1899 Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois Knox County Biographies
These biographies were
typed by Kathy Mills & Foxie Anderson Hagerty if u by chance see them on another
web site they are reproduced without giving proper credit where it is due. thank
you! We worked long & hard to get these online & I like giving credit where
credit is due. surprisingly others do not feel the same. Thank you & enjoy.
Click on appropriate link below
1899 Index beginning with A
1899 index beginning with E
1899 Index beginning with L = R
1899 Index beginning with
Click here to email me; Thanks!
Lander, John O.;
Knoxville; Merchant; born in Sweden, September 26, 1828, where he was educated.
His parents were natives of Sweden; his father was Olof Johnson; they had twelve
children, four of whom are still living; Johanna; Rev. H. Olson; Pernella, now
Mrs. Anderson; and John O. April 15, 1867, in Knoxville, Mr. Lander was married
to Else Johnson. They have had six children: Clara A., Luther A., Louisa A.,
Ernest J.., Emma F., and Nellie G. Clara A. married Rev. H. P Olttoson; Louisa
A. married Alvin Anderson, and they have one daughter, Margaret L.; Luther A.
married Elizabeth Van Gilder, and they have one son, Harvey, Ernest J. is a
student in Michigan University, Ann Arbor Michigan. Mr. Lander's father died
about 1864, and his mother died soon after. Mr. Lander enlisted July 1862, in
Company E, 83rd Illinois volunteers Company E, and was honorably discharged at
the close of the war. He is a member of G. W. Trafton Post, No. 239, of
Knoxville, Grand Army of the Republic, Department of Illinois. Mr. and Mrs.
Lander are members of the Lutheran church. In politics, he is a republican.
Lindsey, Charles D.
Knoxville, where he was educated; clerk in clothing house; born in Knox County
February 18, 1864. Mr. Lindsey's father, Charles R. Lindsey, was a native of
mason County, Virginia; his mother Mary A. Post was born in St. Louis, Missouri.
His paternal grandfather, Rowland Lindsey, was a native of Maine; his paternal
grandmother was Phebe Russell, of Chautauqua County, New York. Charles R.
Lindsey came to Knoxville in 1838. He was born January 23, 1822, in Virginia,
where he was educated, and where he was for many years a farmer. He married his
first wife. Caroline Armsbury, in Iroquois County, Illinois, in 1843; she died
eight months later. His second marriage was with Mary A. Post, October 05, 1848,
in Monmouth, Warren County. They had ten children, six of whom grew to maturity:
John T. Martha D., Kellum P., Corrien, Charles D., and Mary E. John T. was
arrived to Sarah Smith; they have eight children: C Edwin, Robert B., Margaret
C., Arthur McLellan, Harry, Simeon, Ray, Martha L. Martha D. married Henry Masters.
Kellum P. was married to Ada Corbin: they have three children: Ezra, Nellie and
Francis. Corrien was married to John B. Evans; they have five children: Jennie
M., Jessie L., Julia F., J. Clifford and Tede M. Mary E. Married William Stotts;
they have two sons, Paul Sheldon and Phillip Brook. Mr. Lindsey died February
04, 1899; his widow is still living.
Her father, Ezra post, was born in Greene
County, New York, in 1787. In 1812 he was married to Pattie Pratt; she was born
in Rensselearville, Albany County, New York, in 1792. Eight children were to
them : Melinda, Rubble A., Dorlinske, John C., Albion, Mary A., Ezra and S.
Croghan. The family came to St. Louis, Missouri, in 1825, and moved to this
state in 1836. Mr. Post died in 1853 his widow died November 28, 1881. Mr. Post
was a soldier in the War of 1812. the ancestry was Scotch and Welsh. Charles D.
Lindsey is a member of Horatio Lodge. No. 362, Knights of Pythias, also of Camp
No 41, Modern Woodmen of America, and of the Minor of honor, Grim Shaft No. 1;
he is one of the Supreme Board of Directors. May 11. 1887, Mr. Lindsey was
married to Anna Nelson in Oneida; they had had three children; Hazel B. died in
infancy, C. Willard and Nelson. Mr. Lindsey is a member of the Presbyterian
Church. In politics he is a democrat.
JAMES FULTON PERCY is a physician, and
was born in Bloomfield, New Jersey, March 26, 1864. His father was James
Percy, who was born in Soho, New Jersey, and his mother was Sarah Ann Fulton,
who was born in New York City.
Dr. Percy's ancestors are of Scotch-Irish descent. His paternal grandfather
was Francis Percy, who was born in Belfast, Ireland, and his paternal
grandmother was Mabel Wilson, who was born in Gatside, County of Antrim,
Ireland. She was the daughter of Stafford Wilson, who was born and lived
in the same place. His maternal great-grandparents were born in Ireland, and
lived and died in the land of their nativity. His material grandparents were
James Fulton and Mary Rogers, who were born in County Dowie, Ireland.
Dr. Percy received his early instruction in the common schools of New Jersey.
On account of ill health he was sent to Minnesota at the age of fourteen, where
he remained for three years. Here he availed himself of school advantages, and
by his perseverance, acquired such education as to fit him for higher duties and
responsibilities. He then went to New York City, and took a four-years' graded
course in medical college there, when the law required only two years. By reason
of the pleasant memories of his boyhood experiences and the thought of better
opportunities, he returned West after graduating, and located at Mazeppa,
Minnesota. Here he practiced general medicine and surgery for two years.
Considering his field of operation too narrow and desiring a larger one, he came
to Galesburg in February 1888. Here he found himself among strangers, having the
acquaintance of but one person, the Rev. J. W. Bradshaw, pastor the "Brick
Church". His fame as a physician soon spread, and to-day, he is one of
the best known men in Galesburg. Besides his professional duties, he has engaged
in other worthy enterprises. He called the first meeting out of which the
Galesburg Cottage Hospital Association grew.
It was in his Bible class in the First Congregational Church Sabbath School,
that the idea of the union of the "Old First" and the First Congregational
Church was first considered. It was at his house that the first meeting was
called to consider the question.
At this time, the plan of union was not completely accepted,
on account of a previous call of the "Old First" Church to the Rev. Dr.
Sherrill, which had been accepted. Soon after, these churches were united under
a new name, the Central Congregational Church. Dr. Percy also interested himself
in the establishment of the Congregational Church on Knox Street, which led to
the organization of the Congregational Church on East Main Street.
Nor are his special labors confined wholly to church work. His surgical
operations attest his knowledge and ability. He was the first surgeon in
Galesburg to perform successfully an abdominal operation, which was done August
1, 1893. In order to perfect himself in the study and practice of surgery, he
went, in 1896, to Europe, remaining there nearly a year. He was under the
instruction of specialists, Professors Springel and Kraske, two of the best know
surgeons in Germany. He then returned to Galesburg and continued the practice of
his profession, which has been uniformly successful. In 1898, he was offered and
accepted the chair of the Principles and Practice of Surgery and Surgical
Clinics in the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Keokuk, Iowa. From time to
time he has made contributions to the medical and surgical literature of the
Dr. Percy has not been backward in performing his duties as citizen. He is a
progressive man, and has shown originality in planning and execution. He is an
independent thinker and is bold in the expression of his views. He is
intelligent with strongly marked characteristics, and is a better leader than
follower. He is amiable in his public and private character, generous in spirit,
and gentlemanly in his bearing. He believes in the elevation of humanity; is
charitable and kind; and has always shown himself a public-spirited citizen. He
is a republican and labors for the interest and welfare of his city and country.
Dr. Percy was married at Mazeppa, Minnesota, June 12, 1888, to
Josephine L. Robinson. They are the parents of one child, Sarah Katherine.
ISAAC AUGUSTUS PARKER, son of Isaac
and Lucia (Wood) Parker was born in South Woodstock, Vermont, December 31, 1825.
His grandfather, Eleazer Parker, removed from Mansfield, Connecticut, to
South Woodstock, Vermont, about the year 1780, and cleared land for a farm,
which remained in his possession and in that of his son for nearly a century.
Records in the State Library of Connecticut show that Eleazer Parker responded
to the Lexington alarm in 1775.
Mr. Parker's mother was the daughter of Joseph Wood,
a revolutionary soldier, who removed from Middleborough, Massachusetts, to
Woodstock, Vermont. Joseph was a direct descendant of Henry Wood, who went
from England to Holland, and afterwards to Plymouth, Massachusetts. The wife of
Joseph Wood was the daughter of Gershom Palmer, a descendant of Walter
Palmer, who came from England and settled in Charlestown, Massachusetts, in
1629, and removed to Stonington, Connecticut, in 1652.
Mr. Parker spent his boyhood on his father's farm, assisting in cultivating
it, and attending the district school in the winters. He enjoyed the advantage
of a select school in the fall for two or three years. A library, to which he
had access, which had been established at an early period in the village near
his father's residence, was of great benefit to him, as he was fond of reading.
In the Fall of 1846, he attended Black River Academy in Ludlow, Vermont, with
the view of fitting for college. The next Spring, Summer and Fall, he studied
Latin and Greek at an academy in Hancock, New Hampshire, devoting a large
portion of his time to teaching some of the higher branches of mathematics, to
which had given considerable attention, and the study of which he enjoyed. He
completed fitting for college at Green Mountain Liberal Institute in South
Woodstock, Vermont, and entered Dartmouth College, Hanover, New Hampshire, in
the Fall of 1849, and was graduated from that institution in 1853. He was a
member of the Alpha Delta Phi Society, and at graduation became a member of
the Phi Beta Kappa Society.
Commencing at the age of seventeen, he taught district schools for ten
successive winters. Immediately after graduating from college, he became
Principal of Orleans Liberal Institute in Glover, Vermont, and held this
position for more than five years. Having been elected Professor of Ancient
Languages in Lombard University, in Galesburg, Illinois, in the Fall of
1858, he resigned his position in Glover and at once entered upon the duties of
his professorship. He continued to discharge the duties of this professorship
till 1868, when he was made Williamson Professor of Greek Language and
Literature in the same institution, which position he now holds. He has,
however, continued to give forty years of continuous service to Lombard
He receive the degree of Master of Arts from Dartmouth College in 1856, and
that of Doctor of Philosophy from Buchtel College in 1892. For several years he
has been a member of the Board of Directors of the Galesburg Public Library. He
is a member of the Universalist Church in Galesburg.
In 1856, he was married to Sarah A. Labaree, daughter of William and
Parthena (Whitmore) Labaree, of Hartland, Vermont. Mrs. Parker died in 1889.
A daughter and son survived her, both of whom were graduated from Lombard
University. The daughter, Izah T., died of consumption in 1891, at the age of
thirty-four, having spent the last four years of her life in southern
California, whither she had gone in the hope of regaining her health in the
salubrious climate of that favored region. While she was there her father spent
his summer vacations with her.
The son, William A., for the last seventeen years, has pursued the
vocation of a civil engineer. He is now in the employ of the Union Pacific
Josiah Sampson; Farmer;
Chestnut Township; born October 21, 1829, near Richmond, Indiana; educated in
log school house in Knox County. His parents were Richard H., and Jane M.
(Heath) Sampson of Maryland; his paternal grandparents were Richard Sampson of
London, England, and Mary (Hamlin) Sampson of Maryland; his great-grandfather,
Benjamin Franklin Sampson, died in England; his maternal grandfather was Josiah
Heath. Mr. Sampson was married to Martha A. Street, in Fulton County,
March 25, 1852 [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Josiah Samson
marrying a Martha Ann Street in Fulton County on March 25, 1852]. They have
seven children living: Richard H., Martha E., Hulda I., Nicy Jane, Sir John
Franklin, Elmer E., and Alpha L. Mildred W. Rist, Mary O. B. Lowden, William,
and Josiah are deceased. The last two died in infancy. Mrs. Sampson was the
daughter of William and Nancy (Combs) Street of Virginia. They were pioneers in
Highland County, Ohio, and came to Fulton County, Illinois, in 1837. Richard H.
Sampson came to Knox County, October, 1835, with his wife and six children:
Mary, Margaret E., Martha J., Josiah, Rebecca, and Josephine. Benjamin F.,
Richard, Joseph C., and Tabitha were born in Knox County. He was first brought
and improved 160 acres of land, where he lived for 15 years; he had been a
teacher in Maryland; he died in 1850. His wife died in 1862. After his
marriage, Josiah Sampson, farmed in Fulton and McDonough Counties, remaining in
each for five years; he then returned to Knox County, bought out the other heirs
to his father's estate, and now owns eight hundred and sixty-five acres of land
in Chestnut Township. He is a successful farmer and stock raiser. In politics,
Mr. Sampson is a democrat.
DAVID SANBORN --
Civil War Vet
-- will ever be remembered by the citizens of Galesburg as a
kind hearted and true man. He never sought popularity or the applause of the
multitude, and yet, by virtue of his genial character, he was a popular man. He
was a native of Vermont, and was born in Rockingham, April 30, 1813. His boyhood
was spent on a farm and his education was obtained at the district school. He
was well informed, as he had been a student, more or less, all his life. In
business affairs, he always showed great acumen and was blessed with a keen
insight and a sound judgment. When only nineteen years of age, he went to
Philadelphia and was engaged in mercantile pursuits. He traveled through the
Southern States for a large publishing house for a period of nearly five years.
In the Spring of 1837, he came West with Mr. Robert Wiley, as a traveling
companion. Their route was by way of Buffalo, across Lake Erie to Detroit. At
this place they purchased a horse and carriage, making their journey across the
country to Chicago, and thence to Winchester, Illinois.
Mr. Sanborn remained at Winchester for a few months, then went
to Brimfield, Peoria County, and purchased a farm, where he was engaged in
agricultural pursuits until his removal to Galesburg. In 1840-41, he was elected
Assessor of Peoria County, which position he filled most acceptably. In 1850, he
was elected to the Legislature to represent the county of Peoria. On his removal
to Galesburg in the Spring of 1851, he engaged in the mercantile business for
nearly three years, until he was appointed to the office of Secretary and
Treasurer of the Central Military Tract Railroad, which has now become a part of
the Burlington system. Under President Pierce he was appointed Postmaster of the
City of Galesburg, and in 1857-58-59, he was elected City Assessor. In
1859-60-61, he held the office of General State Agent for the Hartford Fire
When the Internal Revenue Department was established during
the Civil War, Mr. Sanborn was appointed Assistant United States Collector under
Collector Bryant, of Princeton. But his great work was in organizing the Second
National Bank of Galesburg, which stands as one of the strongest and most
reliable monetary institutions of the city. Mr. Sanborn was elected its first
President, which position he filled with the greatest satisfaction to
stockholder and patron until his death.
Mr. Sanborn's long period of service was in connection with
Lombard University. No man ever served an institution of learning more
faithfully or in a kinder spirit. He was elected Trustee in June 1859, and was
re-elected every year until his death, April 9, 1883. He was a member of the
executive committee for twenty-four years and Treasurer of the University for
twenty years. As a guardian of the college, he was a most efficient and
indefatigable worker. He gave liberally of his means, and there was no
enterprise entered into for its up building and advancement without his
As a man and citizen, he was the peer of any man. His
character was open and unvarnished and his manners were plain and unassuming.
His kindness of heart and his charitable feelings threw a glamour around him
that was pleasing and attractive to everyone. His genial look was an
inspiration, and his friendly address a benediction. He was noted for his
sincerity and candor, and was no patron of evil in disguise. He was a thorough
student of human nature, and in his business relations knew how to deal with the
foibles of men. He was sincere in his convictions, honest in his purposes, and
upright in all his dealings. He was honored by all who knew him, and lived a
life above reproach. Another has said, "He trod life's journey, and performed
its duties well, and upon the verge of three score years and ten, laid down its
burdens without the throes and agonies usually accompanying nature's dissolving
ties. In his track lie no bruised or crushed hearts, no empty hand of pinched
want, no imprecations from betrayed trusts".
Mr. Sanborn was a man of liberal principles and broad views,
and was not hemmed in by creed or doctrine. He was a member of the Universalist
Society, and was a faithful worker therein. He believed in the good and true and
in a happy home for all God's children. In political faith, he was once a
democrat, but in later years he was a republican. He was not a partisan, but
always voted and acted for the best interest of the country.
Mr. Sanborn was married on his twenty-seventh birthday to
Sophia A. Ramsey an adopted daughter of Alpheus Willard, of Brimfield,
Illinois. They had had born to them five children: Ellen, the wife of Dr. George
Churchill; Mary, who married J. K. Mitchell; Lelia; William D., who lives in San
Francisco, and is General Western Agent of the Chicago, Burlington, and Quincy
Railroad; and Lake W., who is engaged in insurance at Galesburg, and is
Secretary of the Mechanics' Homestead and Loan Association.
PHILEMON B. SELBY, son of George and Ruth (Allen) Selby, was born in
Lancaster, Ohio, in 1809. His father was born in Virginia, and, being in the
employ of the Government, removed to Mackinaw where he married a second time,
and died when on a visit to his children in Ohio.
Mr. Selby's mother was the
granddaughter of Dr. Silas Allen who served in the Revolutionary War; his early
life was passed in the State of New York, but he removed to Ohio and died at
Royalton in that state.
Mr. Selby came to Knox County in 1834. Mr. Elisha
Barrett, who married Mr. Selby's sister Clista, had selected a mill site on
Spoon River. Mr. Selby bought the land on which the mill was built, and,
assisted by his brother Nelson, operated it for many years. He was also a
farmer, on rather an extensive scale, and owned nine quarter sections of land at
the time of his death in 1868.
Mr. Selby was married at the home of David Housh in Haw Creek Township,
November 12, 1837, to Elizabeth Gullett , daughter of Joshua and Barbara Housh Gullett. Joshua Gullett was born in Delaware and brought up in North
Carolina. He was a farmer by occupation, and settled in Washington County,
Indiana, where he was married in a block house which served as a fort. His
wife, Barbara, was a daughter of Adam Housh of Kentucky. They came to Maquon
Township about 1840.
Five children born to Mr. and Mrs. Selby are now living: Elisha, Mrs. Amanda
Summers, Mrs. Salina Clark, Henry, and Mrs. Ruth Bigelow.
Mr. Selby was a dealer in stock, buying and selling cattle, taking at one
time a drove of three hundred and sixty to Ohio and swimming them across the
Illinois River below Peoria Lake. He was a democrat politically, and was a
friendly, broadminded man of many good qualities, both mental and moral, and
highly respected by the community in which he lived.
Mrs. Elizabeth Selby, who survives him, is a woman of sterling character. In
early life in Indiana she learned to weave cloth, coverlets and carpets, and
followed the same vocation after coming to Knox County with her Uncle David
Housh. After her marriage to Mr. Selby she lived in a double shanty made of
slabs, and later lived for two years in a frame house, and then moved into a log
cabin, at the old Selby homestead, where she lived eight years. When her
husband went to Ohio with a large drove of cattle, Mrs. Selby accompanied him
with their two children, and cooked for the cattle drivers. They returned with
three loads of cloth which they sold in Knox County, and with the proceeds
bought more cattle to forward to the same market. After the death of her
husband she managed her estate wisely, having a large stock of horses, sheep and
swine on her numerous broad acres.
GEORGE W. SIMKINS; Farmer; Maquon Township; born
in Pennsylvania, December 17, 1832. His parents Horatio and Mary Rice
Simkins, and his grandparents, Ananias and Rachel Simkins, came from
Pennsylvania. He was married in Haw Creek Township to Mary McCoy,
the daughter of in Haw Creek Township.
Their children are; Andrew; Anne, the wife of David Barbero; Nathan; and
Henry. His second marriage, July 31, 1886, was with Mrs. Elizabeth
Moore Pumyea the daughter of Andrew and Margaret Steinbrook
Moore. Mrs. Simkins has two children by her former marriage, William
Allen and Edith Pumyea. Mr. Simkins was born on a farm, and has always
been a farmer. After his marriage he rented a farm for two years,
one-half mile east of Maquon; he then rented a farm of his father two
miles farther east; he then lived for five years three miles north-west
of Maquon, after which he moved to Decatur County, Iowa, where he
remained one year and returned in 1859. He afterwards farmed five years
in Elba Township, and fourteen years four miles west of Maquon. He then
removed to Section 21, where he has one hundred and fifty-seven acres of
finely improved land; he also has one hundred and sixty acres on Section
15, and four town lots. Mr. Simkins is a democrat. He has been a
member of the Grange for five years.
HENRY MCCALL SISSON, son of Pardon
and Abba McCall Sisson, was born in Clinton, New York, September 29, 1829.
His parents were natives of New England. They were married, September 30, 1837,
in Lebanon, Connecticut, and settled in Oneida County, New York, for fifteen
years, or until they came to Galesburg, Illinois in 1842. Four children were
born to them: A daughter, who died about 1863; a son who died in infancy;
William Pardon, now of Peoria; and Henry McCall.
ancestral line of the Sisson family, on the mother's side, has been traced back
to a very early period. Its length stretches through thirty-seven generations;
to Egbert, who became King in the year 802, and was styled "Rex Anglorum" or
"King of the English".
Henry's great-grandfather was Captain Veach Williams a man of
considerable prominence in his day and generation, who was born in Lebanon,
Connecticut, April 23, 1727. He was the same family as Ephraim Williams, founder
of Williams College; and of William Williams, one of the signers of the
Declaration of Independence, and Speaker of the Colonial Congress. Veach married
Lucy, fourth daughter of William and Mary (Avery) Walworth, of Groton,
Connecticut. Her family was related to Chancellor Walworth, of Saratoga, New
York, and were descended from General John Humphrey, Deputy Governor of
Massachusetts Bay Colony, whose wife was descended from King Egbert. The
genealogy of this family presents many noted and historical names. In this
country, and to some extent, in the Old World, families are so broken up by
emigration, marriage, and other conditions, that it seems wonderful that so long
and authentic a lineage as this of the Sisson family could be secured.
Henry M. Sisson, who stands almost at the end of this ancestral line, had, in
his youth, all the educational advantages that the common schools of his native
town afforded. "Multum in parvo" was his motto, and from the
little offered, he possessed the spirit and ability to extract much. After
leaving the common school, he entered the Clinton Grammar School, where he
received thorough drill in some of the more advanced branches. After arriving in
Galesburg, he continued his studies, in the district school, and afterwards,
entered Knox Academy in the Fall of 1843. He recited in the college classes and
made considerable proficiency in the study of Latin. But his bent of mind turned
to mathematics, which was easy to him, and which he regarded as more closely
connected with the business of life. When only sixteen years of age, he made
such advancement as to become manager and teacher in a public school.
Mr. Sisson lived in Galesburg thirteen years, and in the Summer of 1855,
removed to his farm in Henderson Township. He has been engaged in agricultural
pursuits and fine stock raising from that time to the present, and has been
entirely successful. As a stock raiser and a judge of fine stock, he is regarded
as an authority and his reputation in that line extends far and wide.
Mr. Sisson has the confidence of his fellow citizens, and has been called to
many places of public trust. He was first elected Supervisor from Henderson
Township in 1869; again in 1876, 1877, 1878, then in 1885, holding the office
thereafter for eleven consecutive years. He has been a School Trustee; member of
the County Agricultural Board; President of the Farmers' Institute; Road
Commissioner; member of the Farmers' Congress, for the World's Fair; delegate to
the Farmers' National Congress, held at Fort Worth in 1898; President of the Old
Settlers' Association of Knox County; President of National Poland China Swine
Association; and for ten years President of American Poland China Record
Mr. Sisson is a man plain in his manners, and possesses a nature free from
all disguises. He is a lover of friends and home, strong in his attachments, and
unyielding in his purposes and plans. He is intelligent, a great reader, and
keeps himself abreast of the times. The history of the country and party
politics is familiar to him, and his ability and discretion make him strong in
the defense of his principles. He has always been regarded as an upright
citizen, and as one worthy of confidence and trust.
In his religious creed, Mr. Sisson is broad and liberal. He believes in the
religion of deeds, rather than in ritual or ceremony. He attends the
Presbyterian Church. In politics, he is an uncompromising republican, and takes
a deep interest in every election.
Mr. Sisson was married, December 25, 1860 to Eliza Jane Miller
daughter of John and Jane A. Crane Miller, who then lived in Chicago. Ten
years after the death of her mother, Mr. Miller moved to Galesburg. He was one
of the early settlers of Chicago, and was elected one of the first trustees. He
died in Galesburg, January 22, 1858.
The children born to Mr. and Mrs. Sisson are the following: John Miller, died
December 1, 1863; Mary E., died April 4, 1863; Della Abba; Dora Eliza; Fanny
Owen; Margaret Miller; Helen McCall; and Anna Miller
ARTHUR A. SMITH, ---
Civil War Vet ---for his sterling qualities, is
entitled to the respect and veneration of every citizen. A life of duty well
done is always interesting, and commands universal approbation.
son of Eratus and Martha Hulick Smith, was born in Batavia, Claremont County,
Ohio, May 9, 1829. His father was a New Englander by birth, a native of
Rhode Island; his mother, a native of Ohio. The family removed to Illinois in
the Fall of 1840, and settled upon a farm in Knox County.
Young Arthur spent his boyhood at the paternal fireside, attending school and
performing the customary duties of a farmer's son. On account of the newness of
the country and the unsettled condition of the schools, his early educational
advantages were not the best; but he had the ability and will to make the best
use possible of the means at his command, thus laying a firm foundation for his
future success. After arriving in Knox County, he remained a member of his
father's family until 1848, when he became a student of the Preparatory
Department of Knox College, and afterwards entered college, graduating with high
honors in 1853.
Immediately thereafter, he commenced the study of law under the instruction
and supervision of Abraham Becker, an able practitioner of Otsego County, New
York. After remaining with Mr. Becker for a year, he finished his course in the
office and under the tuition of Hon. Julius Manning, of Peoria, Illinois, and
was admitted to the Bar in 1855. He opened his first office in Galesburg, and
continued in active practice until the breaking out of
the Civil War. Inspired by a patriotic spirit, he then left home and friends for
his country's service. With General A. C. Harding, of Monmouth, Illinois, he
organized the Eighty-third Regiment of Illinois Infantry; General Harding being
elected Colonel and Judge Smith Lieutenant Colonel.
This regiment was mustered in at Monmouth, August
21, 1862, and was immediately ordered to Forts Henry and Donelson, where for a
time, it performed guard duty along the Cumberland. February 3, 1863, the
Confederate Generals, Forrest, Wheeler, and Wharton with 8,000 men, made an
attack upon the Eighty-third Illinois, a company of the Fifth Iowa Cavalry, and
a section of the guns of Flood's Battery. Colonel Harding commanded the post,
and Colonel Smith the regiment.
This engagement is regarded as one of the greatest triumphs of the war. The
Confederates were determined to capture Fort Donelson. They surrounded it and
demanded its surrender. The little Spartan band, with heroic faith, resolved to
stand their ground and die, if needs be, in their country's cause. The
Confederates succeeded in capturing one gun of Flood's Battery. Colonel Smith
proposed to recapture it, and with the assistance of a few men, made the
attempt, but without success. The battle raged until nightfall, and this little
band of patriots withstood this vastly superior force, and at last, the rebels
were forced to retreat. The gunboats coming up, Colonel Smith was ordered to go
aboard and direct the fire. This caused the rebels to abandon their plan of
taking Fort Donelson. General Lowe, the commandant at Fort Henry, gave both
Colonels Harding and Smith great praise for their bravery and meritorious
conduct in this battle.
The following incident will show something of the
spirit and character of Colonel Smith as a military man:
Lieutenant Gamble with six men was dispatched to guard a train going to
Nashville. He was attacked by rebel guerillas, and both he and his men were
captured. They were stripped of their shirts and arranged in line for the final
tragedy, with this tab attached to each one: "Killed by Guerrillas."
As the deadly aim was taken, Gamble made a leap for liberty and escaped. The
others were butchered on the spot. This act so outraged the feelings of Colonel
Smith that he issued orders that these inhuman butchers be captured, dead or
alive. Subsequently, they were captured; dead.
Lieutenant Gamble reached the camp in safety. Subsequently, for
meritorious service, General Harding was made a Brigadier General, and Colonel
Smith was assigned to the command of the District of Tennessee with headquarters
at Clarksville. This position, he held until the close of the war, when in 1865,
he was mustered out and brevetted with the rank and title of Brigadier General.
With these well-earned honors, General Smith returned to his home in
Galesburg; but soon thereafter left for Clarksville, Tennessee, on a business
venture with W. A. Peffer, afterwards United States Senator for Kansas. In this
position he did not remain long; for the passions and animosities of the
Southern people had been so aroused against the North during the rebellion, that
it was extremely dangerous for a Northern man to attempt to live in or pass
through many sections of the South. Frequently, under the cover of night,
General Smith was shot at, and he also received many threatening letters. By the
advice of friends, he left Clarksville, and, in 1866, returned to Galesburg,
entering again upon the practice of law, which he continued until 1867, when he
was appointed by Governor Oglesby Judge of the Circuit Court to fill the
unexpired term of Judge John S. Thompson. In June 1867, he was elected to the
same position, and for five successive terms, he received the almost unanimous
suffrages of the people for that office. For the long period of twenty-nine
years, he sat on the bench as Circuit Judge, performing his duty faithfully,
wisely, and justly, with few decisions of his reversed in the higher courts. On
account of ill health, he resigned two years before the expiration of his last
term of office.
In public and private life, Judge Smith has shown himself to be a superior
man. Rigid integrity, a sound judgment, prudence, and discretion are some of the
elements of his character. As a lawyer, his reputation is established for his
fairness towards his opponent and for his candor in speech and argument. As a
Judge, his impartiality and the justness of his decisions were the predominating
characteristics. As a citizen, his views are broad, liberal, and charitable,
looking towards the improvement and welfare of his city, his State, and his
country. He is regarded as an upright and trustworthy citizen, and is highly
honored for his services in the dark days of the rebellion, and as a Judge of
the Circuit Court.
Judge Smith's religious creed is not narrow. He accords to every man the
right of worship as he pleases. Early, he was a member of the Methodist Church,
but in later years, he has been an attendant at the Congregational service,
though not a member of that Church.
In politics, he is a staunch republican. He is a believer in party principles
more than in party machinery. He was a member of the Legislature in 1861, and
worked faithfully for the interests of his constituents. He is a member of the
G.A.R.; member of the Loyal Legion, and has been a trustee of Knox College
for more than twenty years.
Judge Smith was married in 1855 to Mary Delano whose death and the
death of one child occurred the following year. He was again married, November
12, 1856, to Mary E. Benner, of Galesburg. To them were born five
children: Blanche V., who is an accomplished musician, having spent five
years in Europe studying music; Arthur A., an attorney-at-law; DeWitt, who is
engaged in the jewelry business in Chicago; Loyal L., an attorney in Chicago;
Benner X., a leading attorney in Salt Lake City, Utah.
--- Civil War --Vet---son of William and
Lorinda Badger Smith, was born in Marathon, Cortland County, New York, October
16, 1823. His parents were married in Cortland County. His maternal
grandfather was Edmund Badger.
Mr. Smith's family history is one of much
interest. His paternal grandparents, Robert and Grace (Braithwaite) Smith, were
natives of England, the latter born near Leeds. They were married in the old
country, and came to America at the outbreak of the War of the Revolution.
Robert Smith at once enlisted in the colonial service, and served the entire
seven years in the struggle for independence, most of the time in the rank of
Orderly Sergeant; wintered at Valley Forge; took part in the
principal battles, and was present at the surrender of Yorktown. He served
throughout the war without a wound, and at its close received a grant of land in
Cincinnatus, Cortland County, New York; he died in Virgil, New York, at the age
of eighty-four; there were eight children, five sons and three daughters.
William Smith was born in Schoharie County, New York, but moved to Cortland
County with his parents, where he was reared on a farm. There were ten
children, seven sons and three daughters, two of whom died in New York. The
parents came to Illinois in 1844, and settled on Section 27 in Township of Lynn,
Knox County. Although he had not had the advantages of the schools, he was a
good business man and prosperous farmer. He was a deacon in the Baptist
Church. He died at the age of ninety-two. His wife lived to the great old age
of one hundred years and three months, having been born December 15, 1790.
Austin Smith married Sarah McNaught in Toulon, Stark County, they have
four children, May C., Ruth B., Addie F., and Charles A. Mrs. Smith is a
daughter of Thomas and Eliza (Custer) McNaught, early settlers of Illinois,
having located at Fraker's Grove about 1840. Mr. McNaught died at
Centerville, Lynn Township.
Mr. Smith was raised on the farm, and has been engaged in farming all his
life, excepting six years when he was in the hardware business in Henry,
Marshall County, Illinois. On account of his health he returned to farming and
now owns one hundred and twenty acres of land. He was made a Mason in Henry
Lodge, No. 19, Henry, Illinois. His father, William Smith, was also a Mason.
Mr. Smith is a Prohibitionist and Democrat, and has held local offices.
Smith Civil War Vet --
was born in Marathon, Cortland County, New York, November 14, 1833. His parents
were William Smith, born in Schenectady, New York, August 21, 1787 and
Lorinda Badger Smith, born near Coventry, New York, and the daughter of Edmund
Badger of Becket, Massachusetts. His grandfather, Robert Smith, came with his
bride to America from Manchester, England in 1776, landing at New York when
Washington was organizing his army at White Plains.
He immediately enlisted and served in the Revolutionary War seven years and
eight months, during part of which time he was a commissioned officer on
detailed duty. During the war, his wife lived on the Mohawk Flats, at Fort
Stanwix. At the close of
the war he located at Schenectady, New York, where he resided until 1794. He
was a man of strong character and felt the military services he rendered was a
duty he owed his adopted country, and they were cheerfully performed. He led
essentially a farmer's life. He removed from Schenectady to Cincinnatus,
Cortland County, New York, and settled on the six hundred and forty acres
allowed him by the government for his services in the war. That section of New
York State was at that time almost a wilderness, and his nearest neighbor was
sixteen miles distant. After a residence here of fourteen years, he removed to
Marathon, where he spent the remainder of his life. He had a liberal English
education, and while residing in Schenectady, was honored by being elected to
several municipal offices. He had five sons and three daughters. The sons
were John, Isaac, Robert, William and Abraham.
Heman P. Smith came
to Knox county with his father, June 19, 1844, and settled in Lynn Township, on
the farm which he now occupies and where his parents died, the father at the age
of ninety-two and the mother at the remarkable age of one hundred years and
three months. Mr. Smith was educated in the common schools of Knox County, and
at Beloit College, Wisconsin, from which he was called to take charge of the
home farm. He enlisted in the Civil War in 1862,
Company G of the Eighty-ninth Regiment Illinois Volunteers, and served until
February 1865, when he was discharged for disability, three months before the
disbanding of his entire regiment. He was in all the engagements of the
regiment, which had some of the most severe encounters of the war, and took part
in fifteen pitched battles. He was in the front rank during the charge up
Missionary Ridge, and spent nine months in the hospital.
May 25, 1865, Mr. Smith was married to Harriet E. Thompson in
Lynn Township. They have seven children, La Mont born December 9, 1866; Letha
born April 7, 1870; Fred born July 8, 1873; Abbie and Addie born September 5,
1880, Urban born June 5, 1882; and Bertha born October 31, 1885.
In politics, Mr. Smith is an independent democrat and has held most of the
township offices, including that of Assessor, and School Director. He is a very
successful farmer and owns three hundred and fifty acres of land, including the
old Smith homestead.
James Shumaker; Farmer; Indian Point Township; born
in Jackson County, Ohio, December 20, 1821; educated in the common schools. He
came to Indian Point with his father, John Shumaker, in 1837, and the family has
been one of the most prominent and successful of that locality. In 1848, Mr.
Shumaker married Mary A. Lowrey; they have three children; Charles, who married
Elinor, daughter of Samuel Davis; William, who married Hattie, daughter of Dr.
Reece; and Leonard, who married Clara Moss. Charles has one son, James H.
Leonard has one son, Clarence C.
Farmer; Indian Point Township; born in Cedar Township, Knox County, Illinois,
May 21, 1851; educated in the common schools. His parents were Frederick and
Lovina Marks Stegall; the former came to Knox County in 1836 and settled in
Cedar Township about 1840, and died there in October, 1896
WILLIAM SWIGART; Farmer and stockman;
Maquon; born in Pickaway County, Ohio, August 15, 1822. He is of German
descent. His father, Daniel Swigart, was a native of Lancaster County,
Pennsylvania; his mother, Elizabeth (Conrad) Swigart, was born in Greenbrier
County, Virginia. Mr. Swigart came from Marion County, Ohio, to Knox
County, in November, 1852. For a time he sent occasional shipments of grain to
Chicago, but in 1862, he engaged permanently in the grain trade. For many years
he conducted a lumber yard, which he now rents to other parties. In 1878, he
opened a general grocery store in partnership with J. B. Boynton, which business
he still conducts. In 1881, he opened the bank which bears his name. Mr.
Swigart is a member of the I. O. O. F. in Maquon, and is also a Mason, holding
membership in the Maquon lodge, in Eureka chapter, No. 98, of Yates City, in
Knoxville Council, No. 1, and also in the Peoria Consistory of Ancient and
Accepted Scottish Rites. He owns three farms in Haw Creek Township and fourteen
others scattered in various townships and counties. In all he possesses two
thousand six hundred acres of improved land. October 21, 1847, Mr. Swigart
was married to Eliza J. McHenry, in Wyandotte County, Ohio; she died in
1861, leaving four children: John; Jane, now the wife of O. D. Cooke, of
Hinsdale, Illinois; Daniel, now living in Chicago; and Alonzo, deceased.
His second wife was Susan Stewart, who was born in Indiana, and died in 1875.
She was the mother of six children, of whom the survivors are: Elizabeth,
wife of Charles Hartsook, of Haw Creek; Sarah, wife of F. C. Bearmore, Maquon;
and Lincoln, of Knoxville. Mr. Swigart was married May 16, 1876, to his present
wife, Elizabeth Bull, who is a native of Fairfield County, Ohio. Mr.
Swigart has held numerous local offices and has been Township Treasurer since
1863. He supports the worship of the Methodist Episcopal and the United
Brethren denominations. In politics, he is a republican.
Bowen Vivion, M. D., son of Harvey and
Mildred (Ryon) Vivion, was born in Clark County, Kentucky, October 23, 1810. At
eight years of age, his father's family moved to Warren County, Kentucky, where
they remained for six years. Then they moved to Howard County, Missouri, where
they lived until the father's dearth at the age of seventy-nine. The mother
afterwards resided in Clinton County, Missouri, with her oldest son, James, and
died at the advanced age of ninety-five years and four months.
The parents of Dr. Vivion were natives of Virginia, being raised on farms
about forty miles from Alexandria. They moved to Clark County, Kentucky, into a
region called the "Canebrakes," at a very early day, when the county was almost
an unbroken wilderness. They were firm believers in the Christian religion, and
were members of the Baptist Church, until that church in Missouri separated into
two divisions. Then they joined the Reformed Christian Church, remaining in that
faith until their deaths.
During this time, the father was the owner of ten or fifteen slaves, which
were held in accordance with the institution and laws of the State in which he
lived. He was ever regarded as a good citizen and a thrifty farmer. He was
always charitable to the poor. The benevolent traits of his character are
illustrated by the following incident: In 1822, the scarcity of corn caused
great suffering among the poor. He refused to sell at the high price of a dollar
a bushel, saying that what he could spare should be given to the poor.
Dr. Vivion's opportunities for education were meager, but he availed himself
of all the advantages that the country schools afforded, until he was eighteen
years of age. For two or three years, he was a teacher; but his intention of
making medicine the professional business of his life never forsook him. During
his spare hours, when teaching, he studied those branches which belong to that
profession. At the age of twenty-two, at Huntsville, Missouri, he commenced the
study of medicine, and for a year and a half, was under the tuition and
instruction of two most excellent teachers, Doctors Head and Rutherford. He then
went to Winchester, Kentucky, and for the same length of time, studied with
Doctors Frasier and Vivion. During all these years, he was engaged in practice
as a student, under the direction of his preceptors. Afterwards, he attended
courses of lectures in the Medical Department of the Transylvania University at
Lexington, Kentucky, and May 1, 1836, settled as a physician in Dover, Missouri,
a profession which he has followed assiduously for sixty-three years.
Dr. Vivion's first thirty years of practice was in accordance with the rules
of the allopathic system, but in 1866, he changed to the homeopathic system,
being convinced of its superiority. To practice the latter system, he received a
diploma from the Hahnemann Medical College and Hospital.
In 1851, Dr. Vivion moved from Dover to Waverly, Missouri, and in 1853, he
purchased a farm two miles from Dover, on which he lived seven years, practicing
his profession in the meantime. In 1860, he disposed of his farm and moved to
College Mound near Macon City, Missouri. In 1865, he moved to Ursa, Illinois, a
few miles north of Quincy, and in 1868, he came to Galesburg, where he has been
an honored resident ever since.
In 1840, Dr. Vivion was elected to the Legislature on the Whig ticket, being
the first successful candidate of that ticket in Lafayette County, Missouri. He
did not seek the office, but the office sought him. He never has been an
aspirant for political honors. After becoming a resident of Galesburg, he served
as Health Commissioner for several years; was City Health Officer for two years;
held the office of City Physician about five years. At a meeting of the State
Medical Society, he was elected President pro tem., and by the same body, he was
elected permanent President, but resigned in favor of a younger man.
In politics, Dr. Vivion was a Whig until the Whig party was disorganized in
1856. He then became affiliated with the democratic party, although not strongly
a party man.
In religion, he is a member of the Christian Church, having connected himself
with that church at Dover, Missouri. In the same year, 1843, he was elected
Elder and ordained, and has filled that office ever since. After coming to
Galesburg, he made his church home temporarily with the Baptists, until 1871. a
small number of similar faith held meetings in a hall over the Second National
Bank. During the Winter of the same year, services were continued in the
Doctor's office in the Matthews Block. The sacrament was administered every
Lord's day, and the weekly meetings were conducted with great regularity.
In the following Spring, the hall over L. B. Miller's music store on the
Square was occupied, and there services were continued until a church
organization was effected in February, 1872, with twenty members. Dr. Vivion
filled, without compensation, the place of minister in this church nearly half
the time from its organization until 1890. Since then a regular pastor has been
employed. The number of church members in 1898 was two hundred and twenty.
Dr. Vivion is possessed of a deeply religious nature. His correct tastes and
habits are largely due to the religious training of his parents, who required
him to take the New Testament to school and read it every day. In all his long
life, he never saw a moment when he doubted the truth of the Christian religion.
Even when a boy of sixteen he saved a sufficient amount to purchase Buck's
Theological Dictionary, the price paid being two dollars. He made good use of
his opportunities, and his wisely chosen profession afforded an ample field for
exercise of his powers.
Although having passed the period of life set by the psalmist, he still
enjoys good health and is practicing his profession, and fills his place at
He was united in marriage to Maria Jane Atkinson, an only child,
September 26, 1836. Her family was of the Presbyterian faith, but she joined the
Christian Church at the same time her husband joined. She was a kind and
faithful wife, ever ministering to the wants of her family. She died August 24,
1887. Eight children were born to them, four of whom died in infancy. The names
of the others are Sarah Ann Mildred, born June 15, 1839, married to T. L.
Gorham; Robert, born November 10, 1848, died February 5, 1866; John G., born
July 18, 1853; Edward L., born November 22, 1857.
A second marriage to Lucy Neely was contracted May 16, 1888.
DANIEL WAINWRIGHT; Farmer; Chestnut
Township; born May 4, 1829, in Clermont County, Ohio; educated in the common
schools of Ohio. His parents were Vincent Wainwright of New Jersey, and Nancy
(Hall) Wainwright, of Ohio; his grandfather was Daniel Wainwright of New Jersey;
his maternal grandfather was Jeremiah Hall, of England. Mr. Wainwright was
married to Eliza J. Cramer in Ohio, December 13, 1849. Their children
are: Vincent; Maguire; Joseph; Benedict (deceased); Sarah E. Eiker, and Clara C.
(deceased). Mr. Wainwright settled on the farm where he now resides in 1873,
and has greatly improved his land. His oldest son is in Louisiana, his second
in Missouri, and one is at home. His great-grandfather and two brothers came to
America from England, and were in the Revolutionary War; his great-grandfather
was killed, and his grandfather was wounded; his father died in 1844. Mr.
Wainwright is independent in politics and has been Road Commissioner; he has
been Supervisor three terms. He is a member of the Methodist Church.
THOMAS ULYSSES WALTER; Farmer; Maquon
Township, where he was born March 30, 1869; educated in the common schools of
Maquon Township. He was married, near Gilson, July 15, 1891, to Bessie Leona
Baird , daughter of Anthony W. and Melisa (Pickrel) Baird, of Haw Creek
Township. They have one child, Harold Baird, born January 8, 1894. Mr. Walter
was reared on the home farm, and received his training under the instruction of
one of the best farmers in Knox County. He settled on a farm of one hundred and
sixty acres, to which he later added eighty acres. He is successful and highly
respected. Mr. Walter is a Republican.
Wellington W. Washburn was born in Akron, Ohio, September 18,
1836. He father was Leander Washburn, whose occupation was that of a carpenter
and builder. He was born in Kingston, Massachusetts, December 9, 1811, and died
in Galesburg in 1881. His boyhood was spent in his father's family, almost in
sight of Plymouth Rock. His father, with his family, moved to Troy, New York,
when Leander was about twenty years of age. After living there about a year,
they went West, setting in Akron, Ohio.
Wellington's mother was Elise Upson, who was born in Tallmadge, Summit
County, Ohio, January 21, 1813, and died in Oakland, California, in 1893.
The "Washburn family," without doubt, are of English descent, as the name
indicates; although tradition says that they came into England with William the
Conqueror, and one of them was knighted by him, on the battlefield, for
meritorious service. In Worchester and Gloucester counties, England, there are
two villages know by the name of Great Washburn and Little Washburn, where the
family have lived for many generations.
The "Washburn family" in America not only in numerous, but contains many
distinguished men. John Washburn came to Duxbury, Massachusetts, about
1628-32. His wife Margerie came with her two sons, John and Phillip, in 1635.
He is said to have been the first secretary of the Plymouth Colony Company in
London in 1628-9.
John, who belonged to the second generation in the line, married Elizabeth
Mitchell, whose mother was Jane Cooke, daughter of Francis Cooke, who came over
in the Mayflower in 1620. He was one of the signers of the "Compact" on the
deck of the vessel before landing.
The third generation contains the names of Joseph and Hannah, who married a
Mr. Latham. In the fourth generation, we again find the name John with
Mehitable or Lydia. In the fifth, is Jabez, who was born in 1708, and Judith,
who married a Mr. Faunce. In the sixth generation is to be found Jabez and
Mary, who married a Mr. Sherman. The seventh generation contains the names of
Abiel and Rebecca (Adams) Washburn, the grandparents of Wellington W. Thus it
appears that Wellington W. belongs to the eighth generation from John Washburn,
who settled in Duxbury about 1631-2.
Wellington W. Washburn belongs to the class of self-mad men. He had the care
of loving parents and attended the public schools of his native town. For a
time, he pursued a course in the High School under the Principal ship of General
Leggett, noted teacher. On May 3, 1852, when only sixteen years of age, he left
the High School and entered a jeweler's store to learn the watchmakers' and
jewelers' trade. He was under the instruction of H. S. Abbey, one of the
leading jewelers of Akron. Here he remained until 1859, when he came to
Galesburg, Illinois. His capital was his ability and the few tools that he
brought with him. His first co-partnership was with J. K. Armstrong, from 1867
to 1872, under the firm name of Washburn and Armstrong. He continued in the
jewelry business until April, 1875, when he sold out to E. W. Trask, of Aurora,
Illinois, who continued it under the firm name of Trask and Gentry.
In 1877, he was elected cashier in the Second National Bank of Galesburg,
remaining there until after the death of the President, David Sanborn, in 1883.
He then organized the Galesburg National Bank with a capital of one hundred
thousand dollars, which opened for business May 3, 1884. He was elected its
first President and held that position until May, 1889, when business called him
to California. He resided at Oakland until May, 1895, when he returned to
Galesburg, where his home has been ever since.
The name Washburn is imperishably written in the archives and history of the
nation. Two of them, Emory and William B., have been Governors of the Old Bay
State. Israel was Governor of Maine. Peter T., of Woodstock, Vermont, was once
Governor of that State. Elihu B., was once a Congressman from Illinois,
Minister to France, and Secretary of State under President Grant. Cadwell C.
was Major General in the Civil War and afterwards Governor of Wisconsin. John
D. was once Speaker of the Massachusetts House of Representatives and Minister
to Switzerland. William D. was United States Senator from Minnesota. Charles
A. was Minister to Paraguay. Washburn Maynard, commander of the gunboat
Nashville, in the son of Hon. Horace Maynard, of Tennessee, and Laura Washburn,
of Randolph, Vermont. Truly, such a list of patriots and statesmen have honored
the name of Washburn.
Wellington W. Washburn was shown himself to be an enterprising citizen. He
has aided greatly in the improvement of Galesburg. In 1869, he built the
"Washburn Block," which, at that time, was one of the best in the city. He was
erected several dwelling-houses, which stand as an evidence of his enterprise.
He has labored for the up building of the city, and has aided by his means in
all undertakings which his judgment approved. As a man, he is social in his
intercourse, kind in disposition, charitable in his relations towards his
fellows, and popular in his every-day life. He has ever shown himself to be an
honest, intelligent, and trustworthy citizen. His religious views are broad and
without cant. He is a member of no church, but attends the Universalist. In
politics, he is a republican if the party candidates for office are good men.
Mr. Washburn was married, February 9, 1876, to Margaret Lockwood, who
died in June, 1883. She was born in New Albany, Indiana. Her father's family
were long residents there, and were held in high esteem. By this union, one son
was born to them: Fred Lockwood, born May 10, 1878.
His second marriage was December 28, 1893, to Etta P. Burrows, of
Wallace Thompson, was born in the Dominion of Canada, near
St. Mary's, Ontario, August 9, 1850. He is the son of Robert and Theresa
(Lee) Thompson and was brought up on a farm. His parents came to Knox
County in 1872, and are now living on a farm near the city of
Galesburg. They were born in the northern part of England, and the
father in his younger days was a stonecutter.
Judge Thompson received the customary instruction of the common
school of his native town. Afterwards, he attended the grammar school
at St. Mary's, working on the farm during summer. He then entered Upper
Canada College at Toronto, and finally Toronto University, where he took
a fully literary course. He graduated in 1874 with the degree of
Bachelor of Arts, winning a scholarship every year and a gold medal at
graduation. By the labors of his own hands, he earned the means,
principally, to meet the expenses of his college course. He read law
while a student at college, and afterwards, with William Davis in
Galesburg He was admitted to the Bar in Iowa at Fort Madison in 1875
and practiced at Sibley, Iowa, for two years. In June, 1877, he came to
Galesburg, and practiced uninterruptedly in the courts of Knox County
and the State, until he was elected to the office of Circuit Judge.
His boyhood was passed on his father's Canada farm, which was stony
and once heavily wooded. Early, he had a great fondness for books and a
desire for learning. While attending the district school in winter, he
borrowed books to begin the study of the classics; and while working on
the farm during the day, he spend the early morning and the evening with
a portion of the night in reading and study.
A chancery suit, involving his father's farm, was the immediate cause
of Judge Thompson's removal from Iowa to Illinois. His first
co-partnership was with Mr. Davis under the firm name of Davis and
Thompson. This co-partnership was dissolved, and from 1883 to 1893, he
practiced alone. Then the firm of Thompson and Shumway was established,
and in 1896, that of Thompson, Shumway and Wasson. Judge Thompson
remained a member of this firm until June, 1897, when he was elected
Judge in the Ninth Judicial Circuit of Illinois, comprising the counties
of Knox, Warren, Henderson, Hancock, McDonough, and Fulton.
Judge Thompson has never been an office-seeker. He has held but few
offices. He was elected Alderman of the First Ward of the City of
Galesburg in 1880, and held the office until 1884. He is a member of
several societies and has filled important positions therein. He is a
member of the Masonic Order, Odd fellows, and Knights of Pythias. He
joined the Alpha Lodge of Masons in 1877, and was an officer
continuously therein from 1878 to 1898. He was Worshipful Master four
terms, and Eminent Commander of Galesburg Commandery the same length of
As a lawyer, Judge Thompson has always borne a very high reputation.
His fame expanded and spread by reason of his intelligent management of
cases at court, and his fair treatment of witnesses on the stand. He
has always been sought after for his reliability and fair-mindedness and
for his superior knowledge of common and statute law. As a Judge, he is
known for his quickness of decision and impartiality. He is just in his
citations of points of law, and has earned the respect and esteem of
both counselor and jury. As a citizen, he is kind and forbearing, and
is worthy of public confidence. He is charitable in speech and act, is
helpful in all needed reforms and improvements, and never withholds a
helping hand from the needy and suffering.
Judge Thompson is broad and liberal in his religious views. He
belongs to no church, but is a regular attendant at the Baptist Church,
of which his wife is a member. He is a strong republican, and has been
identified with that party from the time he was old enough to cast his
He was married September 12, 1884, to Hettie Linsley, who was
born at Galva, Henry County, Illinois. She is a graduate of Knox
College, and was Librarian in the Galesburg Public Library five years
prior to her marriage. Her father, James H. Linsley, up to 1899, was
Road Master of the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad. With this
road, he was connected for forty-six years.
Judge and Mrs. Thompson are the parents of three children: Alma C.,
Ruth L., and Wallace L.
one of the most active
and industrious men of Galesburg, was born in LaSalle, LaSalle County,
Illinois, October 28, 1852. He is the son of William W. and Jane
(Chadwick) Welch. His father is a physician of ability, and of
considerable education, acquired in the practical school of the world.
In his profession, he rose to a degree of prominence after years of
effort and struggle, and became also a writer of some note.
When the war
of the rebellion broke out, he enlisted as a surgeon of a regiment. He
was promoted to be a Brigade Surgeon, then Acting Staff Surgeon of the
Western District of Mississippi. He entered the volunteer service in
1861, and was mustered out in 1865.
Eugene's early education advantages were very limited. However, he
made the best use possible of his opportunities, availing himself of the
instruction afforded in our public schools. This preparatory training
was supplemented by attendance at St. Patrick's Academy, at LaSalle, and
for a short time, as an "irregular" at Knox College.
His first occupation after leaving school was teaching. He taught in
the district schools of Knox County for eight consecutive winters,
commencing in 1870-71, and three summer schools during this period.
Being anxious to earn an honest dollar whenever possible, he worked on
the farm during the interim between terms of school. Many a farmer will
remember him as a faithful hand in the harvest field.
As a teacher, he held advanced and independent ideas. He believed
that the teacher should conduct his school without the use of books, if
required; that he should be the book and the active spirit of his
school. With such views in imparting instruction, his teaching was
always practical and successful.
Mr. Welch's early life was spent in LaSalle. In the latter part of
1869, he moved with his parents to Galesburg, where he has lived ever
He was elected City Attorney for two years, 1889-91, and re-elected
for 1891-93, both times on the liberal ticket. He was elected State's
Attorney for four years, 1892-96, and re-elected for four years,
1896-1900, both times on the republican ticket.
The societies with which he is connected are the following: Vesper
Lodge, No. 584, A. F. and A. M., Master of the same for two years;
Galesburg Lodge No. 142, I. O. of O. F., now Noble Grand, heretofore
Vice Grand; Galesburg Camp, No. 667, Modern Woodmen of America, being
Venerable Consul: was a member of Edvall Camp, No. 50, Sons of Veterans;
member of Galesburg Club; member of the Illinois State Bar Association,
and Association of State's Attorneys of Illinois.
As an attorney, Mr. Welch has been eminently successful. He stands in
the front rank of his profession at Knox County bar. As State's
Attorney, his work was been prosecuted conscientiously and thoroughly.
The indictment is the lawyer's work, and its preparation is a safe
indicator of his knowledge and ability. If there is the least flaw, the
indictment is quashed. For the past six years, as State's Attorney, he
has prepared 450 indictments, and the records show only two quashed. It
is doubtful whether a cleaner record than this can be shown by any other
State's Attorney. For the last three years, the jury, in every case,
have returned the verdict, "We, the jury, find the defendant guilty."
When he was City Attorney, important improvements to the amount of
$344,000 were made. Street pavements were put in and waterworks
constructed. Ordinances were to be framed, contracts draw, and
confirmations in courts attended to. All this work was so well done that
the city was never required to pay one dollar, owing to the blunders of
the City Attorney. These things speak volumes for his efficiency.
Mr. Welch has always had for his motto: "Never be idle." A kindred
sentiment he has also cherished: "He who would enter through the door of
success, much observe the sign, 'Push.' "
He commenced the study of law in June, 1875, and before the entire
Supreme Court, in June, 1877, was admitted to the bar. He read for a
short time, with the firm of Lanpher and Brown, composed of the late
Judge George C. Lanpher and A. M. Brown. His reading mostly was with
Douglas and Harvet, the partners being Judge Leander Douglas and Hon.
Curtis K. Harvey.
Mr. Welch is a public spirited man, and is always interested in
public improvements. His charity is of the kind to help those that help
themselves, He is a member of the Christian Church. His political
sentiments are intensely republican.
Mr. Welch was married in Galesburg, June 24, 1879, to Ida Spencer
[the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Eugene W. Welch
marrying a Ida I. Spooner in Knox County on June 24, 1879], a lady
of intelligence and refinement. Of this union, four children were born:
Nellie M., Frank A., Bessie S., and Sidney Post.
is a "Green Mountain Boy." He is the son of Joseph foster and Clementine (Lyman)
Tilden, and was born in Rochester, Vermont, February 14, 1830. His parents were
natives of Hartford, Vermont, and were married in that town, January 16, 1828.
After marriage, they lived in Rochester, until 1840, when they removed to
Newbury in the same State, living there fourteen years. In April, 1854, they
came to Galesburg, Illinois, where they resided until 1864. They then went to
Rochester, New York , in order to make their home near a daughter who resided
there. In early life, the father's occupation was that of a merchant, livestock,
dealer, a wool-buyer and shipper. He was an industrious man and a good citizen.
The name Tilden is common in the Country of Kent, England. At
an early date, one of the "dens" or "dales" bore this name before the period of
the adoption of surnames. The name is found in the will of John Tilden, of
Benenden, England, recorded September 12, 1463. He was born about the 1400.
Another of the name, Joseph Tilden, was one of the merchant adventurers of
London, who fitted out the Mayflower, and furnished quite a portion of the
means, which enabled her passengers to found and maintain the infant settlement
Nathaniel Tilden, with his wife Lydia and seven children, came
over in the ship Hercules in March, 1634. On the list of passengers, his name
stands first, and the first conveyance of land, recorded at Scituate in the
Massachusetts Bay Colony, was made to him in 1628.
Another of the Tilden family, Stephen, married Hannah
Little, of Plymouth, whose ancestors came over in the Mayflower in 1620. One of
the same name, Stephen Tilden, living in Lebanon, Connecticut, in 1724, moved to
Hartford, Vermont, 1767, settling near White River Junction. He purchased a
proprietor's right of four hundred acres of land for two dollars and fifty
cents. Afterwards, he bought for his children several other proprietor's rights.
Josiah Tilden received the customary education given in the
district schools of that early day, supplemented by a course in the seminary at
Newbury, Vermont. He seemed to have the ability to extract much from little, for
he is a well informed and a well-educated man. After leaving school, his first
occupation was clerking in the store of Freeman and Henry Keyes in Newbury,
where he remained six and a half years. His work was very laborious, and his
wages were small. With the greatest economy and self-denial, he scarcely saved
enough to defray his expensed to Galesburg, Illinois, (a trip he had planned
with a view of bettering his fortune. He came across Lake Michigan to Chicago;
thence by "limited" canal to LaSalle; thence down the Illinois River to Peoria;
and lastly by stage-coach to Galesburg, arriving, October, 1851, at the
celebrated "Palmer House" which stood at the corner of Main and Cherry streets.
After spending a little time visiting his sister, who was then Principal of the
Ladies' Department of Knox College, he began to look around for employment. So
poor was his success that he was on the point of returning East, when a
fortunate opportunity was offered him. The Central Military Tract Railroad
Company employed him to open its accounts. Before this, no books had been
opened, and the papers were kept in a box in a loose condition. Thus it may be
said that Colonel Tilden was the first person to open the books of what has
now become the great Burlington system.
On January 6, 1852, Colonel Tilden began clerking in
the store of Silas and Warren Willard, situated on the southeast corner of the
"Square" and Main street. He remained with them until March, 1853, when, with
David Sanborn as partner, he bought the general stock of goods of William
Butcher. This store was situated two or three doors east of the Willard store,
and was known from the sign over the door as "Uncle Sam." This co-partnership
continued for two and a half years, when Colonel Tilden sold out to Mr. Sanborn,
and built a modern building, twenty-five by sixty feet, the first store room
then in Galesburg. It was the first building with large glass in the windows,
four to the window, and was rendered attractive thereby.
He continued in the
mercantile business until the Civil War broke out, when he sold out to
Warren C. Willard.
Colonel Tilden's military record is a worthy one, and he is
deserving great credit for the part he took in the War of the Rebellion.
appointed Paymaster in the United States Army, May 27, 1863. His commission
bears the signatures of Abraham Lincoln, and Edwin M. Stanton as Secretary of
War. Hon. Owen Lovejoy, then member of Congress from this district, was the
bearer of the document to him. During his service in the army, he paid to
soldiers nearly ten million dollars. Colonel Tilden was one of eight paymasters,
going on the steamer Ruth, August 4, 1863, to Vicksburg, Mississippi, with two
million six hundred thousand dollars, when she was set on fire by a rebel and
burned with all the money. His clerk, Simeon Martin, son of Deacon Martin, of
this city, was drowned with about thirty others, among who were two paymasters'
clerks, who could not swim. Colonel Tilden swam ashore, saving nothing but the
clothes he had on. It was midnight, and the struggle was with fire and water,
and impenetrable darkness. The rebels had offered a prize for the destruction of
United States boats. To counteract this, summary punishment was meted out to all
when captured, which made the attempt. Without delay, a court-martial was held
and the guilty one was loaded down with heavy pieces of iron, taken to the rear
of the boat and commanded to swim ashore.
Colonel Tilden, during the war, had several very fortunate
escapes from capture. At one time, at Springfield, Illinois, he had in the safe
two hundred thousand dollars for payment to soldiers on the following day. The
next morning, he was to go to the camp to disburse this money. During the night
his office was broken into, and his clerks, probably chloroformed, were robbed
of about three hundred dollars of their own money. Colonel Tilden says: "The
largest check I ever drew was two hundred eighty thousand dollars, and many
others for large amounts. I remember well, coming over from Indianapolis to
Springfield one night, bringing four hundred thousand dollars in two carpet
satchels, tied up with a rope. I dressed in old clothes, my clerk carrying one
satchel; and I, the other, to pay soldiers mustered out, and waiting for their
pay. I felt a relief when I had turned it in at the First National Bank,
Springfield, to Cashier Tracy, now President of the bank.
For three years of faithful service, and it might be said, for
honesty and ability, he received a commission as Lieutenant Colonel, dated April
15, 1866, and signed by Andrew Johnson, President, and Edwin M. Stanton,
Secretary of War. His certificate of non-indebtedness and adjustment of accounts
from the Second Comptroller of the Currency and E. B. French, Auditor, is dated,
August 27, 1870.
Colonel Tilden, by his manliness and upright character,
has won the respect and confidence of his fellow citizens generally. In some
good degree, they have tried to repay him for his services in the field. May 6,
1867, he was appointed Deputy United States Collector by William Kellogg,
Collector, for the counties of Knox, Henry, and Bureau. At the end of one year,
he resigned, went to Missouri, and bought 1,525 acres of land near Carthage. In
the Spring of 1870, he moved there with his family and lived for twelve years.
Impressed with the duty and responsibility of educating his children, he
returned to Galesburg in 1882. Since his return, he was elected Justice of the
Peace in April, 1884, and has been re-elected three terms, serving in that
office thirteen years. He was also Secretary and Treasurer of the Galesburg Gas
Company, owning stock in the same, which he sold when he went to Missouri.
Colonel Tilden is decisive and unswerving in his
political views. When in Vermont in 1851, he voted the Whig ticket. He has been
identified with the republican party since its organization. He says: "I have
voted that ticket first, last, and all the time." His travels in this country
have been quite extensive; having visited more than twenty-five States.
Colonel Tilden is a man of great moral worth. To his
convictions and to his friends, he is true as steel. Double-mindedness is no
element of his character, but firmness of purpose and stableness of action are
his ruling traits. He is open hearted and franks, and despises all innuendoes
and deceit. He is thoroughly patriotic, and benevolent and charitable in his
dealings with his fellow-men. In his church relations, he is a
Congregationalist, and was one of the fifty-one persons that organized the
"Brick Church" of Galesburg. He went to Boston with Warren W. Willard
to invite Dr. Edward Beecher to become their pastor. In church, city, and
county, h has acted a conspicuous part, and the reward that comes from duty is
Colon Tilden was united in marriage at Galesburg, Illinois,
October 26, 1857, to Jeannette Lucretia Abbott, born in Vernon,
Connecticut, June 3, 1836. The marriage ceremony was performed by the Rev.
Edward Beecher, D. D. She was the daughter of Bickford and Amelia Abbott.
They have had seven children, four sons and three daughters;
Emma, Edward, Alice, Jeannette, Bertrand Josiah, Joseph Abbott, Earnest Lyman,
and Amelia Clementine.
Emma, Edward, and Joseph Abbott are deceased.
Lloyd Franklin Wertman, son of
Elias and Mary Wertman, was born in Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania,
November 7, 1845.
His father was both a merchant and a farmer, being engaged in the mercantile
business in the East, and giving his attention to farming after settling in
Illinois. The Wertman family came to this State in the Spring of 1864, when
Lloyd was 19 years of age. They moved on to a farm seven miles east of
Knoxville, known then as the "Bob White" farm, when was owned by George Stevens.
Here the family lived for three years, and then purchased a farm in Elba
Township, where they lived until the Spring of 1879.
In the meantime, young Wertman engaged in farming for himself. In 1870, he
rented lands in Elba Township of George A. Charles, and these he cultivated for
three years. Then he purchased his home place, where he devoted himself to
farming until the Spring of 1879. He then moved from Elba to Yates City, and was
employed as a bookkeeper and salesman for one year in a co-operative store. He
then formed a partnership with J. H. Nicholson and W. P. Parker in the purchase
of the Farmers' Bank, Yates City, which was owned by J. M. Taylor. He was
elected Cashier - a position he occupied until January, 1889. He was then
elected Cashier of the Farmers' and Mechanics' Bank, Galesburg, Illinois, and
served for six years. In January, 1895, he was elected Vice President of the
First National Bank, serving for two years. Then in January, 1897, he was
elected President of the same, which position he now holds.
Mr. Wertman has held several other offices of honor and trust. He was
Township Clerk of Elba for eight years, Collector for two years, School
Treasurer for four years, Supervisor of Salem Township for two years, Vice
President and Director in the Galesburg Printing Company, Director in the Board
of Education, and Director in the Mutual Loan and Building Association.
The life and success of Mr.Wertman should encourage every young man who may
read this sketch. By probity and strict integrity, he has risen to places of
honor and trust. His early educational advantages were greatly circumscribed,
but he availed himself of all the opportunities the common school afforded. With
this preparatory education, he completed his studies at the Academy and
Missionary Institute, Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania. Thus equipped he has gone on
from on position to another, and won for himself an enviable reputation.
In political faith, Mr. Wertman is a staunch republican. In religious
affiliations, he is an attendant at the Presbyterian Church. He is a believer in
moral and benevolent institutions of every name.
Mr. Wertman was married January 11, 1870, to
Miss Isabella J.
whose parents settled in Knox County, in 1840. Of this union, four daughters and
one son were born: Mary Estella, Martha Leora, Maud S., and Norma Blanch, now
MARY ANN GULLETT WEST; Haw Creek
Township; born in Indiana January 5, 1819; daughter of Joshua Gullett; educated
in the common schools of Indiana; came to Knox County May 31, 1838. She was
married to Samuel West , who was born in Vermont, April 25, 1807, and
died in Knox County January 31, 1860. Mr. West's parents were John and Anna
West of Vermont, who were of English descent; he was educated in the common
schools of Vermont and Cincinnati, Ohio. His occupation was that of a sawyer
and miller, and he came to Knox County May 1, 1838, and helped build the Selby
saw mill on Spoon River in Haw Creek Township, Section 34, which was the first
saw mill in Knox County. He later remodeled it into a grist mill, which he
operated for several years. After his marriage he settled on a farm, and at the
time of his death owned about three hundred and fifty acres of land. He was a
good friend and neighbor, and a kind husband. He affiliated with the
Presbyterian Church. In politics he was a democrat. Mr. and Mrs. West had six
children: Anna; John; Elizabeth, now Mrs. McTier; Joshua; Daniel; Philemon.
Anna is the wife of Rev. Newton G. Clark, who was educated in the common
schools, and at Valparaiso, Indiana. They had two children, Elsie, wife of Bert
Bays; and Mary L., wife of Dr. James U. Long. Mrs. West has been successful in
the management of her farm.
Charles Bridge Wetmore; Farmer; Ontario Township; born on the
Wetmore homestead in Ontario Township, September 23, 1844; educated in Knox
County. His parents, Theodore P. and Eveline C. (Morse) Wetmore, were natives
of New York State; the former from Yorkville, Oneida County; the latter from
Herkimer Country. His maternal grandparents were Horace Morse, a native of
Massachusetts and a soldier in the war of 1812, and Thirza (Underhill), born in
the State of New York. His maternal great-grandfather was a Revolutionary
soldier. His paternal grandfather, Erza Wetmore, was born in Connecticut, while
his wife, Susan (Palmer), was a native of Rhode Island. Susan Palmer's father
was Fones Palmer, a Revolutionary soldier from Hopkins, Rhode Island. The
paternal great-grandfather, Captain Amos Wetmore, was a soldier in the
Revolution; his wife was Rachel Parsons. Mr. C. B. Wetmore's father died August
16, 1876; his mother, May 29, 1892, aged respectively sixty-six and
seventy-eight years. Mr. Wetmore was reared on the homestead which he bought
from the heirs; the farm consisted of one hundred and sixty acres of land and
nineteen acres of timber. August 5, 1862, he enlisted in Company E,
Eighty-third Illinois Volunteers, and was wounded at the second battle of Fort
Donelson, February 3, 1863. He was discharged from the hospital at Paducah,
Kentucky, in April 1863. He has never fully recovered, and draws a pension. He
was Postmaster at Oneida for two years. January 22, 1868, he was married, in
Knoxville, to Thirza M. Moore. There are three children: Eveline M.,
Thoedore L. and George E. Eveline M. married Birney W. Adams; Theodore L. and
George E. are at home. Mrs. Wetmore is a daughter of Lyman K. Moore, a pioneer
of Rio township, and granddaughter of Holland Moore, a soldier of the
Revolution. In politics, Mr. Wetmore is a republican. He has been Road
Commissioner and Township Collector. He is a member of the A. F. and A. M.,
Oneida Lodge, No. 337.
JOHN WILLIAMS; Farmer and Carpenter; Salem
Township; born February 15, 1832, in Canton, Illinois; educated in the common
schools. His parents were W. S. Williams, born in New York, and Elizabeth
(Sweegal) born in New Jersey. Elizabeth Sweegal's parents were natives of
Germany. Mr. John Williams married Miss A. J. Weir, at Knoxville,
October 26, 1866,they had one child, Anna, born October 31, 1870. Mrs. Williams
was born in Indiana in 1849, and died October 12, 1883. Anna married Horace
Franklin Record; they have three children: Roy, born April 7, 1893; Marie, born
November 17, 1895; and Ray, born January 15, 1897. In 1852, Mr. Williams went
overland with an ox team to Oregon, and for about twelve years followed gold
mining. In 1865, he traveled seven months in Germany. After his return home he
mined coal for about fourteen years, and then farmed until the summer of 1898,
when he started for the Klondike, via Vancouver, B.C., Schwatka, and Lake
Bennett to Dawson City, where he prospected about twenty days on Eldorado Creek,
then returned home via St. Michael and Seattle. In politics he is a republican.
FRANCIS M. WILSON;
Farmer and stockbreeder; Persifer Township; born on the home, which he now owns,
September 01, 1849; educated in Galesburg. His father, Francis Wilson, was twice
married; first , to Nancy McPherrin; the second marriage was with Elisabeth
McPherrin, both of whom were born in Ohio. Of the first marriage there were
three children; George W., Thomas and Elizabeth. His first wife died January 03,
1838. Mr. Wilson has seven children by his second wife: John; James A.,; Francis
M.; Drucilla J., and Mary ., deceased. The mother died August 15, 1882. Mr. F.
M. Wilson was married to Clara A. Thomas, in Kansas, January 13, 1886. There
were four children: Ella, who died in her ninth year; F., Earle: Harley R., and
Nellie M. Mrs. Wilson's father, William Thomas, was born in Warren County,
Indiana, in 1836, and was educated in the common schools. He married Elizabeth
Odell, of his native country; there were nine children: Adeline, James, Clara
A., Julia, Maryette, Harry, Edward, Franklin, Myrtle. Both parents are now
living in Kansas. Mr. Wilson's family came to Knox County in 1836, and settled
in Persifer Township in 1838. The ancestry of the family is Scotch-Irish and
Welsh. Mr. Wilson is one of the trustees of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In
politics, he is a democrat.
ARTHUR WYMAN; Farmer; Persifer Township, where he
was born October 02, 1870; educated in the common schools. He was married to
Fannie Farquer, July 27, 1893, in Knox County; they have three children; Clana
Gertrude, Earl G., and Lena. His father, John Wyman, was born in Ohio; his
mother's name was Katharine Mundwiler. Mr. Arthur Wyman's father came to Knox
County, Illinois, from Ohio when a young man. He had a scant savings from wages
at thirteen dollars a month while working Ohio. by hard work, careful
management, and strict economy, he has become the possessor of several farms and
much stock. He has six children, and to each of his sons, as they settle in
life, he gives a farm provided with the necessary equipments. Mr. Arthur Wyman
has one hundred and sixty acres of land; he is a successful farmer and
interested in progress of the community in which he lives. In politics, Mr.
Wyman is a republican, and was for some time a school Director.
EDWARD J. WYMAN; Farmer; Persifer Township;
born January 10, 1833, in Vinton County, Ohio, where he was educated. His
paternal grandfather, John Wyman, was a native of New York and died in Ohio in
1839, at the age of seventy-six. His father, Arthur Wyman, was born February 05,
1807, and came from Steuben County, New York; his mother Anna Salts, born June
01, 1807, was a native of Ross County, Ohio. Arthur Wyman came to Knox county
with his family of nine children in 1853. They sailed down the Ohio River from
Pomeroy, Ohio, and up the Mississippi and Illinois rivers to Peoria and thence
by wagon to the Knox County, where he bought three hundred and twenty acres of
land. He was one of the United Brethren, and was instrumental in building the
first log school in the district. He died in 1876; his wife died January 10,
1884. Edward J. Wyman was reared in Persifer Township. He has added to his first
purchase of eighty acres of land and now owns five hundred and forty-nine acres.
February 04, 1858, in Stark County, he was married to Susan Elizabeth Bradford.
Six of their children attained maturity: Mrs. Mary A. Eiker, deceased; Mrs.
Alice Steffen; William L.; Minerva J.; Clark E.; Rufus C. Mrs Wyman's Father,
Harvey Bradford, was born in Maine, September 27, 1809, and was the son of
Charles and Elizabeth Brown Bradford, who were active abolitionists and came to
Illinois in 1833. Charles and his son, Harvey S., were highly respected in the
community. Mrs. Wyman has held the office of School Treasurer for Two years. The
Bradford's were descendants of Governor William Bradford, of the Mayflower. In
religion, Mr. Wyman belongs to the United Brethren. In politics, he is a
republican, and has held numerous local offices, including that of Supervisor
for seven years, Constable eight years and Treasurer thirteen years. He has been
Director and Trustee almost continually.
JOHN WYMAN; on of
Arthur and Anna Salts Wyman, was born in Vinton County, Ohio, July 25, 1830. He
received a common school education. His father was a native of New York State.
His maternal grandfather was Edward.
Mr. Wyman came to
Persifer Township, Knox County, Illinois, when twenty-four years of age. He was
a single man, and began life on a small scale when he arrived in Illinois, he
had as capital $210 in cash, with which he bought stock and grazed and fed them.
Prospering in this undertaking, she soon after purchased eighty acres of land.
He was in debt, but was possessed with energy which insures success. He was soon
able to discharge all his indebtedness, and to engage in larger business
enterprises. He bought more stock, and purchased more land so that at one time
he owned not less than twelve hundred acres. If Mr. Wyman now possesses less
land than formerly, it is because he has adopted the plan of giving a farm to
each of his sons. Mr. Wyman is a wealthy man, a generous and kind-hearted
father. These qualities of mind and of heart are as clearly exhibited in the
wider relations of life as in those of the family. He is a good counselor, a
trusted friend, a kind neighbor, and is always ready to extend a helping hand to
the unfortunate and the distressed. Honest in his dealings with his fellowmen.
he has made it clear to those who know him that wealth may be accumulated
with taint of dishonor; that a strong purpose aided by integrity, economy, and
perseverance, is still the most potent factor in securing the double harvest of
life -- material prosperity and a noble manhood.
Mr. Wyman was
married to Hannah, daughter of Daniel Taylor, December 22, 1854. She died
April 08, 1864; there were three children; Henry, who married Lovina Montgomery;
Charles, who married Effie Wilson; and Eunice Ann, the wife of Edward Russell.
On October 17, he
married, at Knoxville, Illinois, Katharine, daughter, of Frederick and Eliza
Hammond Mundwiler. Three children were born to them: Eliza, wife of Guy Manley;
Arthur, who married Fannie Farquer; and Ida J., wife of Harvey England. Mrs.
Wyman's father was born in York Cou7nty, Pennsylvania; her mother was a native
of Franklin County, in the same state; they came to Knox County, Illinois
when Mrs. Wyman was twenty years of age.
Mr. Wyman is a
republican. He has not sought office; but for many years served his township in
the capacity of Road Commissioner, and his influence in town affairs has been
extensive and valuable.
Young; Farmer; Persifer Township; son of Robert Young; born
May 23, 1852, on the Young homestead, Section 30, Persifer Township;
educated at the Knoxville High School and Hedding College. He married
Samantha Lotts, in Haw Creek Township, December 08, 1875; there were four
children: Earl L., John R. Trella W. and Merrill. May 10, 1889, his first wife
died. November 03, 1891, he married Mary A., daughter of George England; two
children were born to them: Leon D. and an infant daughter. Mr. Young's
college education did not unfit him for farm work, and knowing that he could
make a success of farming, he chose that as his life work. He has made a
success, beginning in a small way, and now owns four hundred and sixteen acres
in Persifer Township, three hundred and seventy-five acres being in one tract
and well improved. He is a progressive farmer. He has educated his children; his
two oldest sons, Earl L. and John R. graduated a the Knoxville High School, the
former teaching his first school in the winter of 1898 and 1899. Mr. Young is a
republican in Politics, and has been supervisor ten years. He filled the office
of Road Commissioner from 1885 to 1888, and in 1888, was elected Assessor. On
the Board of Supervisors, he has been chairman of the Road and Bridge Committee
since 1894, and has rendered valuable services to the county. Mr. Young is a
member of the Modern Woodmen of America and of the A. F. and A. M. Gilson Lodge,
YOUNG; Farmer; Persifer Township, where he was born November 14, 1863.
He was educated in Knox County. His father, Robert Young, was born in Warren
County, Ohio, and his mother, Mary Fowler Johnston Young, was a native of
Claremont County, Ohio. His paternal grandfather, Jacob Young was born in
Germany; his grandmother, Elizabeth Young, was born in Philadelphia; his
maternal grandfather, Edward C. Johnston, came from New Jersey. His maternal
grandmother, Hannah Fowler Rusling Johnston, was a native of England. Mr. Robert
L. Young was married to Emma E. England, September 17, 1890. They have one
child, Harold Ewart. The parents of Mr. Young moved from Ohio to Knox County,
Illinois, in 1844, and settled on the farm where they now live. Through energy
and economy they have accumulated a large estate. Mr. Young now lives on the
farm with his father, and is successfully engaged in general farming and stock
raising. In addition, he cultivates a valuable farm of his own, consisting of
two hundred and sixty-eight acres of land. Mr. Young has always taken much
interest in the welfare of the township. In early life he taught in its schools
and has later held the offices of Highway Commissioner, School Treasurer and
School Director, the later office he is now holding for the fifth year. Mr.
Young is member of the Methodist Church. In politics, he is a republican.
Nels S. Young; Galesburg; born 1841, in Sweden;
came to Galesburg in 1864. He is a mason by trade, and worked for T. E. Smith
for twenty years. In 1886, he entered upon the business of contracting mason. He
owns a valuable farm in Knox County, and has a handsome residence on Kellogg
street, Galesburg. In 1876, Mr. Young was married to Hannah Akeyson; they
have two children, Samuel and Anna.
Wyrum Wiswell; President
of Galesburg Brick and Terra Cotta Company; Galesburg; born February 01, 1825,
in Vermont; educated in Vermont and Illinois. His parents were John and Ada
Wilard Wiswell, of Vermont, the latter of Wardsborough; his paternal
grandparents, Samuel and Saloma Oaks Wiswell, and his maternal grandparents,
Oliver and Asneth Wilard, were of Massachusetts. Mr. Wiswell was married
November 18, 1851, at Berwick, Warren County, Illinois, to Martha Sheldon.
She was born February 16, 1833, in Oneida County, New York. Their children are;
Sarah Sophronia, Laurette Wilard, and Augusta Gates. Mr. Wiswell is a member of
the Baptist Church. He is a republican.
John Wesley Maginnis; Postmaster
at Abingdon; born at Morristown, Ohio, July 10, 1838, where he was educated in
the district schools. He came to Bureau County, Illinois, in 1857. Prior to the
War, he followed the carpenter trade, but when the news of the firing on Fort
Sumpter reached him, at 9 o'clock in the morning, he left his bench, and was an
enrolled soldier before 3 o'clock the same day. He served with Company B, 67
Illinois Volunteers, until August, 01, 1862, when he was discharged on account
of illness. For twenty-five years he was in the employ of the Chicago,
Burlington, and Quincy Railroad Company at Malden and Abingdon, Illinois. to
which latter place he moved in 1866., He served four terms as collector of Cedar
Township, and for ten years a was Constable in the same township; and Bailiff in
the Knox County /Circuit Court. Mr. Maginnis' parents were Methodists, and he
has adhered to that faith during his life. In politics, he never wavered from
republicanism in its purest form. He was appointed Postmaster of Abingdon by
President McKinley in recognition of his army service and fidelity to and active
service in the republican party.
On November 27, 1868, he was married in Abingdon to Maria Jane Richey. They are
the parents of the following children: Albert Richey; Etha Mabel; Samuel Archie,
deceased; Arta Velma; Anna Maria; John Scott; and William James. Albert is a
member of Company D Sixth Illinois Volunteers. Mr. John Maginnis father was
Daniel Maginnis, a native of Loudon County, Virginia, who married Eva McClure, a
native of Pennsylvania. His paternal grandparents were natives of Ireland.
Meeks, D. E., Farmer; Chestnut Township,
born in Knox County, May 23, 1861; educated in the common schools. His father,
Abram W. Meeks, was a native of Virginia; his mother, Martha E. Bonner, was born
in Missouri. In Chestnut Township, September 01, 1886, Mr. Meeks was
married to Netta Burnside. They have two children, William B. born in April,
18888, and Fay, born March 12, 1891. Mrs. Meeks was born in Chestnut Township,
December 25, 1864, and is the daughter of William and Julian Terry Burnside, who
are now living in Galesburg. Mr. Meeks' father, Abraham W. Meeks, came from Ohio
to Knox County about forty-nine years ago and is now living at Knoxville. Mr.
Meeks' farm of two hundred and forty acres is located on Section 21. He is a
dealer in horses, cattle, hogs, and has a fine house and out-buildings. The
house is heated by a furnace. In politics, Mr. Meeks is a republican.
Reuben William Hunt
Reuben William Hunt, School
Director, Alderman, member of Library Board, member of Knox County Agricultural
City Treasurer, Supervisor,
member of Executive Committee of Knox County, President of Republican League,
was born in Brooklyn, New York, June 14, 1827. He was the son of Jeremiah North
and Elizabeth (Manley) Hunt.
His father, the fourth child
in a family of thirteen, was born in Trenton, New Jersey, in 1803.
Considering the condition of the schools in that early day, he obtained a good
practical education, and was well fitted to enter upon the active duties of
life. At different times, he became a grocer, school teacher, farmer, and
nurseryman. He engaged in business in Brooklyn and other places in the vicinity
of New York City, and about this time, married Elizabeth Manley, daughter of
Robert Manley, a minister of the Dutch Reformed Church. In 1833,
unattended, he came West and opened a store in Chicago. The next year he
settled in Naperville, Illinois, and sent for his family.
Young Reuben Hunt did not have
the advantages of a college education, but he drank deeply at the Pierian
fountains of knowledge. He availed himself of the instruction of public and
private schools, and became, through untiring energy and perseverance, a well
educated man. Both he and his brother were well versed in the Latin grammar
before they studied the English. Notwithstanding his fondness for Latin, he was
a thoughtful reader and was well posted on the current events of the day.
In youth, he was sedate and
studious, shy and retiring. He was fond of music and natural scenery -- a lover
of flowers and the
song of birds. Replying to one
who spoke of his strength and activity, he said, "When I was young in years, I
was old, and now, when I am old in years, I am young."
Mr. Hunt came to Illinois when
only seven years of age. In the Spring of 1857, he moved from Naperville to
Galesburg and established a nursery and greenhouse.
In May of the following year,
a severe wind and hail storm destroyed his entire nursery stock and swept away
his greenhouse, leaving him much in debt. Not despairing or discouraged, both
he and his faithful wife took hold with renewed energy, and finally their labors
were crowned with success.
Mr. Hunt was a member of the
Masonic fraternity, Vesper Lodge, A. F. & A. M., which he joined about 1876. He
was a member of the Galesburg Horticultural Society and the State Society,
adding much to their life and interest by his discussions and the papers that he
presented and read on his practical experiments in horticulture.
Mr. Hunt was naturally a
religious man. He united with the Baptist Church at Naperville in 1843. On his
removal to Galesburg, both he and his wife connected themselves with the
Baptists, but when the old church was divided they did not join the present
Politically, he was a whig
until the organization of the republican party. From that time until his death,
he was an earnest republican, never opposing party measures or party methods.
He was united in marriage,
November 18, 1856, to Mary (Wolcott) Hunt, his brother Robert's widow,
daughter of Asa and Elizabeth (Stanton) Wolcott, who was born at Coburg,
Canada, October 2, 1825. To them were born three daughters and one son, Mary
Elizabeth, Julia (Rogers), Lillie, and Reuben W., Jr.
Mr. Hunt possessed many
Christian graces. He was always generous and kind, aiding those around him by
his counsel, and bestowing his sympathies upon the unfortunate and despairing.
He was charitable and hospitable, true to his friends and ever ready to serve
them. He was fond of his home and home joys, uniformly sweet-tempered and
loving in his family, and thoughtful of their welfare and comfort. He was
always cheerful and always had a pleasant word for every one.
He was fond of both prose and
poetry and could express his thoughts clearly in either. His writings were of
the incisive and laconic style, as the following extract will show: "Faith
reaches, prayer opens, but purity of heart alone enters the portals of Heaven."
Mr. Hunt had two marked
characteristics: honesty of purpose and purity of action. He lived the life of
a Christian and died
emailed to me by Karen Hammer, county webmaster for Peoria and Stark co., IL
my note redid page 05/21/2006
Biographies below were all typed by Kathy Mills whom I bought her a reproduction
of this book to be able to put these online without having to copy from the
originals and mail to her. Saves me money in the long run as anyone who
says that genealogy is free is out of their minds....
Adams, Ziba: Farmer and carpenter, Elba Township, born in Luzerne
County, Pennsylvania September 10, 1820 and educated in the common schools. His
father was Hazard Adams of Connecticut, and the mother was Elizabeth Adams of
He was married in Knox County April 8, 1847 to Lelilah Gulett. She was born
December 18, 1828. Their children are: Barbara Elizabeth, born Dec 1, 1848; Mary
Anna, born Jan 5, 1854; Angeline, born Oct 25, 1852, died Dec 26, 1856; Villa M.
born Sept. 22, 1858; John A. born Oct. 22, 1863; Austin, born Oct 3, 1866;
Claude May born Dec 16, 1871.
Mr. Adams took the overland trip to California in 1852, and returned to Elba
Township in 1854. He has an excellent farm of one thousand acres in Sections
17-18, and raises stock and horses. He was a practical carpenter for thirty
years. His grandfather was with Marion during the Revolutionary War. Mr. Adams
is a member of the Methodist Church. In politics he is a democrat.
Adams, Austin; Farmer; Persifer Township'
born October 03, 1868, in Elba Township, Knox County, Illinois. His Father,
Ziba Adams, and his mother Delia Gullet, were natives of Ohio. He received
his education in Elba Township and in Galesburg. Mr. Adams was married to
Susie Rafferty, March 15, 1899, at Peoria, Illinois. Mr. Adam's father came
from Ohio to Knox County about 1846, and settled in Persifer Township, and later
removed to Elba Township. In early life he worked on a farm and in 1892, began
farming for himself in Persifer Township. Mr. Adams has those habits of
industry and economy which are at once the prerequisites and the harbingers of
success. In religious belief, Mr. Adams is a Methodist. He is a democrat.
Foxie's Note: Ziba Adams also
has a biography in this book and on this site at in this book; one in the
1886 Portrait & Biographical Album of Knox County, IL, too.
Albro, Alexander W.,
merchant and farmer; Galva, Henry County and Lynn Township, Knox County; born
November 23, 1824, in Warren County, New York. His parents were Samuel and Polly
(Green) Albro. His father was a soldier in the war of 1812, and secured 160
acres of land in Lynn Township on a soldier’s warrant, which he settled upon and
improved, coming to Knox County in 1835, the first settler south of Fraker’s
Grove on Walnut Creek.
Mr. Albro was married to Emily Spaulding Feb. 19, 1846. They have two children
living: Ester Ann, wife of Job Babbett; and Hattie H., wife of Chauncy Beadle;
both reside in the State of Nebraska.
It was in June 1855 that he became a resident of Galva. He kept hotel, store,
and livery barn, was prosperous in his business, and became one of Galva’s
prominent citizens. He is also one of the directors and principal stock holders
of the Galva Gas Works. In Douglas County, Nebraska, he has 440 acres of land
and another farm in Saunders County of the same state.
In 1862, Mr. Albro enlisted in Company G One Hundred and Twelfth Regiment
Illinois Volunteers, and was Captian of the Company, Colonel Thomas J.
Henderson, now General, commanding the regiment. After serving nearly two years,
he resigned on account of the death of two of his children.
Mr. Albro is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic. In politics, he is a
republican. He was Revenue Assessor for two years after the war, during the time
of “income taxation”.
Allen, Judson Wright,
son of Barber and Mary (Chappel) Allen, was born in Cayuga County, New York,
June 14, 1830. Barber Allen was born in Massachusetts, and was a soldier in the
War of 1812.
J. W. Allen received his education in Galesburg. His first effort at
self-support was when, in the early pioneer days, as a teamster, he hauled pork
from Galesburg to Peoria. He afterwards bought a farm of four hundred acres in
Ontario Township, part of which he later disposed of, and bought land near
Oneida, to which he gradually added until he owned a farm of 330 acres of
Mr. Allen was married in Knox County December 4, 1856, to Nancy W. Kiger. Four
children have been born to them: William L.; Mrs. Mary Mitchell; Mrs. Jessie E.
Kourthour; and Mrs. R. Rose Brainard, who died at the age of twenty-one.
Mr. Allen is a well informed and broad-minded man. Among his many interests,
aside from his duties as a progressive and up-to-date farmer, may be mentioned
the subject of education, to the advancement of which he has given much time and
attention. He is a member of the Congregational Church of which he was a trustee
for twelve years. In politics, he is a republican, and was Supervisor for four
years, 1882 to 1886, during which period the present handsome court house at
Galesburg was erected. He has been Alderman of Oneida for twelve years, which is
but one of the many evidences he has received of the confidence and esteem of
his fellow citizens.
Allen, Wilford L.,
farmer, Ontario Township, born Oct 31, 1857; educated in Oneida, Knox County.
He was married to Gertrude L. Finley, in Ontario Township, Feb. 20, 1890. Mrs.
Wilford Allen is a daughter of J. Alexander Finley, a representative citizen of
Mr. Allen has been a farmer all his life. In religion he is a Congregationalist.
He is a republican.
Anderson, Anders J.,
merchant; Altona, Walnut Grove Township; born in Sweden, March 27, 1843;
educated in the common schools. He came to America in 1852, and to Altona in
1857. Mr. Anderson was clerk in the stores at Altona till 1875, when he opened a
grocery store, which he has since conducted, excepting four years between
1884-88. The firm is now Updyke and Company.
Mr. Anderson was a republican, but of late years he has voted with the
prohibitionists; he is active in town affairs; has been Village Trustee, and a
member of the School Board. He is a member of the Congregational Church.
He was married to Margaret Olson, in Altona, Dec. 25, 1868.
Borland, banker; Ontario Township; born Sept 10, 1832 in Scotland,
where he was educated. His parents were James and Mary (Borland) Anderson, of
Ayrshire, Scotland. His grandparents were James Anderson, born near Glasgow,
Scotland, and Andrew Borland, of Ayrshire, Scotland.
He was married to Mary A. McQuie at Oneida, Illinois, Dec. 21, 1860. They have
three children: William H.; John H.; and Mary E., who is the wife of Dr. A. F.
At the age of eighteen, Mr. Anderson came to America and located at Paris,
Ontario, where he worked at his trade of blacksmithing. In 1852, he came to
Victoria, Knox Co, IL. and in 1857, to Oneida, where he opened a shop. In 1864
he bought a half interest in a hardware store which he managed for five years.
In 1874 he began private banking and in 1877, formed a partnership, and operated
under the firm name of Anderson and Murdoch, of the Oneida Exchange Bank. Mr.
Anderson became a member of the Masonic fraternity in Oneida in 1861, and is a
member of the I.O.O.F. Oneida Lodge. He has held many offices in these orders.
In politics, Mr. Anderson is independent. Foxie's note: has bio in
1886 P & B Album.
Anderson, Reuben Ballou,
Oneida, Ontario Township, harness-maker; born April 20, 1838 near Dayton, Ohio.
He is of Scotch-Irish descent on his father’s side, his great-grandfather and
great-grandmother being Scotch and Irish respectively. His grandfather was born
in South Carolina and was married to Mary Penny, a native
of the same State. His father, John P. Anderson, was born in Glasgo,
Kentucky, and was married to Anna Markham, who was
born in Tennessee, and was a daughter of Beverly Markham, who was born in
England, and of Elizabeth (Ward) Markham, of Hanover County, Virginia. Elizabeth
Markham was a first cousin of Henry Clay and was his first teacher.
Mr. John P. Anderson came to Galesburg, IL., Oct 30, 1848, with his family.
After a residence here of ten years, he moved to Lowell, Des Moines County,
Iowa, where he died in Feb, 1861 at the age of fifty-six. His wife died in
Galesburg in Aug. 1852.
Mr. Reuben B. Anderson was educated in Knox Co. and
married Marrietta Grosscup, Aug. 17, 1862. Jonathan
Blanchard, formerly President of Knox College, and now President of Wheaton
College, performing the ceremony. Eight children were born to them: Frank F;
Alice F; Charles L.; Ira R.; Anna R.; Kate C., deceased; Carl; and Mary E. Ira
R. Anderson is now on the United States cruiser Prairie.
Until the age of twenty Mr. Anderson was engaged in farming. He then learned the
harness-maker’s trade at Oquawka, and practiced it for a short time at Quincy
and Burlington as a government employee. Returning to Galesburg, he engaged in
business until Aug. 11, 1862, when he joined Company D, One Hundred and Second
Volunteer Infantry. He served until the end of the war, participating in the
battles of Resaca, New Hope Church, Peach Tree Creek, and was in the siege and
battle of Atlanta, at Aversboro and at Bentonville. He marched with Sherman to
the sea and through the Carolinas, and took part in the grand review at
After two years of business life in Galesburg, he went to Oneida, where he
engaged in his trade until May 16, 1898, when he went to Rock Island to work in
the harness department of the United States arsenal, where he is now employed.
He is a member of the Congregational Church. In politics, he is independent.
Anderson, Samuel Burns,
born in 1801 in Greenbriar County, Virginia. His father, Archibald Anderson, was
a native of the same State. In 1829, near Union, Ohio, he married Miss Irene F.
Watts. Six children were born to them: Mrs. Elizabeth Huggins; Henry Clay
(deceased); Daniel W., of Oregon; Mrs. Malinda A. Wright (deceased); Mrs. Mary
E. Couse (deceased); and Samuel C. (deceased).
Both Mr. and Mrs. Anderson were brought up by the Shakers of Union Village,
Ohio. Mr. Anderson went to them when he was only seven years old, and from them
learned his trade, that of a blacksmith, which he followed many years. He was
also a good machinist and turner, having served an apprenticeship of seven years
in these trades. He was a giant in strength, one of his feats being to lift two
anvils by the horns and strike them together.
After his marriage, Mr. Anderson settled in Monroe, Butler Co, OH. In 1825, he
moved to Knox Co., IL. and settled in Haw Creek and Orange townships, opening a
shop and also farming one hundred and sixty acres of land. He brought with him
from Ohio three short-horn cattle, among the first in the county, and from them
raised a valuable herd. He was also for a long time the largest buyer of hogs in
the county, driving them to Peoria and Galena.
Mr. Anderson was County Commissioner when there were but three in the county,
which office he held for many years. At that time there was but one pauper in
the entire county, and Mr. Anderson kept and cared for her. In politics, he was
Mr. Anderson died at the age of 72, honored and respected by the community. His
wife died at the age of 86.
Andrews, John W.,
Farmer, Walnut Grove Township; born Oct. 3, 1845, in Ayrshire, Scotland;
educated in the common schools.
He was married to Elizabeth Scott, in Alton, Dec. 25, 1877.
He came to Walnut Grove Township in 1855. Mr. Andrews is a stock buyer and
farmer. He takes an active part in town affairs, and was elected Supervisor in
1878, holding the office eight years. He also served on the School Board for
fifteen years, and is a member of the Library Board. For twenty years Mr.
Andrews has been a member and Trustee of the Presbyterian Church.
Lawrence, Stockman and Farmer; Lynn Township; born in Sweden, June 7,
1836; educated in his native land. His parents, Peter M. and Anna (Hendrickson)
Appell, were natives of Sweden. Mr. Appell came to America with his parents and
six brothers and sisters in 1852, landing in New York City. They were nine weeks
in a sailing vessel. The father and two children died of cholera in Chicago,
where they had been only one week. Two other children died after the family had
reached Victoria, Knox Co., IL.
The family lived three miles East of Victoria and depended much upon Charles L.
as the oldest, for support. Later the mother made her home at his house where
she died in 1889, honored and respected, nearly eighty years of age.
For nearly ten years, Mr. Appell worked for others, though part of this time he
worked with his brothers, Alfred and Andrew, upon eighty acres of land which his
mother bought with money she brought from the old country. In 1862, the family
moved to Indiana, where Mr. Appell teamed for more than three years, and where
he met the one who became his wife.
Nov. 11, 1863 he was married, in Attica, Indiana, to Johanna Sophia, daughter of
Lars and Anna (Johnson) Anderson, who came to the United States from Sweden in
1852, settled in Indiana, and died in Paxton, IL., where they had moved to
educate their children.
Mr. and Mrs. Appell have had eleven children: Lydia, wife of Rev. G. A.
Brandelle, Denver, Colorado; Alfred, a Lutheran minister in Peoria, IL; Hanna
Charlotte; Carl John, an attorney; Amanda Sophia; August Louis; Edward Joseph;
Alfrida Henrietta; Ferdinand Laurence; Martin Philip; and Edith Wilhelmina.
After the war, Mr. Appell returned to Lynn Township where he has been a
successful farmer; he is one of the largest land-owners in the county. In
religion, he is a Lutheran. He is a republican.
Arbogast, Lou P.,
son of Jesse and Susan (Stoner) Arbogast, was born Jan. 1, 1844, in Wabash Co,
IN. His father was born in Harris Co, VA to Peter and Christina Arbogast, and
his mother was born in Baltimore, Maryland, to Henry and Susan Stoner; his
grandparents came from Germany.
Mr. Arbogast came with his parents from Indiana to Fulton Co, IL in 1854, and to
McDonough Co, IL. in 1855, where his parents died. In 1865 he removed to
Farmington, IL, and thence, in 1870, to Salem Township, where he located on
Section 19. His farm, three miles south of Douglas, contains three hundred and
twenty acres of land, and is known as the “Lone Birch Stock Farm”. He has been
an extensive raiser of stock, principally “Short Horn” cattle and Poland China
Mr. Arbogast was married in Galesburg Feb. 18, 1875 to Esther E. Potter, who was
born in Salem Township. Her parents were Norman Z. and Charlotte (Blakeslee)
Potter, both of whom died at the old homestead in Salem Township.
Mr. and Mrs. Arbogast have one son, Norman P., born June 18, 1882. In politics,
Mr. Arbogast is a republican, and has held the office of Road Commissioner two
terms; he has been Assessor, School Director and School Trustee, holding the
latter offices many years. He was a leader in the organization of the Cemetery
Association, of Uniontown, and served as Trustee twenty years. He is a dealer in
all kinds of fruit, such as blackberries, strawberries, raspberries, prunes,
apricots, peaches, pears, and apples.
Farmer; Lynn Township; born July 11, 1873 in Stark Co, IL; educated in
Lafayette. His father, Frank P. Atherton, was born June 5, 1851, in Stark Co,
IL.; his mother, Alice (Hoxton) Atherton, was born Dec. 5, 1850, in
Pennsylvania; his grandparents, Joseph and Eliza (Simmons) Atherton, were born
He was married to Phebe White, in Toulon, IL. October 19, 1892. They have one
child, Ralph V., born Nov. 1894.
Mr. Atherton has a farm of 160 acres. He is a member of Walnut Grange, No. 1653;
he is also a member of the Lafayette Band. In religious belief, he is a
Methodist. He is a democrat.
Baer, Eli F.,
Farmer, Henderson Township;
born Jan. 11, 1863, in Henry Co., IL; educated in Westfield College, IL. His
parents, who were natives of Franklin Co., PA. were: David F. Baer
born May 11, 1827, and died July 18, 1890, and Susanna (Rine) Baer
born April 28, 1825; his grandparents were David and Elizabeth (Flickinger)
, of Lancaster Co, PA; his maternal grandparents were Michael
of Lancaster Co, PA., and Elizabeth (Dunkle) Rine
Hagerstown, Maryland; his great-grandparents were Michael Dunkle and
Mr. Baer was married to Angie Waters at
Gilson, IL. May 25, 1898. Mr. Baer is a prohibitionist. In religion he
belongs to the United Brethren in Christ.
Baird, Benjamin P., son of W.
H. and Elizabeth (Farwell) Baird, was born in Pennsylvania, Mar. 19,
1855. His paternal grandparents were Benjamin and Ellen Baird of
Pennsylvania, and the parents of his mother were James and Permelia
Farwell of the same State.
Mr. Baird came with his father to Elba Township, where they located
on Section 4. He was educated at Hedding College, Abingdon, IL. At the age
of twenty-two he began farming for himself, and he now owns a very fine farm
of three hundred and sixty acres on Section 16 of Elba Township, where he is
quite an extensive breeder of fine horses.
His first marriage was to Mary E. Oberholtzer, who was born
in Truro Township, Oct. 22, 1859, and died June 13, 1880. Her parents were
Joseph and Anna Oberholtzer, residents of Truro. By this
marriage Mr. Baird has one son, Newton Homer, who was born Oct. 1,
1878, and is a student in Knox College, Galesburg, IL.
Mr. Baird married a second time, Feb. 22, 1882, to Josephine G.
Gray, who was born July 29, 1861. Her parents are Lemuel Gray and
Mary Ann (Swegie) Gray, now living in Farmington, IL. The children by
this marriage are Willie L., born April 5, 1883; Leo P., born
July 12, 1885; Lois I., born April 22, 1887; Eva L., born Sept
7, 1889; Forest Gray, born Dec. 21, 1890.
Mr. Baird has been Road Commissioner for the township of Elba, and
has served as School Director sixteen years. He is a member of the Methodist
Episcopal Church, and a republican in politics.
Baird, James Ogden, Farmer; Elba
Township; born in Pennsylvania April 6, 1853. His parents, William H.
Baird, born April 6, 1820, and Elizabeth J. (Farwell) came from
Pennsylvania. His paternal grandparents were Benjamin and Ellen Baird,
the former a native of Pennsylvania. His maternal grandparents were James
and Permelia Farwell, natives of Pennsylvania.
Sept. 17, 1874, Mr. Baird was married in Kickapoo, Peoria Co., to
Adelia J. Brown; she was born in Kickapoo Feb. 25, 1851, and was the
daughter of Jeremiah and Jemimah Brown. They had three children:
Grace E., born Sept 8, 1876, died July 11, 1890; Byron L., born
Nov. 22, 1877; Ralph O., born Sept 8, 1883. Mrs. Baird’s parents are
Mr. Baird came from Pennsylvania with his father in 1856, and
settled in the township of Elba, on a farm on the same section, which is
still his home. He is on Section 4, southeast quarter, which is on the main
road between Williamsfield and Yates City. He is a large raiser of horses
and hogs. His son, Byron, has a good education and is now with a real
estate firm in Iowa. Ralph is on the farm.
Mr. Baird was Supervisor from Dec. 1889 until April 1893. In
politics he is a democrat.
Baird, John M., Williamsfield, Truro
Township; Lumber Dealer; born July 15, 1863, in Knox County; educated in
Abingdon, IL. His parents, William H. and Elizabeth Jane (Farwell) Baird,
were born in Pennsylvania.
Sept. 9, 1844, in Elba Township, Mr. Baird was married to
Florence R. Sumner, who was born Dec. 16, 1861. Mr. and Mrs. Baird have
two children: Una C., born Dec. 4, 1888; Vesper E., born Aug.
6, 1892. Mrs. Baird is a member of the Eastern Star Lodge. Mr. Baird has
been President of the Town Board. He is a member of the K. of P., No. 523,
Williamsfield. He is an extensive dealer in lumber. In politics he is a
Baird, W. S., Farmer, Williamsfield,
Elba Township; born Nov. 12, 1859, in Elba Township; educated at Hedding
College, Abingdon, IL. His parents, William H. Baird and Elizabeth
(Farwell) were born in Clinton County. His paternal grandfather was
Henry Baird; his maternal grandfather, Farwell, was a native of
Jan. 18, 1883, he was married in Elba Township to Clara I.
Sherman. She was born July 26, 1864 and is a daughter of John W. and
Ann Maria (Bradford) Sherman.
There are two children, Edith L, born Jan. 8, 1884, and
Floyd S., born Aug. 31, 1886. Mrs. Baird’s parents are living in Elba
Township. Mr. Baird has a fine farm of two hundred and nineteen acres on
Section 4, Elba Township, where his father lived for thirty-five years.
Baird, William H., born April 6,
1820, in Clinton Co, PA, on the west branch of the Susquehanna River. His
parents were Benjamin and Ellen (Summerson) Baird. Benjamin Baird
was a native of Pennsylvania, and lived in Clinton Co. from his earliest
youth. Ellen Summerson was a native of England, and came to America
with her parents when she was an infant. They were married in 1817 and were
the parents of eleven children, none of whom, six boys and three girls,
attained maturity, William H. being the eldest.
Mr. Baird’s childhood was passed on the farm, and in the forests
and along the streams of his native State. He was a lover of nature, and an
adept with rod and gun. His education was limited, being confined to
branches taught in the common schools. He afterwards taught in the schools
of his county. He farmed for several years, during part of which time he
worked in the forest, felling trees, moving them on the snow to the streams,
and rafting them to distant saw-mills during the spring freshets. In 1848,
with the aid of his father, he invested in a quarter section of land in what
is now Elba Township, Knox Co, IL, where he moved with his family in 1856,
settling on the northeast quarter of Section 4. He resided there until his
death, which occurred on the thirty-fourth anniversary of the date of their
arrival in the county, June 2nd. He was a successful farmer, and
made additions to his farm from time to time.
Mr. Baird was married to Elizabeth Jane Farwell, May 22,
1850. She was born May 15, 1821, in Clinton Co, PA. Her parents were of
German, Irish, and Scotch descent. There were six children: Jerusha Grace,
now Mrs. Wheeler; James Ogden; Benjamin Preston; Leroy Joseph;
William Sebastian; and John McClellan.
Mr. Baird was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church in
Pennsylvania. His life was moral and upright, and old associates aver they
never heard him utter a profane word. His wife always affiliated with the
Methodist Episcopal Church people, but was not a member of any church.
Politically Mr. Baird was a democrat. He was a modest, unassuming
man, precise in his methods, industrious and frugal. He was a friend of the
church and of education, contributing liberally to their support; he was a
School Director during most of his life in Illinois. Both his precept and
his example were in accord with right action. He found true pleasure in
associating with old friends, and greatly enjoyed telling comic tales with
his family about him to join in the merriment. He was a life long sufferer
from asthma, which, with other infirmities, caused his death June 2, 1890,
shortly after completing his seventieth year. A few months afterward, his
wife built a comfortable home in Williamsfield, a few miles from the old
farm, where she lives, surrounded by her children.
Barlow, Gideon A., Prominent among
the successful farmers of Knox County was Gideon A. Barlow, who resided in
Lynn Township, where he had an excellently improved farm of six hundred
acres. He was born in Sullivan County, NY, July 18, 1833. His parents,
Nathan and Athalia (Gillett) Barlow, were natives of the State of New
York, and came to Illinois in 1838. They settled in Lafayette, Stark Co.,
and two years later removed to Lynn Township, and located on Section
24. Nathan Barlow erected a country tavern at Fraker’s Grove, known as the
Travelers’ Home, a great resort in 1849-50-51 for travelers on their way to
the gold fields of California. In 1852, he sold the Travelers’ Home, went to
Lafayette, and conducted the Lafayette House until 1862. His wife having
died in 1859, he lived with his son, Gideon A., until his death Feb.
Gideon A. was the second of three sons who lived to
manhood. He was educated in the common schools of Knox County. May 20, 1856,
in Toulon, Stark Co., Mr. Barlow was married to Martha Peterson, who
was born in Sweden, Oct, 8, 1838. Mrs. Barlow came with her parents to the
United States when she was but seven years of age. Her parents were
connected with the Johnson colony, but left it and settled in Copley
Township, Knox County. Her mother died in Copley Township, and her father
removed to Henry County.
Mr. and Mrs. Barlow had eight children: Ames A., William F.,
Gideon B., Mrs. Ada L. Swickard, Edgar S., John Franklin, Forest S.,
and Lewis W. Lewis W. and John Franklin reside in St. Joseph,
Missouri; Amos A. in Galesburg; Edgar S. is in the grocery business in
Galva, IL.; Willard F., Gideon B., Ada L., and Forest S. in Lynn Township.
It was when Mr. Barlow was twenty-three years old that, taking his
father’s advice he entered upon the task of making a farm from eighty acres
of unbroken land, which his father had given him in Lynn Township. His faith
and enthusiasm gave him perseverance and courage, and his small beginning
became one of the best farms in Knox County.
Mr. Barlow was a member of the Baptist Church. Politically he was a
republican, and held many local offices. His death occurred Dec. 10, 1898.
Mr. Barlow’s third son, Gideon B., was born in Lynn
Township, Knox Co., Oct. 4, 1862, and received his education in Galva, Henry
Co., IL. and in Davenport, Iowa. Feb. 15, 1888 in Galesburg, he was married
to Carolina Peterson, who was born Jan. 5, 1859; they have had four
children: Ada Louise and Ernest Austin, born Sept. 10, 1890;
Willie F. born June 6, 1893; and George Gideon, born Mar 23,
1895. He is a farmer and stock raiser, feeding about twenty-five head of
cattle and a hundred head of hogs. In religion, he is a Methodist. In
politics he is a republican, he has held the office of school director.
Mr. Barlow’s sixth son, Forrest Samuel, was born Mar. 5,
1874, on the old Barlow homestead, and received his education in the common
schools of Knox County, and at the Galva, Henry County High School. Jan. 16,
1895 he married Nellie, daughter of Richard Payne of Galva;
they have two children: Amy A. and Richard P. Politically he is a
Beals, John Ashley, born in
Wells, Rutland Co, VT. Feb. 9, 1828. The Beals family came from England to
America in 1638, and settled in Massachusetts. Mr. Beals’ paternal
grandfather, Caleb Beals, was a native of that State, as was also his
father, David Beals, who was born in Plainfield, MA. His mother,
Sarah, daughter of David Keyes, was born at Middleton, VT.
Mr. Beals received his education at Castleton Academy, Castleton,
Vermont, and in 1850, was appointed by the American Board of Foreign
Missions, to whom he had offered his services, manager of the Indian farm at
Ianuba, now Stockbridge Station, Indian Territory, where he was employed
from 1850 to 1853. These years, spent with the Indian Nation of the
Choctaws, were three of the most interesting of his life. It was on his
return from the Indian Territory to Vermont, that he passed through Knox
County and stopped at Victoria, where his friends, Mr. and Mrs. Lewis
Bissell, former teachers among the Indians, resided; and it was then
that he determined to return to Knox County and make it his home.
March 2, 1854, in Castleton, Vermont. Mr. Beals was married to
Jane E., daughter of Alvin Loveland, a merchant and manufacturer
of boots and shoes. Mr. Beals had been reared upon a farm, and as soon as he
was married, started at once for Knox County, where he finally settled upon
a farm of eighty acres on Section 7, Lynn Township, to which he added
another eighty, and later, forty acres more. Mr. Beals had prospered as a
farmer, and his life and character has been above reproach; he is respected
and honored by all who know him. In religion he is a Congregationalist, and
has given much time and wise effort to the Sunday school work. He is now
President of the Lynn Township Sunday School Association. In politics, he is
Six children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Beals, five of whom are now
living. Mrs. Emily Hunting; Mrs. Alice L. Foote; Mrs. Mary E. Foster;
Mrs. Hattie Betts; William E. and Arthur R., deceased. Mrs. Beals
died July 2, 1891, aged 63 years.
Beamer, Frank S., Mr. Frank S.
Beamer is a careful and thrifty farmer, and one of the successful men in
Persifer Township. He was born Mar 10, 1844 in Gettysburg, Adams Co, PA.,
and received his education in the same county. The family is of German
descent. His paternal grandfather died in Maryland. Jacob Beamer,
father of Frank S., was born in Carroll Co, Maryland, and died in
Gettysburg, PA. His mother, Ann Polly, was a daughter of John
Wentz; she died in Gettysburg.
Mr. Beamer was reared on a farm in Adams Co, PA. In Oct. 1862, at
the age of eighteen, he enlisted for nine months in Company G, One
Hundred and Fifteenth Regiment of Pennsylvania troops, taking the place
of a poor cousin who was the head of a large family; the consideration he
received from his cousin for this service, was a horse. He served in the
Department of Fortress Monroe until July 1863, when he was honorably
discharged. In August 1864, he re-enlisted in an independent company of
U. S. Cavalry, for one hundred days. Feb. 15, 1865, he enlisted in
Company G of the Seventy-fourth Pennsylvania Volunteers, and was
honorably discharged September 1865. After the war, Mr. Beamer remained in
Pennsylvania until the spring of 1867. It was on the 18th of
March of that year that he arrived in Knoxville, IL., where he bought a team
with money he had saved while he was in the army, and went to farming two
miles north of Gilson. He lived nine years on a farm in Knox Township, and
bought one hundred and sixty acres of land in Persifer Township, the
southwest quarter of Section 8, where he removed in the spring of 1877 and
began to improve the farm. He has given especial attention to stock-raising,
and it is in this that he has had the greatest success. He not only feeds
his cattle all the grain from his farm, but buys a large amount for the same
purpose. He now owns three hundred and ninety five acres of land.
February 25, 1869, Mr. Beamer was married in Knoxville to Mary E.,
daughter of James England, deceased, formerly of Bedford County
Pennsylvania. Mr. and Mrs. Beamer have had two children: Harry E.;
and Maggie A., wife of Charles Myers.
Mr. Beamer is a member of the G. A. R. at Knoxville. In politics he
is a republican; he has been Road Commissioner, and has held school offices.
Becker, Frederick, Farmer; Copley
Township; born Oct. 29, 1840 in Otsego Co., N.Y.; educated in the district
school, Charlottesville Seminary, Fergusonville Academy (New York), and at a
select school in Illinois. His parents were Frederick and Catharine (Tenbroeck)
Becker. The ancestors of the Becker family came from Germany, settled in
New Jersey, removed to Albany County, N.Y., and thence to South Worcester,
Otsego County. The father of Mr. Becker died Feb. 8, 1841, aged thirty-one
and a half years.
Mr. Becker came to Victoria in the spring of 1857; he taught school
in the winter and clerked and engaged in farm work in the summer. In 1863 he
rented a farm, and in 1869, purchased the farm on Section 13, where he now
resides. He was married to Jane, a daughter of Rev. J. Hedstrom. Mr.
Becker said: “I have lived in Copley Township about forty years and have
been associated with a thrifty, energetic and ambitious class of farmers;
one of the important lessons to be learned in life is, ‘do something with
energy’.” Mr. Becker has filled official positions in the township, and
for several years has been a member of the Board of Supervisors.
Becker, Lewis, Knoxville; Physician;
born in Clarksville, Tennessee, Oct. 15,1864; educated in Galesburg, IL. His
father, Lother Becker, was born in Germany; his mother, Mary
(Smith) in Vermont. His maternal grandparents, Loren and Eliza
(Bemis) Smith, were natives of Vermont. Dr. Becker studied medicine one
year at Michigan University, Ann Arbor, and graduated from the Chicago
Medical College in 1888. He has had a successful practice at Knoxville. He
is a member of the Presbyterian Church. In politics he is a republican.
Oct. 11, 1888 Dr. Becker married Addie H. Rearick in
Galesburg; they have three children: Harry F., F. Marjorie, and L.
Bennett, Joseph, deceased; Farmer:
Haw Creek Township; born in Milton, Saratoga Co, N.Y., Nov. 22, 1818. His
parents were William Bennett and Lydia (Hathaway).
Aug. 25, 1839 he was married to Lois C. Wilcox in Onandaga
Co, N.Y. Four of their children are living: Mrs. Hellenda L. Pearce,
Chicago; Mrs. L. Adeline Foote, Kansas; Mrs. Lois A. Housh;
and Joseph Bennett, Jr.
Mrs. Bennett’s father, Asel Wilcox, a native of
Massachusetts, was a pioneer of Illinois, and bought several farms, one of
them, on which his daughter settled, being located in Knox County; he was a
Master Mason. His daughter Lois C. was born Nov. 6, 1813 in Manlius,
Onandaga Co., N.Y. His wife Hellenda (Foster) was a native of New
York. Lois C. (Wilcox) Bennett was educated in New York and taught
school there for ten years. At the age of thirteen she joined the Methodist
Episcopal Church and has been a member for more than 73 years, and a Sunday
school teacher for nearly 70 years. She is a remarkable woman and a good
manager, and at the age of 85 her mind is bright and active.
Joseph Bennett, senior, and family came to Illinois in 1855, and to
Knox County in 1858. They settled in Haw Creek Township, where the family
owned one hundred and sixty acres of land, to which Mrs. Bennett later added
ninety acres. Mr. Bennett was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In
politics he was a republican. He died in Haw Creek Township Nov. 11, 1875.
Benson, Tufve, Farmer; Sparta
Township; born near Christianstadt, Sweden, Aug. 27, 1838. His parents were
Bengt and Hannah Nelson of Sweden. At the early age of sixteen, in
1855, he came to Warren Co, IL, where his brother Olof had preceded
him. After spending five years as a farm hand, he purchased sixty acres of
land in Warren Co. and began farming for himself.
April 11, 1861, he was married in Monmouth to Catherine Ellison,
daughter of Nels and Permelia Ellison, she having emigrated from
Sweden with her parents in 1851, when ten years of age. Three children:
Samuel David; Carrie, wife of Henry Gehring; Hannah, wife
of George Behringer, were born to them in Warren Co.
In 1867, Mr. Benson, with his family, moved into Knox County, and
settled south of Wataga. Here Edith (deceased), Ida May, and
Ira Edward were born. In 1875, Mr. Benson bought a farm of one
hundred and twenty-nine acres on Section 8, Sparta Township, where he now
resides. At this place three children were born to them: Harvey Russel,
Jeannette, and Hazle June. Samuel D. is a successful
merchant in Chicago, and owns five hundred acres of land in Marion Co, IL. Ira
E. is a former railroad employee, and when a soldier in the late war,
was stationed in Porto Rico. Jeanette is a Normal student at Austin,
Mr. Benson has been successful, and is a highly respected
farmer. In religion he is Lutheran; in politics a republican.
Bird, William Benjamin,
Farmer; Salem Township; born in Canada, Nov. 10, 1850; educated in the
common schools. His parents, Stephen and Ann Bird, were born in
Ireland, as was also his maternal grandfather, William Bird. Stephen
Bird came to Canada when a young man and thence to this country, Aug. 16,
1864, and now lives in Yates City, at the age of 82. Mr. W. B. Bird came to
Elmwood, IL. in 1864, and has lived since then in that vicinity, except
three years, when he was in the west.
Sept. 18, 1878 he was married in Salem Township to Mary E. Bliss;
she was born Aug. 16, 1860 and is the daughter of C. and Angelina (Smith)
Bliss, both of whom are now living in Yates City.
There are 3 children: Arthur L, born May 5, 1881; Harlem
W., born Oct 18, 1884; Forrest W., born June 1, 1892.
In religious belief the family are Methodists. In politics Mr. Bird
is a republican.
Bliss, Clarence M., Farmer; Yates
City; Salem Township; born in Peoria County, Aug. 17, 1857; educated in
Yates City. His father, Cyrus Bliss, was born in Chautauqua County,
N. Y., May 23, 1834; his mother, Angeline (Smith) Bliss, was born in
Indiana County, PA, July 18, 1833. Cyrus Bliss’ parents were Zenas
Bliss, born in Vermont, in 1765, and Mabel (Gilit) Bliss. Mrs.
Cyrus Bliss’ parents were Elijah and Susan W. (Brown) Smith.
Feb. 8, 1883 Mr. Bliss married, in Salem Township, Ella B.
Carroll; of this union there are three children: Walter C. born
Mar. 21, 1886; Herbert G, born Aug. 12, 1888; and Angie May,
born Feb. 28, 1894.
Mrs. Bliss was born in Knox County, Oct. 25, 1861, daughter
of William and Jane (Lucas) Carroll, both of whom are still living at
Middle Grove, Fulton Co, IL.
Mr. Bliss has a farm of two hundred and eight acres, with fine
buildings, on Section 13, Salem Township, one and one-half miles southeast
of Yates City. He and his wife are members of the Presbyterian Church, of
which Mr. Bliss is an Elder and Trustee. He has held the office of School
Director for a number of years. In politics he is a republican.
Bliss, Cyrus, Retired Farmer; Yates
City, Salem Township; born May 23, 1834 in Chautauqua County, N. Y.;
educated in the common schools. His father, Z. G. Bliss, was born May
12, 1793 in Shaftsbury, Vermont; his mother Mabel (Gillett) was born
in Hartford, CT., July 3, 1798. They died at Princeville, the former, Dec.
25, 1868, the latter, June, 1882. Z. G. Bliss’ parents were Zenas and
Sarah (Auton) Bliss, the former born in Vermont in 1765.
Feb. 25, 1855, Mr. Cyrus Bliss married Angeline J. Smith in
Knox Co, IL.; she was born July 18, 1833 in Indiana Co, PA., and was the
daughter of Elijah and Susan M. (Brown) Smith, who came to Salem
Township in 1851; her father died in April 1878; her mother died June 17,
1899 in Farmington at the age of 85.
Mr. and Mrs. Bliss have six children: Luther A., born March
25, 1856; Clarence M., born Aug. 17, 1857; Olive V., born May
9, 1859; Mary E., born Aug 16, 1860; William S., born Apr 30,
1864; and Lillie B., born Mar 14, 1867.
Mrs. Bliss is a member of the Presbyterian Church.
Mr. Bliss came from New York to Illinois with his father May 23,
1837, and settled in Hallick Township, Peoria County in 1838. January 1847
they removed to Stark County, near Lawn Ridge. In coming from Chautauqua Co,
N.Y., his father floated down the Alleghany and Ohio rivers to Cincinnati
upon a raft of lumber which he had made with a house upon it; he sold the
lumber and took a steamer to Peoria by the Ohio, Mississippi and Illinois
Mr. Cyrus Bliss came to Salem Township in 1853, where he has since
been a resident, excepting three years, when he was in Peoria County. He
owns a farm of seventy acres on Section 24, Salem Township; one in Peoria
County of one hundred and forty-seven acres, and a house and lot in Yates
City. In religion he is a Presbyterian; in politics a prohibitionist.
Boland, John, Farmer; Walnut Grove
Township; born in Sweden; came to Knox Co. in 1857, and worked by the month
until 1860. He was married to Anna Olson in 1860; their children are:
Anna, Ida, Emma, Alfred, and William.
Mr. Boland rented a farm in Ontario Township for ten years, and in
1871, bought eighty acres of land in Walnut Grove Township; he afterwards
purchased the farm on which he now lives.
He is a member of the Lutheran Church. Mr. Boland is one of the
prominent citizens of the township.
Booth, Jacob, Maquon, Knox Co, IL.; was born in Penobscot Co.,
Maine, June 1, 1821. He was the son of Isaac and Mary Booth. Isaac
Booth was born July 7, 1792, and married Mary Grinnell Dec. 6,
1812. Mary Grinnell was born April 30, 1795. She was the daughter of Royl
Grinnell, a Revolutionary soldier, under General Hull. Isaac died April
30, 1852; and his wife, April 12, 1836
Jacob Booth came to Sangamon Co, IL. in 1839, and to Knox Co. in
1844. He was married to Malinda Housh, daughter of George P. Housh,
Sept 19, 1844. Malinda Booth was born Mar 17, 1821, and died June 9, 1869.
Jacob Booth’s second marriage was to Edith Martin of
Galesburg, IL, Oct. 24, 1869. She was the daughter of Martin and Lucinda
Martin. Mr. Martin died in 1898, aged nearly 95 years.
Mr. and Mrs. Booth have one adopted son, Frank Booth, of
Abingdon, IL. Mr. Booth is a republican and cast his first vote for Henry
Clay in 1844. He and his wife are Christian Scientists, and are members of
the mother church in Boston; and also members of the branch church at Moquon,
IL., and were students of Mrs. Janet T. Colman, one of Mrs. Mary Baker G.
Eddy’s loyal students. Mr. and Mrs. Booth are faithful workers in the cause
of Christian Science.
Borrell, Christopher, Farmer; Knoxville; first husband of Mrs.
Hannah Patterson; born July 9, 1834 in England, where he received his
Feb. 16, 1859, in Knox Township, he was married to Hannah A.
Rewland. Their three children now living are: George T., Charles J.,
and Emily M.
George T. married Melinda Patterson, of Warren Co. Emily
M. married Bert C. Allen; they have two children: Mary A. and
Clyde F. Charles J. married Rosa B. Sharp; they have six
children: C. Edward, William C., George G., Emily E., Sarah F., and
Mr. Borrell was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In
politics he was independent. He died Aug. 19, 1881.
Borrell, James, Farmer; Orange Township; born in England, July 31,
1842; educated in the common schools. His parents, Pattan and Roseannah
(Johnson) Borrell, were English, as were his paternal grandparents,
James and Elizabeth (Pattan) Borrell, and his maternal grandfather,
March 27, 1867, Mr. Borrell was married to Eva N. Roberts,
in Knoxville, IL. They have had four children: Mary L.; Fannie E.;
Charlie P.; and Lenna L.
In politics Mr. Borrell is a republican. He holds the office of
Bowhay, D. L., Farmer; Elba Township;
born Dec. 10, 1859 in Elba Township; educated in common schools. His
parents, Joseph and Elizabeth (Householder) Bowhay, were born in
Fulton Co., PA. The father moved first to Peoria, then to Elba Township, and
in 1883 to southeastern Nebraska.
Mr. D. L. Bowhay was married at Yates City Jan. 20, 1887, to M.
A. Peck; she was born May 12, 1859, and was the daughter of Moses and
Catherine (Egolff) Peck. They have one child, H. C. Bowhay, born
April 5, 1890. The parents of Mrs. Bowhay lived in Knox Co.; they are
Mr. Bowhay is a well-to-do farmer. He is a democrat and has been
Collector for Elba Township.
Thanks bunches & bunches