2 (1876) using local coke and
Red Mountain iron ore: this assured future growth of
coal and iron industry in Birmingham area. Owned by a
succession of companies, the furnaces were acquired by
U.S. Steel Corp. (1907) and later dismantled (1928).
Roebuck Springs Historic District
Roebuck Springs was the first large residential
suburb in Birmingham where planning and development were
tied to the automobile, and the first community in the
city associated with a golf course development. The 1910
land plan was designed to complement the steep, rolling
topography, reminiscent of narrow country lanes in rural
England. The use of local native stones unified the
diverse architectural styles--Craftsman, Tudor Revival,
and Colonial Revival--and contributed to the natural,
distinctive feel of the community. Roebuck Springs is on
the National Register of Historic Places.
Ruhama Baptist Church
Constituted in 1819 by pioneer settlers in Territory
of Alabama. Oldest church in Birmingham Baptist
Association. Elder Hosea Holcombe served as first
pastor. First meeting house was log cabin. Present
building is on fourth site.
In the valley to the north is the Georgian-Colonial
campus of Samford University founded in 1841 as Howard
College by Alabama Baptists at Marion, Alabama. Alumni
serve throughout the world.
Multiple purpose Christian university founded 1842 as
Howard College by Alabama Baptists at Marion. Moved to
East Lake, Birmingham, 1887. Established on this campus
1957. Acquired Cumberland School of Law, Lebanon,
Tennessee 1961. College rechartered 1965 as Samford
University in honor of Frank Park Samford and his
family. (Located on Lakeshore Drive at campus entrance.
This marker replaces old Howard College marker at same
School of Medicine
Opened as Alabama Medical College in 1859 in Mobile
by Josiah C. Nott and other physicians as part of the
University of Alabama. Closed by the Civil War in 1861,
it reopened in 1868. Reorganized in 1897, it became the
Medical Department and in 1907 the School of Medicine of
the University of Alabama. The Mobile School was closed
and moved to Tuscaloosa in 1920 as a two-year basic
medical science program, which was offered through 1944.
The Medical College of Alabama opened in Birmingham with
a four-year program in 1945 and became the School of
Medicine in 1969. The Medical Center gradually emerged
as other schools were established: Dentistry 1948,
Nursing 1966, Optometry and Community and Allied Health
1969, and Public Health 1981. The Medical Center and
University College, which evolved out of The University
of Alabama Extension Center established in 1935, formed
the nucleus of The University of Alabama at Birmingham
Site of Howard College
1887-1957 In the four block area south of this point
Howard College developed a campus, 1887-1957. Founded
1842 by Alabama Baptists at Marion. Relocated 1957 on a
site in Shades Valley, Birmingham, ten miles west.
Rechartered 1965 as Samford University in honor of Frank
Park Samford and his family. (Located in East Lake on
Second Avenue, South)
(1829-1865) Established 1829 with forge built on
Roupes Creek (one mile south) by Daniel Hillman. First
blast furnace built on site in 1850's by Moses Stroup.
Two other furnaces erected in 1863 by William Sanders to
provide iron for Confederate Arsenal at Selma. The only
three-furnace ironworks in Alabama during Civil War,
Tannehill was one of the largest producers of iron in
Confederacy. Ceased operations after being partially
destroyed by Federal troops March 31, 1865. Named for
one of former owners, Ninion Tannehill. Also known as
Roupes Valley Ironworks and Sanders Ironworks.
United States Pipe and Foundry Company
On March 3, 1899, the United States Pipe and Foundry
Company was incorporated consolidating 14 iron and steel
foundries in 9 states. One of these foundries, the
Howard-Harrison Iron Company of Bessemer, was founded in
1889. In 1911, the Dimmick Pipe Company, located in
North Birmingham, became part of the company. U.S. Pipe
led the industry with its introduction of the deLavaud
centrifugal casting technology in 1921. The process
revolutionized the U.S. pipe-making industry and
remained the standard production technology over 75
years later. In 1952, U.S. Pipe merged with
Sloss-Sheffield Steel and Iron Company, founded in 1881,
then relocated to this site in 1953. A subsidiary of
Walter Industries of Tampa, Florida, U.S. Pipe remains
an industry leader as the largest producer of Ductile
Iron Pipe in the United States.
Headquarters March 28-31, 1865. Gen. James H. Wilson,
USA, having crossed the Tennessee River with a large
force of well equipped cavalry, grouped them here at
Elyton. Their mission: to destroy Alabama's economic
facilities for supporting the War. From these
headquarters he sent; (a) cavalry unit to burn the
military school, foundries and bridges at Tuscaloosa.
(b) soldiers to destroy mines and furnaces in Jefferson,
Bibb, and Shelby Counties. (c) cavalry to dash south to
destroy railroads and factories at Selma. (Located at
Arlington, in Birmingham)
A County Older Than the State – Lauderdale County
Created Feb. 6, 1818 by Alabama Territorial
Legislature. (Alabama became a state in 1819) Named for
Col. James Lauderdale, cavalryman under Gen. John Coffee
and Andrew Jackson, War of 1812; killed in battle of New
Orleans. Coffee planned Florence, the county seat.
Jackson, President Madison owned lots.
Settled Here in 1818 Daniel White, native of North
Carolina, purchased land here in 1818, a year before
Alabama became a state. His home and stagecoach stop,
"Wayside Inn," was a large two-story log house located
on the north side of the highway from this site. In 1834
he set aside the original two acres in this burial
ground for a church and cemetery. Daniel White and his
wife, Margaret, are believed to be buried here. Also
buried here is a son, Sherwood White, who operated a
grist mill on Second Creek a few miles west of
Earliest Methodist Congregation in Lauderdale
Organized June 1818 near mouth of Blue Water Creek by
Circuit Riders and became part of Richland Circuit of
Giles County, Tenn. Church later moved to Center Star
(Originally known as Masonville) and named Driskel's
Chapel until circa 1893, then relocated one mile east
and renamed Center Star Methodist. Six locations have
been used by congregation since organized.
Edward A. O'Neal Home Home of Father-Son Governors
Built in 1840's, acquired 1857 by Edward Asbury
O'Neal. Occupied various times during Civil War by
Federals and Confederates. Edward A. O'Neal (1818-1890)
attended LaGrange College; lawyer; Colonel of the 26th
Alabama Regiment, C.S.A.; appointed brigadier general.
Governor, 1882-1886. Emmet O'Neal (1853-1922); lawyer;
Governor, 1911-1915; lived in nearby Courtview.
Florence State Teachers College
Oldest state-supported teachers college south of Ohio
R. 1830–opened as LaGrange College (Methodist) at nearby
Leighton. First chartered college in state. 1855–moved
here and re-named Florence Wesleyan University.
Flourished until closed by war in 1865. 1872–deeded to
State by church; became Florence State Normal School.
1926–present name adopted.
Florence Wagon Company
Moved here from Atlanta in 1889, this industry made
Florence a household word throughout the South. It was
the largest wagon factory in the South, reportedly
second largest in the U.S., with 250 employees and
annual production of 12,000 wagons. World War I army
wagons were made here and sent all over U.S. and to
France. Increasing use of motorized vehicles caused
gradual reduction in activity of factory. The firm was
liquidated in 1930's.
General John Coffee
Home site and grave. Cavalry commander under Andrew
Jackson throughout War of 1812: (Creek War, Pensacola,
New Orleans). Negotiated many treaties ceding Indian
lands to U.S. Made original surveys of Tennessee Valley.
Governor Hugh McVay Home Site and Cemetery
McVay (1766-1851), South Carolina native, built a
three room log house at head of Cox's Creek about 1818.
Community later called Mars Hill. He was a member of
Mississippi Territorial Legislature, delegate to
convention of 1819, which framed Alabama's first
constitution for many years member of Alabama House and
Senate, briefly Governor of Alabama in 1837. Buried near
Grassy Memorial Chapel and Cemetery
Established in 1894 as New Salem Presbyterian Church.
Originally affiliated with the Cumberland Presbyterian
Church, the first recorded meeting was held in 1897,
William White, Pastor. The Church became affiliated with
Presbyterian U.S.A. in 1907. In 1976, it became the
property of the Grassy community under the direction of
New Salem Cemetery Inc. Grassy Memorial Cemetery Inc.
was formed in 1998 by the Grassy community to direct the
operation of the Chapel and Cemetery. May this Chapel
continue to serve the families of Grassy in the future
as it has in the past.
This is the highest domiciliary mound in the
Tennessee Valley. It was build about 1200 to 1500 A.D.
by Indians of the Mississippian Culture. Such mounds
served as bases for ceremonial temples or chief's
houses. This one was originally encircled by an earthen
wall, and there were villages and cultivated fields
nearby. Height: 42 feet; width at base, 180 feet.
Largest in Tennessee Valley. It stands 42 feet high;
served as base for temple. Built by unknown Indians who
lived here long before Columbus discovered America.
Builders perhaps related to Indians who built mounds at
Jackson's Military Road
Built by Andrew Jackson 1816-20. Shortened by 200
miles the route from Nashville to New Orleans for
movement of supply wagons and artillery. Built with U.S.
funds and troops. Followed in part Doublehead's Road
from Columbia, Tenn., to Muscle Shoals. After 1819 mail
route was transferred from Natchez Trace to pass through
Florence via Military Road. A portion of Hood's army
followed the road to Franklin and Nashville in 1864. In
later years called Jackson Highway.
Associate Justice, U.S. Supreme Court John McKinley
(1780-1852), native of Virginia, prominent attorney,
member of Cypress Land Company, built a large
three-story mansion near this site in 1820's which later
burned. McKinley served in Alabama Legislature, U.S.
Senate (1826-31), U.S. House (1833-35); was appointed
Associate Justice, United States Supreme Court, by
President Van Buren: served 1837-52. Died in Louisville,
1828 Home of Major John Brahan, veteran of War of
1812, Major General, Alabama Militia, who owned 4,000
acres here. Built of bricks made on the place, marble
mantels imported from Italy, boxwood hedge from London.
Named for spring nearby. Federals and Confederates
quartered here at various times during the Civil War.
Home of Brahan's son-in-law, Robert M. Patton, Governor
of Alabama, 1865-1868.
Trail of Tears
Thousands of Cherokee Indians passed through Waterloo
in the 1830s when they were forced by the U.S.
government to move West on the "Trail of Tears." Most
came by boat from Tuscumbia and camped here to await
transfer to larger steamboats. During the encampment
several births and deaths occurred. One party of 1,070
Cherokees traveled overland from Ross' Landing in
Tennessee due to low water in the upper river. Following
the general route of U.S. Hwy.72 to Florence, they
arrived here July 10, 1838, in miserable conditions
after a 23-day journey. About 17,000 Cherokees were
driven from their homeland in the southern Appalachian
Mtns. Most traveled by land through Tennessee and on to
Oklahoma. Great suffering and about 4,000 deaths
occurred along the Trail, especially during the winter
A County Older Than the State–Lawrence County
Created by Territorial Legislature in 1818 from lands
ceded by Cherokee and Chickasaw Indians. Named for U.S.
Navy hero of War of 1812 Capt. James Lawrence. Fatally
wounded, his famous command was, "Don't give up the
ship." County seat since 1820 has been at Moulton which
was named for hero of Creek Indian War, 1813-14.
Home of General Joseph Wheeler
1836-1906. "Fighting Joe Wheeler" Confederate Cavalry
Commander of Army of Tennessee. Major-General Cavalry
U.S.A. in Spanish American War.
Soldier-Statesman-Author-Planter. One of Alabama's
representatives in the Statuary Hall in Washington.
Shackleford's Red Rovers
Dr. Jack Shackelford, Courtland physician, named
captain of Volunteer company to aid Texas in seeking
independence. In first action Rovers were with regiment
cut off, captured near Goliad, March 20, 1836.
Surrendered on promise of return to U.S. On March 27,
regiment and others, 365 men, executed at Goliad by
order of General Santa Ana. Shackelford and three other
doctors spared. He later escaped, returned to Courtland.
His son and nephew among those executed. Only 8 of 60
Rovers survived. Incident, plus Alamo, rallied U.S.
support. *Captain J. Shackelford, *Lt. William C.
Francis, Sgt. F. G. Shackelford, Sgt. A. J. Foley, *Sgt.
J. D. Hamilton, Sgt. C. M. Short, Cpl. J. H. Barkley,
Cpl. H. H. Bentley, Cpl. David Moore, Cpl. Andrew
Winter, Patrick H. Anderson, John N. Barnhill, Joseph
Blackwell, *George W. Brooks, *L. M. Brooks, T. E.
Burbridge, F. T. Burt, J. W. Cain, Thomas Cantwell, Seth
Clark, John G. Coe, *D. Cooper, Harvey Cox, R. T.
Davidson, George L. Davis, H. D. Day, A. Dickson, Alfred
Dorsey, H. L. Douglas, W. C. Douglas, J. W. Duncan,
James E. Ellis, Samuel Farley, *Joseph Fenner, Robert
Fenner, J. G. Ferguson, E. B. Franklin, D. Gamble, M. C.
Garner, I. E. Grimes, William Gunter, William Hemphill,
John Hyser, John Jackson, John N. Jackson, H. W. Jones,
John Kelly, Charles McKinley, John H. Miller, D. A.
Murdock, William Quinn, W. F. Savage, J. N. Seaton, W.
S. Shackelford, *Wilson Simpson, B. Strunk, James
Vaughan, Wm. E. Vaughan, James S. Wilder, Robert W.
Wilson. *Escaped at execution, on patrol, or on leave
when unit captured (Located at Coutland)
Site of Alabama Polytechnic Institute. A Land Grant
College, East Alabama Male College (Methodist) 1857.
Agricultural and Mechanical College of Alabama, 1872.
Alabama Polytechnic Institute, 1899. (Located on campus
of Auburn University)
Alabama's Land-Grant University. This title given by
Legislature in 1960 followed start of second century of
growth in diverse services to state, nation. This act
confirmed name "Auburn" used popularly from its founding
by Methodists as East Alabama Male College in 1856.
Methodists deeded college to State in 1872 to become
under the Land Grant Act, Agricultural & Mechanical
College of Alabama. In 1899, with growth, name changed
to Alabama Polytechnic Institute. "Owing much to the
past, Auburn's mission makes its greater debt ever to
the future." (Located on campus Auburn University)
Line 32 28 North Latitude
Northern Boundary of: British W. Florida 1764-83,
Spanish W. Florida 1783-95, Mississippi Territory
1798-1804, Washington County 1800-12, Clarke County
1812-15. Southern Boundary of: British Illinois 1764-83,
United States 1783-95. Line fixed in 1764 by British
king across present Alabama-Mississippi. France had
ceded area to Britain in 1763.
Sigma Alpha Epsilon
The Alpha Mu chapter of Sigma Alpha Epsilon was
founded on June 15, 1878 at the Agricultural &
Mechanical College of Alabama (now Auburn University).
John E.D. Shipp came to Auburn as a student determined
to organize a chapter at a time when fraternities were
forbidden on campus. Working in secrecy with SAE
brothers in Georgia, Shipp had two members of Mercer
University's chapter, William H. Felton and Frank H.
Greaves, travel to Auburn to install the chapter behind
Old Main in a cornfield where Samford Hall now stands.
The first fraternity on Auburn's campus, Sigma Alpha
Epsilon remains a place for "The True Gentleman."
A County Older Than the State–Limestone County
Created Feb. 6, 1818 by Alabama Territorial
Legislature from lands ceded by Cherokee Nation 1806 and
by Chickasaw Nation in 1816. Named for creek (and its
limestone bed) which runs through county. Few settlers
here until Indian treaties. Athens became county seat in
1818. Limestone was the first Alabama county to be
occupied by Federal troops during the Civil War.
Albert S. Johnston
General, CSA. March 9-20, 1862. In a dash to repel
invasion of Mississippi Valley he led Army of Tennessee
across the river here. While here he planned campaign
for the Battle of Shiloh. (Located on U.S. Highway 31)
A liberal arts college. 1822 Athens Female Academy
founded by patriotic citizens. 1843 Raised to college
level under Methodist patronage. First college building,
Founders Hall (1842-3), still used for classes. Unbroken
service since 1822.
General N. B. Forrest, C.S.A.
North Alabama Raid, September 23-30, 1864. Hemmed in
by superior forces Forrest's fast moving cavalry, raided
and destroyed Union supply lines and strong points,
captured 2,360 men, valuable stores. By swift action,
surprise and bluff Forrest disrupted Union military
plans from Decatur to Columbia. (Located on U.S. Highway
Oakland United Methodist Church
Generations of African-American families have
worshiped here, beginning with services held under a
brush arbor prior to the Civil War. In August of 1879,
the land for the Oakland Methodist church was deeded to
parishioners In a wooden one-room building, they
worshiped and operated their own private school, serving
the surrounding communities and producing a number of
ministers and educators. The Limestone County Board of
Education took charge of the school in 1929 until it
closed at the end of the 1952 school year. After the
original structure was destroyed by a tornado, the
Oakland Methodist Episcopal church – which became the
Oakland United Methodist Church in 1972 – was rebuilt.
Renovations to the structure were completed in 1990.
The original "Fort Deposit" was established as a
supply depot by General Ferdinand L. Claiborne in 1813
during the Creek Indian War. It served as a base of
operations when General Claiborne engaged the Creeks at
the Battle of the Holy Ground. The Fort was located just
northeast of the present Myrtlewood Cemetery in the
Gilmer Hills area. The community of Fort Deposit, once
known as Ballard's Precinct, arose on its present site
during the territorial and early statehood periods of
Alabama history. The legislature incorporated the town
of Fort Deposit on February13, 1891.
Founded in 1820 by settlers from the Edgefield,
Abbeville, and Colleton Districts of South Carolina on
property purchased from the U.S. Land Office at Cahaba.
Officially named Hayneville in 1831 to honor South
Carolina Senator Robert Y. Hayne. Hayne's 1830 debates
with Daniel Webster in the U.S. Senate over the nature
of the federal union earned fame for the South
Carolinian across the South and remain classics in
American political discourse.
Settled before 1820 by planters from South Carolina
and Virigina. First called McGill's Hill, it was
incorporated, 1832, as Lowndesboro in honor of William
Lowndes. There was a brief skirmish here between
Forrest's troops and Wilson's raiders, April 10, 1865.
(Located at intersection of U.S. Highway 80 and Alabama
Shiloh Primitive Baptist Church
Organized in 1850 as Shiloh Baptist Church on the
Pritchett Plantation, later known as the R.D. Spann
Place on Highway 21, North, 3 miles north of Hayneville.
Primitive later added to the name. Building originally
constructed of logs, then a wooden-board structure added
as the community grew. Understanding the need to educate
blacks in the late 1800s and early 1900s, the church
served as both a school and a place to worship God on
the Lord's Day. In 1875 the Pilgrim Rest Primitive
Baptist Association was organized at the Spann Place
site, the Elder Morris Jaree, Pastor. Church remodeled
in 1960 under the leadership of Elder J.H. Betts. 1970
building addition made under the leadership of Elder
J.S. Johnson. Congregation in 1990 decided to purchase
parcel of land to relocate some 3 miles north of
original site. New building dedicated 1995. Congregation
has taken active role in social ministry contributing to
the well being of the community. Cornerstone reflects
its philosophy: "We've come this far by Faith."
, 1788-1845 Unmarked grave in Cubahatchie Baptist
Church Cemetery. Half-blooded Creek Indian, planter,
soldier, Indian agent, and historian, Stiggins lived on
a nearby farm fronting the Federal Road from 1831 until
his death. There he wrote "A Historical Narrative of the
Genealogy, Traditions, and Downfall of the Ispocoga or
Creek Indian Tribe of Indians" from his firsthand
knowledge of the Creeks, their leaders, and the Creek
War of 1813-14. His sister, Mary, was married to William
Weatherford (Red Eagle).
Little Texas Tabernacle and Campground
The "Little Texas" Methodist Tabernacle and
Campground site of Camp meetings since the 1850's. The
Tabernacle–a place of worship–was built by black and
white settlers of the area. The original structure was
made of hand-hewn timbers, wooden pegs, handsplit
shingles and sawdust floor. Sides were open except for
fence-rail barriers. Worshipers camped in open air or in
temporary wooden barracks called "tents" during long
revivals. When revivals were in progress, the campground
was governed by camp rules adopted and enforced by
religious leaders. Williams Chapel was built later.
Northern boundary here at 32° 28'. From Georgia line
to Mississippi River, territory extended south to 31°,
present Florida line. Created by Congress in 1798. 1802
Georgia gave up claim. 1804 Enlarged north to Tennessee.
1817 Alabama Territory created. 1819 Alabama became 22nd
Union Christian Church
Union Christian Church began in spring 1897, under a
brush arbor approximately 4 miles northeast of this
site. Two acres were donated by future Congressman
Charlie W. Thompson, of Tuskegee. Rev. John Allen Branch
was the first minister. The original church building was
completed in 1899. Worship services continued there
until June 1937 when fire destroyed the building. After
a vacant school building and 5 ½ acres of land were
purchased from the State Board of Education at this
site, a new church was dedicated on September 19, 1937.
That facility was replaced by the present church
building, dedicated March 19, 1963. The vision of its
founders has provided a strong faith community in Union
Christian Church (Disciples of Christ).
Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University
Normal, Alabama Legislature approved 9 December 1873
"a normal school for the education of colored teachers"
in Huntsville. Ex-slave William Hooper Councill founder
and first president. Classes began May 1875 in a rented
building; moved 1881 to first school-owned property on
West Clinton Street. Land-grant funds received 1891 for
training of Negroes in agriculture and mechanic arts
enables school to enlarge and re-establish at present
location. Evolved from a normal school to a University
in ninety-four years. Former names 1873 - Colored Normal
School at Huntsville 1885 - The Huntsville State Colored
Normal and Industrial School 1896 - The State
Agricultural and Mechanical College for Negroes 1919 -
The State Agricultural and Mechanical Institute for
Negroes 1948 - Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical
College 1969 - University status achieved
The Big Spring
This inexhaustible source of pure water was a marvel
to Indian and frontiersman alike prior to the 19th
century. John Hunt, an early settler, built a cabin near
this site by 1805. The spring became a major attraction
at the land sales of 1809, when LeRoy Pope outbid all
others. By 1823, spring water was being pumped 96 feet
through hollowed cedar logs to a reservoir on the town
square. This was one of the earliest waterworks in the
Big Spring (continued from other side) In 1843, LeRoy
Pope's son, William H. Pope, deeded the site to
Huntsville for one dollar. Until 1957, the spring was
the main source of fresh water for Huntsville's
citizens, and for thirty years prior to 1950, revenue
from the sale of water was the largest single source of
income for the city's General Fund. A park/picnic ground
was developed around the spring in 1898. Before that and
for many years afterward, great crowds attended
religious baptisms held below the small dam at the
Located in Section 18, Township 2, Range 2 East, this
site was an early wayside stop for pioneer settlers as
they traveled the road from Winchester, Tennessee into
Madison County. The tavern predates the creation of the
county, Dec. 13, 1808. During the Creek Indian War
(1813-1814), the Deposit Road was created at this point
and stretched southeastward through Cherokee lands to
Fort Deposit near Gunter's Landing. This became the
supply route for General Andrew Jackson's forces. His
deputy, Colonel John Coffee, stored supplies opposite
the tavern and camped his troops (Nov. 22-Dec. 8, 1813).
By tradition, the tavern took its name "Buckhorn" in
1858 when William L. Fanning killed a buck near the site
and presented its antlers to the innkeeper. The antlers
are now displayed at Buckhorn High School. The original
building was demolished in the early 1950s.
Buckhorn Tavern Skirmish
Buckhorn Tavern was the site of the skirmish on Oct.
12, 1863. Confederate General Phillip D. Roddey's
Alabama Cavalry Brigade was moving south from New Market
when it intercepted Union General Robert Mitchell's
Cavalry Brigade, advancing northeast from Huntsville. A
brisk firefight broke out, the opposing forces so close
they could see each others' faces by the muzzle flashes.
Both sides hesitated to advance in the approaching
darkness and heavy rain. The Union troops camped for the
night in the woods; the Confederates retired to New
Market. The next morning, Rodney's Brigade rode on to
Athens. The union cavalry did not pursue.
On this site stood the Calhoun House, used as a
Federal Courthouse, where desperado Frank James was
tried and found not guilty, by jury trial, on April 25,
1884, for robbery of a government payroll near Muscle
Shoals, Alabama. May 11, 1881. One of his defense
attorneys was Huntsville's LeRoy Pope Walker, first
Secretary of War of the Confederate States of America.
Central Presbyterian Church
This church which had its origins in the Cumberland
Presbyterian Church was first mentioned at a meeting of
the Presbytery on April 7, 1812. It became known as
First Cumberland Presbyterian Church of Huntsville,
Alabama. In 1828 the first building was constructed on
Greene Street north of Holmes Street. In 1845 a second
building, designed by George Steele, was erected at this
site. The present building was begun in 1899. In 1906
this church became known as Central Presbyterian Church
when united with the Presbyterian Church, USA.
Chickasaw Old Fields
This place has been known by three names: Chickasaw
Old Fields-1769. Cherokee Indians attacked Chickasaws
who were invading their lands. After severe battle
Chickasaws withdrew. Ditto's Landing–Early boat landing
on Tennessee River established by John Ditto, Indian
trader. Town of Whitesburg–Old river port, incorporated
1824 by James White, Abington, Va., "Salt King."
(Located on U.S. Highway 431 near Tennessee River)
The Church of the Nativity, Episcopal
The Church of the Nativity congregation was organized
December 17, 1842--the name chosen because of the
approaching Christmas season. The Convention of the
Diocese of Alabama, Protestant Episcopal Church,
approved the congregation on February 16, 1843. The
original brick church, erected in 1847, stood east of
the present structure. The present church building, an
outstanding example of Gothic Revival architecture, was
designed by Frank Wills and Henry Dudley of New York.
Erected at a cost of $37,500, it was dedicated Easter
Eve, April 13, 1859, and consecrated January 29, 1860.
Bibb Chapel was consecrated in 1886 as a memorial to
Wilson Carey Bibb. Ridley Hall, for parish functions,
was completed in 1953 as a memorial to Dr. James L.
Ridley. Joffrion Hall, dedicated in 1983 as an
educational building, was named for the Rev. A. Emile
Joffrion, ninth rector. For 150 years, Nativity was
served by only ten rectors, two of whom became bishops.
The Rev. Henry C. Lay, second rector, was consecrated
Missionary Bishop of the Southwest (1859). The Rev.
Randolph R. Clairborne, Jr., seventh rector, was
consecrated Suffragan Bishop, Diocese of Alabama (1949)
and became Bishop of Alabama (1953).
City of Madison
Established in 1856 as a shipping station on the
Memphis and Charleston R.R., the town was plotted on
land owned by James Clemens and incorporated by vote of
its citizens in 1869. First officials included William
R. Johnson, mayor; and five aldermen, William B. Dunn,
first depot agent; Thomas J. Clay, first postmaster;
George W. Martin, first merchant; James H. Bibb,
planter; and Dr. George R. Sullivan. The community
remained small until the growth of industries associated
with Redstone Arsenal and the Jetport in the 1950's and
1960's transformed Madison intro a thriving city.
Councill Training School
(1919 - 1970) In 1919, the first building was erected
nearby with funds provided locally and supplemented with
a Julius Rosenwald Foundation grant. Named for William
H. Councill, Alabama A&M University founder, the
three-room structure was built for black students in
grades 1-6. Traditionally county black students were
taught in churches and lodge halls. Many would continue
their education at the University's Laboratory School.
The second school was erected on this site in 1948. This
structure accommodated 600 students, grades 1-12. The
first class graduated in 1949. The principals were: Dr.
Charles Orr (1948-53), Mr. J.H. Richards (1953-59), and
Mr. A.G. Adams (1959-70). In 1952, the school was
accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and
Schools. Enrollment increased from 600 to 950; faculty
from 22 to 32. Additional classrooms were constructed in
1958 and 1962. The Civil Rights Act of 1964 impacted the
future of the school. As black students attended
neighborhood schools due to integration, enrollment
declined. In 1968, the school became a senior high
school, limited to grades 10-12. The school closed in
1970 as full integration took effect. The land and
property reverted to Alabama A&M University in 1971 to
accommodate University needs.
Dallas Mills & Village
1892-1949 Chartered in 1890 by T.B. Dallas, Dallas
Mills began operation in 1892 as Alabama's largest
cotton mill, manufacturing sheeting. The mill village
extended from Oakwood Ave. South to Dallas St. Employees
were provided homes, medical care, churches, library,
lodge building, YMCA, concerts, a kindergarten, and
schools. The mill closed in 1949 and the village was
incorporated into Huntsville in 1955.
Dallas (Optimist) Park
1928-1949 Built in 1928, Dallas Park served as the
baseball field for the Dallas Mill teams coached by H.E.
"Hub" Myhand, who came to Huntsville in 1927 as physical
director for Dallas Manufacturing Co. Until the 1940s,
he was Mr. Baseball in Huntsville. During these years,
semi-pro baseball featuring local mill teams drew loyal
crowds of up to 6,000 fans. In 1935, the Lincoln and
Dallas Mill teams merged to form the Redcaps. The
Huntsville Dr. Peppers (1937-1943), a women's semi-pro
softball team coached by Cecil Fain, also played here.
(Dallas) Optimist Park
1949- In 1949, the Optimist Club purchased Dallas
Park from Dallas Mills, erected lights, and renamed it
Optimist Park. The close of the cotton mills ended the
mill-team era, though semi-pro baseball returned with
Leroy McCollum's Huntsville Boosters (1950-53). The
park, one of the few early ball parks open to all races,
was used during the 1950s and 1960s for exhibition games
by the Birmingham Black Barons and other Negro League
teams. With the Park renovated and reopened (1994) by
the City of Huntsville, baseball returned to Optimist
Park, the self proclaimed "Friend of Youth."
First Bank in Alabama–Merchants and Planters Bank
Housed on this site in brick building 44 ft X 54
ft–Chartered by Mississippi Territorial Legislature
December 11, 1816–Commenced operations October 17, 1817,
shortly thereafter made depository for Huntsville
Federal Land Office funds–Charter voided by Proclamation
of Governor Pickens on February 1, 1825–LeRoy Pope,
first and only president. (Located on Huntsville-Decatur
Highway at intersection of road to new Airport)
First Baptist Church
, Huntsville, Ala. Oldest Baptist Church (Missionary)
in Alabama. Organized June 3, 1809 as the West Fork of
Flint River Church. Presiding Clergy: John Canterbury,
John McCutchen and John Nicholson. Renamed Enon Church
and called John Canterbury as 1st pastor 1809. 1st
meetinghouse completed 1813, 1 mile NE of Meridianville.
2nd meetinghouse completed 1825, 3 miles NE of
Meridianville. Charter member of Flint River Baptist
Association 1814. This historical marker erected 1983.
Hosted organizational meeting of Liberty Baptist
Association November 1838. Built 3rd meetinghouse
1859-1869 at Clinton and Gallatin Sts. Pastor Eugene
Strode led church to Huntsville 1861. Renamed First
Baptist Church 1893. Dedicated new building 1895.
Relocated to this site 1963. Completed new facilities
with distinctive, modernistic architecture, and
Christian symbolism 1966. Established seven missions of
which several became churches. Charter member of Madison
Baptist Association 1838. Member of Alabama Baptist
First Presbyterian Church
Huntsville, Alabama. Organized June 15, 1818 by the
Rev. Gideon Blackburn, D.D. One of the state's oldest
Presbyterian churches. This site was selected for the
first church building, dedicated on Oct. 13, 1822. The
second, and present, sanctuary was dedicated on May 18,
1860. Names of all ministers who have served this church
are recorded on plaques in the sanctuary. This marker
erected on 150th anniversary of organization.
First United Methodist Church
Huntsville, Alabama Methodism brought into area 1807
Methodist Society organized at Hunt's Spring prior to
formation of Madison County, served 1808-1820 by Flint
Circuit traveling ministers. First Church built 1821 NW
corner Clinton and Gallatin Streets. Present site
acquired 1832, church completed 1834, occupied and
accidentally burned by Federals 1864. Cornerstone laid
1867 for present sanctuary, dedicated 1874.
Flint River Primitive Baptist Church
Alabama's oldest Baptist church was constituted by
Elder John Nicholson on October 2, 1808 in the home of
James Deaton in Killingsworth Cove. It was named "The
Flint River Baptist Church of Christ." The original
building was built circa 1809 on the bank of the Flint
River ~ 1 mile east of this site. Circa 1885, the
congregation relocated to a new site ~ 2 ½ miles east of
the original location. Circa 1937, the present structure
was built ~ 3 ½ miles west of the second site.
"Primitive" was added to the congregation's name after a
division occurred within the Baptist family in the
1830's. Those congregations that embraced new church
practices such as mission boards, Sunday Schools, and
musical instruments in the church were called "New
School" or "Missionary" Baptist. Flint River Baptist
Church continued in the simplicity of New Testament
worship, thus being called "Old School" or "Primitive"
Ford's Chapel United Methodist Church
(Organized 1808) The Western Conference, Oct. 1-7,
1808 in Williamson County, Tenn., sent James Gwinn to
the "great bend" of the Tenn. River. Gwinn organized at
the home of Richard and Betsy Ford, the first Methodist
Society of the six in the Flint Circuit. This circuit,
among others, was served for many years by circuit
riders. First building was started in 1815. Building and
2½ acres of land deeded to church trustees in 1824 by
the Fords. Present sanctuary, begun in 1870 on original
foundation, has undergone several renovations and minor
Birthplace of General Morgan the Rebel Raider. In
this house John Hunt Morgan was born June 1, 1825. This
dashing cavalry leader of the Confederacy was killed at
Greeneville, Tenn., Sept. 4, 1864. This house, built in
1823, was the home, 1849-1949, of the heirs of Stephen
Neal, Madison County's first Sheriff. (Located in
Glenwood Cemetery replaced the original slave
cemetery known as "Georgia," which had been established
in 1818 and located north of the present Huntsville
Hospital. Glenwood Cemetery was established in 1870 by
the City of Huntsville following the purchase of 10
acres from Benjamin W. Blake estate, originally a part
of the John Brahan Plantation. Additional land was added
in 1875 from the W. W. Darwin family, resulting in the
current configuration. Distinguished African Americans
buried here include veterans of America's wars beginning
with the Civil War, former slaves, accomplished
artisans, professionals in many fields, clergymen,
educators, entrepreneurs, politicians, and other
leaders. Early Community Leaders Buried Here Include:
Henry C. Binford, Educator Daniel S. Brandon, Alderman
William H. Gaston, Clergyman Charles Hendley, Jr.,
Editor, Huntsville Gazette C. C. Moore, Post man Burgess
E. Scruggs, Physician
On January 25, 1934, Oscar Goldsmith, Lawrence B.
Goldsmith, Annie Schiffman Goldsmith, Robert L.
Schiffman, and Elsie Strauss Schiffman gave this
property to the City of Huntsville for an athletic
field. The gift was in memory of Betty Bernstein
Goldsmith (wife of Oscar and mother of Lawrence) and
Betty Herstein Schiffman (wife of Isaac and mother of
other donors). The Civil Works Administration provided
$6500 in materials and labor to construct the field, the
first in Huntsville to accommodate night athletic games.
The Acme Club raised funds for lighting through season
ticket sales. Dedication exercises were held during the
first night game on October 4, 1934, when 1000 fans saw
Coach Milton Frank's Huntsville High team defeat Gadsden
Chartered in 1812. Leading educational institution.
Long prominent in training leaders of North Alabama.
Occupied by Federal troops, 1862. Buildings burned,
1864. Site of city schools since 1882. Location used
only for school purposes.
"Viduta"-derived from Spanish "vida" meaning "life"
In a time when yellow fever, malaria, and cholera
threatened, Dr. Thomas Fearn and his brothers Robert and
George were drawn by the cool air and medicinal springs
to establish a small colony on the northern section of
Monte Sano Mountain in 1827. In 1833 the town of Viduta
was officially established. This area contains a variety
of architectural styles dating from the late 1800's.
Hotel Monte Sano
"Monte Sano"-Spanish for "Mountain of Health" In 1887
the North Alabama Improvement Company, with the
assistance of Michael and James O'Shaughnessy, built a
233-room hotel on Monte Sano Mountain. The hotel served
as a health resort and haven for industrial giants
including the Vanderbilts and Astors. Guests arrived via
the Monte Sano Railway which ran up the mountain. The
hotel ceased operations in 1900 and was later purchased
by the Garth family for their summer residence. It was
demolished for salvage in 1944. All that remains of the
hotel is the brick chimney on Old Chimney Road.
Howard Weeden Home
Built 1819 by H. C. Bradford, this home was later
owned by John Read, John McKinley, Associate Justice of
the Supreme Court (1837-1852), Bartley M. Lowe, M. C.
Betts and Marie Howard Weeden (1847-1905) whose poetry
and paintings preserve nineteenth century Southern
culture. Marked by D.A.R. 1910; H.A.B.S. 1935 National
Register of Historic Places, 1973
City was scene of these "firsts" in Alabama: 1811
first town incorporated 1812 first Masonic Lodge
chartered 1816 first bank incorporated 1819 first state
constitution drafted 1819 first Governor inaugurated
1819 first session of state legislature held 1824 first
cotton mill erected.
Indian Creek Canal
Northern terminus Indian Creek Canal–First canal in
Alabama–Incorporated 1820–Completed 1831–This canal was
constructed to the Tennessee River to facilitate the
transportation of cotton to market. Developers were:
Thomas Fearn, LeRoy Pope, Stephen S. Ewing, Henry Cook,
and Samuel Hazard. (Located in Huntsville near northern
end of canal at Big Spring)
Initial Survey Point
In 1809, Major Thomas Freeman, Deputy U.S. Surveyor,
established a marker here on the state line and began
surveying south toward the middle of the state. This
line, known as the Huntsville Meridian, is the reference
for all property surveys in North Alabama. The Initial
Point, now in the middle of the highway, was reset in
1977 by the Alabama Society of Professional Land
John Williams Walker
(1783-1823) President of Alabama's First
Constitutional Convention 1819 and Alabama's first U.S.
Senator 1818-22. Walker County in northwest Alabama,
created 1823, named in his honor. Four of his sons,
Percy Walker, John James Walker, LeRoy Pope Walker, and
Richard Wilde Walker, were prominent in Alabama
politics. (Located 2 mi. north of Meridianville on U.S.
highway 231 & 431)
Joseph J. Bradley School
1919-1967 The School, named for Joseph J. Bradley,
Sr., was built in 1919 on the site of the first
mill-sponsored school. Under the leadership of Edward
Foyl DuBose, Principal (1921-1967), and with the mill's
financial support, the school grew from 6 grades to 12
and served as a social and recreational center for the
entire community. In 1951, the mill owners made a gift
of the school to the county school system and, in 1956,
it became part of the city school system. The elementary
school continued operating until it was closed in 1967.
Lincoln School and Village
In 1918 William Lincoln Barrell of Lowell, Ma.
purchased Abingdon Mill and transformed it into a large
textile center of all concrete construction named
Lincoln Mill Village. Phillip Peter served as its
superintendent from 1934-1953. Built in 1929 this school
became the central core of community life until 1956
when Lincoln Village was annexed to the city of
Huntsville. Edward W. Anderson served as its principal
for 27 years. Many graduates became local and state
leaders. The mill stopped operation in 1957 and burned
Made a county in 1808 by order of Governor of
Mississippi Territory. Area ceded 1805, 1806 by
Cherokees, Chickasaws. This was the first land in
Alabama ceded by these great civilized tribes.
Maple Hill Cemetery
Established 1818 by the city of Huntsville, Maple
Hill Cemetery has become the final resting place of many
citizens of this community. Here lie brave men who
served in the major wars of our nation, many public
servants, and many citizens whose good works may have
been known only to God. Scrolls in Cemetery Reception
Hall bear the names of some outstanding people.
Governors of Alabama who lie buried in this cemetery:
Thomas Bibb, 1784-1839, Governor 1820-21–Clement Comer
Clay, 1789-1866, Governor 1835-37–Reuben Chapman,
1799-1882, Governor 1847-49–Robert Miller Patton,
1809-1885, Governor 1865-68–David Peter Lewis,
1820-1884, Governor 1872-74. (Located in Huntsville)
Merrimack Mfg. Co. & Village
1900-1992 In 1899, construction started on Merrimack
Mill and village. The mill began operation in 1900. A
second mill building, added in 1903, made it one of the
largest in the South. Under Joseph J. Bradley, Sr.,
managing agent (1905-1922), the village grew to 279
houses, a hospital, school, company store, and other
small businesses. In 1920, the steam-operated mills
converted to electricity. Lowenstein fabrics bought the
mill (1946), changed its name to Huntsville Mfg. Co.,
and the village became Huntsville Park. The mill
continued to operate until 1989 and in 1992,
Huntsville's last operating textile mill was torn down.
Mount Paran Campground and Cemetery
New Market, Alabama "A holy place: symbol of
eternity, strength, and stability within the
wilderness." One of the earliest known Cumberland
Presbyterian campgrounds in Madison County, Mount Paran
Cemetery is the resting place for many of the county's
pioneer settlers, with the earliest surviving grave
stone dated 1826. Originally this six acre site was
bequeathed to Mount Paran Presbyterian Church of New
Market in 1842 by Samuel Davis. A division within the
congregation in 1906 resulted in the dissolution of the
Cumberland Presbyterian Church at New Market in 1914,
and some of its members joined neighboring
congregations. With the decline of its use, Mount Paran
Cemetery became known as "Graveyard Hill." Today Mount
Paran Cemetery comprises 3.77 acres; approximately 400
grave sites may be found of which 135 have markers
remaining. Revolutionary War veterans Samuel Davis and
Moses Poor are buried here, along with their families,
as well as those of Issac Criner and John Miller.
Records indicate the burial of a number of early
pioneers, farmers, servants, merchants, physicians,
educators, ministers, public officials, veterans of
major wars, and those whose good works may be known only
New Market Presbyterian Church
Mary Miller deeded land in 1849 to serve both
Methodist and Cumberland Presbyterian congregations. The
original building burned and the Methodists in 1882 sold
their interest in a second building. This second church
destroyed by a tornado in 1884. Present building erected
in 1888. In 1906 the Cumberland Presbyterians left to
form a new church, and the remaining members affiliated
with the First Presbyterian Church, USA; N.J. Powers,
Minister. National Register of Historic Places, 1988.
George Gilliam Steele, one of Huntsville's preeminent
architects, designed and built Oak Place as his country
residence circa 1840 on 320 acres. An outstanding
example of Early Greek Revival architecture, it was
unique for the period with its split-level style,
English basement, sliding pocket doors, and other
unusual architectural features. Oak Place was occupied
by Union troops during the Civil War and served as
headquarters for General Joe Wheeler when a military
camp was established in Huntsville during the
Spanish-American War. Purchased by the East Huntsville
Baptist Church in 1960 and renovated in 1980. Historic
American Building Survey (HABS) - 1934 National Register
of Historic Places - 1974
Founded 1896 Oakwood College, which began as an
industrial school, was founded by the Seventh-day
Adventist Church in 1896 to educate African Americans in
the South. The school was erected on 380 acres purchased
during the previous year for $6,700. Additional property
secured in 1918 nearly tripled its land holdings. The
school underwent several name changes over its history:
1896: Oakwood Industrial School 1904: Oakwood Manual
Training School 1917: Oakwood Junior College 1943:
Oakwood College In 1958, Oakwood was granted full
accreditation by the Southern Association of Colleges
and Schools. Oakwood prepares students from across
America and many nations to serve the world in a variety
of positions and careers, reflecting its motto, "Today's
College for Tomorrow's Leaders." On this site, too,
stood the Peter Blow Plantation which counted Dred Scott
among its slaves in 1819. In 1857, Scott captured
national attention by virtue of his appeal to the U.S.
Supreme Court for his freedom in Missouri after
sojourning in the free state of Illinois.
Old Town Historic District
Designated by the City of Huntsville, Alabama, on
December 12, 1974, as a Huntsville historic district, it
contains houses dating from 1828 onward with the
majority dating from 1880 to 1929. Approximate
boundaries: East Clinton Avenue north to Walker Avenue;
Lincoln Street east to Andrew Jackson Way. Listed on the
National Register of Historic Places, July 18, 1978.
Original Site of Alabama Agricultural and
(now located at Normal, Alabama) Legislature approved
9 December 1873 "a normal school for the education of
colored teachers" in Huntsville. Ex-slave William Cooper
Councill founder and first president. Classes began May
1875 with sixty-one pupils and two teachers; held in
rented buildings until moved 1881 to this site–the first
school-owned property. Land-grant funds received 1891
for training of Negroes in agriculture and mechanic arts
enabled school to enlarge and re-locate on present
campus north of the city. Former names 1873 - Colored
Normal School at Huntsville 1885 - The Huntsville State
Colored Normal and Industrial School 1896 - The State
Agricultural and Mechanical College for Negroes 1919 -
The State Agricultural and Mechanical Institute for
Negroes 1948 - Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical
College 1969 - University status achieved
Original Site of Enon Baptist Church
Approximately one-half mile north of here is the
original site of the oldest Baptist Church (Missionary)
in Alabama. This congregation was organized on June 3,
1809 as the West Fork of Flint River Church and renamed
Enon Church shortly thereafter. John Canterbury was
called as the first pastor on August 5, 1809. This group
became a charter member of Flint River Baptist
Association in 1814. Services were held in members'
homes until a log meetinghouse was completed in 1813.
This building served until 1825 when a brick church was
constructed three miles northeast of Meridianville. In
1861 under the leadership of Pastor Eugene Strode, the
congregation moved to Huntsville. The Enon Baptist
Church was renamed First Baptist Church of Huntsville in
Original Site of Lakeside United Methodist Church
1866-1968 The Missionary Society of the Methodist
Episcopal Church purchased this property in 1866, and
the congregation erected a frame building with a brick
basement in 1867. The Rev. Howell Echols was the first
pastor. In 1886, a brick building, constructed from
dismantled materials from the original Episcopal Church
of the Nativity, was dedicated. The property was sold
during urban renewal in the 1960's, and the congregation
moved to 3738 Meridian Street in 1968. The building on
this site was destroyed by fire, and many items,
including church records, stained glass windows,
cornerstones, and a chandelier, were lost. For more than
a century at this site, Lakeside provided educational,
political, and cultural leaders for Huntsville. The
first city-supported school for blacks was located in
the basement (1867-1890), with Henry C. Binford, Charles
Hendley, Jr., and Thomas Cooper as principals. Six of
the nine black Aldermen in Huntsville from 1880-1905
were members of the church: Thomas Townsend, Nelson
Hendley, David and Daniel Brandon, Dr. Burgess E.
Scruggs, and Henry C. Binford . Mary Binford Johnson
began the Annual Harvest Cultural Festival in 1901 in
the basement and the first public library for blacks was
opened there in 1940 by Dulcina DeBerry.
Huntsville, Alabama Built 1860 Memphis and Charleston
Railroad Company Eastern Division Headquarters in this
passenger depot, adjoining yards and shops captured by
Union Army April 11, 1862. Vital east-west Confederate
rail link severed; C.S.A. soldiers imprisoned here.
Depot later used by Federals as base for gathering
supplies for Western Theater military operations. After
Civil War returned to M. & C. R.R. Co.; acquired by
Southern Railway System 1898; since 1971 preserved by
City of Huntsville. National Register of Historic Places
Poplar Ridge School
Poplar Ridge School had its beginning in 1858 as a
one-room log building. The existing late Classical
Revival frame building was built circa 1875. A late
Victorian façade was subsequently added. At one time the
school had an enrollment of 100 students. It remained
active until 1941, when it was consolidated with New
Hope High School. The schoolhouse has also been used as
a community center and voting place. Alabama Register of
Landmarks and Heritage - 1990
The Public Inn
Constructed circa 1818 by John Adams at the NE corner
of Madison St. and Williams Ave. Operated as an inn and
boarding house by William E. Phillips from 1819-21;
believed to have housed some delegates to the nearby
Alabama Constitutional Convention in 1819. Original
structure probably enlarged by an 1832 addition. The Inn
was rolled on logs to this site in1926, and an addition
was built on the rear in 1927. One of the few surviving
Federal-period frame structures in Huntsville. National
Register of Historic Places - 1980
1921-1964 The school, named for mill general manager
Archie L. Rison, was the hub of village social life.
Cecil Fain, Rison High School principal for 32 years,
taught "Discipline Comes From Within." The school, which
served educational and social needs of Dallas village
for four generations, was located on this site.
Saint Bartley Primitive Baptist Church
Located here 1872-1964 Oldest Negro congregation in
Alabama. Organized 1829 by William Harris, a slave, who
was minister more than 50 years. Original church, called
Huntsville African Baptist, stood 4 blocks south in Old
Georgia Graveyard. In 1870, this church and 3 others
formed Indian Creek Primitive Baptist Association.
Congregation occupied brick church on this site
1872-1964. In 1965, moved to new building 3020 Belafonte
Ave., N.W. Present name honors Bartley Harris, saintly
second minister. Other pastors: Felix Jordan, Eli
Patton, Richard Moore, Amos Robinson. Marker erected in
150th anniversary year.
Saint Mary's Church of the Visitation
Missionaries served Catholics in Huntsville until
1861, when Father Jeremiah F. Trecy was sent by Bishop
John Quinlan to organize this parish. Cornerstone for
the building was laid in October 1861. Due to the Civil
War the church was not completed until 1872. It was
dedicated October 1877. This parish helped to form three
other parishes, parochial schools, and charitable
organizations in the community. National Register of
Historic Places 1981.
Schiffman Building Birthplace of Tallulah Bankhead
This was the original site for a building erected by
John Brahan before 1817 known as No. 1& No. 2 Cheapside.
Erected circa 1845, the present structure is surviving
south third of a Federal-style building. In 1895, the
Southern Savings and Loan Association acquired the
property, and commissioned Architect George W. Thompson
of Nashville, Tennessee to transform the building into
Huntsville's only surviving example of Richardsonian
Romanesque architecture. Isaac Schiffman purchased the
property in 1905. His family's businesses have continued
here since that date. The building was placed on the
National Register of Historic Places in 1980.
Shiloh United Methodist Church
(Organized 1808) In October, 1808, the Western
Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church sent James
Gwinn, a circuit rider, to the "great bend" of the
Tennessee River to formalize existing Methodist
Societies. He organized the Flint Circuit to serve
frontier settlers in southern Tennessee and Madison
County, Mississippi Territory. The first meetings of the
Shiloh Methodist Episcopal Church were held in a private
home. In late 1819 legislation was enacted which
permitted churches to own land and, in 1820, a
one-half-acre plot was added in 1876 to construct a new
church. That building burned in the mid 1890's. Its
replacement was destroyed by fire in 1931. The present
edifice was then constructed. Shiloh remained as a
circuit charge until late 1953, when it began full-time
worship services with B.M. McElroy as pastor. Shiloh
provided a school for the community until 1917.
Site of Alabama's First Constitutional Convention
Here, on July 5, 1819, forty-four delegates from
twenty-two counties in the Alabama Territory met to
frame a State Constitution which was accepted and signed
August 2, 1819. Convention leadership was furnished by
two Huntsvillians, John Williams Walker, president, and
Clement Comer Clay, chairman of a committee appointed to
draft the document. (Located in Huntsville on NW corner
Franklin and Gates Streets)
Site of Cabaniss Cotton Spinning Factory
One mile east of here stood the first known Cotton
Spinning Factory in Alabama, erected by Charles Cabaniss
in 1817-18. (Located on east side of Meridianville
Highway near Fisk)
Site of Ditto's Landing and Town of Whitesburg
In 1807 pioneer James Ditto began operating a ferry
with landings on both sides of the Tennessee River.
Early settlers landed here in order to reach their lands
in Madison County. James White, Salt King of Abingdon,
Va., established a thriving port at this location,
incorporated as Whitesburg on Dec. 23, 1824. Throughout
the 19th century this port remained an important cotton
shipping center. With the advent of railroads water
transportation declined and the town soon disappeared.
Its post office closed in 1905.
Site of Huntsville Inn
A three-story brick building erected before
1817–Here, President James Monroe was honored at a
public dinner on June 2, 1819, while on a three-day
visit to the Alabama Territory–Here, also, the First
Alabama Legislature convened on October 25, 1819, while
Huntsville was the first Capital. (Located in Huntsville
on East Side of Public Square)
Site of the Huntsville Slave Cemetery
On September 3, 1818, the Huntsville City
Commissioners purchased two acres of land from LeRoy
Pope for a "burying ground" for slaves. This cemetery
was located within the NE quarter of Section 1, Township
4, Range 1 West of the Base Meridian. It was
affectionately known as "Georgia" within the black
community. The cemetery continued to be used from 1818
until 1870 when Glenwood Cemetery was designated as the
city's burial ground for African Americans. No known
records have survived.
2 miles NW on old Limestone Road during a skirmish
August 5, 1862, Federal General Robert L. McCook was
killed by men of Capt. Frank Gurley's Confederate unit.
In retaliation, the Federal forces burned and pillaged
the area. (Located at Pelvna on Winchester Road)
(1902-1968) Alabama's Best-Known Actress Tallulah
Bankhead was the toast of the London theater in the
1920's, and nationally renowned for her dramatic roles
in "The Little Foxes" (1939), "The Skin of Our Teeth"
(1942), the movie "Lifeboat" (1944), and as emcee of
"The Big Show" (NBC Radio, 1950-52). She was born in
Huntsville on January 31, 1902, in an apartment of the
Schiffman building. Her father, then Huntsville City
Attorney, was Speaker of the U.S. House of
Representatives. A ravishing beauty in her youth,
Tallulah was known for her uninhibited exuberance, deep
sultry voice, and for calling everyone "Dahling." She
appeared in 56 plays, 19 movies, and scores of radio and
television productions during her 50-year career. She is
buried in the churchyard of St. Paul's, Kent County,
Temple B'nai Sholom
Huntsville's first Jewish citizens arrived during the
1840's. Congregation B'nai Sholom ("Sons of Peace") was
founded July 30, 1876 by 32 families. They affiliated in
1877 with the Union of American Hebrew Congregations,
the Reform Movement. Construction of the Temple began in
1898, and it was dedicated on November 26, 1899.
Chairman of the Building Committee was Isaac Schiffman.
Architecture is primarily of the Romanesque Revival
style, with influences of the Renaissance Revival in the
west front gable. The Temple was designed by architect
R.H. Hunt of Chattanooga. Extensive restoration was
completed in 1994. Temple B'nai Sholom is the oldest
synagogue in Alabama in continuous use.
The Leroy Pope Mansion
, 1814 During the original Madison County Land Sales
of 1809, LeRoy Pope of Petersburg, GA, secured among
other purchases a majority of Section 36, Township 3,
Range 1 West, the site of the future town of Twickenham,
as Huntsville was originally known. Pope created Popular
Grove Plantation on this site and erected his home in
1814 in time to entertain Gen. Andrew Jackson on his
return from the Battle of Horseshoe Bend. The residence
was among the earliest brick structures in Alabama.
Inherited by his son, William H. Pope, the mansion was
sold in 1848 to Dr. Charles Hays Patton, who
commissioned George Steele to add the handsome Classical
Revival portico. Nearby during the Civil War, Federal
forces built an earthen breastwork to defend the eastern
approaches to the city.
Town of Gurley
Located on land owned by John Gurley, pioneer
settler, and named for him. His son, Capt. Frank B.
Gurley, became a Confederate hero as a member of the 4th
Ala. Cavalry. The settlement that developed around the
water tank on Memphis and Charleston R.R. was known as
Gurley's Tank. Post office established in 1866 as
Gurleysville and town incorporated as Gurley in 1891.
Madison County High School located here in 1907. Last
hometown of Senator and Mrs. C. C. Clay, Jr.
Town of New Market
Settled by Pioneers early as 1806 Voting precinct
established 1827 Town incorporated 1837 George Smith,
major landowner of town site, build first log house and
established mercantile business, 1814. John Miller
excavated millrace, erected gristmill and sawmill, 1819.
William Hayter, first Postmaster, 1827-1839. Town became
a thriving commercial center for a prosperous
agricultural community, once known as "The Watercress
Capital of the World;" greatly respected for development
of religious and educational endeavors, and furnishing
political leadership in local and state governments.
6 mi. south–Incorporated November 13, 1819–Located on
the Tennessee River at the southern terminus of Indian
Creek Canal, Triana was a thriving port through which
cotton and other produce of Madison County moved to
market, prior to establishment of railroads in North
Alabama. In 1819, designated one of first six voting
precincts in the county. (Located on Huntsville-Decatur
Highway at intersection of road to new Airport)
Twickenham Historic District
Designated by the city of Huntsville, Alabama, March
23, 1972. This district is a living museum of American
architectural styles dating from 1814. It encompasses
about one-half of the original town of Twickenham,
Huntsville's first official name. Approximate
boundaries: North, Randolph Avenue; East, California
Street; South, Lowe Avenue; West, Franklin Street.
National Historical Register 1973.
Vienna (New Hope)
Originally known as Cloud's Town, this community was
incorporated in 1832 as Vienna. It prospered as a market
town before the Civil War. On May 29, 1864, the 12th
Indiana Cavalry, commanded by Lt. Col. Alfred Reed,
seized the town. They built a stockade and named it for
General Peter J. Osterhaus. The hit-and-run tactics of
Confederate Col. Lemuel Mead and Lt. Col. Milus E.
(Bushwhacker) Johnston caused Union officers to
retaliate by burning Vienna to the ground on December
15, 1864. Only the Masonic Lodge and the Post
Office/Tavern remained. By 1883, Vienna was back to its
pre-war size and was reincorporated as New Hope.
William Hooper Councill
High School Site, 1892-1966 The first public school
for African-Americans in the city of Huntsville was
named for the founder of the Alabama A&M University. The
site, selected by a committee headed by the Rev. W.E.
Gaston, was donated by the Davis-Lowe family. Founded in
1867 in the basement of Lakeside Methodist Episcopal
Church on Jefferson Street, the school was moved to a
frame building on this site in 1892. The first diplomas
were granted in 1912. A brick structure replaced the
original building in 1927. The school was closed due to
integration, graduating its last class in 1966.
A County Older Than the State – Marengo County
Created Feb. 7, 1818 by Alabama Territorial
Legislature from lands ceded by Choctaw Indian Nation.
Named for Marengo, Italy, where Napoleon won victory
over Austrians in 1800. After Napoleon's defeat, some of
his exiled officials came here in 1817 in a vain attempt
to establish Vine & Olive Colony. County seat, Linden,
surveyed in 1824; named for Hohenlinden, Bavaria, where
French won another victory over Austrians.
Situated on historic White Bluff overlooking the
Tombigbee River, Bluff Hall was built 1832 by slaves of
Allen Glover for his daughter, Sarah Serena, and her
husband, Francis Strother Lyon. Lawyer and planter, F.
S. Lyon, served in both Confederate and the United
States congresses. Frequent war-time visitors in his
house were General Leonidas Polk and General Zachary
Deas. Bluff Hall now owned by the Marengo County
Demopolis Methodist Church
On Marengo Circuit, 1826-1839, church founded 1840,
great revival 1843. First building erected 1840-43
(remodeled 1848) on lot donated by the Rev. A. J.
Crawford. Two early pastors became bishops: John C.
Keener (1843-44) and Holland N. McTyeire (1846). Present
building erected 1895-96. B. D. Price of Philadelphia,
architect. Dedicated April 24, 1904, by Bishop W. A.
The Demopolis Opera House
(side one) In 1876, the town of Demopolis leased the
former Presbyterian Church, a classic brick structure
built in 1843 and occupied by federal troops during
Reconstruction, to the Demopolis Opera Association. The
association revitalized the building as a theater for
live performances and civic lectures. Though heavily
dependent upon local talent, the Opera House also
featured professional actors and entertainers from
places such as New York and New Orleans until its doors
closed in 1902. Minstrel shows were frequent, popular
attractions. Wealthy businessman Leonard Newhouse served
the association as its secretary. He and his wife Sophia
Marx were the grandparents of playwright Lillian
Lillian Hellman and The Little Foxes
(side two) Playwright Lillian Hellman (1905-1984)
enjoyed her greatest stage triumph with The Little
Foxes, which opened in New York on February 15, 1939,
with Alabama actress Tallulah Bankhead in the lead role.
Hellman's writings and personal history suggest her
affluent Marx relatives from Demopolis were models for
the fictional Hubbard family in Foxes. The play's
mansion "Lionnet" bears strong resemblance to the
stately Lyon family homes (Bluff Hall and Lyon Hall) in
Demopolis. Hellman wrote the screenplay for the film
version directed by William Wyler whose wife Margaret
"Talli" Wyler was a relative of the Demopolis Tallichet
The Demopolis Theater District
Establishing a history of theaters in this district,
the Braswell Theater introduced its ornate interior to
Demopolis on October 23, 1902, with a performance of the
melodrama Unorna. Built by Frederick Henry Braswell in
galleries above his hardware store on Strawberry Avenue,
the theater provided a local stage for operas, plays and
minstrel shows into the 1920s. A popular silent screen
star from Alabama, Henry B. Walthall, appeared live in
the drama Taken In at the Braswell on April 15, 1921.
The Elks Theater, the city's first "picture show,"
opened October 1, 1915, in the building with a front
palladium window constructed by John Cox Webb, Jr., on
the corner of Strawberry and Washington streets.
Braswell Theater partners Harry Simon and Tom
Nonnenmacher acquired the Elks and gave it a new name,
the Si-Non, for a February1, 1916, opening. The Si-Non
Theater featured silent motion pictures and personal
appearances by celebrities until 1929 when it began a
regular schedule of "talkies." Famous boxer Jack Dempsey
and escape artist Harry Houdini appeared at the Si-Non.
After a management change in January, 1931, the Si-Non
operated as the Lido Theater for its final four years.
On September 14, 1935, the Marengo Theater at the
intersection of Washington and Cedar celebrated its
grand opening as the city's exclusive showplace for
movies. A capacity crowd enjoyed the picture Two for
Tonight, but a phone call from Hollywood star Jean
Harlow to Mayor N.C. Floyd proved to be the evening's
highlight. Originally operated by an Atlanta company,
the Marengo was subsequently purchased in 1940 by Henry
W. Webb, its first local owner.
First Presbyterian Church
, Demopolis, Alabama Organized by nine members of
Tuscaloosa Presbytery on November 1, 1839, the Rev.
Issac Hadden officiating. Erected brick building, still
standing, on northeast corner of Public Square in 1843.
Sold to Marengo County on 1869 for use as a courthouse.
Wooden church dedicated December 5, 1869. On present
site donated by Dr. Cincinnatus Ashe. Major remolding,
1905, steeple modification, 1936. Eastside addition,
1953, northside addition 1989.
Built in 1840 for Augustus Foscue (1799-1861), a
North Carolina native who owned more than 3,000 acres
and 137 slaves in Marengo County by 1850. Daughter Mary
Alice (1838-1899) married in 1855 to Dr. Bryan Watkins
Whitfield (1828-1908), a son of Gen. Nathan Bryan
Whitfield of nearby Gaineswood Plantation. Original
construction date worked into orange-hued brick on south
side chimney. Brown-hued brick addition built onto front
in 1849, requiring removal of two-tiered, columned
entrance portico. Present shed-roofed porch added in
twentieth century by Jesse G. Whitfield, replacing small
1849 portico. Interior woodwork and wainscoting bear
original "faux bois" graining to stimulate bird's eye
maple done by slave, Bob Ashe, who became a well-known
carpenter in post-bellum Demopolis.
Built 1842-1860 by Gen. Nathan Bryan Whitfield
1799-1868, accomplished planter of the Canebrake, using
imported materials and artisans, glorifying the Greek
Revival Architecture by combining Doric exterior,
Corinthian grand ballroom, Ionic parlor and dining room,
with mirrors, chandeliers, columns, domes. This house
was named for Gen. George Strother Gaines, 1784-1872,
distinguished United States Agent and Factor to Choctaw
Indian Nation. (Located at Demopolis)
Homesite of General Count Charles
On this site stood the Alabama home of General Count
Charles Lefebvre-Desnouettes (1772-1822), friend of
Napoleon Bonaparte, general of the French army, Count of
the empire and leader of the "Vine and Olive Colony"
that founded Demopolis in 1817. Desnouettes erected log
cabins on this site; one of them being used as a shrine
to Napoleon and containing souvenirs of the emperor's
battles arranged around a bust of Napoleon on a pedestal
made of cedar. Desnouettes died in a shipwreck off the
coast of Ireland in 1822.
Jefferson Baptist Church
Established as Mt. Pleasant Baptist by Elder James
Yarbrough in 1820 with 27 charter members. By 1834 it
had 150 members. Church among the oldest in Demopolis
area. Buried in church cemetery are John Gilmore, Reuben
Hildreth and John Sample–Revolutionary War veterans who
founded Jefferson and helped establish this church.
(Located in Jefferson north of Alabama Highway 28)
Jefferson Methodist Church
Built on two acres of land deeded by John D. Catlin,
May 30, 1842, to Daniel E. Ellis, James Turner, David
Compton and John Besteder, trustee of Methodist
Episcopal Church known as Asbury Meeting House. This
early Greek Revival building was dedicated on the first
Sunday in June, 1856, by the Reverend Phillip Phillips
Neely, minister from Marion, Alabama. Services held 2nd
and 4th Sundays, 9 a.m.
Joel Desaker Jones
"A Man of His Times" Born January 15, 1861, at Sweet
Water (Exmore) Died June 28, 1946, at Dixons Mills
Locally educated, he began surveying at age ten, using
this engineering office throughout his lifetime.
Appointed Marengo County Surveyor, a position he held
for fifty years, simultaneously surveying many miles of
highway and railroad routes and town plats in Alabama.
For many years he wrote a newspaper column, "Old Times,"
about the history and settlers of Marengo County.
Saint Andrew's Church (Episcopal) Prairieville
1834–Organized as mission by Rev. Caleb S. Ives for
settlers coming here to the Canebrake from Atlantic
Seaboard. 1844–made parish of Diocese of Alabama.
1851–this site selected. 1853-54–this building erected.
St. Michael's Episcopal Churchyard
1844 - Dr. Thomas & Louisa Harrison gave acre of
their Faunsdale Plantation for a log church designated
Union Parish. 1852 - name changed to St. Michael's
Parish. 1855 - slave artisans Peter Lee and Joe Glasgow
built Gothic Revival-style church. 1888 - church
disassembled and moved to town of Faunsdale. 1932 -
destroyed by tornado; much of the interior wood salvaged
for new brick church building. Northern part of
churchyard has graves of slave communicants. Oldest
marked grave - Dr. Harrison - 1858.
Shiloh Baptist Church
Organized July 1827 The orignal building was located
about three miles east of the present site near the
village of Shiloh. It was used as a union church until
it became a Baptist Church in 1842. A new building was
erected at the present site and the first bodies were
laid to rest in the adjacent cemetery. Prior to the
Civil War, blacks also attended worship services. In
1878, they withdrew their membership to erect their own
building. Seven churches have been organized from Shiloh
Church, of which five remain active.
Trinity Episcopal Church
Established by the Rev. Caleb S. Ives January 31,
1834 The first church building, a frame structure built
in 1852 was burned by Federal troops during their
occupation of Demopolis. The present church building was
erected in 1870 and forms the Nave. The transepts were
added in 1896 and the bell tower in 1910. While camped
in Demopolis, the Rt. Reverend Leonidas Polk, Bishop of
Louisiana and Lieut. General of the Confederate Army,
often worshiped at Trinity.
Vine and Olive Colony
Exiled Bonapartists granted four townships of land in
this area by Act of Congress March 3, 1817. Colonists
founded Demopolis in 1817 and villages of Aigleville and
Arcola soon thereafter. Attempts to cultivate grapes and
olives failed. After a few years the settlements were
practically abandoned by the French refugees.
Composed of limestone or "Selma Chalk" which abounds
in fossils. Called "Ecor Blanc" by eighteenth-century
French explorers and cartographers. Named "Chickasaw
Gallery" because early Indian inhabitants harnessed
boats from here. Landing site of Bonapartist exiles who
established the "Vine and Olive Colony" in 1817.
Drainage canal constructed between 1845 and 1863 by
slaves of General Nathan Bryan Whitfield, builder of
Gaineswood, to prevent water from overflowing and
flooding his plantation. The water from 20 to 70 acres
south and east of Gaineswood originally followed a 17
miles course to reach the Tombigbee River. The canal,
approximately one mile long, in some places more than 30
feet deep, quickly diverts this surface water into the
river at Demopolis.
General Jackson's Military Road
Andrew Jackson returned victorious from the Battle of
New Orleans along this path to Tennessee after the War
of 1812. Already in use by 1812, it was improved with
federal funds in 1816. The road handled foot, horse,
wagon, and stagecoach traffic and attracted settlement
along its New Orleans to Nashville route for much of the
State Bank and Trust Formerly Winfield State Bank
Bank stands as architectural and financial landmark.
Began serving community 6-8-1907. Community's oldest
bank. Doors kept open continuously even during the Great
Depression. Current building designed by Warren, Knight
& Davis of Birmingham and completed 8-27-62. Original
vault door built circa 1915 by Herring-Hall-Marvin Safe
Co. Late presidents included P. M. R. Spann, R. W.
Harris, Jr., James G. Stalcup, Grace D. Stalcup, Wm. S.
Stalcup and W. Danny McDaniel. Named to Alabama Register
of Historic Places on 10-1-97.
Old Bethel United Primitive Baptist Church and
Organized by 1847 as one of the first churches on
Sand Mountain. First meeting house erected 1855;
buildings at present site constructed about 1885 and
1927. Preachers included Samuel Tyler, Levi Isbell, and
Mark Hyde. Five daughter churches constituted between
1862 and 1895, including nearby Concord in 1870.
Cemetery begun 1876. Sarah (Birdwell) Isbell among first
white settlers in Madison County, 1805. Ambrose Nall a
sailor in Union blockade of the Confederacy. Elijah
Isbell and John Bearden veterans of Union cavalry during
Western Boundary of Cherokee Nation
Boundary line established between the Cherokee Indian
Nation and the United States by Treaty of Chickasaw
Council House, September 14, 1816. The line surveyed by
Col. William Barnett in spring of 1817. The established
line remained as the Western Boundary of the Cherokee
Indian Nation until their forced removal to Oklahoma
Territory in 1837. It continues to be shown on official
Quadrangle Maps, even today.
Battle of Mobile Bay
One of the fiercest naval actions of the war was
fought off this point August 5, 1864. The mighty
Tennessee, an iron-clad ram built at Selma shipyards
with six guns, was last of four-ship Confederate fleet
defending, with troops in Ft. Morgan, the bay and
entrance to Mobile. Adm. Farragut ('Damn the torpedoes')
commanded 17 ships with 199 heavy guns. Adm. Buchanan
alone attacked Federal fleet; furious close-quarter
fighting followed. Encircled and taking heavy fire,
Tennessee's crew inflicted losses until, rudder chains
and smokestack shot away, she was rammed at will and
drifted helplessly but with guns and armor intact.
Farragut then landed troops who took Ft. Morgan after
19-day siege. Mobile, last fortified port, fell in 1865.
Bayou La Batre
Originally called "Rivere D'Erbane," the bayou
acquired present name from French-maintained battery of
artillery on West Bank for defense. First permanent
settlement on south Mobile County mainland. Founded 1786
when Joseph Bouzage (Bosarge), 1733-1795, moved into the
area and was awarded a 1259 acre Spanish land grant on
West Bank. Born Poitiers, France, Bouzage came to Gulf
Coast ca. 1760. Married Catherine Louise Boudreau 5
June, 1762. Father of seven children including one son,
Jean Baptiste. City of Bayou La Batre incorporated 1955.
British West Florida
1763-1780. 1763 Florida and Louisiana, east of the
Mississippi, ceded to England by Treaty of Paris. 1763
George III of England created West Florida as a new
colony; this included all of present South Alabama. 1768
Elias Durnford, provincial engineer, made the first
survey of the bay and published his Admiralty Chart.
1778 William Bartram, eminent botanist, explored the
plant life of this area. 1780 Spain having declared war
on England, Governor Galvez from New Orleans invaded the
bay with 2000 men. They captured the British garrison at
Mobile after a siege of two weeks. General George
Washington regarded Galvez as an ally.
1813-1861. 1803 Mobile Bay area claimed by U.S. under
terms of Louisiana Purchase, although occupied by
Spanish garrisons. 1812 Added to Mississippi Territory
by act of Congress. 1813 Seized from Spanish garrison by
military force on order Pres. Madison. 1817 Alabama
Territory created by act of Congress. 1819 Alabama
admitted to Union. 1861 Alabama seceded and joined
Confederate States of America.
Early Spanish Florida
1519-1561. Explorers, Conquistadors, Colonizers. 1519
Pineda explored this coast, made maps, and spent several
months in this bay refitting his ships. 1528 Narvaez's
storm-wrecked expedition sought refuge here. De Vaca
survived to reach Mexico. 1539 Maldonado explored coast
and recommended rendezvous here with De Soto. 1540
Maldonado returned with ships to remove De Soto's army.
But De Soto, after Indian Battle of Mauvilla, turned
northwest still seeking gold. 1558 Bazares explored bay
area by order of Spanish king and reported conditions
favorable for colonization. 1559 De Luna with 1500
settlers and soldiers landed here, established main
colony at Pensacola, and moved into interior along
Alabama River. 1561 De Luna colonists, after many
hardships, descended the Alabama River and re-embarked
Marks 31° North Latitude erected 1799–1½ miles–Stone
marked boundary between U.S., Spanish Florida from the
Mississippi east to Chattahoochee River. Ellicott, U.S.
Surveyor General, did this first Alabama boundary
survey. Basis of all South Alabama surveys. His survey
defined southern boundary of Mississippi Territory
created in 1798. (Located on U.S. Highway 43)
On this site stood Emerson Institute, Mobile's first
school for the formal education of African-Americans in
Alabama. Founded 1865 by the Freedmen's Bureau, the
school was run by the American Missionary Association
from 1866 until 1927 when it became a Mobile County
public school. First located in the "Blue College" on
Government Street, the school moved in 1877 here to 266
Scott Street after a disastrous fire. Many of its
students had careers of local and national distinction.
Emerson closed in 1970 and its buildings were demolished
as part of the city's plan for urban renewal.
Louis XIV, Grand Monarch of France, sought to wrest
Gulf Coast from Spain and to defeat British pretensions
west of Appalachian Mountains. Under vague terms of
Peace of Ryswick, 1697, France claimed all west of
Perdido River, by explorations of LaSalle. 1699
Iberville, with colonists and soldiers, cast anchor
here. They made temporary settlements on Dauphin Island
and at Biloxi. 1702 Mobile, Capital Louisiana Province,
founded at 27 Mile Bluff. 1711 Mobile removed to present
site. 1711 British privateers from Jamaica made
destructive raids on French in lower Mobile Bay. 1719
With Spain and France at war, the Spaniards from Cuba
twice attacked and pillaged settlements of lower bay.
1756-1763 British fleet blockaded entrance to bay and
stifled French trade. 1762 French ceded Louisiana
Province to Spain by secret treaty. 1763 Florida and
Louisiana Province, east of the Mississippi ceded to
England by Treaty of Paris.
Mobile Bay Area
History Under Six Flags. 1519-1699 Spanish Florida by
discovery, exploration and conquest. 1699-1763 French
Louisiana by colonization, exploration and trade.
1763–1780 British West Florida by treaty, occupation and
administration. 1780-1813 Spanish West Florida by
invasion, seizure and treaty. 1813-1861 United States by
invasion, seizure and treaty. 1861 Independent State of
Alabama. 1861-1865 Confed. States of America.
Mount Vernon Arsenal and Barracks
Established 1828 by Congress to store arms and
munitions for U. S. Army. Original structures completed
1830's. Arsenal appropriated by Confederacy 1861;
equipment moved to Selma facilities. After Civil War
used as U. S. Army barracks; from 1887-1894 served as
holding ground for Apache Indian prisoners. Deeded to
State of Alabama 1895. Josiah Gorgas, later Chief of
Ordnance of Confederacy, stationed here 1850's; Dr.
Walter Reed, conqueror of yellow fever, served as post
surgeon 1880's; Apache chieftain, Geronimo, prisoner
Started in 1833 by James Roper on a Spanish land
grant, "Oakleigh" was named for the magnificent oaks
around it. The "T" shaped dwelling with elegant parlors
and curved outside stairway from the brick terrace to
front gallery was well suited for a semi-tropical
climate. Many famous visitors, including President James
Garfield, were entertained here. It was included in the
Historic American Building Survey and the National
Register of Historic Places. Acquired by City of Mobile
in 1955. Now operated as a museum by Historic Mobile
Preservation Society, it reflects antebellum life in
Mt. Vernon Hospital established 1900 by State of
Alabama. Served as mental hospital for care of Black
citizens. Name changed 1919 to Searcy Hospital honoring
first superintendent, Dr. J. T. Searcy. Treatment for
all citizens began 1969. Nine of structures dating from
1830's still in use, including Superintendent's House,
Tower Building, and Library. Enclosing wall dates from
Spanish West Florida
1780-1813. 1780 Spaniards invading from New Orleans
seized this area from British. 1783 Treaty of Versailles
confirmed West Florida to Spain without defining north
boundary. This led to a long dispute with the United
States. 1795 By treaty, 31° latitude was made boundary
between United States and Spain. 1803 United States
claimed Mobile Bay as part of Louisiana Purchase, but
Spanish garrisons remained in possession. 1806 Spanish
troops stationed at Mobile Point. 1812 Congress
authorized President Madison to use army and navy to
occupy Mobile Bay.
During the westward expansion of the United States in
the early 1800's, those whose destination was the new
Mississippi Territory took a right fork off the Federal
Road which led to the Alabama River ferry at Claiborne.
After the land cessions of the Creek Indians in 1814,
Claiborne became one of the fastest growing settlements
in the old Southwest, attracting a number of Alabama's
early prominent men. Among them were future state
governors John Gayle, John Murphy, and Arthur Bagby.
Claiborne also was the home of William Barrett Travis,
who traveled to Texas and became the hero of the Alamo
Creek Indian War 1813-1814. Built by General
Ferdinand L. Claiborne as a base for his invasion of the
Alibamo country with U.S. Regulars, Lower Tombigbee
Militia, and friendly Choctaws. Claiborne's campaign
culminated in the American victory over the Creeks at
the Holy Ground.
Indian Springs Baptist Church
This sanctuary was built one mile west of this site
about 1825 near springs used by local Indians. The
original wood-frame building survived virtually
unchanged, with no modern conveniences. An Indian
Springs petitionary letter was presented to the
Bethlehem Baptist Association, meeting in Monroe County,
by L.W. Lindsay and A. Curry on 26 September 1834. The
petition was cordially received by the association. The
newly constituted church had 22 charter members and held
Sabbath meetings on third Sundays. Baptisms were held in
the springs nearby which gave the church its name. For
more than a century the modest church was an inspiration
as our ancestors brought forth the earth's bounty,
worshiped God and led lives of quiet dignity. Listed on
the Alabama Register of Landmarks and Heritage on 26
Masonic Lodge #3
Oldest building in Monroe County Erected 1824 with
funds from a public lottery. Lower floor served as a
Baptist Church and a Court Room in which William B.
Travis, then a resident of Claiborne, practiced law.
Visited by General Lafayette April 6, 1825. Moved to its
present location in 1884. Preserved by the Perdue Hill's
Old Monroe County Courthouse
The Old Monroe County Courthouse, designed by
prominent Southern architect Andrew Bryan, was built
between 1903 and 1904 during the tenure of Probate Judge
Nicholas Stallworth. One of two buildings of this type
designed by Bryan ( a sister courthouse in LaGrange,
Georgia was destroyed by fire), the architectural style
is Roamanesque with Georgian influence. It was
constructed by Louisville, Kentucky contractor M. T.
Lewman. The courthouse was the seat of most county
offices and the site for court cases until the
construction of the new courthouse in 1963. The lasting
fame of this building is derived from the Pulitzer
Prize-winning novel To Kill A Mockingbird, as well as
the motion picture of the same name which features the
now-famous courtroom scene. Today this site is on the
National Historic Register and is a national literary
Perdue Hill Industrial School
The Perdue Hill Industrial School was founded by
Patrick J. Carmichael after he moved to this area in
1918. Carmichael acted as both the principal and teacher
during the early years of the school, which was
originally a one-room structure serving eleven students.
The State of Alabama provided $75 annually towards
school operating costs, and students paid a tuition of
.25 each year. When money ran short for the
African-American children that the school served,
tuition was often paid with chickens or cans of syrup.
Over the next forty-six years, Carmichael was
instrumental in the growth of the school, which
ultimately reached twelve rooms which provided
educational space for 250 students and ten teachers. The
school closed in 1964, and Carmichael was honored in
1968 by the Alabama State Senate for "outstanding
accomplishments and contributions to humankind."
(1924-1984) On this site stood the home of the Faulk
family of Monroeville, relatives of the writer Truman
Capote. Capote himself lived in this home between 1927
and ca. 1933, and for several years spent his summer
vacations here. Two of the Faulk sisters operated a
highly successful millinery shop located on the town
square. The third sister, affectionately known as
"Sook," was the inspiration for the characters in the
Grass Harp, The Thanksgiving Visitor, and A Christmas
Memory. The original structure on this site burned to
the ground in 1940, and the second home was demolished
in 1988. Monroeville remained important to Capote
throughout his life, and he returned to area many times
in the years before his death to visit surviving
relatives. "I won't be here forever, Buddy. Nor will you
....The Lord willing, you'll be here long after I've
gone. And as long as you remember me, then we'll always
be together." Truman Capote, The Thanksgiving Visitor
A County Older Than the State – Montgomery County
– 1816 Created by Mississippi Territorial Legislature
from lands ceded by Creek Indian Nation in Treaty of
Fort Jackson, 1814. Named for Major Lemuel Putnam
Montgomery, killed at Horseshoe Bend, 1814, while
leading charge on Indian fortifications. During Colonial
times many Indians lived in this area which was claimed
by Spanish Florida and French Louisiana, British
Carolina, Georgia and West Florida, and Spanish West
Florida. The City of Montgomery, incorporated 1819 by
Alabama Territorial Legislature, was named for Maj. Gen.
Richard Montgomery, hero of the American Colonial Army,
killed at Quebec in 1775. (Located at Montgomery County
A Nation Divided
The Alabama State Capitol served as the symbol and
meeting place for the government of the newly formed
Confederate States of America for 4 months in early
1861. Growing controversy over slavery and states'
rights, climaxed by Abraham Lincoln's election as U.S.
president in Nov. 1860, prompted the secession of the 7
Southern states, including Alabama, by early Feb. 1861.
On Feb. 4, delegates from 6 of these states convened in
the Senate Chamber of the Capitol to organize a separate
government. In the ensuing weeks, the assembly adopted a
Constitution, established governmental departments, and
elected a chief executive.
Born Feb. 17, 1779 in Prince Edward County, VA,
nephew of John Scott, founder of Alabama Town which in
1819 joined New Philadelphia to become Montgomery.
Reared in the Broad River area of northeast Georgia, he
became an affluent planter, tanner and general trader.
When Creeks lost much of their land in the 1814 Treaty
of Ft. Jackson, "Alabama Fever," the lure of much very
fertile land, caused many Broad River residents, among
them Abner McGehee, to emigrate to Alabama. He bought a
huge plantation in the area now known as Hope Hull,
named for a Methodist preacher who brought his family
into the Church in 1809. McGehee was a very prosperous
farmer and entrepreneur. In 1833 he built Planter's
Hotel on Court Square and rebuilt it when it burned. He
was a promoter of Alabama railroads, including the
76-mile line from Montgomery to West Point, GA, one of
the first in the state when its construction began in
1836. Instrumental in starting the iron industry in
Alabama, in 1830 he hired ironmonger Daniel Hillman to
erect a forge in Roupes Valley, later known as
Tannehill. A devout Methodist, he founded the Alabama
Bible Society in 1851. His philanthropies were
unexcelled in Alabama in his lifetime. He died on Feb.
19, 1855 and he is buried here.
1755-1849 Born October 24, 1755 in Pennsylvania;
settled 1783 in Georgia where he became a successful
trader among the Cusseta Indians. First U.S. citizen to
settle (1785) in what became Montgomery County. Living
and marrying among the Creeks, he established a trading
house for skins, furs, and medicinal barks two miles
from Line Creek. Alabama historian A.J. Pickett visited
him in Dudleyville in 1847. Fiercely independent to the
end, he died and was buried there two years later.
Air Force ROTC
The Reserve Officer Training Corps was created by the
National Defense Act of 1916. Air Force ROTC has its
roots in seven Army Air Service ROTC units established
at land-grant colleges in the 1920s. The program was
significantly expanded after World War II and again in
1964. Air Force ROTC is the Service's largest and oldest
source of commissioned officers, recruiting and
educating thousands of officer candidates each year at
colleges and universities nationwide. The Junior ROTC
program provides citizenship training to high school
students in the United States and the Department of
Defense schools around the world. Maxwell Air Force Base
has been home to Headquarters, Air Force ROTC since
The Air Corps Tactical School moved to Maxwell in
1931. Brilliant young officers like Chennault, Eaker,
Fairchild, Hansell, Kuter, LeMay, Quesada, and
Vandenberg formulated the aerial strategies and tactics
employed in World War II. In 1940, Maxwell became the
home of HQ Southeast Air Corps Training Center
responsible for pilot, navigator and bombardier
training, producing over 100,000 aviation cadets. Air
University was established in 1946 as the USAF
professional military education center. Its programs
annually affect over half the Air Force. Gunter Annex,
east of Montgomery, is an important, integral element of
Alabama's First Capitols
On March 3, 1817, Congress designated the town of St.
Stephens on the Tombigbee River north of Mobile as
capital of the newly formed Alabama Territory. There in
1818, the territorial legislature named Huntsville as
the temporary seat of government and Cahawba (near
present-day Selma) as the first permanent capitol. The
constitutional convention and legislature met in
Huntsville and on December 14, 1819, Alabama was
admitted into the Union. Meanwhile a suitable building
was erected at Cahawba. Cahawba was prone to flooding
which resulted in another change of locale in 1826-this
time to Tuscaloosa. An elegant statehouse erected there
served until 1846 when Montgomery became the capital of
The 4th Alabama Infantry trained here in 1916 at
Vandiver Park, later named Camp Sheridan, for Mexican
Border service. Designated the 167th Infantry Regiment
in 1917, it returned from the Border to train here, then
fought in France during WWI with Douglas MacArthur's
brigade in the 42nd "Rainbow" Division. The 167th was at
the front longer than any other U.S. regiment. In 1923,
assigned to the 31st Inf. "Dixie" Division. Activated
November 1940, Pacific Theater of WWII. The Division was
called up for the Korean War in January of 1951.
Alabama State University
Founded 1866 as the Abraham Lincoln Normal School in
Marion, Alabama by nine former slaves. Operated from
1868 until 1874 by the American Missionary Association.
The school began to receive state funding in 1874,
making it the first state-assisted normal school and
university for blacks in Alabama. Moving from Marion to
Montgomery in 1887, the school's classes initially were
held in black churches. The institution had several name
changes, finally becoming Alabama State University in
The Bethel Cemetery
Bethel Cemetery was constituted Feb 13, 1819 and
located on Federal Rd. Bethel Church was 1 of 4 churches
in the Alabama Baptist Association which was formed on
Dec. 13, 1819. On July 22, 1837, the church became the
object of a major split in Baptist life. In Oct.,
Missionary Brethren were excluded from the church and
the split became final. A marker memorializing the
division between the Primitive and Missionary Baptists
was placed in the cemetery by the Montgomery Baptist
W.M.U. on Nov. 4, 1923. Pintlala Baptist Church acquired
the cemetery in 1998.
Bethel Missionary Baptist Church
Organized in 1967 as the Second Colored Baptist
Church, congregation later changed named to Bethel
Missionary Baptist. First building in 1908. Rev. E.W.
Pickett then conducted services in "Love and Charity
Hall" until second structure built in 1912 in same
neighborhood but different site. In 1943, church
remodeled under leadership of Rev. H.H. Hubbard. During
the ministry of Rev. Edward Martin, the members, having
outgrown the old building, built present edifice.
Congregation has taken active role in social ministry,
contributing to the well-being of the community.
Cornerstone reflects its philosophy: "Home of Amazing
Grace and Headquarters of the Holy Ghost."
Bibb Street Methodist Protestant Church
Established in 1832, it is among the oldest churches
in the City of Montgomery. The church burned in 1834. A
new building was erected and dedicated on October 30,
1842. The Rev. Wm. W. Hill of Greensboro, Conference
president, preached the Dedicated Sermon on I
Corinthians 13. The first pastor, Dr. A. A. Lipscomb, in
1856 became the first president of Tuskegee Female
College (later becoming Huntingdon College). In 1859 he
became Chancellor of the University of Georgia. With no
bishops or presiding elders, The Methodist Protestant
Church was known as "A Church without a Bishop in a land
without a King."
Capitol Heights United Methodist Church
In 1924 the church moved to its present location at
2000 Winona Avenue in Capitol Heights. Under the
leadership of Rev. T. C. Casaday the Capitol Heights
Church became the largest church in the Alabama
Conference of the Methodist Protestant Church. April
1939, in Kansas City, MO, three brances of Methodist
Churches united to form The Methodist Church. The last
meeting of The Alabama Conference of the Methodist
Protestant Church was held at the Capitol Heights Church
in October 1939. To this day the Capitol Heights United
Methodist Church continues to serve God though
significant mission and ministry.
Brigadier General Birkett Davenport Fry, CSA
Born Virginia; educated at VMI and West Point; fought
in Mexico; practiced law in California; married
Alabamian whose family owned the Tallassee cotton mill;
served as general in Walker's ill-fated filibustering in
Nicaragua; then returned to manage Tallassee mill.
Colonel of the 13th Alabama Infantry in 1861; wounded in
four different battles including Gettysburg where he
commanded a brigade; promoted to Brigadier General May
1864. Following the War, he lived in Cuba, Florida,
Alabama, and Virginia. President of Richmond cotton mill
until his death there in 1891. Body returned to
Montgomery to be buried beside his wife.
Brigadier General Richard Montgomery
Born in Ireland in 1738. British Army officer during
the French and Indian War and in West Indies campaign.
Settled in New York state in 1772, sided with colonists
in the Revolutionary War, and commissioned as a
Brigadier General in the Continental Army. Led the
American invasion of Canada, taking Montreal before
being killed at the battle of Quebec on New Year's Eve
Catoma Street Church of Christ
Churches of Christ in America grew from movement to
return to Apostolic Christianity. This congregation
organized 1881 under the leadership of educator and
minister J.M. Barnes who had earlier founded churches,
the Strata Academy, and Highland Home College south of
Montgomery. Worshipers met first in Court House then in
small church on Herron Street. This building purchased
for $7,500 in 1901 as Jewish congregation prepared for
move to new Clayton Street temple. "Eye of God" window
in auditorium painted for Kahl Montgomery by Annie J.
Smith, later a founding member of this church.
Chamber of Commerce Visitor Information Center
House occupied from 1880s for next hundred years by
W.P. Thompson and his family. In 1980, bank acquired
property, sold house to Georgian who carefully
dismantled it with hopes of restoring it as his home.
Unable to do so, in 1987 he sold elements to Landmarks
Foundation which reerected the house on this site, with
support and encouragement of the Montgomery mayor and
with grant from Montgomery Kiwanis Club. Meticulous care
given restoration, including remoulding ornate plaster,
graining, marbleizing and furnishing parlors. Landmarks
Board and local architect carried out project. Chamber
of Commerce opened Visitor Information Center in 1991.
The Capitol City Guards
1885 - 1905 In July 1885, the state Adjutant General
authorized the organization of a black infantry company
known as the Capitol City Guards. Joseph L. Ligon was
elected captain. Over the next 20 years, the Capitol
City Guards were a source of tremendous civic pride in
the African-American community. They participated in
formal inspections, drills, and encampments, as well as
in Emancipation Day parades and annual commencement
exercises at Tuskegee Institute. Drill meetings were
held at Dorsette Hall at 216 Dexter Avenue. At the
outbreak of the Spanish-American War in 1898, the
Capitol City Guards, commanded by Capt. Abraham Calvin
Caffey, helped form Co. A, Third Alabama Volunteer
Regiment. Although Alabama's black regiment never saw
foreign duty, it remained in service longer than any
other volunteer unit in the state. The Capitol City
Guards was the only black militia unit remaining in
service in Alabama after the Spanish-American War,
remaining on detached service until it was disbanded in
1905. After the demise of the Capitol City Guards, over
60 years would pass before Alabama would again admit
African Americans into its National Guard.
City of St. Jude
Founded by Father Harold Purcell in the 1930s, the
City of St. Jude included church, school, medical
facilities, social center and rectory. Its mission was
to provide spiritual, educational, social and health
services for Montgomery's black citizens. Distinguished
for its Romanesque architecture and landscaping, site
was designed by architects William Calham and Joseph
Maschi. Leading the way in nondiscriminatory health
care, the institution helped organize the county's first
prenatal care program, school of practical nursing and
first drug and alcohol treatment center in the state. In
1953 it provided primary polio treatment. Hospital
closed, 1985; church and school continue to serve the
community in the spirit as that of its founder.
Civil War-Barnes School
In April 1865, the Union Army command made this house
its headquarters. Mrs. Pickett hid her silver on an
inside ledge of cupola. Later, former Confederate
Generals Hood, Bragg, and Walker visited here. In 1906,
Professor Elly Barnes bought the house for use as a
private school for boys, which rapidly achieved fame for
its quality. The Barnes School closed in 1942. In 1996,
the house was rescued from demolition with the help of
the Alabama Historical Commission and moved to its
present location by the Montgomery County Historical
Colonel B.D. Fry at Battle of Gettysburg
July 1, 1863; Fry placed in command of Archer's
Brigade of Alabama and Tennessee troops following
Archer's capture. His brigade was on the right of
Pettigrew's Division and to the left of Pickett's, the
brigade of direction for the assault across the field on
July 3. Bravely leading his brigade up Cemetery Ridge
under galling artillery and small-arms fire, he was
wounded in the shoulder and thigh before being captured
by the Federals. His troops reached the stone wall where
his regimental color bearer stabbed an enemy soldier
with his flag staff. Paroled in '64 and promoted, he
served until War's end.
Located in a house on this site on Dr. and Mrs.
Carnot Bellinger's farm south of the city of Montgomery.
Mrs. Bellinger served as both a nurse and administrator
as president of the Soldiers' Home. A "Wayside"
hospital, it cared for traveling soldiers and refugees
before moving to the city in 1862 to become the "Ladies'
Hospital." The present Burton Avenue was the drive to
the Bellinger home. In the late 19th century the
property became part of Montgomery as "Bellinger
Heights" and, in 1904, the Bellinger Hill School was
built here. The Soldiers' Home structure was altered as
a residence and survived until the 1970's.
Confederate Military Prison
Near this site, from mid April to December 1862, a
Confederate military prison held, under destitute
conditions, 700 Union soldiers, most captured at Shiloh.
They were imprisoned in a foul, vermin-abounding cotton
depot, 200 feet long and 40 feet wide, without blankets
and only the hard earth or wood planks as a bed. The
cotton shed was situated between Tallapoosa Street and
the Alabama River. Of the 700 Union prisoners, nearly
198 died in captivity. The survivors were moved to
Tuscaloosa, Alabama in December 1862.
Civil War Military Prisons
Records of the Commissary General of Prisoners list
198 Union prisoners, from the Montgomery military
prison, buried at Montgomery. Most of these were listed
as unknown. Subsequently, in 1868, the remains interred
in the Montgomery cemetery were removed to the National
Cemetery at Marietta, Georgia. Over 674,000 soldiers
were taken captive during the Civil War. Often prisoners
were crammed into facilities with disregard of capacity
limits, hygiene, nutrition, or sanitation needs. These
deplorable conditions existed in military prisons of
both sides. More than 56,000 prisoners died in
confinement, 30,218 in Confederate and 25,976 in Union
Two small villages, New Philadelphia, founded by
Massachusetts lawyer Andrew Dexter in 1817, and East
Alabama, established by Georgians led by John Scott in
1818, united in 1819 to form Montgomery, named for
Revolutionary hero Gen. Richard Montgomery. Connecting
at Court Square, the two towns' principle streets were
Philadelphia's Market Street (Dexter Avenue) and East
Alabama's Main Street (Commerce Street). First
courthouse stood to west of artesian well which city
enlarged in 1850s. Fountain erected in 1885.
Historic hub for business in Montgomery. Exchange
Hotel built in 1848 on NW corner of Commerce and
Montgomery Streets; rebuilt 1906; demolished 1970s. Cast
iron-fronted Central Bank of 1856 on NE corner of
square; Winter Building, site of telegraph office in
1861, on SE corner since 1840s. Historic processions
passing along Dexter Avenue to the Capitol included
Jefferson Davis Inaugural, 2/18/1861; Gen. J.H. Wilson's
Cavalry Corps, 4/12/1865;167th Infantry Regt. Rainbow
Division, 5/12/1919; Selma-Montgomery Civil Rights
Cradle of the Confederacy
Jefferson Davis of Mississippi was inaugurated as
president of the CSA provisional government on the State
Capitol portico on Feb. 18, 1861. On Mar. 4, the first
national flag of the Confederacy was hoisted over the
Capitol itself. While government offices rented nearby
quarters, the State Capitol continued to serve as the
meeting place for the provisional Confederate Congress.
Following the bombardment of Ft. Sumter and Lincoln's
call for volunteers, 4 additional states seceded. In May
1861, the capitol was moved to Richmond, VA where it
remained until April 1865.
Major Charles W. Davis, Infantry United States
(side one) A native of Montgomery, graduate of
Lanier, alumnus of the Universities of Alabama and
Maryland, Major Davis was awarded the Medal of Honor as
Executive Officer, 2d Battalion, 27th Infantry Regiment,
25th Infantry Division. "For distinguishing himself
conspicuously by gallantry and intrepidity at the risk
of his life above and beyond the call of duty on
Guadalcanal Island. On 12 January 1943, he volunteered
to carry instructions to the leading companies of his
battalion which had been caught in crossfire from
Japanese machine guns. With complete disregard for his
own safety he made his way to the trapped units,
delivered instructions, supervised their execution and
remained overnight in this exposed position.
"Above and Beyond"
(side two) The following day, Davis volunteered to
lead an assault on the Japanese position holding up the
advance. His rifle jammed, he drew his pistol and led
the assault. Electrified by this action, his soldiers
followed and seized the hill. The capture broke Japanese
resistance and the battalion was then able to secure its
objective." During a distinguished 32-year career, he
served on the Army General Staff and graduated from the
National War College. Among many important assignments,
he commanded the 503d Regiment of the 11th Airborne
Division. During the Vietnam War, he advised the South
Vietnamese Army in combat. Retired as a Colonel in 1972,
he died in 1991. He is buried in Arlington. His service
reflects great credit on Montgomery, on Alabama, and on
Day Street Baptist Church
Organized from Bethel Baptist Church, congregation
founded 1882 with Rev. George Casby as first minister.
Originally met in frame building; fund-raising began for
this edifice in 1906. Designed by Wallace Rayfield,
Tuskegee Institute architect and faculty member,
building completed ca. 1910. A graduate of Pratt School
of Architecture, Rayfield established the first black
architectural firm in Birmingham and won national
recognition. Day Street's community activities included
the organization of the first black Alabama scout troops
and involvement in the Civil Rights Movement. Rev. M. C.
Cleveland led the church from 1933 until his death in
Dexter Avenue King Memorial Baptist Church
, Organized 1877 The second black Baptist Church in
Montgomery. First pastor was Rev. C. O. Boothe. Present
structure built 1885. Designed by Pelham J. Anderson;
built by William Watkins, a member of the congregation.
Many prominent black citizens of Montgomery have been
members. Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr., served as pastor
(1954-1960). Montgomery bus boycott organized here
December 2, 1955.
Dr. Martin Luther King
Dr. King became pastor of Dexter Avenue Baptist
Church in September, 1954. He led the Bus Boycott of
1955-56 as president of the Montgomery Improvement
Association. Leaving Montgomery in 1960 he went on to
national leadership in civil rights, advocating
non-violence. Accomplishments include: president of the
Southern Christian Leadership Conference;
Selma-Montgomery March; March on Washington; Nobel Peace
Prize. His work brought on a world social-humanitarian
movement. He was assassinated on April 4, 1968, in
Memphis, Tennessee, during an effort to secure laborers'
John P. Figh, a native of Maryland, built this, the
oldest surviving brick dwelling in Montgomery, ca 1837,
at the corner of Clayton and South Court Streets. Figh
was one of the chief contractors for the construction of
the Alabama State Capitol. He also served as city
alderman. In 1858, Figh sold his house to Alabama's
first historian, Albert James Pickett, from North
Carolina. Although Pickett died just before moving into
the house, his family lived here for more than 50 years.
First Baptist Church
Founded November 29, 1829, with four charter members.
English-born Lee Compere, a missionary to the Creek
Indians, was the first pastor. Services initially were
held monthly in a building shared by other
denominations. In 1833, the church constructed its own
house of worship on North Court Street. The growing
congregation built a two-story brick structure on the
same site in 1854. In 1860, Basil Manly, former
President of the University of Alabama, became pastor,
delivering the invocation at Jefferson Davis'
inauguration the next year. The church played a
significant role in the development of the Southern
Baptist Convention. Its rich history intertwines with
the events of the Civil War and ensuing years.
First Baptist Church
This stone building, modeled after a cathedral in
Florence, Italy, is the church's third home.
Construction began in 1905 when Dr. Charles Stakely was
pastor and proceeded as funds were available. Completed
and dedicated on November 11, 1923, its total cost was
$175,126.91. The church facilities frequently have been
enlarged and modified to parallel the congregation's
growth. For untold hundreds, this church has been the
place of conversions, baptisms, marriages, funerals, and
life-changing worship experiences with God. First
Baptist has played an influential role in the historic,
cultural, and religious life of Montgomery and the
Georgia Gilmore, cited as a "solid, energetic boycott
participant and supporter," lived in this house during
the days of the Montgomery Bus Boycott. Once arrested on
a bus, Gilmore was ardent in her efforts to raise funds
for the Movement and organized "Club From Nowhere" whose
members baked pies and cakes for sale to both black and
white customers. Opening her house to all, she
tirelessly cooked meals for participants including
leaders such as Dr. Martin Luther King and Dr. Ralph
Abernathy. Her culinary skills continued to aid the
cause of justice as she actively worked to encourage
civil rights for the remainder of her life.
Georgia Washington School
Miss Georgia Washington founded the Peoples Village
School for black students on this site in 1893. Georgia
Washington was born a slave November 23, 1851 in
Virginia. As a student at Hampton Institute, Virginia,
she met Dr. Booker T. Washington who later recruited her
to teach here in Mt. Meigs. The first year the
enrollment grew from four to 100 students. She retired
in 1936, after 43 years of service, and the school was
deeded to Montgomery County. A new school building was
dedicated in February 1950 and was named Georgia
Washington School. She died October 5, 1952 and is
buried here on the grounds of her beloved school.
Governor Jones House
Thomas Goode Jones, governor of Alabama from
1890-1894, occupied this house during his long political
career which took him from the Montgomery City Council
to a federal judgeship. During his two terms as
governor, his home was the Executive Mansion and later
frequently was used as a federal courtroom. Originally a
four room cottage, the house was enlarged by Jones in
the early '90s. His son, the noted jurist Walter B.
Jones, continued to live in his family home and
inaugurated Jones Law School in a house to the rear. The
law firm of Webb and Crumpton restored the house in
Governor Shorter House
503 S. Lawrence St. Residence of Civil War Governor
John Gill Shorter, 1861-63. A strong supporter of
Confederacy, Shorter built up defenses of state during
war. Growing "Peace Movement" led to his defeat for
re-election 1863. House acquired by Jacob Greil 1878.
Held by Greil family until 1910. A former Confederate
officer, Greil became prominent Montgomery businessman
and civic leader. House built 1854, in Italianate style
by John P. Dickerson. Neo-classical portico, freize, and
interior details added early 1900's.
Governor William Calvin Oates
Born in Pike County into a poor Alabama family in
1835, Oates practiced law in Abbeville when the War
began. Elected Captain of the "Henry Pioneers," Co. G,
15th Alabama Infantry. He saw service in Jackson's Corps
and was appointed Colonel of the 15th Regiment in 1863.
Given command of the 48th Alabama infantry in July 1864,
Oates' right arm was shattered by a mini ball at
Petersburg in August 1864. He later served Alabama as a
legislator, Congressman, and Governor. Oates served
stateside as a Brigadier General, USV in the
Grace Episcopal Church
In the late 1850s the cluster of Episcopal families
around Mt. Meigs undertook to build a church and engaged
Pennsylvania architect Joseph W. Pierson to prepare the
plans. The plans were submitted in April 1861, but due
to the hardships caused by the Civil War and its
aftermath, it was over 30 years before the church was
actually built. Finally becoming a reality in 1893,
Grace Church was constructed according to Pierson's
original plans in the "Gothic Revival" style popular for
rural Episcopal churches all across the South during the
1850s. The auxiliary buildings and the church gardens
are of a much more recent construction to reflect the
style of the original sanctuary.
On Aug. 27, 1940, the AAF leased the Montgomery
Municipal Airport for use as a military airfield. During
WW II, the field was the home of the AAF Basic Flying
Training School and was named in honor of Mayor William
A. Gunter. It later housed Extension Course Institute,
AU Field Printing Plant, School of Aviation Medicine,
and Air Force Senior NCO Academy. Tenants included the
Air Defense Sector, HQ 14th Air Force, and Standard
Systems Group. The field became an Air Force base in
1948 and an Air Force station in 1973. It returned to
base status in 1988 and later became an annex to Maxwell
AFB in 1992.
Gunter Basic Flying Training School
Activated on Aug. 27, 1940, the school was among the
first established under WWII Air Corps expansion
program. BT-13s were the principal planes used in the
10-week training course until 1944 when they were
replaced by AT-6s. Once, nearly 400 airplanes were
involved in the training program and the skies over the
field were hailed as the "densest air traffic in the
world." The school closed September 1945, with over
12,000 cadets-American, British, and French-earning
their "wings" and with British cadets dominating early
classes. At the war's end, 600 Chinese students received
preflight training here.
Hank Williams-Alabama Troubador
In 1938, young country singer Hank Williams won a
contest on the stage of the Empire Theatre. Born in
Butler County, south of Montgomery, on September 17,
1923, Williams learned to play the guitar and sing on
the streets of Georgiana. Writing songs and performing,
he made his way to Nashville, where in 1949 his
"Lovesick Blues" stopped the show at the Grand Ole Opry.
Other acclaimed compositions include "Your Cheatin'
Heart," "Jambalaya," and "Kaw-Liga." Williams died on
January 1, 1953, and is buried in Montgomery's Oakwood
Holt Street Baptist Church
Holt Street Baptist Church is a congregation founded
by former members of Bethel Baptist Church in 1909.
Under the leadership of Rev. I.S. Fountain, a group met
for four years in Labor's Hall, on the corner of Cobb
and Mobile Streets before purchasing this site and
constructing a church in 1913. The congregation added a
wing in 1946, and in 1953 demolished the old structure
and built the present sanctuary. On the evening of
December 5, 1955, the first day of the Bus Boycott, some
5,000 people gathered here. Dr. Martin Luther King, a
newly elected leader of the Montgomery Improvement
Association, addressed the crowd which pledged support
for the continuation of the boycott. Minister, A.W.
Wilson, was officer of MIA.
"House of Mayors"
Built in the 1850's for Jack Thorington, mayor of
Montgomery in 1838-39, this House has also been the home
of Mordecai Moses, mayor in the late 1870's, and Joseph
Norwood who had been mayor of Fort Deposit before coming
to Montgomery. Moses owned the home from 1879 until its
purchase in 1893 by Norwood whose family converted it
into apartments in 1940. The House has undergone several
alterations and exhibits excellent architectural
ornamentation which evidences the tastes of each period
of change. In 1979, the House was restored for use as a
tourist center and office building for the State.
A liberal arts college. 1854–founded by citizen group
as Tuskegee Female College. 1872–acquired by Methodist
Church: Alabama Conference Female College. 1909–moved to
this site as Woman's College of Alabama. 1935–named
Huntingdon College for Countess of Huntingdon, Wesleyan
leader. 1946–became co-educational.
Professor John Metcalfe Starke "Fessor Starke"
1860-1941 A native of Virginia, John Metcalfe Starke
received his early education in Petersburg and graduated
from the University of Virginia in 1882, earning
diplomas in Latin and mathematics. He taught in Virginia
and North Carolina before coming to Montgomery in 1887
as headmaster for a boys' school organized by prominent
local men. Its success caused him to start a school of
his own at Hamner Hall. In 1897 he built a building
here. The following year he married Frances Powell. He
received an honorary doctorate from the University of
Alabama in 1929. A small, wiry man, honest, courageous
and fair, he believed fervently in the school's motto,
"Work Wins." For over half a century, he was a paragon
as an educator here in Montgomery.
Starke University School
1888-1968 "Omnia vincit labor – Work Wins" In 1887,
eighteen prominent men founded a private school for
boys, hiring John Metcalfe Starke as its headmaster. In
1888, Starke opened his school. Rigidly high academic,
military and disciplinary standards prevailed throughout
the next eighty years. Boys who fell behind reported for
Saturday classes. From 1897-1923 the school stood here
on Dexter Avenue; later located on Houston Street and
then on Mount Meigs Road. Professor Starke died in 1941.
The school continued, closing in 1967-68. A governor,
U.S. senator, judges, generals, doctors, businessmen,
academics, lawyers and financiers were among Starke
School's many distinguished graduates.
1818-1891 Had his bank on this site 1852-1891. He
helped finance Montgomery's business, railroads and
industry. Here on Dec. 19, 1870, he bought 4150 acres of
land and deeded them to the Elyton Land Co. which later
was platted, and on his motion named the City of
Birmingham. (Located on wall of First National Bank,
Commerce St., Montgomery)
Jewish citizens organized in 1846; Kahl
(Congregation) Montgomery chartered April 12, 1852. New
Orleans philanthropist Judah Touro willed $2,000 as
nucleus for temple building fund. Property acquired
1858. Philadelphia architect John Stewart designed
Romanesque Revival edifice. Interior followed
traditional plan with separate seating for men and
women. Ark, which contained Torah Scroll, remains
visible. Building dedicated 1862; named Beth-Or (House
of Light) 1874. Members worshiped here until building of
Clayton Street Temple in 1902. Congregation moved to
Narrow Lane Road in 1961.
Major K.F. Schumann commanded this depot during most
of the war. It had a capacity of 5,000 animals with 14
corrals and 14 packing chutes at the railroad platform.
About 300 officers and men were in the permanent party
and a blacksmith school trained 100 farriers. Troops
were quartered south of the railroad and the animals
kept to the north. The Remount Depot closed June 1919.
The railroad stop here was called Keyton Station.
Designed by Stephen Decatur Button, Knox Hall built
in the 1840's by William Knox, a native of Ireland who
settled in Montgomery in 1830's. Knox founded Central
Bank of Montgomery which made first loans to Confederate
government. House incorporates details from LeFever's
"Beauties of Modern Architecture," leading Greek Revival
pattern book of ante-bellum period.
The Lightning Route
In 1886, Montgomery became the first city in the
Western Hemisphere to convert an entire street railway
system to electricity. The Capital City Street Railway
Co. initiated electric trolley service on one mile of
the street car line the year before. Civil engineer J.A.
Gaboury supervised installation of the system developed
by Charles Van de Poele. The car line, fondly known as
the "Lightning Route," operated until 1936. Investors in
the mass transit system also were involved in the
development of the early suburbs of Highland Park and
Cloverdale, as well as the first public recreation area
at Oak Park.
Central Bank Building
Designed by Philadelphia architect Stephen Decatur
Button for William Knox, president of Central Bank of
Alabama, this Renaissance Revival building emulated the
Venetian palaces of the 16th century. Completed in 1856,
it was praised by state newspapers as the first
ironfront in Alabama. Central Bank, which generously
supported the Confederacy, was bankrupt at the end of
the Civil War. Other banks occupied the building until
jewelers Klein and Son acquired and occupied it from
1923-1983. The building was restored for the Arts
Council of Alabama in 1985.
Lilly Baptist Church "The Lilly"
820 Hill Street Lilly Baptist Church, established
November, 1900 as a missionary church of Bethel
Missionary Baptist. Originally located on St. Clair
Street in a small frame building. Moved May 27, 1973,
into new 1500-seat sanctuary at present location.
Education Complex added April, 1985. Known as "The
Lilly," church was active in Montgomery Bus Boycott
(1955-56). Noted for its music, the church has seven
choirs which recorded albums in 1974 and 1984. 500
members of congregation participated in nationally
acclaimed movie, "Long Walk Home." "The Lilly" has
played a significant role in Montgomery since its
founding and continues to serve as a spiritual beacon to
Lt. William C. Maxwell
William Calvin Maxwell was born Nov. 9, 1892, in
Natchez, AL. An Army ROTC student at the University of
Alabama, he left in 1917 to enlist in the Army. He
received his commission in April 1918, after completing
flight training at Kelly Field, Texas. In 1919, he was
assigned to 3rd Aero Squadron, Phillippines. On August
12, 1920, engine trouble forced Lt. Maxwell to attempt
to land his DH-4 in a sugarcane field. Maneuvering to
avoid a group of children playing below, he struck a
flagpole hidden by the tall sugarcane and was killed
instantly. On the recommendation of his former
commanding officer, Maj. Roy C. Brown, Montgomery Air
Intermediate Depot was renamed Maxwell Field on November
1907 In 1907 the American Securities Company opened
Lincoln Cemetery for African Americans and Greenwood
Cemetery for whites, the first commercial cemeteries in
the city. Landscape design indicates Olmstead influences
with curving drives and two circular sections. Space
allotted for 700 graves with first interment in 1908.
Most graves are simple concrete slabs with evidences of
African-American funerary art and late-Victorian motifs.
Marble markers denote members of Mosaic Templars of
America, black benevolent society, or graves of
veterans. American Securities owned site until
tax-exemption ended in 1957. Vandalism and neglect have
seriously damaged graves and landscape.
, 1884-1939 "Tee-Tot," Mentor of Hank Williams Born
in Lowndes County, Alabama, Rufus Payne grew up in New
Orleans in midst of jazz musicians. Young Payne learned
every instrument possible. At death of his parents, he
came back to Greenville where he soon had a following of
both races, playing jazz and blues for all segments of
society. In nearby Georgiana, he met young Hank
Williams, an eager student of the rhythm and beat of
Tee-Tot's music. In 1937, Williams moved to Montgomery
and soon thereafter Tee-Tot came to the city where he
lived until his death in 1939, a friend of Williams'
family and mentor to the singer-composer. Hank Williams
stated that Payne was his only teacher. Tee-Tot died a
pauper and lies here in an unmarked grave.
– 1848 Built by James J. Gilmer. Purchased by Reuben
C. Shorter, 1819, for his wife, Caroline A. V.
Billingslea, who later married Tennent Lomax, captain
and governor of Orizaba, Mexican War. Colonel, 3rd Ala.
Infantry Regt., CSA, killed at Battle of Seven Pines,
1862. Social center of Montgomery for 60 years.
Purchased in 1932 and restored to its original condition
in 1972 by the Preferred Life Insurance Company.
Henry Allen Loveless
Born in Bullock County in 1854, H.A. Loveless
struggled to get an education, working by day and
attending school at night. After a few terms at Selma
University, he settled in Montgomery where he first
entered the untertaking profession. In addition, he
opened a coal and wood yard, operated a livery stable
and was a building contractor. A founding member of
Dexter Avenue Baptist Church, he served as treasurer and
was on its Board of Trustees and that of Swayne School.
An officer of the Alabama Realty Company, he was also a
member of the Negro Businessmen's League and numerous
fraternal organizations. He died in 1921, respected by
the entire community.
Montgomery's first junior and senior high school for
African American students began in Loveless School.
Built in 1923 and enlarged in 1930, this building first
housed seven grades; the opening of Carver Elementary
School and the reduction in enrollment made possible
additional classes at Loveless. Under Principal T.H.
Handall, the first seniors graduated May, 1940. In 1948,
George Washington Carver Senior High organized and had
first classes here, but upon its moving to new quarters,
Loveless reverted to a junior high and then to
elementary. In spring of 1998, elementary moved to new
site, and in fall of 1999, Loveless became home of LAMP.
Lower Commerce Street
Commerce Street, once heart of Montgomery's business
life, leads from Alabama River to center of city. In
early days commercial buildings and residences lined
street. By 1880's merchants had built elaborate
warehouses and area became principle wholesale district
for Central Alabama. Changes in transportation and
marketing brought decline to area. In 1970's
revitalization began with restoration of old buildings.
Circa 1818 Stood 2800 feet north of this point, just
west of Line Creek on the Federal Road. Moved to
Montgomery in 1978 to serve as the Visitor and
Information Center for the Old North Hull Historic
District, it is the oldest remaining building in
Montgomery County. Original proprietor, James
Abercrombie, ran it from about 1818. Walter B. Lucas
announced his take over of the tavern in the January 6,
1821 issue of the Montgomery Republican. A four-room
frame building with a long central hall, the tavern's
most famous guest was Revolutionary War hero the Marquis
de Lafayette who stayed here on April 2, 1825 during his
triumphant tour of the United States.
Maj. Gen. Claire L. Chennault
Born in Commerce, Texas, on September 6, 1893,
Chennault was commissioned in 1917 and received his
wings in 1919. A graduate of and instructor at the Air
Corps Tactical School, he became a leading advocate of
pursuit aviation, and later formed the nationally
renowned aero demonstration team called the "Flying
Trapezers." Channault retired in 1937 and went to China
where he established the legendary "Flying Tigers." He
was recalled to active duty in 1942 as commander of the
USAF in China and later commanded the 14th Air Force. He
retired from service in 1945 and died in New Orleans,
LA, on July 27, 1958.
Major General James Harrison Wilson USV
1837-1925 Exceptional American soldier, born
Illinois, West Point Class of 1860, MG at 27. Civil War
service: Port Royal 1861-62, Aide to McClellan '62;
Vicksburg and Chattanooga Campaigns, Grant's staff
'63-64, Chief of Calvary Bureau Poplar Ridge School64;
Wilderness and Valley Campaigns, Commander Calvary
Division, Sherman's Corps'64; Franklin, Nashville, AL &
GA '64-65. Retired from Army 1870; pursued railroading
career in U.S., Latin America, Japan & China. MG USV,
1898; War With Spain, Division Commander in Puerto Rico;
Boxer Rebellion, Commander U.S. & British troops in
China. U.S. representative at coronation of King Edward
- Circa 1825 Built by William Matthews Marks, who
immigrated from Oglethrope County, GA, on acreage
purchased from the U.S. land office in Cahaba, AL for
$1.25 per acre. Foundation is pegged-together heart
pine; framing is 3" by 9" timbers; mantles, dados, and
all the bricks are hand made. Kitchen, baths, a rose
garden and pavilion for dancing were added by the
Churchill Marks family in the 1920s. The house was
purchased by Dr. Haywood B. (Woody) Bartlett in 1957. In
1967, the movie of Truman's Capote's "Thanksgiving
Visitor" was filmed in the house. The facility has
served as the Pike Road Community Club Center since
1968. The Pike Road Arts and Crafts fair is held here
annually on the first Saturday in November. The house
suffered extensive fire damage on August 28, 1997 and
was subsequently restored by the Pike Road Community.
Maxwell Air Force Base
Military forces arrived in 1540 with Desoto at Indian
village of Towassa. Here in 1910, the Wright brothers
established the nation's first civilian flying school
and made first recorded night flights. A repair and
engine depot was established in 1918 for airplanes used
for training in World War I. After the war, the 22nd
Observation Squadron and 4th Photo Section assigned to
the post made aerial photos of the Tennessee Valley,
delivered first airmail to Montgomery, and in 1929
airdropped supplies for flood relief. The Base was named
for Lt. William C. Maxwell of Atmore, AL, killed in a
plane crash in the Philippines in 1920.
Ministers' Home Dexter Avenue King Memorial
House built circa 1912. It has been the home of the
ministers of Dexter Avenue Baptist Church since 1919.
Its most famous occupant, Dr. Martin Luther King, lived
here from September 1954-February 1960. During this time
he led the Bus Boycott launching an outstanding career
as a world leader for civil rights and humanitarian
causes. When a bomb damaged the house on January 31,
1956, Dr. King returned from a Boycott meeting and
calmed an angry crowd from the porch, averting possible
violence. From 1947-1952 the house was occupied by Dr.
Vernon Johns, an earlier advocate of civil rights.
Montgomery Area Chamber of Commerce
The first American Chamber of Commerce was organized
in New York City in 1770. The Montgomery Chamber was
organized in 1873. Thomas Joseph was its first
President. The Alabama State Journal stated at its
founding, "Montgomery ought to have a Chamber of
Commerce. Located in the midst of one of the richest
agricultural districts in the South, the political
center of the commonwealth, and the commercial center of
a large section which obtain here their supplies, the
Chamber of Commerce would seem to be demanded by the
necessities of our position." Initially, it occupied the
front rooms of the First National Bank Building.
The Forefront of Montgomery's Future
The Chamber changed names several times, but stayed
in the lead for solid progress. Initially, it encouraged
European immigrants to move south, promoted development
of the Alabama River and the railroads, and had Commerce
Street paved. It brought the Wright Brother flying
school here in 1910 and was key to bringing military
bases, the Veterans Hospital, trade schools, educational
institutions, industrial parks, and tourism to the area.
It is the linchpin of business and community growth
partnering with elected and civic leaders to create jobs
and a better quality of life for Montgomery area
Montgomery's First Election
Janurary 3, 1820 At this site, in Jonathan Coggswell
Farley's store, an election was held to establish
Montgomery's first government. The Alabama General
Assembly, meeting in the capital at Huntsville, approved
an act on December 3, 1819 to combine the communities of
New Philadelphia and East Alabama into the new town of
Montgomery. Named in the act to conduct and manage the
election were Jonathan C. Farley, Walter B. Lucas,
Ebenezer D. Washburn and Andrew Dexter. Elected to the
first town council were Nimrod E. Benson, William
Graham, Clement Freeney, Ebenezer D. Washburn, John
Goldthwaite, Rhodes L. Smith and Daniel Carpenter. They
chose Graham as the first intendant (mayor). Walter B.
Lucas proposed that the new town be named for Gen.
Richard Montgomery, the Revolutionary War hero.
Jonathan Coggswell Farley
1798-1864 Farley acquired two lots on this site in
1817. Here he build the town's first frame store and
first frame two-story building, his house. In Farley's
store, an election was held January 3, 1820 to create
Montgomery's first governing body. Farley and three
others were named in an act of the Alabama General
Assembly to conduct and manage this first election.
Farley was born in Ipswich, Massachusetts in 1798. About
1816, he sailed from Portland, Maine to the port of
Mobile then proceeded to Ft. Jackson (Toulouse) to
establish a trading post. Coming to Montgomery, he
opened the town's second store. He served as foreman of
the first Grand Jury and, later, moved to a plantation
outside town near Cross Keys. The town's first
newspaper, The Montgomery Republican, also occupied his
Montgomery's Slave Markets
The city's slave market was at the Artesian Basin
(Court Square). Slaves of all ages were auctioned, along
with land and livestock, standing in line to be
inspected. Public posters advertised sales and included
gender, approximate age, first name (slaves did not have
last names), skill, price, complexion and owner's name.
In the 1850s, able field hands brought $1,500; skilled
artisans $3,000. In 1859, the city had seven auctioneers
and four slave depots: one at Market Street (Dexter
Avenue) and Lawrence, another at the corner of Perry and
Monroe, and two on Market between Lawrence and
First Emancipation Observance
– 1866 Montgomery's first observance of the signing
of the Emancipation Proclamation was New Year's Day at
Wilson's Grove on Mildred Street. A parade formed at
Gilmer's Warehouse, Commerce Street. Invited were a
brass band, the governor, legislators, aldermen,
businessmen, benevolent societies, churches and fire
engine companies. Peyton Finley, parade marshal, was the
first black member of the State Board of Education.
Speakers of the day included Holland Thompson, first
black alderman and a state legislator, who advised "show
by good conduct, industry, and fidelity, that the year
1866 was a year of jubilee, instead of insurrection." He
also told the crowd to acquire land, homes, and
education for their children.
Opened in October 1860 as the South moved closer to
secession, the theatre was significant in the social,
cultural and political life of the city. In the early
months, John Wilkes Booth performed here, Bryant
Minstrels introduced "Dixie," which was transcribed for
the Montgomery Brass Band. Southern leaders Robert
Toombs, Alexander Stephens and William L. Yancey
addressed packed houses. Later the city's location on
route between New Orleans and Atlanta brought performers
Edwin Forrest, Joseph Jefferson, and leading theatrical
troupes and opera companies to the stage which closed in
Mordecai's Cotton Gin: Alabama's First
In 1785, Abram Mordecai, a Jewish veteran of the
Revolutionary War, settled in this area which was still
Indian country. On the Alabama River near here in 1802,
he installed a cotton gin manufactured by Lyons &
Barnett of Georgia. Until Indians burned his equipment,
he ginned his own cotton and that of his Indian
neighbors. His gin, the first in Alabama, was the
forerunner of those that sprang up after the Territory
was formed in 1817 and pioneers with "Alabama Fever"
rushed to claim the fertile soil. The restored Old
Alabama Town gin is typical of those operated until the
early 20th century.
Greek Revival Home built 1851 by John H. Murphy,
cotton broker and an incorporator and director of the
Montgomery Water Works Company chartered 1854. Union
Army Provost Marshal's Headquarters 1865. Elks Club
1902-1967. Restored by Montgomery Water Works and
Sanitary Sewer Board, 1970.
Naming the City of Montgomery
Montgomery named for Richard Montgomery, first
American general killed in the Revolutionary War. In
1819, the Alabama Legislature combined New Philadelphia
and East Alabama to form Montgomery. Walter B. Lucas,
later of Lucas' Tavern in Line Creek, suggested the name
to Andrew Dexter prompted by fanfare occasioned by the
return of the General's body from Canada to New York
City for burial in June of 1818.
Nat "King" Cole
Nathaniel Adams Cole, world famous jazz musician, was
born at 1524 St. John Street on March 17, 1917. His
father, Edward, a Baptist minister, moved his family to
Chicago in the early 1920s. There, Cole began his career
as a jazz pianist. He toured the vaudeville circuit with
the "Shuffle Along Review." In 1939, he formed the
original "King Cole Trio." In the 1940s, he started
singing and recording ballads in a distinct style that
attracted great multitudes to his concerts. His early
hits included "Sweet Loraine," and "Sweet Georgia
Brown." He died of lung cancer on February 15, 1965 in
Santa Monica, California.
Nat "King" Cole
Nat "King" Cole's music career spanned three decades
and a variety of styles. He first played the piano in
dance halls, then created his famous jazz trio and
developed a singing style that influenced the future of
jazz, rhythm-and-blues, and popular music. In 1946, he
became the first black artist to have a sponsored radio
show and in 1956 hosted the first T.V. series. His
records were on the charts for 23 years; he had more
than 100 hits. He won a Grammy in 1959 and received the
Grammy lifetime achievement award in 1989. His daughter
won a Grammy in 1992 for "Unforgettable," her dubbed
duet with her father.
Office of Dr. Luther Leonidas Hill
This early 20th-century building was office of Dr.
L.L. Hill who, in 1902, performed first open heart
surgery in the Western Hemisphere when he sutured a stab
wound in a young boy's heart. A Montgomerian, Hill
graduated in medicine from Jefferson Medical College and
the University of the City of New York by the time he
was 21. He then studied in London with the world
renowned Dr. Joseph Lister. Hill practiced from 1884
until 1932, pioneering new ideas in antiseptic
procedures in Alabama. He and a brother, Dr. R.S. Hill,
founded Laura Hill Hospital named for their mother. L.L.
Hill's son, Senator Lister Hill, introduced the
Hill-Burton Act providing for hospitals across the
Office Site of Dr. J. Marion Sims
"Father of Modern Gynecology" On this site in 1840s
stood small hospital of Dr. J. Marion Sims in which he
made surgical history with his successful operations for
urinary fistula in women. A South Carolinian, Sims
studied at Charleston Medical School and Jefferson
Medical College of Philadelphia. He practiced briefly in
his native state before coming to Mt. Meigs (1835) and
Montgomery (1840). He left this city and, in 1853,
founded a famous Women's Hospital in New York, gaining
world renown for his work in the field of surgery for
women. Among his patients were the Empress Eugenie of
France and other members of European royalty. His statue
is on the grounds of Alabama's Capitol.
Old Oakwood Cemetery
The city cemetery was begun by donations of land from
Andrew Dexter in 1817 and from General John Scott in
1818. Dexter and Scott had founded separate villages
which combined to form Montgomery in 1819. The early
part of the graveyard was known as Scott's Free Burying
Ground. The cemetery was open to all of Montgomery's
people. Many of the soldiers and prominent statesmen who
shaped history as well as ordinary citizens, hanged
felons, and unknowns rest in Old Oakwood. Nearly 140
acres in size, the cemetery has no more slots for sale.
Percy Lavon Julian
Scientist and Humanitarian 1899-1975 Born on the west
side of Holt Street, April 11, 1899, Percy Lavon Julian
entered Depauw University in 1916; graduated in
chemistry with Phi Beta Kappa honors. Earned master's
from Harvard, Ph.D. at the University of Vienna. His
studies led to a synthetic drug for glaucoma.
Experiments with soybean oils resulted in Compound S, an
affordable synthetic form of cortisone for arthritis
treatment. Julian's work included developments in
production of artificial hormones and a foam for
fighting fires onboard ships. Dedicated to relieving
human suffering, he held over 130 patents at his death
in April 1975. The U.S. issued a postage stamp in his
honor in 1992.
Railroad building and amusement park development
flourished in the post-bellum South. In 1880s, Western
Railroad of Alabama opened Pickett Springs on site of
William Harris's plantation, "Forest Farm;" Harris's
daughter, Sarah, married A. J. Pickett, Alabama's first
historian, and they had their home here until Pickett's
death in 1858. Pickett Springs occupied portion of land
as community of Chisolm developed nearby. During World
War I Champ Sheridan, infantry training ground,
supplanted the old park. During 1920s, West Boylston
Manufacturing opened large cotton mill and a residential
villiage in the vicinity.
"The Best Public Resort"
In September 1886, Montgomery Advertiser noted
Pickett Springs as the "best public resort." Located
four miles north of Montgomery, park offered
entertainment and relaxation for citizens who traveled
out by train until 1902 when street railway service
started. Included in the area were a dance pavilion,
refreshment stand, bowling alley, shooting gallery,
carousel, flying swing, billiard parlor, scenic car and
roller coaster. During summers of early 20th century,
Salvation Army conducted fresh-air camps for indigent
people. By World War I, Pickett Springs had lost much of
its aura as automobiles and movies offered their
Pike Road School
Montgomery County's first school to consolidate
rural, one-room school houses into grades one through
twelve opened November 11, 1918. The school was built by
the Montgomery County Board of Education on 30 acres of
land at a cost of $40,000 with monies loaned and donated
by families from surrounding settlements. Hailed by the
U.S. Commissioner of Education when it was featured in
the Alabama Exhibit at the 1926 Sesquicentennial
International Exposition in Philadelphia, the school
subsequently attracted foreign educators from Europe and
South America interested in observing the system. The
last graduating class was in 1945; the school remained a
junior high school until its closing in May 1970.
Pintlala Grange Hall
(side one) The National Grange of the Patrons of
Husbandry was organized in 1867 to provide economic,
social and cultural improvements for farmers and their
families. Pintlala's Grange Hall was erected circa 1875
on land adjacent to this marker. By the 1890s the
popularity of the Grange began to wane. On July 21-23,
1891 the last meeting of the Alabama Granges took place
in Pintlala. The Federal Land Bank was organized as the
National Farm Loan Association of Pintlala on August 17,
1917. Grange Hall was the site of their regular
meetings. (side two)
Grange Hall School
From circa 1880 to 1922 school was held in one room
of Grange Hall for seven months a year. Pintlala School
was built and opened in 1923 and the Board of Education
purchased the Grange property. The building was used for
home economics classes and, from 1931 to 1952, served as
home for Pintlala School caretakers. Over the years it
was site of community dances, a meeting place for Boy
and Girl Scouts, and the Pintlala Baptist Church (1960).
Vacant and deteriorating, the building was given to the
Landmarks Foundation and moved in 1978 to Old Alabama
Town, Montgomery, Alabama.
Opened in 1923 to consolidate a number of one-, two-,
and three-teacher institutions in southwestern
Montgomery County including Hope Hull, LeGrand, Mt.
Carmel, Grange Hall, Snowdoun, Bethlehem, Fleta, Sankey,
and Tabernacle. W.F. Feagin served as County School
Superintendent during the planning phase, succeeded by
Dr. A.F. Harmon by the time the school opened. Board of
Education members in 1923 were Jesse B. Hearin
(Chairman), P.M. McIntyre, Simon Gassenheimer, Dr.
William Tankersley, and J.M. Hobbie. 80-acre site
purchased through contributions of local citizens.
Original principal Ben. S. Copeland succeeded in 1926 by
Lee R. Scarborough, who served for forty years. Junior
High School discontinued in 1970. Visited by President
George Bush in 1991 and 1992. School placed on the
Alabama Register of Landmarks and Heritage on April 14,
1992. Marker erected through generosity of alumni and
efforts of Pintlala Historical Association.
Pisgah Primitive Baptist Church
Constituted on August 27, 1842 on this site with six
charter members including Moses and Sarah Rushton,
Susannah Rushton, William and Emily Miley, and James
Gardner. First structure built of logs by master
carpenter Jesse Yon on land given by Moses Rushton, who
moved to Montgomery County from Orangeburg District S.C.
Present Colonial Revival building completed in 1931.
Architect was Frank W. Lockwood and landscape architect
was Graham M. Rushton.
During World War I, in the summer of 1917 the U.S.
Army opened a remount depot here to buy horses and mules
for Camp Sheridan's 27,000-man 37th Division from Ohio.
Despite the introduction of motor transport to war, an
infantry division still needed nearly 4,000 horses and
2,700 mules as draft, riding and pack animals to pull
40-wagon trains, guns and field ambulances in 1918. This
post occupied 160 acres alongside the Central of Georgia
R.R. on the highest elevation within 20 miles of
Built early 1850's by Samuel Farrow Rice, state
legislator and Chief Justice, Alabama Supreme Court.
Sold in late 1860's to attorney Henry Churchill Semple,
whose family occupied home until 1954 when sold to John
Haardt, a realtor. Sold to State 1970. Entered National
Register of Historic Places 1972. Offices of the Alabama
Historical Commission since 1974. Lurleen Burns Wallace
Museum since 1975.
Rosa Parks-Montgomery Bus Boycott
At the bus stop on this site on December 1, 1955,
Mrs. Rosa Parks refused to give up her seat to boarding
whites. This brought about her arrest, conviction, and
fine. The Boycott began December 5, the day of Parks'
trial, as a protest by African-Americans for unequal
treatment they received on the bus line. Refusing to
ride the buses, they maintained the Boycott until the
U.S. Supreme Court ordered integration of public
transportation one year later. Dr. Martin Luther King,
Jr. led the Boycott, the beginning of the modern Civil
The Hon. Rufus A. Lewis
1906 - 1999 Lewis began an earnest voting rights
drive in the early 1940s. Credited with registering 4
generations of Montgomery voters, he established
Citizenship Schools that tutored prospective black
voters to fill out the literacy test, a barrier before
the passage of the 1965 Voting Rights Act. Lewis opened,
in1952, the "Citizens' Club," a night club for African
Americans who were registered voters and who helped
others to become voters. Lewis was a graduate of Fisk
University and served as football coach at Alabama State
University. In 1958, he became a partner in the
Ross-Clayton Funeral Home business. He was one of the
founders and first Montgomery Chapter president of the
Alabama Democratic Conference, the oldest continuing
black political organization in the state. Lewis was
elected to the Alabama state legislature in 1974, but
resigned in 1976, when U.S. President Jimmy Carter
appointed him to serve as a U.S. Marshal, the first
black marshal for the Middle District in Alabama.
Saint John's Episcopal Church
Organized 1834 Present building erected 1855 under
rectorship of Nicholas Hamner Cobbs, first Bishop of
Alabama. Primary convention of the Protestant Episcopal
Church in the Confederate States of America was held
here, July 3-6, 1861. Charles Minnegerode Beckwith,
fourth Bishop of Alabama, consecrated here, December 17,
Only surviving residence of former Mayor E. B.
Joseph. The Italianate cottage was built c. 1855 by
Pickett Chauncy Smith, a merchant in ante-bellum
Montgomery, and father-in-law of E. B. Joseph, who
occupied the house from 1880 to 1885. Joseph served on
the City Council for six years and was Mayor from
1899-1903. He helped develop Highland Park, Montgomery's
first suburb, and was president of Montgomery's
streetcar system, the first electric system in the
United States. From 1913 to 1921 the house was occupied
by Judge Asa Evans Stratton. Restored 1984.
South Jackson Street
Long a home to African-American professionals,
politicians, and businessmen, South Jackson Street is in
the heart of Centennial Hill, a neighborhood which
developed in the 1870s. One block north at #309 is the
house where Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. lived during the
Bus Boycott; #341 was the home of John W. Jones, Lowndes
County senator in the Reconstruction legislature.
Building on NE corner is former Ben Moore Hotel, site of
many Civil Rights meetings and activities. Alabama State
University at south end of street.
Montgomery's first military flying installation was
established 200 yards south of this spot in November of
1917. The facility was named for Captain Ralph L.
Taylor, who was killed in an airplane crash at Mineola
Field, New York in August of 1917. The primary flying
school here included 16 hangers, repair shops,
warehouses, quarters, a hospital, and nearly 200 JN-4
and DH-4 aircraft on its 800 acres. One hundred and
thirty-nine fledgling pilots completed the eight-week
course and some served in France during the First World
War. Taylor Field closed in April of 1919 and reopened
as Gunter Auxiliary Air Field No. 5 during World War II.
It was closed again in July of 1946. Erected by the
Montgomery Chapter of the Air Force Association and
Founders Flight, Order of Daedalians.
Greek Revival Architecture–built in 1848 by Berry
Owens. On April 11, 1865, Federal Troops, known as
"Wilson's Raiders," approached the city. Lacking means
of defense, city officials agreed to surrender the city.
From the front portico of this house was read the order
of Gen. James H. Wilson, USA, placing the first Capital
of the Confederacy under martial law on April 12, 1865.
This house, typical of many homes of the period, was
home successively of the Owens, Ware, Walker, Graham,
and Teague families. Since 1955 it has served as
headquarters of the Alabama State Chamber of Commerce
and is open to the public. (Located in Montgomery at
High and Perry Streets)
Telegram Which Began War Between the States
Montgomery, April 11, 1861 General Beauregard,
Charleston: Do not desire needlessly to bombard Fort
Sumter. If Major Anderson will state time at which, as
indicated by him, he will evacuate, and agree that in
the meantime he will not use his guns against us unless
ours should be employed against Fort Sumter, you are
thus authorized to avoid the effusion of blood. If this
or its equivalent be refused, reduce the fort as your
judgement decides to be most practicable. L. P. Walker
Sec. of War, C.S.A.
The Alabama State Capitol
Anticipating that Montgomery might some day be
Alabama's capital, city founder Andrew Dexter in 1819
set aside "Goat Hill," at what was then the eastern edge
of a small frontier town, as the locale for a future
statehouse. The first capitol on this site was erected
in 1846-47 after a design by Philadelphia architect
Stephen Decatur Button. Burned only two years later in
1849, this Greek Revival-style structure was replaced by
the present capitol, also in the Greek Revival-style, in
1850-51. Additions since that time include a large rear
wing (1885), side wing (1908-1912), and another rear
addition completed in 1992. In February 1861, delegates
from seceding southern states convened in this building
to organize the Confederate States of America. On March
25, 1965, the Selma-to-Montgomery civil rights march led
by Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. ended on the capitol
The Federal Road
The 1803 Louisiana Purchase acquired 828,000 sq. mi.
for the U.S., doubling its size. The Federal Road was
built to provide a shorter route from Washington to New
Orleans and the new territory. The Treaty of 1805 with
the Creeks authorized traversing their lands. Entering
Alabama at Ft. Mitchell near Columbus, GA, it came
through Mt. Meigs, to Pintlala, Ft. Deposit, Burnt Corn,
Ft. Stoddert, then Mobile. The 1814 Treaty of Ft.
Jackson made much fertile Creek land available to grow
cotton; this lure, "Alabama Fever," drew many thousands
of settlers to central Alabama. In 1860, spans were
still in use, but the Road was gone.
The Forefront of Montgomery's Future
The Chamber changed names several times, but stayed
in the lead for solid progress. Initially, it encouraged
European immigrants to move south, promoted development
of the Alabama River and the railroads, and had Commerce
Street paved. It brought the Wright Brother flying
school here in 1910 and was key to bringing military
bases, the Veterans Hospital, trade schools, educational
institutions, industrial parks, and tourism to the area.
It is the linchpin of business and community growth
partnering with elected and civic leaders to create jobs
and a better quality of life for Montgomery area
"The Old Reliables"
Inactive from 1962 to 1966, the 9th Infantry Division
again was tapped for active service in Vietnam. The
Division trained at Fort Riley, Kansas, and deployed to
Vietnam in 1967. There the 9th fought with distinction
in 8 campaigns as part of the Riverine Force. The
Division left Vietnam in the summer of 1969 and was
inactive for 3 years. In 1972 the "Old Reliables" were
reactivated at Fort Lewis, Washington, where they tested
new organizational concepts and equipment until
deactivated in 1992. During combat in 16 campaigns in
two wars, 13 soldiers of the Division were awarded the
Medal of Honor.
The Selma to Montgomery March They Camped Here
On March 24,1965, more than 25,000 marchers seeking
voter rights and protected by St. Jude Thaddeus, the
patron saint of hopeless causes and champion of
impossible causes, rested overnight on the grounds.
Public facilities were closed to freedom seekers. Father
Paul J. Mullaney, director, The City of St. Jude, opened
parish facilities for marchers. Joining them were
celebrities including Harry Belafonte, Sammy Davis, Jr.,
Leonard Bernstein, Mahalia Jackson, Shelly Winters and
other supporters. The next morning marchers continued on
to state capitol to further cause of voter registration.
The Soldiers' Home
Founded June 1861 by the Ladies' Hospital Association
of Montgomery, Sarah Hails Bellinger, with her husband,
Dr. Carnot Bellinger, donated the site for the hospital
and served as the hospital's first president. The
Bellinger farm site included a spacious four-room house
for the hospital, one of the first for Confederate
soldiers during the Civil War. The name "Soldiers' Home"
was attached to the hospital after a patient described
the facility in a letter to his mother as neither
hospital nor asylum but a true "Soldiers' Home." Dr. and
Mrs. Bellinger tended the sick here until May 1862, when
exhaustion caused them to move the Home to the corner of
Bibb and Commerce Streets in town.
401 Madison Avenue Built in Tuskegee, Alabama, a
small market town and education center, the house
reflects prosperity, changing tastes and optimism of the
1850s. Judge Thomas S. Tate incorporated three distinct
styles in the construction of his home. Columns indicate
lasting interest in Greek Revival, decorative brackets
and ventilator covers denote the Italianate, while the
side porches sport fanciful steamboat Gothic latticed
arches. Front column capitals are classical Temple of
Wind while rear columns depict vernacular, regional
ideas. Interior shows environmental concerns with
transverse halls to catch any summer breeze, and small
rooms easily heated by fireplaces in winter.
Three Men on a Flying Trapeze
The "Flying Trapezers," the Air Corps' first aerial
demonstration team, was established under Maxwell's Air
Corps Tactical School in 1932. Led by Capt. Claire
Chennault, members included Lt. Haywood Hansell, Sgt.
John Willamson, and Sgt. William McDonald. Chennault
used P-12Cs to perform loops, rolls, and figure eights
to show his fellow officers that three planes could
execute with precision the violent and difficult
maneuvers necessary to attack and destroy invading
bombers. The team played a key role in developing
pursuit tactics and in discrediting the "bomber
invincibility" theory before being disbanded in 1936.
William Burns Patterson (1850-1915) was 17 years old
in 1867 when he arrived in New York from Tullibody,
Scotland. By 1871, he had built a one-room schoolhouse
called Tullibody Academy for Negroes in Greensboro,
Alabama. He married the missionary teacher Margaret
Flack in 1879. Together, they created a model school of
its type. In 1887, the campus moved to Montgomery where
the first Tullibody Hall was built in 1890. A brick
building replaced the frame structure in 1906. Tullibody
Fine Arts Center stands on the site of the earlier
Union Station & Riverfont Park
Transportation center of Montgomery located in this
area for many years. First steamboat, the "Harriet,"
landed nearby 1821. City wharf constructed at landing
place 1823. First railroad, Montgomery & West Point
R.R., developed ca. 1840. By 1900 most major railroads
in Central Alabama had connections here. Union Station
and Tunnel connection to river landing built 1897.
Because decline in river traffic, Tunnel closed 1930.
With development of Riverfront Park 1970's, Tunnel
reopened. Ramp reopened 1981.
Victor Hugo Tulane
Almost penniless, Tulane came from Elmore County in
1880s, opening a grocery store on SE corner of High and
Ripley in 1905 (National Register of Historic Places).
While living at 430 South Union, he was cashier at the
African-American-owned Penny Savings Bank, as well as a
druggist. Served as Chairman of the Board of Old Ship
AME Zion Church, member of Board of Trustees of Tuskegee
Institute and of Swayne School, and first
African-American honorary member of the Montgomery Area
Chamber of Commerce. Died 1931: city honored business
leader by naming Victor Tulane Court in his memory,
April 1865 MG J.H. Wilson's Cavalry Corps raised U.S.
flag over Alabama's and the Confederacy's first capital
on 4/12/65, 3 days after Lee's surrender at Appomattox.
Wilson had defeated LTG N.B. Forrest's depleted and
outnumbered troops at the Confederate arsenal city of
Selma. Before fleeing Montgomery, BG D.W. Adams, CSA
ordered 85,000 bales of cotton and 40,000 bushels of
corn set afire to deny them to the Federals. But for the
wind's change and heroic volunteer firefighters, the
city would have burned. Wilson left Montgomery for
Columbus, GA on Friday, 4/14/65, the day Lincoln was
shot by Booth at Ford's Theater in Washington.
Built in 1841 by John Gindrat to house the Montgomery
branch of the Bank of St. Mary's. In 1854 was willed to
his daughter, Mary Elizabeth, wife of Joseph Winter. On
April 11, 1861, Confederate Secretary of War Leroy Pope
Walker sent telegram from second floor offices of
Southern Telegraph Company to Charleston authorizing
Confederate General P. G. T. Beauregard to fire on Fort
Sumter. Subsequent bombardment was first military action
of War Between the States. Building placed on National
Register of Historic Places 1972, and restored in 1978.
9th Infantry Division
The 9th Division was organized on July 18, 1918 at
Camp Sheridan for service in World War I. When the war
ended, November 11, 1918, deployment of the Division to
France was canceled and it was demobilized on February
15, 1919. Reactivated on August 1, 1940, 9th Infantry
Division soldiers fought valiantly in 8 crucial World
War II campaigns in North Africa, Sicily, France,
Belgium, and Germany. After a short inactivation, the
9th returned to the active force on July 15, 1947 as a
training division at Fort Dix, New Jersey, and later
served under NATO in Germany and at Fort Carson,
Colorado, as a combat unit.
37th Division, The Buckeye Division, World War I
Camp Sheridan was the site for the August 1917
organization of the Buckeye Division, made up the Ohio
National Guardsmen who previously had been serving on
the Mexican Border. After training, the 37th went to
France in June 1918, fighting in the Lorraine,
Ypres-Lys, and Meuse-Argonne Campaigns. It took 5,387
casualties and won a Medal of Honor before returning to
the U.S. in March 1919 to be demobilized.
37th Division, The Buckeye Division, World War II
The Buckeye Division was inducted into federal
service in October 1940. Trained at Camp Shelby,
Mississippi and Camp Indiantown Gap, Pennsylvania, it
was deployed to the Pacific in May 1942 where it
sustained 5,960 casualties in the Northern Solomons and
Luzon Campaigns. Seven soldiers won the Medal of Honor,
including Private Roger Young of the Infantry's ballad.
The Division returned to the U.S. for demobilization in
November 1945. The Division lineage descended to the
37th Infantry Brigade of the Ohio National Guard.
167th Infantry (4th Alabama)
An Alabama regiment was formed in 1836 to defend Fort
Foster in Florida. Same unit, designated the 1st
Volunteers ten years later, served in Mexican War .
Mustered again May 4, 1861 as the 4th Alabama Infantry
Regiment, it fought in every major battle in the Eastern
Theater of the Civil War. The 4th distinguished itself
in Battle of Manassos, the first major battle of the war
when it plugged gap in Confederate lines beside Brig.
Gen. T.J. Jackson's brigade and repulsed several Union
regiments. In that fight, Jackson acquired the name
A County Older Than the State –Morgan County
Alabama Territorial Legislature created this county
in 1818 from lands ceded by Cherokee Indians in 1816.
County first named Cotaco, for large creek in county.
Named Morgan County in 1821 for Maj. Gen. Daniel Morgan,
Revolutionary hero, winner over British at Battle of
Cowpens. County often invaded by both armies in War
Between the States. Until 1891 county seat at
Somerville. Then county seat moved to Decatur. Named for
Stephen Decatur, naval hero against Tripoli pirates and
in War of 1812. (Located at Courthouse in Decatur)
First Permanent Court House, Morgan County
Built circa 1837 with special taxes levied for that
purpose by Alabama Legislature, 1836. Replaced first
court house, built circa 1825. Somerville was
incorporated, 1819, county seat 1819-1891. Cotaco County
created February 8, 1818, renamed Morgan County, June
First Railroad West of Allegheny Mountains
Tuscumbia Courtland & Decatur RR–Built 1833 to bypass
shoals in Tennessee River–absorbed by Memphis &
Charleston and by Southern Railway in 1898.
Gen. Joseph Wheeler
For whom this lake in Tennessee River is named lived
1836-1906. His home 6 miles west. Lt. Gen. in
Confederate Army 1864-65. Major Gen. U. S. Army 1898.
Named by Alabama to Hall of Fame, Washington 1922.
(Located at entrance to boat harbor.)
Abundant water and fertile land in this area south of
the Tennessee River attracted pioneer settlement in the
early 1800s. The community established here by three
Virginia-born brothers, Hopkins, John, and Theophilus
Lacy, took on their name and became the site for a U.S.
post office in February 1831. "Lacy's Spring" became
"Lacey's Spring" when the postal seal furnished by
Washington officials inserted an "e" into the name.
Hopkins Lacy had been active in Tennessee politics prior
to his immigration into Alabama and John reportedly had
served in the North Carolina militia during the American
Revolution. The Lacys became important landowners in the
area, promoting settlement and serving in public office.
All three brothers were buried in Bartee Cemetery, west
of this site. The spring that had drawn the Lacys to
Alabama in the early 19th century was covered over by
highway construction in the late 20th century. Built in
the 1960s, the north-bound lanes of Hwy 231 obscured the
spring but a 48-inch tile placed into the water source
allowed the spring to continue flowing.
Old State Bank Building
Erected 1833. Cost $9,482. Classic Revival design.
Listed on National Register of Historic Places. Decatur
Branch, Bank of The State of Alabama. Chartered 1832 by
state legislature, profitable until 1837, charter
revoked 1842 and closed. 1842-1901 used as residence,
Union Army supply depot, and First National Bank. 1901
purchased by Dr. F. Y. Cantwell. Renovated 1934 by
C.W.A. as museum and civic hall. Donated by Mrs. W. B.
Edmundson and American Legion Post No. 15 to City.
Restored 1982. Site is original lot No. 60 of 1824 Town
"Value of Beauty" The restorative qualities of the
mineral springs here attracted settlement in the early
1800s. Variously known as Chunn Springs (after Lancelot
Chunn) and Manning Springs (after Robert Manning), the
spot was named for early developers of the resort where
a hotel and surrounding cabins were erected between 1818
and 1823. By 1834, when the first post ofice was
established, it was called White Sulphur Springs. Jean
Joseph Giers acquired the hotel and surrounding property
in 1856, renaming it "Valhermoso Springs." Into the 20th
century, travelers from all over the world came to the
hotel and springs seeking relief from rheumatism,
insomnia, consumption, and ailments of the skin,
kidneys, stomach, and liver. The hotel closed in the
1920s and was destroyed by tornado in 1950.
During the War Between the States, Breckinridge
Military Hospital was established at what is now Marion
Military Institute. Soldiers who died were first buried
behind MMI campus. After the war, Ladies Memorial Assoc.
had remains exhumed and re-interred here in St.
Wilfrid's Cemetery. Redwood tree planted as a living
memorial to the fallen soldiers. Grave of Judge Wm. M.
Brooks, President of the Alabama Secession Convention of
1861, is nearby. Placed by: Members of Hughes-McCollum
Post 5104 VFW and Friends April 29, 1979
Founded 1838–Milo P. Jewett, President. Deeded in
1843 to The Alabama Baptist Convention. One of the
nation's first colleges to offer higher education for
women, it has served, since its founding, as a liberal
and fine arts college for young women. (Located on the
campus at Marion)
Ocmulgee Baptist Church
Organized June 10, 1820 Charles Crow, Pastor
1820-1822, 1829-1845 First President of the Alabama
State Baptist Convention This church has served a
continuous congregation on this site since its
The Alabama Baptist
The first issue of The Alabama Baptist was published
in Marion, Alabama. General Edwin D. King, a Judson
trustee, offered his office for use in printing and
distributing the paper from 1843-1852. The building was
owned by Milo P. Jewett, president of Judson College.
The paper returned to Marion from 1873-1877. Since 1919,
The Alabama Baptist has been published in Birmingham as
an entity of the Alabama Baptist Convention. The
original office of The Alabama Baptist, located across
from Siloam Baptist Church, was moved to the Judson
campus in 1997 and restored.
The Marion Female Seminary
One of the earliest colleges for women in America.
Founded in 1835, was the first of four colleges
established in Marion, "The Athens of Alabama." This
building, erected in 1850, contained the art studio of
Nicola Marschall, who designed here in 1861, the first
Confederate flag–The Stars and Bars–as well as the grey
uniform of the South. From 1916 to 1970 the building
served as a local public school. Entered National
Register of Historic Places 1973.
Alabama, Tennessee & Northern Railroad Depot
The Carrollton Short Line Railroad, authorized by the
legislature in 1897, connected the Mobile & Ohio
Railroad at Reform with the Pickens County seat. John
Taylor Cochrane of Tuscaloosa, working with Carrollton
citizens, completed that line in 1902, then extended it
southward toward the Tombigbee River with the
encouragement of south Pickens County landowners.
Purchasing 36 acres between the villages of Franconia
and Bridgeville, Cochrane founded "Aliceville," named
for his wife, Alyce Searcy. By 1903, tracks reached the
new town's depot here at the south end of Broad Street
and in February 1907, Aliceville was incorporated. As
Cochrane's railroad line continued on toward Mobile, it
was rechristened the Alabama, Tennessee & Northern
Railroad. The line operated in Pickens County until June
29, 1976, when the last train made its run.
Aliceville First Baptist Church
On a wooded spot near where Garden Cemetery is
located stood Enon Baptist Church, constituted in August
1823, by Lemuel Prewitt and Henry Petty on land donated
by Parks E. Ball. Sometime after 1849 the meeting place
was moved about one mile west on Pickensville road. In
1905 it was relocated in Aliceville and is now known as
First Baptist Church of Aliceville. The present building
was dedicated in 1940. Through the years this church has
been consistently dedicated to missionary causes, and
the challenge of the Great Commission continues to be a
vital part of her ministry.
Aliceville Prisoner of War Camp
1942-1945 During World War II, the United States Army
interned 6,000 German prisoners of war here on a 400
acre site, employing 1,000 American military and
civilian personnel. Major Karl H. Shriver commanded
Corps of Engineers forces which began construction in
August, 1942. Activated Dec. 12, 1942. First prisoners,
from Gen. Erwin Rommel's Africa Korps, arrived by Frisco
Railroad June 2, 1943. Camp first commanded by Col. F.
A. Prince, later by Col. R. S. Grier. 400 frame
buildings: barracks, hospital, bakeries, chapels,
greenhouse, theaters; water and sewer systems, fire
department, amphitheater, sports fields, gardens. Barbed
wire compound with guard towers. 2 prisoners killed
attempting to escape. Deactivated Sept. 30, 1945.
Carrollton Short Line Railroad
The Mobile & Ohio Railroad Company in 1897 announced
plans to build a line from Artesia, Mississippi through
Pickens County to Tuscaloosa and on to Montgomery.
Leading citizens in Carrollton sought to persuade the
company to bring the line through the county seat, but M
& O officials chose a route through Reform and Gordo to
ensure faster mail service as required by the U.S.
postal service. Led by W.G. Robertson, Judge O.L.
McKinstry, E.R. Calhoun and M.L. Stansel, Carrollton
residents organized a corporation to build a railroad
from their community to Reform, to connect there with
the M & O. Called the "Carrollton Short Line," the track
eventually was completed by Tuscaloosa entrepreneur John
Taylor Cochrane, who brought the first train into
Carrollton in 1902. The depot was on this site. Cochrane
built the line steadily southward, establishing the town
of Aliceville (named for his wife, Alyce Searcy) along
its route, which eventually extended to Mobile.
Rechristened the Alabama, Tennessee & Northern Railroad
soon after, Cochrane's line prompted a social and
economic boom for Carrollton and southwest Alabama. Vast
timber holdings were tapped by "dummy lines" connecting
to the Carrollton Short Line, creating many jobs to
boost the local economy. The line operated until June
29, 1976, when the last train made its run.
First City Hall–Jail
Built June 1914, by Gordo's first town council to
house Mayor Benjamin Garrison's office, city courtroom,
and jail. Building used as city hall–jail until 1949.
Records show it to be the oldest remaining brick
structure in Gordo. Restored 1974, by Gordo Tuesday
Study Club as an art gallery and museum. Listed in the
National Register of Historic Places, Dec. 17, 1974.
Former home of John Herbert Kelly, brigadier general,
C.S. Army, born in Carrollton, March 31, 1840. Appointed
to West Point at age 17, resigned a few months before
graduation. Fought at Shiloh, Perryville, Murfreesboro,
and Chickamauga. Mortally wounded at battle of Franklin,
Tennessee, August 20, 1864. For many years this was the
home of Lewis Maxwell Stone, state senator, member of
the Constitutional Convention 1875, and speaker of the
House of Representatives during the Reconstruction
Period. Dwelling later occupied by Hugh Wilson Hill,
M.D., the third of four generations of a family of
physicians who have served the community with marked
King's Store Skirmish
On April 6, 1865, near this site, Confederate forces
from Carrollton and Bridgeville attacked a unit of Brig.
Gen. John T. Croxton's Union forces under Capt. William
A. Sutherland. Union forces were compelled to abandon 37
Confederate prisoners earlier captured. Union reporters
counted one mortally wounded and another taken prisoner.
No Confederate casualties were documented. Unable to
rejoin Gen. Croxton as ordered, Capt. Sutherland and his
6th Kentucky Cavalry marched on to Decatur.
Lanier's Mill Skirmish
On April 6, 1865, near this site on the Sipsey River,
Lt. Gen. Nathan Bedford Forrest's Confederate forces,
under Brig. Gen. Wirt Adams, met Union forces under
Brig. Gen. John Croxton . Union forces numbering 1,500
men, having burned the 3-story brick mill and resumed
their march, were attacked by an equal number of
Confederate forces. Gen. Adams reported his losses as 9
killed and 25 wounded and estimated Union losses as 75
killed or captured. Confederates took 2 Union ambulances
and personal baggage of Gen. Croxton, who was forced
back to Tuscaloosa. On May 4, when he surrendered, Gen.
Adams received this communication from Col. George
Moorman of his command: "Should the war cease now you
would have the honor of having won the last victory on
the Confederate soil and in the Confederate cause." The
Confederate charge which took place here was the last
cavalry charge in the War Between the States.
Mount Moriah Free Will Baptist Church
Organized by Rev. Ellis Gore in 1846, is recognized
as the oldest church of this faith in Alabama. Original
doctrinal treatise from Fayetteville, N.C. obtained by
Rev. Gore. The original building, a one room frame
structure, was built in 1846. Two buildings on this site
were destroyed by fires in 1869 and 1905. Replacement
remodeled and enlarged in 1959. Present structure
erected in 1972, known as the "Mother Church," has
always striven to lead others to the "Heavenly Father."
Oak Grove Presbyterian Church
Organized at this site, Franconia, Ala. in 1837. The
edifice of colonial architecture included a slave
gallery and an amen corner. The congregation moved to
Aliceville in 1906 and established the First
Presbyterian Church. Founders and heirs are interred in
the adjacent Oak Grove-Franconia cemetery which contains
a section for family slaves who were also church
members. The old building was moved to Aliceville in
1931 and is now used as a community church.
Pickens County Courthouse
Erected 1877-78 Pickens County, named for General
Andrew Pickens of South Carolina, was established
December 19, 1820. First County Seat was Pickensville.
On March 5, 1830 the U.S. government awarded 80 acres of
land at Carrollton for the County Seat. The first
courthouse erected at Carrollton was burned April 5,
1865, by troops of Union General John T. Croxton. A
freedman, Henry Wells, was accused of burning the second
on November 16, 1876. He was arrested January 1878, and
confined to the garret of the present building.
According to legend, as Wells peered out of the north
window, at a mob gathering below, lightning struck
nearby, indelibly etching his image on the pane.
Tabernacle Methodist Church and Campground
Tabernacle Methodist Campground established 1828.
About forty acres of land deeded to church by Marshall
Franks. Nathan Hopkins served as first pastor; Ebenezer
Hearn was first presiding elder. Among families who
helped build and maintain campground and church were
those of Henry, Joyner, Franks, Randall, Miller, Woods,
and Eubanks. Camp meetings held here annually since
Elam Primitive Baptist Church
Constituted March 7, 1830 (about two miles NE of this
site) with eight charter members including Elijah Wyatt
the first pastor. In 1850's church moved to this
location on land given by Deacon James Folmar. Present
building erected 1906. This marker dedicated on the
150th anniversary of church (March 9, 1980) to memory of
nearly 100 families who have played prominent roles in
this church and community.
First United Methodist Church
The Methodist Episcopal Church of Troy was organized
in 1843. The first building was constructed in 1858, on
land donated by Ann Dowdell Love, affectionately known
as "Granny Love." The second structure was erected in
1888. The present edifice, completed in 1904, was
designed by Frank Lockwood in neo-Romanesque style; the
sanctuary is neo-Classical with a saucer-dome ceiling,
pendentive arches, and Scamozzi Ionic columns. Building
was placed on the Alabama Register of Landmarks and
Heritage by the Alabama Historical Commission on June
Last Indian Battle in Alabama. General Wm. Wellborn
and his men attacked and routed 900 Indians camping here
during Creek War of 1836. Indians, reluctant to move
west, angered by whites seizing land, had plundered as
they moved toward new homes in Florida.
Became county seat of Pike County in 1827. County
seat moved to Troy, a more central location, in 1838.
Pike County was created in 1821 from lands ceded by
Creek Indians in Treaty of Ft. Jackson, 1814.
Founded 1848 by legislative act and donations of
citizens. Excellent instruction made it only school of
kind for youth in area. Later used as public school
until 1929 school consolidation. Orion settled about
1815, by 1830 saw arrival of wealthy planters. Here on
Chunnenuggee Ridge they built homes and cultivated
Philadelphia Presbyterian Church
First Presbyterian Church in Pike County. Organized
largely by members of Beaver Creek Presbyterian Church
near Camden, South Carolina. They petitioned Presbytery
of South Alabama Oct. 18, 1839 and were officially
established as a church April 3, 1840. Church was
dissolved in April 1917. Officers during life of church:
1840-1917–ELDERS–R. R., S. R. , J. W., J. A. McLure; J.
M. Thompson; E. Ruffin; S. Smyth; B. H. Boyd; J. A.
Ramsay; G. C. Barnette; J. D. and Dr. J. A. McEachern.
DEACONS–John and Dr. J. A. McEachern, John W., Thomas C.
Henry M., Richard U. McLure; W. F. Ferrell; W. A. E.
Helms. MINISTERS–D. S. McCormick; A. M. Mooney; M. A.
Patterson; A. McMillan; J. M. Peu; G. W. Butler; F. M.
McMurry; J. McKee; R. H. Hall; G. R. Foster; R.
Kirkpatrick; W. H. White and J. C. Sturgeon. (Located on
Alabama Highway 93 near Brundige)
Built ca. 1860 on land donated by transplanted
Georgians Hugh Ross and Tabitha Miller Rodgers, this
school educated Pike County youth until consolidation
closed its doors in 1935. Between 1923 and 1935, it was
under the direction of H.M. Curry who labored with short
terms, limited facilities, and scarce funds. Despite
issuing neither report cards nor diplomas, Curry and
fellow instructor Sue Edwards Carter were responsible
for successfully preparing more than twenty of its
graduates for college entry during the school's "golden
age." The Rodgers School continues to serve as a
community center and inspiration to future generations.
Salem Baptist Church
Pike County's oldest church. Organized by Dr. C. T.
Mahoney. Since 1824 it has enriched the life of his
section. Here were organized: Salem Baptist Association,
1839, Baptist General Assoc., 1868, Ladies Aid Society,
1891, Salem-Troy Baptist Assoc., 1904, Women's
Missionary Society, 1905. First a log structure, the
church had occupied four wooden buildings before the
present brick structure, 1939. (Located in Brundidge)
Three Notch Road
Built by U.S. Army, 1824, from Ft. Barrancas, at
Pensacola to Ft. Bainbridge, S. E. of Tuskegee. Here it
joined Federal Road leading to Ft. Mitchell in Russell
County. Road followed Indian trade trail became main
road for settlers and traders before railroads. Scouts
notched trees to mark route that ran along this ridge.
Troy State College
Established as Troy State Normal School by the
Alabama General Assembly in 1887. The Alabama
Legislature has approved the following changes in the
name: Troy State Normal College 1893, Troy State
Teachers College 1927, Troy State College 1957. Land and
the first building for the original downtown campus and
the land for the present site were provided by the City
of Troy. The college was moved to the present campus in
1930. The State Board of Education authorized the
College to grant the Bachelors Degree in 1929 and the
Masters Degree in 1956. (Located on campus in Troy)
Troy State University
Established as Troy State Normal School by the
Alabama General Assembly in 1887. The Alabama
Legislature has approved the following changes in the
name: Troy State Normal College 1893 Troy State Teachers
College 1927 Troy State College 1957 Troy State
University 1967 Land and the first building for the
original downtown campus and the land for the present
site were provided by the City of Troy. The College was
moved to the present campus in 1930. The State Board of
Education authorized the College to grant the Bachelors
Degree in 1929 and the Masters Degree in 1956. The
College was placed under a separate Board of Trustees in
First Baptist Church
Organized 1845 First Baptist Church organized the
founding year of the Southern Baptist Convention. In
1876 a handsome structure replaced the original
unpainted building on the site of the present chapel. In
1902 a brick structure was erected. The church hosted
the Alabama Baptist Convention's annual meeting in 1908.
An educational wing was added in 1952. After a
destructive fire in November, 1977, the present
structure was built. Throughout its history the church
has devoted its energies to Christ-centered ministries.
Lebanon Christian Church
Founded March 31, 1864 by evangelist Moses Park.
William Terry Kirby, Sr. and Nancy T. Greer Kirby
donated four acres of land adjacent to their home for
the church site. Services were first conducted at a
brush arbor on the property, which later became Lebanon
Cemetery. The present building, construction in 1887 has
been in continuous use and remains virtually unaltered.
Charter members: Moses Park Martha Park Susan Park James
Adcock Sarah E. Adcock David Little Lucinda Kirby
Elizabeth Wheeler Eliza E. Taylor Sarah E. Taylor Amanda
Osborne Ann Bennett
Created December 18, 1832, from Creek Indian cession
and named for U.S. Senator John Randolph of Virginia.
Wedowee, the county seat, is named for the chief of a
Creek Indian village which once occupied this site.
First court was held near Triplett's Ferry on the
Tallapoosa River, west of Wedowee.
May 28th Celebration
Battle and Antioch Communities Russell County,
Alabama President Abraham Lincoln issued the
Emancipation Proclamation in 1863, in the midst of the
Civil War. Freedom for the South's slaves, however, only
came with the end of the conflict, April 1865. The
joyous news reached Negro slaves in this area in May.
Since that time, May 28th has been established as a
community holiday to commemorate a day of freedom,
attracting celebrants from all over the nation. "Thank
God we are in His care."
Five miles -- Built during Creek War 1813 by Georgia
Militia on main Indian trade route to Tombigbee River.
U.S. troops stationed here until 1837. 1836 Lower Creeks
corralled here for forced removal to the West. Located
on Highway 165 south of Phenix City.
A County Older Than the State – St. Clair County
Created 1818 by territorial legislature. Named for
Revolutionary hero, Gen. St. Clair. First settlers from
Tennessee, Georgia–veterans of Creek Indian War,
1813-14. Pell City established as industrial town in
1890 by George H. Pell of New York. Growth of population
south of Backbone Mt. and difficulty of crossing
mountain led to branch county seat here in 1902. County
seat at Ashville since 1822. Old Indian trails through
this county used by: DeSoto's Spanish
conquistadors–1540. Andrew Jackson's forces–1813-14.
General Rousseau, Croxton–1864-65. (Located at Pell
A County Older Than the State – St. Clair County
Created in 1818 in first session of Alabama
Territorial Legislature from lands ceded by Creek Indian
Nation in Treaty of Ft. Jackson, 1814. Named for Gen.
Arthur St. Clair, hero of Revolution, governor of
Northwest Territory. First settlers from Tennessee,
Georgia–veteran of Creek Indian War, 1813-14. County
seat since 1822 here at Ashville, named for John Ash,
prominent settler. Growing population south of Backbone
Mt. led to Pell City branch county seat, 1902. (Located
Dr. Elwyn Ballard, commissioner of Boy Scouts in
Birmingham, and his wife, Florence Aye Ballard,
discovered this site in 1914 and became vital forces in
the founding and growth of the camp. Boy Scouts and Boys
Club members from the area first camped here in tents in
1916. Through Dr. Ballard, the Interdenominational
Birmingham Sunday School Association acquired the camp
in 1918 and offered sessions not only for boys but for
girls as well-the first organization-sponsored camping
for girls in Alabama and among the first in the South.
Daniel Ray Price, Executive Secretary of the
Association, directed the camp 1922-1957. Rosa V.
Strickland, educator and church leader, served as girls
camp director 1919-1954. Winnataska early received
national recognition for excellence of staff,
facilities, and programs. In 1986, Camp Winnataska and
the Boy Scouts, Birmingham Area Council, formed a joint
venture to operate the Camp Winnataska Outdoor Education
First Baptist Church of Springville
Organized March 22, 1817 Originally chartered at Mt.
Zion Baptist Church. Charter member and first Pastor was
Sion Blythe who served for 17 years. The oldest church
in St. Clair Association. Presbyterian and Methodist
denominations used the church building before turn of
the century. Name of church changed to Springville
Baptist in 1877 and to First Baptist Church of
Creek Indian War, 1813-14, 12 miles north. Built by
Andrew Jackson with Tennessee troops and friendly
Cherokees. Used as advanced base of operations on the
border of Creek Confederacy.
Harkey's Chapel United Methodist Church
Founded Circa 1829-1830 Original log house of worship
built St. Clair Co. near Broken Arrow Creek, six miles
from Coosa River. Named Harkey's Chapel for first
minister, Rev. David. Harkey of Cahawba Circuit. Present
church built 1904 by A. I. Abels with community helpers.
Preserved by members of Harkey's Chapel United Methodist
Church. Entered Alabama Register of Historic Places
Historic Downtown Pell City
Founded by railroad investors and incorporated on May
6, 1891, Pell City was named for one of the financial
backers, George Hamilton Pell of New York. Nearly
disappearing after the Panic of 1893, the town was
redeveloped after 1901 by Sumter Cogswell and his wife,
Lydia DeGaris Cogswell, along with other local investors
and businessmen. Mr. Cogswell influenced the location
here in 1902 of the Pell City Manufacturing Company,
subsequently, Avondale Mills. The town's prosperity was
secured after that time. The Historic District
encompasses two long blocks along Cogswell Avenue from
Nineteenth Street to Twenty-first Street and several
buildings on Nineteenth and Twenty-first Streets North
and Twentieth Street South. The only building to survive
the earlier period was the Maxwell Building, constructed
in 1890. The majority of the historic structures were
built in the years between 1902 and 1905. The Downtown
District was added to the National Register of Historic
Places on October 29, 2001.
John Looney House
circa 1820 John Looney and son, Henry, served in
General Andrew Jackson's volunteer company which built
Fort Strother on Coosa River and later fought at
Horseshoe Bend in 1814. Looney's family of nine moved
from Maury Co. Tenn. to homestead 1817 in St. Clair
County. Land patent granted in 1822. The two story log
house with double dog-trot is a rare example of pioneer
architecture in Alabama. Restored by St. Clair
Historical Society in 1972. Listed in the National
Register of Historic Places 1974.
The Mill Village
The Pell City Manufacturing Company, completed in
1902, was the main catalyst in the growth and
development of Pell City. It was the first cotton mill
in the South with the distinctive sawtooth roof design.
In addition to the mill itself, the mill complex
consisted of the adjacent Mill Village of over one
hundred houses, the mill office, a community house, a
hospital, and a school. In 1919 the mill was purchased
by the Comer interests and became part of the Avondale
Mills system. The Mill Village continued as the center
of everyday life in Pell City for many years. The mill
and Mill Village were added to the National Register of
Historic Places on August 21, 2000.
Pell City's Historic Residential District
The earliest neighborhood in Pell City was the
Residential District, located on the northern boundary
of the Downtown Historic District. The Residential
District was the preferred location for many of the
earliest leaders involved in the growth and development
of Pell City. The city was incorporated in 1891 and
named for George Hamilton Pell of New York, a leading
investor in the railroad that influenced the city's
location. The town almost disappeared after the Panic of
1893, but due to the vision and leadership of Sumter
Cogswell, was revived in 1902. The homes of Sumter
Cogswell and Green Evans, Pell City's first mayor, are
two of the earliest structures, dating from the late
nineteenth century. The district is composed of sixteen
full and partial city blocks, centering on First,
Second, and Third Avenues North and containing 105
historic structures. The majority of the houses date
from 1902 to 1930. The district was added to the
National Register of Historic Places on November 29,
Alabama Historical Association
Founded in 1946 at Alabama College. Erected at tenth
annual meeting held there in 1957. Alabama Historical
Association. (Located on campus at Montevallo)
Near this site are the remains of three forts built
in 1863 by Confederate troops under the command of Major
W.T. Walthall, commander of the military post at
Talladega. The forts, built for protection of the
Alabama-Tennessee River Railroad trestles across the
Coosa River and Yellow Leaf Creek, were manned during
the last months of the war by reserve companies
consisting of young boys and old men. Barbiere's Reserve
Cavalry was stationed here in February 1865. Union
troops commanded by General James H. Wilson captured the
forts in March 1865.
Shelby County Courthouse
1854-1908 Original seat of government of Shelby
County established in 1818 at Shelbyville (Pelham).
Moved to Columbiana 1826. First courthouse a small
wooden building located on this site. Replaced 1854 by
two-story brick structure which forms central portion of
this building. Later major alterations undertaken. Front
and rear extensions added. Renovated structure designed
in classical Jeffersonian style. Continued to serve as
seat of county government until 1908 when new courthouse
completed two blocks north.
Erected 1849 and 1863, 5 miles. Major source of pig
iron for the Confederacy. Furnished iron to Selma
arsenal for heavy cannon, naval armor plate. Furnaces
destroyed in 1865 by Wilson's Cavalry raiders U.S.A.
Rebuilt 1873, closed 1923.
Near this site stood Shelbyville, A.T., first county
seat of Shelby County; named for Isaac Shelby, governor
of Tennessee. Shelby County was established February 7,
1818 by an act of the Alabama Territorial Legislature.
The first orphan's court was held April 4, 1818.
Justices were: George Phillips, Patrick Hays, Bennet
Ware, Needham Lee, and James Walker.
University of Montevallo
National Historic District Originally named Alabama
Girls' Industrial School and later Alabama College, this
institution was founded Oct. 12, 1896, by the Alabama
Legislature. It was the state college for women until
1956, when it became coeducational. In 1969 the name was
changed to the University of Montevallo. In Dec., 1978,
the central portion of the campus was listed in the
National Register of Historic Places. The oldest
buildings are King House (1823) and Reynolds Hall
Fort Tombecbee–3/4 mile
1736 Erected by French against intrusions of British
traders arousing Choctaws and Chickasaws. 1763 Renamed
Fort York by British who soon abandoned the post. 1783
Renamed Fort Confederation by Spanish and occupied until
ceded in 1795. 1802 Here Choctaws ceded large areas to
United States, and the post was continued as Indian
Gen. N. B. Forrest
Here Forrest paroled his force May 1865, after four
years of outstanding military success, by order of
Department Commander Gen. Dick Taylor.
John Anthony Winston
(1812-1871) Planter, Legislator, Soldier,
Governor–1853: First native-born Alabamian to be elected
Governor. 1854: Approved Act establishing public schools
of state. 1867: Elected to U.S. Senate. He was denied
his seat as he would not take oath of allegiance to
Federal Government. Buried 5 miles east in family
cemetery. (Located in Livingston)
Line 32° 28' North Latitude
Northern Boundary of: British W. Florida 1764-83,
Spanish W. Florida 1783-95, Mississippi Territory
1798-1804, Washington County 1800-12, Clarke County
1812-15. Southern Boundary of: British Illinois 1764-83,
United States 1783-95. Line fixed in 1764 by British
king across present Alabama-Mississippi. France had
ceded area to Britain in 1763.
Livingston State College
Chartered in 1840 as Livingston Collegiate Institute
(1835: Female Presbyterian Academy planned). In 1883, by
work of Julia Tutwiler, Alabama legislature made its
first grant of funds to a girls' school. 1907: State
Normal School. In 1929: became Livingston State Teachers
College, granting degrees. In 1957 change to present
name reflected its broader purposes. (Located on campus)
1736: First settlement by French at Ft. Tombecbee.
1830: U.S. got Choctaw Indian lands by Treaty of Dancing
Rabbit Creek. 1832: County created by Act of State
Legislature–named for Gen. Thomas Sumter, "The
Gamecock," South Carolina Revolutionary hero. 1833:
Livingston made county seat. (Located in Livingston)
Sumter County's Covered Bridge
1860–Captain W. A. C. Jones of Livingston designed
and built the bridge of hand-hewn yellow pine put
together with large pegs, clear span 88 feet, overhead
clearance 14 feet, and inside width of 17 feet, across
the Sucarnoochee River on old State Road south of
Livingston. 1924–Bridge taken down and reconstructed
across Alamucha Creek on old Bellamy-Livingston Road
where in use 1958. 1971–Removed to Livingston University
campus and restored.
Earliest known Morgan Horse in Alabama and one of the
three major stallion sons sired by Justin Morgan,
foundation sire of the breed. Woodbury was foaled in
1816 in Vermont, where he remained until sold to Norman
Bugbee of Gainesville, Alabama, in 1836. Bugbee, a
native of Vermont, had opened a store a few months
earlier in this thriving port city, home of the North
Sumter Race Course. In late 1836, Woodbury was shipped
by sailing vessel from Boston, but became ill en route
and was injured during unloading. He never fully
recovered and died in 1838. The U.S. Post Office at
Gainesville is built on the site of Bugbee's store.
Battle of Talladega
Nov. 9, 1813. Here Andrew Jackson led Tennessee
Volunteers and friendly Indians to victory over hostile
"Red Sticks." This action rescued friendly Creeks
besieged in Fort Leslie. Creek Indian War 1813-14.
Central Plank Road
1850. Here was northern terminus of 60 miles of toll
road operated from Wetumpka. Built of wooden boards.
Prior to railroads this was an important artery of
travel. Chartered to connect navigable parts of the
Alabama, Coosa, and Tennessee Rivers.
Important Indian town for over 250 years and capital
of Coosa province. Visited by DeSoto in 1540, and later
by Spanish, French, British colonial explorers and
traders. Early writers tell of abundant food crops, wild
and cultivated, supporting a large population.
De Soto Caverns
De Soto Caverns was named for the famous Spanish
explorer who traveled through this area in 1540. Over
its rich history it offered shelter for native Indians
for centuries (a 2,000-year-old Woodland Period burial
was excavated by archeologists in the mid-1960s), became
the first officially recorded cave in the U.S. (1796),
and served as a Confederate gunpowder mining site during
the Civil War. One of the largest show caves in the
southeastern U.S., the main room of the caverns stands
12-stories high and is as large as a football field. The
caverns' onyx-marble stalagmites and stalactites are
among the most concentrated accumulations to be found in
Here in 1814 Tennessee Troops joined Andrew Jackson's
force which won the Creek Indian War. After Indian
removal in 1836 these veterans brought their families
here, named this community for their old home in
Tennessee. Fayetteville Academy was built in 1850.
Led by Gen. Rousseau July 17, 1864. Led by Gen.
Croxton April 22, 1865. These well equipped expeditions
met no organized opposition. They destroyed furnaces,
railroads, storehouses, provisions, and training camp
12 miles west. Built by Andrew Jackson with U.S.
Regulars, Tennessee Volunteers and friendly Cherokees
and Creeks. Used as advance base during final phases of
Creek Indian War, 1813-14. Military cemetery nearby.
Hernando De Soto
June 1540. Spanish discoverer, explorer, led his
well-equipped army of conquistadors southward through
this area. He sought gold and lands for colonization in
this populous Indian county.
Hightower Brothers Livery Stable
Founded in 1896 by brothers John Judge and Milton
Graham Hightower, this small-town livery stable served
the community and surrounding countryside until its
closing in 1955. Originally located nearby, the business
moved to this "New Town" site in 1905. A new brick
building was erected in 1914 after the original
wood-frame structure was destroyed by fire. The
Hightower Brothers furnished area farmers with
agricultural resources, local businesses with vehicles,
and the people of Sylacauga with recreational
transportation. In addition to providing mules, horses,
wagons, buggies, and farm implements locally, the stable
was a major supplier of mules to Camp McClellan in
Anniston during World War I. Listed on the National
Register of Historic Places in 1997, the building was
donated by the John Milton Hightower family to Blue Bell
Creameries in 2000.
Originally called Jumper's Spring. Site of U. S. Land
Office for sale of lands ceded by Creek Indians, 1832.
Early courts held here after Talladega County was
created. Named for Samuel W. Mardis, settled from
Built in 1842. Here Riddle Brothers operated first
and largest forge in Talladega Creek Valley. They made
bar iron to supply plows, horseshoes, nails, other
wrought-iron products to early settlers of area. Indians
had been forced from area in 1836.
April 23, 1865. One of the last fights of the war.
Here General B. J. Hill hastily gathered a force of
boys, old men, and convalescents to resist Croxton's
Union Cavalry raiders. The raiders were intent on
destroying Confederate railroads, furnaces, and
Presbyterian Home for Children–Synod of
Alabama–Presbyterian Church in the United States
Originally conceived 1864 as a home for children of
Confederate dead by Synod in session at Selma. Opened at
Tuskegee 1868–relocated in Talladega 1891. A haven for
dependent youth of Alabama providing training,
education, and worship in a Christian atmosphere.
(Located at Children's Home in Talladega)
Settled in 1748 by Shawnee Indians from Ohio. They
joined Creek Confederacy, fought against U.S. in War of
1812, were moved west in 1836. Settled before 1836 by
men who had fought in this area under Andrew Jackson.
Indian name: Syllacogga or Chalakagay.
1889-1930. "The International Furnace." Built by
British group in 1889. Run by Americans during
Spanish-American War. Japan bought–World War I–and made
iron until Armistice. First furnace to ship low
phosphorous iron to North. Dismantled for scrap in 1930.
Battle of Emucfau
5 miles south, January 22, 1814. Jackson fortified
position here during Creek Indian War (1813-14).
Although repeated attacks by the Red Sticks were
repulsed, Jackson withdrew with the Indians pursuing.
Battle of Enitachopko
Creek Indian War 1813-14, 4 mi. E. Hostile Creeks
attacked Andrew Jackson, withdrawing to Ft. Strother.
Jan. 24, 1814. His troops broke through lines and kept
on to Ft. Strother. But Creeks boasted that they
defeated 'Capt. Jack,' drove him to the Coosa.
Anticipating the construction of a railroad through
the country hamlet of Youngsville, Griffin Young in 1860
hired W. H. Whatley to survery a portion of his property
and lay it off in forty-eight town lots. In the plan two
acres were reserved for use as a public square. Delayed
by the Civil War, the railroad was finally completed to
the newly named Alexander City in 1874, and the business
center developed around and to the north of the public
square. In 1877, on the south side of the square, the
members of the First Baptist Church erected their first
house of worship. In 1889, during the term of mayor
Buford L. Dean, a courthouse-city hall was erected on
the site. The original building was destroyed in the
1902 fire. A second building was erected and a third in
The First Baptist Church
1872 In the summer of 1872 a few residents in the
village of Youngsville gathered for a revival held on
the hill later occupied by Mistletoe Bough. Alexander
City's First Baptist Church and First United Methodist
Church trace their origins from that union revival held
under a bush arbor. On August 3, 1872 eleven men and
women guided by Rev. A.K. Tribble met under the bush
arbor and organized the Youngsville Baptist Church.
J.T.P. Christian and B.B. Reams were elected deacons and
T.S. Christian, Sr. was elected clerk. Following the
town's name change the next year, the church became the
Alexander City Baptist Church. Sunday services were held
once a month until 1879. On this site in 1877 the
congregation erected its first house-of-worship, a
wood-frame structure valued at $1,000. The church
erected new sanctuaries on this site in 1906 and in
First United Methodist Church
1872 Following a fire in June 1902 that destroyed the
Methodist Episcopal Church of the North Alabama
Conference, along with most of downtown Alexander City,
the church leadership chose to relocate to this site.
Construction began in 1903 on the neoclassical
Romanesque style house of worship. The foundation stones
were collected from a nearby farm, and the bricks and
timbers were fabricated by local craftsmen within
walking distance of the site. The first service in the
completed structure was held in May 1906. The church
traces its origin to a small group of Methodists led by
Rev. William T. Patillo, who joined with people of other
denominations for a union revival held under a bush
arbor in the village of Youngsville in the summer of
First Presbyterian Church
First Presbyterian Church was organized March 2,
1893. The church was made up of 17 members at the home
of Robert Clinton Sandlin, who was installed as the
First Ruling Elder. The church constructed their 1st
building on this site in 1895. The church was the only
buildng in the business district not destroyed by the
fire on Friday, June 13, 1902. The postmaster used the
church's basement for his office until the new Post
Office was rebuilt. In the mid-1900s, the building was
renovated by the law firm of Morris, Haynes, and
6 mi. west. Built in 1735 by British from Carolina in
futile attempt to gain trade of the Creek Indians from
the French, located at Fort Toulouse, 40 mi. S. Okfuskee
was the largest town in Creek Confederacy.
Grafenberg Medical Institute
1852-1861. Alabama's first medical school. Trained
physicians who rendered great service to the State and
Confederacy. Closed by war and death of its founder,
Phillip M. Shepard, M.D.
Horseshoe Bend Battleground
Twelve miles north, there on March 27, 1814, General
Andrew Jackson, commanding U. S. forces and friendly
Indians, broke the power of the Creek Confederacy.
(Located one mile north of Dadeville)
Johnson J. Hooper
1815-1861. Author, Editor, Lawyer, Secretary of
Congress, C.S.A. As a writer he created Captain Simon
Suggs of the Tallapoosa Volunteers, fictional character
whose humorous, rascally escapades of pioneer days in
Alabama became world famous.
Menawa, War Chief
About 1766-1837. Indian farmer-merchant chose to
resist whites' advance on Indians' lands. In Creek War
he led Creeks at battle of Horseshoe Bend. His warriors
were beaten by Jackson's superior force but Menawa
1873 Freedmen moving to the new market town of
Youngsville in the early 1870s occupied homes along a
street they called Needmore Street. They relocated their
house of worship from near the present junction of South
Central Avenue and Cherokee Road to the Needmore
neighborhood where Methodists and Baptists shared a
building. Missionaries from the Methodist Episcopal
Church formed a congregation in Alexander City and, in
1873, Bishop Gilbert Haven appointed Rev. George Scott
pastor of the new church. In 1876 the church became a
charter member of the Central Alabama Conference. In
1895 the Bethel Baptist Church congregation constructed
a separate house of worship. Great Bethel Baptist Church
attained distinction in the 20th century for its
religious and social outreach programs under the
leadership of its pastor of 45 years, Rev. Milton Nunn.
Along Stow Ferry Road on July 16, 1864, a column of
five federal cavalry regiments led by Major General
Lovell H. Rousseau passed on their way to destroy the
railroad at Opelika. Captain Thomas A. Elkin of the 5th
Kentucky Cavalry in the lead detachment rode into
Youngsville about 6:00 P.M. on the 16th. The Yankees
scavenged and burned four tax-in-kind warehouses
containing grain, cornmeal, and bacon. Crossing the
Tallapoosa River in the darkness on the 16th, Col.
William D. Hamilton of the 9th Ohio recalled: "Ever
after we referred to the crossing of that river in the
night with shudders... unpleasant as that of any
The Savannah and Memphis Railroad
The transformation of Youngsville from a country
hamlet to a market town can be traced from the arrival
of the railroad. The Savannah and Memphis Railroad was
completed from Opelika to teh east side of the
Tallapoosa River at Sturdivant in 1872. Anticipating the
extension of the railroad to Youngsville, the grateful
citizens in 1873 renamed the village's name to Alexander
City in honor of Edward Porter Alexander, president of
the S&M. On June 24, 1874 an excursion train pulled by
an engine christened Simon Suggs steamed into Alexander
City bringing dignitaries and visitors who joined
thousands of residents to celebrate the inauguration of
rail service. A passenger-freight depot erected in 1874
and rebuilt after the 1902 fire stood on the opposite
side of the railroad from this site until relocated to
Court Square in 1955.
Sidney Z. Mitchell
, 1862-1944 Industrialist and Electrical Pioneer Born
in Tallapoosa County, reared in Coosa County by his
grandmother, Ann Jordan; educated at the United States
Naval Academy. A pioneer in the generation of
electricity throughout the world, his engineering and
financial knowledge provided many of the guidelines for
the production of the electric power we take for granted
Following the Creek Cession of 1832, settlers, mostly
from Georgia and the Carolinas, occupied this section of
the former Creek Nation. Among the first settlers was
James Young who purchased land a half-mile west near a
trading post called Georgia Store. Community life can be
dated from 1837 when Griffin Young opened a post office
in his store and eight men and women, "The Baptist
bretheren settlers of Youngsville" organized Fellowship
Primitive Baptist Church. The store and the church were
within view of this site. For the first thrity-five
years of its existence, Youngsville was a country hamlet
of scattered farms, a store-post office and a church.
The Civil War delayed the construction of a railroad and
an ambitious plan by Griffin Young to promote a "town"
on his property. Anticipating the arrival of the
railroad, the Town of Youngsville was incorporated in
1872 and, the next year, the town's name was changed to
Alexander City in honor of E. P. Alexander, president of
the Savannah and Memphis Railroad.
Alabama Corps of Cadets Defends Tuscaloosa
(side one) Early on the morning of 4 April 1865,
Union Gen John T. Croxton's Cavalry Brigade of 1500
veteran troopers entered the town after fighting the
home guard and capturing the covered bridge connecting
Northport and Tuscaloosa across the Warrior River. While
a detachment of Federals proceeded to capture two pieces
of artillery stored at the Broad St. livery stable, Pat
Kehoe of the Alabama Insane Hospital hurried to the
University of Alabama to warn of the soldiers' approach.
University president Landon C. Garland ordered the
guardhouse drummers to "beat the long roll" to awaken
the 300 sleeping cadets. Quickly forming into ranks, the
three companies began their march from campus into town.
A platoon from Co. C, under Capt John H. Murfee, formed
as skirmishers and forged ahead to the corner of
Greensboro Ave. and Broad St. (University Blvd.) where
they encountered the enemy from the 6th Ky Cav Regt. In
the ensuing firefight, Capt Murfee was wounded along
with three cadets, W.R. May, Aaron T. Kendrick and
William M. King. The Union pickets then retreated down
the hill back toward the bridge. The bloodied cadet
platoon rejoined the main body of the Corps which had
advanced at the sound of fighting. Together they
proceeded one block north to the brow of River Hill and
took up positions, firing several volleys down on the
Union enemy by the river. Learning from a Confederate
officer who had been captured and temporarily released
by Croxton that the Yankee force included 1500 arms and
the two captured cannons, President Garland and
Commandant of Cadets Colonel James T. Murfee decided
that an attack with teen-aged boys would be a useless
sacrifice. The Corps marched the 1½ miles back to the
campus, fortified themselves with what provisions were
available, and continued east on Huntsville Rd. Crossing
Hurricane Creek some eight miles from town, they
unplanked the bridge and entrenched themselves on the
east bank. Croxton did not pursue, instead exploding the
University's ammunition supplies and setting the campus
ablaze. After witnessing the destruction from afar, the
cadets marched east, then south to Marion. There, the
Corps disbanded with orders to re-form in one month's
time; the war ended in the interval.
Alpha Delta Pi
Organized May 15, 1851 Eta Chapter March 21, 1907
Alpha Delta Pi, the first college secret sisterhood, was
organized at Wesleyan Female College, Macon, Georgia,
the first women's college to grant academic degrees.
Originally identified as Adelpheans, the group had three
thousand alumnae and sixty active members in 1905 when
it changed its name to Alpha Delta Phi (Pi in 1913) and
began to expand nationally. Eta Chapter at the
University of Alabama was the first chapter established
in the state. Pi Kappa Kappa, the first local sorority
at the University, had organized February 6, 1904 and
became affiliated with Alpha Delta Phi (Pi) as the Eta
Chapter on March 21,1907. Installation ceremonies were
held in the rooms of the Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity.
Eta Chapter went into inactive status in 1909-10 because
of the scarcity of eligible women students. Reactivation
followed on February 14, 1931.
Bethany Baptist Church
Constituted 28 Dec. 1832 by Elders Thomas Baines
(ancestor of President Lyndon B. Johnson), Holland W.
Middleton and Medey White, first Pastor. First Deacons
were Henry Fox, Thomas Fox, and David Denton. One of 13
churches organizing Tuscaloosa Baptists Asso. in 1834.
Bethabera Church was organized as a mission in 1843.
Rev. Basil Manley, Second President of the University of
Ala., often filled the pulpit. He donated a Bible and a
set of hymn books in 1851. First two buildings were of
log, on land donated by Jesse Hughes in 1838. Present
site acquired 1883. Present building constructed 1953.
Bethel Baptist Church
Organized May 10, 1834, as Buck Creek Baptist Church.
Presiding Clergy: Robert Marsh, Medey White, Thomas
Norris and Job Wilson. Building erected in 1836 and
renamed Bethel Baptist Church. Larger structure erected
1907. Destroyed by lightning and rebuilt in 1877. In
1890 Mary Jane Thornton from Bethel was the first
Baptist missionary from Tuscaloosa County. Served with
Lottie Moon in the China Mission. Gov. Lurleen Burns
Wallace, as a youth, attended Bethel Church. Her
parents, Mr. and Mrs. Henry Morgan Burns, are buried in
the Bethel Cemetery. Marker unveiled April 29, 1984.
Bethel Missionary Baptist Church
Organized in 1881 with Rev. Delaware Jackson first
pastor. Building at Fifth St., now University Boulevard,
near Sixth Ave., East. Another site purchased August 1,
1903, and building erected on Sixth Ave., East, at
Eleventh St. during pastorate of Rev. McDaniel. In
1948-49 church was rebuilt of brick in same Castle Hill
area. In January, 1965, church moved to present site.
During church's first 100 years, Bro. Jefferson Davis
Jackson served as Sunday School Superintendent for 35
years and Rev. O. S. Harvey served as pastor for 43
Bethel Presbyterian Church
Originally organized (1818) as Bethel Baptist Church
by three ministers–Nathan Roberts, James Baines and
Thomas Baines–at home of Jeremiah Jeffery near falls of
Black Warrior River. Log building erected at this site
(1822) as first church house. Later moved to present
site and frame building erected. Church discontinued
(1870) because of membership loss. Bethel Presbyterian
Church established on same site (1901) by evangelist D.
N. Yarbro. Present structure erected 1948; educational
building added 1958.
Big Creek Cemetery
William Prude, 15 October 1774-8 January 1833, was
the earliest marked burial. Nancy George, died March 26,
1834, was the earliest female burial. Nancy Doughty,
March 14, 1747- November 15, 1834, had the earliest
marked birth date in the cemetery and probably of all
females buried in the county. 24 persons with markers
were buried before 1852. 253 persons were buried with
markers and 47 unmarked graves as of March 16, 1995. The
"Alabama Stone" was found at the mouth of Big Creek 3
miles from this site in 1817, a 204-lb. sandstone rock
with carved inscription "HISPAN AT IND REX 1232,"
presently at AL Dept. of Achieves and History.
Big Creek Cemetery
Cemetery of Big Creek Baptist Church, the county's
third oldest Baptist Church. Organized in 1820. First
meeting house at this site adjacent to Bluff Branch
School on land donated by James Hendricks. July 1861,
"Tuscaloosa Plough-boys" Co. (later Co. "G" 38th Tenn.
Regt.), under command of James J. Mayfield (father of AL
Supreme Court justice of the same name), met, received
uniforms, and entered service here. 10 Civil War, 1
Spanish-American War veterans buried here. Final resting
place for many noble men and virtuous women of God.
Dedication of markers in July 1995 commemorates 175th
Anniversary of this hallowed ground.
The Black Warrior River
Plied for thousands of years by Indians, then by
early explorers and American settlers, this river
extends 169 miles from the Sipsey and Mulberry Forks
near Birmingham to its confluence with the Tombigbee at
Demopolis. It drains 6228 square miles of one of the
world's most ancient watersheds and has 130 species of
fish and many rare plants and animals. Part of a
navigable waterway system, this point is 339 river miles
above Mobile. About 5 billion gallons of water flow past
here each day. In the past it was designated as two
rivers, the "Black Warrior" upstream and the "Warrior"
downstream since Federal funds were appropriated on a
per river basis. In the Choctaw language "Tuscaloosa"
means Black Warrior.
Black Warrior's Town
One-half mile north was the Creek Indian village
known as Black Warrior's Town, of which Oce-Oche-Motla
was chief. After Tecumseh's visit in 1811, these Indians
became hostile to white settlers. In 1812 Little Warrior
brought Mrs. Martha C. Crawley of Tennessee to this
Indian Village as a captive. She was rescued by Tandy
Walker, a blacksmith, and taken to St. Stephens. This
was one of the incidents which led to the Creek War. The
village was destroyed in October 1813 by Colonel John
Coffee and his Tennessee Volunteers, one of whom was
Bridging the Black Warrior River
On this site in 1834, John Godwin and Horace King
built the first river bridge utilizing a wooden lattice
truss designed by Ithiel Town. It was damaged by a
tornado in 1842, rebuilt in 1852, and destroyed by Union
troops in 1865. Horace King built a new wooden bridge in
1872 that was replaced with a 3-span iron bridge in
1882. A higher bridge with a swing span was built in
1895 to allow river traffic. A drawbridge was built in
1922. All of these bridges were approximately 600-feet
long and utilized the original 1834 brick piers. In 1974
the Hugh Thomas Bridge was built slightly downstream.
Brown Memorial Presbyterian Church
Oldest existing Black Presbyterian Church in Alabama.
Organized by Dr. Charles A. Stillman as Salem Church in
December, 1880. First church building erected 9th Street
and 30th Avenue in 1882. First pastors were Reverend B.
M. Wilkinson (1889-90) and Reverend I. C. H. Champney
(1894-98). In 1915 relocated at 11th Street and 25th
Avenue. In 1931 moved to present site. Name changed to
Brown Memorial (1932) honoring Dr. R. A. Brown,
Superintendent of Home Mission Work, PCUS. Present
sanctuary built 1959 under leadership of Reverend
Charles H. Williams. Earlier structure converted to
Educational Building in 1961.
Alabama State hospitals inspired by Dorothea Dix in
1849. Opened 1861. Peter Bryce, J. T. Searcy, and W. D.
Partlow were the superintendents during the next 87
years. (Located at Bryce Hospital in Tuscaloosa)
The remains of Burns' Shoals now lie nearly 40 feet
underwater. This rock outcropping was the first of the
shoals known as the "Falls of Tuscaloosa" and represents
the "Fall Line" or contact point of the Coastal Plain
and the Appalachian Plateau, which extends nearly 2000
miles to Canada. From here upstream the riverbed is
primarily rock while downstream it is sand, silt and
gravel. It was head of navigation on the river and thus
a primary reason for the founding of Tuscaloosa. It was
used as an early ford and bathing site, and later
provided a solid foundation for a succession of bridges.
During construction of Old Locks One, Two and Three
(1888-1895), it was channelized to allow the passage of
One-half mile east is a portion of the original Byler
Road. Legislation authorizing construction signed into
law December 1819, by Alabama's first governor, William
Wyatt Bibb. Built by John Byler, it was Alabama's first
public road. Opened November 1822, operated as a toll
road until 1834. Twelve feet wide, it connected
Northwest Alabama and the Tennessee River to the Warrior
River at Northport. Used by early settlers and military
forces during War Between the States, it was a factor in
the development of many Alabama communities.
Canaan Baptist Church
Jefferson County's oldest Baptist Church–Organized
September 5, 1818 in home of Isaac Brown 3 miles west of
Elyton. Met in homes and schoolhouse near Old Jonesboro
until 1824. First building erected on site now the 14th
Street entrance to Cedar Hill Cemetery. Canaan
Association (now Birmingham Baptist Association) was
organized there in 1833. Hosea Holcombe, pioneer
preacher and historian, was pastor 1822-41. The
congregation has worshiped at this present location
Captain Benjamin F. Eddins
Born in South Carolina in 1813, Benjamin Farrar
Eddins raised and led a company of volunteers that
served in the 41st Alabama Infantry Regiment. Retired
due to ill health, he returned to lead the Home Guards,
a militia made up of old men and young boys. While
trying to render the covered bridge impassable to
Federal troops on the night of April 3, 1865, he and
15-year-old John Carson were wounded in a skirmish with
Croxton's Raiders. Later that evening, Mayor Obediah
Berry and Catholic priest William McDonough surrendered
the city on this site. Carson was disabled for life. On
April 10, 1865, Capt. Eddins became the only local
citizen to die defending the city. He is buried in
Castle Hill-Daly Bottom Community
In 1883 the Castle Hill Real Estate and Manufacturing
Company began the first eastern expansion of the
original 1821 Tuscaloosa city limits. Hoping to
stimulate development in the area, the company created a
popular amusement park centered around an artificial
lake. Portions of this property had belonged to Delaware
Jackson, a freed slave who had been given the land for
courage and loyalty. In 1881 Jackson organized the
Bethel Baptist Church and, in 1917, he donated nearby
land for the Baptist Academy, a community school. The
name was changed to the Tuscaloosa County Training
School for Negroes and later to the Castle Hill
Elementary School. "Daly Bottom," the area at the base
of the hill closest to the University of Alabama was
named for landowner Rafe A. Daly. The Castle Hill/Daly
Bottom neighborhood gave birth to Bethel Baptist, Tenth
Street Baptist, and two Methodist churches including
Tabernacle AME Zion. Many of its residents later
distinguished themselves in many walks of life.
Christ Episcopal Church
Organized January 7, 1828 The second oldest Episcopal
Church in Alabama. Construction begun 1829, completed
1830 at cost of $1700. Enlarged and remodeled in 1880
from original Greek Revival design to present Gothic
lines. First pews sold to highest bidder; made free in
1849. Nicholas Hamner Cobbs, first Episcopal Bishop of
Alabama, served as rector, 1846-1851. Church bell
installed 1830, is still used. A Rectory built 1844, was
located where Chapel now stands. Charter ceremonies for
University of Alabama held in this church and Reverend
Alva Woods installed as first President, University of
Alabama, April 12, 1831.
Erected in 1840's Built by James Shirley, early
Tuscaloosa County builder who in the 1850's erected
first brick commercial buildings in Northport. Home of
William L. Christian (1824-1899), Confederate soldier
and local merchant, George W. and Lula Rice Christian,
community and church leaders. Federal raised cottage of
handmade brick, hand hewn beams and wooden pegs, it is
listed in National Register of Historic Places.
Coker Baptist Church
Constituted as Big Creek Baptist Church on July 22,
1820 by Daniel Brown and Thomas Baines (ancestor of
President Lyndon B. Johnson) with Phillip May as first
pastor, Joseph Barrett and Charles Pate as first
deacons. As the third oldest church in the county, it
was one of the 13 organizing the Tuscaloosa Baptist
Association in 1834. Prior to 1864 church records show
148 slaves as members. First located adjacent to Bluff
Branch School and Meetinghouse, next to Big Creek
Cemetery; moved to its present site in 1944. The name
changed to Coker Baptist in 1956. Setting of the marker
in July 1995 commemorates the 175th Anniversary of the
Delta Kappa Epsilon
Psi Chapter of Delta Kappa Epsilon fraternity first
Greek letter fraternity at the University of Alabama.
Organized by Louis J. DuPré, chapter installed June 20,
1847. First members initiated at Indian Queen Hotel by
Charles Foote of Phi Chapter at Yale College. D.K.E.
house built 1916. Because of its location is known as
"The Mansion on the Hill."
Kappa Epsilon Psi Chapter of Delta Kappa Epsilon
fraternity installed at The University of Alabama June
20, 1847. The charer members were: Edward G. Baptist,
James I. Bonner, Louis DuPré, Charles F. Henry, Edward
L. Jones, John H. Lee, Richard B. Owen, Charles A.
Pegues, Thaddeus H. Perry, George W. F. Price, Peyton W.
Reynolds, Milford F. Woodruff.
This tower which has been a symbol for The University
of Alabama was built to honor longtime University
President George H. Denny who served as president from
1911 to 1936 and again briefly in 1942. Funds for this
project were provided through a student subscription
program chartered by a student, Jerry Britchey. The
tower was constructed by Skinner, Maxwell and Co. and
dedicated May 27, 1929. Governor Bibb Graves presided.
This marker was provided by Delta Chi Fraternity in
commemorating the 50th year of Denny Chimes.
Druid City Hospital School of Nursing
Constructed in 1923 through gift of J. T. Horne, this
building occupied by Druid City School of Nursing from
1923 to 1947. Used by University of Alabama from 1951 to
1954 to house first state supported collegiate school of
nursing in Alabama.
First African Baptist Church
Tuscaloosa, Alabama Organized November 1866, with 144
members. The Reverend Prince Murrell, first pastor,
served until 1885. A church building located at corner
of 4th Street and 24th Avenue was purchased and became
place of worship during pastorate of the Rev. James
Maston, 1885-1891. Resolution passed in this church 1873
resulted in establishment of Selma University, Selma,
Ala. Present structure erected 1907 under leadership of
the Rev. J. H. Smith. Church annex completed and
adjoining property purchased during pastorate of the
Rev. W. B. Shealey, 1952-1957. Education building and
new parsonage constructed during term of the Rev. T. Y.
Rogers Jr., 1963-1971.
First Baptist Church
Organized 1818, oldest church in Tuscaloosa County.
First building was of logs. A brick structure completed
1830 and larger one at this site 1884. Educational
building erected 1924 and present sanctuary 1958. Sunday
School organized here 1830. Influenced by the leadership
of the first two presidents University of Alabama: Dr.
Alva Wood, 1831; Dr. Basil Manly, 1837, who often filled
pulpit. A resolution from this church, 1844, resulted in
formation of Northern and Southern Baptist Conventions.
Sponsored other churches: Hopewell, 1830; Southside,
1889; Holt, 1903; Calvary, 1910; Westend, 1910; Forest
Lake, 1936; and Circlewood, 1948.
First Presbyterian Church of Tuscaloosa
Organized 1820. Moved to this site 1830. Present
structure erected 1921. Under the leadership of Dr.
Charles A. Stillman, minister 1869-1895, it sponsored
the founding of Stillman College in 1876. Its bell was
the subject of a poem by Samuel Minturn Peck, poet
laureate of Alabama.
Battle-Friedman Home Friedman Civic and Agricultural
Center Built 1835 by Alfred Battle; purchased 1875 by
Bernard Friedman; willed to City of Tuscaloosa 1965 by
Hugo Friedman. Traditionally a social and cultural
center in Tuscaloosa, it was the residence of Virginia
Tunstall Clay-Clopton, author of "Belle of the Fifties"
and of the poet Robert Loveman.
Geological Survey of Alabama
Established by legislative mandate in 1848, the
Geological Survey of Alabama is the oldest scientific
agency of the State. In fulfillment of its mission to
evaluate the State's mineral, energy, water, and
biological resources, the scientists and staff of the
Survey document the distribution, abundance, and
importance of these resources for the people of Alabama.
State Geologists of Alabama
Seven geologists have served Alabama as State
Geologist during the Survery's 150-year history. Michael
Tuorney [1805-1857] served from 1848 to 1857; Eugene
Allen Smith [1841-1927], 1873 to 1927; Walter Bryan
Jones [1895-1977], 1927 to 1961; Philip E. LaMoreaux,
1961 to 1976; Thomas J. Joiner, 1977 to 1981; Ernest A.
Mancini, 1982 to 1996; and Donald F. Oltz, 1996 to
present. Beginning in 1939 with Walter B. Jones, all
State Geologists served concurrently as Oil and Gas
Supervisor for the State Oil and Gas Board.
Built 1829 as University dining hall–Remodeled as a
residence in 1840–Occupied by Gorgas family 1879-1953.
Gorgas House–Preserved as memorial to: General Josiah
Gorgas (1818-1883) Chief of Ordnance Confederacy
1861-1865. President of University 1878-1879. Mrs.
Amelia Gayle Gorgas (1826-1913)–University Librarian
1879-1906. General William Crawford Gorgas (1854-1920)
Surgeon General of U.S. Army–Sanitary Engineer whose
work assured Panama Canal construction through
elimination of Yellow Fever. (Located in Tuscaloosa at
Gorgas-Manly Historic District
Twelve acres of the campus on the University of
Alabama including eight buildings designated in the
National Register of Historic Places as the Gorgas-Manly
District. The Gorgas-Manly Historic District includes:
The Gorgas House (1829), first structure built on the
original campus; The Round House (1860), used by cadets
on guard duty, another of the four buildings to survive
the fires set by Federal troops in 1865; Woods Hall
(1868), first building constructed after the Civil War
and serving for the next sixteen years as the
University; Manly (1886), Clark (1886), Garland (1888)
Halls, built as the state began to recover from the
Reconstruction Era; Toumey and Barnard Halls (1888),
which completed the nineteenth-century University of
Grant's Creek Baptist Church
Fosters, Alabama Grant's Creek Baptist Church was
constituted April 5, 1828, with Rev. Medey White and
Robert Marsh (the first pastor) as presbytery. Lewis
Stovall was first Church clerk, and James Foster was
ordained as the first deacon. The Grant's Creek Sunday
School Union was organized Dec. 1827, as the oldest
Sunday school in Alabama. In 1832, a building was
constructed by member John W. Bealle for $500 which
served the Church until 1968, when the present building
replaced it. In August 1833, the Baptist State
Convention met here and took action leading to the
founding of Howard (now Samford) and Judson Colleges.
Four sons of Col. John and Elizabeth Savidge
Foster-James, Hardy, Robert S., and John L.S.-settled
here beginning in 1818, with their mother and sisters
Martha and Elizabeth following. Their families formed
the nucleus of a model community in the new state,
nurtured and influenced primarily by this church. John
Collier Foster was pastor from 1845 to his 1892 death.
Martha Foster Crawford (1830-1909) was a missionary to
China for 50 years.
Home Guard Defended Covered Bridge
Side One 3 April 1865 – Brig Gen John T. Croxton's
Cavalry Brigade departed camp at Johnson's Ferry (Old
Lock 17 area) to the Watermelon Road ending in
Northport. As the Union troops entered Northport, the
Methodist Church bell was rung as a prearranged warning
alarm. Armed with 7-shot carbines, 150 troopers of the
2nd Michigan Cav Regt rushed the covered bridge which
was defended by about a dozen old men and young boys led
by 53-year-old Capt Benjamin F. Eddins. This Home Guard
removed 30 feet of the bridge's flooring in a delaying
action as they retreated, returning fire with their
single-shot weapons. Capt Eddins was seriously wounded
and died a week later; 15-year-old John Carson was
crippled for life by a bullet. Union casualties of the
2nd Mich Cav Regt numbered 23. 4 April – Croxton's
raiders skirmished with the Alabama Corps of Cadets near
Greensboro Ave and University Blvd and the brow of River
Hill. After the mayor, accompanied by a Catholic priest,
surrendered the town, the Union troops burned the main
buildings of the State University, the foundry,
factories, warehouses and over 2,000 bales of cotton. 5
April – Burning the covered bridge and destroying two
captured cannon, Croxton's cavalry departed Tuscaloosa
and Northport by way of the Columbus Road (old Highway
Bridging the Black Warrior River
Side Two At this junction for all roads converging
from the north, east, and west, seven bridges in
succession have connected Northport and Tuscaloosa
across the Black Warrior River. The first was built in
1834 by then-slave Horace King. Damaged by a tornado in
1842, it was replaced in 1852 by a second bridge – the
one defended by the Tuscaloosa Home Guard before its
destruction in April 1865. In 1872 a new wooden span was
erected, again engineered by King, who had been freed in
1846 and who had become famous as a bridge builder in
Alabama and Georgia. A 3-span iron bridge was built in
1882, then replaced in 1895 with a swing-span type to
allow the passage of river traffic. A drawbridge was
constructed in 1922, standing until the Hugh Thomas
Bridge was built slightly downstream in 1974.
Home of Hudson & Therese Strode
Dr. Hudson Strode (1892-1976)–author, scholar,
teacher, and world traveler–and his beloved wife,
Therese (1900-1986) lived here from 1941 until their
deaths. Professor of English at the University of
Alabama (1916-1961): he was renowned for his courses in
Shakespeare and Creative Writing, his students
publishing 59 novels and innumerable short stories; his
authoring of 13 books including a 3-volume biography of
Jefferson Davis and editing a volume of Mr. Davis'
letters. Dr. Strode received numerous honors and awards
including being knighted by King Gustav VI of Sweden.
Famous for their hospitality, the Strodes entertained
students, friends and world figures in this house which
they bequeathed with its gardens and a generous
educational endowment to the University which they loved
and served so faithfully.
Hopewell Baptist Church
Constituted October 22, 1830 under leadership of
Thomas Baines, Medley White and Robert Marsh of Ebenezer
(First) Baptist Church of Tuscaloosa. Robert Marsh
served as first pastor 1830-1833. John Meek was first
minister ordained December 23, 1838. First met at
Liberty in log meeting house on this site. Wooden
structure built in 1860. Replaced by present building in
1960. Tuscaloosa Baptist Association organized here
March 28, 1834.
Born a slave in South Carolina in 1807, Horace King
became a master bridge builder while working with John
Godwin. With the aid of Tuscaloosan Robert Jemison, King
was freed by act of the Alabama legislature in 1846. He
went on to build many bridges and other structures
across the South. Revered and respected for his
organizational abilities, building skills and personal
integrity, he formed the King Brothers Bridge Company
with his family after the Civil War. After serving two
terms in the Alabama legislature during Reconstruction,
he died at LaGrange, GA in 1885. John Godwin and Horace
King built the first bridge across the Black Warrior
River on this site in 1834.
Hunter's Chapel African Methodist Episcopal Zion
Organized 1866, the first Black Methodist Church in
Tuscaloosa. First house of worship, a rented building,
was located where Denny Stadium now stands. First
structure built by the church completed 1878. Present
structure erected 1881, exterior brick added 1910. This
church, often called the "father" of Negro education in
Tuscaloosa, included a school for children of freed
slaves during Reconstruction Era of 1870's. Church named
for Rev. E. H. Hunter, who served with distinction as
pastor during 1880's. Rev. Felix Sylvester Anderson,
pastor, 1933-1936, elected 1960, to office of Bishop, A
M E Zion Churches of America and served until
"The Indian Fires Are Going Out"
The Trail of Tears led thousands of Creek Indians
through Tuscaloosa, capital of Alabama in 1836. Chief
Eufaula addressed the legislature with these words: I
come here, brothers, to see the great house of Alabama
and the men who make laws and to say farewell in
brotherly kindness before I go to the far west, where my
people are now going. In time gone by I have thought
that the white men wanted to bring burden and ache of
heart among my people in driving them from their homes
and yoking them with laws they do not understand. But I
have now become satisfied that they are not unfriendly
toward us, but that they wish us well. In these lands of
Alabama, which have belonged to my forefathers and where
their bones lie buried, I see that the Indian fires are
going out. Soon they will be cold. New fires are
lighting in the west for us, they say, and we will go
there. I do not believe our great Father means to harm
his red children, but that he wishes us well. We leave
behind our good will to the people of Alabama who build
the great houses and to the men who make the laws. This
is all I have to say.
Jennings Chapel United Methodist Church
Organized 1847 as first and only Methodist Protestant
Church established in Tuscaloosa Co. On this site were
first two structures used by Jennings Chapel. The first,
a log house built circa 1850 and a clapboard building
erected November 1890. Brick structure completed 1956.
John H. Harper, Sr. organized this church, serving as
its first pastor for over 30 years. Named for Dr. Samuel
K. Jennings, a physician and minister of national note,
in early years of Methodist Protestant Church. First
trustees were: Dr. Samuel K. Jennings, John H. Harper,
Sr., John C. Hamner, Turner P. Hamner, and Richard H.
Zeta Chapter of Kappa Delta first national Greek
letter sorority at the University of Alabama. Chapter
installed March 12, 1904. First members initiated in the
Sigma Nu Hall by Katherine Lovejoy of Theta Chapter at
Randolph-Macon Woman's College. First sorority to have
Chapter in State of Alabama. Now oldest continuous Kappa
Delta Chapter. First national Greek letter sorority at
the University of Alabama. Zeta Chapter installed March
12, 1904. Charter members were: Alice Ashley, Pear
Bogles, Mary Cockrell, Louise Crawford, Nell Hopkins,
Elta Lamont, Bessie Leach, Eleanor McCorvey, Myrtle
Merill, Anna Moody, Mary Moody, Katherine Nickolls, and
The M & O Railroad Trestle
This wooden and steel truss bridge was constructed
for the Mobile and Ohio Railroad in 1898 by civil
engineer Benjamin Hardaway, an 1887 graduate of The
University of Alabama and former Tuscaloosa City
Engineer. Originally 135-feet high with a 110-foot
clearance, it was once considered by many to be the
country's longest trestle at 3600 feet. This bridge,
along with Old Locks One, Two and Three, greatly
improved transportation in West Alabama and heralded an
era of economic development in the early 20th century.
In later years the M&O Railroad became successively the
Gulf, Mobile & Ohio; the Illinois Central Gulf; and the
Kansas City Southern.
Located on original land grant to the State of
Alabama 1819 to establish a University of Alabama. Named
for William M. Marr, Marr's Spring was the water supply
for the University for over 75 years. Restored in 1972
by Chi Omega Sorority, in association with the
University of Alabama.
Navigation and Shipbuilding On the Black Warrior
Navigation improvements to the Black Warrior River
(1888-1895) spurred marine commerce throughout the 20th
century. Local shipbuilders included the Perkins
Brothers, Herman & Son, Corps of Engineers Boatyard, and
Baker Towboat. Vessel types included barges, government
workboats and towboats. Some of the boats built here
were the Black Warrior, Dixie, Gold Bug, Mary, Nelma and
R.G. Parker. Numerous navigation companies served the
area, six had terminals on the river between Tuscaloosa
and Holt in the 1930s. Companies based here included
Findlay Towing, Perkins Towboat and Parker Towing.
Northport Baptist Church
Organized 1838 with 41 charter members. The first
minister was the Rev. A. K. Atkins. First deacons were
J. S. Reynolds, A. R. Pool, and N. Lloyd. Originally
named North Tuscaloosa Baptist, changed 1854, to
Northport Baptist. A wooden structure erected at this
site 1858, the present brick building 1923 and education
annex 1969. Ministers serving this church have been: A.
K. Atkins, Robert Adams, Reuben Dodson, T. M. Barbour,
John T. Yerby, John Brown, J. H. Foster, J. H. Curry, F.
D. Hale, A. J. Battle, A. A. Spiller, H. G. Smith,
Samuel H. Henderson, W. M. Blackwelder, W. L. White, J.
R. Magill, A. T. Camp, H. D. Wilson, A. H. Mahaffery, J.
H. Wallace, B. F. Atkins, James L. Knight, Dr. John P.
Oakes, J. Stanley Kelley, Clinton N. Wood.
Northport First United Methodist Church
Organized 1837, moved to present location, 1849,
where churches have been rebuilt in 1855 and 1913. The
bell of this church sounded the tocsin at the approach
of Gen. John T. Croxton's Union Troops in their raid in
Tuscaloosa, April 3, 1865.
(1901-1922) Northport's first public school located
on the site one-half block west. Original structure of
wood, built in cruciform shape in 1901 by Arthur
Laycock. Served grades 1-11 until 1922 when two-story
brick school erected three blocks north. Original school
property and building purchased by Dr. Sam Cooper in
1922 and converted into two residences. The Snider House
at 2309 Ninth St. is part of original structure.
Old Lock One
The remains of Old Lock One are now submerged.
Authorized by Congress in 1884, the Army Corps of
Engineers began work on one of Alabama's first locks in
1888. It was built upon Peg Leg Shoals, second of the
"Falls of Tuscaloosa," using local sandstone at a cost
of $233,234. It was part of a 1.2-mile, 3-lock system
that allowed passage over a series of shoals or
waterfalls The opening of Old Lock One allowed access to
the Warrior coalfields and shipment of coal, stone,
iron, steel, lumber, cotton, and other products to
distant markets. Also it was the site of a government
boatyard. In later years it was renamed Lock Ten and
remained in service until replaced by Oliver Lock and
Dam in 1939.
Built in 1827 three blocks east on Broad Street.
Stage stop and inn frequented by many political leaders
while Tuscaloosa was State Capital. Moved to Capitol
Partlow State School and Hospital
Established 1919 as the Alabama Home for Mental
Deficients; opened 1923; renamed the Partlow School for
Mental Deficients, 1927, to honor the institution's
founder Dr. William Dempsey Partlow (1877-1953) head of
all mental facilities in Alabama from 1919 to 1949.
Running Skirmish at Romulus
Side One 5 April 1865 – Croxton's brigade left
Northport by way of the (old) Columbus Road to Coker,
then camped for the night on the old Eutaw Road toward
Romulus. Confederate Gen. Wirt Adams's 1500-man cavalry
brigade, traveling from Columbus Miss to reinforce Gen.
Forrest at Marion Ala, learned of Croxton's presence in
the area. 6 April – Croxton's brigade traveled southward
across the swollen Sipsey River toward Lanier's Mill
near Pleasant Ridge. After looting and burning the mill,
they reversed direction to move back toward Northport,
stopping along the way to feed horses and eat provisions
taken at Lanier's Mill. As the brigade resumed its march
near noon, Adams's brigade launched a vigorous assault
on the Federals' rear guard, the 6th Ky. Cav. Regt. A
running skirmish began as the 6th Ky. Cav. broke until
reinforced by 4 companies of the better-armed 2nd Mich.
Cav. The brisk engagement continued through a heavy rain
until complete darkness overtook the combatants. Both
sides then encamped near Romulus, some 13 miles from
Northport. Gen. Croxton reported 34 casualties and the
loss of a number of horses and ambulance wagons (one of
which carried his personal papers). Confederate losses
were not reported. Running Skirmish at Romulus Side Two
7 April 1865 – Adams's Confederates returned westward
toward Columbus Miss in the belief that Croxton was
headed that way. Croxton continued on to Northport. 8
April – Croxton, determined to rendezvous with the main
Union force sweeping from Selma towards Ga, departed
Northport. He followed a route to the northeast dictated
by flooded creeks and the Black Warrior, traveling 23
miles north on the old Byler Rd. (US 43N). 9 - 11 April
– While encamped in the area, Federal foraging parties
stripped the countryside of provisions and its citizens
of valuables. War of 1812-veteran John Prewett lost
$26,000 in gold when one of these bands forced his slave
to reveal its whereabouts in a nearby cave. 12 April –
Traveling via Crabbe Rd. (old Jasper Rd.) to Windham
Springs, the brigade departed Tuscaloosa County into the
area of Wolf Creek in Walker County. Croxton's "Lost
Brigade" eventually rejoined Gen. Wilson's Cavalry Corps
on May 1 in Macon Ga, some 3 weeks after Gen. Lee's
surrender at Appomattox.
Saint John the Baptist Catholic Church
Erected 1845, tower and bell added 1888-1900. The
first meeting of Catholics in Tuscaloosa was held in
1819. The first parochial school was opened in 1863. St.
Paul's Church, Birmingham, dedicated 1872, and churches
in Selma, Blocton and Reform began as missions of this
church; also originating from this church: St. Francis
Chapel and Holy Spirit Church and School.
James Shirley, 1835, built the first wooden covered
bridge at this site. Bridges here were part of first
road connecting Columbus, Miss. and Northport. A
Tuscaloosa Co. company of Confederate Army, "The Plow
Boys," en route to Columbus, July 1861, crossed bridge
here. Union Gen. John T. Croxton, April 1865, after
capturing Tuscaloosa, crossed bridge here. Republican
Legislator, M. T. Crossland, on way to capitol at
Montgomery, Nov. 1868 was assassinated near the bridge.
A section of the 1882 steel, single span bridge once
used for crossing Black Warrior River at Tuscaloosa was
re-erected here in 1922.
Sigma Alpha Epsilon–First Chapter, Alabama Mu and
Founded in Tuscaloosa on the campus of the University
of Alabama on March 9, 1856. Its chapter designation,
Alabama Mu, identified it as the mother chapter of the
national collegiate fraternity. Founding members: Noble
Leslie DeVotie, Wade H. Foster, John Barratt Rudulph,
Thomas Chappel Cook, John Webb Kerr, Samuel Marion
Dennis, Nathan Elams Cockrell, Abner Edwin Patton.
(Located on University of Alabama campus at Tuscaloosa)
Site of Alabama State Capitol
1826-1846 Tuscaloosa designated as State Capital by
Legislature at Cahaba December 6, 1825. Building
designed by State Architect, William Nichols, in the
form of a Grecian Cross, employing both Grecian and
Roman architecture in the interior. Construction began
1827. Governor John Murphy convened first session of
State Legislature in this building December 13, 1829.
Property deeded to University of Alabama in 1852; leased
to Baptist Convention of Alabama, which operated Alabama
Female College. Destroyed by fire, April 1923.
Site of Franklin Hall (The Mound)
Franklin Hall, an early University dormitory designed
by Capt. William Nichols, was erected on this site in
1835. Was one of the buildings destroyed by the Union
raid on April 4, 1865. After Civil War the remains of
structure were shaped into present mound. By early 20th
century this mound had become traditional site for
honorary tappings by The University. Marker donated by
Phi Mu Sorority in commemoration of its 50th anniversary
at the University of Alabama.
Site of Queen City Park Softball Field
1936-1967 Built on this site in 1936, Queen City Park
Softball Field served as the cornerstone for the first
successful community effort to promote the organized
play of amateur softball in Tuscaloosa County. Its
construction followed nationwide efforts to organize
softball in 1933. Soon thereafter, Tuscaloosa men's and
women's softball teams emerged as state and national
powers, and the sport itself gained recognition as true
wholesome family recreation.
Founded as Tuscaloosa Institute 1876 by Presbyterian
Church U.S. under leadership of Dr. Charles Allan
Stillman pastor of First Presbyterian Church,
Tuscaloosa, to train Black ministers. Renamed Stillman
Institute 1894 for Dr. Stillman, first superintendent.
Became coeducational 1899. Past programs included
seminary, high school, vocational school, junior
college, school of nursing and hospital services for
Blacks. Four year program begun, renamed Stillman
College 1948. Accredited senior college 1953.
The Jemison Home
Built by Robert Jemison, Jr. Completed 1862, the 26
room Italian Villa style mansion is distinguished by its
octagonal cupola and delicate carved fretwork. Jemison,
a member of Alabama Legislature for 20 years
(1840-1863), Secession Convention 1861 (he voted against
secession), Confederate States Senate (1863-65), helped
establish Alabama Insane Hospital. Boyhood home Robert
Jemison Van de Graff, inventor of generator used in
splitting the atom and of William "Bully" Van de Graff,
first All-American Athlete from University of Alabama.
Hugo Friedman in 1955 acquired this mansion for
Tuscaloosa County as a library.
The Mildred Warner House
Residence of many prominent Alabama families.
Originally built by James Jenkins in 1882 as a two-room
"cabin." David Scott, prominent merchant and church
leader, purchased the property in 1832 and added the
four-story brick structure. Occupied by the Burwell
Boykin Lewis family in 1886. Rose Garland Lewis was
daughter of the president of the University of Alabama
and the window of a U.S. Congressman who was the first
alumnus of the University to become its president. Noted
historian of Tuscaloosa, Dr. George Little lived here
with his family at the turn of the century. The
Washington Moodys came into possession in 1919. Mrs.
Moody lived in the house, after her husband's death in
1924, until 1960. Listed in the Historic American
Buildings Survey in 1934, the first Tuscaloosa home to
be so honored. Purchased and restored in 1976 by The
David Warner Foundation under the direction of Jack W.
Warner and named for his mother, Mildred Westervelt
The University of Alabama
Endowed by Congress 1819. Ordained by State
Constitution 1819 and established by General Assembly
1820. Instruction begun 1831. Unofficial training school
for Confederate officers 1861-65. Destroyed by Federal
Army April 5, 1865. Rebuilding began 1867 and reopened
1868. Marker donated by Zeta Beta Tau Fraternity 1981.
Tuscaloosa City Hall
Constructed in 1909 as U.S. Post Office. First
occupied April 1910 with Mrs. Maggie Miller as
Postmistress. Federal courtroom, now City Council
Chamber, with magnificent design and detail, on second
floor, 1910-1968. Thomas A. Jones, first Federal
presiding judge. Acquired by City of Tuscaloosa in 1968
and renovated as City Hall with George M. Van Tassel,
Mayor, C. Snow Hinton and George K. Ryan, Commissioners.
Tuscaloosa First United Methodist Church
Organized 1818 by Ebenezer Hearn. First building on
this site erected in 1834, including a church bell
molded in Boston by coppersmiths Paul Revere and Sons.
Present structure with marble Ionic columns was
constructed 1922; Education Annex in 1953; Chitwood Hall
in 1964. Edward Sims, a member and prominent local
leader, in 1926 built and donated to this church,
Tuscaloosa Female College. William W. Brandon, Alabama
governor (1923-1927) was a member. Served by outstanding
ministers; four becoming Methodist bishops; Robert
Paine, John C. Keener, James H. McCoy, and Clare
Purcell. This church has and continues faithfully to
proclaim the compassion of Christ.
Tuscaloosa's first port developed on the south side
of the river just downstream of the present bridge. In
1816 John Click brought goods upriver to this landing
while Isaac Cannon made a 36-day trip to Mobile in a
40-foot dugout canoe. Commercial barges built by Col.
Gabriel Penn in 1817 made trips to St. Stephens, the
territorial capital. In 1818 Hiram Cochrane began
building keelboats. In 1821 the "Cotton Plant" was the
first steamboat arrival. A number of early industries
including a tannery, cotton factories and a foundry were
located in the general area. These pioneers laid a
foundation for the development of Tuscaloosa and West
Alabama. Construction of Oliver Lock and Dam flooded
this landing in 1939.
Skirmish at Trion
On 31 March 1865, Union Brig. Gen. John T. Croxton's
Cavalry of some 1500 troops entered Tuscaloosa County
with orders to destroy the State University (military
school) and anything else of value to the rebel cause.
Near Bucksville they destroyed Saunders Iron Works and
William's Tannery (now Tannehill State Park). Learning
that Confederate cavalry units under Gen. Nathan B.
Forrest and Brig. Gen. W.H. (Red) Jackson were traveling
near Trion, some 10-miles distant, Croxton's Brigade
rode to intercept. The Union forces camped that night on
the farm of Squire John White, and were attacked by
Jackson's Cavalry Division as they broke camp at
daybreak, 1 April. The skirmish, the first in Tuscaloosa
County, occurred about a half-mile south of present-day
Vance. Union losses were heavy in the running fight:
some 30 killed or wounded, another 30 captured, and 150
horses lost. Croxton was forced away from his original
line of march, retreating to the northeast before
turning west towards the Black Warrior River some 40
miles above Tuscaloosa. Crossing to the west bank at
Johnson's Ferry or Black Rock Shoals (near old Lock 17
area), the Union raiders resumed their advance on
Northport and Tuscaloosa on 3 April. Jackson's
Confederate forces suffered several casualties in the
skirmish. One soldier from Tennessee, who died several
days later in the Squire John White home, was buried
nearby by Trion-area citizens.
Built 1834 by James Dearling. Purchased by Arthur P.
Bagby who occupied the house 1837-41 while Governor of
Alabama and since known as the Governor's Mansion.
Presented to the University of Alabama 1944 by Herbert
David Warner and Mildred Westervelt Warner.
The Warrior-Tombigbe Waterway
From 1887-1915, seventeen locks and dams were
constructed on the Warrior-Tombigbee Rivers. The first 3
were built on the fall line in Tuscaloosa. This was the
site of #3, later #12. The Warrior-Tombigbee Development
Association, founded in Tuscaloosa 1950 by leaders from
Birmingham, Mobile, and Tuscaloosa, led the effort to
modernize the waterway. Six modern locks and dams,
replacing the original 17, have been built by the U.S.
Army Corps of Engineers between Mobile and Port
Birmingham, providing efficient navigation, flood
control, recreation and hydropower. As a result of the
Association's efforts barge tow travel time was cut in
half and the size of payloads tripled. Erected May 19,
2000, as the Warrior-Tombigbee Waterway Association
celebrated its 50th anniversary.
Carl Atwood Elliott
Congressman, Lawyer, Historian A lifelong champion of
universal access to education, Carl Elliott (1913-1999)
served eight terms in the U.S. House of Representatives
(1949-65), and ran for Governor of Alabama in 1966.
Elliott's Library Services Act of 1956 brought books to
countless readers in America's rural counties. His
National Defense Education Act of 1958 enabled millions
of needy students to attend college. Born in Franklin
County, Elliott graduated from the University of
Alabama, where he was elected President of the Student
Government Association for 1935-36, earned his law
degree, and received an honorary Doctor of Laws degree
in 1972. From 1945 Elliott and his family lived in the
nearby home, where Elliott compiled the five-volume
Annals of North Alabama, co-authored The Cost of
Courage: The Journey of an American Congressman, and
practiced law. In 1990 Elliott was honored by the first
John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award.
South Carolina-born Daniel Tubbs (February 17,
1794-25 March 1882) enlisted in the War of 1812 and
fought in the final battle at New Orleans. Honorably
discharged in Nashville on April 20, 1815, he and his
wife, Matilda Sanders, settled on this site (Section 2,
Township 15, Range 8) in November 1835. By 1840, a
community building was erected for community gatherings,
children's schooling, and a variety of denominations'
worship services. The Tubbs Cemetery was placed nearby.
Later moving to land granted him for service during the
War in 1812, Daniel gave his land to his two sons,
Daniel Lee and Samuel. Samuel Tubbs (April 4, 1824-27
September 1902) served in the 6th Alabama Infantry
during the Civil War. Captured in May 1864 in Decatur,
he was imprisoned at Rock Island, Illinois, until the
end of the war. He returned to the Tubbs community in
1865 to purchase an additional 280 acres of land, the
mineral rights to which he donated to the Georgia
Pacific Railroad in return for rail service to the
Oakman area. His wife, Malinda Cranford, and his
children are buried alongside Samuel in the Tubbs
Cemetery, as are descendants of Daniel Lee Tubbs and his
wife, Emily Cranford.
Created December 26, 1823 Named for John W. Walker of
Madison County, Alabama Chairman, State Constitutional
Convention, July 5, 1819 Alabama's First United States
Named for Thomas Basset, a British Loyalist and
native of Virginia. Migrated to Tombigbee area from near
Augusta, Ga. circa 1772 to escape persecution by
American patriots. Received in 1776, from King George
III a grant of 750 acres on the west side of river
Tombigbee, five miles east of this site, where he
established his residence and plantation. Bassett also
received a Crown grant to lands at McIntosh Bluff. He
was murdered by Indians circa 1780 on the east side of
Tombigbee near the creek that bears his name. As a minor
in Georgia, one of his guardians was General Lachlan
McGillivray. Numerous Bassett descendants presently live
in this area.
Judge Harry Toulmin
1766-1823 Born and educated in England, Harry Toulmin
came to U.S. in 1793. Moving to Kentucky, he was elected
president of Transylvania University. Served as
Secretary of State of Kentucky (1796-1804) then moved to
Mississippi Territory as judge of Tombigbee District
(1804-1819). Delegate to Alabama Constitutional
Convention (1819). Wrote first Digest of Laws of Alabama
(1823). Died at his home near Washington Court House (1
mile north of this location).
Near here in 1807 ex-vice president Aaron Burr was
arrested and sent on horseback via Ft. Stoddart to
Richmond where he was tried for treason and acquitted.
Weekly mail service to Natchez established in 1802.
First civil court in Alabama held here in 1803. The
ancient seat of the Tohome Indians. Included in first
Choctaw Cession to the British, 1765, and thereafter
granted to John McIntosh, a Scottish trader. Earliest
American settlement north of the 31° in present State of
Alabama. First County Seat of both Washington and
Old St. Stephens Masonic Lodge #9
(1821-1834) Charter and early members were: Gov.
Israel Pickens, Col. Silas Dinsmore, Thomas Eastin, R.
Chamberlain, Thomas Malone, J. F. Ross, Daniel Coleman,
John Womack, W. D. Gaines, James Roberts, James K.
Blount, Ptolemy Harris, F. S. Lyon, Micajah Brewer, John
F. McGrew. One of the nine lodges that organized the
Grand Lodge of Alabama at Cahaba in 1821, however,
Masonry existed here as early was 1811.
St. Stephens Lodge #81
After the decline of Old St. Stephens, a Masonic
Lodge was organized and chartered here in 1854. Minutes
kept and meetings held continuously since charter date
at this site. Charter and early members were: T. P.
Ashe, W. A. Bailey, Thos. H. Bailey, F. W. Baker, James
K. Blount, R. O. Bowling, W. F. Brunson, John W.
Carpenter, E. H. Gordy, Jackson W. Faith, James G.
Hawkins, F. C. Koen, T. S. Parker, Daniel Rain, Benton
C. Rain, John A. Richardson, James White, Walter
The Taylor House
Built circa 1843 by Walter Taylor on Commerce Street
in Jackson. In 1985, it was removed from its original
site to make way for a new City Hall Complex and was
brought to this site and restored as the Leroy Branch of
the Washington County State Bank. Walter Taylor
(1817-1886) was the son of Daniel Taylor, one of the
original Commissioners of the town of Jackson in 1816.
He was a prominent attorney, farmer and merchant and
with his wife Amanda Caroline Lankford Taylor, founded
the Jackson Methodist Church in 1842.
The Tombigbee Settlements
(Sometimes called the 14th Colony) This area on the
west side of the lower Tombigbee, as far north as Sinta
Bouge Creek, opened to settlement pursuant to a treaty
by the British with the Choctaw Nation at the Indian
Congress held in Mobile in 1765. The treaty was
negotiated by George Johnstone, British Governor of West
Florida, and John Stuart, Supt. of Indian affairs for
the Crown, in West Florida. The settlements that
followed became the beginnings of Alabama. Some of the
earliest settlers holding British or Spanish grants or
American Certificates prior to the year 1800 were:
Thomas Bassett, John Baker, Thomas Bates, Nathaniel
Blackwell, Francis Boykin, George Brewer, James Caller,
John Callier, Peter Dunn, Young Gaines, Dr. John
Chestang, Daniel Johnston, Ann Lawrence, John Johnston,
Thomas Malone, Jown McGrew, William Mounger, Cornelius
Rain, Eguene Sullivan, Thomas Sullivan, Joseph Thompson,
and Solomon Wheat.
First county in Alabama. Created in 1800 by
proclamation of governor of Mississippi Territory. This
was first U. S. civil government in area that was to
become Alabama. Its original boundaries: East-to-west:
Chattahoochee to Pearl River; South, 31° lat. (Present
Ala.-Fla. Line); North, 32° 28', a line just north of
Phenix City-Montgomery-York. From these 25,000 square
miles have come 26 counties in Alabama, Mississippi.
Early history of this area. 1519-1700: Claimed by Spain
as part of Florida by discovery, exploration, conquest
and attempted settlement. 1700-1763: Claimed by France
as part of Louisiana by exploration, settlement.
1763-1780: Seized by England as part of West Florida
after defeating French. 1780-1795: Regained by Spain
during American Revolution by invasion, occupation.
1795–Spain ceded area to U. S. 1798–U. S. created
Mississippi Territory. (Located at Courthouse in Chatom)
First Presbyterian Church of Camden
Organized April 3, 1845 by a Commission of Southern
Alabama Presbytery to serve the community of Camden in
Wilcox County. Originally known as the Old School
Presbyterian Church, its first congregation numbered
twenty-three. First Ruling Elders were Alexander McLeod
and W. B. Patton. Original church building, erected in
1856, burned on September 17, 1869. Present building
constructed in the mid-1880s.
Lieutenant Joseph Morgan Wilcox
Joseph Morgan Wilcox was born on March 15, 1790 in
Killingsworth, Middlesex County, Connecticut. He was the
son of Revolutionary War officer, Joseph Wilcox and
Phoebe Morgan. On June 15, 1808, Cadet Wilcox entered
the U.S. Military Academy where he graduated and was
promoted to 1st Lieutenant in the 3rd Infantry. Lt.
Wilcox fought against the Creeks in the War of 1812. On
January 15, 1814, Wilcox engaged in a heroic fight with
a Creek war party and was tomahawked and scalped on the
banks of the Alabama River where it flows between Canton
and Prairie Bluff. Two days later he was buried with
military honors at Fort Claiborne. Wilcox County was
named in his memory by an Act of the General Assembly of
Alabama on December 13, 1819.
Wilcox Female Institute
Incorporated 1850 by James A. Tait, L. W. Mason,
Joseph George and Associates. Original Trustees: Col. J.
C. Jones, Joseph George, Maj. M .M Banham, D. W.
Sterrett, Col. C. C. Sellers, Dr. M. Reid, J. W.
Bridges, Dr. Robert Irvin, and Maj. F. K. Beck. First
principal: L. B. Johnson. Deeded to State of Alabama
Alabama Department of Archives & History