Incorporated - December 14, 1827

Pertinent Links can be found on the below bar.

Meriwether County was created in 1827, the 73rd county created, named for General David Meriwether, a state militiaman often called on by the federal government to negotiate with the Indians. The first courthouse in Meriwether County was destroyed in 1893 by a cyclone. [I have included the history from two different sources on the history page].
Neighboring Counties
Cities & Towns:   Greenville - The county seat, named for Nathaniel Greene. Gay  Lone Oak  Luthersville  Manchester  In 1895 there were Greeneville, Harris City, Jones Mill, Luthersville, Midway, Nebula, Odessa, Raleigh, Rocky Mount, St. Marks, Sulphur Springs, Warm Springs and Woodbury.  [We would like information and photos on all of these if someone is willing to work on that].
Incorporated Cities:

Neighbors:  Heard, Coweta, Spalding, Troup, Harris, Talbot, Upson and Pike.

FDR's Little Warm Springs

Other Information about Meriwether:




2005 All Rights Reserved GeorgiaGenWeb, Inc.  (