Alexander Lee Miller's History Of Bethel Association

The Bethel Baptist Church came into the Bethel Baptist Association by a petitioner letter on November 1, 1856 at the session held with
the Blakely Baptist Church. Brother W. S. Leggett was reported as the Pastor that year and C. H. Davis, Clerk. Jas. Freeman and O. H. Davis were the first delegates. The membership was reported as 10.

The following Pastors have served Bethel Baptist Church since its organization: 1856, W. S. Leggett. R. Thornton from 1857 to 1861. No Pastor reported in 1861 and 1862. R. J. Powell served as Pastor in 1863. No Pastor reported in 1864. R. Thornton was Pastor in 1865 and 1866. R. A. J. Powell succeeded him and served until 1869. J. S. Parker then began his Pastoral ship and served until 1872. No Pastor reported in 1872, L. R. Sims was Pastor in 1873. John Martin succeeded him and served until 1878.
No report in 1878. H. R. McLendon became Pastor in 1879 and served until 1881. He was succeeded by J. H. Corley who served until 1885. R. B. Taylor then served as Pastor in 1885. Then came J. S. Knowles for the years 1886 and 1887. J. W. Martin became Pastor in 1888 and served for five years.  W. M. Howell served in 1893. No report for years 1894, 1895  and 1896. J. E. Dykes served as Pastor in 1897 and 1898. No Pastor reported in 1889, 1900 and 1901. J. A. Rooks then became Pastor until 1906. No Pastor reported for years 1906, 1907, 1908 and 1909. J. E. Dykes then became Pastor
and served for 10 years. No Pastor reported in 1920 and 1921. J. A. Etheridge succeeded as Pastor in 1922 and served until 1927. In 1927 J. L. Pate became Pastor and served two years. No Pastor was reported in 1929. J. L. Pate served as Pastor in 1930. J. A. Etheridge succeeded him in 1931.

The Clerks of the Bethel Church have been as follows: C. H. Davis in 1856; Jas. Freeman to 1868; J. J. King to 1869; J. Underwood to 1872; no report in 1872; John Melton to 1881; G. A. *Granberry* to 1885; John Melton to 1891; J. C. Camp succeeded him and served as Clerk for 17 years; O. A. Cox in 1910; J. F. Robinson until 1918; C. J. Cox in 1918 and 1919; No report in 1920 and 1921 R. W. Woolf until 1925; no clerk reported in 1925; C. W. Shierling to present date (1932). The present total membership of this church is 97.

Note:  Was this the same G. A. Granberry from the same family where "George received land in Warren County during the Land Bounty?

Granberry , George      WARREN             1796     300

1880 Clay Census - M. R. Camp - (Nephew-J. C. Camp) (Male) W- 17 - At School (is this the same J.C)

Thanks for Visiting Our Site and please participate with us to make this your site of choice. 

Click on the buttons below to visit lots of exciting new places.

Visit our parent site at:  http:/www/ or
This site is affiliated with:  The American History & Genealogy Project &