These are out of the 1886 Portrait & Biographical Album of Knox Co., IL. They were typed by Kathy Mills & emailed to me. Thanks bunches & bunches Kathy...... My hat is off to you... woman...
if you need the source page and page numbers for your family files.
I thank you bunches & bunches.
To search this page to see if you have any of your relatives on it use your browser. Go to Edit at the top, scroll down to Find, click here, type in surname, click down.... Walla Walla there are many biographies here I haven't put in the 1886 Index as of yet. They are in the Free Find Search engine on the Index page or use your browser. Just haven't taken the time and also need to do a few other things but wanted these online now before the holidays. Merry Christmas everyone....
BENJAMIN F. ARNOLD, lawyer, real estate dealer and farmer, Galesburg, is a son of Horace and Harriet (Hine) Arnold, native of York State and of English descent, who reared eight sons and seven daughters. He was born in Delaware County, N.Y., July 26, 1833. His father was an old soldier in the War of 1812, and died in 1845, and his mother has made her home with him since 1865. She is now (January 1886) nearly 86 years of age.
Our subject received his education at the district schools and at the Fergusonville Academy, N.Y., and taught several terms of school. He came to Galesburg in 1855, subsequently studied law; was admitted to the bar in 1862, and has practiced more or less since. He is a Director in the Galesburg National Bank, and is an extensive farmer and largely interested in the Galesburg Water-Works Company.
Mr. Arnold was married at Galesburg, May 1864, to Miss Ella G. Ferris, the accomplished daughter of Henry Ferris, one of the pioneers of Knox County (see biography of Henry Ferris), and has had borne to him nine children. Mr. Arnold is an extensive breeder of fine stock, and a heavy real estate owner in Galesburg, and owns the Knox County Nursery. He has laid out fully half a dozen new streets in the city, and has served 14 years as Councilman and two years as Mayor.
R. M. CAMPBELL, among those solid and substantial men who figured in the founding of Wataga village and purchased land upon which they marked the boundaries and located their homes was R. M. Campbell, of Sparta Township, who came to Illinois in 1856 and purchased a house and lot at that village. Although not one of the earliest settlers, he was one of those men who figured actively in making improvements and watching the growth of the place, purchasing 60 acres of land in the corporation, for which he paid $60 per acre, exchanging his house and lot in partial payment. On this land bought by him there was a coal-mine, which had previously been worked, but without success.
R. M. Campbell, believing in the old adage “Nothing ventured, nothing had,” against the advice of many doubters re-opened the coal-mine, and to his delight and the surprise of the people in that vicinity, it proved the best yielding and most fruitful mine in that section of the country. It was a real bonanza to its purchaser, and to his introductory purchase he has since added 62 ½ acres on section 15 and 40 acres on section 22. He has 25 town lots, three stores, two tenant-houses, besides owning three stores in Galesburg on Prairie street, one tenant-house in the east part of town, besides a half interest in a house and lot near the Commercial Hotel.
Mr. Campbell was born in Ireland in 1836 and his parents were James and Elizabeth Gillmore Campbell. They were descendants of the Scotch and boasted a long line of lineage of which they were justly proud. At the age of 16, our subject, with all the aspirations and dreams of youth, emigrated to America to seek his fortune. On reaching Baltimore, Md., he tarried for a brief space of time in that city, and in 1857, came to the State of Illinois and settled in Wataga, as previously stated. For two years he labored by the day, but, “There is a tide in the affairs of men, that, taken at its flood, leads on to fortune”, and our subject, being possessed of keen foresight and much financial ability, made the purchase previously mentioned and a life competency, all at one stroke.
He was married in June 1863 to Miss Caroline Dolan, who proved an active helpmate and a congenial life companion, and to them were given two children, both of them now living, by name George and Lizzie.
Mr. Campbell, as before shown, is distinguished as one of the largest owners of real estate and as one of the most able business men in this part of the country. He takes considerable interest in politics, and supports the doctrines of the Republican party. He belongs to the Knights of Pythias in Galesburg.
HIRAM ENKE, is a farmer, residing on section 23, Chestnut Township, and is one of the reliable and practical men of Knox County. He is the son of John and Nancy (Pryor) Enke, natives of Pennsylvania. His father, who was of German descent, was born in 1800 and died in 1854, the same year he came to Illinois from Ohio. Hiram’s mother was born in 1810 and died in 1856, two years after coming to this State, of heart disease. She was of English extraction and birth and was the mother of 15 children.
The children of this family bear the names respectively of Edward, Lewis, Francis; John, deceased; Jessie; Josiah and Alford, who died in infancy; Josiah and Alford, namesakes of the little ones lost by death; Elizabeth, Sarah K., Hiram, our subject, Lydia, Mary, and one twin sister, who died in infancy unnamed.
Hiram Enke was the 10th child in order of birth in his father’s family, and united in marriage early in life with Miss Margaret E. Reece, Jan. 23, 1868. She was born in Ohio, Feb. 15, 1840, and died Aug. 27, 1885, of consumption of the lungs. She left to the bereaved husband two children, named Leva, born Jan. 23, 1872, and Lula, Sept. 28, 1876. Our subject is a man of considerable influence and marked ability in his special line of labor. To the work of farming he adds the breeding of cattle, and has proven his ability to succeed.
Mr. Enke enlisted in the hour of his country’s need in the 7th IL. Cav. Co. D., Capt. Reynolds, of Galesburg, having command. This was in August 1862, and Capt. Bradshaw was recruiting officer. He entered his regiment at Camp Yates, Springfield, IL, thence proceeding to St. Louis, Mo., where they remained for two weeks. They were then ordered to Columbus, Ky, and from there to Corinth, where occurred that pitiful struggle on the 4th and 5th of October 1862. The regiment came out of the fight without the loss of a single man, and Mr. Enke remained in the city of Corinth for the next three months, at the close of which time he was ordered to Bolivar, Tenn. At that place they went into camp, but were marched to La Grange for winter quarters, where they did picket and scouting duty during the winter. This was during the winter of 1862, and the next summer was spent in guarding the railroad from Memphis to Corinth, and in the former city, in the fall of 1863, they went into winter quarters for that year, remaining most of the season doing guard duty and in the spring went to Middle Tennessee, noting the movements of Hood, at Florence, Ala. That was in the fall of 1863, and in the battle of Franklin, Tenn, Mr. Enke’s regiment was situated on the left flank. Succeeding the battle they removed to Nashville, where they remained a short time, until the battle at that city. His brigade took two stockades and lost several men in the engagement. They next followed Hood to the Tennessee River, and at Tuscumbia all his regiment was dismounted and compelled to wade the swollen stream, which gave him a severe illness, from which he has never fully recovered. Mr. Enke was mustered out of service on the 1st day of July 1864, at Nashville, Tenn., with honor attending him as a courageous man and a soldier.
In politics he upholds the Republican party with word and deed. In theological belief he owns no “creed save that of common good,” but is of true and pure moral character, and in earnest sympathy with the doctrines of faith as shown by the Christian Church. United to his political belief he holds the principles of the Prohibitionist.
LORENZO D. FERRIS, here is one of the most successful farmers on section 31, Walnut Grove Township. His residence is one and one-half miles east of Oneida. He possesses 160 acres, which he located and purchased in 1866. He subsequently, however, lived in Chestnut Township, where he had settled as early as 1838, having come from Cuyahoga County, Ohio, where he spent his youth. His native county was Lorain, where he was born Feb. 17, 1824. His father, Henry R. Ferris, was a Wesleyan Methodist minister, a native of Greene County, N.Y. His mother was born in Vermont, her maiden name being Lodema Culver, his parents marrying in Portage County, Ohio, where they followed the occupation of farming for some years. They afterward removed to Lorain County, in the same State, where the subject of this sketch was born. Six children were born to them. Their removal to this county took place in the spring of 1838, and, as was customary in those days, they “pitched their tent” on the banks of Spoon River, in the township of Chestnut, and in this location resided some time. Then the surrounding country was one unbroken prairie and vast forest spreading out on every side. It was not long, however, before a comfortable residence was erected, and the family began to make a permanent home. The father and two of the daughters had died within six years from the date of settlement, while the mother and surviving children still live on the first plantation. This lady, however, finally removed to Smith County, Kan., and died at the home of her only surviving daughter, Mrs. Lovinia F. Markham, on Jan. 6, 1882, at the advanced age of 83. She was a strong woman, retaining her faculties until the last, excepting her eyesight. She had been blind for six years before her death. For 70 years of her life she was a devoted Christian.
Soon after the death of his father, the gentleman whose name begins this history set out on his own account, taking after his mother in constitution, and, possessing a will for any fate, he faced the world alone.
It ought to be here mentioned that his father took an active part in the War of 1812, while his father, or our subject’s grandfather, had taken his share in the Revolutionary War.
In his young manhood Mr. L. D. rented a farm from his uncle. In his 24th year he was married in Chestnut Township, March 2, 1848, to Miss Cynthia R. Carpenter, a native of Tompkins County, York State. This lady was the daughter of Stephen and Jerusha (Rose) Carpenter, both of Long Island and New York State.
They were married in Tompkins County, and followed the occupation of farming. By the union there were ten children, Mrs. Ferris being the youngest.
In the year 1839 she came westward with her parents and settled in Chestnut Township, remaining there until their deaths.
After the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Ferris, they lived for several years in Chestnut Township. Six children were the result of this very happy union, three of whom are married. Henry S. became the husband of Rebecca V. Stuckey and they reside near Murray, Iowa, where they have a very delightful farm. Lizzie M. resides at home and is a very successful teacher. Katie L. is also with her parents. Eva L. and Emma L. (twins) are both happily married; the former to J. E. Day, now a resident at Roodhouse, Greene County, IL. The latter is the wife of Will E. Webb and lives at Clarinda, Iowa. Jennie M. resides at home. Mrs. Ferris and part of her family are members of the Congregational Church of Oneida, where they are held in high esteem.
Politically Mr. Ferris is a solid and very reliable Republican.
Since the preceding part of this history was written, the death-angel has entered this home and taken from the family circle the loved wife and mother. This occurred on the morning of the 2nd of April 1886. Her age was 57 years and 1 month. She had been an invalid for over 20 years.
ANDREW HARPMAN, tracing the history of Knox County, and looking out the origin of many points in its growth, we find as its support and help the names of many good and worthy men, who aided in its founding and helped along its progress. Among these stands prominently the name of our subject. He is a farmer, residing on section 26 of Copley Township, and one of the important factors in its prosperity.
Mr. Harpman was born on the 22nd of February, 1840 in Sweden, and is the son of John and Eliza Harpman, who claim Sweden as their birthplace, and who came to America in 1850. They settled in Victoria Township, this county, where he lived six months. He then went to Minnesota and settled at Marine Mills, Washington County. The mother died in Victoria Township in 1851, and the father in the State to which he emigrated in the same year. To them was born a family of seven children, four of whom still survive as follows: Martha, now Mrs. Rosengrand; John, Andrew, and William.
The subject of this narration was at home until 1852, and, under the laws of his country, being compelled to go to school, went three miles to do so daily. He had very limited education, and felt sorely the narrowness of the same. He went to Minnesota in 1851, and came back to Illinois in 1858; he afterward went to Iowa, and again returned in 1860 to Illinois, and in 1861 enlisted in Co 1, 6th Iowa Vol. Inf., and there continued for four years and three months. Necessarily he figured in many large battles, among them Pittsburg Landing, Vicksburg, Jackson, and Missionary Ridge, Lookout Mountain and others, being in the Atlanta campaign. He was wounded at Pittsburg Landing and also sun-struck at Jackson, Miss. After the close of his term of service he came back to Altona and engaged in farming, renting one year. Then, in 1868, he purchased 120 acres on section 1, Victoria Township, and lived on the same four years. He then sold and purchased 127 ½ acres on section 26 of Copley Township, where he at present resides.
Mr. Harpman was united in the holy bonds of matrimony in 1868, with Miss Annie C. Rosenlief. She is a daughter of Herman and Christa M. (Broman) Rosenlief. Her parents came to the United States in 1850 from Sweden, and made settlement in La Fayette, Stark County, IL. There they lived for five years, when her father purchased 160 acres of land on section 26, Copley Township, and was there engaged in his chosen vocation until 1862. He then enlisted to fight in defense of the cause of the Union, and was killed at the battle of Chickamauga.
Mr. and Mrs. Harpman have a family of seven children, all living—Ruth L., Adelaide C., John W., Rebecca R., Thomas H., Victor A, and an infant unnamed. They lost one child, six years of age at her death, by name of Carrie A.
Mr. Harpman is one of the most active helpers in the county, and more especially within his own township. He has held the office of Township Collector, Pathmaster and also of School Director, and is considerably interested in educational affairs. With his wife he belongs to the Swedish Methodist Episcopal Church, and both are in possession of large and kindly sympathies, and the will and ability to forward any good enterprise.
DAVID HARSHMAN, among the men who lead in farming interests, and are prominent for enterprise and success, may be found the gentleman whose name heads this historical sketch, and some of the principal points in whose career are herein noted. He is engaged in agricultural pursuits in Knox County, to which he came in 1856, engaging in the work that he has since followed uninterruptedly. On entering Knox County, Mr. Harshman settled first in Henderson Township, where he passed an interval of 18 months before moving into Rio Township, where he spent the remainder of his life up the present time. He is now the owner of 68 acres of land, most of which is capable of a high state of cultivation.
Our subject was born in Fayette County, Pa., Nov. 9, 1825. There he lived until he took his departure into Knox County, with which he was favorably impressed, and where he made a settlement for good. Having previously learned the cooper’s trade, he worked at it in connection with his farm work. He has, also, for the past 30 years, run a thrashing machine for the convenience of the people at large, from which he has realized considerable profit.
He was united in the bonds of matrimony in Rio Township, on the 29th of December 1881, when he took as his wife Mary A. Medhurst, the widow of Godfrey Fortwangler. These two, after a happy married life of some years’ standing, have had added to their family circle two children, viz: Elizabeth and Annie B. Mrs. Harshman lost her first husband in Jacksonville, IL., who left her in charge of their family of eight children, by name as follows: Susan, Mary E., Susan C., Charles G., Dollie J., Hulda M., Jessie and Ralph. Of these the two eldest have been taken by death—Susan and Mary E. Susan C. was married to Mr. Jacob Fishell, Oct. 15, 1879, and since has become the mother of three children—Maggie, Norman, and May. Dollie Jane was married to Mr. Henry Julian, and has two children—one boy and one girl, Perley A. and Willy H. Susan C. lives in Page County, Iowa, and Dollie J. lives in Cameron, Warren Co., IL.
Mr. Harshman has been Commissioner of Highways and Road Commissioner, and he has also taken quite an interest in educational affairs, having been School Director for some length of time. He is one of the Masonic fraternity, and is governed in politics by the Democratic sentiment and belief. He and his wife were formerly members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
Mr. Harshman’s present marriage is his second matrimonial alliance, the first having been contracted in Fayette County, Pa., on the 27th of August 1846, with Sallie White, widow of M. Eiker, who died in that county. The fruit of this union was one child, Mary, who is the wife of Thomas Crovens, and who resides in Henry County, IL. She is the mother of six children, as follows: David H., Sarah, Alice, Margaret, Minnie, and Annie M. The mother of Mrs. Crovens departed this life Dec. 24, 1880.
CHARLES A. HINCKLEY, is a farmer on section 1, Galesburg Township, and was born Jan. 23, 1825, in Delaware County, N.Y., and came to Illinois in 1845. His father, Alfred, was a native of New York and born Dec. 6, 1799 in Albany County. In 1846, July of that year, he came to Illinois and located in Knox County. He married, in Delaware County, N.Y., Miss Eliza Stanley, on the 23rd day of March 1824. She was a native of Cork, Ireland, where she was born in 1797, but came to the United States when she was only two years old. The name of her paternal parent was John Stanley. In principle he was a Liberator in the old country, and on account of his views found it almost impossible to remain at home. He therefore resolved on coming to America, where he knew every liberal principle received the assent of its people. He was married to Miss Rollins. His passage across the Atlantic (in those days a tedious one) was accompanied by many hardships. For several days they were in constant fear of the vessel being lost.
Mrs. Stanley, the grandmother of our subject, was so affrighted that she locked two of her daughters in a wooden chest, while yet alive, so that if the vessel happened to go down their bodies would, in some measure, be protected from the sharks. Their lives were, however, all saved. Mrs. Hinckley, the mother of our subject, died March 3, 1874, in Galesburg. Had she lived to the 23rd day of March, i.e., 20 days longer, she would have celebrated her golden wedding. This had already been arranged by her children, but they were doomed to disappointment. This good lady was a member of the Baptist Church, to which she had belonged for 21 years. Her husband still survives her.
Mr. Charles Hinckley, the eldest son of Mr. Hinckley, was married March 17, 1861, to Miss Clarissa N. Root. The ceremony was performed by Rev. Kingsbury, of the Baptist Church. She was born in 1831, on the 22nd of November, in Oneida County, N.Y. Her parents were Riley and Lavinia (Butler) Root, both natives of New York. Her father was born Aug. 29, 1795, and died Feb. 24, 1870. Her mother’s birth took place April 9, 1803 and her demise on June 25, 1834. By the marriage there were five children, two of whom were twins. These latter died in their infancy, also the youngest; of those surviving, Dency E. was born Dec. 9, 1823; Clarissa N., Nov. 22, 1831. The brothers and sisters of Charles A. Hinckley are Mary E., George W., William S., Francis E., and Harriet A.
The paternal parent of Mrs. Hinckley came to Illinois in 1836, and located in Knox County. His children accompanied the colony that settled in Galesburg in that year. He soon followed in their footsteps, but arrived at the township before them. Their journey was commenced at Oneida County, N.Y., and they proceeded in a canal boat down the Ohio River, up the Mississippi, and from there up the Illinois until they reached the mouth of Copperas Creek, in Fulton County; from here they made their way by land to Log City. Riley Root helped to build the first house in Galesburg. He was an excellent mechanic, and an inventor, whose name still exists in the old patent-right records at Washington. Among his inventions was that of a machine to clear railroad tracks of snow, also a process for clarifying sorghum-cane juice, which was considered the greatest invention of the day. His invention for leveling railroad tracks was also patented. Among other things he made a fine-toned violin, which he afterward sold in Galesburg to a prominent musician.
In connection with this notice it must not be omitted to state that in early times the father of Mrs. Hinckley, in his first efforts to gain success, cut out millstones in his own house and erected a horse mill for grind corn. This mill was used by the settlers of Knox County, and was the earliest among those known before water or steam mills. The early settlers were taught by experience to seek his aid in scores of useful projects.
Mr. Charles Hinckley owns 200 acres of good land, on which there is a good dwelling-house 31 X 50 feet and two stories high. His barn measures 35 X 43 feet, with 19 feet posts. He is interested in the raising of high-grade stock. He is also breeding roadsters, the stock being of the Blue Bull and Long John.
The children of Mr. and Mrs. Hinckley are Pluma E., Ada P., Arthur E., and Alice G. Mr. Hinckley’s family are prominent members of the Baptist Church.
T. R. INNESS, manufacturer of and dealer in mineral waters, ginger ale and soda water, and bottler of lager beer, is carrying on business at No. 532 South Cherry Street, Galesburg, IL. He began this industry in 1879, at the corner of West and Second streets, where his establishment was destroyed by fire in 1881. His annual product at this writing (1886) is about 3,600 cases of beer, about 3,000 cases of soda water, and ginger ale in still greater quantities.
Mr. Inness is a native of England, being born at Newcastle, Jan. 16, 1849, and was brought by his parents, George and Ruth (Elliott) Inness, to America in 1850. The family lived at Abingdon up to 1866, and there the subject of this sketch attended the common schools and assisted his father at his business. He went into farming for himself when 21 years of age and followed it for about nine years.
In March 1871, Mr. Inness was married in Galesburg Township to Miss Emma Belden, who lived thereafter only about three years and left one child, a daughter, Isabelle. The present Mrs. Inness, to whom Mr. Inness was married in Galesburg Township on Jan. 31, 1877, was Mrs. Jennie (Van Riper) Elliott.
JOHN T. KENNEDY, a farmer, residing on section 24, Galesburg Township, was born in Knox Township, July 27, 1847, being the son of Andrew T. and Mary (Sheldon) Kennedy. They were natives of New York and Pennsylvania, and came to Knox County in 1833. The father was born in 1808 and died Oct. 1, 1882. The mother was born in 1808 and died May 20, 1883. They had eight children, namely: Theodore D., Andrew J., Lucinda, Lasetta, William, John T., Samuel, dying in infancy, and Mary, also deceased, dying when an infant.
It would be interesting, if space permitted, to review what must have been a most primitive condition of affairs when the parents of our subject first came to the then wild west “to grow up with the country”. At that time the country was almost entirely unsettled, without public highways except the old Indian trails, with no great trunk-line railroads as now, without schools and colleges such as now make Knox County one of the very first in educational facilities in the State. Under much such circumstances as the former, the subject of our sketch was born and reared, growing up a rugged backwoods boy, and assisting his parents in the development of their homestead. He was married Sept. 4, 1872, to Miss Harriet E. Painter, a native of Ohio, born Dec. 23, 1856, and they are the parents of seven children, as follows: Minnie J., born July 1, 1873; Sarah L., born Jan.2, 1875; John E., Feb. 27, 1876; Charlie E., born Jan. 30, 1878; George J., Oct. 31, 1879; Harley L., born Aug. 4, 1881, and Ella I, Sept. 22, 1883.
The parents of Mrs. Kennedy, named William and Mary A. (McCoy) Painter, were natives of Virginia and moved to Ohio, where the mother died in September 1866. They have eight children living, named as follows: Sarah A., Thomas F., David A., Harriet E., Armelia, Arnimisha, Charles B., and Jessie R.
Mr. Kennedy, through those habits of industry and good management so characteristic of the people of this county, acquired an excellent farm of 90 acres, on which are a good home and commodious barn. Accustomed to self-reliance from early boyhood, he possesses those sterling qualities which lead to success in whatever department their possessor may have chosen. In politics he is a Democrat, and like the children of most pioneers, has not only the elements of public spirit and enterprise, but also those generous and neighborly qualities which secure the good will of all. Yet in the prime of life, with an interesting and growing family about him, he has the promise of many years before him in which to work out a still more successful and useful life.
THOMAS H. POOL, standing among the more prominent men and industrious workers of this vicinity we find the subject of this personal narration, who may be cited as one of the most substantial and worthy farmers of Knox County. He resides on section 4, on which location he has established a pleasant, attractive home, and is himself one who inspires the confidence of those about him to such an extent that he has been the incumbent of many of the local offices. He has held the position of Constable for 16 years, ably filling that office and discharging the duties incident to it, to the satisfaction of all in any way interested.
Mr. Pool was first brought to Knox County in the spring of 1839, from Clark County, Ind., and lived in several parts of that section of country until the spring of 1844, when he removed to Rio Township, in 1852. Here he has since resided and is now the owner of 40 acres of good land, which he has cultivated and improved, working it up to a high degree of culture.
Our subject was born in Clark County, Ind., Aug. 29, 1830, and attended the public schools, receiving a good practical education. He never failed to improve his opportunities, and, unlike many boys, who idle away the precious hours of youth, he attended diligently to his studies, and in manhood he reaped the fruit of the seed so well sown. When he was four years of age, he came with his parents, who emigrated to Illinois, and there grew up. His marriage, which occurred in his early manhood, was celebrated in Henderson Township, Dec. 4, 1850, and Nancy McMurtry was the other contracting party. She is the daughter of William McMurtry, Lieutenant-Governor of Illinois (see sketch) and was born May 8, 1830, in Knox County.
Mr. and Mrs. Pool are the parents of eight children, viz: Lucinda M., Ruth A., Mary I., William A., Cora Z., James F., and Jemima E. Luella died after reaching the interesting age of three years. She was the pride of her parents’ heart and the pet of the neighborhood, and her loss was deeply felt by the entire community. Lucinda is engaged in teaching in Henderson Township, and is an amiable and intelligent young lady. The other children are still under the parental roof.
Mr. Pool is an earnest worker in all good and noble enterprises, and is a member of the Masonic Lodge, and although not united by membership to any church, is a man of charitable impulses and warm sympathies. He belongs to the Democratic party, with which he votes, and is alert and wide-awake to the situation of affairs in the nation.
HOUSTON P. TAIT, farmer, was born in Knox County, June 29, 1841, and is the son of William and Mary A. (McDowell) Tait. They are natives of Scotland, and came to America in 1839, settling on section 16, of Copley Township, where he purchased a farm. There they lived until his death, which took place in 1842, and to them were born four children, all sons—John, William F., Peter G., and Houston P. All served as soldiers in the Civil War. John and Peter G. were killed in the army. John was mortally wounded at the battle of New Hope Church, May 27, 1864, and died from his injuries the 19th of June of the same year. Peter G. was killed the second day of the battle of Nashville, on the 16th day of December 1864. They were brought home and buried side by side in the cemetery on section 14 of Copley Township, and every year their graves are strewn with the flowers of loving remembrance. “Rest in peace, O gallant dead.”
Mr. Tait, of this writing, grew up on a farm, working and attending the district school and also a select school at Victoria, until he was 21 years of age. He then, Aug. 6, 1862, enlisted and served until July 16, 1865. He fought at the battle of Stone River, was in the general field hospital at Murfreesboro for four months. He was then exchanged to Louisville and was retained in the Veteran Reserve Corps, receiving an honorable discharge at the close of the war. After it closed he returned to Illinois, and in 1867 purchased a farm on section 10, of Copley Township. It included 80 acres, and here he lived until 1882, when he sold out and purchased his present home, consisting of 100 acres.
He was married in 1867 to Miss Mary E. Levalley, a native of Knox County, who was born Dec. 20, 1846. Her parents were Christopher H. and Harriet (Gaines) Levalley, natives of New York. Annie J. is the only child of Mr. and Mrs. Tait. He is a Republican in politics and holds many offices in the neighborhood. With his wife, he belongs to the Presbyterian Church.
WILLIAM TALBOT, a retired farmer, residing on section 1, Sparta Township, was born in England, Feb. 2, 1824. His parents were Robert and Elizabeth (Cox) Talbot, natives of England, dying in 1829 and 1827. The subject of this sketch, after the death of his parents, went to live with a step-grandmother, residing with her until he was 20 years old, working on the farm, afterward working one year with a brother. He came to America in 1846, and to Knox County, where he settled in Sparta Township, working out by the month, until he purchased a farm in Ontario Township, on section 27, of 40 acres, afterward adding thereto 20 acres, and residing on the same until 1868. He then sold this land and purchased, in Sparta Township, the place where he now resides, of 80 acres; on this he has made all his improvements, and done a general farming business.
He was married Aug. 26, 1852, to Miss Susan Stephenson, a native of Scotland. To this union five children, living, have been born, as follows: Mary, Elizabeth, John W., Sarah J., and Emma. Mr. Talbot and wife are members of the Presbyterian Church, and he is one of the representative men of Sparta Township, being a Republican in politics and a gentleman highly esteemed by his friends and neighbors, having by industry and integrity secured a competency for himself and family, and done his full share in building up the community of which he is a member.
Although a foreigner by birth, he is devoted to the institutions of his adopted country, which he never fails to indicate upon all proper occasions.
BARNEY WAGONER, throughout his district Mr. Wagoner is regarded as a representative farmer of the old school. He resides on section 20, Galesburg Township, where his land is to be found in an advanced state of cultivation. He was born in Madison County, N.Y. in 1830, and came to Illinois in 1856, locating first at Peoria. For some time he worked on the Peoria & Oquawka Railroad as engineer, an occupation which he subsequently followed for 25 years on the C., B. & Q. R. R. While serving in this responsible capacity, he was considered a very careful hand, and never met with any serious accident while on the road. His parents were Henry and Mary (Lane) Wagoner, natives of Pennsylvania. The mother was born in 1800 and the father either in 1798 or 1799. He died about the year 1835, in the State of New York; his wife’s decease took place in Peruville, Tompkins Co, N.Y. By the marriage there were ten children—Nancy and Catherine, living; Myra, Elizabeth and Effaline, who died of cholera in 1832; Hiram, Barney, Jane, Caroline and Joseph, living.
Jan. 28, 1862, the gentleman whose name heads this biography married Miss Elizabeth Bruington, the daughter of Benjamin and Harriet (Scott) Bruington, both natives of Kentucky. Benjamin Bruington was born in 1811, while his wife’s birth took place in 1818. They first came to Illinois in 1833, and located on section 19, now Galesburg Township. He was the father of five children and still resides in this township. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Bruington are George, Thomas, Mary, deceased July 13, 1886; Elizabeth and Melissa. Mrs. Bruington’s decease took place in 1881, and she lies buried in Williams Cemetery. Melissa, her daughter, is also dead, her demise taking place in 1879.
By Mr. Wagoner’s marriage there were seven children, all of whom are living—Hattie, born Oct 27, 1862; George F., Jan 19, 1864; Marion, May 21, 1868; Henry H., Feb. 12, 1870; Barney Ellwood, Sept 10, 1874; Eugene C., Sept. 26, 1878; and Edwin Benjamin, Dec. 11, 1883.
Mr. Wagoner has 100 acres of prime land, which is in a thorough state of cultivation. His residence is one of the best buildings of his vicinity, being comfortably planned and well furnished. He is a prominent member of the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers, a body to which he has belonged since 1865. In politics he is a thorough Republican and constantly watchful of all movements connected with and dear to Republican principles.
Mr. and Mrs. Wagoner have two interesting grandchildren, the son and daughter of Willard and Hattie (Wagoner) Ellis—Charles A., born Jan 25, 1884, and Maude I., born March 1, 1886. This family is widely known and universally respected in their township and surrounding vicinity.
SHELDON W. ALLEN, it would be very difficult to find in Galesburg, or its vicinity, a gentleman with whom the community is better acquainted or in whose estimation its interests stand higher than Mr. S. W. Allen, of this sketch. He was born Sept. 29, 1808 in Augusta, Oneida Co., N.Y., and came from his native place directly to Knox County in 1837. The only mode of conveyance he employed was a one-horse wagon, in which he was accompanied by his wife and child. In starting west his objective point was Log City, and here he settled for some time. He was among the first and most prominent men of the colony which first founded that city.
After remaining three years in this location, Mr. Allen proceeded to Galesburg, which he decided to make his home. He was the first regular butcher in Knox County, and we ought to have stated, was the first to engage in that business at Log City. In Galesburg he continued in this calling for several years, but since 1865 has lived mostly in retirement. Though now quite advanced in years, he still may be numbered among the most active men of Galesburg, although his health is far from good. He is the owner of several fine tracts of land outside that city and scattered through Knox County. In the city he owns some valuable property.
Mr. Allen was married in Augusta Centre, Oneida Co., N.Y., Jan. 15, 1835, to Fidelia Leach, an estimable lady and a native of New York, who was born Nov. 28, 1813. By her union with Mr. Allen, eight children were born, --James S., Sheldon O., Albert H., Henry A., Norman T., Chester E., Mary F., and John S. James S. resides in Galesburg, and is occupied in farming; Sheldon O. (see sketch); Albert H. resides in Galesburg and is Chief Engineer of the Fire Department; Henry A. lives in Russell, Kan., and is farming; Norman T. is a very prominent preacher of the Methodist Episcopal persuasion and is at present stationed at Wataga; Chester E. is a member of the police force in Galesburg and has charge of the calaboose; Mary F. is the wife of John Wycoff and resides at Canton, IL.; John S. resides in Keithsburg, IL., where he is engaged in successfully practicing medicine; he also has a good drug business.
Mrs. Allen, the first wife of our subject, died on the 22nd of November, 1855. He was married the second time in Galesburg, in the month of January, 1858 to Nancy Shaver. She was the daughter of David and Nancy (Grove) Shaver, natives of Virginia. They emigrated from that State to Ohio about 1808. In the year 1834 they again turned westward and settled in La Salle County, this State, where they died; the father in 1846 and the mother in 1869. Mrs. Allen was the 11th child of a family of 12 children, none of whom reached the age of maturity. The following are their names: Cyrus, Harvey G., David K., Josiah, Rebecca who became the wife of John Snelling, Jackson R, Barbara who married Joseph Miller, Nancy A. the wife of our subject, and Catherine K. who married John K. Spencer. All are well-to-do farmers except J. R. who is in the tile business in Ottawa, IL. Mrs. A. came to Galesburg in 1856. By this second marriage seven children were born (only 4 were listed)—Frank, Lida K. Fred R, and Ida D. Frank resides in Streator, IL. where he follows the profession of architect; Lida K. is the wife of George Stuckey and resides in Chicago; Fred R. is engaged in cattle-dealing and mining speculations on the Pacific coast, and Miss Ida Allen is attending Knox Seminary.
Our subject is interested in the First Presbyterian Church, in Galesburg, of which he is a very prominent, active member. For many years he has been prominent in that body and is looked up to as one of its foremost sympathizers. He is a Republican in politics and by his intellectual foresight has often proved a directing help when the party’s interests most needed it. On questions of public policy and political morality his judgment seldom, if at all, errs. Through his efficient efforts, questions affecting the good of Galesburg have on more occasions than one received special attention.
SALA BLAKESLEE, deceased. The subject of this biographical notice, whose portrait, with that of his excellent wife, who survives him, we present on the preceding pages, was one of the most widely respected and best known citizens of Knox County. He was a resident of Salem Township, and up to the date of his demise was one of its most useful members of society. He was a pioneer in this section of the country, coming to Illinois in June, 1834, thus experiencing the hardships incident to that day and all of the triumphs of which those early settlers look back, at the present day, with deep satisfaction.
Mr. Blakeslee was born in Plymouth, Conn., Jan. 14, 1805. His father, also by name Sala Blakeslee, was a native of the same State, and his grandfather, Asher Blakeslee, was of Welsh ancestry and American birth, who likewise claimed Connecticut as his native State. Our subject was a model in his chosen field of labor, agriculture, and was systematic and accurate as a business man. He shirked no duty, was a kind friend and good neighbor, and left the world with the comfortable assurance that his life had been a fair success.
Sala Blakeslee, Sr. was by occupation a blacksmith, at which branch of business he continued until 1817. In September of that year he emigrated to the Far West. His family consisted of his wife and six children, three sons and three daughters. Two of these had preceded them several years. He loaded the household goods and traveled by wagon, drawn by oxen, while the family occupied a one-horse vehicle. In this primitive way they continued their journey, which occupied from September 2 to October 9. At this time they entered the State of Ohio, settling in Ashtabula County, where they purchased timber land. Their location is now included in the city limits of Ashtabula. Continuing at his trade, he instructed his sons in the clearing of the farm, and by unflagging industry a home was erected, in which he continued to reside until his death.
Our subject was the youngest son of the family and grew to manhood in Ohio. He assisted his father in agricultural pursuits, continuing with him until of age. Arriving at the sate of manhood, he rented a brother’s farm, and engaged in labor for himself.
His marriage took place Jan. 10, 1830, to Lydia B. Pearce, who was born in Grafton, N.H., July 23, 1803. She was the daughter of Earl and Betsey (Maranville) Pearce, both natives of New Hampshire. Mr. and Mrs. Blakeslee continued to live in Ohio for the space of four years, and June 2, 1834, started for Illinois, filled with the enterprise that commands new effort in a new country. Coming by stage as far as Wellsville, Ohio, they completed their journey by the Ohio and Mississippi Rivers, landing at Oquawka, IL, June 17 of the same year. The following day they employed a man to take them with an ox team as far as Monmouth. At that point, Mrs. B., with two small children, remained, while her husband went on foot across the trackless prairie in search of a brother-in-law living in Fulton County. Night came upon him before he completed his journey, but, passing the night in a cabin at the invitation of the owner, he the next morning resumed his march and succeeded in reaching his destination. His next move was to return for his family, when he located in Fulton County. There they spent the summer and in September of that year returned to Knox County, and moved into a building owned and occupied by James Milan, which stood on ground previously bought, on section 25, Maquon Township. The building was a double log structure and had been partly a smokehouse. Mr. Milan retained possession of the main building, and Mr. Blakeslee used the smokehouse department for a dwelling until spring, and with much ingenuity succeeded in making it comfortable, among other things putting in a three-light window, carving the sash with his pocket knife. During the year he purchased land from Mr. Milan, and also a claim on section 30, of township 9, now known as Salem. Later he entered the land at the Land Office, at Quincy, IL., and as early as 1837 erected a frame barn, which was the first frame building in the township. In the following year this barn was struck by lightning and burned, together with the entire crop of small grain, and a mow of “tip-top” hay, raised from seed brought with him when he came west—the first tame grass-seed in the county. In 1840 he built the structure which is now standing. The lumber used was sawed at Littler’s Creek, and the shingles made by hand.
At this place Mr. Blakeslee resided until 1842, having made his home in Maquon Township during the intervening year. He then erected a frame house on section 30 in Salem Township, which was his home up to the date of his death, Jan. 24, 1886. He left, to mourn his loss, a widow and five grown children, as follows: Eli A., Chauncey, Salmon, Sarah H., and Mary, who still resides at home.
Not only was Mr. Blakeslee a pioneer in the full sense of the word, but he set on foot and forwarded many movements for the good of the community at large. He took a deep and abiding interest in educational matters, and organized the first school in Maquon Township, the building being on the old Milan farm. He furnished the logs to build the first school house at Uniontown, doing fully one half the work with his own hands. His interest in this school never lessened and he was for 50 years connected with it in the capacity of Director, an office held longer by him than any man known in this part of the country. His life had proved the truth that “the actions of the just smell sweet and blossom in the dust.”
Mrs. Blakeslee came to Ohio at an early day, in 1811, when but a child. As already stated, she was the daughter of Earl Pearce and was born at Grafton, N. H., July 23, 1803. Her father came to Ohio with his wife and three children, all daughters, in company with his father-in-law, Charles Maranville, and settled at Conneaut. Charles Maranville, the grandfather of Lydia Pearce, was a descendant of John de Manville, or Maranville, the son of a French nobleman who came to America at an early day and settled in Massachusetts. He was a man well educated and left a large family. Miss Pearce lost her mother while still young, and from this time forward made her own living. She was enabled to secure only a limited education, but became a methodical and experienced housekeeper. She was living in the family of Capt. Wood when he came to Michigan, and she accompanied them and continued to reside with them for two years. Capt. Wood, having settled on the St. Clair River about 30 miles above Detroit, followed the occupation of a sailor, and in later years was interested in a prominent line of steamers. Mrs. Wood, thus left alone a good share of the time during the summer, with but few neighbors save French and Indians, at the end of two years returned on a visit to friends in the east, Miss Pearce accompanying her back to Conneaut, from which place she went to Ashtabula and made her home with a well-to-do farmer there. Miss Pearce had become a skillful housekeeper, and was very well versed in all the arts of cooking, spinning and weaving both wool and linen. This education had prepared her for an early pioneer and adapted her for the duties of her future home in Illinois, enabling her to keep her family supplied with homespun clothing for their everyday wear, both of wool and linen, woolen blankets for her beds and linen for table-spreads and towels. She was in all a careful, economical, industrious wife, a good mother and a kind neighbor.
Mrs. Blakeslee still occupies the homestead with three of her children. Sarah H. resides in Maquon Township and is the relict of the late Thomas Foster; Salmon is a practical and successful farmer, whose home is on section 32 in Salem Township. Those at home are Eli, Chauncey, and Mary.
Mr. Blakeslee was Democratic in politics, and liberal in religious matters. He was one of the Directors who hired a Miss Minerva Hart to teach school, and paid her one dollar per week; this was in the year 1837. The other two Directors were George Saunders and Ira Baker, of Fulton County. The pupils were eight in number, and Mr. B. boarded the teacher. Foxie's note: Blakeslee are buried on their home place in the Blakeslee Cemetery.
FRANK H. CASE: Nature makes no mistakes. She bestows upon man various gifts. She gives to one the penetrating, analytical mind that befits the thinker and scientist; to another she spurs his ambition to deeds of martial prowess. She wraps the mantle of prosy and dreamy philosophy about the form of another, and to a few she rises to her happiest mood and invests them with genial cordiality, winsome ways and large sympathies, and an open, frank countenance that bespeaks a welcome to all mankind. You seem to see written across the face in such plain, unmistakable letters “that though you run you may read,” “Nature’s best effort,” the true, genuine hotel-keeper. Such a man is the subject of the following sketch.
Frank H. Case was born in Rome, Oneida County, N.Y., Oct. 12, 1854. The family were thorough Yankees. His paternal grandfather, William Case, was a native of Vermont, whence he moved to Adams, in the northern part of New York in 1806, and there died in 1848. He took an active part in the War of 1812. His son, Henry C. Case, father of our subject, was born in Jefferson Co., N.Y., April 15, 1825. He was one of a family of four sons and six daughters, and soon after obtaining his majority he went to Watertown, N.Y., whence he removed to Rome, that State. There he engaged in the clothing business, from which he drifted into the boot and shoe trade. Removing from Rome to Utica, he opened the first boot and shoe manufactory in that city. His health failing him, he went to Henderson Harbor, in Northern New York, and there erected a summer resort, which he kept for a short time and which was destroyed by fire. His next move was to purchase the Cooper House, in Adams County, N.Y., which he operated for several years, subsequently returning to Utica. In 1881, Henry C. Case leased the Brown Hotel, in Galesburg, and continued as genial “mine host” for five years. In December 1885, he went to Rockford, and, becoming proprietor of the Holland House, he again entered upon the duties of a landlord and is there resident at this time, ready, with a smile upon his countenance and a hearty shake of the hand, to welcome the traveling public.
Frank H. Case is the eldest of two sons, the offspring of Henry C. and Sarah (Phillips) Case. He was educated in the schools of Utica, N.Y., and after his graduation he assisted his father in his manufactory. He soon became a commercial traveler and continued in that business until Dec. 1, 1885, when he assumed the management of the Brown Hotel at Galesburg. He was united in marriage with Miss Josephine Buell, Sept. 12, 1883, and they have one daughter—Josephine Ida. Politically he is a stanch Democrat. He is an honored member of the Masonic fraternity. Mr. Case has wisely chosen the vocation he follows, for he is admirably adapted to the hotel business. He is affable, accommodating and pleasant to all. At the same time he possesses executive ability to that degree that the various departments of his business move along quietly, without a hitch or the least friction. But few men know how to keep a hotel, and Mr. Case of this notice is one of them.
WILLIAM M. COMBS, standing on section 36 of Chestnut Township may be seen the home of the subject of whom this personal sketch is written. He is an honest and reliable citizen, whose landed possessions include 112 acres and who does a general farm business.
Our subject was born in Highland County, Ohio, April 19, 1824. His father was Robert W. Combs and his mother Martha (Parker) Combs, the former being born in Virginia in the year 1796, and the latter in Pennsylvania in 1797. She passed from earth May 4, 1863, in Fulton County. Her husband still survives, and they were the parents of ten children, namely: Cynthia A., Mary A., James P., William W., Zur M., Cary A., Andrew J., John M., and Martha J.
Mr. Combs came to Illinois in 1835 and located in Fulton County, this State, where he remained for 18 years. He then moved to California, then to Oregon, and finally to Washington Territory; and after an absence of 16 years returned to Knox County and settled down for the remainder of his life.
In 1874, March 18, he united in marriage with Miss Sarah C. Timmons, a native of Knox County, born April 8, 1849, and who is the daughter of Stephen and Lucinda Timmons, natives of Ohio. Mrs. Combs’ father was born Feb. 14, 1814, and is still living, and her mother, born Jan. 8, 1817, died in December 1862, in Fulton County. She was the mother of ten children, to wit: Andrew J., Peter S., Annie, Thomas, Mary E. and Martha J. (twins), Sarah C., Margaret E., Joseph N. and George W.
In politics Mr. Combs is a Republican.
Mr. Combs tells with considerable interest and merriment the story of his western trip. It seems he started overland for the Pacific Slope in 1852, driving an ox team. The journey consumed five months and nine days, but they had no trouble with the red men of the forest. He worked in the mines three years and was engaged in packing over the mountains, and eventually he acquired a fair competency, and, what was still better, good health. Mr. Combs is of Irish and German extraction and his wife is of Scotch and German ancestry.
TIMOTHY G. HADLEY, an extensive farmer, residing in the city of Galesburg, was born at Brownfield, Me., Jan. 31, 1811. His parents are Dr. Samuel and Margaret (Gibson) Hadley, descendants of old colonial families. He married at Brownfield, and there reared five sons and four daughters. Dr. Hadley came from Maine into Knox County, in the year 1852, and settled in Sparta Township, where he died in the fall of 1864, at the age of 80 years. His widow lived until 1878, her life having begun with the present century. Her father, Timothy Gibson, was one of the men who, disguised as Indians, threw the tea overboard at Boston harbor on the night of Dec. 16, 1773, or, in other words, one of the “Boston tea party”.
Timothy Hadley was reared on his father’s farm and educated in the common schools of Maine. In 1835 he removed to Detroit, Mich. Where he kept hotel a few years, coming thence into Illinois in 1840; he thus won the name of pioneer. He spent four years in Shelby County, IL., conducting a large milling and distilling business. From that county he went to Chicago, where he remained eight years, engaged in running a livery stable and in speculations. He came to Galesburg in 1852, and since coming to Knox County has been a farmer, devoting considerable attention to the breeding of horses, of which he makes a specialty. His large farm lies contiguous to the city, and is one of the most valuable in the county.
Mr. Hadley has won his way in the world, working against many drawbacks. He began without a dollar, accumulated considerable property, all of which was destroyed by fire, in Shelby County., bringing him down to the very beginning, but he assumed an undaunted front, and perseverance with a fixed purpose has again raised him to independence, and he has reason to believe in the saying, “The gods help those who help themselves.”
He has been married twice, first in Chicago in 1844 to Miss Mary Ann Read, a native of Pennsylvania, who died in Sparta Township, in this county, leaving one child, a daughter—Frances M., who became the wife of Joseph Harrington. His second alliance was celebrated at Galesburg in 1865, with Mrs. Emily A. Young, nee Gordon. She was the daughter of John A. and Mary A. (Gordon) Gordon, both natives of New York. Both moved to Canada and were married; there Mrs. Hadley was born Jan. 9, 1838. Mr. H. is the eldest of a family of four children, two daughters and two sons, all of whom are now living; Cinderella Gordon became the wife of Robert Chappell and lives in Galesburg. The only child of Mr. and Mrs. Hadley, Bertha W. Hadley, is a student at the Conservatory of Music at Oberlin, Ohio. Mr. Hadley votes the Republican ticket.
E. R. HARDY, of Abingdon, was born in the county of Brant, Canada, about 80 miles northwest of Buffalo, N.Y. The county of his birth probably has more fine stock than any other in Canada, and it was there that our subject had his first experience in handling and raising cattle, which was on his father’s farm. When a young man he left home and took up his residence in Michigan, where he lived for about 15 years, and then removed to St. Augustine, Knox County, IL, and engaged in the mercantile business. Five years later he sold out and removed to Abingdon. While on one of his visits to Canada he first saw some Galloway cattle that were recently imported. He was struck with their appearance and the manner in which they withstood the cold climate of Canada, as compared with the best horned cattle, and the impression made on his mind has never been eradicated. He was not satisfied until he had provided himself with some of the breed, and has found that they even exceed his expectation in “rustling” qualities, and that they are the cattle which will, in time, be in more demand than any other. They mature early and make excellent beef from the time they are six months old to the age of three years. The hide of the three-year-old steer will weigh from 30 to 40 lbs, more than our common cattle, thus giving him an additional overcoat, as it were, which on a cold night will be highly appreciated. Their beef is beautifully marbled. The Short-horn cattle have proved the best to cross with, as they appear to be most susceptible to an infusion of new blood and produce robust, well-coated, beefy cattle, with 90 per cent of them polled and black, maturing early, and can be made ripe for the block at an early age.
After corresponding and reading the history of the cattle, our subject decided to be the champion of that breed, and, in connection with Mr. Parker, was the first to bring them to Indian Point Township, and among the first to introduce them into the State of Illinois.
Mr. R. A. Parker, who consented to join our subject in raising this breed of cattle, was from Kentucky, and a region of the state noted for its blue grass and cattle. He was a gentleman who had a life experience in cattle, and was an adept at handling and breeding, and a judicious and careful feeder. They commenced in a small way and in a little over four years their herd numbers about 75 head and is composed mostly of cows and heifers. They look for a rapid increase in their sales, which prevent them from becoming overstocked.
The following is the pedigree of some of the stock owned by Parker & Hardy, as shown by the American and Scotch Herd-books: Imp. Prince Jumbo, 1141, at the head of the herd. Sire, Scottish Border, No. 667. Dam, Kate, No. 538. Sire, Black Prince of Drumlanrig, No 546. Dam, Llythia, of Drumlanrig, No. 1307. Sire, Knowsley, No. 1279. Dam, Beauty, of Fallow Wheat, No. 2767. Prince Jumbo’s pedigree, extended, shows 31 prize winning animals, and the prizes repeated on the same animals amount to upward of 150, many of them being Royal, Scottish Border (669) was used successfully in the herds of the Earl of Galloway, Mr. Routhledge Elrig and Mr. Cuninigam Tarbercoch, and very few Galloways have enjoyed a higher reputation. As a sire, his produce combines substance and quality in an uncommon degree. His sire was the matchless bull, Black Prince of Drumlanrig, 546. Scottish Border’s dam was Llythia of Drumlanrig, 1307, once first, once second and twice third at shows at the Highland Society. Her dam, Miss Magill, 1302, received the first prize at the International show at London, in 1862, and she traces back to the oldest strains in the Duke of Buccleuch’s magnificent herd. Black Prince of Drumlanrig, 546, was the most distinguished Galloway bull for 20 years. He was easily first at all the national and other leading shows, and was never vanquished in a long show career. His produce have been so distinguished that at one of the largest expositions of Galloways ever seen, at Dunfrees Union in 1883, about 70 per cent of the prize-winners were his descendants and 900 guineas was refused for him when he was upward of 11 years old. The Duke of Buccleuch’s name will thus live as long as the Galloway cattle endure, and when the fertile fields of Illinois become blackened with these hornless beauties, the name of the Duke of Buccleuch, the pioneer breeder of improved Galloways, will become a household word in the home of stockmen all over our land. Prince Jumbo cannot fail to be the prince of breeders, as there is nothing back of him but prize-winners, and he either breeds after himself or some of his ancestry, and in either case the results will be gratifying.
The question as to how to breed polled cattle is often propounded, and while interviewing Messrs. Parker & Hardy, we obtained the following information on that point; select a thoroughbred bull, with high pointed poll, well sunken where the horns should be. Never select a high-horned cow, as it is found that more of their progeny have horns or scurs as a rule than any others. A low, short, crooked or crumpled horn will breed the most polled calves, and nearly as many as a low-polled cow. Jerseys are noted next to the Short-horns as breeding more polled calves than any other breed of horned cattle, if crossed with the above described bull. A Galloway will breed more blacks than any other breed in crossing, as their get is almost universally black and polled, with only an occasional exception.
Of the origin of the Galloways, in a recent article a Scotch writer traces their genealogy to long before the Christian era, introducing them into Britain with the Gauls, into the district in the southwest of Scotland. We read of polled cattle appearing in South America among horned ones, probably a throwing back to a remote polled cross. In a survey of the reign of Alexander III, 1249, a compiled history of Scotland refers to the black cattle. We have frequent mention of their early establishment and recognition. The agricultural reports of Scotland, 1794-95, say: The Galloway breed of black polled cattle is universally known and admired. Thus the Galloways are the old ranch cattle of Britain, and while the ancient trails are fenced and tilled, and the drives long a thing of the past, the cattle still retain those hardy and impressive traits which especially fit them for the hardy outdoor life to which cattle are subjected in all parts of America.
Their long ancestry of the same fixed type is what gives them their great prepotency, a wonder to many modern breeders, since crossing a thoroughbred Galloway bull with any breed of horned cattle gives a very large percentage—fully 98 per cent—of black polled calves. They are the largest and most typical breed of Scotch polled cattle, and, with the exception of the West Highlander, the only existing breed of superior beef-producing quality that still retains its aboriginal coat of long, rich, warm hair. In their character as a superior beef-producing cattle, they have been so long and favorably known to the English epicure that for many years the “Scots” have commanded two cents per pound more in English markets than other breeds. As “Scots” have often, also, been included the West Highland cattle, as likewise the Angus.
A typical Galloway, with his bright, expressive countenance, his trim, symmetrical body, his glossy, black coat, long, brushy tail and perfect feet, is an attractive and interesting animal. He has rather a large head without the slightest trace of horns or scurs; high frontal bone, with rounded crown; large, clear, prominent eyes; ears moderate in length and broad, pointing upward and forward, and full of long, silky hair; neck rather short, clean, and fitting well into the shoulders, the top in line with the back in the female, and in the male naturally rising with age. A long, round body, well-ribbed home, shoulders wide above; breast full and deep, plenty of room for lungs; large through the heart, denoting a good circulation of blood, hence one of the reasons for their ability to stand the severe weather of our extreme winters; heavy hind quarters, small hock bones. The whole body round like a barrel, set on short, muscular legs with clean, fine bone; the hind legs straighter than those of other breeds, and squarely fleshed right down to the hock. He is clad in a coat of short, black fur, though which in autumn a coat of hair four or five inches longer protrudes. In the spring the long hair is shed, leaving only the mossy undercoat until the following autumn, when they again begin growing their overcoats. This long, wavy hair—shaggy almost—and thick mossy undercoat is an important point, in cold weather retaining warmth, and on wet days throwing off the rain. Another important point is their light weight of bone as compared with other breeds. They are lively, active and spirited, having the instinct of self-preservation well developed. They will be found even in extreme weather hunting the old grass of the pastures, and eating quite undisturbed by the cold and storm when other cattle will not venture from shelter.
Ere many years the farmers of the Eastern and Middle States must turn their attention to something that will yield a better profit than raising grade cattle for market. A demand for thoroughbred animals has already been created, and they are being freely used to improve the stock of the western ranch. The polled Galloway is peculiarly fitted for this branch of cattle industry, and wherever introduced has proved and will continue to prove the favorite of the western stockman. Ex. Gov. Routt, says in Field and Farm, that in the grand round-up, in 1886, of cattle of the State, not a dead carcass of a Galloway or Angus was found. They are the hardy brutes of this western country; he believes a Galloway would outlive a buffalo in a long continued storm.
The question is often asked the owners of black cattle why it is, if they are so good, that we have never heard of them before. If they were so valuable, why were they not brought over before, etc. The large, bony Scotch overran Northern Ireland and drove out or conquered the Irish, and married their women and settled up that part of Ireland. In their removal to that country they took their cattle with them. They were at the time hornless, and may of them reds and brindles; even at that early day many were black. The great fire of London took place in 1616; the farmers largely lived in London and tilled their land in the country; these benevolent Scotch-Irish sent over their black Galloways in large numbers, and presented them to the impoverished farmers. The House of Lords soon after passed a bill prohibiting the importation of any more black and hornless cattle into England, and compelled the farmer to put sheep upon his farm instead of the comely blacks. Thus they were at an early period of their history barred from competing with the cattle of England. Had they been allowed a foothold on the shores of England, it is not improbable that they would today be more numerous than any breed of cattle on earth.
Messrs. Parker & Hardy have invested a large sum of money in their magnificent herd. Their breeding cows are of the best families, and of unquestioned purity of blood. They are of a fixed type of the improved Galloways. A bull is half of the herd, because he is the sire of all the young members of the herd, and in Prince Jumbo they have everything to be desired, as prominent breeders have remarked that they firmly believed that Prince Jumbo was the best animal of the breed between the two oceans, as well as the best breeder. We would advise parties wishing to start a herd to first see what there is in their own county, as the best families are brought almost to their doors. In starting a herd it is highly important that you should start with the right sorts. If the first is bred right, they will remain the same; and if bred from poor ancestors, the results will be anything but encouraging. Laying the foundation of a herd can be likened to the laying of a foundation of a house. They should both be right to endure. We present in this Album a view of their place, showing some of their magnificent cattle, among them Prince Jumbo (1141).
ISAAC JONES, foreman of the coppersmith shop of the C., B. & Q.R.R. Co. at Galesburg, was born in Chester, Cheshire Co, England, Aug. 27, 1844. He is the son of Robert and Elizabeth (Davis) Jones, who removed to Wolverhampton, where the subject of our sketch was reared and educated.
At the age of 14 years, Isaac Jones became apprenticed to learn the coppersmith’s trade, and completed the same in his 20th year. He then followed this vocation in Wolverhampton for four years, and in 1868 he set sail for the United States, coming directly west, where he spent a short time in the city of Chicago, subsequently coming to Galesburg, where he accepted the position which he has since so creditably filled.
The gentleman of whom we write was married at Galesburg to Mrs. Hannah Elliott (nee Barry), who has borne him three children—two sons, Isaac and Robert, and a daughter, Maggie, who died in infancy.
Mr. Jones is a skilled workman, and, although coming a stranger to our shores, has through his professional ability and persistent industry secured for himself a worthy place among his fellow-craftsmen, and a high position with the corporation which he represents.
LOUIS PALMQUIST, among the more prominent business men and leading citizens of Knoxville is found the gentleman whose biography is herein briefly recorded. He is engaged in the furniture and undertaking business, and has secured a good patronage and the esteem and confidence of the community of which he is a member.
Mr. Palmquist was born in Sweden, Oct. 2, 1834, and grew to manhood in his native country. He was trained in the public schools, where he received his early education, and which he attended till he attained the age of 14 years. At this time reverses of fortune compelled the young boy to depend upon his own exertions for maintenance. Believing that if he could not do as he would, he must do as he could, he engaged with a gardener, intending to learn this calling, and so faithfully did he devote his attention to the business in hand, and so minutely did he follow the directions of his employer, that he soon became very proficient in the art. He followed this occupation till 1856, when he emigrated to America, sailing from Guttenberg, Sweden, in the month of May. The voyage proved an unfortunate one for the young emigrant, who was shipwrecked off the coast of Newfoundland, and 55 of the ship’s 61 passengers were lost at sea. The cause of this disaster was the heavy overhanging fogs, which prevented a clear survey of the ocean, and at midnight the ship encountered rocks and was dashed to pieces upon them. As she went down, the pumps and the hard-working crew having been employed in vain, young Palmquist and two others as a last resort climbed into the rigging and so were saved, as a fragment of the vessel drifted about. In the morning these survivors were discovered and taken on a fishing smack, which landed them in New York City in the month of July.
From this section of the country Mr. Palmquist set his face toward the setting sun, and in the hearty and honest belief that “the gods help those who help themselves,” engaged with O. B. Judson, an enterprising furniture manufacturer of Galesburg. With him he served an apprenticeship for three years, after which he worked in the same shop until the year 1861, when he came to Knoxville, and with his brother, Peter, as associate partner, engaged in the manufacture of furniture and coffins. They opened a salesroom in connection with this, and received a fair amount of patronage from the people of the surrounding country, continuing their partnership until a few months before his brother’s death, in 1876, since which time he has conducted the business alone.
The connubial relations of Mr. Palmquist and his wife, Carrie (Nelson) Palmquist, also a native of Sweden, in which country she was born Sept. 12, 1838, and whom he married Sept. 15, 1860, have been of the most agreeable and congenial character. Their happiness has been made more perfect by the advent of six children, whose names are as follows: Charlie, Will, Ada, Amanda, Hulda, and Anna. The family is well known and highly respected; the father and mother worship in the Lutheran Church. Mr. Palmquist is actively interested in public affairs, and in politics is a Republican.
THOMAS ANDERSON, one of the important and influential men of Knox County, and characterized as a worthy citizen and a prompt, wide-awake business man, is Thomas Anderson, the principal points in whose personal history are cited in the ensuing paragraphs. He is a resident on Section 6 in Rio Township, and has a most desirable and attractive home thereon.
Mr. Anderson came to this county in March 1881, from Warren County, IL. His farm consists of 95 acres. He was born in Sweden, March 10, 1848, in which country he lived until 20 years of age. At this time he went to De Kalb County, IL. Here for several years he labored as a farm hand during the summer months, improving his time during the winter by attending the public school. During 1871-2, a year was spent in attendance at the High School in Sycamore, which was followed by a term in the Gem City Business College, Quincy, IL. In 1873 he removed to Alexis, Warren County, where he engaged in teaching, which profession he followed until his removal to Knox County.
Mr. Anderson was united in marriage, in Alexis, IL., Oct. 13, 1880, with Mary J. Talbot, who was born in Warren County, June 17, 1856, and their union has been blessed by the birth of two children, viz: Eulalia and Irving.
Mr. Anderson is intelligent and well-informed, and has own considerable social distinction. His friends and neighbors have rendered a tribute to his fitness for public office by electing him to the office of Justice of the Peace. He was elected in the spring of 1885 and is still an incumbent of that office. Mr. and Mrs. Anderson are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and uphold and forward any good and worthy enterprise. They are people of warm sympathies and charitable impulses, and both liked and respected by all with whom they come in contact. In politics Mr. A. supports the Republican party, but is also a Prohibitionist.
CHARITY TEAGUE CAMP, relict of Rev. Thomas Camp, resided at Abingdon for more than a fourth of a century. She was born in South Carolina, May 7, 1818, and died at Shenandoah, Iowa, Sept. 26, 1885. She was the fourth daughter of Dr. John and Rebecca B. Neal, scions of an old South Carolina family. Dr. Neal was a man of great skill as a physician, but of such restless energy that no single vocation satisfied him. To his professional labors, he, from time to time, added those of merchant, planter, drover, mill-owner, etc., but not with uniform success. He made and lost fortunes with marvelous rapidity and equanimity. The excitement of frontier enterprises and dangers had a peculiar fascination for him, and, in 1834, led him to locate among the Creek Indians, in Alabama, where he died a few years later. He was a man of spotless character and of broad usefulness in his time.
The subject of this sketch had few advantages derived from schools of any grade, being reared in the same vicinity and amid surroundings similar to those of her husband. But, in addition to the intellectual character and pursuits of her father, she had large compensation in her mother, who had been bred with great care and tenderness, and who devoted herself with rare assiduity and success to the culture of the minds and manners of her daughters. Mrs. Camp sympathized heartily with the tastes and pursuits of her husband, and, by her cheerful, hopeful views of life, shed continuous sunshine upon their often rugged and shadowy pathway. She was womanly in the last degree by nature, and instinctively leaned upon her husband in all purely business affairs—a habit strengthened by her Southern education. When, therefore, she was left a widow, with a limited income and eight children, all minors, she felt, as she expressed it, “Like a child confronted by a stone wall, through which it must pass”. She, however, bravely consecrated the energies of her life to carrying forward the work begun by her husband, in the education of their children, and never turned aside from it while opportunity lasted. How she struggled and sacrificed, in that work, many know in part, and her children will cherish in holy remembrance.
In the summer of 1861, her married daughter emigrated across the plains to California, and her eldest son entered the service of his Government in a foreign land. In the autumn of the same year, her other sons, aged 20 and 17 respectively, enlisted in the Union Army, for a term of three years’ service.
About the same time, death claimed little Lizzie, the idol of the household, leaving only the widow and three young daughters in the broken home. What she endured in her loneliness, from domestic cares, anxiety for absent ones—more especially from the awful suspense that hung about the results to her of oft-recurring battles in the field, during the terrible years of the Civil War—no mortal ever knew, for she bore her greatest burdens in secret.
She was devoutly pious from early youth, and her faith gave tone and strength to her character. Trusting implicitly in the promises of the God of the Bible, she rested in the arms of Omnipotence with a quiet courage which no calamity could wholly break. Her religion was, to her, a fountain of hope and cheerfulness, even in the darkest days of her long widowhood, and kept her heart young to the end of life. She was ever the ideal of children, the welcome companion of youth, the cherished friend and counselor of young manhood and womanhood. She was a wife and mother in all those sacred terms imply, and lived a widow nearly 30 years, not in name only, but in heart. In every relation in life she filled the full measure of a true woman—loved while living, and mourned when dead, by a wide circle of friends. She lived to see her seven remaining children heads of families, and to rejoice in the love and veneration of her grandchildren. Her four daughters are women of high character and liberal culture, ranking with the useful members of the community in which they live. Mrs. Rebecca A. Nye lives at San Jose, Cal.; Sarah E., wife of Dr. S.M. Spaulding, lives at Minneapolis, Minn.; Maggie M., wife of Dr. H.P. Duffield, lives at Shenandoah, Iowa; Ivy C., wife of M.J. Duffield, lives at Omaha, Neb.
John N., the eldest son, who was educated at Abingdon College, was appointed at the beginning of President Lincoln’s administration Consul in Kingston, Jamaica. After the expiration of his term he was engaged for awhile in business in Central America. From that country he went to Galveston, Texas, where he has since made his home, and entered the customs service. During this period he was married to a lady of Kingston, Jamaica, and subsequently he was appointed by President Grant Collector of Internal Revenue for the Fist District of Texas. He became active and prominent in the latter part of the reconstruction of Texas, being a member of most of the conventions of his party (Republican), and a wise counselor in all its deliberations, as the writer of this sketch personally knows. In Galveston, especially, has he been the leader of his party, and directed here all its movements. He is a man of fine personal appearance, of large intellect, extensive culture, of exalted character and unquestionable integrity.
Sterling T. and Henry Clay served over three years in the Union Army, participating in many battles, among them Fort Donelson, Shiloh, Corinth, Pleasant Hill, and the two day’s fight near Nashville. They were in the 58th IL. Vol. Inf., Col. Lynch. S. T. resides at Abingdon, IL.; H. C. in St. Paul, Minn.
ASAPH NEWTON (A.N.) CARPENTER, the American Landscape Architect, at Galesburg, was born in Rehoboth, Bristol Co, Mass., June 2, 1828. His parents were Asaph and Caroline Carpenter, natives of Massachusetts, and of English descent, and reared two sons and two daughters, Asaph Newton being the eldest. The senior Mr. Carpenter was a farmer, and had lived his four-score years, when his demise took place at Norton, Mass. His widow still survives him, and is 76 years of age, and now resides at Taunton, Mass.
The subject of this sketch was educated in the common schools, and from his 18th to 21st year served an apprenticeship at carpentering. This trade he followed for about 18 years. In 1854 he moved from Massachusetts to Janesville, Wis., and during the same year to Galesburg. While working at his trade he studied architecture, and planned many of the prominent buildings which he erected, and also furnished plans for contractors in the Eastern and Western states. In landscape architecture, Mr. C. is the pioneer in the United States. He was only 15 years of age when he conceived the idea of reducing landscape ornamentation to a practical science, and it required many years of patient study, application and experience to bring the work to what is now termed a profession, of which he is the master. Mr. Carpenter was also the first man to give this profession its name, “landscape architecture,” and since 1870 he has devoted his entire time to this, his profession, and has furnished plans for some of the finest homes in this country, as well as for farms, parks, cemeteries and many other public and private grounds. Duplicates of these have been called for in Europe. No such showing as that of Mr. Carpenter can be found in any other office or studio. His office is nearly a museum of art, as he keeps a photograph of all his plans; none are duplicated or used again, as he makes every subject a separate study, and as they are each made to order, and for special purposes. No two plats of grass even are formed alike, nor in his estimation could one be properly exchanged for another without losing sight of the main ends sought in each. It is surprising to note the perfection and simplicity to which the mind of Mr. Carpenter, unaided by any precedent, has brought this art and reduced it to practical use. To accomplish this he has had to contend with the wealth and education of other established professions, and that he has brought his art to the favorable notice of the moneyed public the patronage which he receives fully attests. He is constantly employed and has inaugurated a branch of art which will perpetuate his name as long as the world loves the beautiful. To those who do not fully understand the term “landscape architecture,” we give Mr. Carpenter’s own definition, namely: making clear, distinct plans to a scale in advance of the work for a farm, park, cemetery, public or private grounds; establishing the grade for all buildings, and that of the ground in all its parts for all purposes; establishing the surface and under-draining, etc; sewer and water systems; locating and forming the avenues, walks, fences, lakes, fountains; the various kinds of trees, shrubs, flowers, etc., so that everything will not only be beautiful, but harmonious and of utility, for the party and purpose to which the place is to be devoted. This Mr. Carpenter maps out clearly and distinctly in advance of the work to be done, so that the proprietor and others can fully comprehend it and count the cost before actual work is commenced upon the place. By this method the plan is also made plain to those who are to perform the work, and this is a matter of economy of time, money, and labor to all concerned. Economy intelligently enters into the whole plan, which is the forte of Mr. Carpenter in all his transactions and is one secret of his remarkable success and popularity. He has published a little pamphlet which he will send to all applicants, and takes pleasure in exhibiting the numberless drafts and outlines, the result of his taste and ingenuity brought out by years of study and experiment.
Mr. Carpenter was married at Westerly, R.I., Nov. 20, 1853, to Miss Mary Elizabeth Winterbottom, a native of Connecticut, who has borne him two children—Mary Isabelle, now Mrs. D. W. Bunker; and Carrie E., who died in 1874 at the age of 16 years and 7 months.
In the battles of life, Mr. Carpenter has relied upon his individual resources, the recipient of no bounties or legacies. What he has accomplished is to be credited to his own efforts, prudence and industry.
ANDREW T. DUNLAP, is the son of Andrew J. and Mary S. (Patterson) Dunlap, and resides on his farm, located on section 26, of Henderson Township. His parents were natives of Kentucky and Pennsylvania, where they were widely known and highly respected. Our subject’s father came to Knox County in 1837, when he first settled in Cedar Township, but subsequently removed to Henderson. At this latter place his demise took place on the 14th of April 1877. His widow resides in Galesburg. They had a very interesting family of nine children, of whom the subject of this sketch was the fourth. He was born in Cedar Township, Oct. 23, 1850. He early showed a decided aptitude for study and received a good common school education. For years he has been engaged in stock-raising and agricultural pursuits, making the breeding of Short horns his specialty.
Andrew J. Dunlap, the father of our subject, was born in Fleming County, Ky., July 23 1816, and with his father, Henry T. Dunlap, removed to what is now Cedar Township, in Knox County, in 1837, where he grew to manhood and married. He and his wife had born to them nine children, seven of whom grew to man and womanhood. He was raised on the farm, and on attaining the years of majority purchased a farm in Cedar Township, where he was one of the first men to engage in the breeding of pure-blood Short-horns. He was one of the pioneer cattle-breeders of the county, and may justly be credited with having done more than almost any other man to improve the stock of this portion of Illinois. At the time of his death he was the owner of one of the finest herds in the State, and a few years after his death, at a sale of the herd, they brought the highest average price of any herd sold that year. He was for several years a member of the State Board of Agriculture, and was prominent in all things which had for their object the advancement of the material and moral growth of the community in which he resided.
It is said that when he was married he had only $80 in money, but with that broad idea of business which always characterized his operations, he set about industriously and with prudent frugality to achieve success, and at his death he left a comfortable competency to his family. He and his wife were both members of the Congregational Church, and had been for several years prior to his death. Andrew J. Dunlap left five sons and two daughters: Henry T. is married and engaged in business at Sterling, Kan.; John S. is married and doing business at Peoria; Samuel P. is in Hannibal, Mo. and is a clergyman of the Congregational Church; and Andrew T., the subject of this sketch; the daughters, Permelia A. and Ella J., are single, and reside with their mother in Galesburg; Robert M., single, now resides with Andrew T.
Andrew T., some time after the death of his father, bought the home place, and for three years afterward managed the herd left by his father, until it was disposed of at public sale. Since that time he has continued to breed Short-horns. At the present time one of his specialties is the breeding of fine carriage horses. He now owns the sweepstakes Cleveland bay “Nobleman”, which took the first prize at the Grand Royal Show of Stallions in England, where he took his class prize and the sweepstakes over all ages at the same show. As a two-year-old “Nobleman” won the first prize at the Royal Agricultural Society Show, at the York meeting, England, in 1883, also the champion prize of all ages at the same show; and in 1884-85 he took the sweepstakes prize for a general-purpose horse of any age, at the Illinois State Fair. This horse Mr. Dunlap purchased of Col. Robert Holloway of Alexis, IL., who imported him.
The subject of our sketch is a gentleman remarkable for his progressive tendencies and large and liberal views, both social and political. He is a Republican in politics, with which party he has always identified himself. There are very few gentlemen in Knox County who take so decided an interest in the movements of the day affecting the country socially, morally, and politically, and he has gathered around him an influential circle of substantial men like himself. Mr. Dunlap was married Feb. 21, 1886 to Miss Sadie Galloway, daughter of Edgar Galloway, of Ravenswood, IL.
Matilda F. Dunlap, a widow lady, residing on
section 19, Cedar Township, devotes her attention to
farming. She was born in Fleming County, Kentucky, 23 March
1817, and is the daughter of Fielding and Margaret Belt.
Her father was born in Virginia 12 January 1782, while
her mother was a native of Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, and born
27 January 1791. This latter lady was killed by lightning in
October 1825. Her father died in 1874, in the State of
Kentucky. By this marriage there were the following
children: Jane, John, Matilda, Margaret, Joseph and
William. Matilda and John are the only children now living.
John resides near Elizaville, Fleming County, Kentucky.
Dunlap, one of Knox County's prominent
farmers and stock-growers, and also breeders of Short-horn
cattle, is residing on his fine farm, located on section 7,
Chestnut Township. He was born in Cedar Township, this
county, 17 August 1848, and is the son of F. P. and
Matilda (Belt) Dunlap, natives of the State of Kentucky. His
father was born 22 March 1811 and died 29 March 1865. His
mother was born in 1816, and bore her husband ten
children, namely: Mary J., Margaret B., G. W., T. F., H. P.,
William, Martha F., Alice and Ellen (twins), and Cornelia A.
William B. Dunlap was the sixth in order of birth of
his father's family. 30 September 1878, he was married to
Miss Ida E. Latimer. She was born in Knox County, 2
September 1855 and was the daughter of J. S and Sarah A.
(Beard) Latimer, natives of Tennessee. Her father was born
27 November 1835 and was married 27 November 1854. Mrs.
Latimer was born 23 June 1833, and has become the mother of
six children - Ida E.; Ellura died at the age of four years;
Walter, William A., Oran L. and Washington B.
EDWIN F. GREEN, a leading dairyman of Galesburg, came to this county with his parents in 1845, and when about two years of age. He was born June 24, 1843; he grew to manhood in Galesburg, and at the common schools acquired a fair English education. His father, John Green, was some years a farmer by occupation; removed to the place now owned and occupied by Edwin in 1850, and here (now No. 350 West South Street) died in 1857, at the age of 50 years. His widow, Mary Ann (Boyer) Green, survived him until 1873, when she died aged 68 years.
After the death of his father, Mr. Green had charge of the affairs of his mother, taking care of her and the younger children so long as she lived, and until the children (in all four sons and one daughter, including himself) were able to look out for themselves. The family record discloses the following facts necessary to preserve in this imperishable way:
John Green was born Oct. 3, 1805; Mary Ann (Boyer) Green was born Oct. 23, 1811. Their children were as follows: Henry Green, born July 13, 1836; Peter A., born Oct 20, 1838; Margaret E., Dec. 23, 1840; Edwin F., born June 24 , 1843; and Caroline, born Aug. 24, 1848, died in infancy; Frederick E. R., born Aug. 24, 1848, and twin of Caroline, died in 1873.
Mr. Green has been in the dairy business since 1873. In July 1862 he enrolled in Co. A, 77th IL. Vol. Inf., and served three years, participating in the battles of Arkansas Post, Vicksburg, Champion Hills, Black River, Yazoo Swamps, and the Red River expedition. He was captured at Sabine Cross Roads, April 8, 1864, and held until May, 1865.
Returning to Galesburg, he was married, Sept. 17, 1874 to Mrs. Sarah Grant, widow of Thomas Grant, Esq., and their only son, Willet Edwin, was born Aug. 17, 1875. Mr. G. is a member of the I.O.O. F., Modern Woodmen of America and the G. A.R.
DAVID GRIM, prominent among the retired farmers and representative citizens of Knox County is found the subject of this notice, whose home stands on section 24, of Copley Township. He is one of those men who have shown the keen foresight and prompt dispatch of duty which bring their own reward. He has been a resident of the homestead he now occupies since 1862, and his farm possesses some very fine qualities, having on it running water, stone, timber and coal.
Mr. Grim was born in Augusta County, Va., Feb. 18, 1819. His parents were Phillip and Mary (Selbridge) Grim, natives of Virginia. Their family circle was large, including 13 children. They came to Fulton County in 1832, and settled in Canton. They were farmers by occupation and remained on the home place until 1870. Date of the father’s death, August 1866. The mother died in 1838.
The subject of our sketch was the 9th child in order of birth, and he remained at home until he was 21 years of age, working on the farm and gaining only a limited education. After leaving home he engaged with a brother in the coal business, but after one year they dissolved partnership, and he has since carried on the business alone. Up to 1862 he lived in Fulton County, then came to the place he now owns, and has since been engaged in farming, cultivating and improving his place. He values his land at $60 an acre.
Mr. Grim was married Feb. 7, 1841, to Miss Rebecca Berkshire, the daughter of Otho Berkshire. Before his marriage he lived in Canton, Fulton County. He went up to see his intended wife and staid all night. In the morning her father told him to “leave—that was all he asked of him.” So he went home, and in one week returned and stole her away. When he crossed the Spoon River he had to be ferried across; the water was nine feet deep, and the ferryman said it was impossible to ford it. So he went on, and when he got within a hundred yards of Mr. Berkshire’s house his sweetheart came to meet him, got into the vehicle and they fled back toward the river. When they got there he had forgotten about hiring the ferryman to ferry them over, and so drove into the river. The water was nine feet deep or more, and running very swiftly. The team, however, swam straight across, and just as they reached the bank the rear spring of the buggy broke. In landing they got wet to the knees, and then had 18 miles to drive, and it was one of the coldest nights of the winter. When within four miles of their stopping place, they looked back and saw two men coming on horseback, to catch them, as they supposed. At their entreaties the driver cracked his whip and the horses flew over the ground at their best speed. It proved, however, that the men were not pursuing them, being parties on their way home from a dance. The young couple arrived safely at their destination, and at 1 o’clock in the morning were married by Rev. Richard Haney, whose name has since become so famous in connection with the history of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
Their family comprised nine children, five of whom survive, as follows: Lucinda, David, Annie, Anson, and Edwin. Mrs. Grim departed this life Aug. 9, 1881. Lucinda, now Mrs. Abraham Suydam, has eight children, as follows: Arthur, Della, Carrie, John, Emmie, Jerusha, Charles, and Maud. David married Sarah Daniels, and to them have been born six children—Ida, Minnie, Sadie, Ella, Emma, Fred. Annie, whose husband is Simeon Durham, has seven children—Emmie, Ella, John, Allie, Effie, Sadie, and Sophia. Anson married Julia Goff, and has four children—Marvy, Mary, Julia M., and Jennie.
The second wife of David Grim was Arvilla Wager, the daughter of Barney and Priscilla (Crouch) Wager. The result of this union is one child—Rosanna M. Mr. Grim is a Republican in politics, holding some of the political offices of his county; he has been Pathmaster and School Director, and is interested in educational matters. With his wife he is a member of the First Methodist Episcopal Church, and one of the most substantial and practically good men in this vicinity.
MONS HAWKINSON, a farmer, residing on section 13, Galesburg Township, was born in Sweden, May 15, 1839, and came to America in 1856, landing at Boston, whence he proceeded at once to Knox County, IL. On arriving here, Aug. 16, 1856, he went to work with characteristic industry by the day and by the month.
He came to this county with his parents, who were named Hawkin Anderson and Hannah (Hawkinson) Anderson. She was born in Sweden Nov. 7, 1809 and is still living in Galesburg, at a venerable age. He was born in the same country and in the same year, about December, and died March 30, 1873. They were members of the Lutheran Church at Galesburg, and were the parents of eight children, as follows: Betsy, Annie, Margaret, and one infant died in Sweden; Olof, Mons, Nels, and Andrew are living, and are all residents of Knox County except Nels, who lives in Phillips County, Neb.
Mons, the subject of this sketch, was married to Miss Christina Larson, Aug. 23, 1873. She was born May 29, 1851, in Sweden, and came to America in 1869, with her parents, named Gust. and Annie (Swanson) Larson. They had two children—Christina and John A. Larson. The parents are still living in Henderson Township, Knox County, IL.
Mr. Mons Hawkinson of this sketch has five children, as follows: Bessie, born June 15, 1874; Albert, born Sept 27, 1875; Annie, born April 6, 1878; Ella, born Oct 14, 1881; and Hilma J., born May 15, 1884. With that industry for which his countrymen are noted, Mr. Hawkinson has become the owner of 85 acres, which is among the best land in Knox County, all in an advanced state of cultivation and most of which he devotes to the raising of broomcorn. He has on his place a good dwelling house.
Appreciating his duty to his adopted country during the War of the Rebellion, he enlisted in the army in 1861. Mr. and Mrs. H. are Lutherans in faith, and in politics Mr. Hawkinson is a Republican. Like most of his people who have found homes in America, he is steady, useful, and a good citizen. A view of Mr. Hawkinson’s residence appears in this work.
ASA HAYNES, one of the prominent pioneers of this county, was born in Dutchess County, N.Y. of Scotch-Irish parentage. His grandfather, Enoch Haynes, came to America with some of the earlier settlers, and with him a brother, William, who settled in one of the Carolinas, and Enoch at the North. They were active, prominent men during the struggles of our national birth, and both left their family name to posterity. Both families have always been Union-loving men, and their later descendants are strongly possessed of the same characteristics.
Asa, the subject of this sketch, was bereft of a mother’s care while yet a babe., and was cared for by an elder sister until 9 years of age, when he was “bound out” to a man named Nickerson, with whom he lived until 15, when he returned to his father’s house and remained until he was 22. His father moved to Clinton County, Ohio, and there Asa helped clear a farm and employed himself as was the custom of those days. Hardship and toil were the companions of his earlier years; he never owned a hat or cap until he was 11 years old, nor a boot or shoe until 13. He was sent to school for two months in the winter season, but all told he only had 13 months’ schooling.
At the age of 22 he, in connection with an elder brother, purchased a farm and went to work for himself. He married at the age of 26, Miss Mary Gaddis, of Fayette County, Pa. She was of Irish descent, and a lady of much spirit and beauty. Her parents were considered well off, in a worldly point of view, and her suitors were many; but she chose the dark, strong “Black Yankee”, as he was dubbed, and made him a cheerful and helpful companion for many years; and as we read the history of the man, as father, neighbor and citizen, we read here, too, as the wife and mother—careful and watchful, bearing without murmur the many burdens laid upon her, and rearing her family as best she might, being always faithful and willing, and thinking of “father” and his comfort above all else.
Oh, who can pen the history of a wife in those days of new beginnings—the lonely days stretching into weeks and months, the extra work and toil laid upon shoulders already too weak to bear their load. “Verily, they shall have their reward.”
They were married Oct. 7, 1830, he aged 26, she 18. He was dressed in black cassimere knee-pants, with white silk stockings, and low shoes with silver buckles, a blue broadcloth coat, known as the “claw-hammer”, adorned upon the lapels and cuffs, and upon the hips, where it was faced with yellow silk, with gold buttons. His hair was combed back smooth and braided down behind and tied with a blue ribbon. She was arrayed all in white. The slippers were high-heeled, and the dress was gored to the waist, a hoop was in the lower hem, and the sleeves were “mutton-let”. A long, large white lace shawl was thrown over her and a white veil covered her hair, rolled on top of her head and kept there by a comb a foot high.
They lived upon their farm until 1836, when they came to Knox County. They had at this time two children—a girl three years old and a boy ten months old, accompanied by two nephews aged 11 and 13.
They started the 1st of September and were 19 days on the road, 17 of them being rainy. The rivers were all swollen or out of banks, and the harness on the horses was never dry from the time they started until they arrived at their destination. They had bought 300 acres of land on section 30, Orange Township, and here, in a log cabin of one room, they settled.
The new settlers soon began to take an active part in the business of the county and township, and soon there was not an enterprise afoot but what the name of Haynes was connected with it. He soon started a brickyard, and in 1840 put up a mill on Brush Creek, and began sawing lumber and making brick. He taught school during the winter, in his own house. In 1843 he built a large frame barn, getting out and sawing the lumber at his own will, and at the raising there was every man in the county, excepting three. It was a huge affair for those days, and was the topic of conversation for years. The next year, 1844, he began to build his house—a large, two-story brick, with 12 rooms and a cellar, and, while the barn had been a wonder, the house was a still greater, and stands to this day as a monument of his skill.
While engaged in these improvements, he was from time to time buying more land, building fences and tenement houses, and helping too, in the business of the county, being for several years a County Commissioner and Supervisor.
The nearest flouring-mills were Long’s, on Spoon River, and Edwards’, upon Green River. The nearest markets were at Canton, Peoria, and Oquawka. Most of his furniture was made by hand and at the house, by Jesse Perdue, who also made the framework of his house. The farm at that time presented a lively appearance; the mill and brickyard were in full blast; there were from 8 to 12 yoke of oxen and horses, with their drivers, coming and going, breaking prairie, hauling timber to the mill, men splitting rails and building fence, the masons at work on the stones, and the women at their weaving, spinning, dyeing and cooking, presenting the appearance of a small colony. And the busy times were interspersed with wet or cold days. When under cover, the many hands were set to work mending harness, making brooms, ax handles, and patching boots and shoes—for everything was done at the farm, and everything kept in repair. A tailoress was hired for six months in the year, to cut and make the homespun suits. Sheep were kept, and all the bedding and clothing were made here. The loom and spinning wheel were never idle, and life on this farm was a busy scene.
Of course there wee many exciting and some quite dangerous experiences in such an early day, and we might fill quite a volume with incidents and anecdotes of those early days, but we can only give a few, as the life of the pioneer is now very like what it was then.
The timber was full of wolves, the prairie of deer, and small “varmints’ of all kinds pestered and worried the settlers; a half dozen hounds were a part of every farmer’s household, and were a necessary adjunct. The wolves were very bold, often carrying off a pig or lamb in broad daylight, and to have a dog rush out barking savagely and the man rush in for a gun was a common occurrence. Many a night the men have been up most of the night keeping the wolves from carrying off small pigs or killing the sheep. They would seldom attack a human being; but once, as Mr. Haynes was coming from Knoxville, he was attacked by a large gray wolf. Mr. Haynes was on horseback, carrying a pair of heavy new boots; the wolf sprang and caught his leg; he knocked it off, and getting off his horse, killed it with the boots.
Mr. Haynes owned at one time 989 acres of land in Orange Township, 500 acres in Iowa, and 120 acres in Lower California. He was one of the famous “Jayhawkers”, of 1849, and crossed the sandy desert in company with sixty others in that year; was Captain of the company that went from Monmouth, IL. He was a stanch Union man during the late war, and contributed money and influence and had many relatives on both sides of the family, a son and three sons-in-law in the army. His life was threatened several times by what were called the “Knights of the Golden Circle”, but he never flinched in speaking his opinions. He was one of the founders of the Knox County Agricultural Society, of which he is a life member. He was one of the first three men who introduced Short-horn cattle into the county, and was the first to bring in the spotted China hog. For many years he was the great stock-raiser of this part of the county, and his word was always as good as his bond.
He lived for a number of years in California, where he owned two beautiful farms. He lives at this writing at the old homestead in Orange, aged 82 years. He lost his wife three years ago, and his family have all married and settled, as families will. One, a son, lives in Lower California; one in Southern Kansas; two daughters in Missouri, and two in Orange, near the old home. His relatives are in every State in the Union, and, with very few exceptions, among her best citizens—patriotic, honorable and industrious.
ISAAC E. HURR, the character of any section of country depends largely on the men residing within it. Knox County has grown up, not only populous and pleasant to the view, but she contains rare intellectual and educational advantages, and reflects credit upon those who have figured in her history. One of the representative citizens and wealthy and successful farmers of Copley Township is found living on section 3 in the person of Isaac E. Hurr, one of her best and most important factors.
The subject of this biography was born in Ohio, Dec. 27, 1830, and his parents were Elias and Rachel (Baldwin) Hurr. They were natives of Ohio and New Jersey respectively, and had a family of three children—Isaac E., Margaret A., and Edwin L. Elias Hurr came to Illinois in 1837 with his family, purchased 240 acres in Knox County, and settled here. He returned to Ohio after his goods, but died in St. Louis on his way back, so that the bereaved family never saw his face again as it looked on them in parting. In 1838 Mrs. Hurr removed to section 3 and built a log house 18 X 20; there she lived for the subsequent nine years, and at the end of that time built a neat and substantial brick house in its place, and there remained until 1867. She then purchased a house and lot in Victoria, into which she moved, and on which she located, residing there for two years and two months. She then came to reside with her son on section 3, and there died, June 24, 1875.
Isaac E. Hurr of this writing, lived at home until he was 25 years of age, rendering assistance on the farm and attending school in the intervals; then, in 1854, he purchased the farm where he now lives. It consisted of 107 acres, 27 of which are timber. On this he built, improved, cultivated and modernized, and what was once a rough tract of prairie land now blooms and bears with beauty and profit. Here he carried on mixed farming and values his land at $45 per acre.
Mr. Hurr was married March 19, 1867, to Miss Mary M. Eckley, a native of Ohio, and daughter of John and Abigail (Henderson) Eckley, natives of Pennsylvania, who came to Illinois in 1849 and settled in Stark County, where they worked for two years. Then they came to Victoria Township and settled on section 6. There they lived for three years, and in 1855 moved to Oneida and bought a lot, on which they built the second house in that rising city. There they remained until 1870, when in the fall of the year they moved to Clay County, Iowa, purchasing 160 acres, on which they lived, and where the death of the father occurred in 1882. The mother still survives and lives in Union County, Iowa. They had a family of 12 children, 11 of whom are still living; Esther A. (now Mrs. Harness), Ephraim R., James H., Hannah E. (now Mrs. Chapman), Charity J., who wedded Mr. Hills; Eleanor A. (now Mrs. Shannon), Mary M, wife of our subject, Adeline L, married Mr. Parkins, John L., Catherine D, wife of Mr. Ide, Martha S. (Mrs. Dodd), and Caroline M., who died at the age of 6 years.
Mr. and Mrs. Hurr have six children living, and have suffered the loss of two—Elmonia and Harry being deceased. Arthur A., Jennie, Charles R., Ernest L, Lizzie, and Eunice are still living. Mr. Hurr is a stanch Democrat and one of those men of whom a county may well be proud.
J. L. JARNAGIN, a retired farmer, residing at Victoria village, Knox County, was born in Grainger County, East Tenn., March 15, 1819. He is a son of Noah and Littis (Grove) Jarnagin, natives of Tennessee and Virginia respectively. The parents came to Illinois in November 1831, and located at what is now known as Gilson Station. At that place they remained until 1842. Two years later we find the family in Bates County, Mo., where the mother died in August 1844. From there the father moved to Jackson County, in the same State, where he died in November 1848.
J. L. Jarnagin remained at home until 20 years of age, receiving a good common school education, and assisting his father on the farm. He remained in Knox County for one year and then removed to Missouri, making a stay of four years at that place, where he engaged in farming. Upon coming to Illinois he settled in Victoria Township, on section 28, where he purchased 160 acres of land. He subsequently secured a quarter of section 22, and later 40 acres adjoining, and on section 28 bought 80 acres. To all of these tracts he has added, 40 acres each on sections 31 and 23 and 20 acres on section 23. His residence was located upon section 28 from 1845 to 1869, when until 1875, he lived in the village of Victoria. At that time he returned to the farm, where he passed the following two years. Desiring again some relief from his heavy farm work, he returned to Victoria, where he is now residing. Portrait
Mr. J. was married to Miss Emily Tapp in 1839. She was a native of Virginia, and is a daughter of Vincent and Sophia (Basey) Tapp. The parents of Mrs. J. came to Illinois and Knox County in 1838, and located on section 33, Victoria Township, where they purchased 120 acres of land, and where they remained until their deaths in 1853 and 1884 respectively.
Our subject and wife have been blessed by the birth of nine children, of whom we give the following brief memoranda: Melissa became the wife of Dr. William A. Grove, and is the mother of 2 children—Pearl and Grace; Mary L., now Mrs. Peter Ironburg, is the mother of 3 children—Emily, Susan and Lucy; William A. Jarnagin married Miss Eliza Breese and to them have been born 4 children who bear the names of Louis H., Pansy A., Blanche A., and John; Eliza Jarnagin married Eric Johnson and has borne her husband 2 children—Earnest and an infant unnamed; Ellen Jarnagin became the wife of James David.
Our subject in political faith casts his vote for the Republican party. He has held the office of Supervisor, being the first one elected after the organization of the township, and which position he held four terms. He has also served the township as School Director and Trustee; was Justice of the Peace for 14 years and also Town Clerk. He has also held the office of Assessor for a number of years.
James Wesley, eldest son, when 18 years old, enlisted in July 1861 in Co. K. 47th IL Reg. He was wounded three times and died in May 1864 from disease contracted while in the service. He died at Mound City Hospital, Illinois.
In 1850 Mr. Jarnagin took the trip overland to California. On the return trip the crew mutinied, and from there went to Central and South America and Cuba. He was gone nearly two years.
During the war he was a stanch Union man. He made many speeches and rendered valuable aid in recruiting and keeping alive the patriotic feeling in his locality and in organizing branches of the Union League.
The publishers take pleasure in presenting the portrait of Mr. Jarnagin in connection with this sketch.
JAMES McCLYMONT is a farmer, residing on section 18, Copley Township, Knox County, and one of our most substantial and progressive citizens. He was born in Copley Township Oct. 2, 1853. His parents, Peter and Margaret (Miller) McClymont, were natives of Scotland and had a family of four children—Mary, Margaret, Helen and James. They came to America in 1844, and settling in Copley Township, took 180 acres on section 18, made all the improvements and lived on the same until 1885, when they retired from what had been pleasant and agreeable labor and moved to Oneida, where the father is now living. Mrs. McClymont died in 1880.
James, of this writing, remained at school until he was 21 years old, then took up the home farm on shares. He was thus engaged until 1878, when he purchased the place where he now lives. It consists of 140 acres, and to it he has added all the improvements that an ingenious mind can devise and a skillful hand execute.
Mr. McClymont was married in 1878 to Isabelle McDowell, daughter of John and Margaret (Gordon) McDowell. They were natives of Scotland, and most estimable and worthy people. Mr. and Mrs. McClymont have a family of five children—Ethel, Fred, Gordon, Jenette, and Clyde. Mr. C. is a Republican and has held some of the minor township offices, having been Town Collector, School Director and Pathmaster.
DAVID McCONCHIE, junior member of the firm of McConchie Bros., manufacturers of carriages and wagons, and manager of the wood department of this factory, is the subject herein spoken of. The business was established by the two elder brothers in 1879, and, starting at the foot of the ladder, in these few years they have not only won splendid reputations as honest men, socially and from a business point of view, but have proven themselves thorough and skilled mechanics. They have enlarged their business, and now what at first was operated by themselves alone requires six additional hands, each brother having a separate department in the work. Alexander McConchie manages the iron and David the wood department. Their trade has increased with the years, and their annual sales amount now to about $6,000 and are still on the increase. The business is chiefly local, but is spreading as the excellency and worth of their vehicles become more widely known.
David, the subject of this sketch, was born at Creetown, Kirkcudbrightshire, Scotland, May 17, 1854. His father, Robert, was a native of the same shire and directly a descendant of the Scotch nation; pure Scotch blood flows in his veins. He was married in his native shire to Jane McQuie, born in the same place and of like ancestry. While residing in the old country the parents had born to them three sons and one daughter. The oldest child, Jane, was the wife of Gilbert Dugan, formerly a grain merchant of this place, but now deceased; the widowed sister is residing at Oneida. Alexander, senior member of the above firm; William, employed in the factory of his brothers as blacksmith; and David.
After the births of the children the parents set out for the United States, sailing from their native land in May 1857. They located in Oneida the following month after their arrival, and during their residence in the United Stated three other children were born to them, one of whom, Mamie, died at the age of one year; Samuel is employed at carpenter work in the factory; and Mary resides with her parents in this city. The father has been connected with the C., B. & Q. R. R. for 20 years, in the capacity of switchman and baggage-master. He has never lost a day’s pay, and is known as “Honest Old Bob”, or “Uncle Bob”. He is loved and respected by all the employees, and has the confidence of the company to the fullest extent.
After David had completed his education in the High School of Oneida, at the age of 19 years, he commenced as an apprentice to learn the art of wagon-making. For this purpose he went into the shop of G.W. Roe, and old and experienced mechanic of this place, where he faithfully served for five years. This seems a long period to the restless American youth, who is usually too impatient to acquire a trade, so long as he can be allowed to measure calico or molasses for board. Mr. McConchie was not of that type, but believed that what was worth doing was worth doing well, and after leaving Mr. Roe’s employ, he entered the service of Mr. R. Bristol, carriage manufacturer (now deceased), with whom he remained one year. Thus equipped with the instruction of two old mechanics and a practical experience of two shops, he was well prepared to begin business on his own account, and it is largely to such instruction and patient practice that their own establishment is indebted for its success and prosperity.
Mr. McConchie was united in marriage with Miss Kate B. Armor, of Quincy, IL, Oct. 6, 1885. She was a daughter of the well-known lumber dealer of that city, and was born Aug 17, 1853. She was educated in the public schools of Quincy, and received parental training under the Baptist persuasion.
In politics Mr. McConchie is a Republican; he is also an earnest temperance man, and in his life is an example worthy of imitation by any American youth.
PROCTOR F. MYERS, prominent on the records of Knox County are the names of many prosperous and successful farmers, and among the leading ones may be found that of our subject. His homestead lies on section 9 of Persifer Township, and he may be reckoned among the settlers of earlier days, as he located in this section of country in 1858, in Haw Creek Township. By a happy combination of native ability and the smiles of prosperity, he has won his way until he stands high among the influential members of society.
Mr. Myers was born in Adams County, Ohio, Oct. 17, 1814, and was almost three years of age when his parents removed to Highland County, that State, where he continued until he attained the age of 21 years. In his younger days he learned the tanner’s trade, and also that of milling. He did not continue in the former branch of business after coming to Illinois. He first settled in Vermilion County, where he lived nearly 12 years before coming to Knox County. In Haw Creek Township he lived about seven years, trading for mill property in Persifer Township, and removing to this latter township in 1860. He operated a grist-mill nearly four years, then sold it and purchased the farm where he now resides. He is one of the most extensive land-owners in this section of country, owning about 225 acres, one-fourth of which is improved and under good cultivation.
Mr. Myers was married in Vermilion County to Sarah Johns, who was a native of Clinton County, Ohio, and to them have been born ten children, eight living, as follows: Abraham, Richard, Franklin, David, Douglas, Charlie, Adeline, and Nancy E. John and Hannah R. are deceased.
Mr. Myers is a useful member of society, is somewhat interested in educational matters, and while living in Haw Creek was School Director and Road Commissioner. Politically he identifies himself with the Democratic party, supporting the doctrines of that organization and casting his vote with it. He has watched the varying shades of political differences and the movements of national affairs for a long time, as he voted first for Andrew Jackson.
PATRICK H. SANFORD, a prominent citizen of Knoxville, was born in Cornwall, Madison Co, Vt., Nov. 10, 1822. His father, John Sanford, was a native of the same town, and his father, Benjamin Sanford, the grandfather of our subject, was born in Litchfield, Conn. and went to Vermont in 1774, being one of the early pioneers of that State. There he bought timber land and lived until his demise.
John Sanford, the father of our subject, grew to manhood in his native town, and was married at the same place to Miss Anna Peck. Her father, Jacob Peck, was a native of Connecticut, and emigrated to Vermont about the same year the Sanford family did. John Sanford rented a part of the old homestead, and, purchasing the interest of the other heirs, resided upon the same until his demise in February 1869. His widow still survives him and is residing on the old homestead. The parental family consisted of six children, the subject of this sketch being the eldest. Edgar is on the old homestead; Cordelia became the wife of Milo Illsworth, and they are residing at Cornwall; Jenette is the wife of C.M. Lewis, and is residing in Boston, Mass.; two children died in infancy.
Patrick H. Sanford received his early education in the district schools, and when 14 years of age entered Newton Academy at Shoreham, Vt. He supplemented his education by an attendance at the schools of Ferrisburg and also at Harrisburg, and at the age of 20 years entered Middlebury College, from which he graduated in 1846. He had during this time taught nine winter terms of school. After graduating he became Principal of the Newman Academy, at Shoreham, held the position for 15 years, and afterward taught in an academy at Williston, Vt. for a few years, in the meantime reading law at Burlington, Vt., with Judge Asahel Peck. In the years 1851-52 he went to Vergennes, Vt. In the fall of 1852 he came to Knoxville, and that winter read law with Julius Manning. In the spring of 1853 he was admitted to the bar and opened an office in Knoxville, where he as been a resident ever since. In 1877 he opened an office in Galesburg and continued in the practice of his profession.
May 31, 1853, our subject was married to Jane Griffin. She was born in Williston, Chittenden County, Vt., July 4, 1822, and died May 2, 1863. She has become the mother of two children—Anna G., wife of John B. Wheeler, a practicing physician at Burlington, Vt., and May J. Our subject was a second time married, at which time Miss Helen H. Peck became his wife. She was born in St. Lawrence County, N.Y., April 22, 1835, and is the daughter of Jacob and Isabella (Ferguson) Peck. Her father was a native of Connecticut and her mother of Vermont, and the result of the second union was three children—Belle, John, and Ray.
Our subject has filled many offices of trust in his township and county, numbering among others that of County Superintendent of Schools, Assistant Supervisor of Knox Township, and Mayor and Alderman of Knoxville. All of the above positions Mr. Sanford has filled in a manner reflecting much credit upon himself and to the satisfaction of the public at large. He was a member of the lower House in the 27th General Assembly, and of the Senate in the 28th and 29th General Assemblies. His first vote for President was cast for James G. Birney, of Ohio.
CHARLES A. SCHOONMAKER is junior member of the firm of Madison & Schoonmaker, manufacturers and dealers in harness, saddlery, etc., at the city of Galesburg. He was born in Delaware County, N.Y., May 11, 1847. His parents, Joseph and Amanda (Crosby) Schoonmaker, reared two sons, Charles being the eldest. The family came to Knox County in 1855, and have lived here since. It was here that the subject of the sketch learned his trade, and it was here also that he attended the common schools, at which he acquired a fair English education.
Mr. Schoonmaker worked for several years at “jour” work before going into business for himself, and although the style or firm name indicates him as a junior, he is really the head of the firm, in this, that he has exclusive management in the direction of the business. Our subject was married at Knoxville, in 1866, to Miss Eugenia Haines, a native of York State, and the one child born to them is a daughter, named Ida.
Above is links to other pages in the book, Thanks.
Always a Work in progress.....
Thanks for stopping by and come again.
Saturday, December 21st, 9:03:46 PM created
Monday, August 14, 2006 04:25:59 PM uploaded & updated.
More to come.....
link bar below to help you navigate my website better. Thanks
Have a Great day.... & Happy Gene Hunting