These are out of the 1886 Portrait & Biographical Album of Knox Co., IL. They were typed by Kathy Mills & emailed to me. Thanks bunches & bunches Kathy...... My hat is off to you... woman...
if you need the source page and page numbers for your family files.
I thank you bunches & bunches.
To search this page to see if you have any of your relatives on it use your browser. Go to Edit at the top, scroll down to Find, click here, type in surname, click down.... Walla Walla there are many biographies here I haven't put in the 1886 Index as of yet. They are in the Free Find Search engine on the Index page or use your browser. Just haven't taken the time and also need to do a few other things but wanted these online now before the holidays. Merry Christmas everyone....
FRANK S. BARTLETT, Division Storekeeper of the C. B.& Q. R. R. Co., at Galesburg, was born in Rio Township, Knox Co, IL., Dec. 4, 1855. His parents were Erasmus Almon and Helen Jane (Sears) Bartlett, natives of the Empire State, and pioneers of Knox County. The father was born in Genesee, and the mother in Cortland County, that state. John D. Bartlett, grandfather of our subject, settled in Knox County with his family as early as 1844.
Frank S. Bartlett, of this sketch, is the eldest of a family of four sons and two daughters. He obtained a good education in the public schools of his neighborhood, and attended Knox College in a commercial course of study. At the age of 18 years he accepted a position with the C., B. & Q. R.R. Co., as shipping clerk, in connection with the office which he now holds. After a service of five years he received honorable promotion to chief clerkship. This position he filled acceptably until Jan. 1, 1881, when he was appointed to the honorable position with the company which he at present so ably fills.
He was happily married to Sarah A., daughter of William L. Fleherty, deceased. Their union was blest with two sons and one daughter, named Alice, John D., and William A. The family attend worship at the Universalist Church. Mr. Bartlett is a worthy member of the College City Lodge, No. 214, A.O.U.W., of which organization he is the Financier
CHARLES COLLINSON, among the large landholders and successful and well-to-do farmers of Knox County, prominently stands the name of him whose short biographical notice we give, accompanied by his portrait. He is at present engaged in the prosecution of his life-long vocation on his fine farm of 280 acres on section 31, Lynn Township, and is meeting with far more than ordinary success as a tiller of the soil. He is the proprietor of Walnut Creek Creamery, and manufactures a large amount of fine creamery butter. He has been engaged in the business since 1880. He is the son of Thomas Collinson, whose native home was beyond the Atlantic, in Yorkshire, England, and who was of pure English blood. The father of our subject was reared on a farm in the mother country, and at the age of nine years began to earn his own livelihood. He was married in his native shire to Hannah Codlin, who was also a native of Yorkshire, and there reared to womanhood. While yet a resident of that shire, two children, sons, were born to them, our subject being the elder, and the date of his birth May 14, 1826.
The father and mother, together with their two sons, emigrated to the United States, and immediately made settlement in Wilkesbarre, Luzerne Co., Pa. After their arrival in this country three more children were born; three children are living. The mother died in Wilkesbarre, Pa., when Charles was but 12 years of age. The father was again married in Luzerne County to a lady of French extraction, Louisa Mathias, who was born and reared to womanhood in France, coming to the United States and locating in Luzerne County when a young lady. She yet survives and is living with her younger daughter, Mrs. Thomas McClure, in Lynn Township. The father of our subject died in Lynn Township Jan. 28, 1881, at the age of 82. He came to Illinois in 1852 bringing his family with him, six boys and two girls, Charles being the eldest. He had been a fairly successful farmer, and at the date of his demise was possessed of a considerable property. In politics he was a Democrat.
Charles Collinson, after accompanying his parents to this county, continued to reside with them on the parental homestead, assisting by his labors in the maintenance of the family until 19 years of age. He worked five years in the coal mines in the Wyoming Valley, Pa. and vicinity.
He was married in Wilkesbarre, Pa., July 18, 1847, Miss Catherine A. Spare becoming his wife. She was born near Philadelphia, Aug, 18 , 1824, and is the daughter of John and Catherine (Cline) Spare, natives of Pennsylvania and of Holland descent. Her father was a blacksmith, but after his marriage followed farming for a sustenance until his demise, which took place Jan. 2, 1865 in Wilkesbarre, Pa. His wife followed him to the land beyond 20 days later.
Mrs. Collinson was the 3rd in order of birth of a family of nine children, five sons and four daughters, and continued to reside with her parents until her marriage. Of her union with Mr. Collinson 11 children have been born, one of whom is deceased. Thomas married Hannah Rawlins, and resides in Iowa, engaged in farming; John S. has a sketch in this work; Sarah married Ambrose King, a farmer of Victoria Township; Abraham married Margaret Marshall, and also lives in Victoria Township; Mary C. is the wife of C.S. King, a farmer of Crawford County, Kan.; Martha A. married J. C. Gray, a farmer of Lynn Township; C. Frederick follows the calling of a farmer in Victoria Township, and the maiden name of his wife was H. L. McDaniels; Hannah M. became Mrs. D. C. McDowell; Samuel S. married Ada Strong, who died since the above was written, and is a farmer in Victoria Township; Luther M. is a farmer and resides at home. The deceased is Alice A. who died when about one year and two months old.
Mr. and Mrs. Collinson are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He has been Township Assessor, and in politics votes with the Democratic party. Mr. Collinson enlisted in Sept. 1862, Co. G., 89th Regt. IL. Vol. Inf; in the fall of 1863 he was transferred to the Veteran Reserve Corps, and served in the same until the close of the war, when he received an honorable discharge at Detroit, Mich., July 3, 1865. He was in numerous skirmishes, and early in the service received a sunstroke, which prevented him from active duty.
JOHN S. COLLINSON, he whose short biographical sketch we place before the reader chose in early manhood farming as his vocation, which he has followed with energy and perseverance. He is at this writing engaged in farming and stock-raising on section 29, Lynn Township, and doing well in that pursuit. Mr. Collinson was born in Luzerne County, Pa., Jan. 28, 1850. He came with his parents to this State when about four years of age. Here he lived with his parents, assisting his father on the farm and attending the common schools and developing into manhood.
Mr. Collinson was married in Lynn Township, at the residence of his bride’s parents, Jan. 1, 1873, to Miss Mary, daughter of Thomas Craver, who at this writing resides at Altona, retired from the active labors of farm life. Miss Craver was the eldest of her father’s family of 11 children, four sons and seven daughters, two of whom are deceased. She was born in Carbondale, Luzerne Co., Pa., Oct. 13, 1872, and was also four years of age when she came to this State with her parents, and settled with them in Lynn Township. There she lived until her marriage with Mr. Collinson, in the meanwhile assisting her mother in the household labors.
Mrs. Collinson has borne her husband five children, who are named Nora A., Dennis A., Katie R., Willie A. and Judge T., who is deceased.
Mr. Collinson is at present the proprietor of 210 acres of good land, the major portion of which is under an advanced state of cultivation. He is a promising young farmer, with a bright future before him, and has a sufficient amount of energy to accomplish his aim. He is devoting considerable of his attention, while raising the cereals, to stock, and in this branch is meeting with no small success. Mr. Collinson is one of the present Road Commissioners of his township, and in politics is a National Greenbacker.
JOHN COLLINSON, the different residents of Knox County are distinguished for various acts of helpfulness and honor reflecting back upon themselves in the building up and advancement of the county. One of the important factors in her internal machinery is the subject of this personal sketch, whose home is situated on section 29, Lynn Township, and who has shown himself able and willing to forward all the interests of his community.
Mr. Collinson was born in Luzerne County, Pa., March 30, 1831. His father, whose given name was Thomas, was born and reared in Yorkshire, England. While residing in England he was united in marriage with Hannah Codlin, and afterward, with their two children, set sail for America, making settlement in Luzerne County, Pa. in 1829. Our subject was the first-born of his parents’ family after their arrival in the United States. Subsequent to their arrival here, their family was increased by the birth of three children, while they were residents of Luzerne Co, Pa. The death of the mother occurred May 8, 1837. The father was subsequently married to Miss Louisa Mathias, after which event they, with their family, emigrated west. Upon their arrival in the Prairie State in 1852, they immediately settled in Lynn Township, at which place the father’s demise occurred Jan. 28, 1881. His widow still survives, and is living with her youngest daughter, Louisa McClure, in Lynn Township. She has attained the venerable age of 75 years. The father of our subject had purchased a farm in Lynn Township, which was finely improved, and upon which he erected a desirable dwelling and necessary outbuildings.
After John Collinson arrived in this county in company with his parents, he immediately set about to earn his own living. Dec. 25, 1855 in Stark County, he was married to Miss Christiana Reader. Miss Reader was a native of Germany, where she was born Feb. 27, 1823. Her mother died when she was but a child, and consequently we have no account of her maiden name or history. The father, John Reader, was a shoemaker, and brought his two children, both daughters, to the United States in 1848. The parents at once settled in Toulon, Stark County, where they followed the honorable and independent calling of farming until the demise of the father, which occurred in 1851. The death of Mr. Reader was caused by being thrown from an unmanageable horse, which he was leading by the halter, the strap of which was fastened to his wrist. The animal, becoming frightened, viciously shied and threw Mr. Reader to the ground, dragging him to death. Finally the strap broke, the horse going home, leaving his victim in the road.
After the death of her father Mrs. Collinson was engaged in domestic work until her marriage with Mr. C., to whom she has borne nine children, of whom we give the following brief memoranda: Martha became the wife of Holman Williams, and they are at present residing in West Jersey Township, Stark County, and following farming; Mark O. is the husband of Charlotte Stephenson, and they reside on his father’s homestead; Henry J. took to wife Emma Himer, and they make Lynn Township their home, where they are engaged in the peaceful calling of farming; Andrew H. resides in Iowa; Anna M. is the wife of Arthur Catton, a farmer residing in Stark County; Lydia A. resides at home, as does also Viola D., Oscar C., and Ada L.
Since their marriage Mr. Collinson and wife are residing on their farm. He is now the possessor of 236 acres of most excellent and highly cultivated land, where he is meeting with success. In politics he is a stanch Democrat. Brother's bio is above Charles S. Collinson.
JOSEPH FISHER may be classed among the leading farmers of Ontario Township, and is a stanch and reliable man. His home is on section 28, and situated within the limits of Oneida. Mr. Fisher when a child came with his parents from Summit County, Ohio, to which place they had come when Joseph was three years of age. He was born at Lancaster, England, May 27, 1831.
His father was a native of the same shire in which his son was born, and was by occupation a miner. He was the eldest of a family of three children, of whom he is the only surviving one. On the arrival of the family in America, they located for a time in Canada, at which place the father suffered an attack of cholera, then prevailing there. After a short period they removed to Ohio, and in 1838 to Illinois, settling in Mercer County. Later on they went to Clover Township, Henry Co, IL., at which place the father died in January 1844. His widow survived him till the year 1876 when she died at the home of her son, our subject, with whom she had spent the last years of her life.
Soon after his father’s death, Mr. Fisher of this sketch launched out into the world determined to win his own way. This he did energetically and with a purpose. He began work on a farm, at which he continued until he accumulated a fund sufficiently large to purchase 80 acres, which he obtained at $1 per acre, receiving a tax-title therefore. After adding many improvements to his crude possession, he was confronted with the original title and compelled to pay $650 more in order to lift the burden of debt from his farm. Continuing those improvements which daily added to the value of his land, he cultivated it to the highest degree, and in so doing gained what is now one of the finest farms in the vicinity.
His marriage, which occurred in Sparta Township, Oct. 20, 1852, with Emily Fisher, of the same name, but related in no way, has proved a most pleasant and amiable union. Mrs. Fisher was a native of Kentucky and was born July 30, 1834. Her father, Woodford Fisher, was a Kentucky farmer, who removed to Marshall County, IL., when Mrs. Fisher was a little girl. The second removal of the family was to Sparta Township, Knox Co., at which place they resided till the death of Mrs. Fisher.
Joseph Fisher had a family of three children, all of whom are deceased. They have at the present time one adopted daughter, Nelly, by name, born April 15, 1872, being 14 years of age.
Mr. Fisher is a popular and intelligent man, and has held many local offices. He has been Road Commissioner two terms, and in political belief is a stanch Republican.
GEORGE W. FOOTE, M.D., Mayor of the city of Galesburg, and a practicing physician and surgeon of repute, is a native of Hamilton, Madison Co, N.Y., where he was born July 4, 1829. His father, John Foote, native of Connecticut, and of English descent, was by profession a lawyer. His mother, who before marriage was Mary B. Johnson, was born in York State. They reared four sons and five daughters; two of the sons, of whom the subject of this sketch is the younger, are physicians. The senior Foote died at Hamilton, N.Y., in August 1884, at the advanced age of 99 years. His wife died at the same place in 1832.
George W. Foote received his primary education at the common schools of his native place, which was supplemented by two years in Clinton (N.Y.) College. He began the study of medicine at Galesburg, where he had arrived in October of the year preceding, 1849; his preceptor being the late distinguished Dr. Henry C. Foote. In 1854, soon after having graduated from the Cleveland Homeopathic Medical College, he began the practice of medicine at Galesburg, where he has since been recognized as one of the leading members of his profession. The Doctor has since his residence here been a reliable Republican, but in 1884 the local organization of his party fell into the hands of a majority faction, which in regular convention assembled foisted upon the people a candidate for the highest office of the city a man so entirely objectionable to a known majority that a bolt was warrantable, inasmuch as it was evident that the best interest of the community could only be sub-served thereby. Hence Dr. Foote’s candidacy for the mayoralty, and hence his election. This was by no means the Doctor’s first appearance in public affairs. He was Health Officer of the city 12 years, and School Director, of which Board he is, at this writing, the presiding officer, which position he has head for nine years.
Dr. George W. Foote organized the Public Library Association; donated his entire private library thereto, which influenced the city to donate to it $2,500. He has been prominently from the beginning identified with this most prosperous of Galesburg’s public institutions. The Doctor is a member of the I.O.O. F., and A.F. & A.M., and K. of P. While the subject of our sketch has through most of his life depended upon his own industry for a livelihood, and while the returns have been ample, a recent occurrence, which is worthy of mention, threw into his hands a competency, amounting in fact to a fortune. His father, never noted as a miserly man, but on the contrary considered rather liberal for one of his means, died at his home, as before stated, in York State, in 1884. While in attendance upon his funeral, the Doctor, with other members of his family, proceeded to make some preliminary examination into the affairs of the old gentleman’s estate, with a view to settlement and distribution thereof. The visible property, including a farm, was estimated to be worth something over $2,000; but in overhauling private papers, etc., deposited by the old gentleman in the bank, they were surprised by running over a package of United States bonds and other valuables amounting in the aggregate of $130,000.
Dr. Foote was married at Galesburg, to Miss Viola Ward. They have one son living, Frederick Albert, and have buried one daughter who died in infancy.
MARK S. LEMON is one of the enterprising and successful farmers of Galesburg Township, residing on section 28, where he is the owner of 205 acres of good land, all under an advanced state of cultivation, on which he has a fine dwelling, two stories high and in dimensions 30 X 35 feet; his barn is 50 X 72 feet, and stable for horses 16 X 50 feet; he also has a fine cattle-shed 25 X 32 feet, besides other out-buildings.
Mr. Lemon was born in Highland County, Ohio, Aug. 1, 1846, and leaving that State at the age of 18 years, he came direct to Galesburg Township, where he has ever since resided. He was married to Miss Mary E. Whitfield, March 2, 1870, who was a native of Pennsylvania, where she was born March 2, 1852, and was married on her 18th birthday. Her parents were of English birth, and came to America in 1849, locating in Pittsburg, Pa. where they remained some years, the father being killed in a rolling-mill, from an accidental blow on the head from a crowbar, about the year 1845. (*year cannot be right, oldest son born after he died?) In September of the same year Mrs. Whitfield came to Illinois, bringing her two children, a son and a daughter. Joseph, the eldest, was born Dec. 9, 1847, and died when nine years old. Mary E., now Mrs. Lemon, whose birth is above mentioned, became the mother of seven children as follows: Nancy E. born Dec. 10, 1871; Ruth E. Feb. 24, 1873; Fannie B. Aug. 14, 1875; Ida M., June 26, 1877; Louis E., Oct. 10, 1879; Gracie M., Jan 17, 1882; and Alice May, May 10, 1884.
The parents of Mr. Lemon were Samuel and Nancy (Shields) Lemon, and were natives of Pennsylvania, and both died in Ohio. They had nine children, as follows: Elizabeth, Isaac, Joseph, Halbert, Martha M., Samuel, Mark, Nancy, and Luther. Mr. Lemon enlisted as a soldier April 1, 1864, in the 168th Reg. Ohio Vol. Inf. Co. A, and was mustered in at Camp Denison, and afterward ordered to Kentucky, where he was taken prisoner by the rebel Gen. John Morgan, and paroled three or four days after. Returning home, he was sent back to Kentucky again for guard duty serving some five months in the army, never having been wounded. He was discharged at Camp Denison.
Mr. Lemon, in addition to being a very successful business man and farmer, owning one of the finest farms in a county where a poor farm is the exception, and also raising a fine grade of cattle, is always ready to perform his duty as a citizen, and for 14 years has held the thankless, though responsible, position of School Director, and for three years the office of Road Commissioner. No better evidence could be given to prove that he has the confidence and respect of his neighbors and fellow-citizens than the fact that he has held for so long these positions of public trust. In politics Mr. Lemon is a Democrat, but liberal and tolerant toward those who differ with him in political sentiment. Yet in the prime of life, having already reached more than the average success attained by men, we may yet hope for him many years of extended usefulness in private life and public trust. A view of Mr. Lemon’s place is shown on another page.
EDWARD MARSH, the senior member of the hardware firm of E. Marsh & Son, Oneida, one of the oldest hardware men of the county, is the subject of this notice. Immediately after coming to Onieda in 1871, he established his present business, which he represents and conducts with so much credit to himself and usefulness to the community. His patrons find pleasure as well as profit in dealing with him, his stock always meeting their demands and his rule being “good goods at honest prices.”
Mr. M. came to Knox County about the year 1852, engaging at Abingdon as clerk in a hardware store, at which he continued till the breaking out of Rebellion, when at the first call for three-years volunteers to defend the Government and the honor of its flag, Mr. M. at once responded, joining the 33rd Illinois, known as the Normal Regiment, Col. I. A. Elliott, later Adjutant-General, now of Princeton, IL., commanding. It was assigned to the 13th Army Corps, and participated in the siege of Vicksburg and other campaigns along the Mississippi and in Texas. He was severely wounded at Jackson, Miss., July 12, 1863, and being unable for duty resigned, as First Lieutenant, and was honorably discharged by special order in June 1864.
After regaining his health, Mr. Marsh became engaged in the hardware business at Abingdon, in which he continued till 1869, when he went to Eagleville, Mo. and after one year in business there he came to Oneida, establishing the business which he has ever since so well and successfully conducted. In September 1885, he admitted his son, C. E. Marsh, as a member of the firm, which adopted the title of E. Marsh & Son. His store is located on Center Street, and is a brick building 22 X 85 feet, two stories high, the second floor being occupied by a tin factory employing a number of hands.
Mr. Marsh was born in Terre Haute, Ind, Aug. 23, 1835. His father, Thomas, was a blacksmith and a native of Pennsylvania, of American parentage and of English ancestry. He came to Indiana when a young man and married Elizabeth Lang, formerly from the vicinity of New Albany, her parents being from Kentucky. After their marriage his parents came to Edgar County, IL., and later to Monroe County, Ind., where the father died about 1854. The mother is yet living at Bryant, Fulton Co., IL., and is about 70 years of age.
Mr. Edward Marsh was educated in the public schools and was married at Abingdon, Sept. 1, 1858, to Miss Susan Nicols, who was born near Poughkeepsie, N.Y. Her parents, Henry and Sally (Hogarth) Nicols were York State people, and farmers, coming to Illinois when Mrs. Marsh was an infant, and settling in Fulton County. Mrs. Marsh died in the fall of 1866, leaving two children—Julian E. and Charles H. Mr. Marsh was married again, in 1868, to Miss Julia Bristol, of Farmington, IL., who lived but a short time, dying at Eagleville, Mo., in September 1869. In 1871 Mr. M. was married to his present wife, Mrs. M. E. Barklow. Mrs. M. has two sons by her former marriage—E. D. and C.E. Barklow—making four sons in the family. Charles E. Barklow has had his name legally changed to Marsh, and is now a partner in the firm of E. Marsh & Son.
Mr. Marsh has a beautiful residence in Oneida. He is one of the city Aldermen, is a solid and reliable Republican, and a public-spirited and honorable citizen. He has scarcely passed the meridian of life, yet has served his country and his generation faithfully. Shirking no duty, and acquiring by honesty and industry a fair amount of worldly goods, he has, besides, that priceless treasure, a good name.
CLINTON H. MEADOWS, proprietor of the livery, feed and sale stables, Abingdon, IL., was born in Warren County, IL., May 11, 1859. He is the son of Martin and Catherine (Reynolds) Meadows, and came with his parents to Abingdon in 1871. He married Miss Mary Lamb, Nov. 27, 1884, at South Bend, Ind. Mrs. Meadows is a native of Chicago.
Mr. Meadows is one of the enterprising business men of Abingdon. He is full of energy and enterprise, and in his business is bound to take no second place. He is, in addition to his business of livery and feed stables, engaged in breeding fine stock, and has one of the finest stallions in the country, a magnificent thoroughbred animal, whose equal is hard to find. In this department he is meeting with that success that usually accompanies enterprise and perseverance. In the matter of stylish turnouts and first class horses for driving purposes, the livery establishment of Mr. Meadows is not surpassed in the county.
G. F. RESSEGUIE, of Galesburg, Superintendent of the Illinois lines of the C., B. & Q.R.R., was born in Green County, Wis., Nov. 19, 1847. His parents were Alexander C. and Jerusha (Norton) Resseguie, formerly of New York State. Mr. Resseguie commenced railroad business with the C. & N.W. Railway at Janesville, Wis., as telegraph operator, and was with this company as operator, agent, and Superintendent’s clerk 14 years. In 1878 he entered the employ of the C., B. & Q.R.R. and served as chief clerk in the offices of the Division Superintendent, General Superintendent and Vice-President, till June, 1885, when he received his present appointment.
Mr. Resseguie married at Clinton Junction, Wis., Miss E. H. Taylor. They have one son living—Lathrop A., and have buried a son and a daughter—Frank L. and Grace E.
CAPT. WILLIAM H. REYNOLDS, the broad and fertile prairies of Knox County have afforded excellent opportunity for men to demonstrate their ability as agriculturists. There is no county in this exceptionally fine farming State that exceeds Knox County in this respect and the opportunity has been improved by numerous enterprising gentlemen, who today not only can look back over a life of usefulness to the community, but are living in the enjoyment of the well-earned and valuable property which they now possess. Prominent among this influential class of citizens is Capt. William H. Reynolds, who resides at Galesburg. Samuel and Ann Jane (Reed) Reynolds, his parents, were natives respectively of South Carolina and Kentucky. William H. was born in Parke County, Ind., Dec. 29, 1829, and was seven years of age when his parents removed to Warren County, IL. The senior Mr. R. was a farmer, and at this writing (June 1886) resides upon the farm in Floyd Township upon which he settled in 1836.
William H. was educated in the district schools and at Abingdon College. He studied law, also medicine, and really practiced the former profession for four or five years, but he was inclined to be a farmer, and as such has made his mark. He came into Knox County in 1857 and to Galesburg in 1883. He owns five fine farms in the county, one of 1,000 acres in Orange Township, and is one of the most extensive stock-breeders in this part of the State. He is a self-made man, having acquired every dollar of his property by his own effort and industry, and in addition to what he now has he has lost by bad loans and endorsements not less than $50,000, and $35,000 of it since 1875. During his residence in this county he has served the people from time to time as Commissioner, School Director, Supervisor, etc., but upon no occasion has sought an office of higher trust or greater emolument.
August 10, 1861, Mr. Reynolds enlisted as a private in Co. D, 7th IL. Vol. Cav. At the organization of the company, however, he was made First Lieutenant and virtually thereafter, on account of inefficiency of his superior officer, discharged the duties of Captain. He served until the final close of the war and was duly mustered out, but from that day has never received his discharge papers. The authorities claim they were issued properly at the time the regiment left the service, but the Captain never saw his, and having no knowledge of their whereabouts the necessary proof or duplicates cannot be made. This places him in rather a peculiar situation, and so far appears to be a wrong without a remedy. In command of his company he participated in the battles of New Madrid, Island No. 10, Corinth, etc. In and about Corinth he was on duty 30 days without relief; and at or near Coffeeville, Miss., Dec. 5, 1862, was taken prisoner and held thereafter in Jackson and Vicksburg for about two months. He was exchanged and went to St. Louis, where he was in the Department of the Southwest some weeks before returning to the command, which he did March 5, 1863.
Being taken quite ill, Capt. Reynolds left his company at Memphis, Tenn., in the autumn of 1864, and was for six months on detached duty in that city. We should not forget to state that he was regularly promoted to Captain in front of Corinth in the summer of 1862, nor should it be omitted that while on detached duty at Memphis, in the summer of 1864, he was for a short time in command of the 9th IL. Cavalry. The 9th Cavalry enjoyed the reputation of being harder to discipline than any regiment sent out from Illinois. Capt. Reynolds had made quite a reputation as a disciplinarian, and this in fact had led Gen. Grierson to order him to the command of the 9th. The men of the regiment were good fighters and they were always loyal to the cause. Capt. Reynolds at once promptly refused to accept the order to this command, for which subordination he was ordered under arrest. However, the General, being a warm personal friend of the Captain, finally prevailed upon him to withdraw his objection, apologize for his willful conduct, and accept the responsibility. But a brief experience with the regiment was enough.
Capt. Reynolds’ war history, aside from that already chronicled in these pages, will be found in the record of the 7th IL. Vol. Cav. This regiment was organized at Camp Butler, and was mustered into service Oct. 13, 1861. It was with Pope at Island No. 10 and New Madrid; it went up the Tennessee River in April 1862 and opened the Corinth campaign and led in the rebel pursuit of May 30 following; it marched first into Tuscumbia, Ala. and guarded the railroad to Decatur; it covered the retreating force to Iuka, Miss., in September and there engaged the entire enemy for seven hours. On November 26 it routed 300 “Rebs” under Col. Richardson, and on December 2, 3, 4, and 5 it pursued Gen. Price through Mississippi; at Water Valley and Springdale it repulsed the rebel cavalry, and at Coffeeville was badly defeated by the enemy; December 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, and 21, it raided the country, disjoining railroads and bridges between Yockonapatalfa and Okolona and returned to Oxford on the 30th, having traveled almost without rest over 800 miles. January 1863, it was at La Grange, Tenn., and in April following in Mississippi, disjoining the enemy’s companies. May 2, it entered Baton Rouge, having traveled another 800 miles and captured over 1,000 prisoners, and lost its Lieutenant-Colonel, Blackburn. It participated in the capture of Fort Hudson, and landed at Memphis July 28 following. In all, this regiment marched about 5,000 miles and captured 3,000 prisoners.
Upon his return home Capt. Reynolds engaged again in farming, to which he has since devoted his time and attention. In the political campaign of 1880 the Greenback party ran him for Congress, an honor wholly unsought by him, and though defeated it is admitted by all that he made a gallant and honorable fight. He canvassed the district thoroughly, made 90 speeches and manifested a strength upon the stump that surprised his friends as well as his opponents.
In Orange Township, Knox County, Mr. William H. Reynolds was married June 24, 1855, to Martha M. Bundy, who died Feb 1, 1873, leaving three children, namely: Emma J., now Mrs. F. H. Peterson; William M., now mail clerk, and Minnie, now Mrs. James Rogers. The present Mrs. Reynolds, to whom the Captain was married at Knoxville, Nov. 25, 1873, was formerly Miss Margaret Wallace, and the children born of their union are Nellie H., Frank W. and Earnest Harrison.
As a gentleman esteemed for his many commendable traits of character, and one who is thoroughly representative of the soldierly element, as well as of the leading agriculturists of the county, the publishers take pleasure in presenting the portrait of Capt. Reynolds in this volume. It is engraved from a picture taken during the time of his military service.
ROBERT R. STECK, a successful farmer and highly respected citizen of Knox County, residing on section 24, Salem Township, is a native of Greensburg, Westmoreland Co, Pa., where he was born Nov 12, 1851. The father of Mr. Steck was a native of the same county, and was born in 1820. The grandfather of our subject was also born in Westmoreland County, Pa., and settled at Greensburg, Pa., at which place he also died. His wife was also a native of Greensburg.
The father of our subject was a farmer by occupation, and followed that vocation until his removal in 1865 to Illinois, where he purchased a farm in Peoria County, on which he is still residing. The maiden name of the mother was Isabella Jack, also a native of Westmoreland Co, Pa, and of Scotch lineage. Her demise occurred Jan. 22, 1885. The family consisted of eight children, seven now living: James resides in Clarke County, Iowa; Maria became the wife of Samuel Henry; Robert R., our subject; John who resides in Peoria County; Margaret is wife of Robert Brooks, also residing in Peoria County of which Samuel and George are also residents.
Robert R. Steck was but a lad of 14 years when he accompanied his parents to the Prairie State. While in Pennsylvania he had attended the district schools, and after coming to Illinois attended the schools of Peoria County, when not engaged in the duties of the farm.
Nov. 1, 1876, Mr. Steck was united in marriage with Miss Elizabeth McKeighan, the intelligent daughter of James and Elizabeth (Cunningham) McKeighan. After their marriage they located in Peoria County, where Mr. Steck rented land until 1878, the date of removal into Knox County, where they located on section 17, Salem Township. March 3, 1884, they settled upon their present farm, and are actively engaged in its cultivation and improvement. Mr. and Mrs. Steck are the parents of four children—Belle E., Edith R., Bessie, and Ida M. Both our subject and his wife are devoted members of the Presbyterian Church, and in their community are held in high esteem.
A. D. WASTE, was born in Cameron, Warren Co, IL., June 6, 1856. He is a son of Orson and Eliza A. (Miller) Waste, the former a native of the Green Mountain State, who settled at Cameron with his father at an early day; the latter was a native of Virginia, and removed to Illinois, settling in La Salle County at an early period in the history of that county, and in which place she was married to Mr. Waste.
The family of Waste were for many years favorably known in the mercantile interests of Cameron, and when the family of Orson Waste had grown up, he retired from business at that place, locating at Galesburg, in 1864, with a view to giving to his family the benefits and advantages offered by the excellent educational advantages of Galesburg. The subject of our sketch, after completing a good academical course of training, engaged in mercantile pursuits, with which he has since been identified in this city until recently. During his experience, which has been almost exclusively in the line of office work, he became interested in the manufacture of several inventions adapted to general office use, and has (1886) severed his long connection with the well-known firm of O. T. Johnson & Co., to devote his entire attention to this business.
Mr. Waste was happily married to Miss Emma, daughter of Frank G. and Adelaide (Morse) Snapp, pioneers of Warren County. The union of Mr. and Mrs. Waste has been blest by the birth of a daughter, Marguerite. Mr. Waste, although a young man, has taken a prominent part in the development of the social and industrial life of his community.
ANGELINE WHIPPLE, who devotes her time to farming and stock-raising on section 9 of Cedar Township, was born Feb. 8, 1843, and on her father’s side is of Scotch ancestry. She is now living on the old home farm, where she was born. She is the daughter of Peter C. and Eliza H. (Boram) Nelson. The former was born in Greenbrier County, W. V. in 1807. His demise took place on March 6, 1881. He was a Republican, and a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and was Class Leader over 50 years of his life. He died full in the faith and the hope of eternal bliss. He married Miss Boram, as we have already stated, June 27, 1831. They were the parents of eight children—four boys and four girls—the latter being now dead, with the exception of the subject, whose name heads this sketch. One of the boys is also deceased. The names of the children are Mary J., John I., Hester A., Louisa, Angeline, William H.H. (deceased), Zachariah T., and Aaron F.
Peter C. Nelson was a most estimable friend, neighbor and citizen, ever kind-hearted and generous, and was regarded by everyone in the community as a benefactor. He was a tower of moral and religious strength, upon which many a weaker mortal leaned when shaken by the trials and tribulations of life. To a community such men—those who live in the higher light and strength accorded them by their Master—are a great blessing. As a man whose portrait is prominently worthy a place in the galaxy of those of representative men of Knox County, given in this album, we cheerfully place that of Peter C. Nelson in connection with this sketch.
The father of Peter C. Nelson was John Nelson, a native of Pendleton County, Va. He married Mary E. Castle, also a native of Virginia. They both died at their home on section 9, Cedar Township, Knox County, having settled there in the fall of 1839. John Nelson died in1852, his wife having preceded him seven years. The father of John Nelson served as a soldier during seven years of the War of the Revolution.
Mrs. Whipple married Joseph W. Whipple, Oct. 4, 1860, the ceremony being performed by Rev. A. Morey, of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Whipple was a native of Wayne County, N.Y., where he was born in 1839. By this marriage there were three children born, two of whom are now living—W. H., born June 12, 1862, and died April 13, 1868; Harry N., born Oct. 25, 1868; and L. A., Sept. 8, 1872.
Mrs. Whipple has 90 acres of land and is carrying on her farming operations with the assistance of her two sons. She owns a full-blooded Jersey cow and a number of finely bred Short-horn cattle, together with 50 head of sheep. This lady, who is remarkable for her good sense and geniality of disposition, received her education at the common schools. She is an active member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and takes part in all good movements in her congregation.
NEALY C. WOODS is a prominent brick-maker in Galesburg. In company with his father-in-law, Mr. T. D. Stafford, he has worked the business successfully for some years. In this department of manufacture the name of Stafford & Woods has been before the public since the spring of 1856. Altogether they make about 1,000,000 bricks per year. Mr. Woods married Miss C. L. Stafford on the 24th of December 1867. She was born in October 1841 in Rochester, Sangamon Co, IL. Three children have been born to this marriage—Mildred F., Oct. 16, 1868; Fred E., Nov. 21, 1872; Grace A., Nov. 1, 1874. Mrs. Woods’ parents were T. D. and P.M. (Fisher) Stafford, and they were married in 1836. This excellent lady died on Jan 13, 1872, and of the issue of this marriage left three children—Eliza J., Cecilia L., and Ellen M.
The parents of Mr. Woods were Ira and Orpha (Daggett) Woods. His father was a native of the State of New York, where he was born in 1790, and died in 1854. The mother was a native of Indiana, where she was born in 1810, and died June 9, 1875. They were married in 1839, and had four children, viz: Clarissa, Nealy C., Phebe, and Orpha.
The subject of our biography was born and brought up on a farm at Avon, this State, in 1842, and came to Galesburg in the spring of 1856. He attended Lombard College for three years, and in August, 1861, enlisted in the 7th IL. Vol. Cav., under Col. Pitt Kellogg, and was mustered in at Camp Butler. The very first duty he performed was at Bird’s Point, Mo., where he assisted in the capture of Island No. 10, just below Columbus, Ky. He also served at Pittsburg Landing, and was engaged in the battle of Corinth. At this period he was on guard duty along the Memphis & Charleston Railroad, at Coffeeville, Miss. upon Hood’s retreat from Holly Springs, Miss. He was captured by Col. Walls of the Texas Legion, while fighting dismounted against infantry in an engagement lasting four hours, and remained a prisoner for some three weeks. This occurred on the 16th of December 1862, and within three weeks of that event he was paroled and sent home.
On the 30th of January following Mr. Woods again joined the regiment, and on the 12th of April started with Grierson on the famous raid through Mississippi and Louisiana, until he came to Baton Rouge, where on the 2nd of May, they captured 1,000 prisoners, having marched 800 miles in 16 days. He also assisted in the capture of Port Hudson and was fortunate enough to come out of the war without a wound. He was mustered out Oct. 15, 1864, at Springfield, IL.
In the city of Galesburg, in the brick-making business, the firm of Stafford & Woods is the oldest known in the vicinity. Their manufacture will compare favorably with any other in the district.
Our subject is a respected member of the Masonic fraternity, and a member of the Commandery. He was made a Mason in 1863. He is also a member of the G. A. R. He is prominently connected with the Galesburg Board of Education, where his services have had the full acknowledgment of all those connected with that department. His family are members of the Universalist Church, while in politics Mr. Woods is a thorough supporter of Republican principles
REV. CHARLES A. BACKMAN., pastor in charge of the First Swedish Lutheran Church, Galesburg, is the son of John and Charlotte (Hammarback) Backman. May 28, 1853, and Dalarne, Sweden ,are the date and place of his birth. He came with his parents to America in 1868. He is a graduate of Augustana (Rock Island) College, in the Class of 1881, and from the Theological Seminary of the same place in the Class of 1883.
He has been preaching since his first school year, and was ordained regularly at Red Wing, Minn., June 17, 1883. His first charge was at Ishpenning, Michigan, where he remained two years, coming thence to Galesburg in 1885. The church over which he here presides has a congregation of nearly 1,000 communicant members, and he preaches in both the English and Swedish languages. Mr. Backman was married at Swedona, Mercer Co, IL., Oct. 25, 1883 to Miss Helena Hoogner, born in this country, and their little daughter bears the name of Lillie Angelica.
REV. LUCIUS E. BARNARD A.M., Local Elder in the Methodist Episcopal Church, residing at No. 28 Cherry Street, Galesburg, is the son of Rufus and Jemima (Kellogg) Barnard, natives respectively of Massachusetts and Vermont and of English descent. He was born at Waitsfield, Washington Co, Vt., June 14, 1828. The senior Mr. Barnard was a farmer. He died in 1874, upon the place where he had spent 80 years of his life. His wife preceded him to the grave nearly two years. He was aged 83 years and his wife 82 ½. The parental family contained five sons and five daughters, the subject of this sketch being next to the youngest of the family.
Our subject graduated from the University of Vermont, at Burlington, in 1853. Having studied with a view to the ministry, he received further instructions in that direction after graduating from college. His parents were members of the Congregational Church, and brought their children up in that faith. It was from that church that our subject took letters when he entered Auburn (N.Y.) Theological Seminary. He was licensed to preach by the Montpelier Association in 1857, and the following year graduated from the Auburn Theological Seminary, having in the meantime changed his denominational relation to that of the Presbyterian Church. In 1859, at Amboy, N.Y., the church of his adoption ordained him, and he preached at that place for one year. In 1860 he came to Galesburg and again changed his relationship, returned to the faith of his parents after taking charge of the Old First Church (Congregational), and preached there about six months. The last change was brought about by what many considered was the Blanchard fanaticism prevailing here at that period, and for a time, they believed, threatened to disrupt the social and religious fabric of the city. The Old First Church was at that date so completely under the ban of rank and unreasonable intolerance that a Presbyterian was not allowed to speak under its roof, and they felt that, had not a wiser and better element come rapidly to the rescue, the man who for a time carried things high-handedly as the President of Knox College would have made of Galesburg a fit habitation only for the witch-burners of 200 years ago.
From the “Old First” the Rev. Mr. Barnard was called, and preached a year and a half in Waukegan, and the following year at Georgia, Vt., going thence out in the world on his own responsibility to God, as it were, preaching the Gospel of Christ whithersoever he went, in manner and form as beseemed him best, and asking naught of any denomination or association as to this authority, but taught Christ and Him crucified, as he learned the simple story from the written Gospel, having been through the aid of false testimony, by the Congregational Association retired from their ministry. In Geddes, N.Y., in 1870, at the urgent request of many members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, he united with that denomination, and subsequently preached for some years in New York State.
In 1874 Mr. Barnard returned to Galesburg where he has since been a recognized Local Elder of his church. May 14, 1861, he was married at Detroit, Mich., to Miss Emma L. Barnard, and by her had born to him two children—Charles Kellogg, born at Waukegan, IL, March 14, 1862, died at Galesburg, Feb. 11, 1880, and a daughter, Fannie H. Rev. Mr. Barnard is prominent in the Order of Good Templars, Chaplain of the Red Ribbon Reform Club, and honorary member of his old college society, the Delta Psi, a literary and social fraternity of the University of Vermont.
GEN. MYRON S. BARNES, retired journalist, residing at Galesburg, is a native of Malone, Franklin Co, N.Y., and was born March 4, 1824. His grandfather, Rev. Joshua Barnes, was a distinguished Quaker minister of early times, and came from London to this country before the Revolutionary War, and located with a colony which settled in Vermont near the Connecticut line, from where he removed to Western N.Y. in 1828. He reared four sons—Simeon, Joshua, Stephen, and William, and lived to the extraordinary age of 100 years. His youngest son, William, married Margaret Doty, of Vermont, and by her had four sons and five daughters, the subject of this sketch being the first-born.
William Barnes was educated for the law, but early in life abandoned the profession and followed farming in Western New York. He brought his family to Cook County, IL. in 1848, and died there at the age of 45 years. His widow yet survives him and makes her home in Minnesota, having attained the venerable age of 86 years.
Myron S. Barnes was educated at the common schools and Attica Academy, and Alexander Seminary, N.Y. Almost with the beginning of his school days he formed the idea of becoming a newspaper man. In 1838 he went to Chicago and was a contributor to the Journal and Democrat; the latter was then published by “Long John” Wentworth; the Journal was published by “Dick” Wilson. In 1840 we find him at Lapeer, Mich., editing the Plaindealer, a Democratic weekly, which he continued to run through the Van Buren and Harrison campaign, when, the Democratic party having been retired from power, young Barnes closed out his paper and returned to Chicago. There he lived the life of a Bohemian, contributing to several papers, among which were the Northwestern Educator, American Odd Fellow, Ladies’ Repository, Alexander’s Weekly, Toledo Blade and also frequently worked for the Journal and Democrat until the outbreak of the struggle with Mexico. June 17, 1846 he enrolled as a private soldier in Co. E, 2nd IL. Vol. Inf., with which he served for 14 months, or during the war. His regiment was in Gen. Wool’s command from the beginning, and at the close of the war that distinguished officer desired to use his influence for Mr. Barnes to secure a Second Lieutenancy in the regular army.
Soon after returning to Chicago, Mr. Barnes formed a partnership in publishing the Southport American, a daily and weekly paper, which they published for about one year at what is now the town of Kenosha. His next venture in the newspaper field was the establishment of the Rochester (N.Y.) Daily Times, and from which afterward sprang the present Daily Union. We next hear of our subject at Ithaca, N.Y., engaged in temperance work. He was one of the organizers of the Good Templars and became the second Grand Secretary of that Order for the State of New York. At Ithaca he established the Templar and Watchman, and edited it for two years in the interest of temperance. In 1856 he was sent as a delegate from the Ithica district to the first National Republican Convention, which met at Philadelphia and nominated John C. Fremont for Presidency. Before the end of 1856 he was again in Chicago, and the firm of Barnes, Stewart & Payne launched the Chicago Daily Ledger, with which Mr. B. severed his connection at the end of the current year. From there he went to Rock Island as editor of the Register, where we find him at the outbreak of the Rebellion.
In June 1861, acting under orders from the Secretary of War, Mr. Barnes, in company with Julius White, of Chicago, raised a regiment of Sharpshooters, known first as the Fremont Rifles, and later as the 37th IL. Vol. Inf. White went out as Colonel and Barnes as Lieutenant-Colonel. The record shows, however, that in about six months Barnes had been elevated to the colonelcy and continued in command of the regiment until leaving the service, June 20, 1863. At the battle of Chandler’s Mills the Colonel received a severe shell wound in the side, which had only partially healed up at the battle of Pea Ridge, when his horse was shot from under him, throwing him heavily to the ground, re-opening the old wound and leaving him in a most critical condition and finally compelling him to leave the army, not, however, until by an order of Gen. Schofield, he had been placed in command of Southwestern Missouri.
Returning to Rock Island he started the Daily Union, and ran it three years, when he went to Dubuque, Iowa and bought the Daily Times, which he published and edited about five years. His next move was to Aurora, IL., where he established the Daily Herald and ran it until the fall of 1871. He then came to Chicago and organized a company and started the Daily News, which he left at the end of Greeley‘s disastrous campaign. In 1872, Mr. Barnes went to Galesburg and purchased the Free Press and changed the name to the Galesburg Press, and was occupied in conducting that paper until he retired from work Feb. 17, 1883, on account of his wounds, since which time he has constantly been under medical treatment.
Gen. Barnes is at the present time independent in politics. He has always been found in the ranks, upholding the party of his choice and dealing blows with voice or pen that admitted of no doubt as to whom or for what they were intended. He has steadily remained a temperance man and worker, and in the campaign of 1884 gave his entire time and support to St. John. He is a 32nd degree Mason, Prelate in the Commandery, and also a member of the I.O.O.F., G.A.R., and Good Templars.
Gen. Barnes was married in Wayne County, N.Y., July 5, 1851 to Miss Charlotte A. Brush, and of their three children, Mary E. and Charlotte Alice are deceased. William Bennet is editor of the Sandwich (IL.) Free Press.
JACOB S. CHAMBERS, of Galesburg, is the son of Matthew and Hannah (Smith) Chambers, natives of New Hampshire and Vermont respectively, and of Scotch and Irish descent. He was born at Bridport, Vt., March 14, 1816. The grandfather of our subject, Capt. John Chambers, earned his title in the Colonial Army during the Revolution. Matthew Chambers, father of our subject, served in the War of 1812 as a militia volunteer. The family came to Knoxville in 1836, and the senior Mr. C. was here engaged in mercantile business until about 1840, when he removed to Galesburg. He retired from active life in 1845, and died in January 1869 at the age of 83. His widow survived him until December 1873, and died at the age of 80 years. He left a comfortable fortune, which had been acquired by his own energy.
Jacob S. Chambers, the subject of this sketch, was educated in the common schools of Vermont. He clerked many years for his father, and when 22 years of age engaged in business for himself, at the town of Cleveland, Henry Co, IL. From there, at the end of two years, he removed to Lyndon, Whiteside County; thence to Altona, Knox County, in 1853, and finally to Galesburg in 1874, since which time he has been fully retired from business. Politically he is a firm adherent of the Republican party, though not of an office-seeking kind; is a Master Mason and a consistent member of the Congregational Church. While a resident of Altona he served the people for some years as Supervisor, an office he has filled two or three times since coming to Galesburg.
Mr. C. was married at Erie, Pa., in September 1857 to Miss Amanda M. Parsons, a native of Vermont. To Mr. and Mrs. Chambers have been born four children, three of whom are living and graduates of Knox College, and named respectively William H., a merchant; Eliza (Mrs. A. J. Capron), and Bertha M.
CAPT. FRANCIS FULLER, the subject of this biography is President of the First National Bank of Galesburg, and is the son of Frederick A. and Rachel (Gordon) Fuller, both natives of the State of Connecticut, and of English and Scotch descent respectively. Capt. Fuller was born at Rutland, Vt., May 20, 1815. The senior Mr. Fuller was a merchant at Rutland for 25 years. His four sons and one daughter were born, reared and educated there. Francis was the 3rd child in order of birth. His eldest brother was lost in 1847 on the steam packet “Home”, en route from New York to Charleston. The “Home” was the first Atlantic steamer to which this calamity happened.
The subject of our sketch received an academic education at Rutland, and at the age of 20 embarked in mercantile business at Richmond, Vt. At the end of the second year he was married, closed out his business, came west and at Grayville, IL., for two years followed the vocation of merchant. From that place he moved to Mt. Carmel, this State, where he edited the Mt. Carmel Register, a weekly Whig paper, in which position he continued for five years. In 1848 he again embarked in the mercantile business, this time at Newton, where he remained for nine years.
When the war broke out the dauntless spirit of enthusiasm stirred his blood, and with his countless fellow-soldiers he arrayed himself under the banner of the United States and entered the service in defense of his country. On the 6th of August, 1861, Gov. Yates appointed him Quartermaster of the 38th IL. Vol. Inf. In the spring of 1862 he was placed upon Gen. Steele’s staff. In the fall of the year 1863, Capt. Fuller was made Disbursing Quartermaster of Sherman’s corps, the 15th, which position he filled until ill health compelled him to resign, on July 26, 1864. He left his command at Kenesaw Mountain. During all his experience as Quartermaster the records show that Capt. Fuller never lost a wagon. His final settlement with the Government was not reached until Nov. 18, 1873, when it was found that he owed Uncle Sam $29.36, while Uncle Sam in return was indebted to him between $700 and $800.
In 1864 he bought a home and settled at Galesburg, and in August of the following year was made President of the First National Bank of that city. The policy of this great financial institution under the management of Capt. Fuller, needs no comment in this connection. The fact that he is by no means one of the largest stockholders of the concern attests that his continuation as its head is in response to the wishes of those most interested in the welfare of the bank.
In December 1838, Mr. Fuller was united in marriage at Richmond, Vt. with Miss Adelia A. Rhodes, of that place, and their only son, Francis W., is now a successful ranchman in Nebraska, where he went a few years since on account of declining health. He married Miss Jennie Hall at Burlington, Vt. And they have one child, named Frank H. Fuller.
DANIEL HENSHAW, a retired citizen of Galesburg and one of the pioneer hotel-keepers of this place, was born Feb. 9, 1812, at Auburn, Worcester Co, Mass. His father, Joseph Henshaw, was also a native of Massachusetts and was a son of William Henshaw, who served, gaining merited distinction, through the Revolutionary War, and his commission as Adjutant-General, issued “by the Congress of the Colony of Massachusetts Bay”, signed “James Warren, President”, and “Samuel Freeman, Secretary”, is yet in the family, being in the hands of Miss H.E. Henshaw, of Leicester, Mass.
The mother of the subject of this sketch was before her marriage, Elizabeth Goulding, and her father was a Colonel during the Great War for Independence. Joseph and Elizabeth Henshaw reared eight sons, Daniel being 5th in order of birth. The family lived upon a farm in Worcester County, where the two old people ended their days, Joseph dying in 1854 at the age of 85, his wife having preceded him to the promised land by some six or seven years. When 24 years of age he moved into New York State and engaged in blacksmithing, which he abandoned in 1849, and started a line of stages between Eaton and Utica (N.Y.) In 1856 he came to Galesburg and opened a hotel on West Street, now No.132 South West Street.
During the war Mr. H. turned his hand to farming and his wife conducted the hostelry. The hotel was finally converted into dwellings, in 1871, and Mr. H. has been virtually retired from active business since that time. At Leicester, Mass., July 23, 1834, Mr. Henshaw and Miss Diantha Livermore were married, and of the six children born to them we make the following brief mention: Janette, Elbridge G., Adelaide, Mary Josephine, Eugene F., and Elizabeth. Elbridge served through the late war in an Iowa regiment and was killed in August 1867 in a railroad accident at Plum Creek in Nebraska; Adelaide is the wife of J.L. Short of Chicago; Mary Josephine is wife of J.B. Ingersol, and died in 1877; after the late war she taught a freedmen’s school in the south; Eugene F. is a journalist, publisher of the Railway and Steamship Guide; Elizabeth is the wife of A.E. Mattison of Chicago.
LOUIS P. LAUREN, of Galesburg, was born in the parish of Hastveda, Southern Sweden, May 11, 1842. He came to America in the summer of 1865, and settled in Galesburg, worked at his trade as painter the first year, and as janitor of Knox College the last ten years. On the 3rd day of August 1866 he was married to Hanna Anderson, born in the parish of Hjersas, Southern Sweden, on the 16th day of February, 1847. They have been blest with seven children, of whom six are yet living, three sons and three daughters, namely: Joseph William, born April 12, 1868; Esther Albertina, Aug. 17, 1870; Carl Emil, Sept. 29, 1874; George Albert, Jan. 27, 1877, died in infancy; Newton Bateman, May 8, 1878; Nellie Paulina, Aug. 31, 1881; and Annie Emelia, Oct. 7, 1884. Mr. Lauren and family attend worship at the First Baptist Church.
S. H. McOMBER, representative contractor and builder, residing in the city of Galesburg, came here first in 1857 from Palmyra, N.Y. His birthplace was New York State, where he was born Aug. 5, 1833, and there learned his trade under his father, Isaac McOmber. His mother was Anna Howland before marriage, and both families trace their ancestry to Scotland.
After coming to Galesburg Mr. McOmber engaged in contracting and building, and followed it steadily for 11 years. He then, in company with Mr. Bradbury, leased the Colton Manufacturing Co, and operated it about 13 years. The last three years that Mr. McOmber was connected with the Manufacturing Company, he also carried on contracting and building which, in fact, has been his principal business since having abandoned the planing-mill, etc. in 1884. Our subject received his education in the common and high schools and taught a term or two in Coldbrook Township, Warren County.
Mr. McOmber was married in Wayne County, N.Y., Jan. 1, 1856, to Miss Marietta Whipple. They have had one child of their own and have reared an adopted daughter. The family is identified with the First Baptist Church. Mr. McOmber is no politician and affiliates with no secret order. What he has of this world’s goods he has worked for, and we find him possessed of a fair competency.
JOSIAH MULTER, real estate agent and capitalist, owns a fine and commodious residence on Wall Street, one of the principal thoroughfares of Altona, which is considered one of the handsomest and most attractive homes in that town. He occupies the position of Police Magistrate, and is an active worker in all public affairs. His birthplace is Worcester, Otsego Co, N.Y., where he first saw the light April 22, 1825. His father, Joseph Multer, of pure German ancestry, was born in Schoharie County, N.Y. where he was reared and educated and grew to manhood. His father, Josiah’s grandfather, a native German, whose name was Philip, accompanied by his wife Catherine (Hart) Multer, left his fatherland and located in the United States, purposing to build up a new home, in the year 1786. At this period the name was spelled Moller. He was by profession a German physician of no mean skill and ability, holding fair rank in his own country. He was, as well, keeper in the king’s hunting park. Soon after entering Schoharie County, he caused to be erected the first glass-manufactory in the United States. This was situated near the city of Albany. He continued his medical practice in the United States up to the time of his death, which occurred in the beginning of the eighteenth century, resulting from epidemic fever, which was then prevalent in Otsego, N.Y.
Like the noted Pasteur, he entertained a firm belief that he had discovered a sure antidote for hydrophobia, but he never disclosed his knowledge, so that his discovery, if indeed valuable, was a “talent hidden in a napkin”. His life companion, the grandmother of Josiah, is buried at South Worcester, N.Y. The results of this marriage, three sons and four daughters, are as follows: Christian J., Joseph (Josiah’s father); John, Betsey, Susan, Mary, and Margaret. Of the entire family circle but one survives—John who has attained the age of 87 years, and who resides at Painesville, Ohio. Margaret, who recently departed this life, was 80 years of age. Joseph Multer, the father of our subject, united in the bonds of holy matrimony with Susan Becker, a young lady of German parentage, like his own. Her family history contains many points of interest, dating far back in the annals of German history. Immediately after their union her husband engaged in farming. Success crowned his active efforts, and he became one of the wealthiest and most influential farmers of Otsego County. Many valuable improvements were made and eventually a most desirable home was established. They occupied the Multer homestead, at which place he died. Several years later the mother followed him to her long home; the date of her death was 1871. Both lived to a grand old age. Their family was large, comprising 13 children, seven sons and six daughters. Three of the former were buried in Otsego County. Josiah, the 4th in order of birth, attended school and remained in the family, a dutiful and helpful son, up to the date of his marriage with Anna M. Titus, daughter of a farmer, at Harpersville, N.Y., Feb. 17, 1868. His wife’s birthplace was Delaware County, and the date of her birth Sept. 8, 1846. She was the daughter of Isaac B. and Jediah B. (Tiffany) Titus, both of English origin, who first settled in Delaware County during the last century, and who owned hundreds of acres of land, much of which has since fallen into the hands of the railroad companies. Mrs. Multer’s father lived and eventually died in the county and township in which he began his married life, Aug. 26, 1872. His wife survives him and lives with her daughter. Mrs. Multer received liberal educational advantages, and was a graduate of the New York Conference Seminary. She entered the ranks as teacher and successfully taught three years in the public schools of Stark and Tuscarawas Counties, Ohio. Soon after marriage she and her husband removed to Altona, where they have lived up to the present writing. Mr. Multer entered Knox County in February, 1856, and bought and marked out the boundaries of his first farm, in Galesburg Township, consisting of 177 acres, 17 of which were timber land. Here he began active labor, which he continued for five years; from here he went to Walnut Grove Township and purchased 240 acres. He sold this farm and purchased 170 acres in the same township and 80 in Copley Township. All his landed possessions are finely improved and highly cultivated. He rents his farms, turning his personal attention to real estate sales, money loans, etc. He carries on a co-operative business as dealer in bank stock at Creston, Iowa. He was unanimously elected to his present office, which he has acceptably filled to the entire and marked satisfaction of his constituents. He is popular, genial and well liked, personally and as a business man. He is Republican in politics and both he and his wife are members of the Methodist Church, he being Class Leader, President of the Board of Trustees and Steward in that body.
SWAN H. OLSON, grocer of the firm of L.H. Olson & Bro., 447 East Berrien St., Galesburg, was born in Sweden, Aug. 4, 1844, and with his parents came to America in 1854. Swan H. is the eldest of four sons and two daughters, and grew to manhood upon a farm in Knox County, alternating the seasons with labor and attendance at the common schools.
Aug. 4, 1862, our subject enlisted, in Mercer Co., IL., as private in Co. A, 102nd IL. Vol. Inf., and served three years, participating in all the service his regiment saw. The 102nd was in the famous Atlanta campaign; with Sherman to the sea, on to Richmond and in the grand review at Washington. Leaving the army, he returned to Galesburg and for the succeeding five years clerked for F.O. Crocker in the grocery business. In partnership with a brother-in-law, he succeeded Mr. Crocker in the business, and later was in partnership with a Mr. Huffland, conducting the business for four years. Selling out to Mr. Huffland in 1876, he proceeded to erect the building at the corner of Chambers and Berrien Streets, in which he now does business. His brother, William A., took an interest in the business in 1882.
Mr. Olson is a member of the I.O.O.F. and A.O.U.W. He was married in Galesburg, Oct. 209, 1872, to Miss Clara Burke, a native of Sweden, and his three children bear the names of Clarence, Gracie (who is deceased), and Irene. Our subject is an active and working member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and politically is a supporter of the principles advocated by the Republican party, and is justly considered one of the substantial men in Knox County.
ALBERT J. OSTRANDER, of the firm of Brooks & Ostrander, dealers in hides, pelts, wool, etc., 42 and 44 Public Square, Galesburg, was born in Van Buren Co, Mich., March 6, 1846, and is the son of Harvey B. and Mary (Woodworth) Ostrander, natives of York State and of German and English descent respectively. Soon after his marriage, the elder Mr. Ostrander removed from York State to Michigan, from there to Missouri in 1855, and on to Iowa in 1862. From Iowa, the family removed to Illinois, where the father died in 1881.
Albert J., of whom we write, was educated in Memphis, MO. and West Point, Iowa, public schools. He began life for himself as clerk, alternating between hotel office and mercantile establishments. After an experience as merchant at Memphis, Mo. he came to Galesburg in 1877 and engaged in his present business, an idea of the extent of which may be gathered from the following, clipped from a recent publication (January 1886):
“Brooks & Ostrander have done an immense business in the wool, hide and tallow line the past year, and their enterprise has brought a stream of trade to the city. They have handled 400,000 pounds of hides; 420,000 pounds of tallow and grease; 50,000 pounds of skins and pelts; 75,000 pounds of wool, etc; making a grand total of about 1,050,000 pounds. The territory within which these purchases have been made includes all towns within seventy-five miles and the farming country for many miles hereabouts. All the wool was shipped to Kentucky, to be made into Kentucky jeans.”
Mr. Ostrander is a distinguished Odd Fellow, and Secretary of Alpha Lodge, A.F.& A.M. Galesburg. He was married at Monmouth, IL., April 12, 1877 to Miss Susie V. Ulmer, and their children are named Eugene, Frederick, and Ethel.
GEORGE WHITNEY ROBINSON, Depot Master of the Galesburg Depot of the C.B.& Q. R. R., was born in Glastonbury, Conn., Nov. 29, 1824. His parents were Samuel and Thankful (Adams) Robinson, natives of Massachusetts. Shortly after our subject’s birth, they removed to their native State, Massachusetts, and remained about three years, and then moved to the State of Maine and settled at Monson, where the father died in 1845. Our subject was at his trade (merchant tailoring) in Bangor, Maine. He afterward spent some years at the same business at Rockland, Maine, but in 1854 he came west and located at Farmington, Iowa, whither an uncle (R.S. Adams, wholesale dealer in boots, shoes and leather) had located in 1839, and where he engaged in the merchant tailoring business. This he subsequently abandoned to take up the railway business, the roads just having been constructed in this part of the county. He assisted in taking across the Mississippi River the first cars of the B.& M.R.R. In 1857 he located in Galesburg, IL., where he engaged in the real estate business until 1866, after which he carried on the hotel business, which he conducted for five years, when he left Galesburg for Beardstown and carried on the railroad hotel and eating-house for one year and returned to Galesburg and engaged in real estate and other interests until 1880, when he accepted a position with the C., B.& Q. Railroad as shipping and transfer clerk. He remained in this position until the opening of the new depot, when he became installed its worthy Master, in which position we find him a respected official and genial gentleman.
Mr. Robinson was married in Newport, Me., to Esther E. Benner, who has most graciously shared with him the trials and triumphs of his long life in this western country. The issue of the union of Mr. and Mrs. Robinson has been four children, all of whom were laid to rest in their youth. Mr. Robinson is a worthy member of the Masonic fraternity, and has held his connection with that institution for many years.
JAMES B. SPEAKS, among the progressive and practical farmers and stock-growers and prosperous citizens of Knox County we find the subject of this biography, whose home is located on section 1 in Orange Township, and who stands among the most advanced workers in the especial line of labor. He was born in Warren County, Indiana, Oct. 15, 1839, and is the son of Robert and Louisa (Bennett) Speaks.
The gentleman of whom we write came to Illinois in 1860, and settling in Warren County, IL, there passed 12 years. He then removed to Knox County where he has lived up to the present time. At that time, when the heart of the country was torn with varied emotions of hope and trouble, and when the Union of States trembled in the balance, with the spirit that warmed the heart of every true man, he came boldly out to her rescue, and enlisted in the 83rd Il. Vol. Inf., commanded by Capt. Lyman B. Cutter. This was in August 1862, and he served nine months. At the end of that time he was discharged, on account of a gunshot wound received at Fort Donelson on the 3rd of Feb. 1863. After his discharge he came home and engaged in farming pursuits, which he has followed continuously ever since.
On the 21st of August, 1862, he united hand, heart and fortune with those of Melinda M. Webb, who was the daughter of Jehu and Elizabeth (Dawson) Webb. There were eight children born of this union, as follows: James K., April 30, 1864; Minnie F., Nov. 25, 1867; Orpha M., April 24, 1870; Cora O., March 1, 1872; John W., Feb. 19, 1874; Olive B., Sept. 23, 1877; Arthur B., Jan. 5, 1882; and D.W., March 27, 1884.
The mother of the children before mentioned was born in Ohio June 14, 1844. Her father was a native of Maryland and was a farmer and died in the State of Indiana; her mother, whose birthplace was in Ohio, died in Illinois. Our subject was the son of Robert Speaks, a native of Virginia, who died in Indiana 40 years ago.
Mr. Speaks held the office of Township Collector one term in Ellison Township, Warren County, and is living on a farm owned by Morris Chase, which lies on section 1 in Orange Township. Both he and his wife are members of the United Brethren in Christ, and Mr. Speaks has served as minister in this church for 25 years. He is a man of quick observation, which united with a common-school education, tends to make him well informed and a congenial companion. In politics he adopts the doctrine of the Republican party, which organization he upholds with voice and vote.
NELS S. YOUNGDAHL, in Walnut Grove Township on section 17, Mr. Youngdahl has a most desirable farm of 160 acres, all in a splendid state of cultivation. In 1856, alone and without friends, he came to the United States and settled in Nicollet Co, Minn. During his stay there he married, on the 28th of October, 1858 Miss Betsey Johnson, a native of Sweden, where she was born Feb. 15, 1838. Her parents lived in Sweden, where they died some time after the arrival of their daughter in the United States, which was in 1857. She settled in Nicollet County and was married the following year. She was the youngest of a family of three daughters. She and one other sister, Anna, are the only members of the family in the United States. Her eldest sister, Ellen, is married and resides in her native country.
By the union of Mr. and Mrs. Youngdahl six children have been born—Christine, George E., Nels T., Anna S., Carl L., and Anthony C. In 1863 the subject of this history with his family came to Princeton, Bureau Co, IL., and while there purchased a farm in Fairfield Township, consisting of 360 acres. All this land is well improved. In 1881 he made his purchase as referred to and settled here in Walnut Grove Township. Of this home he is very proud, as in all justice he may be. He has raised some high grades of stock and is altogether a well-to-do and prominent farmer. He was born in Sweden, Sept. 17, 1832. His father, Saure Nelson, was a farmer and lived and died in the old country. His mother, Kate Nelson, also died in Sweden. Her family consisted of eight children, the subject of this sketch being the oldest living and the oldest but two of the family.
Up to the date of his enlistment in the regular army he had attained his 21st year and subsequently served three years, the required time. During his stay in Minnesota Mr. Y. was created Sergeant of the Home Guards, a body raised to suppress the Indian troubles. These caused considerable bloodshed in 1862. The trouble arose through the Government officers interfering with the privileges of the natives.
Mr. and Mrs. Youngdahl are members of the Swedish Lutheran Church, in which Mr. Y. has been Deacon for sixteen years and a consistent exponent of the views of that holy body. His son, George E., is also a minister in the church, and was educated at Rock Island. Mr. Nels S. Youngdahl is a good Republican and interested in all measures calculated to promote his country’s good.
ERWIN H. BELKNAP, one of the oldest passenger conductors of the C., B. & Q.R.R. is now (January 1886), Past Assistant Grand Chief Conductor of the Order of Railway Conductors, and member of the Executive Committee of the Grand Division of that organization.
Our subject was born at Springfield, Otsego Co., N.Y., Feb. 22, 1836. From earliest childhood he seems to have been forced to self-reliance, improving every opportunity that offered, whether of public or private instruction. At the neighboring town of Franklin, N.Y., there was an academy of considerable repute, into which young Belknap early sought admission. He was being brought up to farm life, and his attendance at school was limited to such times as his employer could find nothing else for him to do. However, by dint of extraordinary industry he made such progress as enabled him to offer his services as a teacher before he was 15 years of age, and from that time until he attained his majority we find him instructing the youth in the public schools of Delaware County, his native State, during the winter, and laboring upon the farm the rest of the year.
In 1857 our subject left the State of New York, and turned his face westward. Elgin, IL. was the point where he first halted, and there for a few months he earned a livelihood laboring in a nursery. He next went on the road as a “drummer”, but six month’s experience as “knight of the gripsack” was all that he could stand, and in 1858 he began braking on a passenger train of the C., B.& Q.R.R., under Conductor A. N. Towne, now the General Manager of the Central Pacific. After braking for a time, he left that hazardous occupation, and at Oneida learned telegraphy. So soon as he was able to handle an instrument the C., B. & Q.R.R. Co. placed him in charge of their office, yards and switches at Yates City. He remained there a year, when he was installed as Station Baggage-man at Galesburg. In September 1863, he took charge of a passenger train between Galesburg and Burlington. He was on this division seven or eight years; was transferred to the Quincy Division; was there about ten years, and since 1881 has been pulling the bell-cord and taking up tickets between Galesburg and Rushville. To speak of Belknap’s popularity both with the people and the great company that employs him would be superfluous, for 23 consecutive years in a position where the highest order of ability and deportment is strictly essential needs not to be commented upon in this volume.
At the organization of the Galesburg Division, No. 83, Order of Railway Conductors, Mr. B., being a charter member, took an active part. He was the first Chief Conductor of the Division, a position he filled for some time, when, being promoted to a higher, he relinquished it. A detailed history of this Order, now recognized as one of the most meritorious benevolent organizations in the Union, would show that no man has done more toward building it up, systemizing and placing it upon the high plane it now occupies than has E. H. Belknap. These facts we learn from men prominently connected with the Order, and while we know that Mr. Belknap’s modesty would stay our hand, were it in his power, we take the privilege of one who chronicles historical truth to place this eulogy in imperishable type.
The brief outline here given of this man’s life indicates naught but devotion to arduous duty. It reflects no picture of his social habits; it is silent as to his hours at home; it says nothing of his never-abandoned application to study and self-improvement, and yet in all these things, from his boyhood to the present, there has been an unbroken consonance.
In speaking of Mr. Belknap’s rare literary accomplishments it would be improper to qualify by reference to his opportunities, and we only regret our inability to here reproduce selections from his versification upon various themes illustrative of what under a different environment might have developed a genius.
Mr. Belknap was married at Ontario, Knox Co., May 29, 1865, to Miss Julia F. Camp, a native of Oneida Co., N.Y. and the accomplished daughter of the late Charles F. Camp, mentioned in the history of this county as the gentleman who laid out the town of Oneida. Mr. and Mrs. Belknap’s only child, Henry Erwin, was born Jan.14, 1867 and died Oct. 12, 1868.
HON. AUGUST W. BERGGREN, prominent among the best known citizens of Knox County, one who has attained eminence as a representative of the people is the subject of this notice. He is State Senator from Knox and Fulton Counties, and is also engaged in dealing in gent’s furnishing goods at Galesburg.
Mr. Berggren was born in Sweden Aug. 17, 1840, and came to this country in 1856; he arrived at Oneida, IL, and with his father came to Galesburg the next year, his mother having died several years prior to their coming to this country. He had learned the tailor’s trade in his native land and at Victoria, where the subject of this sketch spent the first year after arriving in the State. He worked at the business there, as he also did at Galesburg, after moving there, until about 1861.
Mr. Berggren had been reasonably well educated in his native country, attended school some after coming here, and otherwise improved every opportunity that was afforded for the acquirement of knowledge; thus within a comparatively short time he was recognized as a man of more than ordinary information and soon became a local leader in public affairs.
In 1869 Mr. Berggren was elected Justice of the Peace; Sheriff in 1872; re-elected in 1874, 76, 78, holding the office altogether eight years. In 1880 he was elected to represent his district (consisting of Knox and Mercer Counties) in the State Senate, and in 1884 re-elected by a popular majority in the new district, comprising Knox and Fulton Counties. Hence it will be reasonable to assume that as a political leader his influence is no longer circumscribed by locality. Senator Berggren is a member of the Masonic fraternity and a Knight Templar; Past Grand Master of the I.O.O.F., and was Grand Representative of the Order to the Sovereign Grand Lodge, which convened at Baltimore in 1885; he has been President of the Covenant Mutual Benefit Association, Galesburg, since its organization in 1877, and is also Director in the Galesburg National Bank.
Whatever successes have attended Mr. Berggren since coming to this country are to be credited wholly to his individual merit. He came here a poor boy; has never inherited a dollar; has been identified with no great schemes, whereby some men have been lifted from poverty to affluence; but on the contrary has, in a quiet, unostentatious manner, pursued the even tenor of his way to where we now find him, in the prime of mature manhood.
He was married at Galesburg, March 8, 1866 to Christina Naslund, a native of Sweden, and six children have been born to them.
Mr. Berggren has always been identified with and a stanch supporter of the principles of the Republican party.
IRAM BIGGS, one of the proprietors and publishers of the Galesburg Plaindealer, was born at Biggsville, Henderson County, IL., March 7, 1850. His father, John Biggs, was born in England, and his mother, nee Charlotte Ordway, was a native of Maine. There were born to them five sons and four daughters, one daughter dying in infancy.
The senior Mr. Biggs was a millwright by trade, and was the founder of the town of Biggsville. He there, at an early day, erected a grist-mill, which became known as “Biggs’ Mill”; and eventually as the scanty settlement grew into a village, and later on into a town of several hundred souls, it by common consent received its present name.
Iram was brought up in a printing office, where he has been since he was 12 years of age. He came to Galesburg in 1872, as a journeyman printer, and in 1879 bought out the Galesburg Plaindealer, in partnership with Mr. Henry Emerich, now the editor-in-chief of the paper. The mechanical department of the paper is entirely under the management and supervision of Mr. Biggs, and the appearance of the sheet, as it comes fresh from the press, attests the highest skill in its make-up.
Mr. Biggs, of this sketch, was married to Miss Maggie Moore, a native of Pennsylvania, and the children born to them are three in number, viz: Harry, Robert, and Roy.
ALBERT A. CALKINS, prominent among the well-to-do farmers of Sparta Township, who came to this county away back in 1836, and who has continued to reside here until the present time, meeting with success in their chosen vocation, is the gentleman of whom these notes are written. He is at present residing on section 2, Sparta Township, being township 12 north, range 2 east of the 4th principal meridian, where is located his fine farm of 220 fertile acres, on which there are good and substantial improvements.
Mr. Calkins of this notice was born in Hillsdale, Columbia Co, N.Y., June 1, 1808. His parents were Stephen (the sixth generation from Hugh) and Anna (Smith) Calkins, likewise natives of York State. The father of Stephen Calkins was a native of Connecticut, and his distant forefather, Hugh Calkins, born in Monmouthshire, England, in 1600, came from England to Massachusetts in the year 1640, and soon settled in Connecticut. From Hugh Calkins comes the Calkins family existing throughout different parts of the United States today. Stephen Calkins came to Illinois in 1838, and settled in Henry County where he purchased a farm on which he located and there lived, engaged in that honorable calling until his death in 1857; his wife had died in 1843.
The subject of this notice was an inmate of the parental household until he attained the age of 23 years. He received a common-school education and diligently assisted his father in the labors of the farm, and after leaving home engaged to learn the carpenter’s trade. This he mastered and followed for several years, when he was employed as salesman to travel throughout the southern states, and was thus occupied for three years. In 1836 our subject came to this State and at once entered 180 acres of land on section 2, Sparta Township. Subsequently he increased his landed interests by an additional purchase of 40 acres. When he first came here the county was sparsely settled and the hand of civilization was hardly visible; indeed, there was not a white man who had settled upon the broad prairie one mile from the timber, all who had made settlement having selected the timber. It was at this date that the Underground Railroad was being operated, and the subject of this notice at this day is not afraid to acknowledge that he was an active participant. Mr. Calkins, on settling on the land which he originally entered, at once began its improvement and cultivation, and for 50 years has continued to reside thereon, having through his own exertions and labor brought it to the high state of cultivation and value that it occupies at this writing.
In 1837, one year after his arrival in this county, he concluded that he needed a helpmate to aid him in the improvement of his home and to share in the successes which he was certain he saw in the near future. He consequently selected Miss L. M. Park as his companion. She was a native of Massachusetts, and a daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth (Frink) Park, and bore her husband eight children, five only of whom are now living: Calvin, who married Elizabeth Berry and by whom he has had three children—Ella, Carrie, and Ida; Leonard took to wife Flora Snell, and their children are eight in number—Ernest, Hugh, Nellie, Rufus, Eli, Abigail, Rosa, and Lois M.; Dwight was the next in order of birth; Leroy married Fannie Reed, and they have one son—Willis; Fremont L. also became a married man, the maiden name of his wife being Helen R. Parker.
In politics Mr. Calkins is a Republican and has been one in sentiment ever since 1850. Being intensely anti-slavery in sentiment, he left the Whig party on the passage of the Fugitive-Slave Law, which he considered a disgrace to civilization. While in the midst of slavery he opposed it with tongue and pen. The following is a small specimen of what he left among the slaveholders and which he wrote in 1834:
Founded on oppression, Stigma to the Nation,
Without shadow of Equity, Is held as a treasure
For profit and pleasure, Hot beds of all iniquity.
Mr. Calkins and his wife, who, when another year shall have rolled around, will have been man and wife for 50 years, will celebrate their golden wedding. They are true and consistent members of the Baptist Church, and hand in hand have climbed the ladder of difficulty until at last they are living in the enjoyment of a competency earned through honest toil. Mr. Calkins has held the office of School Director, and to him belongs the honor of calling the first school meeting ever held in Sparta Township, and he was the only one who attended that meeting who could read or write. His past career has been an honorable one, and he is one of the respected and honored citizens not only of Sparta Township, but of Knox County.
Mr. Calkins bears the reputation of being one of the best carpenters in the country, and is a thoroughly reliable business man. At his old home in New York he was esteemed the best posted man in military tactics, and was compelled to drill the field and staff officers of the militia regiment to which he belonged.
MILO D. COOKE, Police Magistrate of Galesburg, was born at Cornwall, Vt., June 4, 1819. His father, Chauncey Cooke, also a native of Vermont, was a General of militia for a number of years, and his grandfather, Joseph Cooke, was a Brigadier-General and a soldier of the Revolution. His mother before marriage was Betsie Evarts, and was a distant relation of William M. Evans. Chauncey Cooke was a farmer by vocation, to which honorable calling he brought up his sons.
The subject of this sketch graduated from Middlebury (Vt.) College, in the Class of 1842; taught school ten years, read law in the meantime; came to Galesburg in 1852 and here has since remained. He has continued in her present office since 1857. Aside from holding the office of Police Magistrate, he has at several times been Supervisor, member of the Board of Education of the City of Galesburg for some 12 years and is now a member of the same. He was regularly admitted to the bar in 1860, and is recognized by the profession as being one of the best legal minds that ever presided over a Justice’s Court in the county.
Our subject was married in the State of New York in 1847, to Betsie B. Smith, a native of Vermont. To Mr. and Mrs. Cooke has been born one son—Forest Cooke, who is at this writing the foremost attorney for his age at the Knox County Bar.
ROBERT G. JAMISON, one of the best known and most highly respected men of Knox County in business circles, whose abilities are of a high order, is the subject of this personal narration. He is a farmer, carpenter, wagon-maker, and blacksmith. His mechanical genius directs his taste in many ways, and he is fairly successful in any enterprise which he takes in hand. His home is situated on section 36 of Chestnut Township, where he not only carries on the occupation of farming, but engages in the breeding and raising of cattle, in which he is quite extensively interested.
Our subject was born in Westmoreland County, Pa., Nov. 26, 1819. He came to Illinois in 1855 and located in Fulton County, where he erected a steam saw-mill. There he remained for ten years and then moved to Knox County, where he has since remained. He was united in the bonds of wedlock, Jan. 17, 1844, with Miss Sarah Barnes, who was born June 8, 1821, in Pennsylvania, and their nuptials were celebrated in that State. Mr. J. is now the owner of 40 acres, which he works in connection with his shops. Seven children have been born to them, all of whom are dead but the two youngest, and they are twins. Ezra E., born April 25, 1845, died in Memphis of typhoid fever, June 1863; he enlisted as a private in the 103rd IL. Vol Inf. and died in the hospital; he was unmarried. Rebecca married Cornelius Norval Sept 3, 1846; Jane born in Aug. 1848, died in her 13th year; Bithia was born in 1851 and died in July 1878; Lydia died in infancy; Sarah and Martha are twins, and both married twin brothers; Sarah becoming the wife of H.B. Barnes, and Martha of James C. Barnes. Mr. Jamison was reared under the doctrines of the Presbyterian Church and his wife in the Methodist Episcopal. In politics he is Republican, strong and stanch, voting always for the party of which he is a member. He can boast of being the oldest man in the county whose father still lives. The old gentleman, Robert Jamison, Sr., now lives within 40 feet of the spot where he first opened his eyes to the things of earth. He was born in 1789, in January, and lives in Westmoreland County, Pa., having never moved from the farm which he now owns. The mother of our subject, Jane (Workman) Jamison, was also born in the State of her husband’s nativity in 1793, and died in 1881. They were the parents of nine children, as follows: Martha, Robert, Elizabeth, Margery, Eli, Joseph, Amanda, Margret, and Jane.
Robert Jamison is a hale and hearty old gentleman, who is enjoying life in the sunset of a happy old age. Both himself and wife enjoy excellent health and are active, worthy members of the community in which they belong.
WILLIAM J. MOSHER, son of Emerson Mosher, Esq., was born in Oneida Co, N.Y., Aug. 4, 1807. His ancestors were of English origin and emigrated to the United States a short time after the landing of the Pilgrims. Their first location was in Massachusetts, where the original progenitors, two brothers, settled. After living within the precincts of the Bay State for some time, one branch went to New York, where they made Oneida County their home. Josiah, the grandfather of Mr. Mosher, was one of the family living in Oneida County. He was a brave man and a soldier of the Revolutionary War. His brother, John, was Captain of a company in the same war. He died in Oneida County in 1847, having lived to the advanced age of 92 years. Mr. Mosher’s grandmother, Rebecca (Doolittle) Mosher, who was of New England stock, was born and reared in Connecticut, and was married in New York. She died in 1832, having lived to a hale old age. The father of our subject married Mary Crane in Oneida County. She was born in that county, Feb. 26, 1814. The father followed his calling, which was that of teacher, occasionally working at the carpenter’s trade, which he had learned early in life. It was at this juncture that his marriage occurred, and afterward, while living in the State of New York, he worked at milling. In 1851, he came to this county and located on a farm, in the working of which he met with success. His death took place Feb. 23, 1867. He was a local officer in many of the minor positions of the township. Politically, he was an Abolitionist, an old-line Whig, and later a stanch supporter of the Republican party.
Mr. Mosher of this writing was born in Oneida County, N.Y., Aug. 8, 1841. At the time of the removal of his parents to this county, he was nine years of age. He received his early education in the public schools of this township, and passed the years of his boyhood and younger manhood at home till after his marriage, Nov. 26, 1868. This event took place at the home of the bride, Miss Sarah E. Wetmore. She was born in Ontario Township, Feb. 12, 1850, and educated in the public schools and lived at home until married. Since their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Mosher have passed their lives on the old Mosher homestead, which consists at this time of 80 acres of finely improved land, Mr. Mosher is a breeder of blooded Holstein cattle, in Ontario Township. He holds the office of School Trustee in his township, and adopts the belief of his father in politics. The Congregational Church is their regular place of worship.
FRANKLIN NICHOLS, is a very old settler of the county and a successful farmer, owning 157 acres, on section 2, Walnut Grove Township, less 80 recently deeded to his son. This worthy citizen was born in Jefferson Township, Schoharie Co, N.Y., Jan. 17, 1822. His father, John, was a farmer, born in Williamstown Township, Vt., and he in turn was the son of Ezra, a native of Connecticut and of New England parentage. Ezra died in Harpersfield Township, Delaware Co, N.Y. The father was brought up in the same county, where he arrived when he was in his sixth year. While in Connecticut he married Laura Hamilton, a lady born in that State, near Danbury. She was of old English descent.
The parents of our subject, after their marriage, settled in Jefferson Township, Schoharie Co, N.Y., in 1813. In this county they lived and died, having secured about 1,000 acres of good land and won for themselves the good will and high esteem due to prominent citizens, as they were. The son is yet an owner and operator of part of the old homestead. The family born of this marriage were three sons and four daughters, one of the former dying when young, the others living to maturity. Our subject was the eldest of the family but one. He learned to read, write and “cipher” while living in the old log cabin, where for hours he would sit and study near the wide, antique, stone fireplace. His second teacher, Samantha Hoyt, gave the boy his first card of merit, and he has never forgotten the couplet it contained. This runs as follows:
“Labor for learning before thou art old, For learning is better than silver or gold”.
This truism he took to heart and believes to this hour.
On the 24th of March, 1843, Mr. Nichols was married in Davenport, Otsego Co, N.Y. to Miss Margaret Multer, a native of Worcester, Otsego County, where she was born in February 1820. She was the daughter of an Otsego County farmer, by name Christian Multer. The father was born in New York City and died in Worcester, Otsego County. Her mother, Mary Becker, resided and died in Worcester also. These parents were of German and Holland Dutch descent respectively. Mrs. N. of this notice was the fifth child of a family of nine—three sons and six daughters. She is the mother of eight children herself—six sons and two daughters.
George Nichols married Miss Catherine Rockfellow, and resides in Summit, Schoharie Co, N.Y. Walter married Sophia Nelson and lives on the homestead of 80 acres deeded by his father; his wife is the daughter of Charles and Matilda (Stread) Nelson, natives of Sweden; she was born in Altona and is the eldest in a family of seven children. Walter was previously married to Mary Field, who is now deceased, her death taking place in December 1881. By his first marriage he became the father of one child—Harry F.—and by his second marriage he has one child, named Claude Nathan. Nathan resides in Lynn Township, Knox Co, and is the owner of 113 acres of prime land; Irvin J. resides at home; John C., Wesley, Ellen J., and Julia are deceased. The entire family are active members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, Mr. Nichols being a Trustee of that body in whom the greatest confidence is placed. In him, also, the Republican party has a consistent and able adherent. Politically speaking, he is solid to the core, and watches with interest all matters likely to promote the good of his party.
N. J. OLEEN, Vice-President of the Scandinavian Mutual Aid Association, and senior member of the well-known boot-and-shoe firm of Oleen & Peterson of Galesburg, was born in the south part of Sweden, March 8, 1844 and came to America in July 1865. His parents, who both died in Sweden, reared three sons and three daughters.
Mr. Oleen of this writing attended the schools in his native country, acquiring therein a tolerably thorough education, and after coming to Galesburg graduated from the Business College; thus, before attempting anything in a business way, he fitted himself to be of service to his employers. His first employment, aside from a little work done as a broom-corn cutter, was as clerk in the grocery house of G. D. Crocker, where he remained three years. From there he went with E. F. Thomas’ dry goods house as salesman, and afterward with Mr. Thomas’ successors, where he remained until 1881. He next traveled for a Boston house for a year or two, and in the spring of 1883 went into his present business engagement.
He was one of the organizers of the Scandinavian Mutual Aid Association and has since been Vice-President of that body, and is also at present one of the Board of Managers. He was also one of the founders of the Covenant Mutual Benefit Association, and was for some years one of its Board of Directors and Managers. He is a member of the I.O.O.F. He has represented the First Scandinavian Lodge, No. 446, in the Grand Lodge of the State for two years, and Colfax Encampment, No. 28, for the years 1884-85.
Mr. Oleen is eminently deserving of more than ordinary mention on account of his high social and business standing, of his political and gentlemanly deportment at all times and under all circumstances, and of his merited popularity with all classes; but the writer is restrained from cataloguing his many good points by the promises exacted, on account of his modesty, which always accompanies true worth, by the subject of our sketch.
Mr. Oleen was married at Galesburg, March 17, 1872, to Miss Louisa Anderson, and to him have been born five children, namely: Clara Hildegard, Carl Theodore, Wilford Martin, Eveline, and one child, a daughter, who died in infancy. Politically he is a Republican.
EDGAR L. PHILLIPS, M.D., of Galesburg, belongs to that class of men who have aided in the building up of that city, which takes a recognized prominence among the many beautiful and thrifty cities that the State of Illinois can boast of. He is a native of New York, and was born in Orange County, April 5, 1827. His parents were William and Sarah (Evertson) Phillips. The father was a prominent farmer and manufacturer, and served for a short time in the War of 1812 (until 1814), and subsequently held a colonelcy in the militia in the State of New York for many years. He was a gentleman of sterling integrity and noble worth, and always judged his fellow man his equal in that respect, a quality which eventually proved disastrous to him in a financial point of view. He was descended from Rev. George Phillips, who accompanied Gov. Winthrop from England to our shores, and who settled at Watertown, Mass., whence came a great many of our American Phillipses. Sarah Evertson was a native of Dutchess County, N.Y., of Dutch descent, and came of a worthy line of pioneers in that locality. Their five sons all became prominent in their different callings. Henry L. who lived at Honesdale, Pa., died May 12, 1886; Nicholas E. is in the grain business at North Henderson, Mercer Co, IL.; William N. is living at Galesburg; and Thomas S., who was a resident of Chicago, died April 21, 1886.
Edgar L. Phillips was prepared for college at Lee, Mass., and Middletown, N.Y., and in 1844 entered Williams College, Williamstown, Mass., where he spent nearly four years. He withdrew from his studies there in the Senior year on account of the death of his father, which occurred Sept. 1, 1846, and which left our subject to care for himself. In 1848 he came west and located at Fairview, Fulton Co., IL., where he commenced the study of medicine and attended lectures at Cleveland Medical College, Cleveland, Ohio; in the meantime continuing his studies in the office of Prof. John Delamater. In 1851 he commenced the practice of his profession in Fairview, Fulton County, and continued until the spring of 1852, when he was constrained to join a party who were en route for California, his brother, Nicholas E., going with him. On his arrival in that State he resumed the practice in El Dorado County, in which he continued for about three years. He also engaged in the mining business. In 1855 he returned east, and after reading and attending lectures at the St. Louis Medical College, from which he graduated, he, in 1856, opened an office at Knoxville, this county, where we find him in active professional work for a few years. In 1860 he retired from professional work on account of ill health, and spent two seasons on his farm in Pottawatomie County, Iowa. In 1862 as soon as he had recuperated his health, he returned to his adopted State and enlisted in the cause for the Union. He was assigned to the 91st Regt. IL. Vol. Inf. as First Assistant Surgeon. His regiment was captured by Gen. Morgan at Elizabethtown, Ky., in December 1862, and after being paroled was ordered to Benton Barracks, St. Louis. In the following summer the regiment was exchanged and he continued in the field, serving at Vicksburg, Port Hudson, and Carrollton, La. Before the close of this year his health failed him and he resigned his position while the regiment was stationed at Carrollton, and returned home and spent a year farming near Galesburg. In 1865 he located in Galesburg, where he has continued to successfully practice his profession.
While taking a prominent rank as a professional man, he is also a gentleman of excellent citizenship, contributing to all measures attending the advancement of the city, together with her many important interests. He is a member of the Board of Examiners for Pensions, a position he has creditably filled for four years. He is a member of the Military Tract Medical Society, the American Medical Association and the Kappa Alpha Society of Williams College. He is a member of the ancient and honorable fraternity of F. & A.M., and holds membership with Alpha Lodge, No. 155, and Galesburg Chapter, No. 46, R.A.M., and served as High Priest of the latter body for three years. May 6, 1857, Dr. Phillips was married to Miss Mary L. Sanburn if Knoxville, and their union has been blest with two sons and two daughters. John Sanburn, the elder son, was graduated from Knox College in the class of 1882, and upon the organization of the Wheelman, of Boston, accepted a position upon its staff as literary editor, which he acceptably filled for a time, when he retired to enter Harvard College, from which renowned institution he graduated in 1885. He then returned home and formed a matrimonial alliance with Miss Emma, daughter of C.C. West of Oneida, and in Sept. of that year departed for Leipzig, Germany, where he is prosecuting his studies for further advancement as a teacher. His intelligent and accomplished wife joined him and is studying art. Edgar E., second son of our subject, a young man of clever attainments, is thoroughly practical in his ideas, and is a printer in the office of the Register-Republican at Galesburg. Elizabeth and Julia, the two daughters of Dr. Phillips, reside with their parents.
Dr. Phillips can with pride look back upon a life well spent as a pioneer, and rejoice with that noble class of people that, though their early lives were fraught with hardships and privations, they have lived to see the country developed to its present wonderful condition.
HENRY M. SISSON, the subject of this history is a prominent farmer on section 35, Henderson Township. He first arrived in Knox County in September 1842, coming from Oneida County, N.Y. Settling first in Galesburg, he lived there 13 years, and in the summer of 1855 removed to Henderson Township, his present home. He is almost exclusively engaged in stock-raising, and in company with his brother, William P., is the owner of a half-section of prime land. On the 29th of September 1829, he was born in Clinton, Oneida Co, N.Y. and resided there until he came to Galesburg. He received a good common-school education, and in addition, after locating in Galesburg, he attended the Academy belonging to Knox College.
He has been continuously engaged in agricultural pursuits and in fine stock-raising and has shown himself a competent judge in his chosen vocation.
He was married in Chicago, IL. on the 25th of December 1860, to Eliza J. Miller, who was a native of that city and born December 5, 1836. By this marriage this lady became the mother of nine children, of whom six are now living, viz: Della A., Dora E., Frances O., Margaret M., Helen M. and Anna M. Our subject’s parents were Pardon and Abbie (McCall) Sisson, natives of Rhode Island and Connecticut respectively. They were married in Lebanon, Conn., Sept. 30, 1827, and settled in Oneida County (this being the second marriage of Mr. Sisson), and came to Galesburg in the year 1842. Henry Sisson’s mother died on the 20th of February, 1873 and the elder Mr. Sisson’s decease occurred on the 23rd of November 1860. The parents of Mrs. Henry Sisson were John and Jane A. (Crane) Miller, natives of Virginia and Vermont. They were married in Chicago, where Mrs. Miller died May 21, 1849. Mr. Miller first came to Galesburg in 1857, and died there Jan 22, 1858.
Mr. H. M. Sisson has been elected several times to the office of Supervisor of his township, and has held other minor offices. The father of the present Mrs. Sisson was one of the early settlers of Chicago, and one of the first Trustees of the village of Chicago. At that date the great bustling and enterprising city of today was not yet a corporate city. The gentleman whose name heads this history is one of the Directors of the Galesburg National Bank, besides holding the office of President of the American Poland-China Record Company. He is an extensive breeder of Short-horn cattle and Poland-China hogs, concerning which he is a recognized authority in Knox County.
In politics the Republican party can claim in Mr. Sisson a man who is always willing and ready to give his support to any measure or side with any principle calculated to promote his country’s interests.
CHESTER E. ALLEN, keeper of the City Prison and a Constable of Galesburg, comes of a worthy line of pioneer stock of Knox County. He was born there in 1846, and is the son of Sheldon W. and Fidelia (Leach) Allen, natives of York State. Our subject spent his boyhood days on his father’s farm, and obtained a liberal education in the public schools. At the age of 16 he became apprenticed to the harness-making trade, but the Civil War being in progress at this time, young Allen longed to enter the service, but was too young. However, in consequence of his fine physique, he was accepted about a year afterward and enlisted his services in Co. D, 139th IL. Vol. Inf. with which company he remained until the close of the war, receiving an honorable discharge. He then returned to his apprenticeship, which he completed, but the confinement of the shop was too much for him, and he left the harness-making business to engage in mercantile pursuits. In 1871 he joined his brothers in the meat market business, which he carried on continuously until 1881, when, upon the dissolution of the firm, he accepted a place upon the constabulary of his city, which position he has very reputably held since.
Mr. Allen was married in Galesburg, to Miss Anna, daughter of James and Clarinda (Fletcher) Fleming of Staten Island, N.Y. This union has been blest by the birth of a daughter—Blanche Fidelia.
Mr. Allen is a liberal contributor to all religious organizations, and is a charter member of the G.A.R., also a worthy Mason, being a Past Master of Alpha Lodge, No. 155, and a member of the Chapter and Council. He is a fearless officer, a genial gentleman and a kind friend.
JOHN CLARKSON, the deservedly popular firm of Clarkson & Co., grocers, at No. 144 East Main Street, Galesburg, IL., is composed of Messrs. Clarkson and Roadstrum. Mr. Clarkson was born in Skane, Sweden, Aug. 23, 1832. He there grew to manhood as a farmer, was educated in the common schools, and in 1853, came to America. His father, Nelson Clarkson, died in Sweden when 55 years of age.
The mother, Ella Hanson Clarkson, came to America in 1865 and died about five weeks after her arrival. The subject of this sketch spent about five years of his time in the new country as a steward in a large restaurant and confectionery establishment at Peoria; the succeeding years in the same business he held a partnership with one of his late employers. From Peoria he came to Galesburg in 1864, and engaged in the grocery business, which he sold out at the end of two years and went into partnership with J. F. Anderson, restaurant and confectionery. This arrangement lasted three years, at which time the grocery house of Clarkson & Johnson was organized.
At Peoria, when about 28 years of age, Mr. Clarkson was married to Eliza Loquist, a native of Sweden. Their eldest son, Charles E., graduate of Galesburg High and Commerical School, entered a banking house as bookkeeper when 17 years of age. He was elected cashier before he was 21, and is now at Sabetha, Kan. Their second child is a daughter, Ella C.; the third, Annie J.; the fourth, Jay Edward, and the fifth, Florence May. Their daughter Annie died when eight years of age.
The family belong to the Presbyterian Church and Mr. Clarkson is a member of the I.O.O. F.
HON. ORIN P. COOLEY, prominent among the deep-thinking and wide-awake politicians of Knox County, and leading and influential citizens and attorneys may be named the gentleman of whose personal history the ensuing items are given. He is the present Representative from this district, to which office he was elected by a large majority.
Mr. Cooley was born in Portage County, Ohio, Sept. 30, 1843. His father, Samuel Cooley, a native of Medina County, Ohio, came of an old Connecticut family of English ancestral blood, and whose forefathers figured early in New England history.
Early in life, while in Summit County, Ohio, he was married to Mary M. Richardson, the accomplished daughter of a New England farmer. That was the home of her childhood and its scenes and associations were dear to her, but leaving it all bravely she took upon herself new duties, and went with her husband to their western home. Her parents were originally from New Haven and Middlebury, Conn., and were of Scotch and English lineage respectively. The great-grandfather of Miss Richarson, Lemuel Porter, came from Edinburgh, Scotland, during the 17th century, but the early record of the Porter family dates back more than 200 years. Many notable members of the old stock have, in the last century and a half, been found in the Middle Atlantic States, and among the divine and erudite scholars there have shone some of its brightest lights. Examples of individual members of the family on the paternal side who distinguished themselves as brilliantly intellectual and spiritually enlightened are Dr. N.S. Richardson, D. D., deceased, rector of St. Paul’s Church, at Bridgeport, Conn. who was a graduate of Yale, and the founder of the Church Guardian, New York City; J. B. Richardson, D. D., deceased, who was pastor of the Congregational Church at Geneva, N.Y., and likewise a graduate of Yale. These men gained a wide renown in their respective fields of labor and accomplished a grand life-work. Others of this illustrious family gained notoriety and distinction in public affairs. One was State Representative and one United States Senator from Alabama, and it would be impossible to give more than a cursory history of them all. In Ohio the family stands high, especially in Summit County, where they are prominent in official and political circles.
Immediately after marriage the parents of Hon. O.P. Cooley removed from Summit County to Portage County, Ohio, at which place Mr. C. was born, as before noted. A few years later the family again moved, this time to Middlebury, now the sixth ward of Akron, Ohio, where the second and last child, another son, was born and christened Charles L. He grew to boyhood in the State of his birth, and eventually developed into a promising and intelligent young man, with native business ability and shrewd intelligence. While yet a young man he entered the employ of the C., B. & Q. R.R. Co. at Burlington, Iowa, which he served with manly integrity and industry, but was overtaken by that dread disease, consumption, and becoming convinced that his stay on earth was short, retuned to Summit County, where he lingered a short time and died March 12, 1869, in the bloom of his young manhood. He was bound by no matrimonial ties.
In the year 1854, the parents came to Knox County with their two sons, and settled at what is usually known as Ontario Center. This was just before the C., B. & Q. R.R. Co. had completed its line through this county, and not long from the time that the present town of Oneida was begun. While the village was yet in its infancy, they, being one of the first families, began to make improvements on their original property, and have watched the growth of this village into a fairly large and prosperous town. The father during those years followed his trade as a blacksmith and carriage-maker, and being a skillful workman, was successful. Attaining to years of manhood, Mr. Cooley had grown into a well developed, muscular man, with a mind approximating in strength his healthy, vigorous body. Naturally intelligent in mind, he keenly appreciated his educational advantages and steadily improved them. Entering Lombard University at Galesburg, he pursued his studies until the war began, when he enlisted. He was at first refused admission to the Union Army, on account of his youth, but after several attempts was accepted as a volunteer Aug. 10, 1861, and joined Co. C, 42nd IL. Vol. Inf., Capt. N.H. Walworth, then of Oneida, in connection with Gen. Sheridan’s Division, 4th Army Corps of the Army of the Cumberland. Following the army through the south, this regiment fought in the battles of Farmington and in the long siege of Corinth, and were at Murfreesboro and in the Atlanta campaign. He was taken prisoner at Decatur, Ala., and detained at Tuscaloosa, and Cahaba, Ala., and Meridian, Miss., remaining in the hands of the Confederates until the close of the hostilities, when as prisoner of war he was released, receiving an honorable discharge at Springfield, IL., July 20, 1865.
Not long after his return from the war Mr. Cooley commenced the study of the law, reading under G. W. Ford and Gen. F. C. Smith, respectively, and was admitted to the bar Dec. 27, 1867, but has never made a business of the practice of law. He is now engaged in the insurance business. He has filled many of the local offices, among them those of Township and City Clerk on the Democratic ticket, but in consequence of that party being largely in the minority in his county he was defeated. In the year 1877 he was appointed by Gov. Cullom as Judge-Advocate of the 2nd Brigade, with the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel, and was succeeded in this office by A. R. Mock, of Cambridge, IL. The present incumbent is Col. Fort, of Lacon, Marshall Co, IL.
At the Republican Senatorial Convention of the 22nd District, comprising Knox and Fulton Counties, held July 22, 1884, at Galesburg, he was nominated as one of the Representatives to the State Legislature, and in the following autumn was elected by the flattering majority of 3,000. In the halls of the State Legislature Mr. Cooley gained large favor and prominence, and was noted for punctuality and a praise-worthy interest manifested in all questions pertaining to the good of the people. In that long-to-be-remembered session of the Legislature of 1884-85, which resulted in the election of John A. Logan, Mr. Shuman, of the Chicago Journal, speaking of him among the distinguished members, says: “Mr. Cooley was noted for ever being present at roll-call, and was known as the physical heavy-weight of the house and as being as sound in mind as body.” Of the various committees on which he did service are the following: Committee on Judicial Department and Practice, Committee on License, Public Grounds, Building and Libraries.
In religion he supports the doctrines of the Episcopal Church, and in politics is a solid, reliable John A. Logan Republican, at whose nomination for United States Senator Mr. Cooley was invited to speak in the joint caucus on behalf of the House of Representatives. His courteous response to this request was cited by many as one of his best efforts and a credit to its author for smooth and fitting eloquence, and strong, logical, common-sense argument. He has often labored in political struggles, and is known to the people as a ready, fluent speaker.
CHARLES H. CUYLER, Division Roadmaster of the Galesburg & Peoria and Buda & Rushville Branches of the Galesburg Division of the C., B. & Q.R.R., was born in Montreal, Canada, Oct. 6, 1831. He is the son of Charles H. and Louisa (Field) Cuyler, natives of New York. The parents of our subject were, at the time of his birth, temporarily stopping at Montreal. The Cuylers are natives of Dutchess County. The grandfather of our subject was a native of Amsterdam, Holland. Mr. Cuyler, senior, was extensively engaged in the merchant marine trade and ultimately settled in Dutchess County. The family were of worthy English ancestry and settled in Flushing, Long Island.
The subject of our sketch was the second child of a family of 11 children. He was reared at Ferrisburg, Vt., and grew to manhood in New York City. At the age of 23 years he came to Illinois, and settled in Plymouth, and in 1856, with his brother Walter (now of Quincy, IL) brought his parents west and established a home for them, where the father died in 1867. Ten years previous to this time Mr. Cuyler began work for the C., B. & Q.R.R. Co. His first experience was with the shovel, from which he rose to section foreman and from that to the foremanship of the floating gang, holding his headquarters at Colchester, whither he had removed in 1866. In 1877 he was appointed to his present position, a place he has worthily filled ever since.
Mr. Cuyler was married in Marion County, IL., to Martha Maguire, whom he buried Aug. 31, 1879 in Argyle, near Colchester. She had borne him three sons and one daughter—Edward B., deceased; Frank M., a telegraph operator at Minneapolis, Minn.; Daisy Estelle, and Roger Irving. He was again married in 1880 to Mary Davies, a native of Mountain Ash, Glamorganshire, Wales, by whom he has a son and daughter—May Davies and Charles, Jr. Mr. Cuyler is an active member of the I.O.O. F., and both he and his wife attend worship at the Baptist Church.
GEORGE DAVIS, Treasurer of Knox College, was born in the northwestern part of Ireland, November 1814. His parents were by name Robert and Mary Ann (Earls) Davis, and they reared eight sons and three daughters. The Davis family were originally from Wales, and followed William the Conqueror to Ireland and settled there.
Our subject left home at an early age for the United States, and after traveling for a short period came to Illinois in 1840, and soon after came to Knox County. In September 1844, he was married to Sarah Rooks, born in Genesee County, N.Y., who was of Connecticut parentage. Our subject and his wife had one child, a daughter, who is married to J. T. McKnight, President of the Second National Bank. Mr. Davis followed the independent calling of farmer for 14 or 15 years; then moved into the city of Galesburg, and held the position of Treasurer of that place in 1858-59. He was County Treasurer in the year 1862; was a member of the Board of Supervisors in 1863; Township Treasurer for some years, and United States Assistant Assessor for six years. He was chosen to fill this position on the resignation of David Sanborn, Esq., when he was elected President of the Second National Bank of Galesburg. Mr. Davis crossed the briny waters of the Atlantic three times, the last visit being made in the year 1883. His father died on the old homestead in 1862, at the venerable age of 75 years, the mother surviving him seven years, dying at the age of 77.
Our subject has always been a stanch Republican, and was a conductor on the Underground Railroad. He has been Treasurer of Knox College since June 1, 1875, and is always proud to be known as a citizen of Galesburg. He is a member of the First Congregational Church.
JOHN DOAK is a farmer, residing on section 16 of Copley Township, and was born in Scotland, May 22, 1822. His parents were William and Helen (McKie) Doak. They were natives of Scotland, and were the parents of nine children, eight of whom are still living—Mary, Jane, John, Jennette, William, Helen, Meron, and Agnes. The parents died in their native land in 1878-79.
Our subject remained at home until he attained the age of 25, and received a common school education. In 1848 he came to America and, proceeding to Illinois, settled in Knox County. Here he engaged to work on a farm, and besides this occupied himself in the joint pursuit of running a saw mill, engaging by the month for three years. Subsequent to this he rented in Copley Township, for a year, and afterward purchased 80 acres of land on section 17. He subsequently added to his original purchase, and is now the owner of 290 acres. He lived ten years on the land originally bought, in a log cabin; he has now a pleasant and desirable home, into which he moved after leaving the former lowly dwelling.
Mr. Doak was married on the 10th day of October, 1855 to Miss Jane, the daughter of James and Jane (Hamilton) Morrison, who came from Scotland. They reared a family of ten children—nine attaining man and womanhood, and being still alive: Jane, Margaret, Christ., James, William, Isabelle, Elizabeth, Jessie and John. The parents are deceased and buried in their native land, the father in 1881 and the mother in 1885.
Mr. and Mrs. Doak are the parents of eight children, as follows: Helen K., Agnes C., Mary J., William S., Nettie E., John T., Annie H., and James A.
Mr. Doak is a Republican in belief and supports his political party with much zeal and energy. With his wife he is a member of the Presbyterian Church, of which he is a very useful and helpful factor. He is one of the solid and substantial men of this vicinity, and by every means in his power helps every good work brought forward for the benefit of the people.
HARRY DUNBAR, this gentleman is a farmer and stock-raiser on section 22, Henderson Township. He is the son of George and Millie (Collins) Dunbar, both natives of Kentucky and very estimable people. They came to Knox County and early settled in Sparta Township, where the mother died. Her husband survives her and is now living in Henderson village. They had a very interesting family of seven children, of whom the gentleman whose name heads this history was the fourth. The brothers and sisters of Mr. Dunbar were Mary A., now deceased; Luticia married Stewart Holly and one child was the result of this union; Mrs. Holly is now dead; Frank married Martha Wilt, and seven children were born to them; Sarah is deceased; Washington is married to Miss McElhaney, and they have five children; Nancy is the wife of Edward King, and they have three children living. Frank and Washington were in the Civil War in Co. K, 83rd IL. Vol. Inf.; they both received honorable discharges.
Harry Dunbar was born in Sparta Township and received a good common-school education. He has resided in Knox County, where all his life he has engaged in agricultural pursuits and stock-raising. His farm consists of nearly 400 acres, all well-improved, most of which is tillable and on which are very desirable buildings and all necessary appliances for successful stock-breeding. His barns rank with the best in the county. He is chiefly interested in raising blooded stock. He has 60 head of horses, 100 head of cattle, and fattens about 150 hogs annually. His horses are of the Norman and Hambletonian breeds and his cattle of the Short-horn and Durham bloods. He is the owner of two imported Norman stallions and has also in his possession the well-known Kentucky mammoth jack, Young Samson. Mr. Dunbar’s judgment as a cattle-breeder is of the first order, and throughout the county he is considered one of the most practical and wide-awake farmers of his day.
Mr. Dunbar was married in Knoxville, IL., on the 14th of April 1860 to Cordelia Riggen. There have been nine children born to these parents—John A., Lillie C., Loren, Arthur W., Della, Luna, Anna, Fred, and Daisy. Of these, Della, to the great sorrow of her parents, died early. John is married and settled in Henderson Township and has one child—Ella M. Lillie C. is the happy wife of John Haskins and resides in Henderson Townshop, two children have been born to this union—Florence and Daisy.
Mr. Harry Dunbar for the second time was married in Henderson Township, March 17, 1879, to Rachel Riggen, a native of Stark County, IL., born on the 25th of October 1857. By this marriage there has been one child—Lulu F.
In politics Mr. Dunbar has always allied himself with the Republicans, and in the interest of that party has never lost an opportunity to prove his adhesion by word or deed. In connection with this sketch we present a view of the pleasant homestead of Mr. Dunbar.
T. JUDSON HALE, who has resided in Knox County since June 1845, was born in Smithfield, Pa., April 8, 1823. After receiving an academic education, at the age of 19 he commenced his law studies in the office of Gen. Bullock, completed them in the office of Adams & Mercer, Towanda, Pa., and was admitted to the bar in the winter of 1845. Arriving in Knoxville in June 1845, he commenced the practice of his profession in competition with the able resident bar of Messrs. Manning & Swift, C.K. Harvey, R.L. Hannaman, and Edward & Thomas Law.
In 1847 he was elected School Commissioner of Knox County, and in August 1848, he was elected Clerk of the Circuit Court of Knox County. At the expiration of his official term, in 1852, he resumed the practice of law, as a member of the law firm of Hannaman & Hale, of which he was a more or less active member until 1861.
In 1862 he was appointed United States Deputy Collector of Internal Revenue, which position he resigned in 1864. Since 1865 he has resided in the city of Galesburg, occupied mainly with his personal affairs. Since 1867 he has been a Trustee of Lombard University, at intervals serving as President of the Board, Secretary and Treasurer. In 1876 he was elected upon the Republican ticket a member of the State Board of Equalization for the term of four years. He was a member of the Board of Supervisors of Knox County, from 1875 to 1883 inclusive, and was Chairman of the Board from 1877 to 1883.
As secondary incidents in his life, it may be mentioned that while residing in the city of Knoxville he served one term as Mayor; that in 1869 he was elected and commissioned Colonel of the 59th Regt. IL. State Militia; that since residing in the city of Galesburg, he was for many years identified with the management of the Galesburg Public Library and the Galesburg Board of Park Commissioners; that at an early day he earned some position in the I.O.O. F., and both early and late as a member of the fraternity of A., F. & A.M. and has filled all positions up to and including Eminent Commander of Knights Templar.
Sept. 24, 1848, he was married in Smithfield, Pa., to Sarah P. Pierce, daughter of James C. and Elizabeth Pierce, and residing in Knoxville and Galesburg, Knox Co., since that time, they have reared their family of five children—Willie, Mark, Charles, Harry, and Stella. Willie was instantly killed while in railroad employ in 1873; Mark is a railroad engineer; Charles, a graduate of Lombard University, is cashier of the First National Bank of Pittsburg, Kan.; Harry, who graduated as a cadet at West Point, is a Lieutenant in the United States Army, and Stella, who graduated from Lombard University, resides with her parents, the subject of the foregoing sketch.
JONAS J. HEDMAN, a farmer, living on section 2 of Copley Township, is the subject of this recital, and is one of our progressive and live men. He has lived to see Knox County attain success in the march of progress. His home is a pleasant and desirable one and he pursues general farming as a vocation. He is settled upon 78 acres of land, which is now in a high state of cultivation.
Mr. Hedman was born in Sweden, Feb. 23, 1850, and is the son of John and Carrie (Shostrom) Hedman. John Hedman was a tailor by occupation, which calling he pursued in Sweden, and was the father of two sons—Jonas J. of this writing, and John D. After Jonas was 17 years of age, up to which time he had attended school and worked with his father at tailoring, he in 1867 left his native land and with friends came to America. They landed at New York and from there came west, and being pleased with the appearance of Knox County, stopped at Altona. There he hired out to a farmer, contracting to work by the month and rented farms up to 1880. At that time he took a trip to Nebraska and purchased 80 acres of land in Polk County, where he remained for two years. He improved the same, and at the end of that time he sold it and returned to Illinois. In this state he purchased the farm on which he now lives.
Mr. Hedman was united in marriage in 1882 with Miss Catherine Englund, a native of Knox County. She was born in 1860 and was the daughter of Peter and Catherine (Anderson) Englund. They were natives of Sweden, and came to America in 1853, and settled in Knox County, where they are still living. Mr. and Mrs. Hedman have one daughter, by name Minnie C. Mr. Hedman is an esteemed and worthy citizen, and politically supports the Republican party.
JAMES K. HOWLAND, passenger conductor of the C., B. & Q.R.R., was born in Burlington, Vt., Jan. 3, 1844. He was the son of Arnold and Harriet (Wright) Howland. The father traces his ancestry back to 1730, when John Howland landed with Gov. Winthrop, of Massachusetts, in that State, and finally settled in New Bedford, whence came many of that name to this county. They belong to worthy English ancestors, among whom are numbered many noted public men. The very earliest record of the Howland family credits the earliest progenitors with having come to this country in 1620 on the ship Mayflower, and landing with the Puritans on Plymouth Rock. The grandfather of Harriet (Wright) Howland, mother of our subject, was a native of Germany, and upon coming to this country settled in the Green Mountain State.
The subject of this sketch is the 6th child and 3rd son of a family of five sons and five daughters. He spent his boyhood days in the East, where he obtained a good rudimentary education. At the age of 17 years he came West and located at Chicago, where he obtained employment as brakeman on the line of the C., B. & Q. R.R. After a reputable service with this company he received promotion to baggage-master, then to conductor of a freight train, and in 1879 to that of passenger conductor. He has continued in this capacity ever since, filling the position with credit to himself and profit to the company.
Mr. Howland was married at Princeton, IL. to Miss Christina, the accomplished daughter of John N. Robinson, Esq. of Buda, IL., the union being blest by a son and daughter—John and Harriet, who with their parents attend worship at the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Howland is a respected official of the corporation he represents, and an enterprising and public-spirited citizen, a genial gentleman and a kind husband and father. He is a worthy member of the Masonic fraternity, and an active member of the Order of Railway Conductors, in which he at present serves as Junior Conductor and Correspondent of Division No. 3.
NATHANIEL B. IVES, one of Knox County’s prominent farmers, resides on section 7, Victoria Township, and was born in Otsego County, N.Y., Nov. 9, 1833. His parents were Joshua and Catharine (Wilber) Ives, natives of Otsego Co., N.Y., where they resided until their death, which occurred in 1885 and 1836 respectively. The family of the senior Mr. Ives numbered four members, of whom our subject was the 3rd in order of birth. They were as follows: Eunice, Rachel, Nathaniel B., and John.
N. B. Ives remained under the parental roof until 17 years of age. At that time he engaged to work out on a farm, during the summer, for several months, residing at home during the winter and attending school. The money paid him as wages was given to his father until he was 21. At Milford, Otsego Co., N.Y. he worked on a farm for one year, also part of the year 1856, and in July of that year he emigrated to Illinois, settling in Victoria Township where for eighteen months he was engaged as a farm hand. He then purchased the farm on which he is at present residing, and which then contained 80 acres. To this he subsequently added 160 acres, and all of this is excellently improved and fenced. Mr. Ives is extensively engaged in stock and grain raising, and values his land at $60 per acre.
Our subject was married in 1861 to Miss Susan M. Clark. She was the daughter of William P. and Diana (Soles) Clark, native of Massachusetts and New York. Her parents came to Illinois in 1869, and located in Victoria village, where the mother died in 1880. Mr. and Mrs. Clark were the parents of six children, two of whom are living—Susan and Francis.
Mr. and Mrs. Ives have five children, who bear the names of William J., Ola C., Nathaniel B., Ulysses S., and Sherman. Mr. Ives enlisted Aug. 1, 1862 in Co. K. 83rd IL. Vol. Inf. for three years, and served 2 years 11 months and 6 days, receiving an honorable discharge at the close of the war. He participated in the battle of Fort Donelson and in several skirmishes. On his return from the war he engaged in farming. Politically he is a firm adherent to the principles of the Republican party. He has held the offices of Town Collector, School Director, and Trustee. He is connected with the Congregational Church, being a Deacon of that body.
WILLIAM LALOR, foreman of the boiler shops of the C., B. & Q.R.R. Co., Galesburg, is a worthy representative of the craftsmen of this extensive corporation. He was born in the Parish of Maryborough, Queens County, Ireland, and is the son of Martin and Catherine (Dunne) Lalor, worthy people who came to our shores in 1866, and settled at Aurora, IL. The subject of our sketch here learned the boiler-making trade in the shops of the C., B. & Q. R. R. Co. Being of an active and progressive nature, he soon made his craftsmanship felt, and obtained a good position in the shops of the company at that place. This position he ably filled until the year 1885 when he was appointed to his present responsible place, whose duties he very creditably fulfills.
Although possessing all the attributes of a good family man, he is still treading the mazy paths of single blessedness. Mr. Lalor is a genial gentleman and kind friend, and we predict for him a successful future.
ALBERT J. PERRY, clerk of Knox County, resident at Galesburg, is a native of Erie County, N.Y. where he was born Dec. 10, 1841. His father, whose name was James Perry, was a native of Massachusetts, and his mother, whose maiden name was Sophronia Pengra, of York State.
The father of our subject, as appears from the memoranda before us, was one of the most active men in the county in which he resided. He was a small farmer, perhaps such only as a diversion; was a pension solicitor for the soldiers of 1812, and a very successful one. He was a man who was entrusted with a multiplicity of business of various kinds. He was possessed of a superior education, correct and methodical in methods of business, and therefore his services were eagerly sought for by his neighbors. He also held the position of School Commissioner, was Colonel of militia, and in fact, was for years more or less identified with everything of a public nature in the community in which he resided. He died at Alden, N.Y. in 1860, at the age of 64 years. His widow survived him a few years, and died at the home of one of her son at Toledo, Ohio.
The subject of this sketch was prepared for college at the academy of his native town, Alden, and was admitted to the Sophomore Class of Rochester University, but for some cause failed to complete the course. He learned telegraphy at Alden, and worked at that business at various points upon the line of the Erie Railroad, for several years. In 1865 he came to Galesburg, having been offered the position as bookkeeper in the building department of the C., B. & Q.R.R., where he remained until Jan. 1, 1873. After leaving the railroad company he taught school a few months, and in July of 1873 went into the office of the Circuit Court Clerk as copyist. While here, he read law under the instruction of Williams, McKenzie & Calkins, and was admitted to the bar at Ottawa in 1876. In 1874 he was appointed Deputy Circuit Clerk, and held that position until he was elected and installed into the office he now holds, in December 1882.
Our subject was married in Steuben County, N.Y. Dec. 9, 1866 to Miss Albina S. Hughes, daughter of the late Dr. Hiram Hughes, of that county.
Politically, Mr. Perry has always been a Republican. In 1882 he was regularly nominated by the party for the position of County Clerk, and was elected by a handsome majority. In 1886 he received further favor at the hands of that political organization, by being nominated for the second term, thus attesting, in the most marked degree, the satisfaction which his service has been to the public.
W.W. WASHBURN, the subject of this sketch is President of the Galesburg National Bank, with which he has been connected since its organization in 1881. He was born in Akron, Ohio, Sept. 18, 1836, and his education, though liberal, was limited to the common schools of Ohio. He learned the jeweler’s trade at Akron, and in September 1859 came to Galesburg and went into business. He landed here with about ten dollars, the sum total of his worldly wealth, rented a show window in a crockery store, now No. 8 Main Street, hung out a sign and went to work. In 1875 he sold out this establishment, already grown to highly respectable proportions, to Trask & Gentry.
The parents of Mr. Washburn were Leander and Eliza (Upson) Washburn; the former was a native of Kingston, Mass., as also his grandfather, Abiel Washburn. The Washburns originally came from England. Mrs. Washburn, the mother of our subject, was a native of the State of Ohio. Her parents were originally from Massachusetts. The parents of Mr. Washburn were married at Tallmadge, Ohio, Oct. 13, 1835. They went to Akron, Ohio, where they remained until 1869, when they came west to Galesburg. The father died in November 1881. The mother is now living with her son, W. W. To the above union four children were born, viz: W. W., our subject, was the eldest; Abiel A. married Miss Helen Robertson, and they are the parents of two children—Frank and Katie, who were born in Oakland, Cal.; Stephen U. is married and has one child, and they reside in Eau Claire, Wis.; Eliza O. married S.L. Everett, and two children have blest this union, viz: Wallace and Margie; they are also residents of Oakland, Cal.
In 1877 Mr. Washburn was elected Cashier of the Second National Bank of Galesburg, and held that position until January 1884. About that time the Galesburg National Bank was organized, with Mr. Washburn as President. Although a new bank, under the administration of Mr. Washburn it has flourished and today stands as the leading bank of the city. Mr. W is also Treasurer of the Mechanics’ Homestead and Loan Association, and Trustee of Lombard University. As early as 1868 he erected what was known as Washburn’s Block, then one of the finest buildings in the city. Thus it will appear, as Mr. W has never inherited a dollar, that the ten dollars capital and cheap show window, united to his native force and ability, formed the foundation of a fortune.
Mr. Washburn was married at Salem, Ind., Feb. 9, 1876, to Miss Margaret Lockwood; she died June 12, 1882. She left one child, a son, by name Fred. Lockwood Washburn, who was born May 9, 1878. Mrs. W was a native of New Albany, Ind., and was the daughter of Benjamin Lockwood; she was a lady of many graces of mind and person, was intelligent and refined, and her womanly and winning gentleness endeared her to all with whom she came in contact. Her loss was deeply felt in the community.
Mr. W. is a stanch Republican.
BIEDERMANN, HENRY, proprietor of the Empire Meat Market at Galesburg, is a worthy representative of the meat interests of that place. He is a native of Bavaria, being born in Goershersdorf, in the town of Steinach, July 8, 1832. He is a son of John and Elizabeth (Munich) Biedermann.
The subject of our sketch acquired a thorough knowledge of his business in his native land, and concluded to try his fortune in the New World. He consequently set sail from Bremen, and landed in New York City Sept. 2, 1854. From this city he traveled westward and settled at Joliet, IL, where for nine years we find him successfully engaged at his trade.
At Joliet he was married to Caroline Ackerman, the daughter of Louis and Charlotte (Streiber) Ackerman. The parents were natives of Wittenburg, Germany, and came to this country in 1847. Mrs. Biedermann, of this sketch, was born at Wittenburg, Dec. 29, 1840. After a successful business career at Joliet, Mr. Biedermann spent two years in Chicago, and on Oct. 20, 1866 he came to Galesburg, where he has been favorably known, building up, in the meantime, an excellent business, and contributing in no small degree to the general development of the social and industrial life of the community.
To Mr. and Mrs. Biedermann have been born a family of one son and three daughters; all of whom are well educated and occupying good positions in the social life of their respective localities. Henry Biedermann, the only son, is associated with his father in the meat market, and is a young man of exceptionally good qualifications. The eldest daughter, Lizzie, is the wife of August Rosenau, also with the firm; Amelia Biedermann became the wife of John J. Shubert, Esq., druggist of Kankakee, IL; the youngest daughter, Julia, is residing at home, and is unmarried.
Mr. Biedermann is a worthy member of the I.O.O.F. Society and Encampment, and of the Masonic fraternity, in which latter, having received an honorable knighthood, he has been accepted in the Consistory of the Order. In political matters, while taking an active interest, he has refused office, though often requested to become a candidate. He is a thoroughly practical man, unostentatious but substantial, a strong friend of those whom he considers worthy, a genial gentleman, a kind husband and father.
CRANDALL, J. C., proprietor of the Crandall House and transfer lines at Galesburg, is a son of George and Margaret (Carpenter) Crandall, natives respectively of New York and Rhode Island, and of English descent. Our subject was born July 26, 1840 in Norway, Herkimer Co, N.Y. He attended the common schools while a boy, and learned the molder’s trade before he was 20 years of age. The family came to this State in 1844, settling first in Knox County, and moved thence to Warren, where the senior Mr. Crandall died in 1868. The subject of this sketch began business for himself as a farmer in Warren County, whence he removed to Knox County. In 1884, he engaged in his present business, and a year later sold the farm upon which he spent several years near Knoxville. While engaged at farming he carried on, at various times, the milk-dairy business, and ran omnibuses and peddling wagons. Our subject was married at Galesburg, March 9, 1865, to Mrs. Sarah Holmes, nee Keffer, a native of Fayette County, Pa., and widow of John K. Holmes, who died in the Union Army, leaving her with two sons—Albert, now a farmer, and Hampden, an engineer.
Mr. and Mrs. Crandall have had two children born to them, both daughters: Eliza S. P. and Mattie L.T., both of whom are graduates of Knox College. In his business Mr. Crandall is deservedly a recognized leader. Night or day, rain or shine, cold or hot, he is one man who may be depended upon. This reputation has made him popular, and in whatever business he has been engaged this is the kind of character he has made. Sober, honest, courteous and obliging, we take pleasure in writing J.C. Crandall’s name among the representative men of Knox County.
GROUND, JAMES E., a brief summary of the more important points in the life career of the subject of this historical narrative is made in this writing as evidence of his title to the high place which he occupies among the enterprising men and successful citizens of Knox County. His farm is situated on section 6, Indian Point Township, and has everything in the way of modern conveniences calculated to make it pleasant and desirable.
Mr. Ground was born in Knox County, Nov. 26, 1858, and is the son of Henry and Eliza (Boydston) Ground, both natives of Kentucky. He was born May 20, 1804 and died March 30, 1881. On Sept. 12, 1832 he married Nancy Smith, who was born Aug. 31, 1802, and died Sept. 27, 1834. To them one child, Mary E. was born Aug. 24, 1833. She married James W. Butler and now lives in Kansas. The marriage of Mr. Ground and Miss Eliza Boydston took place April 24, 1840. This lady was born July 3, 1817 and is still living. To them were born ten children, namely: Robert B., born April 17, 1841, wedded Dorthula Allen and lives in Nebraska; Rhoda M., born Sept 6, 1843, married M.W. Allen; Sarah M., born Aug. 24, 1845, died Nov. 22,1856; Malinda A., wife of J.N. Harshbarger, was born Sept. 3, 1847; William H., who married Catherine Lewis, was born Sept. 11, 1849, and now lives in Nebraska; Drusilla J. was born Feb. 17, 1852, married John Jones and lives in Knox County; John H. and Martha L. (twins) were born Aug. 2, 1854; the former married Hannah Nelson and resides in Nebraska; the latter married Mr. W.S. Allen and resides in Warren County; an infant child died in February 1857; James E. married Miss Minnie A. Cowper, March 5, 1884; one child blessed their union—Claud Chester, born Feb. 10, 1885.
Mrs. Ground’s father is a native of Scotland, born Jun 17, 1835; her mother was born in Kentucky, May 5, 1835; they were united in marriage, Jun 18, 1860 and are living in Nebraska. They were the parents of seven children, by name as follows: Minnie A., John W., William J., James M., Robert A, Charles C., and Anna E. Minnie A. is the only one married.
Mr. Ground is the possessor of a finely cultivated farm, which he works very successfully, and is also engaged in the breeding of stock; he watches with much interest the growth of his Scotch-Galloway cattle. He has 25 head of pure-blood and high-grade animals, and has in his possession Black Ned, No. 703; and Tam O’Shanter, No. 2446. Black Ned weighs 1,500 pounds, and is two years old. Mr. Ground bred Tam O’Shanter and bought Black Ned. He began with this herd two years ago and has had the best of success. His place is called the Galloway Stock Farm. He has the two noted cows Alice May, No. 660, and Lucy’s Maid, No. 662; they both have heifer calves, which are highly valued. Mr. Ground thoroughly understands the habits and needs of stock and the chief requisites for their successful breeding. The premiums at the New Orleans World’s Fair for the best bullock of any age or breed, both in the ring and on the block, were awarded to a Galloway steer owned by A.B. Matthews, of Missouri.
In addition to these, Mr. Ground raises Norman grade horses and breeds Poland-China hogs. He is an active public worker and in politics is a Democrat.
MACKINTOSH, GEORGE DONALD, prominent among the citizens of Ontario Township who have accumulated a competency, and who have beautiful homes upon large and productive farms and are there passing their lives in that real enjoyment which can never be obtained in a crowded city, is the gentleman whose name heads this biography, and a view of his pleasant country home is presented in this volume. He is the youngest son of his parents’ family of eight children, and was born in Banff, Banffshire, Scotland, Feb. 23, 1831.
The father of Mr. Mackintosh was a somewhat remarkable man as regards financial success. He began with nothing, except a large amount of perseverance and energy, and rose to be one of the wealthiest and most prominent citizens of his shire in Scotland. He was born near Banff, Banffshire, Scotland, and early in life learned the ship-carpenter’s trade in one of the ship-building yards of that city. Soon after, he was taken to Calcutta on board an Indiaman, and on his arrival in that city, through the influence of Dr. Wilson, of notoriety as a traveler and explorer, young Mackintosh secured an engagement as an employee of the great firm of Burns & Co., builders. He at first accepted a position which brought him but little remuneration for his services, but he worked early and late, ever having the interest of his employers in view, and was promoted step by step until he rose to the head of one of the departments of their business. The time came when both members of the firm were obliged to be absent from their business on account of their health, and young Mackintosh had the running of the entire business upon his hands, and conducted it with such a degree of success that it even surpassed that which was accomplished during the presence of the proprietors. Year after year passed by and success followed success until about the year 1822, when Mr. Mackintosh returned to Banff with a handsome fortune. Having been married in the meantime, he took one of the best mansions in that city, and there lived and entertained like a prince. For many years he continued to reside in Banff, surrounded by all the luxuries wealth could procure, and would gladly have remained there could he have obtained such property as he desired. Such not being the case, he visited South Scotland, and on hearing that the estate of “Lamancha”, in Pebbleshire, was for sale, he purchased the property, which had previously been the residence of Lord Cochrane. To the old mansion on this estate he moved his family and began the improvement of the estate, which had been neglected to such an extent that it presented a somewhat dilapidated appearance. In various ways he effected the most remarkable improvements that were ever made upon an estate in that portion of Scotland. He remodeled the mansion and improved the garden, adapting them to modern taste, and there lived in the enjoyment of his large accumulation and pleasant surroundings, until Feb. 23, 1869, the date of his death. He was an Elder in the Church of Scotland. His marriage took place in the East Indies, at which time a Scottish lady who had gone there when in childhood became his wife. Her death occurred subsequent to that of her husband.
Mr. Mackintosh of this notice was but a child when his parents removed to South Scotland, and yet he distinctly remembers the old mansion, together with the beautiful surroundings which his father owned and where he lived. Early in life he was sent to Edinburgh, where he received a good education. Afterward by permission of his parents he learned the cabinet-maker’s trade. He was then sent to Calcutta, East Indies, and was there during Lord Dalhousie’s administration. While there he became engaged in the superintendency of his father’s business, which was conducted under the firm name of Mackintosh, Burns & Co., architects, builders, and general agents for all kinds of house material. Our subject remained there engaged in business for five years, when he returned to Edinburgh, Scotland, and there remained until the spring of 1861, when he set sail for the United States. Disembarking at an eastern seaport, he came directly to Oneida, this county, and the same year even before he had taken out his naturalization papers or become a citizen of the country, he enlisted in her defense, joining Co. C, 42nd IL Vol. Inf. under Capt. Wadsworth. His regiment was assigned to the Army of the Cumberland, and participated in the battles of Fort Pillow, Island No. 10, Corinth and many others of minor import, and he came out of the conflict without ever having been prisoner or receiving a wound. He was honorably discharged Dec. 19, 1862, and at once returned home. He afterward engaged in farming and in 1866 he purchased 320 acres of good, tillable land, where he has since lived. He has a fine residence upon his place, together with handsome outbuildings, and his land is under an advanced state of cultivation. In fact, the scenery of his home farm is almost equal to that upon which the old mansion stood in the South of Scotland. In addition to his home farm he has 180 acres of land in Victoria Township, all of which is well improved, besides seven and a half acres of timber in the same township.
Mr. Mackintosh has a sufficiency of this world’s goods to enable him to retire from the active labors of life, and spends much of his time at prominent places of resort. Mr. M. owns a summer cottage on Lake Michigan, eight miles from Petoskey, Mich. In Sept. 1871 he was united in marriage at Altona, IL. with Miss Grace Kirk. She was born in Scotland in 1835 and emigrated to this country with relatives when 33 years of age. Mrs. Mackintosh’s parents were Robert and Jane (Linton) Kirk. She is the youngest of a family of two children. Alexander Kirk of Liverpool, England (her brother), is a member of the firm of Pattinson & Kirk, general importers of East India products. The firm is one of the largest in Liverpool. The father and mother of Mrs. M. are deceased, the death of the father taking place in Whiteside, Scotland in the year 1870, and that of the mother in 1883. Mr. and Mrs. Mackintosh are members of the Swedenborgian Church. Politically Mr. Mackintosh is a believer in and supporter of the Republican party.
MARS, HIRAM, head of the firm of Mars & Hamilton, the representative lumber dealers of Galesburg, the sole survivor of the various successors in turn to the business of Edwin Post, the pioneer lumber merchant of this place. He came here from Quincy, IL, in 1856, and erected a planing-mill, which he operated about two and a half years, afterward converting it into a paper-mill. The paper-mill died more than 25 years ago with the same disease that caused the untimely taking off of the Galesburg Water-works, in 1884-5, to wit: chronic drouth.
When the war broke out Mr. Mars was clerking in a lumber office, and in the early part of 1863 he was appointed Assistant Supervising Agent in the United States Treasury in Memphis, Tenn., a position he filled until 1864. In 1870, in company with N. Anthony, he succeeded Mr. Post in the lumber business, and to this he has given most of his attention.
Mr. Mars was born near Louisville, Ky., Jan. 7, 1830. His father, Andrew Mars, died at the age of 35, and his mother, who before marriage was Miss Elizabeth P. Whips, died in 1849 in Quincy, to which place the family came from Kentucky in 1843. Hiram was the eldest of three sons, and was brought up to the calling of a farmer, receiving his education at Jacksonville (Illinois) College. He began study with a view to the medical profession, but at the death of his mother abandoned the idea and took charge of the farm and the affairs of the family. Upon the completion of his task, which was in March 1856, he came to Galesburg. Here he distinguished himself as the friend of public enterprise and a lover of learning. For years he has been identified with the public library, as he has also with the public parks, and in horticulture and floriculture to the extent of beautifying the parks, adorning the homes of citizens, and thereby helping to beautify the city, and inducing emigration to the handsomest city in Illinois. He is an appreciative patron of literature and the drama, active in the I.O.O.F., and a wide-awake member of the Presbyterian Church.
Mr. Mars married in Quincy in 1852, Miss Louisa F. Barr, who died at Galesburg in 1864, leaving one child, now Mrs. F.H. Holmes. May 14, 1872, Mr. Mars married his second wife, Miss Lizzie H. Smith, at Wellsburg, W. Va., and the children born to them are Katie M., James A., and Mary Elizabeth.
Politically he was an old-line Whig until the abandonment of that political organization, then voted for Fremont in 1856, and from that time to the present has been a stanch and active Republican.
NELSON, NELS, Secretary of the Scandinavian Mutual Aid Association, whose headquarters are at Galesburg, was born in Sweden, July 13, 1840, and came to America in 1856, his parents, Nels and Hannah (Johnson) Bengtson, having preceded him to this country about two years.
To the Scandinavian the variation of surnames here noticeable presents no anomaly; but to the person unacquainted with the custom of these people in reference to nomenclature a brief explanation is probably due. In Sweden, the given name of the head of the family, often, though not always, supplies the initial syllable to what becomes, as understood by the Saxon, Celt and Teutonic races, a family or surname. Thus, in this instance Nels Nelson is observed to be descended from Nels Bengtson; in other words, he is Nels, son of Nels, while his father was Nels, son of Bengt. All the sons of Nels Bengtson would be surnamed Nelson, while the daughter of that gentleman would end their names as “Nels’ daughter”. Arriving in this country, the native custom is dropped; in fact, the Swede, more readily than any other foreigner coming to our shores, abandons old-country customs and accepts, heart and soul, the higher and better ideas of government and society here found.
Our subject was 16 years of age when he arrived in this country. His father died at Chicago immediately upon arriving in that city, and the mother made her way to Galesburg, where he found her, and where she yet lives. Nels’ first obligations, viz: the refunding to his benefactor of his passage money, was promptly discharged from his very first earnings. He then set about earning a livelihood and acquiring a knowledge of the English language. The latter was hastily obtained, and by attendance at the public schools he was not long in possessing himself of a good business education. He farmed a year or two; worked with the C., B.& Q.R.R. people awhile; alternating the winters and summers with study and labor.
At the outbreak of the war we find him at work cabinet-making, which he abandoned Sept. 1, 1861 to enter Co. C, 43rd IL. Vol. Inf., as a private soldier. Upon the organization of the regiment he was made Fifth Sergeant, and served till Nov. 30, 1865, leaving the army as First Lieutenant. He was twice sent home on recruiting service, and did detail duty awhile as superintendent of the military prison at Little Rock, Ark. The rest of the time he was with his regiment. He participated in the battles of Shiloh, Jackson, Tenn., Salem Cemetery and Bolivar, Tenn., Mechanicsburg, Miss., through Arkansas under Gen. Steele and in any number of skirmishes. Returning to Galesburg in December 1865, he clerked awhile in the grocery business, and in 1867 engaged in business for himself in the firm of Bengtson, Nelson & Co., the partnership lasting four years, when ill health made it necessary for him to sell out.
In April 1871, our subject was elected City Treasurer and Collector, and was re-elected four successive terms, resigning before the expiration of his last term on account of failing health. From 1876 to 1880 he held the office of Supervisor; was on the Board of Education four years; Trustee and Treasurer of the First Lutheran Church for thirteen years; Manager of the Commercial Union Co-operative Store one year. He was in the book and stationery business for three years. From 1879-82 he was in company with N.P. Swenson, in the grocery business. This they sold out to the Commercial Union. At the organization of the Scandinavian Mutual Aid Association he was made Secretary.
Mr. Nelson was married May 19, 1868 at Galesburg to Miss Sarah Nelson. They have buried one child, and have one—Arthur, now a promising student.
PIERCE, MATHEW, is a prominent and successful farmer, residing on section 9, in Walnut Grove Township. He owns 160 acres of highly improved land, which, from a farming point of view, has all the requirements necessary for successful agriculture. He came to this county from Lewis County, N.Y. where he was born on the 15th day of July 1833. Locating in this county Dec. 7, 1853, he has since made such progress as to win the esteem of those who are practical farmers. He made his first purchase of land in 1856 on section 31. This consisted of 72 acres. Here he resided until 1875, when he sold out and took up his residence on his present location. The death of his father, Robert Pierce, occurred when Mathew was in his tenth year, the date being 1843. His mother’s maiden name was Mary Crosby, her decease taking place a month earlier, in the same year. Our subject was the oldest son but two of a family of seven children—four sons and three daughters. Early in years he found the battle of life was not to be won except by strict perseverance, combined with industry and economy. He labored in his native county up to the age of 21, when he came to Knox, and was married in Copley Township, April 16, 1857 to Mary Hobbs. This lady was born in Knox County, Jan. 21, 1839. She was brought up in her parents’ home, the latter being of English descent, but arriving in the United States soon after their marriage in the old county. Mrs. Pierce died at her home in this township, Feb. 16, 1862. She was the mother of three children—Charles, Ella, and Mary. Charles married Amanda Bartlett, and resides in Altona; he is a switchman in the service of the C., B.& Q.R.R.; Ella is married to Morse Whiting, proprietor of a meat-market in Altona; Mary, who married Alexander W. Anderson, resides in Galva, her husband following the occupation of druggist. Mrs. Pierce was a lady widely known and highly esteemed by a large circle of friends in her vicinity. Mr. P. was again married in Oneida, Feb. 15, 1865 to Miss Amelia C. Mix, a native of Dutchess County, N.Y., born April 29, 1841. She was the daughter of Daniel and Charlotte (Park) Mix, natives respectively of Dutchess and Westchester Counties, New York. They were of English and French ancestry. In 1855 Daniel Mix and family came to Illinois and located in this county, the mother having previously died in Dutchess County, N.Y. The father subsequently married a sister of his first wife, named Sophia. The father only lived in the county up to the fall of 1864, when he emigrated to Woodson County, Kansas, where his is at present residing. He was born on the 7th of April, 1801.
By the union of Mr. and Mrs. Pierce there have been five children born, four of whom survive: Delbert died Sept. 24, 1883; Charlotte E., William E., Lorenzo D., each residing at home, and Park M. Mr. Pierce and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, of which Mr. Pierce is a Trustee. The grandfather of this gentleman was born in Ireland and followed the occupation of farming; later he came to the United States and died in Lewis County, N.Y. In politics Mr. Pierce has always been a stanch adherent of the Republican party.
WEST, JOHN G., who died June 9, 1886, was a prominent farmer on section 17, Galesburg Township. He was born on the 21st of January, 1812 in Cayuga County, N.Y., and lived at the home of his parents until he had attained his majority. While working on his father’s farm he at the same time attended the district school, and managed to secure a good common-school education.
He married Miss Amy Rooks on the 29th of December 1836 in Genesee County, N.Y., and arrived in Illinois Feb. 17, 1837. He had, however, come to Log City, in the State, June 3, 1836, a few months before his marriage, and returned in the autumn of the same year and was married as above stated. He subsequently purchased 80 acres of land on section 17, and had from time to time added to it until it had reached the aggregate of 400 acres of good land. He from time to time sold portions of his land and divided some of it up among his sons until at the time of his death he only practically farmed 73 acres. On this farm are a comfortable dwelling-house and out-buildings. For one year he was located at Log City, and resided in a log house until he built a frame dwelling on the present section.
His amiable wife, Mrs. West, was born in Cayuga County, N.Y., on the 4th of Sept.1818. She was the daughter of Ira and Philena (Sharp) Rooks, both natives of Connecticut. Her father was born in 1785 and died in 1828. Her mother’s birth took place in January 1785 and her demise in 1865, in Knox County. They had four children—Amy, Mary, Elizabeth, and Sarah. Amy and Sarah are the only surviving members of the family. They also had four sons, but all these died in infancy.
Mr. West’s father was John West, born on the 15th of Feb. 1770 in the State of Connecticut. His birth took place at Lenox, and his marriage to Miss Sallie Woodcock dated Nov. 7, 1793. This good lady was born Sept. 2, 1772, at Williamstown, Mass. Soon after their marriage they removed to Washington County, N.Y. where he made a purchase of some land that was heavily timbered. This he cut down, and the soil was soon prepared for cultivation. In this locality he remained until 1805, when he sold out and purchased land in Cayuga County, N.Y. This latter purchase consisted of 100 acres, which being covered with timber, he again undertook to clear, and soon made it fit for agricultural purposes. On this farm he remained until 1814, when he sold out and moved to Genesee County, N.Y. Here he comfortably lived until 1837, when he came to Illinois and spent the balance of his life with his son John, the subject of this biography. His decease took place on the 10th of February 1852 at a ripe old age. His wife’s decease had taken place five years earlier, on the 11th of November, also at the home of her son. They were both respected members of the Presbyterian Church at Galesburg, and were the parents of 11 children. All these latter survived, and each in due course was married. Their names are Hannah, born Dec. 31, 1794; Esther, Sept. 4, 1796; Eliza and Pamelia, twins, July 6, 1798; Nehemiah, Aug. 26, 1800; Laura, June 23, 1802, and who is now living in Iowa; Charles P., Aug. 9, 1805; Lois, Feb. 19, 1808; Minerva, Feb. 18, 1810; John G., Jan. 21, 1812; and Sallie, Nov. 17, 1814.
Mr. West of this notice was the youngest but one of his parents’ family. He left six sons, who have all grown to manhood, but unfortunately buried three little daughters when quite young. The sons are Charles, born Jan. 10, 1838; Lyman, on the 20th of the same month, 1840; Homer, Dec. 27, 1842; Ira, April 24, 1845; Nehemiah, Sept. 21, 1847; and Willard, May 10, 1855.
Mr. West may be looked upon as one of the foremost pioneers of Knox County. He worked industriously among the early settlers and won for himself an enduring reputation. He was Supervisor for one year and was Assessor, in his township, for over 20 years. Besides, he filled the office of Trustee of the Old First Church of Christ, of Galesburg. This body was organized in 1836. Mr. W. acted in the capacity just stated for more than 40 years. All his family are members of that church.
He was an Anti-Mason. Politically he was a consistent and very active Republican, whose views of his party were only formed by time, close observation and the desire to be on the side of the right.
On the occasion of Mr. West’s death, a Galesburg paper said of him:
“He had a part in every good word and work connected with Galesburg. Log City records show not only the formation of the Old First Church as laid there, but an anti-slavery and a temperance society, to both of which he belonged; later, when Galesburg became a station on the Underground Railroad, he was occasionally a conductor thereon. When Log City moved out to the prairie and became Galesburg, John West, who was a farmer, bought his land two and a half miles west of town, where he lived ever after, moving from one side of the road to the other, as his increasing family made a larger house necessary, but returned to the original spot when the marriage of his sons and their going to homes of their own made the larger house seem lonesome. Widely scattered as his children are, his friends and influence extended much farther. A gentleman remarked today, ‘I believe there is not a county in Nebraska in which there is not someone who knew him and will feel that in John West’s death he has lost a friend.’ This widespread influence was not gained by public service, but by 50 years of faithfully doing the duty that stood next him. To do the right, as God gave him to see the right, was the rule of his life, and he lived so near his Savior that he never lacked guidance.”
Above is links to other pages in the book, Thanks.
Always a Work in progress.....
Thanks for stopping by and come again.
Saturday, December 10th, 9:03:46 PM created
Saturday, January 20, 2007 09:48:47 AM uploaded & updated.
More to come.....
Have a Great day.... & Happy Gene Hunting
link bar below to help you navigate my website better. Thanks