Thanks bunches & bunches Kathy.....
These biographies were typed by Kathy Mills & Foxie Anderson Hagerty if u by chance see them on another web site they are reproduced without giving proper credit where it is due. thank you! We worked long & hard to get these online & I like giving credit where credit is due. surprisingly others do not feel the same. Thank you & enjoy.
by Foxie & Kathy Mills....
Copyright is for people who have other Knox web pages. People searching for their ancestors are welcome to copy a biography of their ancestor for their family file. If you need the index page for your source email me. Thanks!
We are on the last Biography section of this Book. I can't wait to jump to for joy when they are all on with Kathy Mills must appreciated & Welcome help in typing them up the rest to go online. Thanks Kath, I thank you, other people's ancestor's thank you, and I'm sure everyone out there in Cyber-land who lands here will want to thank you too.
Sampson, Edward M., Indian Point Township; Justice of the Peace; born Feb. 10, 1855 in Scott Co, IN; educated at Alpha, IN. His father, Isaac Sampson, was born in Montgomery, KY; his mother, Catherine (Young) was born in Hamilton Co, OH. His paternal grandparents, Benjamin and Sarah (Charles) Sampson, were natives of Virginia; his paternal great-grandfather, John Sampson, was a native of New York, and his paternal great-grandmother, Betsy (Epperson) was born in Wales. His maternal grandfather, Abner Young, was born in New York, and his maternal grandmother, Jane (Wallsmith), in Ohio; his maternal great-grandparents, Jacob and Julia (Long) Young, were natives of Germany.
Jan. 25, 1875, Mr. Sampson was married to Mary C. Day in Monmouth, Illinois. They have two children, Cora E., who married J. W. Onan; and John. Mr. and Mrs. Onan have one daughter, Gladys.
Mr. Sampson is a democrat, and has been School Trustee and Director in Indian Point Township. In April, 1893, he was elected Justice of the Peace and served two terms. He is chairman of the Township Democratic Committee. Mr. Sampson has studied law and medicine. In religion, he is a Christian.
Sanburn, Francis Granger, was born in Knoxville, Illinois, Oct. 4, 1843. His father was John Goold Sanburn, and his mother’s maiden name, Althea Owen.
The genealogy of the Sanburn family reaches back to Lieutenant John Sanburn, who was born in 1620. The next in the line of descent was Nathaniel Sanburn, who was born in 1666. The third generation reaches Jedediah Sanburn, Francis’ great-grandfather, who was born in 1757. He was one of the patriots of the Revolution, and was on the Lexington “Alarm List”, living at Wethersfield, Connecticut. In the fifth generation is found the name of John Goold Sanburn, the father of Francis Granger Sanburn.
John Goold Sanburn was a distinguished man, intellectually, and morally. To his name is linked much of the early history of Knox County. He was born in Canandaigua, New York, March 13, 1797—the home of Francis Granger, Postmaster-General under the first Harrison and the namesake of his son. His parents were New Englanders, and were thoroughly schooled in industry and economy among the rugged, barren hills of their nativity. They were among the earliest pioneers of western New York, then the home of the savage Indians and wild buffalo. The spirit of enterprise was in the son, and in the autumn of 1817, he came to Ohio, where he spent the winter in teaching school. In the spring of 1818, he embarked in a skiff at Pittsburg with his brother and three other young men, and sailed down the Ohio River, landing at a point opposite St. Louis. He then, with his companions, made his way on foot to that city. He then went to St. Charles, Missouri, where he spent the summer in teaching. The following winter, he returned to Canadaigua, making almost the entire journey on foot. His diary kept on this journey is in the possession of his children and is highly prized. It shows his spirit, enterprise, and sturdy endurance. After spending two or three years in western New York, he again returned west, locating at Vandalia, then the capital of Illinois. He remained here until 1830, when he again visited his native home, making the journey both ways on horseback.
About this time, the Military Tract was attracting great attention on account of the fertility of its soil and other natural advantages. Mr. Sanburn saw here an opportunity, and in 1830, opened a store in Henderson Grove. In this year, the new County of Knox was organized. At the same time Knoxville became the county seat. Mr. Sanburn, by reason of his general intelligence and accurate business habits, held nearly all the important offices. He was Clerk of the Circuit Court, Clerk of the County Court, Recorder, Probate Judge, and Postmaster.
Mr. Sanburn was married in 1831 to Althea Owen, a native of western New York. At an early age she came to Ohio, thence to Knox County, IL. To them were born six children, four sons and two daughters.
At the time of his death, Mr. Sanburn was Assistant Assessor of Internal Revenue of Knox County. He also held other minor offices, such as City Clerk and trustee of both Knox and Ewing University.
As a man, Mr. Sanburn was a kind, well educated, well informed, and a pleasing conversationalist. He was positive in his political preferences, was formerly a whig, but later a republican. He was patriotic and loyal, and during the Civil War, was a strong advocate of freedom and union. In religion he was an Episcopalian, but with his wife, attended the Presbyterian Church.
Mr. Sanburn died April 14, 1865, the day President Lincoln was assassinated. Mrs. Sanburn died at the old home in Knoxville, Jan. 30, 1883.
Francis G. Sanburn was fortunate in his birth. He belonged to a family of lofty aims and of great moral worth. He was the fifth of seven children, and was taught in boyhood the high moral lessons that blossomed into the fruit of a true manly life. In childhood, he received much instruction from loving parents, and in mature years, he had the advantages of the common school, and of higher institutions of learning. Early, he became well fitted to enter upon the active duties and business of life. Like many a young man, he went westward, spending a summer in Kansas. He soon, however, returned to his native State, and was next engaged for two years as Deputy Postmaster, under the late Z. Beatty. In 1872 he went to Topeka, Kansas, and was employed there but a short time. He next found employment in the firm of Phillips Brothers at Galesburg. He soon resigned this position and accepted the offer of a clerkship in the Farmers’ National Bank in Knoxville, which was more to his taste and liking. With this bank, he remained until his death, serving for several of the last years of his life as its President.
The esteem in which Mr. Sanburn is held is marked. His friends and fellow citizens had perfect confidence in his integrity and ability, and had no misgivings in placing him in positions of honor and trust. He was retiring, and had no hankering after office; and yet, he served his native City two terms as City Clerk, five or six terms as City Treasurer, and two terms as a member of the Board of Education.
A graphic representation of his early life may be obtained from the following sketch, written by his sister, Althea O. Sanburn.
“His early childhood was passed in the modest home of his parents. He engaged with keen interest in the amusements of boyhood life, but was equally ready and willing to bear his share in the tasks and duties of home life suited to his years. He early showed mechanical tastes, and delighted younger children of the neighborhood by his constructive genius. Numerous water-wheels, windmills, fishing seines, and, finally, a miniature railroad on which the boys and girls were delighted to ride, though in a rude box car, were some of the results of his recreation hours up to his thirteenth year. His love for flowers was very marked, and he never failed to find the first spring blossoms before others suspected their arrival. While a mere boy, he became quite an expert in budding and grafting choice varieties of roses, which were his favorites. As a child, his mind was quick and active, and his reasoning powers good. In school he was a diligent pupil and a general favorite with his teachers”.
Mr. Sanburn had no striking characteristics. He was admired for his equanimity of temper, his gentleness of manner, and his uprightness of character. He was not given to frivolity, but was always sedate and thoughtful in his bearing. He was kind to the unthankful, full of charity for the unfortunate, and merciful in speech and act. He lived a life above reproach, and had the reward that comes through industry, strict integrity, and Christian oblication.
Mr. Sanburn’s religious faith was Presbyterian. In early manhood, he joined that church, and was an elder therein for about five years. He was not a partisan or a politician, but was a firm adherent to principle. He was a republican, and cast his first vote for Abraham Lincoln for President.
Mr. Sanburn was married Aug. 1, 1878 to Mary H. McCracken, who was born in Worthington, Ohio, and died in Knoxville, Feb. 7, 1881. When a child, her parents removed to Knoxville. She graduated from St. Mary’s in 1871. After graduation and until two years after her marriage, she taught painting in oil, Latin, French, and the sciences in her Alma Mater.
To Mr. and Mrs. Sanburn was born one daughter, Mary Louise.
Sanburn, John G., the first County Clerk, the first Circuit Clerk, the first Postmaster, and one of the most prominent men in Knox County, was born in Canadaigua, New York, March 13, 1797. His parents were among the earliest pioneers of western New York. Inheriting thus the spirit of enterprise, Mr. Sanburn came to Ohio in the autumn of 1817. That winter he taught school, and the next spring, in company with his brother, Nathaniel Sanburn, and three other young men, he worked his passage down the Ohio River to about the foot of Indiana. Thence he went overland to St. Louis and westward to St. Charles, Missouri. That winter he returned to his native town, making almost the entire journey on foot. After two or three years he again went westward and located at Vandalia, Illinois. In 1830, he came to Knox County and opened a store in Henderson Grove. He at once took a leading position in the county, being largely instrumental in effecting its organization. When Knoxville was platted, he purchased or procured by assignment a very large proportion of all the lots in the village.
In November 1831, he married Miss Althea Owen, sister of Parnach Owen, who survived her husband. They had seven children, four sons and three daughters. One son, F. G. Sanburn, lived in Knoxville, where he was president of the Farmers’ Bank.
Up to his death John G. Sanburn was one of the best known men in Knox County. He was a trustee of Knox College and of Ewing Female Seminary—now St. Mary’s. He died in Knoxville Friday, April 14, 1865.
Sawyer, Charles C., Real Estate and Insurance; Altona, where he was born March 9, 1867; educated in Altona and in the Galesburg Business College. He is the son of G. W. Sawyer, an early settler from New York, who died April 2, 1890.
Mr. Charles C. Sawyer was married in Altona Dec. 25, 1890, to Susan F. Thompson, a daughter of Daniel Thompson, and a granddaughter of John Thompson, who was one of the first settlers of Altona. Their children are George E. and Catherine T.
Mr. Sawyer is a Protestant. In politics he is a republican. He has been Town Clerk and Village Clerk for six years. In 1898, he was appointed Supervisor in place of Jonathan F. Hubbell, deceased.
Sawyer, George W. was a Farmer in Walnut Grove Township, Section 9. He was a notary public and insurance and real estate agent in the town of Altona, and he so conducted his business as to gain the respect and esteem of his fellow-townsmen.
He was born in Fergusonville, Delaware Co., N.Y., Aug. 5, 1828, and received his education in the common schools. His ancestry on the paternal side was English, and his mother was of German descent. His parents, Henry and Margaret (Multer) Sawyer, were natives of the State of New York. Mrs. Sawyer’s father, Mr. Multer, was a native of Germany. Henry Sawyer’s life was spent in Fergusonville, but his wife, after her husband’s decease, came to Illinois and died at the home of her son, George W., Oct. 26, 1885, at the age of 80.
It was in 1856 that Mr. Sawyer came west and settled at Galesburg, IL. He had learned the carpenter’s trade from his father, and this trade he followed in Galesburg for one year, when he removed to Minneapolis, where he spent another year. After spending some months in Wisconsin, he returned to Galesburg and took up teaching, which he had followed in his native state, where his first pay as a teacher was only ten dollars per month. For nearly two years, beginning with 1859, he was identified with the nursery business, after which he resumed his trade for a short time.
Dec. 9, 1859 in Quincy, Illinois, Mr. Sawyer was married to Sarah Cleveland, a native of Schoharie Co., N.Y.; they had five children: Lucinda, deceased; Mrs. Ida S. McMaster, deceased; Charles C. of Altona; Lillian, deceased; and Henry J. of Galesburg. Mrs. Sawyer’s parents, Asa and Cynthia (Childs) Cleveland, although natives of Schoharie Co, NY, were of English descent.
After a visit in the east, Mr. and Mrs. Sawyer settled in Walnut Grove Township on 160 acres of land near Foreman Creek, which they sold after a few years and went to Quincy, IL. Later they returned to Altona, where Mr. Sawyer conducted a very successful lumber business, and finally secured the farm of 260 acres north of Altona, which subsequently sold for $100 per acre.
Mr. Sawyer died April 2, 1890. He was a Mason. In politics he was a republican, and held many township offices.
Sayre, Charles A., Druggist; Victoria; born Aug. 9, 1844, at Rushville, New York; educated in the common schools and Rushville Academy. His father was John Sayre.
Mr. C. A. Sayre was married to Mary E. Young, in Victoria, Feb. 28, 1884. They have one child, Gertrude Peabody.
Mr. Sayre enlisted in April 1861 in Company E, Twenty-eighth Regiment New York Volunteer Infantry for two years; then re-enlisted in Company C., Fifteenth New York Cavalry, and served until June 1865 as first Sergeant. Sept. 4, 1865, he enlisted in Company F, Fifteenth United States Cavalry, and served as Sergeant for three years.
Mr. Sayre spent four years in Minnesota, where he was for a time Deputy Clerk of the District court. In 1875 he came to Victoria. He is a member of the Village Board, and Commander of P. G. Tait Post, No. 698, G. A. R. Mr. Sayre is a democrat.
Scott, William, Merchant; Gilson, Haw Creek Township; born in Highland Co, OH, Nov. 13, 1843. His father, Henry Scott, was a native of Virginia; his mother, Margaret (Burnett) Scott was a native of Delaware.
At the age of seventeen years, Mr. Scott enlisted in Company D, Sixtieth Ohio Infantry, and served twelve months; after his discharge he re-enlisted in the Twenty-fourth Battery, Ohio Light Artillery, and served till June, 1865, having participated in important battles. He was captured by General Jackson and released on parole.
After the close of the war, Mr. Scott came to Illinois, in Sept. 1865, and entered Hedding College at Abingdon, teaching at times to pay his way. In 1868 he returned to Ohio, and the next year entered the Normal School at Lebanon, in that State. In 1869 he returned to Illinois and resumed teaching. In 1871 he removed to Adams County, Nebraska where he taught school, but again became a citizen of Knox County in 1874, and for four years taught school in and about Gilson. In 1878 he opened a store for general merchandise at Gilson. He has prospered in Business and owns two farms, one in Nebraska and one in Knox County. He is a member of the United Brethren, and a steward in the church. He is a republican.
March 23, 1879, Mr. Scott was married to Amanda E. Lawrence, daughter of John and Abigail (Farlow) Lawrence, old settlers in this county. They have three children: Carl L., Floreth B., and Jewel E.
Selby, Elisha Barrett, Farmer; Maquon Township; born Nov. 3, 1839 at the old mill-site in Haw Creek Township; educated in Knox County.
Jan. 12, 1860 he married Sarah E. Barbaro in Chestnut Township. They have had eight children: Philemon B.; Mrs. Rhoda A. Dennis; Mrs. Delia Boyington (deceased); Nelson E.; Lyman; Mrs. Floy Lawrence; Edith; and Raymond. The last two are at home. Mrs. Selby is a daughter of Frederick and Malinda (Bartlett) Barbaro, who came to Knox County in 1850. Mr. Barbaro was born July 4, 1808 and is still living at the age of 91.
Mr. Selby lives in Maquon Township, Section 2, where he has 320 acres of land. He has also 42 acres on French Creek. He has been a farmer all his life. In politics Mr. Selby is a democrat.
Selby, William H., Maquon; Farmer and Stockman; born Jan 30, 1851, on the old Selby homestead in Maquon; educated in Maquon and in the Galesburg Business College.
March 11, 1885, he was married to Florence Isabel Allen, daughter of William and America A. (Maxey) Allen, old settlers of Knox County. Mr. and Mrs. Selby have one son, William Floyd Selby.
He settled on the home farm and later built a house on the northwest corner of Section 2. He has been successful as a farmer and stock man, and now owns 400 acres of land. He has always been interested in fine stock, and has registered standard horses, hogs, and cattle, and has taken premiums at various local and State fairs. His running horses have been famous in Illinois and the adjoining States, his horse “Izell” having taken more premiums than any other horse in the county. Out of seventeen starts on the Ohio circuit he got first money fourteen times.
On his farm, known as “Living Spring”, he has about forty head of fine horses. Mr. Selby has done much for the advancement of fine stock in Knox County. In politics he is a democrat.
Sellon, Robert C., Lumber merchant; Altona; born in Lynn Township, Nov. 21, 1855; son of Edward Sellon of England, who came to Lynn Township in 1835. He was a sailor, farmer, and preacher, and died in December 1883.
Robert Sellon was educated in the public schools and in the Davenport Business College. He was married to Eva Day at Galva, IL, Feb. 13, 1884. Their children are: Abbie L., Hazel E., and Francis D.
In 1884 Mr. Sellon began to work in the Houghton Lumber Yard at Galva, after which he came to Altona and sold lumber, coal, and agricultural implements, under the firm name of the E. W. Houghton Lumber Company. They have several yards on the line of the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad.
Mr. Sellon is a member of the Presbyterian Church. In politics he is a republican, and has been a member of the Village Board for several years.
Sellon, William I., Farmer; Lynn Township, where he was born Sept. 1, 1853. His father, Edward Sellon was born near London, England, his mother, Elizabeth (Charles) Sellon, came from Wales; his grandmother, Elizabeth Brown, came from Columbus, Ohio; he was educated in the public schools.
Mr. Sellon was married to Augusta B. Johnson in Stark Co, IL, Feb. 28, 1877. Their children are: Claude, born Dec. 19, 1878; Iona Belle, born July 5, 1881; and Jane, born March 9, 1883. Mrs. Sellon was born April 28, 1854, and is a member of the Relief Corps.
Mr. Sellon has a farm of 320 acres of choice land, and deals largely in fine stock. In religion he is a Methodist. In politics he is a republican, and has been a School Director.
Seward, Anthony, son of Samuel S. and Sarah A. (Caldwell) Seward, was born in Knox Township, Knox Co, IL., Oct. 12, 1848. His father was born in Broome Co, NY in 1826. His grandparents were Orin and Mehetabel (Livermore) Seward, who were pioneers in Knox County.
Samuel S. Seward attended the pioneer schools and assisted his father on the farm. In the summer of 1862 he enlisted in the Union army, serving until June 1865; he was with Sherman’s army in its march through Georgia, marching from Atlanta, Georgia to Savannah, and thence through the Carolinas to the city of Washington, taking part in the grand review of the army at the close of the war; he was mustered out of service at Chicago, IL.
He married Sarah A., daughter of John P. and Mary (Porter) A. Caldwell. After his marriage he located on a farm in Truro Township, but in a few years he disposed of this farm and, after renting land for a time, bought a farm on Section 16. In 1882 he left his son Anthony in charge of the farm in Truro Township and settled on a farm in Cedar County, Missouri. Mr. and Mrs. S. S. Seward had six children: Anthony; John M.; Sophronia (deceased); William H.; Sarah; and Albert Marion.
Anthony Seward was married in Knox County, March 17, 1868, to Margaret M. Daniels, who was born in Richland Co, OH., Dec. 24, 1851. Four children have been born to them: Chloe P., Ellen Viola, Lucius, and Ella. After his marriage, Mr. Seward settled upon his father’s farm, of which he assumed complete control in 1882.
Mr. Seward was educated in the common schools of Truro Township. He is a farmer and grain dealer. In politics he is a republican, in religious belief a Methodist. He held the office of Commissioner of Highways from 1881 to 1888. In 1887 he was Township Supervisor and was re-elected in 1889, holding the office until 1894; in 1898 he was again elected to the same office. He held the office of School Treasurer five or six years, and has been School Director for a number of terms. He is a member of the I.O.O.F. Lodge, No. 777, and a member of the K. P. Lodge, No. 525, at Williamsfield.
Shaffer, George W., Minister; Chestnut Township; born Nov 16, 1824, in Lycoming Co, PA; educated in the common schools. His father, James Shaffer, was a native of New Jersey; his mother, Margaret (Brooks) was born in PA. His maternal grandfather was Benjamin Brooks; his paternal grandfather, Henry Shaffer, was a native of Germany.
Mr. Shaffer’s first wife was Amanda, daughter of Thomas Logue, and was born in Lycoming Co, PA, where her parents died. She was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. There were three children: Alonzo G.; Thomas J., who enlisted in the Eleventh Illinois Cavalry, during the Civil War and died in the hospital at Memphis, TN; and Emma Amanda, who married Warren England, a lawyer in Knox County. Mr. England died, and his widow married William Jones, March 7, 1888.
Mr. Shaffer was married in Chestnut Township to Mrs. Sally Leigh, widow of Clark Leigh, who was born in Ohio, Sept. 15, 1831; she was the daughter of Archibald and Catharine Long, born respectively in Tennessee and Virginia.
Mr. Shaffer was a circuit preacher in Potter Co, PA, in the Methodist Episcopal Church. He served on the East Genesee Conference, and preached at the Westfield Pennsylvania charge. He came to Illinois in 1855, and preached at the Whitefield charge. After preaching seventeen years in the Central Illinois Conference, he went to Washington Territory and joined the Columbia River Conference, where he remained for ten years, and then returned to Chestnut Township. He is now a local preacher and preaches occasionally.
Mr. Shaffer owns a farm in Washington, but lives on a beautiful place three-quarters of a mile south of Hermon, IL. In politics he is a prohibitionist. He is a member of the Free Masons.
Shank, Boston M., Yardmaster; Galesburg; born June 14, 1854 at Columbus, Ohio; son of John Shank of Ohio. He was educated in the common schools; he is a democrat.
He married Minnie Griffin at Trenton, Missouri, Nov. 27, 1888; they have one child, Stacy S.
Mr. Shank began railroad work when sixteen years of age, as brakeman on the Fort Wayne, Pittsburg and Chicago Railroad; went to Burlington, Iowa, and was employed by the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad, having charge of construction on the Mt. Air Branch. For four years he was with the Missouri, Iowa and Northern Railroad, and later with the Rhode Island Railroad. In 1892 he came to Galesburg, where he has since been employed by the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad, as night yardmaster. Mr. Shank is a member of the Catholic Church.
Shannon, Ellis, Conductor; Galesburg; born June 4, 1844 in PA, where he was educated. His parents were Jesse and Mary (Williamson) Shannon of Pennsylvania; his maternal grandfather was George Williamson. Jesse Shannon, the father, was captain of a packet boat on the Susquehanna canal. He died when Ellis was two years old.
Mr. Ellis Shannon was married in Charleston, South Carolina, Dec. 25, 1865, to Christine R., daughter of George Snyder of Baden, Germany, and Mary Frances (Scherer) Snyder. Mr. Snyder was in the regular army under Sherman for five years.
Six children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Shannon: George E.; Lucetta B.; Maud S.; Harry D.; Mary, deceased; and Jesse, deceased.
When fifteen years of age, Ellis Shannon learned the trade of blacksmith. He enlisted Aug. 17, 1861, in Company D, Forty-seventh Pennsylvania Volunteers. After serving his term of three years, he re-enlisted and was discharged Nov. 28, 1865. He was in the following engagements: St. Bluff, Oct. 3, 1862; Pocotaligo, Oct. 22, 1862; Mansfield, April 8, 1864; Pleasant Hill, April 9, 1864; Berryville, Sept. 5, 1864; Winchester, Sept. 19, 1864; Fisher’s Hill, Sept. 23, 1864; and Cedar Creek, Oct. 19, 1864.
After the war, Mr. Shannon lived in Newport, PA, for one year, and then came to Buda, Bureau Co, IL. After farming five years, he entered the employ of the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad as brakeman, and four years later became conductor. He is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic, and of the Order of Railway Conductors. Mr. Shannon belongs to the Methodist Church. In politics he is a republican.
Shay, J. J., Farmer; Henderson Township, where he was born Nov. 14, 1859. His father, Michael Shay, and his mother, Mary (Fitzgerald) Shay, were born in Ireland. Mr. Shay’s parents came from Ireland to New York in 1848; in 1850 they moved to Knox County where they resided until their death.
Mr. Shay was married to Anna Horstman at Lexington, Nebraska, March 1890. They have two children: Ray and Earl.
Early in life, Mr. Shay went west and spent fifteen years in western Nebraska and Wyoming as foreman for Daters & Company of Cheyenne, Wyoming. He had the management of 25,000 head of cattle. In 1895 he returned to Knox County, where he has since resided and follows the occupation of farming.
In politics Mr. Shay is a republican, and is now serving his second term as Assessor. He is energetic and industrious, and much respected by the community in which he lives.
Sheahan, Daniel W., Farmer; born Aug. 15, 1843. He came with his parents, John and Margaret (Goodman) Sheahan, from Saratoga Co, NY to Knox County in 1855, settling in Copley Township.
He was married to Sarah J. Brown of Copley Township in 1856. Their children are: John P., William W., Albert G., James F, Francis A., Daniel E., Adelaide M, and Mary E.
In 1862 he enlisted in Company 1, One Hundred and Second Illinois Volunteers Infantry. He was First Sergeant, First Lieutenant, and acting Adjutant at the muster out of his Regiment.
In the spring of 1873, he went to Nebraska and returned to Lynn Township in 1881. He is a member of Walnut Grange, P. of H., No. 1653, and P.G. Tait Post, Grand Army of the Republic, of Victoria.
Since returning to Illinois he has served seven years as School Director, and in 1890 was elected Town Clerk, a position he still holds, having been elected to the office each year. In religion, Mr. Sheahan is a Catholic; in politics he is independent, though generally voting the democratic ticket.
Sheahan, James G., Farmer; Lynn Township; born June 8, 1863 in Copley Township; educated in Galesburg and Galva, Illinois, and Davenport, Iowa; his parents were John and Margaret (Goodman) Sheahan; they were born in Ireland.
Mr. Sheahan was married in Galva, Oct. 20, 1886 to Mary Sullivan, who was born Oct. 25, 1865; she was the daughter of Cornelius and Julia (Handley) Sullivan. Their children are: Julia M, born Jan. 16, 1888; Mary, born Nov. 6, 1890; John C., born May 6, 1892; Leo, born Sept 10, 1893; and Cornelius A., born April 12, 1896.
Mr. Sheahan is a School Director. In politics he is a democrat. He is a Catholic.
Shear, David J., Farmer; Walnut Grove Township; born July 27, 1843 in Otsego Co., NY. His father, Henry Shear, came to Knox County in 1857 and settled near Galesburg where he lived until 1866, when he removed to Walnut Grove Township with his family, and bought a farm, on which David J. now resides.
David J. Shear married Hannah Bulson in Copley Township, May 14, 1890.
He is a republican, and has held the office of Road Commissioner. He is a member of the Methodist Church.
Shelton, Francis R., Farmer; Elba Township; born Aug. 12, 1858, in Elba Township; educated in the common schools. His parents were Robert and Mary Shelton of England; the father was born March 20, 1814, and is still living; the mother was born in 1829, and died in 1889; the grandfather was Isaac Shelton of England.
He was married Dec. 19, 1879 at Yates City, IL. to Nellie Roop. She was born in Yates City Oct. 10, 1862, and is the daughter of Barnet and Ellen Roop. The father died in 1892, the mother lives in Peoria. They were Methodists.
The children of Mr. and Mrs. Shelton are: Della, born Sept. 3, 1880; Minna, born Dec. 13, 1882; and Mary, who died when three years old.
Mr. Shelton has a farm of 240 acres, which is well improved. He is a stock raiser and breeder. He is a member of the United Woodmen of America, No. 301, Yates City. Mr. Shelton is a democrat.
Shreeves, Lemuel W., Farmer; Orange Township; born Jan 28, 1854 in Bedford Co, PA.; educated in the common schools.
He was married Feb. 19, 1874 to Martha Beecham in Galesburg. They have had six children, of whom five are living: Roy, Elva, Okey, Carrie Inez, and Bertha.
Mr. Shreeves is the son of David and Mary A. (Horton) Shreeves of Pennsylvania. His grandfather, Edward Shreeves of England, died in 1870. David Shreeves came to Knox County May 10, 1855 and settled on the line between Knox and Fulton counties, buying a large tract of land, which he farmed until his death in 1873.
Lemuel stayed on the home farm till 1898, when he came to Orange Township. Mr. Shreeves is a Methodist. In politics he is a democrat.
Shumaker, John B., Retired Farmer; Indian Point Township; born July 5, 1814, in Franklin Co, Oh; educated in the common schools. His parents were Abraham and Elizabeth (Swisher) Shumaker.
Sept. 21, 1847, he married Sophia Rager in Franklin Co, OH.; four children were born to them: Sarah E., Jeremiah, Mahala Jane, and Sophia.
Mr. Shumaker came from Ohio in 1843 and settled near Maquon. In 1844, he bought land in Indian Point Township, and was a farmer there until his wife died in 1878, since which time he has lived with his daughter, Mahala Jane, who married Robert L., son of John Shumaker. Mrs. Shumaker has two sons: Emory O. and Ray C. The latter is a farmer.
Jeremiah is a miller in Abingdon; Sarah married James Bellwood and has one son, Edward.
Mr. Shumaker is a republican. He was Highway Commissioner about three years, and was for several years School Director. He has always been a prominent man. In religion he is a Methodist.
Silen, John E., Farmer; Victoria Township; born in Sweden April 3, 1825, where he was educated. In July 1858 he was married to Catrena Patronella, who died March 18, 1876.
Jan. 19, 1878 he was married to Matilda Rodine. By the first marriage, he had four children: Arthur E. of Nebraska, grocer and farmer; Sophia; Emma; and Lorena.
Mr. Silen came to America in 1846, and lived at Bishop Hill one year, when in company with George Challman he went to Galesburg and worked at the carpenters’ trade. In 1850 he went to Peoria, where he remained until the fall of 1851, when he moved to Victoria, and began buying stock. In 1852-3, he worked at his trade of carpenter. In 1859, he moved upon a farm that he purchased the year before and on which he still resides. In 1863 he built a house of lumber hauled from Peoria. Mr. Silen has been a very successful farmer. In politics he is a republican.
Simonds, William E., Professor of English Literature in Knox College, Galesburg. He was born in Peabody, Essex Co, MA, Sep. 10, 1860. His parents were Edward and Mary A. (Chase) Simonds. He received his education in the Peabody High School, Phillips Andover Academy, and Brown University, graduating from the college in 1883. Mr. Simonds taught two years in the high school at Providence, Rhode Island, and in 1885 went abroad for further study. He was for a half-year a student in the University of Berlin, and for two years a student in the University of Strassburg. From the latter institution he received the degree of Doctor of Philosophy in 1888. On returning to America (1888), he was made Instructor in German in Cornell University, Ithaca, New York. In the summer of 1889, he was called to the chair which he now holds in Knox College, entering upon his duties in the fall of that year. Professor Simonds has published several textbooks for school and college use, among them his university thesis on “Sir Thomas Wyatt and His Poems”, 1889, and an “Introduction to the Study of English Fiction,” 1894.
June 22, 1898, Mr. Simonds was married to Katherine L. Courtright, who, during the school year of 1896-7, was Dean of Women in Knox College. They have a daughter, Marjorie.
Sipes, John Milton, was born Jan. 31, 1840, in Fulton Co, PA. His father, General John Sipes, was a farmer, and a son of George and Catherine Sipes of Pennsylvania. His mother was Mary (Burton) Sipes of Bedford Co, PA. General Sipes was married to Mary, daughter of Noah and Mary (Crumb) Barton, (note: Mary’s last name spelled Burton and then Barton, don’t know which is correct.) of New Jersey. General Sipes represented Bedford County three terms in the legislature, and was a man of marked ability. He came to Illinois and settled in Galva in 1857, and died on his farm Jan. 14, 1881, at the age of 82 years.
Mr. J. M. Sipes came to Illinois with his parents when seventeen years old, and remained on his father’s homestead until his marriage in Galva, Henry County, Dec. 20, 1876. His wife, Emma A. Howard, was born in Lawrence Co, OH., Sept. 11, 1852. She was the daughter of O.J. and M. Howard of Ohio, who came to Illinois in 1865, and lived in Victoria and Walnut Grove townships, Knox Co., and in Henry Co., IL., finally locating in Harvey Co, Kansas. Mrs. Sipes received a good education, and was a school teacher from 1874 to 1876. The children born to Mr. and Mrs. Sipes are: John M., born Dec. 25, 1877; William F., born Feb. 20, 1878; Mary Olive, born March 29, 1881, died March 5, 1890; Charles, born Jan. 14, 1883, died Jan. 24, 1883; Ava Jane, born Feb. 20, 1891; and George Milton, born Sept 4, 1896.
Mr. Sipes is a member of the Methodist Church. In politics he is a democrat, and has held many important offices, including that of Justice of the Peace for eight years, School Trustee for the same length of time, Constable, and Collector of taxes.
Mr. Sipes has a fine farm on Section 2, and is interested in general farming, the raising of Holstein cattle, and a high grade of swine. Mr. and Mrs. Sipes are members of the Home Foreign Association.
Sloan, Hugh A., Farmer; Yates City, Salem Township; where he was born May 19, 1858; educated in the district school. His parents, John and Mary Sloan, were born in Ireland.
March 22, 1883 he married, at Yates City, Ida E. Baird, who was born in Elba Township, June 1, 1861. There are two children: Jessie May, born Dec. 15, 1885; and John, born Aug. 26, 1889. Mrs. Sloan’s father was killed in the War of the Rebellion. She has been a teacher of music.
Mr. Sloan is Supervisor for Salem Township; he was Road Commissioner nine years, and School Director for several terms. He has about 514 acres of land. He is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America, Lodge No. 3102, Yates City. In politics he is a democrat.
Sloan, Sarah (Allen), Yates City, Salem Township; born in Antrim County, Ireland, Nov. 22, 1832; educated in the common schools. Mrs. Sloan’s parents were Hugh and Sarah (Caulfield) Allen, who were also born in Antrim County, Ireland. Hugh Allen’s parents Hugh and Sarah, and Sarah (Caulfield) Allen’s parents, William and Mary Caulfield, were born in Ireland.
Mrs. Sarah Sloan came to America in 1854; her husband, John Sloan, in 1850. They were married in Davenport, Iowa, June 13, 1854; there were seven children: Mary, born July 30, 1856; Hugh Allen, born May 19, 1858; Sarah Ann, born Dec. 18, 1861; Susan Jackson Kell, born Oct. 7, 1865, died July 27, 1879; James, born Jan 9, 1870; John, born Oct. 8, 1872, died July 27, 1879; and Jessie, born Jan. 18, 1877, died Aug. 1, 1879.
Mary Sloan married Dr. Hensley, and lives in Peoria; Hugh married Elnora Baird, and is Supervisor of Salem Township; Sarah married E. H. Ware, and lives in Douglas; James resides at home with his mother, and manages the farm.
Mrs. Sloan’s husband was an engineer and surveyor for the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad, from Burlington to Peoria, and after the road was built, he bought a farm in Salem Township. He owned about 800 acres of land. He was Supervisor a number of years; was a member of the Legislature, and was a distinguished representative of his district. He was a Free Mason. He died in April, 1889. In religion he was a Presbyterian.
Smith, Harry A., Farmer; Maquon, Illinois; born Jan 15, 1868 in Fulton Co, IL; educated in the district schools. His father, William A. Smith, was a native of Pennsylvania; his mother, Sarah E. Smith, was born in Illinois. His paternal grandparents, Elijah and Susan Smith, were natives of Pennsylvania. His maternal grandfather, Andrew Pinegar, was born in Kentucky. Hi maternal grandmother’s Christian name was Matilda. The paternal great-grandmother’s family name was Brown; that of the maternal great-grandfather, Marchant.
Nov. 24, 1892, at Rapatee, Mr. Smith was married to Lillie M. Norval. They have had three children: Ethel, Halsey, and Nellie. In politics Mr. Smith is a democrat.
Smith, Louis M., Knoxville; Postmaster; born Jan. 6, 1862 in Mercer Co, IL.; educated in Missouri. His father, George F. Smith, was born in 1836 in Knoxville, his mother, Clementine M. (Sadler), was born in Harrisburg, PA. They had five children: Louis M.; Bert G., who is a school teacher; two who died in infancy; and Jessie L., a teacher in the High School of Knoxville, who died Oct. 7, 1894. George F. Smith was commissioned First Lieutenant, Company E, One Hundred and Thirty-eighth Illinois Volunteers in 1864, and was honorably discharged Oct. 14, 1864. He died in 1881, and his wife in May 1898.
Louis M. Smith’s paternal grandfather, Miles Smith, was a native of New York; his maternal grandparents were John L. and Sibbie (Stewart) Sadler. The ancestry of the family is English, Welsh and Irish.
Mr. Smith is a member of Knoxville Camp, No. 224, S.O.V., has been Captain two terms, and is now a member of the Division Council. He is also a member of Horatio Lodge, No 362, Knights of Pythias. Mr. Smith belongs to the Methodist Episcopal Church. In politics he is a republican.
Smith, Malcolm, Farmer; Knox Township; born in Herkimer Co, NY, Dec. 15, 1836; educated in the common schools. The ancestry of the family was Scotch and English. Mr. Smith’s parents, James and Jeal (McCann) Smith, were natives of Scotland.
Mr. Smith came to Illinois in 1856. He was married March 7, 1860 in Joliet, IL. to Harriet M. Randall. They had four children: Fred M., James D., George C., and Maud R. Fred M’s second marriage was with Fannie (Ingram) of Hornellsville, New York. He had a daughter, Clarissa, by a former marriage. James D. is a farmer, and was married to Sarah Lufkin, of Massachusetts. George C. and Fred M. are in the employ of the Union Pacific Railroad.
Mrs. Smith’s father, Dennison Randall, was born in Cattaraugus Co, NY in 1810, and married Elexemena Pratt of Hume, NY. They have five children: Ann Netta, Harriet M., Esther Y., Dennison P., and William C. The Pratts were soldiers in the Revolutionary War, and both families were represented in the Civil War.
For thirty years, Mr. Smith was connected with the Chicago and Alton Railroad, during twenty years of which time he held the position of Train-master. Mr. Smith and family are members of the Presbyterian Church. In politics he is a republican, and held the office of Supervisor for ten years.
Smith, Mathew M., Superintendent for the Purington Paving Brick Company; Knox Township; born in Buffalo, New York, Jan. 29, 1860, where he was educated. His parents, Mathew and Margaret (Brown) Smith, were born in New York City. His paternal grandparents, Mathew and Margaret (McCoy) Smith, were natives of Ireland, the former of Belfast. His maternal grandparents, James and Jane Brown, were natives of Scotland.
July 12, 1880, in Buffalo, New York, Mr. Smith was married to Elizabeth E. Henry; they have one son, Stephen H. Mr. Smith is a member of the Veritas Lodge, No. 478, of Galesburg; I.O.O.F. and the Modern Woodmen of America, East Galesburg, Camp No. 2436. He has served the people of East Galesburg for four terms as President of the village. He is a republican.
Smith, William H., Farmer and stock raiser; Elba Township, where he was born Sept. 16, 1847; educated in the common schools. His father, Seth Smith, was born in North Carolina in 1811, came to Yates City in 1835, and died in Adams County, Iowa, July 25, 1887. His mother, Mary (George) Smith, was born in Knoxville, TN., and died Sept. 16, 1891. His paternal grandfather, William Smith, was born in Ireland, and his grandmother, Sarah (Phillips) Smith, was born in New Jersey. His maternal grandparents were born in Tennessee.
William H. Smith was married at Knoxville, Jan. 31, 1872, to Anna Eliza Carothers, who was born in Elba Township, July 2, 1854, daughter of John and Eliza (Ouderkirk) Carothers, who came from Schenectady, New York; both parents are deceased.
Mr. and Mrs. Smith have six children: Lillie E., born Dec. 3, 1872; Hattie E., born Jan. 12, 1875; Maud M., born June 10, 1877; Edith G., born Jan. 14, 1880; Fred L., born Oct 23, 1884; and Hazel M., born April 21, 1892.
Mr. Smith has a farm of 300 acres on Sections 5 and 9. He is a member of the I.O.O.F. Lodge No. 73, Yates City. In politics he is a republican, and has held the office of Justice of the Peace, Constable, and School Director.
Smollinger, William H., President of Covenant Mutual Life Association, and son of John Martin and Anna M. (Maurer) Smollinger, was born in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Sept. 20, 1858.
His parents were natives of Germany and were married in Wertenberg. They came to America in 1852, settling in Milwaukee, where they remained for sixteen years. They then removed in 1869 to Aurora, IL. where the father died. The father’s occupation was that of a live stock and grain dealer.
William H. received his early instruction in the excellent public schools where he lived. His first school days were spent in Aurora, IL. Afterwards he took a course of study at the North Western College at Naperville. Thus equipped, he was well fitted to enter upon the active duties of life. In February 1880, he came to Galesburg to act in the capacity of Assistant Cashier in the Covenant Mutual. In December 1882, he resigned that position to take charge of the correspondence of the Parlin and Orendorff Company, Canton, IL. He did not remain long in this position, but returned to the Covenant Mutual in August 1883. In 1889 he was elected Assistant Secretary, and in 1890 Secretary, which post he held until March 1897, when he was elected President of Covenant Mutual, which position he now holds.
Mr. Smollinger is a man highly respected by all who know him. Kind in disposition, affable in manners, learned in his profession, he has won the confidence of every one with whom he is associated. Free from all vanity and vain-gloriousness, possessed of urbanity and suavity, he addresses himself favorably to every one. He is modest, unassuming, and never, in an obnoxious way, pushes himself to the front. After the waters are stirred, he finds his opportunity and improves it with a sound judgment and keen discretion.
Mr. Smollinger has been connected with various societies. He was initiated into Veritas Lodge 478, Galesburg, Oct. 21, 1880; into the Colfax Encampment 28, in 1882; has filled all the offices in local lodges; represented the Lodge and Encampment, of which he was a member, in the State Grand Lodge and State Grand Encampment; was elected Grand Junior Warden of Grand Encampment of Illinois, November 1891; Grand Senior Warden November 1892; Grand High Priest in 1893; Grand Patriarch of the State of Illinois, Nov. 20, 1894; and Grand Representative to the Sovereign Grand Lodge, Nov. 19, 1895. He was also an active member of the Patriarch’s Millepost (Military Order of I.O.O. F.), and served for some time in the National body of that branch of the order as Adjutant General, Third Army Corps.
Mr. Smollinger has never been abroad, but he has gathered much information and broadened himself by his travels at home. He has visited every State in the Union, and has also made extensive trips into Mexico and Canada. He belongs to no church organization. His political creed is republican. He firmly believes in republican principles, and never has had a desire to affiliate with any other party.
Mr. Smollinger was never married.
Snider, A. A., was born in Stark Co, IL, Nov. 29, 1849, and received his education in the common schools. His father, John Snider, was born in Ohio, and his mother, Susan S. (Wright), was a native of New York State. His paternal grandparents were William and Mary Snider.
Mr. A. A. Snider is the oldest of a family of six children. His brothers are: L. W., William E., and Elmer B. His sisters are both married: Mary M., married Call Salisbury; Emma, married John Cunningham.
Jan. 13, 1872, Mr. Snider married Martha J. Mahaffey, in Henry Co, IL. Mrs. Snider was born in Peoria County, Oct 22, 1849. They have two children: Minnie M., born in 1876; Perry O., born in 1882.
Mrs. Snider’s parents were Nain and Deborah (Wright) Mahaffey; her father was born in Ohio; her mother in New York State. It was early in the history of Peoria County that her father, a stone mason by trade, settled there. They had four children. Mr. and Mrs. Mahaffey are now deceased.
Mr. Snider lived with his parents until he was of age. For about six years after his marriage, he made his home in Stark County, on a farm east of La Fayette. He then purchased land in Section 1, Lynn Township, Knox Co., where he now has a fine farm of 272 acres.
Mr. Snider is a member of the Masonic Order. He and his wife are members of the Eastern Star. In religion they are Methodists. He is School Director, and has been Road Commissioner several terms. In politics he is a republican.
Sornborger, Charles D., Farmer; Victoria Township; born in Victoria in 1843; educated in the common schools. His father was Anson Sornborger, an early settler.
Mr. C. D. Sornborger was first married in 1870, to Marion Clark, who died leaving two sons: Clifford F. and Clide W.
His second marriage was with Irene Brown in 1885.
Mr. Sornborger is a republican and has been active in public affairs; he has been School Director for four years, and has also been Town Treasurer. In 1868 he settled on the farm where he now resides. Mr. Sornborger is in religion a Protestant.
Sornborger, George M., Farmer; Victoria Township; born April 1, 1841 in Victoria, IL.; educated in the common schools. He was married to Frances E., daughter of John T. Suydam, Oct. 12, 1865 in Copley Township, IL. They have eight children: Clarence T., George A., Lolette K., Mary E., Claud, Floyd, Grace F., and Fern L.
Mr. Sornborger’s father was Anson Sornborger, who came from Dutchess Co, NY in 1838; he had nine sons, and one daughter, now the wife of Aaron Olmsted; and two brothers, Alexander and Peter.
George Sornborger, the father of Anson, was a soldier in the Revolution; he died in Victoria in 1841. Anson lived in Victoria until 1859 when he removed to Copley Township and engaged in farming.
George M. remained at home until 1862, when he enlisted in Company K, Eighty-third Illinois Volunteers; he served one year and then returned to Copley, having been discharged for disability. He settled in Copley in 1866 on a rented farm. In 1868 he purchased 160 acres of land in Victoria Township, where he now resides.
Mr. Sornborger is a charter member of P.G. Tait Post, No. 698, G. A. R., a charter member of Knox Henry Pomona Grange, No. 837, and a member of the Illinois State Grange. In politics he is a republican, and has held the offices of Collector and Assessor.
Spake, William N., Restaurateur and Confectioner; born in Princeton, IL., Oct 24, 1858. His father, L. M. Spake, was born in Sweden, and his mother, Eva (Olson) Spake, was also a native of Sweden. He was educated at Princeton, IL.
Nov. 14, 1888 he married Mary E. Olson at Galesburg. There were two children, Marie Louise and Richard William.
Mr. Spake’s parents were married in Sweden, and came to this country in 1847, settling in Princeton, where Mr. Spake engaged in the carpentry business, which he followed until his death. Mrs. Spake is still living in Princeton.
After finishing his education at Princeton, Mr. W. N. Spake came to Galesburg and commenced work in the restaurant of J. F. Anderson, where he remained for eighteen years, at the end of which time he purchased an interest in the business which was continued under the firm name of J.F. Anderson and Company. After seven years of partnership, Mr. Anderson disposed of his interest to Henry G. Hawkinson, and the firm name was changed to Spake and Hawkinson. They are located at 140 East Main Street, and are the leaders in the restaurant and catering business of this part of the country.
Mr. Spake is one of our most reliable and successful citizens. In religion, he is a Lutheran. In politics, he is a republican.
Speer, William G., Farmer; Elba Township; born Dec. 1, 1856, in Indiana; educated in the common schools. His grandparents were John Speer of New Jersey and Rachel Speer; his father was Samuel Johnson Speer of New Jersey, who died in Canton, IL., August 12, 1895. He was a soldier in the War of 1812. His mother, Susanna (Crothers) Speer, of Pennsylvania, died in January 1878. Her parents were Martin and Margaret Crothers of PA.
Mr. Speer was married in Canton, IL., April 28, 1884, to Emma Slane, who was born Jan. 17, 1855. She was the daughter of Thomas and Anna (Race) Slane, who died in Peoria Co, IL. They had one child, Clinton Chester, born Oct. 15, 1893.
Mr. Speer came to Illinois in 1856, and located in Banner Township, Fulton Co., where the mother died. He has a farm of 80 acres on Section 33. His parents were members of the Methodist Episcopal Church for more than forty years. Mr. Speer is a democrat, and has been School Director.
Spencer, Charles, Farmer; Truro Township; born May 4, 1836 in Erie Co, PA; educated in the common schools. His father, Joshua N. Spencer, was born in Maine, Dec. 22, 1810, and died June 28, 1856; his mother, Maria (Steaver), was born in PA, Dec. 16, 1810, and died March 8, 1888. His maternal grandfather, Henry Steaver, was a native of New York.
In Oct. 1858, he was married in Truro Township to Rosina, daughter of George W. and Martha (Buck) Doty. She was born April 28, 1830. Of this union there were seven children: Mary Maria, born July 1, 1859; Nathaniel, born June 22, 1861; Frank E., born March 29, 1863, died April 1, 1870; Deborah, born March 6, 1865; Emma Jane, born Feb. 22, 1867; Rosina, born July 2, 1869; and Charles, born Aug. 25, 1871.
Mrs. Spencer’s father was born in Maine, her mother, in New York in 1810. Mr. Spencer has a fine stock farm three miles north of Williamsfield. He is a member of Free Masons Lodge, 363, Elmwood. He has held the offices of Road Commissioner, and School Director. In politics he is a democrat.
Stafford, Samuel, Farmer; Rio Township; born in 1837 in Ireland; his ancestors were from England and Ireland; his paternal grandfather lived to the age of one hundred and nine years.
Mr. Stafford was married to Lucinda Melton in Oneida, IL., in 1867. They have one son living, Guy M.
Mr. Stafford came to America in 1857, enlisted in the United States Army, and served four years and seven months. In religion he is a Methodist. In politics he is a republican.
Standish, John Van Ness, is a lineal descendant of Captain Miles Standish, of Pilgrim fame, and was born in Woodstock, Vermont, Feb. 26, 1825. His father was John Winslow Standish, who was born in Pembroke, MA., July 19, 1785. He was a man of many virtues. He was kind, affectionate, trustful, and had a heart full of love for everyone. He possessed good natural powers of mind, and lived to his ninetieth year an exemplary and honorable life.
His mother was Caroline Williams Myrick, who was born in Woodstock, Vermont, Dec. 20, 1790. She was the daughter of Lieutenant Samuel Myrick, who served his country through the Revolutionary War. She was devoted to her family and friends, domestic in her home life, untiring in industry, frugal, discreet, intelligent, and her whole life of sacrifice and duty is stamped indelibly upon the memory of her children.
The ancestry of the Standish family reaches back to a very early period in English history. In the thirteenth century, there were two branches to the family; one called the “Standishes of Standish”, and the other the “Standishes of Duxbury Hall.” Their location was near the village of Chorley, Lancashire. The first of the name was Thurston de Standish, who was living in 1222. He had a son Ralph, who had a son Hugh. In 1306, on account of differences in religious views, one being Catholic, the other Protestant, the estate was divided: Jordan Standish becoming the proprietor of Standish, and Hugh, of Duxbury Hall. In 1677 Sir Richard Standish occupied the Duxbury estate and in 1812, it came into the possession of Sir Frank Standish. Titled nobility came into the family in the following manner: Froissart relates in his chronicles that when Richard II and Wat Tyler met, the rebel was struck from his horse by William Walworth, and then John Standish, the King’s Squire, alighted, drew his sword, and thrust it through Wat Tyler’s body. For this act he was knighted. This baronetcy, which was established in 1676, became extinct in 1812.
The history of the Standish family in America begins with Miles Standish, the great Puritan Captain, who was descended from the Standishes of Duxbury Hall. He was born about 1784 and died at Duxbury, MA., Oct. 3, 1856. He inherited in a pre-eminent degree the military qualities of his ancestors. He was the Moses of his time and led the Pilgrim Band into the “Promised Land” of Liberty. Without him, New England for a generation or two would have remained a wilderness and that little Plymouth colony would have become extinct.
Miles Standish’s first wife was Rose, a most beautiful woman. She died in about a month after landing at Plymouth. According to tradition, his second wife was Barbara, a sister to Rose. By this second marriage there were seven children. The eldest was Alexander, who built the cottage in 1666 now standing on the “Standish farm” at Duxbury. For his first wife, Alexander married Sarah, daughter of John Alden. His second wife was Desire (Sherman) Doty, by whom he had four children. Their eldest child was Thomas, who married Mary Carver. Thomas had six children, the third birth being a son whose name was Thomas, the great-grandfather of John Van Ness. This second Thomas married Martah Bisbee and had two sons, one of whom was named Hadley. Hadley married Abigail Gardner and became the father of eleven children. The third child was John Winslow, who married Caroline Williams Myrick. They had six children, the fourth birth being John Van Ness.
John Van Ness Standish belongs to the sixth generation from the Pilgrim Captain. He was not born in affluence, and consequently, has been obliged to depend upon his own exertions in the great contest of life. He received the rudiments of his education in the common schools of his native town. From these, he passed into private schools, in which he spent several terms. He next became a student, for several years, in an academy at Lebanon, New Hampshire, which would vie in thoroughness and scholarship with many of the colleges of today. Having finished here the entire course of mathematics save the Calculus, and being thoroughly prepared, he matriculated in Norwich University in 1844, and graduated as salutatorian of his class July 7, 1847. While in college, he was regarded as a most excellent scholar, and in mathematics, the leader of his class. To meet his expenses during these years of study, he taught school winters, commencing at the age of sixteen, and worked on the farm summers. He made study a business, squandered no time, and had but little leisure for recreation or games.
After leaving college, he taught a select school in Perkinsville, Vermont, and when this was closed, he became principal of a graded school in the same village. Not satisfied with the prospects in his native State, he resolved to seek his fortunes in the west. In the fall of 1850, he went to western New York and taught in the graded schools of Farmington, Bergen, Macedon, and Victor, until he was called to the Professorship of Mathematics and Astronomy in Lombard University. Rev. P. R. Kendall, a classmate, was its president, and the letter of invitation sent by him to Dr. Standish contained the following: “You and I are to build a college. I want you to take charge while I collect money.” And it may be said that Lombard University owes its existence to the labors of these two men.
On Oct. 22, 1854, Dr. Standish arrived in Galesburg, and on the following day, he entered upon his duties as Acting President and Professor of Mathematics and Astronomy. He was Acting President for three years, and the institution prospered greatly under his management. From 1854 to 1892, a period of thirty-eight years, he held his professorship. Nor was he confined to his own department. For seven or eight years, he taught the natural sciences, and if any new branch of study was introduced, Dr. Standish was elected as the teacher. A professor said to him, “You have taught the whole college curriculum.” Dr. Standish replied, “Not quite.” Counting Geometry, Calculus, Logic, Cicero, Virgil, and Livy, as distinct studies, he has taught over seventy—more perhaps than any other two professors in Galesburg.
In 1892, he was elected President of Lombard University, resigning in June, 1895. For the first seven months, he canvassed for funds, and raised by subscription forty-one thousand five hundred dollars—a larger amount than was ever raised in so short a time by any other man working in the interest of the University. The catalogues will show that during his administration, the patronage gradually increased.
Dr. Standish performed signal service for the college outside of his professorship. He planned the cabinet cases and, with the aid of Mrs. Standish, raised the money to pay for them. He raised the money and purchased the Cabinet of Corals. He obtained the Cowan collection. He secured the means to build the bookcases. He arranged and planned the shrubbery on the college campus. As another has said, “There is scarcely a place but that you see his hand.”
As a teacher, Dr. Standish had but
few equals. He was original in his
illustrations and methods, and cared little
for the opinion of men as written in
books. He was a law unto himself, and his
teaching was neither by book nor by rote. He
was clear, incisive, and never allowed the
dullest student to pass from him without a
full comprehension of the subject. Many of
his pupils used to say, “I can carry away
more of his instruction than that of any
other teacher.” Dr. Anson L. Clark, a
graduate of Lombard University in 1858, a
Professor and President of Bennett Medical
College in Chicago for more than a quarter
century, and a member of the State Board of
Health for as long a period, pays him the
following tribute: “As a teacher,
Professor Standish had few equals, no
superiors. With the subject so completely in
hand himself, it was always a wonder, how
for the benefit of some dull pupil he could
go over a mathematical demonstration again,
again and again, without the slightest
appearance of impatience. And to those
observing this conflict between light and
darkness, it was especially pleasing to note
the kindly light of interest and
satisfaction which would pass over his
countenance when at last he saw that he had
won, and that the problem was
comprehended. He made such victories a
life-work and acknowledged no defeat.”
D. L. Braucher, a civil engineer and surveyor, and one of the best mathematicians ever connected with the University, gives him impressions in the following words: “Professor Standish was always thoughtful, dignified in his bearing, and anxious to make his pupils see the truth as viewed from foundation principles. He seemed more like a sympathetic companion than teacher, while we were delving for the hidden truths of higher mathematics. The more knotty the problem, the more persistent the labor, till victory perched on our banner, as she always did. Time has tinted those memories as delicately as the sunshine has painted the rainbow.”
As a scholar, Dr. Standish stands preeminent. He is really an all-round man. Not only is he well versed in the lore of books and the teachings of the schools, but he has been a great student in the broad fields of the world. He is well posted in almost every department of science, literature, and art. In criticism, he has but few equals. He excels in rhetoric and in grammatical construction in the use of words, and has been called by some scholars a dictionary man. At the Ministers’ Institutes, held in Chicago and other places, he was selected above all others as the critic for the entire sessions.
In his labors and zeal for the advancement and improvement of the common schools, he has hardly been excelled by any one. He has held teachers’ institutes, and lectured all over the State—from Jackson and Macoupin counties on the south to Lake and Jo Daviess counties on the north. He was chairman of the first meeting to establish graded schools in Galesburg, and attended other meetings held in their interest. From 1854 to 1880, he was a constant attendant at the Knox County Institute of Teachers, and was a leading member of the State Teachers’ Association. The later body, in 1859, elected him President.
Dr. Standish has been a great traveler. In company with Mrs. Standish, he has visited the old world three times—in 1879, 1882-3, and in 1891-2. With the exception of Denmark and Portugal, he has visited every country of Europe, Egypt, and the Holy Land, and Asia Minor, went to the North Cape within nineteen degrees of the North Pole, saw the midnight sun seven nights, and took a trip of a hundred miles out on the Sahara Desert. Both Dr. and Mrs. Standish have gone abroad for study, as well as pleasure. In his own country, he has visited every State in the Union excepting the Carolinas.
Both Dr. and Mrs. Standish are lovers of art. They have visited every large picture gallery in the world, and many small ones. They are conversant with the museums of Europe and have studied cathedral and park wherever they have traveled. Egypt and Assyria, Greece and Rome, have been laid under contribution, and their treasures have been spread out before them.
As a public spirited man, Dr. Standish holds a conspicuous place among his fellow citizens. He has done much to improve the city, and has given more hours of labor without compensation than any other man in it. For more than thirty years, he has made his own grounds the most attractive in the city. Another said to him, “Your handiwork is seen all over Galesburg.” He has an aesthetic nature, and is fond of mountain scenery and beauty of landscape. He is a horticulturist and for nearly ten years, was president of Knox County Agricultural Society. He was once elected a member of the Board of Education, and for many years has been a director in the Second National Bank.
As a man, Dr. Standish is kind, benevolent, and charitable, and will make sacrifices for the public good. He is open-hearted, and believes in honesty of purpose and intention. He has no use for double-minded men. In religion he is a Universalist. In politics he is a republican.
Dr. Standish was married March 24, 1859 to Harriet Augusta Kendall, daughter of Francis and Rebecca (Stowe) Kendall. She was a teacher of painting, French, and Italian in Lombard University for twelve years.
Stearns, Gardner G., Farmer; Knoxville; born in Conway, MA., Feb. 9, 1836, where he was educated. His parents, George and Fannie (Arms) Stearns, were also natives of Conway.
Mr. Stearns was Captain of Company A, Seventy-seventh Illinois Volunteers, and was honorably discharged at the close of the war. He was wounded in action, and was a prisoner of war at Tyler, Texas.
Oct. 2, 1865, he was married in Knoxville to Lucy G. Runkle, daughter of Eldert and Nancy (Bowen) Runkle; there were five children: George E., Arthur D., Fred R., Fannie G., and Mary E. Arthur D. married Mary Wertman; Fred R. married Louise Rambo.
Mr. Runkle was born in Albany County, New York in 1802, where he was educated in the common schools; he came to Illinois about 1833, and was a farmer by occupation; he died in June 1865. Mrs. Runkle died in Oct. 1888; they had six children: Elizabeth, James, Mary H., Lucy G., George, and Frank.
In politics, Mr. Stearns was a fearless republican. For one term he held the office of Supervisor. His paternal ancestors were English, Dutch and Welsh on the maternal side. Captain Stearns died Aug. 8, 1898. He was an attendant at the Presbyterian Church.
Steck, R. R., Farmer; Salem Township; born in Westmoreland County, Pennsylvania, Nov. 12, 1851; educated in the common schools. His parents, S. F. and Isabella (Jack) Steck, were born in Westmoreland County, PA, the father, Nov. 22, 1822, and the mother, Sept. 27, 1818. Mr. Steck is still living in Elmwood; Mrs. Steck died in Peoria County in 1885. Mr. R. R. Steck’s paternal grandfather was Simon Steck; his maternal grandparents were Samuel and Nancy (Porter) Jack, who were born in Westmoreland Co, PA.
Nov. 1, 1876, Mr. Steck was married in Salem Township to Elizabeth, daughter of James and Elizabeth (Cunningham) McKeegan. Mrs. Steck’s parents came from Ireland, and first settled in Fulton County where Mrs. Steck was born Feb. 14, 1854. In 1855 they removed to Salem Township.
Mr. and Mrs. Steck have five children: Isabell E., born Aug. 29, 1878; Edith R., born Sept. 12, 1879; Elizabeth, born March 3, 1882; Margaretta R., born March 25, 1886; and Robert B., born July 5, 1892. Edith R. and Elizabeth are graduates of the Farmington High School.
Mr. Steck came to Farmington Feb. 13, 1865; settled on Section 34 in Salem Township in 1878; he has acquired a farm of 225 acres and has a large amount of stock. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church in Farmington. In politics he is a republican.
Steele, Alonzo T., Farmer; Orange Township; born June 15, 1851 in West Virginia; educated in the common schools. His parents are John and Mary E. Steele. They came to Illinois in 1851, and settled in Peoria County and moved to a farm near Gilson, Knox Co., in 1875; they now reside in Gilson, Haw Creek Township.
Alonzo T. lived on the farm in Persifer Township until 1888 when he removed to Knoxville and engaged in the lumber business. In 1892 he moved to a farm in Orange Township.
He was married to Sarah L., daughter of Peter Lacy, near Gilson, Dec. 4, 1875. Their children are: Ella, Arthur, Loy, William, Harley, and Faye. Ella was married to Edwin D. Cramer of DeLong, Sept., 8, 1898. Mr. Steele is a member of the Congregational Church. He is a republican.
Steele, William Lucas, son of William Lucas and Anna (Johnson) Steele, was born in Adams Co, Ohio, July 22, 1854. His parents were Scotch-Irish Covenanters. His father, who was a farmer, and a teacher in the winter season, died at the age of 39, when William L. was a year old.
In 1859, his mother moved with her family of three children to Randolph County in southern Illinois. In 1869 she moved to Monmouth, IL, in order to secure the educational advantages presented there for her children.
Young Steele’s elementary training was obtained at the various public schools where he lived. His ambition was to make the most of his opportunities. Even at eight years of age, he performed the ordinary work of a man on the farm. Not satisfied with merely a common school education, he entered Monmouth College and graduated in the classical course with high honors. After graduation in 1876, his first employment was teaching. He took charge of the Yates City schools in this county, remaining there for seven years, when he was elected County Superintendent. The latter office he resigned to accept the superintendency of the Galesburg City schools, which position he has held with distinguished credit since August, 1885.
At Yates City he laid the foundation for the school library, which has been flourishing for over twenty years and has at present over two thousand volumes. As County Superintendent, he wrote the first “Outlines for Ungraded Schools,” which was published by the Board of Supervisors. As City Superintendent, he has introduced “Manual Training” and “Elective Studies” for the High School.
As an educator, Professor Steele is a popular man. He is popular among his teachers and among the citizens. In the educational fraternity throughout the State, he is well and favorably known. Before the State Teacher’s Association, he has frequently been invited to read papers on educational subjects which have reflected great credit upon his ability. In every moral enterprise, he is a worker. He never has affiliated with any society, secret or otherwise, but is a firm adherent of the Presbyterian Church. He has been the secretary of its Board of Trustees for the past six years.
In his political sympathies, Professor Steele is a republican. On that ticket he was elected County Superintendent.
He was married Oct. 20, 1887, to Helen Carter Benedict, who died May 3, 1893. She had been a teacher in the city schools for three years. To them were born two daughters: Gertrude Helen, born July 27, 1889, and Helen Benedict, born Feb. 11, 1893.
Stephenson, George Lowry, Ontario Township; Merchant; born Oct 20, 1838 in Kirkeudbright, Scotland. His father, George Stephenson, was born in North, and his mother, Isabella (McMillan), in South Scotland. They were Presbyterians and died in this country.
Oct. 26, 1865, Mr. Stephenson was married in Copley Township to Grace L. Stewart, of Glasgow, Scotland. They have five children: Frank S., Milton J., Grace D., Jessie I., and George Harry.
In 1850 Mr. Stephenson came with his parents in a sailing vessel to the United States, the voyage lasting five weeks. They landed at New Orleans, and an additional two weeks were required to reach St. Louis by steamboat. After a month they came up the Illinois River to Peoria, and from there by team to Knox County. They settled on a farm in Copley Township, and soon owned 80 acres of improved land. Here the parents died, and Mr. Stephenson grew to manhood and acquired his education in the public schools.
In 1863 he became a merchant in Oneida, selling first groceries, and then men’s furnishing goods. In 1872 he started a dry goods store which is his present occupation. Mr. Stephenson is a member of the Presbyterian Church. In politics, he is a republican. The reading of “Uncle Tom’s Cabin” and “Thaddeus of Warsaw” made him an abolitionist, and he was an ardent supporter of Lincoln, rendering valuable service to the cause. In Oneida, he has been Constable, Collector, City Marshall, Alderman and Mayor. In his township he has been School Director, President of the Board of Education, Supervisor for eighteen years, and for thirteen years chairman of the County Board. Mr. Stephenson has been an auctioneer. He is a member of the I.O.O.F. (ancient), and has been a Mason since 1862. In Galesburg he joined Chapter No. 48, now of Oneida; also Galesburg Commandery No. 8. He is also a member of Medina Temple, Chicago. In 1898, Mr. Stephenson received unanimous nomination for State Representative, but refused to run because the Senate had refused to reapportion the State.
Stetson, Charles A., Dry Goods Merchant; Yates City, Salem Township; born May 4, 1840 in Otsego Co., NY; educated in the common schools of New York, and in Farmington, Illinois. His father, John S., was born in Otsego Co, NY in Jan., 1805, and died in Farmington, IL. in 1892. His mother, Eliza (Robinson), was also born in Otsego Co, NY.
Mr. Stetson’s first wife, Amanda M. (Caldwell), died Dec. 19, 1887; they had two children: Helen E., born Feb. 27, 1870, now the wife of F. E. Gates, of Omaha, Nebraska; and L. R., born Feb. 15, 1879, now with the Merchants National Bank of Peoria.
His second wife was Lucinda (Miller), who died Dec. 25, 1891.
His third marriage was with Mrs. Minnie (Holcomb) Gates, in Galesburg, IL, July 18, 1895. They have had two children: Mrs. Stetson was born in Connecticut in 1840.
Mr. Stetson came from New York to Farmington, IL. in 1856, when he was sixteen years of age, and in 1862 he engaged in the dry goods business. In 1869 he removed to Yates City and built the first brick store in that locality. He has been School Trustee a number of years, and a member of the City Board. He is held in high esteem in the community. In politics he is a republican. Mrs. Stetson is a member of the Presbyterian Church.
Stevens, George: his early life was one of roving and adventure. He was born in Philadelphia, and was but a small lad when he ran away from home and went by sailing vessel to New Orleans, where he was taken sick and went to the hospital. An old gentleman conceived a friendly interest for the young adventurer, and took him to his home, but the roving spirit was too strong, and young Stevens left his kind-hearted friends and went into Mexico, where he herded sheep. He went from Mexico to California in 1849, and then to Denver, Colorado, where he worked in a saw and flour mill for D. C. Oakes. He afterwards went to Leadville with Isaac N. Rafferty and engaged in gold mining. They remained there only about two months, during which time they secured about $24,000 in gold, which they took to the mint in Philadelphia and had made into coin.
Mr. Stevens made and lost several fortunes; and returning to Denver, he engaged in the real estate and brokerage business. He returned east to Madison County, Ohio, where his former partner, Mr. Rafferty, resided, and when Mr. Rafferty came to Illinois to be married, Mr. Stevens came with him, and in 1860, bought the old Robinson White farm in Persifer Township, Section 28. The farm comprised 470 acres and Mr. Stevens leased it for five years. He then went to Nevada where he became a successful mine operator, at one time employing six hundred men. He made three trips to California on horseback, riding a famous Indian pony, “Mitchell,” purchased from the Indians. The pony reached the age of 37 years.
Mr. Stevens was an excellent business man, and bought and sold much stock and real estate; at the time of his death he owned 1,257 acres of land. On account of his physical and mental endowments he was a leader among men, and his sterling, manly qualities were quickly recognized by western people. He was a famous athlete, and among the Indians and frontiersmen, many stories were told of his feats in jumping and running. He was a personal friend of the famous Kit Carson, and later was one of the dashing and daring riders of the ‘Pony Express’. His character was active, honest, straightforward and open-hearted.
Mr. Stevens was married to Hannah P. Rafferty in Galesburg, IL. Six of their children are now living: Lucinda B., wife of Jacob DeBolt; George W.; Mary V., wife of George K. Sherman of Knoxville; Eleanor E., wife of Geortz West of Galesburg; John B., and Milo A.
Mrs. Stevens was a daughter of William B. and Susanna (Denny) Rafferty of Abingdon, who came to Illinois when Mrs. Stevens was fourteen years of age. Since she was thirteen years of age she has been a member of the Christian Church.
In politics Mr. Stevens was a democrat, and he was ever interested and well posted in national affairs. He died March 26, 1897.
Stevenson, William C., Farmer; Haw Creek Township; born in Franklin Co, OH., Feb 26, 1836; educated in Knox County. His father, Edward Stevenson, was born in
Maryland; his mother, Mary (Keys), was born in Delaware. Mary Keys’s father’s name was James. Edward Stevenson’s parents, Zacharia and Sarah, were born in Maryland, as was also Zacharia’s father, John, who was of English descent.
William C. Stevenson was married to Charlotte A. Ouderkirk, the daughter of Jacob and Nancy (Waffle) Ouderkirk, at her home in Haw Creek Township, Feb. 2, 1859. They have two children, Mrs. Elsie Reynolds and Ethmer V. Stephenson.
Mr. Stephenson came to Knox County in 1841, with his parents. They spent three years in Jones Co, IA, but later returned to Knox County. He has been a successful farmer, and has 335 acres of land in Maquon, Haw Creek, and Orange Townships. In 1865 he moved to his own farm in Maquon Township and lived there till 1893 when he settled on the old Jacob Ouderkirk place in Haw Creek Township. In politics he is a populist, and holds the position of School Trustee.
Stockdale, W. M., Druggist; Altona, Walnut Grove Township; born Jan. 7, 1844 in Elkhart, Indiana. His father was Thomas Stockdale of Pennsylvania, and his grandfather, Hugh Stockdale came from Ireland; his mother, Catherine (Manning) was born in Ohio. He was educated in the common schools.
At the age of seventeen he entered the Union Army, and served in the Regiment Band until Aug. 9, 1865, when he came to Altona to join his father, who had previously moved there. Mr. Stockdale was clerk in a drug store there in 1868. In 1888 he opened a drug store on his own account.
He was married in Altona in 1871 to Ella Main. He has been Town Clerk, and is a member of the Masonic Lodge in Altona. He organized, and was leader of the first band in Altona.
Mr. Stockdale is a republican and has always taken an interest in municipal affairs. He is a Protestant.
Strain, George M., Reporter for the “Republican-Register”; Galesburg, where he was born March 4, 1873; educated in Knox College. His father, David Newton Strain, was born near Greenfield, Ohio; his mother, Sarah A. Strain, was born at Russelville, Ohio. On the paternal side, his great-grandparents were David and Nancy (Montgomery) Strain. His grandfather, James Strain was born in South Carolina; his grandmother was Martha Garrett Strain. On the maternal side, his great-grandparents were John and Sabra (Witter) Bassett; his grandparents were George Bassett, born in Benton Township, New York, and Nancy (Wilson) Bassett, born in Russelville, Ohio.
After leaving the public schools, at the age of twelve, he worked for the O. T. Johnson Company for two years; attended Knox Academy three years; worked for Kellogg, Drake and Olson for three years; attended Knox College for three years, during which time he was special reporter for the Republican-Register, held a regular position as reporter on the same paper from June 1896 to August 1898; attended Knox College for the senior year, and after graduation, returned to his former position on the Republican-Register.
His parents came to Galesburg in April 1865, having residing in the State from 1854. His father, D. N. Strain, was a grocer for twenty years, but is now retired. One brother, Orves B. Strain, died in Galesburg in 1890. Another brother, Rev. H. L. Strain, returned from Germany in 1898, after a two years’ course of study under a Blatchford fellowship from the Chicago Theological Seminary, and is now assistant pastor of the New England Congregational Church, Chicago. In religion, G. M. Strain is a Congregationalist. In politics he is a republican.
Stream, Oliver, Farmer; Sparta Township; born in Sweden Dec. 4, 1833, where he received a limited education. His father was Olof Stream, who was a soldier in the Swedish Army for twenty-five years; his mother was Betsy (Isaacson) Stream.
Mr. Oliver Stream was first married to Margaret Donaldson of Sweden in July 1855, emigrated to America the same year, settling in Knox County, where he has since resided. Their children were: John, Mary, Frank, Albert, Olive, and Willie. His first wife died in Rio Township in 1871.
Mr. Stream’s second marriage was with Mrs. Martha Johnson in Knox County, Feb. 13, 1872. They have one daughter, Carrie.
He is a member of the Methodist Church. In politics he is a republican, with prohibition sentiments. He is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows.
Stuckey, Simeon S., Farmer; Walnut Grove Township; born in Bedford Co, PA., Dec. 8, 1823. His father was Samuel A. Stuckey, of Pennsylvania.
He was married in 1849, to Caroline Border who was of English descent. They had nine children: Albert; Edward; Samuel; Augustus; William; Ella, who married P. M. Gilchrist; Margaret, who married W. I. Cook; Ida, the wife of C.J. McMaster; Avis, who married Charles Mann.
Mr. Stuckey came to Walnut Grove Township in 1855, and lived on a farm until 1894, when he retired and moved to Altona. He built the first house in the north-eastern part of the township.
In religion Mr. Stuckey was a Presbyterian, and a Trustee in the church for many years. In politics he was a republican, and filled the office of Road Commissioner, and was a member of the Board of Supervisors for many years. Mr. Stukey died Aug. 23, 1898.
Sullivan, Dennis E., Engineer; Galesburg; born Jan 31, 1861, in County Cork, Ireland, where he was educated in the common schools. His parents were William and Bridget Sullivan. He was married to Mary Minehan, in Shennandoah, Iowa, Jan. 22, 1887.
Mr. Sullivan came to America in 1868 and lived in South Boston till 1870, when he moved to Iowa, where he resided till 1886. He began work for the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad in Jan. 1876; in 1879 became fireman, and was made an engineer in 1884. From 1887 to October 1889, he worked for the Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railroad and returned to the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy, where he is an engineer at the present time.
In 1890 he moved to Galesburg, and in 1893, built his residence at 933 West Main Street. He is a member of the Knights of Pythias. Mr. Sullivan is a member of the Catholic Church. In politics he is a democrat.
Sullivan, E. J., Conductor; Galesburg; born March 17, 1858 at Glens Falls, NY; educated in Galesburg. His parents were Owen and Mary (Moynahan) Sullivan of Ireland. They came to this country when they were young, and were married at Glens Falls. His father was a railroad man, came to Galesburg in 1858, and was in the employ of the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad until his death in 1876.
At the age of fourteen years, E. J. Sullivan became a clerk in a clothing store in Galesburg, and when sixteen years old, entered the boiler shops of the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad. At the age of twenty, he was a brakeman, and in 1881 was made a conductor, which position he still holds.
He was married to Kittie Conley of Galesburg, Sept. 29, 1891. Their children are: Henrietta, Helen Marie, Josephine, and Eugene. Mrs. Sullivan’s father, Mark Conley, born in Ireland, was a blacksmith, and an old resident of Galesburg; her mother, Anna (Gettings) Conley, came from Ireland to Galesburg when she was nineteen years of age.
Mr. Sullivan is a member of the Order of Railway Conductors. In religion he is a Catholic. He is a republican.
Sullivan, James Edward, Brakeman; Galesburg; born Oct. 29, 1864 in Galesburg, where he was educated. His parents, Patrick and Anna (Ready) Sullivan, were born in County Kerry, Ireland; his grandparents, Jerry and Mary (Moyhinan) Sullivan, were born in Ireland; his great-grandmother was Julia (Dean) Sullivan.
Patrick Sullivan came to this country when a young man, and settled at Glens Falls, NY, where two of his children, Jerry and Mary, were born. He worked in a lime kiln. He came to Galesburg about 1857 and entered the employ of the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad Company where he remained until his death, May 28, 1883. After his father’s death, J. E. Sullivan purchased the homestead to which he has added other property. He entered the employ of the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad Company in 1881, as an apprentice in the paint shop, and after six years he became a brakeman, which position he still holds. Mr. Sullivan is a member of the Catholic Church. In politics he is a democrat.
Sutherland, Samuel, Farmer; Persifer Township; born Jan. 14, 1839 in Athens Co, OH. His father, Alexander Sutherland, was born in Washington Co, PA; his mother, Harriet Leeper, was born in the same State; his grandfather, John Sutherland, was a native of Glasgow, Scotland; his grandmother was a native of Maryland; his maternal grandfather, Samuel Leeper, and his maternal grandmother, Ann Evert, were natives of Pennsylvania.
Mr. Sutherland was married to Anna E. Diefenderfer in 1859, at Knoxville, IL.; they have eleven children: William Alexander, Alpheus J., Ulysses, Frank, Victoria, Romane, Ellen Jane, George S., Claude W., Anna Myrtle, and Ivy Glenn.
Mr. Sutherland was educated in Pennsylvania. His father, Alexander, came with his family from PA. to Knox Co, IL, in April 1852, and settled on a farm in Persifer Township. Samuel went to California, and in three years he accumulated sufficient means to purchase the farm on which his father first located, after which his father and mother came to live with him. His father died in 1870; his mother is still living at the age of 86 years, being at this time the oldest person in the township.
A poor boy, Mr. Sutherland began life by working by the month, and through persistent energy and economy, has become one of the most prosperous farmers in Knox County. In politics he is a republican and has held the office of Assessor, Collector, Constable, Commissioner of Highways, Trustee of Schools, and is at present School Director in District No. 2.
Sutherland, William Alexander, Farmer; Persifer Township; born Oct. 19, 1859 in Truro Township, IL. His father, Samuel Sutherland, was born in Athens Co, OH; his mother, Ann Elizabeth (Diefenderfer) Sutherland, was born in Union Co, PA; his grandparents, Alexander and Harriet (Leeper) Sutherland, were natives of PA, the latter of Washington County. John Sutherland, the great-grandfather of William Alexander, was born in Glasgow, Scotland; his great-grandmother was Susan Norris.
Mr. Sutherland was married to Emma Prosser July 2, 1884 in Stark Co, IL. Two children have been born to them: Charlotte I., deceased; and Fern.
John Prosser, the father of Mrs. Sutherland, was born in England; her mother, Elizabeth Prosser, was a native of PA.
Mr. W. A. Sutherland began life for himself at the age of nineteen years, and found employment in Stark County. He attended school for several winters and obtained a good common school education.
Mr. and Mrs. Sutherland removed to Knox County in the fall of 1884, having saved enough money while working by the month to make a payment on his farm in Persifer Township, upon which he now lives.
Mr. Sutherland has shown much interest in the progress of Persifer Township, and has held the office of Township Clerk for eight years with credit to himself and to the satisfaction of his fellow townsmen. He is a member of the Masonic order, and has attained the degree of Chapter Mason; he is also a member of the Modern Woodmen of America. Mr. Sutherland is a man of energy and push, and with the assistance of an economical wife, has paid for his farm under adverse conditions. In politics he is a republican.
Sutor, John James, son of John and Martha (Lytle) Sutor, was born in County Monaghan Ireland, Jan. 25, 1849. His paternal grandparents, Martin and Jennie (McDonald) Sutor were both of Scotch descent. His parents came to America in 1852, when he was only three years old, and settled in Haldimand Co, Province of Ontario, Canada. There they lived until 1858, when they moved to Knox Co., IL, and rented a farm in Galesburg Township, southwest of the city of Galesburg. In 1864 they bought 80 acres of land in Sparta Township for $3,000., to which they subsequently added another 80 acres. Of the nine children born to them, four sons survive: William, John J., Martin, and Henry T. The father, John Sutor, died Nov. 14, 1874, aged 58 years. In religion he was a Presbyterian, and he was highly respected. The mother, Martha (Lytle) Sutor survived her husband, and kept house for her son, John J., until her death, May 28, 1895. She was born in 1817 in County Cavan, Ireland, and was of that sturdy Scotch-Irish stock of Presbyterian faith, which has set its mark on the world’s history for honesty, perseverance and thrifty industry. She was a worthy member of the race, truthful, inflexibly honest, and of a very devout disposition, a good wife, mother and citizen, honored and respected by all who knew her.
John J. Sutor was educated in the schools of Knox County, and by faithful attendance and careful improvement of the advantages they afford secured a good general education. His young manhood was spent at home assisting his father, and when the latter died, he was ready and qualified to carry the burden that had fallen upon him. In 1875, twenty years before his mother’s death, Mr. Sutor, with his brothers Martin and Henry T., had built a pleasant and comfortable residence upon the farm, valued at $2,700. Beside the home farm they have a large stock ranch in Rooks County, Kansas, comprising five and one-quarter sections of land or 3,360 acres. His brothers, Martin and Henry T., are associated with him in business.
Mr. Sutor is a man of influence in his township, and in 1890 was elected Justice of the Peace, which office he has held to the present time. He was elected Assessor in 1898 and now holds that office. In politics he is a republican.
Suydam, George V., Insurance agent; Altona; born Jan. 17, 1831, in Greene Co, NY; son of Abraham Suydam, a farmer who settled in Victoria Township in 1852; he was educated in the common schools.
In 1860 George V. went to Pennsylvania and married Sarah McCalmont. He resided in Pennsylvania for five years and after his return to Victoria, his wife died in 1867, leaving two children, George E. and Mary E.
Mr. Suydam went to Altona in 1870 and engaged in the insurance business; he served as Justice of the Peace for ten years, and was a member of the Library Board, of the Village Board, and of the Masonic Order.
He married for his second wife, Catherine M., daughter of Henry Sawyer; their only son, Henry S., died when nine years old.
Mr. Suydam is a republican. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church.
Swain, P. H., Conductor; Galesburg; born Nov. 11, 1855 in Ottawa, Canada; educated in Illinois. His parents were William Swain of Ireland and Rose (Barnes) Swain, of Canada.
He was married in October 1877 at Chillicothe, Missouri, to Ellen, daughter of Thomas and Ellen Hickey, who are old residents of Knox County. Mr. and Mrs. Swain have one child, Rosella.
Mr. Swain came with his parents to Bureau County in 1857, and removed to Cherokee County, Kansas in 1871. His father died in 1883; his mother is still living.
Mr. Swain was a farmer and coal miner until 1874, when he came to Knox County and entered the employ of the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad Company as brakeman. He became a conductor in August, 1878. He has passed through many strikes, and is one of the reliable employees of the road. Mr. Swain is a Catholic. In politics he is a democrat.
Swain, R. F., Conductor; Galesburg; born July 28, 1851 in New York; educated in Bureau Co, IL. His parents were William Swain of Wicklow County, Ireland, and Rosa (Barnes) Swain, of Toronto, Canada. They moved to Canada when R. F. was a year old; they moved to La Salle County, and came to Bureau County in 1857. In 1868 they went to Cherokee County, Kansas, where his mother now lives. His father died May 27, 1883.
Mr. R. F. Swain was married Oct. 14, 1880 at Galesburg, to Kate, daughter of Alfred and Elizabeth Emerson, who were early settlers in Knox County. They have two children, Eulalia F., and William A.
In 1873, Mr. R. F. Swain returned to Illinois, and located in Galesburg, and in 1874, entered the employ of the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad Company as brakeman. He became conductor in 1876, which position he holds at the present time. He has passed through several strikes, one of which was the “Q” strike, but has never had an incident. Mr. Swain is a republican.
Swan, Taylor C., Farmer; Lynn Township, where he was born, Feb. 20, 1865. His grandfathers were Taylor C. Swan and David Johnson; his parents were George M. and Elizabeth M. (Johnson) Swan of Indiana, born Feb. 25, 1835, and Oct. 16, 1840, respectively. He was educated in the common schools.
Mr. Swan married in Galesburg, Aug. 28, 1894, to Sadie A., daughter of Daniel Stivers of Roseville, Warren County, IL. She was born March 15, 1872. Their children are: Glenn J., born Feb. 28, 1895, and Stella A., born May 20, 1897.
In religion Mr. Swan is a Methodist. In politics he is a republican.
Swanson, Swan W., son of Swan and Bengta Peterson, was born in Oenestad, Christianstac Laen, Sweden, Jun 14, 1833. His parents were natives of Sweden, and died in that county aged 84 and 65 respectively. Mr. Swanson was educated in Sweden and was nineteen years of age when he left his native land and came to the United States. The journey across the ocean was made in a sailing vessel, a “Liverpool Packet,” which had for a cargo, in great part, rails for a railroad. After twenty-two days of fine weather and uninterrupted sailing, he was landed at New York City, in Oct. 1852. He came directly to Knoxville, IL, traveling a part of the way on the Hennepin Canal. He had but a little money, which was stolen from him, so that he was penniless and homeless. To pass the time while looking for work, he hunted with a gun which he had bought in Hamburg. At last he found work with Lorentus Conger of Galesburg, at seven dollars a month. The following summer he worked for Isaac V. Gilbert, and farmed successfully.
Mr. Swanson was married April 3, 1865 to Sallie Truedson, who was born in Troedstorp, Ignaberga Soken, Sweden; her parents were John and Ingra Truedson. Mr. and Mrs. Truedson came from Sweden, and arrived in Knox County, Oct. 1, 1852, but a few days before the coming of Mr. Swanson. Their children were Nellie, Carrie, Ellen, Trued, and Bennett. The parents died in Galesburg.
The children of Mr. and Mrs. Swanson are Hannah, Samuel R., Joseph O., David B., Mary C., Emelie E., and Winifred I. Mary C., who was married to L. O. Williamson of Galesburg, was graduated from Knox College in 1883, and Winifred I. in 1898. Samuel R. graduated from the Galesburg Business College.
Mr. Swanson conducted a dairy, and for seven years furnished milk to the people of Galesburg. He later settled upon land of his own, and assisted by his wife, became an independent and prosperous farmer. He bought forty acres of land within the limits of the City of Galesburg, which he afterward sold, buying other land, which he exchanged for a farm on Section 32, Sparta Township. This farm, with slight additions soon made, contained 320 acres. Mr. Swanson improved it by the erection of excellent buildings, and soon found himself the proprietor of one of the best farms in the county. He now owns 520 acres of arable land, besides 174 acres of woodland in Knox Township. The foundation of his success in acquiring a competence was laid in farming and especially in raising broom corn; his success was assured by his industry, honesty and good management.
In politics Mr. Swanson is a republican. He has been Road Commissioner many years, and was elected Supervisor of Sparta Township April 4, 1899. He and his family are Lutherans, and he has been a Trustee of the Lutheran Church in Galesburg.
Swarts, Abraham D., was born at Abingdon, Harford Co, Maryland, April 20, 1783. He married Ann B. Carroll of Baltimore, the name of whose family is indissolubly connected with the State’s history. Soon after their marriage, the newly wedded pair turned their faces toward the west, their objective point being the fertile, sun-kissed prairies of Illinois. He was among the early pioneers of Knox County, on whose history he has left the ineffable impress of his own untiring efforts and indomitable energy. He had a deep and abiding faith in the almost illimitable possibilities of the young State, and believed that it extended the brightest hope to the agriculturalist. His nature was kindly and generous, and his instincts philanthropic.
He genuinely appreciated the value of higher education, although his own early schooling had been of a rather meager sort. His original plan was to found a college near the site of his home, and his wishes were carried out by his heirs. From the institution founded through their efforts and liberal aid, hundreds of young people, of both sexes, have gone forth valiantly to fight life’s battle and to conquer success.
He died March 20, 1854 at the age of 71 years. He had lived to see the fruits of his earthly toil garnered into an abundant harvest, and he entered rest as “One who wraps the drapery of his couch around him, And lays him down to pleasant dreams.”
Sweeney, Michael J., Engineer; Galesburg; born Nov. 20, 1856 in Schuylkill Co, PA; his father, Michael Sweeney, was born in Ireland. He was educated in the common schools. In politics he is a democrat.
He married in Schuylkill Co., PA. Nov. 20, 1884, Mary A., daughter of Patrick Carroll, who came from Ireland to Pennsylvania.
Mr. Sweeney was employed by the Reading Railroad in 1874, and came to Galesburg in 1888, where he entered the service of the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad. In 1892 he built a residence at 461 West Brooks Street, Galesburg, where he now resides. He is a member of the Catholic Church.
Swigert, Harry I., Dentist; Galesburg; born July 1, 1871 in Knox County, IL, where he was educated. His parents are I. W. and Lucinda (Turney) Swigert, of Ohio; his paternal grandparents were George and Catharine (Brewer) Swigert, of Franklin Co, PA.; his maternal grandfather was Philip Turney. Dr. Swigert’s parents were early settlers in Knox County, and lived on a farm till 1887, when they came to Galesburg, where they now reside.
Dr. H. I. Swigert, after graduating in the Galesburg high school and Knox College, took a full course in the Northwestern University Dental School, Chicago. He is practicing dentistry in the Holmes Building, Galesburg. In religion, Dr. Swigert is a Presbyterian. He is a republican.
Tait, William F., Physician and Surgeon; Galesburg; born June 21, 1836 in Scotland; educated in Illinois. His parents, William and Mary Ann (McDowell) Tait, were born in Scotland. His grandfather and great-grandfather, on the paternal side, were named John. His maternal grandfather was John McDowell.
Mr. Tait has been twice married: June 21, 1866, to Rhoda A. Speny at Camden, NY, and Dec. 25, 1896, to Ardath G. Copley at Walnut, Iowa. By the first marriage, there were three children, Cora L., Mary E., and Margaret S.
Dr. Tait’s literary education was obtained in public schools, Knox and Monmouth colleges; he graduated from Lee Centre High School in 1859. He received his medical education in Cincinnati, Ohio. He is Pension Examining Surgeon. In religion he is a Presbyterian. He is a republican.
Tate, John W., Knoxville; General Grocer; born Jan 2, 1842 in Hancock Co, IL; educated in the public schools of Rushville. Mr. Tate enlisted Aug. 2, 1862 in Company B, One Hundred and Nineteenth Illinois Volunteers, and was honorably discharged Sept. 9, 1865. He is a member of G. W. Trafton Post of Knoxville, No. 239, Grand Army Republic, Department of Illinois.
Dec. 3, 1868, in Rushville, IL., he married Sarah Neill. They have had four children: Sussanah, Edward A., Louis N., and Marie F.
Mr. Tate is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In politics he is republican.
Tate, Thomas B., Knoxville; General Grocer; born Sept. 21, 1836 in Macomb, McDonough Co., IL., where he was educated in the common schools. His father, Milton A. Tate, was born in Virginia, and his mother, Martha A. (Broaddus), was born in Kentucky. His paternal grandparents were John and Sally Broaddus.
Mr. Tate enlisted at Knoxville, Aug. 8, 1862, in Company E., Eighty-third Illinois Volunteers, and was honorably discharged June 26, 1865, as Second Lieutenant. He is a member of G. W. Trafton Post of Knoxville, No. 239, Grand Army Republic, Department of Illinois.
He was married to Mary Booth, Oct. 8, 1861. They have eight children: Charles E., Carrie A., Nettie, Mattie, Frank M., John T., Asenath B., and Jennie.
Mr. Tate has held the offices of Mayor and Postmaster. He is a republican in politics. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
Taylor, James E., Implement Dealer; Galesburg; born in Portland, Maine, April 5, 1859; educated in Oneida and Galesburg. On the paternal side, his grandfather, James Taylor, was born in Scotland; his grandmother was Lydia Wiles. His father, L. R. Taylor, was born in Norridgewock, Maine, and his mother, Grace E. (Carter), was born in Portland. On the maternal side, his grandfather, Thomas Carter, was born in England, as was also his grandmother.
Dec. 19, 1893, Mr. Taylor was married in Oneida to Maud Conger. They have one son, James Edwin.
Mr. Taylor lived near Oneida, IL. until 1895, and since then in Galesburg. While living in Oneida, he was engaged in farming. He is a member of the Congregational Church. In politics he is a republican.
Temple, James W., Printer and Farmer; Copley Township; born April 13, 1828, in Ohio; educated in Meadville, Allegheny Co, PA. His parents were Alexander and Sarah (Allen) Temple of New York; his paternal grandparents were Alexander, born in Scotland, and Marie Flaasborough, born in Holland; his maternal grandfather was Hezekiah Allen of New York.
Mr. J. W. Temple was married Oct. 29, 1854 in Truro Township, IL., to Bessie P. Cook. They have six children: William C., Thomas C., Joseph W., Mary A., Susan A., and Ellen E.
Mr. Temple came to Illinois in 1847, and, after making the overland trip to California, returned to Illinois in 1854. July, 1862, he enlisted in the Eighty-third Illinois Regiment and served in the War of the Rebellion. He was made a Captain in 1864, and discharged from service in Aug. 1865.
In religion he is a Universalist. In politics he is a republican. In 1868, he was elected Circuit Clerk of Knox County, and served as Supervisor for several years.
Tennery, Newton H., Farmer; Elba Township; born July 22, 1823, in Edgar Co, IL; educated in common schools. His parents were Thomas and Jane (Wilson) Tennery; the father came from MA, the mother from TN.
He was married in Shelby Co, IL., Oct. 7, 1852, to Symantha Williams. She was born in Fairfield Co, OH., June 11, 1830, and is the daughter of John B. and Francina (Blue) Williams; her father was born in 1803 and died in 1867; her mother was born in 1808 and died in 1886.
Mr. and Mrs. Tennery’s children are: John M., born Dec. 30, 1853; George C., born July 20, 1855, and died May 16, 1862; Edwin A., born Nov. 1, 1856; Francis M., born Feb. 4, 1859; Newton H., born Aug 30, 1860, died April 20, 1895; Owen Clarence, born Nov. 27, 1865, died Oct. 26, 1879; Angeline, born Sept. 28, 1863, died Oct. 22, 1888; Paris Edgar and George Michael, born Jan. 21, 1869; and Ethel M., born Oct. 22, 1870.
Mr. Tennery came to Elba Township in 1853, and located on Section 23, in 1863. His farm contains 240 acres and a fine residence. Mr. Tennery is a member of the Methodist Church. In politics he is a democrat, and has been Justice of the Peace, School Director and Trustee for a number of years.
Thomson, Frank David, Principal of the Galesburg High School; was born one half mile west of the Lapham bridge in Truro Township, Knox County, March 6, 1864. His parents were Presson Wheeler and Mary S. (Lapham) Thomson. They came to Illinois in 1851, soon after their marriage, and settled in Truro Township, where Mr. Thomson bought a saw mill on Spoon River in 1853. He also worked a farm; and when in the later sixties the saw mill was burned, he gave his entire attention to farming.
Mr. Thomson was born in Ohio; his family were of New England stock. One brother, David Thomson, was a general in the Civil War.
Presson Thomson was gifted with a genius for inventing; he was greatly interested in all mechanical devices, was original in his ideas and, in his inventions, was far ahead of his time. Thus he invented a cultivator, a sulky and gang plow, a road scraper, a three-horse evener, a corn-planter and checkrow with original features which are highly commended. He is also endowed with a talent for music, and plays the violin. This musical ability has been inherited in a remarkable degree by his five sons. Mr. Thomson served for several terms as Supervisor from Truro Township. Mrs. Thomson has always been entirely devoted to her family; she is a woman of rare judgment and strong personality. Mrs. Thomson’s ambition has been to see her sons well educated, and respected men.
Her father, Augustus Lapham, was of Welsh and English parentage. He was born in Rhode Island in 1806, settled in Marion County, Ohio, and then came to Illinois in 1851. He was the first Supervisor for Truro Township after Knox County adopted township organization. He had three brothers, who, like himself, were teachers; two of them had attended Yale University.
In 1874, the Thomsons removed to Canton, Illinois, and in the following year to Yates City, where they now live. Frank D. Thomson spent his boyhood upon the farm. He lived an active, outdoor life, and enjoyed nothing better than a ramble in company with his dog, or a boat-ride on the Spoon River. Like his father he too is clever and ingenious in mechanical construction. His mother’s ambition, also, had taken possession of his mind, and he was early conscious of the desire “to be somebody”—as he often heard his mother express it.
When a boy he attended the district school in Truro Township, the public schools in Canton and Yates City. During his high school course in the last named place, he studied under the principalship of Mr. W. L. Steele, now Superintendent of the Galesburg public schools. With the assistance of his brother, Leroy, Mr. Thomson was enabled to attend Knox College, receiving from that institution the degree of A. B. in 1892, and that of A. M. in 1895. When the latter degree was conferred, Mr. Thomson delivered, at the invitation of the college, the Master’s Oration. During his college course he united with the Christian Church at Galesburg. By the advice and with the material assistance of Mr. Albert J. Perry and Superintendent Steele, Mr. Thomson spent two years, 1892-4, in Baltimore at the John Hopkins University, making a special study of history, political science, economics, and sociology. While fortunate in having had the assistance of willing friends, Mr. Thomson, after all, owes the attainment of his education and his successful career largely to his own industry and pluck, for he belongs to that interesting group of young men who have a mind to help themselves and the spirit to work their way. Appreciating the conditions of his own advance, it has been his pleasure to assist in his turn the brothers who have followed in his steps.
Mr. Thomson’s professional success has been rapid. He had charge of the village school at Douglas for three years; of the Yates City High School for two years, 1889-91, although he gained his first experience in teaching, as “Master” in the district school at Arkansas Corners, Truro Township, several years before. During the school year 1894-5, he was principal of the Sumner School in Peoria, and then was called to the Principal-ship of the Galesburg High School, a position which he has held ever since.
On his coming to Galesburg the “elective system” was introduced into the high school and his work, together with that of an efficient corps of assistants, has been to show that this system can be effectively operated in the high school. His idea in education has been that the school should be of the greatest service to the greatest number, and that the “elective system” when properly handled, produces that result by adapting the school more easily to the needs of individuals who need the most help. Owing largely to the success of this plan the school has increased in number from 214 in 1895 to 495 in 1899. Mr. Thomson has been successful as an instructor and as an executive, and by both teachers and pupils is held in high esteem. For a number of years he has been employed as a teacher in summer institutes. He takes a just pride in the spirit of the institution in which he works.
Thurman, Allen, Farmer; Salem Township; born in 1823 in Highland Co, OH. He was educated in the common schools. His parents, John and Elsa (Bales) Thurman, were born in Virginia. His paternal grandfather was Allen Thurman.
Mr. Allen Thurman’s first wife, Elizabeth, who was born in Maryland about 1823, was the daughter of Littleton Truitt; she died in 1878; her parents died in Ohio. Seven children were born to them: John Allen, born Oct. 25, 1849; Mary Ann, born March 7, 1843, died in infancy; Permlia, born May 15, 1850; Rachel, born Feb. 22, 1853; Isaac, born Sept 21, 1855; and William, born March 19, 1858.
In 1884 Mr. Thurman was married to Barbara Branble in Peoria, IL; she was born in Maryland.
Mr. Thurman came to Illinois in 1833, and settled on the township line between Elba and Salem Township. Soon after his first marriage he settled on a farm in the southern part of Elba Township. His two sons, Isaac and William, are in Montana; John Allen lives in Elba Township.
Mr. Thurman has been School Director of his township. In religious belief he is a Christian. Politically he is a democrat.
Thurman, W. H., Farmer; Salem Township; born in Highland Co, OH, March 27, 1822; educated in the common schools. His parents, Philip and Jane (Powell) were born in the James River, VA. Philip Thurman was a Methodist Preacher in Ohio for sixty years. He brought nine slaves with him from Virginia, but, when he reached Ohio, he set them free. He died at the age of 82.
Philip Thurman’s parents, Nathan and Fanny, were natives of England. Nathan Thurman was for many years a Methodist Preacher. Jane (Powell) Thurman’s father was William Powell.
Jan. 3, 1845, Mr. W. H. Thurman was married to Pheba Jane Thurman in Bennington, IL. She was born in Highland Co, OH., Dec. 31, 1826, being the daughter of Mark and Fanny (Marchant). Of this union there were eight children: Dr. Newton Thurman, born March 3, 1845; Mary Jane, born Oct. 15, 1847; Adeline, born Feb. 4, 1850; Henry, born Nov. 7, 1852; Fanny M., born July 24, 1855; Charles M., born Dec. 31, 1859; William M., born Dec. 3, 1862; and Ida Irena, born April 15, 1867.
Mrs. Thurman’s father, Mark Thurman, came to Illinois in 1829, when there were only three log cabins at Peoria, and the place was known as Fort Clark. He was born Oct. 26, 1802, and his wife, Oct. 3, 1806. He died Oct. 26, 1845, and his wife, Jan. 31, 1870. He was the first Justice of the Peace of Maquon Township and the first School Director.
Mr. W. H. Thurman came to Bennington, overland, in 1841. He has been Road Commissioner and School Director. In 1844, he became a Campbellite. He is a republican.
Todd, Warfield B., was born in Frederick Co, Maryland, Feb. 23, 1837, and was educated in the common schools of his native State. He came to Illinois with his parents, Vachel H. and Susan (Brown) Todd in 1851, and he is the eldest of their three children now living. They settled first in Stark County, but in 1855 located in Lynn Township, Knox Co.
In the City of Chicago in March, 1862, Mr. Todd was married to Euphemia Lafferty, who was born in Lynn Township, Knox Co., Oct. 23, 1838, and is a daughter of John and Sallie (Slocum) Lafferty. Mr. and Mrs. Todd have had twelve children: John; Susan; Anar; Jennie; Charles; Nellie; Benjamin J.; Upton B.; Emma, who died Jan. 23, 1895; and three who died in infancy. John married Emma Reed. Susan is now Mrs. F. L. Hilliard; and Anna was the wife of John Dryden, a farmer in Stark County, who died Feb. 22, 1899.
Mr. Lafferty was a native of Pennsylvania, and eight years after his marriage came from Ohio and settled in Lynn Township, where he was a farmer until his death in July, 1867. Mrs. Lafferty was a native of the State of New York, and still resides upon the old homestead.
In Sept. 1861, Mr. Todd enlisted in Company B, Thirty-seventh Illinois Infantry, and was Orderly Sergeant for seven months, when he was discharged for physical disability. In June of 1862, he enlisted again, this time in Company D, Sixty-ninth Illinois Volunteers, and was elected First Lieutenant, in which capacity he served four months, when he was discharged and returned home. In 1864 he was drafted and was assigned to Company A, Thirty-sixth Illinois, went to the front, and was in the battles of Spring Hill, Franklin, and Nashville. He served until 1865 when he was discharged and returned to Lynn Township, where he has since been engaged in his calling as a farmer. His farm consists of 320 acres of good land, under excellent cultivation.
Mr. Todd is a democrat, and has always taken an active interest in politics. In 1857 he was elected Constable, and in 1879, Supervisor, which office he held for six years. In 1898, he was again elected to the same office, which he now holds. He has been Assessor and Collector, and was a School Director for eighteen years. Mr. Todd is a member of the Masonic Order, Kewanee Chapter, No. 47, and of Lafayette Blue Lodge, No. 501.
Tornquist, John A., Carriage-maker; Altona, Walnut Grove Township, IL.; born Nov, 16, 1874, at Keitsville, Missouri. His father, John F. Tornquist, was a carriage-maker near New Windsor, IL. Mr. Tornquist was educated in the Business College at Rock Island, IL.
He was married in New Windsor, Jan. 25, 1895, to Hannah E. Lindstrom; their children are Paul A. and Wendell E.
Mr. Tornquist learned his trade at his home in New Windsor, and set up business for himself in Altona, IL., in 1895. He is a blacksmith and carriage-maker, and turns out twenty to thirty fine buggies yearly.
Townsend, Maurice Jones, Farmer; Chestnut Township; born in Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, Jan. 23, 1859; educated in Hedding College, Abingdon, IL. His father was William Townsend, who was born in New York; his mother was Lodema (Jones). The father is still living in Chestnut Township; the mother is deceased.
Mr. Townsend was married Feb. 25, 1885, in Chestnut Township, to Ruth Grice; they have two children: Jessie Elvira, born March 17, 1889; and Estella Lodema, born Feb. 7, 1892.
Mrs. Townsend was born in Ohio March 17, 1858; she is the daughter of Joseph and Susan Grice. Her father is deceased.
Mr. Townsend has been Collector of the township of Chestnut for two years, and is a School Trustee. He is a member of the Knights of Pythias, Lodge No. 334, London Mills. In politics he is a republican.
Treadwell, Guthrie, Engineer; Galesburg; born June 18, 1851, at St. Andrews, Canada, where he was educated, and where he was married to Maggie Maloney, Oct. 27, 1875. They have seven children, George Emerson; Mary Elizabeth, deceased; Kate and Maude, twins; Kate, deceased; Nathan Guthrie; Anna Drew; and Gertrude.
Mr. Treadwell’s father, Nathan N., was born in St. Andrews, New Brunswick, and his mother, Elizabeth (Miller), was born in St. Andrews, Scotland; his paternal grandfather, Reuben Treadwell, was born in Newport, Rhode Island; his paternal grandmother, Alpha Peck, was born in Eastport, Maine; his maternal grandfather, George Miller, married Anna Guthrie, who was born in St. Andrews, Scotland.
Mr. Treadwell began work on the New Brunswick and Canada Railroad in 1867, and continued in its employ for fifteen years. He afterwards entered the service of the New Brunswick Railroad, in Canada, where he remained for five years. He then moved to Boston, and soon after to Burlington, Iowa.
In 1888, Mr. Treadwell began service as a locomotive engineer on the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad, which position he still holds. He went through the strike on the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy, and has long been one of the trusted engineers of the company. In religion, Mr. Treadwell is an Episcopalian. He is a republican.
Truitt, T. J., Farmer; Elba Township; born Jan. 28, 1852 in Ross County, Ohio; educated in the common schools. His parents, Elijah and Eliza Jane (Taylor) Truitt, were born in Ross Co, OH, in 1818 and 1822; his grandparents were Giley Truitt of Virginia, and Nancy (David) Truitt.
T. J. Truitt came with his father to Illinois in 1855 and located in Elba Township, Section 28. He removed after several years to Yates City, where his parents lived till their death in 1898. The father was School Director in Elba Township for a number of years, and was captain of a military company. Mr. and Mrs. Truitt were members of the Methodist Church, of which he was a class leader for a number of years. They had a family of eleven children: Mary Jane, who was married to I. O. Gibbs; J. D. Truitt, a lawyer at Yates City; John T.; Margaret L. who married Dunaham Drake; T. J. Truitt; William F.; Harvey J.; Isaac M.; Laura E. who married John G. Grey; Joseph H.; E. E. Truitt, a physician in Maquon, who graduated at Keokuk College, Iowa.
Mr. T. J. Truitt is fifth in this family and is unmarried. He is a republican and has been School Director for nine years.
Tucker, Ezra W., son of John and Eleanor (Metcalf) Tucker, was born Jan. 4, 1839, in Peoria Co, IL. His parents were born in Ashland Co, Ohio, and were pioneers in Peoria. His father died in 1850.
Mr. Tucker was educated in the common schools, and attended school in a log house furnished with slab seats.
He was married Oct. 22, 1860 to Kate Mundy, who was born in Elba Township. Six children were born to them: Willie, Samuel B., Mamie, Lettie, Barbara, and Thomas.
Mr. Tucker was married a second time, Feb. 28, 1877 to Elizabeth Dugan, born in Scotland in 1837, and was the daughter of James and Elizabeth (McMurray) Dugan. Her father died in Scotland, and she came with her mother to the United States in 1865.
After his first marriage he purchased a farm of 110 acres in Truro Township, where he now lives. He has improved his farm, and increased it by purchase, until he now has an excellent farm of 300 acres, situated one mile south of Williamsfield, where he raises a large amount of fruit.
In religion, Mr. Tucker is a Methodist, and in politics a republican. He has held the office of Road Commissioner, Justice of the Peace, and School Director in Truro Township.
Tucker, Henry C., Farmer and Hardware Merchant; Williamsfield, Truro Township; born Nov, 9, 1855; educated in the common schools. His parents, V.O. and Jane Tucker, were born in Ashland Co, OH. His paternal grandfather was John Tucker.
Our subject was married to Nettie E. Earld, in Peoria; she was born March 2, 1861. There are six children: Walker, born Aug. 14, 1880; Laura Bell, born March 9, 1882; Clarence, born July 18, 1883; Otis, born Feb. 11, 1885; Earl, born Nov. 10, 1895; Lynn, born Feb. 1, 1897. The children are all at home.
Mrs. Tucker’s father, Henry Earld, was a soldier in the late Rebellion. Her mother, Elizabeth (Drake), is now living in the west.
Mr. Tucker is a prosperous hardware dealer in the village of Williamsfield. In politics he is a republican.
Tucker, John Allen, Dealer in Agricultural Implements; Williamsfield, Truro Township, where he was born June 16, 1850. His parents, Vachel L. and Jane Tucker, were born in Ashland County, Ohio. His paternal grandparents were John and Nellie (Metcalf) Tucker.
Oct. 8, 1874, at the Union Hotel in Galesburg, our subject was married to Lilly C. Love. She was born Jan. 22, 1858 and is the daughter of George W. and Harriet P. Love. Of this union there were five children: Seth C., born Oct. 8, 1876; Leto J., born July 8, 1879; Myrtle A., born Aug. 8, 1885; Lily M., born Jan. 25, 1887; and Donna May, born Sept. 29, 1893. The children are living at home. Mrs. Tucker’s parents are living.
Mr. Tucker attended the common schools in Elmwood, Peoria County. He is one of the Trustees of the village of Williamsfield, is a charter member of I.O.O.F., No 779, Williamsfield, a member of the Knights of Pythias, No. 523, and of the Modern Woodmen of America, No. 2306. He is a member of the firm of Tucker and Oberholtzer, agricultural implements, Williamsfield. In politics he is a republican.
Turner, Harry, Conductor; Galesburg; born July 15, 1856 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, where he was educated. His parents were William and Emma (Haigh) Turner of Sheffield, England.
Harry Turner was married to Frances Rund, Jan. 1, 1883, at Princeton, Illinois. They have seven children: Harry George; Clarence, deceased; Octave, deceased; Lester; Grace A.; Gladys; and Gertrude.
His grandfather was John Turner, of England. Mr. Turner’s father learned the trade of pocketknife grinding in the Rodger’s Cutlery Works at Sheffield, England. He came to this country in middle life, and worked at his trade in Philadelphia.
Mr. Harry Turner began work in a sash and door factory in Philadelphia, at three dollars a week, and went to night school two hours each evening. At the age of twenty, he came to Princeton, IL., and began work for the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad Company, where he has since been employed. In 1883, he began as brakeman, in Galesburg, and has been conductor for a number of years. He was a delegate to the Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen Convention at Los Angeles in 1890.
Mr. Turner’s parents, and his sons, Clarence and Octave, are buried in Linwood Cemetery.
Mr. Turner has a pleasant home on Lincoln Avenue. He is a republican.
Turner, Israel, was born in Chester County, Pennsylvania, March 22, 1812. His parents were Henry and Susanna (Halderman) Turner, of Pennsylvania. They were of German ancestry. Henry Turner was a stone mason.
Israel Turner had no educational advantages other than the district schools.
At sixteen years of age he found employment as a boat hand on the Schuylkill and Union Canal, and at nineteen was master of a boat. After three years of this life he left the canal, and learned the trade of stone-cutter and mason, after which he found steady employment in bridge construction on the canal, and along the line of the Philadelphia and Reading Railroad.
In 1837, Mr. Turner came to Illinois, and, being favorably impressed with the fertility and promise of the prairie soil, he entered a claim for 240 acres of wild land in Orange Township, Knox County, and in 1840, began its cultivation. In addition, he found opportunity to work at his trade, and in 1843 he cut stone for the foundation of the first Congregational Church in Galesburg. From time to time he added to the acreage of his farm, and eventually became the owner of more than 1,000 acres in Orange and the adjoining townships.
Feb. 13, 1844, Mr. Turner was married to Lucinda E. Hammond, daughter of George and Elinor (Taylor) Hammond. She was born in Waterville, Kennebec Co, Maine, in 1826, and came with her mother to Galesburg in 1843. Mr. and Mrs. Turner were the parents of eleven children: Elizabeth E., married Michael Enwright, and lives in Iowa; Henry W., who lives on the old homestead, near DeLong; Hamilton J. married Anna R. Grimm and lives in Kansas; Israel F. married Anna E. Howerter, and lives in DeLong, Orange Township; Anna E. married Henry A. Howerter, and lives in Fulton Co, IL.; Isaac P. and Willoughby F., deceased; Abraham L. married Hattie C. Haynes, and lives at DeLong; Lenora A. married Albert C. Howerter, of DeLong; Elnora C. deceased; and Otis G. who married Lydia Tucker, and resides at DeLong.
Mr. Turner was, and his wife is, a member of the Missionary Baptist Church. In politics he was a republican. He died Feb. 5, 1888. Also, Biography in 1886 P & B of Knox Co., IL
Turner, Samuel M., Farmer; Orange Township; born Oct. 6, 1853 in Chester Co, PA; educated in the common schools. His father was William Turner of Lancaster, PA; his mother’s maiden name was Refinger. His grandfather was William Turner.
Mr. S. M. Turner married Mary E. Metcalf in 1884 in Orange Township; their children are: Orin, Lee, Jennie, Eva, Gertrude, Maud, Pearl, and Mark. Mrs. Turner died Feb. 28, 1897.
Mr. Turner’s father was a farmer and came to Knox County in 1851. He died in 1896, aged 79 years, and left six sons and three daughters.
Mr. Turner is a democrat.
Waggoner, Mortimer O., Conductor; Galesburg; born in Dexter, Michigan, Aug. 24, 1853; educated in Michigan and in Toledo, Ohio. His parents were Edward E. Waggoner of Michigan, and Mary J. (Palmer) Waggoner of New York. His maternal grandfather was B. M. Palmer, and his grandmother’s maiden name was Griffin, of New York.
He was married to Jennie Fitzsimmons, Feb. 13, 1876 at Monmouth, IL. Their children are: Rose M., Edward James, Lulu Mertle, Bernice J., and Bernard M.
Mr. Waggoner’s parents were married in Michigan, and reared a family of six children. During the War of the Rebellion, the father enlisted, and died of fever in 1865 at his post on the receiving ship Great Western.
After attending school for three years in Toledo, Ohio, Mr. M. O. Waggoner returned to Michigan, and in 1871, came to Galesburg. In 1872 he entered the employ of the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad Company as brakeman. He has been conductor for twenty-four years. In politics he is liberal and independent. He is a Methodist.
Walberg, John A., Grocer; Galesburg; born April 24, 1848 in Sweden, where he was educated. His parents were J. M. and Maria C. (Jacobson) Jonsson.
Mr. Walberg was married to Susanna C. Munson at Galesburg, March 8, 1873. There were four children: Alma C., deceased; Robert J.; Mabel M.; and Laura A., deceased.
Mr. Walberg has been a grocer in Galesburg for eighteen years. He is a Methodist. In politics he is a republican, and has been Alderman of the Third Ward for two terms.
Walberg, Ola, Farmer; Knox Township; born Jan. 4, 1831 in Sweden, where he was educated.
June 5, 1869, in Knoxville, Mr. Walberg was married to Betsey Olson, who was born in 1838. They have had three children: Swan, Caroline, and Albert.
Swan married Nellie Nelson, who was born in Sweden; they have one son, Harry.
Caroline married Peter Pierson of Galesburg; they have one daughter, Pauline.
Albert married Jettie Heagy, of Knoxville.
Mr. and Mrs. Walberg are members of the Swedish Lutheran Church. In politics he is a republican.
Walgreen, John P., Farmer; Walnut Grove Township; born in Sweden Dec 27, 1848. His father, Nels P. Walgreen, was born in Sweden and came to America with his father in 1864.
John Walgreen was educated in the common schools. After working by the month, he settled in Ontario Township, where his father located in 1866.
He was married to Anna Fredericks in Altona, March 28, 1872. Their children are: Delphia, Amelia, Mabel, Della, Laura, Anna, Fred, and Floyd.
Mr. Walgreen was a successful farmer in Ontario Township until 1897 when he removed to Altona, where he built a fine residence, and where he is a Director of the Altona Bank. Mr. Walgreen is a member of the Lutheran Church. In politics he is a republican.
Walter, Thomas R., son of John W. and Hannah (Sumner) Walter, was born Sept 30, 1817, in Highland Co, OH. His father, born in Virginia, was a soldier in the War of 1812; his mother was from South Carolina. He was third in a family of ten children: Betsey, William J., Thomas R., Jincy, Lettice, James, Bowater, John W., Cynthia, and Richeson C.
Thomas R. was educated in the common schools of Ohio, and came to Illinois at the age of nineteen. He was married in Maquon Township, Aug. 8, 1854, to Sarah J. Stephenson, daughter of Edward and Mary (Keys) Stephenson, the former of whom was born in Maryland, the latter in Delaware. Sarah J. was born in Franklin County, Ohio, Sept. 24, 1835, and was the first of a family of six children: Sarah J., William, John, James K., Lewis N., and Edward O. The Stephenson family settled first in Haw Creek Township and afterward in Maquon Township where the parents died.
Ten children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Walter: Vianna, Mary E. (deceased), Ethzelda, two who died in infancy, Lyman, Elnora, Thomas Ulysses, Laura B., and Bert E.
Viana was married to B. F. Adams of Peoria; Ethzelda was married to Frank Pickrel and died in Haw Creek Township, June 2, 1881. Lyman is a farmer in Maquon Township, and the other three live with their mother on the old homestead.
Mr. Walter first purchased 160 acres of land which he improved with good buildings and other fixtures, subsequently adding to his possessions till he owned nearly 1,500 acres of well cultivated land in Knox County, besides property in Maquon. He was Road Commissioner, and also a School Director many years. In politics he was a republican. He died May 28, 1897.
Mr. Walter was a good farmer and a skillful business man; a hard worker, but an easy taskmaster; a supporter of the church, though not a church member; a friend of education; a good neighbor; a firm friend; a kind husband and father; a man of integrity and honor, “whose word was as good as his bond:” a man respected by all who knew him for his good qualities of head and heart.
Ward, Frank, Farmer; Walnut Grove Township; born Nov. 4, 1830, in Litchfield County, Connecticut; educated in the common schools. He is a son of Amos Ward, who came to Knox County in 1838. Amos Ward was County Commissioner and Justice of the Peace for many years.
Frank Ward was married in 1857 to Masha Eels; they had one child, now Mrs. M. H. Mather.
His second marriage was in Walnut Grove Township, Nov. 9, 1861, to Cornelia S. Abernethy; their children are: Fred F., George A., and Edith M.
Mr. Ward is a republican, and an earnest worker in town affairs. He is a Protestant.
Ward, Roscoe E., Farmer; Indian Point Township; born in Marietta, Ohio, March 12, 1855; educated in the common schools and in Illinois University. He is a son of Dr. George A. Ward, and a grandson of Walter Ward of Philipston, MA.
Mr. R. E. Ward came to Illinois in 1863, and settled in Henderson County, where he was interested in school affairs, having been a teacher in the public schools. In 1895 he came to Abingdon, to be nearer good schools, and bought a fine farm. He is one of the leading farmers of Indian Point Township. In 1898, he was made Trustee of Hedding College.
In 1878, Mr. Ward was married in Lawrence County, Ohio, to Jessie F. Miller; they have four children: Alice N., George M., Elbert W., Roscoe S.
In religion, Mr. Ward is a Methodist. He is a republican.
Warner, David, Knoxville; Retired School teacher; born in Indiana County, Pennsylvania in 1819, where he was educated. His brother, William W. Warner, was born in PA, Nov. 10, 1825 and married three times; his first wife was Mary Schranghos, and they had two children, one of whom is now living, W. Rufus; his second wife was Mrs. Elizabeth (Seiper) Lyons; his third wife was Annie (Roberts) Tice, whom he married Dec. 8, 1875, and by whom he had four children: Wilber W.; Minnie; Valdora; and David D., who died at the age of seven. W. W. Warner enlisted in Company D, One Hundred and Third Illinois Volunteers, and was honorably discharged in 1865, on a surgeon’s certificate of inability. He was a member of G. W. Trafton Post of Knoxville, No. 239, Grand Army of the Republic, Department of Illinois.
David Warner married Nancy Wells Aug. 28, 1844 in Pennsylvania. In religion he is a Presbyterian. He is a republican.
Washington, John Henry, Engineer; Galesburg; born at Washington, Mason Co, Kentucky, March 8, 1847. His father was John Washington and his mother was Louisa Nelson, both natives of Kentucky. Mr. Washington was educated in Ohio.
He was married to Mary F. Smith, Nov. 25, 1869, at Galesburg. They have two children: John William and Hattie E.
Mr. Washington lived in Kentucky until 1863, when he removed to Clinton, Ohio. He made three attempts to enlist in the Union Army, but failed on account of his age. He came to Galesburg in 1868 and soon entered the employ of Dr. J. V. N. Standish, with whom he remained for seven years, a sufficient proof of his efficiency. For twenty-one years, he has been employed by the Republican Register in the capacity of engineer. He is also a good pressman, and is a member of the Pressmen’s Union of Peoria.
Mr. Washington is regarded as one of the leading colored men of Galesburg, and is highly esteemed by all with whom he has sustained business relations. He is a member of the African Methodist Church, and for ten years he was one of its Board of Trustees. He is a class-leader, and has been Superintendent of the Sunday school. He is a member of the Colored Masonic Lodge, No. 10., and has for the last three years been its Worshipful Master. He is Past Noble Father of the Little Bee Lodge, I.O. of O.F. In politics he is a republican, and has recently been chosen one of the Board of Supervisors.
Weech, John, Farmer; Rio Township; born Aug. 1, 1856, in Somersetshire, England; educated in Oneida, Illinois. His parents, Joseph and Martha (White) Weech, came from England.
He was married to Mary Wooley at Galesburg, Jan. 20, 1883. Their children are: Richard B., Mary Luella, deceased, Inez Ann, John Glenn, and Walter S.
Mr. Weech’s parents, with their five boys and five girls, came to Knox County in 1858. After living in Walnut Grove Township for eight years, they bought a farm of 80 acres, to which they later added 120 more. They were thrifty people. The father died at the age of 58 years; the mother died at the age of 67.
John Weech worked on the home farm till he was 26 years old, when he married and settled on a farm in Adams County, Iowa. After living in Iowa for five years, he returned in 1884 to Knox County, and bought his present farm of 260 acres; he also owns 320 acres in Boone County, Nebraska.
Mr. Weech is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In politics he is a republican, and has been School Director. Mr. Weech is a successful farmer.
Weed, Harrison T., Farmer; Sparta Township; born in Delaware County, New York, March 18, 1840; educated in his native state. His parents were James Weed, born in the state of New York, and Abigail (Terry), a native of New Hampshire. His paternal grandfather was Lewis Weed.
Mr. Weed came with his parents to Belvidere, Boone Co, IL. There his parents died, and the son at the age of twenty went to Wisconsin. He came down the Wisconsin and Mississippi rivers with lumber to Burlington, Iowa, where the lumber was sold, and young Weed went by steamer to St. Louis, where he remained one winter and part of the next summer. He was twenty-one years of age when he reached Knox County; he spent nearly all of the first year in Henderson Grove splitting rails. He then went to Harrison County, Missouri, and taught school about a year and a half, till the breaking out of the war, after which he taught during one winter five miles west of Galesburg. He next farmed near Oneida seven years, and was enabled to make a payment on his present farm of 80 acres, on Section 27, where he now resides.
Dec. 11, 1862, he married Sarah J. Conley, who died July 23, 1875. They had two children: Mrs. Harriet E. Vaughn and Ada M. Weed.
Oct. 19, 1876, Mr. Weed was married to Susan A. Franham, at her home near Wataga. They have two children: Abbie M. and Charlotte A.
In religion he is a Congregationalist, and has been for many years a Deacon and a Trustee in the Church. In politics he is a republican. He has been a School Director for seventeen years.
Weidenhamer, James Henry, Engineer; Galesburg; born March 12, 1850 in Schuyler Co, IL. His parents were John Jacob and Elizabeth (Glenn) Weidenhamer of Pennsylvania and Tennessee respectively; his grandparents were John Weidenhamer of Pennsylvania, and Elizabeth M. (Lindemyer) Weidenhamer of Germany.
He was married in Galesburg, Oct. 6, 1881, to Mary Etta, daughter of Jesse Stout of Ohio, and Caroline (Taylor) Stout of Pennsylvania. They have three children, Jesse Roy; Bessie Belle, deceased; and Freddie Glenn.
Mr. Weidenhamer’s grandfather was a farmer, and moved from Pennsylvania to Quincy, IL., at an early day. He endured many hardships, not the least of which was the dreadful scourge of cholera. He died at the age of thirty years. His family was supported by his son, the father of James H., who, upon his marriage, settled in Schuyler County, Illinois. After removals to Murray, Keokuk Junction, and Osceola, Iowa, he came to Galesburg in 1878, and retired from business. Nine of his thirteen children are living: John and William are railway conductors; James Henry and Charles are locomotive engineers; Fred D. is Chief Train Dispatcher at Lincoln, Nebraska, and Albert E. is a yardmaster at Kansas City.
James H. began work on his father’s farm in Schuyler County, then went to Fowler, Adams County, and continued farming for two years. In March 1878 he went to Cherokee, Kansas, expecting to obtain a position on the Memphis, Kansas and Colorado Railroad, but was disappointed. He sold his prospects and in August, 1878, came to Galesburg, where he engaged as brakeman on the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy. He became conductor in 1883, and engineer in September, 1888. He now runs on the “Kate” flyer between Galesburg and Quincy. Mr. Weidenhamer is independent in politics.
Welsh, Michael, Farmer; Truro Township; born in Kilkenny County, Ireland; educated in Ireland. His parents, William and Bridget (Holden) Welsh, were natives of Ireland, as were his paternal grandparents, Joseph and Bridget (Malone) Welsh, and his maternal grandfather, Bartley Holden.
Oct. 18, 1850 he was married in Ireland to Catharine Grace, she was born about 1830, and is a daughter of Richard and Alice (Kennedy) Grace. They have seven children: William M., born Dec. 23, 1852; Alice, born Dec. 22, 1854; B. F., born Feb. 22, 1857; John D., born Sept. 10, 1858; James, born Feb. 2, 1861; M. M. , born Sept 10, 1862; and Mary, born Feb. 7, 1865. Two of the children died in infancy.
Mr. Welsh landed at New Orleans, Jan. 1, 1851, and reached Maquon by way of St. Louis, April 19, 1851. April 1, 1856, he settled in Truro Township, where he has lived forty-two years. In religion he is a Catholic. In politics he is a democrat.
Westerfield, Samuel, deceased; Farmer; Knox Township; born Jan 14, 1836, in Preble County, Ohio; educated in the common schools. His parents, Jacob and Amy (Ayers) Westerfield, were natives of Ohio. The ancestry of the family is Dutch, German and French.
May 16, 1872 in Knox Township, Mr. Westerfield was married to Mahala Harmony. They had two children: Frank E.; and Eva K., who died at the age of eleven. Frank E. is a member of Camp No. 224, S.O.V., Knoxville.
Mrs. Westerfield’s father, John Harmony, a farmer, was born in Franklin County, PA, July 6, 1801, and educated in the common schools. He was married to Eva Zumbro of Pennsylvania. They have five children: Helena, Elizabeth, Anna B., Mahala, and Frank Z. The family came to Knox Township in 1853. Mr. Harmony died Dec. 28, 1893, his wife died Feb. 9, 1888.
Dec. 2, 1861, Mr. Westerfield enlisted in Company B, Second Regiment Colorado Cavalry Volunteers, and was promoted to Corporal April 25, 1864, and honorably discharged Dec. 13, 1864. He died July 31, 1893.
Mr. Westerfield was a member of G. W. Trafton Post, No. 229, Knoxville Department of Illinois, Grand Army of the Republic. He was a member of the Presbyterian Church. In politics he was a republican.
Wheeler, Harry Edmund, Mechanical Engineer; Galesburg; born Dec. 29, 1863, in Monmouth, Illinois; educated at the International Correspondent’s School at Scranton, Pennsylvania. His parents were Elisha E. and Celestia (Hale) Wheeler.
Mr. Wheeler was married in Galesburg in April 1892 to Angie Corine Cummins. Their children are: Hazel, Blanch, and Erminie.
Mr. Wheeler is now chief engineer of the city waterworks.
White, Willard Justin, Rio; Physician; born April 19, 1872 in Wallingford, Vermont. He is the son of Dr. N. White, who was for seventeen years President of Lombard University, Galesburg, IL. His mother, Inez (Ling), daughter of Lorenzo Ling, was born in Portland, Maine. Both parents are descendants of the Pilgrims.
Doctor White first attended the public schools of Galesburg; at twelve years of age he entered the preparatory department of Lombard University, and at the age of nineteen, graduated with the degree of Bachelor of Arts in the class of 1891. Three years later he received the degree of Master of Arts. After graduating, he taught school for two years, then entered the office of Dr. Judd, and in the fall of 1893 entered Barnes Medical College, St. Louis, Missouri, where, in 1895, he received Junior first honors in the form of a gold medal; he was also the recipient of two special prizes. In 1896 he located at Rio, Illinois. In religion Dr. White is a Universalist. He is a republican.
Whiting, Edward, Farmer; Elba Township; born Oct. 5, 1856 at Kickapoo, IL; educated in the Kickapoo schools. His father and grandfather were called William Whiting and came from Sussex County, England; his mother, Jane (Cummings) Whiting, came from Portage Co., Ohio; his maternal grandmother was Susan Cummings.
He was married Jan. 1, 1884 in Elba Township, to Ettie Patterson, who was born in Elba Township, Oct. 23, 1861, and is a daughter of James and Elizabeth (Marshall) Patterson of Preble Co, Ohio. James Patterson was married in 1847, and came to Elba Township in 1849. Their children are: Etha Z., born Nov. 13, 1884; and James Kirby, born Nov. 14, 1885.
Mr. Whiting has a fine residence and fine farm of 110 acres on Section 25, three and one half miles northeast of Yates City. In addition, he manages his father-in-law’s farm. In politics he is a republican.
Wikoff, Frederick Zina, born in Rio Township, Dec. 27, 1846, was the son of John and Cornelia (Crane) Wikoff. His paternal grandfather was Zina Crane. The name of his paternal great-grandfather was Van Wikoff, and the family was of Dutch descent. His father, John Wikoff, came from New Jersey to Knox County in the fall of 1836, making the trip on horseback from Ohio. He devoted himself to farming, and took up 140 acres of land in Section 36, Rio Township. He improved the land, and built a comfortable home, where he lived for fifty-four years, and in which he celebrated his golden wedding: his death was the first that occurred in the house. He was a successful farmer, and accumulated considerable property, becoming in every way an influential citizen, honored and respected not merely by all the people of his township, but also by those of the county. He was Supervisor for Rio Township. He died April 30, 1897; aged 84; his wife survives him. They had five children: Gertrude A., wife of Hiram Colby; Frederick Z.; Harriet E., wife of G. H. Pratt of Hastings, Nebraska; Carrie F., wife of S. T. Howell of Woodhull; and Mary M., who married Oswald Oliver and died in Jan. 1896.
Mr. Frederick Z. Wykoff married Ida M. Conger, daughter of John N. and Elizabeth (Wheeler) Conger, in Oneida, Sept. 16, 1874, and they have four children: Winn C.; Gem, wife of W. B. Nelson; John N., a student at Galesburg; and Cornelia.
Mrs. Wikoff’s paternal grandfather was Uzziah Conger, who came to Knox County in 1838, and settled in Cherry Grove; her paternal grandmother was Hannah (West) Conger; the aged couple lived to celebrate their golden wedding. They had ten children: Lorentus; Genette; Lauren; Lucien; Crayton; Norman; J. Newton; Edward; Lois, wife of J.S. Wilcox; and Harvey, all of whom lived at one time in Knox County. Mrs. Wikoff’s father, John Newton Conger, was a native of New York, her mother, Elizabeth (Wheeler), came from Connecticut. Her maternal grandparents, Alvah and Jerusha (Stevens) Wheeler, came from CT. and settled in Knoxville in 1838. Alvah Wheeler was a carpenter, and assisted in building the first court house (still standing at Knoxville) in Knox County. In early years, while in Bridgeport, CT., he built the first peanut stand for P. T. Barnum, “America’s Greatest Showman.” Eight children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Wheeler: LeRoy; Mrs. Elizabeth Conger; Mrs. Mary Conger; Frederick C.; Mrs. Harriet B. Shaw; Mrs. Helen Conger; Mrs. LaVantia Conger; and Mrs. Alta Murdoch. Mrs. Wikoff had one sister, Eva Conger, now deceased.
Mr. Wykoff was educated in Knox and Hedding Colleges; he is a capable business man, and has been very successful. He has a fine, well improved farm of 240 acres in Sparta Township. In politics, he is a republican.
Wikoff, Winn Conger, Farmer; Rio Township; born in Oneida, Illinois, June 29, 1875. His father, Fred Z. Wikoff, was a native of Rio Township; his mother, Ida (Conger) Wikoff, was born in Galesburg. His paternal grandparents were John F. Wikoff, a native of New Jersey, and Cornelia (Crane) Wikoff, a native of New York; his maternal grandparents were J. Newton and Elizabeth (Wheeler) Conger.
Mr. Wikoff graduated at Brown’s Business College, Galesburg.
He was married Feb. 22, 1898 to Carrie D. Wetmore, of Ontario.
Mr. Wikoff is a republican.
Wiley, William A., Merchant; born in Orange Township, Knox County, Illinois, Arpil 6, 1869. His parents were William H. Wiley, of Wayne Co, IN, and Nancy J. (Haynes) Wiley, of Orange Township. His paternal grandparents were John Wiley of Bartonia, Indiana, and Mary A. (Hall) Wiley. His maternal grandparents were Asa Haynes, of Dutchess County, New York, and Mary J. (Gaddis) Haynes of Fayette Co, PA. His great-grandparents were Thomas and Nancy (Broden) Wiley of Bethel, Indiana.
Mr. Wiley was married to Anna M. Beamer, at DeLong, Illinois, Aug. 28, 1890. She was born in Gettysburg, PA, June 23, 1870, and came to Illinois with her parents when five years of age. Her parents, Henry M. and Maria (Storrick) Beamer, now live in Knoxville. Mr. and Mrs. Wiley’s children are: Elsie Mildred, born at DeLong June 8, 1891; and Charles Leslie, born at DeLong May 13, 1895, and died June 12, 1897.
Mr. Wiley graduated from the Western Business College, Galesburg, in 1891. He is in partnership with his father in a general merchandise store under the firm name of W. H. Wiley and Son. His father was a soldier in the War of the Rebellion; he was Supervisor for three years.
In religion Mr. W. A. Wiley is a Congregationalist. He is a republican, and at present holds the office of Supervisor. In 1892 he was elected Justice of the Peace, holding the office for four years. He was then elected Town Clerk, which office he held until his election as Supervisor.
Wiley, William H., Farmer and Merchant, DeLong, Orange Township; born in Indiana in 1845; educated in Knox County. Mr. Wiley’s parents were John and Mary (Hall) Wiley, natives of Indiana. His paternal grandparents, Edward and Nancy (Braden) Wiley, were Virginians. His maternal grandfather was born in the South, and his maternal grandmother, Ruth (Nance), was a Virginian.
In 1867, Mr. Wiley was married to Miss N.J. Haynes. They have two children: William A. and Winifred H. Mr. Wiley has been a member of the Protestant Methodist Church for twenty-five years. In politics he is a republican.
He enlisted at Knoxville, IL., Nov. 8, 1863, in Company D. Seventh Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, and participated in the following battles: Collierville, Moscow, Summerville, Coldwater, Pulaski, Camelville, Duck Creek, Franklin, Nashville, Springhill, and other smaller skirmishes. He was mustered out at Nashville, TN: and was discharged at Springfield, IL., Nov. 9, 1865. Mr. Wiley has held the following offices: Supervisor, Justice of the Peace, School Director, and Postmaster at DeLong, which position he has filled for twelve years and still holds.
Williamson, Edwin Peter, Farmer; Henderson Township; born March 13, 1870 at Wataga, Knox County; educated in Business College at Galesburg, and at Davenport, Iowa. His father is William Williamson.
Mr. E. P. Williamson was married to Elizabeth L. Olson at Wataga, March 22, 1899. He was brought up on the Williamson farm, near Wataga, and was a clerk in his father’s store in Moline, IL., from 1887 to 1888. After the death of his brother George, he managed the mill in Wataga until the fall of 1895, when he began to farm on the homestead.
After his marriage, Mr. Williamson settled near Henderson on a farm of 187 acres, where he is making a record for industry and thrift.
Williamson, John Edwin, Farmer; Sparta Township, where he was born April 21, 1861. He was educated in Knox County, and is a graduate of the Western Business College. His parents, Jonas and Christine (Anderson) Williamson, were natives of Sweden. When fourteen years old, Jonas Williamson came to the United States with his parents and settled in Sparta Township. He died in 1893 at the age of 57 years; his wife died in 1875; at the age of 35 years. They left two children: Charlotta Margarette, wife of T. H. Rommel; and John Edwin.
Sept. 18, 1884, John Edwin Williamson married Christine Hanson in Lynn Township. They have seven children: Mabel E., Florence V., Minnie C., Axel Wesley, Mary Edith, Emma L., and George E.
Mrs. Williamson is a daughter of Olaf and Elizabeth
(Anderson) Hanson, who settled in Sparta Township before the
war. Olaf Hanson served through the war and draws a
pension. He is a successful farmer in Lynn Township, near
Williamson, Jonas, son of William and Margaret (Olson) Williamson, was born in Sweden, Feb. 22, 1836. His education he received in the land of his birth. In 1850 the family came to America and located in Sparta Township. Other children besides Jonas were William, Peter, John, Maggie, and Moses O. Jonas loved his home and, even when he was a boy, could seldom be lured away from it. Losing his father when he was only fifteen years old, he contributed to the support of the family, and in every way led an exemplary life. Mr. Williamson was exceptionally temperate and did not indulge in stimulants or tobacco. Although his opportunities for acquiring an education were but limited, he nevertheless accumulated a large amount of useful knowledge. He was very industrious and an excellent business manager.
Mr. Williamson’s first wife was Christine Anderson, whom he married in Wataga. Of this union, there were two children, John E. and Lotta. The latter was married to Thomas Rommel. Mrs. Williamson died in 1875, and four years later, May 29, 1879, Mr. Williamson married again. His second wife was Anna M., daughter of Mattas and Martha (Hanson) Hedberger, who came from Sweden with their infant daughter in 1857. The family settled in Galesburg and lived there until 1867, when they removed to Wataga, where they have since resided. Mr. Hedberger is a tailor by trade and has followed the business many years. Their daughter, Mrs. Williamson, is one of a family of five children who reached maturity. She owns the fine farm of 80 acres of well improved land, which was her husband’s homestead.
Jonas Williamson was a member of the Swedish Lutheran Church, and was honored and respected by all who knew him. In politics he was a republican. He died April 30, 1893.
Williamson, William, son of William and Margaret (Olson) Williamson, was born in the North of Sweden, Oct. 10, 1833, and the little education it was his privilege to secure was gained in his native land. He was the oldest of seven children, five sons and two daughters, and came to this country with his parents in 1850. In October of that year, after traveling some time in Wisconsin, the family reached Knox Co, IL. The father was so affected with consumption that he was unable to do the least work after reaching America, and died in 1853.
As the oldest of the family of children, although himself a mere boy, Mr. Williamson was early compelled to shoulder a man’s responsibilities and to do a man’s work. He gave all his time and his earnings to the support of the family, until the younger boys got started and could manage the small farm of 60 acres of timber land, for which they paid one hundred dollars, and upon which they built a log house. He was young and strong and could do the work of two days in one. An old Pennsylvania miner taught him how to dig coal, and Mr. Williamson became an expert miner and followed the business for fifteen winters. A character developed by such faithful devotion, by consciousness of responsibility, and by the habit of hard work is a reward in itself, and brings the reward of subsequent business success. Mr. Williamson was finally able to buy 60 acres of land where he now resides, and, as fortune smiled upon him, to add thereto from time to time, until he now has 447 acres in one body. He owns another splendid farm of 188 acres near Henderson. In Kansas he has 1,600 acres in one piece. In Clay Center he has large financial interests; he controls the waterpower, has built a grist-mill of two hundred and fifty barrel capacity, and also a large electric plant. In these improvements he has invested more than $50,000. Stock-raising and farming have been his principal business, and his success demonstrates his character as a business man. In politics he is a republican, but he has held only local offices. In religion he is a Lutheran.
Sept. 28, 1855 in Galesburg, IL., Mr. Williamson married Catherine Olson. Ten children have been born to them, five of whom are still living: Joseph Henry, a resident of Longmont, Colorado; Amanda C.; Edwin P., who manages the Henderson farm; Frederick Leonard; and Alvin Luther. The deceased are Mrs. Mary J. Danielson; Margaret Amelia, who was the wife of Rev. A. Nelson; Lars Olaf; Martha; and George.
Frederick L. is a graduate of Knox College; he is manager of Mr. Williamson’s extensive business interests in Clay Center, Kansas. Amanda C. and Alvin Luther are at home. Mr. Williamson’s mother survived his father many years, dying in 1886 at the age of 73.
Wilson, Frank E., Cashier, Farmers’ Bank, Yates City, Salem Township; born in Truro Township, Jan. 12, 1868. His father, John Wilson, was born in West Virginia, Sept. 14, 1816, in Moorefield, Hardy County. He removed to Green County, Ohio, and from there to Truro Township, Knox County, Illinois, in 1838, where he started in the mercantile business and farming. From there he went to Knox Township, and settled on a farm, where he died in Sept. 6, 1893. His wife, Mary, was born in Ohio, and is now living in Knoxville.
Frank E. Wilson married Kate M., daughter of Edward M. and Hannah Collins, in Persifer Township, Oct. 31, 1894; they have one child, Miriam E., born March 5, 1898.
Mr. Wilson was educated at Knoxville, and is a graduate of the Gem City Business College, Quincy, Illinois. He is a member of the A.F.& A.M., No. 448, Yates City, and Eureka Chapter, 98, and is Secretary of both lodges. He has been City Treasurer a number of years, and is now President of the City Board. In politics he is a democrat.
Wilson, Thomas, Farmer; Knox Township; born in Champaign Co, Ohio, Nov. 27, 1835; educated in the common schools. His father, Francis Wilson, was a native of Pennsylvania, born in Butler County, March 1, 1809; his mother, Nancy (McPherrin) was born in Ohio. She was married to Francis Wilson Jan. 17, 1833; they had three children: George W., who died at the age of twenty-seven; Elizabeth, who died Jan. 3, 1838; and Thomas.
Francis Wilson’s second marriage in Sept. 1840 was with Elizabeth McPherrin; she died Aug. 15, 1882. Five children were born to them, three of whom survive: John, Alexander, and Francis M. Francis Wilson died in the fall of 1896; he was universally respected.
Feb. 20, 1888, Thomas Wilson was married in Knoxville to Augusta Hammarstrom. They had four children: Eva O., Harry D, Paul E., and Miriam M.
Mrs. Wilson’s father, Carl Hammarstrom, was born in Sweden May 1, 1825; he was married to Anna C. Carlson, and came to the United States in August 1865. They had six children: Charles A.; Hilma K.; A. Edward; Augusta; Emma S., who died at sea in July 1865; and E. Josephine. His father and mother are living. The ancestry of the family is English, Scotch, Irish, and Swedish.
In politics Mr. Wilson is independent.
Witherell, George W., Farmer, Knox Township; born in Washington County, Indiana, Sept. 8, 1845; educated in Illinois. His father, Ephraim Witherell, was born in Vermont; his mother Rebecca (Donaldson) was a daughter of Alexander Donaldson, who was born in Erie Co, PA. His paternal grandparents, Asaph and Johanna (White) Witherell, were natives of Vermont; his great-grandfather, Noah Witherell, came from England on the Mayflower. His ancestry is English, Irish, Scotch, and Dutch.
May 17, 1866 in Knoxville, Mr. Witherell was married to Martha A. Stoliper; they have eight children: Flora M., Minnie R., Harmon E., Daisy E., Arthur A., Ettie R., and the twins, Clyde A. and Clara A.
Flora M. married George Bredlove; they have two children living, Mabel and Harry.
Minnie R. married John Drudge; they have two children, Roy S. and Berneth.
Harmon E. married Lola Myers, they have two children, Harrie Lee and Helen; they now reside near Wichita, Kansas.
Arthur A. married Mamie Peterson; they have one daughter, Geneva.
Daisy E. married James Farrell; they have one daughter, Hortense.
Feb. 11, 1863, Mr. Witherell enlisted in the Seventy-seventh Illinois Volunteers and was honorably discharged Aug. 5, 1865. He is a member of G. W. Trafton Post No. 239, G.A.R., Knoxville, Department of Illinois, and also of A.O.U.W. of Knox Lodge No. 126. Mr. Witherell is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In politics he is a republican. He was the first President of the First Shaft of the Minor of Honor.
Wolf, Jacob, Farmer; born Feb. 7, 1814 in Athens County, Ohio, where he was educated. His parents were Jacob Wolf of Pennsylvania, and Lydia (Dorr) of Jackson County, Ohio. Jacob Wolf, Senior, was a tanner by trade, and after living many years in Ohio, moved to Porter County, Indiana, where he died. The ancestry of the Wolf family is German and English.
Mr. Jacob Wolf was married in Haw Creek Township March 4, 1849, to Elizabeth Pickrel. They have five children: Josephine, deceased; Mrs. Mary Pursel; John; Sarah, deceased; and Emily, who married Darius Woolsey and was the mother of seven children.
Mr. Wolf’s first occupation after moving to Illinois was that of cattle dealer. He bought cattle in Missouri, Iowa, and Illinois, and drove them to eastern markets. He was a very shrewd and capable manager, and at the time of his death owned nearly 3,000 acres of land in Knox County. He carried on an extensive farming business, but used much of his land for pasture. He often fed five hundred head of cattle at a time. Mr. Wolf was a republican. He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
The old Wolf homestead is now owned and managed by John Wolf, who was born Jan. 27, 1853; he was married to Miss Delmar Harshbarger, a daughter of Jonathan Harshbarger. They have three children: Ralph, Marie, and Wayne. Mr. John Wolf owns the old homestead and about 1,000 acres of land.
Wood, Hannibal Parish, born in Vermont, Sept. 12, 1818. His father, William Wood, was of English descent and was born in Lanesboro, Berkshire Co, MA, Aug. 24, 1790, and died at Westford, VT., April 5, 1845. His mother, Hannah (Parish) Wood, daughter of Nathan and Hannah Parish, was born in Brookfield, Orange Co, VT., March 7, 1795, and died in Aug. 1883.
Hannibal P. Wood was reared and educated in Vermont. He was married in Westford, Vermont, Sept, 28, 1841 to Hannah M. Bowman. Two children were born to them: William H., of Wataga, IL., and Emma J. Wood, who died in Wataga in Jan 1899, aged 54 years. Mr. Wood was married a second time, Jan. 1, 1876, in Wataga, to Mrs. Mahlah (Phelps) Watkins, who was born in Enfield, Tompkins Co, NY, May 14, 1834.
Mr. Wood was in the mercantile business in Westford, Vermont, many years, and in 1850 removed to Boston, MA, where he was a commission merchant for about five years. In the spring of 1856, he came west and settled at Wataga, Knox Co, IL., where he has since resided. He bought the store in Wataga, which was owned by Silas Willard of Galesburg, and continued the business with his partner, Amos P. Babcock, whom he bought out five years later. For some years the business, that of a general store, was conducted by Mr. Wood alone, and later with the assistance of his son, William H. Wood. During the Civil War, about the year 1863, he opened a bank which he has conducted to the present time.
As a republican, Mr. Wood represented his district in the Legislature in the years 1880-82. He was Chairman of the Committee on Public Charities, and was a member of the Committee on Banks and Banking. He was for many years a member of the Board of Supervisors of Knox County, during which time the county seat was removed to Galesburg. He has belonged to various temperance organizations, and is a member of the Masonic Fraternity. For four years, he was a Trustee of the Asylum for the Blind at Jacksonville, IL. He has been a Trustee and the Treasurer of the Congregational Church at Wataga, of which he is a member, and has been Township School Treasurer for about thirty years, which office he now holds.
Mr. Wood achieved success as a merchant and banker, and in the service of the public, and has exerted a wide influence for good wherever he has been.
Woolley, David E., Farmer; Rio Township; born near Ontario Oct. 3, 1854; educated in the common schools. His parents were John R. Woolley of Crawford County, Indiana, and Elizabeth S. (King) Woolley of Kentucky; his grandparents were Richard B. and Nancy (Hughes) Woolley.
He was married to Maribah I. Means, Oct. 20, 1878. They have four children: Arthur P., Clarence O., Eva May, and Rollo Ray.
Mr. Woolley is a Methodist. In politics he is a republican.
Woolsey, David, was born in Ulster County, New York, Jan. 2, 1828. His parents, Hezekiah and Hannah (Cutler) Woolsey, were born in Dutchess County, NY. His father died in Ohio, and his mother in Elmwood, IL. The old Woolsey family came from England and the grandmother and great-grandmother on the father’s side were born in Holland. The paternal grandparents were William Woolsey, born in New York, and Hannah (Wright) Woolsey; his maternal grandparents were David and Patience (Sheldon) Cutler, born in New England.
Mr. Woolsey was educated in the common schools of Ohio. In 1849, he came alone to Knox County, where, at the age of twenty-one, he was the happy possessor of fifty dollars in cash. For several years he built fences, made rails and did such work as he could get from the older settlers.
He was first married Aug. 25, 1850 to Elizabeth Fry, who was born in Ohio, May 25, 1828. She was fifth in a family of twelve children. Mr. and Mrs. Woolsey had three children: Lefee A., Hezekiah, and William Cyrus, all of whom died when young.
Mr. Woolsey married for his second wife Mildred, daughter of Alexander and Elizabeth (Wright) Logan May 4, 1853. She was born in Virginia, April 27, 1837. The children of this union are: Alva, who married Flora Hall and lives in Elba Township; Alonzo, deceased; Louisa, deceased; William, married to Nora Taylor; Arzella, the wife of Frank E. Nelson; Deborah, deceased; Lenora M., married to William Chase, and lives in Haw Creek Township; Julia A., the wife of Milton Sherman of Oklahoma; Charles, living in Truro Township; Adelbert, deceased; and Clyde, now living in Haw Creek.
Mr. Woolsey farmed in Maquon, Chestnut, and Haw Creek Township, remaining for five years in the latter. He purchased 150 acres of land in Haw Creek Township and began his residence there in 1865. He greatly improved his farm and added to it, until, at the present time, he owns 631 acres in Knox County. He is a very successful and progressive farmer, and is considered one of the best stock men in the county. Mr. and Mrs. Woolsey are identified with the United Brethren Church, and contribute largely toward its support. They are noted in the community for their kindness of heart and unostentatious charity.
Woolsey, Thomas, Farmer; Victoria Township; born Jan. 30, 1848, in Sycamore, DeKalb Co, IL.; educated in the common schools. His parents were Deo and Minerva (Olmsted) Woolsey of New York.
He was married in Victoria, Sept. 10, 1871, to Mary H., daughter of Dr. John L. Fifield, of Victoria. Their children are: Ralph B., Ross A., L. Eselwin, and Robert C.
Mr. Woolsey’s father came from New York to DeKalb County, and later moved to Victoria, where he died in 1853, leaving his wife, who died in 1867, and four sons: W. McKindry, John A., Russell, and Thomas, and one daughter, Hannah.
Dr. Fifield was born in New Hampshire in 1805 and came to Victoria in 1837. He was a practicing physician for many years and died in 1890.
Mr. Woolsey enlisted in 1864, in Company B, One Hundred and Thirty-eighth Illinois Volunteers, and served till the close of the war. He is living on the Fifield homestead. He is, in religion, a Congregationalist. In politics he is a republican.
Woolsey, William, Farmer; Elba Township; born in Haw Creek Township, Aug. 11, 1861. His father, David Woolsey, was born in Ulster Co, NY; his mother, Mildred (Logan) was born in VA. His paternal grandparents were Hezekiah and Hannah (Cutter) Woolsey.
Aug. 23, 1883, Mr. Woolsey was married in Knoxville to Norah M. Taylor. They have two children: Forest Taylor, born June 18, 1884, and Harley H., born April 4, 1886. Mrs. Woolsey was born in 1860. Her parents were Abraham and Emeline (Cartright) Taylor. The father is dead; the mother is living in Caldwell Co, MO.
Mr. Woolsey is a republican in politics. He has
been Assessor of the town of Elba, and School Director a
number of terms. He is a member of the Odd Fellows, No. 256,
Maquon; also of the Modern Woodmen of America, in the lodge
located at Douglas. His farm of 143 acres is on Section 6.
Ulrich, George W., Engineer; Galesburg; born Jan 12, 1850 in Reading, Pennsylvania, where he received his education in the common schools.
He married Margaret Sharp at Pottsville, PA., July 4, 1872; they have three children: Charles, Maggie, and Anna. Mrs. Ulrich is a member of the Methodist Church.
Mr. Ulrich, at the age of seventeen, entered the service of the Philadelphia and Reading Railroad. In 1881 he came to Galesburg and was employed by the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad as engineer, a position which he now holds. Mr. Ulrich is a republican.
Upson, Albert, Farmer; Knox Township; born in Summit Co, Ohio, May 8, 1842. His parents, Rowland Weller and Phebe (Randall) Upson, had eight children: Josephine, Lucy M., Albert, Matilda S., Louisa M., Hannah F, and two deceased.
Rowland Upson was born in Summit Co, OH. Feb. 6, 1806, and died in Knox Township May 6, 1875. Phebe (Randall) Upson was born in New York in 1815, and died in Knox Township May 6, 1884. His grandfather, Stephen Upson, was born in Connecticut in 1775; his grandmother, Sallie Upson, was born in CT. in 1798; both died in Talmadge, Ohio.
Albert Upson married Hannah M. Case in Knox Township, Jan. 1, 1867. Her parents, Elisha E. and Rachel (Morse) Case, are deceased.
Mr. and Mrs. Albert Upson have five children: Florence M., William D., Nellie E., George A., and Arthur E.
Florence M. is married to Mark Noble, Jr., of Creston, Iowa; they have three children: Florence H., Nina Z., and Jessie M.
William D. married Mary T. Fackler, of Knox Township; they have one son, F. Albert.
George A. and Arthur E. are with their parents on the home farm.
Mr. and Mrs. Upson are members of the Congregational Church. Mr. Upson is an independent republican. He lives on the farm purchased (1851) by his father.
Van Auken, Harrison, Farmer; Ontario Township; born in Albany Co, NY, Oct. 12, 1836. His parents were Aaron and Catherine (Ostrander) Van Auken. They had six children: Hannah, Martha, Calvin, John, Harrison, and Fletcher.
Aaron was born in Albany Co, NY as was also his wife Catherine; they came to Knox County Nov. 10, 1858; he died Sept. 1, 1890, aged 86, and his wife died Jan. 14, 1892, aged 84. Aaron’s father, John, was born in 1777. Catherine’s parents were John and Catherine. The family’s ancestors came from Holland.
Harrison Van Auken married Sarah E. Ray in Knox Co., April 17, 1895. Mrs. Van Auken’s parents, Robert and Anna M. (Stake) were born in Franklin Co, PA., where they were farmers.
Mr. Van Auken was educated in Monroe Co, NY; he is a successful farmer and owns 360 acres of valuable land. He is a democrat in politics.
Vance, S. L., Farmer; Elba Township; born Feb. 3, 1861 at Highland Co, OH.; educated in the common schools. His father was Andrew Vance, born in Fayette Co, PA; his mother was Harriet Kibler of Highland Co, OH; his paternal grandparents were David and Hannah Vance of Maryland. His great-grandfather, Thomas Vance, and his maternal grandmother, Margaret Strain, were from Ohio; his great grandfather was John Strain.
Mr. Vance was married March 3, 1892, in Galesburg, to Letty Riner. She was born in Toulon, Stark County, Aug. 22, 1870, and is the daughter of Mathew and Margaret Riner. They have one child, Carmon R. R., born March 19, 1896.
The grandparents of Mrs. Vance were John and Elizabeth (Douglas) Wingader; the great-grandfather came from Germany, and died Jan. 25, 1894; the great-grandmother came from Scotland and was born Sept. 4, 1809, and died April 28, 1878. Her grandparents on the father’s side were Peter Riner of Virginia, born March 8, 1803, and Margaret (Kelly) Riner, born Oct. 8, 1808, died Jan. 1, 1873.
Mr. Vance came, in 1858, with his father to Section 36, where they have a farm of 280 acres. He is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America, Lodge No. 301, Yates City. Mr. Vance is a democrat.
Vincent, Clarence A., Minister; Galesburg; born in Geauga Co, OH., Dec. 17, 1859. After leaving the common schools he graduated from the Oberlin Preparatory School in 1880, and from Oberlin College in 1884, receiving the degree of B. A. In 1888, he received the degree of B. D. from Oberlin Theological Seminary. During his seminary course he spent one year in post-graduate work in Yale Divinity School. He was pastor of the First Free Baptist Church, of Buffalo, New York, from 1888 to 1892; National Secretary of the Free Baptist Missionary and Educational societies during the years 1889 to 1893; pastor of the First Congregational Church of Sandusky, Ohio, from Dec. 1890 to Oct. 1898, and is now pastor of the Central Congregational Church, Galesburg.
His father, Augustus R., and his mother, Lurancy A., were residents of Ohio; his father was a farmer.
Dr. Vincent was married in 1888 to Lucy Hall, a student of Oberlin College. There are four children, Hope, Ruth, Helen, and Clarence Hall.
In 1898, Mr. Vincent was given the degree of Doctor of Divinity by Hillsdale College, Michigan. He is the author of two books that have had wide circulation: “Acts of Modern Apostles”, and “Providence in America”.
While a pastor at Buffalo, he was elected President of the Baptist State Association; and in Ohio, he was President of the Congregational State Association. He has been honored many times in being chosen to preach the annual sermon at the State and National meetings of the Baptist, Congregational, and Christian Endeavor societies.
Young, William, Farmer; Maquon; son of John and Margaret (Boyce) Young, who were natives of Derry County, Ireland. He comes of a Protestant family of probably Scotch extraction, who can trace their descent through many centuries. By trade, the father was a weaver, and for seven years William colored the cloth which his father wove. The parents died at an advanced age in Philadelphia.
William Young was married in Philadelphia, Oct. 12, 1847, to Elizabeth (Gilmore), daughter of Douglas and Mary (Hunter) Gilmore, who were natives of Derry County, Ireland.
Mr. and Mrs. Young had eight children: Mary, deceased; John; Margaret; Mrs. Martha Payton; James; Mrs. Elizabeth Swan; Mrs. Anna Clark; and William, who died in infancy.
Mr. Young came west to Wheeling, VA, and worked for three years in a foundry. In 1854 he came to Fulton County and then to Peoria County, IL. In 1856 he came to Knox County and farmed ten years in Salem Township. After the war he bought land in Maquon Township and is now the owner of 540 acres of good land.
Zook, Harry, Farmer; Salem Township; born in Franklin Co, PA, Nov. 25, 1835. His parents, Joseph and Mary Zook, were born in Franklin Co, PA, and the former died in 1862.
March 17, 1862, in Lewiston, Fulton County, Mr. Harry Zook married Anna Maria Bond, who was born Sept. 25, 1842, near Farmington; she was the daughter of Selden and Maria (Cady) Bond. Mrs. Zook’s mother died near Farmington, and her father died in Salem Township.
In 1845 Mr. Zook came to Canton, IL., with his
parents, who afterwards located southeast of
Farmington. With his wife, he came to Salem Township in
1869, and settled on Section 20, where he has a farm of 80
acres, with very fine buildings, and where he raises all
kinds of fruit. In politics, he is a democrat.
created Thursday, September 14, 2006
Friday, September 14, 2012 07:27:30 PM last update-
Becoming Host @