Meadows, farmer on section 3, Berwick Township, was born in this county,
Dec. 18, 1845, and is a son of Henry Meadows, a native of Kentucky, where he was
born March 28, 1798. The father of the subject of this notice came to
Illinois prior to the Black Hawk War, in 1832, and died Jan. 13, 1851, in this
county. He was married to Miss Mary Coffey March 26, 1818. She was
also a native of Kentucky, born there Sept. 6, 1799, and died Aug. 24, 1881.
They had 14 children, namely: Nancy, born May 21, 1819; Andrew, May 10,
1820; Jane, April 15, 1821; Martin C., March 12, 1822; Elizabeth, July 23, 1823;
James and Martha (twins), Nov. 11, 1825; Mary, July 3, 1827; Sarah, July 5,
1829; Henry W., Dec. 30, 1831; Althea, Jan. 5, 1834; John G., Nov. 30, 1837;
Artimisia, Feb. 20, 1836; Erastus, April 16, 1842; and Thomas, born as stated
Thomas Meadows, the subject of this biographical notice, was married to Miss
Mary J. Brown, March 9, 1865. She was born Oct. 13, 1846, in Indiana, and
her parents came to this State in 1854, locating in this county. Her
father, Wm. L. Brown, was born in Ohio, Dec. 31, 1820, and was there married to
Miss Julia A. Newkirk, Jan. 1, 1846. She was born Sept. 1, 1826, and was
also a native of Ohio, and both are still living, residing at present in
Abingdon [IL]. They have been blessed with eight children – Mary Jane,
born in October, 1846; Almeda Ann, who was born Oct. 6, 1848, and married Wm. P.
Meadows March 10, 1870; Sarah M., born Sept. 26, 1850, (married Galen P. Meadows
Feb. 7, 1871); John W., born Aug. 27, 1852; Harriet E., born Feb. 27, 1855,
(married Wm L. Roney Sept. 24, 1874); Jerusha R., born June 1, 1858 (married
Albert J. Haynes in 1879); Alzora, born June 24, 1861, is deceased; and Alvira
A., born Nov. 29, 1863, became the wife of Lewis J. Supple April 3, 1884.
Thomas Meadows, of whom we write, and his wife are the parents of the following
children: Elmer, born Feb. 12, 1866, Ira D., Feb. 10, 1868; Austin
T., March 16, 1870; Leonard P., Dec. 22, 1874; Charlie L., Jan. 20, 1878; Vella
Ann, June 17, 1885.
Mr. Meadows is the proprietor of 98 acres of good land, located on section 3,
Berwick Township, and as an agriculturalist is meeting with the success which
energy and perseverance are sure to bring. In politics, he votes with the
Democratic party, and, religiously, he and his wife are members of the Christian
Church.Portrait and Biographical Album of Warren County,
Illinois, Chapman Brothers, Chicago, 1886, p. 661-662.
Samuel T. Sheldon, the subject of this
biographical notice, is one of the most prominence agriculturists of Warren
County, as well as one of its old pioneers and leading citizens. He was born
Sept 06, 1821, in the vicinity of Mammoth Cave, Near Pruett's Knob, Barren Co.,
KY. He attended school in the old log school-house of the early day, which was
sustained by subscription. His lessons were learned by the feeble light which
struggled through window panes made of greased paper. There was only one
arithmetic in the school, the lessons being given out on slates and then copied
Mr. Shelton, accompanying his father's family, left his
native place Oct 27, 1837, and emigrated to Warren Co., where he arrived
November 24, of that year. The outfit for moving was a large Kentucky wagon,
with a yoke of oxen by the tongue and a span of horses in the lead. The family
stopped on way with the early settlers, and were feasted on venison and wild
turkey. Arriving at their destination, the whole family of 12 persons wintered
in a log cabin, in size about 16 feet square. The cooking utensils consisted of
skillet, oven, pot, frying-pan and coffee-pot. Stoves were unknown at that time,
as well as matches, and fire had to be "borrowed from neighbors.
Mr. Shelton worked on his father's farm in his native state
until the family arrived in Illinois, when his first labor in this state was to
assist his father in splitting rails, for sustence, meanwhile attending school
winters, and studying evenings by the light of a log fire. On April 1st, 1838,
he commenced for himself as a farmer, renting his labor to his uncle Isaac
Murphy. at $15 per month and board, and his earnings being paid principally by
his obtaining a horse and partly in goods from the store. Payment for labor was
largely made in pork, which was quite a circulating medium in those days.
Payment as also made in wheat at the rate of two bushels per day in exchange for
an individual's labor, in harvest time. The wheat so obtained was then often
hauled to Peoria, a distant of 60 miles, which occupied a week's time, and was
there sold in 1846 at 40 cents per bushel, pay being taken in salt at 50 cents a
bushel, which was hauled back home and peddled out in exchange for something
else. Mr. Shelton continued to work out until about the time of his marriage,
and in the meantime was engage in teaching about six months.
About this period in Mr. Shelton's life he ran debt for 80
acres of land in Floyd township, the same being purchased in the rfall of 1847,
but not paid for until 1851. He remained on that land, engaged in following the
vocation of an agriculturist for about 30 years, then moved to Cold Brook
Township March 27, 1876, and purchased 70 acres of land lying in Cold Brook
Township, and a portion of the same being within the corporate limits of the
town of Cameron, in which he now lives. He is also the owner of the old
homestead of 400 acres, and 240 acres elsewhere, and in 1939 located a claim in
Washington, Co., Iowa, which he afterwards sold.
Until he left his old home in Floyd township, Mr. Shelton
had been a practical and successful farmer, stock-raiser and dealer. He became
School Director about 1850, and successfully served as Trustee, Township
Treasurer, Accessor and Collector, and was also Supervisor from 1863 to 1870./
He was elected a member of the State Legislature, in 1870, serving out his term,
during which time there were four sessions to revise the laws under the New
Constitution, and Mr. Shelton also had the pleasure of assisting in the election
of John A. Logan the first time he ever became Senator from the great
Commonwealth of Illinois. Mr. Shelton has always been active in Politics, and
has gained no inconsiderable reputation as public speaker. He was for many years
a Republican, but is now an Anti-Monopolist Greenbacker and Prohibitionist??--At
present he holds the office of Justice of the Peace.
Mr. Shelton was united in marriage in Cold Brook Township,
June 16, 1846, with Miss Eliza Murphy:
Children of SAMUEL SHELTON and ELIZA MURPHY are:
i. PATRICK H.7 SHELTON, b. 30 Oct 1848; m. LAURA E. CLAYCOMB, 14 Nov 1871,
Cameron, Cold Brook Twp., Warren Co., IL.
More About PATRICK SHELTON and LAURA CLAYCOMB:
Marriage: 14 Nov 1871, Cameron, Cold Brook Twp., Warren Co., IL
ii. MELISSA F. SHELTON, b. 17 Dec 1849; m. ZACHARIAH T. NELSON, 12 Jun 1870.
More About MELISSA F. SHELTON:
Immigration: 1886, David City, Nebraska
More About ZACHARIAH NELSON and MELISSA SHELTON:
Marriage: 12 Jun 1870
iii. JAMES MASON** SHELTON, b. 02 Feb 1852; m. JULIA A. SAYLES; b. 1857, Canada.
iv. OPHELIA E. SHELTON, b. 27 Mar 1855; m. EUGENE M. CLAY,
30 Jan 1876, Cameron, Cold Brook Twp., Warren Co., IL.
David Shelton, father of Samuel
T., was born near Danville, Ky, Dec 23, 1792, and was one of the veterans' of
the War of 1812. He died March 16, 1847. His mother, Patsey, was born June 12,
1795, in Virginia, and died Nov 30, 1883, after a remarkably strong and healthy
life of over 80 years. All the family were long-lived and marvelously healthy.
The descendants of David and Patsey Shelton increased
during a period of 70 years, two months and two days, from the birth of their
first child, Sept 28, 1813, to death of Patsey Shelton, Nov 30, 1883, in numbers
as follows: 14 children, eight males, six females, eight living and six dead; 95
grandchildren, 55 males, 40 females; 74 living, 21 dead; 150
great-grandchildren, 75 males, 75 females; 124 living, 26 dead; 15
great-great- grandchildren, six males nine females, 10 living, 5 dead, and
making a total of 274 children, 144 males and 130 females; 216 living and 58
dead. Also six sons-in-laws and nine daughter-in-law, 26 grandsons-in-law, and
27 granddaughters-in-law,; 4 great grand-sons-in-law and three great
daughters-in-law, making a total of seventy-five which, added to their
descendants enumerated, makes a grand total of 349. There are twenty-eight
different names among the 274 descendants, as follows: 105 Shelton's, 29
Freemans, 20 Whitman's, 7 Otises, 6 Haleys, 6 Mills, 5 Loafmans, 5 Bradley's, 5
Goddard's, 4 Clays, 4 Durham's, 4 Johnsons, 4 Smiths, 3 Legerwoods, 3 Riggles, 3
Nelsons, 3 Keiser's, 2 Hascalls, 2 Sayles, 1 Thompson, 1 Jones, 1 Seals, 1
Vesser and 1 Cutler.
The above named live in Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Nebraska,
Missouri, and California, the larger portion living in the state first named. A
newspaper containing the above summary relative to David and Patsey Shelton was
placed in the corner-stone of the Presbyterian Church at Monmouth, Ill. which
was laid in 1882.
Mr. Shelton and his wife belong to the Christian Church, in
which he bears the Title of Rev. having been ordained an Elder by the
congregation, and has served 30 years or more; also as an Evangelist since 1860.
Wilson Shelton, deceased. The Sheldon family
are among the pioneer settlers of Warren County. It is of English ancestry, and
the founder of the family in this country settled in Dutchess County, N. Y.,
where George Sheldon, the paternal grandfather of Wilson, was born. Of his
offspring was Wilson Sheldon, the father of the present family. He was born in
New York, Feb. 03, 1808. and died in the city of Monmouth, Sept. 13, 1873. He
came to Warren Co., In 1837, and settled in Floyd Tp. When Wilson Sheldon came
to Warren County, in the year state, it was almost a wilderness; but little had
been done in nay part of the county towards its settlement. here and there,
however, on some points of timber, might be seen the beginning of the labors of
some venturesome pioneer. He finally found a suitable location on the northwest
quarter of section 32. in what is now Floyd Township. this he immediately began
to improve, and here long was known far and wide as one of the most prosperous
and enterprising farmers in all that section.
Mr. Sheldon was the pioneer cattle-feeder of Warren County,
embarking in this department of farming as early as 18340. In the early part of
1846, he took his eldest son, Hiram, and went to where Fairfield, Iowa, now
stands, and bought a drove of tw0-year old steers, at #7 per head, which they
drove to their farm in warren County, where they were fattened with others. This
was the first drove of cattle ever brought east over the Burlington Ferry. After
having put them in a proper condition of the market, he sold them to be driven
across the Alleghenies to the Philadelphia or Baltimore market. After Chicago
had become a market for stock, which was prior to the building o the Chicago,
Burlington & Quincy Railroad, he drove his cattle there. His enterprise was
again displace on the opening of that road, for we find him, in company with D.
C. Gale of Newbury, N. Y., the first to build loading-pens and also the first to
ship stock from Monmouth over the new railroad. The arrangement then constructed
for loading was but temporary. He and Mr. Gale continued shipping together until
the death of the latter, which occurred several years after their first
shipment. Mr. Sheldon worked energetically and used all of his influence to have
the Quincy division of the Chicago Burlington & Quincy Railroad built through
Berwick, but was defeated by the Bushnell Land Company.
The subject of this sketch married Sarah Matteson, Feb 14,
1830. She was a native of New York, and the daughter of Captain Peleg Matteson,
a native of Vermont, where he was born, April 1, 1778. Capt. Matteson married
Martha Downer, Jan 17, 1802, the latter being born March 19, 1779. Peleg
Matteson was a Captain in the war of 1812, and commanded a company at the
defense of Sackett's Harbor. In 1838, he came with his family to Illinois and
settled in Floyd Township, where he died, Feb 07, 1860. His wife, the mother of
Mrs. Sheldon, died August 27, 1857.They
came to Warren co., IL & now I can't find out where they are buried any one out
there know??? They were the parents of six children, of whom Mrs.
Sheldon is the only survivor of the original family. She was born Feb 26, 1811,
and resides at Monmouth, in company with her daughter, Mary,.
There were nine children born to Wilson and Sarah Sheldon,
six of whom are living. The sketches of Hiram and burr will be found in another
place in this volume. Martha married W. Wiswell, and is the mother of three
children. George married Mary Dolph, and they have five children, Seneca M.
married Mary Williams, and they have one child. He was remarried April 06, 1885,
to M. E. Balcolm. Alma married David Van Winkle; they have two sons.
It will be seen from t he brief, outlined history of the
life of Mr. Sheldon, that he was a very important figure in the history and the
settlement of Warren County. His enterprising spirit was felt in almost every
undertaking that had for its tendency the development or progress of the county.
He acquired considerable property, owning as much as 1,100 acres of excellent
land, which he divided among his children. In his religious belief, he was a
Baptist, and politically, a Democrat.
his portrait in connection with this sketch, we know that tit will be
welcomed by our readers and that his member will be cherished as one of Warren
County's most reputable and enterprising citizens.
Sheldon, owning 304 acres of good farm land, located on section 32,
Floyd Township, where he resides and is actively engaged in its improvement and
cultivation, was born Nov 08, 1838, in the same township, and is a son of Wilson
Sheldon, born in New York, Feb 03, 1811, and now deceased.
The father who was a farmer by occupation, came to this
State ion 1837, located on the northwest quarter of section 32, Floyd Township,
and became the owner of 640 acres of land, where he resided, following the
vocation of a farmer, until 1868, when he moved to Monmouth and lived there
until his death, Sept. 13, 1873. He was married to Sarah Matteson in 1831. She
was born in Rhode Island, in 1813, and when eight years old her parents removed
to Oneida, Co., N. Y. where she continued to reside until the fall of 1837, when
she came to this State with her husband, the subject of this notice. But
he's not the subject of this notice. it's Wilson she was married to.
this is his, Burr's mother--- Of their union nine children were born--- Hiram,
Martha, George, Seneca M. Burr subject of this notice, Alma, Aurilla (who died
on attaining her 21st year, Mary and Jerome, the latter dying infancy.
Burr Sheldon was married to Miss A. J. Morey, Oct 13, 1869.
She was born Dec 10, 1845, in Knox Co., Ill., and bore her husband two
children-- Clarence M., Born Jan 18, 1871; and Carrie, Jan. 16, 1879. The father
of Mrs. Sheldon, Hiram T. Morey, was born in New York, about 1820; married Miss
Caroline I. Patrick, a native of Kentucky, January, 1845. She was born in 1825,
and bore him five children--- Anna J., Caroline, William F., Hiram, and Jane. He
came to this State about 1840, and located at Knoxville, Knox county, where he
continued to reside for 20 years, during which time he served as Circuit Clerk
four years. He then moved to Monmouth, where he is at present residing, and is
keeping books for his son, Hiram Morey, engaged in business on Main Street.
The farm of Mr. Sheldon of this notice is under an advanced
state of cultivation, and in addition to the tilling of his land, he is to a
considerable extent engaged as a stock-dealer and has also added to these
interests into the balling and shipping of hay. He has a find Hay press and is
doing very extensive business in that line.
Socially, Mr. Sheldon is member of the A. F. & A. M. Lodge
No 619 Berwick. In religion, he and his wife are members of the Baptist Church,
and in politics, Mr. Sheldon always casts his vote with the Democratic party. He
served his township as School Director for a number of years.
Hiram Sheldon, one of the successful and
prominent agriculturists of Warren County, residing upon section 33, Floyd
Township, is a native of Oneida Co., NY. at which place, on the 20th of
November, 1831, he was born, being a son of Wilson Sheldon, who was born in New
York city, Feb 03, 1811. He died Sept. 13, 1873. in the city of Monmouth.
In 1837, Wilson Sheldon, the father of our subject,
came to Illinois and located in Floyd Township. He married Miss Sarah Matheson,
a native of New York, Feb 14, 1830. She was born Feb 26, 1817, and still
survives, residing in Monmouth, enjoying good health. Of this union nine
children were born, namely: Hiram, Martha, George, Seneca, Burr, Alma, Aurilla,
Mary and Jerome. With the exception of Jerome and Aurilla, all of the above are
living. Martha is the wife of Wyram Wiswell; they reside in Galesburg. Alms
married David Van Winkle, and lives in Chicago. Mary resides with her mother at
Monmouth. George is married and lives in Nebraska. The balance reside in this
Hiram Sheldon Married Miss Emma J. Aylesworth, Jan 29,
1862. she is a native of Warren County, and was born in Berwick Township, April
06, 1841. She was a daughter of Hiram Aylsworth, a native of Connecticut, born
in the year 1816, and about the year 1836 came to Illinois, and two years later
married Miss Harriet Roberts She was born ion July 16, 1817. They became the
parent of two children, viz., Norman and Emma J. who is the wife of our subject.
Mr. Aylsworth came from Otsego co., N. Y. to this state, his demise occurring in
1846, and that of his widow Sept 04, 1885. After the death of the first husband
Mrs. Aylesworth married Andrew Whitenack, who still survives her.
Mr. Hiram Sheldon is the proprietor of 800 acres of good
land in this county. His home dwelling is a substantial residence, two stories
in height. His barn is 36 x 48 feet, with 20-foot posts.
Mr. Sheldon is largely engaged in shipping and feeding
stock, and has made this business a very profitable one. Besides this he is one
of the Directors of the Monmouth National Bank, having been connected therewith
for about 12 years. He has served in the capacity of School Director and Road
Commissioner. Mr. Sheldon is considered one of Warren County's solid and
substantial citizens, besides being a well-to-do and well known agriculturist of
Mr. and Mrs. Sheldon have a family comprising four
children: Wilson J., born Oct 28, 1862, Irene, Jan 10, 1864, Donna L., Sept. 05,
1868, and Kenneth R., Oct 28, 1876, all now residing at home.
Mr. and Mrs. Sheldon, with three of their children, are
members of the Baptist Church, and politically, Mr. S. is a Democrat.
Spriggs, of the firm of Spriggs & Bro., prominent druggists and
pharmacists at Monmouth, was born in the city of Philadelphia, Sept. 15, 1822,
and was the eldest son of his parents. See biography of James S,. Spriggs, this
volume below. After the death of his father, James H. had largely the care of
support of his mother and the younger children, a trust ever discharged by him
with the utmost degree of good faith and filial devotion. As with the boy, so
with the man, true to the instinct of that high order of humanity that springs
naturally from a heart unencumbered by any of the passions that mark and mar the
James H. Spriggs, in his dealing with people has been
purposely the cause of no pang of pain or sorrow to any one. With this small
tribute to the comment of the historian ends, and by a brief recital of minor
events will conclude the biography of one of Monmouth's best citizens. He was
educated as opportunity offered at the common school and academies of his
neighborhood, and from the age of 22 to 35 was conducting a farm in Cumberland
co., Pa. He came to Monmouth in 1857, and in partnership with his brother,
engaged at once in the drug businesses. This has since received his attention,
varying its duties somewhat occasionally by outside ventures for instance, he
was one of the organizers of the Monmouth mining & Manufacturing Co., and was
for two years its President. He was also a stockholder and director of the First
National Bank of Monmouth, but when the limitation of the charter expired he
sold his stock and severed his connection therewith. He also represented his
Ward three or four times in the common council. Politically he is identified
with a a preference of the time-honored principles that made the old Republican
party. His first vote was cast for Henry Clay.
Mr. Spriggs was married in Cumberland Co., Pa., Dec 23d,
1845, to Miss Eleanor J. McCune, a native of that county, and has had borne to
him five children, as follows; Mary E., born January 1847; died 1851; Ellen M.
born Sept, 1848 died 1851; John S. was born April 1850; Albert, formerly
Secretary of the Mining & Manufacturing Co., was born in April 1852 and William
Henry born March 16, 1854 and died April 1866. Since 1854, Mr. Spriggs and wife
have been members of the Presbyterian church.
John S. Spriggs,
Jr. pharmacist at Monmouth, is son of
James H. and Eleanor J. McCune Spriggs,-- and was born in
Cumberland Co., Pa April 03, 1850. See biography of J. H. Spriggs this
volume--above. He was educated at Monmouth College, and when about 18 years of
age began the drug business as clerk in the drug house of his father and uncle,
Dr. John S. Spriggs, at Monmouth. At the end of an apprenticeship of four years
here, he attended the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and graduated in 1873.
Mar 25, 1877, he was married at Chicago to Miss Annie L. Thorne, the
accomplished daughter of Stephen and Lydia Thorne, and a native of St. Johns, N.
B. Mrs. Spriggs is a member of the Episcopal church. In politics, Mr. Spriggs is
John S. Spriggs,
M. D. of the pioneer drug house of Spriggs & Brother, at Monmouth, was
born in Lancaster Co., Pa., Nov 04, 1824. His parents, James S. and Elizabeth
Leaman Spriggs, natives respectively of the State of New Jersey and
Pennsylvania, traced their ancestry back to England and Germany. They were
married in Lancaster co., Pa., from whence they removed to Philadelphia, where
the senior Mr. S. was for many years a merchant. He died in that city in 1838.
His widow survived him about 26 years, and came West with her son John S. in
1857, and died at Monmouth in 1864, in the 70th year of her life.
John s. Sprigs graduated from New London Pa Academy, when
about 18 years of age, and began directly study of medicine with Dr. John
Leaman, and uncle, of Williamstown, Pa., who was his preceptor. From Dr. Leamn's
office he entered the Jefferson College, in 1842, and graduated two years later
as M. D. He began to practice in Cumberland Co., Pa., immediately upon leaving
college, and was there 13 years. He came from Cumberland County to Monmouth in
1857, and soon after engaged in the drug business. He began business in a
building that stood upon the is of the present Second National Bank. the
building was burned in 1871, and the next opened up on the south side of the
public squire, where the firm for the brothers have been together all the time
have since carried on an extensive and lucrative bossiness. As skillful
druggists they undoubtedly stand at the head of the trade in Monmouth. Dr.
Spriggs was one of the organizers of the Monmouth Mining and Manufacture co., in
1872, his interest wherein he parted within 1884.
Dr. Spriggs was married in Cumberland Co., Pa., Dec 16,
1852, to Miss Emily E. Williamson, who died at Castile, N. Y. whither she had
gone for her health, leaving four children, having buried two. The living are
John w., of Monmouth; Margaret A. Mrs. W. W. Yeates, of Chicago; Florence E.
Mrs. E. J. Robinson of Iowa city, Iowa; and Laura Bell Mrs. W. R. Smith of
Kansas. their first children Mary Elizabeth was born Sept 17, 1853 and died Dec
23, 1868 William Francis was born Oct 24, 1858 and died Dec of the same year.
Ten years after burying his first wife, the Doctor found a
second in the person of Miss Rachel Dysart, a native of Belmont co., Ohio. They
were married at Monmouth, May 06, 1885. The Doctor and family are members of the
Presbyterian Church. In Politics, he is a republican.
Perry Anderson, who represents the lumber
trade at Alexis, was born in Sweden, at Nasum, in the province of
Christianstadt, Oct 5, 1853. He was well educated in public schools, and was
trained in the pursuit of agriculture. In 1873, when he was 20 years of age, he
resolved to come to the United States. He left his native land and reached
Warren county in the same year. He obtained employ as a farm assistant near
Alexis and passed two seasons at work by the month. He then rented land and
interested himself in general farming until 1881. After two years' residence he
took out his first naturalization papers, so that he might become a citizen of
his adopted country soon as possible. Mr. Anderson had thus far been successful
in his agricultural operations, and in 1881, in the company with A. A.
McClanahan, he bought the lumber business of J. E. Lafferty at Alexis. The firm
continued business until July, 1885, when Mr. McClanahan sold hi interest to his
father, Dr. I. P. McClanahan. The members of the present firm of McClanahan &
Anderson manage their business in the careful, well adjusted manner that insures
During the time he operated as a farm assistant Mr.
Anderson passed the winter seasons at school, at Alexis. He passed five
successive winters in study, acquiring good common education and becoming
familiar with the customs of his adopted country. The sixth winter he attended
the business college at Davenport Iowa with the purpose of acquiring a complete
knowledge of business methods. He then accepted a position as clerk in a
dry-goods store for R. C. Sergeant, of Annawan, Ill, which he retained until his
purchase and entry into the lumber business above referred to.
Aug 23, 1883, he was untied in marriage to the daughter of
Daniel W. Burt, a prominent business man of Alexis. Mrs. Kate A. Anderson was
born Oct 6, 1862, They have only one child, Burt T. born Oct 31, 1884.
They are members of the Methodist Church at Alexis. Mr. Burt is represented in
this work by a personal narration of the events of his career, which will be
found on other pages. Mr. Anderson is a Republican.
John P. Higgins,
of Monmouth, was born in Cumberland Co., KY.,
Aug. 08, 1830, and his parents were Durrett and Mary Graves Higgins, who
reared seven sons and four daughters, John being the third son in order of
birth, and one of the three sons now living. The sons were brought up as tillers
of the soil upon the farm of their parental ancestor. The family came to
Illinois in 1835, and the parents spent the their lives in Tazewell County, the
father dying in 18512, at the age of 62 years and his widow in 1860, at the age
of 62 years.
common schools of Tazewell County, the subject of our sketch took a scientific
course at Galesburg Liberal Institute now known as Lombard University; and in
1855 began teaching school. For nearly 20 years he taught in Warren County. His
home was in Swan Township, where he held the office of Supervisor for four
years, beginning in 1879, and was also holding his office of Justice of the
Peace at the same time. In 1881, he removed to Monmouth, where he was at once
appointed County Superintendent, to fill out an unexpired term of that office.
Higgins has always been a Democrat, and as such has held several minor offices
in the county. In 11883, he was the candidate of that party for Sheriff, but was
defeated, almost as a matter of course in a county as radical in its blind
following of party as to exclude the possibility of recognition of the claims of
even a battle-scarred veteran when he chose to assert a conviction contrary to
Ill, in July, 1862, Mr. Higgins enrolled as a private soldier in the service of
the United States, and at the organization of Co A, 84th Ill Vol.
Inf. He was chosen Captain, a position he filled until Jan 25, 1865. When on
account of ill health he was forced to resign. Up to that time he was with his
regiment all the time, and participated in its numerous engagements. In March,
after leaving the army, he came to Warren County and has since made is his home.
Capt. Higgins inherited nothing in way of a fortune. What he has he has earned
by the sweat of his brow.
married in swan Township, Dec 4, 1856, to Miss Zoa A. Simmons, and their three
children were amended respectively, Hezekiah D., who died in 1871, Robert P. and
Nellie C. The Captain is Past Master in Good Hope Lodge in Masonry, and for two
years was first Commander of the G. A. R. Post at Monmouth. Page #557
residing in Cold Brook Township, a gentleman of
more than ordinary business ability, owning 1, 500 acres of land in Warren
County, and a successful farmer and stock-raiser, was born in Barren Co., Ky,
April 30, 1837.
of Mr. Hall, Robert S. Hall, was also a native of Barren Co., KY, and followed
the occupation of a farmer during his life time. H. The three latter are by
their second marriage. Was married in the county of his nativity to Julia
Harber, and six children were born of the union, in Kentucky. After the demise
of his wife he w as again married to Julia Madded, a native of Ohio. Of both
marriages of Mr. Hall, senior, nine children were the result—six by the first
marriage and three by the second, with record as follows: Susan married A. B.
Miller and resides in Kansas: six children have been born to them of whom two
are deceased. Mildred became the wife of Alice Anthony, and the mother of five
children: she is now deceased, as also are two to the children. Mary Jane
married Edward Grover, and they reside in Mercer County and have a family of
five. Michael W. was fourth in order of birth. John D. Married Phoebe Airsmith
and they became the parents of two children: father and mother are both
deceased. Joseph lives in Texas. Kate is married and resides in Michigan. Robert
S. lives in Monmouth. The three latter are by the second marriage.
Hall came with his parents to this county and located in Monmouth Township. His
father purchased partly improved land, whose value he augmented by cultivation,
and at the date of his death was the owner of 400 acres. His death occurred in
Monmouth Township at about the beginning of the War for the Union, his wife, the
mother of Michael W., having departed this life some five years previous. She
was killed near the city of Jeffersonville, Ind., by the train on which she was
riding being thrown from the track. The cause of the accident was a bovine, who
obstinately refused to give way to the “iron horse.” She was at the time on a
visit to her former home in Kentucky, and the accident she received was so
severe that, although she reached her native State, she lingered but a short
time, and then in Louisville, Ky, departed this life.
death of his mother, Mr. Hall engaged in farming on his own account. He had
previously purchased about 50 acres of land in Monmouth Township, and on this he
began the occupation which he has continued during his entire life. Sept 08,
1859 at the residence of the bride’s parents in Monmouth Township, Mr. Hall was
unite din marriage with Miss Candis, the accomplished daughter of John and
Permelia Tapscott Miller natives of Barren Co., KY. Her parents were married in
Glasgow and were of Virginia parentage and Scotch extraction. Her father was a
cabinet-maker, and for some years after marriage resided at Glasgow Ky, at whish
place Mrs. Hall was born, Dec 16, 1843, She was next to the oldest in order of
birth of four children, viz: Charley, who was married to Adaline Parker, now
deceased; Candia the wife of Mr. Hall; and tow who died in infancy. In 1845,
when but two years of age, Candis, now Mrs. Hall was brought by her parents to
this State. They followed his trade up to within a short time before his death,
which occurred June 07, 1854. Her mother was again married, and died in Cold
Brook Township Dec 22, 1876.
and Mrs. Hall were united in marriage, they located upon a farm in Monmouth
Township, which Mr. Hall had previously purchased. Six months later they moved
on a farm in Cold Brook Township, consisting of 124 acres, to which Mr. Hall has
since added tracts located in Cold Brook and Monmouth Townships to the extent as
heretofore mentioned and most of which is under an advanced state of
cultivation, with the exception of 125 acres which is timber. Mr. and Mrs. Hall
are members of the Christian Church located at Talbott Creek, to which
denomination they have belonged for some 25 years. The issue of their union has
been seven children. The living are Frank, see sketch, George C., Addie B., Ella
M., James B. and George M., all o whom are lining at home and have received good
educations Edison G. is deceased.
Harvey Wallace, M. D. a prominent physician and surgeon, residing at
Monmouth, and whose portrait is giving on the opposite page, traces his ancestry
back to Scotland. Robert Wallace was driven from Scotland and fled into Ireland
during the persecution of the Presbyterians. His son, William, was born in
Ireland, and lived many years in the County Tyrone, in which place he was
married, and while there had a son, James, born in 1771. James Married Mary Barfit, in Tyrone, and the eight children born to them were named respectively:
William, Eliza, Benjamin, Mary Ann, James, Robert, John and Margaret Jane.
Robert was the father of our subject and came with his parents from his native
country, Ireland, in the year 1810, this, W. W. Wallace, is a Professor of
Mathematics at Westminster college, Pa; and John C. is an M. d. at Port Austin,
Mich. The other three are farmers in Wayne Co., Ohio.
Wallace’s spent their first year in American the city of Baltimore, removing
thence to Juniata Co., Pa, where Robert grew to manhood and married Eleanor
Shaver, a native of the Keystone state, of German extraction, tracing her
ancestry back to an early product of the two very distinct races, the Scotch and
Wallace, born Feb 21, 1807, was by occupation a farmer before retiring from
active life, and at this writing *October, 1885) resides on a fine farm in Wayne
Co., Ohio, where he removed in the year 1854. He is 78 years of age and his wife
is 74 years. They reared six sons and two daughters, James Harvey Wallace being
the second in order of birth. One of the brothers W. W. Wallace is a Professor
of Mathematics at Westminster College, Pa; and John C. is an M. D. at Port
Austin, Mich. The other three are farmers in Wayne Co., Ohio.
Dr. J. H. Wallace, who was born in Juniata Co., Pa., Nov. 16, 1834, spent the
first 19 years of his life upon the farm and at the common schools, completing
his literary education at Vermillion Institute, Hayesville, Ohio. In 1857, he
began reading medicine at Wooster, Ohio, with Dr. T. H. Baker; attended lectures
at Buffalo University medical department in 1861, and graduated from the Ohio
College of Medicine, Cincinnati, in 1862. Directly after receiving his diploma
he began practice at Lakeville, Ohio, in partnership with a Dr. McKee, and at
the end of 15 months removed to Canaan, that State, where he practiced with much
success for about 11 years, in the meantime taking a post-graduate course at
Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia. He went next to Smithville, Ohio, where
he remained till his removal to Monmouth in April, 1876. Here he was associated
with Dr. S. K. Crawford about one year and has since been for the greater part
of the time, without a partner. At the present time, however, Dr. Hon Troutman
is associated with him.
battle of Pittsburg Landing, in 1862, the Doctor was there as a volunteer
surgeon, and assisted with his skill in caring for the sick, wounded and dying,
so also, at Vicksburg, from which place he brought home his invalid brother, who
was a soldier in Co H 120th Regt. Ohio Vol Inf. Dr. Wallace is
devoted to the profession he so adorns, and the good people of Monmouth amply
attest their appreciation of his skill as a physician, and of his high merit as
was married at Wooster, Ohio, Oct 16, 1862, to Miss Sarah J. Troutman, daughter
of J. G. and Caroline Frybarger Troutman. Of the children, we make the following
druggist at Monmouth; Charles R. born in November, 1865, died at age of five
years and five months; Franklin E., student; Carrie L. student; Anna May and
Lewis E., at home; and LeRoy, born in 1875, died in 1877.
and his wife are members of the Presbyterian Church and active workers in
various benevolent organizations. He was a member of the Independent Order of
the Mutual Aid, and also a member of the Knights of Honor, a charter member of
the order of the “Golden Rule” and a Director in the Monmouth Loan and Homestead
Association. Republican in politics, he cast his first vote for John C. Fremont
in 1856, and form that time to the present has remained firm to his first
convictions, but takes no active part in politics.
C. Wallace, proprietor of a
fashionable restaurant and fancy grocer, also wholesale and retail dealer in
fruits, vegetables, oils, etc., of Monmouth, was born in Guernsey Co., Ohio,
July 4, 1848, was the fifth child in order of birth of six sons and two
daughters of Thomas and Jane Hutchinson Wallace, natives of the Buckeye State,
and descended respectively from Scotch and Irish ancestry. The senior Mr.
Wallace was by occupation a farmer; emigrated from Ohio to Iowa in 1867, and
there died in 1878 or ’79, aged 61 or 62 years, surviving his wife probably
about three years.
Wallace was brought up as a farmer’s boy, and at the common schools,
supplemented by two years’ attendance at Monmouth College, acquired a fair
English education. After clerking awhile in a grocery house, he in 1871, bought
the interest of Hurdman, of the firm of Wallace & Hurdman, and for three years,
or thereabouts, the house existed under the style and firm name of Wallace Bros.
Since the retirement of his brother, Mr. Wallace has been alone in the business,
and that he has been more than ordinarily successful is fully attested by the
brief record here published of him. In 1875, after sustaining a sever loss by
fire; he built the brick block now occupied by him. He owns one of the finest
residence in the city, is a large sock-holder in banking house in Greely, Colo.,
and an extensive ranch owner in both Texas and Kansas. All this, and more and
yet it is but the product of his individual effort and industry.
married in Henderson Co., IL Dec. 28, 1871, to Miss Mary A. Hutchinson, and
their only child is named Clyde.
F. Lowther, of Kirkwood, was born in Columbus, Ohio, April 14, 1826. His
father, Thompson F., and his mother, Sarah Lowther nee Black, were natives of
Pennsylvania. They were married and came to Illinois in 1835, locating in
Schuyler County, where they resided until 1841. During the latter year he came
to Warren County and settled in Hale Township, where he purchased 96 acres of
land on which he lived, following his vocation until April, 1869. At that date
he purchased a house and lot in Kirkwood and in company with J. H. Gilmore
engaged in the grocery business, which he continued for about ten years. About
three years prior to his death he retired from active business, his death
occurring in 1885, and that of his wife in 1876.
gentleman whose name we place at the head of this notice, lived with his
parents until he was 23 years old, having received a fair education in the
common schools. After leaving home Mr. Lowther purchased 80 acres of land in
hale Township, on which he resided for one and a half years, when he sold it and
removed to Lenox township, and there purchased another 80 acre tract, and for
two years was engaged in its cultivation. He then returned to Hale Township, and
lived until 1869, when he came to Kirkwood and purchased property, since which
time he has continued to reside there.
marriage of Mr. Lowther took palace, July 19, 1849, at which time Miss Julia A.
M. Robinson, a native of Virginia, became his wife. There were seven children of
this union all dead, but they took an orphan boy, H. H. Sterling, at the age of
18 months, whom they reared to manhood, and since he has attained his majority
have assisted him in obtaining a foot hold, whereby he may acquire in this busy
world of strife as competency.
Politically, Mr. Lowther affiliates with the Democratic Party, and he and his
wife belong to the Methodist Episcopal Church. He has also been a member of the
Town Board in Kirkwood.
T. Reichard, the leading dry-goods merchant at Monmouth, was born in
Washington Co., Md., and Nov 1, 1842. His parents, Daniel and Maria Brewer
Reichard, natives respectively of the States of Maryland and Pennsylvania, and
dating their ancestry back to Germany, reared six sons, and they were all
brought up to the occupation of the father, farming, but judging from the
memorandum before us, while they inherited any quantity of industry and native
ability, the love of labor in the fields was one characteristic the old
gentleman failed to transmit. Two of the sons became prominent physicians, one a
druggist and three dealers in merchandise.
removed to Warren County, in 1863, and located on a farm in Cold Brook Township,
where he lived and labored until his death, in 1866, aged 55 years. His widow
survived him until 1873, when she died in Monmouth at the age of 63 years,
Reichard was educated in Maryland, and was at Hagerstown College when his
patriotism overcame his desire for classics, and August 1, 1862, saw him “right
dress” as a private in Co A 7th Maryland Vol Infantry. There is no
reason in the world to believe that he asked for the change, but the writer
knows a great many reasons why he should have been very glad of the transfer
from the ranks to clerk in the Quartermaster’s department. He had been out only
about two months when this occurred, and the fact that he was retained in the
position until the close of the war, proves that he was as efficient as clerk as
it is known he would have been as a soldier.
service at Baltimore, Md, he came at once to Monmouth and engaged in farming
with his father, and at the death of the latter administered upon the estate and
closed it up. In February, 1868, he embarked in mercantile business, and the
story of his success was told us by his rivals. Mr. Reichard is a man who would
succeed in anything, except hat of being ungentlemanly. This is no sort of
training could induct him into.
Monmouth National Bank changed hands, in 18--, Mr. Reichard became one of its
Directors, and subsequently Vice-President, a position he filled up to January
1, 1885. He is largely interested in agriculture and stock-breeding, and has
been for some years President of the Warren County Agricultural Society. He is a
popular Mason, and member of the largest Consistory in the worked, that the of
the Oriental, of Chicago. July 15, 1875, Mr. Reichard was married at Newcastle,
Ind. To Miss Jeane Elliott, daughter of Hon. J. T. Elliott, late Judge of the
Supreme Court of Indiana and his children are named Lillian, George, Marie and
Baldwin, proprietor of the Baldwin House and one of the pioneers of
Monmouth, was born in Chester Co., Pa, Dec 09, 1808. His parents, Wathel and
Catherine Barr Baldwin, were married, reared their six sons and four daughters’
and died in Chester County. Hiram Baldwin was brought up on his father’s farm
and fairly educated at the subscription schools.
1832, he was married in his native county to Miss Mariah Mackey, a native of
Lancaster Co., Pa., and of Irish and Dutch parentage. Their two sons, James W.
and George W., were born in Lancaster County, the first in 1833 and the latter
in 1835. They are both connected with the management and direction of the hotel
and have been for many years. The Baldwin’s originally came from England,
probably in 1645, and settled in Massachusetts. The Barr’s came from Germany, in
1683, and settled at Germantown, Pa.;
came to Monmouth in the spring of 1840, and here Mr. B. began the manufacture of
wagons and plows, and followed it about 15 years. In 1846, he moved upon the
spot now, and since 1855, known as the Baldwin Hotel. It was originally a two
–story house 20 room building; in 1876 it was remodeled and converted in to a
three-story 40 room house. Mr. B. learned the trade of carriage maker in
Lancaster Co., Pa. He farmed some since coming to Illinois,
but for 20 years has devoted his time to hotel
business. His house, for many years the best in Monmouth, was for many years the
rendezvous of the famous Lincoln and his friends. The room the great man
occupied is now No. 17 and contains he furniture he so often used. Mr.
Douglass, when at Monmouth, stopped at the old Warren House, when not with his
friend, Hon. J. W. Davidson. Mr. B. is a member of no church; has never sought
office but the history of Warren County must in truth print his name upon its
pages as one of the best men the county has ever claimed as a citizen.
Pattee, secretary and treasurer of the Pattee Plow Company, of Monmouth, was
born at Canaan, Grafton Co., N. H. April 17, 1840, and ws the youngest son
living of Daniel and Judith Burleigh Pattee, natives of New Hampshire, and
descended from the French. The senior Mr. Pattee was by occupation a farmer, and
brought his four sons up to that vocation, though none of them followed it any
great length of time. The father and mother both died in New Hampshire, he in
`1875, aged 76 years, and she in 1883, aged 83 years.
Pattee was educated at the common schools of his native state, and after
learning of the art of telegraphy repaired to Canada, in 1862, as manager of the
Vermont and Boston Telegraph Co. He left Canada in 1866, and came to Galesburg,
Ill where for three years he was engaged in milling business. In 1869, he came
to Monmouth, and in company with his brother ran the Star Flouring Mill four
years in 1873, he engaged in the manufacture of agricultural implements.
See Pattee Plow company. The stock
company was organized in 1881. And Mr. Pattee has since been it’s secretary and
first married at Canaan, N. H. in 1867. His wife nee Miss Lizzie R. Morgan,
daughter of Dr. Arnold Morgan, now deceased died in her native town Canaan in
1881 Mr. Pattee married Miss Anna E. Willets, daughter of the later Hon. Elias
Willets. See biography of Judge Willets, this volume.
W. Matthews, State’s attorney for Warren County, resident at Monmouth, is a
son of the late Rev. Robert D. and Louisa Matilda Martin Matthews, and was born
at Macon, Noxubee Co., Miss., July 7, 1848—see Biography of Rev. Robert
Matthews, D. D.) John W. Matthews was educated at Monmouth College, graduating
and in the class of 1871, with the degree of A. B. Immediately after leaving
college he began reading law with John J. Glenn, and two years later in the
office of Harding, McCoy, & Pratt, Chicago. He was admitted to the Bar at
Ottawa, in September, 1874, and returned to Monmouth, where he became the junior
member of the firm of Glenn & Matthews, for a year, and which then became the
Firm of Glenn, Kirkpatrick & Matthews. At the end of one year Mr. M. withdrew
from the firm, and was one year alone in practice, and having satisfied himself
that he was able to hold his own at the Warren County forum, he formed, in 1880,
the existing partnership, Matthews & Peacock, Mr. T. G. Peacock being a talented
young attorney, and the junior member of the firm.
In the fall
of 1880, Mr. Matthews was elected State’s Attorney, which office he filled with
such satisfaction to the people, that four years later they place him again at
the helm as a pilot of the pleas of the commonwealth.
1864, he made up his mind the rebellion had gone on long enough, so offered his
country his service as a “backbone breaker” and high private in Co A, 138th
Ill Vol. Inf., for the term of 100 days. Serving out his term in the 138th,
he was discharged Oct 14, 1864, at Springfield, Ill, and on the 18th
of February following enrolled as a musician in Co H, 47th Ill. Vol.
Inf. And served until August 17, 1865, With the 47th he penetrated
well into “Dixie” and his experience in that country will be remembered by him
for many a long year. He left the service to accept a scholarship at Annapolis
Naval Academy, but ill health forced him to abandon it.
married at Monmouth, in 1876, to Miss Mary G. Stevens, a native of New York, and
his son is named Robert C. a daughter, Anna Louisa, died in infancy.
Matthews is a member of the Presbyterian Church, and also of the A. O U W and I.
O. O. F.
C. Twitchell, one of the most prominent young business men of Roseville,
where he is engage quite extensively in the business of a merchant, was born in
Delaware Co., N. Y. April 22, 1856, his parents being Perry and Belarma
Woodmansee Twitchell, natives of the Empire State. Mr., Perry Twitchell, the
father was a soldier in the late civil war, having enlisted in 1862, and served
within two months of it close. He was member of Co C 12th Conn Vol.
The 12th was a part of the army of the Potomac, subsequently
transferred to Butler’s command at New Orleans. He is at present a resident of
Wallingford, Conn. His wife died April 25, 1878.
J. C., our
subject, remained companion to his parents until he had attained the age of 22
years, having worked in the meantime with his father at the carpenter’s trade,
and attended the public schools, receiving a fair education.
in Roseville Dec. 8, 1877, and began clerking for J. L. Woodmansee, his uncle,
remaining with him until 1881. He then bought out the business, and has
continued to conduct the dry goods, grocery and boot and shoe business, in which
he has met with splendid success, with a trade constantly increasing.
Mr. J. C.
Twitchell and Miss Margaret Harbaugh were married in 1882, she being a native of
Illinois, and a daughter of Peter Harbaugh.
Twitchell is a member of the Methodist Church, and regarded as a representative
and sold business man of Roseville.
Politically, Mr. Twitchell affiliates with the Republican Party.
E. Hall, of the firm of Mundorff Y Hall, hardware merchants at Kirkwood,
this county, was born in the State of New York, Lewis County, in 1846. The
parents of Mr. Hall, of this sketch, Gaylord N. and Hannah M. Slocum Hall, were
also natives of York State. They came to this State in 1865 and located on
section 32, Tompkins Township, where his father purchase d110 acres of land and
followed the occupation of an agriculturist until 1878.
gentleman who name stands at the head of this notice remained with his parents,
receiving at the common schools a good education and assisting his father on the
farm until he became of age. On becoming his own man, he worked out by the month
until he accumulated some means, when he rented a farm and cultivated the same
for a few years. In 1875, his accumulations and savings increasing, he purchased
79m acres on section 16, Tompkins Township, and remained on the same for eight
years, engaged in energetic and continuous labor as an agriculturist. He then
sold his land and came in Kirkwood and in company with Mr. Mundorff, engaged in
the hardware business, which he has continued to the present time. He is the
owner of a residence and lot in the village, and his firm, by strict attention
to business and fair and honest dealings with their customers, have established
a good and paying trade.
In 1869 Mr.
Hall formed a matrimonial alliance with Miss Delialah Mundorff, a native of
Pennsylvania, and of their union have born two children. –Myra E. and Leo M. In
politics, Mr. H. votes with Republican Party, and in religion, he and his wife
belong to the Methodist Episcopal Church. As a Business man Mr. Hall stands
prominent among the foremast of Kirkwood village.
typed by Foxie----above
contributed & typed by Carol Parrish & reformatted by
PORTRAIT ON PAGE 468
A. G. VANHOOREBEKE,
one of the
most extensive and widely known importers of French draft horses in America, as
well as a distinguished breeder of the famous Bolognaise horses, and a
veterinarian of wide reputation, is a nativeof France. He was born at Ghent,
capital of the French Flanders, Sept. 23, 1808. His father, Lucas Pierre
Vanhoorebeke, was for over a half centuryReceiver of Revenues and Customs for
the French Government in Belgium, and afterward held the same position some
years under the Belgium Government.
The Vanhoorebeke family is one of the oldest in Belgium. They cantrace their
genealogy back to the 13th century, and many of its members have held honorable
positions under the Belgium Government. Ferdinand Vanhoorebeke, brother of Dr.
A. G. was a distinguished and most honored lawyer at the court of appeal at
Ghent, Belgium, and his cousin, Emile Vanhoorebeke, was also a lawyer and member
of the Belgium cabinet in capacity of Secretary of Public Works till the time of
his death, in 1870.
Several of the Vanhoorebeke family yet occupy honorable and confidential
positions. Dr. Adolph Gustav Vanhoorebeke was second in the family of four
sons, and at the institutions of learning in his native country received a
thorough education in the French and Flemish languages. At the age of 25 he
entered the renowned Veterinary College of Utrecht, Holland. From that
institution he graduated with distinguished honors in 1831, and immediately
afterward entered the French army as a veterinary surgeon, in which capacity he
faithfully and honorably served his country for ten consecutive years.
During this period of his life he traveled all over Continental Europe and
carefully studied all the various breeds of horses known to that part of the
globe. In 1841, he quit the army and located in Antwerp, Belgium, where, for
the space of nearly 20 years, he practiced his profession with marked success,
and at the same time gave special attention to the heavy equine stocks that are
bred in the Netherlands and in Northern France. But being a liberal in his
religious notions, Dr. Vanhoorebeke became a victim of pious persecution, and
having been arrested for expressing views antagonistic to the dominant Belgiac
theology, he resolved to go where he could breathe the air of freedom and enjoy
the right of free speech.
was in the year 1860 Dr. Vanhoorebeke sailed from Europe to the United States
and settled in Illinois. Here, in the very heart of the virgin West, he found
an ample field for the employment of his rare attainments in veterinary science
and his thorough knowledge of the horses of Europe. Throughout a broad area of
rich and rapidly growing country, he had not a single competitor, nor has he to
this day. His splendid abilities, his varied experience were, at all points of
the compass, in supreme request. It was not long, however, till the
growing demand for powerful freight teams in this country literally compelled
him to subordinate the practice of his chosen profession to the work of an
importer, and in 1865 he brought from France the premium draft stallions
Hercules and Lucifer. The former of these was a Boulonnais of bay livery; the
latter was an Anglo-Boulonnais of black livery. Both of them had brilliant
reputations as breeders in Europe, and they have fully maintained it in
America. To the Doctor, therefore, rightfully and unquestionably belongs the
honor of being the first importer who ever brought heavy horses directly from
France to Illinois. J. W. Edwards, who was a co-operator with James A. Perry,
made, in 1868, the second importation from France to Illinois, which importation
consisted of Success and French Emperor. The latter animal soon died and Mark
W. Dunham is the present owner of the former. E. Dillon & Co. made the third
importation from France to Illinois, and Mark W. Dunham, in 1872, made the
fourth importation from France to Illinois.
It will thus be seen that it is certainly meet that Dr. Vanhoorebeke should have
been the pioneer importer and breeder of French draught horses in Suckerdom; for
it is perfectly safe to say that he knows vastly more about those animals than
any other horseman in the United States. For nearly 50 straightforward years,
he made a close, intelligent study of the powerful equine motors of France and
the Netherlands, right in the regions where they originated, and where the very
best specimens of them have always been produced. He published several books on
the subject, having in view the improvement of this useful breed of hoses, and
has without any doubt been one of the most active contributors to the desired
result. Any man at all acquainted with the history of French heavy horses knows
that the most excellent of them are ever to be found in Bologne and French
Flanders. So say Moll, Magne, Gayot, Lefour, and all other standard authorities
of France. Dr. Vanhoorebeke, being himself a French veterinarian, who always
ranked in Europe with the great authors just named, and having an experimental
knowledge of more than half a century's careful observation and comparison in
the field of French horse production may, without egotism, claim to be a full
head and shoulders above all other men in America, who are now or ever have been
engaged in the introduction of the draught blood of France into the United
States, and his residence in Illinois is an honor to the State.
While yet he was at New Boston, he imported, in 1868, Brilliant, a Boulonnais
bay; Pakolet, a Boulonnais bay; and Leon, a Boulonnais gray. All these were
prize breeders in France, having received both first and second premiums of the
In 1869, he moved to Monmouth, where he soon obtained the confidence of the best
men of that section of the country, who seeing the usefulness of his enterprise
patronized his work. Here he entered fully upon that career of importing and
breeding which will constitute one of the brightest and most indelible pages of
the agricultural history of the West. Almost every year since he located in
Monmouth he has made an importation from France, having brought the last one in
1880. It has ever been his motto not to excel in numbers but in quality. That
motto he has abundantly verified. He has never dazzled the American eye with
his scores or his hundreds at one draw, but he has imported to the United States
more horse that have stood A No. 1 in France than have all his competitors put
together. Of the 85 stallions (all either pure Boulonnais or Belgium
Boulonnais) which he has brought over, every one of them was a prize animal -
most of them first-prize animals - in the land of their nativity. Many of his
imported horses were awarded prizes at the great expositions of Paris, 1878,
London, 1879; Amsterdam, 1883, and Antwerp in 1885. These horses were the very
cream of the Boulonnais (horses of Bologne), and the Boulonnais are the very
cream of French draught animals, if the acknowledged equine standards of France
may be presumed to know anything upon the subject.
Dr. Vanhoorebeke has now 40 head of his celebrated horses at his beautiful place
in the environs of Monmouth. Since engaging as an importer of these animals, he
has crossed the Atlantic Ocean 49 times.
He was first married in his native country, when about 35 years of age, to
Hortense Adelaide Wouwermans, who died in 1855, leaving four children, one of
whom, a son, has since died; another, a daughter, is in Europe, and two are now
living in the United States. At Kingston, Mo., the Doctor was again married,
Aug. 18, 1866, to Mmle. Henriette Biart, a highly educated and accomplished
young lady, native of Belgium, and daughter of French parents. Their three
children are named respectively, Adolphe, Florence and Alida. Adolphe has been
attending school in France for the past four years, but is now a student at
Mrs. Vanhoorebeke was born at Antwerp, Jan. 28, 1849, and belongs also to a
distinguished family whose several members occupy high and honorable
positions. Mr. Constant Biart, the cousin of Mrs. A. G. Vanhoorebeke, is a
learned lawyer, a Senator, and President of the Alm houses and orphan asylums at
Antwerp, Belgium, and is much honored; and many of this family occupy in France
and Belgium places of honor and distinction. Mrs. Vanhoorebeke was the third in
order or birth of a family of ten children. Her parents came to this country in
1864, and settled in Iowa, where they remained about a year. They then came to
this State, and after a stay of two years moved to Kansas, where they remained
one year and then returned to Europe. After remaining in the land of their
nativity for a period of two years, they again set sail for America. Since then
the family have resided in various places in this country and at this writing
(January, 1886) the father is in California with one of his sons, Victor, who is
a surgeon in the regular army, but now on a leave of absence. Dr. Biart is a
graduate of the St. Louis Medical College. The mother of Mrs. Vanhoorebeke is
of Holland extraction and is now living in Omaha with one of her daughters. Of
the ten children born to Mr. and Mrs. Biart, four are deceased. Of the others,
Celina married Herman Hoffman and resides in Leavenworth, Kan.; Hortense married
Joseph Haag, and also lives at that place; Charlotte married Dr. Charles Biart
and resides in Omaha; Henry is now living at Honolulu, Sandwich Islands. Dr.
Vanhoorebeke, as we see, is a believer in original qualities, and has in every
circumstance applied this immutable principle.
portrait of Dr. Vanhoorebeke, appearing on a preceding page, will be welcomed by
the patrons of the Warren County Album with as much satisfaction as the
publishers experience in adding it to the exceptional collection presented in
and Biographical Album of Warren County, Illinois (1886), Chapman Brothers of
Chicago, p. 469 - 471.
"A government big enough to give you everything you want, is strong enoughto
take everything you have."-Thomas Jefferson
next eight biographies were typed by Kate Hagerty
Newton P. Bruington
A resident of Alexis, has
retired from the turmoil of an active business life. He is a native citizen of
Warren County, having been born in the township of cold Brook, July 16, 1845.
Thomas Bruington, his father, was born in Breckenridge Co., Ky., May 13, 1807.
He was the son of James and Jane (McGlothlin) Bruington. He was of
Scotch-English origin, the mother being of Scotch descent.
Thomas Bruington was
reared on the homestead of his parents, in the land of handsome women and good
horses, and on the 22d day of January, 1822, succumbed to the charms of one of
the belles of the Blue-Grass county—Miss Jane McGlothlin. She was a native of
the same county as her husband and was born Aug. 14, 1809. In 1833, the father,
determining that there was a broader field wherein to rear his growing family,
set out for the State of Illinois, traveling with his household in the
conveyance common to the journeying of the pioneers of those days. He owned a
pair of oxen and a wagon and by their aid the route was made. The method of
operation was quite after the gypsy pattern and the journey was not wholly
without interest and pleasure, notwithstanding its tediousness. The cooking was
done by the wayside and the family slept in the wagon. Their destination was
Warren Co. and on their arrival they made their first location in Barnett’s
Grove, in what is now Cold Brook Township. Mr. Bruington took a timber claim and
built a log house. He placed the structure in the midst of the timber and split
logs to make its roof. He cleared a few acres of timber and held possession of
the property there about ten years. On selling out he moved to the prairie in
the same township and built another log house. This the family occupied a few
years and, as their circumstances improved, they erected a frame house for their
accommodation. The father improved an entire section of land. About the year
1856 he determined to make another change, and on again selling out, he bought a
farm in Kelly Township, or rather a large tract of land in the immediate
vicinity of the line of Mercer County. There he erected a house, which was one
of the first frame building in this locality. There he improved another farm and
made the common additions of fruit and shade trees to his estate. This remained
the homestead while he lived, until a very short time previous to his death he
moved to the property belonging to the lady who became his second wife, in the
same township. There he passed the latest years of his life. His demise took
place Oct 9, 1882. His first wife died Sept. 18, 1849. In 1859 he was married to
Mrs. Annie Goff. She is still living. The issue of the first marriage was nine
children, and six are yet living. James is a citizen of Kansas; John M. lives in
Texas. Elizabeth and Jane are deceased. George is a resident of the township of
Cold Brook. Thomas lives in Mercer County. Newton P. is the subject proper of
this sketch and is a resident of the township already named. Eugene lives in
Spring Grove Township, and one child not mentioned.
Newton P. Bruington passed
the years of his boyhood and youth in his native county; was reared on the farm
and educated in the public schools. In 1861 he went to Idaho, crossing the
plains with his brother John. They had a mule-train consisting of four animals
and a wagon. They set out from Warren County on the 1st day of April,
of the year named. They made a halt of a few days in Marshall County, Iowa, and
with that single exception pushed on to Omaha without pausing. There they
replenished their stock of provisions and started from there in the latter part
of April. They arrived at their destination about the 1st of August.
Mr. Bruington interested himself in mining and continued that exciting and
delusive occupation about 18 months. He then commenced packing goods from
Umatilla Landing to the camps in the mountains. In 1863 he returned to Warren
County. As soon as he was fairly at home he resumed the occupation of a farmer.
In 1870 he bought land in North Henderson Township, Mercer County, and devoted
himself to the rearing of stock. He was the occupant of the farm in North
Henderson Township until 1879, when he sold out and came to Alexis. He bought a
suitable residence, which has since been his abode. It is located in that part
of Alexis which is situated in Suez Township; Mercer Co. Mr. Bruington is still
the proprietor of 390 acres in North Henderson Township and also of 50 acres in
Kelly Township, in Warren County. His a acreage is all in first-class condition
for farming, and he rents a part of the land; the remainder is stocked and
continues under his management. He belongs to the I. O. O. F., Alexis Lodge, No.
526. He and his wife are members of the Presbyterian Church.
His marriage to Nannie
Johnston occurred July 13, 1872. Mrs. Bruington was born in Breckenridge Co.,
Ky., March 30, 1854, and is the daughter of P. W. and Martha (Hayes) Johnston.
Her parents were natives of Virginia. On the paternal side she is of English
origin. The grandfather came to this country at an early day and settled in
Virginia. On the maternal side she comes from old Virginia stock. Blanche and
Walter are the names of the children that have been born of her marriage to Mr.
Bruington. Blanche was born July 22, 1872; Walter was born Aug. 30, 1878.
Engaged as a general
farmer and stock raiser on section 16, Cold Brook Township, was born in Knox
County, near the Warren County line, on the 4th of October, 1840. His
father, Thomas Bruington, a farmer by occupation and a native of Breckenridge
Co. Ky., was of Scotch-Irish descent. He was married in the county of his
nativity to Jane McLaughlin, who was also a native of Breckenridge Co. Ky., and
of the same parentage and descent. Before their emigration West in 1833, when
they came to the State of Illinois and located in Knox County, they had a family
of three children. Mr. Thomas Bruington came into the new western country and
found it an improved, unbroken prairie, and made a trade of his horse and a gun
for his first farm of 160 acres. After improving that farm and when George, of
whom we write, was but a small child, they removed into Cold Brook Township and
here purchased 160 acres, where the son now resides, and entered actively and
energetically on its improvement. While residing at this place the mother’s
demise occurred, in the year 1849. She was the mother of nine children, of whom
our subject was the sixth in order of birth. The father then married again in
Kelly Township, where he lived until his death, which occurred in 1883. His
second wife was Mrs. Anna Goff, nee Ingersol.
When 18 years of age,
George Bruington, of whom we write, set out to battle for himself, going in 1858
t Missouri, and the following year to Pike’s Peak, Col. To this latter place he
went in view of mining, but having no success, in the spring of 1861, he
returned to his township and began to farm on his own account.
The marriage of Mr.
Bruington with Miss Mary, daughter of Thomas Wallace, one of the old settlers in
this county, occurred June 7, 1863. The ceremony was performed at the residence
of the bride, who was born Sept. 1839, in Cold Brook Township, and resided at
home with her parents until her marriage. Her mother’s maiden name was Margaret
Murphy. She now resides with her son, John Wallace, a resident of this township,
at the venerable age of 85 years. Mr. Wallace, her husband, and father of Mrs.
Bruington of this notice, died in this township, April 99, 1861.
Of the union of Mr. and
Mrs. Bruington five children have been born. Margaret J., teacher; Jessie L.,
Arnold, Elmer and Alma. Margaret and Jessie have been educated in Lombard
University, Galesburg, ILL. After marriage, Mr. and Mrs. B. settled on the farm
where they now live. Mr. B. is the owner of 440 acres of well-improved land,
supplied with all the necessary outbuildings, and a fine residence.
Mr. Bruington is a member
of the Christian Church. He has been Road Commissioner for 15 years and in
politics is an active Democrat.
John B. Campbell
Is the present Township Clerk of Spring Grove. He was born in
Huntingdon Co., Pa., Aug. 6, 1853. He is a member of the fourth generation from
his earliest known ancestor in this country, being of Scotch-Irish extraction.
John A. Campbell, his father, was born in 1807, in the same county in
Pennsylvania where the son was born. He was bred a farmer, that having been the
calling of his race for many generations. He was married in the Keystone State
to Mary J. Wray, who was also born in Huntingdon County, Oct. 16, 1817. After
his marriage the senior Campbell bought a farm in Brady Township, seven miles
from the county-seat, which remained the home of the family until 1865, when the
property was sold and a removal to Illinois effected. A farm was rented in Suez
Township, in Mercer County, where they reside one year, during which time the
father was engaged in prospecting for a suitable location for a permanent
homestead. In company with his eldest son, he bought a farm on section 9, in the
township of Spring Grove, which, in the spring of 1866; he took possession of
and made it the family residence until the death of the father, which took place
in 1873. His widow now resides in Norwood, Mercer County. They were the parents
of 11 children, of whom eight are still living.
Mr. Campbell is the fourth child. He was 12 years old when his
father’s family removed to Illinois. He had obtained a fair education before
coming to this State, but after removal hither he continued his studies in the
common schools of spring Grove Township. In the interims of school he engaged in
the duties of farming. He obtained a practical education, and in 1874 he
commenced teaching. He made his first engagement as a pedagogue in District Nov.
5, of the same township in which he now lives. In July, 1877, he bought an
interest in the dry-goods establishment of G. B. Hardy, at Alexis, and carried
on a commercial business for 14 months. He sold out at the end of that time and
resumed teaching, to which profession he has since devoted himself exclusively,
having been engaged for nearly eight years in the schools of Alexis.
Politically, Mr. Campbell is a Democrat. He has officiated as
collector in his township and is serving a second term in his present official
He formed a matrimonial alliance with Ida McBride, Oct. 11, 1877. She was born
in Monmouth, and is the daughter of Abisha and Parmelia (Alley) McBride. Their
children are Freddie H. and Stanley Vergne. Mr. and Mrs. Campbell are members of
the Presbyterian Church and is one of the Elders of his congregation.
A prosperous and
highly respected farmer of Hale Township, residing on section 6, is a son of
James and Jane (Reed) Campbell. The former was a son of William and Margaret
Campbell, and was born in County Antrim, Ireland, ir. 1799. He married Jane
Reed, daughter of John and Margaret Reed. The parents were married on their
native isle and emigrated to the United States in the autumn of 1850. Soon
after, they came to this State and settled in Henderson County, where they lived
until their death. They both died in December, 1874, and only eight days apart,
the mother’s death occurring on the 12th and the father’s on the 20th.
Their children were nine in number, of whom the subject of this notice was the
eight in order of birth. The first-born died in infancy, the next was William
B., then Joseph, Elizabeth, Margaret, Maria, James and Jane Ann. Joseph is
On his father’s side, James Campbell is of Scotch descent; his
maternal grandfather was of English descent, his wife, however, was of Scottish
ancestry. She was one of the Dansons of Scotland. Both the ancestors of Mr.
Campbell bore arms under William of Orange. The family were among the first
Protestants of Scotland, but the father and mother of our subject joined the
Methodist Episcopal Church shortly after their marriage. All of his children, as
they grew up, united with that Church, of which they are still members.
Six of the elder Campbell’s uncles came to America prior to the
Revolutionary War. They were a strong, stalwart race, over six feet in height,
and all of the six brothers enlisted in defense of the Colonies.
James Campbell, Sr., set sail for America with his family, Aug. 18,
1850, and were many weeks on their journey to New Orleans, where they landed.
They came up the Mississippi and Illinois Rivers to Cuba, when they could go no
further by water on account of the river being frozen over. From that point, Mr.
Campbell walked to where his brother lived in Henderson County. He there
procured teams and moved his family and effects to Greenville Precinct,
Henderson County. He arrived there Nov. 18, 1850. He remained with his brother’s
family for a short time, when he bought a quarter-section of land on what was
then know as the Lost Prairie, now embraced in Ball Bluff Township, Henderson
County. There was a small log building upon it, in which the family spent the
winter, and the following year he erected a frame dwelling. Here the children
were reared. The land that the elder Campbell purchased when he arrived in
Henderson County was from James Fair, the father of Senator James Fair, of
Nevada. He came to America some years before Mr. Campbell did, but they were old
acquaintances in Ireland. His son, John Campbell, now owns the old home place.
When the elder Campbell arrived here he had $500 in gold, which enabled him to
purchase his place, a team, some farm implements, some cattle and household
James Campbell, the subject of this sketch, was born in Shanco,
County Fermanagh, Ireland, Oct. 28, 1848, and was two years old when his parents
emigrated from the land of the shamrock to America. James continued to reside on
the parental homestead in Henderson County until the death of his father and
mother, when, in the spring of 1877, he came to Hale Township, this county,
where he purchased a farm of 182 acres, on which he located with his family and
at once began the active labors of his vocation, when he has followed until the
present time. He also owns a farm of 175 acres in Henderson County, and, in
following the pursuit of his chosen vocation, is meeting with that success which
energy and perseverance are sure to bring.
April 24, 1877, Mr. Campbell formed a matrimonial alliance with
Nancy E., the accomplished daughter of John and Elizabeth (Younger) Williams.
John Williams’ father was also named John. He was a Virginian, and on his
paternal side was of English descent, while through his mother was of
Holland-Dutch ancestry. One of Mr. Williams’ uncles served in the War of 1812,
and the grandfather in the Revolutionary War. They were all farmers. John
Williams and wife came to the State in 1846, and the first four years lived in
Warren County, when they moved to Henderson County and lived until the spring of
1880, when, on account of old age, they sold out their property and now make
their home with their son-in-law, Mr. Campbell.
Mrs. Williams’ grandfather was Thomas Younger, a descendant of
Scotch ancestry, and was a soldier in the Revolutionary War, and also in the War
of 1812. His home was in Williamson co., Tenn., where he was engaged in farming,
and continued to reside there until his death. He was a native of South
Carolina, a Whig in politics and a member of the Baptist Church. His wife, Mary
Knowles, was of English descent. Her father, John Knowles, was a native of North
Carolina and a soldier in the Revolutionary War.
Mrs. Campbell’s parents were natives of Virginia and Tennessee
respectively and had nine children, of whom she was the youngest. She was born
in Henderson County, this State, June 6, 1857, and has borne her husband three
children—Ada M., Frank A., and John E. Frank A. died in infancy.
James Campbell became a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church in
October, 1868, since which time he has taken a prominent part in the work of his
congregation. He has been Steward every year since, excepting one, and a part of
the time as local and district Steward. He has also been superintendent of the
Sunday-school and for a time Class-Leader. In Greenville Township, Henderson
County, where he attends Church, he is Secretary of the township organization of
the American Bible Society.
In political matters, he has held the offices of Highway
Commissioner and Justice of the Peace. IN Politics, he votes with the Republican
George W. Claycomb
Supervisor of Monmouth, and a retired farmer living there, is a son of Frederick
and Mary Ann Claycomb. He was born in Breckenridge Co., Ky., Feb. 4, 1828, and
came with his parents to this State in 1836. He was brought up on his brother’s
farm and educated at the common schools.
At the age of 21 years Mr. Claycomb began business for himself. He
bought an 80 acre tract of land in Cold Brook Township and improved it. He then
traded it for a 120 acre tract in the same township, which he now owns and which
is occupied by his son; and from this comparatively small beginning he owns at
this writing (Oct. 18, 1885) one of the best farms in the county. It contains
about 415 acres and lies about eight miles northeast from Monmouth Court House.
He was united in marriage in Floyd Township, Dec. 17, 1851, with
Miss Sarah A. Godard, a native of Indian, and daughter of Francis Godard, one of
the pioneers of Warren County, wither he removed from Indiana at an early day.
He was a native of Kentucky and died at the age of 84 years. Mr. Claycomb
retired from active farming in 1882, and in April, 1885 was elected Supervisor.
Mr. and Mrs. Claycomb have had born to them four children—Laura e.
(Mrs. P. H. Shelton), Albert R., born Nov. 7, 1853, died aged seven years; Frank
E. and Alta M. The family belongs to the Christian Church, and Mr. Claycomb,
socially, is a member of the Order of Masonry.
An energetic and successful farmer of Lenox Township, residing upon
section 19, is a son of John C. and Polly
(Grimsley) Bond. A biography of the former is given elsewhere in this volume.
The Bonds came from Ireland with Lord Baltimore and settled in Maryland, in
1632, and from there were scattered throughout the South. Jesse W.
Bond, the grandfather of the subject of this notice, was born in South Carolina,
in 1777. When a small boy, his father’s family removed to Kentucky, in which
State his father was killed by Indians, leaving three children—Jesse W., Lucy
In 1798, Jesse W. bond, the eldest of the children, was married in
Overton Co., Tenn., to Miss Susannah Crane. She was born in Georgia, in 1777,
and of their union seven children were born—John Crane Bond, the father of the
subject of this notice; Benjamin, Joel, ruby, William B., Jesse W. and Nathan,
only two of whom are living, Nathan Bond, of Albany, Oregon, and
Mrs. Ruby Looney, of
Jesse W. Bond, the grandfather, removed to Jackson Co., Ala., in
1819. From there he went to Morgan Co., ILL., and in 1830, came to this county,
and here resided until his death, in 1842, the demise of his wife occurring in
1858. The grandparents are both buried on the old homestead, in the family
burial ground, Greenbush Township, where six generations of Bonds are resting.
The homestead at his death passed into the hands of Maj. John Crane bond, father
of the subject of this notice, whose biography we give, and when he died he left
it to his grandson, John Crane Bond, Jr., eldest son of the subject of this
Jesse Walton Bond was born in Jackson Co., Ala., Sept. 7, 1825. When
he was a year old, his parents moved to Morgan Co., ILL., and he was nine years
of age when he came with his parents to this county. His education was received
in the common schools, and he continued to reside with his parents until his
marriage. He lived in Greenbush Township until 1850, when he crossed the plains
to California in search of gold, where he remained two years, meeting with
partial success, when he returned for his family and soon afterward went back to
California. The following year, 1853, his wife died, and Jesse W. once more
returned to this county, but only remained a short time, when he went back to
California, the third time crossing the plains. He remained in the latter State
until 1862, when he returned to this county and two years later removed to Iowa,
and was there engaged in Agricultural pursuits until 1869. During that year, he
again came back to this county, and took charge of the Warren County Poor Farm,
on which he lived until March, 1885. Not desiring a reappointment, he removed to
his farm in Lenox Township, where he at present resides. He is the owner of 320
acres of land in Lenox Township, all of which is under an advanced state of
Mr. Bond, of this sketch, was first married in Swan Creek Township,
this county, Feb. 12, 1848, to Sarah E. Terry, who was born in Madison Co., ILL.
She was a daughter of George and Nancy G. (Stice) Terry, and bore him three
children—Edwina, Ellen S. and John C. Edwina is the wife of Dr. Randall, of
Greenbush Township. Ellen S. married Benjamin F. Reed, who resides in Swan
Township. John C. is engaged in farming in Greenbush Township. Mrs. Bond died in
Sacramento Co., Cal., Jan. 28, 1854, and Mr. Bond was again married in Greenbush
Township, Oct. 25, 1863, to Anna C. Harrah, daughter of John N. and Helen
(Wharton) Harrah. Her parents came to Warren County about 1860, and settled in
Greenbush Township, where they lived until about 1878, when they moved to
Sedalia, Mo. Mrs. Bond was born in Belmont co., Ohio, Feb. 25, 1835, and has
borne her husband three children—Sara Helen, Jesse Walton, Jr., and Anna J., who
resides at home. Mr. Bond is a member of the Masonic Order, and in politics, is
a supporter of the principles advocated by the Democratic party. His father and
grandfather were likewise members of the Democratic Party.
The Bonds are related directly to Gov. Walton, of Georgia, who was
one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence, and also to Shadrach
Bond, the first Governor of Illinois.
William G. Bond
A citizen of Monmouth, retired from active business, was born in
Jackson County, Ala., April 2, 1823, and is a son of
Major John C. and Mary (Grimsley) Bond, natives of Tennessee, who combined in
their make-up the blood of Celt and Teuton
The subject of this sketch accompanied his father to Warren County
in 1834, and grew to manhood upon the farm; in fact, he followed farming
uninterruptedly up to 1862, and left it only to join the army in defense of his
country. Aug. 26, 1862, Mr. Bond became Captain of Co. H, 83rd ILL.
Vol. Inf. In February, 1863, he was promoted to Major of the same regiment and
was in full command there from June, 1863, until he was mustered out of the
service, at Nashville, Tenn., June 23, 1865. His first battle was at
Garrettsburg, Ky., in November, 1862; his second, Fort Donnellson, February,
1863; next was with wheeler, along the Great Louisville & Nashville Railway, in
1864, where they were engaged everyday and sometimes twice a day for a month or
more; later on at Franklin and the six weeks’ fighting of that campaign. The
Major was twice wounded at Fort Donelson, once by a Minnie Ball and again by a
shell, both times in the leg, but neither proved serious. From February to
August, 1864, he was seriously ill from an attack of pneumonia, which seized him
at Nashville and left him at Clarksville. While at the latter place and before
sufficiently recovered to report to his command for duty, he acted as President
of the Military Course.
Leaving the regular service, he went into the Quartermaster’s
department at Fort Donnellson, and was there employed up to 1868, hunting up the
dead and depositing their remains in the National Cemetery at that place. From
here he entered the Revenue department and was employed as store-keeper on the
Cumberland River for two years, going thence into the secret service of the
Government, with headquarters at Clarksville, Tenn., up to 1873. IN January,
1874, he returned to Monmouth, and the following December received the
appointment of Deputy Sheriff, a position he filled for two years. His next and
last official duty was performed as Sheriff of Warren county, being elected to
that office three times in succession, namely: 1876-78 and ’80, closing his
services in 1882.
With such a record any man might be content to retire to private
life. Wherever Maj. Bond has been placed, either by force of circumstances or of
his volition, he has done his duty, and there is in neither his military nor
civil career any skeleton to haunt the closet of his prosperity. Maj. Bond was
first united in marriage in Joe Daviess County, this State, when about 22 years
of age, to Miss Elizabeth Henry, who died in 1863, while the Major was in the
army, and left four children—Clarissa Ann, Looney M., Jesse W. and George C. To
his present wife, Mrs. Mary E. Moore, nee Taylor, he was married at Dayton,
Ohio, in 1868.
Major Bond went into the army a Democrat, but came out a Republican.
He is a member of the Masonic fraternity and is an officer in the G. A .R., and
one of the respected and well-to-do citizens of Monmouth.
Harry G. Harding
One of the best known men in Warren County, and whose portrait is
given on the opposite page, resides on a fine place, in the suburbs of Monmouth.
He was born in Otsego Co., N. Y., Aug. 25, 1811, and was a son of Chancy and
Anna (Gates) Harding, natives of Connecticut and of old English descent. Nathan
Harding landed at Cape cod, in 1640, and from him sprang the Harding's of this
country. His grandson, Chancy Harding, named as the immediate ancestor of the
subject of this sketch, was born in Middle Haddam, Conn., Jan. 8, 1775, and died
at Iowa Falls, Dec. 11, 1876; his first wife, mother of H. G. Harding, was also
born at Middle Haddam, 11 years later than Chancy, and died while yet a young
woman, at Richfield, Otsego Co., N. Y., Nov. 3, 1794, and died at Iowa Falls, in
April, 1885. Thus it will be seen the families upon both sides have been
uniformly long lived. Chancy’s first marriage occurred at Chatham, Conn., and he
removed thence to Otsego County, N. Y., probably in 1809. From there he removed
to Iowa Falls, Iowa, after having buried his wife, who died April 6, 1819. She
bore him two sons, H. G., the eldest, and his brother, Chancy.
He was brought up to farming, an occupation he has claimed all his
life. The common schools of Otsego Co., N. Y., and an academy at Hamilton
supplied him a good education, and from 16 to 26 years of age he alternated the
seasons with farming and teaching. IN 1857, he came to Warren County, bought a
farm, now part of the city of Monmouth, laid a portion of it off as Clark’s
addition to the town, and later on, in 1859, he purchased a 40 acre tract in
connection with Gen. Harding and laid out Haley’s addition. At this writing
(October, 1885), he lives upon a part of his original purchase, owns several
hundred acres of the finest farms in the county, and has given his children a
handsome competency. He was one of the organizers of the Monmouth National Bank,
in 1870; was a director therein up to 1874; sold out, and, assisted by his
brother, Chancy, and others in January, 1875, organized the Second National Bank
of Monmouth, with which he is now connected as a director. Mr. Harding has long
been one of the wealthiest men of Warren County, and yet, aside from a few
hundreds inherited from his father, he has acquired it by his individual effort
Away back in 1844, before leaving New York, Mr. Harding was elected
to the State Legislature from Otsego County, but, to his credit, it must be
written that he was wise enough to profit by his first lessons and to steer
clear of such a fate in Illinois. The most the people to have been able to get
out of him, in the way of public service, has been to push him into an
aldermanship, and twice into the mayoralty. He has always been an ardent
Republican and during the war he was an active supporter of the cause of the
Union and good government.
After returning from the Legislature in New York, he resumed his
farming operations. He was soon thereafter elected Justice of the Peace, and
served the people in that capacity for several years. He was a member of the
Board of Education for about 15 years, during his residence in Otsego County,
and contributed to the best of his ability in fostering and encouraging general
education. He was also a member of the Board of Education in Monmouth for about
At the time of the laying out of what is known as Haley’s addition
to the city of Monmouth, in connection with General Harding, the lots were
divided and Mr. Harry G. Harding adopted what was then a new plan in this
Western country, in getting his property into market. This was by selling lot
and assisting many poor people to build small houses thereon, with the
understanding that they should become owners after complying with the specified
agreement. This was, that they should pay him a monthy installment of but little
more than ordinary rent. By this arrangement the prudent and economical mechanic
was enabled to secure a home. Mr. Harding in this way disposed of about 100
lots, at prices ranging from $150 to $300 each, and also contributed largely to
the building up of the city of Monmouth, as well as performing a most
commendable act towards his fellow townsmen and neighbors. Careful business
methods like these will naturally bring a fair financial return to their
projectors. Mr. Harding also furnished most of the lumber with which to
construct the dwelling, and in exceptional cases, where the man was very poor,
he furnished all the lumber and gave long time for payment.
May 17, 1838, he was married, at Exeter, N. Y., to Salinda Brainard,
a native of Otsego County, and daughter of Nathan Brainard. She died at Exeter,
Aug. 15, 1843, leaving tow sons—Delavan, who died soon after her, and De Lloyd.
On Nov, 17, 1844. Mr. Harding, at the same town, married Elvira C. Hubbard,
daughter of Seth and Lucy (Swan) Hubbard, and had born to him four children. Of
his children, De Lloyd, the eldest son, married Mary Bacon; they have one
daughter, Elvira, now a young lady, who has been educated at Knoxville. The son
resides near his parental home and owns a splendid farm of 225 acres, a mile
from the city limits. He is principally engaged in stock dealing and farming.
Fred E. was born Sept. 20, 1847, attended Monmouth College and completed his
business education at Schenectady, N. Y. He is now Cashier of the Second
National Bank of Monmouth. He was married to Lucy Nye, of that city. Frank W.
was born March 1, 1849, and was united in marriage with Nannie Davenport, of
Monmouth. They have three daughters. He was educated at Monmouth College and is
the Assistant Cashier of the Second National Bank, at Monmouth. Jennie I., born
Sept. 4, 1885, died Jun 2, 1861. Willie, the youngest, was born Oct. 22, 1857,
died Sept. 6, 1858.
Mr. Harding’s life has been devoted to the prosecution of his
business and the education of his children. He has ever been careful and
methodical in all his operations, and his courser has won the esteem and respect
of his neighbors. He is public-spirited and liberal, and any object having for
its aim the advancement of the material or moral development of Monmouth or
Warren County, finds in him an able and earnest supporter. We are pleased in
being able to present a portrait of this good and prominent citizen.
James W. Davidson
An attorney and counselor at law, residing at Monmouth, has
practiced at the Warren County Bar a greater number of years than any other man
now living. He was born in Barren County, Ky., Sept. 16, 1813, and was the third
of six sons bred and reared to manhood by Hezekiah and Eleanor (Wilson)
Davidson, natives of the States of North Carolina and Kentucky, and of Irish and
Scotch extraction respectively.
Hezekiah Davidson was a mechanic, and in his day was the most
extensive manufacturer of guns and cotton gins in the country where he resided.
He came to Warren County in 1831, and spent the rest of his life on his farm
near Monmouth, dying in 1841, in the sixty-eighth year of his age. His widow
survived him up to the winter of 1857-8.
Col, James W. Davidson was in his youth inured to the toils of farm
life, and also learned the trade of his father. He afterward acquired a thorough
academic education, teaching school two years in Logan and two years in Simpson
counties, Ky. He went to Mississippi and remained there about one year. He
returned to the old Kentucky home to find that the rest of the family had some
time before emigrated to the West. He had traveled from Brandon, Miss., to
Barren Co., Ky., on horseback, and without delay he pressed forward, and by the
same conveyance reached Monmouth. Remaining there but a short time, he returned
to Kentucky, and at Bowling Green, in the office of W. L. Underwood he taught
school in Simpson County, going thence to Logan County, Ky., where he taught
about two years. At Russellville, Ky., he finished his course of study with
lawyer Benjamin E. Gray, and was admitted to the Bar. He landed at Monmouth, May
10, 1839, and at once hung out his shingle as attorney-at-law.
Something of the confidence with which young Davidson inspired the
people in his abilities as a lawyer, may be surmised from the fact that before
the convening of the first term of Court after his arrival in Warren County,
Nov. 1839, he was entrusted with no less than 83 causes. When Court set,
however, his early ambition was doomed to disappointment. The cold November day
augmented the decline of his young, though invalid wife, and her condition
became at once so precarious as to forbid his absence from her bedside, and the
Court convened and adjourned regularly for more than two years without his
attendance. Not that his young wife yet required his attention, for before the
roses bloomed and while yet the new spring time was just warming into life the
little seeds that were to shoot forth the bright flowers and green grasses, Mary
E. (Wickware) Davidson, to whom he was married in Kentucky, Aug. 26, 1838,
yielded up her life, leaving to the care of her husband an only child, Thaddeus
C. Davidson now a business man at Kansas City, Mo.
Mr. Davidson has led the Democratic party of his district in two
heated campaigns for Congress, his last nomination being by acclamation at
Peoria, in the fall of 1858. In the first, he ran 1,271 votes ahead of Buchanan.
Senator Douglas publicly complimented him by saying, “his campaign was, under
all circumstances, the grandest he had ever witnessed.” In June, 1857, James
Buchanan appointed Mr. Davison United States Marshal for the Northern District
of Illinois, but because the influence of the office was not used against Mr.
Douglas, Davidson was soon afterward replaced.
At the request of the members of the Bar of his Judicial District,
Mr. Davidson ran for the Circuit Judgeship in 18--, but his Democracy was too
pronounced to carry a majority in a district so ultra radical, and previous to
the election he withdrew from the contest. In 1844, he was defeated by seven
votes for the Illinois Legislature. For 46 years Mr. Davidson has devoted his
time to the practice of law, and during the last decade has been ranked as the
Nestor of the Warren county Bar. Criminal causes have received so much of his
attention as to make it proper to say that that branch of his practice has been
April 4, 1843, Mr.
Davidson was marred to his second wife, Mary E. Coleman, a native of
Hopkinsville, Ky., who was born July 2, 1823.
The parents of Mrs. Davidson were James and Lucy O. (Hawkins)
Coleman. The father was of German extraction and the mother of Scotch. The
family of Mr. Coleman consisted of ten children, five brothers and five sisters.
The only survivors are Mrs. Davidson and one brother, William P. Coleman, who is
now a resident of Sacramento, California, President of a Sacramento bank, and an
influential citizen; and one sister, the wife of Dr. Huston, of Blandinsville,
McDonough Co., this State. One of Mrs. D.’s brothers, Stephen O. Coleman,
formerly of St. Louis, Mo., was a soldier in the Mexican war, and in the late
war was Captain of the St. Louis Grays and with his company served until near
the close f the war, and was killed at the battle of Wilson Creek, near
Of the nine children born to Mr. and Mrs. Davidson, we make the
following brief memoranda Rosalind O. and Cordelia A. died in infancy; Jessie P.
is now the wife of Mr. H. A. Webster; Lucy Ellen, is the widow of Frank Huff;
Harry died in infancy; Stephen Lee is a business man in Kansas city; Julius M.
resides at Monmouth; Kate married a Mr. Johnson; and Pearlie was united in
marriage to a Mr. Montgomery.
Owing 260 acres of land in Berwick Township, 80 acres of which is
under an advanced state of cultivation, and residing upon section 11, of the
township named, was born in Knox Co., this State, Oct. 2, 1845, and is a son of
John Dawdy, a native of Kentucky, where he was born in 1798. The father was one
of the pioneer settlers of Illinois, coming to this State in 1828, and locating
in Knox County; he died in 1874. His marriage occurred in 1834, in this State,
at which time Miss Tobitha Boydson became his wife. She was born in 1809, in
Kentucky, and is still a resident of Knox County, this State. Of her union with
Mr. Dawdy, ten children were born, named Benjamin M., Eliza, Emily, Malinda,
William H., Jacob W., Alexander C. and Sarah E.
The gentleman whose name stands at the head of his notice was
married to Miss Amanda J. Howard, Jan. 3, 1871. She was born Oct. 28, 1852, and
is a daughter of Nathan Howard, who was born in 1826, in Kentucky, and came to
this State in 1855, locating in Warren County. Her father married Miss Martha
Hood, and they had nine children, viz.; Lucinda E., Isaac S., Amanda J., Mary
C., Sarah A, Joseph, Cora A., Rosa B. and John E., twins.
Mr. and Mrs. Dawdy, of this sketch, are the parents of six children;
Della M., born in 1873; Jessie V, in 1874; Daisy D, in 1875; George W., in 1877;
Perley E., in 1881, and Bertha R., in 1883 Mr. Dawdy is pleasantly located and
has a good residence. He is turning his attention to the raising of cattle, his
specialty being the Short-horns. He is also dealing in Poland-China hogs, and is
meeting with success in both his farming and breeding interest.
Socially, he is a member of the A. F. & A. M., to which order he has
belonged for the last 12 years. In politics, he is a Democrat.
From an early history of Greene County, Ind., we get the following
facts of the Dixson family; Eli Dixson, who is the father of Mrs. Jemima
Disxon’s husband, referred to elsewhere in this work, was a son of Solomon and
Sarah Dixson and was born in 1769, in Virginia, near the Blue Ridge mountains,.
He emigrated to Georgia, where, near the city of Augusta; he married Rebecca
Hart, in 1799, and moved to Preble County, Ohio, in 1806, settling in what is
now called Dixson Township, being the first to settle in that township. He
remained there about twelve years, during which time he cleared a farm and
exercised a prominent influence in the settling of the neighborhood. He removed
to Greene co., Ind., in 1818, and settled in Smith Township, where he improved a
farm. He was noted for his liberality and benevolence in helping such as were
not able to help themselves. He served two terms in the State Legislature, from
Green, Owen and Putnam counties. He died respected by all who knew him, March 9,
1836. He had six brothers and three sisters, viz.; Samuel, John, Joseph, Henry,
Solomon Stephen Ruth, Sarah and Elizabeth. Sam’l Dixson died in Green co., Ind.,
Aug. 30, 1850, aged 53 years. John Dixson was drowned in the Ohio River, near
Shawneetown. Joseph Dixson died at this residence, in Greene Co., Ind. Henry
Dixson died in Tennessee. Solomon Dixson was born Oct. 4, 1771, died Oct. 8,
1824, in Greene Co., Ind. Henry Dixson died in Tennessee. Solomon Dixson was
born Oct. 4, 1771, died Oct. 8, 1824, in Greene Co., Ind. Stephen Dixson was
killed by the Indians, near Terre Haute, Ind., during the war of 1812.
Rebecca, the wife of Eli Dixson, was the daughter of Isaac and
Hester Hart, and was born near Augusta, Ga., Sept. 2, 1779, and died Oct. 1,
1852. She had four brothers, viz.; William, Isaac, Thomas and Phineas; and two
half-brothers, viz.: Amos and Jerry Greene; and one half-sister, who married a
Mr. Jones. Her brother, William, died in Georgia; Isaac and Thomas died in
Preble co., Ohio, and Phineas in Peoria Co., ILL. Her half-brothers, sister and
mother emigrated to Michigan at an early day.
Eli and Rebecca Dixson's family consisted of eight sons and three
daughters, viz.: Samuel, Sarah, Solomon, Elizabeth, Rebecca, Eli, Stephen, John,
Phineas, William and Prior. Samuel was born June 22, 1800, died Dec. 17, 1844;
Sarah (Johnston) born Aug. 27, 1801, died April 29, 1839; Solomon, born June 21,
1803, died June 20, 1851; Elizabeth, died in infancy; Rebecca (Johnston), born
Oct. 24, 1807, died June 27, 1834; Prior, born Nov. 15, 1809, died Sept. 10,
1850; Eli, born May 5, 1811, died Oct. 27, 1857; Stephen, born Dec 21, 1814,
died March 1, 1879; William, born 1822, died Feb. 9, 1870. John Dixson was born
in 1816. He, being the only survivor of the family, still resides in Green Co.,
In.; Samuel, Solomon, Eli and Rebecca (seniors), Samuel, Solomon, Sarah, Rebecca
Prior, Phineas, Eli, and William all being buried in the Dixson graveyard, in
Greene Co., Ind.
Mrs. Jemima Dixson, of Point Pleasant Township, is a settler of
Warren County of 1858. She came here after the death of her husband with her
four children, and located in the same township in which she is still living.
She was born in Bath Co., Ky., Jan. 28, 1817, and is the daughter of Drury B.
and Elizabeth (Hurd) Boyd, of whom an account is given on another page in this
volume. The latter removed toPulaski Co., Ky., when his daughter, Mrs. Dixson,
was a child of five years. The family was transferred to Green Co., Ind., in
1825, when she was eight years of age. There she passed the remaining years of
her youth, and was married, March 12, 1840, to Eli Dixson. He was born in Preble
Co., Ohio, and was the son of Eli and Rebecca (Hart) Dixson, mentioned above. At
the time of their marriage, they settled on a farm, which he had purchased in
Smith Township, in White River Bottom, in Green Co., in the State of Indiana.
Mr. Dixson was a man of excellent character and a successful farmer.
He improved and added to his acreage to a considerable extent. He resided on the
same place until 1850, when he came to Illinois to prospect. In 1855, he came
again, and at that time to Warren County. He decided to make an investment here,
and he accordingly bought unimproved land in Point Pleasant Township. He
returned to the farm in Indiana with every intention of removing his family to
Illinois and of settling on the land he had bough. In 1857 he was engaged in
making the necessary arrangements for a transfer of his interests, and in the
midst of t his operations, with that end in view, he was taken sick and died,
Oct. 27, of that year. His widow rented the Indian farm the following year and
removed to Illinois. Her father and other relatives had located in Warren
county, and she joined them, settling on section 12, in Point Pleasant Township.
The farm on which she took up her residence was at the time unimproved, but that
has all been changed, and the place is in a splendid condition for prosperous
management. Mrs. Dixson and her children are still the owners of the property in
To her and her husband five children were born. The oldest, Samuel
B., was born Jan. 10, 1841. He married Jennie C. Davis, April 14, 1870, and they
had one child, Bertha. He died Aug. 14, 1874, in Point Pleasant Township, where
he had lived and managed the family farm up to that time. His widow and daughter
reside in Burlington, Iowa. Elizabeth, the eldest daughter of Mrs. Dixson, was
born Aug. 16, 1842, and died in her infancy. Rebecca was born May 1, 1845, and
died March 30, 1862. Mary E. the only daughter now living, was born April 13,
1849, and is the wife of Lambert Lester, of this township. Eli is the youngest
child and is the only surviving son. He was born in Jefferson Township, Greene
County, Ind., Jan. 8, 1853, and was five years old when he accompanied his
mother to Illinois, where he has since lived. He was educated in the common
schools primarily and afterwards attended Abingdon College (Knox County) two
years. Later, he went to the commercial College, at Monmouth. He is a farmer and
a citizen of prominence, and is one of the Directors in the Roseville Union
Bank. He is a member of the Masonic Lodge at Roseville. The farm of which he and
his mother are the joint owners contains 560 acres and is one of the finest and
most valuable places in the township. He is also part owner of the Indian
Is a farmer on section 34, in the township of North Henderson,
Mercer County, ILL., his farm lying on the line between Mercer and Warren
Counties. He was born Feb. 15, 1832, in Rush Co., Ind., and is the son of
Alexander Edelman, who was a pioneer of Knox Co., ILL. The grandparents of Mr.
Edelman were natives of Germany. The latter was born in Tennessee, in 1801, and
accompanied the family of his father to Kentucky when a youth. Thence they went
to Indiana, where he was a resident through the remainder of his early life and
was there married to Mary Heflin. Her great-grandfather Heflin was a soldier in
the war of the Revolution, and his daughter lived until a few years ago, when
she died, at the age of 95 years. The wife was a native of the State of
Kentucky, and the newly married people lived in Rush County until 1840. In that
year they came, with the four children which had been born to them, to Illinois.
They traveled with ox-teams and covered wagons and brought with them all their
household belongings. They made their first location on the prairie, in the
township of Rio, in Knox County. A log house was constructed for the
accommodation of the family and it was the homestead 14 years. The father then
sold the claim and came to Warren County and settled in Kelly Township. He
bought a quarter-section (of section 2), resided there a few years, and went
thence to Union County, in this State in the spring of 1860, where his life
terminate. The death of his wife preceded his own by several years. They were
the parents of seven children. Lewis G. lives in Willamette, Co., Oregon;
Leonard W. is the next in order of birth of the survivors; James A. lives at
Snake River, Idaho; Elizabeth resides with her brother, the subject of this
record. These are the surviving children of Alexander and Mary Edelman. Rachael
A., one of the daughters, married Samuel Smith in October, 1854, and died in
March, 1856. Leonard W. came to Knox County with his parents in 1840, and was a
resident there with them through his youth. He was reared on the farm and
attended the common schools as a pupil. When he was 14, his mother died and he
remained with his father until he was of age. He had become infected with the
Western fever to such an extent that when he found himself at liberty to engage
with the world in in a single-handed contest, he connected himself with a party
to go to the Pacific coast. The company set forth April 5, 1853, to cross the
country, and Mr. Edelman drove an ox-team the entire distance from Warren County
to the valley of the Willamette, in Oregon. He arrived there in September, after
a journey of five months. He slept on the ground every night while on the road.
After crossing the Missouri River, the party cast lots for the choice of a
sentinel to guard the camp from Indians, and the lot fell to him. When he
located in Oregon, he settled on a piece of land, of which he was the occupant
four years and six months. He made some improvements and fenced a portion of the
property, and while he held possession of it was a part of the time at work in
the mountains. In 1858 Mr. Edelman set out to return to his former home in
Illinois. He came by way of Panama and New York, landing in May, of the same
year. On Aug. 26, 1858, he was married to Lydia J. Miller. Mrs. Edelman is the
daughter of Christian and Mary (Brown) Miller. They passed the first year after
their marriage on the farm of her father, and the year succeeding was devoted to
the care of a rented farm. In 1861 Mr. Edelman purchased 40 acres of land in the
township in which he now lives. He paid one-half of the purchase money in
obtaining a title to his property and on the remainder paid 25 per cent.
Interest. In 1864 he bought 100 acres on section 33, in the same township, and
removed his family to the newly acquired farm. He has added to his acreage by
later purchase and is at present the owner of 280 acres in North Henderson
Township and of 80 acres in Kelly Township, in Warren County. The latter is
situated just across the line of the two counties. All the land belonging to Mr.
Edelman is in first class agricultural condition. It is equipped in the best
possible manner for the business of a successful farmer. Mr. Edelman is giving
his attention to mixed husbandry, and raises cattle of an excellent grade. The
farm residence of the family is on section 34, of North Henderson Township, on
the county line, and a view of it is given in this Album on page 428.
The record of the births of the children of the Edelman household is
as follows: George W., Au. 15, 1864; Frank M., April 4, 1867; Alfred A., Oct. 3,
1869; Eddie L., June 8, 1872; Ida M., Sept. 1, 1874; Lotta D., March 10, 1878.
Mary E., the first born child, was born July 7, 1859, and died Dec. 30, 1863;
Ella E., born Sept. 18, 1861, died Feb. 18, 1864. Politically, Mr. Edelman is a
Democrat. He is not a member of any church organization.
JOSHUA PORTER, now
deceased, was a pioneer of Warren County of 1835. He was born in Athens,
Windham Co., Vt., in 1803. He was the son of a farmer and passed his youth and
grew to manhood in the county where he was born. The years of his boyhood were
spent in the school-room and aiding in the labors of the farm.
He was married there to Mary Tinkham, Dec. 10,
1831, who was also a native of the same county. Mr. Porter, after his marriage,
returned, to the State of New York, locating near Schenectady, where he lived
until the year in which he became one of the early settlers in this portion of
the State of Illinois. He, with his wife, crossed the intervening country with
a horse team and brought with them their only child, Mary C., now the wife of W.
J. Miller. Their experiences on the route were similar to those that have been
so often related in the accounts of those who set out with all the paraphernalia
of housekeeping with them in their wagons and who kept up the routine of
domestic duties on the road. Their first year in Warren County was passed at
Center Grove, near Kirkwood, and in 1836 they settled in the township of Spring
Grove, where they made a permanent location. Mr. Porter entered a claim on the
southeast quarter of section 26, where he built a log house for the
accommodation of his household, which was constructed in the manner common with
the settlers in a new country, where all the appurtenances of modern carpentry
were lacking. Mr. Porter rived clapboards from logs for covering the roof of
his cabin, but in this the family found comfort, health and contentment. Later,
when prosperous times warranted, Mr. Porter erected more commodious and
convenient buildings for the abode of the household and for farming purposes.
He improved the entire acreage and lived upon the estate until his death, which
event transpired Sept. 5, 1874. His wife survived until April 10, 1881. The
following is the record of their seven children: Mary C. is the wife of William
Jackson Miller, of Spring Grove Township. Ann M. is married to John Frantz, a
sketch of whom is given in another part of this work. William E. lives in
Spring Grove Township, as does Thatcher J. M. Constance is the wife of Elias
Smith, also of Spring Grove Township. Alice is the wife of Edwin R. Rose, of
Kelly Township. Albert resides in Spring Grove Township and is the twin-brother
of the sister last named. His residence is on the old Porter homestead. The
children are all living and are honored and respected members of society.
Thatcher J. the second son of Joshua and Mary
(Tinkham) Porter, was born in Spring Grove Tp., July 25, 1841. He grew to
manhood in that township and attended the common schools of the neighborhood.
He was just 20 when the Civil War broke out, and in its second year he entered
the service of his country to defend the old flag and the integrity of the
Union. In the fall of 1862 he enlisted in Company B, 102d Ill. Vol. Inf., and
continued in the military service until March, 1863. He received his discharge
on account of disability, and returned to his home. He passed the first year
after his return in seeking to restore his health, and in 1865 began the work of
improvement of the farm upon which he has since lived. It is situated on the
northeast quarter of section 26, in the township of Spring Grove. When it
became his property a log house had been built on the place and in this his
family resided a few years, or until time and circumstances permitted the
construction of a more suitable and satisfactory structure. The estate of Mr.
Porter contains 360 acres and is all under improvement and enclosed. It
comprises the varieties of land which make a farm in Illinois valuable and
desirable. There is a grove of native timber of about 50 acres on the place;
most of the place, however, is prairie land.
A view of his present residence
and farm buildings are shown on page 332.
The marriage of Mr. Porter to Kate E. McCoy
took place Dec. 1, 1864. She was born in Washington Co., Pa., and is the
daughter of Thomas and Margaret (Newland) McCoy. Thomas McCoy was a native of
Washington Co., Penn., and was born Dec. 6, 1803. He was of Scotch parentage,
Angus and Catherine (Monroe) McCoy, his father and mother, both having come from
Scotland. They settled in Pennsylvania, where they were married. Thomas McCoy
grew to manhood in Washington County, where he was married, and where he was
engaged in farming. In the spring of 1854, he came to Warren County, first
locating in Sumner Township. He remained here, however, but about three months,
when he bought a farm on section 27, Spring Grove Township, where he lived until
his death, which occurred Sept. 19, 1873. His widow is still living and resides
on the old homestead with her son, Angus. They had a family of four children,
Mary and John M., the eldest, two both died when they were just blooming into
manhood and womanhood. Angus and Mrs. Porter are the other two. Mr. and Mrs.
McCoy, after coming to Warren County, connected themselves with the United
Presbyterian Church. Subsequently, Mrs. McCoy became a member of the Christian
Church. In politics the elder McCoy was a life-long Democrat.
The children of Mr. and Mrs. Porter are three
in number and are named Ada F., Alvin A. and T. Lee. The parents are giving
their children the benefits of a good education, affording them far greater
advantages in this respect than either of them ever enjoyed. Politically, Mr.
Porter is a Democrat. He is an excellent citizen and is considered a leading
farmer of the county. His place is justly rated as one of the most valuable in
Warren County. Portrait and Biographical Album of Warren County,
Illinois (1886), Chapman Brothers of Chicago, p. 333 – 334. typed by Carol