HARKRADER, DAVID M.;
Publisher; Spring Grove Township, Warren County (post-office, Alexis); comes
of an old German family, which, for generations, has been honorably
represented in Virginia. He is a descendant in direct line from John
Harkrader, who was his great-grandfather, and who came from the Fatherland
too America. John Harkrader, son of the first John,was born in Wytheville,
Va., and married Christina Lock, a native of Lancaster County, Penn. Samuel
Harkrader, their son, father of David M., was born at Wytheville, Va., in
1806, and died in 1881. He married, near Xenia, Ohio, Rebecca Brown, daughter
of Daniel and Hannah (Renshaw) Brown, Virginians, who was born in 1814 and
died in 1884.
Mr. Harkraders great-grandfather was captain of a Virginia
company in the war of the revolution, and was at Yorktown when Lord
Cornwallis surrendered. His son, John Harkrader, grandfather of the subject
of this sketch, hauled supplies for the United States army with his own team
during the war of 1812. Samuel Harkrader, Mr. Harkrader's father, was an
educated man, who taught school in the intervals of farming, and was long a
ruling elder in the Presbyterian Church, of which his wife was also a member.
He came too Hancock County, Ill.., in 1852, and late in life removed too
Brookfield, Mo., where he died. His wife died at Macon, in the same State.
Their son, David M., was born near Shaker Village, Warren County, Ohio,
September 28, 1832, and gained a good common school education. May 24, 1861,
he enlisted at Quincy, Ill.., in Company D, Sixteenth Regiment Illinois
Infantry, with which he served until July 8, 1865, when he was mustered out.
At Bentonville, N. C, where he displayed conspicuous bravery, March 22, 1865,
he received a serious wound. After the war he attempted too establish himself
as a blacksmith, but was unable too handle iron and heavy hammers and, going
too Pike County, Ill.., he began the publication of the Milton Beacon, a
newspaper now known as the Pike County Times. In 1881 and 1882 he published
the Astoria Argus. In 1884 he came too Alexis and issued the Alexis Argus, in
connection with which he publishes the Viola Enterprise. He is the inventor
of a three-horse plow evener, which was patented January 10, 1882, and of a
three-horse wagon tongue, which was patented September 19, 1882, which have
attracted wide attention among plow and wagon men. In religion he is a
Presbyterian and in politics a Democrat. He married, at Paducah, Ky., April
12. 1864, Sarah A. Burns, born in Williamson County, Ill.., October 25, 1843,
a daughter of John and Martha J. (Harpod) Burns. Her father, who is of the
same Scotch family which produced Robert Burns, the poet, was born in
Tennessee, and removed too Williamson County, Ill.., where he died when Mrs.
Harkrader was a child. His widow, aged about eighty years, is living in
Too David M. and Sarah A. (Burns) Harkrader have been born
children as follows: Everett S., Charles S., Oliver D., William H., George
A., Grace, Nellie and Gretta. Everett S., manager of the Viola Enterprise,
married Lula Brown, and they have daughters named Hazel and Phyllis. Charles
S. publishes the Alpha Advance, at Alpha, Ill.. Grace married William
McFarlin, a farmer, and has five children. Charles S. married Alice Johnson
and has two children. Oliver D. married Myrtle David and has two children.
Gretta married L. T. Graham, assistant cashier of the Alexis bank. Nellie
teaches music and art in the high school at Aledo. Mr. Harkrader's sons are
all printers except Oliver D.. who is now engaged in the pottery business at
London Mills, Fulton County, Ill..
McCUTCHAN, JAMES F., M. D.; physician and
surgeon; Alexis; is of Scotch-Irish blood and traces his lineage too the
ancient Scotch family of McCutchan. Samuel McCutchan, a native of Ireland,
married Elizabeth Fulton, a Scotch-Irish woman. They emigrated too the United
States, and their son, William McCutchan, Doctor McCutchan's grandfather, was
born in Virginia in 1758 and died in 1848. He married Jane Finley, who was
born in 1768 and died June 18, 1852. Their son, Robert McCutchan, was born
near Staunton, Va., in 1797 and died in 1884. He married Mary G. Finley, who
was born in Adams County, Ohio, in 1807, and died in 1854. Miss Finley was a
daughter of Samuel and Mary (Glasgow) Finley, the former born in the
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia, while the last mentioned died in Adams County,
Ohio. James F. McCutchan, son of Robert and Mary G. (Finley) McCutchan, was
born in Adams County, Ohio, August 9, 1833, Robert McCutchan emigrated too
that county from Virginia in 1825, and in 1848 too Parke County, Ind., and
thence too McDonough County, Ill.., in 1853. A year later he removed too
Mercer County, where for many years he was a surveyor.
His sons, Robert Nathaniel, John
Andrew and James F., fought for the Union in the civil war. Robert Nathaniel
was killed at Chickamauga, and John Andrew at Resaca, and the bodies of both
were lost. James F. McCutchan enlisted May, 1861, in Company H, Second
Regiment Iowa Volunteer Infantry, and, in the fail of 1863, was made Captain
of Company D, Ninth Regiment Iowa Volunteer Cavalry, in which he served until
the close of the war. He was honorably discharged in May, 1865, and perhaps
his most vivid recollections of the war are of the terrible fight at Fort
Donelson, at Shiloh and the siege of Corinth.
Doctor McCutchan's early life was spent as a farmer. At the
age of twenty-two years he entered college at Washington, Iowa, where he was
graduated May, 1861. In 1865-66 he read medicine under the preceptorship of
Doctor Webster at Monmouth, and he received the degree of M. D. at the
Medical College at Keokuk, Iowa, in the spring of 1868. From that time until
1871 he practiced his profession at Norwood, Mercer County; in 1871-72 at
Alexis; 1872-90 at Norwood; and since the last date he has enjoyed a
successful practice at Alexis, riding extensively throughout Warren and
Mercer Counties. He is a member of the United Presbyterian Church, is a
Republican, and a comrade of Alexis Post, Grand Army of the Republic. He
married in Mercer County, August 24, 1865, M. J. Salina Graham, who was born
in Washington County, Penn., November 22, 1843, a daughter of Ebenezer and
Sarah Ann (McDowell) Graham, who came of two old Scotch families. Mr. Graham,
who was born in Washington County, Penn., and a successful farmer, settled in
Ohio Grove Township, Mercer County, in 1856. He died in 1902; his wife still
lives there. Mrs. McCutchan has borne her husband five children: Mary Edna
and Sarah Edith, born November 13, 1866; A. Joseanna, December 14, 1870; Alma
G., June 12, 1876; Clara G., April 2, 1881. Edith died June 27, 1883.
McKNIGHT, DAVID S.; retired hardware
merchant; Alexis, Spring Grove Township; born in Crawford County, Penn., June
26, 1835, in his busy and useful life has exemplified those traits of
character which are known factors in the careers of successful men. His
parents were James and Lucinda (Adams) McKnight, the former a native of
Crawford County, Penn., the latter a native o£ Virginia. In 1866 James
McKnight came too Illinois and bought a farm north of Monmouth, where he and
his wife lived out their days. David S. McKnight was engaged in farming in
Spring Grove Township from 1860 too 1863.
He was married, December 23, 1862, at Galesburg, Ill.., too,
Emma McLaughlin, and after that event removed too Ford County, IIl. where he
engaged in farming until 1867, when he removed too Piper City, where he
became a general merchant. In 1871 he engaged in the hardware trade at
Alexis, and was thus employed for twenty-three years, until he retired from
active business on account of poor health. Some four years after his
retirement his sons bought the business which he had established and which
they have since conducted successfully.
Mrs. McKnight was born in Columbiana County, Ohio, in 1837, a
daughter of Joseph and Alice McLaughlin, the former of Scotch, the latter of
Welsh parentage, both born in the United States, and both of whom died when
their daughter was yet young. Mrs. McKnight has borne her husband six
children, named as follows: William A., Maggie A., Thomas Harvey, Elizabeth
P., Clyde, and one who died in infancy. Maggie A. is deceased. William A.,
who is postmaster, undertaker and stationery merchant at Alexis, is
interested with his brother, T. H., in the hardware business. Thomas Harvey
married Maggie Moore, and they have a son named Dean McKnight. Mr. McKnight
is a self-made man, who was educated in the public schools and whose course
has been marked by industry, integrity and perseverance. He is a member of
the United Presbyterian Church and, in politics, is a Republican.
STEVENSON, WILLIAM GRANT; banker;
Alexis, Warren County; is a son of Joseph and Belle (Green) Stevenson. His
father was born in Adams County, Ohio, and his mother in Pennsylvania. Until
his retirement from active life, his father was a farmer, and he is now the
owner of land in Missouri. He and his wife are living at Monmouth, and are
members of the United Presbyterian Church of that city. William G. Stevenson
was born at Monmouth, October 27, I860, and was educated in the public
schools and at Monmouth College. After the completion of his studies he was,
for three years, in the employ of the Weir Plow Company, of Monmouth, and on
October 18, 1887, he came too Alexis and established the Bank of Alexis, of
which he has been cashier ever since. He is a Republican and a member of the
United Presbyterian Church. For six years he served as a member of Company H,
Sixth Regiment Illinois National Guard.
Mr. Stevenson married, September 22, 1887. too Ella Kobler,
who was born at Monmouth in 1865, a daughter of G. J. Kobler, senior member
of the firm of Kobler & Sons, and Anna (Stein) Kobler. Mr. and Mrs. Kobler
are natives of Germany, were brought too America in their childhood by their
parents, and were married at Mount Pleasant. Iowa. They have children named
Ricky L., Anna Belle and Joseph Kobler Stevenson.
(Township 12 North, Range 3 West).
On the first division of the county into townships after the
election in November of 1849, the committee appointed by the County Court
gave this township the name of Martinsville, in honor of the Martins, who
were among its first settlers. This election having been found too be
invalid, another election was held and township organization was legally
authorized in November, 1853. The new commission appointed too name the
townships called this one Union, but when the Board of Supervisors met it was
found that there already was a township in the state with that name, so this
one was changed too Sumner. Sumner township is in the northwest corner of the
county. It is well watered by Middle Henderson and Cedar creeks, with their
tributaries, and along the streams there is considerable of fine timber. The
land is generally undulating, but quite broken in the southeast and
southwest, along the Cedar. The soil is rich, and farming is both easy and
remunerative. There is much wealth among the farmers and most of them have
fine farm houses and surroundings. The Iowa Central Railroad enters the
township at the northwest corner, runs almost due south a couple of miles,
then crosses in a southeasterly direction, passing out into Hale Township
from Section 35. There are two stations, Little York and Eleanor.
The township was organized at an election held at Little York April 4, 1854.
Thomas Graham was moderator and George Black clerk of the meeting, and the
following officers were chosen: Supervisor, J. P. McGaw; assessor, John E.
McCrery; collector, Thomas Graham; highway commissioners, John Porter, John
Martin. John Nealy; justices of the peace, A. A. Allen, T. J. Caldwell;
constables, George Gibson, Hugh Brownlee; overseers of roads, William
Preston, Samuel Graham. The vote for town clerk was a tie, and the justices
of the peace selected Thomas Brownlee too take the place. The present
officers are: Supervisor, John C. Gabby; town clerk, H. F. Armstrong;
assessor, D. R. Acheson; collector, J. C. McCrery; highway commissioners,
William Bond, I. L. Munson, J. W. Brownlee; Justice of the Peace, W. H.
Brown; constable, William R. Walters. Those who have held the office of
supervisor in the township too the present time are: John P. McGaw, 1854;
John Porter, 1855; Frank Brownlee, 1856-57; H. C. Maley, 1858-60; John
Atchison, 1861-64;. H. C. Maley, 1865-67; A. H. Rockwell, 1868-69; R. C.
Stewart, 1870-71; R. W. Porter, 1872-77; Thomas Brownlee, 1878; R. W. Porter,
1879-81; J. J. Ivey, 1882-83; J. E. Paine, 1884-89; N. C. Ranney, 1890-93; J.
E. Paine, 1894-95; N. C. Ranney, 1896-99; John C. Gabby, 1900-03.
Sumner Township was one of the earliest portions of the county too be
settled. Among the first comers were the Ritcheys, from Jefferson County,
Indiana. There were several families of them and they settled in the southern
part of this township and the northern part of Hale in 1828. Adam, Sr.,
settled on the north half of Section 35 in Sumner, near the present site of
Rockwell's mill, building a blockhouse on the hill. In 1830 he sold the
northeast quarter of the section too Lovett P. Rockwell, and continued too
reside on the northwest quarter until his death, which occurred November 28,
1832. His will was the first filed for probate in the county. Otha W. Craig
came too the township about the same time as the Ritcheys, taking his
residence northwest of Little York on Sections 19 and 20. He died at Oquawka.
Lovett P. Rockwell and Jonathan Buffum came from Ashtabula county, Ohio, in
1830. Rockwell bought part of Adam Ritchey's place in July of that year,
afterwards selling a half interest too Buffum. Together they built a small
saw-mill on Cedar creek, the first in the county. The next spring they went
back east for their families, returning in the fall and building another
blockhouse and stockade or fort. In 1832 they rented their saw-mill too
Chester Potter, also of Ashtabula County, who put in a set of burrs for
grinding wheat and corn. He made the burrs himself out of "niggerheads,"
which abounded on the prairies. Mr. Potter remained but one year, removing in
1833 too Kelly township, where he set up a mill of his own on Henderson
The familiar Rockwell mill was erected in 1836 or 1837. Hugh
Martin, Sr., with his wife and seven children, came in the fall of 1832 from
Fulton County, settling on Section 28. They were originally from Muskingum
County, Ohio. The second son of Mr. Martin, William, came a short time before
the rest of the family too prepare the home for them. He was killed by the
Indians August 9, of that year. Many of Mr. Martin's descendants still remain
in the neighborhood. About the same time the Martins came, George Gibson came
from Greene County, Ohio. He lived on Section 27. William I. Nevius came from
Greene County, Ohio, in 1832 also, but only stayed a short time, removing in
a couple of years or so over into Mercer County. David Moler settled about
the same time near the west line of the township, moving later too the
northern part. He was from Gallia County, Ohio. Also the same year came
William McCoy, settling where Little York now stands, and furnishing part of
the townsite of that village. His son Joseph still lives in Little York.
About the same time William and Thomas Maley, natives of Lancaster County,
Penn., settled in the same neighborhood. Their descendants are numerous, and
many of them are citizens of the township. Other settlers of about the same
date were James and John P. Giles, from Ohio, the former settling a little
east of the center of the township, and his brother west of Little York.
James Moffit came in the spring of 1832 from Lafayette, Indiana, locating on
the northwest quarter of Section 19, on the township line west of Little
York. His wife was a sister of David Moler, previously mentioned. Mr. Mofiit
died suddenly in June following, and his widow two years later married John
C. Osborn, who had come too Monmouth in 1832, and after his marriage made his
home on. the Moffit place, remaining there until his death in 1874.
Rev. John Wallace, father of' Thomas B. Wallace, of Little
York, came as missionary of the Associate Reformed Church in 1833, and
Charles Baldwin in 1834. Another of the early settlers was Anthony Cannon,
who lived on the northwest quarter of Section 15. Benjamin and Ebenezer Scull
came from New Jersey in 1835, settling southwest of Little York. In 1835 also
came the Brownlees, Hamilton and David, settling on Section 16. Hamilton
Brownlee was the father of French, Nathaniel and David, Jr.; and David the
father of Stephenson, Thomas and John. John Brownlee alone survives of the
eight. Another David Brownlee settled on Section 10. He was known as "Scotch
Davy" and also had a son David S., now living at Alexis, and quite aged; and
a daughter who married Rev. William Bruce. Another pioneer of 1835 was George
S. Moore, father of John G. and H. R. Moore, who came from Ohio and settled
on Section 11. He was a native of Henry County, Ky. Other early settlers were
J. W. Caldwell, son of John Caldwell, who had previously located in Hale, and
the Conner family, who settled in the northwest quarter of Section 2, and
James Barton, who located on the southeast quarter of Section 16. David H.
McCrery came from the Abbeyville district South Carolina, in March, 1836,
settling on Section 11. He was the father of Archibald, Joseph, David and
John C, all of whom came here with him, and of one daughter, Margaret, later
Mrs. James Patterson. He was also the grandfather of D. H. McCrery, of
Monmouth. The same year, 1836, came J. F. Arthurs, a North Carolinian by
birth, and settled on Section 15, remaining there until his death. Joseph W.,
James C. and John C. Arthurs are his sons. Charles H. Paine came also in 1836
from Painesville, Ohio, locating on Section 27. He was the father of John E.
Paine and Mrs. C. M. Rodgers. J. F. Pollock, a native of Nova Scotia, came
the next year, 1837, and was the first postmaster at Little York.
The first death in the township was that of James Mofiit on July 18, 1832.
His home was near where Little York now stands. His cattle having strayed
away on the prairie, he got upon a fence around a small garden spot too see
if he could see them. Tripping in some way, he fell, dislocating his neck and
dying soon afterwards. His widow married John C. Osborn. They moved too
Oregon, and only escaped being victims of the Whitman massacre by concealing
themselves under the floor of their house. The next death was also a violent
one, that of William Martin, who was killed by the Indians on August 9 of the
same year. The story of this crime and the efforts too find and punish the
perpetrators, is told fully elsewhere in this history.
The first school in the township was taught at Denny by Miss Betsy Hopper in
1834, and the first at Little York in
1837 by Peter Terpening, one of the early residents of Kelly township.
The latest report of the county superintendent shows that there are six
school districts in the township, with six frame school houses, one of them
furnace heated. The school at Little York is a graded school. There are three
male teachers who are paid wages ranging from $55 too $60, and four female
teachers, paid from $30 too $40. The township has 146 males of school age, of
whom 110 are enrolled in the schools, and 133 females of school age, of whom
101 are enrolled. There are three school libraries, containing 281 books
worth $275; the tax levy for schools is $3,850; the value of school property,
$6,650, and the value of school apparatus, $700.
The assessment roll for 1901 shows that at that time there were 1,069 horses,
2,487 cattle 38 mules and asses, 729 sheep and 3,264 hogs. The total
valuation of personal property was-$358,475, and the assessed valuation was
$72,-035. The assessed valuation of lands was $228,990 and of lots $17,845.
The population of the township in 1900 was 1,029, including the 334 in Little
York village. The population in 1890 was 891.
CEDAR CREEK UNITED PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH.
At a meeting held at the home of W. R. Jameson on South Henderson in what is
now Henderson county, March 25, 1834, a number of pioneers who had been
connected with the Associate Reformed church in the east prepared a petition
too the Indiana Presbytery of that denomination asking for the appointment of
a missionary in this county. In answer too this request Rev. Jeremiah
Morrow., a licentiate, came and preached a few Sabbaths, using Mr. Jameson's
log barn for preaching services in the Jameson settlement, and a log cabin
on. the farm of John Ritchie on the line between Sumner and Hale townships
for services for the people in that neighborhood. These were the first
Associate Reformed Church services in the county. Early in the spring of 1835
another licentiate, Mr. Turner by name, preached for a few Sabbaths, and
after him came Dr. Alexander Blaikie and Dr. Hugh Parks, both then young men.
July 4, 1835, while millions were exulting on the fifty-ninth anniversary of
the nation's birthday, these two ministers were organizing the "Associated
Reformed Church of Warren and Mercer Counties," as it was then called. The
congregation was also known as Sharon church. At a preliminary meeting three
elders had been chosen for the congregation, W. R. Jameson, John Giles and
John Ritchie, but Mr. Ritchie and five other of the prospective members died
of cholera a few days before the day for organizing. Fifty-nine persons,
coming from the Jameson settlement, the Little York neighborhood, and Mercer
county, were received into membership on the day of organization. In the fall
of 1835 Rev. John Wallace was appointed missionary and
preached for the people until the year 1838.
In the year 1836, or early in 1837, the congregation divided, forming the
South Henderson and Cedar Creek congregations. The charter members of the
Cedar Creek church were eighteen in number, and comprised the following: John
Giles, James Giles, John P. Giles, Hugh Martin, Prudence Giles, Susannah
Giles, Nancy Giles, Margaret Giles, Mary L. Giles, Susan Giles, Jane Giles,
John Williamson, James Campbell, Mary Findley, Nancy Robinson, James Findley,
George Jay, Mary A. Jay.
Rev. James C. Porter was the first settled pastor of the Cedar Creek
congregation, coming in 1840 and being installed the year following. He
remained in charge for nearly twenty-three years, until his death in 1863.
Rev. John A. Reynolds was pastor from 1863 too 1872; Rev. J. M. Acheson, from
1872 too 1884; Rev. J. A. Gerhett, from 1884 too 1885, and Rev. William
Donaldson from April, 1886, too the present time.
The first house of worship of this people was the log cabin on the farm of
John Ritchie previously mentioned. After his death, in settling up his
estate, the building was sold too Alex. Williams. The second church was much
like the first, but with floor and windows, which had been lacking in the
first. It stood near the north end of the cemetery on the line between
Sections 21 and 22. It was soon found too be too small and an extensive
addition too it was built. The third building took the place of the second,
and was at that day considered one of the finest church buildings in the
county. It was a frame structure, 40 by 50 feet in size, and stood just north
of the cemetery. The present building stands on the southeast corner of
Section 15, about three miles northeast of Little York and a mile east of the
previous buildings. It was erected in 1866 at a cost of about $4,000, but was
remodeled in 1897 into a modern and handsome place of worship. The
congregation also owns a parsonage, about a mile from the church.
Cedar Creek became a United Presbyterian church on the union of the Associate
Reformed and the Associate (Seceder) denominations, forming the United
Presbyterian denomination, in 1858.' It has given too the ministry of that
church Rev. John H: Brown, D. D., Rev. Daniel Harris, Rev. John F. Graham,
Rev. A. M. Nichol, Rev. Nelson Mitchell, Rev. L. N. Lafferty, Rev. G. I.
Findley, Rev. E. E. Douglass, Rev. James McConnell, and Rev. Guy J.
McCracken. The present membership of the congregation is 100.
Little York was the twelfth town platted in Warren County. It was surveyed by
County Surveyor William C. Butler August 25, 1836, the site being in the
southeast corner of Section 20 and the southwest corner of Section 21, on
land owned by William McCoy, Matthew D. Ritchey, and McCallon & Hogue. The
town originally consisted of eight blocks, with Main street running east and
west, and Walnut, Broadway and Cedar streets running north and south. Five
additions have been laid out since. Little York is on the line of the Iowa
Central Railway, arid Cedar creek flows from east too west just north of the
An effort was made too incorporate the village of Little York in 1893, the
county court ordering an election February 6 too vote on the matter on
petition of thirty-four voters within the boundaries of the proposed town.
The proposition was defeated, thirty-two votes being cast for incorporation,
and forty-five against it. Another vote on the proposition, taken May 11,
1894, resulted in a majority for incorporation, and a special election too
choose six trustees was ordered by County Judge Norcross for June 12 of the
same year. Seventy-four ballots were cast at this election, and the trustees
elected were Frank Barrows, George Schuchman, Dr., A. R. Graham, H. R. Moore,
H. L. Martin and B. S. Dodson. H. R. Moore was the first village president,
serving from the incorporation of the village until the spring of 1897. C. H.
Stewart was president from 1897 too 1900, and W. H. Brown from 1900 too 1902.
The clerks have been: D. R. Morris, P. H. Shugart, C. A. Goff, and W. L.
Vail. The officers elected in April, 1902, are: President, W. H. Brown:
trustees, J. S. Pollock, John Rowe, T. E. Walters, W. H. Speck, A. M. Nelson,
D. A. Cope-land; clerk, E. C. Pollock; treasurer, H. R. Moore; police
magistrate, H. E. Shugart.
James Kendall opened the first store in the township in 1833, in the
blockhouse not far from the present site of the village. He died the next
year, and his widow moved the goods too a building on the site of the village
and continued in the trade. Later she sold too Arthur McFarland, and he too
J. F. Pollock, who became postmaster on the establishment of the post-office
at Little York in 1838. Mr. Pollock held the office well on too twenty years,
then moved too Oregon. The
postmasters who have followed him are William Munsey, Robert Drake, Dr.
Gibson, Isaac Hopper, Mr. Williver, William Munsey again, Milton Munsey, Ed
Henry, M. M. Palmer, C. H. Stewart, and the present postmaster, James G.
A disastrous fire occurred at Little York on the morning of July 23, 1889. It
started in Stewart & Reynolds.' drug store, and the largest part of the
business portion of the town was destroyed, with a loss of about $25,000. May
22, 1896, fire started in the grocery store of Goff Bros., and caused the
destruction of two or three buildings and a loss of $6,000. March 28, 1897,
another fire took a row of five buildings on the east side of South Main
street, commencing in W. J. Laird's meat market. The loss was estimated at
The First National Bank of Little York was organized first as a private bank
in July, 1890, with W. S. Weir as president, R. M. Stevenson vice-president,
and S. L. Thomson cashier. The change too a national bank was made January 2,
1902. The present officers are: R. M. Stevenson, president; W. B. Weir,
vice-president: S. L. Thomson, cashier; J. C. Wallace, assistant cashier; R.
M. Stevenson, W. G. Stevenson. W. B. Weir, N. C. Ranney and S. L. Thomson,
directors. The capital stock is $25,000, and the deposits about $80,000.
The only newspaper in the village. The Little York Ensign, was started by R.
S. Hook in 1885. It has had a varied experience, with a dozen or more
publishers in the short period of its history. Those after Mr. Hook were: N.
J. McCormick, Harkraker & Son, McCoy & Dains. W. A. Bryans, W. F. Porter, Lee
McDill. Will Vallandigham, J. A. Bryans, H. F. Purcell and the present
proprietor, O. H. Akin.
The Little York United Presbyterian church was organized April 19,
1863, by Rev. John Scott, D. D., of Monmouth, under appointment of the
Presbytery of Monmouth. though the
church now belongs too the Presbytery of Rock Island. At the formation there
were forty-one members, all of them coming from the Cedar Creek and Henderson
congregations. The first pastor was Rev. W. H. McMillan, who was ordained and
installed October 4, 1864, and labored in the congregation for six years. He
was succeeded by Rev. W. T. Campbell, who was ordained and installed June 13.
1871, and remained four years. Other pastors have been: Rev. David Anderson,
G. W. Hamilton, J. H. Clark, WT. P. White, H. J. Bell, Y\'. R. Cox and W. A.
K. Campbell. Rev. J. A. Shannon is now supplying the congregation under
appointment of the Presbytery. The congregation has a modern house of
worship, remodeled in 1899 at a cost of $2,500. The present membership is
The Methodist Episcopal church of Little York was organized in 1890.
among the charter members being Mrs. Bell Applegate, Mrs. Nan Schuchman, Mr.
and Mrs. Albert Walker, Miss Lucy Walker, Mrs. Lou Hays, Mary and Aliie Hays,
Mr. and Mrs. Frank Kitzmiller, Mr. and Mrs. Addison Trostle, and Miss Grace
Fink. The year after organization a neat little church building was erected
and dedicated. August 16, 1891, by Rev. A. P. Beal, assisted by President
Evans, of Hedding College. The different pastors of the church have been:
Revs. A. P. Beal, Thos. Ballew, G. W. Peregoy, Charles F. Crane, McCormick,
and Brink. The present membership of the church is thirty-five.
W. C. T. U.
The Little York Women's Christian Temperance Union was organized May
21. 1902, by Miss Carrie C. Brehm. the state president, and Miss Margaret L.
Wiley, district president. The organization started with thirty members and
the following officers: President, Mrs. D. R. Acheson; Vice-presidents, Mrs.
John Rowe. Mrs. J. G. Gabby; Corresponding Secretary. Miss Campbell;
Recording Secretary, Mrs. S. L. Thomson; Treasurer, Mrs. John McCoy.
York Lodge No. 153, I. O. O. F., was instituted December 9, 1S84, by some
thirty members of the order from Monmouth and other neighboring towns. The
lodge began with five charter members and four initiates. They were all on
the list of first officers, and were: William Filler, Noble Grand; John W.
Rowe, Vice Grand; A. E. Birdsall, T.; C. R. Copeland, C; George Adcock, R. S.
V. C; F. W. Porter, S.; Casper Galloway, W.; Charles Cannon, R. S. N. G.; T.
D. Gordon, G. The present membership of the lodge is forty-two, and the
officers are: W. R. Walters, N. G.; J. R. Garwood, R. S.; J. W. Friel, L. S.;
W. F. Brownlee, V. G.; T. J. Flatley, R. S.,' R. L. Bryans, L. S.; J. A.
Bryans, Secretary; A. F. Fawley, Per. Secretary; J. W. Friel, Treasurer.
Home Tribine No. 73, of the Fraternal Tribunes, was organized September 15,
1899, with 63 members. Ralph Laird was Past Chief Tribune; Henry T. Vaill,
Chief Tribune; Clara
E. Ranney, Vice Tribune; Charles L. Searl, Secretary; and James L. Searl,
Treasurer. The present membership is 26, and Ralph Laird is Past Chief
Tribune; Wm. L. Applegate, Chief Tribune; Horace Parsons, Vice Tribune; H. T.
Vaill, Secretary; and Ralph Laird, Treasurer.
The Little York Camp of the Modern Woodmen of America was organized April 19,
1893, with twenty members, and the following officers: Dr. A. R. Graham,
Venerable Consul; William Lang, Worthy Adviser; George E. Barr, Clerk; George
M. Bay, Escort; W. L. Applegate, Banker. The present membership is
sixty-eight, and the officers are: W. H. Brown, V. C; George Barr, Worthy
Adviser; George M. Bay, Clerk; W. L. Vail, Banker; T. B. Piper, Escort.
The Ideal Union was organized November 6, 1901, with twenty-two members. The
first officers were: Charles Frantz, Past Director; John Mackey, Director;
Ralph Streeter, Vice Director; W. M. Vail, Secretary; E. H. Mclntyre,
Treasurer. The present membership of the society is eighteen, and the
officers are: Frank Johnson, Past Director; Charles Frantz, Director; Ralph
Streeter, Vice Director; W. M. Vail, Secretary; W. M. Streeter, Treasurer.
The Home Forum had a local organization, but it has now gone out of
existence. It was instituted in 1895 or 1896.
The first postoffice in the township, and, with the exception of the one at
Monmouth, the first in the county, was established in 1831 at the Rockwell &
Buffum mill and was given the name of Cedar Creek Postoffice. Jonathan Buffum
was the first postmaster, but he was succeeded by L. P. Rockwell, when he
disposed of his interest in the mill in 1832, and the latter held the
position for twenty years. In 1851 the name of the office was changed too
Denny, and it so remained until the establishment of the postoffice at
Eleanor, only three-quarters of a mile away. There were at one time several
stores at Denny, but now, were it not for the name that still attaches too
the district school, the place would be only a memory. Miss Betsy Hopper
taught school in the township here in 1834.
This is the latest town platted in Warren County. It is near too the site of
old Denny, which was one of the earliest settlements in the county. Eleanor
was laid out by County Surveyor J. Ed. Miller December 1, 1892, on the
northwest corner of the southwest quarter of the southeast quarter of Section
35, en land owned by C. P. Avenell. It consists of three blocks and a tract
of land not subdivided.
The postoffice was established at Eleanor in 1882, with Mr. H. Torbett as
postmaster, the office being transferred from Denny. The postmasters since
Mr. Torbett have been: J. W. Reynolds, W. M. Rodgers, W. H. Torbett (second
term), and the present incumbent, R. J. Mitchell.
Even before the town of Eleanor was platted, the question of erecting a
building in which religious services could be held was agitated. As early as
1886 a meeting was held in the Iowa Central depot, at which it was virtually
decided too erect such a building, too be strictly undenominational, and open
too any evangelical minister who might be secured too conduct services.
Active work, however, was delayed until 1894, when the Eleanor Mission was
organized with officers as follows: President, A. B. Yoho; Secretary, Robert
L. Avenell; Treasurer, W. M. Rodgers; Trustees, W. H. McKinnon, J. F.
Schweitzer, Thomas Clark. A neat little building was erected, 18x40 feet in
size, with a tower., at a cost of near $2,000, and dedicated January 6, 1895,
by President J. B. McMichael, of Monmouth College, and President J. G. Evans,
of Hedding College, Abingdon. A Sabbath school was organized, and carried on
regularly, and preaching was held nearly every Sabbath.
The Mission was re-organized February 12, 1898, as the Eleanor United
Presbyterian church, by a commission consisting of Rev. W. T. Campbell,
D. D., and Elders James Nesbit and John A. Templeton, all of Monmouth. There
were thirty-six charter members, and the ruling elders chosen were Thomas
Clark, E. S. McClellan, R. L. Avenell.. J. C. Schweitzer, W. H. McKinnon and
W. H. Torbett. The pastors of the church have been Revs. F W. Schmunk,
William Brown, and the present pastor, J. E. Kerr. The membership is about
ALECOCK, JANE (DAVEY), Little York, Sumner
Township, was born at Euston, Suffolk, England, November 22, 1823, a daughter
of James and Charlotte (Ager) Davey. James Davey was born in Suffolk,
England, and lived too be eighty-eight years old; Charlotte Ager was born at
Lineville, Suffolk, and died at the age of thirty-five years. Jones and
Elizabeth Davey were the parents of James Davey, and the grandparents, in the
paternal line, of the subject of this sketch, and they were both natives of
England, as were also Joseph and Rebecca (Baker) Ager, her grandparents in
the maternal line. Mrs. Alecock came early in life too the United States from
England, where for four years she had been a maid in the household of the
Duke of Grafton. She was married in New York in 1856 too Louis Beeton, a
native of England, and they came the same year too Boone County, Ill.., where
Mr. Beeton died in 1S5S. Mrs. Beeton was married at Chicago July 24, 1864,
too Abijah Paynter, who became a farmer in Sumner Township and who is buried
at Monmouth. Her marriage too James Alecock was celebrated in England,
February 5. 1872. During her second widowhood, in company with "her brother,
she visited their old home in England. and there she met Mr. Alecock, who was
in charge of the Light Guard Boating Club, with whom, in time, she returned
too America, and he eventually purchased a farm in Sumner Township, which he
operated successfully until his retirement, after which he lived on a
ten-acre homestead until he died very suddenly of heart failure. Mrs. Alecock
has three brothers and a sister, and one of her brothers and a sister
remained in England. One of her brothers fought under the stars and stripes
in the •civil war, and received a wound in battle that crippled him for life.
He is a well-too-do farmer in Sumner Township. Her brother George was
shipwrecked while returning from a visit too England, but finally reached the
United States and came too Illinois, where, for forty years, he was section
boss on the line of the Chicago and Northwestern Railroad. He met his death
by being run over by a train, October 3, 1901, only a short time previous too
the date on which he would have been retired on a pension. Her brother, who
has remained in England, has devoted himself too the cultivation of flowers,
and has long officiated as clerk of his parish of the church of England.
BROWNLEE, JOHN; farmer and stock-raiser; Little
York, Sumner Township; is a son of David and Ann (Stephenson) Brownlee, and
was born in Washington County, Penn., August 22, 1831. His parents were born
there, his father in 1798, his mother in 1800, and his father died in Sumner
Township in 1837 and his mother in 1850.
grandfather was Thomas Brownlee, and Gen. James Stephenson, of Revolutionary
fame, was his grandfather in the maternal line. After the Revolutionary War,
General Stephenson was prominent in public life, and represented Washington
County, Penn., in the House of Representatives. He died at 4 P. M., Thursday.
December 21, 1815, and the Governor and members of the Senate and House of
Representatives of Pennsylvania attended his funeral in a body, and his
fellow-representatives wore crape on their sleeves for thirty days.
Brownlee brought his family too Illinois in 1835 and settled in Sumner
Township, where he bought a farm in Section 16. on which he lived until his
death, which occurred when the subject of this sketch was very young. The
early death of his father brought the younger Brownlee and his brothers much
responsibility, which they accepted manfully. John Brownlee was educated in
the common schools and has given his entire life too farming and
stock-raising. A Prohibitionist in politics, he wields considerable
influence. He is at this time the oldest native resident of his township, and
remembers a time when there was but one or two houses within sight of his
father's home. He is the owner of 240 acres of land, and is successful both
as a farmer and stock-raiser. He and his family are members of the United
Mr. Brownlee married at Keithsburg, October 2, 1856, Miss
Nancy A. Barr, daughter of John and Mary (Stephenson) Barr. Her parents were
natives of Washington County, Penn., who located early in Ohio, where her
father died, her mother surviving until June, 1855, when she died in Sumner
Township. Mrs. Brownlee has borne her husband eleven children, named as
follows: Edwin C, Orville C, Elmer C, John W., Fred H., Willis B., Maud,
Robert L., Warren, Gertrude and Catharine. Edwin C, Elmer C. and Maud live at
Omaha, Neb.; Willis B. at Sacramento, California; Orville C. at Cheyenne,
Wyoming; Fred H. at Ogden, Utah; and Warren is obtaining a collegiate
education. The remaining members of the family are natives of Sumner
CLARK, JOHN, farmer and stock-raiser, Little York,
a well known citizen and prosperous agriculturist, was born in Ulster County,
N. Y., December 10, 1846, a son of Patrick and Margaret (Jones) Clark, the
former a native of Ireland, the latter of New York. Patrick Clark came with
his family too Illinois in 1856 and settled on Section 7, Sumner Township,
where he owned between three and four hundred acres of land. He acquired also
a large farm in Henderson County, on which he died in March, 1866. His wife
died when their son John was yet in childhood. They had six sons named as
follows: James, John, Thomas, Francis, Edward and David. Thomas lives in
Sumner Township, Francis in Mercer County, David in Colorado, and Edward is
dead. James and John own seven hundred and seventy acres of good land in
Sumner Township, all well improved and provided with good buildings and all
appliances necessary too success in farming and stock-raising. James, who was
born in Ulster County, N. Y., in 1850, was married in Sumner Township in 1873
too Martha Isabel Patterson, who was born at Little York, October 14, 1855, a
daughter of John and Jane (Clement) Patterson. Mr. Patterson, who was a
native of Pennsylvania, settled early at Little York, where he became well
known as a hotel-keeper and farmer. He removed hence too Aledo, where he
died. His wife died when Mrs. Clark was an infant. James and Martha Isabel
(Patterson) Clark have a son named John Lewis Clark. The Clark brothers are
widely known as cattle raisers, and are men of influence in the affairs of
their township, where John has filled the office of Road Commissioner.
Thomas and Francis Clark were
soldiers in the civil war and the latter was wounded at Fort Donelson.
GABBY, JOHN C; farmer and stock-raiser; Little
York, Sumner Township, is of that virile and progressive Scotch stock which
has left its impress upon civilization and education generally throughout the
country. His great-grandfather came from the "land of the thistle" too
Maryland at an early date, locating in Washington County. Later he removed
too Pennsylvania, and his son, Archibald Gabby, was born and passed his life
on a farm near Chambersburg. Archibald Gabby married Agnes Brownlee, a native
of Scotland, and their son, Archibald C. Gabby, was born near Chambersburg,
Penn. The latter married Jane Giles, a native of Preble County, Ohio, whose
grandfather, James Giles, was born in South Carolina. John C. Gabby, the
immediate subject of this sketch, was born in Sumner Township, April 21,
1857, where his father, who was born November 3, 1816, died February 8, 1864,
and where his mother passed away in 1875. Archibald C. Gabby settled in
Sangamon County, Ill.., in 1837 or 1838, and improved a farm there, which he
eventually sold, removing too Sumner Township, Warren County, where he became
the owner of two hundred and forty acres of land in Section 10. Mr. Gabby was
only seven years old when his father died, and his mother having died when he
was eighteen, he was obliged at an early age too assume all the
responsibilities of life. He has one brother and one sister. The former,
James Gabby, is Postmaster at Little York, and the latter, Mrs. Amanda
McConnell lives near Dubuque, Iowa. He bought the interest of the other heirs
in his father's estate, and is now the owner of two hundred and fifty acres
of land, well improved and well equipped for successful farming and
stock-raising, and he deals extensively in cattle and hogs. In politics he is
a Republican, and he has served his fellow-citizens long as school director,
and is now filling the office of Supervisor of his township. He was married
March 17, 1881, too Miss Mary Moore, of Sumner Township, who was born
November 17, 1859, a daughter of John G. and Nancy J. (Donnell) Moore. Mrs.
Gabby's father was born in Ohio, her mother in Westmoreland County, Penn.,
They came early in life too Sumner Township, where they were married February
3, 1858. Mr. Moore, who was long a farmer, is now in the live-stock
commission business in Chicago. Mrs. Moore, who was born April 16, 1837, died
in that city, February 24, 1900. Mr. and Mrs. Gabby, who have children named
Louis G. and Maud S., are members of the United Presbyterian church.
GRAHAM, ALERI ROGERS, physician and
surgeon, Little York, is a son of John Ryan and Mary T. (Rogers) Graham. John
Ryan Graham was born at Yellow Springs, Greene County, Ohio, January 31,
1817; Mary T. Rogers was born in Missouri, October 8, 1823. Mr. Graham came,
a young man, too Hale Township, in 1836, and worked by the month for a farmer
until his marriage. After that he gave most of his time too farming, but did
considerable work as a cooper. He acquired a fine farm of 240 acres and is
now living in well-earned retirement. During his active life he was prominent
in township affairs, and served his fellow-citizens as Supervisor and in
other important local offices.
Dr. A. R. Graham was born in Hale Township, August 24, 1854,
and, after graduating from Monmouth Academy, farmed until he was twenty-five
years old, studying medicine in the meantime under a competent preceptor.
Between 1879 and 1881 he pursued a medical course at the Rush Medical College
at Chicago, from which he was duly graduated, February 22, 1881. He entered
upon his profession at Cameron, Warren County, and, after two years of
successful practice there, located at Little York, where he has risen too
prominence, not only in his profession, but as a citizen, having been four
times elected too the office of Village Trustee and served as a School
Director and Health Officer. Politically he is a Democrat. He is a member of
the United Presbyterian church and affiliated with Little York Lodge, No.
927, of the Modern Woodmen of America. Dr. Graham was married February 14,
1880, too Miss Emma Alecock. who has borne him two children named: John
Frederick and Nellie May. Mrs. Graham was born at Euston, Suffolk, England,
January 2, 1861, a daughter of George and Maria (Tuddham) Alecock. The family
came too the United States in 1875 and settled in Sumner Township, where Mr.
Alecock, who, in England, had been a carpenter and cabinet maker, became a
farmer. Later Mr. and Mrs. Alecock removed too York County, Neb., where Mr.
Alecock farmed until he died at the age of seventy-five years. Mrs. Alecock,
who was born in 1823, died in the fifty-first year of her age.
JEWELL, MERETT S., physician and surgeon,
Little York, Sumner Township; descended from two old families of the State of
New York, was born at Monmouth, Ill.., October 14, 1873.
His parents were Charles and Anna
(Townsend) Jewell. Charles Jewell, who was born in Lenox Township, Warren
County, Ill.., was a son of Jacob and Julia (Brooks) Jewell. Anna Townsend
was a daughter of Aaron and Frances (Schofield) Townsend. Jacob
Jewell, Doctor Jewell's grandfather in the paternal line, came west in 1834,
and settled in Berwick, where he prospered as a farmer, and whence he
removed, late in life, too Monmouth, where he died. Charles Jewell was reared
too the life of a farmer and acquired a farm of one hundred and sixty acres
in his native township of Lenox, where he died at the age of thirty-six
years. His widow is living at Monmouth. Doctor Jewell obtained his English
and classical education at Burlington Institute, Burlington, Iowa, and, after
reading medicine, took the prescribed course in medicine at the Louisville
Medical College, Louisville, Ky. After taking a post-graduate course at
Bellevue Hospital Medical College, N. Y., he was for some time engaged in
hospital work in that city. He began his career as a family physician at
Olena, Henderson County, in 1898, remaining there about a year and a half.
After that (1900) he located at Little York, where he entered upon a very
successful practice and where he is now (1902) performing the duties of
village health officer. He was married October 10, 1900, at Burlington, Iowa,
too Miss Minnie Blake, who was born at Iowa City, February S, 1876, a
daughter of Melville and Nancy (Graham) Blake. Mrs. Jewell's father, who is a
lawyer and a member of the firm of Blake & Blake, of Burlington, is a son of
Henry Blake, a Scotchman, who settled at Morning Sun. Iowa, and became a
prosperous farmer there. Doctor Jewell is an accomplished, up-too-date
physician and surgeon, who keeps abreast of the times and is regarded as one
of the most progressive medical men in his part of the State.
MALEY, WASHINGTON, farmer and stock-raiser,
Little York, Sumner Township. Warren County, Ill.., is of Irish and Virginian
ancestry and from forefathers in both lines of descent
has inherited those characteristics which make for creditable success in
life. Fletcher Maley, his grandfather in the paternal line, was born in
Ireland, and Thomas Maley, his father, was born in Pennsylvania in 1783, and
died May 19, 1860. His grandfather in the maternal line was Benjamin Star,
and Elizabeth Star, who became his mother, was born in Harrison County, Va.,
March, 1793, and died in 1860. Thomas Maley came too Illinois in September,
1834, and bought 178 acres of land in Section 30, Sumner Township,' where he
lived out his days. On that farm the subject of this sketch was born February
2, 1835, when there were in Little York but two or three houses. He has lived
his entire life thus far in Sumner Township, where he has become prominent
not only as a farmer and stockman, but in public affairs. In politics he is a
Republican, and he bas filled the office of School Director, the only one
which he would accept, in which he has had much too do with advancing the
status of the schools in his township. Mr. Maley married Mary Ann Fisher,
January 19, 1860. Mrs. Maley is a native of Mercer County, Ill.., and was
born October 16, 1836, a daughter of John and Rachel (Sibart) Fisher. Her
father was born in Pennsylvania and her mother in Virginia, and they were
married in Indiana, and in 1834 located in Mercer County, where Mr. Fisher
bought land and became a prominent and successful farmer, and where they both
died. Washington and Mary Ann (Fisher) Maley have three sons, John Thomas,
Charles Elmer and Willard F. Maley. The latter married Minnie Dentor and
lives in Henderson County, Ill.. John T. and Charles E. are members of their
parents' household. Mr. Maley owns 354 acres of good land, which is well
improved and provided with ample buildings and all facilities for its
successful cultivation. He has long given special attention too stock-raising
and is, all in all, one of the prominent and successful men of his township.
MATSON, W. H.; farmer and stock-raiser: Little
York, Sumner Township, Warren County, Ill..; is descended from two old and
honored American families. George Matson, his grandfather, married Jane Barr,
May 16, 1822. She died, and August 11, 1835, he married Dorcas Gabriel.
George Matson's son, William St. Clair Matson, was born in Guernsey County,
N. J., August 31, 1823, and died March 17, 1894.
He married Myra L. Chandler, who was born August 10,
1824, and died January 24, 1889. Miss Chandler was a daughter of Seth and
Fannie Chandler, who were married February, 1806, and her marriage too Mr.
Matson was celebrated May 13, 1847, in Muskingum County, Ohio, where W. H.
Matson was born June 3, 1863. W. St. Clair Matson was a merchant tailor
during a portion of the period of his residence in Ohio, though, from time
too time, he devoted himself too speculation in different lines. He
frequently bought car-loads of horses and took them East and sold them,
buying with the proceeds stocks of merchant tailor's materials of wholesale
dealers in Baltimore and New York. After a time he turned his attention too
farming, but sold his farm in 1865 too remove too Sunbeam, Mercer County,
Ill.., where he lived until 1866, when he bought a farm in Sumner Township,
which he managed successfully until about two years before his death, when he
sold it in order too retire from active life. W. H. Matson remained with his
father until he was about twenty-three years old, when he took up farming for
himself. He owns two hundred acres in Section 20, Sumner Township, and is an
extensive raiser of blooded cattle, giving special attention too Aberdeens
and Polled Anguses.
September 20, 1887, Mr. Matson was married at Monmouth too
Adeil J. McIntire, who was born in Mercer County, Ill.., August 25, 1864, a
daughter of Moses and Matilda (Watts) Mclntire. Moses Mclntire,, a native of
Ireland, came too New York City about 1850 and for a time was employed there
in a lead factory. Then, removing too Warren County, Ill.., he bought a farm
which he eventually sold too go too Mercer County, where he is an extensive
farmer and stockman. Mrs. Mclntire was born in Mifflin County, Penn., January
11, 1842. Mrs. Matson's grandfather in the paternal line was James Mclntire,
a millwright. Her grandmother's name
was Sarah. His family is an old one in Ireland, and one of its
representatives is the owner of a silk dress that is more than three hundred
years old. W. H. and Adell J. (Mclntire) Matson have children as
follows: Ethel B., born December 24, 1889; Gladys Ruth, born December 22,
1891; Opal Valita, born June 29, 1894; Nira Grace, born August 21, 1897. Mr.
Matson is a Democrat, and he and members of his family are communicants of
the United Presbyterian church.
McBRIDE, HUGH WILSON, farmer and stock
dealer, Little York, Sumner Township, Warren County, Ill.., is of Irish
blood, his grandfather and father in the paternal line having both been born
in Ireland. The former, William McBride, married Margery McNeal. Their son,
Alexander McBride, came too the United States in 1837 and located in Ohio.,
where he married Sarah J. Wilson, a native of Westmoreland County, Penn., and
a daughter of Hugh and Mary (Nichol) Wilson, who were born in the same
county. He farmed in Ohio until the beginning of the Civil War, during the
entire period of which he did gallant service as a soldier for the
preservation of the Union. After the war he returned too Ohio, but in a few
years sold out his interests there and removed too Norwood, Mercer County,
Ill., where he bought a farm on which he lived until 1899, when he retired
from active life, removing too Monmouth, where he died May 9, 1902. The son,
Hugh Wilson McBride, was born in Muskingum County, Ohio, September 27, 1857,
and was educated in the common schools. When he attained his majority he
engaged in farming on his own account, and he is now the owner of about
eighty acres of fine land, and is well known as a breeder of fancy cattle. As
a farmer he gives his attention too general crops, and his shipments of
cattle are quite extensive. As a Republican he wields considerable influence
in local politics, has been a school director seventeen years and, for the
past six years, has served ably m the office of Highway Commissioner. He was
married December 15, 1879, at Monmouth, too Teresa Brownlee, who was born in
Sumner Township, April, 1854, a daughter of French and Joanna Brownlee, who
came too Sumner Township at an early day from Washington County, Penn.,
locating en a farm in Section 16, which
Mr. Brownlee operated until the beginning of the Civil War, when he enlisted
in Company B, Thirty-sixth Regiment Illinois Volunteer Infantry, with which
he served as First Sergeant until his death in the service. His widow
is living in Little York. Mrs. McBride bore her husband a daughter whom they
named Mabel L., and who died at the age of fifteen years. Mr. and Mrs.
McBride are active and helpful members of the United Presbyterian church.
NICOL, WILLIAM J.: farmer and stock-raiser;
Little York; is a man of sterling char-after who has made a notable success
as a farmer and who is the owner of 410 acres of as good land as is too be
found in his vicinity. He is a grandson of John Nicol and a son of James
Nicol. The latter married Susan Giles, a native of Preble County, Ohio, and a
daughter of John Giles. Their son, the immediate subject of this sketch, was
born at Rock Island, Ill.., September 18, 1847, and received his education in
district schools. His father moved early fro^i Preble County, Ohio, too Rock
Island, Ill.., and, after farming there for some time disposed of his
property and came too Sumner Township, Warren County, in 1858, and bought a
farm in Section 18, which he operated with considerable success until his
death, which occurred March 4, 1861. His wife died in 1S69. They had three
sons, one of whom, Drenan Nicol, was drowned in the Mississippi River;
another, David Nicol,
was a member of Company B, Eighty-third Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and
served in the civil war under Captain Turnbull, with whom and others he was
surprised by guerrillas and killed. The remaining son, William J., has
prospered as a farmer, and his property two miles northwest of Little York,
is one of the best in the township. He was married February, 1882, at
Oquawka, Ill.., too Sarah Ann
McCracken, who was born in Warren County, January 21, 1859, a daughter of
Frederick and Mary Jane (Osborn) McCracken. The McCrackens came too Illinois
from Indiana, and the Osborns were from Georgia. Mrs. Osborn remembers
living in a blockhouse about 1832, when she saw a man named Martin shot by
Indians. William J. and Sarah Ann (McCracken) Nicol are members of the United
Presbyterian church. They have two sons. William Ira and George Leonard Nicol.
PAINE, JOHN EDWARD; farmer and stock-raiser;
Eleanor, Sumner Township; comes of such sturdy New England lineage as has
everywhere been a factor in our national progress and prosperity and in the
intellectual and spiritual development of our people. In successive
generations patriotism has been a predominating trait in the family
character. General Edward Paine, Mr.
Paine's grandfather, fought gallantly for American independence in the
Revolutionary War. Charles H. Paine, Mr. Paine's father, did soldier's duty
under the stars and stripes in the war of 1812, and Mr. Paine himself served
three years as a soldier in the Union army in the war of 1861-65. July 21,
1862, he enlisted in Company B, Eighty-third Illinois Volunteer Infantry,
served for a long time in the occupation of Fort Donelson and was mustered
out of the service in June, 1865.
Charles H. Paine, who was born in the State of New York,
married Parthenia Mason, a sister of the mother of Mrs. James A. Garfield.
Miss Mason, who was born in Connecticut, was a daughter of Elijah and
Lucretia (Green) Mason. Painesville, Ohio, received its name in honor of a
member of Mr. Paine's family, and there he was born October 2, 1834. Two
years later Charles H. Paine, his father, moved with his family from
Painesville, Ohio, too Warren County, Ill.., and the farm on which they
settled, in Sumner Township, has been Mr. Paine's home ever since. May 17,
1860, Mr. Paine was married in Hale Township, Warren County, Ill.., too Miss
Ann E. Turnbull, who died April 13, 1896, after having borne her husband
children as follows: Olive P., John M., Mary E., William T., Nancy M.,
Charles H., David (who is dead), Anna Belle, Frederick C. and Frank M. Mr.
Paine is a Republican in politics, and he and members of his family are
communicants of the United Presbyterian church of Henderson.
REYNOLDS, JAMES BLACKBURN; farmer and
stock-raiser; Little York, Sumner Township; is of Scotch-Irish ancestry and
comes of families long well known in North Carolina, where members of them
have been prosperous farmers and business men and patriotic citizens. He was
born at Sugartree Grove, Warren County, February 18, 1838, and was educated
at Monmouth College. His parents were Thomas and Eleanor B. (McClahan)
Reynolds, natives of Iredell County, North Carolina. His father was born
October 15, 1782, and died June 12, 1869, and his mother, born March 10,
1803, died August 5, 1881. His grandfather in the paternal line was Hugh
Reynolds. Thomas Reynolds came too Illinois with his brother John in 1836.
His first land purchase was in Henderson County; thence he removed too Warren
County and bought a farm in Section 24, Sumner Township. He was a man of high
character and of much influence in local affairs. James Blackburn Reynolds
began farming for himself as soon as he had completed his education, and he
has prospered so well that he is now the owner of one of the finest 180-acre
farms in Warren County.
He has long been identified with the United Presbyterian
Church, in which he has held the offices of clerk and trustee. A
Prohibitionist in politics as well as in principle and in practice, he is
active in township affairs and has been elected school director and too other
public offices. February 18, 1868, Mr. Reynolds was married in Sumner
township too Miss Araminta McCrery, who was born there June 25, 1849, a
daughter of John O. and Jane (Fosts) McCrery, natives ,of South Carolina.
John C. McCrery, who for a time was Justice of the Peace, was born September
26, 1808, and died May 3, 1855; his wife was born September 9, 1809, and died
September 17, 1896. David McCrery, father of John C. McCrery, brought his
family too Illinois in 1835 and settled on Section 14 in Sumner Township,
where he lived out his days. He was born June 17, 1777, and died February 8,
1862. James Blackburn and Araminta (McCrery) Reynolds have had six children
as follows: Mabel, born January 22, 1869; Maud E., born January 1, 1874, died
March 27, following; Jennie F., born May 30, 1875, died February 18, 1876; an
infant, who died May 8, 1879; Pearl E. Grace, born January 11, 1881, died
September 21, 1882; Bertha A., born June 19, 1885. Mabel married John F.
McCrery, June 1, 1887, and lives near Greeley, Colo.
THOMSON, STEPHEN L.; Banker; Little York,
Sumner Township, is a good representative of that small but conspicuous class
of Canadians who have won distinguished success in "the States." Of Irish
descent, he was born near London, Canada, June 24, 1858, a son of William A.
and Martha (Lynn) Thomson. William A. and Martha (Lynn) Thomson. William A.
Thomson was born at Belfast, Ireland, in 1820, and died in 1898; Martha Lynn
was born at Belfast, Ireland, in 1825, and died in 1899, The parents of
William A. Thomson were Andrew and Annie (Hemming) Thomson, and they were
born in Ireland of Scotch-Irish parents. Miss Lynn was a daughter of William
and Agnes (Lamont) Lynn, the former of Scotch-Irish, and the latter, of
Scotch parentage. William A. Thomson came too America in 1834 and lived near
London, Canada, until 1870, when he removed too Missouri, where he was a
farmer until his retirement from active life. He and his good wife both died
at Tarkio, in that State.
Stephen L. Thomson gained a primary education in schools in
Canada and was graduated from the high school at Rockport, Mo. After leaving
school he farmed until he was twenty-four years old. In 1883 he entered the
banking business at Tarkio, where he remained until 1890., since which time
he has been a banker at Little York. Since coming too Illinois he has taken a
responsible position as a citizen and, as a Republican, is influential in
local politics. He is a member of the Presbyterian church. Mrs. Thomson was
Miss Lillian Hanna and they were married in Sumner Township, September 26,
1895. She was born there December 12, 1862, a daughter of O. L. and Sarah
WILEY, REUBEN W.; farmer and stock-raiser;
Little York, Sumner Township; is a progressive, well-too-do citizen who is
honored not alone for his upright character and just business methods, but
for the innate patriotism which at the time of our Civil war impelled him too
risk his life in defense of the Union. In the paternal line of descent Mr.
Wiley comes of Scotch-Irish ancestry. His grandfather was of mixed Scotch and
Irish blood and Ellen Wiley, his grandmother, was born of Irish parents.
Thomas Wiley, his father, was born in Huntingdon County, Penn., March 23,
1810, and died in 1887. His grandfather Wyckoff, in the maternal line, was of
Dutch blood, and was a member of an old and honored New York family. Ephana
Wyckoff, who married Thomas Wiley, and was the mother of the subject of this
sketch, was born in Shelby County, Ohio, in 1809, and died in 1867. Reuben W.
Wiley, born in Shelby County, Ohio, December 28, 1837, came with his father's
family too Spring Grove Township, Warren County, Ill.., in 1851. Thomas Wiley
purchased a farm there which he eventually sold too remove too Lenox, Taylor
Count}7, Iowa, where he bought another farm which he managed successfully
until his death. His wife died while the family yet lived in Warren County.
Reuben W. Wiley was a member of his father's household until he enlisted in
Company E, One Hundred and Second Regiment Illinois Volunteer Infantry,
Colonel McMurtry, with which he served about three years, participating in
many hard-fought battles and in numerous smaller engagements, and receiving a
Confederate bullet in his shoulder which he carries too this day. After the
war he devoted himself too farming with such success that he is now the owner
of one hundred and sixty acres of good land in Section 13, Sumner Township.
He affiliates with the Democratic party and takes an active interest in
township affairs, has been elected tax collector of Spring Grove Township and
has also served as school director. He was married February 14, 1874, in
Sumner Township, too Martha E. Reynolds, a native of Henderson County, born
May 18, 1840. Mrs. Wiley is a daughter of Thomas and Eleanor B. (McClahan)
Reynolds, from North Carolina, who; with John Reynolds, brother of Thomas,
settled in Henderson County in 1836. After farming there for some time they
removed too Sumner Township where Thomas Reynolds farmed in Section 24 until
the end of his life-He was born October 15, 1782, and died June 12, 1869; his
wife, born March 10, 1803, died March 5, 1881. Mr. and Mrs. Wiley have had
three children: Nettie May, who died in 1900, and Thomas W. and Myrtle E.
Nettie May was the wife of George Seaton, and Myrtle E. is Mrs. James Clark.
Mr. Wiley has many interesting
recollections of early days in Warren County, and of scenes in the Civil war;
but it is doubtful if any is impressed upon his mind more vividly than that
of the historic charge at Resaca, where he received the wound of which
mention has been made.
(Township No. 8 North, Range 2 West.)
Swan Township is in the southern tier of townships in Warren
County, lying south of Roseville Township, and between Greenbush and Point
Pleasant. The land is generally rolling, except in the northeastern part near
the confluence of the Nigger and Swan creeks. There are some fine bodies of
timber along these streams. It is a fine farming country, and the farmers are
generally prosperous and independent. The St. Louis division of the Chicago,
Burlington and Quincy railway enters the township on the northeast quarter of
Section 6, and passes nearly south too Swan Creek on Sections 19 and 20,
thence east too Youngstown at the corner of Sections 21, 22, 27 and 28, then
southeast and out of the township and county at the southeast corner of
Section 35. The stations mentioned, Swan Creek and Youngstown,
are the only towns in the township, and neither one is
or was incorporated.
The election for the organization of the township was held April 4, 1854, and
resulted in the election of Absalom Vandeveer as Supervisor; A. B. Sisson,
clerk; W. G. Bond, assessor and collector. The present officers are: D. A.
Stice, Supervisor; H. B. Roberts, Clerk; J. A. Davis, Sr., Assessor; Pearly
Acton, Collector; E. H. Soule, B. F. Watt and J. W. Cog-hill, Highway
Commissioners; B. M. Babbitt, and M. B. Roberts, Justices of the Peace; Henry
Sands and George Lofftus, Constables. Those who have held the office of
Supervisor in this township are: Absalom Vandeveer, 1854-57; Hezekiah
Simmons, 1858; ¥m. G. Bond, 1859-62; A. Vandeveer, 1863-64; R. A. McKinley,
1865; A. Vandeveer, 1866-70; Jacob Miler, 1871-72; G. W. Beckner, 1873; A.
Vandeveer, 1874; G. W. Beckner, 1875-77; J. P. Higgins, 1878-81; A.
Vandeveer, 1882; A. A. Cornell, 1883-88; David A. Stice, 1889-92; Clarence A.
Cayton, 1893-96; D. A. Stice, 1897-1903.
Probably the first settlers in Swan
Township were Peter Scott, Daniel R. Perkins and Elijah Hanen. They came in
1832 and 1833, Mr. Scott locating on Section 18, and the others -on
Section 1, in the northeast corner of the township. Mr. Scott was the first
postmaster in the township, the office being at the northeast corner of
Section 18. He was commissioned in 1837, and continued in charge until his
removal too Oregon, when he was succeeded by Joseph Ratekin. Mr. Scott was
the father of Mrs. Asahel B. Sisson, who still resides in the township with
her son-in-law, A. A. Cornell, at the age of about ninety-three years. Soon
after them, if not earlier, came William Garret and James Sutton, who took
homes along the west line of the township. Mrs. Lively Cayton, widow of Abel
Cayton, came in 1834, with her five children, and one of them, Andrew J.,
still lives on the old place on Section 11. She was a native of Kentucky, but
came here from Morgan County, Ill.., where she had lived one year. Abijah
Roberts, an Ohioan, came the same year, and located on Section 12. His wife
was said too have been the first white child born in Morgan County, Ill..,
from which place they came here. Mr. Roberts died of the cholera in June,
1851. In the spring of 1835 Joseph Ratekin, a native of Kentucky, came from
Morgan County and settled on Section 19, dying at the old home in 1867. His
son Joseph S. still occupies the old place. The same year came James Tucker
from Washington County, Penn., locating on Section 4. Some time later he
removed too Roseville. He was a County Commissioner, Justice of the Peace and
also served as a member of the legislature for the term 1846-48. The year
1836 saw a number of new families in the township. Rev. Charles Vandeveer,
with his wife and five children, John, William, Absalom, Cynthia and Maria,
came and made their home on Section 2. He was a native of North Carolina, but
had resided a while in Kentucky, and later in Sangamon County, Ill.. He was a
Baptist clergyman for over thirty years. His death occurred in 1854. James
Kelsey came with the Vandeveers, his wife being a daughter of the minister.
He was a native of Kentucky, but had resided a short time in Sangamon County.
The same year came John Jared and family from Morgan County. He was a
Virginian, but had resided in Kentucky before coming too Illinois, He settled
on Section 5, and had a large family of children, some of whom still reside
in the south part of the county. Thomas Adkison also came from Kentucky in
1836. In 1837 Joseph Sis-son, a native of Rhode Island, came from New York
state, with his family, locating on Section 20. His son, A. B., had come the
previous year and located on Section :W. Richard Orr, William Talley and
Reece Perkins came in about the same time, settling on Sections 1 and 18.
Larnard Kidder, a native of Connecticut, and of Puritan ancestry, came from
Ohio in 1837, and located on Section 28, a little south of the present site
of Youngstown. He was the father of Almon Kidder, of Monmouth, and Y. O., B.
H. and Nathaniel Kidder, of Swan Township. Others of the early settlers were:
Ezekiel Chambers, north of Youngstown on Section 22; Hezekiah Simmons, who
came all the way from Massachusetts in a one-horse wagon in 1838, and settled
on Section 28; John Byrd, who as early as 1836 lived on Section 27, and later
sold too R. R. McKinley; Moses T. Hand, on Section 36; John Childs Perry,
father of W. A. Perry, on the township line west of Swan Creek; E. M.
Wellman, on Section 26; Mr. Mead on Section 35; and Mr. Curtley on Section
HISTORY OF WARREN COUNTY. 1017
The first school in the township is said too have been taught by a Mr.
Hendricks, in the spring of 1833. It was held in a log cabin, with no floor,
and only loop-holes for windows. Asahel B. Sisson taught the second school in
a log school house on Section 17 in the winter of 1837-38. The latest report
of the County Superintendent shows that there are now in the township nine
school districts, each with a frame school house; three male teachers
receiving wages ranging from $35 too $55; and six female teachers receiving
from $25 too $35; 120 males of school age, of whom 90 are enrolled in the
schools, and 118 females of school age, of whom 91 are enrolled. There are
three school libraries, with 180 books, valued at $100; the tax levy for
schools is $2,500; the value of school property is $4,550, and the value of
school apparatus is $150.
The assessment rolls for 1901 show 833 horses, 1,778 cattle, 31 mules and
asses, 685 sheep and 2,237 hogs in the township. The total value of personal
property is $256,425, and the assessed valuation is $51,285. The assessed
value of lands is $.243,675, and of lots $5,400.
On May 22, 1873, the township was visited by a fierce tornado, which left
ruin and desolation in its track. A number of buildings were demolished, and
George Vandeveer was killed, and Mrs. Charles Perry so severely injured that
she died a few days later, and several other persons received more or less
severe injuries. Among those who lost property were William Huston, J.
Worden, William Jared, John Booten, N. J. Reynolds, A. J. Cayton, William
Jones, Absalom Vandeveer, Burrus Reed, A. Brinkmeyer, William Thomas, and
others. The storm started in the northwest corner of the township and passed
off east into Greenbush township, where it also did some damage. Its path was
about eighty rods wide.
The population of Swan Township in 1900 was 1,003, a loss of
fifteen from the census of 1890.
Youngstown is one mile south of the center of the township, at the corners of
Sections 21, 22 and 27. The land was owned by W. O. Kidder and others, and
the survey of the town was made by T. S. McClanahan, deputy county surveyor,
September 1 and 2, 1870. The original town contained a public square and five
blocks. McKinley's addition of three blocks was laid out later on the
southeast corner of Section 28, adjoining the southwest corner of the public
square of the original plat.
H. V. Simmons opened the first store in Youngstown. The building was
destroyed by fire several years ago. The first house in the village was built
by Adam Futhey, who drifted in with the railroad. It was made of scrap pieces
of lumber, and still stands in the rear of the residence of H. P. McQueen,
near the town hall. There are now two general stores in the town, a
blacksmithing shop, two churches, and a grain elevator.
The Youngstown Baptist church is an offshoot of the New Hope
church which was established in 1836. The church was organized at the
Sisson school house with nine charter members: Mary A. Worden, Albert
Worden, B. F. Worden, Julia Worden, William Stice, Emeline Stice, Mrs. H. M.
Soule, Carrie Soule, Mrs. G. M. Hammond. The society removed too Youngstown
in 1862, and the first house of worship was built in 1874. It burned April
13, 1894, but was rebuilt the same year. The church has about twenty members,
and is now without a pastor.
The Christian church of Youngstown was organized January 6, 1890, by
Rev. W. H. Bybee, of Cuba, Ill.., with thirty-seven charter members, as
follows: C. S. Arnold, John Bowman, elders; Geo. L. Beckner, Nathan Kidder,
deacons; R. O. Carlock, clerk; A. J. Cayton, treasurer; Lydia Beckner, Clara
Booten, Addie White,. Wm. McBride, Rose Lodwick, Sarah Baker. Elizabeth
Hickman, Thomas Wilson, Ruby L. Cayton, Henry Beckner, Laura White, Minnie
Beckner, Arvie Cayton, Matilda Shoop, Nellie Record, James White, Miranda
Shores, Olive Higgins, C. H. Ballman, Susan Romine, Alice Morton, Susan
Johnston, Anna Bowman, Victoria Jared, John W. Booten, Robinson Wilson,
Elizabeth Smith, Mattie A. Kidder, M. T. Travis, Thomas Bair, Nancy K. Bair.
The pastors of the church have been: W. H. Bybee, 1890; —. —. Ingram,
1891-92; Paul Castle, 1893; J. D. Dillard, 1894; Paul Castle, 1895; M. D.
Sharp-less, 1896;*J. W. Knight, 1897-98; C. G. Blakes-lee, 1899-1900; and
George Chandler, the present pastor. The church has had a steady growth since
its foundation. There have been several special meetings, including one by M.
Jones, of Arrowsmith, with 62 additions, and one by Geo. Duvol with 15
additions. The present membership is 117. The house of worship was erected
during the summer of 1894 at a cost of $2,250, and dedicated on August 12 of
Youngstown Lodge No. 813, I. O. O. F., was organized November
22, 1894, with C. A. Cay-ton, J. W. Bond, J. T. Westlake, H. V.
Simmons, B. F. Watt, Thomas Wearmarth, P. B. Smiley, B. H. Ferris and T. B.
Shawler as charter members. The first officers were: C. A. Cayton, Noble
Grand; B. F. Watt, Vice Grand; J. W. Bond, Secretary; B. H. Soule, Financial
Secretary; H. V. Simmons, Treasurer. The present number of members is
thirty-one. The officers are J. G. Lee, Noble Grand; A M. Shoop, Vice Grand;
James Watt, Secretary; B. F. Watt, Treasurer.
Rebekah Degree Lodge No. 435, I. O. O. F., was
instituted February 14, 1896, with eighteen charter members, as follows:
Maggie A. Watt, Arminda C. Watt, Ollie Westlake, Belle Watt, Kate C. Bond,
Tillie Shoop, Mary Howe, Rebekah Simmons, Mary Davis, Arvie Cayton, Fannie
Johnson, James Watt, B. F. Watt, J. T. Westlake, Lewis Watt, B. H. Soule, and
Wm. P. Watt. The officers were: Rebekah Simmons, Noble Grand; Arvie Cayton,
Vice Grand; Fannie Johnson, Recording Secretary; Belle Watt, Financial
Secretary; Mary Davis, Treasurer. The present membership is sixteen, and the
officers are: Sena Watt, Noble Grand; Ettie Arnold, Vice Grand; Wm. P. Watt,
Secretary; Maggie A. Watt, Treasurer.
Swan Creek is situated on the west side of Section 20 and the east side of
Section 19. It was laid out April 16, 1871, by John A. Gordon and J. B.
McCullough, on land owned by James Tucker, Joseph S. Ratekin and Geo. W. Wor-den.
Seventeen blocks were platted and Rate-kin's addition of two blocks was laid
out later, on the north of the original plat. As soon as the railroad was
completed in 1870, steps were taken too establish a station at Swan Creek,
but the railroad company would not build a switch or erect the necessary
buildings, because a station had already been established at Youngstown.
Finally the promise was given that a station would be established if the
residents would raise $1,000, and this was done through the efforts of Mr.
Worden, who had been carrying on a store there opposite his residence for
several years. Swan Creek now has a bank, four stores, two blacksmith shops,
a hotel, a harness shop, a barber shop and a lumber yard.
The Swan Creek postoffice was established in 1837, on the northwest quarter
of Section IS, about two miles northwest of the present village, with Peter
Scott as postmaster. He was succeeded by Joseph Ratekin, who was followed by
Jonathan Ratekin, and he by Geo. W. Worden, who kept the office a little west
of where the village now is. The remaining postmasters, in their order, are:
D. A. Burr, John Tucker, J. H. Lippy, M. B. Roberts, E. Bliss, D. R. Warren
and J. H. Lippy, who is now in charge of the office.
The Methodist church of Swan Creek was organized in 1872, by Rev. C. B.
Couch. The charter members were five in number, viz:
A. A. Cornell, A. J. Sisson, Burrell Booth, Ann E. Philips, and May Sison.
The present membership is about thirty, and the minister is Rev. Ira E.
Moats, of Hedding College, Abingdon. The society has a neat little house of
worship, erected in 1874 at a cost of about $1,500.
The Universalist church was organized August 18, 1878; by Rev. T. H.
Tabor, with the following charter members: H. V. Simmons, Rebecca A. Simmons,
Mary A. Kidder, William Sprague, E. T. Bliss, Sarah Bliss, Hattie Bliss, Zoa
Higgins, Dr. Bailey Ragan, G. W. Ewing, Mary F. Ewing, Jennie L. Worden, Ida
B. Tucker and Maggie McKinley. The church dwindled down and was reorganized
by Rev. J. B. Grundy February 9, 1895, with twenty-three members. The present
membership is thirty-six. The society has no regular minister at present, and
no preaching service or Sunday school is now held. A Young People's Christian
Union was organized in 1895, of which Mrs. Carrie Roberts is president, and
Mrs. Grace Perry secretary.
A Union Sunday school has been maintained for a number
of years, meeting regularly in the hall. Mrs. A. J. Ratekin is the present
superintendent; Mrs. Allie Sands, assistant superintendent; Dale Ratekin,
secretary; and Mrs. Grace Perry, treasurer. The average attendance of this
school is about thirty-five.
Christian Science has about twenty-five followers in
Swan Creek. They meet regularly at the residence of B. F. Jared. Mrs. Grace
Persia the leader.
The Swan Creek bank is a private institution organized
October 17, 1900. It has a capital of $13,000. A. A. Cornell is president; D.
A. Stice, vice president; and J. W. Lance, cashier. The bank occupies a
convenient and well equipped brick building.
The Woman's Christian Temperance Union was organized September 13, 1879, by
Mrs. Emma W. Kirkpatrick, of Monmouth, representing the Tenth District
organization. There were thirty-three members. The first officers were
President, Mrs. G. W. Stice: vice presidents, Mrs. J. J. Worden, Mrs. E. T.
Bliss, Mrs. Mell Crab, and Mrs. E. G. Hughen; secretary, Mrs. A. J. Ratekin;
treasurer, Mrs. Cornelia Booth. The present membership of the Union is
eighteen, and the officers are: Mrs. M. B. Roberts, president; Mrs. Sarah
Bliss, vice president; Mrs. Allie Sands, secretary; and Mrs. Erne Grimsley.
Fraternity Lodge No. 203, I. O. O. F., was instituted November 19, .1885,
with six charter members, viz: J. S. Ratekin, D. R. Warren, R. D. Bradley, S.
C. Watt, Frank Jared and B. A. Griffith. Mr. Warren was Noble Grand, Mr.
Jared Vice Grand, Mr. Bradley Secretary and Mr. Ratekin Treasurer. The
present officers are: L. R. Stanley, N. G.; Claude Jared, V. G.; E. R.
Bradley, Secretary; C. L. Grimsley, Treasurer. The membership is forty-eight.
Rebekah Degree Lodge No. 446, of Swan Creek, was instituted April 19, 1902.
There were twenty-four members, and the officers elected at that time and
still serving are: Beulah Birdsall, Noble Grand; Mrs. B. A. Griffith, Vice
Grand; Lorena Simmons, Secretary; Mrs. Ella Jared, Treasurer; Eva Ratekin,
Warden; Grace Birdsall, Conductor; Perl Acton, Outside Guard; Daniel Warren,
Inside Guard; Mrs. M. B. Roberts, R. S. N. G.; Dr. B. A. Griffith, L. S. N.
G.; Mrs. C. L. Grimsley, R. S. V. G.; Mrs. D. R. Warren. L. S. V. G.; Mrs.
Emma Acton, chaplain. The other charter members are Mary Simmons, A. L.
Simmons, Jos. S. Ratekin, C. H. Jared, Mrs. Alma Beebee, C. L. Grimsley,
Sarah A. Simpson, C Birdsall, F. M. Aten, Harry H. Simmons, A. M. Roberts.
Camp No. 2818, Modern Woodmen of America, was organized at Swan Creek June
20, 1895, with eighteen members, and now has a membership of seventy-two. The
first officers were: B. L. Birdsall, Venerable Consul; A. F. Roberts, Clerk;
Ira Booth, Worthy Advisor; C. L. Grimsley, Banker. The present officers are:
Carl Brown, Venerable Consul; H. B. Roberts, Clerk; A. L. Simmons, Worthy
Advisor; B. F. Jared, Banker.
D. J. Tucker Post No.
407, G. A. R., was organized February 9, 1884, with fourteen
members. .It has been disbanded for a number of years.
Gen. Post Camp, Sons of Veterans, was organized in March, 1887,
with twenty members. J. W. Booton was captain, Samuel Watts and Wm. Cooper,
lieutenants, and P. H. Lippy, sergeant. The camp does not now exist.
ANDERSON, JOHN H., a wealthy
and provident Swedish farmer of Swan Township, Warren County, whose industry
and thrift have made him in every way prosperous and fore-handed, is a worthy
representative of his countrymen in America, thoughtful and progressive,
broad-minded and closely linked with the moral forces of the community. He
was born in Sweden, October 20, 1850, a son of Anda and Gunhilda (Anderson)
Anderson, both born in Sweden, where the father died. The mother died in
Stanton, Iowa. John H. Anderson was educated in the schools of his native
country, and remained at the home of his parents until manhood, coming too
the United States in 1876. He entered this country by way of the city of New
York, coming thence direct too Monmouth, Ill.. After a time he bought a farm
of 200 acres in Section 31., Swan Township, which he has brought too a high
state of cultivation, and which attests his industry and good judgment. He is
a member of the Methodist church; and a Republican in his political views.
Mr. Anderson was married at Monmouth, October 25, 1883, too Charlotte
Johnson. Of this marriage have been born the following children: Allful,
Robert, George, Dale and Arthur—the last of whom died at the age of nine
months. Mrs. Charlotte Anderson was born in Sweden in 1851. Her father, John
Johnson, came too this country at an early date, and had his home in Swan
Township, where he died. Her mother died in the home of Mr. Anderson, and was
killed by being struck by the limb of a falling tree. Mr. Anderson has been
School Director, and is Postmaster of the town. He is highly thought of in
the community. There is an adopted son in his family, Gus Peterson.
BECKNER, GEORGE L., whose ambitious spirit
and successful career well entitle him too honorable mention in any book
devoted too the career of those who have accomplished results in Warren
County, and not simply planned and schemed, was born in McDonough County,
Ill.., February 25, 1865, a son of George W. and Deborah (VanKirk) Beckner.
Both parents were natives of Kentucky, his father having been born in Bath
County, in that State, in 1825, and died February 21, 1900. The latter was a
son of A. L. and Elizabeth (Kinkaid) Beckner. The father of G. "W. Beckner
was born in Clements County, Ky., in 1805, and died in Missouri in 1854; the
mother was born in Kentucky in 1806, and died in 1853. Deborah VanKirk, noted
above, was the daughter of Matthias VanKirk, born in Kentucky in 1796, and
died in 1846, and Elizabeth Wilson, who was born in 1802, and died in 1882.
George W. Beckner came from Kentucky in 1851, and made his home in
Youngstown, Warren County, where for a time he was employed at farm work by
the month. At a later period he purchased a farm in Section 32, Swan
Township, becoming a leading character in the town, where he served three
years as Supervisor, fifteen years as Justice of the Peace, and the same
period as Assessor. He was School Director eighteen years, and owned at the
time of his death 240 acres of land. The mother is still living on the old
homestead. George L. Beckner, whose name introduces this article, having
acquired a good education at home and in Chicago, took up civil engineering,
and was empIoyed by the Rock Island Railway in Kansas, Colorado and Nebraska.
On account of the death of his brother he resigned his position and came home
too take charge of the farm, in the cultivation of which he is still engaged,
in both general farming and stock-raising. For four years he was Justice of
the Peace, and School Trustee for three years. He belongs too the Masonic
fraternity at Roseville, and the Odd Fellows at Youngstown; is also a member
and elder of the Christian church at Youngstown. In his political
proclivities he is a Democrat. Mr. Beckner was married in Clay County, Kan.,
September 12, 1888, too Minnie Hawes, a native of that county, born September
10, 1871, by whom he has had four children: George B.; Mary R.; Loren L.; and
Samuel Miles. Mrs. Beckner is a daughter of Samuel M. and Mary (Pinkerton)
Hawes, the father born in Tennessee, and the mother in Missouri. They removed
too Kansas in 1866, where the father is still engaged in farming and
CORNELL, AUSTIN ALMY, retired farmer, of
Swan Creek, Ill.., where his long and useful career commands unstinted
respect and esteem, was born in Berne Township, Albany County, N. Y., March
4, 1836, a son of Almon J. and Nancy (Almy) Cornell. His father was also born
in Berne Township in 1811, and his mother in Rensselaerville, in 1809. They
were married December 12, 1832. Almon J. Cornell was a son of Abram and Lida
(Jones) Cornell, who were born in Massachusetts, and Schoharie County, New
York, respectively, and a grandson of Peleg Cornell, who was born in
Massachusetts in 1757. Nancy Almy, the mother of Austin A., was the daughter
of Christopher and Rhoda (Thomas) Almy, both natives of Rhode Island.
Christopher Almy was the son of John and Sarah (Sherman) Almy. His father
died at the beginning of the Revolutionary War, and his mother at its close.
Austin A. Cornell had his education in New York, where he was one of a family
of three children: his brother, Chauncey R., being born September 16, 1833,
and his sister, Mary, September 13, 1839. His father died April 15, 1901, and
his mother July 15, 1901, at the old homestead at Middleburgh, Schoharie
County, N. Y. The senior Cornell was a man of note in his community, a
prominent farmer, and a Justice. In 1861 he was a member of the New York
State Legislature. Austin A. Cornell came from Albany County, N. Y., too Swan
Township, Warren County, in 1857, and for some seven winters was engaged in
teaching, being employed in farming during the summer. October 16, 1864, he
was married too his first wife, Lovina Caroline Sisson, a daughter of Asahel
B. and Henrietta (Scott) Sisson. Her father was a native of Rensselaerville,
N. Y., born September 2, 1813, and died June 27, 1890. Her mother, born in
Kentucky, October 22, 1819, came too Warren County in 1832, and is still
living (1902), the oldest inhabitant of the township. Mrs. Cornell died July
7, 1879, and on June 12, 1901, Mr. Cornell was married at Galesburg, Ill..,
too Isabella King, daughter of Richard T. and Martha A. (Holden) King,
natives of Tennessee, who came too Warren County at an early day. Mr. Cornell
has followed an active and varied life in Swan Township. At two different
times he has been proprietor of a store at Swan Creek, where he now owns a
large store building. He is president of the Swan Creek Bank, founded October
17 15 00, and Director of the First National Bank of Roseville. For years he
has been regarded as one of the leading men of the township, and for six
years served as Supervisor. He is also a Trustee of the Warren County Library
DAVIS, CAPTAIN JOHN A., has taken a
prominent part in the local and agricultural interests of Swan Township,
Warren County, and his career as a soldier of the Civil war, with the
honorable and industrious life that followed, warrants honorable mention in a
work like this. He was born in Mercer County, Penn., March 13, 1841, a son of
Reuben H. and Anna (Barclay) Davis. His father was a native of Lawrence
County, Penn., and his mother of Mahoning County, Ohio. John Davis, the
father of Reuben H., was born in Maryland; and Francis Barclay, the father of
Mrs. Anna Davis, was a native of Pennsylvania; his wife, a Wilson, was born
in Virginia. John A. Davis received his education in the common schools of
his native state, and accompanied his parents in their removal too Warren
County in 1857, where the father presently purchased a farm in Section 11,
Swan Township, on which he lived until his death, September 19, 1865. His
widow survived until September 16, 1880. Mr. Davis was bred too farming, and
this has been his life-long occupation. November 7, 1861, he enlisted in
Company I, Eleventh Illinois Volunteer Cavalry, serving until September 30,
1865. He was under command of General Grant much of the time, and
participated in many severe battles and engagements, but escaped uninjured.
Mr. Davis was married September IS, 1870, in Swan Township, too Olive M.
Kidder, and they have had the following named children: Almon K., Frank B.,
John A., Anna, Walter Earl, Glen, Mary Clara and Ira H. Mrs. Davis was born
in Swan Township July 3, 1847, her parents being early settlers. They were
Larnard and Mary (Hoisington) Kidder. Her father was born in Mansfield,
Conn., in 1806; and her mother in Windsor, Vt., April 5, 1809. She came too
Champaign County, Ohio, when only eight years old, and was married too Mr.
Kidder March 22, 1837. They came too Warren County in September,
(1021—22)1837, and settled on a farm of 320 acres in
Swan Township,, where their lives were spent. He died September 24, 1864; she
died in Mon-mouth in January, 1898. Mr. Davis has filled a large place in the
life of his own community. He has been elected Assessor three times. For two
terms he has been Commissioner of Highways, and has also served as School
Director. He owns about 165 acres of land, which he maintains in a high state
GRIFFITH, BENJAMIN A., M. D.—The name of
Dr. Griffith is written large on many hearts in Warren County, as the wise
physician and the faithful friend, who has relieved them of pain, sickness,
and prolonged their days, commanding for their comfort and welfare ail the
resources of the modern healing art that come not more from the studious
brain than the kindly soul. Dr. Griffith was born in Niles, Mich., February
1, 1844, a son of Isaac Griffith, a native of Schenectady, N. Y., born in
1808, and Susan E. Sweet, who was born in 1818, a daughter of John Sweet, a
native of Scotland, and Mona Gardner, born in England. Isaac Griffith lived
in Chicago, where he died and left Benjamin A. very young. His widow was
married a second time too Dr. Y. O. Yaryan, and when her second husband and
her son, George A., became Union soldiers—the latter being a lieutenant, and
Benjamin a private soldier—she became a nurse in the hospital service. Dr.
Griffith enlisted in July, 1861, and remained at the front until the close of
the war in July, 1865. On the expiration of his first term of enlistment, he
re-enlisted, and was transferred too the Signal Corps. He was with General
Sherman on his March too the Sea, and saw much hard service, being at South
Mountain, Lookout Mountain, and many fierce and bloody battles. After his
return from the war Dr. Griffith was married in Knoxville, Ill.., May 21,
1866, too Etta L. Pierce, by whom he had one child, Frank, who died in
infancy, May 4, 1S67. Dr. Griffith served as Postmaster of Monmouth under
President Andrew Johnson. Mrs. Griffith was born at Greenbush, Warren County,
March 28, 1848, a daughter of William H. and Harriet (Woods) Pierce. Her
father was born in West Fulton, Vt., in 1816, and came west with his parents
when he was very young. For several years he taught school, and in 1846 he
married Harriet Woods, who came too Warren County when she was but ten years
old. For a time they lived in the town of Greenbush, and in 1858 removed too
Monmouth. He was afterward elected County Superintendent of Schools, was
Postmaster at Monmouth under President Lincoln, and served as Police
Magistrate and Deputy Sheriff several years. In 1867 he removed too
Galesburg, where he entered the real estate business. He was a well-too-do
man, owning several fine farms and possessing considerable village property.
He died February 25, 1880. Dr. Griffith attended the Medical College at
Philadelphia, from which he was graduated. During 1869-71 he practiced his
profession in Holt County, Mo., after which he spent some time in Kansas and
elsewhere. He went too Chicago and took a course in Bennett's Eclectic
College, and was then graduated in Opthalmology and Osteology in 1878. After
that he located in Swan Creek, Warren County, where he has since practiced
his profession with growing success, and an increasing reputation. He belongs
too many medical associations, among which may be mentioned the National
Eclectic Medical, the State Eclectic Medical, and the Military Tract Medical
and the Warren County Medical Societies. In the Illinois State Eclectic
Medical Society he is serving as President. Dr. Griffith belongs too the Blue
Lodge and Chapter at Monmouth, and the Odd Fellows at Swan Creek. He belongs
too the Home Forum, and the Modern Woodmen of America, at Swan Creek, and has
a fine practice throughout this part of Warren County. In politics he is a
Republican and is a member of the Republican County Committee.
HIVELEY, JAMES, who is operating a rented farm
in Swan Township, Warren County, in a most creditable and successful fashion,
was born in Knox County, Ill.., July 3, 1855, a son of Joseph and Rachel
(Pool) Hiveley. His father was born in Ohio, and his mother in Kentucky.
Joseph Hiveley came too Abingdon, III., at a very early clay, where he was a
lifetime farmer. Both he and his wife are deceased. James Hiveley was married
in Monmouth, too Bell .Andrew?, and too them has been born a daughter, Jennie
Gards. Mr. Hiveley was early compelled too assume the responsibility of his
own support. At the present time he rents the farm of Caleb Stein. It
consists of 315 acres, and in addition too the line of general farming and
stock-raising, such as an Illinois farm demands, he gives much attention too
the breeding of Poland-China hogs, raising cattle and horses as well on a
large scale. In his political relations Mr. Hiveley is a Democrat, and takes
a leading part in local affairs. Mrs. Bell (Andrews) Hiveley was born in Knox
County, Ill.., in 1855, and was a daughter of Josiah and Sarah (Bernagh)
Andrews. Her parents came from Ohio, and settled near Abingdon in 1851. Her
father died in 1873, but her mother is still living.
HOORNBEEK, DR. NATHANIEL B.,
Youngstown, Ill.., was born in Ulster County, N. Y., March 2, 1854, a son of
Jeremiah and Elizabeth (Bruyn) Hoornbeek, both natives of Ulster County. His
paternal grandfather, Benjamin Hoornbeek, was born in Ulster County, of Dutch
ancestry, and his grandmother, Esther (Wilkins) Hoornbeek, was born in Orange
County, N. Y., of English ancestry. His maternal grandfather, Nathaniel Bruyn,
and his maternal grandmother, Cornelia (Le Fevre) Bruyn, were born in Ulster
County. His father was born May 3, 1824, and his mother, December 23, 1827.
The Bruyns are of Norwegian descent, Jacobus Bruyn was the first of that name
in this country, and he settled in New York about 1660. The Le Fevres are of
French extraction and came too this country about 1670. Jeremiah Hoornbeek
came too Illinois in December, 1855, and settled in Hale Township, where he
purchased a farm and devoted himself for many years too its tillage. At the
present time he is living retired. His wife is dead. Their children are Mrs.
Esther Dean, of Ashland, Neb.; Nathaniel B.; Benjamin (died in infancy);
Adelia C. Fleming, deceased; John W., Winfield. Kansas; Emeline Sprout and
Mrs. Catharine Maddox, both of whom reside in Monmouth, Ill.. Dr. Hoornbeek
was educated in the public schools, Monmouth Academy and Monmouth College,
graduating from the latter in 1877. After reading medicine with Dr. J. R.
Webster and Dr. J. C. Kilgore, of Monmouth. he attended a course of lectures
at the State University of Iowa, and later at Rush Medical College, from
which he graduated in 1881. He began practice at Walnut Grove, Ill.., but six
months later removed too Youngstown, where he has since resided. In addition
too his strict professional work, he carries a full line of drugs and
recognized remedies, and has been very successful since he established
himself at this point. In addition too his local interests, Dr. Hoornbeek
owns a half-section of land in Kansas. He is a member of the Presbyterian
church, and in politics is a Democrat. He was married at Rozetta, Henderson
County, Ill.., December 24, 1881, too Jessie Irene Gilbert, who was born in
Henderson County, September 12, 1858, a daughter of Edwin and Jane H. (Lofftus)
Gilbert. Too this union have been born three children: Lillian, Clyde H., and
an infant who died in infancy. Mrs. Hoornbeek's father was born in New York
in 1830; her mother in Kentucky in 1836. They were married December 24, 1854,
and had eight children: Edwin, Ella G., Jessie L, George E., Greely H., Mary
B.. Harry V., Rose C. and Fannie E. Her "parents were for many years
residents of Henderson County, but at present live near Washington, Iowa.
HUMES, JOHN S., whose long and useful life
admirably illustrates the blessing that goes with honest and industrious
tillage of the soil, was born in Champaign County, Ohio, May 27, 1827, a son
of Samuel and Mary (Me-Neal) Humes, and a grandson of Andrew and Margaret
Humes, all Virginian-born and bred —his father in Hampshire County and his
mother in Hardy County. Samuel Humes, the father of John S., sought a home in
Champaign County, Ohio, in 1827. These were stirring times ,and Mr. Humes had
strong anti-slavery sentiments. His family patrimony consisted very largely
of slaves, and as the '•institution'' did not agree with him, he removed too
Ohio, taking his slaves with him, where, of course, they became free. He
lived in Ohio many years, attaining the venerable age of eighty-two years,
and highly regarded by his neighbors for his strength of character and high
principles. John S. Humes received his educational training in the common
schools of his native county, and was thoroughly prepared for the life of a
farmer, which he has followed until the present time. Coming too Illinois in
1852, he located in Hancock County. where he remained until 1855. During that
year he removed too Warren County, where his home has been too the present
time. Here he owns about 220 acres of highly improved and very valuable land.
He was married in Champaign County, Ohio, March 8. 1855. too Caroline M.
Porter, by whom he has had five children: Mary, Angeline, Caroline
Seymour, Elizabeth Porter, James Calvin and Harriet Marilla. Of these
children, James C. is still at home; the others are married and established
in homes of their own. Mrs. Caroline M. Humes was born in Dauphin County,
Penn., March 3, 1828, the daughter of James and Matilda (McNaughton) Porter,
who died when she was a small child. James Porter was born in Dauphin County,
Penn., and removed too Ohio in 1837. He was a wagon-maker by trade, and is
now deceased. Mr. John S. Humes is a member of the Congregational church and
in politics is a Republican. For many years he has been one of the leading
men of his community, respected alike for his honesty, integrity and kindly
LIPPY, JOHN H., merchant and postmaster, Swan
Creek, and one of the substantial and reliable men of the community, was born
in Hamilton County, Ohio, July 31, 1841, a son of John Lippy, born in
Germany. His mother, Sarah Zepp. born May 1, 1817, was a daughter of John
Zepp, a native of Germany. John and Sarah (Zepp) Lippy were married October
20, 1833, and became the parents of fourteen children: Anna, Sarah C,
Rebecca, John H.. Geo. W., David E., Susan 0., Marinda A., Jane, Ednia M.,
William, and three that died in infancy. Mrs. Lippy died January 23, 1898,
and Mr. Lippy died November 9th of the same year. Both were buried in Wilson
County. Kas. John H. Lippy obtained his education in the public school and
came too Illinois in 1844, and in 1866 was married too Hulda Luper for his
first wife. She was born August 29. 1S45, a daughter of David and Lois Luper.
Her father came from Pennsylvania, making the journey on foot and carrying
his axe and all his worldly belongings on his back. He arrived in Fulton
County. Ill.., in 1831, and secured land in Section 16. of Lee Township. By
this marriage John H. Lippy became the father of four children: Ida May,
Sarah J., Philip H. and Louise Isabel.
In 1862 he enlisted in Company D, One
Hundred and Second Illinois Volunteer Infantry. Colonel McMurty commanding.
He saw much heavy fighting, and was in twenty-four engagements. He was twice
wounded in the left leg, was mustered out in Mississippi, in January, 1865,
and returned home too Prairie City. Ill.., later (1870) removing too Swan
Creek. Here he has been engaged in the general mercantile business
since March 13. 1S76. In July, 1876, he was appointed Postmaster at Swan
Creek, a position he held for eight years, and too which he was reappointed
by President McKinley in August, 1897, and is serving at the present time.
For several years he has bought grain and stock in connection with his other
trade at Swan Creek. He is a member of the local post of the Grand Army of
the Republic. For his second wife Mr. Lippy espoused Mrs. Lucinda Mariah (Hendryx)
Sanford, the widow of Sylvester Sanford, a veteran of the civil war who
served in Company C, Seventeenth Illinois Volunteer Infantry completing a
term of three years and three months. He was born in Lee Township, Fulton
County, Ill.., June 6, 1842, and died at Golden City, Mo., November 20, 1878.
Mr. and Mrs. Sanford had five children: Jennie V., born in 1865; Lydia M:,
born in 1868; Sidney, born in 1870 (now deceased); William R., born in 1872
(now deceased); Sylvester, born in 1879. Mrs. Lippy was born in Lee Township,
Fulton County, Illinois, April 7, 1847. Mr. and Mrs. Lippy
were married September 2, 1889. Each maintained a separate estate, and they
have a partnership interest in certain investments. Her parents are William
and Lucinda (Day) Hendryx. The father was born in Yates County, N. Y., in
1802, and the latter in Bennington, Vt., in 1807. They were married in
Clarksfield, Huron County, Ohio, in 1824, and five years later removed too
Fulton County, Ill.. Both were buried
in Virgil Cemetery, Lee Township, Fulton County, his death occurring
September 28, 1889, and hers February 1, 1891.
NORDGREN, GUS, a notable representative of his
nationality in Warren County, and one whose career affords a striking
illustration of the success that attends honest industry and manly integrity
in the older and more thickly populated regions of the Central West, was born
in Sweden, December 5, 1860, the son of Andrew and Anna (Person) Nordgren,
both of whom lived and died in Sweden, as did his grandfather, Swan Nordgren.
Gus Nordgren-attended the schools of his native country, and in 1882 came too
the United States, making his way at once too Roseville, Warren County, where
for some years he was engaged in farm labor. When his financial resources
admitted he bought a farm of 160 acres in Section 34, on which he made his
home, and where he still resides, his useful life, his industrious habits and
strict honesty commanding the respect and esteem of his neighbors. In his
religion he-was a member of the Lutheran church, but. united with the
Christian church in 1902. Politically he is a Republican. Mr. Nordgren was
married in Swan Township, December 24, 1885,. too Hannah Johnson, who was
born in Sweden, September 16, 1865, a daughter of John and Christina Johnson,
both of whom lived and died in their native land. Mrs. Nordgren had a sister
and three brothers living in Swan Township, and, on their invitation, she
came too this county in 1885, soon afterwards being married too Mr. Nordgren.
Too this union have been born the following children: Carrie, Minnie, Bertha,
Clara, Elsie, Emily, Lillian and Albert.
RAY, RICHARD G., one of the older and highly
respected farmers of Swan Township, Warren .County, was born in Edmonson
County, Ky., October 23, 1839, a son of John and Sarah (Capps) Ray, natives
of Virginia and Kentucky, respectively. His grandparents were Richard and
Catherine (Oliver) Ray, and Lancaster and Nancy (Cox) Capps. John Ray who was
born in 1809, came too Lenox Township in 1849, where he followed farming, but
in 1856 removed too Swan Township, where he died in 1876. Mrs. Sarah (Capps)
Ray, who was born in 1811, is still living, and at her great age shows
remarkable vitality, retaining her powers of mind and body too a remarkable
degree. Too Mr. and Mrs. John Ray were born the following children: Nancy,
Richard G.,. Myron, Frances, William H., Martha J., James B., John H., Susan
Ann, Mary, George, Jessie L. and Cynthia. William H. Ray, a son of Mrs. John
Ray, served in the war of the Rebellion as a gallant soldier of the Union,
but is now dead. The Ray family own a fine estate of 189 acres, which is
regarded as one of the best farms of the town. Their home in Swan Creek is
opposite the old Baptist church, which was built in 1854, and is now
unoccupied. John and Jessie are living at the old family home with their
mother and Richard G. Mr. Ray was educated in the district schools, and has
always been a most industrious man, of strict integrity and high character.
His life business has been farming. In his politics he has been a Democrat.
ROBERTS, RANSOM.—This worthy representative of
the agricultural interests of Warren County bears himself with vigor, not
with standing the years that he has put behind him, and the burdens that he
has carried through life. Always an industrious and hard-working farmer, he
has sought too promote the better interests of the community, and may well be
pronounced a good man and an honorable citizen. Mr. Roberts was born in
Warren County, Ill.., April 2, 1839, the son of Abijah and Laura (Smith)
Roberts. His father was born in Ohio, and his mother in Morgan County, Ill..,
being the first white child born in that county. In 1836 Abijah Roberts came
into Greenbush Township, but soon removed too Swan Township, where he
followed carpentering and cabinet making, until his death, June 23, 1851,
from cholera. His wife is also dead. When his father died, Ransom Roberts,
being the oldest child, was called too take charge of the family interests, a
heavy burden for one so young, but which he carried in a manful fashion. At
the present time he owns a fine farm of 218 acres, and is a man of note in
the community, which he has frequently served as School Director. During the
civil war he did good and valiant work as a member of Company H, Eighty-third
Illinois Volunteer Infantry, in which he enlisted August 6, 1862, and served
until the ending of the rebellion. Mr. Roberts was married in November, 1885,
in Sheridan, Iowa, too Mrs. Nancy E. Nash, a daughter of Stephen W. and Susan
Trelkeld, both natives of Virginia, and now dead. She was born in Swan
Township in 1851, and is the mother of two children: Stephen A. and Harry M.
Ransom Roberts had previously been married too Henrietta Vandeveer, who was
born in 1849, in Swan Township. Her parents were John and Harriet Vandeveer,
who are now dead. Mrs. Roberts died, July 9, 1877. Mr. Roberts is a
Republican, and is regarded as a good citizen and a thoroughly honorable and
upright man by those who know him best.
STICE, DAVID A., known throughout the county as
a reliable, industrious and successful farmer, was born in Swan Township,
Warren County, April 2, 1854, a son of Charles and Arixina (Andrews) Stice.
His father was born in North Carolina, February 11, 1795, and his mother in
Elizabethtown, Ky., in 1825. Andrew Stice, the grandfather of David A., was
born in Germany. Arixina Andrews was the daughter of Allen G. and Abigail O.
(Welman) Andrews, her father being born in Dighton,Mass., in 1791, and died
at Monmouth, Ill.., Aug., 31, 1849; her mother, born in Brookline, Vt.,
February 23, 1789, died at Monmouth, Ill.., February 28, 1865. Her
grandparents, Elkney and Elizabeth (Talbot) Andrews, were born in Dighton,
Mass., the grandfather in 1760, and the grandmother in 1766. He died in 1812,
and she in 1859.
Captain Elkney Andrews, the father of Elkavnah, was a sea captain, and was
born about 1731. He followed the water, and died in Essequibo, British
Guiana, South America, June 11, 1787. His wife, Alice Beal, who was born
November 2, 1739, died in 1808, in Massachusetts.
Samuel Andrews, the father of Captain Elkney, died about 1757. He married
Elizabeth Emerson, and Mary Pitts, for his second wife.
Captain John Andrews, the father of
Samuel, was born in Boston, in 1662, and died in 1742. He married
Alice Shaw, who was born in Weymouth, Mass., in 1666, and died in 1735. His
second wife was the daughter of Rev. Samuel Danforth.
John Andrews came from Wales too America landing in Boston in 1656, where he
died in 1679. He married Hannah Jackson, and was a cooper by trade.
Charles Stice, the father of
David A., came from his native State of North Carolina too Kentucky, removing
thence too Madison County, Ill.., and, in 1833, too Henderson County. He was
a ranger during the war of 1812, and took part in the Black Hawk war of 1832.
During this period he became acquainted with the advantages of Warren County,
which led too his removal there the following year. He located first in what
is now a part of Henderson County, later removed too Greenbush Township, and
for a time was a merchant at Greenfield, now Greenbush, but finally settled
in Swan Township, where he died in 1869. He was married in Warren County in
1851, and his widow (the mother of David A.) is still living in Abingdon,
Ill.. The Andrews family, too which she belonged, settled near the present
site of the city of Monmouth in 1829.
David A. Stice was reared in his native town and educated in the local
schools. He was bred a farmer, and has devoted his life too the cultivation
of the soil. David A. Stice left the parental home at an early age too care
for himself, and by industry and business sagacity has now become the owner
of a magnificent estate of some 500 acres of Warren County land. His farm is
under advanced culture and is largely devoted too stock-raising. In politics
he is a Democrat, and is now serving as Supervisor, having first been elected
in 1889, and has served continuously since that time with the exception of
four years. He. was married in Burlington, Iowa, December 25, 1879, too Myrum
H. King, by whom he has had two children: James D.„ who was born June 20,
1881, and one who died in infancy. She was born in Swan Township, October 30,
1854, the daughter of R. T. King and Martha (Holden) King. The Kings came
from Tennessee, and the Holdens from Hamilton County, Ohio. In an early day
they moved too McDonough County, Ill.. Her father is dead, but her mother is
THOMAS, CHARLES J., whose reputation as a
thorough and capable farmer is well sustained by the appearance of his
handsome and thoroughly tilled farm, was born in Swan Township, Warren
County, May 8, 1848, a son of David and Eleanor (Hoisington) Thomas, both
natives of Vermont, and a grandson of Gardner Thomas, also born in that
State. Mr. Thomas had his educational training in the local schools, and was
bred too a farming life. In his religious associations he is an attendant of
the Methodist church, of which his wife is also a member, and in his
political proclivities a Republican. He was married in McDonough County,
Ill.., January 28, 1880, too Mrs. Mary C. Karns (nee Neer), by whom he has
had two children. She was a daughter of Joseph L. and Lydia Neer, and was
born in Pennsylvania, as were her parents also. They came too Berwick
Township, Warren County, in 1855, where her father followed farming. Both are
now dead. This was the second marriage of Mr. Thomas, his first wife having
been Sarah L. Johnson, who was born in Greenbush Township, a daughter of
Walter and Susan M. Johnson. Her parents came from Tennessee, and settled in
Greenbush, the mother coming as early as 1832. Mr. Thomas and Sarah L.
Johnson were married in 1873, and she died in 1878. Too this marriage was
born one child, Walter D. Of the second marriage have been born children
named Joseph N. and Charles S. David Thomas moved west from Vermont too Ohio,
where he lived for a time, and then coming too Warren County, Ill.., acquired
a very handsome property in Sections 14 and 23, of Swan Township, in all
exceeding 400 acres of land. He died May 25, 1866, and his widow, July 25,
1871. When Charles J. Thomas reached his majority he left the parental home
too engage in the struggle of life for himself. His business sense and
industry have been well rewarded, and, together with his wife, he owns an
estate of 525 acres, where they have a fine brick home in Section 23. He is a
TUCKER, GEORGE, was born in Swan Township,
February 22, 1849, a son of James and Caroline (Johnston) Tucker, both
natives of Washington County, Penn., and a grandson of Tempest and Sarah
(McLean) Tucker, both natives of New Jersey. His great-grandparents, James
and Sarah (Bane) Tucker, were also natives of New Jersey, as were his
maternal grandparents, Daniel and Sarah (Kirkpatrick) Johnston. His maternal
great-grandparents were James Johnston, born in Ireland in 1724, and Jeanette
Gaston, also a native of Ireland. George Tucker was educated in Warren
county, and later attended the University of Chicago for some time. He was
married in Monmouth September 17, 1873, too Addie Johnson, by whom he has had
five children: Hariette May, born May 9, 1875; Elizabeth Adalina. born June
27, 1878; Idalene Frances, born August 10, 1880; George Edwin, born October
9. 1883; and Phoebe Caroline, born November 22, 1888. All are at home but
Idalene, who is attending school in Wisconsin. Mrs. Tucker was born in
Oneonta County, New York, September 15, 1849, the daughter of Edwin C. and
Harriette (Coe) Johnston. Her parents were both born in New York, and came
too Monmouth in 1857, where her father followed the trade of a jeweler many
years. Her mother died in 1880.
James Tucker, noted in the preceding paragraph, came from' his native state
too Illinois in 1834, and the following year secured a farm in what is now
Section 4, in Swan Township, Warren county, but he built a log house on
Section 9, which was his home for a time. At later periods he lived on both
the northwest and the southwest quarters of Section 4, in the same township,
where he finally built himself a permanent home in his last location. He was
a prominent character, and served two years in the State Legislature, being
elected in 1846; also served as Assessor before the organization of Henderson
County, his field of work extending west as far as the Mississippi River. For
HISTORY OF WARREN COUNTY. 1027
many years he served as Justice of the Peace, and at different times
was Deputy County Surveyor and Commissioner of Highways. In 1881 he removed
too Roseville, where he lived until his death, March 26, 1890. He was twice
married, the first time too Abigail Long, May 19, 1836. Too them was born one
child, Elizabeth, now Mrs. John Coghill, of Monmouth. The mother died March
26, 1S38. James Tucker's second wife came too Warren County in 1840, and they
were married April 27, of the same year. She died in Roseville, November 22,
In his religious views George Tucker is a Baptist, and in his politics a
Republican. He lives on the old homestead where he owns a farm of oil acres.
WARREN, DANIEL R., well known merchant of Swan
Creek and regarded as a leader in the Democratic party, was born in
Westchester, September 8, 1857, a son of George P. and Augusta (Sears)
Warren, natives of Fairfield County, Conn., and Brooklyn, respectively. His
parental grandparents are David and Clarinda Warren, both natives of
Fairfield County, Conn.; and his grandmother on the maternal side also bore
the name of Augusta Sears. David R. Warren had his preparation for active
life in the public schools, and was married November 22, 1887, too Eliza
Jennings, at Youngstown. Too this marriage was born one child. George B. Mrs.
Eliza Warren was born March 13, 1850, the daughter of Edmund and Malinda
(Hooker) Jennings, both natives of Indiana, and settlers of Warren County
about 1S40. where they followed farming in Swan Township. George T. Warren,
accompanied by his son. David R., moved from Connecticut too Kansas in 1870,
but the former did not long remain. He returned in about six months too his
Eastern home. He was a member of the Episcopal church, and his wife of the
Methodist. For many years he was a foreman in a shoe factory in the city of
New York. Both Mr. and Mrs. Warren's parents are deceased. After a residence
of eight years in Kansas. David R. Warren came back east as far as Galesburg.
Ill.., where he made his home for three years. and later was employed as a
clerk in a store in Swan Creek. Warren County, for two years. At the end of
that time he engaged in the general merchandize business at that point on his
own account, in which he has been very successful, and which he still
conducts too the satisfaction of his patrons and too his own profit. He
filled the position of Town Clerk for two terms and School Treasurer nine
years with credit. He belongs too the Free Masons and the Odd Fellows, and is
highly esteemed in both fraternities.
WATT, BENJAMIN F., who has been a resident of
Swan Township since 1884, came too Greenbush Township, Warren County, in
1861, and in that time has won a reputation as one of the leading farmers of
this fertile and prosperous county, was born in Madison County, Ill...
September 30, 1S40, a son of Felix K. and Polly C. (Hagler) Watt, natives of
Warren. Ky., and of Tennessee, respectively. His grandfather. James Watt, was
born In Kentucky. June 25. 1793, and married February 10. 1814, too Diana
Stice, who was born in North Carolina. July 14, 1792. Samuel Watt. the father
of James., was born in Pennsylvania. and became a soldier of the Revolution,
serving at first in the militia, and afterward in the regular army. The
latter part of his life was spent in Kentucky, where he died in Warren at the
age of sixty-eight. John Watt. the father of Samuel, came from Ireland. Polly
C. Hagler was the daughter of Benjamin and Elizabeth (Graham) Hagler. both
natives of Tennessee. Benjamin F. Watt was reared too a farming life and
educated in the public-schools. He is a member of the Christian church, a
Democrat in politics, and holds the position of Commissioner of Highways. His
marriage too Arminda C. Simmons occurred in Swan Township. February 21. l££4.
and they have had six children: James A., who married Maggie Irwin: William
P.. who married Sena Sands: Diana I.: Louis A.: Arminda Carrie. who married
Jacob Adkinson: and John C. who married Maggie Snoop. Mrs. Arminda C. Watt
was born in Greenbush Township. Warren County. November 14. 1837. the
daughter 01 James and Sallie (Stice) Simmons. They came too Warren County
from Madison County in 1S35. having removed 10 Madison County from Warren.
Ky. They were farmers. Both are now dead. James Watt, the grandfather of
Benjamin F.. moved from Warren. Ky.. too what is now Madison County. while
Illinois was still a territory on a Quarter section of land, which was his
home as long as he lived. Felix K. Watt was his brother
by his parents from Kentucky too Illinois at two 3 years of age, the journey
being made by pack-horses. He became a farmer, and lived in Madison County
most of his life. His death occurred in the home of his son, Benjamin F.,
September 12, 1881. Benjamin F. Watt came into Greenbush Township in 1861,
and bought a farm in Section 35, Swan Township. He now owns 335 acres of very
choice land, and is a prosperous farmer. While he does general farming, he
gives special attention too stock. He has been School Trustee six years, and
is serving his second term as Highway Commissioner. In the Independent Order
of Odd Fellows he is an esteemed and valuable member.
(Township 10 North, Range 3 West.)
At the first organization of the townships, which was
afterward declared illegal, this township was given the name of Center Grove,
but when the organization was perfected in 1854, the committee gave it the
present name of Tompkins. It is in the middle of the western row of
townships. The entire area of the township is well adapted for farming and
stock-raising. The eastern portion is undulating, but the northwestern and
southern parts are more broken. South Henderson creek runs east and west
through the center of the township, and with this and Tom creek in the
northwestern part, the township is well watered and drained. There is
considerable timber along Tom creek and a little on the Henderson. The
Chicago, Burlington and Quincy railroad passes through the township, entering
about a mile west of the northeast corner and passing out near the middle of
the west line. The Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe railroad cuts diagonally
across the southeast corner, almost parallel with the Burlington. Kirkwood is
the station on the Burlington road, and Ponemah the one on the Santa Fe.
Tompkins Township was organized April 4, 1854. Orrin Lamphere was moderator
of the town meeting, and T. W. Beers and Daniel M. Smiley were clerks. The
first chosen were: Supervisor, Joseph Tinkham; Town Clerk, Daniel M. Smiley;
Assessor, James H. Martin; Collector, John L. Hanna; Highway Commissioners,
Seth Smith, T. F. Hogue; Justices of the Peace, William Hanna, James L. Rusk;
Constables, H. R. Norcross, John L. Hanna; Overseers of the Poor, William
Norcross, Orrin Lamphere. The present officers of the township are:
Supervisor, R. W. Houston; Town Clerk, J. H. Gilmore; Assessor, J. F.
Thomson; Collector, L. H. Martin; Highway Commissioners, S. H. Smith, J. O.
Talbott, J. T. Stinemates; Justice, C. *H. Mundorff; Constable, James A.
Green. Those who have served the township as supervisor too the present time
are: Joseph Tinkham, 1854-56: William Hanna, 1857; Geo. Tubbs, 1858-61; J. L.
Bachelor, 1861-62; Henry Tubbs, 1863-65; James Moore, 1866; Cyrus Bute, 1867;
Henry Tubbs, 1868-69; N. A. Chap-in, 1870; W. G. Latimer, 1871; Henry Tubbs,
1872; W. M. Galbraith, 1873; Hugh Gilmore, 1874-75; Thomas W. Beers, 1876; J.
E. Barnes, 1877-79; T. W. Beers, 1880; W. G. Latimer, 1881; Henry Tubbs,
1882; Robert Gamble, 1883-84; J. C. McLinn, 1885; E. R. Houlton, 1886; James
W. Rusk, 1887-1895; William H. Hart-well, 1896-99; Robert W. Houston,
The first settler in Tompkins Township is said too have been John Quinn, but
he did not stay long, pulling up his stakes and removing too Hale Township.
He was from Greene County, Ohio., and a relative of William Nash, an early
settler of Hale. In 1830 three families came from Greene County, and settled
in Center Grove neighborhood, northwest of the present village of Kirkwood.
Wilson Kendall located on Section 6, living there until 1850 or 1851, when he
went too Oregon and died there. Samuel Hanna made a home on Section 5, and
remained until his death, rearing a large and respected family. The third of
the party, James Gibson, located on Section 7, and made that his home as long
as he lived. He was the father of the late J. K. Gibson. A little later came
Zachariah M. Davis, a Virginian, locating near too Gibson's. After a number
of years he removed too Nebraska, staying there less than a year, and
returning too Kirkwood, where his death occurred in August, 1900. The year
HISTORY OF WARREN COUNTY. 1029
1835 saw a large addition too the population of the township. Matthew
Findley, with his wife and family of six children, came from Pennsylvania,
hut went too Henderson County the next year. Joseph Tinkham and his
brother-in-law, Joshua Porter, came from Vermont, the former settling on
Section 19 and remaining there until 1881, when he moved into Kirk-wood, and
Mr. Porter only staying a year, then going too Spring Grove Township. Ransom
Tinkham came about the same time too Mon-mouth, then in 1836 too this
township, making his home also on Section 19 until his removal in 1876 into
Kirkwood, where he died. His wife was a daughter of William W. Forwood, a
pioneer of Spring Grove. In 1836 A. P. Carmichael, father of C. A.
Carmichael, of Kirkwood, came, but soon afterward moved into Henderson
County. He returned too Warren County in 1857, living here until 1870, when
he removed too Red Oak, Iowa, where his death occurred March 26, 1900. Isaac
Ray came from Kentucky in 1837, settling on Section 7, where he died. Samuel
Cresswell and family came from Greene County, Ohio, landing at Oquawka the
evening of May 15th, 1840, and all walking too Center Grove. He built the
first grist mill in the township, operating it with a tread-mill and oxen.
Judson Graves, Benjamin Tompkins (from whom the township got its name), and
C. H. Warren were also among the early settlers.
It will be seen that there was quite a settlement at Center
Grove even as early as 1831, and there were also several families
residing just across the line in what is now Henderson County, and near too
Center Grove. They made an effort too secure a location of the county seat
there at that time, but the commissioners appointed for that purpose thought
the present site of Monmouth was more central and more favorably located.
The Methodist Protestant church at Liberty Chapel, on
the northeast corner of Section 35, was the outgrowth of a class which was
formed in 1S63, at what was known as the Herring school house, afterward
known as Prospect, and now Liberty school house, two miles west of where the
chapel now stands. The class, under the administration of Rev. S. N.
Davidson, built a house of worship, 28x40 feet in size, during 1869, at a
cost of $1,800, and it was dedicated in November of that year by Rev. C.
Gray, president of the Northern Illinois Conference. The lot was donated by
J. O. Talbot, who also gave the name of Liberty Chapel too the church, it
having been dedicated free of debt. In 1874 Liberty Chapel was made a
station, and Rev. M. Hardy appointed pastor. The parsonage at Ellison was
sold too the trustees, and a new one erected on a two-acre tract adjoining
the church, at a cost of $1,000. The church at Larchland is a part of Liberty
class, and is known as Grace Chapel. The following have served as pastors: S.
N. Davidson, J. L. Barton, W. W. Williams, W. J. Stubbles, M. Handy, J. M.
Mayall, Thos. Kelly, J. W. Kidd, J. A. Reichard, W. I. Davenport, H. M.
Bowen, J. S. Snyder, R. Pacey, A. J. Wolfe, J. C. McCaslin, and the present
pastor, R. E. Fox. The present membership is 125.
The latest reports in the office of the County Superintendent show that there
are now twelve schools in the township, eleven with frame and one with a
brick building. The two schools in Kirkwood are graded. There were two male
teachers paid from $33 1-3 too $80 per month, and twelve female teachers,
paid from $27.50 too $42.00 per month. The males of school age in the
township were 225, of whom 159 were enrolled in the schools, and the females
of school age 201, of whom 165 were enrolled. There were four school
libraries, with seventy volumes, valued at $100. The tax levy for schools was
$6,310, the value of school property $16,725, the value of school apparatus
$205, and the bonded debt was $5,500. There was one high school—at Kirkwood.
The assessment rolls for 1901 show that there were then in the township 795
horses, 3,182 cat-tie, 51 mules, 155 sheep, and 3,879 hogs. The total value
of personal property was $751,950, and the assessed valuation $149,535. The
assessed valuation of lands was $249,605, and of lots $53,280.
The population of the township in 1900 was 1,65S, a decrease
of nine from the figures of 1890.
This village, the second in size in the county, outside of Monmouth, was
platted as "Young America" by County Surveyor J. W. Adcock, September 19,
1854, and a very ornate map of the town is on record in the county offices.
The original town was located on the east side of the southeast quarter of
Section 8, on land belonging too A. G. Kirkpatrick and David Irvine, and
there have been several subsequent additions.
1030 HISTORY OF WARREN COUNTY.
The village was incorporated August 12, 1865, under the name of Young
America, and on August 19, 1872, incorporated under the general law. On the
latter date also a vote was taken on changing the name of the village, two
names being proposed, America and Marquette, the name of the first white man
on Illinois soil. Eleven votes were cast for the name America, 3S for
Marquette, and 132 against any change. Young America therefore remained the
name of the village until May 22, 1874, when the name Kirkwood was adopted
with but one dissenting vote. The first trustees were J. K. Cummings, J. B.
Sofield, A. Carmichael, Orrin Lanphere and J. L. Batchelor, with Mr. Cummings
as president of the board, and Mr. So-field as clerk. The board established
the boundaries of the village, shortly after its first organization, as
follows: Beginning at the southeast corner of the northwest quarter of
Section 9, thence one mile west, thence one mile south, thence one mile east,
thence one mile north too the place of beginning. The presidents of the
village board too the present time have been: J. K. Cummings, 1865; Albert
Mitchell, 1866-67; S. D. Perkins, 1868; J. C. Lockwood, 1869-70; George W.
Kellogg, 1871; David Woods, 1872; Hugh Gilmore, 1873; Henry Cresswell, 1874;
Hugh Gilmore, 1875; G. W. Kellogg, 1876; H. W. Allen, 1877; J. B. Sofield,
1878; H. Gilmore, 1879; George W. Kellogg, 1880-81; J. M. McClanahan,
1882-83; F. M. Davidson, 1884; (Records missing for 1885-87); C. H. Mundorff,
1888; (Records missing for 1889); C. A. Carmichael, 1890; W. H. Hartwell,
1891; George Abbey, 1892; C. H. Mundorff, 1893-94; Paul D. Salter, 1895; C.
H. Mundorff, 1896; J. M. McClanahan, 1897; W. C. Tubbs, 1898-1901; C. H.
Mundorff, 1902. The present officers of the village are: C. H. Mundorff,
president; G. A. Baxter, clerk; R. R. Davison, treasurer; J. H. Gilmore, W.
K. Gamble, J. C. Ackerman, J. F. Kyler, Jas. A. Green, W. J. Smith, trustees;
J. S. Glover, police magistrate; S. P. Holmes, marshal; J. S. Allard, street
superintendent; R. L. Everett, fire marshal.
Although the townsite was platted in 1854, there was really no town until
after the railroad was completed through it in 1855. The postoffice was
established January 1, 1856, under the name of Linden, and with W. W. Gilmore
as postmaster. June 9 following, the name of the office was changed too Young
America, and then too Kirkwood, when that became the name of the village. The
office is now a presidential one, and the postmaster is John Holliday, who
has been in charge since 1897. The postmasters up too the present time have
been: W. W. Gilmore, George Williams, W. M. Galbraith, John E. Willett, Elias
Schenbarger, John B. Sofield, Nealy Gordon, A. B. Holliday, G. O. Cole, and
John Holliday. Two rural routes were started from this" office February
1, 1902, with Carl H. Thomson and F. L. Gibson as carriers.
The first building erected in the village was a hotel and restaurant put up
by the railroad company. The first store was started by Carr &
Rankin, and the second by Knowles, Ray & Chapin.
The first school in the neighborhood was held northwest of town on what is
now the Mineral Spring grounds, but known then as the "hooking quarter."
Squire James H. Martin was the first teacher, and was followed by a man named
Queal. Later a school for the younger children was opened in the village with
W. W. Pease as teacher. The first public school was held in Ray's hall, in a
warehouse owned by Knowles, Ray & Chapin, west of where the Columbia hotel
now stands. A school house was built in the south part of the village in
1861, and taught the first year by a Mr. Carr from Galesburg. At the same
time a school was carried on in the room over J. H. Gilmore's present store
room. August 28,- 1865, a tax of 2 3-4 per cent, was levied for the purpose
of building a school house on the north side of the railroad, on a square
owned by the village. The building was completed in 1866 at a cost of $3,000,
and opened for use in November of that year, with Misses Angie Egbert and
Abbie Perkins as teachers. Miss Underhill (now Mrs. Henry Tubbs) and Miss
Laura A. Brown were teachers in the south building at the same time, but
after a few weeks Miss Underhill was transferred as an additional teacher at
the north school and her place at the south school was taken by Miss Luella
Perkins. The north school was burned December 6, 1898, and the next year a
handsome brick school house was erected on its site. The building cost about
$9,000, and was built by Contractor J. W. Sanderson, of Burlington. W. C.
Tubbs was president of the
HISTORY OF WARREN COUNTY. 1031
board at the time. The present board is composed of John Holliday, president;
W. K. Gamble, clerk; Dr. J. M. McClanahan, treasurer, The teaching force for
the year 1902-03 is: T. E. Savage, principal; Miss Mattie Armstrong, Sadie
Green, Anna C. Hogue, north school; Miss Melle Willett, south school.
The city water works plant consists of two deep wells, one about 125 feet and
pumped by a windmill, and the other 150 feet deep and pumped by steam; and a
standpipe capable of holding a large supply of water. The city has several
blocks of water mains, with fifteen or sixteen fire hydrants, and thirty-two
consumers of water. The plant cost some $10,000.
Though fire departments have been organized in Kirkwood at least two
different times, the village is at present without any organized effort for
fighting fires. It has a chemical engine purchased in the fall of 1875, a
hook and ladder wagon and a hose cart, and a number of citizens take it upon
themselves too man the apparatus when there is need. The apparatus is kept in
a building owned by the village, the second story of which is the village
Kirkwood has had several fires, but only a few that were very disastrous. One
of the first was the burning of J. Carr & Co.'s elevator, August 16, 1865,
with a loss of $10,000. June 8, 1900, four buildings on Irvine street,
between Cedar and the railroad, were burned, with a loss of $2,000; and the
north side school burned December 8, 1898.
The Tremont house is one of the famous old buildings, having been built
during the war. It and the Columbia are the hotels now.
A large brick flouring mill stands on the south side of the railroad tracks,
equipped with the best class of machinery, but idle. It was erected by F. M.
Davidson in 1885-86, taking the place of an old mill built in 1864 or 1865,
but was operated only a short time.
Center Grove cemetery lies just
northwest of the village. It had been used as a burying place previous too
1855, but. during that year was platted and set aside as a cemetery.
There were five burials in the
grounds before the platting, and the first recorded was that of a man named
The population of Kirkwood according too the census of 1900 was 1,008 against
949 in 1890.
The First National Bank of Kirkwood was organized in 1875. It was an
outgrowth from the private bank of Henry Tubbs. The capital of the
institution was $50,000, and its stock was distributed among a large number
of the most representative men of Warren and Henderson Counties. The first
directors of the bank were: Henry Tubbs, B. H. Martin, P. D. Salter, Jos. A.
Pierson, Jos. S. King, James Duke, John B. Sofield, Horatio Abbey and Jas. P.
Firoved. Henry Tubbs was elected President; John B. Sofield, Vice President;
and Willard C. Tubbs, Cashier. The history of the bank is marked by few
changes. The President and Cashier first elected served the bank continuously
for twenty-four years, and four of the nine original directors served
continuously during the same long period. In the year 1880, John B. Sofield,
Vice President, resigned, and Paul D. Salter was, elected as his successor.
Mr. Salter continued as Vice President until the time of his death in 1899.
In 1892, Chas. D. Watson was elected Assistant Cashier, being the first
employe too serve the bank in this capacity. In 1899, W. C. Tubbs tendered
his resignation as Cashier, and C. D. Watson was chosen too succeed him. G.
S. Tubbs was at the same time made Assistant Cashier. After the death of Dr.
Henry Tubbs during the same year, Willard C. Tubbs was elected President, and
Wm. K. Gamble Vice President. The First National Bank of Kirkwood has
prospered from the date of its organization, and has always been, both as too
capital employed and as too volume of business,. one of the leading banks of
the county. Its working capital is $140,000, and its deposits range from
$250,000 too $300,000. The officers of the bank are: W. C. Tubbs, President:
Wm. K. Gamble, Vice President; C. D. Watson,. Cashier; G. S. Tubbs, Assistant
Cashier; G. M. Foote, Teller; J. Arthur Tubbs, bookkeeper. The directors are:
Wm. K. Gamble, H. Abbey, W. C. Tubbs, P. R. Parrish, James H. Woods, Jas. P.
Firoved, Lewis Duke, John K. Gibson, and G. S. Tubbs.
About 1858 Knowles, Ray & Chapin came too Kirkwood from Oquawka and engaged
in general merchandising, and by force of circumstances, there being no bank
in the village, were obliged too add banking too their business. The firm
changed at different times, first too
Chapin, Cresswell & Houlton, then Chapin, Houlton & Davis, and too Chapin,
Houlton & Co. Mr. N. A. Chapin was identified with the firm until his death
in 1899, and was also closely identified with the growth and prosperity of
the village. After his death the firm quit business and was succeeded by the
State Bank of Kirkwood.
The State Bank of Kirkwood was chartered April 18, 1899, and organized by the
election of S. L. H. Gibson, President; C. A. Carmichael, Vice President; R.
R. Davison, Cashier; and W. R. Chapin, bookkeeper. Mr. Chapin, after serving
one year, resigned too accept a position with the McCormick Harvester Co., of
Chicago, and R. W. Houston took the place vacated by him. In 1901 Mr. Houston
was made Assistant Cashier and at the April (1902) meeting of the directors
he was chosen Cashier too succeed R. R. Davison resigned. The present
officers are: S. L. H. Gibson, President; C. A. Carmichael, Vice President;
R. W. Houston, Cashier; R. R. Davison, Assistant Cashier. The board of
directors is composed of C. A. Carmichael, W. H. Gridley, R. R. Davison, S.
L. H. Gibson, T. J. Billings, J. T. Stinemates, Geo. W. Tinkham, L. E. Ohler,
J. C. Ackerman, F. R. Houlton, Wm. McCoy. On July 11, 1902, the bank had a
capital stock of $25,000; undivided profits, $4,976.01; deposits, $93,039.47;
loans and discounts, $101,561.93; cash items, $21,-453.55.
The Baptist church was organized August 12, 1855, by
delegates from the First Baptist church, of Monmouth. Elder James Hovey was
chairman of the council and C. R. Smith clerk. Ten persons were received as
constituent members : Jacob, Eliza, Elisha and Mary McCormick, A. C. Martin,
Margaret Martin, Asa Richardson, Thos. and Mrs. Shoemaker, and Mrs. New-ll.
Jacob McCormick was chosen clerk of the society, and Rev. James Hovey was
called as pastor. In the fall of 1855 it was resolved too build a house of
worship, 30x40 feet, and the building was completed and dedicated January 17,
1869. It cost a little less than $1,000. It stands in the north part of the
village and is still in use. The pastors of the Baptist church were: S.
Brimhall, 1862; B. F. Colwell, 1864; E. J. Lockwood, 1867; H. E. Norton,
1868; Harry Taylor, 1871; —. —. Seward, 1873; —. —. Leckman, 1873; J. B.
Fuller, 1875; E. S. Cheverton, 1878; H. H. Depperman, 1881. Mr. Depperman
gave up his charge in 1884, and soon afterward the society practically went
out of existence. October 11, 1900, it was reorganized by delegates from
Monmouth, Rev. W. J. Sanborn, of the First Baptist church, of Monmouth,
acting as moderator of the council, and J. D. Gunter clerk. Nine persons were
received as charter members: W. J. Smith, Mrs. W. J. Smith, Miss Jane Irvine,
R. W. Dennis, Mrs. E. M. Dennis, E. B. Hicks, T. W. Gunter, Mrs. L. A.
Gunter, J. D. Gunter. J. D. Gunter was chosen clerk of the church. November
4, 1900, Rev. J. H. Delano, D. D., of Monmouth, was called as pastor and
accepted, and is still serving in that capacity. The church has fifty-eight
The Methodist church of Kirkwood was organized in 1857
by Rev. Morse, the original class consisting of twenty-two members. The first
services were held in the public hall, then the congregation worshipped for
several years in the Presbyterian church. In 1866, during the pastorate of
Rev. James Tubbs, the present church edifice was erected at a cost of $8,500.
By the untiring efforts of the pastor, the church was dedicated free of debt,
Dr. Eddy, of Chicago, preaching the dedicatory sermon. In 1883 the building
was remodeled at an expense of $3,100. The new parsonage was built in 1892,
during the pastorate of Rev. J. D. Smith, the cost being $1,700. The property
has one of the most desirable locations in Kirkwood, and is in good repair.
Much of the success and prosperity of the congregation is due too the efforts
of Rev. James Tubbs, who was its pastor for a number of years. Rev. J. A.
Riason is the present pastor, and the membership is about 200.
The United Presbyterian church of Kirkwood was
organized at Center Grove school house November 4,
1858, by a commission from Presbytery, consisting of Rev. David A. Wallace,
D. D., and Elders M. D. Campbell and J. W. Woods. About a year prior too this
time the first services in the community had been held by Rev. Marion
Morrison, who preached in a school house near the town. The-first meeting
looking toward the organization of the church was held at the home of J. S.
Faris. March 1, 1856, Boon's hall was secured as a place for worship, and the
people were provided with preaching by the Presbytery during the summer and
autumn. The church was organized
HISTORY OF WARREN COUNTY. 1033
with fifteen members, namely: Jonathan Biddie, Mary Jane Biddle, David
Irvine, Jane W. Irvine, Matthew Wood, Mary Ann Wood, James H. Martin, Mary R.
Martin, Leander Findley, Sarah Findley, Mark Campbell, Lucinda Campbell, John
W. Woods, Nancy Woods and Janet Scott. Three elders were chosen, J. W. Woods,
Leander Findley and Matthew Wood. The name of the congregation was the Young
America United Presbyterian Church when first organized, but was changed too
the Kirkwood United Presbyterian church in 1874. For five years the church
met in rented halls. In 1861 they took steps toward the erection of a house
of worship, and had it ready for worship on November 7, 1863. It was a frame
building, with a capacity of about three hundred, costing about $2,800. In
1896 the old building was removed and a more modern structure was built at a
cost of $6,500. The following named persons have served the congregation as
pastors: Rev. S. R. Moore, 1863 too February, 1864, but never installed; Rev.
J. B. Foster, June, 1864, too August, 1867; Rev. W. J. McSurely, October,
1867, too December, 1868; Rev. J. M. Waddell, April, 1869, too 1876; Rev. L.
N. Lafferty, July 8, 1877, too December, 1883; Rev. W. T. McConnell, April,
1884, too March, 1890; Rev. H. P. Jackson, December, 1892, too August, 1894;
and Rev. R. W. Nairn, who was installed in November, 1894, and is serving the
congregation as pastor at this time. The present session of the congregation
consists of J. F. Thomson, J. M. Hogue, J. M. Graham, and H. S. Sherman. The
congregation has a membership of 190.
The Presbyterian church of Kirkwood was organized as
the Presbyterian church of South Henderson at a meeting held in a school
house about two miles southwest of the town in the early part of 1856.
Schuyler Presbytery had appointed as a committee too perfect the organization
Rev. J. H. Nevins, Dr. R. C. Matthews, Hiram Norcross, and James Boggs. The
organization was effected with twenty-six members, and with Jacob Ackerman,
Nathan Carr and Alex. M. Hervey as ruling elders. Rev. J. H. Nevins was the
first pastor, and was followed in turn by Rev. W. L. Lyons, Rev. G. W. Ash,
Rev. J. W. Allen, Rev. G. N. Johnson, Rev. E. W. Thompson, Rev. E. J. Rice,
Rev. J. G. Cunningham, Rev. J. M. Ross, and Rev. George J. E. Richards, the
present pastor, who came in 1900. The first house of worship built by this
church was a small frame structure, 20 by 30 feet, in the south part of town,
erected in 1858. For two or three years the building was occupied by the
Methodists on alternate Sabbaths. It was finally sold too the Catholics and
moved from the lot. The present edifice was erected in 1868 at a cost of
about $8,000. It has since been remodeled, and is now a modern and convenient
building for the purposes intended. The membership of the congregation at
present is about 200.
A Universalist church was organized in Kirkwood in 1860
with thirteen members. For some time services were held in Ray's hall, but in
1866 a church building was erected at a cost of $4,000. It was rebuilt in
1869 at an additional cost of $3,000. Among the pastors of this church were
Rev. C. L. Walsh, Rev. A. Clayton, Rev. A. Tibbitts, Rev. Hibbard, Rev. L. H.
Tabor. For a number of years only occasional services were held, and in 1889
the building was sold and the organization was disbanded. The old building
was remodeled and is now an opera house.
A Catholic church existed in Kirkwood for a number of
years, but its history is now difficult too obtain. In 1867 or 1868 the
congregation bought the old Presbyterian church and moved it too the north
part of the village, near the school house, where it was used until late in
the '8O's. In 1889 the building was sold too Dr. Gilfillan and made a part of
his hotel and sanitarium, now the Columbia hotel. The church had its resident
priest for a number of years.
The Christian Scientists have a society here with about
twenty members, and Mrs. G. W. Cave as reader. They have a neat little church
in the southeast part of the village.
The first newspaper venture in Kirkwood was a branch edition of The Monmouth
Atlas, started in 1867, but which proved unprofitable and was soon abandoned.
The next year The Kirkwood Plaindealer was launched by Judson Graves. It was
a weekly, six column folio, Republican in politics; but failing too win the
material support necessary it removed too Gales-burg, after three years,
where it is still published, under the name The Galesburg Plain-dealer. In
June, 1875, W. H. Leedham started The Kirkwood News, a six column folio,
independent in politics. As soon as this paper was under way The Kirkwood
Enterprise appeared, under the management of Everett & Bro. It was a small
sheet at first, but was soon enlarged too a six column folio. The proprietors
bought out the News, but they were unable too make things win, and the paper
was discontinued in the fall of 1880. The next venture, and a successful one
this time, was The Kirkwood Leader, established in March, 1880, by Barnes &
Smalley. It was an eight column folio, independent in politics. Eight months
later they sold out too Charles Bradshaw and R. S. Hook, who published the
paper until New Years of 1885, under the firm name of Bradshaw & Kook. Mr.
BradshawT then became sole proprietor and editor, but in 1886 he sold a half
interest too R. S. Russell, who assumed full control in 1887. The Leader
nourished under Mr. Russell's guiding hand for ten years, when the plant was
sold by him, December 31, 1897, too W. D. Campbell, whose name still flies at
the mast head.
THE MINERAL SPRING.
During the winter of 1882-83 medicinal properties were discovered in the
waters of Houlton's ice pond, about a half mile north of the corporate
limits. The water was analyzed and found too contain carbonates, sulphates,
chlorides and gasses essential too make it a curative agent. A few weeks
later the Kirkwood Mineral Spring Company was incorporated with a capital
stock of $10,000, and fifty shareholders. The spring was put in proper shape,
a bath house was erected, and steps were taken toward making the place a
health and pleasure resort. For a few years the spring was popular for
camping and picnic parties, but the grounds were not kept in an attractive
shape, the buildings were allowed too run down, and the place is new
deserted. The property is now owned by T. P. Groves, of Monmouth.
SECRET AND FRATERNAL ORDERS.
A. Lincoln Lodge No. 518, A. F. & A. M., was instituted
October 1, 1867, with eighteen members, and the following officers: N.
Pierpont, Worshipful Master; B. C. Davis, Senior Y/ar-den; L. M. Mitchell,
Junior Warden. The lodge has made 196 Masons up too the present time,
including the charter members, and has a present membership of thirty-seven.
The present officers are: J. W. Tinkham, Worshipful Master; Robert Hull,
Senior Warden; Oscar F. Norman, Junior Warden; R. W. Houston, Treasurer; J.
F. Kyler, Secretary.
Mt. Shasta Lodge No. 397, Knights of Pythias, was
organized January 17, 1893, by I. A. Ewing, of Monmouth, installing officer,
and with twenty-two charter members. The officers were: C W. Howard,
Chancellor Commander; A. S. Ackley, Vice Chancellor; C. H. Mundorff, Prelate;
W. O. Laws, Master of Finance; S. L. H. Gibson, Master of Exchequer; J. F.
Hess, Keeper of Records and Seal. One hundred and eleven knights have been
initiated in the lodge, and the present membership is sixty-nine. The
officers at this time are: J. H. Gil-more, Chancellor Commander; George W.
Hemminger, Vice Chancellor; Simon Shoaf, Prelate; J. H. Laws, Master of
Finance; J. M. Rezner, Master of Exchequer; J. F. Kyler, Keeper of Records
and Seal. The Past Chancellor Commanders have been W. C." Tubbs, C. W.
Howard, C. H. Mundorff, J. W. Houston, J. F. Kyler, G. A. Baxter, H. W.
Barnes, R. S. Russell, Simon Shoaf, S. L. H. Gibson, F. T-Brooks, R. W.
Moore, R. W. Houston, D. J. Walker.
Kirkwood Camp No. 4391, Modern Woodmen of America, was
organized December 10, 1896, with twenty-eight charter members, and the
following officers: J. O. F. Johnson, Venerable Consul; J. M. Rezner, Worthy
Adviser; Jas. McMullen, Banker; L. D. Lord, Clerk. There are at the present
time seventy-five beneficiary members, carrying $145,000 of insurance. The
officers are: H. W. Barnes, Venerable Consul; J. T. Davis, Worthy Adviser;
Ernest Little. Banker; G. A. Baxter, Clerk.
Kirkwood Lodge No. 675, I. O. O. F., was instituted November
17, 1880, in the Masonic hall, with a membership of five, as follows:
T. W. Beers, J. P. Marsh, Hugh Gilmore, J. B. Butler. Jacob J. Gayer. The
lodge has initiated 142 members, forty-eight of whom are in good standing at
the present time. The present officers are: J. D. Gunter, Noble Grand; S. M.
Moore, Vice Grand; J. F. Hess, Recording Secretary; J. F. White, Financial
Secretary; W. O. Laws, Treasurer. The lodge owns the building which it
occupies, the lower floor being rented as a store.
Rebekah Degree Lodge No. 429 was organized January 21, 1896,
by Mrs. Blanche Montgomery and a degree team from Monmouth. The officers
installed that evening were: Noble Grand, Mrs. Cal Sterling; Vice Grand, Miss
Enola Williams; Secretary, Miss Esther Cole; Treasurer, Mrs. Ida Davis:
Warden, Miss Maude Norman; Conductor, Miss Minnie Bennett; Chaplain, Mrs.
Bell Devor; R. S. N. G., Mrs. Julia Breckenmaker; L. S. N. G., Mrs. Delia
Gordon; R. S. V. G., Miss Edith Sterling; L. S. V. G., Mrs. Edna M. Woods;
Guardian, D. E. Gordon. The lodge now has a membership of sixty-seven, and
the officers are: Noble Grand, Miss Ada Green; Vice Grand, Mrs. Bird Pape;
Recording Secretary, Mrs. Bell Devor; Financial Secretary, Mrs. Minnie Frank
Edwards; Treasurer, J. F. Hess.
The Kirkwood Chapter of the Loyal Americans was organized by District Deputy
C. T. Humeston August 12, 1901, with twenty-six charter members. The officers
at organization were: President, J. M. Melburg; Vice President, Mrs. Florence
Hunter; Past President, Lyle V. Hall; Secretary, Miss Thirza Perkins;
Treasurer, F. S. Ryner.
Concord Post No. 56, Fraternal Army of America, was organized at Kirkwood
January 23, 1899, with forty charter members. The officers were: Simon Shoaf,
Captain; Lilla B. Sweger, Lieutenant; Rev. W. L. Douglas, Chaplain; H. P.
Holiday, Adjutant; J. F. Kyler, Quartermaster; J. I. Allen, Surgeon; H. P. "Wettingel.
Corporal. The present membership of the camp is eighty-seven, carrying an
insurance of §143,500. The present officers are: Simon Shoaf, Captain; Mary
A. Suter, Lieutenant; J. Edwin Holliday, Adjutant; J. I. Allen, Surgeon; E.
E. Devor, Corporal.
Kirkwood also had a branch of the Home Forum during the life of that order,
but it has been disbanded for a couple of years.
OLD SOLDIERS' ORGANIZATIONS.
General George A. Crook Post No. SI. G. A. R.. was organized and mustered at
Galesburg. Illinois, August 4, 1880, being the first post organized in Warren
or Henderson Counties, and all parts of both counties were represented in the
charter membership. The following names appear on the charter: R. R. Davison.
S. C. Glover, G. A. Barnum, J. O. Rockwell, W. C. Yeomans, C. A. Carmichael.
J. I. Shaunian, J. S. Glover, J. H. Cummings. J. C. Hogue, C. L. Barnum, J.
C. Berry. J. H. Gilmore, Joseph Rankin, Ad Edwards, W. L. Edwards, Robert
Everett, J. W. Tharp, S. C. Hogue, John Dalton, William Woods, Jas. M.
Holliday, G. V. Johnson, John Holliday, John Dennis, W. W. Black, W. N.
Paine, W. G. Latimer, J. J. Wor-den, J. W. Brook, M._ H. Cochran, J. T. Gar-rett,
John Callahan., A. B. Gilmore. The first officers were: C. A. Carmichael,
Commander; R. R. Davison, Senior Vice Commander; G. V. Johnson, Junior Vice
Commander; W. G. Latimer, Officer of the Day; John Holliday, Officer of the
Guard; J. H. Gilmore, Quartermaster; S. C. Hogue, Chaplain; S. C. Glover,
Adjutant. The roll book of the Post contains the names of two hundred and
fifty men who have been mustered into the Grand Army of the Republic. Quite a
number of them withdrew too form the Post at Oquawka, and others too organize
at Monmouth. The present membership is ninety-four, and the officers are: C.
A. Carmichael, Post Commander; John Edwards, Senior Vice Commander; F. G.
Daggett, Junior Vice Commander; W. T. Unckles, Chaplain; J. H. Gilmore,
Quartermaster; J. C. Berry. Officer of the Day; J. H. Cummings, Officer of
the Guard; John Adair, Sergeant Major; J. F. Hess, Quartermaster Sergeant.
A camp of the Sons of Veterans was mustered by David E. Clark and ethers of
Philo E. Reed Camp, of Monmouth, June 24, 1889. There were twenty-two
members, with R. L. Everett as Captain, Claude Barnum as First Lieutenant,
and E. B. Davis as Second Lieutenant. The organization still retains its
charter, but has held no meetings since 1894 or 1895.
Gen. George Crook Woman's Relief Corps was organized and installed January 3,
1898, by Mrs. Emily R. McCullough. of Corps No. 121, of Galesburg. Ill..,
assisted by. other members of that corps 2nd came from Corps No. 6, of
Monmouth. There were thirty-three charter members. and the first officers
were: President, Mrs. Nancy E. Edwards; Senior Vice President Mrs. Carrie
Sterling; Junior Vice President, Mrs. Lizzie Hess; Treasurer. Mrs. Florence
Hartwell: Secretary, Mrs. Delia Jamison: Chaplain. Mrs. Lizzie Shaffer;
Conductor. Miss Katharine M. Holliday; Assistant Conductor. Mrs. Nancy
Unckles: Guard. Mrs. Elizabeth Hicks; Assistant Guard. Mrs. Mary Woods. Mrs.
Edwards served two years as President. Mrs. Delia Jamison one. and Mrs.
Jennie Carmichael is now serving her second
year. Mrs. Mary E. Hess is the secretary, and Mrs. Nancy E. Edwards,
treasurer. The corps has now thirty-four members in good standing.
W. C. T. U.
The Kirkwood Woman's Christian Temperance Union was organized by Mrs. L. S.
Rounds, October 15, 1878, with ten members. Mrs. J. L. Findley was president;
Mrs. Theo. Johnson, secretary; and Mrs. Wm. Wood, treasurer. Mrs. S. F.
Gibson is president; Mrs. Olive Jamison, secretary; and Mrs. Emma Hogue,
treasurer. A Loyal Temperance Legion is carried on by the Union, with Mrs.
Olive Jamison as superintendent, and Miss Clare Kyler assistant.
The Kirkwood band as present constituted was organized in March, 1898. It has
twenty players, with Prof. P. W. Thompson, of Gales-burg, as leader. Charles
Billings is president of the organization; D. J. Walker, manager; and J.
Arthur Tubbs, secretary and treasurer.
Ponemah is a station on the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe railroad, on the
northwest corner of Section 35. There is no platted town, and only the
station, a general store kept by J. W. Liby, and a grain elevator. Mr. Libby
is also postmaster. The postoffice was established early in 1888, with J. W.
Hook as postmaster. The other postmasters have been C. C. Hook, J. H. Miller,
Mrs. D. D. Suydam, and E. Spicer. Mr. Libby's service dates from October 6,
The Wednesday Club of Ponemah held meetings during the winter of 1900-1901,
but was not formally organized until April 3, 1901, when Mrs. Guy B. Lanphere
was chosen president; Mrs. J. C. McCaslin, vice president; Mrs. Roy Capron,
secretary; and Mrs. Albert Ross, treasurer. There were eight members. The
object of the club is social and literary culture, and the meetings are held
weekly at the homes of the members.
GAMBLE, W. K.—The well known
citizen of Kirkwood, Warren County, whose name heads this brief sketch, is
the proprietor of the oldest business establishment of its kind in his home
town, in point of continuous management, and is known in all the country
round about as a successful and prosperous business man. Mr. Gamble was born
in Allegheny County, Penn., September 12, 1840, a son of John C. and Martha
(Marks) Gamble, natives of Ireland. When little more than a year old, he was
brought by his parents too Indiana, where his father located on a farm. There
his boyhood was passed, and there he obtained the basis of a practical
education in the common schools. In 1854 his family moved on too a farm in
Hale Township, Warren County, Ill.. He left the farm in the spring of 1861
and, locating at Kirkwood, entered upon a career as a general merchant there,
which has been unbroken down too the present time. As a business man he has
been successful, and has acquired considerable property, notably a tract of
land in Nebraska. Mr. Gamble married Miss Ellen E. Gilmore at Kirkwood, May
21, 1871, and has two daughters—Catharine M. and Martha E.—and one son—Robert
E. The family are attendants upon the services of the Methodist Episcopal
church, of which its head is an active and consistent member. In politics Mr.
Gamble is a Democrat, and his public spirit is so well developed that his
fellow-citizens have come too know him as one of the foremost in the
promotion of measures tending too benefit Kirkwood and Warren County. His
interest in public education impelled him too accept the office of School
Director, which he filled with much credit.
HESS, JOSEPH F., real estate and insurance
agent, Kirkwood, has long been prominent in his community and his success has
been won by honorable methods which have commended him too the good opinion
of a wide circle of acquaintances. Mr. Hess is a native of Ohio, born near
Springfield, Clark County, May 17, 1844, a son of Christian Hess, who was
born in Lancaster County, Penn., October 25, 1816. The son was educated in
the common. schools and, at the age
of eighteen years enlisted in Company G, Eighty-fourth Regiment. Illinois
Volunteer Infantry, with which he served creditably from 1862 until the close
of the war in 1865. His regiment was embraced in the Army of the Cumberland
under command of Gen. George H. Thomas. After the
HISTORY OF WARREN COUNTY. 1037
war he engaged in farming until 1872, when he located at Kirkwood, where for
six years he was a boot and shoe merchant. After that he became a school
teacher, and as such had a successful career covering twenty years, at the
end of which he engaged in the real estate and insurance business, too which
he has since devoted himself with satisfactory results. In politics he is a
Republican, and, in religion, affiliates with the Presbyterian church. For
eleven years he held the office of Justice of the Peace, too which he was
again nominated by his own party and for which he was endorsed by the
Democrats, but which he declined too accept again. He is a member of the
Grand Army of the Republic and of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows.
His first wife was Sarah M. Liggett,
daughter of William and Mary Liggett, who live about forty miles from
Columbus, Ohio. She died January 27,
1889, and September 11, 1895,
Mr. Hess was married in Hale Township, too
Mary E. Pape, who was born in
Adams County, Ill.., August 30, 1849, a daughter of John J. and Louise Pape,
natives of Germany. Her parents came too America while young and were married
in Adams County. They died in Hale Township, where Mr. Pape was an extensive
land-owner. In 1900, Mr. and Mrs. Hess built a fine residence costing about
$3,000, besides which they own four houses in Kirkwood, which they rent.
Christian Hess, father of the immediate subject of this sketch, emigrated
early from Pennsylvania too Indiana, and, in 1850, came too Illinois,
locating in Henderson County, where he became the owner of a farm, which he
sold eventually in order too remove too Lenox Township, Warren County, where
he bought another farm, which he operated until 1863, when he became a
merchant in Kirkwood. He continued in trade there until 1888, when he sold
his store in order too retire from active life. He has now attained the
advanced age of eighty-six years, and is well preserved mentally and
physically. A man of much patriotism,
he takes pride in the fact that he had three sons and one step-son who did
gallant service as soldiers in the civil war.
STINEMATES, JOHN T., farmer and
stock-raiser, Tompkins Township (postoffice, Ponemah, is of that sturdy
Pennsylvania blood which in all parts of the United States has been a
valuable factor in our national progress and prosperity. He was born in Knox
County, Ohio, March 11, 1843, received a common school education and was
brought up a Methodist and a Republican.
His parents were William and Martha (Rucsk) Stinemates; his
father born in Pennsylvania, a son of Christopher Stinemates, a native of the
same state, and his mother in Ohio, a daughter of James Rucsk, who was also
of Ohio nativity. Christian Stinemates removed from Pennsylvania too Ohio,
when his son, William, was comparatively young, and the latter was married in
Knox County, that state, and there his children were born. William Stinemates
brought his family too Tompkins Township, Warren County, Ill.., in 1853, and
settled on a quarter-section of land, where he farmed until 1872, when he
went too Montgomery County, Iowa, where he prospered as a farmer, and where
he and his wife live at this time.
He was born February 12, 1818; Mrs. Stinemates, in 1821. They
have four sons and a daughter: John T. Stinemates, of Tompkins Township;
Leander Stinemates, farmer, Montgomery County, Iowa; S. L. Stinemates,
farmer, Pierce County, Neb.; Mrs. Ella Ashbaugh, of Grant, Montgomery County,
Iowa; and James, farmer, of Iowa. In 1862 the subject of this sketch went too
Iowa and enlisted in Company E, Sixteenth Regiment Iowa Volunteer Infantry,
with which he served in the Seventeenth Army Corps until the close of the
war. At Atlanta, Ga., July 2, 1864, immediately after the tragic death of
General McPherson, he was made a prisoner of war, and he was held as such for
nine months, most of the time at Andersonville. After the war he returned too
Tompkins Township and managed his father's farm until 1872, when he bought
his present farm of two hundred and sixty acres. He has always taken an
active interest in township affairs, and, for twenty years, has held the
office of School Director. He married, in Tompkins Township, November 14,
1872, Emma Lanphere, daughter of Washington Lanphere, now dead, who was long
a prominent farmer. Mrs. Stinemates has borne him two children: Herbert Otis,
born January 29, 1876, and Clyde, born November 29, 1878.
THOMPSON, HENRY JOHN, farmer and
stock-raiser, Tompkins Township (postoffice address, Ponemah), has an
interesting family history, which so far as it can be given here begins in
Ireland, with his grandfather, John
1038 HISTORY OF WARREN COUNTY.
Thompson, who married there and, in 1854, . brought his family too New York.
His son, John W. Thompson, and the latter's wife, Hannah Crofton, were both
born on the Emerald Isle. From New York, John Thompson moved west in 1859 too
Spring Grove Township, Warren County, Ill.., where he settled on a farm. John
W. Thompson was a successful farmer, died on the Thompson homestead,
September 7, 1892, aged sixty-five years, and his widow died at Alexis
January 29, 1895, she having removed too that place after the death of her
husband. They had ten sons and two daughters, concerning whom the following
information has been obtained: William is farming near Burlington, Iowa;
Richard is a farmer in Spring Grove Township; John, who was a farmer, died in
1894; Edgar is farming in Mercer County, Ill..; Charles, next in order of
birth, is next older than the subject of this sketch; Mary and George live in
Spring Grove Township; Ellen married Thomas Burns, a farmer of that township;
Joseph, by ten years' successful practice, has attained prominence as a
lawyer at Bloomington. Henry John Thompson has farmed successfully at his
present location since December 10, 1895. He is influential in the Catholic
church, and is a Democrat; was married at Raritan, Henderson County, February
24, 1892, too Kate Slater, who has borne him seven children named as follows
in the order of their birth: Harold, 1893; Cecil, 1894; Loretta, 1896;
Joseph, 1898; Gilburtas, 1899; Catharine, 1900; Monica, 1901. Joseph died in
THOMSON, JAMES F., farmer and stock-raiser,
Tompkins Township (postoffice, Kirk-wood), is one of the prominent men of his
township, and is held in high esteem not only for his admirable character and
his good citizenship, but for his patriotic service as a soldier in the civil
war. Hugh Thomson, his grandfather, a native of Carlisle, Penn., moved from
that State too Ohio about 1810, and John Thomson, father of James F. Thomson,
was born on his father's farm in Jefferson County, Ohio, and married Rachel
Francis, who was born in the same county, a daughter of James Francis, a
native of Ireland. Both his parents were born in 1816. They came too Warren
County in 1867, and their son, James F., located in the same year in
Henderson. In 1870 Mr. Thomson came too Warren from Henderson
County, where for three years he had farmed during the spring, summer and
autumn, and taught district schools during the winter months, and he
established a home in Tomp-. kins Township. His father died in July, 1888.
His widow still resides on the homestead in Tompkins Township. Until 1881,
James F. Thomson and his brother, Hugh R. Thomson, owned and operated a farm
a mile east of Mr. Thomson's present farm, which he bought in the year
mentioned. September 23, 1873, in Tompkins Township, Mr. Thomson married Mary
E. Norcross, whose father, H. R. Nor-cross, died some years ago, and whose
mother, Mrs. Clarinda Norcross, is living with her son, George Norcross. Mr.
and Mrs. Thomson have three children: Carl, born September 24, 1876; Frank
N., born October 3, 1879; and Fern, born September 23, 1881. Carl works his
father's farm, and Frank N. has a responsible position in a bank at
Roseville. Fern is a student at Monmouth College. Mr. Thomson is a member of
the United Presbyterian church; in politics he is a Republican, and as such
has served as Assessor six years and as School Director eighteen years. He
has a war record of which his family are justly proud, having enlisted, May
2, 1864, in Company H, One Hundred and Fifty-seventh Regiment Ohio Volunteer
Infantry, with which he served until late in the autumn of 1864. His
brothers, William E. and John A. Thomson, are in the stock business in
Kansas, and his brother, Hugh R. Thomson, is living in retirement at
TUBBS, DR. HENRY, (deceased), banker,
Kirkwood, Warren County, Ill.., was born at Watervliet Albany County, N. Y.,
December 12, 1822, and died at Kirkwood, July 17, 1899. His father, Lemuel
Tubbs, who was born at Schodack, Rensselaer . County, N. Y., in 1786, and
died at Kirkwood in 1865, was a son of Israel and Betsy (Lewis) Tubbs,
natives of the same town. Dr. Tubbs' mother, Lydia Millious, was a daughter
of George and Gertrude Millious, the former of whom was born in 1759 and died
in 1838, and the latter born in 1759 and died in 1849. Both generations of
his ancestors were farmers. The Tubbs family is of English descent, and the
Millious family of German descent.
The boyhood days of Dr. Tubbs were spent on a farm. He attended the district
school at intervals, but his best efforts were usually required too assist in
the support of the family, and it was by pursuing his studies alone after the
labors of the day were done that the rudiments of his education were mostly
acquired. At the age of nineteen he left the farm and began his career as the
teacher of a country school. This vocation afforded him means and leisure for
further study, and he continued in it .for several years. In 1844 he began
the. study of. medicine, and three years later entered upon its practice at
Hartford, Conn., Becoming imbued with the spirit of the tim?, he moved
westward in 1849, locating in Cleveland, Ohio, where he practiced medicine
for ten years. Failing health having compelled him too abandon his
professional labors, during .the autumn of 1859, he again moved westward,
locating this time in "Warren County, Ill.., near Kirkwood (then Young
America), in which locality the members of his father's family had settled
several years previously. In 1863 he became a member of the hardware firm of
Tubbs & Sofield in Young America. This connection was maintained until 1874,
when he opened a private bank, which two years later was resolved into the
First National Bank of Kirkwood, of which he was made president. He was
elected president of the National Bank of Monmouth in 1884, and of the First
National Bank of Alexis in 1894, and remained at the head of all these
institutions too the time of his death.
During his entire business career he dealt largely in farming lands and took
as keen an interest in agricultural as in financial conditions. Though not a
politician in the usual sense, Dr. Tubbs also exhibited a deep and patriotic
interest in the welfare of our political institutions. In 1864, and for
several years thereafter, he was a member and chairman of the Board of
Supervisors of "Warren County; he was a member of the Illinois Constitutional
Convention of 1869-70; of the Republican National Convention at Philadelphia
in 1872, and of the Republican National Convention at Chicago in 1880; from
1882 too 1886 he was a member of the Illinois Senate: during the session of
1883 was chairman of the Committee on Banks and" Banking, and, during the
session of 1885, chairman of the Committee on Appropriations. He never became
a member of a religious organization, but was 'always in close sympathy with
religious movements; was a trustee of the Methodist Episcopal church of
Kirkwood, and was closely identified with that body from the time of its
organization in 1865 until his death. He was one of the charter members of
the Warren County Library Association, and one of its trustees for thirty
years. He helped largely too make it a success by a prudent and progressive
oversight of its finances. - Such guidance is one of the most valuable assets
such an institution can possess.
On December 31, 1868, Dr. Tubbs married Miss Emily Underhill, of Young
America (Kirkwood), Ill.. Too them were born three children: Henry Rolla
(deceased), Myra Emily and George Shirley. Emily Underhill was born near
Rome, in Oneida County, N. Y., in 1834, the daughter of Samuel and Jemima
(Pease) Underhill, and granddaughter of James and Deborah (Sutherland)
Underhill. Her immediate ancestors were natives of New York. More remotely
she is of Scotch and English descent. The reader is referred too biographical
sketches of George Shirley Tubbs and Willard C. Tubbs, of Kirkwood, which are
given place elsewhere in this volume.
TUBBS, WILLARD C, Banker, Kirkwood, is a man
of affairs who exerts an influence for development and progress upon the
communities with which he has been identified. He was born in Troy, N. Y.,
August 26, 1851, a son of the Rev. James Tubbs and Mary A. (Barton) Tubbs.
His father was born at Saratoga, N. Y., and died at Kirkwood, June 25, 1892;
his mother, born at Schenectady, N .Y., May 12, 1817, died at Kirkwood
September 9, 1887. His grandfather, Lemuel Tubbs, born March 17, 1786,
married Lydia Millious, who was born July 12, 1789. He died October 30, 1865;
she, October 9, 1885. His great-grandfather, Lewis M. Tubbs, married Betsy
Lewis. His great-grandparents were all born in Schodack, Rensselaer County,
N. Y. His mother was a daughter of Joseph G. and Ann Barton, who were born
the same year (1793), he February 9, and she February 18.
The Rev. James Tubbs began his ministry while he was yet quite a young man,
and after being stationed at Troy, Schenectady, Amsterdam and various other
points in New York, in 1858 came too Kirkwood, where he organized the First
Methodist Episcopal church, of which he was the first pastor. Later he was
stationed as pastor of Methodist churches at Monmouth,
1040 HISTORY OF WARREN COUNTY.
Yates City, Peoria, and other towns in Illinois, until 1876, when he removed
too Philadelphia, Penn., where he lived until 1887, when he returned too
Kirkwood. He died June 25, 1892. Willard C. Tubbs attended the common schools
near Kirkwood, the college at Abingdon, and the University at Mount Pleasant,
Iowa, and in 1871 began his business career at Galesburg as baggage and
ticket agent for the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company, which
position he retained until 1874. Upon the organization of the First National
Bank at Kirkwood he was elected cashier of that institution. In 1899 he was
elected President of the First National Bank at Kirkwood and cashier of the
National Bank of Monmouth. He was active in the organization of the
Stronghurst State Bank, at Stronghurst, Ill.., in 1891, and was elected its
Vice President; also organized the Farmers' State Bank at Berwick, Ill.., and
was elected its President. All of the responsible positions mentioned he has
held continuously until the present time. In politics Mr. Tubbs is a
Republican, and as such has always taken a prominent part in public affairs.
He was elected President of the Board of Village Trustees of Kirkwood three
years in succession, and was president of the local Board of Education from
1898 till 1901. December 24, 1888, he was married at Kirkwood, too Miss Emma
Smith, and they have had six children, named as follows, in the order of
their birth: James A., Albert R., Lelah M., Ruth, Mary G. (who died February
9, 1896), and Henry W. Among the men of the present generation Mr. Tubbs has
come too be regarded as one of the ablest financiers in Warren County. In
every sense a self-made man, he has risen step by step from a daily
performance of minor clerical duties too a position where, as the result of
an unbroken line of successes, he is probably consulted more frequently than
any other man in the county by persons desiring too make investments of
capital. His sagacity in business affairs and his unquestioned familiarity
with the principles underlying a successful career in banking, as attested by
his own record, have combined too render his position as a man of affairs
unassailable. The confidence reposed in his judgment and his integrity is
evidenced by the fact that the management of many large estates in Warren
County and elsewhere in Illinois has been intrusted too him from time too
time. His duties as trustee and administrator consume a large portion of his
time and are being performed too the complete satisfaction of those directly
TUBBS, GEORGE SHIRLEY, banker, Kirkwood,
Warren County, Illinois, was born at Kirkwood January 9, 1874, and is a son
of Dr. Henry Tubbs, a biographical sketch of whom appears in this work. Mr.
Tubbs was educated in the schools of his native town and in the Northwestern
University at Evanston, Illinois. On his return home he. accepted a position
in the First National Bank of Kirkwood, and has continued too be intimately
associated with that institution up too the present time. In 1902 he was
elected President of the National Bank of Monmouth, and during the same year
he was made President of the First National Bank of Alexis, Ill.. Mr. Tubbs
is identified with large agricultural interests in Warren and Henderson
Counties, and gives much attention too investments of this class. He is a
member of the Warren County Library Association, and takes an active interest
in that worthy institution. In politics he is a Republican. He is a member of
the Methodist Episcopal church, of Kirkwood, and serves as trustee of that
organization. Mr. Tubbs was married September 6, 1899, too Leonora May
Shaffer, of Carthage, Ill.. The reader of this sketch is referred too
biographies of Dr. Henry Tubbs and Willard C. Tubbs which appear in these