BNSF rAIL ROAD ENINGE fOXIE'S kNOX cO., il gENEALOGY SITE. PHOTO BY fOXIE

My daughter, Kate wanted me to put my name on this photos so here it is She just loves this photo HAD TO PUT ORIGINAL PHOTO HERE OTHER ONE W/NAME WOULDN'T SHOW UP.

Don't forget to click on link above & go see what happens on Galesburg Railroad Days. We never miss it. If you have any contributions you would like to make to this Railroad page for Knox county be sure to email me.  all contributions, comments, corrections will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for stopping by. Photos of trains throughout this of today's times and other times with more to come.

©Copyright 2007 - all Contributors FKH©2006 by Foxie Hagerty & Associates

December 12th, 2007~~~ have added new Fulton Co Gauge RR passes contributed by Steve. scroll down to see them. this page is getting long long with the contributions plus my own. might have to see about making it into two pages. Thanks Wayne & Steve for your Contributions. anyone else have any RR memorial they would like to add here be sure to email me. Thanks so much guys. I'm also an enthusiast.

This information was contributed by Wayne Marschinke Esq.,

Thanks, Wayne for your contribution.

Note from Wayne:       

     This was something I found in my Grandfathers things. He was the chief dispatcher for the Chicago & North Western in Chicago when he retired in 1956. He was born in London Mills & lived in Delong for many years. they were NOT written by L. P. Gillum (my grandfather) I do not know who wrote it, there are initials at the end. He was a historian of sorts when it came to railroading. The picture was not with it, I remembered it being in a group of photos of trains that he kept in cigar boxes so I found it & included it.

THE FULTON COUNTY NARROW GAUGE RY

THE FULTON COUNTY EXTENSION R. R.

      The Springfield & Northwestern Railroad (with slight changes the present C. & I.M.Ry)-Formerly C.P.& St. L. Ry, was built from Springfield IL to Havana in 1873. The next year some grading was done in an effort to extend it to Lewistown, a move on the part of Havana to secure the trade of Fulton County, but lack of funds prevented this being done, and a part of the old embankment can be seen to the west of Havana. On Sept. 25th 1879, Lewistown capital initiated the ?? with a stock subscription of $100,000. The old Lewistown right of way was taken over, and a narrow gauge track (3 feet) was laid in the fall of 1878. In the spring of 1879 a new line was graded and more track laid north of Lewistown, and by the end of that year it had been completed as far as Fairview-29.59 miles- and train service was established. The greater part of construction was done by Hall and Willcoxen—the former being financed by the “Burlington”. The average cost of construction was below $3,000. per mile, which will account for the very devious course followed by the line. The line from Fairview to Galesburg-Incorporated as the Fulton County Extension Railway May 27th 1881 was finished August 20th 1882 and from that date operated under lease by the Fulton County Narrow Gauge Railroad.

      The first President of the Road was Edw. Harris of Lewistown and he was followed by Henry Phelps. The first Vice President was Mr. I. M. Hummell and followed by the first Secy W.J. Dyckes and Moses Turner the First Treasurer. The Board of Directors from 1878 to 1884 was composed of D.A. Burget, Oliver Rice, J.A. Gray, I. C.Worley, W. G. Swartz, I.M. Hummell, J.C. Willcoxen, Henry Phelps and Judge Shopo. This board issued a small pamphlet in soliciting funds and promoting the sales of stock. A quotation from which reveals “this railroad will be built for agricultural purposes in the richest farming tract in this region-(this would indicate the line preceded the mines rather than the reverse which is the common notion) and a Narrow Gauge should be built because we can do so for less money and the running expense will be nominal”, and the line thrived and did a great business, having connections with the C.B.& Q. at Lewistown and Galesburg. The Iowa Central at London Mills and the T. P.& W. at Cuba and had coal mines at Ellisville- Parrville- Fiatt and Cuba, the most of the coal moving the north to Galesburg. Much stock and grain was moved from Fairview-Burnside Crossing-DeLong and Livingston.

      The construction of this railroad represented an interesting type peculiar to the feverish railroad building era of 1875-1895. Like most roads of the time it followed the topography of the country almost completely, distance was of no great objection, and as a result a devious route was built. A hasty geographic survey may be of interest, and the distances shown are approximate.

      The course out of Galesburg was 0.8 mile SE thence 1.75 mile south. Thence 2.0 miles SE thence 1.85 mile east to the old station of Livingston, on the Township line between section 6-Orange and section 1 of Cedar. Thence 4.0 miles south to the station of DeLong in SW ¼ section 29 of Orange. This portion from Galesburg to DeLong lies in a moderate plateau with a drop of 120 feet. From DeLong the course is in a general southeasterly direction, winding into very rough and hilly country especially at Hormon Creek in section 9 of Chestnut Twp. And from there is still winding in variable directions south-east-south and then southwest to London Mills at mile 56.19? The county line between Knox and Fulton County lies 860 yards to the north of the Spoon River Bridge. The grade shows a drop of 112 feet from DeLong to London Mills. Almost due south in Spoon River Valley lies the old site of Oak Mound station (Mayton P.O.) as the south line of section 16 in Young Hickory Twp, thence 0.8 mile to a steep wooded hill, elevation 60 feet, winding around this hill 1 mile, thence a very sharp curve SE ½ mile to Ellisville station passing two mines directly west of the station. The road from here winds in an easterly direction to Parrville at mile post 27. A spur road off to the east along the north bank of Coal creek to two mines. Thence east-southeast to Fairview 2.5 miles on a very steep grade that raises to 135 feet. From Fairview the road is on a level plateau to Bybee station on section line between 8 and 9 Joshua Twp. Near Bybee on the north across Turkey Creek was the longest trestle in the entire line-900 feet long and at least 90 feet to the bed of the stream. From Bybee south the road is mostly winding, with very rough country at Lost Grove creek, thence upgrade into Fiatt mile 34.9. A spur track loads from here to the Sellers mine 0.4 mile to the cast. From Fiatt the general direction was south-southeast to Cuba at mile post 40.2. The old station site of Putnam was 2 miles south of Fiatt—the grade dropped 117 feet in this distance, and from Put Creek into Cuba an upgrade of 125 feet in 2.6 miles. From a point just north of Cuba, a spur track was built in 1887 to the mines 3 miles, and when the road was changed to standard gauge this spur was taken over by the T.P.& W, and later abandoned by them in 1908. The section from Cuba to Lewistown runs thru the roughest part of the country transverse by the road, as a result the track is most winding, every point of the compass being represented, although the general direction of south-southeast to Lewistown, with a drop of 165 feet in the 4 miles from Cuba to Phillips station (Ida P.O.) and thence a raise of 75 feet to the Lewistown platoon. One mile south of Cuba an old spur track leads off to the east to an old abandoned shaft, and immediately north of Lewistown another spur to an old shaft, that is now used by the CB& Q as a part of their wyo track. From Lewistown to Sopo the drop in grade is 148 feet in the 5 miles, at this point the road comes out on to the flood plain of the Illinois River and from here extends south east and west to West Havana. Two miles west of West Havana the line crosses the Spoon River, the second time in the 80 mile route. The station established at Sopo marked the death of the old village of Waterford, 1 mile southeast on Spoon River, and the station of West Havana was known as Point Isabel from 1865 until 1880. The line at one time crossed the River into Havana, but due to the piers being condemned by the Govt. Engineers, the road made its terminus up the river about ½ mile at the wagon bridge across the river and called it West Havana.

      The rolling stock of the line consisted of stock-box-flat and coal cars, two way cars, one exclusive merchandise box car, 4 coaches, 1 pile driver and 3 camp cars, 5 Locomotives classified as follows: No 1 and 4-Baldwin 4-4-0 with 41 inch drivers-separate tenders and weighed 37000 and 28000 each; No 2-Brooks and No 3-Baldwin were 2-6-0 types with separate tenders; No 5 Brocks 4-5-0, purchased from the Denver Utah & Pacific, this was the heaviest engine on the line and weighed approximately 65000 pounds. The CB&Q made into standard gauge the lines of the Burlington and Western and the Burlington and Northwestern—in Iowa, and shipped three of the engines from those lines to Galesburg for use on the F.C.N.G.—these engines were all 4-4-0 numbered 44-66 and 100. The 44 being the lightest and weighed ??? pounds and was useless with over 3 (5)? cars on account of the very high driving wheels 56 inches. The 66 being a much larger engine and a greater rigid wheel base caused lots of trouble by climbing the rails at switches on account of the short turn outs. A number of various kinds of cars were brought along with these engines and used on the line.

      Water was obtained at Galesburg, Brush Creek-2 miles south of DeLong, Ellisville-Cuba and Lewistown, and at the time the road was converted to standard gauge the following stations were agencies. Galesburg-DeLong-Ellisville-London Mills-Fairview-Fiatt-Cuba-Lewistown and West Havana. The agency at DeLong being the last station until 1899, and from 1930 operated as a part time station in conjunction with London Mills. All Fulton County Narrow Gauge employees were retained by the Burlington when the road was converted into standard gauge on October 20th 1905. The change taking place on Sunday and was completed in 8 hours from Galesburg to Lewistown. The portion into West Havana was not changed until the next year. Train service men in the change included J. W. O’Donnell and Steve Pratt-Conductors; Brakemen Evans, Camper and Mulqueeney; Engineers Young and Ekstrand; and Firemen Young and Camper—Bridge foreman James Ashbaugh- Roadmaster Newton Wilson-Master Mechanic Thomas Snowbell; Agents Duncan-Reed-Steffen Elkstrand-Reichardt, Wheat, and the following officers—T.M. Stuart, President; M.C. Atwood; VP&GM; and J.W. Westblade Auditor and Secty.

      At the present time 1934, only Fulton County employee remains on the line—Chas. Ekstrand, Agent at Fairview IL.

      At no time in the operation of the line as Narrow Gauge did they have a fatal wreck. A brakeman was killed at Cuba in making couplings and an elderly lady at Galesburg who was picking up coal alongside the track. The track was laid with 32 pound rails, later changed in 1900 to 56 pound steel and later on after standardized, with 85 pound steel which was in use when the north portion from Galesburg to Fairview was abandoned and torn up.

      Passenger conductor J. W. O’Donnell was at one time the engineer and was badly scalded when an engine tipped over pinning him down, and he then exchanged places with the conductor N.K. Young, and they remained in that position until both were retired by the CB&Q when reaching 70 years of age. Prior to the time the road was made into a standard gauge, it was practically re-built, for the heavier equipment and many thousands of new ties were laid-bridges rebuilt-others filled in. Bridge gangs housed in standard gauge cars on Narrow Gauge trucks were a queer sight.

      A brief history of acquisition of the line, as furnished by outside sources may be of particular interest, along with a brief outline of the financing of the FCNG and FCERy; -- it is to be understood the line was widened Oct 20th 1905 and was operated by the FCNG until on Dec 31st 1905. On Jany 1st 1906 the entire line was leased to the CB&Q and operated by them until they acquired ownership thereto by sale on Dec 1st 1908.

      Records indicate that both companies financed the construction of their respective roads, i.e. F.C.N.G. and F.C. Extension Ry, thru the issuance of their securities to Mallory, the contractor, who in turn was financed by the CB&Q. At date of sale to the CB&Q, the latter held all the outstanding capital stock of the F.C.N.G. Ry of a par value of $25. with the exception of $1625. The Fulton County Extension Railway that was incorporated May 27th 1881 under the general laws of Illinois and ……………………. In all its financial dealings and investments were recorded in the books of the Fulton County Narrow Gauge Ry. The Company issued a par value of $260,000 of its capital stock for $65,225. …….discount of $195,675. which discount was charged to investment and equipment on the books of the FCNG Ry. The former road also issued $313,000. of its first mortgage bonds 7% for a sum of $281,700. cash or at a discount of $31.300. which discount was in like manner charged to equipment and road, on the books of the FCNG Ry. This total discount of $226,975. together with cash outlay of $314,157.10 represented cost of construction of the line from Fairview to Galesburg 28 miles, as entered on the books of the Fulton County Narrow Gauge Railway Company.

      When the FCNG purchased the FCERy, it charged a par value $260,900. of its own capital stock for an equal par value of capital stock of the latter company outstanding and assumed liability represented by $313,000. of per value of the latters first mortgage, 75 bonds outstanding, but made no further entice in its investment in road and equipment account in the way of adjusting the difference between this purchase price of $575,900. and the original entries showing total cost $541,132.10 as noted above.

      The Fulton County Narrow Gauge Railway Company in addition to the $260,900. per value of its capital stock issued in part payment the property of the Fulton County Extension Railway Company, issued an additional par value of its capital stock ($371,875.) for the following considerations:

CASH DISCOUNT $169,555.64…………………… $152,856.96
CONSTRUCTION OF PROPERTY 962.50
BONDS OF LEWISTOWN TWP-Par Value………… 48,000.00
Total Discount #169,554.64…………………………… $202,319.36

      It thus had $632,775.00 par value of capital stock outstanding at demise of the company of which $631,150.00 was held by the CB&Q RR.

      The company issued a par value of $171,000. of its first mortgage 7% bonds for $153,900.cash or at a discount of $17,100. The total discount of $185,655.64 incurred in the issuance of its stock and bonds, together with an additional $1100. representing loss incurred in the disposal of the township bonds at less than cost, was charged to the account for investment in road and equipment. It also issued a par value of $74,809.83 in short term notes of which $25,500. were for cash, $4000. for equipment, and $44,309.83 were given to the CB&Q in settlements for current bills. Of the total issued--$44,309.83 were outstanding at the demise of the company. ALL THE DEBT outstanding at demise, consisting of $171,000. of its bonds, $313,000. of funded debt assumed, and $44,309.83 of short term notes were held by the C.B.& Q.R.R.

      When the CB&Q acquired the 59.3 miles of railroad owned by the Fulton County Narrow Gauge Company, on December 1, 1906, the records show the cost of acquisition as follows:

OUTLAY IN INVESTMENT SECURITIES OWNED, CONSISTING OF $681,150. per value of capital stock and $484,000. per value of bonds---($171,000. of the FCNGRy and $313,000. of the FCERy) acquired for $1258.50 in cash and $628,900.55 in advances to the contractor, and cancelled after taking title to the property at recorded cost as follows.

$630,159.05—short term notes assumed $44,309.83
Current liabilities assumed 132,827.92
TOTAL 807,296.80
Less Current assets taken over at recorded value 81,405.24
NET COST $725,891.56

      On August 25th 1933, the CB&Q applied for permission to abandon that portion of the Fulton County Branch of the former Fulton County Narrow Gauge, extending from a point on their main line near Galesburg to Fairview 28.83 miles. The application was submitted to the I.C.C. April 23rd 1934 and decided on May 22nd 1934. Walter McFarland, W.B. Jones and Bruce Scott appearing for the applicant and F.W. Rico and ?.W. Baxter for the protestants—the hearing was heard by commissioners ?loyer, Porter and Mahaffie and train service was abandoned on August 22nd 1934. Actual work of tearing up the rails etc did not start until about Dec 1st and was carried out without interruption and was finished about Jan 31st 1935. The work of demolition was most complete, leaving nothing to show that a railroad had ever transversed that portion of right of way.

      The station at Ellisville had long ago been torn down. The station at London Mills consisted of two box cars off trucks placed end to end, a small shed at Burnside served as a shelter, and the depot at DeLong sold to a party in Galesburg for $25., torn down and moved to Galesburg.

      The last train to operate over the branch (No 1 and 2) consisted of Engine 659 class E2 4-6-0 Conductor David Sands and Engr Dempsey as rendered in the report leads the writer to the conclusion that the entire proceedings of abandonment were carried out through many false statements-- of which most roads use in order to make the situation look much worse than they really are. A hasty inspection trip made by the writer disclosed many ties in service that were used by the Narrow Gauge, and only a few of the ties that had been placed by the CB&Q were in very poor condition—their statement to the effect that it would mean a 60% removal of ties to put the road in any kind of shape for service, the 52 pound rails mentioned in the report were all in side track use, and all of the main line rail was of 80-85 and 90 pound type.

      Thus ended a railroad that started operation 83 years ago and made money for the owners, while the big brother, the CB& Q after milking it dry, threw it back to the people who had patronized it all those years and many are the rumors that the Assistant commissioner of the State of Illinois, who conducted the hearing was fully recompensed by the CB&Q for his recommendation that the line be abandoned.

FRR*M*HN- June 28, 1935 

on back says: last trip thro

train No 1, Engine No 650

Aug. 22, 1936

 

   You may click on the photo for a larger view.

     Note from Wayne: These were type written pages that my grandfather had in his railroad stuff so they are not from a book that I know of. The scans are not much better than the originals but I will do my best. The initials at the end must be the person or people writing it. I do not believe my GF wrote it because he would have had his name on it. He must have gotten it from someone else. The date written is 1935, a long time ago so the authors are likely gone now. The picture was not with it, I remembered it being in a group of photos of trains that he kept in cigar boxes so I found it & included it. Thanks so much Wayne for the contribution.  I know train lovers will love it.

 

From History books on Knox County, IL. Late 1800's.

Railroads

Six companies own the railroads in Knox County. To the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Company belongs a line running from Galesburg towards Chicago, originally built by the Central Military Tract Company, crossing the northern line of the county five miles from its nor eastern corner; the line from Galesburg to Quincy, crossing the southern line of the county at St. Augustine, first built by the Northern Cross Railroad Company; the lines built by the Peoria and Oquawka Railroad Company from Galesburg towards Burlington and towards Peoria, crossing the eastern line of the county between Yates City and Elmwood; the line running south from Yates City, built by the company itself under the Jacksonville and Savannah charter; the line built by the Rockford, rock Island and the St. Louis Company in 1870, crossing the northern and western lines for the county in Rio Township;/ and the line from Galesburg to Rio, which the company built in 1886.

The main line of the Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railroad (running into Chicago), built in 1887, crosses the county from east to west, passing through Galesburg and through the central tier of townships.

The Iowa Central, entering the county in Cedar Township, tow miles west of Abingdon, and running through the city of that name, as well as Indian Point and Chestnut Townships. and crossing the southern line of the county at London Mills, was built in 1880 by the Peoria and Farmington Railroad Company.

The Fulton County Narrow Gauge Railroad, from Galesburg to the Illinois River at Havanna, Crossing the corner of Cedar Township; and running through the townships of Orange and Chestnut, and leaving the county at London Mills, was built in 1882.
The below are scanned images of original Passes used at one time on the Fulton County Narrow Gauge Railroad when a passenger was riding the train. They were emailed to me from a descendant of the name on the pass. He is also looking for information or relatives of Mr. John A. Westblade. I made them as thumbnails if you click on the photo below it open in it's own window with a larger view. Although I can read these ones very well myself for a change.

Well, now throws my page off center just a tad with have to deal with this later. but wanted to get these online for other Railroad people to be able to enjoy if you would like to contact Steve feel free to email me. I will forward it along to him. Thanks so much for these wonderful passes and in such Mint Condition ta boot.

©Copyright 2007 - all Contributors FKH©2006 by Foxie Hagerty & Associates

Front of Pass ~ 1900~ 1898 ~ 1897~

Back of Pass signed by Mrs. J. A. Westblade

Fulton Co Gauge RR passes by Steve thanks Knox Co., IL RR Page For Genealogy Purposes Thanks so much.

Fulton Co Gauge RR passes by Steve thanks Knox Co., IL RR Page For Genealogy Purposes Thanks so much.

Fulton Co Gauge RR passes by Steve thanks Knox Co., IL RR Page For Genealogy Purposes Thanks so much. Fulton Co Gauge RR passes by Steve thanks Knox Co., IL RR Page For Genealogy Purposes Thanks so much.
Fulton Co Gauge RR passes by Steve thanks Knox Co., IL RR Page For Genealogy Purposes Thanks so much. Fulton Co Gauge RR passes by Steve thanks Knox Co., IL RR Page For Genealogy Purposes Thanks so much.

 

The Galesburg and the Great Eastern Railroad was built in 1894, from Wataga to the coal mines in the southeastern part of Copley Township; and in 1898, a branch was built, extending the line into the village of Victoria.

All photos taken in Victoria February 10, 2006

 by Foxie

the Station is still standing and was painted

last summer

by the youth group of the

 Methodist Church in Victoria & Maxey Chapel

The Rock Island and Peoria Railroad enters and leaves the township of Lynn, a mile and a half from the northwestern corner of the county.

Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railroad

 

The Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railroad company had traversed the country from the Missouri river to the Pacific with its trunk line and branches, its vast system centering and terminating at Kansas City.  It became apparent that its great volume of business demanded an outlet of its own to Chicago. For two or three years it was known that the engineers of that company were employed, at intervals of relief from other duty, in unostentatiously making surveys, and it was presumed that its officers might be in possession of knowledge that might materially assist in prompt selection of a route when the time for action came.

In the summer of 1885, it was understood in Galesburg that the construction had been determined upon and that surveys were in progress, looking to a definite location.

A straight line from Kansas City to Chicago would run close to Fort Madison and Galesburg, and avoid the crossing of the Illinois River, passing close to the great Hennepin Bend. It seemed that Galesburg might reasonably expect to be a point on the best and most available line.

Correspondence was opened and interviews had by Colonel Carr with Mr. Strong, the President of the road. The policy of the company was declared to be to secure the best possible line for through traffic; local traffic to be a minor consideration. The most direct line with low grades to be obtained, without an unwarranted expense, was to be sought and adopted. It was agreed that the situation and the importance of Galesburg was likely to secure it a place in the line. Assurances were asked for and given that the citizens of that place would assist in exerting an influence friendly to the road and in procuring the right of way.

The result of surveys fixed the Mississippi crossing at Fort Madison, but showed the country northeast of Galesburg, on the direct line, impracticable in view of the low grade determined upon.

A route most nearly fulfilling the conditions of distance, grad and cost, ran north of the nearly parallel with the he line of the Chicago Burlington and Quincy road, which was from sixteen to eighteen miles shorter than the line as it now runs. The purchase of the Hinckley road, covering more than one-third the distance from Fort Madison to Chicago, made a more southern route, crossing the Illinois River, a necessity. At no point can the valley of that stream be directly crossed without great difficulty in reaching the upland, on one side or the other.

After much time given to thorough surveys, Chillicothe was selected as the most available point. This threw Galesburg off the direct line between the rivers, and in September the confident expectations of the people of that place were dashed by information given to Colonel Carr by Mr. Strong that the road could not come there.  Mr. Strong said that Mr. Robinson, the chief engineer, had found a route twelve miles south of Galesburg, which was three miles shorter and not more expensive in the construction. Expressing his personal sympathies and regrets, he believed Galesburg would be taken care of, would be provided with a branch after the building of the main line, and he hoped the company would still enjoy the good will and assistance of the citizens. It was, apparently, a final blow, but after consulting with mar. Gales, it was determined to make and effort to bring pressure to bear on Mr. Robinson. Writing to Mr. Strong, Colonel Carr insisted that a road crossing the county witch avoided every town in it could have nor friends and could expect no local business; that its construction would be a menace to, and earn the hostility of, Galesburg. The road could not afford to lose the business and the friendship of the city, whose population was rapidly increasing and already included one-third of the whole county of which it was the center of influence. In strongest terms he urged that Mr. Robinson should visit Galesburg, and make a personal examination of the situation, the knowledge of which he possessed only thorough reports of subordinates and f4rom maps and profile drawings.

He said:  "Is it not possible that your splendid engineer has heretofore built through an unsettled county? I fear he does not appreciate the difference between a new country where centers of business are to be created by the railroad, and one where the centers are already established." Colonel Carr further appealed for assistance to, and received assurance of sympathy from, officers of the road, his personal friends, George R. Peck, General Solicitor; C. W. Smith, Traffic Manager, and J. E. Frost. Land Commissioner. A visit from Mr. Robinson was promised, and on December 04, he came to Galesburg. He was able to appreciate the appearance of its population, business and thrift, and withal the unexpected and extraordinary opportunity afforded by the Cedar Fork Valley for a cheap and direct route through the very heart of the city. He promised to report the situation to the Directors, and held out the encouragement that a decision in favor of Galesburg would be rendered, but only on condition that the necessary depot grounds and right of way through the city should be donated by the municipality or private owners. He added that it would be impossible for the company to form any reliable estimate of their cost, and said that in any case there would be a further addition to the outlay necessary for the construction and future operation of the longer line.

A committee had previously been appointed to look after the interest of the city with the Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Company, at a meeting in the rooms of the Galesburg Club, Mayor Foote presiding. W. S. Gale, Clark. E. Carr, E. P. Williams, J. T. McKnight, and A. C. Clay composed the committee. At their call, a large audience assembled in the Princess Rink, then the largest hall in the city, on December 09, Mayor Foote Presided. The citizens were already aroused and the object of the meeting well understood. Mr. Gale, for the committee. sub mitted a full statement of the correspondence with the officers of the road, and explained the terms upon which a station on the line was practically assured to the city. He urged that the citizens of Galesburg should not forfeit the most favorable opportunity every presented. and probably the last to be offered, to secure that for which they had so soon hoped and labored in vain, a good railroad, fairly competing with the one line on which the city then depended. After addresses from several prominent citizens a series of resolutions were adopted, presented by D. H. Frisbee, calling on the citizens to provide the means required, and on the City council to render all necessary aid possible by ordinances, or other wise. A canvassing committee was appointed, by whom subscription papers were prepared and actively circulated, the subscriptions being liberal and promptly made.

In the meantime, the line as located interfered, more than had been expected, with valuable improvements, and was evidently to be more expensive than had been contemplated. It was feared that the load, would prove to heavy to be carried as the money must all be raised by private, voluntary subscriptions, no hope for return being offered the subscribers except through the general improvement of the city.

On December 17, the committee informed Mr. Robinson that they would be able to give the company a written guarentee, executed by responsible men, that upon the building of the road through the city the depot grounds required would be conveyed, with right of way west of Broad street, and one-third the cost 0f right of way east of Broad street. Three days later, a dispatch was received from Mr. Strong, from Boston, addressed to Messrs. Carr and Gale. It read as follows: "Directors are in session; road will be located through Galesburg if right of way and depot grounds are furnished; otherwise on the line south of Galesburg; till three p. m/ next day given for reply.:" Calling for explanation, a second dispatch told that "nothing but the entire cost of the depot and right of way would be accepted."

The situation was serious. The subscriptions were incomplete; there was more or less uncertainty as to the cost of the ground demanded; the most public spirited citizens might be expected to hesitate about assuming personal obligations to an indefinite amount, relying on voluntary aid of others, prompted by sympathy only, after the object had been secured.

A circular was at once sent to sixty of the most responsible and public-spirited citizens, informing them that the committee had matters of supreme  importance to communicate, and calling on them to meet at the court house at ten o'clock next morning, promptly and without fail. The committee spent the evening of December 20 in consultation and preparation for the work of the next day. A draft of an instrument of guarantee, presented by Mr. Gale, was carefully and critically considered, that it might be seen that every essential point was fully covered and that there was no ambiguity in expression, or room for doubt in construction. The meeting of the twenty-first was fully attended. the situation was thoroughly explained and the proposed guarantee presented. There was little discussion. F. F. Arnold, George W. Brown, and E. P. Williams led off with expressions of willingness to sign the guarantee. T. J. Hale, declaring there was no time for debate, but only for immediate action offered resolutions that the meeting approved the giving of the depot grounds and the right of way, and would join in the guarantee, and called for a rising vote. The vote was unanimous, the paper was signed by all present and afterwards by others, the Directors of Boston were notified at once, and a reply was received that r. Robinson had been directed to proceed with the location accordingly.

It was a grand exhibition of public spirit and mutual confidence, and no one has been known to regret his part in it.

The subscriptions to the funds continued to be made. In the end the number of subscribers reached four hundred and ninety-five, the sums ranging from one dollar to two thousand. The total amount raised was $64, 243.55. Mr. J. T. McKnight and Asa A. Matteson were appointed to collect the subscriptions and purchase the right of way. The selections was fortunate, since between them these gentlemen possessed qualifications eminently useful in the complicated work and ably and energetically carried it through.

In their final report very few subscriptions appeared uncollected, and after all costs and expenses had been paid, a balance of $2,451.41 remained. This was ordered distributed among the subscribers pro rata, making a rebate of 41/2 per cent on the amount paid by each.

From the first to last, no misunderstanding with the company or its officers was had. At the close the company's solicitor expressed the pleasure felt by the railroad officials at the fair and honorable manner in which they had been treated by the city of Galesburg and its people. The Directors showed their appreciation by erecting in the city much the finest depot on their line from Kansas City to Chicago.

In answer to insinuations that the action of the company in requiring contributions from Galesburg was "making a bluff" and not actually made in good faith. Mr. Strong has recently said, in a letter to a friend: "But for the correspondence between Colonel Carr and the railroad officials the road would never have come to Galesburg, and if the required pledge had not been made on the day set for it, the road would have been located on another line."

The below is out of the same history book and was typed and emailed to me by Kathy Mills who is now residing in Sunny Florida for the winter. I did not want to put this online without all of the railroads being mentioned so I typed up the above about the Sante Fe Railroad myself. Thanks, Kathy.....

THE CHICAGO, BURLINGTON AND QUINCY RAILROAD

C B & Q Railroad Station on Seminary

at South Streets in built in 1884. It burned

on April 27, 1911.

Click on photo for a bigger view.

      The act of incorporating the Peoria and Oquawka Railroad was passed in 1849.  Peoria and Oquawka were at the time connected by a daily line of stage coaches.  No intermediate points were named in the charter, but it was expected the chief towns on the state line—Knoxville, Galesburg and Monmouth—would be served, but that for the stage line between Peoria and Knoxville the older route, by way of Farmington and Maquon, would be taken.  In 1849, an organization was made, public meetings held, and some interest excited; in 1850, a more serious effort was made, and James Knox, of Knoxville, was made President of the road.  At Galesburg, the interest felt gradually cooled.  Notwithstanding the assurances of Mr. Knox, there were fears that the jealousy of the other towns, on which Galesburg was gaining in population and business, would secure a location that would leave that place at one side.  It was believed by some, that another line, of greater value to Galesburg, would be called for from the Mississippi, below the lower rapids, to the terminus of the Illinois and Michigan Canal, construction of the latter having been resumed; and that such a line would be forced, by the nature of the country, to follow the divide between the rivers, and pass through that place, and it would be well to reserve the strength of the town to aid in its construction..  At the close of the year, the people of Galesburg had cut loose from the Peoria and Oquawka project, and were committed to another scheme.

      February 10, 1851, the Peoria and Oquawka charter was amended, fixing as points on its line Farmington, Knoxville and Monmouth; authorizing the company to acquire the right of way, and the old grade of the Peoria and Warsaw line, between Peoria and Farmington, belonging to the State, a relic of the collapsed internal improvement system; and empowering it to construct a branch to the Mississippi River near Burlington.

      On the first of the same month, the Northern Cross Railroad Company, chartered in 1849 to occupy the old State line from Quincy to Meredosia, was authorized to build a branch to the terminus of the Illinois and Michigan Canal, on the most eligible route through the Military Tract, not east of Knoxville.

      On the fifteenth of the same month, the Central Military Tract Railroad Company was chartered to build from Galesburg to connect with the Rock Island and LaSalle line, in either Henry or Bureau Counties.

      In 1851, Colonel Richard P. Morgan, Chief Engineer of the Rock Island and LaSalle Company, left that road and was appointed on the Peoria and Oquawka.  He condemned the Farmington route, and insisted on the Kickapoo Valley as the only one available westward from Peoria.   In 1852, an amendment to the charter authorized construction without reference to Farmington; it also permitted the establishment of a ferry at Burlington, and the extension of the road to the eastern limit of the State.  The abandonment of the route over the high, well cultivated prairie, and leaving Farmington (then a thriving enterprising town), was severely criticized, and the character and motives of the engineer bitterly attacked.  Colonel Morgan was an old engineer, of large experience and high standing and a thoroughly honorable gentleman.  Nobody who knew his opinions on railroad construction, or had observed his work on the Hudson River, the Galena and Chicago, and the Rock Island railroads, wondered at his selection of a route in locating the Peoria and Oquawka line.  He cared little for curves, but he abhorred steep grades.  The line was located to run past Galesburg, more than two miles south of the public square.  Oquawka having given no sufficient aid, the western end of the main line was not located, the Burlington branch practically superseding it.  The people of Burlington became the most active promoters of the road, prominent among them being James W. Grimes, Charles Mason, and William F. Coolburgh.  In Peoria and Warren counties, municipal bonds were issued in aid, the indifference at Oquawka and the hostility at Galesburg preventing like action in Henderson and Knox counties.

      Two divisions were made, Knoxville becoming the separating point, and all aid given was to be expended in the division in which it was obtained.  Work was begun at once, and prosecuted from each end of the line.  By the fall of 1854, the road was partially built, and the means of the company and the contractors exhausted.

      Near the close of 1850, when the claims of the Peoria and Oquawka were being discussed in Galesburg, Mr. Marcus B. Osborne, a director of the Rock Island and LaSalle Company, whose road was not then located but was designed to connect the upper Mississippi with the Illinois River, at the terminus of the Canal, informed W.S. Gale that the Directors of that road had accepted a proposition made by Sheffield and Farnham, the contractors building the Michigan Southern road, then approaching its intended terminus at Chicago.  The Directors were to secure a change of charter, giving right to extend the line to Chicago, reorganizing their company, and secure an entrance into that city.  The Michigan Southern would connect near Chicago and run in on the same line.  Sheffield and Farnham would construct the Rock Island and Chicago road for $22,000 per mile, taking one-half in bonds of the road, one-third in stock, and would accept municipal bonds, as far as offered, for the remainder.  Mr. Osborne expected the road to follow the stage route and make points at Cambridge and Witherfield, coming within a little more than thirty miles of Galesburg and making a short line over the then open prairie.  He had no doubt the contractors would be glad to take up so valuable a feeder, as a branch to Galesburg would be on quite as easy terms as were offered for the main line.  Mr. Gale was associate editor of the News Letter, and the next issue of that paper contained an account of the situation as reported, urging the feasibility of securing the construction of such a branch, the importance it would give to Galesburg as a point to which would be drawn the lines seeking an outlet to the canal and lake from the south and west.  Southwick Davis, editor of the Register, replied in his next issue, opposing the scheme as an interference with the Peoria and Oquawka line, the construction of which could be secured and on which Galesburg would be a point if its assistance were given.  The result was a discussion on the streets, followed by a called meeting of the citizens.  The question was thoroughly debated.  The strongest presentation of the Peoria side was by C. S. Colton and H. H. May.  They insisted that the Peoria line could be more certainly secured, and that it had more value than a direct route to Chicago, being so short in comparison, and that from Peoria there was water transportation in every direction.  That in the end Peoria would get railroad connection with Chicago, and through it railroad transportation to that city would be but little longer than by way of the Rock Island road.  The argument of the friends of the Chicago route prevailed, and at the conclusion, by unanimous agreement, a committee was appointed to prepare and secure the passage of a charter for a branch of that road.

      It was feared opposition might be met with in the Legislature, and that Galesburg would be at a disadvantage.  The State and the Legislature were overwhelmingly democratic.  Galesburg had no good political standing.  It was known as an abolition town, and in 1851, abolitionists were, in most sections of Illinois, cordially hated.  The Senator and the Representative from Knox County were Whigs and from Knoxville, and individually were greatly interested in the Peoria and Oquawka Company.  George C. Lanphere, an active advocate of the new project, was County Judge and a democrat, and was selected to go to Springfield in the interest of the charter.  The Lieutenant Governor, William McMurtry, was from Henderson; that town, it was supposed, would share with Galesburg the benefit of the scheme.  Colonel McMurtry was very influential in his party, and popular both at home and at Springfield, where he had represented his district both in the House and in the Senate.  His aid was counted on.  Judge Lanphere met at Springfield Onias C. Skinner, of Quincy, a prominent lawyer and leading democratic politician, afterward a Judge of the Supreme Court, and a native of Whitesboro.  His nearest relatives were at Galesburg.  He had a bill authorizing the Northern Cross Railroad to build a branch to LaSalle.  The first proposition was to adapt his bill to the case and carry out the Galesburg scheme under it, but after protests from that city to the effect that it must have its own bill, and that its work must be under its own control, it was agreed that more might be effected by first securing the Galesburg end of the line, since, with that accomplished, the Quincy end would easily follow.  Judge Skinner gave the name Central Military Tract to the Galesburg road, indicating the ultimate design of the scheme.  Governor McMurtry was the first President of the road.  Committees were appointed to meet the Rock Island Directors and contractors at Rock Island and Chicago.  Galesburg’s representatives were cordially received.  Mr. Farnham gave ample assurance that when the Rock Island road was finally provided for, he would take up the Central Military Tract line on like terms.  Major William P. Whittle was appointed Chief Engineer, with B. B. Wentworth and George Churchill, assistants.

      The preliminary surveys were disappointing.  The Rock Island line had been located farther to the north, and on low ground, nowhere reaching the high prairie.  Points where easy descent from the high ground could be made were few.  Unlooked for difficulty was found in crossing Pope and Edwards valleys.  The most favorable route found was fifty-four miles in length, and was substantially that on which the road was finally constructed, as far as the Coal Creek valley, between Neponset and Buda.  From thence it turned at a right angle and ran down the valley, touching the Rock Island road at its summit, on the farm of Green Reld, at which point, in anticipation of the junction, the town of Sheffield was laid out.

      It was expected here to suspend operations, and wait until arrangements could be made to secure the full cost of construction before further expenditure of money, which might prove ill applied.  But under the influence of the Chief Engineer, a more progressive policy was attempted.  Stock subscriptions were to be canvassed for, in expectation of raising enough money to grade the road and be able to place bonds to provide for superstructure and equipment.

      Compete surveys and estimates were made, and bid for construction called for, received and opened.  But the cost was not sufficiently provided for.  The Rock Island contractors seemed slow in coming forward to take up the road as expected, and other connections were looked for.

      The Aurora Branch Railroad had been chartered in 1849, and under the charter a road constructed from Aurora to a point on the Galena and Chicago road, thirty miles west of Chicago.  The Central Military Tract Railroad, by lengthening its lines about one-half, might reach Aurora, thus securing a still more direct line to Chicago.  Correspondence was begun with the Galena Railroad, but a change in the management of that company was then pending and interfered with definite action.  The Burlington Directors of the Peoria and Oquawka road took great interest in the Central Military Tract line from its first inception.  They regarded it as of more value to them, if a connection could be made with it, then the Peoria end of their own line.  They tried, but without success, to effect an agreement between the two companies to connect at Galesburg, to act in concert, and to secure municipal aid for both roads from Knox County.

      The Michigan Central and the Michigan Southern, originally planned to terminate on the eastern shore of Lake Michigan, were in warm competition, each working westward, and each seeking a terminus in Chicago.  The Central had secured an entrance by a combination with the Illinois Central, the Southern through the Rock Island.  Its Rock Island connection gave that line the advantage as regards securing the south bound travel on the Illinois and Mississippi Rivers.  The Central had a scheme to meet this competition by obtaining control of the Aurora Branch, with its running rights over the Galena road, and to extend its line forty miles, to the proposed line of the Illinois Central, north of LaSalle, and run trains from their depot in Chicago to the last named point.  Governor Grimes, of Burlington, was informed of this plan while in Boston, and saw an opportunity for the Central Military Tract Railroad.  Finding Mr. Colton in Boston, they had an interview with the Michigan Central management, showed the advantage to be secured by taking an interest in the Central Military Tract line and extending it to meet the proposed Aurora extension, and secured a promise that  Mr. Joy, when going out to examine the Aurora Branch, would visit Galesburg.  Word came to that city through William J. Selden, who traveled with Governor Grimes on his way home, that nothing should be done on the road till Mr. Joy arrived.  Further explanation was had when Mr. Colton returned.  While Mr. Joy was being awaited, Mr. Farnham and Norman B. Judd, the latter the attorney for the Rock Island Company, came to Galesburg to make arrangements for building the road.  A month earlier they would have been gladly welcomed, but just then their proposition could be neither accepted nor rejected with safety.  They were put off for a few days, on the plea that the Quincy people must be consulted and be committed, in advance, to follow the lead taken by Galesburg, as it would never do to leave them free to make combinations with others, which might result in bringing a competing line into the territory.  A committee was sent to Quincy, and secured an agreement that the two companies should stand together.  Very soon afterward Mr. Joy arrived.  He was delighted with the country and its prospects.  He proposed a reorganization of the company, an extension of its line to the line of the Illinois Central, there to meet the Aurora extension.  The men he represented would subscribe to the stock of both these roads the amount necessary for their construction, beyond the local subscriptions and the proceeds of such bonds as could, with profit to the stockholders, be placed on the roads.  He urged an increase in the local subscriptions; however, in order that Eastern people might see that the country had sufficient wealth to support the road, and that the people on the line had enough interest in the road to secure its protection.  His propositions were approved, and time given to make up the desired increase.  No great difficulty was found in securing the stock subscriptions, since it was thought that there was a certain profit to be made, and as Mr. Joy had given assurance that the installments would be called for only as the work proceeded, that after twenty-five per cent of the amount had been paid the stock would be security for any additional installments called for, and that the earnings would return the money within a few years.  Among the large subscribers were: Silas Willard, and C.S. Colton, $25,000 each; Silvanus Ferris, Henry Ferris, James Bunce, Patrick Dunn, Enos McEnlear, William J. Selden, and W. Selden Gale, $10,000 each; George W. Gale $6,500.

      At the time of his visit Mr. Joy was told of the understanding with the people of Quincy, and was induced to go over that route.  He did not hesitate to give assurances that with such local aid as they were able to raise, he could find market for the securities necessary to build the line.

      In January, 1852, acts were passed giving a new charter to the Central Military Tract Railroad, with the right to connect with any road running towards Chicago; authorizing the Aurora Branch road to extend its line to a point at least fifteen miles north of LaSalle and connect with any road running north from that point; and changing the name to the Chicago and Aurora Railroad.

      In the reorganization of the Central Military Tract Company, John W. Brooks, General Manager of the Michigan Central, was made President; John McPherson Berrien, Chief Engineer; W. W. Duffield, Treasurer.  The local Directors were from the large stockholders—Willard, Colton, Bunce, Selden, and G.W. and W.S. Gale.  The offices were opened at Princeton, work beginning at and progressing from the eastern end.  It reached Galesburg in the latter part of December, 1854.

      The Chicago and Aurora and the Central Military Tract roads were then put under joint management, which method continued until their consolidation under the name of the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy, in 1856.

      In 1854, negotiations were opened for aid to be extended by the allied roads to the Peoria and Oquawka, to be used in construction of its western division.  An agreement was reached and a contract entered into at Monmouth.  At that conference there were present: James W. Brooks and James F. Joy, of Detroit; James W. Grimes and William F. Coolbaugh, of Burlington; George C. Bestor, of Peoria; Abner C. Harding and Ivory Quinby, of Monmouth, and W. Selden Gale.  James Knox had promised to be present but failed to appear.  Of these men the only one now living is Mr. Gale, the youngest of the company.  The line of the road was to be re-established between Cameron and Knoxville so as to connect with the Central Military Tract road at Galesburg, the people of that city to furnish four acres of ground for a depot.  The allied roads would provide money to complete the western division, and were to remain in possession until the obligations were paid, accounting for net profits, and were to have continuous running rights over the road.  Under that agreement the western division was completed to Galesburg in 1855.

      By 1856, the Peoria and Oquawka Company had completed the line from Galesburg to Peoria.  In 1856, the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Company acquired title to the road from Peoria to Burlington by purchase of securities and process of foreclosure.

      The construction of the Northern Cross Railroad, from Quincy to Galesburg, which was begun in 1852, was completed in 1855, having been aided by the Chicago and Aurora and the Central Military Tract companies.  Soon after completion it was placed under the management of the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy, and was afterwards bought by that corporation at sale under foreclosure.

      On November 11, 1870, the Rockford, Rock Island and St. Louis road was completed from Rock Island to St. Louis, at a cost of about $11,000,000, and on April 21, 1876, it passed under a foreclosure sale for $1,600,000 into the possession of the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy.  It runs for a few miles through Rio Township.  To make connection with it the new owners, in the summer of 1880, built a branch line from Galesburg to Rio.  In this year also the double track from Chicago to Burlington was finished.

      In 1860-61 the line running south of Yates City to the county line was completed under the charter of the Jacksonville and Savannah.  (See Salem)

      In 1884, the new passenger station was finished.  It is a very large and handsome building, and reflects great credit upon both the railroad and the town.

      The following table shows the growth of the line in reference to its importance in Knox County:

TRAINMEN EMPLOYED IN KNOX COUNTY

 

 

Monthly wages

1856

15 men

$    575.00

1866

141 men

7,252.61

1893

843 men

61,072.00

1996

700 men

60,000.00

1899

741 men

54,476.00

Total number of men employed in Knox County

Year

Employed

Monthly Wages

1893

2,030

$106,300.00

1896

1,400

96,000.00

1899

1,760

96,200.00

After the successful inception of the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy system, various other roads were projected for this part of Illinois.  In 1857, the Galesburg and Rock Island and the Galesburg and Muscatine roads were chartered, but were never built.  The Court Creek Railroad was chartered in 1870, and Galesburg voted $100,000 in aid of the enterprise, but it too, failed.  In 1875, the Keokuk, Galesburg and Chicago Narrow Gauge was incorporated, and citizens of Knox County subscribed $75,000 towards it.  But nothing ever came of any of these projects.

 Fulton  County Narrow Gauge Railroad

 In 1881, the Fulton County Extension Railway Company was incorporated, and work was soon begun, with the intention of building from Lewistown to the Mississippi River through Galesburg and Monmouth.  But the line was finally completed (in 1882) only to Galesburg and south to Havana.  It is now known as the Fulton County Narrow Gauge, and is mainly a coal road, carrying the product of the Fulton County mines. Story above from a resident's view.

Galesburg Great Eastern photos above

      This road was incorporated April 7, 1894, as the Galesburg, Etherly and Eastern, with a capital stock of $150,000.  The intention was to develop the coal beds of Copley and Victoria townships.  The road, which was built in 1894, runs from Wataga, where it connects with the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy, about twelve miles east, and southeast to the village of Etherly, which was started because of the proposed road, and on to the coal lands of the Galesburg Coal Company.  May 7, 1894, the road was mortgaged to the Royal Trust Company.  It was operated for a short time only, when the mortgage was foreclosed, and there was simply a deserted road bed, until the summer of 1898.  Then the mortgagees re-organized the company, changed its name to the Galesburg and Great Eastern, completed the road to Victoria and Etherly, and put it in good running order, with new equipment.  Trains are regularly run and the management contemplates extending the line from Wataga to Galesburg and east from Etherly to Lacon.

 Iowa Central Railroad

      In 1879-80, the Peoria and Farmington Railroad Company completed a line of road through Knox County.  Soon afterward it was sold to the Central Iowa Company, and finally, through several transfers, came into the hands of the present company.  It runs for about twelve miles through Cedar, Indian Point, and Chestnut townships, and has but two stations in Knox County: Abingdon and Hermon.

 The Rock Island And Peoria Railroad

       The Rock Island and Peoria road is of but little importance to the county.  It has no station in Knox, and runs for only two or three miles through Lynn Township.

 

Railroad yards @ Galesburg today photo taken by Foxie March 2006 there are also a few more through out this narration.

Foxie's Note: the following info typed & emailed to me by my good friend Lois whose husband works for the railroad. Out of Albert Perry's History of Knox county printed in 1912.

THE CHICAGO, BURLINGTON & QUINCY RAILROAD

 OF KNOX COUNTY, ILLINOIS

by John Lass

Genesis of the Railroad

          Before the advent of the railroad transportation was carried on by means of canals, as in China to-day, and the construction of government roads, such as the Appian way of Italy, and a great deal of commerce may be carried on under that old system. Besides, those roads were used for military purposes, and we may well be surprised with their effectiveness when compared with modern transportation. The discovery of the power of steam was made by Heron in the third century, B. C. This power was first applied to naval transportation in the year 1707 and was applied to locomotion upon land in the year 1804. As in all other primitive efforts in the application of a new principle, the success was at first quite indifferent, and there elapsed quite a period of time before anything like real success was arrived at. But the general necessities of mankind for something that would transport passengers and freight quickly from point to point proved a great stimulus to additional invention and constant improvements in the method of application.
        The growth of the cities of the world made it imperative that some means should be discovered for bringing the products of the country to the city and in return the manufactured articles from the city back to the country. In the early days of railroad life there were but small sections of roads here and there, but the great body of the land was without any facilities of this kind. These necessities were so poorly supplied that the geniuses of the country were constantly working to produce something really efficient in the line of transportation.
       The immediate forerunners of the Burlington system were projected roads from Peoria to Oquawka, from Quincy northward, known as the Northern Cross railroad, and from Chicago to Aurora, all located within the state of Illinois. With a road from Peoria to Oquawka and another from Quincy northward and another from Chicago southward there was a great desire to extend the system so as to connect all these points with Chicago. But out of those three projected roads has grown the great system and network of railways known as the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy railroad.

THE EXTENT OF THE BURLINGTON SYSTEM


        This system has become known as the Burlington route. It is the parent organization and corporation of an extensive system which operates railroads in most of the western and northwestern states. It starts at Chicago and furnishes connections at St. Louis, Kansas City, Omaha, St. Paul, Minneapolis, Cheyenne, Denver, Billings, Deadwood and many other connecting and intermediate points and has connections by affiliated roads such as the Great Northern, Northern Pacific, Quincy, Omaha & Kansas City, Colorado Midland, Western Pacific, Denver & Rio Grande, reaching the southwestern states at Los Angeles, the western and northwestern states at San Francisco, Seattle and Portland; and on the southeast to the Ohio river and the south and all the southeastern states. This system is destined, through its great controlling road, the Great Northern, to tap the large wheat and timber lands of Canada and the northwestern states. An ever increasing volume of traffic will surely be brought to the great northwestern gateway by the Great Northern, the Northern Pacific and the Colorado Southern to the Burlington route and transported to the eastern, southern, central and gulf states and thence to Europe.
From the south and east the products of the country will be transported to the important shipping points on the north Pacific coast, British Columbia and Alaska and then to the Orient and far away Asia and Europe.
        Surely a stupendous system of commercial activity of such a character as that passing through the county of Knox is worthy of the most careful study. Railroads become one of the most important features in the development of the country. They have been the means of opening up the broad domain to settlement, and by them every department in life has been most rapidly advanced, and they constitute in a large degree the vital force of an active and wealthy civilization. The country is covered with a network of roads extending from ocean to ocean, penetrating every state and territory and employing millions of men and women, expending millions of money for service, maintenance and equipment, and any serious interference with the operation of these roads would at once paralyze the business of the country and result in untold injury and suffering to the people. The combined value of the railroads of the country is represented in figures wholly incomprehensible to the human mind, unthinkable even to their managers, and every dollar is at the service of the people.
        From the beginning of the agitation of railway building in this county, which was about as early as that of any other part of the state, the people have been very earnest and active on the subject. The early settlers of the county, being largely from the east, were naturally among the first to desire a connection by rail with that part of the world from whence they came. They came to this country by wagon overland, slowly pushing their way over hills and through forests, fording streams swollen with spring rains, halting for nothing except the Sabbath day. Today we find them in the midst of the noise and whir of revolving shafts, of wheels of industry and commerce, enjoying the benefits of twentieth century transportation and the journey once made with such trial and hardship is now taken with comfort and the enjoyment of books and newspapers and is completed within a few hours.

THE DEVELOPMENT OF THE BURLINGTON SYSTEM

        The Chicago, Burlington & Quincy railroad may justly be said to be the origin of the energy and power that has turned the west and uncultivated prairies of the central west into a land of plenty, beauty, business and wealth and of all the counties in all this great central west, Knox county and its adjoining counties in Illinois have been made the most productive and the most blest of all in the advantages of business, culture and refinement.

PEORIA & OQUAWKA R. R.

          On February 12, 1849, the legislature granted a charter to the Peoria & Oquawka Railroad Co. with a capital stock of $500,000. Under this charter a certain amount of stock had to be subscribed by February 1, 1850, before grading could commence and besides this, other conditions were imposed which were burdensome, but which were modified by the next legislature. The plan was to construct a railroad from Peoria on the Illinois river to Oquawka, on the Mississippi.
     The first railroad meeting was held in Knox county, September 9, 1849, the object of which was to provide for the general assembling of the citizens in October. There was a large and enthusiastic meeting, speeches were made by James Knox and Robert S. Blackwell. A motion was made and carried in favor of voluntary taxation to provide funds to prosecute the work. The estimated cost was between $500,000 and $750,000. A resolution was adopted requesting the commissioners of the county to correspond with those of other counties in order to bring about concerted action in the matter. Meetings were held throughout Knox county and a great deal of interest was manifested. The Knoxville Journal, then owned by John S. Winter, was very zealous in the advocacy of the cause, awakening an interest in railroad matters. A meeting was held in Galesburg, November 29, 1849.
        The people of Oquawka, refusing to aid the enterprise, the people of Burlington came forward with the necessary subscription, the route was changed to the latter place and Oquawka was left out. The company expended all their money and exhausted their credit in building the road from Burlington to Kirkwood.
A large meeting was again held in Knoxville, inaugurated by the people of Peoria, at which Judge Purple presided. The idea of the people of Knoxville at this time was that the road would build to Peoria and thereby bring manufactories nearer to them. But the defects in the charter caused the project to drag and in the meantime the people of Peoria organized a new company under an old charter which had been granted to Andrew Gray to build a road ten miles from Peoria and finally to pass through Farmington, Illinois, and then direct to Burlington, leaving Knoxville and Galesburg to the north. This road was called the Peoria & Mississippi Railroad Co.
The people of Knoxville favored the road rather than have no road in the county. However, on February 10, 1851, the defects in the Peoria & Oquawka charter were removed, which allowed the company to commence work with less stock paid in and to run the road through Knoxville and Monmouth with Galesburg left to the north again.

CENTRAL MILITARY TRACT R. R.

      This did not satisfy the citizens of Galesburg and on February 15, 1851, the Central Military Tract Railroad company was incorporated with Wm. McMurtry, C. S. Colton, James Bunce, W. S. Gale, C. G. Lanphere, H. H. May, W. A. Wood, Alfred Brown, Alvah Wheeler, Peter Grouse, Amos Ward, Patrick Dunn, Daniel Meek, Silas Willard, A. C. Wiley and their associates and successors, a body politic and corporate under the name and style of the Central Military Tract Railroad company, with power to build a road from Galesburg, in a northwesterly course, to some point on the Rock Island and LaSalle railroad. The object of this move was twofold, viz., to build in the direction of Chicago and thereby compel the Peoria & Oquawka railroad to come to Galesburg.
On June 19, 1852, the charter was amended so as to give them the right to build a road from Galesburg in a northeasterly direction on the most direct and eligible route to the city of Chicago, to a point to be designated by said company at or near the line of the Chicago and Rock Island railroad. The charter originated with a body of men who were wont to meet in the office of W. S. Gale, on the south side of the public square in the city of Galesburg. Among those were C. S. Colton, W. S. Gale, Silas Willard, Geo. C. Lanphere, and James Bunce, and they were aided in their scheme by Marcus Osborne of Rock Island. Their first charter was written in the office of W. S. Gale and Geo. C. Lanphere, the democrat in the ring, was sent to the legislature, which was democratic at that time, where the bill was passed. Under the charter, a survey was made for a line to Sheffield by Messrs. Whipple, Wentworth & Churchill.
Plans and estimates were made for this line and the work put under contract in the winter of 1851-2. The contracts were revoked, however, and nothing was done, the company having changed its plans and decided to meet the Chicago & Aurora road at Mendota.

AURORA BRANCH R. R.

On February 12, 1849, the Aurora Branch Railroad company was incorporated to build a road from Aurora to the Galesburg and Chicago railroad. On June 22, 1852, this act was amended to allow them to extend their road in a southwest direction or to build northwest to where they could interest any railroad, built or to be built, and then form connection with such road.

NORTHERN CROSS Railroad

     February 1, 1851, power was granted to the Northern Cross Railroad company road, extending north from Quincy, Illinois, to build a branch from some point on that road in Adams county and then running in a most expedient and eligible route through the military tract, terminating at the most advantageous point at or near the south terminal of the Illinois and Michigan canal with a proviso that the company should not locate or construct this branch upon any line east of the city of Knoxville.
June 21, 1852, the act was modified to authorize the Northern Cross company to terminate the lateral branch of said road at any point where the railroad may connect with any other railroad extending north to the city of Chicago.
We now have under consideration the Peoria & Oquawka, the Central Military Tract, the Aurora Branch and the Northern Cross Railroad companies. It will be found necessary to consider all of these roads together because upon their completion the original Chicago, Burlington & Quincy railroad came into existence.
The changes in the plans of the Central Military Tract Co. were made because of the following circumstances: While the Peoria & Oquawka railroad interests were being slowly worked up by local subscriptions, C. S. Colton, of Galesburg, being in the east, accidentally met in Boston, J. W. Grimes, of Burlington, Iowa, who was a member of the state legislature, and also a Mr. Wadsworth, of Chicago, who was president of the Chicago & Aurora railroad, and after a conference they decided that an independent route direct to Chicago was the most practicable line. Mr. Colton returned home and had a conference with his railroad friends and the changes were determined upon.
It was found impossible to secure eastern capital to aid in the construction of the road while the rates of transportation were subject to control by the state legislature. A special charter was prepared which removed the difficulty and gave the company the entire control of the same with full power to establish and regulate their rates of transportation.
     Mr. Colton was delegated to go to Springfield, Illinois, to secure the passage of the special charter, which was done June 21, 1852. At the same date he also secured the amendment to the Chicago & Aurora extension, authorizing the building of that road to Mendota. It was here that he met for the first time James F. Joy, afterwards president of the C. B. & Q. R. R. Co., who became interested in Colton's plans and who suggested to him the change of the terminus of the Northern Cross railroad and securing the interest of the Quincy people in this branch; and here undoubtedly was the inception of the great Chicago, Burlington & Quincy railroad, the pride of the state.
Subsequently John W. Brooks, president of the Michigan Central Railroad Co., and James F. Joy, both of Detroit, interested themselves in the Central Military Tract road and proposed that if the people along the route between Galesburg and Mendota would subscribe $300,000 they would furnish enough more capital to complete the grading of the road and laying of the ties, and when that was done they could borrow money on the bonds of the company to complete the construction of the road and put it in operation. One of the first meetings to raise stock was at the old Academy building at Galesburg. The first three subscribers were James Bunce, James Bull and Henry Ferris. Mr. Bull failed to pay. Mr. Bunce was a resident of Galesburg, also Henry Ferris, who will be remembered by many as the father of Mrs. B. F. Arnold and Mrs. Geo. W. Prince. After several months of canvassing for subscriptions to the new company for the $300,000, the required guaranty, they were still short $50,000. At this juncture Messrs. Joy and Brooks came to Galesburg and gave notice that they could not promise a further extension of time on behalf of their principals, who had agreed to build the railroad when the required guaranty was subscribed.
     This was a critical time, for $50,000 must be raised immediately or the whole project would be abandoned and all the work done would be lost. Everybody in the community had been canvassed, but to no purpose. At this vital moment C. S. Colton and Silas Willard, who had been the principal movers in the enterprise, finally determined to risk everything for the success of the undertaking, and they personally subscribed the $50,000, thereby binding all the other subscribers and also the eastern capitalists to their contract for building and operating the road. This subscription was a heavy load for these men and they were obliged to borrow the entire amount at the rate of 10 per cent, all their own means being fully absorbed in their business, and it was several years before their stock paid any dividend.
In 1852 the line was surveyed from Galesburg to Mendota, at first through Henderson, but later about four miles east.
        Meanwhile Knoxville was fighting Galesburg and trying to get the Northern Cross Railroad company to come to that city. The, people between Peoria and Burlington were anxiously waiting for the Peoria & Oquawka road to go ahead. The terminal cities, Burlington and Peoria, by vote subscribed $75,000 each. Burlington thus got ahead of Oquawka and then Henderson county voted to take no stock in the company.
On June 20, 1851, the stockholders of the Peoria & Oquawka Railroad Co. met at Knoxville and elected the first board of directors, as follows: Chas. Mason and J. W. Grimes of Bloomington, A. C. Harding and Samuel Webster of Monmouth, James Knox and Julius Manning of Knoxville, Asa D. Reed of Farmington, Rudolphus Rouse and Washington Cockrel of Peoria to serve one year. James Knox was chosen president, Robert L. Hannaman secretary and William Phelps treasurer. The first contract for grading the road was let in October, 1851, at the Peoria end. By September, 1853, all parts of the Peoria & Oquawka road were under contract. When the eastern end of the P. & O. road was built to Elmwood and the western end to Monmouth the work ceased. The parties controlling the line failing to complete the road, the subscribers became dissatisfied, and W. S. Mans of Peoria, James Knox of Knoxville and A. C. Harding of Monmouth entered into a contract to finish the road between Monmouth and Elmwood, but being unable to carry out their contract they sold out to the Central Military Tract Co., the latter agreeing to complete, equip and open the road, which gave the road to Galesburg. After numerous efforts by C. S. Colton of the Central Military Tract Co. and N. Bushnell of the Northern Cross Co. a junction of the two roads at Galesburg was agreed upon which was subsequently ratified by the legislature. By this act, together with the purchase of the contract for the construction of the P. & O. line by the Central Military Tract Co., the destiny of Galesburg as a railroad center was absolutely fixed.
In October, 1852, the Central Military Tract Co. increased its capital, stock from $100,000 to $600,000 and elected the following directors: John W. Brooks, Henry Ledyard, James F. Joy, W. N. Lathrop of Detroit, J. H. Birch, C. G. Hammond and John H. Kinsey of Chicago, C. G. Colton, W. S. Gale, James Bunce and Silas Willard of Galesburg, Wm. McMurtry of Henderson and John H. Bryant of Princeton, Illinois.
       The road from Burlington to Peoria was not completed until the end of 1854. The first passenger trains began running in the spring of 1855. At this time the Chicago and Aurora company and the Central Military Tract company and the Peoria and Oquawka company were all consolidated under the name of the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad company, the name being adopted from the terminal points of the lines that formed the consolidation. Upon the consolidation Galesburg was made a central division from Mendota west. Col. C. G. Hammond, formerly of the Michigan Central, being the general superintendent of the road, placed the Galesburg division under the supervision of Henry Hitchcock as assistant superintendent on Jan. 1, 1856.


        Galesburg has always been the headquarters of the Galesburg division. Here are located the company's shops, roundhouses, locomotive and car departments, large stock yards, icing plant, timber preserving plant, cement works and other equipment, and here a large number of men live who are employed in the train, track and engine service, also bridge men, carpenters, shop men and men employed in other branches of the service, and these men have much to do in building up Galesburg and making it one of the most prosperous cities of the central west.
From Galesburg, the county seat of Knox county, the center lines of railroad diverge to many points terminating in Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis, Rock Island and Moline, Burlington, Quincy, Peoria, Streator, Rushville and West Havana, and from these points important connections are made with all the country, bringing Galesburg and Knox county in direct intercourse with a large territory and making it the distributing point for the merchandise and products of the central part of the state. The original offices and passenger station, which had a fine hotel connected with it, managed by the then noted hotel man H. W. Belden, was located at the intersection of Prairie and Brooks streets. This station and offices were destroyed by fire on the stormy March 1st, 1881. Temporary quarters were built for use until the new station was built in 1883 and completed and occupied May 4, 1884. This new station and office building was also destroyed by fire April 27, 1911, and temporary quarters rebuilt for use until the fine new station now being erected is completed, which will be this year, when Seminary and South streets' grade crossings will give place to large subways. Probably Main and Mulberry also will later be given subway crossings.
This, in a general way, gives the origin of the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad company proper, which in 1855 consisted of but a few miles of road as compared with its present extent. This road extended from Chicago to Galesburg, Galesburg to East Burlington, south from Galesburg to Quincy and east from Galesburg to Peoria, three hundred and seventy-eight miles. This was increased in 1862 to four hundred and eight miles by a branch from Yates City to Lewistown. Now its main line, extending from Chicago to Denver, Kansas City, Cheyenne, Billings, Deadwood, and the whole number of miles of standard gauge road operated by the Burlington in 1911 was about nine thousand and seventy-five miles. Of this total seventeen hundred and thirty-two miles were in the state of Illinois.
      The total earnings and disbursements of the road in the state for the year reached an enormous amount and the tonnage hauled was immense in volume and the prosperity of all the cities on its line may justly be said to depend upon the earnings of the employees of the road and to the business created and made possible by the advantages given by the road. The company paid to the treasurer of Knox county, in the year 1910, $49,646.09 in taxes.
             In this sketch of the C., B. & Q. railroad we have aimed at giving the history of its inception, the events which culminated in the consolidation of the different railroad projects which resulted in the organization of the C., B. & Q. Railroad Co. and its operation in Knox county and adjacent territory, whose rails now carry the product of millions of acres of land and move the population of a continent. This company has the reputation of having the best track in the United States. Its trains are made of the most elegant and serviceable equipment and with all the latest facilities for service and comfort. The double steel rail is laid now on nearly all its lines and the trains are noted for their regularity in running on schedule time. The management of the road is, and always has been, of the best and in keeping with its equipment.
During the twelve months ending June 21, 1912, the Burlington railroad carried 22,000,000 passengers without causing a death. The management also announced that there has not been a fatality in the passenger list of the suburban system in five years.
The record covers the entire system of 9,332 miles. The suburban system, which has been clear of deaths for five years, handles an average of 11,000 passengers daily and operates 100 trains every twenty-four hours.
Of the total mileage there is 2,812 in Illinois, 1,925 in Iowa, 1,635 in Missouri, 3,523 in Nebraska, and from 54 to 600 in Wisconsin, Minnesota, Kansas, Colorado, South Dakota, Wyoming and Montana. The number of passengers carried one mile was 1,173,435,093, and the average distance traveled by each passenger was 53 miles.
On two or three divisions there has not been a passenger killed for three to seven years.

FROM THE PRESIDENT DOWN ALL ARE COURTEOUS AND OBLIGING AND FAITHFUL IN THE DISCHARGE OF THEIR RESPECTIVE DUTIES.

        Up to the present time the consideration of the Burlington route has been directed to a brief review of the construction of the road beginning at Chicago and running to Galesburg, the road beginning at Quincy and running to Galesburg, and the road from Peoria to Burlington. There are other branches of this road which belong in Knox county and as shown in the beginning of this article, it is worth our while to study with some care the growth of this enormous corporation even though we go beyond the limits of Knox county. Inasmuch as this railroad system is of such incalculable interest to Knox county, it is well to place before every thinking person of the county some knowledge of the growth of nearly the entire system. We will now proceed to recapitulate very briefly what has gone before and to take up the various branches of the Burlington system that are contributing so much business and activity to the people of Knox county.
To refer again to the construction and organization of the road. The road known as the C., B. & Q. railroad proper consists of the main line, Chicago via Aurora, Mendota and Galesburg to Burlington, Galesburg to Quincy, the branch from Aurora to Turner Junction (on the C. & N. W. Ry.), from Galesburg to Peoria, and from Yates City to Lewistown. The name of the road built by a company incorporated February 12, 1849, under the name of the Aurora Branch Railroad Co. was changed June 22, 1852, to the Chicago and Aurora Railroad Co. February 14, 1855, the name was again change to the C., B. & Q. Railroad Co.
       The road from Mendota to Galesburg was built by a company incorporated February 15, 1851, under the name of the Central Military Tract Railroad Co. On July 9, 1856, the C., B. & Q. and the Central Military Track Railroad Co. were consolidated under the name of the former company. The road from Galesburg to the Mississippi river opposite Burlington and from Galesburg to Peoria was built by a corporation incorporated February 12, 1849, under the name of Peoria & Oquawka Railroad company. On February 21, 1861, the name was changed to the Logansport, Peoria & Burlington Railroad Co. On October 20, 1862, the Logansport, Peoria & Burlington railroad was purchased by G. S. Bartlett, N. Thayer, J. W. Brooks. By authority of an act of the legislature, approved June 19, 1863, the purchasers, on March 8, 1864, organized a new company under the name of the Peoria & Burlington Railroad Co. On July 24, 1864, the Peoria & Burlington railroad was consolidated with the C., B. & Q. R. R. Co., under the name of the C., B. & Q. R. R. Co.
       The road from Galesburg to Quincy was built by a company incorporated February 10, 1849, under the name of the Northern Cross Railroad Co. On February 10, 1857, its name was changed to the Quincy & Chicago Railroad Co. The Quincy & Chicago Railroad Co. was sold under foreclosure on April 28, 1864, and purchased by the C., B. & Q. R. R. Co., and deeded to that company, June 30, 1865.
      The road from Yates City to Lewistown was built under the name of two companies. The Jacksonville & Savanna R. R. Co., incorporated February 14, 1855, under which name the road was built from Yates City southwesterly to a point about four miles south of Canton. The remainder of the road was built in the name of the Peoria & Hannibal R. R. Co., which was incorporated February 11, 1853, under the name of the Macomb, Vermont & Bath R. R. Co. This was changed to the Peoria & Hannibal R. R. Co., on February 24, 1854. November 4, 1860, these two pieces of road were purchased by J. W. Brooks and J. F. Joy. On November 6, 1861, they were transferred to the C, B. & Q. R. R. Co.
       The branch from Buda to Elmwood was built by a company incorporated under the name of the Dixon, Peoria & Hannibal R. R. Co., on March 5, 1867. It was to be built from Dixon, Lee county, to the Mississippi river with branches. The construction was begun on a section between Buda and Elmwood, in August, 1869, and was opened for traffic February 1, 1870, leased to the C., B. & Q., July 1, 1869, and on July 1, 1899, sold to the Burlington company.
          The road from Galva to New Boston was built by a company named the Western Air Line, which was incorporated February 9, 1853, to build from the east bank of the Mississippi river at New Boston via Lacon, to the eastern line of Illinois, in the direction of Fort Wayne, Indiana. On February 21, 1859, the name was changed to the American Central Railway Co. The road was built from Galva on the C., B. & Q. road to New Boston. Construction was begun soon after the organization of the company, but not very much was accomplished until the C., B. & Q. R. R., through James J. Joy, took hold of it, in 1865. The road was opened for traffic from Galva to New Boston, April 23, 1869. It was leased to the "Q" on October 12, 1868, conveyed to the "Q" July 1, 1899. The road from Keithsburg Junction to Keithsburg on the American Central was begun in 1870, and opened for traffic July 1, 1899, under the name of Dixon & Quincy R. R. Co., incorporated March 4, 1869, and conveyed to the "Q". The cars began to run regularly between Aurora and Chicago, via Turner Junction, October 21, 1850, and between Mendota and Chicago, November 12, 1853. The track of the Galena and Chicago Union R. R. was used between Turner Junction and Chicago.
       The construction of the Northern Cross railroad was begun at Quincy in 1851. The first locomotive reached Quincy, March 12, 1854, and was placed on the track at Quincy, September 12, 1854. N. Bushnell, of Quincy, was then president. The road was completed from Quincy to Avon, eighty miles, in the fall of 1855. On the remainder of the road to Galesburg the track was laid from Galesburg south and connection made near Avon, January 31, 1856. April 10, 1857, the Northern Cross railroad was transferred to the C., B. & Q. R. R. Co., under jurisdiction of Col. C. B. Hammond, general superintendent.
            A company, incorporated March 8, 1867, as the Quincy, Alton & St. Louis road, built a branch from Quincy to Louisiana, commencing in 1871. It was completed and opened for transportation between Quincy and St. Louis, December 28, 1871.
Another branch from Fall Creek to East Hannibal was leased to the C., B. & Q. in perpetuity February 1, 1876, and conveyed June 1, 1890, to the C, B. & Q. R. R. Co.
It may be interesting to state that several years ago there died at La Grange, Illinois, a civil engineer eighty-four years old named Geo. W. Waite. He took a prominent part in western railroad construction. He came to Illinois in 1830. In 1848 as assistant engineer of the Galena Central Railroad Co. he laid the first railroad tie in Chicago and later built that portion of the C., B. & Q. railroad between Mendota and Aurora. This road formed a part of the main line of the Burlington and the cars reached Princeton, Illinois, September 11, 1854, and on December 7, 1854, the first locomotive, The Reindeer, steamed into Galesburg in charge of James P. Patch.
        The road from Galesburg to Burlington was originally built to the eastern bank of the Mississippi at a point a short distance above where the bridge is now located. When the bridge was built the line was changed and the "Q" built the main track on the west side of the river as far as Locust street. The station on the east side of the river was known as East Burlington. The bridge across the Mississippi river was built by the Burlington company. Work was commenced on approaches in 1867 and the first pile driven Jan. 30, 1867. The masonry was completed March 30, 1868, and the first train crossed August 13, 1868. Beginning July 1, 1890, this bridge was entirely rebuilt as a double track bridge, completed and put into service October, 1892.
            The Quincy and Warsaw Railroad Co. was incorporated Feb. 16, 1865, to build a road from Quincy to Warsaw. This company built the Quincy to Carthage portion of the branch from Quincy to Burlington. In March, 1869, the act was amended to authorize the construction of a branch from Quincy to Carthage via Mention. The main, line was not built. The construction of the branch, however, was commenced August, 1869, and completed and opened for business Dec. 25, 1870. Dec. 1, 1890, the branch was leased in perpetuity and later transferred to the Burlington road.
       The road from Carthage to Burlington was built by a company incorporated by an act of the legislature as the Carthage and Burlington Railroad Co. March 8, 1867, to build from Carthage via Dallas City to East Burlington. Construction began Sept., 1870, and was leased to the C. B. & Q. R. R. Co. May 10, 1869, and was transferred July 1, 1899.
The Railroad Bridge company at Quincy was incorporated under an act of the legislature approved Feb. 10, 1853. Another incorporation under the name of the Quincy Railroad Bridge Co. was incorporated in Missouri March 28, 1866, and these two companies consolidated under the name of the Quincy Railroad Bridge Co. Nov. 20, 1866. The bridge over the Mississippi river at Quincy was built by this Quincy Railroad Bridge Co. under authority of an act of congress approved July 25, 1866.
       On Nov. 21, 1866, surveys were begun, and between that date and Jan. 1st, 1867, contracts were let for building the bridge, and it was completed and opened for traffic Nov. 9, 1868. On Jan. 1, 1869, the bridge was leased to the C. B. & Q. R. R. Co., Toledo, Wabash & Western Railroad Co., and the Hannibal & St. Joe Railroad Co., for the term of the corporate existence of the Bridge Co. The Toledo, Wabash & Western Railroad Co. failed to fulfill its obligations under the lease and forfeited the right when the road was sold under foreclosure, since which time the C., B. & Q. and the Hannibal & St. Joe railroads have been the sole lessees. The C., B. & Q. bought the Hannibal & St. Joe Railroad company's interest and consolidated that road with the C., B. & Q. and thereby became in full control of the bridge.
       In July, 1897, the work of rebuilding the Quincy bridge was commenced. Seven spans were filled and not rebuilt. The work was completed June 18, 1898, and draw spans later. The bridge has a highway attachment and was opened for traffic Sept. 10, 1899.
       The Galesburg and Rio branch was built by a company incorporated April 19, 1886, to build from Galesburg to Rio to connect the Rio with the St. Louis, Rock Island & Chicago railroad, now a part of the Savanna and Rock Island branch north of Rio. Contracts for the line were let April 15, 1886, and opened for traffic on Oct. 3, 1886. On Oct. 1, 1886, it was leased to the C., B. & Q. and on June 1, 1889, conveyed to that company.
      The St. Louis & Rock Island and the Barstow & Savanna roads are a part of the road which was formerly the Rock Island & Alton R. R. Co., St. Louis, Alton & Rock Island Co., St. Louis, Rock Island & Chicago R. R. Co. and the Rockford,
Rock Island & St. Louis Co.
The Rock Island & St. Louis R. R. Co. was incorporated in 1865, completed to Monmouth in 1870 and the first passenger train ran into Monmouth Aug. 22, 1870, making connections with St. Louis, and connection was made with Rock Island Nov. 11, 1870. The remainder of the line was not completed until it was sold to the St. Louis, Rock Island & Chicago Railroad Co. and subsequently came under the control of the C. B. & Q. Railroad Co. and known as the St. Louis division, and later in 1904 that part of the road from Rio north to Savanna was transferred to the Galesburg division.
        The Keithsburg and Gladstone branch became a part of the C. B. & Q. when the Rock Island & St. Louis road was acquired.
           From Fulton north the road was built by a corporation known as the C. B. & N. R. R., organized by C. E. Perkins, A. E. Tonzelin and Geo. B. Harris, which was sold to the C. B. & Q. Oct. 21, 1885, and conveyed to the "Q" in 1899.
      The Fulton County Railroad Road, now the West Havana branch, had its origin in the struggle between Canton, Centerville (now Cuba) and Lewistown for the county seat of Fulton county. It was originally planned that Lewistown should be the county seat, but the other cities tried to wrest it from her, and it was not until 1878 that the final struggle between Canton and Lewistown was fought, Lewistown coming off victorious. This contest gave birth to the idea of the Fulton County Narrow Gauge railroad. The men interested in Lewistown claimed that she must have a railroad to protect her county seat and in order to secure the votes of the northern part of the county promised to build it. The enthusiasm spread, and in October, 1878, the Fulton County Narrow Gauge Railroad Co. was organized and J. C. Wilcoxen of Lewistown accepted the contract to build the line from Havana to Fairview. After two years of hard work the first train entered Lewistown from Fairview on August 19, 1880. The completion of the Fulton County Narrow Gauge R. R. from Fairview to Galesburg in 1882 was due to the interest and financial backing of S. H. Mallory of Iowa, who secured a large interest in the road. For twenty-three years the little narrow gauge system performed its duty, and during those years the stock gradually drifted into the hands of the Burlington men, and since October, 1905, when the line was changed from narrow gauge to standard gauge, it has been operated by the Burlington, and in January, 1906., the Burlington took possession of the road. The change to standard gauge was made under the supervision of J. D. Besler of the Burlington road, who for months carefully arranged for standard gauging the line, and which was successfully accomplished.
       There is an interesting incident in connection with the first train on the narrow gauge. The engine, known as No. 1, was built at the Baldwin works. By the time the road was completed between Lewistown and Fairview the treasury was depleted. An order had been placed for the engine, and upon notice being received that the engine had arrived at Cuba a delegation from the south end of the line hauled a homemade car to that place and it was triumphantly brought back over the line by its new engine. This engine commenced service in 1890 and continued in active service until the road was made standard gauge in October, 1905. The engineer and fireman on the last trip were M. K. Young and Reuben Simms, both men having been in the company's service for many years. Mr. Young helped to build the road into Galesburg. Mr. J. W. O'Donnell, the conductor of the passenger, had been for many years and is now still running the passenger train from Galesburg to West Havana.
     In 1873 the B. & M. railroad in Iowa and the C., B. & Q. were consolidated under the name of the latter, with Robert Harris, president; Mr. W. B. Strong, general superintendent, and T. J. Porter as superintendent at Burlington, W. Beckwith, superintendent track, bridges and buildings.
     The Chicago, Burlington & Quincy railroad's main line has been from time to time changed to double track, the first piece of double track being constructed in 1864 from Chicago to Lyons, now known as Riverside, and from that double track has been built in sections as the necessities of the traffic of the road demanded. The double track first built in Knox county was from Center Point to Galesburg in 1877, Wataga to Center Point, October, 1880, Oneida to Wataga in 1886, Altona to Oneida, 1886, Galva to Altona, 1885, and Galesburg west to Cameron in 1879-80, to Monmouth, 1886, Monmouth to Kirkwood, 1885, Kirkwood to Biggsville, 1884, Biggsville to Gladstone, 1883, Gladstone to Burlington, 1881, Burlington Bridge switch to Locust street, Burlington, 1892. There are several pieces of third track, the first being built in July, 1885, and others in 1886-7 and 1890-91. There is also a small mileage of fourth track in Chicago. The double track from Galesburg to Saluda was built in 1907 and Saluda to Bushnell in 1910. A double track is now under construction between Galesburg and Henderson, Galesburg and Knoxville and several other parts of the road in Illinois and Missouri.
The new yards at Galesburg opened August 21, 1906. The branch from Savanna to Rio was transferred to Galesburg division May 1, 1904. For several years the Burlington, Carthage and Quincy branch belonged to the Galesburg division, but was later transferred to the Burlington division.
         In the foregoing presentation we have dealt almost entirely with the physical and organic part of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Co., but it is desirable to speak something of the personnel of the road.
           The development of the road in Knox and adjoining counties is largely due to the sagacious and prudent management of Col. C. G. Hammond and Henry Hitchcock. Mr. Hitchcock was from old Deerfield, Massachusetts, an agent at Rutland, Vermont, of the Rutland and Burlington railroad. Later he was in charge of the Michigan Central road's yard in Chicago. He was a man of rare ability, sagacity and good judgment, who thoroughly organized the work and for more than twenty-five years most faithfully and successfully managed its affairs. He retired June, 1881, with a special token of appreciation of his service given him by a vote of the directors of the company. When he assumed the management of the Galesburg division he had with him several men who helped to build the road into Galesburg, of whom we shall speak later.
Col. C. G. Hammond, whose name we have connected with that of Mr. Hitchcock, was general superintendent of the road, and it is doubtful if any man ever acquired the full confidence of his associates and those under him to a greater degree than he. There were associated with Colonel Hammond and Mr. Hitchcock, Mr. C. W. Mead as division superintendent at Quincy, Henry Martin, general freight agent; Samuel Powell, general passenger and ticket agent; W. W. Hawkins, general agent at Aurora; Amos T. Hall of Detroit, treasurer; J. W. Cothren, also of Detroit, and who became local freight agent at Galesburg and who opened all the stations from Galesburg to East Burlington; T. W. Seymore, assistant general agent, and Max Hjortsburg, chief engineer, who later built the Burlington bridge. Among those who helped to build the road from Aurora to Galesburg were James T. Clark, John D. Besler, John Sullivan, E. C. Olin, J. H. Linsley and Samuel Burch. James F. Joy was president of the road. He commenced his railroad career in the Galesburg yards and in 1883 went into the office of the superintendent of the Illinois lines, where he continued until Mr. Besler was promoted to general superintendent, with whom Mr. Byram went to Chicago. Later he returned to Galesburg, then to the Great Northern in the general manager's and vice-president's office, then division superintendent, then to the C., R. I. & P. R. R., later returning to the Burlington as division superintendent of the lines west of the Missouri, and then to Chicago in charge of the employment bureau, and from that position to the position of vice-president, as above stated.
       

   It is a pleasure to refer to some others who are more particularly associated with Knox county and Galesburg and who helped to make the Galesburg division the banner division of the Burlington road and the one from which men, since prominent in railroad affairs, graduated for service in all parts of the United States.
       The local chief from the beginning was Henry Hitchcock, assistant superintendent and later division superintendent, who had as his aids men whom he had trained and promoted, B. O. Carr, brother of Hon. Clark E. Carr, and Gen. Eugene Carr, Augustus Sargent, Charles Chappel, who in after years was general manager of the Chicago & Alton road; Sanford Kingsbury, his office assistant; John Lass, chief clerk; H. F. Hawley, train master, who left for the Chicago & Alton as superintendent; James Alexander, train master; Fred Tubbs and J. M. Ballantine of the telegraph department; L. A. Rowland, conductor, afterward assistant superintendent. But of all his assistants none have succeeded more than A. N. Towne, a brakeman and conductor, chosen by Mr. Hitchcock to be his assistant and who later became assistant general manager and then called to the Central Pacific, now the Southern Pacific, at $50,000 a year in gold.

J. T. Clarke, formerly known as "Jim Clarke," was road master of the entire Galesburg division. He came to Galesburg in 1859 and was appointed assistant road master and in 1864 general road master. Mr. Clarke had two assistants, S. F. Shanklin, who had charge of the Quincy road, and J. H. Linsley, who had charge of the remainder of the division, The main line from Galesburg to Mendota having been completed, was placed under the supervision of J. D. Besler in 1863, the present live, active advisor of the road. Mr. Clarke continued in charge until after the consolidation of the B. & M. of Iowa, when he resigned to accept a call to the Union Pacific as general superintendent. After several years of service at the most critical time in the life of the Union Pacific, Mr. Clarke left to become the general superintendent of the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul road, where he remained for several years. Unfortunately his railroad life was cut short and upon his death his remains were brought to Galesburg, his old home, and deposited in Hope cemetery.
       

Mr. Besler commenced his railroad life in Illinois in 1853 by working from time to time on what is now the Chicago, Alton & St. Louis road, and in 1855 he first began work for the C., B. & Q. R. R. Co. on track between Mendota and Aurora. In 1856 he went to Galva and the following year became track foreman at Prairie City. In 1859 he was transferred to Augusta and for four years was extra gang foreman in charge of the construction train.  In 1863 Mr. Besler came to Galesburg as assistant road master. In 1865 he was appointed road master in charge of the main line from Galesburg to Mendota with the addition of the Galva and New Boston branch and continued to hold that position with great credit to himself until 1873. He was appointed assistant superintendent of track, bridge and buildings. In 1878 he was, in addition to his other position, appointed assistant superintendent of the Galesburg division. In 1881 he became superintendent of all the lines in Illinois and in 1885 general superintendent with headquarters in Chicago, which necessitated his move from Galesburg in 1887. In 1902 after serving the company as general superintendent for seventeen years, he left that position and became assistant to the second vice-president, and is still connected with the vice-president's department.
       

Mr. S. T. Shanklin, one of Mr. Clarke's assistants, was a track laborer, then conductor of construction train with headquarters at Abingdon, then road master at Galesburg, from 1864, in charge of the Quincy line. On account of ill health he left the road and accepted a position as division superintendent of the Union Pacific with headquarters at Omaha. Later he left the Union Pacific and became superintendent of the Missouri Pacific, which position he held until at the age of seventy-five he retired to a well earned rest.
         Mr. J. H. Linsley, the other assistant of Mr. Clarke, was well known in Galesburg where for many years he resided and where his widow still resides. His daughter, Mrs. G. W. Thompson and his son Fred, an engineer on the Burlington, also reside in Galesburg. Mr. Linsley was an old C. B. & Q. man, commencing before the road reached Galesburg. In 1848 he came west to Michigan and was engaged in the building department of the Michigan Central railroad, following the construction of that great thoroughfare into Chicago. Later he was with the Michigan Southern until 1854 when he came to the Burlington road and was located at Princeton in connection with the building department of what was then the Central Military Tract railroad. He helped build the Bureau bridges. In 1859 Mr. Linsley, having the gold fever, left the road for Pike's peak. He returned to Illinois in 1865, entered the track department of the C. B. & Q. railroad as assistant road master under Mr. Clarke and for many years faithfully served the company and retired at a good age to enjoy his remaining days in Galesburg.
These four men, James T. Clarke, S. T. Shanklin, James H. Linsley and J. D. Besler, had full charge of the Galesburg division at a time when it required most arduous and strenuous efforts to bring the new roadbed in safe and first class condition and keep it so.
       Associated with these men was Mr. J. B. Scheitlin, who had full charge of the office or inner work of the track department, which then had its own store department. Mr. Scheitlin commenced his railroad work at Abingdon as assistant to the station agent. Soon after (in February, 1856) the first train from Quincy ran through to Galesburg, when the station was first opened. In August, 1856, the agent suddenly left the service. Mr. Scheitlin was given charge of the station. About that time Abingdon had a one stall engine house and turntable and the conductors and firemen of the construction crews made their headquarters there. Mr. Scheitlin gave up the station and came to Galesburg to assume charge of the books of the track department. In 1866, Mr. Scheitlin was selected to go with the pay master, W. E. Gillman, and later C. S. Bartlett, to assist in paying the men, for twelve successive years, making the trip over the whole road, still having charge of the office work. Mr. Scheitlin was a thorough office man and while the outside work was done by the road masters and superintendent, much of their success was due to the efficiency and faithfulness of the inside men looking after the details and keeping the supplies to the front.
           Associated with Mr. Scheitlin for a time was Henry Moore and upon his being transferred in 1867 to the position of special agent, Mr. John Lass became assistant to Mr. Scheitlin, in charge of the office and track supplies and stores. Mr. Lass after five years' service in office of Mercer and Edwards, solicitors and lawyers, in England, commenced his work on the Burlington, in November, 1866, in the building department headquarters, which then was a larger department, where he had the pleasure of doing a pleasant service to the clerk of that office, the editor of this history, our esteemed friend Mr. Albert J. Perry, by relieving him from his duty when he responded to a call from his bride-to-be in the east. Mr. Lass was for four months in a position as assistant to the treasurer of Knox county. In the fall of 1867, he again entered the service of the "Q" in the track department, where he remained until the year 1872, when Superintendent Hitchcock called him to his office, where he was associated with Mr. Samuel Charles and others. After the consolidation of the C., B. & Q. with the B. & M., changes were made in the division superintendent's office. Mr. Sanford Kingsbury, for many years Mr. Hitchcock's chief deck, was transferred to the position of train master and later left for the Central Pacific with Mr. A. N. Towne. Mr. Lass then became chief clerk and continued with Mr. Hitchcock until he retired from the service of the Burlington, in 1881. The office work of the assistant superintendent, Mr. Besler, was also under his charge. In 1890, Mr. Lass was appointed superintendent of the Galesburg division which then included the main line Mendota to Burlington as well as the Burlington to Quincy branch, and all the present division with the exception of the Savanna branch north of this, and after three years he returned to the inside work in charge of the Illinois lines office.
       Mr. Lass has been continuously in the service from 1866 to the present time, closely associated with the first superintendent, Mr. Hitchcock, as well as with Mr. Besler, and all the other superintendents and the track, bridge and building department men.
Mr. Samuel Burch was also one of the first men in the service and had charge of the bridge department. Another old employee was E. C. Olin. In 1853, Mr. Olin, a carpenter, came west from New York, and for some time worked for the Chicago Northwestern railroad. In 1885, he began work for the Burlington, at Aurora. He moved to Galesburg, in 1873, where he was in charge of the bridge department for many years, until he retired to his farm in Iowa, where he died at an advanced age. His daughter, Mrs. George W. Bridge, still resides here.
             There is now in the service of the company, Mr. John Sullivan, a thorough going track man, none better in that line of work. He is another of the old stock. When Mr. Sullivan came west upon his arrival upon these shores from Ireland, the land of the green and beauty, he began to work on the track of the Burlington at Somonauk, in 1857. In May, 1860, he came to Galesburg, when, after three years he was appointed track foreman at Kewanee, and five years later at Hinsdale, Illinois, where he remained until 1868, where he was foreman of an extra gang at Sandwich. This position he held until 1871, when he was promoted to the position of division road master with headquarters at Aurora, from whence he was transferred to Galesburg. He had charge of all the main line from Mendota to Burlington, including the Galesburg yard, also the Galva and Gladstone branch. Mr. Sullivan's home has been in Galesburg from the time he became road master on this division and he and his family are well known and respected.
         There were two other men in the track department associated with Mr. Clarke. Succeeding Mr. Shanklin was Archer Bracey from New York, and Mr. C. H. Cuyler, who commenced work on the track on the Quincy branch in 1857. Later he became section foreman, then in charge of an extra gang and for years he was also assistant road master.
         Mr. C. P. Stringham was also road master and was a good track man. His daughters are still living in Galesburg. When Mr. Shanklin went to the Union Pacific he was followed, in 1871, by Mr. Stringham, Isaac Kennedy and Michael Carey, and others.
The water department was in charge of James V. Pangburn until 1891, when he was succeeded by William Harrison, who is now in charge.
      The building department had charge of the erection of all the stations and other buildings on all the new branches which were opened from time to time. Mr. Abe H. Huntington was at the head of this department. In 1874, he went to Denver, where he died some years later. With Mr. Huntington, from 1865 to 1873, was Albert J. Perry, who as chief clerk had charge of the office.
            Mr. Perry resigned January 1, 1873, and in July of that year entered the circuit clerk's office, where he remained for nine years, when he was elected county clerk for two terms. He is well known to all people of Knox county and will further be known as the editor of this history. He was elected treasurer of Knox college in 1891, and still holds that office. He was also president of the Second National bank from January, 1891, to February, 1903, when he entered into the loan and investment business, which he has followed to the present time, and is still conducting a nice business in that line.
       Mr. W. A. Boydstun succeeded Mr. Huntington and was foreman of the building department and continued in charge until he retired. Mr. Boydstun's son, J. F. Boydstun, was for a time assistant train master and has been for many years one of the best engineers in the road's service. Mr. Boydstun's wife, family and brother, C. O. Boydstun, formerly a "Q" man. still reside in Galesburg.
     Mr. Fred H. Tubbs was superintendent of the telegraph of the Galesburg division for a time, but left to be general superintendent of the Western Union Telegraph office in Chicago.
        Another employee most closely connected with the Galesburg division was Fletcher C. Rice, who commenced his railroad career as an operator at Monmouth, Kirkwood, and other stations, when he came to Galesburg as train dispatcher, in 1867. He was made chief dispatcher and chief operator in 1878, and train master in 1881. He was appointed superintendent of the Galesburg division in 1888, superintendent of Illinois lines in 1902, general superintendent in 1904. Later he became general inspector of transportation on the vice-president's staff. Mr. Rice always had the confidence and respect of the men who were under his supervision while on the Galesburg and Illinois divisions.
Mr. C. F. Jauriet, a Canadian Frenchman, was for a long time in the early operation of the road master mechanic of the C., B. & Q. lines at Aurora, with Mr. Cheney, in charge of the locomotive department at Galesburg.
        Mr. Cheney was killed at Canton in a train accident. Mr. William Wilson succeeded Mr. Cheney and after several years he was called by the general manager, Chappell, of the Chicago & Alton road to be head of the locomotive department of that road. Mr. Chappell, who was Mr. Hitchcock's assistant, while on the Burlington, recognized Mr. Wilson's' ability. Mr. Wilson was succeeded by Mr. Geo. Hackney, who afterwards became superintendent of motive power of the A. T. & S. F. road.
        There were others connected with the locomotive and car departments, one for many years, Mr. John Bassler, whose family still reside in Galesburg. Mr. Bassler had charge of the car department and was a competent man, who later went to Burlington to take charge of the shops there and afterwards resigned and was in business in Galesburg for many years.
         Mr. James Lamb, Mr. H. J. Small and others may be remembered in connection with the locomotive and car departments.
         Robert W. Colville. one of the old employes, a Galesburg boy, for many years was in charge of the locomotive and car departments at Galesburg. He was well known to all the men as "Bob." Under his jurisdiction the departments were well handled. Mr. Colville and the men worked as a unit in good service. But unfortunately the life of Mr. Colville was instantly terminated December 28, 1909, by an accident which spread a gloom over the whole C. B. & Q. road. Men from all parts of the road attended the funeral services. Mr. Colville's family are residing in Galesburg.
        Mr. J. T. Bassett was also in the old car department and still is in the service of the company. He had charge of this department for many years, was known and respected by all. He and his family make their home in Galesburg.
In connection with the C. B. & Q. and Knox county, more particularly Galesburg, it may be interesting to know of the number of young men who have practically had their start in the offices or departments of the C. B. & Q. at Galesburg.
        Another Galesburg boy, W. G. Besler, entered the assistant superintendent's office in April, 1880. From there he was called to the office of superintendent of Illinois lines. He went to Chicago in 1886 with his father, Mr. J. D. Besler, where he entered the general manager's office. He took a course in the Boston School of Technology. Returning to Chicago, he was appointed train master at Fulton, then became division superintendent of the St. Louis division and from there he went to the Reading railroad as general manager and is now vice-president and general manager of the Central railroad of New Jersey.
Mr. H. M. Tompkins, clerk of the superintendent of chief dispatcher, is now superintendent of the Michigan Central railroad.
     C. J. Balch, former clerk, is now on western railroads. A. T. Lindgren, clerk of division superintendent, was promoted to chief clerk, then to general superintendent's office in Chicago with Mr. Besler and later left the service and is and has been for many years secretary of the large Scandinavian Loan association.
     C. S. Belden, clerk to assistant contractor of construction work, is now in Minneapolis connected with the wholesale exportation of flour and flour expert.
        Will Van Schaak, general agent of the St. M. & Pere Marquette railroad, W. A. Armstrong, cashier P. T. & S. bank; C. K. Armstrong, assistant passenger agent of Central railroad of New Jersey; P. N. Granville, Cashier of the Bank of Galesburg; C. M. Hunt, court stenographer; Fay Scudder of the C. B. & Q. railroad office and Geo. L. Price, now of Galesburg Furnishing Co., have all been efficient and active employees.
The following are familiar names upon the books of the Burlington at Galesburg: Fred Barndt, J. P. McDermott, W. E. Fuller, chief dispatcher; Frank Hart, clerk, now general agent at Clinton, Iowa; W. H. Wallace, O. F. Price general solicitor at Galesburg; Wilkins Seacord, superintendent stock yards; Asbury Cochrun, Mr. Seacord's assistant and now superintendent; Chas. F. Cothren, assistant to his father, J. W. Cothren, the first freight agent, until he retired from the road, then succeeded him as freight agent and is still in the employ of the company; W. L. Barnes, Fred Seacord, assistant train master and later assistant ticket agent; Hamilton R. Kearney, clerk; A. S. Crawford, deceased, division passenger and ticket agent at Galesburg; E. S. Gunnell, claim agent, now of the O. T. Johnson store; W. E. Kee, claim agent, now in Chicago law department; C. M. Snyder, H. D. Skidmore and A. L. West, division freight agents; J. P. Van Clute, J. M. Root, James Hopcraft, deceased; A. T. Chittenden, Gus Halline, C. H. Stead, deceased, dispatchers; James Dickson, now in charge of Quincy shops; C. S. Belden, A. C. Noteware, Michael Franey, deceased, in charge of track, Galesburg yard; Patrick McQuillan, also of track department; C. G. Hurd, deceased, E. S. Moulton, C. S. Twyman, W. F. Bloomquist, George Tobin, Patrick Tobin, all of the ticket office; J. R. Weeks, formerly superintendent's chief clerk; H. E. Husted, Chas. F. Lass, E. M. Bristol, E. J. Dickson, Grover F. Ekins, now in charge of a church in Cleveland; W. H. Spinner, operator, chief clerk with Mr. Rice, later the well known ticket agent at Galesburg, now with the New York Life Insurance Co.; F. W. Churchill, C. P. Matingly, Fred Finch, now of the Great Northern; W. C. Blaich, chief clerk division superintendent, now with the Big Creek Colliery Co., and the People's Fuel Co.; Mr. Wesley Woods, now with the relief department; Ed. F. Toben, for many years in the superintendent's office and track department and now chief clerk in division superintendent's office; Loren M. Peterson, now assistant chief clerk; E. E. Watson, clerk superintendent's office; John B. McAuley, formerly city engineer now contractor, and C. H. Simcaskey, chief clerk, Aurora.
       In the year 1900 there was a gigantic struggle for the possession of the C. B. & Q. between the Great Northern Railroad Co., represented by J. H. Hill and the Union Pacific, represented by E. H. Harriman, terminating as all know in the control of the C. B. & Q. passing out of the hands of the men of Boston and the east and into the hands of the Great Northern and Northern Pacific and finally terminating with the Great Northern practically in full control. This struggle was so fierce that stocks went soaring to unheard of heights and for a time railroad managers generally feared a most disastrous result. Nevertheless, things settled down and no one outside of the parties interested realized that anything had happened. All that is known or felt today is that James J. Hill became one of the greatest of railroad kings and if anything happens to interfere with the great property concentrated by him, it will probably some day become the greatest factor in existence in the transportation problem of the United States and the world. Northwestern Canada is nowhere near developed, no one can make accurate prediction of the importance of Alaska, there is a constant growth in the products and productive power of the great west as well as the east and there is yet to be a greater interchange of the products of the two sections of this country than one can imagine and this enormous system of railways must perform the bulk of this work. The great growth in the population of the United States was the first cause that called this system into being.
          Millions of men and women have made up the constructive force and it is now proper to group a few of the commanding figures that have guided the great mass in its constructive work, all of whom at some time have been prominent in C. B. & Q. matters and many of them residents of Knox county.
             A. M. Towne, president Southern Pacific; E. P. Ripley, president A. T. & S. F. R. R. Co.; F. A. Delano, president Erie railway; H. B. Stone, general manager C. B. & Q.; W. C. Brown, president New York Central & H. R. R.; G. H. Ross, vice-president Alton; J. D. Besler, C. B. & Q., of Chicago; W. G. Besler, vice-president and general manager Central of New Jersey; Chas. Chappell, president Chicago & Alton; J. T. Clarke, general superintendent Union Pacific and later C. M. & St. P.; S. T. Shanklin, division superintendent Northern Pacific; Daniel Willard, president Erie railroad; Robert Mather, president Rock Island system; C. H. Hudson, Chicago and C. & O. L.; C. H. Smith, traffic manager C. & O.
So intimate has been the relation between the Michigan Central railroad and the C. B. & Q. railroad that a history of the latter does not seem complete without a brief account of the former. Three men, whom we have already mentioned, deserve a little further notice before taking up this part of our subject, viz.: John W. Brooks, James F. Joy, and John Murray Forbes, who may be credited with the organization, consolidation and building of the Michigan Central and all of whom have been prominent in one way and another with the Burlington system.
       John M. Forbes from 1846 to 1881 was a great power in the financial world, who provided funds for the completion and successful operation of the Michigan Central and who did very much the same thing for the C. B. & Q. He was a man of strict and unswerving financial integrity and thereby established a credit for these roads upon a firm basis with moneyed interests of the east. Well known in London and the orient, his word became good for any needed amount of money.
         John W. Brooks at the age of twenty-six came west and saw the condition of the Michigan Central road. He returned to Boston and New York in the hope of interesting financial men in his scheme. He met John M. Forbes, who had already some experience in matters of this kind, and presented the subject to him. The Michigan Central had been built westward from Detroit one hundred and forty miles to Kalamazoo. It had been backed by the state of Michigan and had cost
$3,500,000. State aid, however, failed at this period and the road was put up for market. Mr. Forbes had faith in the scheme and undertook to furnish money for the purchase of the road. He employed the great lawyer, Daniel Webster, to draft a charter of the Michigan Central railroad embodying the best features of what had been learned from eastern railroad experience and sent Mr. Brooks back to Michigan to secure the passage of the charter by the legislature. In 1846 after much discussion and predictions of dire results, the charter was granted and by the act of incorporation the Michigan Central was granted the property of the road forever with the proviso that after twenty years the state might repurchase and after thirty years might alter, amend or repeal the charter. The purchase was made for 2,000,000.
       Mr. James F. Joy was a graduate of Dartmouth college and the Harvard Law school. He came to Detroit and while waiting for his practice to grow, he was called into this scheme. It was Brooks and Joy who presented this matter to Forbes and they naturally became active in the work of bringing order out of the chaos into which the road had fallen. Forbes was made president of the road, Brooks of Detroit was to have charge of the operating. The Michigan Central company took possession of the property on the 23rd of September, 1846, and when the directors held the first annual meeting in Detroit, June, 1847, the road had already prospered enough to justify immediate preparations for a forward march toward Lake Michigan. Funds were easily found to complete this work and soon these men began to look for opportunities west of Chicago and by a series of negotiations heretofore mentioned in this work, they became interested in the Burlington road.
       At the time these men took hold of the Michigan Central road, it ran through a section of country which was practically a wilderness, but the moment that efficient management was substituted for the previous bad management, traffic increased to such a degree that the road was shortly built to Chicago and transportation from Buffalo to Chicago was reduced from four days to a few hours.
Towns have sprung up along its line, it has a magnificent road bed, its depot buildings are of the finest in the country and it is one of the first class roads of the United States.

ATCHISON, TOPEKA & SANTA FE RAILWAY
by J. F. Jarrell


       The Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway company, which has a valuable plant in Galesburg, operates in thirteen states. These Santa Fe states are Illinois, Iowa, Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Texas, Louisiana, Colorado, New Mexico, Arizona, Nevada, and California. This territory generally is known as the Great Southwest. If the thirteen states named were isolated from the rest of the world, the inhabitants would lack neither necessities nor luxuries in all the time to come, for in this section everything that mankind desires is produced in abundance.
        The Santa Fe has been a pioneer in the development of the territory described. Starting in Kansas when the buffalo ran wild and Indians were on the war path, it pushed its way steadily westward and southward, across plains and through mountains, toward the Pacific ocean and the Gulf of Mexico. Having obtained an outlet to tide waters on the west and south, to obtain a definite eastern terminus at once became a problem for the Santa Fe management to solve.
         Southern California was, in the late eighties, beginning to boom its products eastward; the mines of New Mexico and Colorado were contributing a heavy traffic; the plains of western Kansas, Indian Territory and Texas were shipping vast and increasing numbers of cattle to eastern markets, and the grain fields of Kansas were developing at a remarkable rate. The enormous volume of traffic which the then 5,300 miles of the Santa Fe system was creating and handling demanded an eastern outlet beyond the Missouri river.
           Chicago, the traffic center of the great lakes and the Mississippi valley, was then, as today, the central market. It was, furthermore, the center of westward traffic operations, and the great home-seeker movement, occasioned by cheap lands and booming conditions in the west focused in that city. Chicago was, in short, the logical eastern terminus for the Santa Fe system.
         To do full justice to its traffic requirements and to fulfill its ambition for a line from the lakes to the gulf and Pacific coast points, the Santa Fe must, then, strike directly from Kansas City to Chicago, and, under the indomitable leadership of President William B. Strong, the dream of building into Chicago became a splendid reality in the year 1887.
        To carry out this project, the Chicago, Santa Fe & California Railway company was incorporated under the laws of the state of Illinois on December 3, 1886.
In the month of January, 1887, according to information furnished by G. D. Bradley of the Santa Fe's accounting department at Topeka, the stock markets of Boston, New York and London announced the sale of $15,000,000 gold bonds of the Chicago, Santa Fe & California Railway company. These bonds, which were payable semi-annually in each of the above mentioned cities, were guaranteed by the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railroad company and were secured by a first mortgage on the entire new road as projected subject only to $1,500,000 of prior lien bonds. In consideration of this guarantee, the Santa Fe was to receive the entire $30,000,000 stock issue of the Chicago, Santa Fe & California Railway company, thereby gaining control through a direct ownership of two-thirds of its $45,000,000 capital.
     Several plans were proposed for getting into Chicago, but the one adopted was to construct as much of a direct line as necessary, and to purchase such minor lines as could be used to advantage in covering the distance. By this plan it was found possible to reduce the amount of main line construction about one hundred miles through the purchase of a small road leading into Chicago from Pekin, Illinois. Shortly after its incorporation, in December, 1886, the Chicago, Santa Fe & California Railway company acquired the road and other properties of the Chicago & St. Louis Railway company, which extended from Chicago to Pekin, about 158 miles, including a short spur from Streator to Coalville. By the terms of its charter the Chicago, Santa Fe & California Railway Company was authorized to build an extension from Streator, Illinois, to Fort Madison, Iowa, connecting at the latter point with an extension of the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe from Kansas City. It was authorized, further, to construct a line from Pekin to Springfield, Illinois.
       The Chicago & St. Louis Railway Company, which the Santa Fe absorbed, was known originally in railroad circles as the "Hinckley road." About the year 1869, a Chicago promoter, named Francis C. Hinckley, associated with Philip B. Shumway and Colonel Ralph Plumb, and backed largely by Moses Taylor, president of the National City Bank of New York, had built a line from Streator to Pekin, a distance of about sixty-four miles. This was called the Chicago, Pekin & Southwestern railroad. In 1876 this road was extended northward about thirty miles to Maxon creek, near Coal City, the enterprise having been conducted under the name of the Chicago & St. Louis Railway Company. In 1881 these roads became involved in financial difficulties and, on May 10, 1882, both properties were reorganized under the name of the Chicago, St. Louis & Western Railroad company. On January 1, 1884, this line was completed from Mazon bridge to Chicago, nearly seventy miles. More financial troubles ensued, and another reorganization took place, this time under the name of the Chicago & St. Louis Railway company, on January 1, 1885. The property of the Chicago, St. Louis & Western was transferred to the Chicago & St. Louis Railway company on May 1, 1885, and the latter named road was formally opened for traffic on December 21, 1885, only to pass to the Chicago, Santa Fe & California Railway company a year later.
         In February, 1887, A. A. Robinson, chief engineer of the Santa Fe system, received orders from President Strong to push the line through and have it ready for operation by January 1, 1888. This order was literally carried into effect, work being started all along the line with tremendous energy.
    The grading and bridge building were let to private contractors, and approximately five thousand men were employed along the entire route, this force being increased later by about two thousand railroad employees engaged in track and structural work. The organization of the engineering staff and this body of workmen was not unlike that of an army in the field. Over the entire enterprise, with headquarters in Topeka, but everywhere present, was A. A. Robinson, chief engineer. At one time five hundred men were employed on Santa Fe work in Knox county.
       Mr. Robinson, who now resides in Topeka, having retired from active railroad work, told the writer that he negotiated the arrangement for building the Santa Fe through Galesburg with a committee of which Mr. W. Selden Gale was chairman. Mr. Gale was the son of George W. Gale, founder of Galesburg. When news was received in Galesburg that the Santa Fe would build east of the Missouri river, the people of Galesburg promptly organized to capture the new line. Galesburg's proposition was to furnish a right of way through the city without expense to the Santa Fe. A guaranty, signed by many leading citizens, was telegraphed by Colonel Clark E. Carr to the directors of the Santa Fe, in session in Boston, and they accepted it. The money to pay for the right of way was afterwards raised by subscription. The road was built through Knox county late in the summer of 1887. When the work was started in Galesburg, Mr. Robinson submitted all matters pertaining to grades, crossings, depot site, etc., to Chairman Gale and the other committeemen, who put them through the council.
       An important feature of the line from Chicago to Kansas City is that, while the Santa Fe crosses thirty-four railroads in the total distance of 458 miles, there are only four grade crossings. The Santa Fe goes over or under these railroads at all the other points. This feature prevents danger and saves time.
After the completion of the Chicago-Kansas City line, Mr. Robinson became vice-president and general manager of the Santa Fe, and later went to the Mexican Central railroad as its president.
       Reaching Chicago, in 1888, the Santa Fe began spreading its network of rails into a system now aggregating approximately 11,000 miles of lines which serve this vast empire of the southwest, its wealth-yielding farms and ranches, its extensive mines, and its growing cities teeming with factories and the marts of trade.
The manufacturing industries in the thirteen states served by the Santa Fe have increased in number and output more than 100 per cent in ten years. All of the states produce lumber for the market, except two. Ten of the states are coal producers. Petroleum and natural gas are found in nine. The wool industry is important in twelve. Stone for the market is produced in four, salt in four, lead and zinc in seven, gypsum in eight, lime in three, cement in nine, sand and gravel in ten, clay in eight, precious metals in six, copper in five, iron in six, the fishing industry is extensive in six, and every state is rich in products from the farm, orchard, ranch and garden.
         The rapid development of the southwest has made it necessary for the Santa Fe to have a two-track railroad from Chicago to the Pacific. It now has two tracks from Chicago to Belen, New Mexico, a distance of 1,400 miles, and by the end of 1912 additional double tracking for 400 miles will have been finished west of Belen. From Chicago to Kansas City the tracks are side by side. From Kansas City the main line runs through central Kansas, southeastern Colorado and New Mexico, another line through southern Kansas, northwestern Oklahoma, the panhandle of Texas and central New Mexico, the two lines meeting at Belen, making a two-track way. In addition the Santa Fe has double tracked its main line in Kansas City to Newton, a distance of 201 miles. It also has two tracks through the Arkansas valley, from Holly to La Junta, in Colorado. The tracks west of Belen are side by side. The double tracking from Chicago to Kansas City was completed in 1911. The double tracking in Knox county was done in the summer of that year.
     The Santa Fe of to-day, under the guidance of President E. P. Ripley, is recognized as one of the great railway systems of the world, at once conservative and progressive. The Ripley policy for team work in all branches of the service and for maintaining a cordial relationship between officials and the company's patrons has been a strong factor in the success of the Santa Fe.

LABOR UNIONS OF KNOX COUNTY

               Galesburg Lodge No. 62, Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers, has the distinction to-ay of being the oldest labor organization in Knox county. Its charter, now hanging on the east wall of the Trades Assembly hall, bears the date January 17th, 1865, though its history dates back almost two years prior to that time.
About the middle of June, 1863, ten or a dozen of the engineers running out of Galesburg, imbued with the idea that "in union there is strength" and inspired by the institution of the first railroad brotherhood in America only a month previous at Detroit, met in a little back room over where is now Burt's drug store and formed a local organization known as the "Brotherhood of the Footboard." And Stephen A. Randall of 556 South Broad street is the only surviving charter member of that little band of devoted men who, in this county, first awoke to the realization of the need of workingman banding themselves together for protection and advancement.
           Knowing full well that capital was unalterably opposed to combinations of labor, the utmost secrecy was maintained as to membership in the new society, for knowledge of its existence had spread to the company to whom it was a "thorn in the flesh." The railroad officials determined to nip the new union in its infancy and used every tactic to find out just who were members. Every engineer found to belong, or thought to belong, was summarily discharged. Mr. Randall was one of the men instrumental in forming the organization and one also who was soon let out of the company's employment. Those who were discharged left the city and sought work elsewhere, only to learn that they were blacklisted, and securing a run on other roads was a difficult proposition. Mr. Randall returned to Galesburg, however, and was one of the men who, in January, 1865, transformed the "Brotherhood of the Footboard" into Galesburg Division No. 62, Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers.
        Notwithstanding the opposition of the company, the men were determined that they should not be deprived of their rights to organize, and soon the organization grew so strong that the company began to realize the futility of further antagonism and ceased its hostility. Many of the discharged engineers were reinstated to their former runs, among whom was Mr. Randall, who remained in the engine service of the Burlington, the Wabash and one or two other roads, until, as he puts it, "the trains were made so long that the engineer could not hear the shouts of the conductor from the way-car," when he retired from the service and has since devoted himself to caring for a small farm he succeeded in acquiring, though he still maintains his membership in the brotherhood, and was last year given an honorary membership by the grand lodge, a thing held by few members of the order.
             Mr. Randall is authority for the statement that Galesburg's Brotherhood of the Footboard was the fourth railroad brotherhood to be formed in America, and though given No. 62, many lodges have lower numbers which were since formed, such as Los Angeles No. 5, Indianapolis No. 11, Springfield No. 23, Aurora No. 32, etc. With a twinkle in his eye, he relates that Galesburg, though the fourth to form, was given No. 62 to make the railroads believe there were many locals in existence and that the order was exceedingly strong.
           Galesburg now has two lodges of the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers, the second. No. 644, being instituted February 29th, 1904, and is the largest brotherhood in the United States on any one railroad division.
        Singular as it may seem, though the engineers had sown the seed of unionism in this county in 1863, no further efforts were made to formulate other organizations for almost twenty years. The records at headquarters in Peoria of the Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen and Enginemen show that Progress Lodge No. 105, Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen, was organized at Galesburg March 15th, 1882, with twenty-two charter members. Also that the lodge was removed to Chillicothe, Illinois, in September, 1899 (after the Burlington strike), and finally surrendered its charter on June 10th, 1902. However, the firemen soon realized that this was too big a division point to be without an organization, and Lodge No. 477, Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen, was instituted here May 1st, 1904. The name was changed to Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen and Enginemen March 1st, 1909.
            Galesburg Division No. 83, Order of Railway Conductors, was next in line (fourth...behind the cigar makers) and was formed July 23rd, 1883. The following years, in September, Galesburg Lodge No. 24, Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen, first saw the light of day. Both of these railroad organizations met with some opposition on the part of the company at first, but later were well received, and today are flourishing brotherhoods.

 

Created December 2005

May 31, 2006 12:28:07AM Thanks for stopping by & come again.

Always a Work in progress.

©Copyright 2007 - all Contributors FKH©2006 by Foxie Hagerty & Associates

 

Foxie's Knox Home ] Brick Walls ] Cemeteries ] Deaths ] Family Photos ] Family Searchers ] Knox Co His. Books ] Knox 1st Settlers ] 1850 Census Blacks ] IL Links ] Main Attractions ] Military Buials Knox County, IL ] Newspapers ] People Search'n ] Obituaries ] One-Room Schools ] [ Railroads ] Schools ] Will & Estates Records ]

   Free Web Counter
Free Web Counter