Kent Corwin Ferman
Kent Corwin Ferman, prominent among the enterprising, energetic and successful business men of Cedar Rapids, belongs to that class who, while promoting individual success, also contribute in large measure to the general prosperity through their promotion of commercial and financial activity. He is now identified with several of the city's important business interests, being cashier of the Cedar Rapids National Bank, treasurer and director of the Frick-Stearns-Russell Company and treasurer and director of the Perpetual Savings & Loan Association. He was born in Blairstown, Benton county, Iowa, on the 27th of December, 1872, a son of Robert and Rebecca Ferman, the former a wealthy farmer of Blairstown.
The son supplemented his public-school education by a four years' course in Cornell College at Mount Vernon, Iowa, and on the 10th of June, 1895, soon after his college days were over, he entered the employ of The Cedar Rapids National Bank as collector and messenger. Gradually he has been advanced through intermediate positions to the one which he now occupies, having in the meantime served as manager of the collection department, manager of the transit department, teller, note teller, chief clerk and assistant cashier, while on the 1st of February, 1908, he was promoted to the position of cashier, which is his present connection. Each promotion has come in recognition of his ability and expanding business powers, his energy and fidelity, and although a young man he is recognized as one of the prominent representatives of financial interests in his adopted city. He has also extended the scope of his activities by his investment in other directions and is now one of the large stockholders in the wholesale grocery house of the Frick-Stearns-Russell Company, with which he has official connection as treasurer and director. He is also connected in a similar capacity with the Perpetual Savings & Loan Association and is interested in a number of other enterprises which are features in the business life and consequently factors in the growth and development of Cedar Rapids. Moreover, he is serving as a director of the Cedar Rapids Commercial Club and is a cooperant factor in the various movements instituted by that organization for the benefit and upbuilding of the city.
On the 12th of June, 1900, in Tipton, Iowa, Mr. Ferman was married to Miss Carrie Elwood, whose brothers are the owners of The Elwood, a leading dry-goods house of Tipton. Mr. and Mrs. Ferman have two daughters: Ruth, now in her fifth year; and Florence, in her second year. The parents are members of the First Presbyterian church and take a deep interest in its various activities and the extension of its influence.
Mr. Ferman is also a prominent Mason, belonging to Mount Hermon Lodge. A. F. & A. M., while in the Scottish Rite he has attained the thirty-second degree, and is also a member of El Kahir Temple of the Mystic Shrine. He likewise belongs to the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks and to the Country Club of Cedar Rapids, of which he is treasurer. Appreciative of the social amenities of life, by his geniality and unfeigned cordiality he has won many friends. He also finds genuine pleasure in successfully accomplishing whatever he undertakes in the business world, in solving difficult problems, overcoming difficulties and obstacles and in carving out a new path to prosperity when another avenue seems closed. The simple weight of his character and ability have thus carried him forward into important relations.
The farming interests of Jackson township find a worthy representative in Oney Woods, who now owns and operates the farm on which he was born, on section 15, that township. His birth occurred December 8, 1871, and he belongs to an old and honored family of Linn county, his parents being Peter and Mary (Rooney) Woods, both natives of County Monaghan, Ireland. They came to America in 1847, their marriage being celebrated in New York state. On first coming west they located at Rock Island, Illinois, where the father, who was a stone mason by trade, laid the foundation for the factory of the John Deere Plow Company at Moline. Later he brought his family to Linn county, Iowa, where he purchased land and turned his attention to agricultural pursuits throughout the remainder of his life. He was born in 1816 and died in July, 1904, while his wife was born in 1823 and passed away on the 10th of August, 1902. Eight children blessed their union: Bridget, who is now living in Linn county; Edward; Peter S., of Jackson township; Thomas, deceased; William, a stock buyer living in Coggon, Iowa; Anna; Maggie, deceased; and Oney.
The last named remained with his parents until twenty-five years of age, giving his father the benefit of his services in carrying on the work of the farm. He was then married on the 17th of February, 1897, to Miss Margaret G. Clark, who was born in Delaware county, Iowa, April 29, 1875. Her parents were Philip and Bridget (Seery) Clark, both natives of Ireland, the former born in County Cavan and the latter in County West Meath. They emigrated to America in early life and the father died in this state in March, 1910, but the mother is still living and continues to reside on the old home place in Delaware county, Iowa. They were the parents of eleven children, nine of whom are still living. The children born to Mr. and Mrs. Woods are as follows: Clement H., born January 11, 1898; Joseph R., July 13, 1899; Agnes M., January 10, 1902; Francis O., July 29, 1904; Walter V., March 28, 1906; and Margaret B., January 1, 1908.
After his marriage Mr. Woods purchased the old homestead of one hundred and sixty acres in Jackson township and has since devoted his time and attention to its further improvement and cultivation. He now makes a specialty of raising and breeding good stock of all kinds and in business affairs has steadily prospered, being today one of the well-to-do citizens of his community. Both he and his wife hold membership in the Catholic church and politically he is identified with the democratic party, but has never cared for the honors or emoluments of public office. Being one of the leading citizens of the community, however, he stands high in the esteem of all who know him.
Hamilton D. Newland
Hamilton D. Newland, a prosperous and highly respected resident of Linn county, has made his home at Center Point since 1893 and is living practically retired save for the supervision which he gives to his extensive landed interests. His birth occurred in Raymond, Union county, Ohio, on the 7th of September, 1841, his parents being Andrew A. and Sarah A. (Argo) Newland, who were natives of Montgomery county, Virginia, and Washington county, Pennsylvania, respectively. Their marriage was celebrated in the latter county, the father having removed to Pennsylvania in early manhood. About a year later they journeyed westward to Ohio, locating in Union county, where Andrew A. Newland worked as a brick and stone mason. By dint of untiring industry he accumulated capital sufficient to enable him to purchase a farm and carried on general agricultural pursuits in addition to working at his trade until about 1875. In that year he came to Iowa, purchasing a farm two and a half miles southwest of Center Point, on which he made his home for about three years. The remainder of his life was spent at Center Point but he passed away while on a visit in Algona on the 20th of February, 1897, at the age of ninety-two years, five months and twenty days. The demise of his wife occurred at Center Point on the 27th of June, 1888, when she had attained the age of seventy-six years, seven months and twenty-four days. George W. Newland, a brother of Hamilton D., came to Center Point in November, 1856. He remained at his old home in Union county, Ohio, until the day after casting his vote for John C. Fremont, the first presidential candidate of the republican party, and then started westward, Center Point, Iowa, being his destination. Here he made his home until his death, which occurred February 7, 1893.
Hamilton D. Newland was reared at home and began his education in the public schools, while subsequently he entered Hillsdale (Mich.) College. He was a student at that institution at the time of the outbreak of the Civil war and left college in order to enlist for service. A company was enlisted from the college class but the president of the school, who was the lieutenant governor of the state, used his influence to prevent the acceptance of the company by the state. Being thus thwarted in their plans, the students became discouraged, disbanded and separated and returned to their respective homes. Mr. Newland arrived home on the 5th of June, 1861, and joined Company F, Twenty-third Ohio Infantry, the famous regiment to which McKinley and Hayes belonged. He remained with that command for three years and participated in all the engagements of the regiment, being never absent except during the thirty days when he was sent home on recruiting service. He was fortunate in that he was never wounded even in the slightest degree, and when his term of enlistment had expired he was mustered out as sergeant of his company on the 7th of July, 1864, at Columbus, Ohio.
Returning home with a most creditable military record, Mr. Newland then became identified with educational interests, following the profession of teaching in Ohio for two years. In the fall of 1866 he came to Iowa, locating in Center Point, where he was offered and accepted the principalship of the schools. After serving in that capacity for two years he turned his attention to general agricultural pursuits, purchasing a farm south of Center Point. Throughout the next quarter of a century his time and energies were largely given to farming interests and he acquired more than five hundred acres of valuable land. During this period he likewise operated in real estate to some extent and thus came into possession of a hotel and a general store at Center Point, both of which he conducted at different times for a brief period. For the past seventeen years he has made his home in Center Point, from which point helooks after his extensive landed interests. In addition to his farm lands he owns five pieces of town property as well as his home. A man of excellent business ability, keen discrimination and sound judgment, he has met with success in all of his undertakings and has long been numbered among the most substantial and respected citizens of the county.
On the 12th of December, 1867, Mr. Newland was united in marriage to Miss Melinda J. Newman, a native of Linn county and a daughter of John Nelson Newman, who was born in Kentucky and came to this county from Illinois in the early '50s. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Newland were born seven children, six of whom still survive. Mark A., who graduated from the Center Point high school with the class of 1889, is now engaged in the practice of medicine at that place. Zell, who completed her studies in the Center Point high school in 1890, is now the wife of C. C. Lewis, of Kenwood Park. John Fay follows farming in Washington township, this county. The three remaining children, all of whom are at home, are as follows: Evelyn, who graduated from the Center Point high school with the class of 1901; George O., who completed his studies in that institution in 1910; and Don H.
In politics Mr. Newland has always been an unfaltering republican. He is a demitted member of the Masonic fraternity, belongs to the Iowa Legion of Honor and has held all of the offices in Denison Post, No. 244, G. A. R. At the state encampment which was held in Cedar Rapids in 1903 he was elected senior vice commander for the Department of Iowa. His wife is a devoted and consistent member of the Christian church. A good citizen, a loyal friend and a man who knows how to attain that for which he seeks, Mr. Newland enjoys the esteem of all who have come into relation with him.
Harrison B. Lutz
Harrison B. Lutz, who largely derives his income from farming interests, is the owner of a tract of one hundred and sixty-five acres of rich and productive land in Cedar township. His birth occurred in Ohio on the 18th of October, 1861, his parents being Charles S. and Sarah M. (Stickel) Lutz, who were natives of Pennsylvania. The father's natal year was 1833, while the mother was born in 1835. About 1866 they took up their abode among the early settlers of Linn county, Iowa, settling on a farm in Cedar township which the father rented and operated for a few years. Subsequently he embarked in the mercantile business at Cedar Rapids and successfully conducted his establishment until the time of his death, which occurred in February, 1870. His widow remained a resident of Cedar Rapids for five years longer and then gave her hand in marriage to Jackson G. Hunter, a native of this county, with whom she moved to a farm. Mr. Hunter was actively identified with general agricultural pursuits until called to his final rest. The mother of our subject still resides on the old homestead in this county and is well known and highly esteemed throughout the community.
Harrison B. Lutz remained under the parental roof until he had attained his majority and then started out as an agriculturalist on his own account, cultivating rented land for a year. On the expiration of that period he bought fifty acres of his present home farm in Cedar township and subsequently extended its boundaries by additional purchase until it now embraces one hundred and sixty-five acres. He has brought the land under a high state of cultivation and improvement and annually harvests excellent crops which find a ready sale on the market. He likewise acts as the president of the Sylvia Telephone Company and is widely recognized as a man of excellent executive ability and sound judgment.
On the 24th of February, 1887, Mr. Lutz was united in marriage to Miss Alice Davis, a daughter of George S. and Jane (Reall) Davis, who were natives of Maryland and Ohio respectively. The father's birth occurred on the 22d of November, 1835, while the mother's natal day was February 7, 1845. Their marriage was celebrated in Ohio but they came to Linn county, Iowa, at an early day. George S. Davis here purchased a farm and was actively engaged in its operation until the time of his retirement. He then resided in Cedar Rapids for a short time but spent the remainder of his life in the home of one of his sons. His demise occurred April 22, 1907, but his widow still survives and lives with her children. Mr. and Mrs. Lutz became the parents of five children, the record of whom is as follows: The first born died in infancy. Maud D is a graduate of the Cedar Rapids high school and for one year attended Coe College at that place. She has taught school for three years and has also displayed considerable musical talent. Harry R., likewise a high school graduate, is at home. Edith A. and Fred N. Lutz are also still under the parental roof.
In politics Mr. Lutz is a republican and his fellow townsmen, recognizing his worth and ability, have called him to several positions of public trust. He has ably served as township clerk for three years and has acted as treasurer of the school board and as a director. Both he and his wife are consistent members of the Methodist Episcopal church, exemplifying its teachings in their daily lives. The period of his residence in Linn county covers more than four decades and he is widely and favorably known within its borders, the salient characteristics of his manhood being such as have brought him the warm regard of those with whom he has been associated.
M. J. Miles
Occupying a prominent position before the public and "making good" in the office of mayor, M. J. Miles, although one of the youngest men ever called to the position of chief executive of Cedar Rapids, is displaying in the discharge of his duties qualities and purposes that would be a credit to many a man of older years. He might be termed a practical idealist, for while he labors for ideal conditions the methods he employs are such as recognize the forces that prevail. He is a native of Iowa although not of Cedar Rapids. His birth occurred in Davenport, September 8, 1878. His father, James M. Miles, was born in Wisconsin and first came to Cedar Rapids in 1871. Here in connection with his brother, John, he established an office for the Aetna Life Insurance Company. Later he removed to Davenport, where he continued for a year, but finding that Cedar Rapids was better adapted for headquarters he returned to this city and has since been active in business here. He is now the senior member of the firm of J. M. Miles & Son, and it is one of the leading mortgage loan firms of the city, having secured an extensive clientage. He is not a politician in the ordinarily accepted sense of the term but has served as alderman, and at all times is interested in the welfare of the city to the extent of giving his aid, co÷peration and influence to support various public projects. He married Elizabeth Sullivan, a native of Dunkirk, New York, who came to Cedar Rapids in 1868.
In the public schools of this city M. J. Miles pursued his early education and later entered St. Ambrose College of Davenport, from which he was graduated in 1895. The following year he was graduated from St. Mary's College of Kansas, while his more distinctively classical course was pursued in Georgetown University of Washington, D. C. After his graduation there in 1898, he took up the study of law and completed the course in the law department of the Iowa State University in 1903. He then entered his father's business and is now a member of the firm. The energy and enterprise of the young man, combined with the broader experience of the elder, made this a strong firm and from the beginning they have enjoyed substantial and increasing success.
M. J. Miles has also taken active part in municipal affairs, standing at all times for that spirit of progressive citizenship which believes in subordinating party interests to the general good and never placing personal aggrandizement before the municipal welfare. In short, he stands for reform and improvement. On the inauguration of the commission plan of government he was elected commissioner of finance, and when, on the 24th of May, 1909, Mayor Carmody was shot by a burglar Mr. Miles became acting mayor, and upon the death of Mr. Carmody, was elected on the 13th of August, 1909, to fill the vacaney, and in the spring of 1910 was reelected by the vote of the people. He is, therefore, chief executive of the city and is giving to Cedar Rapids a public-spirited, businesslike administration that seeks to place the interests of the city upon a commercial and not a political basis and to uphold law and order and advance intellectual and moral progress.
On the 24th of March, 1907, Mr. Miles was united in marriage to Miss Kathryn Kanealy, a daughter of John and Mary Kanealy, of Benton county, Iowa. He is well known socially, holds membership in the Country Club, the Commercial Club, the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks and other societies. He stands today as a splendid type of American manhood and citizenship, with a splendid record in business and in office, his administration winning him wide endorsement even from those who hold opposite political views.
From an early age dependent upon his own resources, but actuated at all times by a laudable ambition for advancement, John Burianek is both a selfeducated and self-made man, and as the architect of his own fortunes has builded wisely and well. He is now cashier and manager of the Peoples Savings Bank of Cedar Rapids and by all who know aught of his history is honored and respected for what he has accomplished. He was born in Bohemia, October 20, 1871. His parents, John and Sophia (Deml) Burianek, were also natives of the same country and in June, 1877, crossed the Atlantic to the United States, settling in Cedar Rapids, where the father secured a position in the Sinclair Packing House. That he was capable and faithful is indicated by the fact that he remained in that connection during his active life, or for twelve years. He died December 18, 1893, and is still survived by his widow, who yet resides in Cedar Rapids. In their family were three children. The sister of our subject, Sophia, was employed for years in the Bazaar of Cedar Rapids and was one of the best known young business women of the city. She is now the wife of F. J. Stepanek, of Woodstock, Minnesota. The brother, Joseph, is a cigar manufacturer of Elgin, Iowa. He employs thirteen men and handles practically all of the tobacco grown in his section of the state.
John Burianek was reared in his parents' home and attended the public schools until in his eleventh year, when he began providing for his own support as an employ in the drug store of W. Benesh. There he worked for two years, during which period he continued to study privately, for he realized his lack of educational opportunities and recognized the value of intellectual training as a preparation for life's practical and responsible duties. On leaving the drug store he accepted the position of office boy with Dr. G. R. Skinner, with whom he remained for two years. During his connection with the office he continued his studies and used a portion of his salary in employing a teacher, who instructed him at night. He also attended the evening sessions of a business college. His employer wished him to take up the study of medicine, but he was ambitious for a college education and bent every energy toward the accomplishment of that purpose. He left the employ of Dr. Skinner in 1886 to enter the Merchants National Bank of Cedar Rapids and thus became connected with the financial institutions of the city. He first served as messenger boy, but from that humble position worked his way upward, being promoted from time to time until he became chief clerk. On the first of January, 1904, after seventeen and a half years with the Merchants National Bank, he left that institution. He then took charge of the Peoples Savings Bank, which at that time employed but one clerk. Under Mr. Burianek's management through the past six years the business of the bank has been increased to such an extent that nine clerks are now employed. He has carefully systematized the work, is methodical and accurate in all that he undertakes and in business judgment is sound and reliable. He is numbered among the directors of the bank and gives almost undivided attention to the development of the business, having already won for the institution the creditable and well merited reputation of being one of the strong financial concerns of the city.
In his political views Mr. Burianek is an earnest republican and served for two and a half years as treasurer of the school board. He was also a member of the board of directors of the Commercial Club of Cedar Rapids in 1907 and 1908, and he was one of three men selected from Iowa to serve on the committee of one hundred representative men of the United States to present resolutions to Roosevelt relative to the deep water way from the lakes to the gulf in 1908. In August, 1909, he was appointed by Governor Carroll of Iowa as one of three men to represent this state in the conservation congress in Seattle, but he was unable to attend at that time. It is well known that his influence is always on the side of progress and improvement, that his labors and ideas are practical and that his work is resultant.
Mr. Burianek has a creditable military history, covering four years' service as a member of Company C, of the first Iowa National Guard, from 1901 until 1905. Fraternally he is connected with the Masons, holding membership in Crescent Lodge, No. 25, A. F. & A. M.; Trowel Chapter, No. 49, R. A. M.; Apollo Commandery, No. 26, K. T.; and Iowa Consistory, No. 2, A. A. S. R., of which he has been recently elected treasurer. He is also a member of El Kahir Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S., and for a number of years has served as treasurer of the Shrine. He likewise belongs to Cedar Rapids Lodge, No. 98, K. P., in which he has filled various offices; Cedar Rapids Lodge, No. 278, A. O. U. W., of which he was for five years receiver; Kingston Lodge, I. O. O. F.; and Cedar Rapids Lodge, No. 251, B. P. O. E. He is also connected with the Eastern Star, an auxiliary of Masonry, and is a member of the Bohemian Lodge, Prokop Velky, No. 46, of Cedar Rapids. He is connected through membership relations with the Cedar Rapids Country Club, is a member of the Bohemian Dramatic Club and a fine Bohemian scholar. His religious faith is indicated by his membership in the Presbyterian church. He is a man of forceful character, enterprising and determined, who carries forward to successful completion whatever he undertakes, and achieves results that would be impossible to a man of less resolute spirit.
John Henry French
Among those who have borne a part in the upbuilding of Linn county and have passed on to a higher life was John Henry French, who left behind him a memory that is an inspiration and a benediction to those who knew him. He was born in Oneida county, New York, in 1841, and his life record covered the intervening years to the 31st of December, 1893. He was a son of Lemuel and Marcia French. The father was a native of Ithaca, New York, and owned and operated a factory on the Mohawk river. He became a very prominent and influential citizen in the community in which he made his home.
Spending his boyhood days in the Empire state John Henry French there acquired his education and early became identified with the work of the Christian religion here in charge of several churches. He taught school when but nineteen years of age and also became a teacher in a singing school. His influence was ever cast on the side of righteousness and truth and his interest and activity in church
Caption: J. H. Frenchwork led him to be ordained a local deacon -- a merited recognition of his services. He always assisted the local preacher in the church of which he was a member and his counsel, advice and efforts were ever at the call of those who were managing church affairs.
At the outbreak of the Civil war, although he had not yet attained his majority, Mr. French responded to the country's call for troops, enlisting in the One Hundred and Seventeenth New York Infantry under command of Colonel Wolcott. He had two brothers, Edwin and David, who were also in the service, and his brother-in-law, Oscar F. Hill, was in the same regiment as our subject and served for three years. John H. French served throughout the war and suffered from typhoid fever in the last year of his identification with the army. While in the hospital he took up nursing and during the latter part of the war was identified with the Red Cross corps. His wife's uncle, Thomas Clark, and his two sons, Delos and Melville Clark, were also Union soldiers.
It was on the 1st of January, 1868, that Mr. French was united in marriage to Miss Henrietta Hill, of Oneida county, New York, a daughter of William and Laura (Clark) Hill. The Clarks were an old family of that locality and Caleb Clark, the grandfather of Laura Clark, served as a soldier in the American army during the Revolutionary war, while his son, Isaac Clark, fought in the war of 1812. Mrs. French is thus eligible to the Daughters of the American Revolution. Unto Mr. and Mrs. French were born three children: May, the deceased wife of Rev. Francis Birchell; Adelbert, who has also passed away; and one who died in infancy.
While residing in this county Mr. French for a number of years carried on merchandising in Springville and was also interested in a creamery. He was never neglectful of the duties of citizenship and his fidelity to the best interests of the community led to his election to the office of county recorder on the republican ticket. He was also very prominent in Grand Army circles, holding membership in Mitchell post, and at one time was a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He was classed with the most progressive and valued citizens of Marion and whatever he did was for the best interests of the community. His last years were devoted to church work, actuated by a spirit of devotion to things spiritual rather than temporal. He believed that the most important thing in life is character-building and at all times he sought by example or by precept to instill into the minds of those with whom he came in contact an appreciation for righteousness and truth and an acceptance of the divine plan of salvation. His words sank deep into many hearts and continued as an inspiration in the lives of many who knew him.
Lawrence Gilchrist, successfully engaged in the lumber business at Center Point, is also well known in financial circles as the president of the Linn County Bank. His birth occurred in Grant township, this county, on the 31st of January, 1858, his parents being Chorydon and Margaret (Davis) Gilchrist, who were natives of New York and Illinois respectively. The mother came to Linn county, Iowa, in 1840 with her parents, Mr. and Mrs. William Davis, who were pioneers and settled in the northwestern part of the county. The father of our subject located here in 1856 and in Linn county continued to make his home until his death in 1893. The mother had passed away in 1863. All of the three children born to them still survive.
Lawrence Gilchrist supplemented his preliminary education by a college course and on attaining his majority became associated with his father in the conduct of a lumber and grain enterprise at Walker, Iowa, where they engaged in business for three years. On the expiration of that period the father retired and Mr. Gilchrist of this review continued in business with C. G. Gitchell until 1890, when he left Walker and established a lumber enterprise at Center Point, where he has since built up an extensive and profitable business.
In 1900 Mr. Gilchrist was united in marriage to Miss Carrie Vinton, a daughter of John and Harriet Vinton. The father has passed away, but the mother still survives and makes her home with our subject. Mr. and Mrs. Gilchrist are the parents of four children, namely: Lawrence V., Chorydon J., Margaret H. and Gertrude B.
Politically Mr. Gilchrist has always been an unfaltering republican, having firm faith in the principles of that party. At one time he served as mayor of Center Point and his administration was characterized by many measures of reform and improvement. Fraternally he is identified with the Masons, the IndependentOrder of Odd Fellows and the Knights of Pythias, all of Center Point, and has filled all of the chairs in Lodge No. 141 of the first named order. Both he and his wife are consistent and valued members of the Methodist Episcopal church. His entire life has been spent within the borders of Linn county and he has long been numbered among its most prosperous, respected and representative citizens.
Robert C. Cutter
In a review of the history of Cedar Rapids in relation to the trade interests which are proving effective in promoting the business development of the city mention should be made of the Linn County Lumber & Coal Company, of which Robert C. Cutter is the secretary and treasurer. There are no unusual chapters in his life history, but it is the history of one who has sought success along honorable business lines, placing his dependence upon close application and indefatigable energy. He was born in Holmes county, Ohio, May 23, 1863. His father, A. B. Cutter, a farmer of Holmes county, died about five years ago. His wife, Mrs. Susan B. Cutter, was a daughter of Robert Armstrong, also a farmer of that locality.
At the usual age Robert C. Cutter entered the district schools and later supplemented the knowledge therein acquired by study through two winter seasons at the normal school at Ada, Ohio. He has been a resident of Cedar Rapids since attaining the age of twenty-two years. Thus practically the entire period of his manhood has been here passed. Soon after his arrival he entered the service of Lyman & Foster, lumber dealers, with whom he remained for two years, at the expiration of which time the firm dissolved, Mr. Lyman continuing the business alone and Mr. Cutter remaining in his employ through the succeeding two years. He then engaged with the firm of Fay Brothers in the same business and was with them for five years. On the expiration of that period he became connected with the Fullerton Lumber Company, which he represented for thirteen years, and during the last nine years of that period he had charge of their business. In 1907 G. W. Fairchilds bought an interest in the firm and a year later Mr. Cutter became Mr. Fairchild's successor. The present officers of the Linn County Lumber & Coal Company are: B. R. Hervey, president; S. V. Martin, vice president; and R. C. Cutter, secretary and treasurer. The long experience of Mr. Cutter in this line of business well qualifies him for the work which he has now in charge and which he is conducting to successful completion. He is a man of resolute spirit, determined and purposeful, and his enterprise has enabled him to work his way steadily upward since he entered business circles in Cedar Rapids more than a quarter of a century ago.
On the 11th of January, 1894, Mr. Cutter was married to Miss Jennie Ryker, a daughter of John F. Ryker, of this city, and they have two children: Glen R., who is fifteen years old; and Gladys, eleven years of age. The family residence is at No. 409 South Tenth street, East, and the parents are members of the Presbyterian church. Their home is a hospitable one and they have a wide circle of friends in this city.
Burgess Martin, who devotes his attention to the operation of a well improved and valuable farm of eighty-six and a half acres in Marion township, is a native of England, his birth having occurred in that country on the 28th of February, 1848. His parents, William and Ann Martin, spent their entire lives in England. Their children were nine in number, six of whom are yet living.
Burgess Martin remained a resident of his native land until he had attained his majority. In 1870, having determined to establish his home in the new world, he crossed the Atlantic to the United States and located in Michigan, where he resided for two years. Since leaving the Wolverine state he has made his home in Linn county, Iowa, the period of his residence here therefore covering thirty-eight years. He secured employment as a farm hand and at the end of four years had accumulated sufficient capital to enable him to purchase land of his own, coming into possession of a tract of eighty-six and a half acres adjoining the city limits of Marion. As the years have gone by he has made many improvements on the farm and its splendid appearance indicates his careful supervision, progressive methods and practical ideas. Excellent crops are annually harvested in return for the cultivation bestowed upon the fields.
On the 20th of December, 1872, Mr. Martin was united in marriage to Miss Sarah Cory, likewise a native of England and a daughter of William and Elizabeth Cory, who were also born in that country. They emigrated to the United States at an early day and spent the remainder of their lives in this county. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Martin were born seven children, namely: Charles, living in Linn county; May, the wife of Henry Vahl; Oscar, who is a resident of South Dakota; Clarence, of this county; Florence, a graduate of the Marion high school, who is still at home; and two who died in infancy. The wife and mother wascalled to her final rest in April, 1902, her remains being interred in the Oak Shade cemetery. Coming to this country in early manhood, Mr. Martin found the opportunities he sought and through their wise utilization has gained a place among the prosperous and respected citizens of his community.
Fred J. Rabe
Fred J. Rabe, one of the leading stock-raisers of Fayette township, was born in that township on the 14th of August, 1878. His parents, Carl and Sarah (Drafahl) Rabe, are mentioned at greater length on another page of this volume. He was reared at home and began his education in the common schools, while subsequently he attended Tilford Academy at Vinton, Iowa. Under the direction of his father he early became familiar with the best methods of breeding and raising stock and on attaining his majority he became associated with his father in the latter's live-stock operations. In March, 1909, Carl Rabe retired from active business and took up his abode in Palo, since which time our subject has had charge of their live-stock interests. They make a specialty of Poland China hogs, raising on an average of one hundred and twenty head annually. They also feed cattle on an extensive scale and have won a gratifying and well merited degree of prosperity in their undertakings. Mr. Rabe, of this review, is a stockholder in the Palo Savings Bank and is widely recognized as one of the enterprising and progressive citizens of his native county.
On the 28th of September, 1904, Mr. Rabe was joined in wedlock to Miss Mary A. Hepker, of Palo, Linn county. They now have one child, Agnes Lucile. At the polls Mr. Rabe casts an independent ballot, considering the fitness of a candidate of more importance than his party affiliation. His fraternal relations are with Benton City Lodge, No. 81, A. F. & A. M., of Shellsburg; and the Modern Woodmen of America. Both he and his wife belong to the Methodist Episcopal church and take an active and helpful interest in its work. He has many friends in the community where his entire life has been spent, and his excellent traits of character have gained for him the respect and regard of his fellowmen.
James R. Bloom
James R. Bloom, who opened a blacksmith shop in Marion on coming to this city in 1855, has conducted the same continuously to the present time -- a fact which stands in incontrovertible evidence of his good workmanship and the success he has achieved. His birth occurred in Pennsylvania in the year 1836, his parents being J. M. C. and Nancy (Roberts) Bloom, who were likewise natives of the Keystone state, the former born in 1810 and the latter in 1818. The father followed carpentering and contracting throughout practically his entire business career and passed away in 1895. The mother survived him until 1906, when she, too, was called to her final rest. They were both consistent and devoted members of the Methodist Episcopal church. Their children were eleven in number, four of whom died in infancy. The others were as follows: James R., of this review; Mary E., the wife of Smith Jackson, of Pennsylvania; Thomas E., who is married and resides in the Keystone state; Rachel Mahala, who is the wife of William May and lives in Pennsylvania; Julia Ann, who gave her hand in marriage to George Tarbell and also makes her home in Pennsylvania; William E., now deceased, who was married and lived in Dubuque, Iowa; and Frank, who is married and resides in Pennsylvania.
James R. Bloom remained under the parental roof until nineteen years of age, when he left his native state and journeyed westward, locating in Marion, Linn county, Iowa, where he has made his home continuously since. Throughout the entire period of his residence here he has been successfully engaged in business as a blacksmith, having now conducted a shop of this character for fifty-five years.
On the 10th of November, 1857, Mr. Bloom was united in marriage to Miss Hannah Riley, a daughter of Phillip and Elizabeth Riley, both of whom were natives of Ireland. Crossing the Atlantic to America in 1840, they lived in the stateof Ohio until 1856, when they came to Linn county and throughout the remainder of their lives resided in Marion. The demise of Phillip Riley occurred in March, 1890, while his wife passed away five years later. Unto them were born nine children, namely: Ellen, Hannah and Edward, all of whom are deceased; Richard, Margaret, Robert, James, Etta and Phillip. Mr. and Mrs. Bloom became the parents of four children, as follows: Mahala A., who is the wife of Arthur Jones and lives in Shenandoah, Page county, Iowa; Mary E., who wedded R. W. White and also resides in Shenandoah, Page county, Iowa; Alice E., who passed away in 1874 and was buried in the Oak Shade cemetery at Marion, Iowa; and Carrie V., the wife of E. L. Fernow, of Linn county. The wife and mother was called to her final rest on the 4th of April, 1904, and her remains were likewise interred in the Oak Shade cemetery.
At the polls Mr. Bloom has supported the men and measures of the republican party but has never sought official preferment. He has now passed the seventy-fourth milestone on life's journey but is still hale and hearty and yet works at his trade, indolence and idleness being utterly foreign to his nature. His life in all of its various relations has been of such a character as to command the respect and esteem of those with whom he has been associated.
Charles W. Monn
Charles W. Monn is president of the Cedar Rapids Bottling Works, one of the important industrial enterprises of Linn county, and he was here born May 14, 1873. His father, Samuel Monn, a native of Pennsylvania and a Union soldier during the Civil war, formerly engaged in farming and teaming. He wedded Mary Garlinger and they are still residents of Cedar Rapids.
After attending the public schools to the age of eleven years, Charles W. Monn worked upon a farm for three or four years and was afterward in the employ of a veterinary surgeon for two years. He then entered the employ of the Hamilton & Brown Bottling Works with which he was connected until about three years ago as an employe. He then purchased an interest in the business and is now president of the company.
On the 26th of October, 1896, in Cedar Rapids, Mr. Monn was united in marriage to Miss May Hardin of Cedar Rapids. They have one child, Ferol Francis, seven years of age, who is with them in their home at No. 330 South Seventh Street West, which property Mr. Monn owns. Mr. Monn belongs to several fraternal organizations, being an Odd Fellow, Woodman and Eagle. His attention, however, is chiefly given to his business interests, his energy and determination enabling him to overcome the obstacles and difficulties in his path and win success when sometimes failure is threatened.
His partner, Arthur Hurtt, who is secretary and treasurer of the Cedar Rapids Bottling Works, was born in Kankakee, Illinois, March 3, 1867, a son of Allen S. and Esther (Porter) Hurtt. The father was a contractor and also a soldier of the Civil war. He died in 1906 after long surviving his wife who passed away in 1882.
Arthur Hurtt attended the public schools and at fourteen years began earning his own living in the employ of the Shaver & Dows Cracker Company with whom he remained for six years. He then worked for J. R. Morin in a cold storage plant, continuing with that concern for eight years when he entered the service of the Brown Bottling Works. Two years were passed after which he purchased an interest in the business and is now secretary and treasurer of the Cedar Rapids Bottling Works.
In 1893 Mr. Hurtt wedded Miss Mary L. Dupuy of Cedar Rapids and they have two children, Eunice, fourteen years of age, and Lois L., ten years of age. Mr. Hurtt is a Mason, a Woodman, a Workman and a Forester.
It will be interesting in this connection to note something more of the Cedar Rapids Bottling Works of which Charles W. Monn and Arthur Hurtt are the partners. They are the first to make a success of this business in Cedar Rapids. The enterprise was originally started by the firm of Rank & Adams who failed. They sold out to John Hamilton who admitted Mr. Brown as a partner and the latter finally purchased Mr. Hamilton's interest and attempted to conduct the enterprise alone but he also failed. It was then that the present owners, who were in the employ of Mr. Brown, joined forces and purchased the business. In a short time they have made of it a splendid success. When they came into possession about three years ago the business was conducted in a small shanty and today they have a splendid plant thoroughly equipped with modern machinery and accessories. They attribute their success to hard work, to their mutual faith, and to their personal supervision of all departments of the business. Mr. Monn attends to all the outside work and the sales while Mr. Hurtt looks after the inside part, including bookkeeping and a general superintendence of the manufacture. The methods employed in manufacturing are of the most modern and the output is of such excellence as to secure a ready sale on the market.
Samuel Resch is a worthy representative of an old and honored pioneer family of Linn county, his father having settled here during the early development of this section of the state. He was born in Crawford county, Ohio, July 13, 1855, a son of Fred W. and Nancy (Reed) Resch. The father was born in Baden, Germany, November 9, 1830, and in 1846, when a youth of sixteen years, accompanied his parents on their emigration to the new world, the family home being established in Crawford county, Ohio. There the son formed the acquaintance of Miss Nancy Reed, who was born in that county, September 23, 1835, and is of German lineage. The young couple were married on the 16th of March, 1854, and they began their domestic life in the Buckeye state, there continuing until 1865, when the father came with his family to Linn county, settling on a farm of eighty acres on section 15, College township. He later purchased a tract of eighty acres and followed farming throughout his remaining years. The mother makes her home with her daughter Mary, now the wife of William Phillipson, in Wichita, Kansas.
Samuel Resch began his education in the public schools, which was supplemented by two terms' study in Western College then at Western, Iowa. After completing his studies he returned to the home farm, assisting his father until he was twenty-eight years of age. He then started out to make his own way in the world, choosing as his occupation the work to which he had been reared. He has prospered as the years have gone by and is now the owner of one hundred and sixty acres of valuable and well improved land on section 15, College township, which he now rents to a neighbor, while he is practically living retired. His place is improved with substantial buildings and in his work he always followed modern methods, keeping abreast with the times as advancement is made in agricultural lines.
It was on the 8th of February, 1883, that Mr. Resch was united in marriage to Miss Louise A. Phillipson, a daughter of Thomas and Margaret Phillipson. The father was born at Lincolnshire, England, September 19, 1820. In February, 1850, he set sail for America, taking passage on the ship Olive Branch from Liverpool. He arrived in New York in March, five weeks later, and made his way from the eastern metropolis to Rochester, New York. It was in the latter place that he formed the acquaintance of Miss Margaret Howe, whom he wedded in 1857. Her parents, Jarvis and Julia Howe, were natives of County Tipperary, Ireland, whence they emigrated to the new world at an early day, establishing their home in Spencerport, Monroe county, New York. Their daughter Margaret was born April 9, 1834, and as above stated, in 1857, she gave her hand in marriage to Thomas Phillipson. On the day following their marriage they started for the middle west, traveling by rail from Rochester to Iowa City, Iowa. From the latter
Caption: Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Reschcity they journeyed by team to Cedar Rapids, where they made arrangements for the purchase of a forty-acre tract of land, paying for the same eleven dollars and a quarter per acre. On the place Mr. Phillipson erected a log cabin, in which he and his bride took up their abode, making it their home for many years. Eventually he sold his original farm and purchased one hundred and twenty-five acres at thirty-seven dollars per acre. Mr. and Mrs. Phillipson have traveled life's journey together for fifty-three years, sharing with each other the joys and sorrows, the prosperity and adversity which come to each individual. They are still making their home on the farm and although Mr. Phillipson has reached the advanced age of ninety years, he is still active in the work and management of his farm. He is now one of the oldest residents of Linn county and during his long residence here he has witnessed many changes as the workof development and improvement has been carried forward in this section of the state.
Mr. and Mrs. Resch have five living children, four sons and one daughter, namely: Grover C., who was born June 15, 1884, and is now first sergeant in the United States Army, located at Fort Gibbon, Alaska; Fred T., born February 21, 1887; Blanche J., whose birth occurred on the 27th of May, 1888; Marion, born February 26, 1896; and Pearl, who was born August 22, 1898. They also lost one child in infancy.
In politics Mr. Resch is a democrat. Himself well educated he ever takes a deep interest in the schools that his own children may acquire a good education and has served as school director and as road supervisor, while for three terms he has filled the office of justice of the peace. The family attend the Evangelical church and Mrs. Resch is an active worker in the Ladies Aid Society. Mr. Resch is a gentleman of culture, a fine scholar and still a student from habit. His opinions carry weight among his fellowmen, who recognize his superior ability and worth of character and he is thus classed among the men of affluence in Linn county and College township.
Richard M. McNiel
Richard M. McNiel, who is numbered among the worthy native sons of Linn county, has won a gratifying measure of success in the conduct of his farming and stock-raising interests and owns a well improved tract of land comprising eighty acres on section 14, Washington township. His birth occurred on the 23d of October, 1867, his parents being George T. and Mary M. (Penn) McNiel, who are mentioned at greater length on another page of this work in connection with the sketch of Franklin B. McNiel, a brother of our subject.
Richard M. McNiel obtained his education in the common schools and remained under the parental roof until he had reached the age of twenty-two years. At that time he rented a tract of land and devoted his attention to its cultivation for one year or until he came into possession of his present farm of eighty acres on section 14, Washington township. He has placed many substantial improvements on the property and in addition to the cultivation of cereals makes a specialty of raising and feeding stock, finding both branches of business congenial as well as profitable.
On the 9th of October, 1889, Mr. McNiel was united in marriage to Miss Lizzie Howe, a native of Washington township, this county, and a daughter of Nelson and Margaret (Hemphill) Howe. The father died prior to the birth of Mrs. McNiel. Mrs. Howe was born in Ohio and in 1838 came to Linn county with her parents, who took a squatter's claim and later entered the same. They erected a log cabin with clapboard roof and puncheon floor and experienced many of the hardships and privations of life in an unsettled and undeveloped region. Mrs. Howe still resides in this county at the ripe old age of eighty years and the period of her residence here now covers more than seven decades. Mr. and Mrs. McNiel have three children, as follows: Burt L., who has a high school education; Roy N.; and Elva G.
In politics Mr. McNiel is a republican and he has capably served as a member of the school board. His religious faith is indicated by his membership in the Christian church, with which his wife is also affiliated. They are well known throughout the county in which their entire lives have been spent and by their many excellent traits of character have gained the respect and high regard of an extensive circle of warm friends.
Jasper E. Calhoun
Jasper E. Calhoun, a successful farmer and stockman of Grant township, is busily engaged in the operation of his fine farm of two hundred and fifty-six acres and also devotes considerable attention to the raising of horses. His birth occurred in Linn county, Iowa, on the 20th of July, 1869, his parents being Jasper and Florinda F. (Elliott) Calhoun, who were natives of Ohio and Washington county, Iowa, respectively. The mother was called to her final rest in 1900, but the father still survives and is a respected resident of this county. Their children were four in number.
Jasper E. Calhoun attended the common schools in pursuit of an education, but his opportunities in that direction were quite limited, for when ten years of age he began providing for his own support by working as a farm hand. After attaining his majority he devoted his attention to the operation of a rented farm for several years or until he had accumulated sufficient capital to enable him to buy land of his own. He now owns two hundred and fifty-six acres of rich and productive land in Grant township and also has a quarter section in South Dakota. In connection with the tilling of the soil he makes a specialty of raising horses, which branch of his business adds materially to his income. He is the president and treasurer of the Bohemia Horse Company and is widely recognized as one of the substantial and representative citizens of his native county.
On the 5th of May, 1906, Mr. Calhoun was joined in wedlock to Miss Mary Keiting, who was born in this county in 1870. Her parents, H. J. and Emma Keiting, reared a family of eight children. Mr. Calhoun is a stanch democrat in his political views and is now serving his fellow townsmen in the capacity of road supervisor and has been school director. Both he and his wife are well known and highly esteemed in the county where they have always resided and the hospitality of the best homes is cordially extended to them.
Edwin Jones Larimer
Edwin Jones Larimer, president of the E. K. Larimer Hardware Company of Cedar Rapids, is one of Linn county's native sons, his birth having occurred here October 4, 1870. His parents were Edwin K. and Mary Elizabeth (Dunlap) Larimer, whose biography appears on another page of this volume. In the public schools he pursued his early education, which was supplemented by a course in Coe College. He left that institution in 1888 and started in business with his father, since which time he has been connected with the hardware trade. The enterprise is carried on under the name of the E. K. Larimer Hardware Company, with Edwin J. Larimer as president and treasurer and Joseph A. Larimer as vice president. The splendid business policy instituted by the father has been carried on by the son and while he entered upon a business already established he has displayed that resolute spirit which has enabled him to carry the enterprise still further forward, his record proving that success is not a matter of genius, as held by some, but is rather the outcome of clear judgment, experience and intelligently directed energy.
On the 23d of October, 1904, Mr. Larimer was married to Miss Edith E. Johnston, a daughter of Thomas L. Johnston, who is judge of the probate court of Leavenworth, Kansas, and makes his home in the city of Leavenworth. Mr. and Mrs. Larimer have one child, Margaret Elizabeth, an interesting little daughter, born August 7, 1909. Mr. Larimer belongs to the Commercial Club and the Country Club, thus manifesting his interest in the business and social phases of life in Cedar Rapids, while he gives tangible proof of his interest in the moral progress of the city through his membership in and support of the Westminster Presbyterian church. The name of Larimer has long been an honored one in Cedar Rapids and the record of Edwin J. Larimer is in harmony therewith.
Lester E. Jenkins
In the years of his residence in Cedar Rapids, Lester E. Jenkins ranked with the public-spirited citizens and with the business men whose records prove that success and an honored name may be won simultaneously. He was born in Onondaga county, New York, in 1834, and after acquiring his early education in the public schools of the Empire state, he accompanied his parents on their removal to Michigan where he continued his studies to the age of sixteen years and removal was then made to the vicinity of Chicago and Mr. Jenkins was there living when at the age of nineteen years he offered his services to the government as a soldier in the Civil war. He was rejected, however, on account of physical disability.
In 1867 he removed to Cedar Rapids and here began the manufacture of musical instruments, including dulcimers. He also engaged in building organ cases and while an exceptionally fine workman, was especially expert in cabinet work and fine finishing. He made the pews and desks for the Universalist church after his own designs and did much fine work of that character which remains as an indication of his superior skill and ability. In the later years of his life he took up contracting and building in Cedar Rapids and was equally successful and progressive in that line. He was connected with the building of many of the beautiful homes of Cedar Rapids, which stand as a monument to his skill and good taste in architectural lines. There was never any question raised as to his reliability in business affairs. His word was as good as any bond solemnized by signature or seal and he was therefore accorded a gratifying patronage.
In 1860 Mr. Jenkins was married in Michigan to Miss Catharine Parrish and unto them were born three children: Mrs. Martha Waite, now deceased; Clarence F., who is engaged in the insurance business in Cedar Rapids; and Mrs. Luella DeLancey. The death of Mr. Jenkins occurred on the 23d of October, 1907, after a residence of forty years in Cedar Rapids. His demise was deeply regretted by many friends to whom he had become endeared by his sterling qualities of manhood and of citizenship. He ever manifested a public spirit that found expresesion in tangible aid to those projects and movements which are of value to any community. He was ever ready to lend a helping hand in public matters or to the individual who needed assistance. At one time he served as a member of the city council and he was always a sterling champion of the public schools and rejoiced in the progress made along educational lines. His political allegiance was given to the republican party and he held membership in the Masonic fraternity and in the Universalist church, of which he served as treasurer and collector for some time. He was always charitable in his opinions of others, looking at life from a liberal standpoint and believing in the ultimate triumph of good. Those who knew him felt that they could depend upon his friendship and his kindly, genial manner shed around him much of the sunshine of life.
Isaac N. Kramer
Isaac N. Kramer, widely known in commercial circles, needs no introduction to the readers of this volume. He is the senior partner of the firm of Kramer & Son, florists and seedmen of Cedar Rapids, who are conducting an extensive and growing business with a plant at Marion that covers about ten acres. Mr. Kramer was born in New Geneva, Fayette county, Pennsylvania, on the 19th of May, 1832, and is a son of Andrew and Mary (Franks) Kramer. The father was a glass-blower in the east, but relinquished that business in 1839 to make arrangements whereby to transport his family of sixteen to Iowa, some of them making the journey by team and others by way of the water route. They settled first at Linn Grove, and Mr. Kramer traded for a farm in Linn county, being one of its early pioneers. Not a furrow had been broken nor an improvement made upon his land, but with characteristic energy he began its development. Selling that place, he then leased a tract owned by a friend in the east and had the use of it for fourteen years. At the end of that time he bought a farm at Robins and throughout the period of his residence in the middle west he carried on general agricultural pursuits until the time of his retirement.
I. N. Kramer was but seven years of age when the family came to Iowa and in the schools of two different districts near his father's home he acquired his education, the winter months being devoted to the branches of learning then taught, while the summer seasons were given over to the work of the farm. He was early trained in the best methods of plowing, planting and harvesting, practical experience supplementing parental instruction in those lines of work. He was ambitious for an education, however, and utilized his leisure hours for study, thus often spending his evenings in pouring over a book. He afterward went to New York and also attended the Madison University. About 1852 his father purchased a farm and I. N. Kramer took up his abode thereon, assisting in its cultivation for about four years, after which he purchased forty acres. He continued to live at home, however, while he devoted his attention to the improvement of his own place. Turning his attention to gardening, in 1854 he began with a capital of about fifty dollars of borrowed money. Later he bought broken glass and built a greenhouse. About 1868 he purchased sixteen acres of land near Marion and with the assistance of his son has devoted his energies to the upbuilding of the business which, under their careful guidance, has grown to extensive proportions.
On the 24th of April, 1861, Mr. Kramer was united in marriage to Miss Sarah Fleck, a daughter of John and Catharine (Polk) Fleck. The latter had a brother who was an officer in the English army. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Kramer have been born five children: Judson, the junior member of the firm of Kramer & Son; Catharine, deceased; Adelaide, at home; Ella, who is the wife of Franz Lund of Midfields, Texas, and has two sons, Harry and George; and William, who has passed away.
Mr. Kramer holds membership in the Church of God. He now leaves the more active management of the business to his son who is a wide-awake, energetic business man. While the retail department of their business is conducted at Cedar Rapids, they have an extensive and well equipped plant at Marion and in the conduct of their business have met with substantial success, so that they now enjoy a gratifying annual income.
Edward M. Scott
The record of Edward M. Scott is one which reflects honor upon his native county. Becoming identified with banking interests in a most humble capacity at the age of nineteen years, he is today president of the Security Savings Bank of Cedar Rapids, having mastered in the intervening years the principles and details of banking business, his developing powers and ability bringing him into important relations with the financial interests of Iowa. His is the record of a strong individuality. An analyzation of his life work shows that he is stable in purpose, quick in perception, and energetic and persistent in action. He represents one of the pioneer families of the county, his parents being John B. and Mary E. (Rissler) Scott. His father, who died recently at the venerable age of eighty years, had settled in Linn county at a very early day.
It was upon the home farm in Marion township that Edward M. Scott was born January 27, 1861. His youthful days were there passed and one of his responsibilities was the herding of cattle on the then unoccupied prairies in the vicinity for his father and neighbors. He began attending school just after he had passed the fifth milestone on life's journey, the sessions of the school being held in the granary of a neighboring farmer and the farmer's wife, Mrs. E. R. Mason, acting as teacher. Later a primitive frame school building was erected in the district and Edward M. Scott continued to pursue his education in the district schools until he was qualified for entrance into the Marion high school, from which he was graduated with the class of 1880. He received his initial training in banking when nineteen years of age, entering the First National Bank of Marion as messenger and general utility boy, his duties even including sweeping the bank. His start was a most humble one but he diligently, efficiently, intelligently and honorably performed the duties devolving upon him and the qualities which he thus manifested led to his promotion. It was in September, 1880, that he entered the First National Bank of Marion, of which R. D. Stephens was the president. Later Mr. Stephens became the organizer of the Merchants National Bank of Cedar Rapids and in May, 1881, immediately following the organization of the new institution, Mr. Scott was brought to this city to become bookkeeper and general utility man. He also acted in the capacity of assistant cashier and did whatever he was called upon to do in connection with the work of the bank. In the fall of 1886 he resigned his position and took a western trip to spend the winter in California. While on the coast he was offered various positions in banks in that part of the country but in the spring of 1887 he returned to Cedar Rapids and accepted the proffered position of teller in the Cedar Rapids National Bank, acting in that capacity until the organization of the Security Savings Bank in the spring of 1889. Mr. Scott was then offered and accepted the position of cashier in that institution and on the 1st of January, 1908, was elected to the vice presidency. In the meantime he had made a close study of finance and financial methods, constantly broadening his knowledge by reading as well as by experience.
Following the death of G. F. Van Vechten, the organizer of the bank, Mr. Scott was chosen to the presidency of the institution in accordance with the expressed wish of Mr. Van Vechten, who during the last eighteen months of his life was practically incapacitated for business affairs and voiced the wish that Mr. Scott should assume the burdens of the bank, which hitherto had rested on his own shoulders. While Mr. Scott assumed the management and responsibilities that usually devolve upon the president, it was not until after the death of Mr. Van Vechten that he was regularly elected to the office of bank president. He had received thorough instruction in banking from Mr. Van Vechten, who at the same time recognized the ability and the spirit of enterprise which had been manifest in all of Mr. Scott's relations with the bank. An expression of confidence on the part of other bankers of the city came to him in his selection for president of the Cedar Rapids Clearing House for a term of two years, covering the period of financial unrest and threatened panic in 1907-8. He was also interested in the Cedar Rapids & Marion Telephone Company from its organization, acting as one of its directors until the time of the sale to the Bell Telephone Company.
On the 12th of October, 1892, Mr. Scott was married to Miss Jessie M. Loper, a daughter of J. D. Loper, of Guilford, Connecticut, and unto them has been born one child, Dorothy, who is now attending the Cedar Rapids public schools. Mr. Scott is identified with various interests of a public and semi-public character and his co÷peration can always be counted upon to further any movement which he deems of vital significance to the welfare of the city. He belongs to the Cedar Rapids Commercial Club and from the organization has continuously served on its important committees. He is also a member of the Cedar Rapids Country Club. For nine and a half years he was treasurer and for three and a half years a member of the board of education.
Politically a stanch republican, he has always taken a deep interest in political matters but has never cared for office for himself, preferring to concentrate his energies upon banking and other business interests and upon other features of the community life. He has served on important committees of the Iowa State Bankers' Association and as state vice president of the American Bankers' Association. He and his wife are members of the Congregational church, in which he has served as a trustee for a number of years and in many departments of church and benevolent work he is interested. He is a trustee of the Home for Aged Women. What he has accomplished represents the fit utilization of the innate talents which are his. He has mastered the lessons of life day by day until his post graduate work in the school of experience has placed him with the men of strong business capacities and powers. He is a man of broad views and his keen sagacity has enabled him in all public and business relations to discriminate between the essential and that which is merely incidental. The confidence of the former bank president as expressed in his selection of Mr. Scott as his successor, has been expressed equally strongly by other men, for in the business circles of the city he is regarded as one upon whose judgment reliance may be placed, while his financial integrity has ever been above question.
Frank Fremont Dawley
Following his graduation from the Law School of the Michigan University, Frank Fremont Dawley came to Cedar Rapids, since which time he has been identified with the bar activities and while engaging in general practice he has of late years specialized to a large extent in corporation law as the senior partner of the firm of Dawley & Wheeler. He was born in Fort Dodge, Iowa, August 11, 1856, and is a son of A. M. and Ellen (Parker) Dawley, who were natives of
Caption: F. F. DawleyChillicothe, Ohio, and of Calais, Maine, respectively. They were married at Granville, Illinois, in the spring of 1855, and immediately afterward went to Fort Dodge, Iowa, where they settled. For ten years Mr. Dawley was identified with merchandising there and in 1869 he was appointed by President Grant as registrar of the United States land office at Fort Dodge, in which capacity he served for four years. In the meantime he had taken up the study of law and immediately following the expiration of his term in the land office he was admitted to the bar and entered into active practice. An able speaker, his services were in great demand in all political campaigns, and his oratory, as the expression of deep and logical thought, enabled him to carry conviction to the minds of many of his hearers. He died February 25, 1885, at the age of fifty-five years.
Frank Fremont Dawley was reared at home and acquired his early education in the public schools of Fort Dodge, after which, having determined upon the practice of law as his life work, he entered the University of Michigan and was graduated on the completion of the law course with the class of 1878. He at once came to Cedar Rapids, where he entered the law office of Hubbard, Clark & Deacon, and in 1879, following the withdrawal of Mr. Deacon, the firm became Hubbard & Clark. Two years later Mr. Dawley was admitted to a partnership under the style of Hubbard, Clark & Dawley, no further change occurring until 1887, when Mr. Clark withdrew and the remaining partners practiced under the firm style of Hubbard & Dawley. Later they were joined by Charles E. Wheeler under the name of Hubbard, Dawley & Wheeler, which connection was continued until the death of Judge Hubbard, June, 1902. The firm carried on business under the style of Dawley, Hubbard & Wheeler until 1897, when the name was changed to Dawley & Wheeler -- the present title. While they continue in the general practice of law they confine their attention largely to corporation law and represent several of the leading corporations of the city. This is one of the most prominent law firms of Cedar Rapids with a practice which in volume and importance is hardly equaled. They were attorneys for the Chicago & Northwestern Railway and carried to a successful issue several very important cases for this road, as well as being connected with nearly all of the important litigation of Linn county. The profession is one in which advancement is secured only by merit. The broadening experience of Mr. Dawley has developed his latent powers and found him at all times ready to meet the demands made upon him as advocate and counselor. He has ever been careful and painstaking in the preparation of cases but in later years he has withdrawn largely from trial practice even in the civil courts and has confined his attention to corporation law with splendid success.
On the 21st of June, 1882, Mr. Dawley was married to Miss Margaret E. Jacobs, of Fort Dodge, and unto them have been born four children: Frederick, who is now practicing law in his father's office, is a graduate of Harvard University with the class of 1907, at which time he won his B. A. degree, while he also received his LL. B. degree from the Harvard Law School upon his graduation from that department in 1909. Katharine is a student at Coe College, Cedar Rapids, while Marion and Frances are both attending the Cedar Rapids high school.
Mr. Dawley is a member of the Cedar Rapids Commercial Club and of the Cedar Rapids Country Club, and for one year served as president of the latter. He has also been president of the school board and for the past seven years has been a member thereof. For twelve years he was a member of the Cedar Rapids library board, serving as its president for three years, and was also president of the State Library Association for one year. He was keenly interested in the law establishing that association and was instrumental in having the law passed establishing the State Library Commission. He was offered a place on the commission by Governor Shaw, but declined the honor owing to a lack of time. In 1908 he was president of the Linn County Bar Association. His position of prominence in various fields is second to none. Gifted by nature with strong intellectuality and qualified for leadership, his deep interest in various vital and significant questions has been manifest in tangible and helpful ways whereby the public at large has profited. He stands at all times for that which is most progressive and beneficial in municipal affairs and he is always to be found where the most intelligent and leading men of the city are gathered.
Charles Delbert Gibson
Charles Delbert Gibson, who has won success as an agriculturist, is the owner of a fine farm of seventy-two acres in Marion township. His birth occurred in Linn county, Iowa, on the 29th of March, 1867, his parents being B. W. and Catherine (Courtney) Gibson, who are natives of Ohio and Indiana respectively. They are mentioned at greater length on another page of this volume.
Charles D. Gibson is indebted to the common schools for the educational privileges which he enjoyed in his youthful years. After attaining his majority he operated the home farm for a time and subsequently turned his attention to mercantile interests, conducting a grocery store in Marion for two years. On the expiration of that period he purchased a farm of seventy-two acres situated a mile and a half south of Marion, where he has continuously carried on his agricultural interests to the present time. Everything about the place is kept in good repair and the fields annually yield golden harvests in return for the care and labor which he bestows upon them.
On the 5th of April, 1899, Mr. Gibson was united in marriage to Miss Anna Mary Snyder, a daughter of C. C. and Rebecca (Miller) Snyder, who were natives of Pennsylvania and Tennessee respectively. They came to Iowa at an early day and here spent the remainder of their lives, the father passing away in 1886 and the mother in 1874. Their children were eight in number.
Mr. Gibson has always supported the republican party, having firm faith in its principles as most conducive to good government. However, he has never sought nor desired the honors and emoluments of office. Fraternally he is identified with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, belonging to Lodge No. 18 at Marion, in which he has filled some of the chairs. His wife belongs to the Rebekahs and the Relief Corps. They are both consistent and faithful members of the Methodist Episcopal church at Marion, in the work of which they take an active and helpful interest. Mr. Gibson is widely and favorably known throughout the county where he has always resided and fully merits the good will and esteem which is uniformly accorded him.
James Ingalls Walker
James Ingalls Walker, who became well known in business circles in Cedar Rapids in connection with real-estate operations, belonged to that class of men who have justly been termed self-made. Whatever success he achieved was attributable to his own labors, careful management in business and thorough reliability and trustworthiness. He was born in Middlefield, New York, on the 19th of June, 1832, and was therefore in the sixty-seventh year of his age at the time of his demise. His parents were William A. and Sarah W. (Ingalls) Walker, both of whom were also natives of the Empire state, where they spent their entire lives. Their family numbered eight children, and as one of the household James I. Walker spent his youth in the enjoyment of such pleasures as engaged the attention of lads of the period, and in attendance of the public schools where he acquired a fair English education.
After arriving at years of maturity Mr. Walker was married in the state of New York on the 14th of February, 1855, to Miss Annie Maria Clark, also a native of New York, whose parents, Alexander H. and Mary L. (Loomis) Clark, always remained residents of that state, living upon a farm there. They too had a family of eight children. Following their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Walker remained residents of the Empire state for fifteen years, and in 1869 arrived in Cedar Rapids where he turned his attention to the real-estate business, informing himself thoroughly concerning property values, negotiating many important realty transfers and carefully tending to the interests of a large clientage in this direction.
It was on the 11th of January, 1899, that Mr. Walker was called to his final rest. He had come to be known in Cedar Rapids as an enterprising citizen and a man of good business ability and executive force. He would brook no obstacle that could be overcome by determined and persistent effort andin all of his dealings was thoroughly reliable and straightforward. Such qualities, therefore, won him the respect and high regard of all who knew him and his death was the occasion of deep regret to many friends. Mrs. Walker still makes her home in Cedar Rapids. She is a member of the First Presbyterian church and is in hearty sympathy with its every movement for the benefit of mankind.
The life record of Timothy McCarthy is one that should serve as a source of inspiration and encouragement to young men just starting out in the business world, for it was entirely through his own labors, perseverance and diligence that he reached a prominent position in financial circles. He has now lived retired for several years in the enjoyment of well earned rest, and the fruits of his former toil supply him with all of the necessities and comforts and many of the luxuries of life. Moreover, his prosperity was so honorably won and has been so wisely used that his business record everywhere commands respect and admiration.
Mr. McCarthy was born in La Salle county, Illinois, March 12, 1849, and is a son of Michael and Mary (Mahaney) McCarthy, both of whom were natives of Ireland. When a young man the father emigrated to Canada and the mother became a resident of that country in her girlhood days, making the voyage across the Atlantic with other members of the family, although her parents remained on the emerald isle. Mr. and Mrs. McCarthy were married in Canada, where they lived for some time before removing across the border into the state of New York. Subsequently they sought a home in the middle west, settling in La Salle county, Illinois, upon a farm, which the father cultivated until his death in 1859. His wife afterward removed to the vicinity of Hastings, Nebraska, and later became a resident of Colorado. She married a second time, becoming the wife of John Brynn, who is now deceased, while Mrs. Brynn is living in Greeley, Colorado, at an advanced age.
Upon the home farm in Illinois Timothy McCarthy spent his youthful days and in the public schools mastered the common branches of English learning. He was a young man of seventeen years when he left the parental roof and sought employment in commercial lines, securing a situation as driver of a delivery wagon for agrocery house in Ottawa. The first year he worked for seventy-five dollars and his board. The second year he was promoted, becoming a clerk, and after two years spent in the grocery store he secured a situation in a general store, where his capabilities, fidelity and trustworthiness continued him in the position for thirteen years. In the meantime he wisely saved a considerable portion of his earnings until his careful expenditure and diligence brought him sufficient capital to enable him to engage in business on his own account.
Seeking a favorable location, Mr. McCarthy came to Cedar Rapids after having made an inspection trip to this point in the summer of 1880. He entered into partnership with J. H. Schindel, who had been a fellow clerk with him in the same store in Ottawa. Here under the firm style of McCarthy & Schindel they opened a dry-goods store and subsequently added a carpet department. In the conduct of their enterprise they met with immediate and substantial success, gradually increasing their stock to meet the growing demands of the trade until their's was one of the leading business houses of the city. They carried on merchandising until February 1, 1899, when they sold their business to The Martin Dry Goods Company. In 1900 Mr. McCarthy became one of the organizers of the Peoples Savings Bank and was elected president, in which capacity he served for three years, or until ill health caused him to resign. He, however, retains a financial interest in the bank and is also a member of its board of directors. During his service as chief executive officer he established the business upon a thoroughly safe and conservative basis, systematized the work in every department and instituted many progressive measures in management and control.
In 1893 Mr. McCarthy was married to Miss Margaret Fagan, of Cedar Rapids, and unto them have been born five children, of whom two sons and two daughters are yet living, namely: Mary Alice, Lucille, Desmond andFrancis. The elder daughter is now a student in St. Joseph Academy in Des Moines and the younger children are at home.
Mr. McCarthy is a member of the Catholic church and also of the Knights of Columbus. He gives his political endorsement to the democratic party, but has never sought nor desired office, preferring to concentrate his energies upon his business affairs, in which he has met with signal success. He has never been unmindful of his duties and obligations in a public connection, and during the period of his residence in Cedar Rapids has supported and co÷perated in many movements for the general good. As the architect of his own fortunes he has builded wisely and well, and his commercial record, containing not a single esoteric phase, proves the truth of the old adage that "honesty is the best policy."
Judge William George Thompson
While a resident of Marion, Judge Thompson is widely known throughout the state and even far beyond the boundaries of Iowa. He was one of the founders of the republican party in Iowa, has been active in framing as well as interpreting the laws of the commonwealth and has also been a factor in shaping national legislation. His record is an honor and credit to the state which has honored him and the public service of no resident of Marion has been more fearless in conduct and stainless in reputation than that of Judge William George Thompson, who since 1853 has borne an important part in affairs of general moment.
A native of Center township, Butler county, Pennsylvania, he was born on the 17th of January, 1830, and in the paternal line comes of Scotch ancestry. His grandparents, John and Martha (Humes) Thompson, were both natives of Scotland
Caption: Judge William G. Thompsonand arrived in this country during the closing years of the eighteenth century -- the time of their emigration being 1798. John Thompson entered a farm in Butler county, Pennsylvania, and it was upon that place that William H. Thompson, the father of the Judge, was born and reared and there lived until his death, which occurred when he was seventy-three years of age. He left his family in comfortable circumstances as the result of his well directed energy and thrift. A gentleman of commanding stature, he stood six feet and five inches in height and weighed two hundred and forty pounds. His nature was a most peaceful one and in his disposition he was ever retiring. He never quarreled with anybody or entered into a law suit, and his influence was ever on the side of progress, reform and improvement rather than contention. His wife, who bore the maiden name of Jane McCandless, was also a native of Center township, Butler county, Pennsylvania,and was a daughter of John and Mary Ann (Smythe) McCandless, who came to America from County Antrim, Ireland, in 1798 and were of Scotch-Irish extraction. The maternal and paternal grandparents of Judge Thompson were all strict Presbyterians. His mother died at the age of sixty-eight years. She was never away from home over night in all her married life of forty-five years, displaying almost unparalleled devotion to her family.
Judge Thompson acquired his early education in a log schoolhouse about two miles and a quarter from his home. He attended there each winter between the ages of seven and seventeen years, after which he began teaching school in the winter seasons, while in the summer months he worked in the fields, thus assisting in the improvement and development of the home farm. At the age of nineteen years he entered the Witherspoon Institute, where he remained for two years as a student, although he continued to work on the farm during the harvest seasons. It was his desire to enter upon the study of law and to this end he became a student in the office of William Timblin, an attorney of Butler, Pennsylvania, taking care of the office and doing chores in payment for his board in the family of his employer. In two years he had qualified for the bar and was given a certificate entitling him to practice after thorough examination by a committee of which Judge Daniel Agnew was the chairman. This examination was held on the 15th of October, 1853, and in little more than a month later -- on the 27th of November -- Judge Thompson started west for Iowa, not knowing where he would locate. In Davenport he heard about the promising little town of Marion and hither wended his way, arriving in December of that year. He had neither capital, law library nor acquaintances, but he possessed good health, industry and ability and, deciding to remain, soon established himself firmly in public regard by reason of his salient characteristics and his professional qualifications. His first dollar was earned about two weeks after locating here in the trial of a suit before the justice of the peace. Those who listened to the trial recognized his ability and from that time on his success as a practitioner was assured. His reputation as a lawyer soon extended all over the state and he won considerable renown in the practice of criminal law, having defended in twelve murder cases, losing but two. He was also connected with the famous Bever contested will case and his name figures in connection with other important cases that have awakened widespread interest and have involved important points at law.
Judge Thompson is perhaps even more widely known in connection with his public service as a lawmaker, for he has been active in framing legislation in both the state and nation. He has always been a stalwart republican and for many years was the dominant leader of the party in this state. He was a delegate to the convention at Iowa City on the 22d of February, 1854, when James W. Grimes was nominated for governor and the republican party was organized in Iowa. Judge Thompson was first called to office when, in 1854, he was chosen prosecuting attorney of Linn county, being the first republican elected to office in this county. On the expiration of his term in that position he was elected to the state senate and sat as a member of the last senate held in Iowa City and at the first held in Des Moines. In 1864 he was chosen a presidential elector at large and with Ben C. Darwin as the other elector at large stumped the state and cast Iowa's vote for Abraham Lincoln, which he says was the proudest act of his life. Later he was elected district attorney for the district composing the counties of Linn, Jones, Cedar, Johnson, Iowa, Benton and Tama and served for six years, after which he declined to again become a candidate. His ability as a practitioner received further recognition when, in 1879, he was appointed chief justice of the territory of Idaho by President Hayes. He declined to accept but was urged to do so so strongly by his friends and members of congress that he at length acquiesced and held the term of court then provided for, but in March, 1879, having completed the term, he resigned. In November of the same year he was elected to congress and in 1881 was reŰlected, so that he sat for four years as a member of the house of representatives, giving to each vital question his earnest consideration and supporting or opposing each as his judgment dictated would be for the best interests of the nation. In 1886 he was elected to the lower house of the legislature and served for two years, during which time he was made one of the committee from the house to try John L. Brown, auditor of state, before the state senate, sitting as a court of impeachment. In September, 1894, he was appointed judge of the eighteenth judicial district by Governor Jackson to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of Judge Preston and was immediately thereafter nominated and elected to that office, in which he served for twelve years and four months, retiring from the bench in January, 1907, with a most creditable and honorable judicial record. His decisions were notably free from all personal prejudice or bias arising from any peculiarities of disposition or previously formed opinions; they were always a clear exposition of the law as related to the facts and the equity in the case, and he left the office with the honor and respect of his contemporaries in the courts and with a record which for ability falls in not the least iota short of that of any one who has sat upon the bench of the state.
Judge Thompson has never been defeated for any office for which he has been a candidate, and his conspicuous ability, vigorous character and innate honesty have won him many loyal friends among the able men of the state and nation. When in congress he was a member of the committee to try the contested election cases, upon which Colonel Robert G. Ingersoll was the attorney employed in seating many of these politicians. One morning before the court opened the Colonel entered and found Judge Thompson at work looking over some of the records. The great orator looked at the Iowa congressman and said: "Major, I like you." The Judge, hearing such an expression from the silver-tongued orator, questioned why. "Well, you see," said Ingersoll, "if I can establish the fact that my client has run on the republican ticket I have won my case, but it takes a good deal more to satisfy the other members of your committee." Judge Thompson won his military title, and by this he is frequently called, through active service in the Civil war. In 1862 he was commissioned major of the Twentieth Iowa Volunteer Infantry and was in command of the regiment for more than a year. He was severely wounded at the battle of Prairie Grove, Arkansas, December 7, 1862, and was at the siege and capture of Vicksburg. He then went to Texas and was present at the capture of Fort Arkansas Pass. A post was established there and Major Thompson was placed in command, so remaining until 1864, when he was honorably discharged from the service. He belongs to the Grand Army Post of Marion and is a member of the Loyal Legion. Fraternally he is connected with Marion Lodge, No. 2, I. O. O. F.; Marion Lodge, No. 6, F. & A. M.; Marion Chapter, No. 10, R. A. M.; and Patmos Commandery, No. 27, K. T.
It was on the 12th of June, 1856, that Judge Thompson was married to Miss Harriet J. Parsons, now deceased. One of their two children died in infancy, while the surviving son, John M. Thompson, is a prominent member of the Marion bar.
Along various lines Judge Thompson has won distinction, being recognized as a prominent representative, an able lawyer, a distinguished legislator and a fair and impartial judge. Of a long and crowded line of illustrious men of whom Iowa is justly proud the public life of few has extended over so long a period and none has been more varied in service and more constant in honor. Fame and prominence have come to him in recognition of his sterling qualities of mind and a heart true to every manly principle as well as his preŰminent ability as manifest in the framing and in the interpretation of the law through long years of active connection with the bench and bar
George Lincoln Snyder
George Lincoln Snyder, a retired merchant who is yet interested in financial enterprises and is widely known throughout Iowa as one of the most prominent Odd Fellows of the state, was born June 10, 1861, in Cambria county, Pennsylvania, and is a son of Samuel and Nancy (Hoover) Snyder. The father was also a native of the Keystone state and was a farmer by occupation. Removing to the middle west he brought his family to Linn county, Iowa, and purchased a farm in Marion township about three miles north of the county seat. The place is still known as the old Snyder homestead. The father devoted his energies untiringly to the development and cultivation of his farm until his death, which occurred September 13, 1893. He had survived his wife for only about a year, her death occurring on the 13th of August, 1892. Both were laid to rest in one of the Linn county cemeteries. In connection with general farming Mr. Snyder had carried on stock-raising and was well known because of his activity and success in that direction. His opinions came to be recognized as authority upon the work which engaged his attention. He was also interested in educational affairs of the public schools.
George L. Snyder became a pupil of the public school when five years of age and was graduated when fifteen years of age. The succeeding three years were devoted to farm labor, after which he pursued a course in the college at Mount Morris, Illinois. On leaving that institution he engaged in teaching school for about two years and then became a student in Coe College. Later he again followed teaching for a year, at the end of which time he turned his attention to commercial pursuits, securing a position as clerk in a grocery store. The firm for which he worked failed and Mr. Snyder then bought the business and resolutely took up the task of building up a good trade. He was not long in proving to the public that his methods of business and the well selected line of goods which he handled entitled him to a liberal patronage and he became the owner of one of the best grocery houses in Marion and enjoyed a very gratifying success. The extent of his business brought him a measure of success that at length enabled him to live retired. He is, however, one of the directors of the Home and Building Loan Association.
On the 27th of September, 1888, Mr. Snyder was united in marriage to Miss Cora Margaret Garrett, a daughter of Samuel A. and Mary E. (Webster) Garrett. Her parents came to Iowa from the east and are well known and prominent citizens of this county. Mr. and Mrs. Snyder have four children: Mary Lucille, who is a graduate of the Marion high school of the class of 1910; Paul DeWitt, Ruth and Margaret who are at home. They also lost one child, Samuel.
Mr. Snyder is one of the most prominent Odd Fellows of Iowa and has been accorded high honors in the society. He was made a member of Osceola Lodge No. 18, I. O. O. F., on the 7th of November, 1882, and is still identified with that organization. He was elected first to the position of outside guard, was later chosen secretary, afterward vice grand and then noble grand. He was chosen to represent the district in the grand lodge and was appointed one of the five members of the board of construction. Later he served successively as grand warden, deputy grand master and grand master, which is the highest office within the gift of the lodge in the state. He was further honored with election as grand representative to the sovereign grand lodge of the world. His wife belongs to the Daughters of Rebekah in which she takes a very prominent and helpful part. Mr. and Mrs. Snyder hold membership in the Presbyterian church, contribute liberally to its support and do all in their power to promote its progress. Wherever Mr. Snyder goes he wins high regard and in his home county the most unqualified respect and confidence is entertained for him.
Ambrose S. Jeffrey
Ambrose S. Jeffrey is closely associated with one of the important productive industries of this city as president of the Cedar Rapids Sash & Door Company and is likewise well known in financial circles, having voice in the management of the Commercial Savings Bank. For more than a half century he has been a witness of Iowa's growth and development as the conditions of pioneer life and early progress have been replaced by those of modern civilization and development. He was born in Cedar county, this state, on the 25th of June, 1858, and is a son of George and Lydia (Strong) Jeffrey, natives of England and Canada respectively. The father came to the United States with his parents in his boyhood days, at which time a settlement was made in Illinois. They had previously lived for a time on Prince Edward Island, had later removed to Canada and thence crossed the border into the American republic. Mrs. Jeffrey, the mother of our subject, had come to the new world with her parents in her girlhood and they, too, settled in Illinois, where she gave her hand in marriage to George Jeffrey. After living for a brief period in Illinois they came to Iowa about 1849 or 1850 and established their home in Cedar county, where Mr. Jeffrey entered government land. The state was then largely undeveloped and unimproved, many sections being still covered with the native prairie grasses and wild flowers, which gave beauty to the scene in the summer months, while in the winter the same district was covered with one unbroken sheet of snow. Mr. Jeffrey walked to Iowa City, then the capital of the state, to pay his taxes as occasion demanded and said there was but one house between his home and his destination. He died upon the old homestead farm which he had claimed on coming to Iowa and which he had developed and improved as the years passed by. He had survived his wife for five years, her death occurring in 1905.
Ambrose S. Jeffrey was reared on the old homestead and mastered the lessons in which instruction was given in the public schools. When seventeen years of age he began earning his own living and entered upon an apprenticeship to the carpenter's trade, which he followed in the employ of others for a time and then began contracting and building on his own account. He was thus associated with the substantial improvements of the community in which he lived, but later withdrew from that field of activity to engage in the lumber business. In 1887 he came to Cedar Rapids and for six years was employed as bookkeeper by F. H. Juckett, a lumber dealer. In 1883 he formed a partnership with Joseph H. Zimmerman and they purchased the lumber business of Hart Brothers. The partnership was maintained for two years, at the end of which time Mr. Zimmerman sold his interest to J. A. Limback, at which time the firm name of Limback & Jeffrey was assumed. This has since remained the style of the house and it has become a synonym for progressiveness in business and reliability in trade transactions. In 1903 the Cedar Rapids Sash & Door Company was organized and a year later Mr. Jeffrey was elected president, in which capacity he has since remained. He was also one of the organizers of the Cedar Rapids Savings Bank in 1907 and a year later was a factor in the organization of the Commercial National Bank, becoming a director of same. He possesses marked ability in coordinating forces and producing a unified and harmonious whole, and his success has followed as the legitimate sequence of his industry, determination and enterprise.
In 1880 occurred the marriage of Mr. Jeffrey and Miss Ella Allen, of Cedar county, Iowa, and their children are six in number: Arthur, who is associated with the J. B. Terry Company, dealers in electrical supplies, of which company he is a stockholder as well as of the Central Chandelier Company; Raymond, proprietor of the Central Chandelier Company of Cedar Rapids; Ina, at home; Verne, who is engaged in teaching instrumental music in this city; and Glen and Genevieve, who are high school students.
Mr. Jeffrey endorses fraternal movements which have their basic elements in a recognition of the brotherhood of mankind. He belongs to Mount Herman Lodge, No. 263, A. F. & A. M.; Trowel Chapter, No. 49, R. A. M.; Apollo Commandery, No. 25, K. T.; Iowa Consistory, No. 2, A. A. S. R.; and El Kahir Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S. He is also associated with Cedar Rapids Lodge, No. 251, B. P. O. E. He votes with the republican party and his endorsement is given to many progressive municipal measures, but public office has no attraction for him and he prefers to devote his energies to business affairs, which in their successful conduct demand men of energy, strong to plan and to perform and strong in their honor and good name.
All material on this site (c) 2000 by Sandra Sanchez
All rights reserved