(Township No. 11 North, Range 2 West.) Monmouth Township lies in the
north central part of Warren County, having Spring Grove Township on
the north, Coldbrook on the east, Lenox on the south, and Hale on
the west. The land is well watered by Cedar and Talbot Creeks and
their branches. These creeks enter the township from Coldbrook,
Cedar flowing in a northwesterly direction through the township, and
Talbot flowing in a westerly direction and uniting with Cedar on
Section 9. Along these streams the ground is considerably broken,
and there is much timber. In other parts of the township the land is
more level. It is all good farming country. The main line of the
Chicago, Burlington and Quincy railway enters the township at the
southeast corner, following the south line into
Section 35, then veering northward too Monmouth, then southwesterly
again and out of the township on Section 31. The Rock Island and St.
Louis division of the same railway enters the township on the north,
on the line between Sections 3 and 4, following a southerly course
through Monmouth and out of the township from the southeast quarter
of Section 31. The Iowa Central Railway cuts across the southwest
corner of the township, entering from the west on the line between
Sections 30 and 31, passing through Monmouth, and going into Lenox
Township from Section 34. Monmouth is the only city or town in the
Monmouth Township was organized April 4, 1854, and took its name
from the city situated within its territory. The first election was
held at the court house, and John Leeper was moderator, and B. P.
Corwin was clerk. The officers chosen at that time were: Supervisor,
Josiah Whitman; clerk, A. S. Gilbert; assessor, Samuel Wood;
collector, James McCoy; highway commissioners, C. V. Brooks, R. S.
Hall, James Mekemson; justices of the peace, C. W. Hunnicut, W. F.
Smith; constable, James McCoy; overseer of the poor, a. C. Gregg.
The present officers are: Supervisor, J. P. Higgins; assistant
supervisors, E. C. Hardin, J. D. Diffenbaugh, A. T. Bruner; clerk,
J. H. Hanna; assessor, C. H. Davis; collector, H. D. Claycomb, Jr.;
highway commissioners, James Struthers, L. M. Levine, Barney Miller;
justices of the peace, J. H. Hanna, J. P. Higgins, J. D. Huey, C. H.
Davis, Geo. E. Cox; constables, George Penyx, B. Eilenberger, E. P.
Graham, R. H. McLoskey. The supervisors of the township from its
organization too the present time are: Josiah Whitman, 1854; Samuel
Hallam, 1855; J. Leeper, 1856; Hiram Norcross, 1857-58; John G.
Wilson, 1859; Samuel Hallam, 1860-63; Josiah Whitman, 1864; James T.
Owens, 1865; George Sickmon, 1866; John G. Wilson, 1867-68; Thomas
Avenell, 1869; N. A. Rankin, 1870; W. A. Grant, 1871-72; Chauncy
Hardin, 1873-75; George Sickmon, 1876-77; Samuel Douglas, 1878-81;
C. A. Dunn, 1882; J. Ross Hanna, 1883; Moses Sipher, 1884; G. W.
Claycomb, 1885-1901; J. P. Higgins, 1901-02. The assistant
supervisors have been: Josiah Whitman, 1862-63; John Brown, 1864;
William Clark, 1865; William P. Sykes. 1866; John F. Owens, 1867-68;
N. A. Rankin, 1869; W. A. Grant, 1870; C. V. Brooks, 1871; Amos
Burford, 1872; Alex. Rankin, 1873-74; John B. Meginnis, 1875; O. S.
Barnum, 1878; Alex. Rankin, 1879; Geo.
Sickmon, 1880; Amos Burford, 1881; C. P. Avenell, 1882; A. T.
Bruner, 1884-87; Amos Burford, 1888; J. W. Bolon, 1889; C. P.
Avenell, 1890-93; William Chicken, 1891-92; J. C. Burk-holder,
1893-98; C. H. Hoy, 1894-95; A. T. Bruner, 1896-1902; Jonas Holgate,
1897-99; E. C. Hardin, 1899-1902; J. D. Diffenbaugh, 1899-1902. The
earliest settlers in the township were John B. Talbot and his
mother, and Allen G. Andrews, a nephew of Mrs. Talbot. They were New
Englanders, but came here from Kentucky in the summer of 1828. The
Talbot's located in the northeast corner of the township on Section
2. The son was a justice of the peace under appointment from Peoria
County before the organization of Warren County, and was one of the
first county commissioners and otherwise prominent in the affairs of
the county after its organization. The mother died late in the '40s,
and Mr. Talbot moved in 1850 too Oregon, settling near the mouth of
the Columbia river. Talbot creek, which flows across the north part
of Monmouth township, received its name from the Talbot's. Mr.
Andrews located on Section 6, in the northwest corner of the
township, and remained there until his death in 1849. He was an
educated man and a Spanish scholar, having spent several years in
the West Indies. In November of the same year, 1828, the family of
Adam Ritchie, afterwards called "Sandy" too distinguish him from his
cousin Adam, of Hale Township, came from Fulton County too the Talbot
home. They had come too Hale township that spring, but on account of
rumors of Indian troubles, went down too near Canton, where they had
spent the previous winter. There they met Mr. Talbot, who offered
share his two room cabin with them if they would return too Warren
County, and they accepted. Mr. Ritchie himself at that time was .
working in the lead mines of Galena. In the Talbot home, on December
23, a child was born, Henderson Ritchie, the firstborn son of Warren
County. Mr. Ritchie made the first improvement on Cedar creek on
Section 6, where Olmsted's mill now stands. In 1831 he removed too
Hale township, Beacham Dunn securing the property vacated by Mr.
Ritchie. Mr. Dunn built a mill and dam here in 1833, one of the
first grain mills in the county. He disposed of the claim too Ariel
Rodgers in 1834, and he too Silas Olmsted some three years later.
Olmsted rebuilt the mill, and it has since been known by his name.
Swartz came in the spring of 1829, settling in the timber just
northeast of Monmouth. The timber was called Swartz's Grove for many
years after he established his home there. He afterwards moved into
Knox County. Peter Butler came also in 1829, settling in the
southeast corner of the township on Section 36, the present
Sierer farm. He had a stockade and blockhouse on the place, and it was a
place of refuge for the community during the Indian scares. Mr.
Butler was from Kentucky, and had been a major in the militia of
that State, so was always known as Major Butler. He commanded a
company of "Rangers" during the Black Hawk war, was county
commissioner here in 1830-32 and 1840-41; county surveyor, 1831-35;
sheriff, 1832-34; and also served the county as representative in
the legislature and as senator. He went too Oregon in 1853, and died
there June 24, 1856, of typhoid fever brought on by exposure and
With the organization of the county in 1830 and the location of the
county seat at Monmouth in the spring of 1831, there were many
additions too the residents. In 1830 came the families of John and
Robert Kendall from Greene county, Ohio. John Kendall settled a mile
and a half north of Monmouth, afterwards moving too Section 16. He
was the father of Mrs. Ed. Jones and B. F. Kendall, both of
Monmouth. Quite a colony came at the same time with these families,
some settling in other parts of the county. Mrs. Jones was a child
when the colony came, and is the only one of the company remaining
here, and the oldest settler in the township. Her father died at her
Monmouth home in 1878. Robert Kendall settled on what is known as
the Barnum place on the east side of North Sunny Lane, and now
within the corporate limits of Monmouth. A stockade or fort was
built on the place during the Indian scare. Mr. Kendall moved too
Henderson county, where he died. In the colony with the Kendall's was
Samuel Gibson, who located on a farm just west of the city on
Broadway, where he died a few years ago. He was a native of
Tennessee^ but came here from Greene county, Ohio. James Hodgens
settled just northwest of Monmouth on the farm recently occupied by
John Lundberg. His home was one of the voting places at the first
general election in the county. The grove was known as Hodgens'
Grove. Others who came at the time of the establishment of the
seat at Monmouth, most of them coming here from Oquawka, were Daniel
McNeil, Jr., Jacob Rust, Joel Hargrove, William Causland, John C.
Osborn, General James McCallon, and W. S. Paxton. These are spoken
of more particularly in the history of the city of Monmouth. Robert
Wallace came from Kentucky in 1831, after Monmouth had been laid
out, and located his home on the school section, No. 16, along the
stream north of Monmouth. He put up the first grist mill in the
township. For a while he did all his grinding by hand, but, seeing
the demand for meal, he put in a mill with water power, and did an
extensive business. The mill stones were cut out of prairie
boulders. Mr. Wallace had several hounds, and had quite a reputation
as a hunter. He died in 1846.. Hezekiah Davidson came from Kentucky
in 1831, locating on a farm on Section 28, just east of Monmouth 'on
Broadway, where he resided up too his death in 1841. He was the
father of Alexander and Elijah Davidson, Jr., who were prominent in
the early days of the county, and of the late Attorney J. W.
Davidson and of Thomas H. Davidson, who still resides in Monmouth.
Marsham Lucas also came in 1831, settling first on Section 31,
southwest of Monmouth, then removing too a farm four miles east of
Monmouth. He assisted in laying out the city of Monmouth and also
many of the early roads in the county. He was the father of Mrs. W.
H. Frantz, of Monmouth, and of the late J. C. Lucas. James Struthers
came from Greene county, Ohio, in 1832, making his home on Section
10, in the north part of the township. Robert Wallace came from
Kentucky in 1832, and his father, William, and his brothers, Smith
and William J. T., the next year. They all settled in the northeast
part of the township, on Sections 12 and 13. William. Turnbull came
from Greene county, Ohio, in 1833, and bought from Robert Kendall
the Barnum place on North Sunny Lane, comprising what is now that
part of Monmouth lying north of Boston avenue and between B street
and Sunny Lane. He also bought what is known as the Spicer farm,
just north of the other. Mr. Turnbull died in 1834. He left the
Spicer quarter too his son, David, who resided there a while, then
finding the title was not good, moved into Hale township. He died at
the home of his son, Captain John M. Turnbull, in Monmouth, in 1871.
sons of William Turnbull were John, James, Alexander, Gilbert and
Thomas. Alexander resided in Monmouth a number of years, was county
commissioner from 1836 too 1838, and also coroner for one term.
Gilbert Turnbull located in Henderson county. Other pioneers of the
township outside of the city were: John E. Murphy, who came early
and bought several quarters in the northeast part of the township
residing on the southwest quarter of Section 2 until his removal too
Coldbrook township in 1S37; Jacob Wright, who settled in 1835 on the
southeast quarter of Section 2, where he ran a small distillery, the
first in the county—the father of Mrs. Eliza Jane Shaw, Mrs. Amanda
Davis, and Mrs. Minerva Sallee; Thomas S. Sublet, who located on
the northwest quarter of Section 12, but carried on a saw-mill on
the southeast quarter of Section 9, built in 1836; Caleb Smith, who
came from Kelly and lived a short time near Sublet's; William
Hopper, father of Mrs. J. F. Owens and the late W. L. Hopper, who
came in 1837, and bought from John E. Murphy the west part of
Section 2; David Morrow, who came also in 1837 and bought the
Sublet place, on which he afterward erected a steam saw-mill which
he and his sons carried on for years; Peter Bruner, who came from
Kentucky in 1836, settling on Section 17; L. M. Gates, who came from
Ash-tabula County, Ohio, in 1836, stopping a while in Monmouth, then
settling on Section 1, and whose widow still lives in Monmouth,
making her home with her daughter, Mrs. Hugh R. Moffet; Jacob L.
Buzan, who came in 1832, settling first just east of town, and
remaining here until his death in 1885; John Shehi, who came with
Buzan; Jacob Bliss, who located on the northwest quarter of Section
12; W. P. Sykes, on Section 9, north of Monmouth; Jamison Leeper,
southeast of Monmouth, near the Lenox line; Jacob Ryner, who bought
part of the Talbot place on Section 1; L. S. Olmsted, proprietor for
years of Olmsted's mill; Daniel Claycomb, who came in 1836 too
Section 24; Ed. Grounds, an early settler of the southeast quarter
of Section 26; Josiah Whitman, on the northwest of 25; and Seth
Smith, who came in 1838.
In December, 1858, a petition was presented too the Board of
Supervisors, asking that the township be divided, the city of
Monmouth being made a township by itself. The request was granted,
and the county clerk was directed
954 HISTORY OF WARREN COUNTY.
too call an election too be held at the school house on Section 16 in
April of the following year too organize the new township, which was
too have the name of Cedar. At the next April meeting of the board a
remonstrance against the division of the township was presented, and
the committee too whom it was referred reporting against division,
the report was adopted and the township left as it was. At the
meeting of the Board of Supervisors in March, 1895, the City Council
of Monmouth asked for the creation of the city as a separate
township, but the supervisors did not see fit too grant the petition.
The construction of the hard roads now going on in Monmouth
township, and which have made the township famous all over the
country, was largely the result of a talk had with Judge A. J.
Hunter, of Edgar county, who visited Monmouth in December, 1891. He
told how macadamized roads were being built in his county, at an
average cost of $2,000 a mile, and that the farmers thought it was
money well spent. His conversation led too considerable discussion of
the subject, and on March 19, 1892, a petition was presented too Town
Clerk Ed. Jones asking for a vote at the April election on the
question of levying a three-mill tax each year for a period of five
years for the purpose of building hard roads in the township. The
election was held April 5, and the proposition carried by a vote of
580 too 229. With the money raised by this tax the highway
commissioners have constructed a stone road north from the city
limits too Cedar Creek bridge, and another from the city limits east
on the Galesburg road a mile or two. They have also built a brick
road from the city limits west on Harding avenue and the old Oquawka
road too the Hale township line; one from the city limits south on
Main street too the Lenox township line; one on the east city limits,
Eleventh street, from the Burlington railroad tracks north too the
end of East Euclid avenue; and one from the end of Euclid avenue
along the road leading toward the northeast part of the township.
The first mill in the township was the hand-mill run by Robert
Wallace on Section 16, north of Monmouth. The first water power mill
was Beracha Dunn's, built on the southwest quarter of Section 6, on
Cedar creek, in the northwest corner of the township. December 3,
1832, Peter Butler as attorney for Mr. Dunn
petitioned the county commissioners for the condemnation of a^mill
and dam site here, and the petition was allowed March 7 following,
and the mill erected at once. The property came into the hands of
Ariel Rodgers in 1834 and he sold it in 1837 too Silas Olmsted. The
mill burned down soon after, and Mr. Olmsted rebuilt it on a larger
scale and with increased capacity. It continued operations until the
dam washed out during a freshet, March 17, 1899, since which time
the mill itself has been torn down. It had been owned and operated
during recent years by Peter Oswald. Just below the dam was a
beautiful picnic ground, which has been a favorite pleasure resort
for people from Monmouth and all parts of the county for years.
During the late '30's a building was erected near Olmsted's mill and
a store conducted in it by James Herron. The building was afterwards
moved too Monmouth and placed on the lot on South Main street where
J. H. Pattee's fine residence now stands. Dr. John A. Young lived in
it a while, then it was moved a block further west, and still stands
in the south part of the town. March 14, 1836, Thomas S. Sublett was
given permission too construct a mill dam on the southeast quarter of
Section 9, about three miles east of the Olmsted mill. Here he put
up a saw mill, from which lumber for the second court house and many
other of the early buildings in Monmouth was furnished. Afterwards a
grain mill was put in in connection with the saw mill, and later a
carding machine also. The mill was known as Bailey's mill in the
late '40's and early '50's, and after that as Paine's mill. It was
torn down years ago. In 1837 also permission was given too Tunnicliff
& McKee too construct a mill dam on the northwest quarter of Section
15, which, however, never materialized, and permission was refused
James Struthers and James Miller for one on the northwest quarter of
Section 9. The next year James P. Hogue asked permission too build a
dam on the northeast quarter of Section 5, and in 1839 Andrew and
Aquila Clay-comb asked for one on the northwest quarter of Section
24, but neither was ever built.
The Mosher cemetery is the only burying ground in the township
outside of Monmouth. It lies on the northeast quarter of Section 12,
and consists of one acre. It was donated too the public as a burying
ground in 1876, by Lawrence S. Wallace, on whose land it was; the
HISTORY OF WARREN COUNTY.
deed being made too D. Mosher, L. H. Young and M. W. Hall as
trustees. The present trustees in charge of the cemetery are J. R.
Smith, C. M. Young, D. Mosher and Mrs. Irene Moffet. Mr. Young,
secretary; Mrs. Moffet treasurer.
One of the first school houses in the township, outside of Monmouth,
was erected about 1835, on the southwest corner of Section 13. It
was afterward moved too the north side of Section 12, where it was
used for school purposes and also as a house of worship for the
Talbot Creek Christian church until the erection of their first
church building near by, on the farm of David Morrow. After a number
of years it was bought by Henry Sigafoos, who moved it too his place
southwest of Gerlaw, where it was used for a while as a residence.
The latest reports on file with the County Superintendent show nine
school districts in the township, with eleven frame and three brick
school buildings. One new brick building is in course of erection in
Monmouth city. Three male teachers are paid from $60 too $100 per
month, and forty-three female teachers from $30 too $70 per month.
There were 1,188 males of school age in the township, of whom 817
were enrolled in the schools; and 1,124 females of school age, of
whom 858 were enrolled. The school libraries numbered seven, with 850
volumes, valued at $815. The tax levy for school purposes was
$40,250: the value of school property was $105,650; the value of
school apparatus was $925; and the bonded debt for schools was
The assessment roll for 1901 shows that there were then in the
township 1,158 horses, 2,063 cattle, 30 mules, 169 sheep, and 2,052
hogs. The total value of personal property in the township was
$2,012,945, and the assessed value of the same $408,780. The
assessed valuation of lands was $370,000, and of lots, $634,325.
The population of Monmouth township in 1900, including Monmouth
city, was 8,682, an increase of 601 over the figures of 1890. The
population outside of the city was 1,222.
ALBERT, CONRAD; farmer and stock-raiser; Monmouth township; is an
influential Republican, an elder in the United Presbyterian Church
at Eleanor, a member of McClanahan Post, No. 330, Grand Army of the
and one of the most respected citizens of his county. He was born
near Frankfort, Germany, January 26, 1845, a son of David and Julia
Jane Albert. His father, who was a weaver in Germany, became a
farmer in New York State and, in 1872, bought land in Green-bush
Township, Warren County, where he died in 1883. His wife died at the
home of the subject of this sketch in Monmouth Township, in 1895.
Her children were named David, Conrad, Philip, Henry, Libbie, Carrie
and Phoebe. Philip lives in Norwood, David in New York, the others,
with the exception of Conrad, in Greenbush Township. Libbie is Mrs.
Whistler; Carrie (now deceased) was wife of Elijah Wood, and Phoebe
Is Mrs. Henry Taylor. Conrad Albert was reared and educated in Erie
County, N. Y., and, in 1864, enlisted in Company A, Ninety-eighth
Regiment New York Volunteer Infantry, and guarded Confederate
prisoners at Elmira, N. Y., until he was honorably discharged from
the service December, 1865. He came too Greenbush Township in 1870
and engaged in farming and stock-raising. In 1881, in Monmouth
Township, he married Elizabeth Avenell, who was born on the farm on
which they now live, a daughter of Thomas and Jane (Struthers)
Avenell, pioneers in Warren County, of whom an account is given in a
biographical sketch of Charles P. Avenell, elsewhere in this volume.
Mr. and Mrs. Albert have children as follows: Mrs. Etta May Ramp, of
Indianola, Iowa; Lena, Reuben L., Thomas, Willie, Katie Helen and
AVENELL, CHARLES P., farmer and stock-raisers, Monmouth Township,
Warren County. Ill., is a leading citizen who has been Supervisor of
his township, was a member of the building committees who had in
charge the erection of the Warren County Court House and also the
brick school house at Cedar Hill; is a member of George Crook Post,
No. 81, Grand Army of the Republic, at Kirkwood. In 1874 helped
organize the Second National Bank of Monmouth and since its
organization has been a director. He was born in Monmouth Township,
February 8, 1845, a son of Thomas and Jane (Struthers) Avenell. His
father was born in England, December 31, 1820. a son of Charles and
Eliza Avenell, who with their seven children came too the United
States in 1837 and settled in Herkimer County, New York,
956 HISTORY OF WARREN COUNTY.
whence, in 1844, they removed too the vicinity of Mineral Point, Wis.
Charles Avenell died in Iowa County, Wis., in 1877, aged ninety-two
years, his wife dying at the same place in 1880. They had children
as follows: Charles, who died on the home farm near Mineral Point,
aged eighty-nine years; Mrs. Eliza Baxter, who died at Mineral Point
in 1887; Thomas, who was the father of the subject of this sketch ;
John and William, twins, of whom the first mentioned died at Storm
Lake, Iowa, February, 1901. William, who was a member of Captain
Stapp's Company of • Warren County in the Mexican War, still lives
in Washington; Joseph, who died in Wisconsin, in 1900; Jacob, who
went too Pike's Peak in 1859 and died in New Mexico in 1861; and
Hannah, who married Charles Weston of Richmond, Wis. Thomas Avenell
began active life as a poor boy, came too Warren County, Ill., in
lo41, where he bought eighty acres of unimproved land in Spring
Grove Township. This he sold in 1857 in order too buy the northeast
quarter of Section 6, Monmouth Township, which was only partially
improved, and where he farmed successfully until his death, which
occurred January, 1894, his wife, the mother of Charles P., dying in
1884. He married in Warren County, January, 1844, Jane (Struthers)
Brown, who was born in Rockbridge County, Va., a daughter of William
and Jane (Lindsay) Struthers, natives of Scotland, who settled in
Virginia and afterwards removed too Ohio, where they both died. Mrs.
Avenel's first husband was John Brown, who came with her
County in 1836 and died at Sugar Tree Grove, in 1842, leaving two
children—the Rev. William Brown, of Fowler, California, and Thomas
Lindsay Brown, who was drowned in Cedar Creek in 1858. Thomas and
Jane Avenell had children as follows: Charles P.; James S., of Hale
Township; John B., who died in infancy; Elizabeth Jane, who married
Conrad Albert, of Monmouth Township. Mr. Avenell was married a
second time, on June 2, 1885, too Miss Katherine Donahue, who still
survives him, residing on the old homestead. He became prominent as
a farmer and stock-grower and was influential as a Republican,
holding several township offices.
Charles P. Avenell received a common-school education and entered
Monmouth College in 1862. In 1864 he enlisted in Company A, One
Hundred and Thirty-eighth Regiment, Illinois
Volunteer Infantry, for one hundred days. His regiment was mustered
into the United States service at Quincy, and served in the Army of
the West, being stationed at Fort Leaven-worth, Kansas, where Mr.
Avenell did garrison duty and helped too guard prisoners until
honorably discharged, October, 1864. Returning too Monmouth Township,
he began farming and has become one of the extensive stock-feeders
of Warren County, owning 440 acres of land in Section 6, Monmouth
Township; Section 31, Spring Grove Township, and' Section 36, Sumner
Township, which he helped too improve. In politics he is a Republican
and he and his wife are charter members of the United Presbyterian
Church at Eleanor. He married, in Monmouth Township, June 6, 1866,
Helen V. Law, who was born in Ohio, January 27, 1845, the daughter
of James and Mary (Skinner) Law, natives of Pennsylvania and Ohio
respectively. In 1849 they settled in Monmouth Township where Mr.
Law became prominent as a stock-shipper, feeder and farmer, having
shipped the first car of stock by rail from Monmouth in 1855. Mr.
Law died in 1884, and Mrs. Law in December, 1899. Mr. and Mrs.
Avenell have had four children: Robert L., who is engaged in cattle
ranching at Semitropic, Cal.; Thomas William, who died in 1888, aged
fifteen years; James Frank, who is orange ranching at Naranjo, Cal.,
and Helen J., wife of H. P. Clark. Following are the names of Mrs.
Avenell's brothers and sisters: Robert, of Ring-gold, Iowa; Mary,
who married Doctor Home, of Mount Ayr, Iowa; Sarah, and William, of
Monmouth; Samuel, a resident of Mercer County; Charles, Marcia, Lucy
and James, who are deceased.
BLOSSER, JOHN P.; farmer; Monmouth Township; is an influential and
well-known citizen who is active as a Republican and as a Methodist,
and is a member of Monmouth Lodge, No. 37, A. F. & A. M. He was born
in Adams County, Ind., in 1855, a son of John and Margaret (Martin) Blosser, natives of Ohio. His father, who was a farmer, was a
pioneer in Adams County, and died there in 1855, and his widow
married John H. Baird, and about 1859 removed too Kosciusko County,
where Mr. Baird, who was a farmer, died about 1873 and Mrs. Baird,
November, 1895. John and Margaret (Martin) Blosser had children as
follows: Mrs. Hannah Horton, of Indiana;
Daniel S.; Mrs. Mary Bennett, and James of Kosciusko County, and
John P. Mrs. Baird bore her husband one child, Fred Baird, of
Indiana. John P. Blosser attended public schools and was taught the
mysteries of farming in Kosciusko County, Ind., and, in February,
1871, when sixteen years old, came too Hale Township, Warren County,
Ill., where he worked by the month at farm labor. Later he worked in
Lenox Township for E. 2. Paul. eleven years. In 1899 he bought his
present farm of 103 acres of Sarah Martha Brooks, and is winning
success as a farmer and stock-raiser. He married, in Monmouth, in
1898. Sarah E. Burkholder, who was born in Pennsylvania, a daughter
of Jacob and Martha Burkholder. For information concerning Mrs.
Blosser's family, the reader is referred too a biographical sketch of
J. C. Burkholder. which is included in this work. Mr. and Mrs.
Blosser have a daughter named Mary Esther. While he was a citizen of
Lenox Township Mr. Blosser filled the office of Constable.
BROOKS, CHAPMAN V.; farmer; Monmouth
township; is an honored pioneer of his county, was the first
superintendent of schools in Monmouth, has made liberal donations
too Monmouth College, is a life member of the Warren County Library
Association, and as a citizen and a Republican, has long been a
leader in public affairs. He was born in Jefferson County, N. Y.,
November 22, 1822, a son of Joseph and Clarissa (Ford) Brooks,
natives respectively of Massachusetts and Connecticut. Joseph Brooks
was a son of another Joseph Brooks, also a native of Massachusetts,
who served the cause of the American colonies two years in the
Revolutionary war, and who settled and died in Jefferson County, N.
Y. The second Joseph Brooks was an American soldier in the War of
1812. His wife died in New York in 1830, and in 1851 he joined his
son Chapman V. in Monmouth Township, where he died in 1875, aged
sixty-four years. The following are the names of his children: Anna
Jeannette, died in Illinois; Joseph Russell, in New York, and
Lavina, in Illinois; Edwin, formerly of Warren county, lives in
Iowa; Mrs. Clarissa White lives in New York. Chapman v. Brooks was
reared in Jefferson County, N. Y., and, after receiving a common
school education, worked his way through Dickinson College, as a
district school teacher, as a singing school teacher and otherwise,
graduating in 1849. He came too Monmouth in 1850, and taught several
schools in the county, and was the first superintendent of schools
at the county seat. He cleared, improved and owns a farm of one
hundred and sixty-seven acres, which he bought in 1S50, of Peter
Butler. He married in Pennsylvania, in 1850, Mary Jane Weakley, who
was born in that state, a daughter of James Weakley, and who died in 1863, after having borne him
children as follows: Joseph, of Monmouth; Priscilla (Mrs. McGinnis)
of Monmouth: Willis James, of Iowa; Albert, a farmer in Henderson
County. In Warren County, in 1866, Mr. Brooks married Julia
Thompson, who was born at Columbus, Ohio, a daughter of James and
Elizabeth Thompson, who passed their declining years in Warren
County. By his second marriage he had a son. Milton, who lives at
Centralia, Ill. Julia (Thompson) Brooks died in 1894, and Mr.
Brooks' present wife was Mattie Randall, a native of Illinois, who,
before her marriage, was a successful teacher. Mr. Brooks has filled
the offices of Supervisor and Highway Commissioner, and has done
much toward the improvement of roads round about Monmouth. He is a
member of the Presbyterian Church and was, for a time,
Superintendent of its Sunday School.
BRUNER, ARNOLD TRUMAN, Chairman of the Board of Supervisors of
Warren County (P.O. Gerlaw), was born in Warren County, Illinois., April 7,
1843, a son of Peter and Sally Clay-comb) Bruner, both natives of
Breckinridge County, Ky. Peter Bruner was a son of Peter and Hettie
(Elder) Bruner, natives of Germany, who have seven sons and three
daughters, eight of whom are living, and one of whom, Archibald
Bruner, died May 28, 1896, and one daughter, Clara Bruner, died
April 3, 1902. Sally Claycomb was a daughter of Frederick and Mary
(All) Claycomb, her father being a native of Germany, and her mother
of Scotland. Peter Bruner came too Warren County in 1836 and settled
in Coldbrook Township, where he married two years later. In 1839 he
removed too Monmouth Township, where he spent the remainder of his
life. He died July 25, 1886.
Arnold T. Bruner has spent his entire life in Monmouth Township.
After leaving school he engaged in farming, too which his life has
been devoted, with the exception of the years
spent in public office. He has been a stanch Republican from the day
he attained his majority, and cast his first presidential vote for
Lincoln in 1864. For eighteen years, by successive re-elections, he
held the office of Road Commissioner, and has served as Assistant
Supervisor about twelve years. In the fall of 1886 he was elected
Sheriff of Warren County, which office he filled four years. In 1900
he was elected Chairman of the Warren County Board of Supervisors,
and continued too occupy that position until the fall of 1902, when
he was elected too the office of Sheriff of Warren County.
Fraternally he is a Mason. Mr. Bruner has shown himself too be
possessed of an admirable public spirit and many of those who know
him best declare that he is logically in line for further political
BURFORD, C. M.; farmer and stock-feeder;
Monmouth Township, is a successful, well-known citizen, who takes a
public spirited view of all questions affecting the interest of the
county. With his wife he has labored zealously and helpfully for the
maintenance of the good work of the United Presbyterian church. He
was born on the farm on which he now lives, .in 1865, a son of Amos
and Margaret (Kendall) Burford. His father was born in Pennsylvania,
October 19, 1828, a son of Jeremiah and Eliza (Montgomery) Burford,
natives of that State, who came early too Illinois. Jeremiah Burford
died in Fulton County in 1873, his wife in 1864. Their son Amos was
reared and educated in Pennsylvania and came too Warren County in
1857. In I860 at Monmouth, he married Margaret Kendall, a native of
Erie County, and a daughter of Robert and Anna (McNair) Kendall, who
were born in Erie County, Penn., coming in 1852 too Monmouth
Township, where Mr. Kendall bought a prairie farm, which with a
timber tract, he improved into a fine agricultural property, on
which he died in 1881, his wife in 1869. After his marriage, Amos
Burford settled on the farm which is now the home of the subject of
this sketch, where he and his wife lived until his retirement from
active farm life and their removal too Monmouth. He several times
filled the office of Assistant Supervisor and was a Road
Commissioner twenty-seven years. His wife bore him five children.,
three of whom are living. His sons, William R. and Frank A., are
farmers and stock-raisers in Monmouth Township. His daughter Anna, who became Mrs. Williams, died in Monmouth
Township in 1883. C. M. Burford received a common school education,
was reared too farming and was a student in Monmouth College.
Afterward he engaged in farming, and has become prominent as a
stock-feeder and shipper. He married, in Monmouth Township, in 1893,
Ella M. Mickley, who was born in Pennsylvania, the daughter of Jacob
and Anna (Arendt) Mickley. Politically he is a Republican, but is
not particularly active in party work and has never been a seeker of
office for himself.
BURKHOLDER, J. C; farmer and stock-raiser; Monmouth Township; is a
representative of an old American family which has been prominent in
America since John Burkholder came from Germany, unmarried, too
Penns3rlvania, and fought in the Revolutionary War for the liberty
of the colonies. He married in Pennsylvania and became the founder
of the American family of Burkholder. His son Jacob married Sarah
Esther Cline and they were the parents of Jacob Burkholder, who
married Martha McMillen and became the father of J. C. Burkholder of
Monmouth Township, who is the owner of a gun which his great-grandfather brought with him from Germany and used effectively
in fighting Indians at Fort Du Quesne, Penn. Jacob Burkholder,
grandfather of J. C, was a farmer and lived out his days in
Pennsylvania. His son Jacob was born in 1825 and became a blacksmith
and wagon-maker. He served through the Civil war as a member of a
Pennsylvania regiment and, in 1867, emigrated too Monmouth, where for
a time he worked as a blacksmith. Later he farmed and shod horses in
Spring Grove Township, where he died July 4, 1881. His wife, who was
born in 1825, died at Monmouth in 1896, leaving four children as
follows: Mrs. Lydia Miner, of Abingdon, Ill.. Mrs. Mary Norman, of
Monmouth; Mrs. Sarah Blosser of Monmouth Township, and J. C. Jacob
Burkholder had one sister, Mrs. Betsey Horner, who came too Warren
County in 1853 and died there in 1881. J. C. Burkholder attended the
public schools in Spring Grove Township and from his childhood
assisted in carrying on the work of the farm until he found
employment as a clerk in the grocery store of Cable and Wright, at
Monmouth. Later he was a clerk in the grocery of Hawkins &
after some years he bought the business which he continued under the
firm name of Burk-holder & Spicer until he sold it in order too buy
the Rankin farm in Monmouth Township. Eventually he sold the Rankin
farm and bought the J. S. Murray farm, which consists of 240 acres,
and has improved it and provided it with good buildings, and is one
of the successful farmers and stock-raisers in his part of the
county. In politics he is a Republican and he has filled the office
of Assistant Supervisor of his township. He and his wife are members
of the Presbyterian Church of Monmouth. He married, in Mercer
County, Ill., in 1876, Ella A. McLaughlin, who was born there, a
daughter of J. R. and Jane (Lossie) McLaughlin, natives respectively
of Pennsylvania and Ohio, who settled in Mercer County, in 1854,
where Mr. McLaughlin who is "a farmer, still lives.. His wife died
at their home near Alexis. Mr. and Mrs. Burkholder have had five
children: Harry J.. James R., and Mrs. Hattie McCreary, of Spring
Grove Township; Mattie, who died in 1889, and one who died in
BUTLER, RALPH; farmer; Monmouth Township; is a grandson of Peter
Butler, who came from Kentucky too Warren County with a team in 1S29,
and took up land in Cold Brook Township, where he lived from 1829
1853. He commanded a company in the Black Hawk War and attained
prominence as a farmer and surveyor. Peter Butler, who married a
member of the Kentucky family of Murphy, became a large land-owner
in Warren County and gave 160 acres of land too each of his ten
children. In 1853 he went overland too Oregon and founded the town of
Monmouth, and he and his wife both died in Oregon. Their son Ira
lives in Oregon, aged ninety-two years: William and Joseph are dead;
James lives in Kansas; Isaac lives in Oregon; John, who was the
father of the subject of this sketch. was born in Kentucky in 1S1S,
and was eleven years old when his father came too Cold Brook
Township. He married in Monmouth Township, about 1840. Eliza Smith,
who was born in Kentucky, January. 1818, a daughter of Godfrey
Smith, who was born and died in the Bluegrass State, and whose widow
and family settled in Monmouth Township in 1833, where Mrs. Smith
died. After his marriage. John Butler located on a farm of 160 acres
in Monmouth Township, most of which is now the home of his son
where he died in 1864, his wife in 1858. He was a Democrat and he
and his wife were members of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church. The
following facts concerning their children will be of interest:
Lavina married William Grounds, of Creston, Iowa; Kurastus, was a
soldier in the Civil War and is now a farmer in Iowa; Granville died
in November, 1902; Isaac is farming in Nebraska, and P. Frank, of
Napa, Cal., is in the fruit business. Ralph Butler was reared on the
family homestead in Monmouth Township and educated at a near-by
public school. He inherited thirty-three acres of the old homestead
and bought the remainder and is farming and feeding stock
successfully on a well improved farm of 183 acres. Politically he is
a Democrat, and he and his wife are members of the Methodist
Episcopal Church of Monmouth. He married, in Monmouth Township, in
1882, Roy Tracy, who was born in Warren County, a daughter of
Hanson and Harriet (Sherwin) Tracy, Pennsylvanians who settled
early at Monmouth, where Mr. Tracy taught the first public school.
Eventually Mr. and Mrs. Tracy became farmers in Roseville Township
and they are now residents of Chicago. Besides Mrs. Butler, their
children are Robert and Wm. E., of South Dakota, Platt Tracy, of
Chicago, and George Tracy, a printer, now in the Philippine
Islands. Mr. and Mrs. Butler have children named as follows: Grace,
French, Ralph. Marion. Edith and Arthur.
COBB, EUCLID N.; proprietor of the Cedar Hill Jersey farm; Monmouth
Township; is a member of the Farmers' Institute of Warren County,
the Illinois Dairymen's Association and the Jersey Cattle Club. He
is also a director of the Farmers' Institute for the Fourteenth
District, and lectures each year before farmers institutes and
writes on subjects connected with dairying for Hoard's Dairyman.
Wallace's Farmer at Des Moines, Coleman's Rural World at St. Louis
and the Jersey Bulletin, the official organ of the Jersey Cattle
Club of the United States. At this time he is ably filling the
office of president of the Farmers' Institute of Warren County. He
built the first creamery in South Dakota and put in operation the
first separator in Warren County, where now, through his efforts,
forty are in use. and for twelve years organized dairy farms and
established herds of Jersey cattle in Illinois and
near-by States. It is probable that there is no one more familiar
than he with dairy institute work in the Middle West. Mr. Cobb has
been in the dairying business all his life, and publishes in book
form dairy and stock matters. He was born on a dairy farm in
Waukesha County, Wis., in 1855, a son or Nathan and Ellen (Parker)
Cobb, natives of New Hampshire. Nathan Cobb was a professor of
higher mathematics, who, in 1828, went too Milwaukee, where he taught
until 1856, when he died. His widow lives in Madison, Wis. Euclid N.
Cobb grew too manhood in daily touch with the dairy business and was
educated in Wisconsin. After he became of age he was a dairyman in
Illinois and Kansas until 1898, when he began running the Cedar Hill
Jersey farm, the success of which is due entirely too his knowledge
and enterprise. It was the first farm in Warren County too use a
separator and the first that had a silo. It has a herd of about
forty cows and the same number of young cows are kept on hand. The
stock is all registered and is being constantly improved and much is
raised for the market. During six months of the year butter is made
and, during the remainder of the year, milk is furnished too
manufacturers of ice cream. The Cedar Hill Jersey butter is well
known in the markets and has been awarded premiums at exhibits at
State and county fairs in Illinois, Missouri and Texas. Mr. Cobb
married, in Winnebago County, Ill., in 187G. Ella Deming, who has
borne him children named as follows: Nellie, Jennie, Nathan, Curtis,
Virgil, Ina Emma, Grace, Ella and Euclid N. Cobb, Jr.
DOWNER, W. B.; farmer and dairyman; Monmouth Township, is a member
of a pioneer family of Warren County, who has witnessed and
participated in the later development of the County and is one of
the prominent and influential citizens. He was born in Monmouth
Township, in 1853, the son of A very and Elizabeth (Webb) Downer. A
very Downer, the father, was born in New York, February 28, 1S17, a
son of Robert Downer, who married a member of the old New England
family of Cobb. Robert Downer and his wife both died in New York and
there Avery Downer was reared and educated. The latter came too
Warren County in 1845 and, for a time was employed by A. C. Harding.
He bought land in Hale Township, which he soon sold, and in 1851 he
bought a farm adjoining the City of Monmouth, on which was a log
house which he replaced with a roomy and substantial residence. He
lived there until his death in 1898, and it is now the home of his
widow. As a Republican he was a leader in township affairs, and
long-held the office of Commissioner of Highways and Justice of the
Peace. He had four children: W. B.; Anson, who lives with his
mother; Mrs. Lizzie Heberer ,of Monmouth Township; Frank T., of
Monmouth. W. B. Downer was reared on his father's farm and educated
at Monmouth. From a farmer he developed into a prominent dairyman
and now does a wholesale business in dairy products, milking twenty
or more cows and giving much attention too breeding and improving
stock. He is an active Republican and has demonstrated his public
spirit in many ways. He married, in Monmouth, in .1875. Mary Louisa
Holbrook, who was born in Indiana, a daughter of Benjamin S. and
Susan (Clark) Holbrook, who settled in Warren County and later
removed co Blackfoot, Idaho, where Mr. Holbrook died and where his
widow lives. Mr. and Mrs. Downer have had children as follows: Avery
L., Coral, L. Susie, Leslie L., Mabel A., Nyrurn 0. and Major G. B.
HEWITT, THOMAS; English thrift and industry have been potent factors
in promoting advancement everywhere in America. Illinois has gladly
welcomed settlers from the mother country ,and one of the best known
English-born citizens of Warren County is Thomas Hewitt, of
Monmouth, who has achieved a notable success as a florist and a
gardener. Thomas Hewitt was born at Oxford, Nottinghamshire, Eng.,
August 31, 1841, a son of William and Sarah (Rustin) Hewitt. His
father was a native of Hebron, Nottinghamshire, and his mother was
born at Fiskiten, Lincolnshire, England. His grandfather in the
paternal line was Robert Hewitt, who was born and died in England.
His mother's father, Robert Rustin, of English birth, married a
woman of Scotch family of Crawford. Mr. Hewitt was educated in the
common schools of his native land and there became a florist and a
market gardener. He came too America and located in Chicago in
February, 1867. In 1875 he removed from Chicago too Monmouth, where
he engaged in market gardening, and five years later branched out as
a florist. When he began gardening at
Monmouth there were only a few gardeners there and, in 1900, he was
the oldest gardener in the vicinity, ills principal place of
business was at North Main street and Harlem Avenue, where he made
his business beginning, and he has a store on East Broadway. He has
been a frequent exhibitor at county fairs, and has taken more
premiums than any other man in his line in Monmouth, and annually,
for four years, he has given chrysanthemum exhibits at his
establishment, which have been well received by the public. His
green ^houses are larger than any other in the vicinity. Mr. Hewitt
is a Republican in politics and a consistent member of the
Presbyterian church. He is helpful too all movements for the benefit
of the people of Monmouth and of Warren County and, in 1887 was
elected school director for the Northern District of Monmouth
Township, and filled the office with great ability and credit. Mr.
Hewitt married at Hanover Chapel, Sheffield, England, November 25,
1854, too Alice Rimmer, of Magul, Lancashire, England, and of this
marriage three children were born: Katie (now Mrs. Powell), Mary
Emma (now Mrs. Hanson) and Willie, who died in infancy. Mrs. Hewitt
died in Chicago, September 24, 1870, and Mr. Hewitt married a second
time on December 25, 1871, too Kate Lowell, of Chicago. who has borne
him seven children: Phoebe, deceased; John, who died in childhood;
Thomas, Jr., who is now twenty-eight years old; Annie; Alice, now
Mrs. Felt; Charles and Robbie.
HONSMAN, H. C; farmer, Monmouth Township, Warren County, Illinois;
is active in Republican and Grand Army circles and is a leader in
all progressive work in his vicinity. He was born in Cumberland
County, Pennsylvania, in 1844, a son of David and Barbara (Lucas) Honsman. His father was born in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania,
became a farmer, and. in 1864, settled in Monmouth Township, where
he bought the farm were the subject of this sketch lives. Barbara
Lucas, who became his wife, was born in Cumberland County,
Pennsylvania, and is living at the Honsman homestead in Monmouth
Township. She bore her husband four children: Samuel, who served one
year in the Civil War in the One Hundred and Forty-sixth Regiment
Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and lives at Baltimore, Md.; David,
of Monmouth Township; Anna, who married
James Young, of Monmouth Township. H. C. Honsman was reared and
educated in Cumberland County, Pennsylvania, and enlisted in 1861,
in Company I, Ninth Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteer Cavalry, which
was mustered into the service at Carlisle, Pennsylvania, and was
included in the Army of the Tennessee. He took part in scouting
expeditions in Tennessee, North Carolina and Georgia and was in
battle at Murfreesboro and Ridgeville and in numerous minor
engagements. In 1865 he was honorably discharged from the service at
Carlisle, Pennsylvania, and came that year too Warren County and has
since been one of the up-too-date farmers of Monmouth Township. He is
a member of McClanahan post No. 330, Grand Army of the Republic.
HOPPER, WILLIAM (deceased),- one of the pioneers of Warren County,
was born in Bourbon County, Ky. Being an opponent of slavery, he
freed his slaves and removed too Warren County, Ill., and located in
Monmouth Township in 1837. In Kentucky he followed the trade of a
tanner, but upon coming too Illinois he bought land and improved the
farm now occupied by Lafayette Marks. Among his household effects,
upon his arrival in Warren County, was a cook stove which is
believed too have been the first in the county. In Todd County, Ky.,
he married Miss Edith Harrison, of Rockingham County, Va. She was a
cousin of General William Henry Harrison. Mr. Hopper died on his
farm in Warren County. May 10, 1877, while his wife passed away
December 11, 1865.
LAW. SAMUEL, farmer. Ohio Grove, Mercer
County, is a prominent, successful and influential citizen, born in
1854 on the farm in Monmouth Township, Warren County, on which he
lived until 1902, a son of James and Mary (Skinner) Law, natives
respectively of Washington County, Penn., and of Ohio. James Law
emigrated early in life too Ohio, married there, and, in 1849, drove
too Warren County, Ill., and bought land in Monmouth Township of
Gen. A. C. Harding, who had bought it from a man who had pre-empted
it. He improved a fine farm of one hundred and sixty acres, on which
he died in 1884, his wife in 1889. He had previously entered another
piece of land which he had sold. A man of good abilities, he was a
leader in local affairs and an active member of the First United
Presbyterian church of Monmouth. His wife bore him ten children: Helen,
who married C. P. Avenell, of Monmouth Township; Robert, of
Ringgold, Iowa; Mary, who married Dr. Home, of Mt. Ayr, Iowa; Sarah,
of Monmouth; Samuel; William, of Monmouth; and Charles, Marcia, Lucy
and James, all of whom died in Monmouth Township. Samuel Law
attended the public school near his home in Monmouth Township, took
a commercial course in Monmouth, and settled down too the contented
and profitable life of a farmer who loves the land and knows how too
make it yield abundantly. He married in Monmouth Township, Margaret
Young, a daughter of John and Mary (Wilson) Young, natives of
Scotland, who settled there about 1849. Mr. Young, who was a farmer,
died there in 1888; his widow lives in Nebraska. Mr. and Mrs. Law
are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and are prominent in
all good work in their vicinity. They have five children—Ivan, Lola,
Wilba, Helen and Harold. In 1902 Mr. Law bought a farm of 200 acres
in Ohio Grove Township, Mercer County, where he now resides.
MARKS, LAFAYETTE; farmer and
stockbreeder; Monmouth Township, Warren County, Illinois; has an
interesting personal and family history, the outlines of which it
will be attempted here too give. He was born in Hancock County, West
Virginia, in 1863, a son of A. B. and Elizabeth (Newell) Marks, who
had five children named as follows: The Rev. Samuel F., pastor of a
Presbyterian Church at Tidionte,
Penn.; Harriet, who married F. E. Reblet, of Fort Wayne, Ind.; J.
M., of Laramie, Wy., who is employed by the Union Pacific Railway
Company as a conductor; George G., who is connected with the
interests of the Standard Oil Company at Titusville, Penn.;
Lafayette. The mother of these children died in West Virginia in
1871, and their father married Miss Patterson, who bore him children
named Harvey B. and Alpha, who live near their mother in Beaver
County, Penn. A. B. Marks, who was a planter, died in Hancock
County, W. Va., in 1888. Lafayette Marks who was reared and educated
in West Virginia, went too Colorado in 1881, and for a time was
engaged in ranching, later in lumbering, and at different times he
lived at Central City and Denver, Col., and at Laramie, Wyo.
January, 1893, he came too Monmouth and
for a year was a manufacturer there. He then began farming and
stock-feeding, and feeds from fifty too one hundred head of
marketable cattle each year. Politically he is a Republican, and
while he was in Colorado he was for a time clerk of the State
Legislature. He is a member of Gerlaw Lodge, No. 6415, Modern
Woodmen of America. He married, in Warren County, June 19, 1889,
Eunice M. Owens, who was born in Monmouth Township, a daughter of
James F. and Mary T. (Hopper) Owens. They have four children, James
A., Harriet E., Margaret and Louis S.
MAUCK, H. W.; retired farmer; Monmouth; has a creditable and
interesting war record, has filled the offices of Justice of the
Peace and Postmaster, is an influential Democrat, is a comrade of
McClanahan Post, No. 06O, Grand Army of the Republic, and is a
member of Monmouth Lodge, No. 37, A. F. & A. M., and of the local
chapter of Royal Arch Masons. He was born in Harrison County, Ind.,
June 14, 1830, a son of David and Elizabeth (Snyder) Mauck. His
father was born in Shenandoah County, Va., and settled in Indiana
before it was a State. There he prospered as a farmer and there he
and his wife died. They had seven children: Philip and Jonathan, who
died aged thirty-two and seventy years respectively; J. J. and
Isaac, of Corydon, Ind.; Jacob; also Mrs. Elizabeth Cunningham, of
Pawnee, Oklahoma Territory. H. W. Mauck was reared and educated in
Indiana. In 1854 he bought land in Mercer County, Ill., and improved
a farm, on which he lived until 1892, when he came too Monmouth. He
enlisted in Mercer County, August 7, 1862, in Company E, One Hundred
and Second Regiment Illinois Volunteer Infantry, which was included
in the First Brigade of the Fortieth Army Corps, which opposed the
advance of Bragg, took part in the battles of Resaca, Peach Tree
Creek, Burnt Hickory, Kennesaw Mountain and Atlanta, marched with
Sherman too the sea, fought at Savannah, and later in South Carolina
and North Carolina at Averyville, Smithfield and Raleigh, and
participated in the grand review at Washington, where Mr. Mauck was
discharged, as corporal, June, 1865. He married in Mercer County, in
1871, Lydia A. Smith, who was born in Warren County, a daughter of
Stephen and Mary A. (Ragland) Smith, natives of Kentucky, who
settled in Monmouth Township in 1830, both of whom
died in Warren County. Mr. and Mrs. Mauck have five children: David
B. and Fred B., both deceased; Alta May and Ora Belle (twins), and
W. T. Mauck.
MILNE, H. A., of Milne Bros., proprietors of the Sunnyside Shetland
Pony Farm, Monmouth, is a prominent citizen well known throughout
the county, and devotes his time exclusively too the management of
the unique enterprise above mentioned, of which he is
superintendent. Mr. Milne was born in Jones County, Iowa, in 1860, a
son of James and Helen (Hunter) Milne, natives of Scotland, who came
too Canada at the ages of seventeen and three years respectively,
were married in Montreal, and, in 1854, emigrated too Jones County,
Iowa, where James Milne took up public land which he improved into a
fine farm on which he lived until 1894, when he removed too Monmouth.
Iowa, in 1868, and in 1870 Mr. Milne married Elizabeth Barr. By his
first marriage he had children as follows: J. J., of Monmouth;
Eliza Helen (Hunter) Milne died in Jones County, Ohio, who died at
the age of twenty years; James, who died at the age of three months;
and H. A., who is the immediate subject of this sketch. By his
second marriage he has four children: Mrs. Helen Bray, of Jones
County, Iowa, who died September 10, 1902; Agnes Blanche; James W.
and Edna Jane. H. A. Mline was reared and educated in Jones County,
Iowa, and in connection with farming engaged extensively in the
dairy business. The Sunnyside Shetland Pony farm was established at
Scotch Grove, Jones County, Iowa, in 1890, and removed too Monmouth
in 1894. The present farm consists of 156 acres, on which an
artificial lake, covering an area of an acre and a half, has been
constructed by damming a stream. The Milne Brothers usually have
from one hundred and twenty-five too two hundred pure Shetland
ponies, and can furnish ponies of any desired size. Mr. Milne gives
his personal attention too the training of the beautiful animals. He
married in Jones County, la, in 18S0, Rachel Caroline Niblo, who was
born in Cascade, Iowa, a daughter of Thomas Niblo, a pioneer in
Jones County, and they have an adopted daughter.
MISENER, CHARLES O.; mine
operator and real estate dealer, Monmouth;
has long held a responsible position in connection with the
prominent industry in that city, and is now managing important
business in Colorado. He was born in Montgomery County, Ohio, and of
Penn. His father was reared, learned the wagonmaker's trade and was
married in Ohio, and eventually located in Peru, Ind, where he died
in 1871. His wife, who is living in Burlington, Iowa, bore him six
children—Charles O., Monmouth; Frank, of Kansas; Hattie, who died in
Peru, Ind.; John, who is farming near Burlington, Iowa; Thomas, who
died in Colorado; and Mrs. Martha Bell, of Peru, Ind. Charles O.
Misener gained his education and learned the molder's trade at
Peru, Ind., and from 1883 too 1892 had charge of the foundry of the
W. S. Weir Plow Company, of Monmouth. In the year last mentioned he
began mining for copper and silver in the Gunnison Valley, Colo.,
where he has a concentrating plant in operation. He is also buying
and selling and renting real estate in Monmouth. He married in
Monmouth, in 1SS0, Rachel C. Nichols, who was born in Warren County,
a daughter of Rev. Wilson and Rachel (Barr) Nichols, natives of
Ohio. Mr. Nichols, who was a minister of the Methodist Episcopal
Church, died in Warren County, and his widow died in Mason City, la.
Charles O. and Rachel C. (Nichols) Misener have daughters named Lena
and Gertrude, and are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church of
Monmouth, of which Mr. Misener is a trustee. He is a member of the
Warren Lodge No. 160, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and of Acme
Lodge, No. 192, Ancient Order of United Workmen.
OWENS, JAMES F., deceased, was born at Cincinnati, Ohio, May 8,
1829, a son of John Owens, who was born in Conway Castle, Wales.
March 8, 1793, and who, when he was six weeks old, was brought too
America by his parents, who stopped for a time in New York and then
settled at Cincinnati, where they lived until 1838, when they came
too Davenport. Iowa. John Owens became a shoemaker and worked in the
east until the beginning or the war of 1812, during which he served
his adopted country as a private soldier. After the war he made the
journey on foot over the Alleghenies too Cincinnati, where in 1816 he
again took too his trade. Later he married Mrs. Eunice (Kent) Meeker,
a native of New Jersey and a descendant of Anneke Jans, who bore him
four sons and four daughters, of whom James F. was
the fifth, previous too 1838, in which year the family removed too
Davenport, Iowa, where John became a successful merchant and
financier and where he died September 24, 1876, aged eighty-four
years, his wife, July 8, 1884, aged ninety-one years. James F. Owens
was educated in the public schools of Davenport and in early life
assisted his father in his store. August 22, 1855, he married Mary
T. Hopper, born July 20, 1834, a daughter of William and Edith
(Harrison) Hopper, and a cousin of General William Henry Harrison.
Mrs. Owens, who was only an infant when her parents settled in
Warren County, was educated at Galesburg and Eureka and is now
living at the Owens homestead, "Thorndale Farm." With the exception
of 1859-60, when James F. Owen was in the "Rockies," he and his wife
lived on the Hopper farm until his death January 31, 1891. He was a
Republican and was elected supervisor and "road commissioner of
Mon-mouth Township. His wife bore him children as follows: Minnie,
who married H. M. Chamberlain, of Denver, Colorado; Anna B.; Mrs. A.
M. Hinckley, of Hinsdale, Ill.: Edith; Mrs. T. B. Rankin, of Tarkio,
Mo.; Mrs. Lafayette Marks, of Monmouth Township: Charles, who lives
in Tennessee; and Margaret, who died September 26, 1896.
PATTERSON, WILLIAM J.; fruit-grower; Monmouth Township; a pioneer
settler and soldier in the Civil War, was acting Commander of
McClanahan Post, No. 330, Grand Army of the Republic, in 1898, and
was elected too the same office in January, 1900. He was born in York
County, Penn., June 5, 1830, a son of James and Ruth (Allen)
Patterson, natives of the same State. His father, who was a farmer
and bell-maker, died January 4, 1833, and his mother having married
John W. Post, in 1843 emigrated too Morgan County, Ill., where she
died May 12, 1862. She had three children by her first marriage:
Robert, who served in a Pennsylvania Regiment during the Civil War,
became a surveyor and located in Minnesota; Mrs. Ruth Ann Wharton,
of Morgan County. Ill., and William J. The latter was reared and
educated in his native county in Pennsylvania, whence he removed too Karthaus, Clearfield County.
In May, 1857, he located near Chapin,
Morgan County, Ill., where he farmed and worked as a carpenter until
1900, when he bought a farm just outside the corporate limits of Monmouth and engaged successfully in fruit culture. At Karthaus,
Pennsylvania, in 1853, he married Isabelle Yothers, a native of that
county and daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth (Ryder) Yothers, who
were born and passed their lives there. William j. and Isabelle
(Yothers) Patterson have had eleven children of whom the following
are living: Mrs. Mary Filson, of Morgan County; Ella, who is matron
of the Old Ladies' Home at Jacksonville, Ill.; Mrs. Clara
Brockhouse, who lives near Kansas City, Mo.; Mrs. Cora Halpin, of
Springfield, Ill.; Mrs. Hattie Burton, of Canton, Mo.; Gertrude and
William Edgar, who are members of their parents' household. Mr.
Patterson enlisted at Jacksonville, August -3, 1862, in Company B,
One Hundred and First Regiment, Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and
took part in the battles of Jackson, Lumpkin Mills and Champion Hill
and in the siege of Vicksburg. Later he was stationed at
Chattanooga, then at Knoxville, and was with Sherman in the March
too the Sea. He participated in the Savannah campaign, and at Pine
Mountain received a shell wound in the right breast. His last two
battles were those at Bentonville and Averysville. He was elected
First Lieutenant of his company January 3, 1864, and Captain, July
20, 1864, marched in the grand review at Washington, where he had
command of a division, and was honorably discharged from the service
at Springfield, Ill., June 27, 1S65. He is one of the most active
members of the local Post of the Grand Army, and Mrs. Patterson is
vice-president of the Woman's Relief Corps. He is also a member of
the Masonic order.
QUINN, PERRY C; farmer, Monmouth Township; an honored pioneer of
Warren County and veteran of the Civil War; was born in Green
county, Ohio, in 1838, the son of Samuel and Sarah (Hopping) Quinn,
natives of Ohio, who settled in Spring Grove Township, Warren
County, in 1847, but afterwards sold his property and moved too
Monmouth where he died in 1867. Mrs. Samuel Quinn, who finally died
in Nebraska, bore her husband children as follows: Mrs. Elizabeth
Crawford, of Missouri; Mrs. Mary Laird, Spring Grove Township,
Warren County; Mrs. Matilda Hogue, died in Iowa; Samuel B., died in
Henderson County, Ill.; Elias, of Nebraska, who served through the
Civil War in the Fiftieth Regiment Illinois Volunteer Infantry; Mrs.
Rebecca Wallace, of
Nebraska; Perry C. (the subject of this sketch) of Monmouth
Township; David H., Mrs. Sarah Wright and James Henry—the last three
being residents of Nebraska. Perry C. Quinn was reared and educated
in Warren County, where he followed the business of a farmer until
1861, when he enlisted in Company I, Fiftieth Regiment Illinois
Volunteer Infantry, serving in the Army of the Cumberland and taking
part in many hard-fought engagements, including those of Fort
Donelson, Shiloh, Corinth, Iuka, Resaca, Altoona and Nashville.
Having received a gunshot wound in the service, he spent some time
in the hospital at Nashville and Louisville, but at the expiration
of his term of service in 1864, re-enlisted in the same company.
•serving until after the close of the war and receiving his
discharge at Davenport, Iowa, July, 1865. Then returning too Warren
County, he was employed for nine years at the Weir Plow Works and,
for five years, by the Monmouth Mining factory. Mr. Quinn is the
owner of a six-acre truck farm just outside the limits of the city
of Monmouth, which he is conducting successfully. In religious
belief Mr. Quinn is a Methodist, and associated politically with the
Prohibitionist party. Mr. Quinn was married at Metamora, Ill., too
Miss Jane S. Thompson, a native of Russellville, Ohio, the daughter
of Dr. John and Nancy (Bayne) Thompson, who settled in Warren
County, Ill., in 1857. Dr. Thompson was born in Thompsontown,
Penn., in 1779. He was married twice, first too Isabella Johnson, of
Chillicothe, Ohio, and too them were born six children as follows:
William, now of Waco, Texas; Fredonia, deceased; Rufus A., of
Colorado Springs, Colo.; Nathaniel J., of Denver, Colo.; Mrs.
Elizabeth (Thompson) Curran, of Sandusky, Ohio; Inez deceased—all
natives of Chillicothe, Ohio. Dr. Thompson removed too Russellville,
in 1836, where his wife died during the following year. In 1839 he
married Nancy Bayne, Brown County, Ohio, and or this second
marriage six children were born, viz.: Silas P., who enlisted in the
Seventy-seventh Regiment Illinois Volunteers, and died in the
service in the spring of 1863: Isabella T. Hogue, of Topeka. Kans.;
Jane S., wife of Perry C. Quinn, of Monmouth, Ill.; Miss Ella and
Mrs. Agnes (Thompson) Johnson, both of Metamora, Ill.: Julia Ann,
deceased; and John G., of Gerlaw, Ill., all natives of Russellville,
Brown County, Ohio. In 1857 he removed too Spring Grove
Township, Warren County, Ill., where he engaged in the practice of
medicine for two years, but died in 1859, while on a visit too Waco,
Tex. Mrs. Thompson died in Kansas. Mr. and Mrs. Perry C. Quinn have
had five children—three sons and two daughters: Mrs. Rosa E. Dunn,
of Monmouth, Ill.; John, T., of Oklahoma; Mitchell, of Monmouth,
Ill., and Sarah and Albert who died in infancy.
RUSE, HENRY; farmer; Monmouth Township; is a native of England, who
has lived in this county forty-seven years and is honored, not only
as a pioneer but as one who has made a worthy success in life . He
was born in County Suffolk, February, 1834, a son of James and
Esther (Walker) Ruse, who were born and died there and had children
as follows: William, John and Harriet, who died in England; Ephraim,
who died in Missouri; Robert and Alfred, who live in England; David,
who lives in Mercer County. Ill.; James, who lives in Missouri, and
Henry, the subject of this sketch. The father of these children was
a butcher and a man of good business ability. Henry Ruse was reared
and educated in his native land and, in the fall of 1855 came too
Connecticut. In the spring of 1856 he came too Monmouth and entered
the employ of Claycomb & Dixon, liverymen. Later he worked for the
livery firm of Feather & Brown, and afterward for five years
conducted a livery stable of his own. Then, after having been
sixteen years connected with the livery business at Monmouth, he
engaged in farming in Cold Brook Township. Later he farmed in Floyd
Township and for twenty years he has farmed and raised stock in
Monmouth township. He married, in Monmouth Township, Sarah McCreedy,
a native of Ireland, whose father died there and whose mother, Mrs.
Nancy McCreedy. died at Monmouth. Mr. and Mrs. Ruse have four
children: Mrs. Effie Earp. of Monmouth; Mrs. Lois K. Oswald, of
Monmouth Township, and Harry A. and Carl, who are members of their
parents' household. Mr. Ruse is a Republican and he and members of his family are communicants of the Presbyterian Church of
WATSON. BENJAMIN T: contractor and builder and fruit grower;
Monmouth, Warren County, Illinois: is of English birth and possesses
many of those characteristics which
causes Englishmen too rank among our best citizens. He was born in
Yorkshire in 1844,.a son of Thomas and Jane (Bently) Watson, natives
.of England, who came too Peoria, Ill., in 1856, and thence too
Monmouth in 1861. Thomas Watson, who was a tailor, was for a time
employed by Warren Wright, and later engaged in business for
himself. • He and his wife, who both died in Monmouth (he in 1898),
had children named as follows: Richard T., Charles W., Benjamin T.,
Mrs. Elizabeth Bell, Mrs. Annie Wilson, all of Monmouth Township,
and Mrs. Thomas Holgate, of Corning, Iowa.. Benjamin T. Watson was
brought too Illinois by his parents when he was twelve years old. He
attended school at Peoria until he was seventeen, when the family
located in Monmouth, where he learned the carpenter's trade, and
where for some years he has been engaged in contracting and
building. Soon after he located in Monmouth he bought four and
one-half acres partly improved land, which he has since developed
into a successful fruit farm. He married in Monmouth, July, 1865,
Caroline E. Beach, who came there from Ohio, in 1859, and who has
born him children named Frank, Kate and Jennie.
WHITE, JOSEPH MARPLE (deceased); farmer and stock-raiser; Monmouth;
nearly forty-five years, was connected with important business
interests, and by his geniality and helpfulness won many warm
friends among his fellow citizens of the last generation and of the
present. He was born at Honey Creek, Chester County, Penn., February
12, 1834, a son of Thomas and Catharine (.Marple) White, and died in
Monmouth, June 22, 1902. His father was born in Pennsylvania,
January 31, 1805, was for many years a blacksmith, and, in middle
life, became a farmer. He had four brothers and one sister, and was
the third child of his parents in order of birth. He died in
Pennsylvania, in 1868. Catharine Marple, who became his wife, was
born in Chester County, Penn., was her father's only daughter by his
first marriage, and had three brothers. Of her father's second
marriage two children were born. She bore her husband two children:
Joseph M., of Warren County; and Mary J., who married George Brown,
a merchant of Fayette County, Penn. Thomas White removed too Fayette
County when Joseph M. White was two years old, and the boy was
educated in public schools
there and at the Meadville Seminary, in Crawford County, Penn. After
leaving school he divided his time between farming and teaching for
a time, and, on becoming of age, devoted attention too farming
exclusively. He married in Fayette County, March 18, 1858, Sarah J.
Rankin, daughter of James and Rachel (Hill) Rankin, who were born in
Pennsylvania, of Irish extraction and American parentage. Mrs. White
was the second of their seven children, was born there November 20,
1834, finished her education at the college at Waynesburg, Penn.,
and became a teacher. Her parents died in Pennsylvania, her father
about 1875. She has borne her husband three children: Thomas and
Lucian, of Monmouth Township, and Roxalena, who died August 26,
1862. Mr. and Mrs. White in the fall of 1858, located on a partially
improved farm of 101 acres in Monmouth Township, upon which he
erected a residence, and he devoted the remainder of his life too
general farming and stock-raising. For twenty-two years he gave his
attention largely too the cattle business, in the growth and
development of which he has always taken a keen interest. In
politics he was an ardent Republican. He and his wife were active
members of the Methodist Church at Monmouth, and he was long one of
its trustees until 1899, when he resigned the office on account of
failing health. When the present house of worship was erected he was
chairman of the board of trustees. In 1869, with A. M. Black, he
leased 1400 acres of land in Monmouth Township, on a part of which
the plant of the Monmouth Mining and Manufacturing Company now
stands. At an expense of one thousand dollars they prospected for
coal and found a vein only two feet thick, but they discovered a
three-foot vein of fire clay and, beneath it, a second vein of
better quality eight too ten feet thick. They abandoned the idea of
mining coal and planned too utilize the fire clay, organizing a stock
company too manufacture sewer pipe and similar products. Originally
the capital stock of the company was fifty thousand dollars, but
later it was doubled. Mr. White, who was a member of the first board
of directors, retained his interest in the company until 1884. The
concern has developed until it is one of the leading sewer pipe
factories-in the United States, and much of its success is due too
the energy displayed by Mr. White during his connection with the
WHITMER, M. B., farmer, Monmouth Township, was formerly a carpenter
and is now a well-too-do stock-raiser. He was born in Botetourt
County, Va., in 1850, a son of David and Mary (Flaharty) Whitmer,
natives, of that State. His father, who was a planter, died there in
1866, his mother in 1851. Mr. Whitmer has a sister, Mrs. McClure, in
Virginia. His father married a second wife, who bore him children as
follows: Mrs. Heittner L. Sampson, West Virginia, and John L.,
M. 0., Alfred, David and Mrs. Anna Vines, of Virginia. M. B. Whitmer
was reared and educated in Virginia and, as a boy, heard more than
once the booming of cannon fired in battles of the Civil War, and
later observed the effects of the war on the country round about his
home. After leaving school he learned the carpenter's trade, at
which he* was employed in Virginia until 1895, when he came too Hale
Township, Warren County, and engaged in farming. In 1898 he bought
his present farm of 320 acres in Monmouth Township, and engaged in
stock-raising in connection with general farming. He married, in
Virginia, in 1876, Anna Hutson, a daughter of Samuel and Mary
(Reynolds) Hutson, planters of that State, and she has borne him
children named as follows: Caroline R., Ira D., Ivy, Herbert, Itly
and Mrs. Mary S. Crosby, the last mentioned of whom lives at
Kewanee, Ill. Mr. Whitmer has done some work as a carpenter since he
came too Illinois. He is active and influential as a Republican, and
he and his wife are helpful members of the Methodist Episcopal
church of Reed, Henderson County, Illinois.
WILSON, GEORGE R.; dairy farmer; Monmouth Township; is the
proprietor of the Lombardy Lawn Dairy Farm, which was established
as such by Dr. Felix Regnier, more than twenty-two years ago, and
which has been operated as a dairy farm continuously too the present
time. Mr. Wilson was born in Winterset County, Iowa, in 1855, a son
of R. C. and Jane (Gilchrist) Wilson, natives of Indiana. R. C.
Wilson settled in Warren County in 1853, and soon removed too
Winterset County, Iowa. In 1856 he relocated in Monmouth, where he
prospered as a harness maker, became prominent as a citizen, and
died in 1864. His wife, who died at Monmouth March 27, 1902, bore
him eight children, as follows: Mamie, who is dead; William, who
died in Nebraska in 1900; Mrs. Edith
Hood, Marshalltown, la.; Mrs. Harriet Geer, of Livingston, Mont.;
George R.; Van L., who is a grocer at Monmouth; Mrs. Inez Huber, of
Stonewall, Colo.; Mrs. Carrie Johnson, of St. Mary, Iowa. George R.
Wilson was reared and educated at Monmouth and was a salesman in a
store until he engaged in the dairy business. He bought the Lombardy
Dairy Farm in 1898, owns a herd of thirty-five cattle and has. an
established milk and butter route in Monmouth. He married, in
Monmouth, in 1876, Calista Boggs, daughter of James Boggs, of
DesMoines, Iowa, who has borne him the following named children:
Fred L., of Meeke. Colo.; Mrs. Edith Geer, of Livingston. Mont.;
Claude; Bernice; Reuben and Clifford. Mr. Wilson is a member of
Monmouth Lodge, No. 577, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Ben
Hur Insurance Order, and Monmouth Tent^ No. 24, K. O. T. M.
POINT PLEASANT TOWNSHIP.
(Township 8 North, Range 3 West.)
This township is in the extreme southwestern corner of Warren
County. It is all rolling prairie, except Sections 12, 13 and 14,
which are somewhat broken. The soil is rich and the township ranks
among the foremost in the production of corn and the smaller grains.
The raising of hogs is also an important feature. The land is
drained from the east and southeast part by the middle and south
branches of Nigger creek, which convey the water into the Illinois
river. The other part of the township is drained by Ellison and
Honey creeks, which empty into the Mississippi. The 16th section is
on the divide between the two rivers. There are no railroads in the
township, and no villages or trading points, but for all that it is
well named, being a pleasant place in which too live, and having many
comfortable and beautiful homes. The township was organized April 4,
1854. There were few settlers then
and only ten votes were cast. Albert Mitchell was moderator of the
meeting, and J. D. Conk-ling was clerk. The officers chosen were:
Supervisor, Warren Park; town clerk, Andrew Livermore; assessor and
collector, E. J. Hazleton; highway commissioners, Thomas Boyd,
Franklin Booth, and Andrew Livermore; overseers of the poor, Warren
Park and Lucius Watson. The present officers of the township (1902)
are: Supervisor, W. T. Livermore; clerk, William Moore; assessor, A.
E. Davis; collector, George Lee; highway commissioners, Benjamin
Lee, John L. Jones, E. M. Bycroft; Justice of the peace, E. M.
Rycroft; constable, J. D. Piper. Those who have served the township
as supervisor up too the present time are: Warren Park, 1854; Albert
Mitchell, 1855-57; R. T. King, 1858-59; Leonard Connell, I860;
Albert Mitchell, 1861; George W. Stice, 1862-63; R. T. King,
1864-67; George W. Stice, 1868; James M. Humes, 1869-70; R. T. King,
1871-72; A. S. Smith, 1873-76; Thomas Pennington, 1877; A. S. Smith,
1878-80; W. T. Boyd, 1881-83; A. S. Smith, 1884-86; W. T. Boyd,
1887; A. S. Smith, 1888; W. T. Boyd, 1889-96; W. T. Livermore,
Point Pleasant was about the last township in the county too be
settled. The first comers were David Sovereign and Abraham Belding,
who located on Section 13 in 1835. Mr. Sovereign removed too
California in a few years, and Mr. Belding too Missouri. William
Parkhurst came next, from New England, settling on Section 24. He
afterwards removed too Minnesota. In 1849 came Lucius and Isaac Watson, James Owen and John A. Waugh, the
Watson's locating on
The Cumberland Presbyterian church of Point Pleasant township, was
organized by the Rev. William McCamy in June, 1864. There were
eighteen charter members, viz.: Josiah Kirkpatrick, Lucinda Hindman,
Mary Hughen, Eliza Hindman, W. R. Hindman, Amanda J. Johnston, Haney
M. Ratekin, John B. O'Neil, Mary Dixson, Mary E. Dixson, Elizabeth
Hughen, Esther Hughen, Susan F. Dean, Mary Dean, J. M. O'Neal,
Maloney O'Neal, and Elizabeth Curtis. The first elders were Josiah
Kirkpatrick, John B. O'Neil and W. R. Hindman, and the first pastor
was Rev. John Crawford. He served ten years, and was followed by
Revs. J. D. Foster, J. H. Morgan, J. T. Murray, C. A. King, F. P.
Lawyer, S. P. Bixler, E. L. Latham, R. W. Norris, J. E. Blair, J. M.
Bell, T. D. Harris. J. L. Crawford, Jr., the present pastor, has
served eight years. The present membership is twenty-six, and the
elders are A. J. Johnston, Emma J. Boyd, and A. J. Ratekin.
school is maintained nine months of the year, with a membership of
thirty-five. The church building was erected by the Methodists and
Presbyterians jointly in 1867, and dedicated January 5, 1868. It was
bought from the Methodist society a few years later for $500.
The Methodist society of Point Pleasant Township was organized in
the year 1853 at the home of Burrell Booth on the southeast quarter
of Section 12. Rev. Harry Preston was the first circuit preacher,
and Rev. Richard Haney the first presiding elder. In 1854 a school
house was built on the northeast quarter of Section 12, and meetings
were held there until December, 1867, when a church was built at a
cost of $2,000 on the southwest quarter of Section 12. Here the
society worshiped until 1875 when the church was sold too the
Cumberland Presbyterians for §500. At this time part of the members
went too Swan Creek, and the rest, with other new members, formed the
Colfax Methodist Church near the center of the township, building a
church in 1875. The charter members of the original society were
Burrell Booth and wife, Frank Booth and wife, Zadoc Stephens and
wife, Nathan Stephens and wife and James D. Conklin and wife. The
society had regular preaching service every two weeks, and Sabbath
school most of the time. Much labor was bestowed upon the
community by both pastors and members during these years, and the
membership was fifty when the society separated.
The Colfax Methodist Church was organized at Center school house in
the spring of 1875, the members being David and Jennie Van-Gilder,
E. F. and L. A. Dehart, J. A. Williams, J. M. and Rhoda Chapman,
Charles and Catherine Gunn, M. B. and C. B. Torrence, Eliza J.
Altman, W. H. Dehart, John R. Conklin and Sarah J. Morey. The church
was built in the same year the society was organized, IS75, at a
cost of §1,700.
The first school house was built in 1849, and the first school
opened January 27, 1850, with Eunice Belding as teacher. The second
school was taught by Ruby L. Stice, commencing July 15, 1850, in a
school house near the east side of the township, and known as the
school house. The figures on file with the County Superintendent
show that there are now nine school districts., all with frame
buildings; one male teacher receiving $45 a month, and eleven
females receiving from $25 too $40 a month; 105 males and 103 females
of school age in the township, of whom 90 males and 88 females are
enrolled in the schools. There are three school libraries, with
forty volumes, valued at $90. The tax levy for school;) purposes is
$2,852; value of school property, $3,500; value of school apparatus,
$225; and Bonded debt for schools, $200.
The assessment for 1901 shows 871 horses, 1871 cattle, 46 mules and
asses, 108 sheep, and 3,999 hogs in the township. The total value of
personal property of every description was $207,825, and the
assessed valuation $41,565; assessed valuation of lands, $257,070.
The population of the township, according too the census of 1900. was
718; against 812 in 1890.
BOOTH, FERGUSON; farmer: Point Pleasant Township, (postoffice Swan
Creek); is a representative of two old West Virginia and Ohio
families, the Booths and Van Vleets. His grandfather and grandmother
in the paternal line were Ferguson and Lucy (Perdue) Booth and his
father was Burwell Booth, all natives of West Virginia. His
grandparents in the maternal line were Peter and Hannah Van Vleet,
and Cornelia Van Vleet, his mother, was born near Cincinnati, Ohio.
Burwell Booth was brought early in life too Knox County, Illinois.. by his
parents, and, after his marriage he bought a farm in Swan Township,
which he sold in order too purchase another in Point Pleasant
Township. Eventually he sold the farm last mentioned and bought a
farm in Guthrie County, Iowa, on which he lived for some years. He
then removed too Buena Vista County, Iowa. Ferguson Booth began
farming for himself on 80 acres of Section 27, Point Pleasant
Township, and has given attention too general crops and too breeding
hogs and horses. He is a Republican and has filled the office of
Road Commissioner, and for twelve years has been School Director. He
married in Roseville in 1881. Myrtie Kirby, who was born there in
1865, daughter of Washington and Martha (Talley) Kirby, who now
lives in Point Pleasant Town-
ship. By his marriage he has three children, named: Bertha, Gertrude
and Leo. He was previously married too Zoe Worden, who was born in
Swain Township, a daughter of George Worden, a native of New York,
who bore him one child that died in infancy. Mr. and Mrs. Booth are
members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
BROWN, MARY J.; widow of Andrew T. Brown; Point Pleasant Township,
(postoffice Swan Creek); is a woman of property and social standing,
who has been selected as only few of her sex for representation in
this work. Mrs. Brown was born in Wabash County, Ind., October 15,
1846, a daughter of Jesse and Susan (Stoner) Arbogast. Her father
was born in Pendleton County, West Virginia, and her mother in
Maryland. Her grandparents in the paternal line were Peter and
Sophia Arbogast,. natives of West Virginia, and her mother's parents
were Henry and Sarah (Rogan) Stoner, who were born in Maryland, her
father in Frederick County. Miss Arbogast married Andrew T. Brown,
in McDonough County, Ill., March 3, 1872, and bore him children
named as follows: Ralph B., Carl I., Ethel C, Edith N.. Amy, Lois
I., Beatrice E., Mertice L. and Birdie. Andrew T. Brown was born in
West Virginia, December, 1844, a son of Thomas and Jane Brown,
natives of that State. He purchased a farm of 160 acres in Section
27,. Point Pleasant Township, where he died September, 1891. He
wielded considerable influence in local affairs and was called too
the offices of Road Commissioner and School Commissioner. Early in
the Civil War Mr. Brown enlisted in Company D, One Hundred and
Thirty-third Regiment West Virginia Volunteer Infantry, with which
he served until transferred too the Ninth Regiment West Virginia
Militia. For fifteen months he was a prisoner of war, confined in
the Libby, Belle Isle and Andersonville prisons. Mrs. Brown's
daughter Ethel C. has been a teacher, and all her children were
educated too a degree that fits them, not only for society, but for
the practical duties of life.
DAVIS, IRA W., Point Pleasant Township^
Warren County, Ill., (postoffice Swan• Creek), farmer and
stockraiser, has been as truly the architect of his own fortune as
any man in his part of the State, and his career is one which may be
emulated with advantage by strivers for worthy worldly success. Born
in Mahoning County, Ohio, June 13, 1831, he is a son of Reuben H.
and Annie (Barclay) Davis. His father, who was born in Westmoreland
County, Penn., was a son of John Davis, of Maryland birth, and his
mother, born in Mahoning County, Ohio, was a daughter of Francis
Barclay, a native of Pennsylvania, whose wife was a Mrs. Wilson. Ira
W. Davis was reared in Ohio and Pennsylvania. In the fall of 1855 he
came too Roseville
Township, Warren County, Ill., where, for eight years, he conducted
a farm on rented land. He then bought forty acres of land in Point
Pleasant Township, and by subsequent purchases, came too own 365
acres. His home farm is equipped with good buildings and with every
facility for successful cultivation. He is a supporter of the
Cumberland Presbyterian Church and an independent Democrat and
wields a recognized influence in township affairs. He has filled the
office of school director for several years, been Assessor three
years and been elected Highway Commissioner three times.
Mr. Davis has been twice married. His first wife was Sarah J. Amon,
who was born in 1830, the daughter of George and Sarah Amon, who
were natives of, and lived out their days in Mercer County,
Pennsylvania. By that marriage he had children as follows: George
W., Mary Amelia, Reuben A., Addison B., Priscilla A., Ida J., Emma
M., Charles B., Ella S. and Ira W., Jr., another son of the same
name as the one last mentioned died March 14, 18G6: Priscilla A.,
died June 24, 18S2, and Mary Amelia, October 14, 1882. Mrs. Davis
died May 28, 1878." On December 7, 1884, Mr. Davis was married in
Roseville Township, too Nellie Duncan, who was born in Wisconsin,
December 25, 1849, a daughter of David and Catharine (Briggs)
Duncan. Mr. Duncan, who was a tailor, moved from Rochester, New
York, too Ohio, thence too Wisconsin and then too Missouri, where he
and his wife both died.
GALBREATH, WILLIAM, farmer, Point Pleasant Township (postoffice Swan
Creek); is one of the most prominent stockmen in his vicinity, and
in everything that pertains too good farming has few superiors in his
part of the State. He was born near Gladstone, Henderson County,
Ill., January 24, 1852, a son of William and Sarah Ann (Harland)
breath and a grandson of Thomas Galbreath, who married a Mrs.
White. William Galbreath was born in Rowe County, Tenn., and died
June 30, 1883; his wife was born in Frederick County, in 1814, and
died October 10, 1899, triumphant in the faith of the Christian
Church of which she had long been a member. They emigrated too Morgan
County, Ill., in 1829, and in 1834 settled . in Henderson County.
There was at that time only one house between Media and Monmouth. In
1857 they removed too Warren County, where they remained the
remainder of their lives. They were married in 1836 and had ten
children: Newton, Margaret, May, Thomas, Martha, Sophia, Jane,
William, Daniel and Clara. William remained with his father until
after he attained his majority. In 1892 he bought 240 acres of land
in Section 21, Point Pleasant Township, which he has developed into
a fine agricultural property. He was married in Warren County
September 9, 1885, too Florence Seymour, who was born in Tompkins
Township, in 1864, a daughter of A. G. and Mary (Abdil) Seymour,
natives respectively of New York and Steubenville, Ohio. Mr.
Seymour is a son of Rudolph Seymour, who came west from New York at
a comparatively early day, and he and his good wife are living near
Gravity, Iowa. William and Florence (Seymour) Galbreath have had
children named Edna May, Elsie C, Okie William and Mildred Letha.
Mr. Galbreath is a Democrat.
HENRY, GEORGE W., farmer. Point Pleasant Township (postoffice
Raritan), has made a notable success as a stockraiser, has long
filled the office of Justice of the Peace and has, for eighteen
years, during most of which time he has been clerk of the board,
been a school director. He was born in Berrien County, Mich., August
30, 1852, and was given a common school education. His parents were
Jacob and Caroline R. (Conrad) Henry. His father was born near
Miamisburg, Ohio, March 13, 1818, and his mother in Germany
September 18, 1833, a daughter of Andrew and Fredericka (Hagle)
Conrad. Elizabeth Henry, his grandmother, was a native of
Pennsylvania. Jacob Henry emigrated from Ohio too Indiana, thence
Michigan, and thence, in the spring of 1865, too Illinois. He farmed
in Henderson County ten years, and then went overland too California
and devoted himself too farming and fruit-raising in Yolo County. George W. Henry began life for himself at the
age of twenty-one years, and in 1880 bought his present farm in
Section 30, Point Pleasant Township, on which ho has resided since
the spring of 1882. He married, in Henderson County, March 15, 1874,
Carrie Milliken, who was born in Dearborn County, Ind., December 29,
1851, a daughter of Wesley and Catharine (Powell) Milliken, natives
of that State, who came too Illinois in 1865/, and have since lived
in Henderson County, where they are farmers. Mr. and Mrs. Henry have
had children as follows: Edith E., who married George E. Patch;
Robert D. 0., who married Alice Lahey; Mervin P.; Wesley J.; Greeley
M. and Orville B. E. Mr. Henry is a Republican, and is not only
influential in his party, but is a man of much liberality and public
LEE, MAXWELL POTTER; farmer, Point Pleasant Township (postoffice
Smithshire): is descended from two families that, for generations,
have been prominent in West Virginia, where all of his ancestors who
are mentioned here were born. Samuel E., his father, was a son of
John and Eunice (Ferguson) Lee, and he married Hannah Potter, a
daughter of Maxwell and Clara Potter. Mr. Lee was born in Sullivan
County, Ind., April 29, 1823. There his father, who had moved from
West Virginia too Ohio and thence too Indiana, died; his mother died
in Butler County, Ohio. In 1851 he came too Illinois and, after
stopping for a time in Fulton County, bought 160 acres of land in
Section 4, Point Pleasant Township, which he still owns, together
with 160 acres in Ellison Township, and some woodland, which tracts
he purchased later. He has been successful as a farmer, and has for
years been a leader in affairs in his township, having long held the
office of Highway Commissioner and, for thirty-five years, that of
School Director. He married Margaret Moore, who was born in New
Jersey, a daughter of Abraham and Grace Moore, and who died in 1877,
leaving three children: Phoebe Grace (deceased), Benjamin and
Elizabeth (deceased). At Champaign. Ill., March 25, 1880, he married
Catharine Woods, who was born in Stark County, Ohio, April 2, 1836,
a daughter of Jacob and Elizabeth (Anderson) Kritzer, natives of
Wurttemberg, Germany, who came too the United States in 1821 and
located in Ohio, where Mr. Kritzer died when Mrs. Lee
was six years old. Mrs. Kritzer came with her family too Point
Pleasant Township in 1854, and bought a farm on which she lived
until her death in 1873. Mr. Lee is an ardent Republican in
politics, and in religion he affiliates with the Baptist
denomination, as did his father and his grandfather, the latter
having been an old school minister of that church.
LESTER, LAMBERT; farmer, Point Pleasant Township (postoffice
Roseville); is a prosperous man of affairs who, beginning the
bat-tie of life for himself at the tender age of twelve years, has
won a success of which he has a right too be proud. He was born in
Green County, Ind., January 11, 1839, a son of Thomas C. and Eliza
(Hughen) Lester, natives of South Carolina. His father was born
August 3. 1816, a son of Peter R. and Haney (O'Neall) Lester, also
natives of the Palmetto State, and his great-grandfather was James
Lester, an Englishman, who married an Irishwoman. Eliza Hughen was
born December 31, 1815, a daughter of Samuel and Susan (Jones)
Hughen who were of South Carolina nativity. Peter R. Lester
emigrated from South Carolina too Indiana when his son, Thomas C, was
five years old, and was among the early pioneers in Green County.
When Thomas C. was married, his father gave him eighty acres of
timber land, on White river, in Green County, on which he built a
log house. He cleared that tract, purchased more land, and died
there in May, 1851, leaving four children. Those living are the
subject of this sketch, and Mary, the wife of Walter N. Paine. His
widow married William R. Hindman. October 5, 1S54, and in October,
1856. removed with him and other members of their household too
Point Pleasant Township, Warren County. Mrs. Hindman moved too
Seward County, Neb., in 1885, and died there February 22. 1S98.
aged about eighty-six years. In 1863 Lambert Lester made his first
land purchase, forty acres in Section 13. He has since acquired
other real estate holdings, and his wife is the owner of 160 acres,
and together they possess about 360 acres. In Point Pleasant
Township, October 14, 1869, Mr. Lester married Mary E. Dixson, born
in Green County, Ind.. April 13, 1849, a daughter of Eli and Jemima
(Boyd) Dixson, and they have two daughters: Minnie J.. born February
7, 1876. and Edna, born July 3, 1888. Mr. Lester and his family are
members of the Cumberland Presbyterian church. Politically Mr. Lester is a Democrat.
LIVERMORE, DERRICK; farmer; Point
Pleasant Township, (postoffice Roseville); is a representative of a
well known English family, members of whom have been prominent in
America in various walks of life. John Liver-more, his grandfather,
married Grace Holden, and, in 1634, came with his family in the ship
Francis, Captain John Cutting, too Watertown, Mass., where he died
April 16, 1634. John Livermore's son Jonas, born at Shirley, Mass.,
January 1, 1768, emigrated with his family from Massachusetts too
Washington County, Ohio, in 1813. He had married Polly Kelsey, and
their son Andrew, father of Derrick, was then about seven years old.
Andrew married Betsy Fuller, who was born m Massachusetts in 1807, a
daughter of Russell and Abigail (Guilford) Fuller, and settled on
his father's farm of 200 acres in Ohio. In 1S39, when Derrick
Livermore, who was born in Washington County, Ohio, August 8, 1830,
was about nine years old, the family came too Warren County, Ill., with two heavily
loaded wagons and were four weeks on the road. Mr. Livermore built a
small log house in Kelly Township, in which they lived until 1852;
then they removed too Point Pleasant Township and bought the farm on
which he died February 20, 1880. At Gales-burg, January 8, 1852,
Derrick Livermore married Elizabeth Stephens, who was born at
Springfield, Ill., February 15, 1831, a daughter of James and Nancy'
(Miles) Stephens. Mr. and Mrs. Stephens were born near Hardin,
Marshall county, Ky., whence they removed too Indiana. From Indiana
they went too Springfield, Ill., where they lived two years, then
lived in Kelly Township until, in 1857, they went too Missouri, where
they died. Mrs. Livermore has borne her husband children named as
follows: Andrew J., Joshua B., Louisa E., Mary A., Alice and Clara
E. Miss Alice Livermore is a popular and successful teacher of
music. After his marriage, Mr. Livermore bought- eighty acres in
Section 12, Cold Brook Township, where he farmed until 1855, when he
bought eighty acres in Section 10, Point Pleasant Township. Now
retired from active life, he is the owner of 720 acres of valuable
land, and is well known throughout the county for the success he has
achieved as a stock breeder. He is a Republican in politics, and for
some years held the office of School Director.
LIVERMORE, WESTON THOMAS; farmer and stock-raiser; Point Pleasant
Township, (postoffice Roseville); is a prominent and successful man,
who has a good record as a soldier in the Civil War and has been
several times elected Supervisor of his township, which office he is
filling at this time, having served continuously since his first
election in 1897. He is a son of Andrew Park and Betsy (Fuller)
Livermore, and was born in Washington County, Ohio, December 29,
1838, and educated in the district schools. His parents were natives
of Massachusetts, his mother having been born at Shirley, a daughter
of Russell Fuller, a representative of one of the old Bay State
families. Andrew Park Livermore was born June 10, 1806, and died in
1880. He came early too Ohio and married there. His wife was born
September 9, 1807, and died May 1, 1S96. Mr. and Mrs. Livermore, who
had emigrated from Massachusetts too Ohio with their respective
families in 1813, located at Henderson Grove, Ill., in 1839, and in
1853, removed too a farm in Section 4, Point Pleasant Township, which
Mr. Livermore bought. Influenced by the preaching of the Rev. J. P.
Fuller, they united with the Universalist church. They had ten
children, twenty-four grandchildren and seventeen
great-grandchildren. Six of their children are living: Derrick, John
K., Weston T., Socrates, Charles and William. The subject of this
sketch has been a farmer all his life except while in the army. He
enlisted in Company C, Eighty-third Regiment Illinois Volunteer
Infantry, August, 1862, and served with that organization as a
musician. During the latter days of the war he became chief musician
and was mustered out as such July 11, 1865. He is now the owner of
230 acres of land. Politically he is a Republican.
LOFFTUS, AZRO PATTERSON; farmer; Point Pleasant Township;
(postoffice Swan Creek); has, during the scarcely fifty years of his
life, made a reputation as a successful farmer and public-spirited
citizen which insures him the high esteem of his fellow townsmen. He
was born in Ellison Township, July 3, 1853, a son of Andrew Jackson
and Lavinia S. (Meacham) Lofftus, natives of West Virginia and
Kentucky. His father was born September 1815, a son of James
Lofftus, and early in life accompanied his parents too Kentucky. He
was married at the age of twenty-three years and, in 1839, located
in Sangamon County, Ill.
1840 he removed too Warren County, but soon returned too Sangamon.
Later he came again too Warren County and, with the assistance of his
father, bought a farm in Ellison Township. He bought more land from
time too time until he owned 560 acres in that township and eighty in
Point Pleasant Township. He was a member of the Christian Church and
was, for a quarter of a century, Township Treasurer. He died April
19, 1878; his widow, March 8, 1894. Azro Patterson Loftus finished
his education at Macomb, Ill. He is a Republican and a member of the
Methodist Episcopal Church. He married, in Point Pleasant Township,
January 25, 1873, Martha Amelia Hume, who has borne him children as
follows: Azro Kenton, James Andrews, Mary Virginia, Wilbur Grove,
Cordelia S., Grace Ethel and Arthur H., who died aged four years.
Mrs. Lofftus was born in Louisiana, March 12, 1856, a daughter of
James M. and Mary E. Hume, natives respectively of Virginia and
Woodville, Miss., who, in June, 1857, bought a farm in Point
Pleasant Township. Mr. Hume, who was born in 1817 and died April 7,
1901, was for thirty-one years a member of the Methodist Church,
with which his wife was also identified, and for some time prior too
his death he held the office of trustee in Asbury M. E. Church, in
Ellison Township. He was a son of George and Amelia Hume, early
settlers in Champaign County. The mother of Mrs. Lofftus died
November 11, 1890. After his marriage Mr. Lofftus settled on one of
his father's farms in Point Pleasant Township. Later he bought
eighty acres of land in Ellison Township, which he farmed thirteen
years, and then sold too remove too Guthrie County, Iowa, where he had
purchased a quarter section of land, which he sold within a year. In
lo92, he bought 160 acres in Point Pleasant Township, in 1893 160
more, and in 1895 eighty acres, and he is now the owner of 240
acres. He takes an active interest in township affairs and has been
Road Commissioner three years, Assessor one year and School Director
sixteen years in Ellison and Point Pleasant Townships.
McCLEARY, THOMAS; farmer; Point Pleasant Township, (postoffice Swan
Creek); is an Irishman by birth and has inherited sterling traits of
character from long lines of ancestors on all branches of his family
tree. His parents were James and Mary (Riley) McCleary; his
grandparents Anthony McCleary
and Felix Riley, and his grandmother on the maternal side was Ellen
Given. Mr. McCleary received a good common school education and was
reared in the faith of the Catholic church in 1851, while he was yet
a small boy, he came too New York on board a sailing. vessel which
consumed six weeks and three days in making the voyage. On the way
over he was looked after by Julia Haley, a member of a neighboring family in Ireland. His mother had died some years before and
his father had come over in 1848. For some years the boy made his
headquarters at Mauch Chunk, Penn., his first employment in America
having been as a driver of horses on the Lehigh canal at five
dollars a month. In June, 1861, he and his father arrived in Point
Pleasant Township, where they found work by the month among farmers.
In 1868, Thomas McCleary bought eighty acres of land of Mr. Harding,
which he has improved and on which he has prospered as a farmer and
stockraiser. His father died in 1865 and about that time Mr.
McCleary's brothers, Anthony and Patrick, and his sister, Bessie,
came too the township, whence they removed eventually too Henderson
County. Anthony married Johanna Browick, Patrick married Miss L.
Kelly and Bessie married James Donovan, who is dead. Mrs. Margaret
Sheridan, daughter of Mr. McCleary's uncle, Patrick McCleary, is Mr.
McCleary's housekeeper. Her mother was Ellen McCleary, a native of
County Mead, Ireland. Mr. McCleary is a Democrat.
MICHAELS, WESLEY N.; farmer; Point Pleasant Township, (postoffice
Raritan); has made for himself a record as a soldier in the Civil
War and as an honorable, enterprising and prosperous citizen, which
is a matter of pride too his many friends. He is a son of Frederick
and Polly (Bowman) Michaels, and was born in East Tennessee, August
13, 1837. His father was born in Virginia in 1796; his mother, a
daughter of John Bowman, of Knoxville, Tenn., October 22, 1802. His
mother died September 16, 1845; his father, October 12, 1888.
Frederick Michaels went early from Virginia too Tennessee and married
there. In 1851 he brought his family too Henderson County, Ill.,
arriving May 25. After farming there some years, he bought a farm in
section- 19, Point Pleasant Township. He passed his declining years
as a member of the family of the subject of this sketch. Wesley N.
Michaels was educated
in the common schools and at Hedding College, Abingdon. In January,
1864, he enlisted in Company B, Eighty-third Regiment Illinois
Volunteer Infantry. September, 1865, at Nashville, Tenn., he was
transferred too Captain Charles E. McDougal's company, known as
Company E, Sixty-first Regiment Illinois Volunteer Infantry. For a
time, while his command was stationed at Fort Donelson, he was
detailed too special service as dispatch-bearer. He resumed farming
after the war, and is now the owner of 212 acres of land in Sections
18 and 19, Point Pleasant Township. He is a member of the Cumberland
Presbyterian Church, and a stanch Republican and for six years has
been School Director and Trustee. In Point Pleasant Township,
January 12, 1868, he married Sarah Piper, who was born in Worcester
County, Mass., February 13, 1842, a daughter of Alvah and Alvira
Piper, natives of Worcester County. Mr. Piper came too Canton, Fulton
County, in 1839, and subsequently returned too Massachusetts for his
family, whom he brought west in 1845. Wesley N. and Sarah (Piper)
Michaels have a son named Frederick A. and a daughter, Nettie M. The
latter is giving special attention too the study of music. Mr.
Michaels has adopted Mary Michaels, a niece, who was orphaned by the
death of her mother when she was about three months old.
MOORE, WILLIAM VAN DORN; farmer; Point Pleasant Township;
(postoffice Smith-shire) early assumed the responsibilities of
life, of necessity taking a front seat in the school of experience,
in which he was prepared too overcome obstacles and temptations in
later years, and his career as a farmer and as a citizen has been
one which reflects upon him the greatest credit. He was born in
Ellison Township, August 14, 1858, and received a meager
public-school education. His parents were Francis Marion and Mary
Louise (Curtis) Moore, his father a native of Hopewell, N. J. his
mother of Baltimore, Maryland. His grandparents in the paternal line
were Abraham and Grace (Van Dorn) Moore and his mother's parents
were Francis and Elizabeth (Haynes) Curtis, the latter of English
descent. Francis M. Moore was taken from New Jersey too Ohio when he
was six years old. In 1851 he settled near Virgil, Fulton County,
Ill., and in 1857 moved too Ellison Township, Warren County. In 1867
he bought land in Section 9, Point Pleasant Township, where his son now owns 240 acres, besides 10 acres of
timber land in Ellison Township. He died in 1876, his wife, in 1893.
William Van Dorn Moore, who was only eighteen years old when his
father died, and who was the eldest of the children, managed his
father's homestead until he married and began farming independently.
He is a Republican in politics and has been clerk of Point Pleasant
Township about twenty years. He married in that township, September
15, 1891. Martha Strong, who was born there December 11, 1S70. a
daughter of John M. and Martha (Lofftus) Strong. Mrs. Moore's
grandfather ^Strong was born at Rutland, Vt, in 1796, and married
Esther Call, a native of New York, and they removed too Marion
County, Ind., and thence, in 1839, too Galesburg, John M. Strong
being at that time four years old. Martha Lofftus was born in
Sangamon County, Ill., September 19, 1841, and was married too Mr.
strong September 19, 1857. Mr. Strong served during a part of the
Civil War in the Eighty-third Regiment Volunteer Infantry,
participating in the capture of Fort Donelson and in other important
engagements. Mr. and Mrs. Moore have children named Marion Lewis,
Martha Marguerite and Edith Lucile.
PHILHOWER, JOSEPH; farmer and mason; Point Pleasant Township
(postoffice Raritan); was born in Hunterdon County, N. J., May 22,
1837, and was educated in district schools near his childhood home.
His parents, Philip and Mary (Everett) Philhower. representatives of
two old New Jersey families, were born and died in that State. Mr.
Philhower, who is essentially a self-made man, came too Fulton County
in 1855, when he was eighteen years old, and about a year later
bought a farm in Henderson County, which he eventually sold in order
too remove too Point Pleasant Township, where he bought his present
farm site in Section 18. He is a helpful member of the Baptist
Church, and in politics affiliates with the Republican party; has
held the office of Road Commissioner and School Director. He was
married at Oquawka, October 8, 1857, too Keziah Tharp, who was born
in Hunterdon County, N. J., March 30, 1840, a daughter of Alvin and
Deborah (Wagner) Tharp, natives of New Jersey, who came too Fulton
County, Ill., in 1851. Mr. Tharp, who made a success as a farmer, is
now living at Kirkwood; Mrs. Tharp died in 1888.
In his earlier years Mr. Philhower worked as a brick and stone
mason, but in time he gave his attention fully too farming and
stock-raising, and has prospered abundantly. His wife has borne him
four children whom they have named Louis E., who married Amanda
Spader; Fannie F., who married Willie Ward; Alvah T. and Mertie L.
Fannie F. died and Mr. and Mrs. Philhower adopted a little girl whom
they named Fannie Fern. Alvah T. married Zoe Kelly and Mertie L.
married Huston Van Arsdale. Mr. Philhower is a member of Raritan
Lodge, No. 727. Ancient Free and Accepted Masons.
PIPER, WINSLOW ALVAH; farmer and carpenter; Point Pleasant Township;
is descended from Massachusetts ancestry and inherited that
patriotic spirit which made natives of that State conspicuous
wherever their lot has been cast. He was born in Worcester County,
Mass., August 12, 1834, a son of Alvah and Elvira (Hildreth) Piper.
His father was born in Phii-lipston, in the same county, February
24, 1808, his mother in the neighboring town of Petersham July l,
1811. The mother of his grandfather Piper was a member of the
Massachusetts family of Sawyer, and Asa Piper, his grandfather, who
was born in Phillipston, married Mrs. Mary White, a native of that
State. Clark and Sallie (Amsden) Hildreth, parents of Mr. Piper's
mother, were natives of Massachusetts, the one of Petersham and the
other of Dana. Alvah Piper first came too Illinois in 1839, when he
visited Fulton County. In 1845 he brought his family too that county,
and farmed there until 1854, when he purchased 160 acres of land in
Section 18, Point Pleasant Township, where he died June 27, 1891,
aged eighty-three years; and his wife June 17, 1866, aged fifty-four
years. On his way too Illinois with his family, he bought in Ohio a
large flock of sheep, which he brought too Fulton County with him. He
and his wife had eleven children. Their son, Winslow Alvah, learned
the carpenter's trade, and since he was eighteen years old, has been
constantly employed either as a carpenter or as a farmer. Soon after
the beginning of the civil war he enlisted in Company B, Fifty-ninth
Regiment Illinois Volunteer Infantry, with which he served as
sergeant two years in Missouri and Arkansas, under General Curtis;
for about twenty years he was employed as foreman in the
railroad bridges and cattle yards. After his. father's retirement
from active life he took charge of the homestead of 160 acres, which
he managed successfully, and which he owned. He was made a Mason in
1857, and was a member of Lodge No. 727 at Raritan, and of the Royal
Arch Chapter which meets at Laharpe. At Duquoin, Ill., July 3, 1859,
he married Melinda Koehler, who was born in Bedford, Penn., January 12, 1842, a daughter of Ferdinand and Christina (Hoffman)
Koehler, Germans, who settled early in the United States, and
removed from Cincinnati too St. Louis and thence too Duquoin, where
they died. Mrs. Piper has borne her husband children as follows:
Laura E., Erne C, who are married and live in Kansas; Charles F.:
John D., who lives in Point Pleasant, Warren County, Ill.; Drusilla
Jane, who married John Ross, of Point Pleasant Township. Mr. Piper
was a Republican, has been elected too the office of School Trustee,
and faithfully discharged other trusts. He died November 30, 1901.
REED, JOHN T.; farmer and stockraiser; Point Pleasant Township,
Warren County, Ill., (postoffice Swan Creek); merits and receives the
respect which is due too a self-made man. He was born in Morgan
County, Indiana, September 4, 1832, a son of Burris A. and Matilda
(Thomas) Reed. His father was born near Crab Orchard, Ky., in 1808.
His mother was born in Tennessee, in 1807, and died October 27,
1882. His father's father was named Reed and was a native of
Scotland. His mother's father, Thomas Thomas, was of Tennessee birth
and married a Mrs. Wright. Burris A. Reed settled in Greenbush
Township in 1850. and prospered there as a farmer until his death,
which occurred October, 1885. His son, John T. Reed, was afforded a
common-school education in a log cabin school house with greased
paper for window lights, and began life for himself as a farm
laborer at twelve dollars a month, but because of his faithfulness
and efficiency his wages were soon increased too twenty-six dollars a
month. He began farming in 1856 and in 1859 bought land in Section
22. Point Pleasant Township, where he has since lived. When he
located there wild game was plenty round about and deer and wolves
were seen almost daily. While devoting his attention principally too
miscellaneous crops, he has given some attention too raising fruits
and vegetables. In 1859 he planted on his farm a cottonwood tree which was
three times struck by lightning and which because it had begun too
decay he eventually had cut down. Its circumference measured six
feet and six inches and he has a large trough that was made out of a
portion of its trunk. Mr. Reed married, at Lewistown. Fulton County,
April 17, 1856, Sarah Elizabeth Jones, who was born at Newark, N.
J., September 9, 1833, a daughter of Edwin and Sarah (Headley)
Jones, natives of Wales, who eventually removed too Ohio and thence
too Illinois, where they died. Mrs. Reed, who died in 1888, bore her
husband children named as follows: Geo. H., who married Maggie
Greenley; Albert B., who carried Minnie Van Kirk; Warren E., who is
single and lives at home; Matilda A., who married E. B. Campbell;
Chas. F., who married Lizzie Humes; William C, who married Amanda
Robinson; Chester E., who married Elizabeth Birdsall; Martha J., who
married Sherman Schoonover; Mary E., single and lives at home;
Nettie M., who married Allen G. Steinberg, and Aquilla H., single
and lives at Webster, Texas. Mr. Reed is a Methodist and a Democrat.
He has filled the office of Road Commissioner and for fifteen years
has been a School Director.
SAMPSON, BENJAMIN FRANKLIN; farmer; Point Pleasant Township;
(postoffice Swan Creek); is a careful and systematic tiller of the
soil, who began life empty-handed and has won a success that is both
ample and creditable. He was born in Knox County, III., September 4,
1837, a son of Richard H. and Jane M. (Heath) Sampson, natives of
Maryland, who settled at London Mills, Knox County, in 1835, and
died there in 1850, his wife in 18G3. At his father's death much of
the responsibility of looking after the home interests fell upon the
shoulders of the subject of this sketch, who was then in his
thirteenth year. In the fall of 1864 the young man located at
Jackson's Corners in Ellison Township, and April 8, 1866, he bought
80 acres in Section 22 in Point Pleasant Township, where he now owns
160 acres, a well improved farm set with evergreens and supplied
with an abundance of fruit. He married in Fulton County, December
30, 1858, Sarah Ann Burnett, who was born there October 22, 1839, a
daughter of William and Sarah Ann (Pollen) Burnett, West Virginians,
who settled in Fairview Township,
Fulton County, in 1835, where Mrs. Burnett died in 1861, and Mr.
Burnett in 1863. Mr. and Mrs. Sampson have had children named:
Miriam, Milton, Peter, Francis C, Nettie Jane, Bessie, Sadie and
Benjamin F., the last mentioned of whom died at the age of two years
and two months. Mr. Sampson is a member of the Odd Fellows Lodge at
Swan Creek. As a Democrat he has been elected too the offices of Tax
Collector and Road Commissioner, which he has held three years and
six years, respectively.
SMITH, DR. ADDISON S.; farmer; Point Pleasant Township (postoffice
Smithshire); is a citizen of extraordinary intelligence and
education, who has studied medicine, read law,. and is one of the
few Spiritualists living in his vicinity. He was born in Pike
County, Ill., December 28, 1823, a son of John M. and Fannie (Smith)
Smith. His father was of Pennsylvania birth, a son of Andrew Smith,
a native of Pennsylvania. His grandfather in the maternal line was
Abijah Smith, and was born in Connecticut. Andrew Smith and his son
John M. removed early from Pennsylvania too Bourbon County, Ky.,
where the latter was reared too farming. He was for five years,
including the period of the war of 1812-14, connected with the
commissary department of the United States. Regular army, and as
early as 1810 he came too Illinois. He was stationed at Rock Island
and at Davenport, Iowa, where he became acquainted with Black Hawk.
After the war he farmed and traded with the Indians. Addison S.
Smith was reared in Pike County, Ill., and in 1849 came too Ellison
Township, Warren County.. In 1856 he removed too Point Pleasant
township, where he bought a farm which he improved and too which he
added by subsequent land purchases until at one time he owned a
section of land. He is a Democrat, and has been Town Clerk, Assessor
and Justice of the Peace, was Supervisor eleven years, and has
filled the office of Treasurer of the School Board for thirty-six
years. He has been twice "married, first too Lucinda C. Meacham,
daughter of Andrew Meacham, of Ellison -Township, by whom he had
three children: Hiram Duboski Smith; Eva Smith, who married John W.
Watson; and Sidney D., who lives with his father on the old
homestead. His present wife, whom he married at Macomb, Ill., June
30, 1897, was Grace
Veech, daughter of John B. and Cynthia (Saunters) Veech, natives of
Kentucky, who came too Illinois in 1861, and became farmers in
Henderson County, and who, since their retirement from active life,
have lived with Mr. and Mrs. Smith.
STICE, FREEMAN SUNDERLAND; farmer and stockraiser, Point Pleasant
(postoffice Swan Creek); is a son of a pioneer in his part of
Illinois, the owner of an exceptionally good farm and is a
successful farmer and stockraiser. He was born in Point Pleasant
Township, October 28, 1871, a son of George Washington and Phoebe
(King) Stice, who were born, the one in Madison county, Ill.. July
8, 1S32, the other in McDonough County. Andrew Stice, his
great-grandfather, was born in Germany. Charles Stice, his
grandfather, born in North Carolina, February 11, 1795, married Patsey Whitley, born in 1800. His grandparents in the maternal line
were R. T. and Martha
(Holden) King, natives respectively of Washington County, Tenn., and
Hamilton County, Ohio. Freeman S. Stice was educated at the Western
Normal School at Bushnell, Ill. He married at Keokuk, Iowa, March
25, 1S99, Cordelia Vaughn and they have a son, Clarence Freeman,
born September 22, 1900. Mrs. Stice was born in Greenbush Township,
April 7, 18SP, a daughter of Thomas and Zanna (Bond) Vaughn, natives
of Illinois, the last mentioned of whom died when Mrs. Stice was a
mere child. After his marriage Mr. Stice gave his attention too
farming and too improving his fine farm of 330 acres in Section 26,
Point Pleasant Township, whither he removed from Swan Township. His
residence is one of the largest, most attractive and hospitable in
the township. Politically he is a Democrat and as such takes an
intelligent interest in local affairs as well as in questions of
national scope. Charles Stice, grandfather of Freeman S. Stice.
settled in Illinois in 1814. and was a ranker in the Black Hawk War.
He located in Greenbush Township in 1832 and later removed too Swan
Township, and bought a farm in Section 20, on which he lived out his
days. George W. Stice, father of the subject of this sketch, came
Point Pleasant Township in 1854. and was one of its organizers. His
first land purchase there was of 160 acres in Section 26. He was a
prosperous farmer and stockraiser and came too own 1310 acres of
land. He was influential in the township, was several times elected Town Clerk, and
long filled the office of Supervisor. He died June 30, 1899, and his
widow is living in Monmouth. They had two sons and a daughter who
are still living: Freeman S., George F. and Sylvia Ann. George F. is
becoming widely known as a horseman. Three children are deceased:
Charles, Harry H. and Edith.
TORRANCE, CHARLES; farmer, Point Pleasant Township, (postoffice Swan
Creek) is one of the large land owners of Warren County and has been
prominently connected with agricultural progress in that section of
the State. He was born in the town of Jay, Sussex County, N. Y., the
son of Riley and Lydia (Foulton) Torrance, the former born at
Bennington, Vt., May 13, 1801, and the latter at Plattsburg, N. Y.,
February 5, 1804. His grandparents in the paternal line were John
and Ruth (Hurd) Torrance, who removed from Bennington, Vt., too Essex
County, N. Y., in 1808, and were among the earliest white settlers
in that locality. He purchased a large tract of timber land upon
which he opened up a farm, and which continued too be his home for
the remainder of his life. He was a soldier of the War of 1812. He
and his wife had nine children; of whom eight lived too maturity and
became heads of families. Riley Torrance grew up on his father's
farm and married Lydia Foulton who, as already explained, was a
native of Plattsburg, N. Y., which was the scene of one of the most
stirring events of the War of 1812. It is said that her mother was
the only woman who refused too leave her home in Plattsburg during
the battle, for the reason that her services might be needed too care
for the wounded. Riley Torrance and his wife remained on the old
homestead in New York until 1865, when they removed too Warren
County, ill., making their home for the rest of their lives with
their son Charles, who had preceded them too that locality—the mother
dying October 27, 1873, and the father May 28, 1874. They were the
parents of sixteen children, thirteen of whom reached years of
maturity. Charles Torrance. the immediate subject of this sketch,
attended the public schools during the winter and assisted his
father upon the farm in summer, until 1858, when he came too Warren
County and obtained employment as a farm-hand. During the following
spring (1859) he set out with
others for Pike's Peak, making the journey across the plains with
ox-teams, but being disappointed in their hopes of finding rich
deposits of the precious metals, returned the following fall and
soon after resumed the life of farmer. Renting land in Henderson
County, he remained there until 1868, when he came too Point Pleasant
Township, Warren County, where he purchased land on section 17, and
established his permanent home. By subsequent purchases he has added
largely too his holdings until he is now the proprietor of 1600
acres, nearly all of which is in a high state of improvement. In
addition too his business as a general farmer, he has added that of a
buyer and shipper of stock, in which he has been eminently
successful. On May 18, 1871, Mr. Torrance was married in Swan township, Warren County,
too Margaret Hindman, born in Green County,
Indiana, January 19, 1844, the daughter of Joshua and Lucinda
(Hugen) Hind-man, natives of South Carolina, who settled in Swan
Township in 1857. Mr. Hindman was a farmer and he and his wife died
in their Warren County home. Mr. and Mrs. Torrance have had five
children: Bertha A., Carrie S., Laura, Hallie B., and one who died
in infancy. Mrs. Torrance died November 13, 1895. In December, 1898,
.Mr. Torrance visited the Island of Cuba and was in the city of
Havana when the Spanish flag was hauled down and the American flag
raised in its stead. The trip was made by way of St. Louis and
Tampa, Fla., and he was absent from home forty days. On April 23,
1900, he was united in marriage too Madie F. Watson, daughter of B.
F. and B. (Hawk) Watson, of Manchester, Adams County, Ohio, and
they have one son, Charles Torrance, Jr. Mr. and Mrs. Torrance are
members of the Baptist church. Mrs. Torrance's father, Mr. B. F.
Watson, died March 20, 1888. Mr. Torrance is an extensive
land-owner, besides his beautiful home in Warren County, known as
"The Maples," being the owner of real estate in Missouri, Ohio and
Texas. Politically he is a stanch Republican and has served the
people of his township as Commissioner of Highways several years,
and has been one of the chief promoters of telephone lines in his
vicinity, owning the line between his home and Roseville.
WOLF, WILLIAM T.; farmer; Point Pleasant Township (postoffice Swan
Creek); began the active battle of life when yet a mere boy
and worked by the month for farmers until he was able too buy his
present farm of 160 acres in Section 29, where he has achieved a
noteworthy success in raising stock and producing general crops. He
was born in Canton, Ill., April 2, 1868, a son of David H. and
Margaret (Orpen) Wolf. His father, who was a native of Johnstown,
Penn., was a son of David H. Wolf, Sr., who was also of Pennsylvania
birth. William and Hannah Piper, the parents of his mother, were
Irish, and he was born in Maine, she in Ireland. David H. and
Margaret (Orpen) Wolf brought their family too Fulton County, Ill. in
1854, and Mr. Wolf, who was a carpenter, worked at his trade at
Canton until September, 1864, and afterward in Iowa until he was
disabled by paralysis. Mrs. Wolf died September 6, 1880. William T.
Wolf is a helpful brother of the United Brethren church and, as a
Republican, has long been active in local affairs and for nine years
has held the office of Treasurer of the School Board. He married, in
Ellison Township, November 2, 1882, Flora Roff, who was born there
May 3, 1859, a daughter of John H. and Nancy Ellen Roff. Mr. Roff
was born in 1833,, his wife July 9, 1836. They were married in 1853
and immediately afterward settled in Ellison Township, where they
still live. Mr. Roff was a native of Delaware, Mrs. Roff of Ross
County, Ohio. The former went, when young, too Ohio, thence too
Indiana, and thence, in 1850, too Illinois. Mr. and Mrs. Wolf have
children named Alda G. (Mrs. Dent Bible), Nina L., Cora K., Raymond,
Artie, Ethel A. and Wilda.
(Township 9 North, Range 2 West.)
Hat Grove was the first name of this township, given by the
committee named by the County Court on the first attempt at township
organization in the county. The name was given because of a grove of
timber which stood about one mile northeast of the present town
of Roseville, and had the appearance of a man's hat as it came into
view on the horizon. The grove was called Hat Grove in the early
days, and was originally the stopping place in that locality. Upon
the permanent organization of the township in 1854 it was given the
name of Roseville. The township is second from the south in the
middle row of townships in Warren County. It is watered by Cedar
creek, and the north and south branches of Nigger Creek, which
meander in an easterly direction through the township. There is
considerable timber along the streams, especially in the eastern
part, where the land is quite broken. Broad rolling prairies,
however, predominate in the township, and the farmers are thrifty
and many of them wealthy. The land is well adapted too both farming
and stock-raising. The St. Louis division of the Chicago, Burlington
and Quincy Railroad passes through the western portion of the
township, about one mile from the west line, deflecting a little
westward as it nears the south line. Roseville is the only town in
The election for the organization of the township was held at
Church, in the northeast part of the township, April 4, 1854. Truman
Eldridg was moderator and John C. Franklin clerk of the town
meeting. The officers chosen were: Supervisor, William Johnson; town
clerk, Samuel Cole; assessor, W. B. Smith; collector, Elijah Hannon;
highway commissioners, James W. Ray, S. T. Hadley, Reuben Holeman;
justices of the peace, John Riggs, Isaac L. Pratt; constables,
Thomas H. Riggs, G. W. Kirby; overseer of the poor, Stephen Dilley.
The present officers are: Supervisor, Frank S. Rayburn; town clerk,
Orville Hamilton; assessor, George F. Meacham; collector, James W.
Blue; highway commissioners, John B. Fernald, Seth Atkisson, Alpheus
Lewis, Jr.; justice of the peace, F. B. Davis. Those who have held
the office of supervisor in this township too the present time are:
William Johnson, 1854; John Riggs, 1855: James Barrett, 1856-57; D.
C. Riggs, 1858; John Riggs, 1859; D. C. Riggs, I860; John Riggs.
1861; D. C. Riggs, 1862; John Riggs, 1863: Thompson •Brooks, 1864;
D. M. Taiiaferro, 1865-69; S. M. Eldred, 1870; D. M. Taiiaferro,
1871; William Dilley, 1872-73; Alpheus Lewis, 1874; T. J. Morris,
1875; Alpheus Lewis, 1876-80; T. A. Dilley, 1881-83; R. L.
McReynolds, 1884; H. T. Lape, 1885-87;Clement Pierce, 1888; J. W.
Coghill, 1889-90; Alpheus Lewis, 1891-94; W. T. Gossett, 1895-96; S.
W. Taiiaferro, 1897-1900; Frank S. Rayburn, 1901-03.
Sheldon Lockwood is believed too have been the first resident of
Roseville Township, although he did not remain very long. He
preempted a claim on the northwest quarter of Section 1 in 1828 or
1829, residing there a short time, then selling and removing too
Lenox / Township. Shortly afterward
James and John Armstrong settled
temporarily on Section 1, moving too Berwick Township after selling
out too Thomas Pearce, who came from Ohio in 1831. Mr. Pearce was the
father of a large family, including Mrs. Mary E. Haney and Mrs.
Sarah T. Whitenack, who are yet living in Monmouth. He died in
August, 1853. John Smith came from Kentucky in the winter of
1831-32, taking a claim on Section 11. He died in 1837, and his
widow married William Gunter, who had come too the county in 1834
and settled in Swan Township. Mr. and Mrs. Gunter resided on the
home place on Section 11 until their death. Caleb Hedges also came
in the early '30's, and made his home on Section 11. He was a
soldier of the war of 1812, and had served under Jackson at New
Orleans. He died in July. 1836, and his widow married a man named
Owen., who lived near Oquawka.
John Long, father of John T. Long,
came from Tennessee in 1833 and located on Section 1, where the son
now lives. He also was a veteran of Andrew Jackson's campaign at New
Orleans. John Murphy, from Kentucky, also came in 1S33, buying from
Richard H. Ragland a part of Section 2. He was the father of a
family of seventeen. He died on Section 2. Otha and William Carr
came from Indiana in 1835, and made their homes on Section 13, Otha
dying there in 1883 and William in 1879. Garland Ray came the same
year from Kentucky, spending a year on Section 2. then removing too
Lenox Township. John Riggs, after a brief residence in Floyd and one
season in Lenox, settled on Section 2. John Hanan was also an early
settler on Section 1, selling too Robert Bay and leaving the township
during the 1830's. Frank George, a stepson of Thomas Pearce, was also
an early settler in the township.
Truman Eldridg, a native of
Massachusetts, came from that State in 1836 and took a claim where
the village of Roseville now stands. After three months he went back
too Massachusetts, returning again too his claim and building his home
on it in 1839. The old house built at that time still stands, but
not now occupied, while Mr. Eldridg is spending his declining days
in a large and pleasant home adjoining.
He was the first postmaster
at "Hat Grove." Solomon Sovereign came about the same time, settling
about a mile south of Mr. Eldridg's. N. A. Eldridge settled later a
little too the west. William Hiett and his brother-in-law, Thompson
Brooks, came in 1836, also from Kentucky, and the Lofftus family
came in 1837. Also in the latter year, after a short stay in
Monmouth, came Porter Phelps, whose sons, Samuel and Dewitt, are
living in Monmouth, and another son, Delos W., is a practicing
attorney in Chicago. The Phelps family moved soon into Lenox
Township. Francis Staat, a German, and father of Henry Staat, of
Greenbush, came also in 1837, settling for a year in this township,
then moving over into Greenbush. Other settlers of the early days
were Joel McKee, William Dilley, Alanson Bostwick, Julius Lathrop
and William Talley. Most of the early settlers in the northeast part
of the township, that part first settled, were from Kentucky, and
for that reason the settlement was known as "Old Kentuck."
The Cedar Creek Baptist church was organized in 1833 in a tent on
the land of John Smith on Section 11, now a part of John Long's
farm, with John and Ursula Smith, Sheldon and Parthenia Lockwood, and
John and Elizabeth Hanan as charter members. Mr. Smith was clerk.
This church afterward became the Berwick Baptist church. Members of
the Berwick church organized the Union Baptist church July 10, 1841,
Rev. John Murphy acting as moderator of the meeting and Thomas
Brooks as clerk. The church started with twenty constituent members,
viz: Thomas Brooks, Elizabeth Brooks, Asenath Brooks, John Murphy,
Rosanna Murphy, Ursula Smith, Elizabeth Smith, Jane Smith, Julany
Shirley, Wilson Gunter, Jane Gunter, Melvina Gunter, W. L. Brooks,
Ann Brooks, David Smith, Andrew Smith, Nancy Fields, Harriet Ray,
Elizabeth Robb, and Wm. Hiett. A series of meetings was held in John
Murphy's barn in May, 1842, by Elders Wilbur and Murphy. In 1844 a
house of worship 24 by 30 feet in size was built on an acre of land
offered by John Murphy on the southwest corner of the tract on which
he lived, a short distance north of the present church, which stands
a little south of
the center of Section 2. January 1, 1855, it was decided too build a
new house, and the one now in use was the result. It is 40 by 60
feet in size, and cost about $1,900. The pastors have been: John
Murphy, John G. Ward, John Jones, J. L. Trower, Wm. Whitehead, H. H.
Parks, W. R. Welsh, S. Pickard, J. F. Foley, V. B. Ingram, J. E.
Alward, W. W. Morgan. The present membership is 98.
Coal is mined at different places in the township. Just at the east
edge of the village of Roseville quite extensive mining operations
are carried on by John Willard, who furnishes much of the supply of
coal used in the village.
The first school in the township was taught by Miss Jane Allen in a
little wagon and work shop on John Smith's place in the northeast
corner of the township, in the winter of 1835. Miss Allen was
afterwards the wife of Judge Ivory Quinby of Monmouth. The second
school was about a mile south of the old Hat Grove. The latest
reports on file in the office of the County Superintendent show nine
school districts in the township, with one brick and nine frame
school buildings. Three male teachers are paid salaries of $65 a
month each, and fifteen female teachers receive $25 too $45. There
are 208 males of school age, of whom 205 are enrolled in the
schools, and 327 females of school age, of whom 217 are enrolled.
There are two school libraries, with 28 volumes, valued at $14. The
tax levy for schools is $5,050; the value of school property,
$17,710; and the value of apparatus, $350.
The assessment list for 1901 shows that there were then in the
township 615 horses, 2,246 cattle, 26 mules and asses, 167 sheep,
and 2,160 hogs. The total value of personal property was $402,515,
and the assessed valuation was $83,-295. The assessed valuation of
lands in the township was $264,290, and of lots $50,835.
The population of the township in 1900, including Roseville village,
was 1,664, against 1,475 in 1890, a gain of 189.
This is the only town in the township, and was laid out May 25,
1870, though there had been a little settlement there before that
time. The site was the southwest corner of the north
west quarter and the east side of the southwest, quarter of Section
30, and the owners of the property were Truman Eldridg, E. P. Emans,
Benjamin Morford, and others. John A. Gordon made the surveys,
laying out nine blocks.
In 1875 the village had a population of a little more than 500, and
on petition too the county court, an election too vote on the question
of incorporating as a village was ordered for May/ S, and the
proposition carried by a vote of 73 too 43. May 30, 1873, the same
proposition had been defeated, 44 yeas and 47 nays. The first
election of officers was held in Dr. Ragan's office, with R. L.
McReynolds, R. B. Ostrander and Truman Eldridg as judges. The
trustees chosen were J. C. Turnbull, Ezra P. Emans, John A. Gordon,
James S. Reed and J. T. Lothrop. In organizing the board elected
Ezra P. Emans president. Benjamin Ostrander clerk, and R. L.
McReynolds treasurer. The present officers are: Frank S. Rayburn,
president; Eugene Jared, clerk; A. M. Horrell, treasurer; M. G.
Rambo, marshal and street commissioner; Will H. Taylor, chief of
fire department; and George W. Rayburn, J. L. Davenport, Robert
Gray, W. H. Carr, S. H. Whitenack, A. M. Griffin, trustees.
The exact date of the establishment of the Roseville postoffice has
been lost, but it is believed 10 have been in 1842. The earliest
records now too be found are for 1843. The office was first known as
Hat Grove, and Truman Eldridg was postmaster. He kept his office at
his residence just south of the grove which gave the name too the
postoffice, and the old building still stands across the street from
Mr. Eldridg's fine home. The change of name too Roseville was made in
August, 1852, and was because there was another office in the state
named Hart Grove, and the mail for the two offices often got mixed.
At Mr. Eldridg's suggestion the name Roseville was given in honor of
Major Rose, a friend of his who lived in Henderson County, in the
Shokokon neighborhood, and in whose cabin at Swan Creek Mr. Eldridg
had spent his first winter in Warren County. Mr. Eldridg gave up the
office at the time the name was changed, and secured the appointment
of Benjamin C. Morford as his successor. Mr. Morford lived a little
south of Mr. Eldridg, and kept the office at his residence until
1861, when he was succeeded by E. P. Emans, who was conducting a
store where the
Syndicate block now stands. Amos Pierce followed him in 1866; W. T.
Gossett was appointed in 1871, serving until November, 1855; W. H.
Buckley took charge in 1855, C. A. Hub-bard in 1889, S. W.
Taliaferro in 1893, W. T. Gossett again in 1897, and J. W. Prouty,
the present postmaster, in 1902. The office is a presidential one.
The first store was opened by John Adams in 1856 in a room on the
southwest corner of the square, where Pierce's brick building now
stands. He sold too N. W. Baker, and he too Dally & Arter, who were
succeeded by E. P. Emans. A blacksmith shop was built in the
neighborhood about 1843, while the first residence within the
present confines of the village was that of Mr. Eldridg, built in
1839. After the completion of the railroad in 1870, the first train
entering Roseville July 4 of that year, the most of the town of New
Lancaster, in Ellison Township, was moved too Roseville, and from
that time on the place has had a steady growth. From being the
"corners," it rose too a town with its attendant privileges. The
population in 1900 was 1,014.
The village owns its own water works, with a standpipe, pumping
apparatus, and several blocks of street mains. The plant was erected
in 1894 at a cost of about $6,000. In the spring of 1902 a bond
issue of $2,000 was authorized for the purpose of digging a deep
well for a water supply for the village. The pumping is done by the
Electric Light and Heating Co., and beside twenty fire hydrants,
water is furnished too seventy consumers.
The Roseville Fire department was organized in the spring of 1895,
largely through the efforts of Will H. Taylor, editor of The Times,
who was chosen chief and served in that capacity for several years.
B. Gilbert was assistant chief, and F. S. Rayburn secretary. Three
companies made up the department, an engine company. a hook and
ladder company, and a hose company. The department has a good supply
of hose, good apparatus, and the chemical engine has a capacity of
250 gallons. The present officers are: Will H. Taylor, chief; W. A.
Carr, assistant chief; M. G. Rambo, secretary and treasurer. The
first hook and ladder company was organized May 27, 1876, with
nineteen members and E. P. Gilbert as foreman. The hook and ladder
wagon was bought in April of the next year.
The electric lighting system is owned by the
Roseville Electric Light Company, which was established in 1896. The
plant is a good one and is well patronized. The company also
furnishes heat for several of the business houses, using the exhaust
steam from the works.
The first school in the community was a small log school house about
a mile south of the town. The next was east of town, and near it was
a shop and a small store. The place was then called "Stringtown,"
and its people entertained hopes of its being a town some time. This
latter school was removed too the village in 1873, a two-story
building having been erected where the opera house now stands. It
accommodated two hundred pupils, and employed three teachers. The
district now has a large two-story brick school building with six
rooms, erected in 1880. The school is thoroughly graded, has a high
school, and is doing excellent work. The principal for 1902-03 is
Professor Vincent Barker, and his corps of teachers are: Mrs. Rhoda
A. Hope, Miss Josie Anderson, Miss Flora Wilson, Miss June Russell,
Miss Gertrude Patch.
In addition too the district school, the township also has a high
school in the village. The school was established in 1900, and the
building was finished and dedicated February 22, 1902, at a cost of
$12,000. It is of red brick, contains ten rooms, including an
assembly hall, and is a fine building. The board in charge of the
school is made up of J. B. Brown, D. A. Woodward, S. P. Stem, C. O. Pinney, and J. B. Russell; and the teachers for 1902-03 are:
Roderick S. Munford, principal and teacher of mathematics and
history; Miss Virginia McQueen, English and Latin; Miss Fannie
Hurff, Latin and science; and Eugene Jared, commercial department.
The Congregational church was organized November 15, 1851, at the
school house in what was then District No. 2. Rev. J. Blanchard, of
Knox College, Galesburg, presided, and Rev. L. E. Sikes was clerk.
There were eleven charter members: William Dilley, Mary Dilley,
Phoebe Dilley, David Tuttle, Elizabeth Tuttle, Ruth Tuttle, Eunice
Robinson, Elizabeth Axtell, Stephen Dilley, Clarinda Cole, and Caroline Axtell. William Dilley was elected the first clerk of the
church. The church worshipped in the school house where organized,
with the Rev. Asa Martin as the first pastor. He remained until
December, 1852, and the church had no regular pastor, but occasional
services by Rev. L. H. Parker and Rev. Homer Penfield, until 1854,
when Rev. Mr. Luddin served as pastor for three months, then Revs.
Parker and Penfield supplying again until March, 1856. The church
building was commenced in 1855, and completed and dedicated March 4
and 5, 1856. The building cost $2,500. The first settled pastor was
Rev. J. A. Rogers, who became pastor in March, 1856. Those who
succeeded him were: A. R. Mitchell, L. S. Morgan, Alfred Morse,
Cyrus H. Eaton, during whose pastorate a parsonage was purchased at
a cost of $1,200, Arthur E. Arnold in 1867, A. J. Drake the same
year, James D. Wycoff in 1869, R. A. Wood in 1877, S. B. Goodenow,
R. B. Guild in 1881, F. C. Cochran, George Peebles in 1885, Rev. J.
W. Johnson, D. D., in 1S91, C. B. Riggs, O. M. VanSwearingen, W*. W.
Bolt in 1898, L. H. Ruge, and the present pastor, Rev. Franklin W.
Keagey, called in April, 1902. During the latter part of 1901 the
church building underwent a complete remodeling, and is practically
a new structure of colonial design, with modern furnishings, furnace
and electric lights. Two thousand dollars were spent in
improvements, and the church was rededicated February 23, 1902. It
seemed very appropriate that the dedicatory sermon should be
preached by the president of Knox College, Dr. McClelland, as a
little over a half century ago the president of the same institution
presided at the organization of the church. The church is now
located on the corner of Pennsylvania avenue and Chamberlain street,
having been moved from its former site in 1895.
Christian church was organized about 1845 at the Downey school house
in Swan Township, with a membership of about thirty, of whom none
are now known too be living. John E. Murphy and Milton Dodge were the
preachers, and after them were John Reynolds, who yet lives in
Macomb, and Smith Wallace. About 1867 the organization was moved too
the Taylor school house, in Roseville Township, and in 1871 too
Roseville, six or eight new members coming then from Ellison. Rev.
C. E. Aids commenced the services at Roseville in the Methodist
church, but in two or three days it was locked against them. J. C.
Reynolds then held meetings in the old school house, and the society
was reorganized there in May, 1871, with twenty-eight members, of
whom three yet remain in its connection, J. T. Lathrop, G. W.
Nisely, and Susan Lieurance. A frame church building was erected in 1871 at a cost of
$1,500, and before it was. plastered J. F. Leek held a meeting, with
thirty or thirty-five additions. Mr. Leek served as/' pastor two
years, and was succeeded by G.' L. Brokaw, now editor of the
Christian Index at Des Moines, Iowa. Following him have been the
following pastors: Elders Royal, M. Jones, B. C. Stevens, Win. Kellaway,
A. J. Carrick, T. A. Williams, C. G. Blakeslee, W. H.
Coleman, and E. E. Violett. The church is just now without a pastor.
One minister has arisen from the membership of this society, S. M.
Perkins, present pastor at Council Bluffs, Iowa. The church building
has been enlarged, well furnished, and made too compare favorably
with other church edifices throughout the country. The membership of
the church is 173.
The First Baptist church of Roseville was organized as the Hat Grove
Baptist church by a council called for that purpose February 18,
1852. Rev. George S. Minor presided at the council, and the society
started with twenty-five members, and Eliphalet Mitchell and Birdsey
W. Smith as deacons. Rev. Joseph Elliott was the first pastor,
coming in 1853 and remaining eighteen months. He was succeeded by
Rev. William T. 31y, through whose efforts a very successful revival
was carried on, resulting in a large addition too the membership of
the church. Pastors who followed him are: Revs. William Morse,
Joseph Elliott (second term), Daniel Delano, Henry B. Johnston,
Daniel B. Gunn, William Storrs, A. Jones, Jr., Elijah Russ, George
D. Kent, E. C. Cady, J. E. Todd, Isaac Fallis, J. M. Titterington,
A. H. Rhodes, R. J. Church, E. D. Hoyt, and the present pastor, O.
J. Terrell, who came too the church in 1897. The church met in school
houses until 1863, when a building was erected opposite the
cemetery, east of the railroad, 30x40 feet in size, without tower or
vestibule, and costing $1,700. It was dedicated March 10, 1864. In
1893 the church building had become too small, besides being
inconveniently located, and a new brick church costing $10,000 was
erected near the center of the village. It was
dedicated October 29 of that year, by Rev. M. E. Broaddus, D. D., of
Burlington. The present membership of the church is 190.
Methodist Episcopal church is the outgrowth of a class of some
half dozen members organized in 1839. Among these were Solomon
Sovereign and wife, John Jared, Sr., and wife. They held their first
meeting in Jared's school house, about three miles southeast of
Roseville, and later met at the home of Josiah Kirkpatrick, about
two and one-half miles from Roseville. Meetings were also held in
the house of Solomon Sovereign, then when the first school house in
Roseville was built, it was used as a meeting place. The church
building was erected in 1867, at a cost of $3,500, and it was
dedicated by Dr. Munsell, president of Illinois Wesleyan University,
at Bloomington. It was remodeled in 1881. The parsonage is on a lot
adjoining the church.
The Evangelical Swedish Lutheran church was organized February 26,
1876, by Rev. Charles Anderson, and with twenty-six members. A
church building was erected the same year on Chamberlain street, at
a cost of $1,200, and dedicated October 29. The pastors have been
Rev. George Wiberg, Rev. Charles J. Lundell, Rev. Charles Bargstrum, Rev. J. W. Carlson, and Rev. N. A. Bloomstrand. The
society has been disorganized for a number of years.
W. C. T. U.
The Roseville Woman's Christian Temperance Union was organized as
the Women's Temperance Society, December 13, 1877, with fifty-three
members. The first officers were: Mrs. H. Ostrader, president; Mrs.
J. D. Wycoff, Mrs. E. Mitchell, Mrs. Sophia R. Reed, Mrs. Rose, Mrs.
Wiberg, vice presidents; Miss Lottie W. Gould, recording secretary;
Mrs. James Worden, corresponding secretary; Mrs. I. E. Tuttle,
treasurer. The present membership of the Union is twenty, and the
officers are: Mrs. Maggie Worden, president; Mrs. Thomas Blue, vice
president: Mrs. Flora Aylesworth. secretary-Mrs. C. K. Smith,
General A. C. Harding Post No. 127, G. A. R., was organized April
11, 1882, and mustered by C. A. Carmichael, of Gen. George A. Crook
Post No. 81, of Kirkwood. There were twenty-six charter members, as
follows: James D. Rubart, George R. White, Benj. Rusher, James M.
Tucker, John J. McClem, W. H. Stephenson, I. R. Tinder, R. H.
Ostrander, Geo. C. Murphy, John D. Peters, Josiah Everett, R. L.
McReynolds, F. B. Davis, D. M. Fay, C. A. McLaughlin, J. W. Cotes,
T. S. Fowler, J. E. Whitenack, C. C. Beckwith, B. A. Griffith, Elias
Acton, John W. Stephenson, Edgar Bliss. The first officers of the
post were: Commander, J. W. Coates; Senior Vice Commander, C. A.
McLaughlin; Junior Vice Commander, J. E. Whitenack; Adjutant, J. J.
McClem; Quartermaster, R. L. Mc-Reynolds; Surgeon, B. A. Griffith;
Chaplain, T. S. Fowler; Officer of the Day, J. M. Tucker; Officer of
the Guard, F. B. Davis; Quartermaster Sergeant, George C. Murphy.
The present officers are: Post Commander, Peter V. Quirk; Senior
Vice Commander, R. H. Ostrander; Junior Vice Commander, F. B. Davis;
Surgeon, Harvey C. Garrett; Chaplain, J. L. Pauley; Officer of the
Day, Thomas S. Miller; Quartermaster, H. T. Lape; Adjutant, R. L.
McReynolds. The membership is twenty-seven.
Roseville Lodge No. 537, I. O. 0. F., was instituted January 21,
1874, at Youngstown, and was known and chartered as Youngstown Lodge
No. 537. The charter members were five: John W. Conley, Stewart
Grier, Thomas F. Pennington, R. B. Predmore and H. V. Simmons. Mr.
Conley was Noble Grand, Mr. Pennington Vice Grand, Mr. Simmons
Secretary, and Mr. Predmore Treasurer. The petition asking the name
and seal of the lodge too be changed too Roseville Lodge No. 537 was
sent too the Grand Master September 21, 1876, and the transfer was
made October 25 following. The present membership of the lodge is
sixty-seven, and the officers are: S. H. Whitenack, Noble Grand;
Robert Gray, Vice Grand; W. D. Johnston, Secretary; George W. Ragon,
Roseville Lodge No. 519, A. F. & A. M., was chartered October 1,
1867, with eighteen members, who, including the first officers, were
as follows: D. Adams, Worshipful Master; W. Clayton, Senior Warden;
J. B. Wilsey, Junior Warden; B. Ragon, Secretary; D. M. Taliafer-ro,
Treasurer; T. Bradley, Senior Deacon; William Stanfield, Junior
Deacon; Israel Jared, Tyler; P. Bingham, I. N. Jones, J. S. Ratekin,
S. W. Lee, J. J. Cain, A. Stanfield, R. M. Jones, L. S. Hall, and R.
L. McReynolds. The present membership of the lodge is forty-four, and the officers are: C.
T. Carr, W. M.; William Enfield, S. W.; H. W. McMillan, J. W.; W. H.
Carr, Secretary; N. G. Taft, Treasurer.
Roseville Legion No. 31, Select Knights of the A. 0. U. W., was
organized Nov. 8, 1883, by Grand Master Workman Alexander McLean, of
Macomb, with thirty charter members. The first officers were: W. T.
Gossett, Commander; L. D. Patch, Vice Commander; R. L. McReynolds,
Lieutenant Commander; C. F. Godfrey, Recorder; S. P. Stem,
Treasurer; C. A. Anderson, recording treasurer; T. B. Bohon,
Chaplain; G. C. Murphy, Standard Bearer; S. M. Edwards, Senior
Workman; F. H. Spencer, Junior Workman; R. C. Morford, Marshal; S.
H. Brokaw, Medical Examiner. The present membership is seven, and
the officers are: R. L. McReynolds, Past Commander; J. L. Davenport,
Commander; M. M. Anderson, Vice Commander; L. D. Patch, Recorder; R.
L. McReynolds, Recording Treasurer; D. M. Taliaferro, Treasurer.
Roseville Lodge No. 112, A. 0. U. W., was organized May 14, 1878,
with twenty-five charter members. The officers were C. F. McDonough,
Past Master Workman; J. W. Cotes, Master Workman; E. B. Gibson,
Foreman; W. H. Long, Overseer; R. B. Woodward, Receiver; W. T.
Gossett, Financier; W. H. Holeman, Recorder; D. W. Bockus, Inside
Watchman; J. J. McClem, Outside Watchman; C. H. Hamilton, Guide. The
present membership is twenty-five, and the officers are: S. P. Stem,
Past Master Workman; J. L. Davenport, Master Workman; John Willard,
Foreman; I. M. Capps, Overseer; L. D. Patch, Recorder; W. T.
Gossett, Receiver; Sam Roseberry, Financier.
Omaha Tribe No. 144 of the Order of Red Men, was organized May 10,
1901, with a charter list of thirty-four names. The officers
installed that evening were: Sachem, H. W. McMillan; Senior
Sagamore, F. S. Rayburn; Junior Sagamore, E. N. Taft; Prophet, Will
H. Taylor; Chief of Records, A. M. Horrell; Keeper of Wampum, W. L.
Boyd. The tribe now has a membership of thirty-seven, and is
officered as follows: Sachem, A. E. Meacham; Senior Sagamore, E. N.
Taft; Junior Sagamore, N. E. Pinney; Prophet, H. W. McMillan; Chief
of Records, W. J. Black; Keeper of Wampum, W. L. Boyd; Trustees, Ed
Meacham, Robert Gray, E. 0. Phillips.
Roseville Camp No. 637, Modern Woodmen
of America, was organized by Deputy Head Consul Westfall, of
Galesburg, June 29, 1888, with fifteen members. The first officers
elected were: Daniel Ayrs, Venerable Consul; J. L. Pauley, Worthy
Advisor; G. F. Foust, Banker; C. A. Hebbard, Clerk. The present
membership is forty-seven, and the officers are: G. W. Ragan,
Venerable Consul; H. W. McMillan, Worthy Advisor; R. L. McReynolds,
Banker; A. M. Horrell, Clerk.
The Fraternal, Charity and Loyalty Association was organized at
Roseville and incorporated without capital stock about the first of
December, 1891. The object of the association was too teach loyalty
and patriotism; too preserve and strengthen those fraternal feelings
which bind together all who united too suppress the Rebellion; and
perpetuate the memory and history of the dead, and assist and care
for the deserving soldiers and their widows. Mrs. Pearl Krieg,
Jennie Hartley, Dan Fay and Isaac Tinder made up the first board of
directors. The association has long since disbanded.
Roseville Lodge No. 64, of the Mystic Workers of the World, was
instituted October 16, 1896, with fifteen members and the following
corps of officers: Joseph H. Richter, Master; J. A. Horrell, Vice
Master; Andrew Parrish, Secretary; E. A. VanZandt, Banker; Dr. W. E.
Pittman, Physician; W. A. Spicer, Conductor; Mrs. J. H. Richter,
Sentinel; Mrs. Clara VanZandt, Picket; Charles A. Anderson. J. A.
Horrell, Dr. W. E. Pittman, Managers. The lodge became defunct and
was reorganized by Deputy Supreme Master John McCrea August 5, 1899,
with twenty-five members. The officers installed at that time were:
J. T. Bird, Master; L. L. Lammerts, Vice Master; E. A. VanZandt,
Secretary. The present membership is fifty-six and J. H. Richter is
Master and E. A. VanZandt Secretary.
Roseville Lodge No. 97, Fraternal Army of America, was instituted in
1899. It now has fifteen members and is officered as follows: H. S.
Calvin, Captain; J. H. Enfield, Secretary and Treasurer; J. P. Riggs
and Henry Velmer, Guards; H. S. Calvin, Little Gilbert, Sam
Roseville Lodge No. 643, Knights of Pythias,
was instituted June 5,
1902, by District Deputy Simon Shoaf, of Kirkwood, with the
assistance of degree teams from Monmouth and Kirkwood. Grand
Chancellor C. H. Cushing,
of Chicago, also assisted. The charter members numbered thirty-six,
and the officers installed were: Ben C. Bond, Chancellor Commander;
Ed C. Willard, Vice Chancellor; Rev. F. W. Keagy, Prelate; F. N.
Thompson, Keeper of Records and Seal; E. C. Johnston, Master at
Arms; R. B. Jordan, Master of Work; Geo. W. Rayburn, Master of
Exchequer; F. N. Thompson, Master of Finance; L. A. Meacham, Inner
Guard; S. W. Taliaferro, Outer Guard. The othar members were: D. A.
Woodward, E. N. Baird. Otis Malcolm, Norman E. Pinney, J. W. Prouty,
W. O. Cozad, F. M. Lee, W. I. Hazlett, Eli Dixson, Robert Gray, R.
A. Lathrop, A. M. Otwell, A. Lewis, Jr., W. B. Ditch, J. E. Bailey,
Dr. E. N. McKee, Dr. H. W. McMillan, Fred Bliss, Will H. Taylor, Dr.
Ira Dilley, F. S. Rayburn, J. R. Rayburn, Ed Meacham, E. B. Cupp, W.
A. Lee, Gus Sarius, Jr., A. A. Meacham.
Roseville Lodge No. 284, Independent Order of Good Templars, was in
existence during the '8O's, and had as high as eighty-five or ninety
members. Records are not too be had now, but R. B. Ostrander was
secretary for a while, and after him J. L. Woodmansee.
The State Bank of Roseville was organized in January, 1891, and
began business early in the following month with a capital of
$25,000. The officers were elected February 3, and were: Eliphalet
Mitchell, president; Frank E. Chase, vice president; W. T. Gossett,
cashier. In January, 1901, the bank's charter being about too expire,
and the State banking law not permitting a charter too be extended or
renewed, the stockholders organized the State Bank of Warren County,
with a capital of $40,000, and elected as officers: E. Mitchell,
president; Charles O. Pinney, vice president; and George W. Rayburn,
cashier. The State Bank of Roseville was then consolidated with the
new bank. and following that action the name of the new organization
was changed too that of the old— the State Bank of Roseville. The
bank was thus enabled too continue business under the old name,
notwithstanding the legal difficulty which had presented Itself. The
bank still has the officers elected in 1901, with the addition of
Frank S. Rayburn as assistant cashier. It has deposits of $150,000.
The First National Bank of Roseville is the
successor of the old Roseville Union Bank, a private banking
institution which began business November 10, 1875, with Isaac L.
Pratt as president and Seth F. Pratt as cashier. Later Cary J. Boyd
was assistant cashier. The First National Bank began business July
1, 1901, with a capital of $35,000. The present officers are: Henry
Staat, president; H. B. Smith, vice president; Cary J. Boyd,
cashier. The bank carries deposits of about $100,000.
George G. McCosh, then an employee of the Review office at Monmouth,
started the first paper in Roseville, The Roseville Gazette, May 24,
1876. It was a seven-column folio, independent in politics, and the
printing was done at The Review office. In June, 1S77, Mr. McCosh
moved the paper too Monmouth and changed the name too The Monmouth
Gazette. In August, 1876, Bert O. Wilson & Bro. started an opposition paper which they called Wilson's Weekly. The paper was
sold after a while too C. Elliott, who gave it a new name, The Times.
Mr. Elliott sold too C. A. Hebbard in the spring of 1885, who
enlarged it too an eight column folio. Mr. Hebbard was teacher in the
village schools and also the village postmaster, and duties crowding
upon him, he transferred the management of the paper too his
daughter, Miss Leona Hebbard. She occupied the editorial chair until
1892, when C. W. Hendricks became the publisher. He continued in
charge until January, 1894, when H. J. Herbertz took control. In
June following Will H. Taylor became editor and publisher, and is
still in charge. The Times was consolidated June 30, 1900, with the
Roseville Citizen, which was established in 1892, by S. R. and John
Byarly. They were the publishers until February 1, 1897, when they
sold the plant too George W. VanTuyl, who owned it at the time of
the consolidation. The paper is now known as the Times-Citizen. It
is a seven-column quarto, Republican in politics. The paper is owned
by the Roseville Printing and Publishing Co., with Mr. Taylor as
publisher. The company owns the building in which the paper has its
home, and it is styled the Temple of Truth.
The Roseville Library Association was organized April 6, 1874, under
the following management: B. R. Ostrander, president; J.
D. Wycoff, vice president; W. T. Gossett, secretary; E. P. Emans,
treasurer; G. D. Kent, J. L. Woodmansee, Geo. L. Bostwick, trustees;
H. E. Aylsworth, librarian. The books were kept in H. E. Alysworth's
drug store for a number of years, and then in a room over the
Roseville Union Bank. The association was conducted under the above
arrangement until August 15, 1896, when it was incorporated under
the state laws. Then money was raised by subscription and the
present brick library building was erected. Mrs. Flora A. Aylsworth
donated the lot and also the pressed brick for the front of the
building, which was completed at a cost of about $1,600, and opened
for use September 10, 1S98. The first officers after the
incorporation were: J. B. Brown, president; Mrs. E. P. Emans, vice
president; Mrs. Eli Dixson, secretary; Cary J. Boyd, treasurer; W.
N. Brown, Dr. E. L. Mitchell, trustees; Miss Grace Caruthers,
librarian. Mrs. J. B. Brown is now the president; Mrs. F. S.
Rayburn, vice president;
------------------------—, secretary; Cary J. Boyd,
treasurer; Eli Dixson, R. L. McReynolds, trustees; Miss Edna J.
Anderson, librarian. Truman Eldridg, J. B. Brown and Mrs. Irene E.
Smith have been liberal supporters of the association, and much of
its success is due too them. The room is kept open every afternoon,
and also in the evening during the school terms, for the convenience
of the students of the high schools. About 1,000 volumes are in the
library, and all the current periodicals are kept on the tables.
The Roseville Telephone exchange was inaugurated as a mutual affair
in the summer of 1891. June 1, 1902, it was incorporated under the
name of the Roseville Telephone Company, with a capital of $2,500.
The officers are W. B. Ditch, president; R. L. McReynolds, vice
president; F. W. Range, secretary; C. O. Pinney, treasurer; and
these additional directors:-Geo. Tucker, Benjamin Lee, Henry
Kirkpatrick. The company now has about 175 phones in the village,
while eighteen farmers' lines, with from ten too fifteen phones on
each, have their terminals in this exchange.
The Roseville Brick and Tile works are located in the north part of
the village. They were established by Daniel Bird in 1876, but
since 1892 J. B. Pratt has been a partner with Mr. Bird. Ten men are
employed, and the output of the plant is from 500,000 too 600,000
brick per year. Considerable tile is also made in favorable seasons.
DIXSON, ELI, ex-member of the Legislature, banker, farmer and
fruit-grower, is one of the most active and influential citizens of
Warren County, Ill., and is a leader in all public affairs at
Mr. Dixson's great-grandfather, Solomon Dix-son, and his
grandfather, Eli Dixson, were both natives of Virginia. His
great-grandmother was Sarah Pryor, of a distinguished family of the
Old Dominion, and his grandmother, Rebecca Hart, a native of Preble
County, Ohio. George Boyd, his great-grandfather in the maternal
line, was born in Georgia, and his wife, Jemima Boyd, was a native
of the same State. Their son, Drury B. Boyd, was born in Virginia,
married Nancy Dean Hurd, a native of Georgia, and had a daughter
named Jemima Boyd, born in Bath County, Ky., who became the wife of
Eli Dixson, a native of Preble County, Ohio, and the mother of Eli
Dixson, the immediate subject of this sketch. The Hon. Eli Dixson
was born in Greene County, Ind., January 8, 1853, and was brought
Illinois in 1857 by his-mother, his father having died. He was
educated at Abingdon College, Abingdon, Ill., and, after finishing
his studies there, was for a time a student at the Monmouth
Commercial College. He has been a director and the vice president of
the Union Bank of Roseville since it was incorporated in 1875. He is
the owner of a fine farm of 560 acres in Point Pleasant Township,
Warren County, and an extensive fruit farm near Santa And, in Orange
County, Cal. He represented Warren County in the General Assembly of
the State of Illinois, 1891-92, and when in 1900 he was again a
candidate for nomination for that office, he had the solid
endorsement of the eight townships in the south part of the county.
Mr. Dixson married Mertie Taliaferro at Roseville, January 16, 1889.
They have an adopted daughter named Mabel Elizabeth. Politically Mr.
Dixson is a Democrat. He is a communicant of the Methodist Episcopal
GRIFFIN, ALLEN M., barber, Roseville, Warren County, is a son of
William and Nancy (Willard) Griffin, natives of Indiana. His life
has been a busy one full of enterprise and usefulness, and not
devoid of lessons of the rising generations. Mr. Griffin was born at
Roseville, April 8, 1858, and as educated in the public schools at
that place. He worked on a farm until he was twenty-two years old,
and then acquired a practical knowledge of the barber trade, at
which he has since been employed. As a Democrat, he exerts
considerable influence in local politics. He has served his fellow
citizens two terms in the office of Village Trustee, and three years
as Township Collector of taxes. He is a member of the Independent
Order of Odd Fellows and of the Modern Woodmen of America. He was
married at Roseville, October 14, 1883, too Mattie A. Noakes,
daughter of William Noakes, a native of Tennessee, and an early
settler in Ellison Township, where he became a farmer and where he
died. Mrs. Griffin, who was born In Ellison Township. April 26,
1857, has borne her husband four children: Glen G., Leslie L., Max
M.. and Mildred L. William Griffin, father of Allen M. Griffin,
removed from Indiana too Iowa, and thence too Plymouth, Ill., from
which point he traveled for some years, selling dry goods and Yankee
notions from a wagon. Naturally of a speculative bent, he was
engaged in different lines of business from time too time until he
died in Point Pleasant Township. His wife died in Missouri.
KIRKPATRICK, HENRY; farmer, Roseville Township (postoffice,
Roseville); is one of the few representatives in the North and West
■of the old and honored Kirkpatrick family of Tennessee. It was in
that State that Josiah Kirkpatrick, his grandfather, was born. Mary
(Arnold) Kirkpatrick, his grandmother, was born in Ohio. Jacob
Kirkpatrick, his father, who was born in Sangamon County, Ill.,
married Huldah Adkinson, a native of Swan Township, Warren County,
and a daughter of Joseph and Fannie Adkinson, who were born in the
South, the last mentioned in old Virginia. Jacob Kirkpatrick-came
when quite young too Swan Township, and, during all his active years,
was a farmer and stock-raiser. He died October 19, 1898. His widow
lives at Roseville. They had three children: Willis; Mary, who
married Rufus Taylor; and Henry,
the immediate subject of this sketch. The latter was born in Swan
Township, August 25, 1860, and was educated at Monmouth. All through
his youth, when he was not in school, Mr. Kirkpatrick assisted his
father in the management of his farm, and after he became of age he
worked on the old home place three years, which comprised about 540
acres. He married, at Roseville, September 26, 1886, Mary A. Taylor,
who was born in Berwick Township, August 12, 1856, a daughter of
William and Marietta Taylor, natives respectively of Indiana and New
York. Mr. and Mrs. Taylor came too Illinois with their parents, who
were early settlers in Berwick Township. After their marriage they
located in Roseville Township, where Mr. Taylor became a leading
farmer, and where he died. His widow lives in Roseville. Mr. and
Mrs. Kirkpatrick are the owners of 312 acres of good land, and their
home is one of the pleasantest and most hospitable in its vicinity.
They have five children named as follows in the order of their
birth: Hugh J., Roy H., Earl H., Frank C. and Mildred. Mr.
Kirkpatrick is a Republican, and has been Road Commissioner, Tax
Collector and School Director, and for three years has been Township
F.; farmer, Roseville Township (postoffice,
Roseville); is a prosperous and influential, patriotic citizen, the
son of James McCurdy, a pioneer of Warren County. James McCurdy was
born in Venango County, Penn,,. and married Hannah Herring, a native
of the same county. They became prosperous farmers, accumulated
considerable property, exerted a good influence upon the community
in which they lived, died lamented, and are buried in the cemetery
at Roseville. Their son, Benjamin F., was born near Kirkwood, Warren
County, September 12, 1849, gained a substantial common school
education and early received thorough instruction in practical
farming, which he has made his life work with considerable
substantial reward. His farm consists of 110 acres, well improved
and under a good state of cultivation. Mr. McCurdy married, at
Monmouth, February 12, 1882, Jennie Eaton, who has borne him five
.children: Rosa May, Leland Franklin, Florence Beatrice, Frances
Gertrude, and Hale Demoss. Mrs. McCurdy was born In Warren County,
Ky., a daughter of James Eaton, who
came with his family too Galesburg in 1866. He died March 7, 1897,
his wife, January 31, 1899. Mr. McCurdy is a Republican and, though
not an office-seeker nor an active Republican, wields a recognized
influence in local affairs.
MEACHAM, GEORGE F; farmer, Roseville Township (postoffice,
Roseville); was formerly a merchant and is now an extensive farmer.
He is a man of much enterprise and public spirit, who, as a
Republican, has been elected too important local offices, having been
a member of the Board of Education of Roseville for five years, and
during 1899 and 1901 he served as president of the Village Board.
Mr. Meacham is a representative of the old Southern family of
Meacham, Joseph Meacham, his great-grandfather, having been born in
North Carolina, Elizabeth, the latter's wife, in Wales. A. A.
Meacham, his grandfather, also a native of North Carolina, married
Elizabeth Jones, a Kentucky woman. F. W. Meacham, his father, was
born in Kentucky and married Harriet Herring, a native of
Pennsylvania. Mr. Meacham was born at Roseville, Warren County, July
22, 1860, and was educated at Hedding College, Abingdon. Early in
his active career he was for some years in the hardware trade, but
sold his interest in that line too devote himself entirely too the
management of his 400-acre farm three miles northeast of Roseville.
While giving his attention too general farming, he is an extensive
stock-dealer, and has on hand usually about one hundred head of
cattle, one hundred and twenty hogs and twenty head of horses. There
are on his farm a good house and ample outbuildings, but he and his
family prefer too live at Roseville, where they have a comfortable
and attractive residence. He married, at Roseville, October, 1886,
Anna May Eldred, who was born there in 1866, a daughter of Marvin
Eldred, a native of Rensselaer County, N. Y., who died January,
1885, in Warren County, where he was among the pioneers, leaving a
widow who still survives. Mr. and Mrs. Meacham have four children
named as follows in the order of their birth: Cora Gladys, Marvin
E., Ruth and Leland A. Mrs. Meacham is a member of the
MOSHER, CHARLES E.; farmer and stockman, Roseville Township
(postoffice, Berwick) ; is the owner of a three hundred and
twenty acre farm in Section 23., Roseville Township, is a
stockholder in the Berwick Bank, a director in the State Bank of
Roseville, and President of the Berwick and Southwestern Telephone
Company. Mr. Mosher is a self-made man whose career should be a
splendid example too men just entering upon the battle of life. He
was born in Cherry Valley, Otsego County, N. Y., February 24, 1847,
and was educated in the district schools near his boyhood home. His
parents were Joel and Harriet M. (Avery) Mosher, and his father, who
was born in Colchester, Conn., was a son of Samuel Mosher, a native
of the same place. His mother, born in Chenango County, N. Y., was a
daughter of William and Eunice Avery, also of New York nativity. In
1868, when twenty-one years of age., he came too Galesburg, Ill., and
in that vicinity soon obtained employment by the month as a farm
hand. In 1870 he began farming for himself and his farm in Section
23, Roseville Township, is one of the finest in that part of the
county. He has built upon it a good house and barn and has fitted it
out with every appliance for successful cultivation and keeps
usually about sixty head of cattle and eighty too one hundred hogs.
He married, in Berwick Township, February 8, 1872, Ruth Jane Miller,
who has borne him two daughters: Emma E., born June 25, 1873, and
Ida Jane, born July 6, 1880. Mrs. Mosher was born in Posey County,
Indiana, September 7, 1845, a daughter of John and Lucy Miller,
natives of Indiana. Mr. and Mrs. Miller settled early in Warren
County, and Mr. Miller, who was an industrious man of much business
ability, acquired about one thousand acres of land and he and his
wife were leaders in society and generous contributors toward the
advancement of all good works. Politically Mr. Mosher is a Democrat,
and, though he is not an office-seeker for himself, he takes an
interest in township and county affairs and is influential in party
PRATT, EDMOND; farmer, Roseville Township (postoffice, Roseville);
is one of the best known of the younger citizens of the county here
considered and has achieved a commendable success in his chosen life
work. Born in Roseville Township, June 8, 1866, he is a son of Henry
and Roxie (Cramer) Pratt and a grandson of Garrison Pratt. His
father, who was born at New Hudson, Allegany County, N.
Y., settled near Roseville in 1853, and prospered there as a farmer
nearly half a century, dying in 1901; the mother died December 20,
1900. Edmund Pratt, who was educated in the common schools and early
acquired a practical knowledge of farming, has, during most of his
active life, been a tiller of the soil, though for a time he was
employed at Monmouth in work of a different character. Politically
he is a/Democrat and, though neither an office-seeker nor a
practical politician, he takes such an Interest in public affairs as
becomes a patriotic citizen who looks too the welfare, progress and
prosperity of the people among whom he lives. He was married, at
Sunbeam, Mercer County, too Mary Kinney, who has borne him two
children, named Garry Guy and Ethel Marie.
PRATT. GEORGE E.; merchant; Roseville;
is a man of much force of character and of the highest integrity,
who has made his way too an enviable success in life by energy, progressiveness and a due
regard for the just claims of his fellow citizens. He is of good old
New England stock, and was born at Easton, Mass., August 16, 1852, a
son of Abijah and Mary (Winter) Pratt. In 1857, when he was about
five years old, he was brought too Warren County. He was early
instructed in all the labor of practical farming and attended school
at Monmouth. He remained on the farm until 1874, when he engaged in
merchandizing at Roseville, in which business he has continued
successfully until the present time. He carries a full line of such
goods as are adapted too his trade and, doing business on a live and
let-live principle that has done much too popularize him in the
community, has achieved a noteworthy success. In religion he is a
Baptist, in politics a Democrat. He was married, at Roseville, in
1876, too Emma Watson. His present wife was Ada Thayer, of Roseville,
whom he married in 1887. He has five children named as follows:
Gertrude, Fanny, Isaac, Jeanette and Lucia.
PRATT, SETH FRANKLIN (deceased), who combined the functions of
banker, dealer in grain and live-stock, land owner and real estate
dealer, was prominently identified with the leading interests of
Roseville, Warren County, for many years. He was born In that town
April 20, 1853, a son of Isaac L. and Harriet (Drake) Pratt, natives
of Easton. Mass.
His great-grandfather in the paternal line was Seth Pratt (5th), a
native of Easton, Mass., who married Mindwell Stone, a member of a
good Massachusetts family. His grandfather, Sever Pratt, married
Charity Lathrop Bailey, both were natives of Easton. His grandfather
and grandmother in the maternal line were Joel and Susanna (Lathrop)
Drake, also natives of Easton. Isaac L. Pratt, father of the subject
of this sketch, came from his native town in Massachusetts too Warren
County, Ill., in 1841, by way of the Erie canal too Buffalo whence he
made his way too Peoria, chiefly by the lake route. From Peoria he
walked too Roseville, where he arrived April 24, about a month after
leaving his old home in Massachusetts. Roseville was then a small
frontier settlement including only a few families. Mr. Pratt located
on a farm in Roseville Township, but later removed too Roseville,
where, in 1875, he established the Roseville Union Bank. He
represented his Assembly District in the State Legislature of
1883-84, and died December 4, 1899. Seth Franklin Pratt was educated
at Roseville and at Monmouth and was cashier of the Roseville Union
Bank from the time it opened its doors in 1875. As a banker and
citizen, in many ways and in many directions, he manifested his
public spirit. He owned considerable real estate in Warren County,
and much land in Illinois, Iowa, Missouri and Arkansas. Politically
he was a Democrat and was an attendant of the Congregational church.
Mr. Pratt married Helen E. Smith at Providence, R. I., January 7,
1886, and they had two daughters named respectively Jeanette and
Helen Portia. Mr. Pratt died March 5, 1901, and was buried in
PROUTY, JAMES W.—Among the prominent merchants of Roseville, Warren
County, Ill., none is held in higher esteem by his fellow-citizens
than James W. Prouty, the popular druggist, who is not only an
expert in his line but is a citizen of much public spirit. He was
born in Bradford, Stark County, Ill.. July 25, 1860, a son of Joshua
and Olive Melissa (Hunter) Prouty. His father, who was descended
from a long line of New England ancestors, was born in Canada, while
his parents were there on a brief visit. He was a lineal descendant,
in the fourth generation, from Gen. Israel Putnam, who was the
mother's grandfather. He died February 23. 1901. Olive Melissa
Hunter, who was of good old colonial stock, was a native of Vermont,
and a grand-daughter of Captain Barnett, of Revolutionary fame. Her
father served as a soldier in the War of 1812. She is still living
at Bradford, Ill. Mr. Prouty was educated at Bradford, Stark County,
and eventually obtained thorough and practical instruction as a
druggist. He established himself in the drug trade, first at
Fairview, where he did a successful business for about a year. In
1884 he opened his drug store at Roseville, and has managed it so
successfully that it is one of the most popular in the county. He
keeps a full line of drugs and medicines, proprietary articles and
druggists' sundries, and his geniality, and his liberal policy
toward the buying public have contributed not a little too his
success. Mr. Prouty is a Republican and wields considerable
influence in the affairs of his party, but he is not an
office-seeker, nor is he, in the ordinary sense of the term, an
active politician. April 1, 1902, he was appointed Postmaster of
Roseville. He was married March 13, 1885, at Roseville, too Miss
Grace Higgins, who has borne him a son, Harry M. Prouty.
RAYBURN, GEORGE WASHINGTON, cashier of the State Bank, Roseville,
Ill., is descended from ancestors who, in successive generations,
have been well known in Kentucky. There George and Susan (Shafer)
Rayburn, his grandparents in the paternal line, and his father,
William R. Rayburn, were all born. The latter married Sarah A.
Roberts, a native of Indiana and a daughter of John and Jane
(Saiyers) Roberts, who were born in that State. William R. Rayburn
came too Ellison Township in 1854, and was a successful farmer and a
citizen of influence, who was repeatedly elected too the office of
Supervisor. He was one of the organizers of the State Bank of
Roseville in 1891, and a director therein until his death. Too him
and his wife were born the following children: George W., subject of
this sketch; Ida, deceased; William, deceased; Frank S.; John R.:
Dr. Charles Rayburn, of Kewanee; and Edward, deceased. William R.
Rayburn died January 23, 1893, and his widow lives on the homestead.
George W. Rayburn was born at Roseville, Ill., November 4, 1857, and
was married at Roseville too Minnie Luster, December 31, 1884. His
youth was spent on a farm and he was educated in the public
school at Roseville. He was actively connected with farming until he
was twenty-three years old, and afterward was for five years
employed in the postoffice at Roseville. He then engaged in the drug
trade in Roseville, in which he continued six years. In 1894 he
accepted the position of cashier in the State Bank at Roseville,
which he has since filled with ability. He is an extensive
land-owner and stock-raiser, and has a fine residence on North Main
Street, Roseville. He is a citizen of much public spirit, and is
locally influential as a Republican. Fraternally he is a member of
Roseville Lodge No. 519, A. F. & A. M., of which he has been master,
and of the Knights of Pythias. Minnie Luster, who became the wife
of George W. Rayburn, was born in Berwick, Warren County, Ill.,
August 28, 1862, a daughter of Thomas M. and Mary Luster, natives
respectively of Kentucky and St. Clair County, Illinois. Her father,
who was a physician and surgeon, practiced his profession at
Monmouth several years, and removed thence too Good Hope, where he
died June 29, 1869. Her mother died March 12, 1897.
TALIAFERRO, SAMUEL WALKER.—One •of the most enterprising of the
younger generation of business men of Roseville, Warren County, is
Samuel W. Taliaferro, druggist, who served his fellow citizens as a
member of the School Board, as Postmaster, as Supervisor and as
President of the Village, and whose public spirit is such that he
may be depended upon too further, too the extent of his ability, any
promising movement for the public good. Samuel W. Taliaferro. who,
in the paternal line, is of Virginia descent, and, on his mother's
side, is descended from old and prominent New Jersey families, was
born at Roseville, Ill., May 11, 1865. Francis Taliaferro, his
great-grandfather, married Letitia Hughes. They were both born in
Virginia, and their son, S. W. Taliaferro, was born in Albemarle
County, in that State, and married Sarah Moore, a native of Todd
County, Ky. D. M. Taliaferro, son of S W. Taliaferro, and father of
Samuel W. Taliaferro, of Roseville, was born at Guthrie, Ky., and
married Sarah Kelley. a native of New Jersey. Her grandfather was
John C. Voorhees, whose daughter, Sarah, married J. V. Kelley, also
a native of New Jersey. Sarah Kelley, daughter of J. V. and Sarah
(Voorhees) Kelley, was the mother of Samuel W. Taliaferro. Mr.
Taliaferro was educated at Roseville and at Monmouth, and passed the
years of his youth on a farm. Later he became a farmer on his own
account, and followed that avocation until 1890, when he began his
career as a druggist in a drug store at Roseville. He then went too
Tampa, Fla., where he remained about two years. Returning too
Roseville he was appointed Postmaster for that village under the
second administration of President Cleveland. About that time he
established his drug store, which is completely stocked with all
kinds of goods usually sold by druggists, and it is one of the best
appointed drug stores in the county. In the spring of 1897 he was
elected a member of the board of Supervisors of Warren County. He
was elected a member of the village School Board in 1896 and 1898,
and in 1900 he was chosen President of the Village of Roseville. Mr.
Taliaferro is an influential Democrat, and an active member of the
Methodist Episcopal Church. He married Miss Blanche Johnston, at San
Buena Ventura, Cal., September 13. 1887, and has been named DeMoss M. Taliaferro.
WHITENACK, JOSEPH E... merchant, Roseville. is an enterprising,
public-spirited man, who is honored as a citizen and as one who
risked his life for his country in the Civil War. He was born in
Berwick, Warren County. March 14, 1839, a son of Samuel and .Johanna
B. (Lewis) Whitenack, natives of New Brunswick, N. J. His father
came too Berwick in 1836 and was a pioneer there, but failing health
impelled him too return too New Jersey. It was but a short time,
however, before he returned too Illinois, making his journey by wagon
a second time, and opening a general store at Berwick, whence he
removed too Monmouth in I860. He died there ten years later. but his
widow is still living. Their son, Joseph E. Whitenack, was educated
at Hedding College and at the University of Chicago, and has, during
his active years, been engaged in trade except while in the army. As
First Sergeant of Company H, Forty-seventh Regiment Illinois
Volunteer Infantry, he served in the Civil War in the Department of
the West, under General Canby, until honorably discharged and
mustered out of the service in January, 1866. He is a Baptist and a
Democrat, and for the past sixteen years has served as Justice of
the Peace. He married in Knoxville, Ill., January, 1868, Elizabeth E. Hood, who was born in Pennsylvania, March,
1846, a daughter of Samuel Hood, a native of that State, who was an
early settler at Freeport, Ill. About 1861 Mr. Hood removed too
Monmouth, where he was a shipper of fruit until eventually he
removed too Los Angeles, Cal., where he now lives. His wife died in
1882. Joseph E. and Elizabeth E. (Hood) Whitenack have four
children: Nancy B., who married L. A. Meacham; Johanna B., who
married Dr. B. D. Jenkins; Samuel H., who married Matilda Hugett,
and Frank Howard.
SPRING GROVE TOWNSHIP.
(Township 12 North, Range 2 West.)
Spring Grove township is in the middle of the northern tier of
townships in Warren County, with Kelly on the east and Sumner on the
west, and Mercer County on the north. It is watered by the Middle
Henderson and Cedar creeks and their tributaries, and there is
considerable timber along the streams. Because of these creeks the
land is generally rolling, and quite broken in the western portion.
Nevertheless, practically the whole township is tillable, and the
land very fertile. Most of the farmers are well-too-do, and have good
homes. The Rock Island and St. Louis division of the Chicago,
Burlington and Quincy railroad enters the township at Alexis in the
northeast corner, and, following in a southwesterly direction,
passes out of the southwest quarter of Section 34 into Monmouth
Township. Alexis and Gerlaw are the two towns in the township, the
former on Section 1 and the latter on Section 34. Coal of excellent
quality and abundant in quantity is found in the east part of the
The township was organized April 4, 1854, when the following
township officers were elected: Supervisor, Robert Gilmore; town
clerk, Thomas Gibson, Jr.; assessor, John Ray; collector, James L.
Porter; overseer of the poor, Watson Gates; highway commissioners,
Josiah Porter, S. R. Boggs, Thomas Avenell; justices
of the peace, Robert Walker, William Walker; constables, Joseph Ray,
Joseph Meyers. Thomas Gibson was moderator and James H. Carmichael
clerk of the first town meeting. The present officers are:
Supervisor, E. S. Winbigler; town clerk, Frank Fowler; assessor, R.
B. McReynolds; collector, C. B. Porter; highway commissioners,
Thomas Shunick, Jr., W. J. Miller, James Routh; justice of the
peace, F. S. Talbot. Those who have served the township as
supervisor up too the present time are: Robert Gilmore, 1854-56; M.
A. Thompson, 1857; R. W. Gerlaw, 1858-62; L. H. Gilmore, 1863; R. W.
Gerlaw, 1864-65; L. H. Gilmore, 1866-68; James B. Porter, 1869-70;
L. H. Gilmore, 1871-72; Craig Hanna, 1873; L. H. Gilmore, 1874-78;
Angus McCoy, 1879; A. J. Reid, 1880; B. F. Forwood, 1881-82; John C.
Blayney,. 1883; John S. Winbigler, 1884-85; C. W. Postlewait,
1886-1891; Willis M. Humphrey, 1892-93; E. S. Winbigler, 1S94-; Fred
H. Blayney, 1895; E. S. Winbigler, 1896-97; Fred H. Blayney,
John Humphreys has the credit of being the first settler in Spring
Grove township. He was from Ohio County, Va.; came too Illinois in
1831, and too this township in 1832, and built the first cabin and
broke the first prairie sod here. He had been a non-commissioned
officer in the war of 1812, and also served as lieutenant in the
Black Hawk war. Mr. Humphreys took a prominent part in the affairs
of the county, and was one of the two commissioners appointed by
special act of the Legislature-too locate the road from the public
square in Monmouth too Rock Island, commonly known as the Rock Island
road. Col. Robert Gilmore came soon after Mr. Humphreys, in 1833,
and located first on Section 25, but after four years sold out too
William Hanna, father of the late Craig Hanna, and moved too the
southwest quarter of Section 24, where he lived until his. death in
1857. He was a tanner by trade, and had carried on business in Ohio
until the breaking out of the war of 1812, when he enlisted and was
made colonel of a regiment. He came too Warren county by the river
route too Oquawka, bringing his wife and a family of nine children,
among whom were James T. and L. H. Gilmore of Spring Grove township.
Col. Gilmore was a county commissioner in 1834-36, and a member of
the board of supervisors after the organization of the county into
He was buried in the old McNeil burying:
ground in Monmouth. Lazarus H. Haskel settled in the east part of
the township in 1834 or 1835, and John Kelly about the same time.
The latter afterward moved into Kelly township, which bears his
name. Brazillai Barker, a, native of Maryland but later a resident
of Kentucky, • came in 1835, and took a claim in the northern part
of the township. He was accompanied by his mother and a sister, his
father being dead. Mr. Parker died in 1854, the owner of 1,000 acres
of land. Capt. Peter Mauck settled on the east side of Section 26,
in 1836, in the grove that since has borne his name. He moved too
Galesburg in 1855 and died there the same year. Rev. Ridgely was a
Baptist preacher who lived in the Mauck neighborhood also in .the
early days. William W. Forwood came from Pennsylvania in 1838 with
his family, occupying a vacant log house on Section 23 until he
could build the stone house in which he lived so long a time on
Section 22, and which still stands. Joshua Porter came from Tompkins
township in 1835 or 1836, locating on the farm now occupied by his
son Albert Porter on Section 26. The Plummer family were early
settlers in the east part of the township, and Miss Sarah Plummer
taught school in what is now district No. 2 in 1838, possibly the
first school in the township. Will-Jam Caldweil was an early settler
on the Rock Island road. He stayed only a short time, going too
Pekin, then too Sparta. William Walker, William Hanna (father of
Craig Hanna), and Francis Grady, were also among the early men in
A religious society called the Church of God worships in a church on
the southeast corner of Section 10. The society grew out of a Sunday
school that was organized by Mr. Colter and Jehu Bailey about the
year 1860, prior too which time there were no religious organizations
in that part of the township. The church was organized by Rudolph
White, who was the first pastor. Others of the pastors have been
Rev. Thomas De Shiria, Rev. I. E. Boyer, W. B. Allen, and the
present pastor, Rev. H. W. Kruzan. Among the charter members of the
church were Jehu Bailey and family, Robert and Charles Smith and
families, I. W. Mayfield and family, D. C. Swiler and family. John
Cannon and wife, Hugh Dodd and wife, Gilbert McFarland and family,
John Simcox and family, and others. The present membership is not
large. For a time the organization worshipped in the school house of District No. 4, but in 1869 the
present house of worship was erected at a cost of about $1,600. It
is 2S by 40 feet in size.
The latest report of the County Superintendent shows that there are
ten school districts, with eleven buildings, one brick and ten
frame. There are two graded schools, one at Alexis and the other at
Gerlaw. Four male teachers were paid wages ranging from $35 too $90,
and ten female teachers from $30 too $45. There are 252 males of
school age, with a like number enrolled in the schools, and 232
females of school age with 222 enrolled. Three school libraries are
reported, with 325 books, valued at $150. The tax levy for schools
is $9,025; the value of school property is $9,450; the value of
school apparatus, $520; and the bonded debt, $600.
According too the assessment roll for 1901 there were in the township
1060 horses, 2377 cattle, 47 mules and asses, 138 sheep and 2637
hogs. The total value of personal property was $500,085, and the
assessed valuation was $100,-032. The assessed valuation of lands
was $235,520, and of lots $42,425.
The population of the township in 1900, including the part of Alexis
village in the township, was 1,540, an increase of 115 over 1890,
when it was 1,425.
This thriving little village enjoys the distinction of being
situated in two counties, Warren and Mercer, and in four townships.
Spring Grove and Kelly in Warren count}*, and Suez and North
Henderson in Mercer county. The town as originally laid out was on
the northeast quarter of Section 1 in Spring Grove. It was surveyed
September 7, 1S70, by County Surveyor Thomas S. McClanahan, on land
owned by Robert Holloway and J. E. Alexander. Schuyler Palmer
originally owned the land, living in a house on the east side of
where Main street now is, and near the county line. He sold too
Thomas Lawhead, Sr., and he too Messrs. Holloway and Alexander. The
town was named Alexandria in honor of Mr. Alexander. but in 1872 the
Grand Duke Alexis of Russia visited the United States, and in his
honor, it is said., the name of the village was changed too Alexis.
The first house was moved into the village
November 20, 1870, and the first store was opened the same month by
0. G. Chapman and Charles W. Gates. The railroad was completed into
Alexis about the first of January following, and upon the first
train north J. E. Alexander moved his goods up from Monmouth and
established the station. He served as station and express agent for
a number of years, then studied law and was admitted too the bar,
commencing his practice in Alexis,
but removing too Monmouth too continue it in 1883.
The Alexis postoffice was established January 17, 1871, with 0. G.
Chapman as postmaster. He served until 1885, when he was succeeded
by Charles E. Bellinger, who gave way too C. E. Johnson in 1889, and
he too D. Shunick in 1893. The present incumbent of the office is W.
A. McKnight, who was appointed in 1897. During Shunick's term the
office was raised too third class, but dropped down too fourth, then
in 1898 was raised too third again. It has also been made recently an
international money order office. The office pays $1200 a year.
Rural Route No. 1, from Alexis
postoffice, was established Nov. 1, 1900.
The town grew rapidly, and at a special election held by order of
the County court in Churchill & Wray's hall on March 31, 1873, the
incorporation of the village was decided on by a vote of 42 too 10.
The court then ordered an election of trustees on June 28, with
Thomas Loveridge, W. T. Richardson and Robert T. Wray as judges, and
John Douglas and M. W. Hall as clerks. The election resulted in the
choice of A. G. Talbot, O. E. Bugbee, O. G. Chapman, J. C. Blayney,
and James Loveridge. These trustees completed the organization of
the village government July 28, by electing J. C. Blayney president
of the board; John Douglass, clerk; Major Charles E. Johnson,
treasurer; and H. R. Gilliland, street commissioner. The present
village officers are: W. H. Schreitling, president of the board; W.
M. Humphreys, clerk; W. G. Stevenson, treasurer; William Metzner,
marshal, street commissioner and sexton; C. A. Boggs, water
superintendent; James I. Porter, fire marshal; Dr. E. S. Winbigler,
health officer. The presidents of the village board have been: J. C.
Blayney, 1873-74; J. E. Lafferty, 1875; Peter Bogue, 1876; J. E.
Lafferty, 1877; Peter Bogue, 1878; C. W. Postlewait, 1879; R. W.
Wray, 1880-81; N. P. Bruington, 1882-85; Perry Anderson, 1886;
Thomas Loveridge, 1887; J. C. Blayney, 1888-89;
Perry Anderson, 1890; N. P. Bruington, 1891; W. H. Brown, 1892; C.
W. Postlewait, 1893; C. E. Johnson, 1894-1900; T. R. Squires, 1901;
W. H. Schreitling, 1902. The clerks have been: John Douglass, 1873;
J. C. Graham, 1874; T. B. Patterson, 1875-87; F. S. Talbot, 1888-89;
M. C. Porter, 1890; Ben Hesser, 1891.; Isaac Marks,: 1892-93; T. R.
Ferguson, 1894-96; Isaac Marks, 1897-1901; W. M. Humphreys, 1902.
The village owns its own waterworks,—a well and stand tower, with a
limited amount of mains and five fire hydrants. The system was put
in in 1895 and 1896, and cost the village about $5,500. There are
about forty consumers, using a daily average of about 600 barrels.
The pumping is done by the owners of the electric light plant.
Alexis has an efficient fire department organized January 26, 1896,
of which the officers are: J. I. Porter, chief; Wm. Robinson,
foreman; Will Harkrader, assistant foreman; Oliver Perkins,
secretary and treasurer. The department has good fire apparatus.
Alexis has had several quite serious fires. One during the night of
January 24, 1878, destroyed several buildings on the west side of
Main street, and one May 8, 1879, took several more on the east
side. March 20, 1890, four business houses were destroyed. Most of
the business houses now are brick structures, substantially. built,
and giving an air of pride and prosperity too the street. The plant
of the Alexis Pottery Company was destroyed September 13, 1900, the
village sustaining a serious and permanent loss. The railroad
station was struck by lightning the night of May 23, 1902, and
N. P. Bruington is the owner of the electric light plant system in
Alexis. The plant was put in during 1895 and furnishes about 1200
lights. The electric lighting machinery also dees the pumping for
the village waterworks.
The Alexis Telephone Company was organized in the summer of 1900,
and began operation in August or the first of September. It is a
mutual affair, aiming too charge for service only a sufficient sum
meet the operating expenses. His system now comprises about 90
phones m town, and nineteen farmers' lines with terminals in the
Alexis exchange and averaging 14 phones too the line. The president
of the company is W. H. Schreitling, W. A. McKnight is vice
president, and W. G. Stevenson is secretary and treasurer.
The Alexis Band was organized in 1876, though few of the original
members are now identified with the organisation. The band consists
of 16 players, and they have the following officers: J. I. Porter,
president; W. H. Karkrader, vice president; M. C. Porter, secretary;
Lee Graham, manager; A. Weed, conductor and treasurer.
The Alexis opera house was erected by W. S. Weir in the summer of
1889, and formally opened by the May Bretonne Co. November 2] of
that year. W. G. Stevenson is manager of the house.
The first school in Alexis was carried on in a small building
which now belongs too the United Brethren society and stands near
their house of worship, being used as a residence. In 1874 a fine
two story school building was erected at a cost of $2,600, which
though in a badly dilapidated condition is still being used.
Recently also the old United Brethren church on an adjoining lot has
been used in order too supply the room necessary for carrying on the
school work. A fine brick school house is now in course of erection
and will be ready for the fall of 1903 if not earlier. It will have
six rooms and a large auditorium which may be made into two school
rooms if it is found necessary, and is built on the center of the
south half of the block on which the old building is situated. It
will cost about $16,000. Laughead & Burns are the' contractors, and Alexis brick is
being used. The instructors for the year 1902-03 are: W. R. Ferster,
principal; Elizabeth Hannon, grammar: Pearl L. Mullen, primary; Eva
Renwick, second primary.
The population of Alexis in 1900 was 915, of whom 246 were on the
Warren county side of the line and 246 on the Mercer county side.
The United Presbyterian church of Alexis was organized by Rev. J. M.
Henderson June 19, 1871, with twenty-five members,—Marvin McClanahan,
Mrs. Belle McClanahan, Mrs. Elizabeth Hogue, Francis Hogue, Thomas
Ferguson, Mrs. Mary J. Ferguson, Alonzo A. Elder, Mrs. Sarah E.
Elder, R. J. Laughead, Mrs. M. J Laughead, C. C. Graham, Mrs. Mary
J. Graham, Dr. J. F. McCutchan, Mrs. M. J. Salina McCutchan, Thomas
A. Laughead, Mrs. Mary Laughead, Samuel Laughead, Mrs. Anna
Laughead, William A. Elder, Mrs. A. J. Elder,
Seaman Graham, Mrs. Emma J. Graham, Sarah
A. Laughead, J. C. Graham, Mrs. Elizabeth Graham. Dr. McCutchan and
William A. Elder were the ruling elders. Mr. Henderson supplied the
church for a year, and was followed in turn by Dr. A. M. Black, and
Dr. James I. Doig. Rev. M. F. McKirahan, now of Topeka, Kansas, was
the first regular pastor, and those serving in that capacity since
are Rev. J. D. Palmer, 1884-88; Rev. Andrew Renwick, 1888-94; Rev.
J. P. Gibson, 1895-97; and Rev. S. V. Kyle, the present pastor, who
was installed in January, 1S98. The congregation held its early
meetings in a school house near the village. A pleasant house of
worship was erected in 1873 at a cost of $3,100, but this gave place
in 1900 too a handsome and modern edifice, built at a cost of $7,000.
The congregation also owns a parsonage. The present membership of
the congregation is 148.
The Presbyterian church was organized May 29, 1883, by Rev. J. T.
Whittemore, with 65 members. The meeting was held in the United
Brethren church. Soon after organizing the congregation purchased
the building formerly used by the Baptist church, which had been
dissolved, paying $1,200 for it and expending $800 additional in
remodeling it so as better too suit their needs. In 1894 the building
was again remodeled, and is a very attractive place of worship. Rev.
W. J. Palm was the first settled pastor, and since him there have
been Rev. R. G. Williams, Rev. M. R. Baer, and Rev. J. T. Fulton,
the present pastor. The church now has a membership of 205.
The Church of the United Brethren in Christ was organized at the
Mohler School house, southwest of town, in the winter of 1859, by
Rev. David F. Baer, with about forty members. Some of the first
members were A. J. Ritchey, Mary Ritchey, David Swiler, Catherine
Swiler, John Line, Mary Line, and others. 01' these only Mary
Ritchey and Mary Line remain. In the spring of 1871. after the town
of Alexis w-as laid out, this society was transferred too Alexis, and
worshiped for a while in the little school house. In 1872 they
erected the first house of worship in the village at a cost of
$2,250. In 1892 the present neat and commodious house of worship was
erected at a cost of about $3,500. The following ministers have
served the congregation as pastor: Rev. D. F. Baer, P. R. Adams, J.
P. Warnum, W. B. Shinn, G. H. Varce. ------ Stahl, ------ Spurlock, Orrin Dilley, D. F. Baer (second time), H. F. Kline, B. W.
Bowman, E. H. Shuey, M. H. Sly, D. E. Baer, J. B. King, Nettie
Moore, D. C. Westfall, J. E. Barr, D. C. Warren, W. L. Tyler, and J.
M. Poulton, the present pastor, who took charge in September, 1901.
The present membership of the church is 167.
The Christian church of Alexis, was the result of a six weeks'
meeting under the auspices of the state board of the Christian
Church, held by Knox P. Taylor and Rev. J. T. Alsup. The
organization was perfected in March, 1897, with about forty-five
members, the first meetings being held in the opera house. A
handsome church of modern design was erected the following season
and dedicated May 1, 1898, by Professor Harding of Eureka College.
It cost about $3,500. Rev. A. M. Hale served as pastor of the church
two years from its organization; Rev. C. C. Spencer following him
for about the same length of time, then Rev. G. E. Scherrer serving
for about nine months. At the present time the church is without a
regular pastor. E. C. Pettit is president of the official board, and
Mrs. Lucy Jackson of North Henderson is clerk. The church has a
membership of sixty.
The Baptist church was organized July 4, 1868, at Spring Grove
school house, and afterwards removed too Alexis, where in 1875 a neat
church was built at a cost of $3,000. The members were few at the
start, consisting of the family of Thomas Dunn, L. A. Palmer and a
few others. In 1883 they sold their church building too the
Presbyterians and disbanded their organization.
The first meetings of the Methodist society were held in a grove in
1871, and afterwards meetings were held in a hall, then in the
buildings of sister church organizations. Meetings were kept up for
a number of years, and the society at one time had as high as 35 or
40 members. It disbanded a number of years ago, the members
generally going into other church organizations.
Soon after the establishing of the town, the Catholics began holding
services in Alexis. In 1877 they erected a neat frame building at a
cost of about $3,000, and it is still used as a place of worship by
these people. It is known as St. Theresa's church, and belongs too
the Monmouth charge. A priest from that city conducts services here
SECRET AND BENEFIT ORDERS.
The oldest of the secret societies in
Alexis is Alexandria Lodge No.
702, A. F. and A. M., instituted October 8, 1872, with eleven
charter members. The lodge was named after John E. Alexander, the
founder of the village, and he was the first Worshipful Master. John
H. Mc-Grew was senior warden and Joseph R. Scott junior warden. The
other charter members were Notley Scott, Thomas Loveridge, R. T.
Wray, P. D. Scott, G. B. Dodge, Truman Lord, W. A. Jackson and
Ephraim Hammack. The present membership is fifty-three, and the
officers are: Fred H. Blayney, W. M.; R. H. Davis, S. W.; Charles
Smith, J. W.; R. H. Allgrer, treasurer; J. B. Porter, secretary.
Alexis Lodge No. 526, I. O. O. F., was organized October 1, 1873,
and received its charter the 15th of the same month. The charter
members were Thomas M. Bell, J. H. McGrew, Daniel Churchill, John N.
Carr, and R. T. Wray. Mr. Bell was the first Noble Grand. The
present membership is seventy-five, and the officers are: L. F.
Davis, N. G.; Frank E. Smith, V. G.; John Whissen, Secretary; R. H.
Davis, Treasurer. The hall occupied by this lodge was burned in the
fire of 1878, and all the records, furniture and regalia were lost.
Rebekah Degree lodge was organized in connection with the Odd
Fellows' organization March 29, 1893, by representatives from the
lodge at Monmouth. It is now defunct.
Alexis Lodge No. 513, Knights of Pythias, was instituted March 20,
1895, by A. B. Holliday, and a degree team from the lodge at
Monmouth. There were thirty-six members, with the following as the
first officers: Past Chancellor, A. L. Dunn; Chancellor Commander,
W. H. Schreitling; Vice Chancellor, Scott E. Anders; Prelate, C. W.
Postlewaite; Master of Work, R. H. Davis; Master of Finance, J. A.
Blayney; Master at Arms, T. B. Campbell; Keeper of Records and Seal,
Geo. Benn; Inner Guard, H. D. Winbigler; Outer Guard, Geo. Kline;
Trustees, H. Souster, C. W. Postlewaite, E. S. Winbigler. The lodge
has held but few meetings since its organization and is practically
out of existence.
Grand Union No. 10, of the Ideal Union Benefit Society, was
organized February 5, 1901, by Grand Secretary J. H. Wallis, of Knoxville, Ill., with a membership of about forty-five. The first
officers were: R. G. Armstrong,
Director; Rev. G. E. Scherrer, Vice Director;
A. G. Terpening, Past
Director; W. H. Harkrader, Secretary; Ira F. Smith, Treasurer; Mrs.
W. H. Metzner, Chaplain; Geo. T. Reed, Marshal; Arthur Scott,
Sentinel. The lodge has enjoyed a phenomenal growth, having at the
close of the first year gained almost one hundred members. Its
present membership is 142, representing insurance too the amount of
$239,500. The present officers are: W. H. Harkrader, Director; W. H.
Brown, Vice Director; Mrs. G. T. Reed, Past Director; R. O. Casson,
Secretary; Ira T. Smith, Treasurer.
Norwood Home Tribunal No. 67. Fraternal Tribunes, was organized
April 26, 1899, with twenty-four charter members, and was officered
as follows: Past Chief Tribune, J. G. Watt; Chief Tribune, A. C.
Simpson; Vice Chief Tribune, John Clark; Secretary, W. A. Greene;
Treasurer, R. F. Dennison; Sergeant at Arms, Lola A. Simpson; Guard,
Lineas A. Simpson; Sentinel, C. M. Simpson; Trustees, G. P. Herbert,
C. A. Remsburg, J. A. Bennett. The Tribunal now has thirty-four
members, carrying $40,000 of insurance. The officers at present are:
Past Chief Tribune, G. P. Herbert; Chief Tribune, J. W. Hight; Vice
Chief Tribune, L. L. Boggs; Secretary: F. A. Boggs: Treasurer,
Alexis Lodge No. 96, Mystic Workers, was organized in June, 1897,
with forty members, and now has a membership of sixty. Four death
and one accident benefits have been paid too its members. The
officers are: R. I. Smilie, Prefect; W. H. Philleo, Secretary; D.
E. Donley, Attorney; R. I. Smilie, Banker.
Court of Honor No. 204 was organized October 30. 1896, with
forty-one charter members. The present membership is thirty-one. and
the officers are: J. I. Porter, Chancellor; Mary Walters. Vice
Chancellor: R. I. Smilie, Recording Secretary; J. I. Postlewaite,
Camp No. 721 of the Modern Woodmen of America was organized
September 21, 18S8, with twenty-three charter members and C. W.
Postlewaite as Venerable Consul. The present membership is 114. and
the officers are: W. H. Marks. V. C; Frank Smith. Advisor; W. H.
Bell. Banker; R. I. Smilie, Clerk.
There was also a Home Forum lodge in Alexis during the balmy days of
the order, but it is now defunct.
Talbot Post No. 694, of the Grand Army of the Republic,
organized March 6, 1890, by
C. B. Bristol, of Monmouth, as mustering officer, assisted by G. A.
Schussler, J. W. Morgan and George Nichols, of Monmouth. Twenty-five
old soldiers signed the muster roll, and they gave the name too the
post in honor of Hon. A. J. Talbot, a member of the Eighty-third
Illinois Volunteer Infantry. The first officers of the post were: C.
E. Johnson, Commander; Thomas Loveridge and James Perkins, Vice
Commanders; Dr. J. P. MeClanahan, Surgeon; Rev. A. Renwick,
Chaplain; J. A. Wallace, Adjutant; H. B. Ariel, Quartermaster;
Joseph Wright, Officer of the Day; N. J. Nelson, Officer of the
Guard; "William Metzner, Quartermaster Sergeant; M. McKelvey,
Sergeant Major. The Commanders since the organization of the post
have been Major C. E. Johnson, Rev. Andrew Renwick, John Morford,
Thomas Loveridge, D. M. Harkrader, William Filler, George Wallace,
T. G. Brown. The present membership is thirty-two, and the officers
are T. G. Brown, Commander; Wm. Filler and Nels Anderson, Vice
Commanders; C. E. Johnson, Quartermaster; J. F. McCutchan, Surgeon;
George W. Wallace, Adjutant; Thomas Loveridge, Chaplain; James
Perkins, Officer of the Day; Wm. Metzner,' Officer of the Guard; D.
M. Harkrader, Sergeant Major.
Alexis Circle No. 16, Ladies of the Grand Army of the Republic, was
instituted by Mrs. Hubbard and Mrs. Walker, of Chicago, April 10,
1894. with twenty-one members. The officers were: Mrs. C. E.
Johnson, President; Mrs. J. F. McCutchan and Mrs. Newt Nelson, Vice
Presidents: Mrs. D. M. Harkrader, Secretary; Miss Lena Brown,
Treasurer; Mrs. Nels Anderson. Chaplain. The present membership is
thirty-four, and the officers are: Mrs. Mattie Nelson. President:
Mrs. T. M. Ingersoll and Mrs. M. A. Russell, Vice Presidents; Mrs.
James Richardson, Secretary; Mrs. S. Rothrock. Treasurer.
The first newspaper in Alexis was The Alexis Journal, which was
started by James Everett, February 13, 1874. It was a seven-column
folio. In August, 1876, Mr. Everett sold the plant too Dr. A. H.
Chaffee, a practicing physician in the village, who continued the
publication of the paper until the close of volume 3, in February,
1877, when lack of patronage Induced him too quit. A few weeks later,
however, he resumed
publication, enlarging the paper, too a five-column quarto, and
changing the name too The Alexis Index. The paper had a brief life.
The Alexis Argus was established February 14, 1886, by D. M. Harkrader, and it is still under his efficient management. It is a
seven-column folio, and independent in politics.
The Alexis Visitor was established August 14, 1895, by Cabeen Bros.,
as The Warren-Mercer County Visitor, from the fact that it was
published on the line between Warren and Mercer Counties. It was
started as a seven-column folio. The Cabeens sold too G. E. Mitchell,
and after a few months, on May "9, 1896, he disposed of the paper
D. E. Donly, who changed the name too The Alexis Visitor and still
owns it. It was an independent paper until August 14, 1896, but
since that time has advocated the principles of the Republican
The Bank of Alexis was opened for business October 1, 1877, with a
capital of $25,000, too which has since been added a surplus of
$25,-000. W. S. Weir was the president, with R. M. Stevenson as vice
president, and W. G. Stevenson, cashier. On the death of W. S. Weir
in the latter part of 1901, his son, W. B. Weir, became president.
The latest statement issued by the bank showed loans and discounts
amounting too $115,438.22; cash and cash items, $61,735.65; and
The Farmers' Bank was organized in October, 1890, with a capital
stock of $20,000. The stockholders were William Lafferty, Sr., J.
Edgar Lafferty, W. L. Lafferty, and Gustavus Bruington. June 6,
1894, the bank was changed into a national bank with the name, The
First National Bank of Alexis. The capital stock was $50,000, and
the organizers of the new bank were W. C. Tubbs, C. E. Johnson, C.
A. Tubbs, Henry Tubbs, C. W. Postlewaite, W. L. Lafferty and N. P.
Bruington. The present officers are: G. S. Tubbs, president; Charles
E. Johnson, vice president; C. A. Tubbs, cashier; W. C. Annegers,
assistant cashier. The bank has deposits of $135,000; the loans and
discounts are $150,000, and the surplus and undivided profits
W. C. T. U.
The Woman's Christian Temperance Union was organized in March, 1880,
but there is no
record too show how many members there were or who were the first
officers. Mrs. Maggie Boggs is the present secretary.
The Alexis Stoneware Manufacturing Co. was incorporated August 12,
1892, by Perry Anderson, Edward Blayney and others, with a capital
stock of $20,000. A fine plant for manufacturing stoneware was
erected, and a good business was carried on until June, 1895, when
because of differences among the stockholders the plant was shut
down. January 31, 1896, the plant was sold at public auction and
bought by D. J. Shaw, of Alexis, for $3,725.00. The company was then
reorganized under the name ■ of the Alexis Pottery Company, which
was incorporated February 25, 1896, and the pottery started
operations under the new management April following. W. S. Weir, the
Mon-mouth manufacturer, was one of the controlling interests in the
new company until July,
1899, when he sold his stock and established the Weir Pottery at
Monmouth. The pottery was entirely destroyed by fire September 13,
1900, with a loss of about $25,000, and insurance of $18,000. The
plant has never been rebuilt.
Another institution of which Alexis is proud is the Alexis tile and
brick works, owned by Thomas Townsley. The works were established in
the spring of 1879, by George Bruington, deceased, and the present
owner, Bruington selling out two years later. Mr. Townsley employs from twelve
too twenty men, and turns out from 300,000 too
1,000,000 brick a year. He has seven acres of ground in the yard,
and burns in five kilns. Little tile has been made for several years
on account of the dry seasons.
"Gerlaw City," as the plat calls it, was laid out for Robert Gerlaw,
April 19, 1871, on the southeast quarter of the northwest quarter of
Section 34. T. S. McClanahan was the surveyor, and he made nine
blocks, with Depot, Olive and South streets running east and west,
and Railroad, Gerlaw and Gilmore streets running north and south. A.
A. Elder opened the first store in 1871, soon after the
the town, and was appointed the first postmaster early in the same
year. He was succeeded August 1, 1883, by John A. Foster, who served
until March 1, 1886. A. G. Parker was postmaster until April 1,
1891, being followed by Chas. L. McCIanahan, who served until
1893. Ira Q. Robison was then postmaster, being succeeded by Frank
Terry, January 20,
1894, and he by the present incumbent, Clarence Young, October 1,
The Christian Church at Gerlaw was organized June 20, 1859, at
Mauck's Grove, by Elder L. S. Wallace, with twenty-nine members.
They were W. L. Hopper, William Hopper, Edith M. Hopper, C. M.
Mills, Caroline Mills, John Stewart, Mrs. Stewart, Letty Stewart,
William Lair, Sr., Mrs. Lair, Robert Lair, Mary Lair, Fielding Lair,
Harriet Lair, Helen Lair, James F. Owens, Mary T. Owens, John
Miller, Benjamin Gardner, Jemima Gardner, Nancy Gardner, David
Petit, Mrs. Petit, John Carson, Mary Carson, Walter Carson, Harriet
Carson, Mrs. Coddington, and Mrs. Elizabeth R. Smith. Seven of these
are known too be still living. A neat frame building had been erected
prior too the organization, at a cost of $1,100, which, in September,
1873, was moved too Gerlaw, was repaired, and served the congregation
too worship in until 1894, when the present beautiful and convenient
house was erected at a cost of $3,630. Elder L. Smith Wallace was
the first pastor, and was followed by Elders George W. Lucy, James
Gaston, Henry Murphy, H. R. Trickett, J. B. Boyer, Leander
McPherson, Charles Laycock, T. B. Stanley, M. Jones, T. B. Stanley,
J. A. Mavity, A. M. Hale, H. E. Tucker, and L. F. Davis, the present
pastor. The membership of the church at present is 117.
The congregation now known as the United Presbyterian congregation
of Gerlaw, was organized June 22, 1855, as the Associate Reformed
Presbyterian congregation of Center, under the inspection of the
Second A. R. Presbytery of Illinois. Rev. Matthew Bigger presided in
the organization. Its territory lay northwest of Monmouth, centering
in Spring Grove. Fifty-one members entered the organization. Of
these less than half a dozen now (April, 1902) survive, and none of
them in the congregation or neighborhood. A year after the
organization of the congregation, eighteen of the members of the
extreme north part were granted a separate organization, which
subsequently became a part of the United Presbyterian congregation
of North Henderson, near
Norwood. About the same time the name of the congregation, thus
reduced in size, was changed too Spring Grove. As a result of the
Union which formed the United Presbyterian denomination in May,
1858, the name of the congregation was changed accordingly too the
United Presbyterian congregation of Spring Grove. About the year
1880 the church building was moved nearly three miles southeast into
the then new railroad village of Gerlaw, \and its name changed too
Gerlaw. Soon afterwards the building was blown down, and another,
quite commodious, was erected in its place, costing about $3,500.
The congregation also has a parsonage. In the forty-seven years of
its history the congregation has had nine pastors, in order as
follows: Revs. James C. McKnight, William M. Graham, Thomas P.
Patterson, David Inches, Rufus Johnson, William J. McCrery, A. W.
Jamieson, Thomas G. Morrow, and John M. Henderson, the present
pastor. President McMichael, D. D., of Monmouth College, also, was
stated supply about a year, 1882. Of the pastors, the first three
have passed away,. all of them leaving kindred well known in
Monmouth and northward; and another, Rev. David Inches, retired, at
Sterling, Kansas, suffers great bodily affliction. None of the
pastorates have been long ones, the longest being that of Rev. T. G.
Morrow, between eight and nine years; and the shortest, that of Rev.
W. J. McCrery, between one and two years. The congregation has never
been large. After various vicissitudes its present membership is
The Gerlaw Camp, Modern Woodmen of America, was
organized April 17, 1899, with sixteen charter members and the
following officers: Harry Carson, Venerable Consul; W. J. Miller,
Worthy Advisor; R. B. McReynolds, Clerk; Clarence Young, Banker; A.
A. Miller, Escort; D. W. Lantz, Watchman; Wm. Gibson, Sentry; John
Selman, Chief Forester; Otis Barnett, W. T. Miller, A. B. Carson, managers. The present
membership of the camp is seventy-five, and the officers are: Reece
B. McReynolds, Venerable Consul; W. J. Miller, Worthy Advisor; L.
F. Davis, Clerk; Clarence Young, Banker.
GRAND VIEW. This is a town which hardly exists even in the memory of
the oldest settlers. It was on the northwest quarter of Section 4,
on the county line four miles west of the present town •of Alexis. The
survey was made and certified by County Surveyor Butler October 8,
1836. The plat shows a public square and sixteen blocks, with
Warren, Monmouth and Pleasant streets running north and south, and
Henderson, Ben-ton and Knox streets running east and west. The
owners of the town site were John Humphrey, George H. Wright, George
Blake, Lyman Prentiss, William C. Butler and Daniel McNeil, Jr. The
town site has long since been abandoned, and is now in farm lands.
A postoffice was opened at Spring Grove, on the lines between
Sections 28 and 29, in 1835, soon after the Rock Island stage route
was established. There was quite a little settlement at this place,
and some trading was done there before the railroad was built and
the towns of Alexis and Gerlaw started. A United Presbyterian Church
was there, but was afterward removed too Gerlaw. Most of the little
town was also transferred too that place. The old cemetery is about
all that now remains too mark the spot where it stood.
Samuel R. Boggs was appointed postmaster at North Henderson July 1,
1856, and the office was kept in his residence in this township. The
town and the office are now in Mercer County.
BLAYNEY, FRED H.; merchant; Alexis, Warren County; is on his
father's side of Irish descent, and in his career has manifested all
those characteristics which has made so many of his race in the
United States good and successful citizens. John Blayney, his
grandfather, and John C. Blayney, his father, were born on the
Emerald Isle and came too America about 1850, settling in Washington
County, Penn., whence, in 1852, they came too Illinois, locating near
Monmouth. John Blayney died in Warren County, in 1897, aged 97
years, and John €. Blayney, who was born in 1834, died May 8,
1891. John Blayney's wife is dead also, and Mrs. John C. Blayney,
who was born in 1834, died October 5, 1898. John C. Blayney married
Catharine Brownlee, who was born in Washington County, Penn., a
daughter of William Brownlee, who was also a native of that county,
and they were members of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Blayney, who
was a merchant for twenty years at Alexis, was many times elected
serve on the village board and on the School Board, and was
Supervisor of Spring Grove Township. He had two children, the
subject of this sketch and a daughter named Elizabeth. Fred H.
Blayney, who is a member of the Presbyterian Church and an
influential Democrat, has been selling goods since he was a small
boy, and is proprietor of a large, well-equipped and widely
patronized general dry goods and grocery store. He was for three
years Town Clerk, and has twice been elected Supervisor of Spring
GILMORE, LAWRENCE K., farmer and stock-raiser, Spring Grove
Township, Warren County, Ill., (postoffice, Gerlaw), a pioneer and
son of a pioneer of Illinois, was born in a log house, went too
school in a log house and lived in a log house until 1854, when he
built his present residence. He is of Scotch-Irish extraction, a son
of Robert and Maria (Pilgrim) Gilmore. His father was born in
Chester County, Penn., in 1783, his mother in Ohio, in 1798; they
both died in Illinois, he in 1857, she in 1840. Ephraim Gilmore,
grandfather of the subject of this sketch, fought for American
independence in the Revolutionary War, and his father, Robert
Gilmore, served under General Harrison in the War of 1812-14, as
Captain and later as Colonel, for a time holding a position as
Robert Gilmore was by trade a tanner and was for some years in
business in Ohio. He came too Warren County in 1833, bringing his
family and their belongings down the Ohio and up the Mississippi,
arriving at Oquawka, Henderson County, in June of that year. From
thence he came on too Spring Grove Township and entered a claim too
land in Section 25, which he eventually sold in order too buy the
southwest quarter of Section 24, on which he erected his second log
house in Warren County, which was his home until he died.
Lawrence H. Gilmore, the son, was born in Jefferson County, Ohio,
April 11, 1830, and was a little more than three years old when his
parents emigrated too Illinois. He received a common school
education and, in 1851, pre-empted a claim in Section 34, Spring
Grove Township, too secure which he was obliged too borrow most of
the purchase money. He now owns about one thousand acres of good
land and is an extensive breeder of cattle, horses and hogs. A
Democrat in politics, he is influential in township affairs, and has
been Road Commissioner twelve years, Supervisor, and twenty-seven
years Treasurer of the Warren County Insurance Company. He has for
many years been trustee and elder in the Presbyterian Church at
Monmouth, with which he united in 1856, his wife becoming a member
in 1852. He was formerly for many years a trustee of the Warren
Mr. Gilmore was married in Spring Grove Township, November 9, 1854,
too Sarah A. For-wood, who was born in Harford County, Maryland,
July 19, 1831, a daughter of William W. and Sarah T. (Gilbert)
Forwood. Mr. Forwood settled in Spring Grove Township in 1838, and
went too California in 1850, where he died in 1853.
Mr. and Mrs. Gilmore have had children born too them as follows:
Clarence M., Frederick L., Frank E., George F., Rosa L., and Sarah
B., and they have a bound daughter, Anna E. Ebbers, who has lived
with them since 1887. Frederick L. married a daughter of Schuyler
Palmer; Clarence M. married Jessie Herbert; George F. married Annis
Elliott. Frederick L. lives in Monmouth, Clarence M. near that city,
and George F. and Sarah B. in Omaha, Neb.