These are out of the 1886 Portrait & Biographical Album of Knox Co., IL. They were typed by Kathy Mills & emailed to me. Thanks bunches & bunches Kathy...... My hat is off to you... woman...
if you need the source page and page numbers for your family files.
I thank you bunches & bunches.
To search this page to see if you have any of your relatives on it use your browser. Go to Edit at the top, scroll down to Find, click here, type in surname, click down.... Walla Walla there are many biographies here I haven't put in the 1886 Index as of yet. They are in the Free Find Search engine on the Index page or use your browser. Just haven't taken the time and also need to do a few other things but wanted these online now before the holidays. Merry Christmas everyone....
OTTO ANDERSON, of the firm of Peterson & Anderson, merchant tailors, Galesburg, was born in the parish of Jalaryd, State of Smollan, Middle Sweden, Sept. 18, 1849. He is the son of Anders and Britta Christine (Gustafson) Johnson. The parents had a family of six sons and four daughters, of whom two sons, Otto and John, came to this country, the latter of whom is a merchant tailor of Janesville, Wis. The subject of this sketch learned his trade at Bargo, Sweden, and followed it in his native land for a few years. In 1873, he came to Chicago, where he remained working for one year and then went to Rock Island, IL., where, after spending several months at his trade, he removed to Monmouth, this State. In 1876 he came to Galesburg, and six years later established himself in the business which he is at present following; the establishment is second to none in the city.
Mr. Anderson was married in Galesburg to Miss Eva, daughter of B. J. Nelson, Esq., a builder residing in Galesburg. She was born in Smollan, Sweden. Their family has been blest with a son, Joab Anders Edwin, born Feb. 7, 1883. Mr. Anderson is a pushing business man and a clever artist in his profession. He is a member of the I.O.O. F., also of the K. of P. and of the Business Men’s Club of Galesburg.
HARMON BROWN, the gentleman whose name heads this history is the son of Alfred G. and Mary (Murdoch) Brown, natives of Kentucky. He is a prominent farmer on section 30 of Henderson Township. His parents married and first settled in Breckenridge County, Ky., and thence emigrated to Knox County, IL. It was about the fall of 1830 when they took up their abode in Henderson Township, where they lived up to the date of their demise. His father died Oct. 8, 1865; the mother on March 29, 1869. They had a very interesting family of children, ten in number, of whom our subject was the third in order of birth, all of whom arrived at the age of man and womanhood except one which died in infancy. Alfred Brown, a younger brother, enlisted in the 82nd IL. Vol. Inf. under Col. McMurtry. He received an honorable discharge.
Harmon Brown was born in Breckenridge County, Ky., Nov. 28, 1825, and was only five years old when he came with his parents to Knox County. His early life was spent at home, and during this period he received a good common-school education. He subsequently attended Knox College for nearly three years, and on leaving that institution crossed the plains to California, with a drove of cattle. He was absent from home for 18 months, when he returned via the Isthmus to New York, and then to Illinois. Not long after this he became associated with W. A. Wood, in the grain trade, and they afterward engaged in general mercantile pursuits. He remained in the grain and mercantile business for four years before selling out. Six years later, during which interim he resided at Galesburg, he returned to Henderson Township, where he has since been occupied in farming, and is now the owner of 165 acres of good land, all of which is valuable and the greater portion tillable.
He was married in Kelly Township, Warren Co, IL., June 19, 1856, to Mary S. Adcock, daughter of George C. and Narcissa H. (Christian) Adcock. His wife’s grandfather was a Revolutionary soldier and fought under Washington when only 15 years old. He was one of those noble old time men who sought honor first, believing that all other good things would follow. His demise took place at the advanced age of 84 years. The parents of Mrs. Brown were natives of Virginia. In 1842 they came to Warren County and settled in Kelly Township, where the old gentleman died Jan. 11, 1866. His wife still survives him. By their happy union four children were born, of whom Mrs. Brown was the second. Her birth took place in West Virginia Dec. 26, 1834.
The subject of this biography is a gentleman of quiet demeanor and broad common sense. He is not an aspirant to office, though nevertheless carefully observing all movements in his vicinity affecting the public welfare. Mr. Brown was Deputy Sheriff under S. W. Brown, an uncle of Harmon Brown, now lives in Vancouver, Washington Territory. He was appointed Land Receiver by Abraham Lincoln, with headquarters at the above place.
Harmon Brown, for several years, has held the office of School Director and Trustee, a post to which his talents are eminently adapted. He is a leading member of the Masonic fraternity, in which he is in excellent standing. He is a member of Vesper Lodge, No 584, Galesburg; Horeb Chapter, No. 4, Rio. As a Republican and earnest politician he has from time to time displayed a discretion which has been favorably appreciated by his co-workers in politics.
CAPT. JAMES L. BURKHALTER, (SEE HIS BIO ALSO IN THE 1899 SECTION goes to his wife's name) President of the Farmer’s Bank of Galesburg, and Treasurer of Knox County, is the son of David and Marion (Marks) Burkhalter. He was born in Allentown, Pa., April 15, 1835, and was the eldest in a family of seven sons and four daughters. His parents were of German descent and in their home spoke only the language of their ancestry, so their children learned no English until they were old enough to attend school. The names of the brothers and sisters were Henry P., Savina, David F., Susan E., William, Mary A., Wayne, John, Anna E., and Charles M. Henry P. and Wayne are deceased; Susan E. became the wife of William Smythe and they have one son—William B.; William married Miss Clara Beard, and they are the parents of three children; John married Miss Anna Carkhuff. The balance of the children reside on the old homestead.
James L. Burkhalter was educated at the Saegerstown Academy, taught school a short time and studied law with a view to professional life. From some cause, however, he abandoned this idea and went to Meadville, Pa., and there worked at the carpenter’s trade until he was 21 years of age. He landed at Galesburg in April 1856, where he prosecuted his trade until the outbreak of the Civil War. After visiting various places he settled down at Maquon, and July 18, 1862, he received a commission from Gov. Yates authorizing him to raise a company of volunteers. As recruiting officer, he raised Co. F for the 86th IL Vol. Inf. and Co G for the 83rd IL. Vol. Inf. In camp at Peoria, Aug. 27, 1862, he was placed in command of Co. F, 86th Reg, and served his country faithfully and well until June 1865. He was on the staff of Gen. Dan. McCook at the time that officer was killed, and was subsequently on the staffs of Gens. Davis and Morgan, discharging in the meantime the various duties of Provost Marshal, Adjutant-General, Inspector-General, etc. During his whole connection with the army he was never absent from the post of duty. At the siege of Atlanta, while on the staff of Gen. Morgan, and acting as one of the topographical engineers, he was captured by a guerrilla, but his Orderly, observing the situation, rushed upon the “reb” with a force that changed his victory into defeat, and in less than two minutes the whilom captor was being led captive into the lines of the Union Army. While acting as staff officer on the staff of Gen. Morgan, at Bentonville, N.C., the Captain, while carrying dispatches, was compelled to cross a swamp, wading in water up to his waist, under the fire of both armies, and, strange to say, he almost miraculously escaped unharmed.
Capt. Burkhalter left the army with the commission of Major, but, failing to muster as such, he feels that he is scarcely entitled to that rank. At the close of the war he returned to Maquon, where he was for several years engaged in the lumber business, carrying on in the meantime the work of contractor and builder, and accumulating from various sources quite a sum of money. He became a stockholder and Director in the Farmers’ and Mechanics’ Bank in 1882, and in January following was chosen President of that concern. While a citizen of Maquon he held the office of Police Magistrate for 16 years. He was elected Treasurer of Knox County in 1875, and re-elected in 1877, 1879 and in 1882. He has long been recognized as an able Republican worker, and has represented that party as member of the County Central Committee for 12 years. He moved into Galesburg in 1884, where he has since resided.
Capt. Burkhalter is a member of the I.O.O. F. and A.F. & A.M., Eminent Commander of Galesburg Commandery, No. 8, and member of Peoria Consistory.
He was married at Maquon, Dec. 2, 1858, to Martha E. Adle, native of Genesee County, N.Y., and of German descent. Mr. and Mrs. B. have become the parents of eight children, namely: Charles F., Henry L., James, Dessie, John, Nellie, Robert, and Alvin P. Charles F. married Miss Osa Hoffman, daughter of James D. and Sarah Hoffman. They have one child, named James. Also biography and portrait from 1878 history of Knox Co., Il.
JOHN E. ERICKSON, of the firm Walberg & Erickson, grocers, 5 and 7 Prairie St., Galesburg, was born in the western part of Sweden, Aug. 1, 1854, and with his parents, Charles and Kate (Peterson) Erickson, came to America in 1867. He had attended school in his native country, acquiring the rudiments of an education in his mother tongue, and after coming to Galesburg applied himself to the study of the English language. He attended night schools and business college, thus fitting himself fairly for anything that he might undertake. He spent about a year and a half in Missouri, and two years in Chicago, and the rest of the time he has been in Galesburg.
For several years Mr. Erickson was employed as a clerk with Messrs. Olson & Hofflund in the grocery business and in 1881 engaged in the enterprise now receiving his attention.
He was married at Galesburg, Oct. 23, 1881, to Miss Saverina Mellquist, a native of Sweden, and there have been born to them two children—Aloin and Frederick, and the former died at the age of two years. Mr. Erickson is a member of the A.O.U.W., pays no attention to politics, attends strictly to his own business, and finds it profitable; in fact, he has not only worked his own way, but has aided those nearest to him. He is known as a man of integrity, and has the confidence and esteem of the public.
PETER ERICKSON, a first-class locomotive engineer of the C., B. & Q. R.R. lives in Galesburg. He was born in Sweden, Nov. 13, 1839, and with his parents, Erick and Annie (Peterson) Erickson, came to America in 1854. The father of Mr. Erickson was a hard-working farmer, and after coming to this country made a nice home for his family, consisting of four sons and three daughters.
Peter was on the farm until 17 years of age, when he began to work on the C., B. & Q. R. R. as an engine-wiper. At the end of three months he went to firing, and at the expiration of three years he was placed in charge of an engine. He made his first run as engineer in 1861 and since July of that year has pulled nothing but passenger trains. He has had but three accidents and never killed a passenger.
Twenty-eight miles west of Ottumwa, Iowa, in the summer of 1869, his engine, with himself and fireman, fell through Coal Creek Bridge, a distance of 28 feet, and into a seething flood that completely submerged the locomotive, carrying the brave engineer to the bottom, where he remained he never knew how long. When he recognized himself he was clinging to a willow, with nothing upon his person except his boots, one shirt-sleeve and his vest. At this writing (July 1886) Mr. Erickson is pulling the celebrated fast mail, every alternate day, between Galesburg and Ottumwa, running about 3,000 miles per month.
He is a member of the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers, a Knight of Pythias, and, with his family, belongs to the Lutheran Church.
He was married Nov. 11, 1865, to Miss Ella Swanson, at Galesburg, and their living children are Anna Elnora, Hattie Olivia, and Lillie Esther. Fannie E. died at the age of one year and a half, and Arthur T. at the age of eight years.
JOHN A. LEIGHTON, a goodly number of the prominent and respected citizens of Knox County, as well as wealthy farmers, came hither from Scotland. Of this nationality is the subject of this notice, residing on section 13, Sparta Township, where he is actively engaged as an agriculturist. He was born Feb. 10, 1829, of William and Isabelle (Ironside) Leighton, likewise natives of Scotland.
The parents emigrated to the United States in 1834, and for four years were residents of New York City, where his father was engaged for two years as a clerk in a wholesale store, the firm being Chalmers, Jones & Hizer, after which he was employed by Horace Greeley as bookkeeper, and worked for him two years at that occupation. Mr. Greeley probably gave him the same advice which he subsequently made public: “Go west, young man, and grow up with the country,” for in August 1838, we find Mr. Leighton settled in Knoxville, where he had previously purchased a farm, and on his arrival settled on it and diligently engaged in its labors, hoping that the plow would prove more remunerative than the pen, and such indeed proved to be true, at least in his case. He remained on this place for two years, when he removed to the old Knox farm and there lived for two years. He then returned to New York City and clerked for the same dry goods firm he had formerly worked for, and remained with them a little over a year. Returning to this county, he engaged in the mercantile trade at Knoxville, which he followed for eight years, when he sold out and moved to his farm on section 12, Copley Township. He had by this time become the owner of 900 acres of land, all in a body, and on this he lived and labored until his death, in 1861, his wife having died in 1836. He formed a second matrimonial alliance in 1839, and the wife died in 1867. Mr. L. had a family of six children—John, Mary A., James, Lockhart, William, and Charles. Lockhart died in 1840, and Charles in 1853. James was killed in the battle of Chickamauga, Sept. 20, 1863, holding, at the date of his death, the position of Major in the 42nd IL. Vol. Inf.
John A. Leighton lived with his parents until he attained the age of manhood, prior to which time he was engaged in working on the farm and teaming from his home to Chicago and Peoria, and when opportunity would permit, attending the common schools. After leaving the parental roof-tree, he rented a farm on section 16, Copley Township, which he continued to cultivate until he purchased 160 acres on section 17 of the same township.
He was married in 1850 to Miss Jessie Russell. In 1864 he made an exchange with his brother William for his interest in the old homestead, which he now owns, and on which he is living at this writing. In 1854 Mr. Leighton built a steam saw-mill on his farm, which cost him $3,000. In 1869 he engaged in the hardware business at Oneida village, and continued in mercantile pursuits for five years. He then disposed of his business, and since that time has been engaged in stock-raising, his specialty being horses.
Mr. Leighton has a fine farm of 365 acres, and in both branches of his vocation is meeting with that success which energy and perseverance are sure to bring. He is a Republican in politics, and had held the office of Road Commissioner, and also of Constable and School Director, for 10 years.
Mr. and Mrs. Leighton became the parents of four children, whom they named Isabelle, William, Ellen and Jessie. The wife died in 1859, and Mr. Leighton was a second time married, when Mrs. Jane Brant became his wife, March 21, 1860. She is a daughter of David and Margaret (Gregg) Young, natives of Scotland. Her parents came to America in 1833, and located in Canada, where they lived one year, when they went to New York City, where in 1840, her father died. Her mother came to this State in company with Mrs. Leighton, and died here in 1868. Of the latter union a son, James, has been born.
Mr. Leighton, of whom we have given a brief biographical notice, as a representative of the agricultural class of Sparta Township is the peer of any. His past has been an honorable one, and he is today one of the respected and foremost citizens, not only of his township, but of Knox County.
J. W. LINDQUIST, came to Galesburg direct from Christianstadt, Sweden, in 1869, and has here since followed his trade, that of a blacksmith, which he learned in his native country. He was born Oct. 10, 1843. His mother came with him to America, and is living here at this writing (January 1886). The Lindquists, that is, the immediate family of the subject of this sketch, are now and have been for generations remarkable for their physical proportions. J. W. is himself a Hercules; his father was of ordinary size; his brothers are powerful men, and his grandfather, who by the Swedish system of naming was known as Swan Jos, was about seven feet tall, broad and muscular in proportion; he could span 17 inches with thumb and finger of one hand, and lived to attain the age of 98 years.
Coming first to Galesburg, J. W. Lindquist sought employment with Frost & Co., and was with the firm for ten years in charge of a blacksmith department. In 1879 he formed a partnership with Mr. Norine, where he is a present “hammering iron into gold”.
He was married at Galesburg, June 6, 1879, to Miss Ella Bergland, a native of Sweden, and they have one child—Lillie Estella. Mr. and Mrs. L. are members of the Lutheran Church.
GEORGE W. MEAD, among the prominent and influential farmers of Knox County is the subject of this brief biography, who is known as being active and enterprising in his particular line of business. By industry and energy, coupled with a determination to succeed, he has from a very small beginning enlarged and added to his possessions until today he may be rated among the best men of the country. He is an accurate and able financier and has the ability to execute whatever he begins.
Mr. Mead came to Knox County in February, 1862 from Mercer County, IL., where he settled in Rio Township, after first purchasing 80 acres of land. Here he began his work by the erection of substantial farm buildings, commodious, neat and attractive. He successfully cultivated and improved his land, and is today the owner of 135 acres, most of which is tillable and productive. He now reaps the benefit of bounteous crops, and is known as one of the best and most substantial men in the county.
The subject of our narrative was born in Chautauqua County, N.Y., July 20, 1830, and lived in that State until he attained the age of 13 years. He then went into Pennsylvania, and remained four years, at the end of which time he removed to Ohio, where he spent three years, and in 1854 came to Warren County, IL. Two years later he removed to Mercer County, where he tarried for a short interval and finally came to Knox County.
He was united in marriage with Miss Alvira, daughter of Aaron and Hannah (Davis) Proctor, natives of New Hampshire. Their nuptials were celebrated in Geauga County, Ohio in 1853. Mrs. Mead was born in Weare, N.H., May 3, 1829, and is the mother of six children, as follows: Eugene, Willis, Homer, Franklin, Ella and Loren. Eugene and Willis are deceased. Mr. Mead is actively interested in local and public affairs and fills many of the minor offices. He has been Director in the school district for some time; he takes part in political debates and is a Republican in sentiment and vote.
STEPHEN OSBORN, whose parents were foremost in the ranks of those brave pioneers who many years ago came into the wilderness and by dint of their strong will and persevering industry, coupled with uprightness of purpose, began the work of improvement and caused the silence to be broken by the sound of the hammer and the ax, is distinguished as being the first white male child born in Knox County. He has therefore been identified with its progress, and resident in its now busy midst, and can look back as he remembers the old, quiet days, and see the changes that civilization has made.
Mr. Osborn was born at Henderson Grove, Aug. 9, 1830. His father, Alexander Osborn, was reared in Indiana, where his parents were early settlers. The date of his birth was April 25, 1802, and at the age of 27 his second marriage occurred, he being united to Miss Ann Hendricks, in the year 1829, and he soon afterward came to Knox County. The journey was made overland, and reaching his destination they first located at Henderson Grove, where he lived a short time, then removed to Knox Township, and bought a farm near the city. He lived on this for a short time and then removed to the north part of the township and purchased a tract of unimproved land, and after cultivating it sold out and removed to Sparta Township. There he bought a farm, which after a few years he also sold, and went to the village of Wataga and bought property and lived until 1879. Again disposing of his property, he removed to Frankfort, Kan., where his friends celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary and where his wife died in the fall of 1879, and four months later he followed her. His second matrimonial alliance was blest by the birth of seven children. There are two children living of the first marriage—Elizabeth, widow of William Collins, who lives in Kansas, and E. Jane, widow of George Pitman, who lives in Lyons, Kan. The children of the second marriage are as follows: Stephen, our subject; Dorinda, wife of Samuel Vangilder, who lives in Kansas; Robert K. who lives in Marshall County, Kan.; Lucinda, wife of Martin Key, now deceased; Andrew J. who lives in Knox County; Thomas who lives in Union County, Iowa; and William who is at present City Marshal of Girard, Kansas.
Stephen Osborn of whom we write was reared in his native county, and educated in the public schools. He was married April 27, 1851 to Elizabeth Vangilder, who was born in Indiana and is the daughter of Samuel and Nancy (Stephenson) Vangilder. They have five children living—Alexander, who resides in Orion, Henry County; Ella, wife of W. W. Thompson, whose home is in Dallas County, Iowa; Samuel, Edward, and George W. Anna died April 15, 1886, aged twelve years and eight months.
Mr. Osborn has lived in Knox County, with the exception of ten years spent in Mercer and Henry Counties, all his life. He bought the place he now owns in 1882, and it is situated on section 3, in Knox Township. He is at present engaged with his son, Edward, in man’s original calling, that of gardening and fruit-raising, and they maintain the reputation of furnishing as fine fruit and plants as can be obtained anywhere. Both Mr. and Mrs. Osborn are hospitable and popular neighbors and friends, and good cheer is found around their pleasant hearthstone. They are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and show forth in their daily lives the gentle attributes of a noble religion, as exhibited in the life of Christ Jesus.
GEN. PHILIP SIDNEY POST, whose portrait we give in this album, is a native of Orange County, N.Y., and was born March 19, 1833. He is a son of Gen. Peter Schuyler Post, a soldier of 1812. His mother, before marriage, was Mary Coe, and like his father was a native of New York State. The Posts came from Holland originally and the Coes from England. The senior Gen. Post was a farmer by occupation. He married Miss Coe in Rockland County, N.Y. in 1820 and of the two sons born to them, Philip Sidney was the younger. The family came to Galesburg in 1854, and here the father died in 1861. His mother is yet living at the age of 86 years, and resides with her son.
The youth of the subject of our sketch was spent at school, and he graduated with honors from Union College, Schenectady, N.Y., in the Class of 1855. He afterward was a student at the Poughkeepsie (N.Y.) Law School. He subsequently began the practice of his profession at Wyandotte, Kan. At the outbreak of the war he came to Galesburg, entered the service of the United States, and became Second Lieutenant of Co. A., 58th IL. Vol. Inf. From Second Lieutenant he was promoted to First Lieutenant and Adjutant, then to Major, Colonel and finally to Brigadier-General, in which capacity his name is linked and identified with the history of our country, and will go down to posterity immortalized in the printed pages detailing the incidents of the great American conflict.
While in the service he participated in many of the hardest-fought battles in the south and southwest. He was at Pea Ridge, Perryville, Stone River, Nolensville, the Tullahoma campaign, Chickamauga, the Atlanta campaign and many other minor engagements not designated in history as regular battles. At Lovejoy Station, the last battle in the Atlanta campaign, Gen. Post had charge of a division, which he handled so skillfully as to earn for himself honorable mention. After recovering from the wound received at Nashville he was stationed at San Antonio, Texas, where he had command of 16 regiments of infantry. He left the military service in February 1866.
Immediately after the terrible battle of Nashville Gen. George H. Thomas filed at the War Department a special report earnestly recommending Gen. Post’s appointment as Colonel of the regular army. He said:
“Gen. Post is an active, energetic and intelligent officer, and his bravery in battle is beyond question. His capability and efficiency as a commander of troops has been fully demonstrated.”
In a similar report addressed to the Secretary of War by his corps commander, Gen. Post’s military record is thus reviewed:
“I most respectfully and earnestly recommend Brig. Gen. Philip Sidney Post as Colonel in the regular army of the United States. Gen. Post entered the army as a Second Lieutenant, but soon rose by his superior merits to Major. He commanded his regiment in the obstinately fought battle of Pea Ridge and was severely wounded. Shortly after that battle he was promoted Colonel of his regiment. Returning to the field, even before his wound was recovered, he rejoined his regiment in front of Corinth and was placed in command of a brigade. From that time to the end of the war, Gen. Post’s career was an unbroken term of arduous service, useful labor and brilliant actions. He participated honorably in some of the most obstinately contested battles and glorious victories of the war. In the great battle and decisive triumph of Nashville, Gen. Post’s brigade did more hard fighting and rendered more important service than any like organization in the army. In the grandest and most vigorous assault that was made on the enemy’s entrenchments, near the close of the fighting on the second day, Gen. Post fell, and, as it was at first supposed, mortally wounded, at the head of his brigade, leading it to the onslaught. A discharge of grape instantly killed his horse under him and tore away a portion of his left hip. I know of no officer of Gen. Post’s grade who has made a better or more brilliant record.”
On the re-organization of the army the Secretary of War informed Gen. Post of these recommendations and that they were favorably considered, but as peace was then established he decided not to remain in the military service.
Immediately after leaving the army Gen. Post was appointed to the Foreign Service. The following letter from the Department of State fully explains the character and nature of that service, and the reputation made therein during a period of over 13 years:
DEPARTMENT OF STATE,
WASHINGTON, March 19, 1881.
“Gen. Philip S. Post, Galesburg, Ill.—Sir: Your letter of the 17th inst., requesting a brief statement respecting your reputation and standing as an officer in the consular service, has been received. In reply I have to say that it gives me great pleasure to comply with the request. It appears from the records of the Department that you entered the consular service in 1866 as Consul at Vienna; that you were promoted for your ability and fidelity to be Consul-General at that place in 1874, and that you retired from the service by resignation in 1879. An examination discloses that many important duties, in addition to the more formal business of your office, were entrusted to you during your long connection with the Department, and they were performed in a manner that commanded its approval and commendation. Your reputation in the service and your character as a representative of the Government were known to the Department and in the service, and to the high opinion entertained of your standing by my predecessor and the officers of the Department may be added the testimony of your colleagues and my own personal and official acquaintance with the reputation which distinguished your career abroad. It was a subject of much regret that circumstances compelled your resignation, but in your retirement from the service you carried with you the regard and esteem of the Department, and the character of an intelligent, capable and trusted officer of the Government. “I am, General, your obedient servant, “JOHN HAY, Assistant Secretary”.
Gen. Post returned to Galesburg in 1880, and since 1883 has been engaged in real estate. He was prominently mentioned among the contestants for nomination to congressional honors in 1884.
At no time in his life could it truthfully be said that Gen. Post has been a politician, a wire-worker or a time-server. When the people of the district shall come to think that the army record and civil life of Gen. Post warrant his election as their servant in any public trust commensurate with his abilities, then, and not till then, may it be said that he is a candidate for office. Gen. Post has accumulated in his life no pecuniary fortune. As Colonel and brigade commander, and as foreign representative, he received no such salary as would enable him to store up wealth. Instead of making money his army life naturally produced a contrary result. Though contrary to our rule, forbidding conclusions in reference to living men in biography, the writer knows that he can truthfully say that Gen. Post is a scholar of rare attainments, and at all times, and under all circumstances a gentleman. Sometime in 1878, a prominent Southerner, transmitting some papers to Gen. Post from Kentucky, took occasion to say in his letter, among other things: “In the hour spent at my house, as Buell’s army was passing, in the fall of 1862, you taught me by your gentlemanly bearing and general discourse to lay aside my sectional aspersions for the time, and do homage to the high personal attributes and liberal sentiments so signally manifested by you on that occasion.”
A Chicago Times editorial, of March 28, 1874, is here reproduced in further corroboration of the foregoing conclusions of the writer:
“The American Consul at Vienna is an impetuous son of Illinois, of more service to the country in a month than many in a year. Free from humbuggery and devoid of the nonsense of affectation, he has a cheery greeting alike for the traveling millionaire and the penniless sailor.”
Gen. Post takes no stock in shams. He believed in fighting the battles for the Union while there was an armed foe, and with “the fury of the non-combatants,” of whom the late Gen. Grant spoke as having gone into the fight too long after the war was over, he has but little sympathy. He is a plain, everyday sort of a man, with many original ideas, which he always expresses elegantly, but, like Dickens, in a language that all can comprehend.
As a public speaker he ranks high, his language being choice and elegant, logic clear and forcible and his manner pleasing, and the deep conviction he has of the sentiments uttered carries with him the feelings and sentiments of his hearers. Had we the space we could make many choice literary selections from his speeches. He has been the distinguished orator at many noted gatherings and always wins great favor and applause.
Gen. Post is a married man. He married, May 24, 1866, Miss Cornelia A. Post, daughter of Hon. William T. Post, of Elmira, N.Y. Their children are Harriette H., Philip Sidney, and William Schuyler. He attends the Episcopal Church, is Knight Templar in Masonry, member-at-large of the Republican State Central Committee, and Commander of the Department of Illinois, Grand Army of the Republic.
AUGUSTUS E. REMIER, of the firm Remier & Linberg, manufacturers of wagons and carriages, 108 South Prairie Street, Galesburg, was born in France, Sept. 28, 1828. He came to America with his parents, Peter and Catherine (Glatt) Remier, in the year 1832. The family resided for several years at Utica, N.Y., where the senior Mr. R., who was a farmer, died at the age of 62 years, in the year 1861. They reared seven sons and three daughters, Augustus being the eldest.
Our subject acquired a common-school education and learned the cabinet-maker’s trade while a boy, and followed it about six years. He then left Utica and at another city manufactured piano cases for ten years; returning then to his old home, he worked for five years at wagon and carriage making, and in 1865 came to Galesburg and engaged in his present business.
Mr. Remier was married at Fort Plain, N.Y. in 1852, to Miss Martha Rickard, a native of that place, and their children are Charles, a carriage trimmer, at Peoria; William, machinist at the C., B.& Q. shops at Galesburg; Daisy (Mrs. Joe Simcoskey) and Lizzie, deceased in October 1882.
Mr. Remier and his partner deservedly stand at the head of the wagon and carriage making and repairing business at Galesburg.
JOHN M. SIPES, there are many successful and well-to-do farmers in Knox County, and the township of Lynn certainly has its quota. Prominent among those who have obtained success in life through their own energy and perseverance is the subject of this notice, residing on section 2, Lynn Township, where he is engaged in his chosen vocation, together with that of the raising of stock, giving special attention to Holstein cattle and a high grade of swine. Mr. Sipes came to this county in 1862, since which time he has been a resident of Lynn Township. He owns a good farm of 130 acres, on which he has good improvements, and his land is under an advanced state of cultivation.
John M. Sipes was born in Fulton Co., Pa., Jan. 31, 1840. His father, John Sipes, was a farmer by vocation, and a native of Pennsylvania, of German ancestry. In Bedford County, that State, her native place, the father of our subject married Mary Barton. After the father’s marriage, he was, for some years, engaged in farming in Bedford County, and while a resident there was elected three terms to represent the people of that county in the State Legislature. He was a gentleman of considerable ability, and possessed the happy faculty of making and retaining friends wherever he resided. He was a strong Democrat, and was an active worker for the success of that party until his death. He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He came to this county in 1857, but located over the line, at Galva, in close proximity to which place the father engaged in agricultural pursuits, and died on his fine homestead Jan. 14, 1881, aged 82 years. The mother still survives, and is living with the subject of this notice. She has attained the venerable age of 88 years and is stouter and more healthy than many of her sex at 40.
Mr. Sipes was 17 years of age when his parents came to this State, and had received his education in the common schools prior to that time. He lived with his parents in this county until his marriage, which took place in Henry County, Dec. 20, 1876, Miss Emma A. Hayward becoming his wife. She was born in Lawrence County, Ohio, Sept 11, 1852, and was a daughter of O. G. and M. Hayward, natives of Ohio. Her parents were married in that State and came to Illinois about 1855, settling in Victoria Township, this county. Later they moved to Walnut Grove Township, and still later to Henry County. They now reside in Newton, Harvey Co, Kansas. Mrs. Sipes received a good education in her early years, and at the age of 22 began the profession of teaching, which she followed until her marriage. She has borne her husband four children, one of whom is deceased. The record is as follows: John H., William F., Mary O., and Charlie, deceased. Both heads of the family are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Sipes is School Trustee of his township, and in politics a Democrat.
GEORGE AVERY, one of the oldest and most highly esteemed citizens of Knox County is Mr. George Avery, of Galesburg. He was born in Columbia County, N.Y., Dec. 2, 1802. His parents, William and Phebe (Throop) Avery, were of New England ancestry, although slightly tinged with foreign blood. The former died in the east when our subject was a young man. They had a family of eight children—George, Nathan, Clarissa, Hyde T., William T., Deborah, John T., and Cornelia. Nathan was a physician, and married a Miss Rivers of Tennessee. Both are deceased, leaving one son, William T., who has served in Congress from Tennessee. Clarissa married Silas Churchill and both she and her husband are deceased. They left a family of five children, three boys and two girls. Both Hyde T. and William T. are also deceased, the latter dying in Indiana. Deborah married John Kendall, the celebrated thermometer-maker of New Lebanon, N.Y., where they now reside; three daughters have been born to them. John T. married Sarah Whiting, and resides in Cleveland, Ohio, and has a family of five boys and two girls. Cornelia became the wife of William Ball, and is living in New York.
Alternating the duties of a farm life with attendance at the common school, our subject passed his younger life in the vicinity of New Lebanon, N.Y. Early manhood found him possessed of a very fair English education. He was about 34 years of age when he came west, and the year 1836 found him upon the ground now occupied by the city of Galesburg. Indeed he was one of the first members of that society known as the Early Settlers’ or Pioneers’ Association, the object of which was to found a Christian College. It will be highly proper in this connection to speak of him as one of the most enterprising, industrious and active workers that ever entered Knox County.
The farm on which he lived up to 1867 was that piece of property which he purchased in the beginning, joining the corporate limits of the village, and he has come as near witnessing every step of the growth of this place as any living man. In the year last named (1867) he turned his farm over to his sons and retired to private life. Through a citizenship of full half a century, mingling daily with people who so rapidly settled around him, transacting business with hundreds, aye, with thousands in the aggregate, it is remarkable that not once in his life has he ever been summoned to court to answer the complaint of any man. He began life a poor boy, and has since inherited nothing except the reward that always eventually descends to the industrious and persevering. He was so fortunate as to add to his possessions a wife of many worthy attributes and a helpmate in its truest sense, one of those women whose price is above rubies. Together they have labored, and age finds him possessed of an ample competency. He was active among the early railway organizations of this place, and in fact all public enterprises of merit ever found in him a substantial friend and a strong advocate.
When Mr. Avery came to this county, the trip was made by the usual overland route, requiring eight weeks’ time to make it. A gentleman by the name of Col. Mills brought a colored boy about 12 years of age with him from New York. Mr. Mills dying, his widow requested Mr. Avery to take charge of the boy, which he did and was compelled to pay taxes upon him the same as he did upon his horses. Mr. Avery, being a strong Abolitionist, wrote back to New York for the boy’s free papers, to show that he was not taxable property.
Mr. Avery’s marriage was celebrated Jan. 24, 1839, in Knox County, when he was united in holy matrimonial bonds with Miss Seraphina Princess Mary Phelps, a native of Massachusetts. She was the daughter of Col. Aaron N. and Clarissa (Root) Phelps, natives of Westfield, Mass. The Phelps family is one of the oldest in New England. Two brothers landed in America May 30, 1630, coming from England on the ship “Mary and John”, commanded by Capt. Squibb. Aaron N. Phelps was a colonel in the War of 1812. Mrs. Avery was born Jan. 19, 1815 and was the eldest of a family of three children. The others, who are deceased, were Mrs. Sybelana Kilbourn and Royal A. N. Mrs. Avery came to this county in 1836 with her mother, her father having died six years before. They settled in what is now Galesburg, where the mother died in 1856.
Mr. and Mrs. Avery have had born to them seven children, as follows: Robert H., President of the Avery Corn-Planter Company of Peoria; John T. a farmer of Rio Township, this county; Mary, now Mrs. Rev. William R. Butcher of Wataga; Cyrus M. of Avery & Co. of Peoria; Phebe T. now living at home; and George, a farmer of Kansas. Fredrick Arthur died when about three years old. Robert H., the eldest son, married Miss Sarah P. Ayers; they are the parents of five children—Minnie E., Fredrick A., Sadie T., Cornelia, and Ellen K. Robert enlisted in Co. A, 77th IL Vol. Inf. in 1862, and served until the close of the war. He was taken prisoner and placed in Andersonville prison, where he remained for about eight months. He is the inventor of the Avery Corn-Planter, as well as other useful implements, and owns a controlling interest in the factory at Peoria. John T. took to wife Mrs. Flora Olmsted. Mary became the wife of Rev. William R. butcher, and they have five children—Harry E., Mary Z., Etha, William, and Irene. Cyrus M. married Miss Minnie E. Bartholomew, and to them have been born three children—Elvira P., George L, and Grace O. George married Miss Ada Wood, and they are the parents of three children; the name of the only one living is Edith L. Cyrus M., who is now Secretary of the Avery Corn-Planter Company, graduated from Knox College, standing No. 1 in his class.
Mr. and Mrs. Avery are consistent, sympathetic Christians, and are connected by profession of faith with the First Church of Christ. Mr. Avery is a stanch Republican and Prohibitionist.
***The portraits of no worthier couple are given in the Album than those of Mr. and Mrs. Avery. need to put online.
ALFRED H. BLICK, recorder of College City Lodge, No. 214, A.O.U.W., and salesman in the noted dry goods house of G. A. Murdoch, Galesburg, IL, is a native of Stroud, in the county of Gloucestershire, England. He was born July 27, 1846, and came to America in 1869. He was educated in England, and there served an apprenticeship at the dry goods trade, something unheard of in this country. His first position in this country was as a clerk in a large dry goods house on Broadway, New York, where he remained about eight months, coming thence direct to Galesburg, he having made arrangements with Mr. G. A. Murdoch, as salesman, and with whom he has since remained.
In 1882, at the organization of College City Lodge, of which he was a charter member, he was chosen their Recorder, which position he has since held.
Mr. A. H. Blick was married on Thanksgiving Day, 1872, at the Episcopal Church in this city, to Miss Marion Dick, also a native of England, and their children are named respectively Alfred James, Bertha Elizabeth, and Dick Ernest Blick.
CAPT. BENJAMIN F. HOLCOMB, Justice of the Peace. The subject of this sketch was born at Westport, N.Y., July 24, 1821. His parents, Dr. Diodorous and Sylvia (Loveland) Holcomb, were natives of the States of Vermont and New York respectively, and of English and Welsh extraction. They reared to man and womanhood ten sons and five daughters, and buried two infants. Dr. Holcomb was a surgeon in the War of 1812-14, and practiced his profession as long as he lived. He was a prominent member of the Methodist Church. He buried his wife in 1839, at the age of about 50 years; he lived to be upward of 80 years of age, dying in Essex County, N.Y. in 1860.
B. F. Holcomb was educated reasonably well at the common schools and academy in his native county, and when about 16 years of age began clerking in a store at Whitehall, N.Y. He subsequently learned the tailoring trade. In 1844 he set up a merchant tailoring establishment for himself, in Schroon, N.Y.; in 1848 he returned to his native town, and remained until 1855, at which time he came to Galesburg, where he was employed as “cutter” for the succeeding three years. In the spring of 1859 he was elected City Treasurer, which office he resigned in July 1861, to enter the United States Army. September 1st of that year, he was mustered in as Captain of Co. K., 45th IL. Vol. Inf. and served for three years and four months. Early in July 1862, he was placed by detachment as an Aid-de-Camp upon Gen. Logan’s staff, from which he was transferred, in the fall of 1863, to Gen. Leggett’s staff, where he remained until he left the service. Before his detachment upon staff duty he participated in the battles of Fort Henry, Fort Donelson and Shiloh, receiving at the last named engagement a gunshot wound in his right side, which removed him from duty about three months, and from which he never fully recovered. Subsequently he took part in the battles of Port Gibson, Raymond, Jackson, Champion Hills, Big Black, the siege of Vicksburg, Kenesaw Mountain, Atlanta and Sherman’s march to the sea. Leaving the service at the close of the war at Savannah, Ga., in 1865, he then returned to Galesburg, and for 16 consecutive years discharged the duties of Constable, three years of the time filling also the office of Deputy Sheriff. In 1882 he entered into a contract with the authorities for furnishing lights and lamps for the outskirts of the city, to which he has since devoted much of his time. In April 1885, the people by a large majority placed him in the office of Justice of the Peace, where he will be found, probably, in the spring of 1889.
May 14, 1844, Mr. Holcomb was married in Essex County, N.Y., to Miss Elizabeth A. Towner, a native of St. Johns, Canada East, and of their eight children we have the following brief memoranda: Watson T. is an ornamental and landscape painter, at Dillon, Mon.; Theodore C. is a ranch owner in Kingman County, Kan.; Edwin P. is a farmer in Rice County, Kan.; Arthur B. is a locomotive fireman on the C., B. & Q.R.R.; Ella A. is the widow of Mr. C. C. Converse; Frances I., Mrs. Eugene S. Regnier; Libbie M., Mrs. L. A. Greenwood of Galesburg; and Hattie P., Mrs. I. G. Mair of Kingman County, Kan.
Captain Holcomb is a member of the G.A.R. and politically votes with the Republican party.
CHARLES W. LEFFINGWELL, Dr. Leffingwell, Rector of St. Mary’s School, Knoxville, was born Dec. 5, 1840, and is the son of Rev. Lyman and Sarah Chapman (Brown) Leffingwell, natives of Connecticut. The paternal grandfather, Joseph Leffingwell, was born in Norwich, Conn., and was a lineal descendant of Lieut. Thomas Leffingwell, leader of the colony that founded that place.
Rev. Lyman Leffingwell, father of our subject, was a farmer boy, and obtained his higher education after he had attained the age of maturity. After a long and useful ministry in the Methodist Church, he died in Knoxville, in 1880, at the age of 71.
When a youth, Charles Wesley Leffingwell prepared for Yale College, by attending Temple School, New Haven, but entered the Sophomore Class of Union College, Schenectady, N.Y. His health being somewhat impaired by close application to study, he came to this State, whither his parents had preceded him. Soon after his arrival here, and when but 17 years of age, he engaged in teaching, having 60 pupils under his charge near Dundee, Kane County. He afterward taught one season in the Military Institute, at Kirkwood, Mo., and then went to Galveston, Texas, in company with Rev. Benjamin Eaton, with whom he lived for several years. While there he held the position of Deputy Surveyor of the city and county, and taught a select school. At the commencement of the War in 1861, he returned to this State, and matriculated at Knox College, Galesburg, where he graduated with honors in June 1862. From his Alma Mater he received in 1875 the honorary degree of Doctor of Divinity.
On the 23rd of July 1862, Dr. Leffingwell was united in marriage with Elizabeth, daughter of John Francis, formerly of Kent, England, and at that time a resident of Chautauqua County, N.Y., a real estate dealer and Notary Public. Mr. Leffingwell soon after became Vice-Principal of the Military Institute at Poughkeepsie, N.Y., being under Mr. C. B. Warring. At the expiration of three years he began to prepare for the Episcopal ministry, under Rev. Dr. Traver of Poughkeepsie, and completed his theological course in the seminary at Nashotah, Waukesha Co, Wis., where he graduated in 1867, receiving the degree of B. D. After his ordination by Bishop Whitehouse, having served four months as assistant to Rev. Dr. Rylance of St. James’ Church, Chicago, he was elected tutor at the Nashotah Theological Seminary. While a student there he had supported himself and family by organizing and conducting a select school, which he continued to carry on successfully while a tutor in the seminary. Before a year had expired he was called from his tutorship to establish and take charge of a diocesan school for girls in Knoxville, this State, and accordingly St. Mary’s School was opened on Monday in Easter Week, A. D. 1868.
The school building as it then stood was offered to the diocese on condition that a boarding and day-school be established and successfully maintained for a period of five years. Under Mr. Leffingwell’s control the school within four years outgrew its accommodations, and received from Hon. James Knox, LL. D., a gift of $10,000 for the enlargement of the building. In addition to this sum about $4,000 was contributed by the Church, and $12,500 was advanced by the Rector for the improvement of the property. The building was completed and liberally furnished with everything requisite to make the school successful and attractive.
Early on the morning of Jan. 4, 1883, St. Mary’s School building and all its contents were consumed by fire, but all the pupils were successfully removed without the loss of life. During the same month, be it said to the credit of him who was at the head of the institution, the school reopened in Ansgari College building, to which an annex 25 X 100 feet had been constructed and furnished in 20 days. The new St. Mary’s building was begun in May 1883, and in October of that year the school reopened, thoroughly equipped.
St. Mary’s School in known throughout the entire country, and has continued to receive the commendation of the bishops and clergy, with assurance of approval from many patrons in various parts of the country. The school now numbers 125 pupils, about 100 of whom board in the institution. There are at this writing 16 officers and teachers, and about 20 domestics employed. The business of the school involves the expenditure of $40,000 annually.
In 1879 Dr. Leffingwell became editor and proprietor of the Living Church, a weekly religious newspaper printed at Chicago, and the organ of the Protestant Episcopal Church, and has since conducted that paper with signal success, residing the while at Knoxville. The paper has now the largest circulation of any paper in the Episcopal Church.
Dr. and Mrs. Leffingwell have become the parents of seven children—Anna and Bertha, who died in infancy, and Alice, Warring, Ernest, Hortense and Gertrude, living.
GEORGE LOY, foreman of the car blacksmith shops of the C., B. & Q.R.R. Co., of Galesburg, was born near Emmittsburg, Frederick Co, Me., Sept, 17, 1823. His parents were George and Louisa (Shattuck) Loy, of Maryland, who came of a long line of ancestry in that State. Mr. Loy is descended from a family of artisans, many of whom are well known in that capacity in the east. He completed his trade in his native State, and upon attaining the age of manhood, he went west and located at Mount Gilead, Ohio, where for seven years we find him successfully occupied. Again he was attacked with the western fever, and removed to Iowa, where he spent about seven years at Mount Pleasant. In 1862 he came to Galesburg, and after working for the Frost Manufacturing Company for two years, accepted a position with the C., B. & Q. R. R. Co., and has been worthily connected with that corporation since that time.
George Loy formed a matrimonial alliance in Pennsylvania, the lady of his choice being Miss Elizabeth Plank. Mr. and Mrs. Loy have had born to them a son and two daughters, namely, Levy Plank, S. Alice R., and Amanda A. E., and have buried S. Alice R. Mr. Loy and family attend the Presbyterian Church, and he is a worthy Mason and Odd Fellow.
EDWIN CHAUNCY OLIN, Superintendent of the bridge-building department of the Galesburg Division of the C., B. & Q.R.R., Galesburg, was born in Albany, N.Y., Dec. 3, 1825. He is a son of Jeremiah and Salomi (Gage) Olin; the former was a millwright by profession, but in his later years carried on farming and stock-raising, and was a son of Giles Olin, a native of Wales. Col. Giles Olin, grandfather of our subject, settled in Bennington, Vt., and distinguished himself in the Revolutionary War, in which he received a colonelcy. He died at Bennington, Vt., at the ripe old age of 96 years, leaving a family among whom are some clever professional people. They were of strong physical ability, a characteristic of the Olins.
Salomi Gage, the mother of our subject, was a daughter of William Gage, a native of Dutchess County, N.Y. and whose progenitors settled there at an early period in the history of that place, and besides being characterized by longevity, they have furnished many of our merchant people.
The subject of our sketch was the 2nd son and 4th child of a family of seven. He grew to manhood in Albany, N.Y., where he learned the trade of carpenter. In the year 1853 he came west and located at Chicago, where he spent some time with the Chicago & North-Western Railway. In 1855 he began work for the C., B. & Q.R.R. Co., and located at Aurora, at which place his family remained several years. His removal to Galesburg was made in 1873 and there he has remained continuously.
Mr. Olin was married in Schenectady, N.Y. to Cynthia Maria, daughter of David Fero, Esq. The result of the union of Mr. Olin and Miss Fero has been two daughters, both now grown to womanhood. Minerva, the eldest, and wife of Howard Bridge, Galesburg, has become the mother of two sons—George and an infant unnamed. Ida, the younger daughter, is the wife of Charles Goldsmith, a farmer of Iowa, and is the mother of one daughter, named Gertrude.
In 1873 Mr. Olin purchased 360 acres of valuable land, upon which his son-in-law, Mr. Goldsmith, resides, 160 acres of the same being in Taylor County, Iowa, and 200 just across the State line, in Nodaway County, Mo. He is a worthy member of the Masonic fraternity, and with his family attends worship at the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Olin has in his official capacity been very fortunate, inasmuch as he has never suffered an accident to his craftsmanship since he has had the superintendency of bridges. He is still seemingly as active and vigorous as ever, and takes hold of the work with the same energy as he did in the days long ago. He is a genial gentleman and respected citizen.
DAVID SPENCE, Superintendent of the foundry department of the G.W. Brown & Co. Corn-Planter Works at Galesburg, was born at Moncton, New Brunswick, Jan. 8, 1844, and was one of the nine children (six sons and three daughters) of James and Catherine Spence, also natives of New Brunswick.
Our subject learned the trade of molder in his native place, and from 1862 to 1864 was employed in some of the largest foundries in Boston. Before accepting his present position, which he did April 15, 1882, he was one year Superintendent of the Metropolitan Railway Shops; one year Superintendent of the Sturdevant Blower Works foundry; one year Superintendent of the New England Glass Burial Case Company of Thompsonville, Conn.; ten years Superintendent of the Amherst (Nova Scotia) Stove and Machine Works; and from 1876 to 1880, inclusive, was proprietor and manager of the D. Spence & Co. Stove and Machine Works, Annapolis, Nova Scotia.
Mr. Spence was married at Chelsea, Mass, Dec. 24, 1863, to Miss Margaret Jost, a native of Nova Scotia, and daughter of Rev. J. V. Jost, native of Nova Scotia, pastor of the Wesleyan Methodist Church.
His eldest son, D. Walter Spence, at this writing (January, 1886) is attending Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, and has for the past two years been an officer of the McLean Insane Asylum, Somerville, Mass. His daughter, Florence E. is attending college at Galesburg. Mr. Spence is a member of the Presbyterian Church, and holds an official position in the Independent Order of Good Templars.
A.F. STARR, was born at Vestervik, Sweden, April 10, 1838, and came to America in 1860, landing at Galesburg August 10 of that year. His parents died in the old country when he was but a child, and as they left no fortune he was dependent thereafter upon his own efforts for a livelihood. The common schools of Sweden afforded him a pretty thorough education in his native language, and since coming to America he has not been derelict in the study of English.
While a youth, Mr. Starr learned the trade of a shoemaker, and it may truthfully be said that he has since “stuck to his last”. While at St. Paul, Minn., in the fall of 1864, he enlisted as a private soldier in Co. C, 1st Minn. Vol. Inf., and served till the close of the war. From first to last he was with his regiment and took part in their every service. The regiment was connected with the Army of the Potomac and saw much of the terrible struggles of that department. At the close of the war the members returned to St. Paul, were mustered out, and Mr. Starr soon afterward came to Galesburg and resumed work under an old employer. Close attention to business, strict sobriety and reasonable economy have with Mr. Starr, as with all others who have practiced these virtues, brought their reward.
On Oct. 24, 1860, at the city of Galesburg, Mr. Starr was married to Miss Wilhelmina Cedarholm, who with her parents came to America in the same ship that brought Mr. Starr first to our shores. The two children born to them are named respectively Minnie and John Frederick. The family are consistent members of the Swedish Methodist Episcopal Church, and Mr. Starr is a Select Knight in the A.O.U.W.
EDWARD J. TYLER, too young a man in years to have made much personal history, is yet by reason of his enterprise and marked industry entitled to representation in these pages. At the head of one of Galesburg’s most meritorious manufacturing enterprises, and one indeed that should be of the highest interest to the people of Knox County, the business card presented by Mr. Tyler reads briefly as follows: “The Galesburg Plating Works manufactures the finest quality of quadruple-plated flatware, and restores old and worn plated goods to the semblance and worth of new. Factory, 29 North Kellogg Street, Galesburg, IL.”
In speaking of the factory, the Galesburg Plaindealer says:
“These works were originally established about a year ago, but during that short time have rapidly come to the front for finely executed and satisfactory work, and today control all of the trade in this line that formerly went to foreign cities. These works are thoroughly equipped for all branches of work in this line, and have established a reputation that reflects the highest credit upon the proprietor. It has been the aim of Mr. Tyler, the owner, to turn out nothing but the best of work, such as he is willing to have his name follow in the way of a guarantee. He has never catered for inferior or cheap work, and has succeeded in establishing a trade that is bound to still further magnify itself in the future. He makes a specialty of new work, the latest patterns of flatware, such as knives, forks, spoons, butter-knives and sugar-shells, which he sells at wholesale prices. And all work is fully warranted. Ornaments for old stoves are plated to look like new, while the same may be said of old tableware. The nickel plating is not excelled in the country, and is guaranteed against any imperfections. A special feature is re-plating old band instruments, in which line he does a large business. He does all kinds of job-work, and in everything makes the charges reasonable and guarantees entire satisfaction. He enjoys large patronage in all departments, and it is but a merited compliment to say that his work is first-class in every respect. The works are located at No. 29 North Kellogg Street, are run by steam and are supplied with all the modern improvements for conducting the business.”
In addition to the plating works, Mr. Tyler owns and manages one of the largest and best equipped barber shops in Galesburg. It is located at No. 36 South Prairie Street; lighted by electricity and manned by a force of artists in their line.
The subject of this sketch is a native of Knox County, and has been educated at the public schools at Galesburg. He was born April 11, 1857; left home at the age of 20, learned the barber’s trade in this city, and in 1877 opened a shop of his own. In all his business undertakings Mr. Tyler has been successful. He began life without a penny, not a cent has ever been given him, and at this writing, though only a few years have elapsed, he finds himself fairly on the road to a competency. He owns some fine property in the city, carries a handsome bank account, and is rapidly growing into financial independence. Such is the result of a small business properly managed, and by comparison, if Galesburg be not an exception to the rule, probably shows some young men who have started in life as the heads of great enterprises and backed by thousands of capital to a disadvantage. Moral, man makes the business, not business the man.
One of the commendable features of the life of Mr. Tyler, and one that any young man might proudly boast of, is that he has never swallowed a drop of intoxicating liquor or used tobacco in any form.
ANDREW VANCE is one of Knox County’s farmers, who, by his energy and economy, has succeeded in obtaining good title to 280 acres of tillable land, located on section 36, Elba Township, and 200 in Iowa, and he is actively engaged in the labors of a farmer. He came to Knox County in the fall of 1868, from Highland County, Ohio, and located in Elba Township, where he purchased his present fine farm. He was born in Fayette County, Pa., Dec. 9, 1826 and is the son of Davis and Hannah (Fredrick) Vance. His father was born in Maryland, as was also his mother. To his parents were born 13 children. All lived to be men and women and married. His parents died in Ohio. When eight years of age, he removed with his parents to Highland County, Ohio, where he remained until his final removal to Knox County. Our subject received a good common-school education, and has always followed that most independent of all callings, agriculture.
Andrew Vance was married in Highland County, Ohio, Aug, 21, 1851 to Miss Harriet Gibler. Miss Gibler was born in the county and State in which she was married, Sept. 18, 1832, and is the daughter of William and Rachel (Strain) Gibler. Their union has been blest by the birth of six children, five now living as follows: John W. A., Lovisa A., Strauder L., Henry D. (deceased), Oley E., and Andrew C. Henry died when about 12 years of age. John W. A. married Catherine Yeager, and is a farmer by occupation; they have one son—Earl Wendel Y. Vance. Lovisa A. is the wife of Fillmore Rogers, and lives in Salem Township; they have four children, one son and three daughters—Allie Bell, Mary Ellen, Harrison L., and Mattie Blanche.
Mr. Vance was elected to the office of Justice of the Peace, but did not qualify. Both he and his wife are members of the Baptist Church, and in politics he affiliates with the Democratic party.
NELS M. BURGLAND, of the firm of Burgland & Johnson, meat market, is a worthy member of the industrious community of Galesburg. Mr. Burgland was born at Gamellstorp, Solvesburg, Sweden, Dec. 25, 1846. He is the son of Mons P. and Chasty (Munson) Burgland, the former of whom carried on the butchering business in Sweden. In 1867 Nels M. Burgland (having completed the butchering trade in his native land) sailed for this country and came almost immediately to Galesburg, where, in 1873, he began business for himself. He has built up a large trade, and, with Mr. Johnson, is the owner of 400 acres of fine farm land in Mercer County, this State, which they utilize considerably for stock purposes.
Mr. Burgland was married to Jennie Jacobson, daughter of Jacob Nelson, a native of Sweden. Mr. and Mrs. Burgland have become the parents of three sons, namely, Charles, George, and Arthur. Mr. Burgland is an energetic and enterprising business man, and eminently successful in his pursuits.
ALANSON G. CHARLES, is an extensive landowner, and is one of the leading farmers of Knox County. His residence is handsome and commodious, built in the modern style of architecture, and stands on a most delightful site overlooking the village of Knoxville, from which it is three-quarters of a mile distant. We present a full-page view of his residence and surroundings in this Album.
Mr. Charles was born in Knox Township, Feb. 21, 1846. His parents were George A. and Dorlinsky (Post) Charles. George A., his father, of whom a sketch is given , was one of the leading men in Knox County. Our subject has been uninterruptedly a resident of the township ever since his birth. His marriage with Miss Lottie Rogers, daughter of Charles and Eliza (Phillips) Rogers, took place Nov. 24, 1868, and with his young bride he went onto the place which he now occupies as a home. Charles Rogers and wife came from the State of New York in 1844. The former was a native of Connecticut, and his wife of England. He settled in Knox Township, and engaged in farming, where Mrs. Charles was born Jan. 31, 1848. The location of Mr. C’s farm is on section 27, and reasonable success has crowned his efforts as an agriculturist, and he now owns one of the finest places in that section of the county.
Mr. and Mrs. Charles have had born to them five children—George, Albert, deceased; Roger, deceased; Alice and Bessie. This happy household is the admiration of friends and neighbors, who always find good cheer and courteous hospitality within its precincts. Both husband and wife are earnest supporters of every good work and word, and are active members of the Presbyterian Church, endeavoring to live consistent Christian lives.
Mr. Charles is a well informed man and a persistent reader of the newspapers. He votes the Democratic ticket, but in politics may be called strictly independent, watching always the pending issues, and according to his best judgment giving his voice and support in behalf of the man best fitted for the office. He has filled several local offices, including that of Supervisor for four terms, and always with the utmost credit to himself and to the satisfaction of all concerned. As a stock raiser and feeder, he ranks with the foremost in the county. He makes his principal business that of grazing and fattening cattle. He has 1,000 acres of blue-grass pasture, 800 of which are in a body, forming a most desirable location for his business. He is a public-spirited and enterprising man, and one who is a credit to the county of his nativity and home.
GILBERT EVANS, of Knoxville, a pioneer of Knox County, who came to this section in 1856, is a native of Connecticut, and was born in Hartford County, Dec. 27, 1813. He is the son of Josiah and Mary (Sweetland) Evans, both natives of Connecticut. Our subject was 8 years of age when his parents moved to New York State and settled in Madison County. There he grew to manhood, and at the age of 18 commenced to learn the trade of carpenter and joiner. At that vocation he continued working in the State of New York until 1836, when he came to Illinois and settled in the village of Knoxville. Laboring at this occupation in that city and its vicinity, he became a fixture, remaining about 20 years. At that time he invested in land, buying 30 acres in Knox Township, lying adjacent to the city. Erecting a dwelling, he moved his family there and engaged in farming pursuits until 1860, at which time he came to Knoxville, and rented the principal hotel there, by name the Knoxville House. Two or three years later he bought the place and has kept a public house ever since.
He was united in marriage in the year 1838, to Sylvia A. Bentley, a native of the State of New York, and they are the parents of two children, as follows: Sarah J., wife of Henry Hoffmaster, living at Rock Island, and William, whose home is in Knox Township.
WILLIAM SELDEN GALE, Prominent among the wealthy men and influential citizens of Knox County is the subject of this personal narration, who is a capitalist, a man of wide influence, and well known throughout the entire community. He was born in Jefferson County, N.Y., Feb. 15, 1822, and is the son of G. W. and Harriet (Selden) Gale, of Dutchess County, N.Y., and Lansingburg, N.Y., respectively. They were married in Troy in 1820, and their union was blessed by the birth of five sons, four of whom grew to manhood, and three daughters, all of whom are now living. They came to Illinois in October 1836 and lived in Galesburg, where the father died in September 1861, aged 72 years. His wife had died in 1840, and Mr. Gale remarried with Mrs. Esther (Williams) Coon, widow of Dr. Coon, of New York.
G. W. Gale, the father of our subject, was a devoted and conscientious minister of the Presbyterian Church, and labored faithfully in the vineyard of the Lord while his day lasted. It was he who originated the idea of founding a colony here as early as 1835. Owing to ill health, he was obliged to abandon his ministerial labors, when he retired to a farm, and engaged in teaching the young men of his neighborhood, asking no compensation and receiving none, save the satisfaction of seeing their condition bettered. This school was really the germ implanted which in a few years led a band of early pioneers to the wild prairie of Knox County. G. W. Gale departed this life Sept. 31, 1861.
W. Selden Gale attended school in New York prior to 14 years of age, and read law in Galesburg as early as 1842, with Hon. James Knox, and was admitted to the bar in 1845. He continued to practice, however, only five or six years, as his attention was occupied with other business. He was one of the organizers of the C. B. & Q. R. R. Co.; in fact, was the originator of the idea. An article by him on the subject appeared for the first time in the Galesburg News Letter, of which he was editor, the scheme being opposed by the rival paper.
Foxie's note: also a and editor of the 1899 Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois -- Knox County along with his son, George Candee Gale.
Mr. Gale has taken an active part in political matters, was a member of the first Board of Supervisors, and with the exception of four years since has been a member of that body. He was a member of the Constitutional Convention of 1869, and of the City Council from 1872 to 1882. Politically he is a Republican.
Mr. Gale was united in marriage Oct. 1, 1845, at Galesburg, with Caroline Ferris, daughter of Sylvanus W. Ferris. Five children have been born to them who are living and three others buried.
GUST & H. B. HAWKINSON, proprietors of one of the leading bakery and confectionery establishments of Galesburg, were born at Harlunda, Sweden, Jan. 9, 1841, and April 3, 1837, respectively. They are the sons of Hakan Benson and Christine (Pearson) Hawkinson.
Gust Hawkinson is one of Galesburg’s active business men and is among the representative men of this place. When a young man he learned the baking business in Solvesberg, Sweden, but abandoned it for that of stone-cutting, which he followed in the employ of the Government of Sweden. This he continued for a few years, but finally concluded to visit the shores of the New World, whither his brother H. B. had preceded him. In 1869 he came to Galesburg on June 24 of that year. At this place he worked at railroading for four and one-half years, then joined his brother H. B. in the baking business, which they have carried on successfully since that time.
H. B. Hawkinson also learned the bakery business in Sweden, and has been connected with the same for several years at Galesburg. He was married to Caroline Olson, also a native of his country, and who has borne him a son and a daughter, who bear the names of Hilda and Henry.
Another brother, John Hawkinson, came to the United States in 1880, where he died three years after his arrival. He was by trade a coppersmith.
The Hawkinson brothers are hard-working men, and have succeeded in establishing for themselves a business second to none in their line in this city. They are both worthy citizens and clever gentlemen.
N. O. G. JOHNSON, of the firm of Anderson & Johnson, of the City Mills, Galesburg, was born in Skane, City of Christianstadt, Sweden, Jan. 10, 1844. He came to Galesburg in 1869. For three and a half years he followed farming; the succeeding two years he clerked in a grocery house, forming then a partnership with John Clarkson, which lasted seven years. In 1881 he engaged in milling, to which he has since devoted his time.
Mr. Johnson was married at Galesburg, Feb. 13, 1878, to Miss Sophia Anderson, who died Aug. 12, 1882, leaving one child, a daughter—Blenda Amelia; they have buried an infant. Mr. Johnson’s parents yet reside in Sweden. They reared four sons and five daughters, the subject of this sketch being the eldest and the only one in America. He is a member of the Lutheran Church, and in politics a Republican.
EBENEZER LASS, of Galesburg, head of the firm of Lass, Larson & Lafferty, dealers in wall paper, curtains, paints, glass, etc., their place of business being 141 Main Street. He was born in England in 1839. There he learned the trade of painter, paper-hanger, etc., and served an apprenticeship of seven years. Afterward he worked three and a half years at this occupation in the city of London, then emigrated to the United States and came to Galesburg. Here he engaged in business for himself for about six years, and then took the position of foreman with Cook & Lee. The junior member of the firm of Cook & Lee was succeeded by Mr. Beach, and he by Mr. Lass, and in 1882, with Messrs. Larson and Lafferty, established the present business of Lass, Larson & Lafferty.
Mr. Lass was married to Miss Emma Pittock, a native of England, and by her has surviving four children—Gracie E., Charles F., William P., and Florence K. Mrs. L. died Feb. 22, 1882. Mr. Lass was married again in 1886 to Miss Lucy M. Jerauld of Galesburg.
Foxie's Note: they are buried in Hope Cemetery. did research for a lady in Kansas on the Ferris of Knox County. Jerauld's are related to the Ferris's
CHARLES T. LARSON, of the firm of Lass, Larson & Lafferty, was born in Sweden, Sept. 28, 1860, and came to Galesburg with his parents in the spring of 1871, where he was brought up and educated in the public schools. At the age of 17 Mr. Larson began clerking for the firm of Cook & Beach, and in 1882 became a member of the firm, it then being known as J.P. Cook & Co. He retired from the same in January, 1884, and in February of the same year, with Messrs. Lass and Lafferty, established the present firm of Lass, Larson & Lafferty, who deal in wall paper, window shades, paints, glass, artists’ materials, etc.
The gentleman of whom we write was married at Galesburg, Oct. 28, 1885, to Miss Arvilla S. Johnson, daughter of Charles Johnson, Esq.
FRANK W. LATIMER, a grocer of Abingdon, and one of the promising young men of this county, was born in Knox County, Feb. 21, 1868. He is the son of William M. and Mary E. (Humiston) Latimer, and the grandson of Jonathan and great-grandson of Elder Joseph Latimer; sketches of the lives of both of these men appear on other pages of this work. William M. Latimer was engaged the greater part of his life in mercantile pursuits, in Abingdon. He died in 1872, on the old homestead where his father settled in 1832.
Frank W. Latimer was educated at Hedding College, from which Institution he graduated. He then engaged in agricultural pursuits and stock-raising in Cedar and Indian Point Townships. In March, 1886, he came to Abingdon and embarked in the grocery and provision trade, in which he still continues. In 1879-81, during the session of the Legislature, he was appointed Bill Clerk, and subsequently Third Assistant and then Second Assistant Clerk. He is a young man of fine business talent, strictly temperate, and strongly Republican in his politics. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and Treasurer of the Methodist Episcopal Church and Treasurer of his congregation. He is also a member of Abingdon Lodge No. 184, I.O.O. F., and is at present its presiding officer.
On April 8, 1886, he was united in marriage with Miss Carrie L. Becker, daughter of John and Mary Becker, of Galesburg, and old settlers of Knox County.
LARS J. LINDBERG, of the firm of Remier & Lindberg, manufacturers and general repairers of carriages and wagons, No. 108 South Prairie Street, Galesburg, Illinois, was born at Ookkbo Mo, Gastrikland, Gefle Lan, Sweden, March 23, 1845. He was the son of Jons Jonsson and Britalars Dotter Lindberg, the former born in 1813 and the latter in 1811; both were natives of Sweden where both now reside. Our subject is the second of four children now living. Mr. L. has one sister, Mrs. Oscar Truman, residing in Chicago; the other sister and brother live in the old country.
Mr. Lindberg came to this country in 1865, locating at Wataga, Knox County, working on the farm until 1867, when he began to learn the trade of wagon-making, and in 1870 opened a shop in partnership with Charles Hedlun, where they carried on the business for four years, when Mr. L. sold his interest to his partner and moved to Burlington, Iowa, where he worked for Bennett & France one year. He then came to Galesburg in 1876, worked in C., B. & Q.R.R. shops, and for G. W. Brown & Co. In 1883 Mr. L. formed a partnership with Mr. Remier, and they are carrying on an extensive business.
Our subject was married Sept 10, 1871, to Miss Kate Olson, who was born in Sweden, Jan. 3, 1847, and came with her parents to America in 1858, locating at Wataga, where her father died, and where the mother now resides. Mr. Lindberg has four children living, viz: Oscar E., Otelega A., Alice D., and an infant. Mr. and Mrs. L. are members of the First Lutheran Church.
WILLIAM McGOWAN, deceased, a pioneer of Knox County, of 1833, was born in Pennsylvania, Oct. 12, 1812. His father was a merchant and our subject clerked in his store, which was located in Milton County, Pa., until they had the misfortune to lose their entire property, including stock and building, by a flood. After this disaster he was variously employed up to 1833, the date of his removal to Illinois, locating in Knoxville, where he clerked for John G. Sanburn.
In 1837 William McGowan was married and removed to Stone River, and became the first permanent settler at Maquon. He purchased an interest in the village site, and aided in platting the village of Maquon, whither he removed with his wife, beginning housekeeping in a primitive log cabin. Soon after settling here our subject was elected Justice of the Peace, and when the Post Office was established, he was appointed the first Postmaster of Maquon. After residing there for about ten years, he purchased a small, but desirable farm in Knox Township, and followed the calling of agriculturist for a period of three years. He then disposed of this farm and bought a residence in the city of Knoxville, and continued to reside there until his demise, which took place in 1870. Mr. McGowan held many offices. He was Justice of the Peace for many years; for four years he was County Treasurer. Politically he was an old-line Whig until the formation of the Republican party, when he joined its ranks.
Mr. McGowan was united in marriage with Margery McPherson. She was born in Champaign County, Ohio, March 4, 1819, and became the mother of eight children, of whom we give the following brief memoranda; William H. resides in Henry County, IL.; Curtis; Mary, wife of J. S. Simpson, residing at Knoxville; Carrie, who became the wife of James Thomas and lives in Kansas; Frank, who makes Knoxville his home; Belle; Charles, living at Elmwood, Peoria County, and Harry, making Kansas his home.
HON. HENRY RUNKLE, deceased, who was one of Knoxville’s best known and most successful merchants, was born at Watervleit, Albany Co., N.Y., Nov. 14, 1807, and was the third son of John and Ellen (Van Woort) Runkle. He was reared to the calling of an agriculturist, and attended school in his native city, supplementing his education by attendance to the academy at Syracuse.
After leaving school Mr. Runkle taught for awhile at Syracuse. Later we find him employed in a flour and feed store. In 1833, he emigrated to Illinois, locating at Knoxville, where he engaged as surveyor. He purchased village property, and in 1834 erected a store. In the following year, in company with his brother, Cornelius, he opened a general store. In 1836 he sold out his interest in the store to his brother, and built a steam saw-mill in the village, this being the first establishment of the kind in the county. A few years later our subject added a flouring-mill to his possessions.
He was elected County Clerk in 1837, in which capacity he served creditably for ten years. After the expiration of his term of office, Mr. Runkle was engaged in the management of his mills until his death.
The maiden name of our subject’s wife was Caroline M. Fitch. After Mr. Runkle’s demise, she remarried, and is now a resident of California. Mr. Runkle served as member of the 16th General Assembly, elected in the fall of 1848.
DAVID H. FRISBIE, the subject of this sketch, Hon. David H. Frisbie, of Galesburg, was born in Oneida County, N.Y., Oct. 7, 1815. His grandfather came from Savoy, Italy. His father, Edward Frisbie, was during his life an Erie Canal packetman. His mother’s maiden name was Abigail Blackman, a native of Connecticut, and of English ancestry. When David was but eight years old, his father died, leaving a widow and a family of ten children, of whom David was next to the youngest, and of whom he is now the only survivor.
The lad was educated in the common schools of his native place, and, judging from his characteristics as a man, must have been an apt pupil. He was married at Floyd, Oneida Co, N.Y. in 1836 to Jemima Skinner, a daughter of Onias and Tirza (Bell) Skinner, of Vermont, and a sister of Onias C. Skinner, Judge of the Supreme Court of Illinois. Immediately after the wedding, the newly-married couple started for the then almost unknown west, and arrived in Peoria during the winter of 1836-37. In a money sense he was poor, but in tact and business capacity was well endowed. For several years he taught school, first at Harkness Grove, then in Farmington, in each instance with marked success. At the same time he devoted his spare moments to agriculture. In 1847 he removed to Knox County and located in Henderson, where for seven years he engaged in mercantile business. Mr. and Mrs. Frisbie came to Galesburg in 1855. That city has since been his home. During his residence there he has followed the land business, and to a slight extent has engaged in farming. By strict attention and honorable dealings he has been successful and is looked upon as a prosperous and well-to-do business man.
Prior to the organization of the Republican party Mr. Frisbie was a Whig. He joined heartily, however, in the new movement. In 1856 he was elected by the Republicans a member of the State Legislature. To the political principles which he then adopted he has ever since been true. We find him a zealous and active member of the Bloomington Convention, the first Republican State Convention held in Illinois. During the late war he served as Department Provost Marshal of this District, then composed of three counties.
Mr. Frisbee’s family relations have ever been pleasant and happy. His heart has ever been with his family. April 7, 1881, he sustained a severe affliction in the death of his wife. Their union was blest by three children—Charlotte L., Olivia P., and Sarah Adelaide. The first died at the age of 15. Olivia P. Frisbie became the wife of Allen A. Green, and native of New York, and engaged in the mercantile business at Williamsport, Pa., until his decease, Feb. 10, 1881. His widow and three children—David Frisbie, Alvah S., and Allen A.—survive him.
The youngest daughter, Sarah Adelaide, was married Oct. 8, 1883, to Judge E. E. Farman, of Warsaw, N.Y., Consul-General to Egypt, under President Grant, and subsequently one of the Judges of the International Court of Egypt through appointment by President Garfield. They are the parents of one daughter—Lois C.
In conclusion, it can be truthfully said that Mr. Frisbie is one of the leading men of Knox County. He has always taken an interest in every enterprise which has for its aim the public good, and has as energetically opposed all schemes which be considered detrimental to the welfare of the people.
Being one of the leading and representative men of Knox County, the portrait of Mr. Frisbie is placed in this volume, in connection with this sketch.
SOLOMON FROHLICH, of the firm of Frohlich, Gardt & Co. Among the many genial citizens of Galesburg, no one is more popular or has a larger number of friends than Mr. Frohlich, of this personal narration. He was born in Germany, June 11, 1843, coming to America Sept 13, 1865, and to Galesburg in 1868.
Solomon Frohlich of this notice was educated in Germany, where he also learned the trade of a butcher, which he followed for some years after coming to America, finally, however entering into the wholesale liquor business at Galesburg, on July 1, 1879. In business Mr. Frohlich has been rather successful. He landed in America with scarcely a dollar in his pocket, worked several years at a very ordinary trade, been as liberal as those with whom he has associated, and now we find him at the head of a large business, independent of the world and adding daily to the already plethoric condition of his bank account.
Our subject was married at Galesburg, Dec. 21, 1875, to Rosa Strauss, and their two children are named respectively Henrietta and Gertie. Mr. F. is a member of the I.O.O. F, A. F. & A. M., K. of P., I.O.O. B. of Peoria, and is a member of the Jewish Church.
HENRY HITCHCOCK, the late Henry Hitchcock, for many years Division Superintendent of the C., B. & Q. R. R. at Galesburg, and one of the leading men in the county, was born at Old Deerfield, Mass, May 25, 1816, and departed this life April 4, 1884, in the city of Galesburg. His birth occurred in the house, where for so many years his parents made their home, and he was their third child; their names were Henry and Betsey (Kimberly) Hitchcock. For some length of time his father farmed at the old homestead, and Henry was sent to the common school and the academy at Deerfield. Until he reached the age of 24, he remained under his father’s roof, and during the following six years he was station agent of the Rutland & Burlington Railroad, at Rutland, Vt. Subsequently he was agent of the Michigan Central at Chicago, and in 1856 removed to Galesburg and was appointed General Superintendent of the C., B. & Q. R. R. This position he held to the satisfaction of all concerned, until he finally abandoned it and became interested in agricultural pursuits. He was a man of high character, of deep and strong nature, intelligent, upright and respected by all who knew him. He was Director of the Second National Bank and Trustee of Knox College, and to the latter left a large part of his property.
The only brother of our subject still lives on the old homestead, and there are two sisters, one of whom lives in Buffalo, N.Y. and the other in Cleveland, Ohio. In religious belief the deceased inclined to the doctrines of the Congregational Church.
He was united in marriage at Deerfield, Mass., June 9, 1841, with Miss Martha, daughter of Pliney and Thankful (Dickinson) Arms, the former of whom was born in 1778, and died in 1859, aged 81 years. He was in politics one of the most decided Abolitionists of his time. The children of our subject were William Henry, born Dec. 14, 1842, and died Aug. 25, 1858; George Kimberly, born Jan. 28, 1851, died Aug. 23, at the age of seven months; Mattie Arms, born in October 1857, died in May 1881.
HOFFMAN Bros: of Galesburg, are manufacturers of harness and saddlery of all kinds, their place of business being at No. 24 South Prairie Street. The firm is composed of G. M. and W.E. Hoffman, natives of the city of Macomb, IL., and the third and fourth sons of F.J. and M.V. (Cannon) Hoffman.
The senior Mr. Hoffman came from Germany and lives now at Macomb, where he has carried on the harness and saddlery business successfully for 35 years. Of his family of nine sons, five have followed the trade of their father. G. M. Hoffman, of the firm above mentioned, was born Aug. 8, 1864, and W.E., March 8, 1866. They received their education at the Macomb public schools, starting in business for themselves at Parsons, Kansas in December 1883, and remained at that place up to the 1st of December 1885, when on account of bad crops and the general uncertainty of the country, they concluded to return to their solid native State, and on Jan. 1, 1886, they opened shop at their present location. They are first-class workmen, and deal in no cheap sale work. The material and workmanship given out from their factory at all times carry with them the full guarantee of being just as represented. They carry the largest line of goods in the county, and though both young men, they have come to Knox County to stay and to merit the confidence of the people.
EDSON HUGGINS, one of the earliest settlers of Knoxville and a prominent citizen is Edson Huggins, who is identified as one of the pioneers of that section and who is the subject of this personal history. He has occupied his present home since an early day and has been an eye-witness to the growth and prosperity of Knox County.
Mr. Huggins was born in the town of Coventry, Vt., Sept. 11, 1816. His father, David Huggins, came of New England stock, being a native of the State of New Hampshire, and was born in the town of Cornish, May 14, 1787. He grew to manhood in his native State, and while young went to Vermont and there purchased a tract of timber land, lying in Orleans County, in which section of country he was an early settler. He returned to the State of his birth, New Hampshire, to celebrate his marriage with Miss Jerusha Cobb, and with his bride set his face toward his new home. The young couple, with brave hearts and untied energy, commenced the uprearing of a home, the husband clearing the land of the forest trees, and the wife, equally desirous of success and prosperity, pursuing her part of the domestic labors. On this farm they worked and waited for prosperity until 1834, and in the spring of that year, with his oldest son, the head of the house with a pair of horses and a wagon emigrated to the far west, with the strong expectation and hope of finding an Eldorado. They made their way overland to Knox County, and here purchased a pre-emption right on the northwest quarter of section 27, township 11, in what is now Knox Township. They also bought two lots in the village of Knoxville, on which stood a log house.
Leaving his son in the western home they had found, Mr. Huggins returned to the State of Vermont, from which, in the fall of that year, accompanied by his wife and their family, consisting of 8 children, he started for Illinois. They took what was at the time the most desirable route, namely, via stage to Burlington, thence down Lake Champlain by boat, through to Troy, and from that city by Erie Canal to Buffalo. Leaving Buffalo, they came by the way of Lake Erie to Cleveland, Ohio, traveling on to Portsmouth and coming down the Ohio and up the Mississippi River, to Beardstown, from which place they completed their journey by land. They started from that place, traveling with an ox team, intending by this mode of conveyance to reach Knoxville, but were met on the way by their son, with whom they returned in better style. The family moved into their log cabin in the village, in which humble home they remained for two years, and which they left to move onto the farm, a log cabin being there also. This latter had been built by the first claimant of the land. Mr. Huggins placed his land under high cultivation and made the farm his home until his death. His wife, who survived him some time, spent the last year of her life in peace and pleasure in the home of her son George.
To this couple have been given nine children, viz: Brunson, deceased; Phebe, who married Sullivan Raney and who died in Vermont; Nathaniel, deceased; Olivia, who married Dr. Johnson, and who died in Texas; Edson who lives in Knoxville; Jerusha, wife of John Mosher, whose home is also in Knox Township; George lives in Knox Township, and Chester, deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Huggins were members of the first church ever organized in Knoxville, and were devoted and earnest workers in all worthy enterprises.
When the subject of this sketch had attained the age of 18 years, he removed to Illinois with his parents, as previously stated. When the family landed at Beardstown and were met by him with their awkward conveyance, he at once proposed to return to Knoxville in search of a team, which journey he performed on foot, and came back to his parents, whom he landed in Knoxville. He learned the trade of cabinet-maker, and went first to Knoxville to repair the cabin in which the family lived, and during the first year he made tables. There being no wagon-shop in Knoxville, he was often called upon to do the work of a wheelwright, and during his first year filled a pair of wheels, the first work of the kind ever done in Knox County. He afterward became contractor and builder, at which occupation he continued until within two or three years. He is now a retired business man and enjoys the fruits of a well-spent life of industry and economy.
He has been twice married, his first matrimonial alliance being with Sophronia Marsh, a native of York State. Their nuptials were celebrated Sept. 11, 1844; and, leaving four orphaned children to mourn her loss, Mrs. Huggins passed from earth to the joy and peace beyond July 4, 1857, celebrating a nobler and grander independence in the great hereafter. The names of the children of Mr. and Mrs. Huggins are: Eloise, wife of Prof. Stickney, whose home is in Knoxville; Emma, who wedded George A. Bassett; and Everett E. The maiden name of the present Mrs. Huggins, whose marriage to the subject of this sketch took place Nov. 8, 1858, was Louise E. Knight, and she was born in Coventry, Vt. Both she and her husband are useful and active members of society and are connected with the Presbyterian Church, of which they are conscientious and consistent members. Politically Mr. H. is a supporter of the Republican party, and takes a lively interest in outside affairs. His handsome residence is located on Ann Street, corner of Henderson, and was erected after the destruction by fire of his former home, in 1871. It was a large and commodious frame house and was a loss of no mean dimensions to its owner, who, however, immediately built, on the same spot, his present home.
ROBERT BRUCE JAMESON, among the leading citizens of Knox County may be found the subject of this personal history. His home is situated on section 5 of Indian Point Township. Mr. Jameson was born in Simpson County, Ky., on March 20, 1841, and is the son of M. H. and Sarah (Murphy) Jameson, both natives of Kentucky—Warren County and Barren County—born respectively Aug. 17, 1815 and Sept. 15, 1818.
The great-grandfather, John Jameson, was a native of Virginia, but of Scotch lineage and blood. He married Rhoda Cook, and removed to Kentucky, near Pruit’s Knob. Their history will be found in a book of the “Early History of Kentucky”. The grandfather, Robert Jameson, was a native of Kentucky, and had one sister, named Margaret. He married Miss Elizabeth Haley, and they were the parents of seven children, as follows: Harrison, Albert G., Maximilian H., Elvira, Martha, Elizabeth, and Robert. The great-great-grandfather, Murphy, on his mother’s side, and his brother Joseph were born in the early part of the 18th century in Virginia, both Baptist ministers, mentioned in “Benedict’s History of the Baptists”. His son, the great-grandfather of the subject of this sketch, also a Baptist minister, was born June 12, 1752 and lived in Eastern Tennessee during the Revolution, at which time the family suffered great hardship, removing from there to Pruit’s Knob, Ky. He had one sister named Margaret who married Elijah Davidson, a noted preacher of the Christian denomination, who removed from there to Warren County, IL. and in 1852 to Monmouth, Oregon. The grandfather of our subject, on the mothers side, Rev. John Murphy, was born in Kentucky, came to Morgan County, IL., in 1831, and died in Warren County, a well-known and respected pioneer. He had several brothers and sisters, among whom were Joseph, Isaac, William, and Margaret. He married Miss Rachel Cook, and by this union were born Keziah (Deaton), Rachel (Reynolds), Margaret (Dodge), Sarah (Jameson), William, Bunyan, and Nancy (Williams).
Maximilian H. Jameson removed from Kentucky to this State on account of his opposition to the traffic in slaves. His life was filled with good deeds, and he was an earnest worker in the united causes of religion and philanthropy. He was Elder in the Christian Church for about 30 years. He enlisted early under the banner of Jesus Christ, entering the church at the age of 17. He was a kind-hearted and loving father, and his death, which occurred May 9, 1884, was mourned by a large circle of friends. His wife, who survives him, is an energetic old lady, in the full possession of her faculties, and highly esteemed by all. This union was a pleasant and congenial one, and their family circle was enlarged by the advent of ten children.
The children of Maximilian and Sarah Jameson are Nancy E., Robert Bruce, Gertrude A., John Paul, Alice, Dora A., William A., Eva L., George P., and Katie B. Nancy E. was born March 24, 1839, married F. W. Hoen, and now lives in Abingdon. Gertrude, born April 20, 1843, for her first husband married Dr. Joseph Huff, and her second matrimonial connection was with Joseph Barnaby; she died Jan. 28, 1879. John Paul, born April 24, 1845, married Miss Laura G. Kipper, and lives in Abingdon. Alice S. was born April 15, 1847 and married Joel Atkinson; they live in Monroe County, Mo. William A. was born in 1852 and died in infancy. Dora A., born in 1847, died in 1863. Eva L. born in 1853, died in 1871. George P. born March 30,1856, married Miss Sarah E. Callison, Aug. 20 1880; his home is near Abingdon. Katie B. was born Dec. 15, 1859 and married Berry Lucas, their home being in Knox County. Robert Bruce married Miss Rosa M. Ingels, April 13, 1867.
Mrs. Rosa M. Jameson was born April 30, 1849, in Wabash County, Ind., and is the daughter of James and Mary (Carver) Ingels. Her paternal grandfather was John Ingels of Virginia ancestry, who settled in Eastern Kentucky at an early day. He married Miss Rosa Garr, and removed to Wayne County, Ind. They were born about the beginning of the 19th century. They were consistent members of the Christian Church, and had eight children, namely, Thomas, James, George, Abram, Catherine, John, Joseph, and Boone.
Mrs. Jameson’s father, James Ingels, was born March 10, 1820; he married Miss Mary Carver, Feb.28, 1848, in Fayette County, Ind, and settled in Wabash County, removing thence to Stark County, IL, in 1854, where he resided until his death, which occurred Jan. 27, 1883. He was killed while hunting in Florida, by an accidental discharge of his gun. He was a leading member of the Christian Church, occupying the office of Deacon, and contributed largely to the advancement of Christ’s cause. He was always ready to assist the poor with a liberal hand, foremost in temperance work, Republican in politics, energetic in business, and a man of influence in his community. Mrs. Ingels was born in Fayette County, Ind., June 30 1831, and was the mother of ten children, five of whom are now living, namely: Rosa M. (Jameson), of this writing; John B., M.D., born June 5, 1851, now resided at Meriden, Iowa; Eliza D., born April 17, 1853, married T. E. Callison, had one child (Jessie), and died Aug. 12, 1881; Irvin was born Dec. 19, 1859, and resides on the old homestead at La Fayette, IL.; Mary (De Guibert) was born June 26, 1862, and resides at Sioux City, Iowa; Sherman was born Oct. 17, 1863, and resides at La Fayette. All are members of the Christian Church, and are temperate and enterprising citizens.
The maiden name of Mrs. Rosa Jameson’s paternal grandmother was Garr; she was from a family of German ancestry and well known as the leading manufacturers of Richmond, Ind. The maternal great-grandfather, Carver, lived in Putnam County, N.Y., where her grandfather, Jonathan Carver, was born in 1806, who is still living, at La Fayette, IL. He married Miss Melinda, daughter of William and Mary (Campbell) Nelson, who was born at Augusta, Me. in 1809. Her maternal grandmother’s maiden name was Mary Vance.
Mr. and Mrs. Jameson are members of the Christian Church. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Robert Bruce Jameson are as follows: Luna May, born April 12, 1869; Eva Lena, born Nov. 20 1870; Golda, born July 6, 1873, and Pauline, Nov. 26, 1882.
MICHAEL MALEY, this gentleman is a farmer, located on section 32 in Galesburg Township, and is a native of County Limerick, Ireland, where he was born in 1830. In the year 1853 he emigrated to the United States and landed at New York City, where he remained for one year, and then went to Columbus, Ohio, where he was occupied on a farm up to the date of his removal to this county in 1855. He has since resided at his present home.
Mr. Maley was married to Miss Annie Ryan on the 12th of November 1862. This lady’s birth took place in 1842, in Ireland, and she was brought to America when a child two years old. She is a lady of very estimable character, a good mother and faithful wife. To them were born nine children, viz: Margaret, Aug. 30, 1863; William, March 1865; John E., Nov. 1, 1866; Mary E., June 5, 1869; Thomas S., March 20 ,1871; Annie E., Dec. 2, 1872; Adelia M., May 19, 1875; George D., June 18, 1879; and Frederick P., Feb. 28, 1881.
Mr. Maley has 260 acres of very fine land, which is under first-class cultivation. He has on it 500 rods of tile drain, an excellent dwelling-house, and a granary, which has a capacity of 4,000 bushels of small grain. His land cost him $70 an acre. The family are members of the Roman Catholic Church of Galesburg. He has held the position of School Director of his district, and in that capacity has given general satisfaction. Miss Maggie graduated at St. Joseph’s Academy, and is a teacher at Galesburg. For the past three years she has been engaged in that capacity, and is considered an excellent scholar. The son, William H., is now attending the Business College at Galesburg.
JOHN SULLIVAN, Roadmaster of the Middle Division of the Galesburg Division of the C., B. & Q. R.R., was born in County Limerick, Ireland, Feb. 24, 1840. His parents were John and Johannah (Kennedy) Sullivan, worthy farming people. John, our subject, was the youngest of a family of three sons and five daughters, of whom two sons and three daughters came to America. Mortimer, the brother, died in Kewanee, IL., leaving a family of four sons and two daughters. He was a worthy citizen and business man of that place for many years. The sisters are all married and have families of their own.
The subject of this sketch was 17 years of age when he embarked for the shores of the Unites States, and upon his arrival in this country came immediately “west”, and began work with the shovel on the track of the C., B. & Q.R.R., at Somonauk, IL. In May 1860, he came to Galesburg, where, after three years of faithful work, he was appointed section foreman at Kewanee, IL. Five years later he went to Hinsdale, IL. in the same capacity, and worked there until 1868, when he was appointed foreman of the floating gang, with headquarters at Sandwich, IL. This position he held until 1871, when he received further promotion as Division Roadmaster, with headquarters at Aurora, whence he was transferred to Galesburg, where he has been very reputably connected ever since.
Mr. Sullivan was married in Streator, IL., to Katie, daughter of John Stanton, Esq., a native of Ireland. The union of Mr. Sullivan and Miss Stanton has been blest with a family of two sons and three daughters, as follows: Mortimer, Maria, Katie, John B., and Julia. He and his wife are regular communicants with the congregation of the Corpus Christi Roman Catholic Church.
Mr. Sullivan is a member of the C., B. & Q. Protective Association. He has always avoided accepting nomination for office, but has nevertheless given a candid support to his party. He is a pronounced Democrat, but in local matters votes for the best man, irrespective of party. He is public-spirited and supports all measures attending the development of his adopted city. He is rearing and educating his children well, and besides being a good citizen and genial gentleman is a kind husband and father.
ALBERT UPSON, a farmer, resident of Knox Township, lives on section 9. He was born in Summit County, Ohio, May 8, 1842, and his father, Rowland Upson, was a native of the same county, born Feb. 6, 1806. Albert’s grandfather was a native of Massachusetts and a pioneer of Summit County. The maiden name of his wife was Phoebe M. Randall, a native of Canada, born in September 1814. She was but two years old when her parents moved to Orange County, N.Y., and a few years later to Summit County, Ohio. Mr. Upson grew to manhood in Summit County, and there met and married his wife, living until 1851 in that section of country. He then removed to Illinois, and settled in Knox County, buying wild land on section 9 of Knox Township, and built a frame house, the lumber for which he drew from Peoria. He improved and cultivated the land, taking an honest pride in its prolific and abundant bearing and upon this spot lived out the remainder of his days, dying in May 1874. His widow died in June 1884.
Nine children were born of this union, as follows: Josephine, deceased; Lucy N., wife of Grenville Wright, living near Vermont, Fulton County; Albert; Johnnie, now deceased; Sarah M., wife of John Hummel, living in Ford County; Lida M. who married Edwin Taylor of Galesburg; Willie, deceased; and Hannah, wife of William Wright, whose home is in Kansas City.
Albert Upson was nine years of age when he came to the county with his parents, and here he grew to manhood, reared on the farm and receiving the limited advantages derived from the common school. He was united in marriage Jan. 1, 1867, with Hannah M. Case, who was born in Ashtabula County, Ohio, and is the daughter of Elisha E. and Rachel O. (Morse) Case, both natives of New York. Mr. Upson lived at home up to the date of his marriage. The following summer he went to Wayne County, Iowa, and bought a farm, where he lived for two years, then sold it and returned to the old homestead, which he now owns and occupies. It is supplied with a good set of frame buildings, neat and commodious. There are fruit and shade trees in the yard, and the home altogether presents as desirable and attractive a refuge as the eye could take in or the heart long for.
Mr. and Mrs. Upson are the parents of five children—Florence May, Willie D., Nellie E., George A., and Arthur E. Both our subject and his wife are members of the Congregational Church of Galesburg. In politics he is a Republican.
DARIUS WOOLSEY, one of the leading and prosperous farmers of Haw Creek Township, is the subject of this sketch. He was born in Marion County, Ohio, June 9, 1849. He came west in early life in company with his mother and David Woolsey, and elder brother. He continued at home and with his brother until his marriage in 1872, when he was united with Miss Emma Wolf, daughter of Jacob and Elizabeth Wolf. She was born in Haw Creek Township, Knox County. Her parents came to Illinois and settled where Mr. Wolf at present resides. Her mother died in 1886. Her father still survives.
There have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Woolsey five children, whose names are John, Elmer, Cora, Edgar, and Bert Woolsey. Edgar died when in his second year. Mrs. Woolsey is a member of the United Brethren Church.
Mr. Woolsey, as before stated, is a prosperous farmer, and a live, energetic business man. He is the owner of 700 acres of good, tillable land, nearly all of which is under cultivation. He has a fine dwelling house, good barns and out-houses for the conveniences of farming and stock-raising.
A view of the premises can be seen on another page of this work. Politically Mr. W. is a Republican, though he takes no further part in politics than exercising the right of suffrage.
JOHN W. ANDREWS is a prominent and successful farmer and stock-dealer, residing on section 16, Walnut Grove Township, which he is now representing for the fifth term as its Supervisor. He came with his parents to the United States in 1855, his birthplace being Ayrshire, Scotland, and the date Oct. 3, 1845. His father, Hugh Andrews, was a farmer and of direct Scottish ancestry, as was his mother, whose name was Margaret Wilson. On arriving in America, the parents and family, including two sons and two daughters, located for two years in Copley Township, the father afterward purchasing 500 acres of land, 320 of which adjoined 180 in Ontario Township. It was all improved and became their permanent home, and there the father died in Aug. 1878; the mother still survives, and is residing in Altona. Mary, deceased, was born soon after they came to this country, and the four remaining children all live in this county.
John W. lived at home with his parents till his marriage in Altona Dec. 25, 1877, to Miss Elizabeth Scott, a native of Copley Township, who was reared and educated in Knox County, being of Scotch descent. Her father was a native of Scotland, and her mother of the United States, and they are now farming in Polk County, Neb. They are Alexander and Mary (McCormick) Scott. After his marriage, John W. and his brother Thomas bought the homestead, each taking one half or 250 acres, in addition to which John W. owns 73 acres, partially within the village limits, where he has a beautiful home and successfully conducts his business. He engaged in stock buying and selling in Altona about 1871 or 1872, and although yet a young man is one of the best business men of the county.
Although diligently attentive to his calling he does not lose sight of his obligations and duties as a citizen, and takes an earnest interest in political and public affairs, being strongly attached to the institutions and devoted to the welfare of his adopted country. The obligations of religion find in him a consistent supporter, he and his good wife being active members of the Presbyterian Church, of which he is a Trustee. He is a member of the I.O.O. F., the present Treasurer of his lodge, and has held most of its offices. In political affiliation and sentiment he is a stanch Republican, maintaining all his views with that sobriety and toleration which become the citizens of a free republic. With an untarnished reputation for integrity, walking the narrow path of rectitude, enterprising, kind and obliging, blessed in every way and trusted by all, he may justly be regarded as a citizen worthy to fill any position to which he may be called.
JOSEPH H. BLOOMFIELD, prominent among the leading citizens, and the wealthy and influential farmers of Knox County, is Joseph H. Bloomfield, whose personal history is narrated in the ensuing paragraphs. He has been actively engaged in farming pursuits ever since 1845, and may be reckoned among the most enterprising and industrious men in that section of the county.
Mr. Bloomfield started in to establish his new home when the country was yet in a wild and unsettled condition. He was but 11 years of age when he came to Knox County, and in his earlier life attended school and spent the years intervening between that age and manhood under his father’s roof. He has been engaged in agricultural pursuits, living in Rio Township until the year 1858, when he removed to Mercer County and there spent 14 years. Deciding that Rio Township was worthy of his creating a home in its midst, he bought land, until he is now the owner of 159 acres on section 33. Much of this land in his possession is capable of a high state of cultivation, and few can boast of a more desirable homestead.
The subject of this sketch was born in Butler County, Ohio, Nov. 30, 1834. At the age of 25 years, April 24, 1859, he was united in marriage with Miss Lucinda Jackson, and this event occurred in Warren County, IL. Mrs. Bloomfield was a native of Indiana, and to her and her husband have been born eight children, by name as follows: Alice E., Henrietta, Mary J., Abigail, Sophronia, Daisy, Harrison I., and Lelia. Of this family of children, Mary J. and Abigail are deceased.
Mr. Bloomfield has held many of the local offices of his neighborhood, and discharged the duties incident to them well and ably. In politics he is a Democrat. Both himself and wife are members, in good and regular standing, of the Baptist Church.
The parents of Mr. Bloomfield are Isaac and Mary (Hohn) Bloomfield, and those of his wife are Harrison and Roxana J. (Holcomb) Harrison.
JEREMIAH E. DERHAM, a general farmer, located on section 23 of Walnut Grove Township, is the owner of 160 acres and a very desirable residence. He also possesses 40 acres of highly improved land in Lynn Township. This gentleman was born in Delaware County, N.Y., May 19, 1843. His father was descended of English parentage and his mother was of German ancestry. The grandfather, Moses Beagle, was Mayor of Schenectady. On both sides the grandfathers were in the War of 1812. The elder Beagle was among those who volunteered to capture certain strongholds where it required the stoutest hearts to meet.
The family on both the father’s and mother’s side were held in the highest esteem in their State. The elder members of this family all lived to a ripe old age and died in their native State, New York, in Delaware County. The parents of our subject still reside at South Hill, East Davenport, N.Y., the father now (1886) in his 74th year and the mother in her 69th. They are still active members of the Christian Church.
Mr. Jeremiah E. Derham was educated in the public schools and at Ferguson Hill Academy. Subsequently, and while quite young, he began to teach. Coming westward, however, he took up his location in Knox County and commenced teaching at Lynn, where he followed his profession until the date of his marriage in Oneida, April 18, 1867, to Miss Mary E. Collinson. This lady was born in Walnut Grove Township, Feb.12, 1848, and resided at home with her parents up to the date of her marriage. She commenced and completed her education in Altona. By her union with Mr. Derham one child, Milo G., was born May 31, 1868.
In the biography of S. L. Collinson, Mrs. Derham’s family history is given more in detail. Mr. Derham and his wife are regular attendants at the Methodist Episcopal Church, with which body they have warm sympathies; they enjoy and merit the approbation of the community, and in their home is an air of quiet refinement and morality of a high order. The head of the household is in politics a solid Republican, with the principles of which party he has been identified since 1864, when George B. McClellan was candidate for President. The only son of the household, Milo, is attending the Altona High School, and ranks high as a scholar.
GEORGE A. MERRILL -Civil War Vet -, a passenger conductor on the line of the C. B.& Q. R. R., was born at Lowell, Mass., Aug. 7, 1845, and was the only son of J. A. and Jennie A. (Powers) Merrill, both natives of the Bay State. The senior Mr. M was a railroad man, but removed West in 1854, worked some time for the C., B.& Q. and Rock Island & Peoria roads. He lived awhile in Galesburg, then returned east, and in 1880 emigrated to Lincoln, Neb., where he died three years later, at the age of 63 years.
George A. Merrill, at the age of 13, commenced his railroad life as a train boy on the C., B.& Q.R.R. At the age of 16 he began braking. His next step upward was the position of baggage-man and his next that of freight conductor. This position he occupied for 13 consecutive years, and in 1880 he was promoted to the position of passenger conductor, which, it is needless to say, he fills to the entire satisfaction of the company, and is both popular and pleasant.
Mr. Merrill’s service to his country should not be forgotten, as he adorned the position in which he was placed. In 1864 he left railroading long enough to serve 100 days as private in Co. D, 132nd IL. Vol. Inf. At the expiration of his term of enlistment he returned to his old business, where he will probably be found, Providence granting him a long life of usefulness, for many years hence.
Our subject is a member of Galesburg Lodge, No. 142, I.O.O.F.; Vesper Lodge, No. 584, A.F.& A.M., also of Galesburg Chapter, No 46, Galesburg Commandery, No. 8, all of Galesburg, and of the Peoria Consistory, and also a member of College City Lodge, A.O.U.W., No 214; Oak Leaf Camp of Modern Woodmen of America, also Order of Railway Conductors.
He was married in Galesburg Feb. 6, 1867, to Miss Julia A. Colwell, a native of Dutchess Co., N.Y., and the children born to them are Nellie A. and Jennie C. Long may his “all aboard” summon the patrons of the old “Q”.
A. W. MILLER, general farmer and shoemaker, residing on section 13 in Walnut Grove Township, was born on Long Island, Sept. 12, 1830. His father, Vincent Miller, is now living in Guthrie County, Iowa, and has attained to his 80th year. He was united in marriage with Alma Smith, who was also a native of Long Island and died there while her son, our subject, was yet a small boy. His early education had scarcely time to develop his mind, when he set out for himself in the battle of life. After arriving in the west, where his father came in 1836, he proceeded to Henderson, his father settling in Cambridge, Henry County. Mr. Miller was apprenticed to and learned the boot and shoe trade, his employer being Henry Dean of Henderson. He worked for Mr. Dean for many years, and while yet at this trade, Jan. 16, 1851, was married to Miss Rebecca Edwards, a native of Wayne County, N.Y., who was born Feb. 8, 1835. She was only six years old when her parents came to Illinois and when they settled in Henderson. Her people were among the oldest settlers, and by their honesty and industry won for themselves the admiration and esteem of the community. Mrs. M. is the oldest of a family of 13 children, eight of whom are yet living—three sons and five daughters. This good lady is the mother of four children, of whom one is deceased: Marcus E. is married to Jennie Petitt and now resides in Topeka, Kan., where he represents a large wholesale grocery house; they have one child, Theresa; Fannie is the wife of Augustus Richards and lives in St. Paul, Neb., where he is a large and successful land owner; Hannah M. resides at home; and Martin, deceased.
After his marriage in 1856, Mr. Miller arrived in Walnut Grove Township and lived in Altona for some years, where he followed his trade and sold boots and shoes. In the spring of 1867 he first purchased 80 acres of land on which he now lives and which has been improved to a large extent. This gentleman has held many minor offices of his township, in each of which he has acquitted himself creditably. He is a solid Republican in politics.
TIMOTHY MOSHER, capitalist, Galesburg, was born in Washington County, N.Y., May 18, 1812. His father, Timothy Moshier, was a native of Canada, and his mother, nee Rachel Curtis, was a native of Washington Co, N.Y. They were married in Washington County, where they reared five sons and four daughters. The senior Mr. Moshier was a farmer by occupation. He died in Cayuga County, N.Y. Aug. 4, 1828, at the age of 47 years. His widow survived him 23 years, when she died in the same county at the age of 69.
The subject of this sketch was the eldest son and was brought up on his father’s farm until 16 years of age, when he began life for himself. His education was somewhat meager, but he was possessed of extraordinary natural ability and a sound judgment, accompanied by a stout heart and great physical force. He left Cayuga County when he was 23 years of age, and took up his abode in Cass County, Mich., where he remained three years, going thence, in 1838, to the Platte Purchase in Missouri, and from there, five years later, to Warren County, IL. In the latter county he farmed with much success for ten consecutive years, and in 1852 removed to Galesburg, where his industrious habits have since been applied to farming, stock raising, trading, and shipping. His farm closely adjoins the city, thus enabling him to spend his time without inconvenience in or out of town. The large and valuable tracts of land once owned by him have been to a great extent distributed among his children. He retains, however, such property as identifies him with the most extensive farmers in the country. In 1864 he became largely interested in the First National Bank of Galesburg. Mr. Moshier was married in Michigan, Nov. 7, 1837, to Sarah Garwood, who was the daughter of William and Mary (Thatcher) Garwood, who moved from Ohio to Michigan at an early day. She died in Warren Co, IL. Feb 22 1851, leaving four children. They are as follows: David, who married Miss Kate Meek of this county, they are the parents of one daughter & are now living in Denver, Colo.; George Moshier(see sketch); Henry Clay Moshier took to wife Miss Lou Ferris of Galesburg, and are the parents of two children—Winnie and Forrie—and reside in Galesburg; Ada Moshier married A. D. Pankey and they have one boy named Fred, residing in Galesburg. Mr. Moshier was a second time married, his wife’s maiden name being Adelia Gardner, to whom he was joined in Knoxville, Dec. 27, 1854, her death taking place in Galesburg, June 20, 1883. She was the daughter of Richard and Mary (Bronson) Gardner. Her parents were natives of New York. She was previously married to a Mr. Gardner. By her first marriage she had one daughter—Helen, now the wife of Asa A. Matteson. The result of this latter union was one child, a daughter, who married Fred Seacord, and they are parents of two children—Louise and an infant not named.
Mr. Moshier is a stanch Republican. He is not a member of any church, but always contributes liberally to the cause of Christ.
MICHAEL RINER is one of the old settlers and most prominent citizens of this township. Early in 1857 he located on section 4, where he took up farming and stock-raising. He was born in Berkeley Co, W. Va., Aug. 22, 1822. His father, Henry Riner, was a blacksmith by calling and a native of Virginia, of German descent, and his ancestry were among the oldest and most respected in that country. The great-grandfather of our subject, on his first arrival from Germany, settled in Virginia and took a prominent part in the Revolutionary War. He was a private and received a gunshot in the leg, which partly crippled him for life. Having successfully farmed in Virginia, he died at the advanced age of 96 years.
Mr. Riner’s grandfather, Jacob by name, lived and died in Berkeley County, where he was born and followed the profession of farming. He married Hannah Snyder, from the same county. This lady of estimable character lived with her husband to an advanced age and also lies buried in Virginia. The father of our subject was the oldest of a family of four sons and six daughters, and learning his trade while yet young, he commenced life for himself and married early in his native county. The lady was Miss Mary Roney and of Irish descent, whose father died in Berkeley Co, Va. The mother’s seven children (five sons and two daughters) came with her after the death of the father in Champaign Co, IL. (where she remained ten years), when she removed to Knox Co, IL. Here she made her first home in Altona. Subsequently she lived in this township up to about the date of her death, which occurred while visiting one of her sons in Mason Co, IL. She died Feb. 1875 in her 76th year. She was a truly good and heroic woman, who through life had faced great hardships and with a large family struggled with the world and conquered its difficulties. Her success in bringing up her children as she did won for her the esteem of a large circle of admiring friends. She was a motherly woman and one of strong character, and was a fervent Abolitionist at a time when few dared to profess an opinion on this subject. She willingly sent her youngest son, Benjamin, to the war, in which he participated with valor and escaped unhurt.
While the family was yet living in Champaign Co, IL., the subject of this history was married to Miss Elizabeth Livingston, who was born in Warren County, Jan. 26, 1823. This good and benevolent lady died at her home in Walnut Grove Township, on the 15th of Sept. 1875. She was the mother of 12 children, of whom seven are surviving. Of these there are now married Henry, James, Amelia, Daniel, Bithia, Sarah C., and Ella. There are deceased Mary, Martha, Albert, Louisa, and Maria. Soon after his arrival in this township in 1857, Mr. Riner rented his land up to 1860, when he purchased 160 acres, which form his present home. This latter contains all modern improvements. After the death of his first wife he was again married at Altona on Nov. 18, 1876, to Mrs. Luticia Allen (formerly Van Fleet). She was born in Cayuga Co, N.Y. July 23, 1834. Her parents were N.Y. people and very successful farmers. Her father died in Warren Co. on the 15th day of Aug. 1852, his death taking place from various wounds received in the battle of Shiloh, among them his ribs being broken by a spent cannon ball. Suffering from heart complaint, he was unable to lie down for three years previous to his death. He was one among the most honest of honest soldiers and a splendid citizen. He had one son and four sons-in-law.
The mother, whose maiden name was Elizabeth Firkins, is still living and resides in Mitchell County, Kansas with her oldest daughter. Mrs. R. by her former marriage became the mother of Ida M., married; Daniel E., also married; Lucien, who is a teacher in Guthrie Co, Iowa. Mr. Allen, the father, was a native of New York, and coming westward was married in Galesburg. He enlisted in the cause of the Republic in 1861, joining the 89th IL. Vol. Inf., Co. G, under Capt. Whiting. He was, however, instantly killed by a minie-ball from the enemy, at Dallas, Ga., May 17, 1863, while with Sherman on his march to Atlanta. He was an active and patriotic soldier and a warm advocate of the Republican party up to the time of his death.
Mr. Riner is a member in good standing of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and Mrs. Riner of the Universalist. The former is a Trustee in his church and one who has always shown an active interest in all matters pertaining thereto. As a stanch Republican he has always shown himself on the side of any measure likely to promote the good of that party.
J. S. SIMPSON, the early training and subsequent life of this gentleman leave no room to doubt that his present success and future prosperity is and will be based on his sterling qualities of character. In his earliest start in life, friends who knew him then prophesied that the boy’s future would be marked with decided success.
His father, William Simpson, was born in Indiana County, Pa., on the 17th day of November 1807. His grandfather, Andrew Simpson, was a native of the same State. The father of the gentleman here to be spoken of was brought up on the elder parent’s farm in his native place. In 1832 on the 29th of November, he married Miss Susan Gallagher, who was born in Westmoreland County, Pa., on the 28th of September 1812. At the date of his marriage he became a resident on his father’s farm, and had given into his care the fulling and saw mills then at work on the premises. Here he lived but a few years when he resolved on moving to Westmoreland County, where he purchased a farm in Derry Township; there he remained, engaging in agricultural pursuits up to the year 1856 when he sold that farm and took up his abode in Blairsville, Indiana County, for one year. His desire to travel at this period resulted in his visiting Minnesota, Iowa, Wisconsin, and Illinois. The outcome of this tour caused him to determine in the spring of 1857 on settling with his family in Elmwood, Peoria County, IL. Here he purchased a grist-mill, which he successfully operated until 1861, and in 1862 removed to Peoria, where he lived until 1867. Then moving to Knoxville, in company with his son he purchased a flour mill one mile south of the town and in the same year removed the old building, only, however, to rebuild and enlarge it, continuing to operate the mill, in company with his son, until he decease on the 3rd day of September 1873. The widow of this gentleman resided with her son, the subject of this biography, until her death, which occurred March 5, 1886.
The boy was 14 years of age when he first came to Illinois with his parents. He was educated in the public school and spent one term in Blairsville Academy, and two years at a higher school in Elmwood. While not devoting himself to educational pursuits, he was found ever ready to assist his father at the mill, and devoted much time to the formers business. In this way he acquired a thorough knowledge of the trade. Removing later to Knoxville with his parents, he, for the first time, and in partnership with his father, opened a flouring-mill, and became for the time sole manager of the business.
Our subject was married to Mary McGowan on the 24th of October 1872. She was a native of Knox Township, and daughter of William and Margary (McPherrin) McGowan, residents of that township. To this marriage were born three children—William I., Edith M., and Harry O. Mr. Simpson and his wife are both members of the Presbyterian Church. There is no good or useful work instituted with a view to promote general morality, and enhance the value of good will among their fellows, but this lady and gentleman are found associated with it.
Mr. Simpson has been Mayor of the city and member of the School Board, the decisions of the latter being often guided by his wise counsel. For a second time he has been chosen Supervisor. He has already in life accomplished great good and is closely identified with the history of Knox County.
RALPH SKINNER is a retired farmer, residing in the city of Galesburg and was born in Cortland County, N.Y., July 31, 1819. The parents of Mr. Skinner, John F. and Cynthia (Chesebro) Skinner, were natives of Connecticut, of English descent, and reared two sons and five daughters, Ralph being the eldest and the only son now living, and one sister, now Angeline Gray, living in Decatur County, Iowa. He came to Knox County in 1837, and returned east for his parents in 1849. His father and mother died here, the former in 1854 and his widow in 1870.
Ralph Skinner was brought up on the farm and educated in the district schools, and joined the colony that founded Galesburg. June 19, 1856 he married Miss Louisa Swift, the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Erastus Swift, one of the Galesburg colonists, the father in his lifetime being one of Knox County’s best citizens. He was one of the Trustees of Knox College. Mr. Swift died in 1848, aged 70 years, and his widow, whose maiden name was Everest, died ten years later. Their children were all highly educated, and the male members of the family have since adorned the most honored professions.
Mr. and Mrs. Skinner have no children of their own, but several children of other people have been blessed by their bounty and grown up under their fostering care. In 1875 Mr. Skinner retired from all active business, though retaining a supervisory care over his farm, now reduced to 80 acres. Mr. Skinner votes the Republican ticket. Mrs. Skinner is a member of the Congregational Church.
EUGENE JAMES SULLIVAN, - Civil War Vet - conductor on the C., B.& Q.R.R., is a native of the State of New York. He was born at Troy, March 17, 1857, and is the son of Orin and Mary (Minaham) Sullivan, both natives of Tralee, County Kerry, Ireland. In 1858 the family came west and settled at Galesburg where their five sons and two daughters grew to man and womanhood.
Mr. Sullivan of this sketch was the third child and second son of his parents’ family, spending his boyhood at Galesburg. At the age of 11 years he began work in the shops of the C., B.& Q.R.R. He worked alternately in the shops and in a store for a few years, and at the age of 20 began as brakeman on a train. In this occupation he developed rapidly and in a few years was given charge of a train as conductor, a position he has fully and eminently filled. He is a young man of clever attainments, is broad and liberal in his views, public-spirited and progressive, and we predict for him a successful career in life. He has a fine physique and a rugged constitution, qualities which eminently fit him for his chosen vocation.
F. E. FOWLER, traveling agent of the Galesburg Division, C., B.& Q.R.R., residing at Galesburg, is a native of Massachusetts and comes of a long line of ancestry in that State. He was born in Salem, Oct. 3, 1834, and is the son of George and Sarah (Moore) Fowler. His father was a contractor of slate-roofing in Salem, owned large quarries in Vermont, and at the time of his demise was succeeded in his business by his son George P., who still conducts it. On both sides of his parentage, Mr. Fowler finds that they were believers in and supporters of the cause of the Colonies in the Revolution.
Mr. Fowler is the fourth child and third son of a family of four sons and two daughters, all of whom survive, except Samuel; he gave up his life in that foulest of foul rebel prisons, Andersonville, during the late war. Philip H. is a General Superintendent of the Gingham Manufacturing Works of Philadelphia, but resides at New Jersey, where the works are located. Sarah A. is the wife of Prof. L.D.S. Corea, a gentleman of Fayal, Azore Islands. Helen M. is the wife of H.T. Chalk, a manufacturer of Salem, Mass.
The subject of this notice spent his boyhood in Salem. At the age of 14 he became apprenticed to the printer’s trade in the office of the Salem Observer, and afterward at the Harvard University Press, where he completed his apprenticeship at the age of 21 years. He then came to Chicago and worked on the Democratic Press. In 1857 he located at Macomb, and in partnership with the late Hon. B.R. Hampton, published the Macomb Enterprise, now the Macomb Journal, and strongly advocated the measures adopted by the Republican party. In January 1862, he shouldered a musket as a private in Co. B, 16th IL. Vol. Inf. He shortly after left that regiment and did effective work for the Government till near the close of the war. After the war Mr. Fowler located in Carthage, IL. where he founded and published the Carthage Gazette, and conducted the same until 1870, a portion of which time he was also in the United States secret service. In 1871 he came to Galesburg, and purchased the Galesburg Daily Register, retiring from it in 1872. The Register was the only paper ever published in Galesburg containing Associated Press dispatches. We next find him serving Galesburg as its City Marshal, which position he filled with credit until 1878, when he retired to accept his present position.
Mr. Fowler was married at Macomb, IL. to Jane E., the accomplished daughter of Van C. and Elizabeth (Randolph) Hampton. She is a lady of estimable attainments and comes of a long and worthy line of ancestors in McDonough County, the Hamptons and the Randolphs being too well known to need genealogical tracing. Mr. and Mrs. Fowler had a family of one son and three daughters, the eldest of whom died in February, 1882. W. Harry is a young man of good attainments, served an apprenticeship in machinery and mechanism in the machine shops of the C., B.& Q.R.R. and now holds a good position in their shops. Rose E. and W. Fay, their daughters, are young ladies of accomplishments and reside at home.
Mr. Fowler has always taken an active part in the encouragement of measures attending the city’s growth and development.
He is an active Mason, having attained the degree of Knight Templar in Galesburg Commandery, No. 8. He is also a member of the G.A.R., belonging to James T. Shields Post, No. 45, and likewise is a member of the A.O.U.W. He held important positions in Odd Fellowship for many years.
ERICK LARSON, one of the successful Swedish farmers on section 14, Walnut Grove Township. He is a self-made man in the fullest sense of the word, and was born in Helsingland, North Sweden, on June 4 1837. His father, Erick, was born in the same country, but after the family’s arrival in the United States, and while pushing westward, the father’s decease occurred on Lake Michigan. Owing to the cholera, which had become an epidemic about that date, one son, Charles, and one daughter, Ingra, sickened and died. The family, however, managed to reach Chicago, IL. Here the mother with her five remaining children, two sons and three daughters, made a short stay. Of these the subject of this history was the youngest.
The mother of our subject, who is yet living, finally settled in Copley Township. She is in her 87th year, and resides with her daughter, Mrs. Martha Seiboldt. No sooner had the family settled, as just stated, than Mr. Larson, though then quite young, determined to make his own living and engaged in farming operations. In these he continued until the date of his marriage, March 31, 1861, in Copley Township, to Miss Mary E. Pitts, a native of Henry County, Ind., born Jan. 1, 1837. This lady was the daughter of William H. and Cynthia (Knight) Pitts, natives of North Carolina, but married in Henry County, where they had lived. The father was a shoemaker by calling, and moved from Henry County to Hamilton, Ind., when their daughter, Mrs. Larson, of this notice, was still young. She was the oldest but one of a family of nine children. In 1850 the family located in Copley Township, and three years later the parents went to Benton Co., Iowa, where the father died on Sept. 26, 1871, and the mother on Feb. 2, 1875. They were members of the United Brethren Church, the father being a Class Leader in that body for several years. Up to the date of her marriage Mrs. Larson remained at home, occupied with domestic work.
By her happy union four children were born—Cynthia A., who resided at home up to the date of her decease, and who was the wife of L.W. Johnson, and died Jan. 21, 1881; George W., John H., and Emma J. still remain at home. Subsequent to their marriage they settled on an improved farm in Copley Township, but later, in 1875, purchased 160 acres in the present township.
Both in farming and stock-raising Mr. Larson has had extraordinarily good luck, while his family is one of the most interesting in the district. Mrs. Larson’s family record is as follows: Hannah J., married, but since deceased; Sarah L., married and living in Rice County, Kan.; John W., who died in Andersonville prison; William H., married and residing in Benton Co, Iowa; George M., married; E. H., married but whose wife is deceased, and A.E. and Rachel L, married and living in Rice County, Kan.
Mr. Erick Larson has been identified with the Republican party, of the principles of which he has always been an earnest advocate.
BILLINGS MOULTON, Alderman of the Sixth Ward of Galesburg, stands prominent among that class of men who in the early times of this city took a stand, determined to use their best efforts in the building up of its social, industrial and intellectual greatness, and they have received their reward. Mr. Moulton was born in the town of Stafford, Conn., Nov. 19, 1824. His parents were William and Flavia (Van Hone) Moulton, the former being of an old and worthy line of ancestry of that State and the latter of the Bay State.
The subject of our sketch digressed from the usual line of business of his ancestors (who were merchants and farmers) and learned a trade. His parents having removed to Springfield, Mass., he completed his apprenticeship there at the carpenter’s bench, and worked at it in that city for some time. Here he met and married Miss Harriet C. Smith, a lady of most estimable attainments, and who in later years proved a most fitting helpmeet for him in his life in the west. In 1854 the young couple came west and located at Galesburg, where Mr. Moulton accepted a position with the C., B. & Q. R.R. Co. Here he has since been very reputably identified, serving worthily as foreman of the pattern shops of the C., B. & Q.R.R. Co for the past 25 years.
Mr. and Mrs. Moulton have reared four sons, all of whom have grown to manhood and are holding worthy positions in their different vocations. Arthur is a representative real estate and insurance man of Galesburg; Frank I., manager of the Mercantile and Protective Agency of Chicago; Eugene W. is engaged in farming and stock-raising in York, Neb.; Earnest S. is ticket agent of the C., B.& Q.R.R. Co. at Galesburg.
Both himself and wife are members of the Baptist Church, in which he has served as an active official. They are worthy members of society, and have the pleasure of seeing their fondest hopes of the “long ago” fully realized. Times which in their early experiences here were ominous of ill-fortune have changed to all they anticipated, and their family is well reared and educated.
FRANKLIN OGDEN, ex-merchant and retired farmer, son of Abraham and Keziah (Houghton) Ogden, natives respectively of Old and New England, was born in Oneida County, N.Y. July 25, 1808. Abraham Ogden came to America when he was 23 years of age; settled in York State, where he farmed up to 1839, when he came to Illinois, and in Berwick Township, Warren County, spent the rest of his life, dying in 1845. The old man was a lover of American institutions, and in the War of 1812 served his adopted country faithfully as a soldier. He reared four sons and three daughters, Franklin being the 2nd in order of birth.
The subject of our sketch received a fair common-school education in New York State; grew to manhood on a farm, came to Illinois in 1840, and lived in Warren County until 1865. At Berwick, in that county, he was for some years engaged in mercantile business, at which, augmented by the products of the farm, he accumulated a considerable fortune. In the spring of 1866 he removed to Galesburg, where he has since been engaged in the manufacture of composition stone. Before the war Mr. Ogden was a Whig; in fact, it may be said that he was an active politician, for we find that he was a political speaker of more than local reputation. When the Whig party expired, or was swallowed up by other parties, he identified himself with the Republican party, which he has since given his ablest support. For more than 50 years Mr. Ogden has been a member of the Baptist Church; 30 years of the time a Deacon, and the proudest thing to be said of him is that through his whole life (and he has seen more than three-quarters of a century) his acts have been consistent with his professions.
At Rome, N.Y. on Oct. 11, 1832, Mr. Ogden was married to Miss Jane Briggs, who died at Berwick about the year 1848, leaving five children, after having buried two, Analucia and Joseph, who died in infancy. Of the others, Franklin D. is a farmer in Warren County; Eliza Jane died in 1853, at the age of 18 years; Allen B. died in 1853, at the age of 14 years; James also died in 1853, at the age of 11 years, and Albert is a citizen of Colorado.
Aug. 2, 1850, Mr. Ogden united with his second wife, Mrs. Cynthia Whiting, nee Richardson, in Genesee, N.Y. She lived but a short time, and died in Berwick, Warren County, Aug. 29, 1850. Mr. Ogden found his third wife in the person of Mrs. Sarah Jane Baker, nee Pollock, and to her he was married at Berwick, May 26, 1853. Mrs. Ogden was a native of Ohio, and a daughter of Robert and Margaret (Hurley) Pollock. Her first husband, Mr. S.W. Baker, was a professional educator in his lifetime. Her only child , George W. Baker, died near Berwick, Aug. 4, 1853, at the age of three and one-half years.
L. W. SHELDON, M.D., Knoxville boasts many excellent men as residents, and prominent among them stands the subject of this biographical notice, who has arduously and untiringly prosecuted the practice of his profession in this city since 1881. He has been eminently successful and has gained a wide patronage and hosts of friends by his unremitting attention to business and his genuine knowledge of his profession.
Dr. Sheldon was born in the State of Mississippi, Jan. 1, 1826, and is the son of Samuel and Tryphena (Hatch) Sheldon, the former a native of Scotland and the latter of Vermont. His parents were married in the State of Ohio, and immediately removed to Mississippi. By profession the father was a minister of the Gospel, and after a life devoted to the winning of souls to Christ, he departed this life in Mississippi, in 1831, leaving a wife and son, the only child, to mourn his loss. After the father’s death the widow removed to Ohio, taking with her L. W., but she was not long spared to him, for in two weeks he was motherless. She died at the home of her parents, who tenderly cared for and trained the orphan grandchild, who, during his boyhood, assisted his grandfather on the farm.
He attended school every winter, and, being naturally industrious and intelligent, soon acquired a good education, so good that at the age of 17 he began the life of a pedagogue. He developed the worthy ambition to do and to be something, and devoted every spare moment to the study of medicine, spending the remainder of the time—that is, the winter—in teaching. This supplied him with the means to prosecute his studies with Dr. E. Wheaton, of Homer, afterward entering the office of J. L. Yeoman, M. D., of Hartford, Licking Co, Ohio.
In 1849 he attended medical lectures at Starling College, Columbus, from which institution he graduated in the spring of 1850, and commenced practice, with that success which has been previously cited. Here he continued only a short time and then removed to Newcomerstown, Tuscarawas County. From here he went to Champaign, Ohio, and thence, in 1852, returned to Licking County and settled in Appleton. Here he continued until 1864, when he came to Knox County, IL., and located in Persifer Township, buying 100 acres of splendid land, highly improved and cultivated. With the assistance of such help as he was able to obtain, he managed his farm until 1881, when he rented it and moved to Knoxville, here continuing his practice.
On the 28th of March 1848, he entered into a connubial alliance with Nancy Corbin, who was born in Licking County, Ohio, April 23, 1830, and was the daughter of Richard and Barbara (Beaver) Corbin, natives of Virginia. The union of Dr. and Mrs. Sheldon has been blessed by the birth of five children, of whom but one survives—Alzina M., wife of John L. Overturf, who resides in Nemaha Co., Neb.
The Doctor’s home is among the most pleasant and congenial ones anywhere in the county, being a direct example of what refinement and taste and cultivation of intellect can achieve, and is a resort for those who can understand and appreciate the qualities incident to these characteristics. The Doctor has an eye to politics, both local and public, and is a Democrat in voice and vote.
CAPT. GARDNER G. STEARNS, eminently worthy a degree of notice as a prominent farmer, and a resident of Knox Township, is the subject of this historical narration, whose career has plainly shown that he possesses “a heart to resolve, a head to construct and a hand to execute.” He has been extremely prosperous in his particular line of labor, and has made himself well known by his energetic and untiring perseverance.
The gentleman of whom we write was born in Conway, Mass., Feb. 9, 1836. His father, George Stearns, was also a native of Conway, and his grandfather, also named George Stearns, was a native of the same town, so that he claims far back a long line of New England ancestry. The great-grandfather of Capt. Stearns is recorded in the early history of Conway, as being one of the first settlers of the town, and conspicuous as one of the important factors in its growth and enterprise. The father of our subject still lives in his native town, where he has always pursued the occupation of farming. The mother of our subject, whose maiden name was Fannie Arms, was the daughter of Henry and Experience (Gates) Arms. She died Dec. 15, 1884. To them there were nine children born, seven of whom grew to man and womanhood, and six of whom are still living.
Gardner G. was the eldest son, and grew to manhood in the town of his nativity. He was reared on a farm, upon which he worked, receiving his education in the common schools, and where he continued with his parents until the spring of 1857, when, on the 5th day of March of that year, he set his face toward the setting sun with the intention of founding a home in the Great West. He landed in Iroquois County, IL., where he spent one year. There he bought land, on which he made some improvements, and at the end of the year went to Knox County and rented a farm. On this he continued until 1861, and on the 23rd day of April of that year, inspired with the spirit of the time which called men to active duty for the protection of the country, he enlisted in Co. D, 1st IL Cav., and was mustered in as First Sergeant. He served in that regiment until March, 1862, when he was discharged on account of a wound received in the battle of Lexington. He re-enlisted Aug. 1, 1862, in Co. A. 77th IL Vol. Inf., being mustered in as First Lieutenant and in April was promoted to Captain. He figured in a number of important battles, leading his men with undaunted and manly courage, and prominent among them were Chickasaw Bluff, Dec. 2, 1862; Arkansas Post, Magnolia Hills, Champion Hills, Black River Bridge, and Vicksburg, May 18 and 22, 1863. In the siege of Vicksburg and Jackson, Miss. he was one of the actors and was captured at Mansfield, La., April 8, 1864, with his entire company. They were confined at Tyler, Tex., until Oct. 10, 1864, when he was exchanged and joined the regiment at New Orleans, and was in the battles of the siege and capture of Spanish Fort, Ala , and Fort Blakely and Whistler Station, of that State. He was mustered out of active service with his regiment at Mobile, July 10, 1865, and returned to Knoxville, where he resumed farming. In 1868 he bought the farm upon which he now resides.
On his present homestead he has erected a good set of frame buildings. His farm comprises 240 acres, all cultivated and improved. He has also engaged in the breeding of blooded stock, among which he includes Leicestershire and Cotswold sheep and Short-horn cattle. He has been very successful in this branch of business, and prosperity has crowned his efforts.
He was united in marriage Oct. 2, 1865, to Lucy Runkle, daughter of Eldert and Nancy (Bowen) Runkle, natives of New York and pioneers of Knoxville. The result of this union was five children, by name George E., Arthur D., Fred R., Fannie G., and Mary E. He is active in all public affairs, and takes considerable interest in educational matters; has been School Director for many years, and is a member of Knoxville Lodge, No. 66, A.F.& A.M., and Rabboni Chapter, No. 35. He is also a member of Grafton Post, No. 139, G.A.R., and is in politics one of the most fiery Republicans the county boasts. He has been Supervisor, and is always ready and willing to uphold and support any good work, whether religious, political or otherwise.
EDWARD H. WARE, an extensive farmer and stock raiser, residing on section 6, Salem Township , is a native of that township, and was born Jan. 6, 1862. His father, William Keys Ware, was born April 10, 1814 in Indiana County, Pa., and was the 4th son of Hugh Ware, who was of Scotch descent, and whose ancestry settled in the Valley of Virginia in the colonial days. His mother’s maiden name was Rebecca Hanson, whose ancestors were Hollanders and settled in the colony, occupying territory in what is now the State of Delaware, long before the War of the Revolution. In 1817, his father left Pennsylvania with his family when his son, William K. was only 3 years old. He died in Highland County, Ohio in the fall of the same year. After the death of her husband the mother settled on a small farm near Hillsboro, where with great effort she kept her children together until all were grown. William, being the youngest son, lived with his mother and worked on the farm for several years after he was grown, and owing to her limited means he was deprived of a collegiate course, but acquired a good common-school education. Being ambitious to procure distinction, he determined to study law, and about the year 1840 entered the law office of Judge Scott at Hillsboro, where he remained two years, when he was admitted to the bar.
William Ware opened his first law office at West Union, Ohio, where he remained about one year. Not being very successful, he left there and went to Knoxville, IL. where he opened his second office but, still failing to receive a fair practice, after another year’s trial he returned to Ohio and selected a location at Upper Sandusky, where he made a fair beginning and accumulated considerable money.
After living in Illinois, the young attorney found Ohio a dull place and determined to return to the Prairie State. About this time a colony from Knox County was about to start for Oregon, and he joined this and in 1847 found himself in that far-off Territory, where he soon began to engage in farming. In 1848, gold was discovered at Sutter’s Mill, Cal., and during the fall of that year, in company with a few others, he commenced mining, at what is now Placerville, where he took out considerable dust. This occupation proved too tedious and an ounce a day too small a return, so he engaged to supply the miners with tools, groceries, flour and beef, the latter on a large scale. He procured a stock ranch in Butte County and purchasing lean cattle from across the plains, took them to his ranch, where they soon became in good condition for beef. The supply of cattle from that source, however, became inadequate, and he then purchased of the Mexicans, in Lower California, large quantities of wild cattle, paying for them in gold dust. While there he encountered many hairbreadth escapes from what often appeared imminent danger and possible death, but he was so fortunate that in 1852 he returned to his old home with $100,000, all accumulated by his own honest energy and effort. Being a man of strict integrity, Mr. Ware made it his first business to hunt up his old creditors and pay them, principal and interest, although they were all barred by the statute of limitation.
William K. Ware married Miss Priscilla Stark, daughter of Dr. Stark, an eminent physician at Fairfield, Jefferson County, Iowa, and soon settled on a large farm near what is now Summit, Knox Co, IL, and engaged in farming and stock-raising with marked success a number of years. Soon after the railroad was completed, Mr. Ware laid out the village of Summit, which is located on his farm. He was extensively engaged in the breeding of fine stock, and also in the cultivation of the soil. His death occurred June 5, 1867. His widow still survives him and is now Mrs. J. W. Dieffendorf, residing at Peoria. The parental family numbered three children: William D. resides at Summit; Ida H. became the wife of James A. Penick, and resides in Chariton, Lucas County, Iowa; and our subject, Edward, was the youngest.
The father of our subject was tolerant in his religious views, kind and benevolent to all, and was a firm believer in the Christian religion. When in the enjoyment of domestic felicity and worldly prosperity, he was suddenly taken away while engaged in branding young horses; a pole with which he was controlling them gave way and struck him in the breast with such force that he died in a few hours. By this sad accident his wife was made a widow and his three small children orphans.
Of this family several brothers and sisters remain. His sister, Catherine Thomson, mother-in-law of Ex-Gov. Carey, of Kansas, resides in Leavenworth City; another sister, B. McManas, lives at Ottumwa, Iowa; a brother, John H. Ware is a banker at Burlington, Mo. The late Dr. J.C. Ware, of Fairfield, Iowa, was also a brother.
The subject of our sketch grew to manhood in his native State and received his early education in the district school, supplementing the same by an attendance of four terms at Hedding College, Abingdon. After his mother’s second marriage he removed to Iowa, and remained for two years in Lucas County. Subsequently he returned to Salem Township, and with the exception of that two years has remained upon the old homestead, a part of which he now owns.
The subject of this notice was married June 23, 1883 to Miss Sarah A. Sloan, daughter of Hon. John and Sarah (Allen) Sloan. She was born in Salem Township, Dec. 18, 1861. She has borne her husband one child, a daughter, Jessie.
Mr. Ware devotes much of his attention to the stock business and has upon his farm, among other blooded stock, two magnificent imported Clydesdale stallions.
MAJOR JOSIAH TILDEN, ~ Civil War Vet ~Justice of the Peace and residing at Galesburg, IL, was born at Rochester, Vt., Feb. 14, 1830. His parents were Joseph F. and Clementine (Lyman) Tilden, who reared one son and three daughters. The Major was educated in the common schools of Vermont, and under his father’s instruction gained a practical knowledge of the mercantile business, which he afterward found of good use.
Major Josiah Tilden came to Galesburg in the year 1851 and resided there, carrying on the business of a merchant, until the outbreak of the war in 1862, at which time he entered the United States Army as Paymaster, with the title of Major, and retained this position, in a manner reflecting credit upon himself, until the conclusion of the war. The first year of the service he spent in St. Louis, the following eighteen months in New Orleans, and the last six at Springfield, IL. Major Tilden held the above position on the steamer Ruth, in July 1863, when that vessel was destroyed by fire, 12 miles below Cairo. His clerk, Simeon Martin, formerly cashier of Reed’s Bank, at Galesburg, had the misfortune to lose his life in attempting to swim from the wreck to the shore. The Paymasters under Maj. Brinton, with the amount of $2,600,000 in greenbacks, were en route to Memphis and Vicksburg to pay volunteer soldiers at those cities. The major bore the reputation of being one of the most rapid and reliable Paymasters in the army, and his final settlement with the Government, after handling millions of dollars and paying hundreds of thousands of men, often paying a full regiment in less than ten hours, showed a balance against him, on account of errors, of only a few dollars, which were promptly remitted by the proper authorities, who accompanied his final receipts with letters of distinguished consideration for his standing in the department.
Our subject returned to Galesburg in 1865, and was soon afterward appointed United States Deputy Collector for Knox, Henry and Bureau Counties. This position he filled for about one year, when he became interested in the Galesburg Gas Works, which he helped to construct. In 1870 he removed to Jasper County, Mo., where he took up farming, which he continued for 12 years. Nine years of this time he was a member of the State Board of Agriculture of Missouri. In August, 1882, he returned to Galesburg, where he has since resided. He was elected to fill a vacancy of an unexpired term of Justice of the Peace at that time, and in the spring of 1885, re-elected to that office for the regular term of four years.
Major Josiah Tilden was united in the holy bonds of matrimony with Miss Jeannette L. Abbott, in October 1858, Rev. Edward Beecher, brother of Rev. Henry Ward Beecher, performing the ceremony. Their household was blest by the advent of seven children, four of whom are living and named as follows: Alice J., Josiah B., Amelia C., and Earnest L. Edward, his eldest son, died in 1883, in the full bloom of manhood, being only 22 years of age.
(this is not the complete biography, the next page 815 is missing)
Always a Work in progress.....
Thanks for stopping by and come again.
Saturday, December 10th, 9:03:46 PM created
Thursday, January 25, 2007 03:53:06 PM corrected & uploaded
link bar below to help you navigate my website better. Thanks