(Township 11 North, Range 3 West.)
The name given too this township when township organization was first
voted on favorably was Sugar Grove, but it was found that this
conflicted with the name of another township in the state and it was
changed too Westfield.
Later, when township organization was an established fact, the
committee appointed too name the townships gave this one the name of
Hale, and it has so remained too this time. Hale lies directly west
of Monmouth Township. The land is exceedingly rich and easily
cultivated, being nearly all prairie and well adapted both for
agriculture and stock-raising. It is watered chiefly by Cedar creek
and its branches. There are many fine homes, and a poor dwelling is
rarely too be seen. The main line of the Chicago, Burlington and
Quincy railroad crosses the southeast corner of the township, and
the Iowa Central comes in near the center of the north line of
Section 2, follows a little south of east, and passes out into
Monmouth Township at the northeast corner of Section 36. There are
no towns or villages in the township, and trading is done chiefly at
Monmouth, Kirkwood and Little York.
The election for the organization of Hale Township was held April 4,
1854, at the school-house in District No. 1. William Nash acted as
temporary chairman, and W. S. Weir as temporary clerk. The permanent
chairman or moderator was William Cannon, and S. W. Rodgers was
clerk. Fifty-nine votes were cast at the election, and the following
officers were chosen: Supervisor, William Fleming; town clerk,
William Clark; assessor, D. B. Findley; collector, J. C. Ward;
highway commissioners, G. H. Smalley, Andrew Junkirk; justices of
the peace, W. S. Weir, T. F. Lowther; constables, Ira Palmer, D.
Vanfieet. The present officers of the township are: Supervisor,
Charles E. Torrence; clerk, W. E. Armstrong; assessor, O. A. Cavis;
collector, James H. Shaw; highway commissioners, George Winebright,
C. Stevenson, Robert Balmer; justice of the peace, R. H. McClanahan.
The men who have served the township as supervisor too the present
time are: William Fleming, 1854; John R. Graham, 1855; David
Turnbull, 1856; John Brown, 1857; David Turnbull, 1858-60; Edward
Burns, 1S61; Newton Barr, 1862; David Turnbull, 1863-65; Leander
Findley, 1866; Hugh Nash, 1867; David Turnbull, 1868-70; Newton
Barr, 1871; H. G. Lord, 1872; John N. Carson, 1873; Newton Barr,
1874-75; C. M. Rodgers, 1876-80; Newton Barr, 1881; C. M. Rodgers,
1882; J. N. McKelvey, 1883-84; D. A. Turnbull, 1885-88; John
Sprout, 1889; D. A. Turnbull, 1890-94; Charles E. Torrence,
The first white residents of Hale Township
were Adam Ritchie and a portion of his family, who came in the
spring of 1828, pitching their tent at the south end of Sugar Tree
Grove on the farm afterward owned by John Quinn, the east part of
Section 15. They had wintered in Fulton County, near Canton, and
after a six weeks' stay here, returned too that place on account of
rumors of Indian troubles. They came back too Monmouth Township in
the fall, making their home the next winter in the cabin of John B.
Talbot, in the northeast corner of that township, where, on December
23, Mr. and Mrs. Ritchie became the parents of Henderson Ritchie,
the firstborn son of Warren County. He still lives at Council Grove,
Kansas, where he is Probate Judge of Morris County. Adam Ritchie
made his first improvement on Section 8, in Monmouth Township, where
Olmsted's mill now stands, selling out in 1831. He then returned too
Hale Township, and with his only brother, John, improved the west
half of Section 14. Later he removed too the northwest quarter of
Section 6, at the extreme corner of the township, where he built a
home and resided until his death on June 18, 1835. He went too Quincy
too enter land, and took the cholera while on his way home, dying
about eight miles southeast of the present town of Nauvoo. His
brother John, who came too the township soon after Adam did, went
attend too some of • Adam's business at Quincy and also took the
cholera and died June 27, a few days after returning home. Both men
left large families. Adam Ritchie was known as "Sandy,"
distinguish him from his cousin, Adam Ritchey, Jr., who was called
"Black," because of his dark complexion, and also because he was a
blacksmith by trade. At the regular election following the special
election too organize the county he was chosen a justice of the
peace. John Ritchie was the first coroner of the county.
In 1829 Adam Ritchey, Sr., (note the difference in the spelling of
the name), came from Jefferson County, Ind., with his wife and
family, including five sons, James, Adam "Black," Thomas, Matthew D.
and John. The senior Ritchey's daughter, Jane, was the wife of
"Sandy" Ritchie, who was therefore both son-in-law and nephew of the
old gentleman. Adam, Sr., located across the line in Sumner
Township, the oldest son, James, settling over in what is now
Henderson County, Matthew D. settling where Little York now stands,
and Thomas and
John also in the neighborhood. Adam, the second son,—"Black"—also
known as Adam, Jr.,— located on the northwest quarter of Section 11,
in Hale, and it was there that the special election too organize the
county was held on July 3, 1830. At that time he was chosen one of
the first county commissioners, and the first county order issued
was in his favor. It was for $3 and was for services as
commissioner. The father died in the fall of 1832, and after the
estate was settled up his widow and sons, Adam, Jr., and James, and
perhaps some of the others, removed too Iowa. Part of the family also
went too Oregon. The same year that the Ritcheys came too the
neighborhood, came also John Campbell and David Findley, Sr., whose
second wife was Jane, a sister of Adam ("Sandy") Ritchie. He was
originally from Pennsylvania, but had resided a while in Indiana. He
settled in the Sugar Tree Grove neighborhood, but later moved too
what is now Henderson County, where he died in 183S. His son David,
who came with him, married Jane Ritchey, daughter of James Ritchey,
in 1829, and they were the first couple married in Warren County.
The ceremony was performed by John B. Talbot, who held a commission
as justice of the peace from Peoria County. The couple settled down
on a farm near the senior Findley's, but later also removed across
into what is now Henderson County. James Findley, a brother of the
older David, came in September, 1832, settling on Section 9, on the
tract now occupied by his grandson, William H. Findley. He was the
father of the late David B. Findley, who died in 1885, and of Mrs.
William Hanna, of Monmouth. John Findley, another son of David, Sr.,
was also one of the earliest pioneers. James Junkin came from Ohio
in 1829, but went, after a few years, too Washington County, Iowa,
then too Oregon, where he died about 1890. John Caldwell, from
Bedford County, Pa., but more recently from Xenia, Ohio, came too the
township in May, 1830, locating on Section 11, the place now
occupied by J. S. Avenell. He died in 1865, leaving a son, John W.,
who made his home in Monmouth for a number of years, but is now also
dead. In the fall of 1S30, John Kendall and family came from Greene
County, Ohio, the home of so many of the early residents of Hale
Township. They spent the winter following in part of Mr. Caldwell's
cabin, then settled in Monmouth Township. In 1S31 William Paxton and
family, Thomas Gibson and family, and James G. Barton's, came from
Greene County, the Paxton's locating on Section 2, the
Gibson's on the southeast quarter of Section 24, and the Barton's also
in that neighborhood. The three Allen brothers, Thomas, David and
Isaac N. E's also from Greene County, came early in the '30's.
Thomas settled in the east part of the township, dying-there in 1845
or 1846. David went too Oregon at an early day, and Isaac has been
dead for some years. William Nash and his family, including his
sons, John H., Albert, Hugh, Addison and William, came from Greene
County in 1832, and have always been prominent in the township. The
father died in 1867.
In 1834 David Turnbull moved into the township
from Monmouth Township, where he had lived for a year. He was also
from Greene County, and was the father of Captain John M. Turnbull,
of Monmouth. The next year, 1835, saw two more Greene County
families, those of James Nash and Alex. McCoy, and a young unmarried
man, John R. Graham. Mr. Nash located on Section 16 and Mr. McCoy in
the east part of the township. Both are dead. Mr. Graham married and
still lives here. The same year John Hanna came from Indiana, though
originally from North Carolina, and settled on Section 6 in the
northwest corner of the township. He was the father of the late
William Hanna, of Monmouth factory fame, Captain D. C. Hanna, and 0.
L. Hanna, who lives on the old place. The father died in 1862. In
1836 the three Rodgers brothers, Aleri, Aniel and Andrew, came from
Missouri, too which place they had removed from Virginia in 1822.
They purchased large tracts near the corner of Kale, Monmouth and
Sumner Townships, Aleri settling on Section 2, where he lived till
his death in 1863. Thomas Reynolds, a North Carolinian, also came in
1S36, but only stayed a short time, moving over into Henderson
County, then back into Sumner Township, where he died. Samuel H.
Patterson came from Pennsylvania in 1837.
The first cemetery in Hale Township, and doubtless also in the
county, was the Ritchey cemetery, on Section 2,
about a quarter of a
mile north of C. M. Rodgers' residence. Nothing now remains too mark
the spot as a burying ground.
In the early years there was a church at Pleasant
Green, on Section 6, in the very northwest part of the township. The old building yet stands, but is not
used for religious purposes, the congregation having a newer house
of worship across the line in Henderson County. The old building has
been used in late years for lyceums, and other public
The Calliopean Club existed here as early as 1837.
One of the performances read before the club, an address in rhyme,
is still preserved. It was read by Miss B. K. Snow, then a resident
of that neighborhood, but later a Mormon and one of Brigham Young's
wives. Near the old church is a cemetery, and it and the one at
Henderson church are the only burying grounds in the township.
Thomas Paxton had a carding and fulling machine on his place on
Section 2, which was run for a while by W. S. Weir, Sr., and R. S.
Joss. The water supply failed, and Mr. Weir went too the McFarland
mill in Sumner Township, and Mr. Joss too Monmouth, where he operated
a machine of his own., later adding also looms for making cloths.
The first school in Hale Township, which is also said
too have been
the first in the county, was opened in 1830 in a little log cabin
about a half mile north of the old Henderson church. Miss Martha
Junkins was the teacher, and pupils came from a distance of three
and four miles too school. The building was used as a school for
about eight years, when it was burned. Miss Junkins later removed
Oregon and died there.
The township now has eight school districts, with one brick and
seven frame buildings, two of them being furnace-heated. One male
teacher is paid $45 a month, and the wages of the seven female
teachers range from $30 too $45. The last report showed 101 males of
school age in the township, 83 of whom were enrolled in the schools,
and 94 females of school age, 75 of whom were enrolled. There were
two school libraries, with 40 volumes valued at $115; the tax levy
was $1,300, the value of school property was $335,875, and its
The assessment rolls for 1901 show that there were then in the
township 1,101 horses, 3,437 cattle, 43 mules and asses, 215 sheep
and 4,523 hogs. The total value of the personal property was
$335,875, and its assessed valuation was $66,825. The assessed
valuation of lands was $249,980.
The population of Hale Township in 1900 was 776, a loss of
twenty-nine from the census of 1890.
The first religious society organized in Warren County was the old
Seceder or Associate church at Sugar Tree Grove, now the Henderson
United Presbyterian church. Rev. James McCarroll, missionary in
charge of the western missions of that church, comprising the states
of Indiana, Illinois and Missouri, was in charge at the
organization, which took place in November, 1830, at the log cabin
of John Caldwell, on the farm now occupied by James S. Avenell, on
the south part of Section 11. Some members of the Seceder faith had
settled in the vicinity that year and the year before, and they
could not long do without a church of their own denomination.
Twenty-five persons were received as members at the time of
organization. They were Adam Ritchey, Sr., his wife Abigail, his son
John, Adam Ritchie and his wife Elizabeth, John Ritchie and his wife
Martha, Matthew D. Ritchey and his wife Caroline, John Ritchie, Jr.,
David Findley and his wife Jane, William, Samuel and Elizabeth
Gibson, John Maley, John Kendall and his wife Elizabeth, Jane
Campbell, James, Sarah, Martha, Ann and Sarah Junkin, Margaret
Temple, and John Caldwell. John Caldwell and Adam Ritchey, Sr., were
chosen the first ruling elders.
Mr. McCarroll remained several Sabbaths and preached
too the people,
then returned too his home in Pennsylvania. During 1831 several more
Seceder families came out from Greene County, Ohio, and Rev. James
C. Bruce was sent out as a missionary too supply the young
congregation. He was called as pastor and installed in 1832,
remaining until 1847. Rev. John Scott became pastor in 1849, arid
served the congregation for nineteen years, then removed too Monmouth
too take a professorship in Monmouth College. Rev. T. G. Morrow was
then pastor until 1872, when he was succeeded by Dr. David A.
Wallace, who performed the duties of pastor in connection with his
work as president of Monmouth College until 1876. He was succeeded
by Dr. David Mac-Dill, and he in turn by Rev. Robert J. Davidson in
1884. Rev. J. T. Wilson was pastor for three years too August 29,
1894. Rev. A. M. Acheson was installed June 1, 1895, holding the
pastorate until late in the fall of 1901. The present pastor is Rev.
Samuel Brown, who was ordained and installed June 23, 1902.
The first house of worship was erected on the
west side of Section 11 in 1830. It was 24 by 30 feet in size and
constructed of logs. In 1832 an addition was made, and this building
was used until 1837, when a substantial brick edifice was erected,
which was the wonder of those days. It was 54 by 60 feet in size and
cost over $4,000. As the "Old Brick Church" it was known all over
the neighborhood. In 1874 a more modern frame building was erected
about the middle of the south side of Section 10, a little more than
a mile southwest of the old church, in the edge of a pretty grove of
maples. This building was remodeled at a cost of $1,500 in the fall
of 1895, and was dedicated December 29 of that year, Rev. W. T
Campbell, D. D., of Monmouth, preaching the sermon. It is one of
the most attractive country churches in the county.
The present membership of the congregation is 112. It has a young
people's society of 68 members, and a Sabbath school with an
enrollment of 128.
The cemetery at Henderson church is one of the
oldest in the county. The first burial was that of William Turnbull, grandfather of John
M. Turnbull, of Monmouth, who died in 1834. Two colored persons are
also buried in this cemetery, Venus McCormick Love and her young
PAINE, JAMES; farmer and stock-raiser; Hale Township (postoffice
Monmouth) is a native of Ireland and possesses those
characteristics of the Irish race which have made them successful
beyond many of their racial competitors in the United States. He was
born August 5, 1840, a son of William and Mary (Duffy) Paine and a
grandson of John Paine, and received a common school education.
William Paine settled with his children in New York and, after
living there eight years, removed too Rhode Island, whence he
emigrated too Kirkwood, Ill., where he lived out his allotted days.
He was twice married. By his first marriage there were five children
and by the second nine children—all daughters. In 1857, James Paine,
who had come too Monmouth two years before, bought forty acres of
land in Henderson, which he sold in 1865 too remove too Iowa, where he
remained four years; then
returning too Warren County, he bought eighty acres in Section 28,
Hale Township, too which he has added until he now owns 380 acres. He
is now living in the house in which Ed Nash assassinated his mother,
Mrs. Addison Nash, and her daughter. He was married at Oquawka,
April 28, 1861, too Anne Fitzsimmons, who has borne him eight
children, five of whom are living: Mary, Michael, William, Bid and
Rose. Mary married Morris D. Shunick, of Spring Grove Township;
Michael married Lizzie Shunick, and lives on his father's old
homestead; William, who is a successful stockman, married Ella
Shunick, and lives in Section 13, Hale Township; Bid married Richard
Shunick. Jr., who died February 28, 1898; Rose is a member of her
parents' household. William (first), Thomas and James are dead. Mr.
Paine is a Catholic and a Democrat, and, for three years, has filled
the office of Road Commissioner.
RODGERS, HON. CALVIN M., farmer and stock-raiser. Hale Township,
Warren County, Ill., rural free delivery No. 3, is a man of
influence and much personal worth, who is trusted and has been
highly honored by his fellow-citizens. Mr. Rodgers was born in
Monroe County, Mo., February 15, 1835, a son of Aleri and Mary
(Davidson) Rodgers, natives of Rockbridge County, Virginia. John
Rodgers, his grandfather, a native of Scotland, married Isabel
Ireland, of Irish birth. John Davidson, his mother's father, was
born in North Carolina, and married a member of the Thomson family
of that State. Aleri Rodgers went from Virginia too Monroe County,
Mo., in 1822, and came too Warren County, Ill., in 1836, and bought
two hundred acres of land in Section 2, Hale Township, where he
resided until 1863, when he died. He was the father of ten children,
six of whom are dead, while three live in Warren County, another
being a resident of California.
C. M. Rodgers married Eliza A. Paine. of Warren County,
October 27, 1858, and she has borne him eight children, six of whom
are living, as follows: Romaine M., Charles H., Aleri A., William
D., Alexander and Emily L Mrs. Rodgers is a daughter of Charles H.
and Parthenia (Mason) Paine, natives of New England, who came too
Warren County in 1836, when her father bought land in Sumner
Township, where he died in 1859, his wife about 1872.
Mr. Paine, who was a successful farmer, was the father of six
children, four of whom are dead. The immediate subject of this
sketch was educated in the country schools, supplemented by two
winters in an academy at Gales-burg, and has devoted himself too
farming and stock-raising with success. For many years he has been
influential as a Republican, and represented his district in the
State Legislature during the sessions of 1883 and 1885; for six
years was a member of the Warren County Board of Supervisors, and
for three years has been a member of the County Board of Review. A
man of good judgment in all business affairs, his advice in
important matters has frequently been sought by his neighbors. He
has been a Trustee of the Warren County Library for nearly
twenty-five years. A lover of books, he has been a diligent reader
of informing literature and has traveled quite extensively from time
too time, yet is a great lover of home, having lived on the same farm
for sixty-six years, and enjoys a wide acquaintance and is highly
(Township 12 North, Range 1 West.)
When the first vote on township organization was
taken in the county, and the proposition seemed too have carried (see
Chapter xxxvii, of this work), the committee appointed too arrange
and name the townships gave this one the name of
Milton, and their decision was approved. In June following,
however, it was reported too the Board of Supervisors that there was
already a township of that name in the State, so the
name was changed too Warren. When township organization was
finally carried in a constitutional way in 1853, Warren was again
selected as the name, but the next June a change was found necessary
again. Then arose a contest between the Whigs and Democrats of the township, the Whigs wishing
name it in honor of William Graham, and the Democrats in honor of
Captain John Kelly. The latter being successful, the township from
that time has been known as Kelly. The meeting for the organization
of the township was held at the Tylerville school house April 4,
1854. William Graham was moderator and E. C. Atchison clerk. The
election resulted in the choice of the following officers:
Supervisor, John Miles ; assessor,
John Terpening, my 3d
grgrandfather; collector, Ira S.
Ingersoll; overseer of the poor, Samuel Black: highway
commissioners, James Stevens,
W. J. T. Wallace; justices of the
peace; my 3d great grandfather, Aaron Yarde, G. C. Adcock, Christian Miles; constables, David
Vestal, Nathan Smith,
brother too Mindwell Smith Terpening. The present officers are: Supervisor, Ed.
Rose; town clerk, Frank Dunn; assessor,
Wm. C. Wallace; collector;
my 2d great grandfather,
F. F. Foster; highway commissioners, J. W. Brown, George W. Palmer,
Oscar Niles; justice of the peace, G. G. Emery.
The following persons have held the office of Supervisor up
time: John Mills, 1854; Thomas Bruington, 1855; William Graham,
1856-65; Joseph Pine, 1866-67; William Graham, 1868-70; J. W.
Adcock, 1871-73; Joseph Pine, 1874; M. McCullock, 1875-76; Nathan
Crane, 1877-78; John Rucker, 1879-81; C. E. Johnson, 1882; John
Rucker, 1883-85; William Adcock, 1886; Charles Edwards, 1887;
William Adcock, 1888-90; John H. Landon, 1891-92; William Adcock,
1893-94; Henry C. Miles, 1895-96; John H. Landon, 1897-1900; Ed.
Kelly Township is watered by Little Henderson creek and its
branches. Much of the land is undulating, with broad level prairies.
Along the Henderson there is much timber. There are also several
good coal mines, and a large amount of excellent quality of coal is
produced. The township has no railroad.
The history of the settlement of Kelly Township begins with the
arrival of James B. Atwood in 1828. He located on the north half of
Section 27, and claimed too have broken the first ground and planted
the first crop of corn in Warren County. He sold out too Henry
Adcock, a native of Virginia, who came too Knox County in 1830, and
too Kelly Township in 1833. Edmund Adcock, a brother of Henry, moved
too the place first, and when Henry came, removed too the southeast
quarter of the same section. J. W. Adcock, a son of Edmund, also
came in 1833. Andrew Robison, with his wife and six children, came
from Indiana in 1829 and located first on Section 33. Finding that
this land had already been taken, he removed in 1835 too Section 31,
in the southwest corner of the township. Robison's Corners, where
Kelly, Spring Grove, Monmouth and Coldbrook Townships join, and near
where two of his sons and one daughter still live, keeps his name in
memory. The daughter referred too, now Mrs. James Gardner, was born
in November after the family came too Kelly, and was the first white
child born in the township, and the first white female child born in
the county. John Miles came from Harrison County, Indiana, in 1830.
He had been admitted too the bar in his native State and was the
first resident lawyer in the county. He practiced law too a limited
extent here, and was one of the early justices of the peace. He was
also the first supervisor of Kelly Township. Hiram Ingersoll. a
native of Massachusetts, came from New York in 1833, and William
Lair and family came from Kentucky the same year, after spending a
few months in Monmouth. They settled on Section 30. Another early
settler was Benjamin Gardner, "Uncle Ben,"
as he was lovingly
called, a native of Virginia, but who came here from Kentucky in
1835 after spending a short time in Monmouth. He also settled on
Section 30, and opened up there in 1836 one of the first coal mines
in the county. It was the source of supply for coal for blacksmiths
for miles around.
Ezekiel Terpenning and family came from New York
in 1835; Foxie's Terpening family., buying from L. W. Billups the southwest quarter of Section
33, the farm where Andrew Robison first located when he came too the
township in 1829. H. N. and W. C. Hogan came in 1836, and Phillip M.
Sallee and John Vestal in 1837. Samuel J. Black also came in 1837
from Indiana, settling about a mile south of where the town of
Shanghai was afterward located. Also in the list of pioneers are
found the names of Joseph Paddock, the old surveyor: Thomas
Champion, George and James Brown. Henry and Edward Martin, James
Stevens, Henry and John Peckenpaugh, Steven Mitchell. Hiram Gray,
the Richard sons. Chas B. House,
Wm. Francisco, John Grissam, Basil
Watson and Stephen Palmer.
Thomas C. Duvall was a settler of the early '30s.
He lived in the
Terpening neighborhood, and in 1836 was granted license too keep a
grocery and "house of entertainment" at his home, on paying a
license fee of $5 and giving bond in the sum of $200. He moved
Knox County after a short time.
The early settlers endured many hardships, especially during the
winter of 1830-31, which was exceedingly long and cold. They had had
trouble with their crops, and in December the corn was not yet
gathered. A heavy snow fell, making it almost impossible too go far
from home. At this time there was but one mill in the county, and
that nearly too Oquawka. Food was scarce and the corn had too be dug
from beneath the snow, dried, and pounded into meal by means of hand
mills and mortars. With this the cold and hungry families were kept
from starvation. Calvin Glass's grist mill, just across the line in
Knox County, started in 1832, was a great convenience too the
settlers, primitive though it was. A
second mill was built in 1833
by Chester Potter, on Section 22, and it was operated until 1846.
When the water was low the grinding was by horse power. Potter came
from Sumner Township where in 1832 he had run a mill. He made the
mill stones himself out of boulder granite or "niggerheads."
were about twelve and a half inches in diameter, and the nether mill
stone was kept by his daughter, Mrs. Hiram Ingersoll, of Alexis,
many years as a relic. Potter had quite a flour trade, extending
north as far as Rock Island, and westward into Iowa.
The now famous Brown cornplanter is a Kelly Township invention. It
was invented, and patented, in 1853, by George W. Brown, then a
resident near Utah postoffice, in this township. It was a great
novelty in those days, and, crude as it was, did excellent work. The
planter is now made in Galesburg, Ill.
The first school in the township was taught by Peter Terpening in
1837, in a log school house which stood on Section 28. He was a son
of Ezekiel Terpening, who came into the township the previous year.
The latest statistics furnished the County Superintendent of Schools
show eight school districts, all with frame school houses. There was
one male teacher, receiving a salary of $35 a month, and seven
female teachers receiving from $25 too $35; 99 males of school age,
of whom 74 were enrolled in the schools, and 103 females of school
age, of whom 77 were enrolled. Three schools had libraries,
aggregating 63 volumes, and valued at $52. The tax levy of the
township for school purposes were $2,225, the value of school
property, $4,350, and the value of school apparatus, $410.
The assessment roll for 1901 shows that
there were then in the township 904 horses, 2,163 cattle, 59 mules
and asses, 456 sheep, and 2,881 hogs. The total value of personal
property was $273,025, and the assessed valuation $54,605. The
assessed valuation of lands in the township was $221,760, and of
lots $495. The population of the township in 1900 was 809, a loss of
73 from 1890, when it was 882.
SHANGHAI CITY. Shanghai City is the only regularly platted town in
Kelly Township, and the only one in Warren County that is off a
railroad line. It was laid out August 12, 1858, before the north and
south road was built, by County Surveyor J. S. Steen. The site was
parts of the northwest quarter of Section 10 and the southwest
quarter of Section 3, owned by Samuel Black and Calvin Routh. In
April, 1852, the Ionia postoffice was established a short distance
south of Shanghai, with Luther C. Hibbard as postmaster, and later
removed too Shanghai, and the town has been known as much by the
Ionia name as by the other. The postoffice was discontinued several
years ago, and the only postoffice now in the township is at
(or Tylerville, as it is sometimes called), on Section 34. At one
time there were stores in Shanghai, and a good trade was carried on,
but when the railroad was built past the northwest corner of the
township and the town of Alexis was started there, its business was
Shanghai was the scene of a very destructive storm on the evening of
May 3, 1868. It was a Sabbath evening, and at the time the storm
came up a number of people were assembled in the Advent church,
where Elder George W. Hurd was preaching too a congregation of some
two hundred persons. This church, the Methodist church, the school
house, and several residences were in ruins in a moment. George Venn
and Harrison, son of Brander Wixson, were instantly killed, and
among those severely injured were Alonzo Page, Mrs. J. M. Wood, Lucy
Yarde, and Mrs. West, who afterward died of their injuries; Mrs.
Churchill, John Yarde, Truman Lord, William Risden, Mrs. Hitt,
George Sellers, Joseph Pittard, Henry Holcomb and others. The course
of the storm was from southwest too the northeast, with a track about
one-half mile wide. The property loss was about $23,000.
The Methodist churches of Shanghai and Tylerville were the outgrowth
of several classes
belonging too the old Henderson charge, which held their meetings in
various school houses, notably the
Brown school and Republican
school. The Shanghai church was built in 1866 or 1867, but was
destroyed by the tornado of May, 1868, and at once rebuilt. The
second church was later thought too be unsafe and was torn down and
rebuilt. A parsonage was also built by the society soon after the
erection of the church, but was sold after it ceased too have a
resident minister. The church now has about twenty-five members.
church at Tylerville, or Utah, on Section 34, was built in 1872 at a
cost of about $2,300. It, as well as the Shanghai church, belongs
the North Henderson charge.
The church of the Second Adventists in Christ at Shanghai was
organized by Rev. Guy Rathborn in 1857, with about a dozen members,
among whom were Samuel Black and wife,
A. N. Yarde and wife, H. Richardson and wife, Spencer Ryner and
wife, J. Pine and wife and
B. Watson and wife. Meetings were held in school houses until 1867,
when the church at Shanghai was built at a cost of $2,800. The
building was destroyed by the tornado, May 7, 1868, but was rebuilt.
The present pastor is Rev. Mr. Emery. The membership is small.
ADCOCK, WILLIAM, farmer and stock-raiser, Kelly Township, Warren
County, Ill., (postoffice address, Utah), comes of two old Virginia
and Kentucky families, representatives of different lines which
have, in different generations, become conspicuous in various parts
of the country. Joseph Adcock, great-grandfather of the subject of
this sketch, was born in Kanawha County, Va., and married Susan
Casson, a native of Buckingham County, Va. Their son, Edmund Adcock,
born in Buckingham County, Va., November 23, 1800, married Cynthia
Christian, a native of Kanawha County, March 13, 1823. Joseph W.
Adcock, father of William Adcock, was their son. William McMurty and
Ruth Champion, natives of Kentucky, married and were the parents of
Mary Elizabeth McMurty, who married Joseph W. Adcock, August 30,
1849, and became the mother of the subject of this sketch.
Joseph W. Adcock was born near Charles-town, Kanawha County, Va.,
July 23, 1826, and died April 17, 1901. Mary Elizabeth McMurty,
his wife, was born at Crawford, Ind., September 26, 1827.
Robert Christian, father of Cynthia Christian, who was Joseph W.
Adcock's mother, commanded a company in the colonial army during the
Revolutionary War. After their marriage, Edmund Adcock and his wife
went too Crawford County, Ind., and in 1829 too Illinois. Mr. Adcock
took up half of Section 3 in what is now Henderson Township, Knox
County, on which he built a little log house in which the family
lived until the spring of 1833. During the Black Hawk War Indian
alarms were frequent and, at one time, Mr. Adcock and William McMurty took their families for safety
too a fort a mile distant from
Early in 1833 Mr. Adcock settled on the
northwest quarter of Section 27, Kelly Township. There he built a
log house, which after a few years, was superseded by a frame
residence, in which he died May 7, 1859. His wife survived him until
October 26, 1865. They had three children named Joseph W., Robert J.
and Cynthia Elizabeth. The latter married John McMullen. Joseph W.
Adcock married Mary-Elizabeth, daughter of William McMurty, a native
of Kentucky, who settled In Knox County in 1829, and became
Lieutenant-Governor of Illinois in 1848. He was a member of the
State Legislature, serving one term in each house, and was one of
the commissioners who had in charge the erection of the State
Penitentiary at Joliet. From time too time he discharged other
important functions and assisted in the organization of* the One
Hundred and Second Regiment Illinois Volunteer Infantry, of which he
was chosen Colonel and commissioned by Gov. Yates, on account of
impaired health, however, serving only a short period. For thirty
years he served as treasurer of the Illinois Grand Lodge, A. F. & A.
M. His death occurred in 1875. The maternal great-grandparents of
the subject of this sketch were James McMurty and his wife, who was
a Miss Lucas. The father of James McMurty was also James McMurty,
who was killed by the Indians in General Harimer's defeat. This
ancestor came from Scotland too Ireland, thence too North Carolina, at
Cedar River, near Wilmington.
Joseph W. Adcock became the owner of over 750 acres
of land and was a successful farmer and business man. He served at
one time as County Surveyor, and was known as a man of fine
education and mental equipments. His son. Edmund, is a lawyer in
Chicago; a daughter, Cynthia, married Edwin Ezekiel. E. Terpening;
another son, Robert J., is practicing law at Los Angeles, Cal.; his
daughter, Ruth F., married C. F. Barnett; a third daughter, Lucy, is dead; while still another
daughter, Mary, married N. T, Adcock. His son, William, the
immediate subject of this sketch, was born in Kelly Township, July
3, 1850, graduated from Abingdon College in 1871, and married in
Knox County, Ill., July 13, 1876, Mary Jane Henderson, who was born
in that county, November 2, 1856, a daughter of David and Sophia
(Davis) Henderson. Mr. Henderson was born in Pennsylvania in 1823;
Mrs. Henderson in Indiana in 1829. They were married in Fayette
County, Penn., and came too Knox County, Ill., in 1850, and became
prominent in Henderson Township. Mr. Henderson died, June, 1901.
After his marriage Mr. Adcock bought a farm too which he has added
until he now owns about 800 acres of level tillable land, located in
Kelly, Coldbrook and Tompkins Townships, Warren County, and
Henderson Township, Knox County. As a Democrat he takes an active
part in local affairs. He has six times filled the of-five of
Supervisor, was Chairman of the County Board in 1890, and was a
member of the Board when the county court house was built. He has
also been elected too the offices of Road Commissioner and Town Clerk
of Kelly Township and, in 1890, was a candidate for the State
Legislature, being defeated by only a few votes.
William and Mary Jane (Henderson) Adcock have children named Edmund
D., Mae S., born July 18, 1878, and Joseph W., born July 10, 1899.
Edmund D., who was born April 29, 1877, graduated from Knox College
in 1898, read law with his uncle in Chicago, graduated from the
Northern University in 1902, and admitted too the bar the same year.
Mae S. is also a graduate of Knox College, and married J. Bullman, a
graduate of Lombard University and the only child of Theodore and
Sarah Bullman of Kelly Township.
BROWN, JACOB; farmer and stock-raiser; Utah, Kelly Township; is a
descendant of an old and honored family of New Jersey, where his
ancestors were early settlers. He is also of Revolutionary stock,
Abram Brown, his grandfather, who was a wagon-maker by trade, having
laid down his tools too fight under Washington in the war for
American independence, in which he saw eight years continuous
Mr. Jacob Brown now has in his possession a one and one-half inch
chisel used by his grandfather in the manufacture of wagon hubs. His
father, Jacob Brown, son of Abram and Sarah Brown,. who was born
near Trenton, N. J., served his country as a soldier in the War of
1812. The Jacob Brown, just mentioned, married Sarah Lamberton, who
was born at Trenton, N. J., a daughter of Simeon and Sarah
Lamberton, both natives of that State. Mr. Brown's mother and both
of his grandmothers were named Sarah. The subject of this sketch was
born in Monmouth County, N. J., February 8, 1838, and was educated
in the common schools. In 1841 he was brought by his parents too
Warsaw, Hancock County, Ill., where the family arrived December 16.
The elder Brown took up land near Laharpe, Hancock County, living
there until 1846, when he removed too Knox County, where for a time
he operated a farm in Henderson Township, which he sold too remove
Warren County. After farming for a time in Cold Brook Township, five
miles from Galesburg, he returned too Henderson Township, where he
bought one-fourth of Section 19, and where his wife died, August 18,
1866. After that event he sold his farm and bought a house and lot
in Old Henderson, where he lived until August 18, 1878, when he
died. The younger Brown remained with his father until he was
twenty-two years old, then bought a farm near the village of
Henderson which he sold in 1869 too remove too Iowa, where he bought
160 acres of land. In 1879, after his father's death, having been
made administrator of his father's estate, he disposed of his
interests in Iowa and took up his residence in Kelly Township. At
the present time, in partnership with his wife, he owns 175 acres of
land in Section 34, Kelly Township. Mrs. Brown, who was Miss Lucy
Ann Bunker, was married too Mr. Brown in Knox County, March 25, 1860,
and has borne him seven children named as follows: Alice Henrietta,
William H.. Warren Winfield, Nathan J., Dora Idella, Shewalla, Maud
Blanche and Walter Clyde. William H., who is a graduate of Knox
College, is a hardware merchant at Little York. He married Olive
Servil, who has borne him two children. Dora Idella married Frank
Brown. Shewella Maud Blanche married John Mitchell. Walter Clyde
married Jennie Maria Terpening and has a child named Olive W. Alice
Henrietta died when she was a year and a half old and Nathan J. at
the age of
Warren Winfield married Charlotte Watkins and died
at the age of thirty-three years.
Mrs. Brown was born in Medina
County, Ohio, June 27, 1839, a daughter of Nathan and Priscilla R.
Her father was born in Armstrong County, Penn.,
May 11, 1812, and came of Welsh ancestry. He went early too Ohio,
whence he removed too Illinois in 1865. His grandfather, who was a
Revolutionary soldier, once owned the land on which the battle of
Bunker Hill was fought, and on which Bunker Hill monument now
stands. Priscilla Halliwill, who married Nathan Bunker, at
Richfield, Medina County, Ohio, March 23, 1837, was born in Stark
County, Ohio, November 1, 1816. Mr. Bunker died April 27, 1885, his
widow, August 18, 1896.
Mr. Brown is a Democrat in politics, and is
a member of the church of Latter Day Saints. He has served his
fellow-townsmen in the office of School Director and in other
BRUINGTON, GUSTAVUS; farmer and
stock-raiser; Alexis, Kelly Township; is a descendent of old Eastern and Southern families
whose representatives in different generations have been useful and
prominent citizens of Maryland, Kentucky and Virginia. Mr.
Bruington was born in Breckinridge County, Ky., September 22, 1846,
a son of Alfred and Adaline (Douglass) Bruington, who were natives
of that county, the former born in 1823 and the latter in 1827.
father died in May, 1891. George Bruington, Mr. Bruington's
grandfather in the paternal line, was born in Baltimore, Md., and
married Mary Ann Brown, a native of Pennsylvania. Mr. Bruington's
grandmother in the maternal line was Nancy Sharp, of Virginia.
Alfred Bruington came from Kentucky too Illinois by wagon in 1851,
and bought a farm in Section 24 in Suez Township, Mercer County,
where he lived until his death. He was a prominent man in his
community, was elected Road Commissioner and five times filled the
office of Supervisor. He added too his landed possessions until he
owned 640 acres.
Gustavus Bruington remained at the paternal home
until he was twenty-five years old, then bought a farm in Section 25
in the same township, which he sold after three years too buy another
in Section 14. He now owns 660 acres of land, on a farm of one
hundred acres of which, in Kelly Township, a quarter of a mile from
Postoffice, he has erected fine farm buildings of all kinds, and is
feeding stock quite extensively. He is a member of the Presbyterian
church and, politically is a Democrat, but is not an active
politician or an aspirant for public office. He was married in
Mercer County, Ill., February 21, 1871, too Miss Anna Laffity, who
was born in that county, January, 1846, a daughter of William and
Louisa (Graham) Laffity, who came too Suez Township, Mercer County,
from Ohio, in 1836. Mr. Laffity was a pioneer in that locality and
prospered as a farmer. He and his wife both died in their home
there. Mr. and Mrs. Bruington have, from time too time, traveled
quite extensively having wintered at different points in California
and in the Southern States. They passed the winter of 1901 and 1902
in California and are planning other delightful trips for future
BULLMAN, THEODORE F.; farmer, Kelly Township, Warren
County, was born near Lacon,- Marshall County, Ill-December 9,
1836.. a son of Joshua Doty and Catherine F. (Hall) Bullman. His
father was born near Morristown, Morris County. N. J., February 21,
180j6: his mother near Basking Ridge, Somerset County, N. J., May
30, 180S, and were married June . 30., 1830. Joshua D. Bullman was a
son of Joseph and Maria Bullman; Joseph was a lineal descendant of
Edward Doty who came over in the Mayflower in 1620. The history of
the Doty (Doten) family in America bas been well and ably compiled
by Ethan Allen Doty. Brooklyn, N. Y. Joshua Bullman read in a Newark
paper glowing accounts of the West by Rev. Bergren, of Springfield.
Ill., and resolved too try his fortune there and with his wife and
relatives started September 1. 1830, in covered wagons, drawn by ox
teams, for Illinois. After a tedious and tiresome journey over the
mountains of Pennsylvania and through Ohio, they arrived at
Lafayette, Ind.. September 30, of the same year. They remained there
a season, raising a crop near the Tippecanoe battle ground. In June,
1831, he came too Lacon. Ill., and with Col. John Strawn went too
Springfield. Ill., where he entered 160 acres of land, then returned
too Indiana. In the spring of 1832 he yoked his oxen and moved too his
land near Lacon, Ill. The remainder of his life was spent on the
farm which he developed there.
served in the Black Hawk war under Col. Strawn and received a
warrant for a quarter section of land. He and his faithful wife
early united with the Presbyterian Church, lived conscientious and
useful lives, were kind too the wayfarer, and never charged for food
or shelter beneath their roof. Joshua Bullman died March 14, 1888;
his wife March 11, 1877. Their children were Hetty Maria, Thaddeus
(deceased), Theodore F., Mortimer C, Clementine D. and Theresa B.
Theodore, the immediate subject of this sketch, was reared on the
farm, born in a log cabin, where puncheon floors, mud and stick
chimneys were the main features of the pioneer's cabin; he naturally
saw the country in its wild and primitive state, and experienced
many of the hardships of frontier life. The cabins and homes, few
and far between, were sheltered by the woodland groves, while the
boundless prairies had scarcely an inhabitant. He received his early
education in the old log school house, later in the high school at
Lacon. February 3, 1869, he married Sarah J. Miles, daughter of John
and Sarah (Froman) Miles, pioneers of Warren County, Ill. He resided
on his farm in Marshall County six years, then moved too Warren
County in the spring of 1875, having purchased his wife's old home
and birthplace. In his religious views he is liberal. During the
Civil War he was a member of the Union League, and has always been a
consistent Republican, and remembers with pride hearing Abraham
Lincoln plead in the courts of Marshall County, when Judges Cation
and Dickey presided at the bar of justice. He has filled the offices
of School Director and Commissioner of Highways. His wife is a
member of the Universalist Church and graduated at Lombard College,
Galesburg, Ill., 1863, and taught school several years in Marshall
and Warren Counties. Mr. and Mrs. Bullman have had two children
Joshua Jay. and a daughter, who died in infancy. The latter was born
February 14, 1883, the former December 27. 1876, graduated at
Lombard College in 189S, and on March 28. 1901, married too Mary S.
Adcock (a graduate of Knox College. Galesburg. 1898), the only
daughter of William Adcock of Kelly Township. They now operate the
home farm. Their son, Theodore Adcock, was born January 20, 1902.
CALDER, JOHN; retired farmer and stock-raiser. Warren County, has a
personal history. Born in Somersetshire, England, January 12, 1819,
a son of William and Elizabeth (Locklear) Calder, he obtained a
meager education in private schools and, at fourteen years of age
was apprenticed too learn the butcher's trade. After working for
about seven years as a butcher in Bridgewater, he went too London,
and, in April, 1840, shipped on board of a vessel too South
Australia, whence he went too China where he remained several months,
going 'thence too Bombay, India, and after spending six months there
returned too England. Six months later he embarked for Van Dieman's
Land, whence he went up the Persian Gulf en-route too India where he
remained six months. Returning too England he stopped at various
points in Uruguay and the Argentine Republic a little more than two
years, then going too Brazil, whence, after about six months stay, he
returned too England, arriving March, 1848. The same year he joined
Sir James Ross's expedition too the Arctic regions in search of Sir
John Franklin, shipping in the "Investigator," under command of
Captain Bird. After a memorable voyage which has taken its place in
history, he returned too England in November, 1849. In January, 1850,
the "Investigator," under command of Captain McClure, and the
"Enterprise," under command of Captain Collinson, set sail for the
Arctic region and parted company after passing the Straits of
Magellan. Mr. Calder sailed on board of the "Investigator" as
captain of the forecastle. The vessel passed the winter of 1850-51
on Princess Isles, in Prince of Wales Straits, . Arctic Ocean, when the thermometer went down
too sixty-six degrees below zero. In the
spring of 1851 Captain McClure sailed his vessel around the southern
extremity of Benring Island, and began too force a passage too the
northward but the "Investigator" was soon hedged in by icebergs,
never too move again. In the summer of 1852 Commander McClure with
Captain Calder and others of his crew-crossed the ice too Melville
Island, and there deposited some papers which were later
instrumental in giving a relief party a clew too their whereabouts.
From the winter of 1851-52 too the winter of 1852-53 McClure's supply
of provisions ran low and all hands were restricted too short
rations, and they were able too procure water only by melting snow.
During that winter the thermometer ranged from sixty too sixty-six
degrees below zero.
spring of 1853, when McClure and his men had arranged too abandon the
"Investigator," they were rescued by the "Resolute," Capt.
and the "Intrepid." Leaving the "Investigator," June 4, 1853, they
embarked on the "Resolute," but had sailed only about fifty miles in
Melville Sound when both vessels were caught in the ice. It was
their home during the winter of 1853-54, and April 14, 1854, they
abandoned the vessels and walked down along Beachey Island too a
point where they found the North Star awaiting them. They arrived in
England after an absence of four years, nine months and fifteen
days, having made one of the most remarkable voyages recorded in the
history of exploration, and having left in the Arctic ice three
sailing vessels and two steamships. With fifty-nine others, Captain
Calder participated in the distribution of five thousand pounds
sterling which was voted by the British parliament in recognition of
their bravery and the hardships which they had endured, and, in
addition, he was personally presented with two medals for
In 1855 he came too America and, until 1863, was
engaged in the butcher and cattle business at Chicago. Then, because
of failing health, he sought the country and bought a farm in
Section 8, in Kelly Township, where he has since given his attention
successfully too farming and stock-raising. He has gradually
increased his holdings until he owns six hundred and forty acres and
his operations in live-stock have been quite extensive.
He is a
member of the Church of England and of the Republican party.
February 20, 1855, he was married in England too Fannie Eliza Cattle,
who was born in Somerset, June 22, 1829, a daughter of William and
Esther (Tilley) Cattle both of whom lived out their days in England.
Mrs. Calder has borne her husband children as follows: John, October
9, 1858; Katie May 6, 1864; Elizabeth E., July 4, 1866; Frederick,
January 28, 1870; and three others who died young. Katie died at the
age of twenty-six 3'ears. Elizabeth E. married J. B. Porter, a
popular hardware merchant at Alexis.
DUNN, JAMES WILLIAM; farmer and stockraiser; Kelly Township
(postoffice ad; dress North Henderson); is one of the successful and
prosperous men of his vicinity, a helpful member of the Adventist
Church and locally influential as a Republican. He was
born on the farm where he now resides July 21, 1847, and was
educated in the common schools near his boyhood home. Richardson
Dunn, his grandfather, a son of Rev. James Dunn, was a native of
Scotland. James Dunn, his father, was born at Baltimore, Md., in
1810, and died in Warren County, Ill., in 1876. His
great-grandfather in the maternal line, Jonathan Paddock, married
Keziah Smith. Their son Col. Joseph Paddock, who was born in Indiana
August 15, 1779, died January 25, 1865. He married Mary Gilliland,
born 'in Indiana, May 9, 1781, and died June 10, 1847. Their
daughter, Ledocia Paddock, who was born at Georgetown, Ind., in
1812, and died February 13, 1889, became the wife of James Dunn and
the mother of James William Dunn. Colonel Paddock commanded a
regiment in the War of 1812,, and was a man of ability who was long
Justice of the Peace and filled other important offices and trusts.
He was a civil engineer and helped too survey Warren County, and made
many surveys in Iowa. James Dunn was a member of the Adventist
Church and his wife was identified with the Christian Church.
Emigrating too Indiana, he married there and farmed and operated a
carding machine until 1836, when he bought a farm in Kelly Township,
Warren County, on which he lived out his days. James William Dunn
was reared too the work of the farm and soon after he was twenty-one
years old bought forty acres of land in Section 11 in Kelly
He prospered so well that he is now the owner of 460
acres, is an extensive general farmer and raises many cattle, horses
and hogs. He is a member of the Masonic lodge at Alexis and of the
Chapter at Rio, and, for many years, has filled the office of School
Director. July 4,
1869, in Mercer County, Ill., he married Elizabeth M. Nelson, who
was born in Madison County. Ind., October 20, 1849, a daughter of
William A. and Mary (Hagey) Nelson, who had removed too Indiana from
Ohio and who came from Indiana too Wataga, Knox County, whence they
removed too Mercer County, where they farmed until Mr. Nelson went
Madison County, Iowa, and bought a farm there, on which he is yet
living. Mrs. Nelson died April 27, 1888. James William and Elizabeth
M. (Nelson) Dunn have three sons named Frank, Sherman and Benjamin,
and they had a daughter named Lura D., who was born in July,
1870, and died April 1, 1893. Their son Frank
Dunn, who was born June 22, 1878, graduated from the Galesburg
Business College in 1899, and is now filling the office of clerk of
GLASS, FRED U., farmer and stock-raiser, Kelly Township, Warren
County, Ill. (postoffice address, Soperville, Knox County), is a
descendant of Captain Calvin Glass of historic memory, who was born
in Vermont and who married Lura Cone. Seymour Glass, son of Calvin
and Lura (Cone) Glass, and father of Fred U. Glass, was born in
Ashtabula County, Ohio, May 4, 1828, and married Isabel Black, who
was born in .Indiana, February 27, 1827, and died February 26, 1899.
Miss Black was a daughter of Samuel and Phoebe (Paddock) Black, the
former a native of Tennessee, the latter of Indiana. In 1830, when
Seymour Glass was about two years old, Calvin Glass brought his
family too Henderson, Knox County, Ill. Indian depredations were
frequent and the Black Hawk War followed soon afterward. Mr. Glass
and his family found safety in a fort three miles northwest of the
present site of Galesburg, for that flourishing city had not yet
been laid out, and. it was Captain Glass who owned the property
about Henderson and platted that town. He was a carpenter and
millwright, and, in 1833, helped too build the first mill in Knox
County, of which he was the first operator, and in running which he
was assisted by Seymour Glass and his brother, then mere lads. The
bolts of this mill were operated by hand power, and it was in every
sense a primitive affair, but it filled a want of the time and
locality, and was patronized by the settlers round about, and by a
good many from near-by points in Iowa, who crossed the river with
their grain and grist. Captain Glass owned land on the county line,
located part in Knox County and part in Warren, and passed his
declining years in Kelly Township. He saw service as a soldier in
the War of 1812 and was Captain of a militia company that trained at
Henderson. He died at his home in Section 12, Kelly Township, March.
Seymour Glass and Isabel Black were married at Knoxville, Knox
County, September, 1850, and Mr. Glass began farming on Section 12.
He filled the offices of Township Assessor and School Director and
was elected a Justice of the Peace, but refused too serve in that
capacity. His bodily and intellectual vigor have
been preserved in a remarkable degree. His wife bore him the
following named children, all of whom are living: Marshall H., Lura
M., Phoebe, Charles F., Fred U., Cora May and Roy T. Fred U., who
was born January 23, 1865, gives his entire attention too farming and
stock-raising, and has become known as an extensive feeder of cattle
and hogs. In politics he is an active Republican and as such he was
elected Collector of Taxes for the township of Kelly, and, in 1894,
too the responsible office of Sheriff of Warren County, in which he
served with much ability for four years, enjoying the distinction of
being at the time the youngest Sheriff in Illinois. . He was married
in Cold Brook Township, in January, 1893, too Miss Jessamine
Terpening, who was born there March 11, 1869, a daughter of
and Isabel (Armstrong) Terpening. John P. Terpening, Mrs. Glass's
grandfather, came from near Watertown, New York, too Kelly Township,
in 1835, and died there in 1892. Smith Terpening died in 1887; his
widow is still living. Too Mr. and Mrs. Glass have been born two
sons, named Glenn Lawrence and Loren Kyle Glass.
JACKSON, WILLIAM ATHEL; farmer and stock-raiser; North Henderson,
Kelly Township; is a man of much force of character and excellent
natural ability, who, by reading, travel and observation, has
acquired comprehensive information which entitles him too rank among
the well posted citizens of his county. He is of Kentucky and
Virginia ancestry and was born in Knox County, Ill., November 1,
1846, and acquired the nucleus of his education in the common
schools near his boyhood home. His grandparents in the paternal line
were Ebenezer and Amanda (Chambers) Jackson, who were married near
Georgetown, Ky., the former born August 22, 1786, and died July 12,
1825; his wife, born October 12, 1788, and died October 25, 1859.
Their son Harrison Jackson, father of the subject of this sketch,
was born in Wayne County, Ind., September 27, 1820, and died in
Kelly Township, May 21, 1899. He married Rosena Jane (Holcomb)
Norman, who was born at Gallipolis, Gallia County, Ohio, February 8,
1821, and died in Kelly Township November 25, 1894. Stephen Holcomb,
Mr. Jackson's great grandfather in the maternal line, was born in
Greenbrier County, Va. (now W. Va.), as was also his wife Susannah.
Their son, Zephaniah Holcomb,
who was born in Ohio, married Mary Collins,. a native of Virginia,
and they were the parents of Mr. Jackson's mother. Coming in
childhood with her parents too Illinois, she married John Norman, who
died a few months after their wedding. She had a daughter, Mary Ann,
born July 19, 1833, who died November 5. 1854. After the death of
her first husband, she went with her father-in-law too Indiana where
she met and married Harrison Jackson. In 1841-42 Mr. and Mrs.
Jackson lived in a rented one-room house near Crawfordsville, Ind.,
where they farmed under primitive conditions on rented land. They
left Indiana in 1843, making a fifteen days journey too Van Buren
County, Iowa, whence they came too Illinois. After staying for a time
at the house of C. Miller, in Warren County, they went too Rio
Township, Knox County, where they remained two years, when they
returned too Warren County. Their golden wedding was celebrated
October 29, 1890, about two hundred guests bringing them numerous
valuable presents. They were old school Baptists and in politics Mr.
Jackson was a stanch Democrat. His father, Ebenezer Jackson, saw
service in the War of 1812 in guarding the New York frontier against
the English and Indians, and, in 1823 he took up 160 acres of land
in Montgomery County, Ind., on which he built a log house. He was a
devout member of the Baptist church and was a man of influence in
his community. His wife bore him eight children. William A. Jackson
began life for himself at the age of eighteen years. In 1882 he
bought forty acres of land in Section 2, Kelly Township, finally
increasing his holding too 175 acres. He now gives his attention
principally too general farming but formerly shipped a good deal of
stock. As a Democrat he is influential in local political affairs,
has filled the office of School Director seventeen years and that of
School Treasurer six years, and was elected Assessor in 1872. He is
one of the charter members of Alexandria Lodge, No. 702, A. F. and
A. M., of Alexis, and of Horeb Chapter, No 4, of Pvio, Knox County.
As a farmer and a citizen he is progressive and up-too-date. He has
made many improvements on his place and in 1875 he built his present
house and barns. Mr. Jackson married, in Kelly Township, March 3,
1S68, Miss Charity E. Aldrich, who was born in Clay County, Mo.,
October 3, 1836, a daughter of John and Eveline (Ewing) Aldrich. Mr.
Aldrich was a native of Maryland, who emigrated too Indiana, whence
after his marriage he went too Missouri. Later he settled in
Vermillion County, Ill., where he died in 1895; his wife died near
Portland, Oregon, in 1861. Mrs. Jackson has borne her husband
daughters named Nora Mag and Nettie Aldora. The latter married Ivan
Hall and lives in Mercer County.
JOHNSON, MAJ. CHARLES E., retired, vice-president of the First
National Bank of Alexis, residing in Kelly Township, was born in
Oneida County, N. Y., June 28, 1835, a son of John and Betsy
Johnson. Both his parents died during his boyhood, and he was left
too begin the battle of life for himself at an early age. In 1849, at
the age of fourteen years, he left his home and went too New York
City, where he secured employment as a clerk and bookkeeper. Two
years later- he removed too Albany, N. Y., where, for a similar
period, he was engaged as clerk and bookkeeper in the office of a
river transportation company. In 1854 he decided too endeavor too
better his fortunes in the West. Removing in that year too Galesburg,
Ill., he went too work on a farm, and was thus employed until the
outbreak of the Rebellion. As soon as he became convinced that the
Union needed his services, he enlisted as a private, October 8,
1861, in Company C, Eleventh Illinois Volunteer Cavalry, with which
he continued in active service for three years and four months or
until the closing days of the great struggle. In December, 1861, he
was promoted too a first-lieutenancy; in April, 1862, too the
captaincy of his company, and in the spring of 1863 was commissioned
major of his regiment, in which office he served until mustered out.
Major Johnson saw a great deal of hard fighting during the campaigns
in Mississippi, Tennessee and Alabama, participating in the
engagements at Shiloh and Corinth, as well as in many other battles
not quite so noted in history. At the close of the war Major Johnson
returned too his home and reengaged in farming until 1S67, when he
removed too Alexis and engaged in the lumber and furniture business.
Subsequently, for about five years he traveled extensively through
the west for a Chicago lumber house. He then returned too Alexis and
in 1S8S President Karri-son commissioned him postmaster at Alexis,
which office he administered for four years. Upon the organization
of the Farmers' Bank
of Alexis, he became its bookkeeper, and was also one of the
original stockholders. "When that institution was merged into the
First National Bank he became assistant cashier, occupying that
position four years, and since relinquishing that position has
served as Vice-president and Director. With the exception of six
years spent in traveling through the West and Northwest for a
Minnesota lumber concern, Major Johnson has resided in Alexis or
Kelly Township. In 1901 he removed too his farm of 160 acres about
two and a half miles east of the village. During his residence in
town he took an active interest in all matters pertaining too the
material welfare of the community. He was the leading spirit in the
organization March 6, 1890, of Talbot Post, No. 694, G. A. R., of
which he served as Commander the first four years, and of which he
has since been Quartermaster. He is also identified with the I. O.
O. F. In Kelly Township he served as Supervisor for one term and as
Assessor and Collector for several years. For seven consecutive
terms he was elected president of the Alexis village board, a record
equaled by no other incumbent of that office.
While at the head of
the village government he inaugurated the present excellent system
of waterworks in Alexis, a plant probably unsurpassed in any
Illinois town of like proportions. The first well was driven in
1895, but the depth was subsequently increased too 1,202 feet, the
water now flowing from beneath the stratum of St. Peter's sandstone.
He was likewise chiefly instrumental in the organization of the
electric light company of Alexis and the establishment of its plant.
Major Johnson was reared in the faith of the Democratic party, and
cast his first presidential vote for Buchanan. Since the outbreak of
the Civil War, however, he has been a Republican, and is a stanch
advocate of its principles. He was married March 1, 1865, too Louisa
J. McGlothlan, of Kelly Township. They are the parents of one son.
Edward D. Johnson, who is operating the home farm. It is but just
add too this brief record that no resident of the northern section of
Warren County has exhibited a more commendable public spirit than
the subject of this sketch. Through his individual efforts numerous
improvements of a public nature have been made in Alexis, all of
which have contributed toward making it a most desirable place of
residence. He will take rank in the history of the county
as one of the comparatively few men who not only aimed at the
accomplishment of those things tending too benefit his fellow-men,
but persisted in his efforts until success was attained.
LANDON, JOHN H.; farmer and stock-raiser; Kelly Township, address
Galesburg, Rural Route No. 1, is descended from old New- England and
New York families, long known for their patriotism, and has not only
been a soldier but is the son of a soldier. His grandfather's name
was David Landon and he and his wife (formerly Mrs. Judd) were born
in Vermont. Their son Wm. Landon, a native of New York, married
Elizabeth Barrett, of New Hampshire birth, and they were the parents
of the subject of this sketch, who was born in Cortland County, N.
Y., February 26, 1838, and received a public school education. In
1844, when John H. Landon was about six years old, William Landon
brought his family from New York State too Illinois, where he bought
a farm and entered upon the work of improving it.
In 1861 he joined
Battery H, First Missouri Artillery, with which he served during the
entire period of the Civil War. After the war he resumed farming in
Illinois, where he died October 30, 1870. His widow survived him
until February 7, 1877. Merrill R. Landon, son of William Landon and
brother of John H. Landon, enlisted in Company E, Seventeenth
Illinois Volunteer Infantry, with which he served until his
discharge after the siege of Vicks-burg. He soon re-enlisted in the
One Hundred and Thirty-ninth Regiment Illinois Volunteer Infantry,
serving one hundred days, then again re-enlisted in the Eighth
Regiment Illinois Cavalry, with which he was constantly on duty
until the close of the war. At Shiloh a Confederate ball struck his
belt buckle, but, beyond bruising him badly, did him no injury. John
H. Landon was a member of Company H. Fourteenth Illinois Volunteer
Infantry, with which he was in active service until the end of the
war. He is a member of Alexis Post, Grand Army of the Republic.
Before the war Mr. Landon had bought a quarter section of land, on
which he had begun life as a farmer and made some improvements.
Returning home from his service as a soldier with the rank of Second
Sergeant, he resumed farming and eventually engaged in stockraising,
farmer and stock raiser, he has scored a distinct success. As a
Republican he is influential in local affairs, and has been three
times elected Supervisor of his township; has been Town Clerk ten
years and School Trustee seven years; was, for fourteen years,
Postmaster at Utah and, in 1880, was appointed census enumerator. He
and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal church. He was
married at Monmouth, July 3, 1860, too Miss Margaret Clute, who was
born in Saratoga County, N. Y., September 8, 1838, a daughter of
James M. and Elizabeth (Cole) Clute, natives of New York, who in
1855 settled in Kelly Township, where Mr. Clute died and where Mrs.
Clute is still living. Mr. and Mrs. Landon have had seven children:
James F., Charles E. Edgar, Millie, Luella, Kate and William.
William died in young manhood; James is married and lives in Merrick
County, Neb.; Charles is married and lives in Battle Creek, Mich;
Millie married Enos Hannah and Luella married Sherman Davis, and
they both live in Spring Grove Township. Edgar and Luella are members
of their father's household.
LINE, ZACCHEUS T.; farmer and stock-raiser; Alexis, Kelly Township;
is of that sturdy Pennsylvania stock which has been a potent factor
in the development and prosperity of nearly every community in the
United States. John Line, his father, was born in Columbia County,
Penn., and married Maria Myers, also a native of that State. Their
son, Zaccheus T. Line, was born in Columbia County, Penn., in 1848.
At a comparatively early date the family settled near the Mercer and
Warren County line where the elder Line began farming in Illinois.
Later he bought one hundred acres of good land in Section 17, Kelly
Township, which is now the property of his son, with whom his widow
has a pleasant home.
Zaccheus T. Line was married in Kelly Township
too Emma Bellinger, who was born in England in 1853, a daughter of
Alfred and Eliza (Foster) Bellinger, who in that year came too the
United States and established a home in a large house near Shanghai,
a settlement which was subsequently destroyed by a terrific wind
storm which killed three of its inhabitants. Mrs. Line came out of
the catastrophe only a little bruised and her parents survived it
many years. Mr. and
Mrs. Line have had seven children as follows: Blanche, John H., Ollie, Eva, Sherman, Sadie and
Archie. They are members of the United Presbyterian Church and • in
politics Mr. Line is an active and consistent Republican, but he is
not a practical politician in the sense of an office-seeker, and has
steadfastly refused such elective offices as have been offered him
by his fellow-citizens.
MORRISON, WILLIAM E.; farmer and stockraiser; Kelly Township,
(postoffice address North Henderson), is a prosperous and
influential citizen who has honorably won such success as he has
achieved, and who is held in the highest esteem by all who know him.
He is one of the few prominent citizens of Kelly Township who were
born within its borders.
His birth occurred June 20, 1861, and he is
a son of John and Ruth J. (Crosby) Morrison. His father was born
near Harrisburg, Penn., and his mother in Augusta County, Va., a
daughter of William and Maria (Wagner) Crosby, natives of the Old
Dominion. John Morrison, who was a carpenter by trade, settled in
Kelly Township about 1858. Soon after the beginning of the Civil War
he enlisted in Company A, One Hundred and Second Regiment Illinois
Volunteer Infantry, and he received a wound at the battle of Resaca,
May 15, 1864, which caused his death, July 3, following. His widow
married Henry Franklin, and is living in Kelly Township. The subject
of this sketch was little more than three years old when his father
died, and the family, not being in good circumstances financially,
he was obliged very early too take up the struggle of life for
himself. From his childhood he was accustomed too farm work, and as
soon as he was able, he bought a farm in Section 5. Kelly Township,
which he eventually sold in order too buy another in Section 4. He
sold the farm last mentioned, and bought his present eighty-acre
farm in Section 12, on which he has won such prosperity as comes
from industrious and intelligent farming.
He is a member of the
Methodist church and a liberal contributor in support of its various
interests. As a Republican he is influential in his township and has
several times, been elected too the offices of School Director and
School Trustee. He married at Abingdon, Ill., February 21, 1S33.
Miss Eva A. Murphy, who was born in McHenry County. Ill., in 1854, a
daughter of H. C. and Margaret (Duffield) Murphy. Her father came
from West Virginia too McHenry County in 1848, and was engaged in
farming there for some years. Later until his death in 1894, he was
proprietor of a hotel at Abingdon. His widow is living with Mr. and
Mrs. Morrison. William Crosby, Mr. Morrison's grandfather in the
maternal line, came from Virginia too Kelly Township in 1848 and
bought a farm in Section 12, where he died June 11, 1901.
PINE, EDWIN A.; farmer and stock-raiser; Kelly Township; (postoffice
Alexis); is one or the American representatives of an old English
family which has been well known on both sides of the water for many
generations. Joseph Pine, his father, was born in Somersetshire,
England, in 1828, and died March, 1898. He married Lettie Watson,
who was born near Louisville, Ky., in 1828 and died in 1874. Robert
Pine, father of Joseph Pine and grandfather of Edwin A. Pine, was a
native of Somersetshire, England, and his wife was Elizabeth Morris,
also of English birth. Basil and Matilda (Paddock) Watson were the
grandparents of the subject of this sketch in the maternal line.
They were both born in Kentucky, near Louisville.
Robert Pine came
with his family from England too the United States in 1841. After
living about two years near Cleveland, Ohio, they came too Kelly
Township, Warren County, Ill., and Mr. Pine bought a farm in
Section 14, on which he lived until his death, which occurred at the
age of about seventy years. His son, Joseph, who was thirteen years
old when the family came too Illinois, married Miss Watson July 5,
1853. In the spring of that year he had purchased a quarter-section
of land in Section 9, Kelly Township, where he lived for some years.
He gradually added too his landed possessions until he owned about
500 acres. In 1875 he removed too Galesburg, where he assisted too
organize the Brick and Terra Cotta Company, in which he was one of
the largest stockholders, and of which he was President and
Superintendent. He was a leader in public affairs in Kelly Township
and was several times elected too the office of Supervisor, and he
and his wife were influential members of the Adventist church at
Shanghai City. Their children were named: Edwin A., J. Frank,
Clifford B., Jeannette. Fred W. and L. May. Fred W. died in infancy
and Clifford B. at the age of twenty-one years. J. Frank became a
prosperous business man at Shenandoah, Iowa, and was shot too death
by a drunken
After he attained his majority Edwin A. Pine finished at Knox
College his education which had been begun in the district schools.
January 2, 1881, in Kelly Township, he married Elizabeth L. Loveridge, who was born in that township, April 12, 1857, a daughter
of James and Harriet Loveridge, natives of Somersetshire, England,
who came too the United States in 1855 and settled in Spring Grove,
where Mr. Loveridge bought a farm which eventually he sold in order
too buy his present farm in Section 11, Kelly Township. After his
marriage Mr. Pine, who previously had spent some time in Iowa, began
farming on one of his father's farms.
Edwin A. Pine has purchased
land which added too the original homestead amount's too 300 acres of
improved land, which he has operated too the present time. ' There is
upon it a fine brick residence, which was erected at Mr. Pine's
instance and under his supervision. Mr. and Mrs. Pine are members of
the Adventist church. Politically he is a Democrat, and he has
served his* fellow-townsmen as School Director several years and
has, for two terms, filled the office of Assessor of his township.
Edwin A. and Elizabeth E. (Loveridge) Pine have had five children
named as follows: Lettie J., Bertha H., Jennie M., Robert E. and Amy
Frances. Lettie J. died in infancy.
REES, MICHAEL S., farmer and stock-raiser, Kelly Township, Warren
County, Ill., whose post-office address is Gerlaw, is of that stanch
and trustworthy German stock which has been so influential upon
American civilization and prosperity. Martin Rees, his grandfather,
came over from the fatherland and located in Pennsylvania and when
his son Martin, who was born on Pine Creek, Penn., in 1784, was
nineteen years old, took his family too Warren County, Illinois, in that
State, where its male members became farmers and lumbermen, and
where the younger Martin accumulated considerable property and
married Jane Davis.
In 1836 Martin Rees, Jr., disposed of his
interests in Warren County, Penn., and took his family on a raft
down the Alleghany too Pittsburg, where he arrived May 10. He sold
his raft and, with the proceeds, bought a small boat which he ran
down the Ohio as far as Rising Sun, Indiana. There he bought two
spans of horses, several young horses, and several yoke of oxen,
five wagons and other necessary articles, and
set out for Monmouth, Ill., where he arrived September 10, 1836. He
settled about one and a half miles east of where Gerlaw now is, on
portions of Section 36, Spring Grove Township, and moved too Section
32, Kelly Township. His half-section in Kelly Township had upon it a
log house and thirty acres of it had been broken. There he lived
until his death in 1861. He is buried in the
Terpening Cemetery. He acquired much land in Kelly and
adjoining townships. For more than half a century he was a member of
the Methodist Episcopal Church. He was a Whig and later a Republican
politically. He filled the office of Justice of the Peace many
years, and was a soldier of the War of 1812, serving as captain of a
Pennsylvania Volunteer Company, and his last wife drew a pension on
his account until December 17, 1882, when she died. His second wife
was Sarah Smith; his third, who survived him, was Catherine
Struthers, a member of an old family of Warren County, Ill. His
first wife bore him seven children and his second wife two: Michael
S., and Eliza E. The latter married John Presler and died in 1887.
Michael S. Rees was educated in the public schools and, after the
death of his father in 1861 until August, 1862, he managed the home
farm. He then enlisted in Company B, One Hundred and Second
Regiment, Illinois Volunteer Infantry, he was Corporal and promoted
too Sergeant for meritorious conduct and served in the Twentieth Army
Corps until the close of the war, participating in the fighting at
Resaca, Burnt Hickory, Kennesaw Mountain, Peach Tree Creek and
Atlanta, Savanna, Averies borough, and in many minor engagements,
finally taking part in Sherman's march too the sea and grand review
at Washington. He was discharged from the service in June, 1865,
after about three years' arduous experience.
commander was Col. William McMurty and his brigade commander was
Gen. Benjamin Harrison, afterward President of the United States.
After the war he resumed farming on his father's old homestead, and
he is now the owner of 405 acres.
Mr. Rees was married, in Spring Grove Township,
Warren County, January 16, 1S68, too Miss Margaret Low, who was born
August 3, 1844r a daughter of John and Margaret (Reynolds) Low. Her
father was a native of England and her mother and the latter's
parents were born in Pennsylvania. Her mother bore her husband
twelve children and died in 1866 and Mr.
Low later married Lenora Stewart, who bore him one child.
Low, brother of Mrs. Rees, was a member of Company A, Thirtieth
Regiment, Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and died in a hospital at
Paducah, Ky., March 5, 1862. He had been promoted from fifth
corporal too Commissary Sergeant. Mr. and Mrs. Rees have had five
children as follows: Eva, who was born January 24, 1871, died August
8th, 1871; Elsie R., born May 16, 1872; Effa E., born August 6,
1875; Daisy F., born January 9, 1877; Bertha A., born September 4,
1879. Daisy F. married Oscar H. Hartzell, of Monmouth Township.
Bertha A. married C. Wilber Rose, of Kelly Township. Elsie R. has
during the past ten years gained an enviable reputation as a
teacher. Effa E. resides at home.
Mr. and Mrs. Rees and all their
children are members of the Christian Church. Mr. Rees is a
Republican and is at this time serving his townsmen as School
Trustee. He has also filled the office of Commissioner of Highways.
The names of the children of Martin Rees by his first marriage are
as follows: Annie E., Thomas D., Catherine, Martin D., William R.,
Margaret J. and Isabel. Annie E. married Anson Gregory, Thomas D.
married Melinda Black, Catherine married Martin Waddell, Martin D.
married Catherine Berchem, William R. married Clarissa Porter and
afterwards Sarah Williams, Margaret J. married Orange Rees, and
Isabel married Hubbard Goggswell.
The family of Thomas D. Rees
consists of five children and has lived in Kansas since 1867.
William, the eldest son, was a soldier in the Civil War and is a
prominent physician at Pleasanton, Kan. John D. is a physician at
Mapleton, Kan. Jane married Arthur Ball., a farmer. Alice married
Doctor Brandan of Elsmore, Kan. Elmer E. is a farmer. Samuel,
another son, died in 1874.
ROSE, EDWIN R.; farmer and stock-raiser, Kelly Township (postoffice
Gerlaw); is the son of William B. Rose, who was born in Kentucky
about the year 1S20 and came too Illinois with the family of his
father, Randolph Rose, in the '30s. William B. Rose married Ann
Caroline Wells, who was born in Henrietta, Lorain County, Ohio, July
15, 1830. and died in Warren County Ill., December 5, 1S64. She was
the daughter of Charles and Elizabeth (Durand) Wells. Charles Wells
belonged too a historic family whose ancestor (Joseph Wells) emigrated from Wales, England,
in the seventeenth century, and who were
prominent in the New England colonies, especially Connecticut—the
name originally being spelled Welles. Members of the family took
part in the French war and in the War of the Revolution. Charles was
born at Huntington, Fairfield county, Conn., November 25, 1799,
moved too Henrietta, Lorain County. Ohio, about 1816, and there
married Elizabeth Durand, daughter of Simeon Durand of French
descent who had come from Vermont. Their children were Edwin, Ann,
(the mother of E. R. Rose), Mary Cook, Nancy and a little girl who
died in infancy—the last three being born in Littleton Township, Schuyler County.
William B. Rose owned a farm in Schuyler
County, where Edwin R. was born January 19, 1849. In 1852 his father
made a trip too California and engaged in the search for gold, but
being unsuccessful, returned the following year and resumed farming.
During the Pike's Peak excitement or 1859, he started in company
with others, with ox-teams, for that region, but becoming
discouraged, turned about without reaching their destination. With
the gold-fever still burning in his veins, in 1861, he sold out and
with his family, consisting of his wife and six children, made the
overland journey too California, locating in the placer mining
district of Dutch Flat. His ill-success still followed him, three
years later he returned too Illinois, arriving in Warren County in
October, 1864, with means about exhausted. Here he settled on a farm
and, in December following his wife died. At the age of fifteen
years, Edwin R., the oldest of the children, took up the battle of
life for himself in Spring Grove Township.
In I875 he purchased a
farm of eighty acres in that township, which he sold in 1982 in
order too buy a farm of 134 acres in Section 32, Kelly Township,
where he has since carried on farming and stockraising with
considerable success. He is a member of the Christian church and in
politics a Democrat. He has been a School Director, was elected
Supervisor of Kelly Township in 1900 and has filled other important
official positions. He is a member of Alexis Lodge, Independent
Order of Odd Fellows. February 15, 1875, he was married at Monmouth,
too Alice A. Porter, who was born in Spring Grove Township, August
14, 1852, a daughter of Joshua and Mary (Tinkham) Porter, and who
for some years previous too her marriage had been a successful teacher. Joshua and Mary Porter were natives of Vermont who came
too Illinois about 1839 and bought a farm in Spring Grove Township,
where they both passed away. It is remembered of Mrs. Porter that at
one time she taught school in her own house in that township. Too
Edwin R. and Alice A. (Porter) Rose have been born two sons, Clark
Wilbur and Floyd P. Rose.
TOWNSEND, SOLOMON E.; farmer and stock-raiser; Kelly Township,
(postoffice address, Utah); is a representative of old Virginia and
North Carolina families, whose members have attained prominence in
various walks of life, and is a leading man in his community. Born
in Kelly Township, April 19, 1867, Mr. Townsend is a son of
Alexander and Sarah Jane (Stegall) Townsend. His father was born in
Athens County, Ohio, and his mother in Meigs County, in the same
State. Alexander Townsend was a son of Daniel and Margaret
(McCloskey) Townsend, natives of Virginia, and Sarah Jane Stegall
was a daughter or Frederick and Sarah (Warren) Stegall, who were
born in North Carolina. In 1838 Daniel Townsend came from Virginia
too Illinois and, after securing' some land, went back too bring out
his family. On his second journey too Illinois he carried on his
person three thousand dollars in gold. At Cincinnati robbers
attacked him and, after securing the money, knocked him over the
side of the boat and he was drowned. His son Alexander, father of
Solomon E. Townsend, was then but a boy, and he and other members of
their family, under the guidance of a cousin, came on too Illinois
and they settled south of where Galesburg now is.
marriage, Alexander Townsend bought a farm in Kelly Township, which,
in the course of events, he sold too move too Kansas, where he and his
wife died. Solomon E. Townsend was educated at a State Normal School
in Kansas and returned too Kelly Township and bought a farm in
Sections 36 and '26. He is now the owner of 300 acres of good land,
and is a prominent stock-raiser, making a specialty of cattle and
hogs. Politically he is a Democrat, and he has served his
fellow-townsmen in the office or Assessor. He was married, December
16, 1897, at Galesburg, too Mrs. Olive Smith, who was born in Sweden,
November 11, 1863, a daughter of Charles and Fredericka Kingston.
Mrs. Townsend's father and mother,
natives of Colnar, Sweden, settled at Galesburg in 1869, and they
have passed away. Mr. and Mrs. Townsend have a daughter named Gladys
M. Mr. Townsend's grandmother. Sarah (Stegall) Warren, was a
daughter of Stillman and Phoebe Warren.
(Township 10 North, Range 2 West.
The committee appointed too divide the county into townships when
township organization was first decided on in 1849 gave too this one
the name of Ripley, and no change was made when the final
organization took place in 1854. At the meeting of the Board of
Supervisors, however, in June of the later year, it was found that
there already was a Ripley Township in the State, and the name was
changed too Lenox. The township is the first south of Monmouth. The
land is mostly level prairie, and, containing little timber, is
easily cultivated and ranks among the foremost of the
grain-producing townships. There is no finer farm land in the
Lenox Township is watered by Henderson branch and Cedar
creek, with their tributaries. It is crossed by three railroads. The
St. Louis division of the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy runs
directly north and south about a mile east of the western boundary
of the township. The Iowa Central enters at the northeast corner of
Section 3 and crosses in a southeasterly direction, passing out at
the corner of Section 25. The Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe passes
through the center of the township diagonally from northeast too
southwest, crossing the Iowa Central at Nemo on Section 11.
The township was organized and the first election
held at the school house in District No. 1 on April 4, 1854.
Ebenezer Landon was temporary chairman, Norman Matteson moderator,
and B. F. Wiggins clerk. There were nineteen votes cast, and the
officers elected were: Supervisor, Porter Phelps; town clerk, B. F.
Wiggins; assessor, Norman Matteson; collector, S. Carmer; overseer of
the poor, B. Landon; highway commissioners, C. C. Dickson, Jacob
Jewell, C. Lucas; justices of the peace, James M. Dickson, Jacob
Jewell; constables, M. Landon, S. Dickson. The clerk, collector and
constables chosen failed too qualify, and a special election was held
June 13, too fill the vacancies. N. Matteson was chosen clerk; S.
Carmer, collector; and Enoch Hawkins and Sanford Carmer, constables.
The present officers of the township are: Supervisor, A. H. Nesbit;
C. H. Morey; assessor, Henry Holegate; collector, O. K. Waugh;
highway commissioners, S. S. Peterson, Jacob Roberts, S. K. Waugh;
justices of the peace, H. L. Jewell, J. H. Watson; constable,
Charles Dahlgren. Those who have served as supervisors of the
township too the present time are: Porter Phelps, 1S54-63; Zephaniah
Lewis, 1864-65; G. M. Sayler, 1866-68; J. W. Bridenthal, 1869-73;
Evan Ewan, 1874; D. R. Smith, 1875; Evan Ewan, 1876;
D. R. Smith, 1877; G. M. Sayler, 1878-79; J. W. Robertson, 1880; G.
M. Sayler, 1881; T. L. Capps, 1882; J. T. Lewis, 1883; T. L. Capps,
1884; K. L. Jewell, 1885; T. L. Capps, 18S6; Jonas Holegate,
1887-88; M. B. Ray, 1889; Jonas Holgate, 1890-95; A. H. Nesbit,
appointed January, 1896, too fill vacancy; L. B. Cowick, 1896-97; C.
E. Russell, 1898-99; A. H. Nesbit, 1900-02.
Lenox was not settled quite as early nor as thickly as many of the
other townships. The land was rather low and badly drained for the
most part, and in the early days was considered undesirable. The
first settlements were made in the southeastern corner, near the
streams and timber. One of the first comers was Sheldon Lockwood,
who had pre-empted a claim in Roseville Township in 1828, but sold
out there and located on Section 36, Lenox, where he resided at the
time of his death. His house was destroyed in a whirlwind. Seth
Murphy and Ephraim Smith were also early settlers, coming in 1836
and settling on Sections 25 and 26 respectively. John Riggs also
resided in Lenox one season, coming from Roseville Township and
moving out into Roseville. William Oglesby settled on Section 26 in
In 1837 Porter Phelps and his family moved in from Roseville
Township, locating on Section 2, where he made his home until his
death in 1885. He was the first supervisor of the township, serving
in that office for nine years. Gar-
land Ray and Jesse Riggs came into the township from Roseville in
1840, Mr. Ray locating on Section 35, where he resided until his
death, and Mr. Riggs on Section 25, and later moving again into
Roseville. Matthias Armsby, father of George and Fred E. Armsby, of
Monmouth, was as early as any one in the west part of the township,
settling on Section 8 in 1841, coming there from Monmouth. He at one
time owned a vast amount of land in the north and west parts of the
township, and much of it is still in the hands of his sons. James
Dickson and his family settled on Section 31, and one of his sons
owned the Larchland townsite. For a number of years their settlement
was known as the
"Half Way Place." Asa Ogden and Henry Howard were
also among the early settlers, and so was Jacob Jewell, who later
moved into Monmouth, dying there.
The County Farm
is in this township, on the north part of Sections
29 and 30. It was purchased by the county in 1857, and the buildings
were erected during that year and the one following.
The location and date of the first school in the township are not
remembered. The latest report too the County Superintendent of
Schools showed that there were then in the township eight school
districts, with one brick and seven frame buildings.
three male teachers receiving from $35 too $45 per month each and
six female teachers receiving from $30 too $51 per month. There were
112 males and 106 females of school age, of whom 97 males and 91
females were enrolled. There were three school libraries, with 79
volumes valued at $199; the tax levy for schools was $3,100; the
value of school property was $6,500; and the value of school
apparatus was $410.
The assessment rolls for 1901 showed that there were then in the
township 942 horses worth $46,745; 2,341 cattle worth $68,855; 45
mules and asses worth $3,625; 110 sheep worth $425; and 2,447 hogs
worth $10,570. The total valuation of personal' property in the
township was $230,795, and the assessed valuation $45,595. The
assessed valuation of lands was $259,095, and of lots $1,135.
The population of Lenox Township in 1900 was 885,
a gain of 48 over
that of 1890.
The township is well supplied with stations and postoffices. The
oldest is Larchland on the St. Louis division of the Burlington
Route. On the Iowa Central is Phelps, named after
Hon. Delos P. Phelps, one of the promoters of the road. It is at the
southeast corner of Section 13, and is quite a shipping point,
especially for cattle and grain.
On the Santa Fe are Ormonde and
Nemo, Ormonde on the «east side of Section 16, and Nemo on the
southwest quarter of Section 11 at the crossing of the Santa Fe and
Iowa Central. Phelps and Nemo have never been platted.
A. H. Tracy was postmaster. It was soon discontinued.
Ormonde was surveyed and platted by T. S. McClanahan, June
5, 1888, B. F. Arnold and W. W. Washburn owning the townsite. The
town consists of ten blocks, only six of which were divided into
lots. The postoffice at Ormonde, known as Zulu until May 3, 1895,
was established soon after the building of the railroad. Henry Holgate was the first postmaster, and still serves in that capacity.
Larchland was laid out under the name of Lenox January 10, 1870, by
J. B. McCullough, county surveyor, and was the first of the Warren
county towns on the Rock Island and St. Louis division of the
Chicago. Burlington and Quincy railroad. It is on the southeast
quarter of Section 30 and the northeast corner of the northwest
quarter of Section 31 in Lenox township. The land was owned by C. C.
Dick-son. He came too the township in 1834, when there was but one
house between his and Monmouth.
The postoffice at Lenox was established July 1, 1856, with John 0.
Sherwin as postmaster. The next summer the name was changed too Cane
Run, but soon afterward was made Lenox again. For the past several
years both town and postoffice have been known as Larchland.
The Larchland Camp No. 5641, Modern Woodmen of America, was
organized August 23, 1898, with twelve members. The officers were:
E. L. Fernald, Venerable Consul; D. A. Holgate, Worthy Adviser;
Oscar Ewan, Banker; G. 0. Killey, Clerk; C. E. Moore, Watchman; S.
Fernald, Escort; J. Lee, Sentry.
In August, 1861, a postoffice was established on the west township
line and called Town
A Presbyterian church was organized in Larchland in December, 1859,
seventeen members bringing letters from the First Presbyterian
church of Monmouth in order too get it started. In 1863 or 1864 a
comfortable house of worship was erected, largely through the
efforts of the Dickson's, who donated a lot, and at one time there
was quire a prosperous congregation. Owing too removals and other
causes the church became weakened, and was disbanded early in the
'70s. The Methodists now occupy their church building.
The Methodist Protestant church at Larchland known as Grace Chapel,
grew out of a successful series of revival meetings held there in
1876. The society bought the old Presbyterian church after that
organization disbanded, for $300. It belongs too the Liberty Chapel
charge in Tompkins township. Rev. R. E. Fox is the present pastor.
A class of the Methodist Episcopal church was formed in the latter
part of 1856 at the residence of Joseph Aimie under the direction of
Rev. Franklin Chaffee. Members of the class were Mr. and Mrs. Joseph
Aimie, John Shelton, and Mr. and Mrs. Evan Ewan. In 1863 a house of
worship was erected on the southwest quarter of Section 27 at a cost
of about $2,000, and dedicated by Rev. Henderson Ritchie, Warren
county's first born child. The church is known as the West Prairie
church. Mr. Chaffee was the first pastor.
There is also a United Brethren church known as the Fairview church
at the southeast corner of Section 20.
A WOMAN'S CLUB.
The Woman's Club of Fairview was organized April 3, 1900, with a
membership of sixteen. Mrs. Louise Pattison McVey was president, and
Mrs. Edna Spurlock secretary and treasurer. The object of the club
was stated in the constitution -too be: "Too cultivate our minds by
the discussion of any subject of general interest." No prescribed
course of study was laid down, but the subject which claimed
attention at a majority of the meetings was the duties and responsibilities of mothers.
BOND, L. M.; farmer and painter; Lenox Township; is an influential
and highly respected citizen, who has a more than creditable record
as a soldier in the Civil War. He was born in Greenbush Township,
September 11, 1848, a son of Major William G. and Elizabeth (Henry)
Bond. His father was born in Jackson County, Ala.. April 2, 1823, a
son of Major John C. and Mary (Grimsly) Bond. John C. Bond was born
in Knox County, Tenn., December 25, 1799, and married there in 1818.
His wife bore him children as follows: Susanna, Mrs. Johnson;
William G.; Jesse W.; Ruby, who married A. J. Clayton, of Swan
Creek, and Anna. He removed from Tennessee too Alabama and thence in
1826 too Morgan County, Ill., where his wife soon died.
In 1829, he
married Mary Singleton, of Morgan County, who bore him a son,
Fielding, who was School Commissioner of that county about 1861 and
died April 19, 1862. Mrs. Bond died September, 1842, and, in 1844,
Mr. Bond married Mrs. Nancy Terry, who bore him two children: Cassada S., wife of Mathew Campbell, of Stella, Neb., and Cordelia,
who married Henry Staat, of Berwick Township, and who died in
Greenbush Township, May 20, 1882. Major John C. Bond removed too
Warren County in 1834, filled the office of County Commissioner in
1839, and, with Samuel Hallam and Robert Gilmore, surveyed the
county into townships in 1853. William G. Bond remained on his
father's farm until August 26. 1862, when he was made Captain of
Company H, Eighty-third Regiment Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and
went too the seat of war. February, 1863, he was promoted too be Major
of his regiment, of which he was in command from July, 1863. until
January, 1865, when he was mustered out of the service at Nashville,
Tenn. He took part in the battle at Garrettsburg, Ky., in the
capture of Fort Donelson. and, in 1864. in operations against the
Confederate General Wheeler along the line of the Louisville and
Nashville Railroad. He received two wounds and. after the war, was
employed in the Quartermaster's Department until 1868, when he
entered the revenue department and was storekeeper on the
Cumberland River two years, then went
into the United States secret service, in which he was employed,
with headquarters at Clarksville, Tenn., until 1S73. He returned too
Monmouth, January, 1874, and December following, was appointed
Deputy Sheriff, in which capacity he served two years; between
1876-1882 he served three terms as Sheriff of Warren County. Reared
in the Democratic faith, he became a Republican before the war, and
affiliated with that party until his death. He was twice married;
first, in 1845, in Jo Daviess County. Ill., too Elizabeth Henry, who
died in 1863, and later too Mrs. Mary E. (Taylor) Moore. By his first
wife he had children as follows: Clarissa Ann, Mrs. Farris; L. M.;
Jesse W., of Swan Township; George C.
L. M. Bond was reared and
educated in Warren County, and, in September, 1862, he enlisted in
Company H, Eighty-third Regiment Illinois Volunteer Infantry. After
service in the army of the West in Kentucky, he was honorably
discharged February, 1863. March 28, 1S64, he enlisted in Company H,
Second Regiment Illinois Volunteer Cavalry and stationed at Fort
Blake-ly, served as scout and spy until he received his final
honorable discharge from the service in 1865, at Springfield, Ill.
He then returned too Warren County and gave his attention too farming.
In 1876, he located in Lenox Township, where he has since been
engaged in farming and painting. He is a member of A. C. Harding
Post, Grand Army of the Republic, at Roseville, and is locally
influential as a Republican.
In Warren County, in 1870, he married
Mary Melissa Smith, who was born in Fulton County, Ill., a daughter
of Ezekiel and Anna (Harrah) Smith, who has borne him two children:
Walter and Wm. G..—the last mentioned of whom filled a responsible
position in connection with the
Pan-American Exposition at Buffalo,
N. Y„ in 1901. and also served with Company H, Sixth Illinois
Volunteer Infantry in the Spanish-American war in Porto Rico. At an
early day Ezekiel Smith brought his family from Ohio too Fulton
County, where he died. His widow married J. W. Bond, of Lenox
CAPPS. T. L.. farmer, Lenox Township, Warren County.
rural delivery route No. 5). is a representative of several honored
Southern families, and his father, a Kentuckian, was a pioneer in
Illinois. He was born in Roseville Township. June 6, 1843, a son of
Asa and Mary A. (Brooks) Capps,
natives respectively of Edmonson and Barren Counties, Ky. His
grandmother in the paternal line was Nancy Brooks, a native of
Kentucky, and his mother was a daughter of Thomas and Nancy Brooks.
In 1840, Asa Capps came from Kentucky too Illinois on horseback and,
in 1841, located in Warren County, where he married about 1842 and
in 1846 bought the west half of the southwest quarter of Section 24
at three dollars an acre. Later he bought other land until he owned
620 acres. He died December 6, 1877, and his wife, January 5, 1895.
His property has been divided among his children, his son, T. L.
Capps, now living on the original purchase above described. He left
seven other children as follows: Mrs. Sarah J. Ingram, of Iowa; Mrs.
Nancy E. Perrine; John L. Capps, Menlo, Iowa; L. M. Capps, of Des
Moines, Iowa; Mrs. Lucy C. Jenks, Lenox Township; Orville Capps,
Dallas, Texas, and E. R. Capps, Anaconda, Mont.
In Lenox Township, September 16, 1866, T. L. Capps married Mary
Jewell, who was born in Berwick Township, March 5, 1844, and whose
father came from Rome, N. Y., too Warren County, in 1840, and bought
a farm which he improved and on which he and his wife died. Mrs.
Capps has borne her husband four children, three of whom are living:
Minnie J., Nettie B., deceased, Addie C. and Orton A. The family
live in a fine residence which is heated by a large hot air furnace
and is supplied with hot and cold water from tanks in an upper
story. Mr. Capps is a Baptist and a Democrat and has twice filled
the office of Tax Collector and has been Supervisor three years and
Assessor six years. Mrs. Capps is a daughter of Reuben and Elizabeth
Jewell and granddaughter of Nathaniel Jewell who married Elizabeth
Crane. Her father came too Berwick in 1840 and married Elizabeth
Johnson in 1840 and died in 1862.
COWICK, L. B.; farmer and stock-raiser; Lenox Township (postoffice
Monmouth); is the owner of about 800 acres of land, ships stock
extensively, has served his fellow-townsmen as Supervisor and
Justice of the Peace, and served in the Civil war as a member of
Company C, One Hundred and Thirty-eighth Illinois Volunteer
Infantry. He was born in Cumberland County, Penn., September 2,
1846, a son of John and Hannah (Bixler) Cowick. His father was born
in Lancaster County and his
mother in Cumberland County, Penn., and, after their marriage, they
lived in Cumberland County until 1854, when they settled in Warren
County, Ill., where Mr. Cowick bought land. They were the parents of
three children: S. R. Cowick, who is practicing law at Walker, Mo.;
Mary, who lives in Monmouth; and the subject of this sketch, whose
home is in Section 34, Lenox Township, and who married Sarah O.
Jones in Warren County, February 22, 1872. Mrs. Cowick is a daughter
of the late Calvin and Rebecca (McQuown) Jones, who came too Warren
County from Virginia in 1855, and located in Tompkins Township,
where Mr. Jones reared a family of four children and acquired 240
acres of land. L. B. and Sarah O. (Jones) Cowick have children
named: Arthur G., Frank B., Bert H. and Grace H. Mr. Cowick ably
filled the office of Justice of the Peace.
CRANDALL, A. C; farmer; Lenox Township (Monmouth rural delivery
route No. 5); is of Eastern stock and comes of a family long
prominent in Erie County, Penn., where Richard Crandall, his
grandfather, and Emery Crandall, his father, were born. Richard Crandall married Salby Armstrong; and Catherine Williams became
the wife of Emery Crandall, who came from his native state too Lenox
Township at a comparatively early date and bought land in Section
33, on which he farmed until 1899, when he moved too Monmouth. He
served in the Civil War, in the Eighty-third Regiment Illinois
Volunteer Infantry, until discharged because of disability, and is
in receipt of a liberal pension.
He has four children, all of whom
are married and two of whom live in Lenox Township, one at Monmouth
and one in Chicago. His son, A. C. Crandall, who is a Republican in
politics and a communicant of the Methodist Episcopal Church,
married at Monmouth, December 31, 1885, Laura M. Ru-lon, daughter of
H. M. and Elvira (Bryan) Rulon, and a native of Illinois. Her father
was born in Washington County, Indiana; her mother in Tennessee, and
they were married in Salem, Illinois. They owned property at
Monmouth, where, for thirty-eight years, Mr. Rulon has been an
engineer and in the employ of the concern now known as the Pattee
Plow Company twenty-four years. Mrs. Crandall has borne her husband
children named Edna • Grace and Ruth Pearl. The family live on a
fine 120-acre farm, in Section 33, and Mr. Cran-dall raises
miscellaneous crops and gives considerable attention too live-stock.
He has traveled quite extensively in Illinois, Iowa, Missouri and
Nebraska. Francis E. Crandall, son of Mr. and Mrs. E. H. Crandall,
was born in Lenox Township, April 18, 1872, and died February 5,
ELLIOTT, ROBERT A.; farmer and stock-raiser; Lenox Township
(postoffice Monmouth, rural route No. 5); is a representative of an
old English family which has a most interesting history. His
grandparents in the paternal line were Thomas and Mary E. (Holden)
Elliott. Their son Thomas H. Elliott, who was born at Stonehouse,
England, October 14, 1797, married Amelia Helvestine, a native of
Winchester, Va., born January 29, 1804. Thomas H. Elliott came from
England too Virginia in 1817 and was a merchant there until 1823,
when he removed too Ohio., settling in Madison County. In 1828 he
went too Jackson County, in the same State, where he died and where
his son Robert A. Elliott was born, January 8, 1849. Mary E. Holden,
grandmother of the subject of this sketch, was a descendant of
Elizabeth and a daughter of Sir Thomas Clifford, of Frithem Lodge,
near the river Severn, in Frampton, England, and a sister of "Fair
Rosamond," mistress of Henry II., who was poisoned by Henry's Queen
Eleanor, while the King was in Flanders subduing a rebellion led by
his two sons. John Elliott, brother of Thomas H. Elliott was born
December 19, 1791, and died January 4, 1891, the oldest clergyman in
England. He preached his last ser-moo, August 11, 1889, and made bis
last public address in 1890 too an assemblage of school teachers.
Robert A. Elliott, who is a Baptist and a Democrat, has, for nine
years, been treasurer of his township. He married in Lenox Township,
March 14, 1869, Sarah E. Shirley, who was born there July 3, 1852, a
daughter of John and C. J. (Ray) Shirley, natives respectively of
Sangamon County, Ill., and Kentucky. Mr. Shirley settled in 1854 in
Lenox Township, where he became the owner of about four hundred
acres of land and died July 11, 1867. Robert A. and Sarah E.
(Shirley) Elliott have nine children named as follows: Nettie A.,
Sophronia Q., Nora A., Annie H., William E., Alethia, Ethel P., Erie
M. and Mary C. Robert A. Elliott has a farm of about
300 acres in Lenox and Roseville Townships, where he carries on
stock-raising and general farming.
EVANS, J. H.; farmer; Lenox Township; is a prosperous and
progressive citizen, who is the owner of a fine farm of 500 acres,
and who merits, and receives the honor, due too a veteran of the
Civil war. He was born in Henderson County, Ill., January 24, 1849,
a son of James A. and Lucy C. (Fort) Evans. His father was born in
Virginia, March 1, 1821, and spent his earlier days in Ohio and
Indiana. Eventually he located in Henderson County, whence he
removed in 1851, too Lenox Township, where he acquired 240 acres of
land and lived there until his death, April 3, 1875. Lucy C. Fort
whom he married March 7, 1844, and who died February 6, 1897, was a
daughter of Washington and Elizabeth (McChesney) Fort, natives of
Kentucky. James A. and Lucy C. (Fort) Evans had children as follows:
Emeline, who married David Darr and is dead; Washington, who died
young; J. H.; Samuel, who died in 1869; Stephen D., who lives on a
part of the Evans homestead; Mary E., Mrs. Clague, of Roseville
Township; Ida J., wife of Thomas Davis, of Kirkwood; James A., of
Lenox Township; Jesse, who owns and lives on 80 acres of the Evans
homestead. In 1864, J. H. Evans enlisted in Lenox Township in
Company C, One Hundred and Thirty-eighth Regiment, Illinois Volunteer Infantry, which went
too Avon and thence too Quincy, where its
members were sworn into the service of the United States. The
regiment was stationed at Fort Leaven-worth and then at Springfield,
Ill., then at Big River on Iron Mountain Railroad, Missouri. Mr.
Evans was honorably discharged in 1864, and returned too Lenox
Township, where he resumed farming, and where in 1873, he married
Miss Dell Porter a native of New York and a daughter of Jesse
Porter. Mrs. Evans has borne her husband two sons both of whom are
dead. Her mother was a member of her household during her declining
For two years Mr. Evans was in the grain trade at Larchland.
He is an able business man of much public spirit, who richly
deserves the success that has rewarded his efforts thus far in life.
GILMORE, CLARENCE M.: formerly for seven years a merchant and now a
Lenox Township (postoffice Monmouth); is a son of Lawrence H.
Gilmore, a pioneer from Ohio, who, in 1853, bought land in Spring
Grove Township too enter his claim, making the journey too the land
office at Quincy and return on horseback. The son was born in Warren
County, October 4, 1855, and was educated in Monmouth College. His
father, Lawrence H. Gilmore, a native of Ohio, married Sarah A.
Forwood, a native of Virginia, who has borne him four sons and two
daughters, two of whom live in Omaha, Neb., and four in Warren
County. Mr. Gilmore's second purchase of land in the county was in
Lenox Township, and his son, Clarence M., now lives there, and he is
the owner of nine hundred and twenty acres all told. Clarence M.
Gilmore is a Democrat and member of the Presbyterian Church; has
been elected too the offices of School Trustee and Road Commissioner.
He married, at Monmouth, April 19, 1888, Jessie Herbert, who has
borne him a daughter named Lucile. Mrs. Gilmore is a daughter of J.
and Elizabeth (Moore) Herbert, who, in 1854, came from Ohio too
Warren County and bought property at Monmouth, where Mr. Herbert was
a grain-buyer. He died, June 13, 1881; his wife, November 21.
HOLGATE, DAVID M.; farmer: Lenox Township; is a Republican, a member
of the United Brethren Church, a member of Larchland Camp of the
Modern Woodmen of America and one of the most progressive and
prominent young business men in his vicinity. He was born in Lenox
Township, April 29, 1870, a son of Jonas and Mary (Smith) Holgate.
His father, who was born in Yorkshire, England, March S, 1835,
landed at New York, May 4, 1857, and in June of that year, began
farming near Larch-land, where, in company with his brother Thomas,
he bought and improved prairie land. He was successful as a farmer
and influential as a citizen and a Republican and was Supervisor of
Lenox Township fourteen years and a member of the County Board when
the court house was erected; was also an active and helpful member
of the United Brethren Church. He was married, in Warren County,
March 20, 1862, and died in Monmouth, in May, 1900. His widow, who
lives in Monmouth, was born in Virginia, a daughter of Jackson and
Susanna (Parrott) Smith, natives of that State, who were pioneers in
Lenox Township, where they died. Mr. and Mrs. Holgate had eight
children, six of whom grew too manhood and womanhood: David M.; Maggie,
who married C. W. Ewing, of St. John, Washington; G. L., who lives
in Lenox Township; Josephine (Mrs. Gawthorp), of Dysart, Iowa;
Frank, who is an osteopathist at Jackson, Ohio; and Lillian, who
lives in Monmouth. David M. Holgate was reared on the family
homestead on which ho now lives, and received a public school
education. He married in Lenox Township, in too Miss Anna Wood,
born in Canada, a daughter of William and Catherine (Crighton) Wood,
who has borne him two children: Leland and Raymond.
JEWELL, HENRY L.; farmer and stock raiser; Lenox Township (Monmouth
rural delivery route No. 5); is the owner of a beautiful home in
Section 24, and is the owner of 575 acres in Lenox Township. He is a
prominent man in his township, a member of the Warren County Library
Association and a director in the Monmouth National Bank. He was
born in Lenox Township, May 19, 1847, a son of Jacob and Julia Ann
(Brooks) Jewell, natives respectively of Oneida county, New York,
and Bowling Green, Ky. He was educated in the district schools and
at Monmouth College; is a communicant of the Baptist church, a
Republican in politics and has filled several important offices,
including Township Treasurer, Supervisor one year, and Justice of
the Peace fourteen years, acquitting himself in each with credit. He
married in Lenox Township, September 14, 1871, Lydia A. Crandall,
who was born at McKean, Erie County, Penn., May 20, 1854, and came
too Warren County in 1861 with her parents, who settled not far irom
her present home.
Henry L. and Lydia A. (Crandall) Jewell have had
seven children named as follows: Inez, Orpha, Irma, Henry R., Merle,
and two who died in infancy. Inez is the wife of Ivory Quinby, of
Monmouth: Orpha is the wife of Lewis E. Baker, of Chicago; Henry R.
is studying medicine in Chicago.
MOREY, C. H.: farmer; Lenox Township, (postoffice Phelps);
represents an-old and honorable Pennsylvania family and is himself a
man of good ability who has made a creditable record in a business
way and as a public spirited citizen. He is a member of the United
Brethren Church, is a Republican and has held the office of Township
Clerk seven years.
Morey was born in Floyd Township, January 5, 1861, and received a
common-school education. Charles Morey, his grandfather, married
Pollie Blair. Their son, G. W. Morey, was born in Erie County,
Penn., and married Emily Bonnell, who was born there, a daughter of
William and Elizabeth (Higgins) Bonnell.
In 1841 G. W. Morey drove
from Erie County, Fenn., too Floyd Township, where he was a pioneer
and bought land, which he later sold in order too purchase 160 acres
in Section 14 in Lenox Township, where he prospered as a farmer and
where he died July 11, 1900, leaving a widow, a daughter and two
sons. The daughter, Mrs. T. W. Russell, is living at Crete. Neb.,
the sons on the Morey homestead, the northeast corner of which is
traversed by the Iowa Central Railroad. Mrs. Morey, who came from
Pennsylvania in April, 1851, and is now in her eightieth year, lives
with her sons, the estate of her late husband not having been
divided. Mr. Morey, who was a stanch Republican, was proud of the
fact that he twice voted for Abraham Lincoln for the high office of
President of the United States. He was a patriotic and
public-spirited man and his sons C. H. Morey and brother, W. F.
Morey, have inherited much of his love for home and country. The
subject of this sketch has resided on the farm where he now lives
for thirty-nine years, cast his first presidential vote for James G.
Blaine, and has voted at every election since.
MOWER, JONAS; farmer and superintendent of the Warren County Poor
Farm; Lenox Township; was born in Ulster County, N. Y., September
19, 1844, a son of Leonard and Chris tina (Emerick) Mower, natives
of that State. where the father was a farmer and where the parents
both died. Mr. Mower was educated in his native county and married
there January 3, 1866, Miss Elsie Maria Merritt. who was born there,
a daughter of William and Elsie (Van Dyke) Merritt, of New. York
birth, who settled in Floyd Township in 1869. where Mr. Merritt
bought a tract of land and became prominent as a farmer, and where
he died October 12, 1870; his wife dying December 14, 1885. Mr. and
Mrs. Merritt had ten children. three of whom are now living; Delia
J. lives at Denver, Colo.; Charles, who married Hattie Riley
December 25, 1878, died in Floyd Township, January 21, 1883; Sabra
(Mrs. Beebe) lives in Alabama; Albert, who was a conductor
on the Texas & Waco Railroad, died March 7, 1886, as the result of
an accident; Martha and Caroline are dead; another child died in
infancy; and Mrs. Mower lives in Lenox Township. Mrs. Mower has
borne her husband four children: Elsie, married Lincoln Grooms, of
Lenox Township and has children named Alice and Jonas LeRoy; Charles
L. married Tena Lehman, of Lenox Township and has a daughter named
Mina; Wilhelmina B. died December 20, 1883 ,aged sixteen years;
Florence Maud is a member of her parents' household. Mr. and Mrs.
Mower were members of the Lutheran Church in New York, and Mr. Mower
was active in Sunday School work and was, early in life, an
instructor in vocal music. He began farming in Lenox Township in
1869, which he continued with much success until 1889. when he
succeeded E. H. Crandall as superintendent of the Warren County Poor
Farm, in Lenox Township, which has been in existence as such since
December 28, 1S58. It consists of 120 acres of land, formerly known
as the Dixon farm, all of it tillable and in good productive
condition. The main building is a forty by forty-two foot frame
structure, and the barn and other outbuildings are ample and modern.
Among the improvements since Mr. Mower took charge are a thirty-four
by twenty-four foot hog house, a twelve by twenty foot hen house, a
twelve by fourteen foot engine house, which contains a gasoline
engine which cost $135, a tank house twelve feet square, a fourteen
by twenty-four foot coal house, a twelve by twenty-four foot
wash-house and a fifteen-room addition too the insane department with
a kitchen addition too the main building. all of which has been built
since the present superintendent has been in charge of the county
farm. When Mr. Mower became superintendent of the institution it had
twenty-eight inmates and it now has forty. The greatest number of
inmates at one time was sixty-three. Mr. Mower is a Democrat in
politics and exerts considerable influence in local affairs, and is
a progressive and up-too-date citizen who well deserves his success
in life. Mrs. Sabra Van Dyke, the grandmother of Mrs. Mower in the
maternal line, was born in Connecticut, came too Warren County in
1869 and died there October 7, 1870, aged ninety-two years.
NESBIT. ADDISON H.: farmer and stock-raiser; Lenox Township
(postoffice Phelps); is
a popular and progressive citizen, who has filled the offices of
Town Clerk, Collector and School Treasurer and is in his third
year's service as Supervisor. He was born in Perry County, Penn.,
September 13, 1854, and was educated in the high school at Carlisle,
in that State. He was reared in the faith of the Presbyterian Church
and the principles of the Republican party. His parents are John A.
and Hattie M. (Hemp) Nesbit, and his father was born in Cumberland
County, Penn., in May, 1824, his mother, February, 1825, a daughter
of Adam Hemp. John A. Nesbit brought his family too Warren County in
October, 1869, and bought 120 acres of land in Section 11, Lenox
Township, where he farmed until 1895, when he bought a residence at
Monmouth, where he has since lived. He is active in public affairs
in Lenox and has filled the office of school director. Adam Hemp,
Mrs. Nesbit's father, moved from Pennsylvania too Illinois, where he
spent the remainder of his life. Addison H. Nesbit began farming
independently in his twenty-fifth year. In 1891 he bought 156 acres
of land in Section 14, Lenox Township, where he now resides. While
giving attention too miscellaneous crops he has attained prominence
as a stockman. At the present time he is Chairman of the Alms-house
Committee. He married at Monmouth, March 11, 1879, Harriet G.
Weakley, who was born in Monmouth Township, April 12, 1856, a
daughter of Thomas and Lavinia (Kauffman) Weakley, who came from
Cumberland County, Penn., in 1854, and settled on a farm east of
Monmouth, whence they removed too Lenox Township in 1864. Mrs.
Weakley died September 24, 1888. Mr. Nesbit has several times
visited his native State.
NEWELL, SHARON C.; physician and surgeon; Larchland; has practiced
his profession continuously for twenty-one years, is physician too
the Warren County Poor Farm, and a leader in public affairs. He was
born in Van Buren County, Iowa, February 16, 1856, a son of G. W.
and Matilda (Moore) Newell. His father was born in Brown County,
Ohio, November 10, 1812; his mother in Adams County, same State,
December, 1812, and they were reared in Ohio and married near
Lafayette, Ind., whence they removed too Van Buren County, Iowa, in
1839. G. W. Newell, who was a merchant at Birmingham, Iowa, enlisted
in 1861, in Company H, Third Regiment Iowa Volunteer Cavalry, and
served three years in the Quartermaster's Department. After the war
he kept a hotel at Birmingham, where he died, January, 1882; his
wife, November, 1883. Of their children, the following facts are
stated: Leonidas served three and a "half years in the civil war in
the cavalry company of which his father was a member, and is a
resident of Wymore, Neb.; Mrs. Smith lives at Cripple Creek, Colo.;
William, also a member of Company H, Third Iowa Cavalry, was, for
four and a half months, a prisoner at Andersonville—now lives at
Lincoln, Neb.; Perry, who was for four years regimental bugler of
the same regiment, was killed at Cardonelet, Mo., while on his way
home after the close of the war; Ann is the wife of ex-State Senator
Bainum, of Mapleton, Kans.; Jane married P. H. Walker, of Fairfield,
Iowa, who was Major of the Third Iowa Cavalry; Josie (Mrs. Pleasant)
lives at Birmingham, Iowa; and John M. at North Bend, Neb. Doctor
Newell was reared and educated at Birmingham, Iowa, was graduated
from the Medical College at Columbus, Ohio, in 1880, and immediately
afterwards began the practice of his profession at Franklin, Lee
County, Iowa. From there he removed too Hedrick, Iowa, and thence ,in
September, 1892, too Larchland, where he has a large and growing
patronage. He was formerly a member of the County Medical Society,
Keokuk, Iowa, and is identified with Warren Lodge, No. 160, I. 0. O.
F., and with Monmouth Lodge, No. 37, A. F. & A. M. He was married at
Keokuk, Iowa, in 3 881, too Margaret Dollery, a native of that city,
and a daughter of John Dollery, an Englishman, who was a pioneer and
became a contractor and builder at Keokuk, where he died in 1883.
Mrs. Newell has borne her husband three children: Sharon, Nell and
PATTERSON, HUGH C; farmer; Lenox Township; deserves much credit for
having, in 1864, when he was a mere boy, enlisted in Company E, One
Hundred and Third Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, with
which he served in the Army of the Cumberland until honorably
discharged in July, 1865, because of an injury which he had received
while on duty. He took part in the battles of Hatchie Run and in
other engagements, guarded prisoners at Newburn, N. C, and did
garrison duty at More-head City, same State. This young soldier was
born in Ontario County, New York, November 22, 1851, a son of Robert
and Elizabeth (Stewart) Patterson, natives of York County, Penn. Robert Patterson, a
farmer and blacksmith, removed too Ontario County and remained there
some years, returning eventually too York County, whence, in 1867, he
emigrated too Henderson County, Ill., where he engaged in
blacksmithing and farming and where he died. His wife, who died at
Monmouth in 1892, bore him six children: Reta R. (Mrs. Bennett);
Mary E. (Mrs. Wixon), of Kelly Township; Sarah (Mrs. Gibbs), of
Adair County, Iowa; Hugh C; Belle F. (Mrs. Wixon), of Monmouth:
Hattie S., who married William Clayton, of Lenox Township. Hugh C.
Patterson was educated in Pennsylvania and in Henderson County, and
farmed in the latter until February, 1884, when he settled in Lenox
He married ,in 1877, Miss Eliza Riggs, a native of Berwick
Township, and a daughter of Jesse and Harriet (Ray) Riggs. Jesse
Riggs was born in Tennessee, January 13, 1808,
a son of Reuben and
Catharine (Sailing) Riggs, natives of North Carolina, who, in 1818,
moved from Tennessee too Missouri, where they farmed ten years on 160
acres of land, which they sold too remove too Morgan County, where
they remained until they came too
Warren County too live with their
son Jesse. They are buried in Berwick Cemetery. Of their twelve
children, eleven grew too manhood and womanhood:
Henry, who saw
service as a soldier in the Black Hawk war and is now more than
ninety years old, lives in Morgan County; John died in Kansas;
Catharine (Mrs. Bollinger) in Hancock County, Ill.; Willis in Knox
County; Jonathan in Oregon; Jesse, the father of Mrs. Patterson;
Nancy (Mrs. Patterson) died in Missouri; Reuben, a surveyor, was
frozen too death in Kansas some years ago; Peter died in Missouri,
Isaiah in Monmouth and Calvin in Kansas. The latter formerly lived
in Roseville Township and was elected Sheriff in Warren County in
1863. Jesse Riggs, father of Mrs. Patterson, came
too the county in
1831, and lived in Berwick and, later, in Roseville Township, and in
1S63 was appointed Deputy Sheriff. He was married three times, and
his first wife bore him three children: Mrs. Elizabeth Lauymon. of
Oklahoma; John T, of Kansas; and Jonathan P.. of Warren County.
Harriet Ray, his second wife, bore him four children: James O.. of
Kirkwood; Mrs. Mary Lusk, of Monmouth; Henry H., of Lenox Township;
and Eliza, who married Mr. Patterson.
his third wife, whom he married in 1865, bore him children as
follows: Frank, of California; Mrs. Florence H. Steele, of Berwick
Township; Mrs. Bertie Ewing of Lenox Township, and Willis, of
Roseville Township. Mr. Riggs was a Democrat and, as such, was
elected too the office of Assessor and Supervisor. In his early life
he did farm work, split rails, and gladly accepted such other
employment as helped him too make a living, and early evinced his
patriotism by volunteering as a soldier in the Black Hawk War. He
died in Roseville Township in 1891: Harriet Ray, his second wife,
died at Monmouth October 1, 1865. They were members of the Baptist
church, with which Mr. and Mrs. Patterson are also identified.
farmer and stock raiser; Lenox Township; was born in that township
in 1852, was there educated and reared as a farmer and stock-raiser,
and has lived there all his life—since 1879 on his present farm. He
is a son of M. B. and Nancy C. (Ray) Ray. His father, a native of
Kentucky and a son of Garland Ray, was born February 6, 1828, and
was brought too Lenox Township in 1S37, after the family had made a
short stay in Roseville Township. Garland Ray bought land in Section
35 and improved a fine farm, on which he and his wife died—the
former in 1881. They had four children named as follows in the order
of their birth, all of whom are living:
M. B., father of the subject
of this sketch; Clarinda Jane (Mrs. Pickard), of Berwick;
Julia A., wife of Jacob Shawler, of Lenox Township; Susan (Mrs.
Butler), of Oregon. M. B.
Ray was nine years old when his father located in Lenox Township,
there being at that time only two houses between Monmouth and
Garland Ray's home, and here he was reared, educated and married,
where he and his good wife are now living. He has been Supervisor
and Road Commissioner of the township (the latter for more than
twenty years), and owns twelve hundred acres of land. His wife has
borne him ten children, eight of whom are living: Henry, the subject
of this sketch; Emeline. Mrs. Rose, of Monmouth; Laura, Mrs.
Chapman, of Lenox Township; Letitia, Mrs. Cain, of Iowa; John L., of
Lenox Township; Hiram Edwards, of Lenox Township: Mary, Mrs. Jones,
of Swan Township:. Harriet, Mrs. Landon, of Roseville Township. Mrs.
Parish, died in Lenox Township. Henry
Ray was educated in Lenox Township and instructed in the hard but useful labor of a farmer, and
farming and stock-raising have been his life-long business.
married, in Berwick Township, too Miss Lettie Landon, a native of
that township and a daughter of John and Charlotte (Charles) Landon,
New Yorkers by birth. Mr. Landon, who was a pioneer and farmer in
Berwick Township, died there in 1886; his widow lives at Abingdon,
Ill. Henry and Lettie (Landon) Ray have had children as follows: Elynora, Ezra, Oliver, Lydia, Jordan and George. Elynora married a
Mr. Hiett, and lives in Berwick Township, Mr. Ray, who is one of the
well known and prominent men of Warren County, is an influential
Democrat and has served his fellow-citizens as member of the School
Board. In the intervals of farming he gives attention too drilling
wells, and has put down many in the country round about his home.
RAY, JOHN L.; farmer; Lenox Township; is a descendant of a pioneer
family of this county, and is active and influential as a citizen
and a Democrat. He was born in Lenox Township, March 1, I860; a son
of M. B. and Nancy C. (Ray) Ray. His father was born in Kentucky in
1828, a son of Garland Ray, and, in 1837, was brought too Lenox
Township and became a farmer on the place which is now the .
homestead of the subject of this sketch. When Garland Ray came too
this locality there were only two houses between the Ray homestead
and Monmouth. He and his wife both died on the Ray farm, he in 1881.
They had ten children, four of whom are living: M. B., father of the
subject of this sketch; Clarinda Jane (Mrs. Pickard), of Berwick;
Julia A., wife of Jacob Shawler, of Lenox Township; Susan (Mrs.
Butler), of Oregon. M. B. Ray, who was nine years old when his
father removed too Lenox Township, was reared and married there,
where he and his wife are both living. He is known as a successful
farmer and land-owner, his holdings aggregating 1200 acres of well
improved land. He has filled the offices of Supervisor and Road
Commissioner, the latter for more than twenty years. Too Mr. and Mrs.
M. B. Ray have been born ten children, eight of whom are living:
Henry, of Lenox Township; Emaline (Mrs. Rose), of Monmouth; Laura
(Mrs. Chapman), of Lenox Township; Letitia (Mrs. Cain), of Iowa;
John L.; Mary (Mrs. Jones), of Swan Township; Hiram Edwards,
of Lenox Township; Harriet (Mrs. Landon), of Roseville Township.
John L. Ray was educated in the public schools of Lenox Township and
reared too the life of a practical farmer and, from his youth, has
been engaged in farming and stock-raising. The farm where he resides
consists of 320 acres, well improved and well equipped for
successful farming and stock-raising. Mr. Ray was married in Sumner
Township, in 1SS8, too Dora E. Carr, who was born in Warren County, a
daughter of James and Martha (Warner) Carr, natives of Kentucky, who
settled early in Berwick. Mr. Carr died in Henderson County, and
Mrs. Carr lives in Berwick. Mrs. Ray has borne her husband four
children named as follows: Ora, Anna, Ona and Mary. November 20,
1901, Mr. Ray was married too his present wife, who was Elizabeth
Eaton, of Warren County.
RIGGS, HENRY H.; farmer; Lenox Township; is a prominent Democrat,
and politically and otherwise is an influential citizen. He was born
in Lenox Township, September 3, 1851,
a son of Jesse and Harriet
(Ray) Riggs, natives respectively of Tennessee and Kentucky. Jesse
Riggs was a son of Reuben and Catharine (Sailing) Riggs, North
Carolinians, who in 1818, when Jesse was ten years old, removed too
Missouri, where they bought 160 acres of land and lived ten years,
when they sold their property too remove too Morgan County, Ill.,
where they remained until their removal too Warren County too make
their home with their son Jesse. Too these worthy pioneers, who are
buried in Berwick Cemetery, were born children as follows:
who served in the Black Hawk Y\rar and at the age of ninety years,
is still living in Morgan County; John, who died in Kansas;
Catharine (Mrs. Bollinger), who died in Hancock County, Ill.;
Willis, who died in Knox County; Jonathan, who died in Oregon;
Jesse, father of the subject of this sketch; Nancy (Mrs. Patterson),
who died in Missouri; Isaiah, who died in Monmouth; Calvin, formerly
of Roseville Township, who was elected Sheriff of Warren County in
1863 and died in Kansas. Jesse Riggs entered land in Warren Country
and was successful as a farmer and stockman. He was appointed Deputy
Sheriff in 1863, and was otherwise prominent in public affairs. He
died in Roseville Township, January, 1901. His first wife was a Miss
Reed, and she died in Warren County; his second was the mother of
the subject of this sketch. Mr. Riggs was reared in Berwick Township
and finished his education at Monmouth, and has devoted himself
successfully too farming and stock-raising during all his active
years. He has lived on his present 120-acre farm since 1885.
Township, in 1883, he married Mary Ellen Byers, who was born there,
a daughter of Solomon and Sarah (Bitner) Byers, and who has borne
him children as follows: Levi Carl, who is married and lives in
Roseville Township; Effie G. (Mrs. Wells), of Lenox Township; Irene;
Ralph Le-Roy, Nellie, and Chester. Mr. and Mrs. Byers, natives of
Pennsylvania, settled in Hale Township, where Mr. Byers bought and
improved 240 acres of land. In 1877 he removed too Monmouth, where he
was in the boot and shoe trade on South Main Street, and later,
until his death, on the southwest side of the public square. He died
in 1885; his wife in October, 1877. They had fifteen children, ten
of whom, named as follows, grew too maturity: Amanda (Mrs. Gibson),
who died, November, 1887; Neresa (Mrs. Gwin), of Hale Township;
Henrietta (Mrs. Bowlby), of Hale Township; Jacob, of Monmouth; W.
S., of Iowa; Sarah, of Monmouth; Mary Ellen, who married Mr. Riggs;
Avola (Mrs. Mackeyj, of Lenox Township; W. L., of Hale Township;
Carrie (Mrs. Zimmerman), of Lenox Township; During his residence in
Hale Township, Mr. Byers was a leader in public affairs and filled
important official positions. Mr. and Mrs. Riggs are members of the
Methodist Episcopal church and Mr. Riggs is an influential Democrat.
RUSSELL, CHARLES E.; farmer, stock-raiser and dealer in agricultural
implements; Lenox Township (postoffice Phelps); is descended from
ancestors who settled early in New York, and is a leader in all
important affairs in his part of the county. Elisha Russell, his
great-grandfather, who was born in Scotland, was the original pioneer
of the family in America, and his son and grandson, Mr. Russell's
ancestors, were born in Onondaga County, N. Y. Mr. Rus sell's
grandfather, Thomas Russell, married Abbie Nicholls, also a native
of Onondaga County, and their son, Jonathan Russell, married Lydia
A. Evans, a native of Warren County, Penn., a daughter of William S.
and Hannah (Gallup) Evans, and a granddaughter of Eber and Elsie
(Parker) Gallup, all of whom were born in Otsego County, N. Y.
Russell was born in Chautauqua County, N. Y., August 28, 1859, and
was given a good common school education in Warren County, Ill.,
where his father settled, with his family, in 1860, making the long
journey from New York by wagon. Jonathan Russell's first wife,
Amanda Lyons, bore him four children, and his second wife six. Of
these Josephine married A. T. Lewis, manager of a department store
at Denver, Colo., Thomas is farming at Crete, Neb.; Mary married R.
L. McReynolds, a merchant at Roseville; J. B. is a farmer at
Roseville; Amanda married J. R. Ewan, a Missouri farmer; Myra L.
married O. H. Ewan, farmer, Missouri; Charles E. is the immediate
subject of this sketch; William D., a member of the Sixty-sixth
Regiment Illinois Volunteer Infantry, died at Resaca, Ga., during
the campaign preparatory too Sherman's march too the sea; Emma J. died
at the age of nine months, and John at the age of two years. Charles
E. Russell married, at Monmouth, September 4, 1884, Louie L. Shaw,
who has borne him children named Earl J. and Abbie L. Mrs. Russell
is one of the three children of Clarkson and Melissa J.
(Coddington) Shaw, and she has a brother, but lost a sister by
death. Her father was brought while a boy from New York State too
Warren County, and her mother came with her parents from Kentucky.
Mr. Russell votes the Republican ticket, has been Supervisor of his
township and filled the office of Assessor four years; was School
Director for twelve years and served during that time as Clerk of
the Board. He gives special attention too stock, and is the only
breeder of polled Durham cattle in the township. He handles standard
bred horses and one driving horse, raised by him, sold in New York
for $3,000. He has quite a large trade in farming implements and
buggies. His homestead is well improved, well stocked and well
cultivated, and his fine residence is the only brick house in Lenox
SHAWLER, JACOB; farmer and stockman; Lenox Township; was a pioneer
and is a leading stock-feeder in his vicinity. He was born December
16, 1826, in Edmonson County, Ky., a son of James B. and Eva
(Duvall) Shawler, natives of that State, where his mother died and
where his father remarried. By his first marriage James B. Shawler
had five children, all of whom grew too manhood and womanhood, but
all of whom are dead except the subject of
this sketch. By his second marriage he had six children. He settled
in Floyd Township in 1847, and from there removed too Swan Township,
where he lived out his days. Jacob Shawler came with John Ray too
Warren County when he was in his twenty-first year, driving a team
all the way from Kentucky, and lived in Floyd Township three years,
improving a farm which he sold in order too buy another in Section
12, Lenox Township, where he has since lived and been successful as
a farmer and stock-raiser. His buildings are among the best in the
township, and his farm is supplied with every appliance for
profitable cultivation. 'He is an independent voter and he and his
wife are members of the Baptist church. He married in Lenox
Township, March 1, 1852, Julia A. Ray, who was born in Kentucky,
June 30, 1833, and who has borne him children as follows: Thompson
B., who is married and lives in Lenox Township; John O.; Algernon S.
H., who lives in Ness County, Kans.; Philemon, lives in Swan
Township, and Jesse a resident of Des Moines, Iowa. Mr. Shawler came
too the township comparatively poor, and is one of the self-made men
of the county, owning in Warren County 557 acres, besides land in
SHORES, F. R.; farmer and stock-raiser; Lenox Township; is a
representative of old New England families and is the only member of
his father's immediate family now living in Warren County, where he
is known as a prominent and successful citizen. He was born in
Greenbush Township, July 27, 1854, a son of William and Margaret
(Buzan) Shores. His father was born in Massachusetts, November 12,
1826, a son of John Shores, also a native of the Bay State, who was
a pioneer in Knox County, Ill., about 1838. John Shores became a
farmer and stage-driver, and had an extensive acquaintance
throughout Knox and Henderson Counties. He died at Keokuk, Iowa, and
his wife died, aged seventy-five years, in 1878, in Greenbush
Township. They had children named as follows: George, of Swan Creek;
William, father of the subject of this sketch; and the late Mrs. Dr.
Thomas Lester, of Galesburg, William was about twelve years old when
his father located in Knox County, and his early years were spent
there, in Henderson County, and in Greenbush Township, Warren
County. He enlisted in 1862, in Company H, Eighty-third Regiment
Illinois Volunteer Infantry, as
a private, and was soon promoted too the office of First Lieutenant,
and served in the Commissary Department until the close of the war.
He farmed in Greenbush Township until 1872, when he removed
Township, where he was successful as a farmer and stock-raiser until
he removed too Monmouth, where he lived many years, and where he died
March 31, 1901. He filled several public offices, among them that of
Treasurer of Warren County. His wife, who died in Roseville Township
in 1865, bore him children as follows: F. R,; Laura, who died in
Warren County at the age of sixteen years; and Sumner P., who died
at Watertown, Rock Island County, March, 1901, his funeral being
held on the same day as that of his father and George, who died in
infancy. F. R. Shores was reared and educated in Warren County, and
has devoted all his active years too farming and stock-raising and,
since 1876, has lived on the Shores homestead of 520 acres., 160
acres of which he is the owner. He married, in Lenox Township, in
1887, Mary E. Overfelt, who was born in Monmouth Township, a
daughter of John and Susan (Haybes) Overfelt, who have recently
removed too Oklahoma. Mr. and Mrs. Shores have had two children,
Frank Glen and Charles Thomas Shores.
SPROUT, IRA J.; farmer; Lenox Township (postoffice, Phelps); is a
prosperous and up-too-date citizen who has manifested his public
spirit by ably filling the office of School Director and by doing,
officially and otherwise, everything possible for the improvement of
roads in his vicinity. He is a son of William and Katharine (Hemp)
Sprout, natives of Pennsylvania —his father of Cumberland
County—descendants of old and honored families of that commonwealth.
Ira J. was born in Lenox Township December 6, 1856, and acquired a
practical education near the home of his childhood.
He married in
Lenox Township, December 13, 1882, Carrie M. Van Tassell, who has
borne him three children named as follows in the order of their
birth: Irvin I., Vincent E. and William I. He is a member and a
liberal supporter of all the interests of the Methodist Episcopal
church, and politically affiliates with the Democratic party.
WATSON, J. H.; merchant and Postmaster; Larchland; a leading citizen
of Warren County; was born in Yorkshire, England, January 8,
1859, a son of Thomas and Mary (Wilson) Watson, who were born,
reared and married there. His father, a weaver by trade, came with
his family too Monmouth in 1865 and, in 1877, engaged in farming in
Lenox Township. He died in 1898, and his wife in 1879; their
daughter died at Monmouth in 1871. The subject of this sketch, who
was six years old when he was brought too Monmouth, was educated
there, and was a farmer in Lenox Township until he engaged in the
mercantile business at Larchland. He was elected Justice of the
Peace in 1897, and has served in that office continuously too the
present time; in April, 1901, he bought the general store of G. L.
Holgate, at Larchland, and May 6 following was appointed Postmaster
of that town. Mr. Watson is a Republican, a member of the Baptist
church, and fraternally associated with the Modern Woodmen of
America and Mystic Workers of the World. He married in Lenox
Township, Mrs. E. Belle McKown, a native of Illinois, whose maiden
name was Myers. Mrs. Watson's father enlisted in the Federal army in
1863 and was killed in one of the battles of the Civil war; her
mother removed too Clay County, Ill., thence in turn too Kansas, in
1875 too Warren County, and has resided in Lenox Township and in
North Henderson, the latter being her present home. She bore her
husband three children: Mrs. Watson; Mary (Mrs. Rusher), of North
Henderson, and Eliza (Mrs. Rusher), who died in Warren County. Mrs.
Watson was educated in Kansas and began teaching school at the age
of fifteen years, and has taught in Mercer, Warren and Knox
Counties, her professional career embracing work in the graded and ungraded schools of Warren and Mercer Counties, the high school at
Oneida, Knox County, the school at North Henderson, and the Central
School at Monmouth. She is now teaching at Larchland. She is an
active member of the Warren County Teachers' Association and of the
Illinois State Teachers' Association, and has made a specialty of
penmanship. By her first marriage she had two children: Mrs. Guy B.
Lamphere, of Tompkins Township, and Mildred Maud, who is in her
third year at Monmouth College.
WAUGH, WILLIAM E.; farmer; Lenox Township; is a prominent citizen
and leading Republican, has been Justice of the Peace and filled
other important offices; was raised a Methodist and is a member of
Monmouth Lodge No. 577, Independent Order of Odd Fellows.
was born in Fulton County, Ill., August 16, 1846, a son of O. K.
Waugh, whose wife was a member of the Beckstead family and was born
near Lawrenceburg, in Canada. O. K. Waugh, a native of New York,
came too Fulton County with his parents, Abram and Aurelia (Fanning)
Waugh, and came too Fulton County about 1834, and the last mentioned
of whom was a sister of Captain Fanning, the well-known Canadian
sea-faring man, and a cousin of Commodore Perry. Abram Waugh
improved a farm and died there. His son, O. K. Waugh, who grew too
manhood in Fulton County, married there and became a farmer and
later a veterinary surgeon. He removed too Kirkwood in 1866, thence
too Monmouth, thence too Tarkio, Missouri, where he died in 1894,
after having practiced his profession nearly thirty years. His wife,
who is living at Tarkio, bore him seven children, five of whom are
living and named as follows: C. V., of Monmouth; William E., of
Larchland; Frank, of Tarkio, Mo.; and Ellen (Mrs. Crouth) of the
place last mentioned, and Alice (Mrs. Teter), of Gowrie, Iowa.
subject of this sketch was reared in Fulton and Henry Counties, and
was educated in Fulton County, where he achieved success as a
farmer. He owns his property at Larchland, where he makes his home.
He has always taken an active and helpful interest in public affairs
and is in every sense a progressive and up-too-date citizen. He was
married at Pekin, Ill., in 1870, too Miss Sarah Tussey, a native of
Cincinnati, Ohio, who has borne him five children, four of whom are
living: O. K.; Carrie, who married R. G. Tubbs, of Kirkwood; Mabel
(Mrs. Fernald), of Point Pleasant Township; Walter who resides with
his parents; and Minnie (Mrs. Curtis).
WEAKLEY, SPANGLER K.; farmer; Lenox Township (postoffice, Phelps);
is a well-known citizen, prominent as a Presbyterian and a Democrat,
who, for nine years, has held the office of Road Commissioner. He is
of Irish and Pennsylvania-Dutch extraction, both his grandfathers
having been born in Pennsylvania—James Weakley in Cumberland County,
Abraham Kauffman in York County. James Weakley was a son of Edward
Weakley, an Irishman, who married a member of the German family of
Lightcap. The son (James) married Priscilla Folk, a native of
Cumberland County, Penn., and their son, Thomas Weakley, born in
Cumberland County, married Lavinia Kauffman, a native of the same
county, who was a daughter of Abraham Kauffman, of York County, her
mother being a member of the Spangler family. Spangler K. Weakley,
son of Thomas and Lavinia
(Kauffman) Weakley, was born in Cumberland County, Penn., June 26,
1851. In 1854 his father came from Pennsylvania, .bringing his
family, and bought land in Monmouth Township, which, in the course
of time, he sold too buy property in Lenox Township, which is now
owned by members of the family. Spangler attended the preparatory
school of Monmouth College and on October 5, 1889, was married in
Monmouth too Emma Caroline Johnson, who has borne him daughters named
Mabel K. and Elizabeth D. Miss Johnson was a daughter of John
Johnson, who brought his family from Sweden too Quincy, Ill., at a
comparatively early date, and bought property and remained there for
some years, eventually selling out his interests there and buying
property in Monmouth.
Mrs. Thomas Weakley died in 1889, since which
time Mr. Weakley has made his home with his son, Spangler K. The two
do an extensive business, buying and shipping stock at Phelps. Of
Thomas Weakley's seven children, two daughters are dead, another
daughter lives in Iowa, and four sons and daughters live in Warren
County. Spangler K. is the owner of 120 acres of land in Section 13,