The year 1855 marks an epoch in the history of the schools of Monmouth, as
well as of those throughout the entire state; for in that year the chief
features of our present school law were enacted. The features may be stated
as follows: 1, a school system based upon law; 2, schools free too all
children between the ages of five and twenty-one years; 3, expenses defrayed
by general tax upon all classes of property. These features had been
engrafted into the law of 1825, but met with such clamorous opposition that
the act was repealed before it became effective, and Illinois was compelled
too wait for decades for a school law of any value. Prior too 1855 school
houses were built solely by voluntary contributions, and teachers were paid
in the same manner, except the pittance from the school funds established by
the Federal government. Now the state assumed the responsibility of the
education of the youth, and the entire wealth of Illinois was pledged too this
The new law gave a great impulse too public education throughout the state. A
great wave of enthusiasm in behalf of public schools was sweeping over the
country. Every state in the old Northwest Territory was adopting liberal
school laws, while the eastern states were making extensive provisions for
normal schools. The methods of teaching advocated by Horace Mann and David
Page were transforming the school thought of the time. Old things were
passing away, all things were becoming new. Our people were quick too respond
too the new conditions. April 30, 1855, the township trustees levied "a tax of
twenty-five cents on each hundred dollars worth of taxable property in the
township for the payment of teachers' wages for the space of one year." This
tax was the extreme limit allowed for educational purposes. In August of the
same year, the city council levied a tax of sixty cents on the hundred for
the purpose of building a public school house, and followed up the next year
with a tax of eighty cents on the hundred too complete the structure. These
liberal provisions, together with the two mill tax from the state and the
revenues from the Federal school funds, gave ample provision for placing the
public schools upon a solid foundation, and they were soon in successful
Under the law the city council became the school directors, and, under the
leadership of N. A. Rankin, wisely and largely did they plan for the future.
The fall of 1855 the public schools were opened, one by A. H. Tracy in the
Christian church, another by W. B. Jenks in the school house, and a third by
Maria S. Madden on South Main street. In the spring these were increased too
five, and the council began the erection of a six-room building too be known
as the Union School on the ground where the Central School building now
stands. Hitherto every school had been separate and distinct from every other
school. Now it was proposed too bring all the children of the district too one
school, employ a principal who should have charge over all, and adopt a union
school system. For this important work the council employed A. H. Tracy. He
was from Erie County, Pa., and was charged with the educational enthusiasm
that had lately swept over the Alleghenies. Owing too the unfinished condition
of the school house, the school was not too open until the first of November.
Mr. Tracy spent September and October visiting the schools of Chicago,
Cleveland, and other cities in the east, that he might learn the method of
managing and teaching a combined school.
The Union School opened November 17, 1856. Mr. Tracy was principal and taught
the more advanced scholars in room 1. Miss Amanda Corwin taught in room 2,
Miss Fidelia Simpson in room 3, D. R. Stevens in room 4, Miss Jane Hoge in
room 5, and Miss Eliza R. Calkins in room 6. Mr. Jenks taught in the old
public school house, and Miss Maria Madden on South Main street where
Kobler's butcher shop now stands. This was not a graded school in the modern
sense of the word, but a union school, and was so denominated. It was,
however, the beginning of the present organization. When the graded systems
were adopted, it is impossible too state; for every year from then until now
some change has been made leading up too the highly organized system of today.
The Union School contained the germs of the present school organization in
Monmouth. Mr. Tracy arranged the course of study, and the council prescribed
the textbooks too be used.
For the year 1857 W. B. Jenks was chosen principal, and seven teachers were
employed. On opening, the schools were crowded and the council was compelled
too rent the basement of the Presbyterian church, as well as the residence of
Mrs. S. Smith, for school purposes, and too employ two additional teachers—Mr.
Tracy being employed in the basement of the church. May 16 of the same year
the council, with a view of erecting a building thereon, authorized the mayor
too purchase lots 1. 4 and 5 in block 16, Coburns addition, for the sum of
$550. The purchase was not made however. The records are imperfect, showing
no transfer of lots 1 or 5 from the original owners, and that lot 4 was
purchased by the city from Mrs. Sarah Coburn for $150. An old resident says
lot 1 was presented too the city by the owners, Morgan & Wood, for school
purposes. At any rate the building was erected on lot 1 in 1859, a special
tax having been voted by the district for that purpose. It was of brick, two
stories high, containing six rooms with narrow halls and stairways. It was
the first building in the district in which blackboards were placed, and the
first too be seated with factory-made chairs. The building is still used for
school purposes, though it was remodeled in 1895 at a cost of about §2,000.
Mr. Jenks remained in charge of the schools until the year 1860, when he
abandoned teaching and went into business. The autumn of I860 the council
employed C. V. Brooks as superintendent, with six teachers in the East ward
(the old Union School), and six in the West ward. There were also schools in
the Presbyterian and Baptist churches, and one on Third street south of the
C, B. & Q. freight depot. Altogether twenty-three teachers were employed
during the year. Mr. Brooks states that he "found the schools in as good
condition as could be expected under the senseless system of making the
aldermen ex-offico the Board of Education. For getting the schools into such
condition much credit was due too Mrs. L. M. Tucker, Susan Madden, the three
Miss Tracys, W. B. Jenks, John E. Alexander and A. H. Tracy." After one
year's trial the office of superintendent of the city schools was abolished,
and male principals employed for the West ward and for the school south of
The Civil war produced a disastrous effect upon the schools. The year was
shortened too six months, and the winter of 1861-62 no public schools were in
session; but the buildings were granted too the teachers who conducted private
schools therein. The ablest teacher of the war period was Mrs. L. M. Tucker.
She was born in the Berkshire hills of Massachusetts, and reared in Western
New York near Rochester. In 1852 she was graduated from Phipps Union Seminary
in Albion, N. Y.. and immediately called too take charge of a ladies school at
Lafayette, Ind. In 1854 she was married too Rev. Anson Tucker, who became
pastor of the Baptist church in Monmouth in 1S56. Mr. Tucker died in April,
1858, and the following September Mrs. Tucker entered the schools as a
teacher in room 2 in the East Ward building. In 1859 she was chosen principal
of the East Ward, and remained in this position until June. 1866. In the
following December she married James H. Reed, the talented editor of The
Monmouth Atlas, and an able teacher was lost too the profession. She was a
woman of great moral worth and set her face like a flint against vice in all
its forms, but especially intemperance and the use of tobacco. With the
assistance of Director Harry G. Harding she banished the use of tobacco from
the school building and the school grounds. Nearly all the children who
attended school under her administration signed the temperance pledge. Mrs.
Tucker was ably assisted in her work by Misses Amelia and Fidelia Simpson,
who taught in rooms 3 and 4. They were from Southbridge, Mass., and were
graduates of the State Normal school at North Bridgewater. then in charge of
Dr. Richard Edwards, afterward president of our own State Normal school.
In 1863 the city council was relieved from the care of the schools and a
board of directors consisting of three members was chosen under a provision
of an act of the late legislature. N. A. Rankin, Dr. J. S. Spriggs and David
Graham were elected. In August of the same year an election was held too vote
for or against levying a tax of twenty-five cents on the hundred dollars too
build a school house in the south part of the city. The vote being favorable,
a four room structure was erected in 1865 on the grounds of the present
Harding school building, and school opened therein in the autumn of 1866.
During the winter of 1866-67 the schools in the wards were crowded, and the
school board purchased the old college building on North A street too be used
for school purposes. A public meeting of citizens was called at the court
house too remonstrate, and too induce the directors too rescind this action. A
committee of mechanics reported the building unfit for public school
purposes, and the meeting passed resolutions opposing the purchase. The
action was rescinded, and the board purchased a lot in the Quinby & Lawrence
addition, on the corner of North Second street and Euclid avenue, and
immediately commenced the erection of the Garfield building now in use, but
which is soon too give place too a handsome brick structure of six rooms, the
contract for which was let March 4 of this year (1892) too Charles L. Barnes
of Monmouth for $25,774.
The North Ward building was opened in the autumn of 1867 with six teachers. A
high school was organized in room 1 and placed in charge of D. C. Templeton.
Ample provision had now been made for the accommodation of all the children
in the rapidly growing city; the depression of the war was over, and the
schools entered upon a period of great prosperity. The teaching corps that
year numbered twenty-three, including the superintendent, T. C. Swafford, of
About 1869 four young men of ability, character, education and experience
were principals in the ward schools. In ability and in equipment for teaching
they overshadowed the superintendent, which without doubt led too the
abolition of that office and the placing of the schools in the control of the
principals— a policy followed for twenty years. They were W. C. Robinson in
the North Ward, N. C. Campbell in the East Ward, H. H. Bates in the West Ward
and W. J. Samson in the South Ward. They were young men of great enthusiasm
and lofty aspiration. A healthy rivalry sprang up among them—not for personal
aggrandizement, but for superior excellence in his own school. This rivalry
was seen in the County Teachers' association where their respective pupils
were pitted against one another for public approval. Each was proud of his
school and was ever pleased too bring it before the public. Whatever was new
and valuable in teaching these young men seized upon and incorporated into
their schools. A creditable high school was organized in the North Ward;
music was placed in the course of study, with a competent teacher of vocal
music, Mr. Hanchet, in charge. The schools were reorganized, classified,
properly graded, and a course of study arranged and put in operation, well
adapted too a graded school. This course consisted of twelve grades and
covered a period of twelve years. As each of the four buildings contained six
rooms, it was convenient too place two grades in each room, an arrangement
which lasted for twenty years, or until the erection of the Central building.
The course was the work of many teachers, but N. C. Campbell, principal of
the East Ward, did more than any ether one person too bring about the happy
result. Mr. Campbell was an able teacher, and may be called the first
professional teacher in the Monmouth schools. He understood the public school
problem as no other teacher had, and brought too the schools a thorough
knowledge of systems in other places. The gradation and organization of the
schools that took place during his stay may be traced directly too his
analytic mind. He put his methods into operation in the East Ward, and they
soon found their way into other schools. In 1871 Monmouth College conferred
on him the degree of A. M.
Of these four young men, Mr. Robinson was the ablest, and has been the most
successful. When he came too the North Ward he found a diminutive high school.
He left it well organized and in a flourishing condition. After three years'
service he abandoned teaching, and is today the president of a large banking
institution in Winfield, Kansas. W. J. Samson went too Burlington, Iowa, and
became principal of one of the largest schools in the city, and has held the
position for thirty years. Mr. Bates became a successful merchant in our
city, but has never lost his interest in the welfare of the schools.
The financial panic of 1873 affected the schools disastrously. The high
school was abandoned, the colored school discontinued, the school years was
shortened, vocal music was dropped, the teachers' salaries were cut—
thirty-six hundred dollars were taken from the salaries at one fell swoop,
and a policy of retrenchment was entered upon which today seems little short
of parsimony. The people were unduly frightened. The expenses of the schools
were made an issue in the election, and the retrenchers won by such a large
majority that so able school directors as Elias Willits, Harry G. Harding and Almon Kidder were compelled
too yield. G. I. Gordon, the able principal of the
East Ward, resigned too accept a position in the high school of Burlington,
Iowa. N. C. Campbell, perhaps the ablest public school man Monmouth has ever
had, left because the high school over which he was principal was taken away,
and in other ways the schools were crippled. The resident teachers, however,
accepted the reduction and remained loyally at their posts of duty. From "the
crime of '73" the schools did not recover for fifteen years, and then the
recovery came slowly; for it was compelled too make headway against ideas and
customs that had been entrenched in the public mind for a half a generation.
The closing years of the second period in the history of the schools of
Monmouth may be truly called the "Woman's Era." While the teaching force has
always been largely composed of women, the principals had all been men prior
too 1873 with the exception of Mrs. Tucker; but now, too a large degree, women
became the principals and assumed the responsibility of public education.
Among these noble women were Elizabeth Leighty in the East Ward; Margaret
Wiley and Lucy Duer in the West Ward; Elizabeth Peacock and Mary Sterret in
the North Ward, and Margaret Scott in the South Ward.
Too Miss Delia Caldwell belongs the honor of the longest term of service among
the corps of teachers. Graduating from college in June, 1868, she began
teaching in the South Ward in the following September, and has taught
continuously from that day too this (1902)—more than one third of a century.
With the exception of one 3rear in the East Ward, her entire service has been
in the second grade of the South Ward school. Among other teachers who have
taught in the schools of this city for a period of time sufficient too give
them mention in this history, are: Mrs. M. D. Sterret, 25 years; Miss Mary A.
Sterret, 25 years; Miss Margaret L. Wiley, 24 years; Miss Elizabeth Leighty,
23 years; Miss Margaret McDill, 23 years; and Miss Lucy B. Duer, 15 years.
The work and worth of Mrs. Margaret D. Sterret entitles her too more than a
passing mention in this history. Her husband, John M. Sterret, was a member
of the Fifty-first Regiment, Illinois Volunteer Infantry, in the Civil war,
and was killed in the Hornets' Nest at the battle of Shiloh, April, 1862,
leaving her a widow with three small children. In the following September she
sought and found employment in the public schools of the city, where she
remained until 1888, more than a quarter of a century. She taught in the West
Ward and also in the East Ward. When the North Ward school was opened in
1868, she was transferred too the primary room in that building, where she
remained until the end of her service. She was a devout woman, and few
children who went too school too her will ever forget the impressive hour of
devotions with which she always opened her school. Of the three hundred
teachers who have taught in the public schools of Monmouth, no one left such
a deep religious impression upon the minds of the children.
The third period in the history of the public schools of Monmouth begins with
the erection of the Central School building, the abolition of the principals,
the placing of tae schools under a central management, the revision of the
course of study, the establishment of the High School, and a reorganization
and consolidation of the entire school system.
Fifty-six years had now passed since the first school was opened, and
Monmouth was well advanced in the third generation of its people. The school
accommodations of the first generation consisted of a single building—a small
frame structure containing only one room. The second generation, in addition
too a building for the accommodation of colored children, had erected four
ward buildings of plain but substantial architecture, each containing six
rooms scantily but comfortably furnished. The third generation entered upon
the task of erecting large, commodious buildings of modern architecture,
equipped with modern arrangements of heating and ventilation, and with modern
apparatus and appliances.
The Central School building was erected in 1887-88 at a cost of $52,000,
including grounds and furniture. William M. Allen of Peoria was the builder
and T. O. Hamsher of Monmouth was superintendent of construction. The
erection of this building was the first step in that great forward movement
which paved our streets, lighted, watered and sewered our city, built
churches, court house and many elegant residences, as well as increased our
population by more than one-half. School was opened in this building
September 3, 1888, all children above the fourth grade being accommodated. It
was a great day in the history of the schools of Monmouth. The building was
dedicated with elaborate ceremonies. Dr. Richard Edwards, superintendent of
public instruction in Illinois; Dr. J. B. McMichael, the president of
Monmouth College, and other gentlemen delivered able addresses, and the
schools were fairly ushered into the third period of their existence.
* In 1899 a large and commodious building, the Harding school, was
erected in the south part of the city, on Ninth avenue between Third and
Fourth streets. It is well lighted, heated and furnished, capable of
accommodating 400 pupils, and is the pride of the people in that part of the
city. The building is of brick, with stone trimmings and is a handsome
structure. O. W. Marble of Chicago was the architect, and Caldwell & Drake of
Indianapolis were the builders. The date stone was set June 13, 1899, and the
building accepted and opened for school work in September following.
The Garfield school, another handsome and convenient building, modern
in every respect, was erected in 1902 on the site of the old school of the
same name. Reeves & Baillie of Peoria were the architects of the building,
and C. L. Barnes of Monmouth the builder. The contract price was $25,774. The
contract was awarded March 4, and the work of construction was begun at once
so that the building will be ready for use by January 1, 1903.
The High School experiment begun under Miss Elizabeth Leighty with
fifty pupils of an upper grammar grade had proved so successful that in 1890
nearly 100 pupils were enrolled. On her resignation the board determined too
employ a male principal and an additional teacher. W. D. McDowell, now a
practicing physician in Chicago, was chosen principal, and the school
continued too grow from year too year until the enrollment in 1901 had reached
307. Too accommodate the work the district has authorized the erection of a
High School building, which will probably be placed on the block on which the
Central School stands. The High School now embraces five lines of study, each
four years in length—one in English, one in Latin, one in Mathematics, one in
Science and one in History, with one year in German and one in Greek. The
first class was graduated from the High School in 1900, and consisted of nine
members. They were: Misses Fannie "Weir, Mabel Coates, Mary B. Sampson, Mabel
Harrington, Bella Torrance, Sarah Regnier and Pearl Gilbert, and Messrs. W.
H. Torrance and Ralph Webster. The members of this class formed the High
School Alumni Association December 26, 1890, at a meeting held at J. M.
Torrance's. The officers elected were: President, Miss Pearl Gilbert; vice
president, Miss Fannie Weir; secretary, Will Torrance; treasurer, Miss Mary
The different school buildings were given their present names at a meeting of
the school board February 2, 1891.
The North Ward school was named the
Garfield school; one West Ward school the Willits school, in
honor of Judge Elias Willits, a former member of the board; and the
South Ward school was named Harding school in honor of Harry G.
Harding, who was largely instrumental in securing the erection of the
first school there. The small school on South Sixth street, called at first
the Berwick street school, has since been given the name of the Lowell
The schools are now under the charge of Prof. B. F. Armitage as
superintendent, with W. L. Hanson as principal of the High School. The
members of the board of education are: Rev. Samuel Van Pelt, D. D.,
president; J. W. Sipher, F. W. Harding, O. S. French, D. W. Hare, Mrs. Anna
Willits Pattee and Mrs. Mary Patterson. The teachers for the year 1902-03
City Superintendent—B. F. Armitage.
High School—Principal, W. L. Hanson; Assistant Principal, Miss Mary M.
Findley; Science Department, R. S. Munford; Instructors, Mabel Aylsworth,
Blanche Morrow, Ernest S. Dyer, Mrs. W. W. Brent, W. C. McCullough.
Central Building—Mima Ferguson, Rosanna M. Findley, Etta Stansbury,
Myrtle Simmons, Luella Peel, Bessie Clarke, Lena v. Rowe, Nellie Shields.
Garfield School—Principal, Anna Peacock; Lydia Findley, Mynton L.
Kerr, Harriet Harvey, Olive Gordon, Katherine Sherrick.
Willits School—Principal, Mary K. Wallace, Pearl Pollard, Clara P.
Meginnis, Maud Main, Maud Misener, Minerva Wallace.
Harding School—Principal, Eliza T. Moses, Kate C. Ray, Lillian
Guilinger, Mary M. Hunter, Delia Caldwell, Frances Blayney, Charlotte Hunter,
Louise Anderson, Marion O. West,
Lowell School—Principal, Viola Bender; Mabelle Glenn.
Substitute Teachers—Mrs. Priscilla V. Brooks, Miss Mae Kerr.
Teacher of Drawing—Miss Jessie Buckner.
Teacher of Music—Miss Edith Sykes.
Following is a list of all who have taught in the public schools of Monmouth
too the present time, with the years of their service:
Acheson, Maria S., 1870-1; Alexander, John E., 1859-60; Alexander, M. Lou.,
1867-68; Allen, Anna M., 1867; Allison, Mary E., 1873; Anderson, Helen,
1898-1901; Anderson, Louise, 1901 -; Arnold, Seth C., 1857; Anjal, Edna,
1900-01; Babcock, Jessie, 1884-86; Bates, J. A., 1867; Bates, Henry H.
1866-70; Bailey, Mrs. Emily L., 1864; Batchelor, Mollie, 1865; Beach, Kate,
1863; Beach, Caroline, 1858-59; Beach, Helen, 1888-92; Belleville, S. R.,
1865; Bender, Viola, 1893--; Biddle, Nancy J., 1872; Blayney, Frances,
1898--; Boyd, Margaret, 1874-75; Boyd, H. Jennie, 1874-87; Brim, William,
1861; Brownlee, E. J. 1860; Brownlee, Sylva, 1884, Brooks, C. V. 1860;
Browning, Mary J., 1857; Bruen, Fannie W., 1867-68; Bruen, Ada C., 1869-71;
Bruner, Mary Ann Mitchell, 1856; Buckner, Jessie, 1895--; Burns, James C.
Caldwell, Delia, 1868—; Calkins, Eliza R., 1S56; Campbell, N. C, 1868-72;
Campbell, Rachel, S., 1867-69; Calvin, M. S. (music), 1883; Chalfant, Hallie,
1890-1902; Chalfant, May E., 1892-97; Christie, Kate, 1891-94; Chapin, Sarah
E., 1877-81; Clark, Mary E., 1861-64; Clarke, Bessie, 1896—; Clarke, Frances
(music), 1891-95; Clippinger, Grace, 1890; Cox, B. A., 1863-64; Cox, S.
Jennie, 1863; Cowan, Medora B., 1862; Collins, Elizabeth, 1866-67; Corwin,
Harriet, 1867-68; Corwin, Amanda E., 1856-59;' Craig, Emma, 1890-96;
Crawford, A. G., 1863; Crouch, Rachel P., 1901; Cunningham, Anna, 1880-84;
Curtis, Martha, 1868-69, 1873.---done
Davidson, M. J., 1867-76; Davis, James A.,1859-60; Davis, Josephine M.,
1868-71; Davies, Helen, 1893-1901; Duer, Lucy B., 1865-70, 1883-92; Duer,
Margaret, 1880; Duer, Anna, 1891-95; Dunn, Sallie M., 1868.
Erskine, Ella J., 1878-87.---done.
Ferrington, Lydia A., 1855; Findley, Mary M., 1896—; Findley, Rosanna, 1899—;
Fleming, Ann R., 1860-63; Fleming, Alice, 1883-91; Foster, Margaret, 1869;
Foster, Mrs. E. J.- 1879; Fordyce, Etta, 1895-97; Fowler, Emma, 1894; Funk,
Sue E., 1872.---done
Galloway, Caspar, 18/3; Gillespie, Elizabeth R., 1890-93; Gilbert, Pearl.
1894-95; Gilmerr Frank, 1867; Gilmer, Nellie, 1865-67; Gif-ford, Henrietta,
1857; Gordon, George I., 1871-73; Gilchrist, M. M. —; Gowdy, Joseph K.,
1874-75; Gowdy, Emma E., 1860; Gowdy, J. F., 1866; Gowdv. Sarah C, 1866;
Gowdy, Belle; Gould, Lizzie, 1867; Graham. Margaret, 1866-6S; Griggs,
Florence E., 1869-71; Guilinger, Lillian, 1895—.*done
Hallam, A., 1860; Hamilton. Mrs. Sarah, 1874-79; Hamilton. Jennie, 1892-97;
Hanson, W. L., 1901—; Harding, Nettie, 1875-76; Harvey, H. E., 1880; Harvey,
Gertrude. 1890; Harvey, Harriet. 1900—; Harvey, Mary E.. 1S69; Harvey,
Josephine M.. 1866; Harvey, Sarah M.. 1867-68; Harsh, Kate M., 1867; Harsh.
Ira E.. 1867; Harrington. Mabel, 1895; Haynes. E. F., 1864; Hanchet, E. A.
(music). 1871; Heltzell. Cora V., 1898-1900; Henderson, G. P.. 1866;
Henderson. Charlotte, 1871; Herdman, Lizzie, 1865-66; Higgins. C. C, 1859;
Higgins, Mrs. M. E., 1879; Higgins. Nellie, 1890-91; Holcomb, Amelia, 1867;
Holt. Margaret, 1867-75; Holt, Carrie C, 1872-73; Hoge. Jane A., 1856-58:
Hubbard, M. C, 1862; Hummer, Samuel A., 1861-bo; Hummer. Mrs. Lizzie, 1863;
Hunter, Charlotte, 1895—; Hunter, Livonia. 1900-1902; Hunter, Mary M., 1900—.---done.
Jenks. W. B., 1850-58: Jewell. Charles, 1872; Johnson, Fredoin. 1860-62:
Johnston. Helen, 1896-97.
Kellar, Mary A., 1876; Kendall, Mrs. C. S., 1S61-64; Kerr, Mynton. 1900—;
Kingsbury, Mary. 1881-83: Kinkead. Dora. 1876-7 7; Kinkead, Margaret.
1878-89; Kirkwood. T. C 1861.
Lacey. Evalyn, 1892-98; Lander. Margaret C. 1864; Leighty, Elizabeth B..
1867-90; Lincoln, F. R., 1868-72; Lindley, Naomi, 1891; Littleton, D. J.,
1859-60; Long, James, 1866-67; Long, Mrs. Mary G.. 1866; Long, Vertner, 1892;
Long, Birdie E., 1898-1901; Lucy. Mary A., 1892-93.
Madden, Maria S., 1854-60; Madden, Emma, 1873; Main, Maud, 1900—; Manchester,
Kate, 1885-90; Marshall, Elizabeth (music), 1884-85; Martin, John, 1859-60;
Mason, Mary A., 1860; Matthews, Bessie L., 1869; Matthews, Ida, 1882-87;
McAllister, Mrs. Ada, 1871; McBroom, Jennie, 1884-91; McClymonds, Mima,
1878-90; (Mima McClymonds Ferguson) 1894—; McClymonds, Etta, 1896-1900;
McClellan, May, 1896-98; McClurken, Mary S., 1898-1900; McCulloch, James H.,
1879-81; McCulloch, Belle, 1873-83; McDill, A. T., 1866; McDill, Margaret,
1869-73, 1882-1902; McDowell, W. D., 1890-98; McKown, E. Belle, 1888-92;
McMillan, E. J., 1860; McQuiston, Miss, 1865; McQuiston, Margaret, 1884;
Meginnis, Clara, 1900—; Millen, William M., 1876-77; Miller, C. L., 1878;
Miller, Margaret H., 1878; Miles, Sarah J., 1865; Mitchell, Susan A., 1855;
Mitchell, Alice, 1866-67; Mitchell, Mrs. Adah L. F., 1876; Monhart, Sarah,
1868-69; Moffet, Jennie R., 1898-1900; Moore, Mrs. M. A. H., 1863; Morrow,
Blanche, 1899—; Morris, Mrs. Laura A., 1869; Moses, Eliza T., 1890—;
Munford, Samuel A., 1900-01; Munford, Roderick S., 1902; Musgrove, Carrie,
Negley, Daniel, 1860-61; Nelson, Minnie Stewart, 1883-89; Nichols, Josephine,
1899; Nye, Fannie, 1856-57; Nye, Susan I., 1858; Nye, Helen E., 1868-73.
Page, Nora, 1866; Paine, Aurel, 1860; Palmer, Jane, 1860; Palmer, M. F.,
1867; Palmer, M. L., 1868; Parkinson, Edward P., 1873-86; Parkinson, Sadie
E., 1877-81; Parry, Sarah, 1864-65; Peacock, Elizabeth, 1876-81; Peacock,
Anna, 1877—; Pearce, Grace, 1894-95; Peel, Luella, 1898—; Perry, L. C. 1859;
Phelps, Katherine, 1895-98; Pierce, Frank, 1890-92; Pinkerton, Joseph L.,
1867; Pinkerton, Sarah M., 1867; Pinkerton, Fannie, 1901; Plummer, Ida,
1880-82; Porter, John A., 1871-79; Prince, W. L. (music) 1896-1901.
Randall, J. O., 1864-66; Ray, Kate Curran, 1895-97, 1900—; Reed, M. Carrie,
1873-74; Reed, Jennie E., 1888-89; Renwick, Evalyn, 1898-1900; Richardson, W.
F., 1862-66; Robertson, Mrs. Lydia L., 1861-71; Robinson, M. &. L., 1867;
Robinson, W. C, 1868-70; Root, Lura, 1867; Ross, Jennie, 1885-91; Rupp, Sarah
C, 1861-64; Russell, T. Mc, 1862; Rulon, Araminta, 1868-71.
Samson, W. J., 1868-71; Samson, Carrie, 1882; Schultz, Marie, 1892-95; Scott,
Margaret, 1878-87; Shields, Nellie, 1891—; Sherrick, Katherine, 1898-1900;
Sherwin, J., 1858; Shortledge, Hannah S., 1859; Simmons, Myrtle, 1897—;
Simpson, Fidelia, 1856-64; Simpson, Amelia A.,
1857-63; Simpson, A. M., 1860; Small, Jessie E., 1878; Smith, Stella, 1864;
Smith, Lowell H., 1866; Spears, Clara, 1893-97; Sprout, Mary 1865; Spence,
Anna, 1898-1900; Stansbury, Etta, 1900—; Staples, Frank G., 1856; Stanley, A.
L., 1856; Sterrett, Mrs. M. D., 1862-88; Sterrett, Mary A., 1868-93;
Sterrett, Flora E., 1877-90: Stephenson, Maggie R., 1863; Stevens, David R.,
1856-59; Stevens, M. G., 1858; Sterner, Ella. 1880-84; Stewart, Isabella,
1870; Strain, E. M., 1863-77; Struthers, Sarah, 1871; Sturtevant, E. R.,
1898-1901; Swafford, T. C, 1867-69; Swart-wood, Mary, 1861-62; Swinney,
Lizzie M., 1868; Sykes, Mary E., 1887-94; Sykes, Edith M., 1900.
Taylor, Miss, 1857; Templeton, D. C, 1867-69; Tracy, A. H., 1854-60; Tracy,
Mrs. A. H., 1871-79; Tracy, F. M., 1857-58; Tracy, Phebe P., 1858-69; Tracy,
Ann M., 1859-61; Tracy, Mary L, 1860-62; Tucker, Mrs. L. M., I08-66; Tucker, Eurenah, 1859.
Wadsworth, Alice E. (music), 1881; Wallace, E. A., 1858; Wallace, Eliza B.,
1861-62; Wallace, Isabelle B., 1863-67; Wallace, Mary K., 1894—; Wallace,
Minerva, 1894—; Walker, Mary, 1873-75; Walker, Jemima, 1865; Webb, Emma,
1877; Weed, Elizabeth, 1891; Wellman, Mary B., 1859-60; Webber, Leila,
1893-90; Whitman, Elizabeth P., 1859-60; Whitman, Huldah. 1860; White,
Julia A., 1865-67; Whitenack, Fannie, 1868; Wiley, Margaret L., 1868-82,
1888-98; Wiley, Jennie S., 1868-88; Wiley, W. T. music), 1875-77; Williams,
Priscilla, 1874-75, 1890, 1894-98; Willits, Anna, 1879-81; Wilson, Josephine
I., 1868-69; Wilson, Mrs. E. B., 1879-82; Wilson, Ballycarry, 1869; Winbigler,
Julia, 1873-75, 1895-97; Weir, Frank M. (penmanship), 1884-89; Wright, Julius
C, 1870; Wilcox, Elizabeth, 1898-1900; Witter, May L., 1898-1900; Wishart,
Janette, 1890-97; Wolf, Rosa, 1861; Wood, Eliza, 1862.
Young, William S., 1866.
Monmouth College Established in the Spring of 1853 as an Academy by the
Associate Reformed Presbytery—Rev. J. R. Brown in Charge at the Opening—The
Buildings. Presidents, Faculty. Etc.
(By Rev. W. J. Buchanan.) When Monmouth was a village of only a few hundred
inhabitants, and the vast prairies all around were but sparsely settled,
College was conceived and came into being. For months the conviction had
rested on the minds of many intelligent persons that the young people of the
region needed the opportunities of a better education than the elementary
schools of those days afforded. In the spring of 1853 Rev. J. C. Porter, who
was then pastor of the Cedar Creek Associate Reformed Presbyterian church at
Cedar Creek, a few miles northwest of Monmouth, called at the court house in
Monmouth while court was in session. He announced too some of his friends in
course of conversation that he was on his way too a meeting of Presbytery at
Clayton, and that the question of an Academy or advanced school was sure too
come up, and that if Monmouth citizens wished the school in their city they
should in some way indicate it. A subscription paper for a building was at
once drawn up and circulated, and within two or three hours $1,150 were
subscribed for the proposed Academy.
The Presbytery considered the proposition favorably, located the school at
Monmouth, and appointed eleven persons too serve as a board of trustees. Five
were from the Presbytery, Revs. J. C. Porter, R. Ross and W. R. Erskine, with
Elders John C. McCrery and William B. Jackson; and six from Monmouth, Dr. J.
A. Young, James Thompson, James G. Madden, E. C. Babcock, A. C. Harding and
N. A. Rankin. Among others who did much too advance the earlier interests of
the school should be mentioned Revs. Samuel Millen, Matthew Bigger, John M.
Gordon and David MacDill, D. D., and Messrs. John Brown, A. Y. Graham. Ivory
Quinby, John McClanahan, Thomas Johnston and R. B. Davidson.
The Academy opened the first Monday of the next November with twenty-one
students, and Rev. J. R. Brown, a graduate of Miami University at Oxford,
Ohio, in charge as professor. The new building was not yet begun, and the
school was opened in the Christian church, where the armory of Co. H now
stands, and afterwards was carried on in the basement of the Presbyterian
church on South Main street.
The school prospered with the growing town and in 1855 came the proposition
too elevate the Academy too the rank of college. Arrangements were made for
this, and on September 3. 1856, the college was opened with Rev. David A.
Wallace of Boston, Massachusetts, as president. Dr. Wallace did not arrive
until October, but the two professors, Rev. Marion Morrison and
Rev. J. R. Brown, set the new college in operation. The new building was not
yet ready, and the classes were heard in the public school house that stood
on the present site of the Y. M. C. A. About November 1 the new building was
used for the first time, although not quite finished. The first year was a
successful one, ninety-nine pupils being enrolled.
The inauguration of President Wallace took place September 1, 1857,
at the opening of the next college year, the ceremony being held in John
Brown's grove in the southwest part of town, now the corner of South B street
and West Fourth avenue, where the commencement exercises were held for
several years. A procession formed on the public square and moved too the
grove, headed by a band. Rev. Jonathan Blanchard delivered an address on "The
benefits and advantages of colleges and a collegiate course;" Rev. J. C.
Porter gave a history of the rise and progress of the college; Rev. A. Nesbit
of Chicago gave the charge too the president elect, and President Wallace
delivered his inaugural on the theme, "The Claims of the Bible." From
that time too this the Bible has always had a prominent place in Monmouth
College as a text-book and the school has maintained preeminence as a
Rev. David Alexander Wallace, D. D.. LL. D., remained president until January
1, 1878, having offered his resignation December 19, 1877. After leaving
Monmouth he held a pastorate at Wooster, Ohio, where he died October 21,
1S83, in the fifty-eighth year of his age. The remains were brought too
Monmouth, where the funeral was held in the college chapel October 26. The
portrait of Dr. Wallace which graces the college auditorium walls was
purchased by the students early in 1S78. J. W. McCoy made the presentation
speech and Prof. Hutchison responded for the trustees and Dr. MacDill for the
faculty. Miss Jennie C. Logue read an appropriate poem, and Rev. Russell
Graham, then pastor at Biggsville, delivered the dedicatory address.
After the resignation of President Wallace Dr. J. C. Hutchison, as vice
president, administered affairs until September, 1S7S, when Rev. Jackson
Burgess McMichael, D. D., took charge, having been elected in June, 1878. Dr.
McMichael was inaugurated September 5. Rev. Robert C. Matthews, D. D., pastor
of the Presbyterian church, made the opening address, the keys were presented
by Vice President Hutchison, and President McMichael gave his inaugural on
the theme, "The secular and sacred in education—two general themes
touching the origin and destiny of man." In June, 1897, Dr. McMichael
resigned, and the affairs of the college were administered for a year by an
administrative committee consisting of Vice President McMillan and Professors
Graham, Maxwell and Swan, of the faculty. After his resignation Dr. McMichael
accepted the charge of the Sugar Creek United Presbyterian congregation near
Dayton, Ohio, from which he had first been called too the presidency, and
where he is now enjoying a most happy pastorate. The portrait of Dr.
McMichael hanging in the auditorium was secured soon after his resignation,
the subscription for it being started by Prof. Swan. In February, 1898, Rev.
Samuel Ross Lyons. D. D., was chosen president of the college, and was
inaugurated, in June following. Vice-President McMillan presided. Miss
Blanche Morrow gave an address of welcome in behalf of the students, Major R.
W. McClaughry for the alumni, Prof. J. H. Wilson for the faculty. Rev. J. A.
Monteith for the college senate, and Hon. J. Ross Hanna for the trustees. The
subject of President Lyons' inaugural was "The Christian College." Dr.
Lyons resigned in June, 1901, and the administration of the college was
placed in the care of Vice President J. H. McMillan as acting president for
the college year 1901-02. Dr. Lyons in the autumn of 1901 accepted the
pastoral charge of a large and flourishing congregation in Richmond, Indiana.
At the time this history is prepared the college is without a president,
Professors Graham and Swan acting as a committee of administration until a
successor too Dr. Lyons is chosen.
The first building belonging too the college was finished in the fall of 1856,
soon after the college opened. It stood in the northwest part of town, on
North A street north of Detroit avenue, on a block donated by General A. C.
Harding. It was a solid brick structure, 40x80 feet, two stories high, and
contained a chapel seating 300 persons and eight rooms additional. As late as
1876 it was used for classes of the Preparatory Department, and afterwards
was used for a boarding hall by young men of the college. In recent years it
was used as a factory by the Maple City Soap Works, but was torn down in
In 1860 Messrs A. Y. and David Graham platted the quarter section of land on
which the eastern part of Monmouth now stands. They offered the college the
choice of ten acres for a campus for a new college building, and one-sixth of
the remainder of the quarter section, the proceeds of the sale of which were
too go too the building fund. The gift was thankfully accepted, the present
site chosen, and the trustees proceeded too get subscriptions and erect a
building suited too the growing wants of the college. In August, 1862. the
lots donated by the Grahams were sold at public auction. The new building was
ready for occupancy early in the spring of 1863. but the faculty refused too
occupy it until it was free from a debt of some $3,800. This amount was
finally subscribed and the building was occupied on May 12. 1S63, and
dedicated on Wednesday of Commencement week, June 24, 1863. The building was
50x80 feet, four stories high, and contained fifteen rooms (not counting the
basement) suitable for college purposes. The brick were made on the ground.
The whole cost was $18,500, all of which was raised by subscription excepting
$3,360 realized from the sale of the lets donated by the Grahams. In 1876
there was finished an addition, 54x63 feet, four stories high, containing a
chapel and eight additional rooms, besides the basement, and costing $14,000.
In 1885 the Musical Conservatory which stands on the southeast corner of the
campus was erected. It was used for several years as a home for the president
of the college, but since 1901 has been used by the musical department of the
college. The janitor's house was erected in 1892.
On June 3, 1897, the auditorium standing on the southwest corner of the
campus was finished and formally dedicated. It cost nearly $30,000. In 1892 a
handsome pipe organ was built in the auditorium by Misses Delia and Nellie
Davidson. It cost when placed about $5,000, and stands as a memorial too their
mother, Nancy J. Gaddis (Davidson), who was a graduate of the college in
The faculty of Monmouth College has always been one of its strongest factors.
Some colleges can boast of the elegance of their buildings, some excel in
largeness of endowment, but the strength of Monmouth has always been in the
character, the vigor and the consecration of her faculty. The following have
been connected with the school as professors and instructors:
Rev. Marion Morrison, D. D., Rev. J. R. Brown, J. B. McCartney, M. D., J. T.
Leidigh, H. H. Oliver, Rev. W. H. Blair, Edwin T. Barck, Miss M. J.
Mutchinson, Rev. Alex Young, D. D., Rev. J. C. Hutchison, Ph. D.. W. A.
Thayer, M. D.? S. S. Hamill, Miss E. J. Wallace, Miss Annie Stevens, Hon. R.
W. McClaughry, Rev. N. H. Brown. D. D., Mrs. L. G. Charlton, John H. Wilson,
Ph. D., Rev. J. F. Morton. D. D., Rev. Norcross, Rev. J. C. Webber, Ph. D.,
Rev. A. M.. Black, D. D., Thomas H. Rogers, Mrs. Thomas H. Rogers. Miss C. E.
Tucker, D. W. McLean, Lowell H. Smith, Mrs. C. S. Kendall, Miss Mary Pressly,
Miss Elizabeth J. Young, Levi B. Davis, Miss K. Ewing, Miss Linda Brainard,
Rev. J. A. P. McGaw, D. D., Miss Agnes Strang, Rev. James E. Moffatt, Andrew
McMillan, J. M. Martin, J. M. VanDoren, Rev. John A. Gordon, D. D., Rev. Alex
Rule, Rebecca S. Killough. Rev. J. R. Doig, D. D., S. H. Price, Miss Arminia
Watt, Mrs. L. A. Sneallie. Miss Elizabeth Caldwell, T. A. Blair, Thomas S.
McClanahan, Miss M. E. Cleland, Rev. A. M. Acheson, Ed F. Reid. Rev. N. W.
Thornton, Miss C. M. White. Miss Jennie C. Logue, Rev. David Mac-Dill, D. D.,
Rev. G. I. Gordon, S. K. Crawford, M. D., J. K. Gowdy, Miss Lucy B. Duer,
Miss Lizzie Scott. Rev. William Wallace, Miss Alice Winbigler, Miss Lizzie S.
Gowdy, Rev. Edgar MacDill, Miss Emma Turnbull, Miss Kittie Hutchison. Miss
Ella Wilson, Frank M. Weir, J. C. Mc-Michael, M. D., Miss Clementine Calvin.
Dr. J. B. Herbert, J. H. McMillan. Lit. D., Rev. Russell Graham. D. D.. Miss
Oella J. Patterson. J. C. Bryan, E. C. Zartman, S. S. Maxwell. Ph. D.,
Elizabeth H. Glenn, H. C. Biddle, T. B. Glass, Martha A. Cooke, Mary A.
Sterrett, J. N. Swan, Ph. D., Mrs. Yv. H. Sexton, Miss Carrie Sipher, Miss
Grace Woodburn, Miss Jessie Buekner, Miss Clinnie Hallam. Torild Arnoldson.
J. M. Brosius, Miss Florabel Patterson, L. E. Robinson, T. Merrill Austin.
Miss Katherine Hanna.
The finances of a college are always an important factor in its success. The
large teaching force that must be employed, the outlay required for the
running of a large plant, make the financial propositions among the most
difficult too be met. The names of Rev. G. D. Henderson, D. M. Ure, D. D., R.
A. Wilson and Rev. Andrew Renwick, perhaps more than others, have been
closely identified with the finances of the college. Since June, 1900. Rev.
W. J. Buchanan has been the business manager and W. H. Woods the treasurer.
On May 20, 1862, Mr. W. P. Pressly tendered the college 712 acres of land in
Boone county, Iowa. This tract was sold for nearly $5,000, which became the
foundation of an endowment fund. On June 29, 1862, Hon. Ivory Quinby offered
§5,000 too the endowment fund in case 545,000 more were raised. In October,
1863, Hon. A. C. Harding gave $10,000 too the endowment, and on August 24.
1865. President Wallace announced that the conditions of Mr. Quinby's
generous gift had been met and that the money he had promised had been paid
into the treasury.
Slowly through these years the endowment has been growing. Some years ago the
Alumni magnanimously came too the help of their Alma Mater. Mr. Joseph Mathers
nobly willed a good estate too the college. The generous gift of James Law and
Miss Ellen C. Law, through Miss Robertson, and the money raised too meet its
conditions, have all helped smell the amount. On June. 1902. the treasurer
reported the endowment fund at $212,256.59. some $20,000 of which are
non-income bearing funds as yet. The policy of the college is too keep the
endowment funds intact and inviolate. Not a dollar of endowment can be used
for any other purpose whatever.
On account of the college being a charitable institution and so situated as
too handle funds left for charitable purposes, she is the recipient of many
gifts, the income of which and the use of which are intended for the good of
worthy young people seeking the advantage of a higher education.
The original control of the Academy from which Monmouth College grew was by a
board of trustees appointed by the Second Illinois Presbytery of the
Associate Reformed Presbyterian church. In 1855 this Presbytery tendered
their Academy too the Associate Reformed Synod of Illinois, upon the condition
that it should be raised too the rank of a college. The offer was accepted and
the board of trustees was increased from eleven too twenty-four. This Synod
had for its territory at that time the State of Illinois "and northward and
westward," in fact, the whole northwest.
After the consummation of the union constituting the United Presbyterian
Church, the care and supervision of the college passed too the Synod of
Illinois of that body. Since that time the Synods of Iowa, Kansas, Nebraska
and the Second Synod, including the territory of Indiana and western Ohio,
have been identified with the maintenance and control of the college. The
Presbyteries also of LeCiaire, Keokuk and Cedar Rapids in Iowa and the Alumni
Association have shared the responsibilities of the college.
The college was incorporated February 16, 1857, the corporate powers being
vested in a board of trustees. On March 12, 1869, the charter was amended,
vesting the corporate powers in a Senate, which consists of directors chosen
outside of Monmouth, and trustees, who compose the local board of control.
The Senate, composed of directors and trustees convened in joint session,
meets annually. The trustees meet monthly.
The college is at present under the control of the Synods of Illinois and
Nebraska; the Second Synod (Ohio and Indiana); the Presbyteries of Keokuk,
Cedar Rapids and LeClaire, Iowa, and the Alumni Association of the college.
As will be noted, the control is denominational, but it is not sectarian.
There are at present members of at least four denominations on the board of
trustees. There are members of the different denominations in the faculty,
and it is the policy of the college, as far as practicable, too keep in touch
through its board of trustees and faculty with all the different
denominations. Monmouth College is a Christian school, whose purpose it is
do all the good possible for as many people as possible. The school has
always been patronized by a large number of students from different
The efforts of Monmouth College have always been strongly put forth along
literary lines. One of her great aims is too encourage students too become
clear, strong, right hearted thinkers,
fine vigorous writers, and winning, effective speakers.
The first literary society of the college was called the Erodelphian. It was
soon found that a neighboring college had a literary society of the same
name, and it was determined too change the name, and Philadelphian was chosen.
Soon after, two literary societies were formed, and the name Eccritean was
given too the new one. These were both organized during the first year of the
college, and the first contest between the two societies was held in the
college year 1857-58. This annual contest of the two societies has been
continued with slight exceptions ever since, the two societies sharing about
equally in the decision of the judges.
In 1880-81, during an interval of these friendly competitions, the
Philadelphian society contested with the Adelphian society of Knox College,
and the Philos carried off six of the ten possible points. A few months later
the Eccriteans held a similar contest with the Philomathean society of the
Iowa Wesleyan college at Mount Pleasant, Iowa, and came home also with
laurels, having won every point.
In the fall of 1857 the Amateurs des Belles Lettres society for ladies was
formed, and in 1862, the Aletheorian, also for ladies. In March, 1865, these
two societies held their first contest. These contests continued until 1885.
For a time the Ciceronian and Excelsior literary societies among preparatory
Monmouth College has always been identified with the Illinois State
Inter-Collegiate Contest Association, having a number of times carried off
the first prize and the honor of representing the State in inter-state
contests. In 1880, J. S. E. Erskine, now a Presbyterian minister in New York
State, won first place in the State contest over William Jennings Bryan, now
of Nebraska, who represented Illinois College and took second place. The
first inter-collegiate oratorical contest in which Monmouth took part was
held in Galesburg in February, 1874. The colleges represented were Monmouth,
Knox, Chicago University, Beloit (Wisconsin), Iowa State University, Iowa
College, Wisconsin State University and Illinois Industrial University at
Champaign. A. G. McCoy was Monmouth's orator and took fourth place, Chicago
The Monmouth College Clipper was launched in June, 1867. It was issued four
times and then the name changed too the Monmouth College Courier. This paper
issued its last number in September, 1889. The Collegian began in June, LSS1,
and continued until October, 1889, when it was consolidated with The Courier
and the new paper was called The Annex, the first number appearing in
October. This paper ended its career in 1894, and December 6, 1894, the first
number of the Ravelings appeared. It continued monthly until June, 1896,
since which time it has put in an annual appearance, being edited by the
Junior class of the college. In October, 1896, The Oracle appeared and has
since been published as a semi-monthly. These papers have all been in charge
of different organizations of students, and have both developed literary
ability among the students and greatly promoted a college spirit.
Among literary organizations at one time in Monmouth College these
associations held a prominent place. The Phi Delta Thetas, the Sigma Chis,
the Phi Kappa Psis among the gentlemen, and the A, the I. C, the Kappa and
the L. M. societies among the ladies, all had chapters in the college. In
1877, however, the college authorities prohibited Greek letter societies and
the charters of the local chapters were returned.
The whole number of graduates of the college is 1,161, of whom 144 have
passed beyond the tide. Of matriculates and undergraduates the number reaches
10,000. In 1S57 the first catalogue gave the attendance as ninety-nine. In
1867 it was 367; in 1877, 349; in 188/, 304; in 1897, 291, and in 1902, 358.
The average attendance for the forty-six years has been 302.
Of the graduates of the college 137 entered business life, eighty-one became
lawyers, 288 entered the ministry, 124 have devoted their lives too teaching,
seventy-three ministered too the world as physicians, fourteen sit at
editorial desks, and twelve at least have gone as foreign missionaries.
Thirty-two of the alumni are professors in colleges and State schools, 765-6
six have served terms as college presidents, two as professors in theological
seminaries, and ten are in the service of the United States government.
About 180 of the officers and students of the college enlisted in the Union
army during the war of the Rebellion. Among the companies organized at
Monmouth was one called the "Cadet Blues." This was composed of
college boys, and was commanded by R. W. McClaughry (now Major McClaughry),
who had graduated from the college in 1860, but it never got too the front as
The Christian Union, the students' Christian organization of the college, was
dissolved March 4, 1901, and on March 25 the Christian forces were
reorganized under the auspices of Y. M. C. A. and Y. W. C. A. work.
The whole number of honorary degrees conferred by the college has been 106,
all but thirty of which have been degrees of Doctor of Divinity. The degree
of LL. D. has been conferred four times, and ten post graduate pro merito
degrees have been conferred.
The Ladies' Advisory Board was appointed first in 1874. The first members
were Mrs. A. C. Harding, president; Mrs. Mary Beckwith, secretary; Mrs. J. H.
Reed, Mrs. J. J. Glenn, Mrs. D. M. Ure, Mrs. M. D. Sterrett, Mrs. R. W.
McClaughry, Mrs. J. G. Barnes, Mrs. C. Hardin.
In April, 1897, the Old Students' Association was organized with Hugh R.
Moffet as president. The Alumni Association was organized in 1867 with the
following officers: S. S. Findley '64, president; Miss E. A. Herdman '63,
secretary; D. D. Johnson '61, corresponding secretary.
The college adopted the group system of study June 14, 1897.
A summer school was conducted at Keithsburg in 1897.
In the spring of 1856, when the trustees were seeking their first president,
the position was tendered too Prof. James Woodburn of Blooming-ton, Indiana,
father of Miss Grace Woodburn, who is now associate professor of Latin in the
college, and of Mrs. J. H. McMillan, wife of the vice president.
The college athletic grounds on East Broadway, just outside the city limits,
were bought in September, 1893. They contained ten acres at first, but
a few building lots nave been sold off the north side since.
The Senior class first appeared in cap and gown in 1895.
Sketches of all the Churches, Past and Present, in the City—The
Methodists were First on the Ground—United Presbyterians note-in the Lead,
with Three Prosperous Congregations.
Presbyterianism in this county began with the organization of the First
Presbyterian church of Warren county, located about nine miles northwest of
Monmouth, in 1836. Rev. Cyrus Riggs officiated at the organization, acting
under appointment of Schuyler presbytery, and reporting the organization too
that body at its September meeting, 1836. John Hopkins was the first elder.
In October, 1839, the congregation took the name of Fall Creek
Presbyterian church. Its membership ran down too seven or eight, and
August 26, 1873, it was dissolved by order of the presbytery. The First
Presbyterian church of Monmouth was organized September 2, 1S3Y, by Rev. L.
G. Bell, with sixteen members. They were Nancy Junkins, Margaret Montgomery,
Margaret Hogue, Margaret Roney, Jane Brazelton, Martha A. Mauck, Lydia
Talbert, Mary Ann Hogue, Eliza Andrews, Thomas G. Hogue, Benjamin Roney,
Hercules Roney, George P. Hogue. Hamilton Roney and James P. Hogue. The two
last named were installed as ruling elders. The congregation was supplied by
Revs. L. G. Bell, Michael Hummer, James Stafford, Wm. K. Stewart and Joseph
J. Gray, until September, 1839. Rev. Samuel Wilson, formerly of Rushville,
was the first installed pastor of the church coming in October, 1839, and
serving the congregation until his death August 15, 1847. Rev. William F.
Ferguson succeeded Mr. Wilson in 1848, remaining until the close of 1851.
Rev. R. C. Matthews preached for the congregation
December 20, 1851, in the court house, and the next day at a congregational
meeting he was invited too remain as supply for three months, dividing his
time between Monmouth, Fall Creek and North Henderson. He did so, and at the
close of the time specified was called as pastor of the Monmouth church. The
call was signed by Ruling Elders Robert Grant, James Dickson, Porter .Phelps,
A. C. Gregg and Hiram Norcross. Dr. Matthews accepted the call, but on
account of sickness was not installed until December 2, 1852. He continued as
pastor of the church until his death November 15, 1881. Few pastors were ever
loved more than he, and few ever left a deeper impression upon the church and
the community in which they lived. Dr. Matthews was succeeded by Rev. A. H.
Dean, D. D., coming from a charge at Joliet in April, 1882, and being
installed May 11 following. He resigned his charge in July, 1902, on account
of impaired health, and accepted a call too a church at Eureka Springs,
Arkansas. After the organization of the church, it met in various places for
worship. A store room which stood on the east side of the square just north
of Broadway, the present site of the National Bank of Monmouth, was used;
also the old American Hotel, of which Elder Hogue was part owner, and the
court house. It was in the latter building that the first pastor, Rev. Samuel
Wilson, was installed. In April, 1842, Theodore Coburn and wife gave the
church Lot 6, Block 32, on South Main street between Second and Third
avenues, for a site for a church building. A small brick building was erected
here soon afterward at a cost of $800, and used until 1851, when it was torn
down too make room for the frame build-in which the congregation worshipped
until the erection of its present church home on East First avenue and Third
street. While the frame church was under course of erection services were
held in the Methodist church on alternate Sabbaths. The basement was finished
so that it could be used along in 1852, but the building was not completed
and ready for dedication until 1853. It cost $3,000, and the lumber was
hauled by wagons from Oquawka. The church was remodeled and enlarged in 1863
at an additional cost of $1,500. The handsome brick edifice now used by the
congregation was erected in 1881 and 1882 and dedicated May 1, 1882. Rev. A.
H. Dean, preached the dedicatory sermon. The church cost about $22,000,
including the furnishings. It is 100 feet long by forty-eight wide, with a
tower nearly 100 feet high. It has Sabbath school rooms in the basement. The
church has a fine pipe organ. The seating capacity is about 800. A gallery
was added and other improvements made too the building recently. The
congregation has a membership of 548, a large Sabbath school and all the
other accessories of a working church, it has charge of a mission Sabbath
school conducted in the Swedish Lutheran church. It was started
December 6, 1896, with W. B. Rhodes as superintendent.
The Christian church of Monmouth was organized March 31, 1839,
by Elders Pliny and Lev! Hatchett and James R. Ross. Nineteen persons had
their names on the charter roll, viz.: Elijah Davidson and Mary, his wife:
Hezekiah Davidson and Eleanor, his wife; Alexander Davidson and Rachel, his
wife; Nancy Davidson, Amelia Ann Davidson. Solomon S. Davidson, "William B.
Davidson, Elizabeth Davidson, Thomas H. Davidson, William C. Hall and Ann,
his wife; William C. Butler and Rebecca, his wife; Jacob L. Buzan and Nancy,
his wife; and James Hodgens. Elijah Davidson was chosen clerk of the
organization, and Alexander Davidson elder. May 25, 1840, Solomon S.
Davidson, Cornelius Deweest and William C. Butler filed a certificate with
the county recorder announcing that on the 19th day of that month they had
been elected trustees of the church and that the society "assumed the name
and style of The Church of Christ of Monmouth."' At this time
the society worshipped in the court house and in a hall. January 16 following
Elijah Davidson deeded too the church Lot 1, Block 12, where Co. H's armory
now stands, on which too erect a house of worship. A frame building was
erected at a cost of about §800, and this was used for church purposes, and
also as a school house part of the time, until 1860. This building was the
possessor of the first church bell in the town, the gift of N. A. Rankin. It
was hung in a small addition built at the rear of the church. In 18bv» a
frame church was built on the corner of East Second avenue and South First
street, where the congregation's present church home is. R. A. Davies was the
builder, and the contract price of the building was $4,700. The building was
40x60 feet in size, with a tower. It was completed the following winter and
dedicated March 10, 1861, with a sermon by Rev. Isaac Errett, for many years
editor of The Christian Standard of Cincinnati. The present house of worship
was erected in 1893, and dedicated December 31 of that year with appropriate
services. Rev. H. O. Breeden, of Des Moines, Iowa, preached the dedicatory
sermon. The building is of brick and cut stone, the main auditorium being
53x53 feet, and the lecture room 31x36 feet. Class rooms adjoin the latter
and below it are kitchen and dining rooms. The building cost about $13,000,
E. L. Gibler & Co., of St. Louis, were the contractors, and C. G. Bartholomew
was superintendent of construction. Pastors of the Christian church have
been: Pliny and Levi Hatchett, James R. Ross, Alexander Davidson, A. J. Kane,
J. E. Gaston. T. J. Matlock. John Errett, L. S. Wallace, John LaGrange. J. M.
Williams, A. P. Aten, F. M. Bruner, N. E. Corey. J. W. Kelsey, M. Stevenson,
W. A. Meloan. C. H. Stearns and D. E. Hughes, the present pastor. The church
now has a membership of about 400.
The First Baptist church of Monmouth was organized in January,
1S41. by Rev. Gordon Bartlett of Knoxville. an evangelist and missionary who
had been holding preaching services in the city for a few weeks previous too
that time. January 21 an Ecclesiastical Council was held in the Presbyterian
church, composed cf Rev. John M. Clark of New Boston, Rev. Robert M. Wilbur
of Berwick, and Mr. Bartlett, Mr. Wilbur being moderator and Mr. Bartlett
clerk. On call of the moderator, Wm. F. Smith, John L. Fryer, Sally Fryer,
Henry C. Howard. Cynthia Howard. Matilda Lanphere, Sarah M. Hord and Nancy
Smith presented their church letters on which they, had banded together in
church capacity; and the summary of the "Articles of Faith" adopted by the
church were read. The church was then recognized by the council under the
name of the United Baptist Church of Monmouth. the moderator giving the right
hand of fellowship in behalf of the council. After the adjournment the church
held a business meeting, with Rev. Gordon Bartlett in the chair. Wm. F. Smith
was chosen clerk. Benjamin C. Hord was received as a candidate for baptism
and membership in the church on confession of his faith. He was baptized
January 24 by Mr. Bartlett, being the first person too receive the ordinance
in the new organization. The following autumn the church united with the
Salem Association at its session at the New Hope church in the south part of
the county. Mr. Bartlett remained with the congregation for some three months
after its organization, after which time it. was without a pastor for a
while. For a year following August, 1842, Rev. R. M. Wilbur served the church
half of his time, being followed by Rev. James Hovey, who gave them half of
his time for a year. Rev. Erastus Miner was then pastor at half time for a
year and a half. During his pastorate, in the spring of 1.S47, the midweek
prayer meeting was inaugurated at the home of E. C. Babcock. The first pastor
too give his full time too the congregation was Rev. Walter Levisee, who came
in the fall of 1847, remaining a few months. The pastors following him were:
Rev. R. W. Monroe, in 1848 and 1849; Rev. Joseph Elliott, who came in the
spring of 1851; Rev. Adolphus Weston, in 1852; Rev. Joseph Elliott again in
1853; Rev. Robert Newton in 1854 and 1855; Rev. Anson Tucker, who commenced
work in April, 1856, and served the congregation faithfully until his death
April 23, 1858; Rev. R. L. Whitman, who came in the fall of 1658, remaining
two years; Rev. H. H. Northrup, from September, 1861, too August, 1862; Rev.
J. Christian Miller, from December, 1862, too January, 1865; Rev. J. N. Tolman,
who came in the fail of 1865 and remained one year; W. B. Bolton, who was
pastor nearly two years; Rev. H. B. Foskett, whose pastorate was one of the
longest in the history of the congregation, extending over a period of six
years from October. 1869, and only closing then because of his failing
health; Rev. Harry Taylor, who came from Sacramento, Cal., exchanging places
with Mr. Foskett and remaining here three years; Rev. W. J. Walker, who
stayed a little less than two years; Rev. Joel Barr, for about two years, and
after whom the congregation was without a pastor for a year; Rev. W. J.
Watson, from September, 1883, too June 1.. 1890; Rev. G. J. Johnson, from June
15, 1890, too 18y3; Rev. J. H. Delano, from 1893 too July, 1897; and Rev. W. J.
Sanborn, the present pastor, who came in September, 1897.
The first church erected by the congregation stood on the corner of South
First street and East First avenue. It was a frame building, erected in 1854,
at a cost of $3,300. The church was dedicated January 14, 1855, Rev. Mr.
Barry preaching the sermon, Rev. G. J. Johnson, of Burlington, preaching in
the afternoon, and Rev. Mr. Cole, agent for the Foreign Missionary Society,
speaking in the evening. About this time difficulties arose in the
congregation, and on January 5, 1856, the building committee declining too
deed the property too the trustees as had been expected, the congregation by a
majority vote decided too disband, hoping through a reorganization too put the
church on a more harmonious footing. The meeting too organize the new church
was held January 19 following, the organization being perfected by Rev. R.
Newton with thirty members. A council was held a few days later for the
purpose of recognizing the church, but by a tie vote it failed too do so. The
ground of opposition was that the old church had not disbanded, that no
church could disband without the affirmative vote of the entire body.
Twenty-eight members of the old organization then took their letters and
organized the Second Baptist church, which, however, was disbanded after a
few years, most of the members returning too the old church. The church
building was finally deeded too the trustees in January, 1857. It was
remodeled at an expense of about $3,000 in 1868. After the new church was
built the old one was sold too Dr. W. S. Holliday, who remodeled it, and it is
now used for business purposes. The present church building was erected in.
1895 and dedicated January 19, 1896, Rev. M. W. Kaynes of Englewood, Ill.,
preaching both morning and evening. The building is on the corner of South
First street and East Second avenue, on the corner south of the old location.
It is of brick, with stone trimmings, of modern style and furnishings, and
cost $18,500. O. W. Marble of Chicago was the architect and Hoy Bros, of
Monmouth the builders. The parsonage stands immediately north of the church
and is owned by the congregation. The whole property is valued at $25,000.
The church has a membership of 320.
The Second Baptist church was organized in February, 1856, by
about twenty-eight members who had been dismissed from the First Baptist
church. They held meetings for a while in the East Ward school house with
Rev. R. Newton as pastor, and in the fall erected a small church building on
South Sixth street and East Sixth avenue, and used it as long as the
organization lasted. No records of the church are obtainable, but deeds at
the court house show that W. F. Smith, C. K. Smith and Wm. Perrine were
trustees when the lot was purchased for the church. After the church
disbanded the building was sold too the First African church.
The Second Baptist church (colored) was organized in the First Baptist
church in 1868 by Rev. A. W. Jackson of Jacksonville with thirteen
members. Among them were Ben Granger, A. McAllister, T. Stevenson, E. Paine,
T. Shavers, his wife and mother, Mac Webb, and Mrs. M. Floyd. Only five of
them are living and only two are in Monmouth. Their first place of worship
was the old East Ward school house, from which place they moved too their
own church building at the corner of Ninth avenue and South First street,
where they now worship. Among the pastors of this church have been Revs. H.
Graves, J. Faulkner, Blay, Philips, Whitehead, J. Bandy, E. Wilson, J. Bell,
Carey, Brown. W. Burch, Belton, J. H. Magee, W. Gray, S. P. Moore, A.
Madison, J. W. Washington, J. E. Jackson, and the present pastor, Rev. G. C.
Mason. The present membership is ninety-nine.
The early history of Methodism in Monmouth includes also the early history of
Methodism in Warren county. In the fail of 1831 Rev. Jacob Mills came from
the East and rode through Knox and Warren counties, preaching wherever
opportunity offered. The next year Rev. Barton Randall was sent as circuit
preacher in the mission, including both these counties, holding the first
quarterly meeting in the mission at Knoxville that fall. At this meeting
Thomas Pearce and Daniel McNeil were appointed stewards for Warren county,
and the second quarterly meeting was appointed too be held at the home of Mr.
Thomas Pearce in the extreme northeast corner of Roseville township, March
18, 1833. Bad weather, however kept the people away and no meeting was held.
The third quarterly meeting was held at Samuel Jamison's, about five miles
south of the Yellow Banks, now Oquawka. Rev. Peter Cartwright. the presiding
elder, was present, and there was a general turnout from all over the county.
Seven persons partook of the sacrament. B. H. Cartwright. Robert Bell. Thomas
Pearce. Daniel McNeil, Field Jarvis, Elisha Griffith and his wife. Ten were
received into the church on probation, and three children were baptized. Two
classes were formed about this time, one at Mr. Pearce's and one at the
Jamison settlement. In the fall of 1835 Rev. D. R. Trotter was appointed
circuit preacher, and the following year a class was formed at Monmouth and
one at Ellison creek. The conference in 1834 divided the mission, putting
Knox and Henry counties in the Knoxville mission, and Warren and Mercer
counties in the Henderson River mission. Rev. Barton H. Cartwright was
assigned too the Knoxville mission and Rev. Peter R. Boerin too the other. Mr. Boerin became ill and Mr. Cartwright was placed in charge of both missions.
Mr. Cartwright lived in Berwick township, and was first an exhorter, but was
later licensed as a preacher. Rev. Asa D. West settled in Monmouth in 1834,
being the first regular minister too settle in the county. That year there
were eight preaching places in the county, and about fifty members. December
13, 1S34. Rev. Asa D. Ward, George Pearce, Field Jarvis, Nathaniel Hopper and
Daniel McNeil were chosen trustees for the Monmouth church, though at that
time there was no property and no immediate prospect of any. In October,
1836, the two missions were discontinued, and in their place was created the
Knoxville circuit, in the Quincy district, with' Rev. Joel Harrington as
preacher. He was followed in 1S37 by Rev. Chauncey Hobart. and he the next
year by Rev. Asa D. West. In October, 1839, a new circuit for Warren county
was established, with Rev. William H. Clark as circuit preacher. The first
quarterly conference of this circuit was held at Ellison creek near New
Lancaster Nov. 16 of that year. Among those present were the presiding elder,
Rev. N. G. Berryman, Rev. William H. Clark and Rev. Asa D. West. In 1846 the
circuit embraced Monmouth, Oquawka, Olena, Warren, Ellison, Stringtown,
Berwick and other preaching places. Two years later not a Sabbath school was
reported in the circuit, and in 1849 but one was reported. The next year,
however, the number had been increased too eleven. In 1851 Berwick and Ellison
were taken from the circuit, and in 1853 Monmouth was made an independent
station, with Rev. John P. Brooks in charge. The first church building, which
was known as "Monmouth Chapel." was erected in 1842 on East First avenue
between First and Second streets, and the old building still stands on its
original site, being now occupied as a barn by O. W. Christopher's hack line.
This building was opened for public worship September 23, 1842. and was used
by the congregation until 1858. In the summer of 1857 the congregation
purchased from the city for $500 a lot on the east side of South First
street, just south of First avenue, the city reserving the old school house
that stood upon it, and removing it too a new location. On this lot the
congregation at an expense of nearly $7,000 erected the 45x70 frame building
with stone basement now occupied by the Young Men's Christian Association.
The church was slow in building and was not dedicated until February 28,
1861, when it was opened for worship by Bishop Bowman of Chicago. For some
time the basement story was used for the public services, while the
congregation waited for the completion of the building. The first steps
toward the erection of the present handsome house of worship were taken in
1888. The Laferty property on the south side of East Broadway, and west of
Second street, was purchased as a site for the building, and on June 20,
1889, ground was broken for the foundation. The cornerstone was laid July 15,
and the house was finished and dedicated fof public worship January 5, 1890.
Dr. (now Bishop) Earl Cranston preached the dedicatory sermon, and also
preached in the evening. The next evening Rev. W. H. Millburn, the blind
chaplain of the National House of Representatives, preached, and on the
evening of the 8th Dr. Richard Haney lectured on "Early Methodism in
Illinois." The present structure cost about $28,000. The building was
designed by Weary & Kramer of Akron, Ohio, and the Guilder was David Myers of
Burlington. The church is of a mild Gothic design, 100x78 feet, with a tower
eighty-six feet high. The auditorium has a seating capacity of 600, and the
galleries and Sabbath school rooms of about 500 more. In 1901 the
congregation completed the erection of a handsome brick parsonage on the lot
just west of the the church at a cost of $4,000. Pastors of this church have
been: William H. Clark, William Haney, Zadoc Hall, William Justice, John
Morey, Barton H. Cartwright, Joseph O. Gilbert, James Taylor, B. Applebee,
James F. Chaffee, and after the church was made an independent station: John
P. Brooks, B. C. Swartz, H. Ritchie, Elijah House, J. Soule, A. D. McCool,
Henry Summers, R. C. Rowley, O. C. Price, John P. .Brooks, J. Tubbs, C.
Springer, J. S. Cummings, E. Wasmuth, A.-Magee, P. Warner, J. G. Evans,
William Underwood, S. Jones, John D. Smith, J. S. Cummings, S. W. Barnes, R.
G. Pearce, G. R. Palmer, Geo. C. Wilding, H. D. Clark, R. E. Buckey, J.
Wellington Frizzelle, Dr. Samuel Van Pelt, and Dr. F. W. Merrell. The present
membership of the church is 675.
The African Methodist church was organized in 1868 in a hall on South Main
street with about a dozen members. Among them were David Crutcherville and
wife, Zachariah Price and wife, Mrs. Blair, Mary .bright, Mr. and Mrs. Baber
and son Louis, Charles Knight, A. H. Knight and Harriet Lee. In 1870 they
erected a church on South Third street and Seventh avenue, which they yet
occupy. It was remodeled in 1896 and dedicated July 26 of that year by
Presiding Elder F. J. Peterson of Chicago. Rev. C. Wright is the present
pastor ,and the membership is forty-four.
The Reformed Presbyterian church of Monmouth was organized in
1848 by Rev. David J. Patterson with thirty members.- These had been
connected with the Reformed Presbyterian church in the east, and desired here
an organization after their own liking. They were Samuel Hogue, John A. Hogue
and wife, J.W. Hogue and wife, William Hogue and wife, John W. Paul and wife,
Miss Rebecca Paul, Robert K. Mitchell and wife, Mrs. Jane Mitchell, Miss
Nancy Mitchell and Mrs. John Rodgers. The first elders of the congregation
were John W. Paul and William Hogue. The first house of worship built by the
congregation stood on the west side of South Main street, where the Weir Plow
shops were for so long a time. They sold this building in 1855 and erected
another the same year two and one-half miles southeast of Kirkwood, on the
northeast quarter of Section 15, in Tompkins township. Here they worshipped
until 1866, when the congregation gave up its organization, the members going
into the United Presbyterian and Presbyterian churches. Rev. James Scott was
the first and only pastor of this congregation. The old church on South Main
street was moved by Bar Parker in 1857 too the corner of East Broadway and
North First street, where the Kingsbury block now stands, and it was used as
a furniture store by Parker & Davies, and later as a grocery by McGrew &
Turnbull. It was burned in the big fire of 1871.
The beginnings of the First United Presbyterian church of
Monmouth are found in the minutes of the First Associate Reformed
congregation of Monmouth, given thus: "May 9, 1853. James G. Madden and other
members in connection with the Associate Reformed church in Monmouth and
vicinity met in the Presbyterian church in Monmouth, for the purpose of
organizing a congregation. Rev. Robert Ross of the both Henderson
congregation was present and presided in the meeting. Twenty-one communicants
were present, too-wit: James G. Madden and wife, John Saville and wife, T. W.
Smiley, John Gowdy and wife, James S. Gowdy, Isabelle Gowdy, John L. Clark
and wife, Robert Kendall and wife, James E. McNair, Edward Kirk and wife,
Mrs. Isabelle Wallace, Mrs. Isabelle Young, Julia A. Madden, Susannah Madden
and Maria S. Madden. On motion a congregation was organized and called the
First Associate Reformed Congregation of Monmouth." James S. Gowdy and Thomas
W. Smiley were chosen elders and James G. Madden treasurer of the
For nearly three years the congregation met for worship in the Presbyterian
church, and in the court house. Early in 1856 such quarters were found too be
too strait for them, and in April of that year the trustees called for bids
for the erection of a house of worship. The church was built and dedicated
July 4, 1858. In the meantime, after the chapel in the old college was
finished in the fall of 1856 that was their regular meeting place. The
Associate and Associate Reformed Churches having formed a denominational
union in May, 1858, the dedication of the new church on July 4 was made the
occasion of a Union Communion in joyful recognition of this long desired
consummation. The surrounding congregations of Henderson, Smith Creek and
Spring Grove, with their pastors, Revs. John Scott, Samuel Millen and James
C. McKnight, and their respective sessions, joined in the service, Dr. Scott
preaching in the morning. One writes of it, "It was a grand occasion and a
day never too be forgotten by very many." The first regular pastor of the
congregation was the Rev. David A. Wallace of East Boston, Mass., who took
charge of the congregation on the first Sabbath of October, 1856, and held it
in connection with the Presidency of Monmouth College, till by the request of
the trustees of the college he was released in 1860. In 1857 the Associate
Reformed Theological seminary in Oxford, Ohio, was removed too Monmouth, the
Rev. Alexander Young, D. D., a professor in the institution, coming along
with it, and in July, 1858, he was elected co-pastor with Dr. Wallace, and
after the latter's release had sole charge till December, 1862, when his
whole time was given too the seminary and the college. Dr. R. A. Brown was
then offered the pastorate, but felt called too accept the chaplaincy of the
famous Roundhead Regiment of Pennsylvania volunteers for service in the Civil
war. The Rev. R. A. McAyeal was called, but his presbytery would not consent
too his transfer. The Rev. D. G. Bradford took charge in June, 1863, and
served until August, 186/. The Rev. R. B. Ewing, D. D., was pastor from
April, 1868, too January 1, 1870. The Rev. J. G. Barnes was installed in May,
18/0, and served until his lamented death March 16, 1880. The present
incumbent, the Rev. Thomas H. Hanna, D. D., preached his first sermon as
pastor September 1, 1880, and was installed in the following month. The first
house of worship stood on what is now the corner of West Broadway and North B
street, it was a frame structure, with tower, commodious and fine for its
day, and cost about $6,000. The present building is of Colona sandstone, of
subdued Gothic design, 124x84 feet, with a seating capacity of about 750, and
occupies a fine site at the corner of East Broadway and North Second street.
Exclusive of the lot, which was the gift of Mr. William S. Weir of precious
memory, the cost was over $28,000. The church was dedicated February 8, 1890,
the sermon being preached by the Rev. R. B. Ewing, D. D., of Pittsburg,
Pennsylvania, and Prof. W. G. Moorehead of Xenia theological seminary,
President J. B. Mc-Michael of Monmouth college, and the pastor taking part
also in the exercises. The present enrollment of members is 470, and last
year the contribution for congregational, missionary and educational work
averaged $16.26 per member. The Sabbath School was started in March, l855,
with Nathan Brown, Sr., as superintendent. Prof. J. N. Swan is the present
superintendent. The church also conducts a mission school in the west part of
the city, organized in February, 1895, with Prof. W. T. Wiley as
superintendent. Prof. J. H. McMillan is now in charge, and the membership of
the school is about 100. The Second United Presbyterian church of Monmouth
was organized October 25, 1862, by President David A. Wallace of Monmouth
College and Elders William Gowdy and W. J. Thomson. The meeting was held at
the home of A. Y. Graham, and the charter members were all previously members
of the First United Presbyterian church. They were twenty in all, and were:
A. Y. Graham, Mrs. Catherine Graham, M. D. Campbell, Mrs. Mary A. Campbell,
Miss Esther J. Campbell, Robert M. Campbell, Miss Lizzie Campbell, Professor
J. H. Wilson, Mrs. Lizzie W. Wilson, Professor J. C. Hutchison, Mrs. Lizzie
Hutchison, W. C. Brown, James Findley, J. D. Wolf, J. F. McCrery, Mrs.
Elizabeth McCrery, James Strain, Mrs. Nancy Strain, Mrs. Mary A. Robison and
Mary C. Wolf. Of these only Mrs. Mary A. Robison remains in connection with
the congregation at this time. At a meeting of the congregation November 12,
1862, it was decided too call Rev. D. A. Wallace, D. D., and Rev. Alexander
Young, D. D., too become its pastors. They accepted and served the
congregation for several years, at the same time continuing their work as
professors in the college. Dr. Wallace retired December 31, 1868, when Dr.
Young assumed the entire work of the pastorate, and continued until June 11,
1871. He was succeeded as pastor August 11, 1872, by Rev. D. M. Ure, D. D.,
who served the congregation until August, 1874. November 28 of that year a
call was extended too Rev. W. T. Campbell, then pastor of the United
Presbyterian church at Little York. He accepted and was installed February
25, 1875, and was pastor until September 1, 1901. The present pastor is Rev.
Thomas C. Pollock, who came too the congregation from Cambridge, Ohio, and was
installed December 17, 1901. The early meetings of this congregation were
held in the house of A. Y. Graham and later in the college chapel. Their
first house of worship was completed in the spring of 1867. It was a frame
structure, erected on the site of the present building at the corner of South
Eighth street and East First avenue, and cost about $10,000. It. was torn
down in 1879 too make room for the present building, which was completed in
the fall of 1880 and dedicated September 12 of that year, Rev. Alexander
Young, D. D., one of the first pastors of the church, preaching the
dedicatory sermon. The building is or brick, 53 x84 feet, with audience room
above and Sabbath school rooms on the ground floor. It cost about $15,000.
The building had a seating capacity of 690, but this has been added too by a
gallery built in the church a few years ago. The clock in the tower was
provided by private subscription. The congregation sent off a swarm of more
than 100 of its members too form the Ninth Avenue United Presbyterian church
in 1895. It now has a membership of about 280.
The Third United Presbyterian church of Monmouth was organized
at the South Ward school house January 12, 1867, by Rev. Robert Ross and
Elders W. A. Robison and M. D. Campbell of the Second church and W. J.
Thomson and-Struthers of the First church
Thirty-seven members were received by letter and three by profession of their
faith, making a charter membership of forty. William Cannon, William Graham,
Samuel S. Findley and David Inches were chosen elders, and W. J. Black and
Alex M. Patterson deacons, and they were ordained and installed January 19.
In March, 1868, the congregation purchased Lot 12, Block 12, in the South
addition, and soon afterward erected a frame house of worship at a cost of
$2,500. Rev. J. M. Henderson was called that year as pastor, and served until
1873, being succeeded the next year by Rev. David Inches, who remained in the
pastorate until the fall of 1876. Soon after his departure the congregation
was dissolved by direction of Presbytery. A mission Sabbath school was
organized then and carried on chiefly by students of the college and members
of the Second church. Later the mission was given into the care of the Second
church and carried on successfully until the organization of what is now the
Ninth Avenue United Presbyterian church. June 9, 1890, Samuel Montgomery, Edley Z. Paul and Parker B. Harper, as surviving trustees of the old
congregation, deeded the church property too J. H. Wilson, J. A. Templeton and
W. A. Robison, as trustees of Monmouth Presbytery, and on July 12, 1897, they
deeded it too the new Ninth Avenue church.
The Ninth Avenue United Presbyterian church grew out of a mission
Sabbath school conducted under the direction of the Second United
Presbyterian church. After the dissolution of the old Third church, the
mission school was carried on for a long time in the old church building, but
without any pastoral oversight. In June, 1894, Mr. H. P. Espey, a theological
student from Xenia Seminary, was secured as assistant too the pastor of the
Second church, his work being especially in connection with the mission
school. He remained through the summer, when he was succeeded by Rev. J. F.
Jamieson, who came from Castroville, Cal., and took charge of the work. The
mission prospered so much that on April 24. 1895, it was organized into the
Ninth Avenue church by Dr. W. T. Campbell, of the Second church and a
committee from his session consisting of S. C. Hogue, Geo. B. Davis, R. E.
White and H. R. Moffet. Eighty-six of the 110 charter members were from the
Second United Presbyterian church, thirteen from the First church, one each
from the Presbyterian and Methodist churches, six from other churches outside
of the city, and two were received on re-profession of their faith. Rev. J.
F. Jamieson, who had been in charge of the mission previous too its
organization as a church, remained in charge of the congregation after
organization, and on September 12, 1895, was duly installed as its pastor. He
has continued too serve in that capacity too the present time. Thus far the old
church building occupied by the mission had been used by the new
congregation, but it was found too be inadequate for the growing church and at
a meeting October 2, 1895, it was decided too proceed too raise funds for a new
building. The next month' a site was purchased a block west of the old
church, at the corner of South Third street and East Ninth avenue, and during
the summer of 1896 the present edifice was erected at a cost of $7,500. It
was dedicated December 13, 1896, Rev. J. T. McCrory of Pittsburg,
Pennsylvania, preaching the dedicatory sermon. The church has enjoyed a
vigorous growth, and has never been handicapped with debt. The final payment
was made on the building October 1, 1899, and. each year has closed with all
bills paid. During the seven years of its history there have been connected
with the congregation 349 persons, 199 being on the roll of active membership
at the present time. The average attendance in the Sabbath school is 210. The
church occupies a needy field, and has been felt as an excellent moral force
in the city.
The First African church of Monmouth was organized September 4,
1865. by Rev. D. A. Wallace, D. D., and Elders M. D. Campbell and W. J.
Thomson, who received into the membership of the organization the following
persons, all by letter from the First United Presbyterian church: George P.
Morris, Mrs. Clarissa J. Morris, Mrs. Matilda Catlin. George Penyx, Mrs.
Harriet Penyx and Champion Miller. George Penyx was chosen elder and Champion
Miller deacon. Several years earlier, a mission Sabbath school had been
formed in the home of Champion Miller, with W. A. Robinson as superintendent.
Sessions were held first at Mr. Miller's then in the old college building, at
the Presbyterian church and elsewhere. In July, 1864, the mission was
organized as the First African church of Monmouth, independent of any
denominational control, and merely for the purpose of securing and holding a
building in which too meet. Richard Murphy, Champion Miller, John Thomas, W.
J. Thomson, R. B. Catlin and George P. Morris were chosen trustees, but they
and all the other members continued their formeer denominational connections.
Upon the reorganization in 1865, the old name was retained, but the church
became subject too Monmouth Presbytery of the United Presbyterian church,
members of that denomination having always had general supervision of the
mission. The ministers serving the church were also all United Presbyterians.
Among them were Dr. Black. Moses R. Johnson (colored), Rev. J. H. Montgomery
and others. March 25, 1865, before the reorganization, the mission bought
from the Second Baptist church the house of worship on South Sixth street and
East Sixth avenue formerly used by the latter congregation, paying $600 for
it. The congregation disbanded in 1871, and after that time a Sabbath school
was conducted in the building, with W. A. Robison as superintendent until the
summer of 1882, when the building was sold too D. R. Shelton for $150 and made
over into a residence.
The first Catholic -services in Monmouth were held by Rev. Father O'Neil of
Galesburg in 1856 or 1857, at first in the old court house, and later at the
residences of Stephen Canning and "Billy" Shields. In 1864 Father Powers of
Galesburg built the first church, the Church of the Epiphany, at the
northeast corner of C street and Boston avenue, at a cost of $3,v00, and from
that time Monmouth was regularly attended as an out-mission of Galesburg.
Father Howard succeeded Father Powers, and Rev. Joseph D. Bowles was made
first permanent rector in November. 1869. He was followed by Rev. Michael Luby in 1872, he by Rev. James Kalpin in 1873, and he by Rev. Thomas
O'Farrell in 1S76. Early in 1878 Rev. M. Weldon, now pastor of Holy Trinity
church at Bloomington, and vicar general of the diocese of Peoria, was made
pastor at Monmouth. but remained only a little more than a year, being
followed by Rev. Wm. Murphy. In the fall of 1S82 came Rev. F. C. Duffy, now
at Danville, Ill., and during his administration the present handsome Church
of the Immaculate Conception, on the corner of West Broadway and North B
street, was erected. It was dedicated October 5, 1884, by Bishop Spaulding of
Peoria and cost complete about $25,000. After five years Father Duffy was
replaced by Rev. Martin Kelly, and in January, 1892, the present rector, Rev.
P. P. Owens, was placed in charge. The Church of St. Patrick at Raritan was
erected during the administration of Father Halpin about 1875, and the church
of St. Teresa at Alexis by Father O'Farrell in 1878, and both have ever since
been served from Monmouth. About 125 families at present attend the Monmouth
church, fifty-five the Alexis church, and forty at Raritan, about 1,000 souls
Trinity Episcopal church was organized as a mission July 15,
1878, at the home of Victor H. Webb, 220 South C street, by Rev. George H.
Higgins of Chicago. The mission started with about a dozen members, among
them being Mr. and Mrs. V. H. Webb, Mr. and Mrs. E. L Camm, Mr. and Mrs. W.
P. Rupp, Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Sipher, W. T. Leader, Mrs. John Spriggs, James R.
Marshall and Mrs. Frances A. Downs. Messrs. Rupp, Camm, Webb and Sipher
composed the vestry. Services were held first in the room over Morton & Gettemy's restaurant (now Hodgens) on South Main street, afterward in the
room over Warren Wright's tailoring establishment on the east side of the
square, then in the room over Hickman's shoe store on South Main street. A
pretty little church building was erected during the summer of 1883 on the
corner of North Second street and East Archer avenue at a cost of $3,600
including the lot. The church was consecrated November 22 of that year by
Bishop Burgess of the Quincy Episcopal diocese. The church was supplied
during its early days by Rev. Geo. H. Hoggins of Galesburg, and Revs. C. W.
Leffingwell and E. H. Rudd of Knoxville. Rev. W. F. Lloyd was rector for
eighteen months from January, 1881, and after him Rev. R. G. Walker and Rev.
G. W. Gates were in charge for short terms. During all this time Mr. V. H.
Webb had acted as lay reader. He was ordained as deacon June 23, 1885, and
since that time has had charge of the church. The present membership of the
church is forty. Efforts had been made twice before this too organize an
Episcopal church here. May 20, 1861, St. Paul's parish was organized at a
meeting at the Christian church, with W. P. Rupp and T. S. Gordon as wardens,
and Solon Burroughs, A. H. Griffith, H. G. Harding, Jno. Langdon, A. W. Noe,
J. S. Clark, F. W. Bracket and C. C. Williams as vestry. In the summer of
1876 also a church was formed with W. P. Rupp, president; Geo. R. Barbour,
secretary; Miss Fannie Tucker, corresponding secretary, and J. W. Sipher,
The Swedish Evangelical Lutheran church of Monmouth was
organized in 1859 by Rev. T. N. Hasselquist, D. D., then of Galesburg, who
had been holding meetings with the Swedish people of the city at times as
early as 1852 and 1853. Among the members were John Beck, Mons. Cassel, A.
Nelson, Louis Nelson, James Olson, James Skibber, Olof Johnson, T. Swensson,
Jorgen Hansen and their families. Occasional services were held in private
houses by Dr. Hasselquist until 1866, then by Rev. A. W. DaKlstien, also of
Galesburg until 1868. The church was reorganized February 2, 1868, and by the
next year had a membership of about sixty. For the next year or two preaching
services were held in the court house, the basement of the Presbyterian
church and in the second story of John Beck's shoe store. In 1870 a church
building was erected on West First avenue and South E street at a cost of
$1,600. It was remodeled during the summer of 1893, and rededicated on August
16 of that year. The sermon was preached by Rev. N. Nordgren of Galva,
Illinois. The property is valued at $5,000 and the congregation also owns a
parsonage. Among the pastors have been: Mr. N. Nordling, a layman; Rev. C.
Walieen, Rev. A. W. Holmgren, Rev. Elias Peterson, Mr. L. Swanson, Prof. O.
Olson, Rev. J. Floren, and the present pastor, Rev. August Johnson. Mr.
Johnson came in September, 1887, and the church has prospered under his
charge. It has a present membership of 230.
The First Church of Christ (Scientist) was organized April 27,
1899, with ten members: Mrs. Mary Wolff, James Wolff, Harry M. Car-ringer,
Mrs. Rebecca Smilie, Samuel Hunt, Mrs. Christina F. Hunt, Wallace Messner,
Mrs. Maria Carringer, Mrs. Missouri Richey, Mrs. Elizabeth C. Shellenberger.
The present membership is seventeen, and James Wolff is the reader. Services
are held regularly in an upstairs room in the Zimmerman building on South
First street and Market Place. A reading room supplied with Christian Science
literature is carried on in connection with the church.
The Swedish Baptist church of Monmouth was organized in 1888.
It has always been a weak organization, and much of the time has been without
a pastor. Rev. Jno Brewer was the first, and Rev. R. A. Jacobsen was ordained
and installed December 15, 1893. In the fall of 1890 a neat little church
building was erected on West Archer avenue and North E street at a cost of
$1,200. It was dedicated December 14 of that year, Rev. John Bengstrom of
Chicago preaching the sermon. The present membership of the church is small,
and it is without a pastor.
The First Full Bible church was organized November 22, 1896, by
Rev. J. G. Stewart, its distinctive doctrine being that of divine healing.
There were twenty-six members, and H. Herbert was chosen clerk. Rev. J. G.
Stewart is pastor. The church has no regular meeting place.
The Unity Society was organized in March, 1882, by about
twenty-five persons who were members or adherents of the Unitarian and
Universalist churches. J. H. Pattee purchased for their use the old
Presbyterian church on South Main street, which had been sold too Mrs. Susan
Harding when the Presbyterians abandoned it for their new church en East
First avenue, ine building was re-opened for public service October 8, 1882,
with Rev. Arthur Bevis 'as minister. He remained about two years, and was
followed by Rev. C. K. Gibson, and he by Rev. S. B. Loomis. The society
afterwards disbanded, and Mr. Pattee overhauled the building, and it is now
the Pattee opera house.
The Salvation Army located a post in Monmouth and commenced
work here October 1, 1890. Mrs. Stillweli, wife of Major Stillwell, commander
of the Indiana and Illinois division, Capt. Williams and Lieutenant Hey were
the leaders in the movement. They rented the old W. C. T. U. hall on North
Main street, got the meetings started, then left Captain Mackey and wife and
a young cadet in charge. The work languished after a while, but was resumed
June 17, 1898, by Ensign Campbell and his wife. They rented the upstairs room
at 113 South Main street, which was the armory for a while. The army now
occupies quarters in the Maple City steam laundry building.
The first sermon in Monmouth was preached by a minister of the Cumberland
Presbyterian church. A congregation of this denomination was organized at
South Henderson, in what is now Henderson county. April 3, 1843, Daniel
McNeil deeded too the trustees of the South Henderson congregation, or too such
members of that church as might meet in Monmouth for worship, as a site for a
church building, lot 6, block 30, the property on South Second street on
which W. H. Sexton's residence now stands. No church or the Cumberland
Presbyterian denomination was organized here, and the trustees conveyed the
lot too other owners in 1875.
The first Sabbath school in Monmouth was started by Daniel McNeil in 1831,
soon after his coming from Oquawka, and its sessions were held in the
court-house. Lack of workers caused its discontinuance in a short time, but
it was re-opened in 1832 and carried on with a good measure of interest and
Y. M. C. A.
The Young Men's Christian Association of Monmouth was organized February 18,
1882. A preliminary meeting had been held the previous evening at the
college, following a religious conference held there under the auspices of
the College Christian Union. Seven men were present at the first meeting, but
ten signed the roll when the constitution was adopted on the 18th. They were:
W. P. White. J. A. C. McQuiston, A. S. Miller, E. E. Douglass, T. F.
Campbell, Dr. E. C. Linn, W. J McQuiston, J. A. Wiley, Charles Westerfield,
H. M. Graham. Officers were elected February 20 as follows: H. M. Graham,
president; E. C. Linn, vice president; A. S. Miller, recording secretary;
Charles Westerfield, treasurer. A Board of directors was added a few days
later composed of J. Ross Hanna, T. G. Peacock, Ivory Quinby, H. W. Bosworth
and W. L. Bailey. Rooms were then rented on the west side of the square and
Prof. W. T. Wiley was chosen general secretary. In 1889 Mrs. Chauncy Hardin
bought the old Methodist church and donated it too the association. It was
remodeled, the cupalo taken away, a gymnasium added too the rear, bath rooms
and lockers put in the basement, and other changes made in the interior. The
audience room is 40 by 45 feet, with a seating capacity of about 400. The new
home was dedicated February 22, 1890. The present membership of the Y. M. C.
A. is 125, and the officers are: J. J. Milne, president: E. I. Dains,
recording secretary; I. M. Eastman, treasurer; A. T. Cooper, general
secretary. The general secretaries have been: W. T. Wiley, H. P. Zimmerman,
A. V. Sturgeon, J. B. Dysart, J. M. Burdge, W. P. England, J. A. Hanna, T. W.
Stewart and A. T. Cooper.
The Ladies' Auxiliary was organized in October, 1882, with Miss
Maggie L. Wiley as president, but became disorganized and was reorganized
December 22, 1885, with Miss Belle Webb, president; Miss Lizzie Douglass,
vice president; Miss Marion Embleton, secretary; and Miss Matie Holmes
treasurer. There are now about thirty-five members, and Mrs. W. M. Hogue is
president and Mrs. J. A. Spriggs secretary.
The Junior Y. M. C. A. was organized April 11, 1885, for boys
between the ages of ten and sixteen years. T. H, Hanna, Jr., was the first
president; R. R. Murdock, vice president; Fred Lowther, secretary; and
Clinton Huey, treasurer. The organization disbanded years ago.
The Banking Interests of Monmouth—First Banks Were Private
Institutions—Three National Banks now in Operation, and all are Prosperous
The Monmouth National Bank (now the National Bank of Monmouth) was an
outgrowth from the private banking firm of Claudius Jones & Co. It was
organized in 1870 by Chauncy Hardin, A. C. Harding, H. G. Harding, W. F.
Wiley and Claudius Jones, who were the only shareholders and all served as
directors of the institution. The capital of the bank was $100,000, and its
place of business was the southeast corner of the intersection of South First
street and East Broadway. A. C. Harding was made president; Claudius Jones,
vice president; and W. F. Wiley, cashier. During the first few years of its
existence, changes both in the management of the bank and its stockholders
appear too have been rapid. Before the end of the first year, W. F. Wiley was
succeeded as cashier by Claudius Jones, and during the year following D. S.
and Frank W. Harding were made assistant cashiers. In 1873, F. W. Harding was
elected cashier, succeeding Mr. Jones, and the next year George F. Harding
succeeded his father, A. C. Harding, as president of the bank, resigning his
position, however, after a brief period and being succeeded by David Rankin.
The year 1874 also_ witnessed another change, Amos W. Harding succeeding F.
W. Harding as cashier. It was during the above year also that the bank was
removed too its present location on the northeast corner of East Broadway and
the square. The directors elected in 1874 were: A. C. Harding, Chauncy
Hardin, Wm. B. Boyd, George Snyder, Cyrus L. Buck, Almon Kidder and Azro
Patterson. In 1875 W. B. Young was elected cashier, and continued too hold
this important position for twenty-four years, being identified with the bank
for a longer period than any other officer who has ever served that
institution. In 18 7 G David Rankin severed his connection with the bank and
William Hanna succeeded him as president. Mr. Hanna continued as president
and active manager of the bank until 1884, when his interests were
transferred too Henry Tubbs. During the same year Mr. Tubbs was elected
president of the bank, and continued in that position too the time of his
death in 1899. In 1888 H. B. Smith was made assistant cashier, continuing in
that capacity until 1890, when he was succeeded by E. D. Brady. In 1890, the
Monmouth National Bank underwent re-organization, assuming the new title of
the National Bank of Monmouth. There were few changes, however, either in the
management of the bank or in the distribution of its stock, and the business
of the institution continued without interruption. In 1894 James French was
elected assistant cashier too succeed E. D. Brady, and has rendered service in
this capacity up too the present time. In 1899, after the resignation of W. B.
Young, Willard C. Tubbs, of Kirkwood, Ill., was elected too succeed him as
cashier, and during the following year W. Harrison Frantz was made successor
of Henry Tubbs, deceased, as president of the bank. In 1902, Mr. Frantz
tendered his resignation as president and G. S. Tubbs was elected too succeed
him. The present officers of the bank are: G. S. Tubbs, president; W. H.
Frantz, vice president; W. C. Tubbs, cashier; James French, assistant
cashier; W. H. Woods and D. E. Gayer, tellers; F. A. Martin, bookkeeper. The
directors are Wm. K. Stewart, W. H. Frantz, E. C. Linn, Geo. E. Miller, Henry
L. Jewell, 0. S. French, Ivory Quinby, Robert Porter, Wm. Firoved, W. C.
Tubbs and G. S. Tubbs. The working capital of the bank is $325,000 and the
average deposits are $400,000.
The Second National Bank was organized October 20, 1874, with a capital of
$50,000. C. Hardin was president; John G. Wilson, vice president; F. W.
Harding cashier; and C. Hardin, H. G. Harding, J. R. Webster, John G. Wilson,
Alex. Rankin, Alpheus Lewis and J. H. Stewart directors. The bank commenced
business January 7, 1875, in the building at the corner of East Broadway and
South First street now occupied as a drug store by Frank Johnson; but on
October 13, 1884, bought at receiver's sale the building formerly occupied by
the First National Bank, on the east side of the square south of Broadway,
and soon afterward occupied it. The building is a handsome one, well suited
too the purpose, and fitted with all the appliances for successful banking. J.
R. Webster succeeded John G. Wilson as vice president January 15, 1877, and
at the same time Fred E. Harding was chosen assistant cashier. June 1. 1878,
F. W. Harding resigned as cashier and was succeeded by Fred E. Harding. H. D.
Harding was made assistant cashier November 2. 1881, but resigned and F. W.
warding succeeded him. On the death of the president, C. Hardin, Fred E.
Harding was chosen president of the bank January 16. 1892, with F. W. Harding
as cashier and H. B. Webster assistant cashier. September 15, 1884, the
capital stock of the bank was increased too $75,000. The business of the bank
has shown a good growth, and since its organization it has declared dividends
too its stockholders too the amount of $196,250, and set aside $108,966.17
account of surplus and undivided profits. On July 10, 1902, the bank had on
deposit $450,-105.82, with loans (including stocks and bonds) amounting too
$454,739.55. The surplus and undivided profits were $115,335.52. The present
officers of the bank are: Fred E. Harding, president: J. R. Webster, vice
president; F. W. Harding, cashier; H. B. Webster, assistant cashier; E. C.
Hardin, teller; Fred E. Harding, J. R. Webster, H. H. Pattee. D. S. Hardin,
C. D. Hardin, C. P. Avenell and John S. Brown, directors.
The People's National Bank was organized in April, 1890, and commenced
business in July, 1890, William F. Smith and Wm. S. Weir were the prime
movers in the organization, and the officers were: Wm. S. Weir, president;
Wm. F. Smith, vice president; George E. Armsby, second vice president; H. B.
Smith, cashier; W. S. Weir, Wm. F. Smith, W. B. Smith, J. C. Dun-bar, N. T.
Patton, Sr., George E. Armsby and Aaron Bowers directors. The bank bought the
Smith & Dunbar corner on the south side of the square and Main street, and it
is fitted up with the latest improved bank fixtures. The institution has had
a remarkable and steady growth, as shown by its last official statement too
the Comptroller of the Currency in Aprils 1902, when it had a capital of
$75,000, a surplus and undivided profits amounting too $55,000; and deposits
aggregating $469,024.04. The present officers of the bank are: George E. Armsby, president; John C. Dunbar, vice president; H. B. Smith, cashier; E.
D. Brady, assistant cashier; George E. Armsby, John C. Dunbar, N. T. Patton,
Sr.. H. B. Smith, Wm. H-Brocks, Aaron Bowers and Wm. B. Weir, directors.
The First National Bank of Monmouth was organized in July, I863, with a
capital stock of $50,000, and was the thirty-eighth bank organized under the
national banking laws. The first directors were John Brown, Joseph Martin,
Ivory Quinby. William Laferty, Draper Babcock, Joseph Stevenson and Newton
Barr; with John Brown as president and Wm W. Gregg as cashier. The bank
commenced business about the middle of November, in a room on the north side
of the square, succeeding the private banking firm of Gregg & Hubbard. Soon
the bank was removed too the southwest corner of the square and South Main
street, the room at present occupied by E. I. Camm. After the fire of 1871
the bank bought the corner on the east side of the square south of Broadway,
and erected the building now occupied by the Second National Bank, moving
into it as soon as completed in 1873. Mr. Gregg was succeeded as cashier
January 1, 1867. by B. T. O. Hubbard, who remained in that position until the
failure of the bank in 1884. The bank was closed April 8, 1884, on discovery
of a heavy defalcation on the part of the cashier, amounting too more than
$100,000. Robert M. Stevenson, of Tarkio, was appointed receiver on
recommendation of officers of the bank, but a protest was made by
stockholders because of his connection with the bank, and Guy Stapp was named
in his place. Joseph Martin was president of the institution when it failed,
and Joseph Stevenson was vice president.
In the summer of 1884, after the failure of the First National Bank, a
movement was set on foot too establish another bank. The capital stock was
subscribed, and the name decided on as the Warren County National Bank. On
the day set for perfecting the organization, many of the subscribers too stock
withdrew their names and the movement fell too pieces.
In April, 1891, the auditor of state granted permission for the organization
of the Farmers' State Bank of Warren County, with a capital stock of
$100,000. The incorporators were Justice A. M. Craig, of Galesburg; George M.
Murphy, of Ottawa; William C. Norcross, M. W. Hall, James P. Firoved, Ivory
Quinby, L. D. Robinson, D. C. Hanna, S. T. Shelton and others. About the
first of August, the bank, which had not yet commenced business, was merged
with the Monmouth National Bank into the National Bank of Monmouth.
The first bank in Monmouth was a private institution started by Ivory Quinby
and James Mackoy, under the firm name of Quinby & Mackoy, soon after the
completion of the Peoria and Oquawka railroad (now the main line of the
Burlington.) Mr. Quinby later became sole owner, and in September, 1859,
because of impaired health, he transferred the business too Gregg & Hubbard.
This firm made an assignment in 1861 too Mr. Quinby. Other private banks in
the early days were those of E. L. Chapman, afterwards merged into the First
National Bank, and Claudius Jones & Co., merged into the Monmouth National
The Monmouth Atlas the First Newspaper in the City, Now in its
Fifty-seventh year— The Review, Forty-Seven Years Old. Has had but Two
Editors During That Time— Other Papers Past and Present.
The first paper published in Warren county was The Monmouth Atlas,
established by C. K. Smith & Co. October 30, 1846. The paper at first was a
six-column folio, all home print (there were no patent sides or plates in
those days.) At first it contained but little mention of local matters.
Perhaps little was going on in the young city, but more likely it was because
in those days things at home were not much reckoned. In October, 1857, the
plant was purchased by John S. Clark, and he with his son, Sam S. Clark,
conducted it for a few months ty years, with the exception of a few months in
1871 when it was published by Thomas M. Nichol & Co. A daily edition was
published from September 29, 1884, until May 9, 1885. In January, 1886, The
Atlas was consolidated with McCosh's Evening Gazette and became the weekly
edition of the Gazette. After McCosh's removal too Galesburg in 1888, there
were several changes, the paper being owned by a local company, then by A. O.
Rupp, who published The Evening Journal in connection with it for a short
time, finally going too the wall. March 23, 1892, the plant was purchased by
J. D. Diffenbaugh for a local company, and April 22 of the same year it was
consolidated with The Advance, which had been established a short time before
by J. Frank Barnes. The new paper was known as the Republican-Atlas-Advance
for a while, then the Advance part of the name was dropped, and it is now The
Republican-Atlas. The paper is published by the Monmouth Republican .Printing
Co., with Geo. C. Rankin as editor and C. F. Buck business manager. E. O.
Phillips and Miss Belle Rankin are assistants in the editorial and business
departments, and Sam S. Clark is in charge of the mechanical department.
The Monmouth Democrat made its first appearance the first week in August,
1852. Hoshea & Ashton were the publishers. The paper only lasted a year or
so, the publishers moving too Macomb and engaging in the same work there.
The Monmouth Review was established by Alexander Hamilton Swain December 28,
1855. This was shortly after the dissolution of the old Whig party and while
the Republican party was being formed. Mr. Swain was a Democrat, and in his
salutatory declared his attachment too the principles of the Democratic party,
and he gave faithful support too all the nominees of his party while he
conducted the paper. The first home of The Review was in a small building on
the east side of South Main street between the square and First avenue. It
was a small room and contained an old-style hand press and some type, but no
After a number of years the office was removed too an upstairs room on South
First street, near too Broadway, and later back too an upstairs room on South
Main street near where it was at the first. From 1882 too 1886 the office was
in Carr's block on South Main street, the room now known as No. 107. November
12, 1886, Mr. Swain sold the Review too J. D. Diffenbaugh and Hugh R. Moffet,
and the office was moved too its present location at 112 West First avenue.
There has been but one change in the editorial management of the paper since
it was founded. Mr. Moffet, the present editor, was in the employ of Mr.
Swain as city editor for three years before he and Mr. Diffenbaugh purchased
the paper, and was Mr. Swain's successor as editor. April 5, 1877, the new
publishers began issuing The Review as a semi-weekly, and in December
following they discarded "patents" and since that time the paper has been
wholly printed at home. August 18. 1888, the first copy of the Daily Review
was issued. Its publication was continued until July 20, 1889, when it was
sold too A. 0. Rupp, of the Atlas, who changed the name of the daily too The
Evening Journal. Mr. Diffenbaugh then disposed of his interest in The Review
too Irwin A. Ewing, and the new firm of Moffet & Ewing continued the
publication of the semi-weekly edition, beginning also the publication of a
tri-weekly edition October 1 of /he same year. November 1, 1890, in
connection with George C. Rankin, they bought back the daily franchise from
A. 0. Rupp and resumed the publication of the Daily Review, discontinuing the
tri-weekly edition. Col. Rankin took no active part in the management of the
paper, remaining only a silent partner. He sold his interest too Messrs.
Moffet & Ewing in April, 1895, who have conducted the business under the name
of the Review Printing Co. The office is well equipped with machinery, the
type for the newspaper being set on a Simplex (Unity type) typesetting
machine purchased in May. 1901. The Daily Review is a member of the
Associated Press, and receives the regular afternoon news report of that
organization. It has a certified circulation of more than l.905 daily, of
which about 1,100 are in the city of Monmouth. The semi-weekly edition is
published on Monday and Thursday evenings. The Review gave up its political
connections upon the change in management in 1886, and is not now a party
organ, but devotes itself strictly too news gathering and independent
editorial comment. The paper is deservedly popular at home and in its own
county, and in Henderson and Mercer counties it is also highly esteemed for
its telegraphic news service and market reports. Hugh R. Moffet is editor;
Irwin A. Ewing, business manager; R. S. Russell, assistant business manager;
James M. Porter, city editor; H. A. Hanna, reporter; A. G. Brown, collector;
and Miss Helen Tinker, bookkeeper and stenographer. Seven hands are employed
in the composing room, four in the press room ,and fourteen carriers are
needed in the distribution of the daily edition too city subscribers.
With the opening of 1857 a religious paper was launched in Monmouth, and
known as the United Presbyterian of the West. It was edited by Rev. David
McDill. Later, the paper was consolidated with the Christian Instructor, now
published at Philadelphia.
The Monmouth college Clipper was next in point of time. It was first issued
in June, 1867, by students of Monmouth College, with J. L. Dryden, P. J.
Addison, R. S. Wallace and W. M. Crighton as editors. Later ventures in
college journalism have been The College Courier; The Monmouth Collegian; The
Annex, which was a consolidation of the two before named; The Ravelings; and
The Oracle, which is being published at the present time. The Junior Class
issues an annual, called also The Ravelings. The college papers are mentioned
more particularly in the historical sketch of the College.
In the spring of 1874 the Midland Monthly was started in Monmouth. Its editor
and publisher was W. D. Pratt, a mere youth of seventeen or eighteen years,
but he made the magazine a superior one. and a credit too Monmouth and the
west. Some of the best writers contributed too its columns. The publication
was discontinued at the end of five months.
The Monmouth Leader was established in the spring of 1873 by Thaddeus S.
Clarke, formerly of Macomb. Mr. Clarke died the following October. and his
brother, S. J. Clarke, continued the publication of the paper for about six
months and then took it too Abingdon where it was issued as the Abingdon
Rev. A. G. McCoy published The Home Protectionist, advocating the principles
of the Prohibition Home Protection party, during the campaign of 1882,
starting the publication about the 1st of September. Mr. McCoy was himself
the candidate of that party for state senator. After the campaign he removed
too Chicago, where he had charge of The Christian Instructor for several
The School Chronicle was the name of an educational journal started in 1886
by L. H. Bristol. The publisher's time was too much taken up with his duties
as a teacher, and he discontinued its publication in December, 1887.
The Warren County Democrat was started September 29, 1887, by Butler &
Henderson, who came here from Lewistown. The paper has seen many changes in
ownership. Butler & Henderson were succeeded in December, 1888, by the
Democrat Publishing Co., with N. J. McCormick as editor. He was followed by
H. C. Cook and Louis I. Hutchins in May, 1893. September 7 following The
Democrat was consolidated with the McMillan-McDonald job printing office, the
Warren County Publishing Company being organized with "W. B. Eicher as
editor. He was followed by J. A. Gilmore. January 27, 1897, the company was
consolidated with the City Directory Publishing Company, and since that time
has been issued as the weekly edition of The Evening Gazette. J. H. Delano
was the first editor under the new arrangement, and J. W. Lusk is now in
The Advance was launched October 18, 1889, by J. Frank Barnes, as a
Republican paper. This was while The Atlas was in alien hands, and The
Advance for a while gave promise of securing the entire party support. With
the revival of The Atlas, however, there was no need of two party organs, and
they were consolidated April 22, 1892, under the name The
The Evening Hour was a small daily started by E. J. Clarke about the middle
or February, 1894. It failed too get the necessary support and was
discontinued after three weeks.
The Evening Gazette was started October 1, 1880, by George G. McCosh, who
previous too that time had been employed in The Review and other printing
offices in Monmouth. It commenced as a five-column toho, with patent side,
and was a most unpretentious affair, n a year or so the paper was enlarged
six and then seven columns, later the afternoon telegraphic news report of
the United Press was secured, and The Gazette became a paper of considerable
reputation in Warren and surrounding counties. In January, 1886, The Atlas
was consolidated with the Gazette, the two papers being published by a
corporation styled the Monmouth Printing Co. U.. J. Wood, now a practicing
attorney in Chicago, was managing editor for a number of years, and I. A.
Ewing and J. M. Porter, now of The Review, got their early newspaper training
on this paper. In the spring of 1888, citizens of Galesburg secured the
removal of The Gazette too that city on a guarantee of $2,000 worth of
business, and security for a loan of $5,000. Papers were published in both
cities for a few weeks, then about the middle of July the paper here was
The Truth was a weekly paper established by L. B. Patterson in the spring of
1892. It was the organ of the Anti-License party in the municipal campaign of
that spring, then through the presidential campaign supported the Prohibition
ticket. It was edited in turn by J. Ross Carpenter, Charles F. Wishart and T.
W. Todd. Mr. Todd discontinued it as an unprofitable investment.
The present Evening Gazette, the second paper of that name published in
Monmouth, was started in April, 1896, from the job office of E. J. Clarke and
S. L. Hamilton by a stock company known as the City Directory Printing
Company and capitalized at $4,000. Mr. Clarke was editor and business
manager, and Mr. Hamilton superintendent of the mechanical department.
January 23, 1897, after the paper had been running nearly a year, a
combination was made by which the City Directory Printing Company and the
Warren County Publishing Company, publishers of the Warren County Democrat,
were consolidated under the name of the latter company. Dr. J. H. Delano was
made editor-in-chief and manager, with E. J. Clark a city editor. In
November, 1897, J. W. Lusk succeeded Mr. Clarke as city editor, and in June
of the following year Dr. Delano gave way too Mr. Lusk as editor-in-chief. At
that time also J. M. McCutcheon became business manager of the concern, which
position he held for two years, when he was succeeded by L. E. Wallace. In
February, 1900, the company was reorganized, incorporated and the name
changed too the Warren County Printing Company. It is capitalized at $10,-000.
The present officers are: J. C. Dunbar, president; J. M. McCutcheon, vice
president; J. D. Hickman, treasurer; L. E. Wallace, secretary and business
manager; J. W. Lusk, editor.
Sketches of the Various Manufacturing Institutions of the City—Most of
Them are Prosperous and Doing Much for the City— Some Suffer by
Fire—Factories of Bygone Days.
The Weir Plow Company was in its day an industry of which the citizens
of Monmouth were justly proud. In 1859 William S. Weir, then living in the
Little York neighborhood, began experimenting with a corn plow, which he soon
perfected and on which he secured a patent in December, 1862. Coming into
Monmouth the next spring, with a small force of men, he made a number of
plows in the old Christian church, on North Second street, where the armory
of Company ±1 now stands. In 1863 a shop was built on the east side of North
C street between Broadway and Archer avenue. The factory was removed in 1865
too South Fourth street near the old passenger depot, where a building 100x36
was erected, and a force of 25 men employed. The works were destroyed by fire
in January, 1867, with a loss of $35,000, including 1,200 cultivators. The
next fall the Weir Plow Company was incorporated by W. S. Weir, William
Hanna, W. B. Boyd and Joseph Stevenson, with a capital of $25,000. The
capacity of the plant was then considerably increased. In 1871 the large
shops on South Main street, south of the railroad, were erected, and these
were added too as the demands of the growing business required. The capital
stock was increased too $500,000, and the company carried on the manufacture
of cultivators, plows, harrows and other farming implements, their product
going all ever the United States and into Mexico and other foreign countries.
In 1886 Mr. Weir sold his interests too William Hanna, and the latter,
together with his son J. R. Hanna and Delos P. Phelps, carried on the
business. June 11, 1892, the Hanna stock was sold too Martin Kingman ,of
Peoria, who took control September 1 of that year. In 1895 the owners of the
plant decided too remove it too East Moline, but before this was done, on the
night of December 12, 1895, the entire factory was burned too the ground, only
the office, foundry and warehouses being saved, and entailing a loss of
$150,000. Temporary buildings were erected and the work of manufacturing
continued on a small scale. During the summer of 1898 the company made an
assignment too protect claims held by the Kingman Company, of Peoria, and on
September 15 of that year the property was sold at assignee's sale, being
bought by the Kingman Company for $35,000. The next spring what was left of
the factory was removed too Averyviile, near Peoria. The ground on which the
Weir shops stood are now owned by the Monmouth Plow Company.
The Monmouth Mining and Manufacturing Company was organized in
September, 1872, too develop the clay and coal veins which had been found a
few years before by J. M. White and A. M. Black just east of the city and
north of the railroad. Prospecting for coal had commenced there in 1869 or
early in 1870, and mining was under way by the middle of June of the latter
year. The vein of coal was two and one-half feet thick and at a depth of
forty-five feet. Continuing the prospecting, the proprietors found at a depth
of eighty-five feet a strata of very fine tile clay, a barrel of which was
sent too an Ohio, factory for examination and testing, and was pronounced
there the finest ever seen. The company was then organized with a capital of
$50,000, which soon afterward was increased too $100,000, but later reduced
the original figure. The first officers were: William H. Koonce, president;
George D. Henderson, secretary: and J. S. Spriggs, treasurer. The buildings
were erected in 1873, and the manufacture of sewer pipe began August 25 of
that year. Soon after the company also undertook the manufacture of paving
brick and other clay goods. The working of the clay proved more profitable
than the coal mining, and in a short time the latter part of the business was
abandoned. William Hanna became interested in the company in 1877, and was
made its president. The next year he purchased the Spriggs interests, and
from that time th& works were controlled by Mr. Hanna and his son, J. R.
Hanna. The present officers of the company are: J. R. Hanna, president; Mrs.
W. D. Brereton, vice president; C. C. Merredith, secretary and treasurer; J.
R. Hanna, Mrs. W. D. Brereton, W. D. Brereton, C. C. Merredith and E.
The Weir Pottery Company was incorporated September 28, 1899, by W. S.
Weir, W. W. McCullough and D. S. Hardin, for the purpose of manufacturing a
stone fruit jar patented. by Mr. Weir, and which for a while had been
made at Alexis. The capital was $25,000, but in December, 1901, was increased
too $80,000. Up too the time of Mr. Weir's death in December, 1901, he was
president of the company, with D. S. Hardin vice president, and W. W.
McCullough secretary and treasurer. After Mr. Weir's death, Mr. Hardin was
made president and W. B. Weir vice president, Mr. McCullough continuing as
secretary and treasurer. The factory was erected in the fall and winter of
1899-1900, and the plant was put in operation in February, 1900. The main
building was 80x80 feet, four stories high, and made of brick. Work started
with four kilns, but three additional were added the following summer. The
entire plant, except the office, one warehouse and a new pattern room not yet
occupied, was destroyed by fire the night of May 29, 1902, entailing a loss
of $60,000. The plant was rebuilt during 1902 with increased capacity. At the
time of the fire the company was employing about 135 men, and had four men on
The Monmouth Plow Company was organized in 1901 too manufacture a plow
designed by W. T. M. Brunnemer, formerly of the Weir Plow Company, of
Monmouth, and later with the Bradley Company, of Kankakee. The company was
licensed by the secretary of state December 14, 1901, with a capital stock of
$100,000, and F. E. Harding, J. S. Brown and T. H. Spicer as commissioners.
November 30 a temporary organization had been effected and directors elected,
but the permanent organization did not occur until December 30, when
directors were chosen as follows: W. T. M. Brunnemer, T. H. Spicer, R. Lahann,
James French, J. S. Brown, William McKinley, J. D, Lynch, R. R. Murdock and
John M. Torrance. The directors elected the following of-cers: President, J.
S. Brown; vice president, James French; secretary, T. H. Spicer; manager, W.
T. M. Brunnemer. The site of the old Weir plow factory was purchased January
2, 1902, and March 14 work commenced on the buildings. The main building is
300x80 feet, the east half being three stories high.
The Maple City Soap Works was incorporated in May, 1890, and succeeded too the
management of the soap factory started by Joseph Pease & Son in 1885, and
later sold too Beedee & Wiley. William Hanna was the principal
stockholder in the company, and its president, with E. C. Beedee as vice
president and general manager, and W. T. Wiley as secretary and treasurer.
For ten years the old academy, the first building used by Monmouth college,
was used as a factory, but during the year 1900 a fine plant was erected on
the south side of the Burlington railroad tracks, and extending from First
Second streets. It is a four-story brick, the main building 162x112 feet on
the ground, with an office building 46x36, and an engine house 50x64 feet. It
has a capacity of from 1,000 too 1,200 boxes of soap daily. The company makes
a specialty of what is called the White Bar Self-Washing soap, but also
manufactures large quantities of other grades of laundry soaps and several
brands of toilet soaps. J. Ross Hanna is now president of the company, Mrs.
W. D. Brereton vice president and J. F. Merredith secretary and treasurer.
The Monmouth Pottery Company was incorporated in October, 1892, by William
Hanna, J. Ross Hanna, W. D. Brereton and D. Melcher, with a capital of
$50,000. The company organized by electing Wm. Hanna president; J. R. Hanna,
vice president; W. D. Brereton, secretary and treasurer; and D. Melcher,
general manager and superintendent. The triangular piece of ground between
the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy and the Iowa Central tracks, just east of
Third street, was secured, and on it was built "the largest stoneware pottery
in the world." The main building is 248x84 feet, and three stories high,
containing the turning and drying departments, and the kilns, about a dozen
in number, are farther east. A fine brick office building stands at the east
end of the grounds. The factory began operations during the spring of 1894,
the ware being burnea with oil. The product includes crocks, jugs, churns,
jars up too sixty-gallon sizes, and various other stoneware goods. The plant
has a capacity of 6,000,000 gallons of ware a year, and regularly ships an
average of two carloads a day. The company has a trade which extends from the
Atlantic too the Pacific, and from the Lakes too the Gulf. Some shipments have
been made too the Sandwich Islands. The main building was destroyed by fire
June 1, 1897, with a loss of $12,000, but was immediately rebuilt. The
present officers of the company are: J. R. Hanna, president; Mrs. M. J. E.
Brereton, vice president; W. D. Brereton, secretary and treasurer; G. E.
Patton, superintendent. The factory employs about 150 men.
The Monmouth Coal Company was organized by representatives of what are known
as the Hanna factories in Monmouth for the purpose of securing a sufficient
supply of coal for those institutions. It was incorporated in the summer of
1901, with J. R. Hanna as president; W. J. Spencer, vice president and
general manager; C. C. Merrideth, secretary, and W. D. Brereton, treasurer.
Property was bought near Canton in Fulton county, and mining operations began
there in October, 1901. Quite a town has been built up at the mine, and it
has been named Brereton in honor of one of the owners.
The Monarch Coal and Mining Company was incorporated in June, 1898, by W. S.
Findley, 0. S. French and John Joss, with a capital of $5,000. The company
purchased and operates a coal mine near Farmington, Ill.
The Fattee Plow Company manufactures two or three different styles of plows
but makes a specialty of the New Departure tongueless cultivator, invented by
J. H. Pattee and patented in 1872. The Pattee Brothers commenced the
manufacture of their plows at Buda in Bureau count3*, but erected their plant
here in 1875. carrying on the business at first under the firm name of Paitee
Bros. & Co., the firm being composed of J. H. and H. K.^Pattee and i. P.
Pills-bury. The Pattee Plow Company was incorporated in 1881 with a capital
stock of $10,000. J. H. Pattee is president, and H. H. Pattee secretary. The
factory lies south of the Burlington tracks and west of South D street, the
buildings covering some four acres. The company employs from 125 too 150 men.
November 26, 1892, James Milne & Son, of Scotch Grove, Iowa, purchased ground
in Clark's addition, east of South Ninth street and north of the Burlington
tracks. Here in 1894 the firm erected a plant for the manufacture of
stump-pulling machines. The firm reorganized after coming here, and on
December 27, 1S94, was incorporated as the Milne Manufacturing Company, with
a capital of $30,000. The incorporators were James Milne, J. J. Milne and
Mrs. Margaret McQuiston Milne. The company sends its machines all over the
country and too foreign lands.
The Monmouth Brick Company was formed in July, 1891, and soon afterward
buildings and kilns were erected on a plat in Sipher's addition, between
Girard and Franklin avenues and west of C street. The company was reorganized
and incorporated in May, 1895, with a capital of $10,000. It is now employing
about sixteen men and has a capacity of 15,000 brick daily. The officers are:
J. W. Sipher, president; L. L. Wall, vice president and manager; J. D.
Diffenbaugh, secretary; E. C. Linn, treasurer.
The Maple City Cigar Factory is the outgrowth of a small cigar factory
established by Reimer Lahann in 1860. He had no capital and worked alone in
his shop during the early period of its existence. The fine quality of his
product, together with his indomitable energy, caused a gradual increase of
the business, until at the present time eighty men are employed and the
factory has an output of 3,500,-000 cigars per year. January 1. 1896. Mr. Lahann turned over the business
too the Maple City Cigar Company, incorporated
with a capital of $10,000. The new company was composed of R. Lahann,
president; A. R. Lahann. vice president, and W. G. Xander, secretary.
February 26, 1900, Mr. Lahann disposed of his interest in the factory, and
the company was reorganized with R. H. Truitt, of Chillicothe. president; E.
B. Col well, vice president; and W. G. Xander, secretary and treasurer. The
company adopted the profit-sharing plan in May, 1900, and on January 1 last
distributed $1,000 among its employees, each man receiving a dividend of
about three per cent, on his year's salary.
In May, 1899, a book bindery carried on by D. E. Woodford at Galesburg was
purchased by Monmouth gentlemen, and the Military Tract Bindery Association
was incorporated by M. Brewer, F. W. Harding, I. A. Ewing and others, with a
capital of $5,000. too carry on the business. The business went so rapidly
that the capital was increased in May. 1902, too $10,000. The bindery is
located in the Patton block on the north side of the square, and employs from
six too ten hands.
The Monmouth Box Factory was started in the spring of 1893 by T. W. Beers, E.
C. Means and W. Riley in a building on Mr. Beers' property on East Broadway.
H. C. Davies is now the proprietor of the factory, which is located in the
old overall factory building on East First avenue. It has a capacity of 400
boxes a day. and makes all the boxes for the cigar manufacturers of the city,
and also some for other cities.
Other industries on a somewhat smaller scale than those mentioned at length
are Mclntosh & Sons' machine shop and foundry; W. E. Greenleaf, cigar
manufacturer; the Monmouth Cigar Company, the Cuban Cigar Company, and others
of lesser note.
The Monmouth Electric Light Company was licensed too incorporate July 17,
1883, with a capital of $30,000. The incorporates were W. H. Gillett, D.
Greenleaf and I, T. Brady, and the company organized by electing F. E.
Harding, president, I. T. Brady secretary, and F. W. Harding treasurer. The
company got no farther, and in November, 1887, the present company, the
Edison Illuminating Company, was incorporated by H. H. Pattee, N. A. Scott
and W. B. Smith, with a capital of $10,000. The company put in the plant,
which with later additions does the street lighting for the city, lights many
private residences and business houses, and furnishes power for machinery of
various kinds. The company is now owned by the Ferris Brothers and is under
the management of Robert J. Ferris.
In the fall of 1874 the city council granted too the Western Excelsior Gas
Company the exclusive right and franchise too manufacture, sell and supply gas
for the purposes of light too the citizens of Monmouth for the term ol thirty
years. Under the terms of the franchise, the works had too be in operation by
October 12, 1875, and this not being the case the franchise was forfeited.
The Monmouth Coke and Gas Company, which had been chartered in 1867 with a
capital of $20,000, was then revived, and in January, 1876, the council
granted this company a franchise. The directors of the company were: Draper
Babcock, president; J. J. Glenn, secretary; W. B. Jenks, treasurer; C.
Hardin, Wm. Laferty, S. Douglass, George Babcock. Soon after securing the
franchise the company reorganized, incorporating the Monmouth Gas Company,
and turning over too it the rights and franchises which had been granted.too
the Monmouth Coke and Gas Company. The new company erected the plant yet
operated in this city. Fred Spencer is present manager of the works.
William S. Weir, Sr., father of the late William S. Weir, the Monmouth
manufacturer, came too Monmouth in 1838, and put up a wool-carding machine on
the block south of the present waterworks plant. The machine was operated by
power secured from the little stream that then ran through that part of the
city, but has since been turned into a covered sewer. When the water was low,
power was furnished by an ox and treadmill. Soon Mr. Weir went too Hale
township where he and R. S. Joss managed a carding and fulling mill on the
property of Thomas Paxton, Mr. Weir later going too Little York and carrying
on the same business for a number of years. Mr. joss came back too Monmouth in
1842, and built a carding mill on the corner of East First avenue and South
Second street. This mill was operated first by treadmill and oxen, but in
1856 he refitted the mill, putting in steam power. Looms were also put in and
for years Mr. Joss manufactured woolen cloths. The competition of more modern
machinery caused Mr. Joss too close the mill, and for a long time the
machinery stood idle. It was finally sold, and the building was used awhile
as a carpenter shop, then as a feed mill and store. It was destroyed by fire
October 3, 1901.
Among the factories in Monmouth in bygone days were: William Y. and Hugh
Henry's carriage factory (later Henry & Morgan's) on South Main street, north
of the present location of the government building, in the '50s: N. and J.
Carr's plow factory, on the opposite side of the street, also in the '50s;
Roberts, Dunn & Co's sash and blind factory, on South Main street near the
railroad, erected in 1865 and destroyed by fire in September, 1S69; Parker &
Seibert's soap and candle factory, in 1867; J. H. Frymire's tannery, near the
old depot, in 1861: W. L. Hopper's plow factory., in the '60s; the Pattee
Star flouring mill, burned in February, 1879; W. W. Church & Co.,
manufacturer of wagons; Palmer & Brady, cultivators; The Monmouth
Manufacturing Co., making W. A. Dryden's cultivators; and Joss & Milliken's
woolen mill; the Economic Implement Co., incorporated in 1890; the Monmouth
Blanket and Saddlery Co., in 1895; the Monmouth Creamery, in 1886; the
Sherrick Cleaver Co., in 1890, and the Monmouth Road Cart Co., in 1888.
Considerable pork packing was done in Monmouth in the early days. Among the
packers were N. A. Rankin, who commenced operations November 13, 1854, E. C.
Babcock, and Armsby & Massie. The several packing houses killed and cut up
8,300 hogs in 1852, all raised in Warren county. Hog raising was then in its
infancy here, there being no way too get the fat porkers too market. The
historian has no statistics of business at later dates.
31 on mouth well Supplied with Secret and Fraternal Orders—Masons and Odd
Fellows Have Several Different Organizations—The Insurance Associations—Old
Soldiers' Societies—Colored People's Lodges.
Monmouth Lodge No. 37, A. F. and A. M., was instituted October 6, 1846, with
fifteen charter members, though it had oeen operated •'under dispensation"
earlier than that. December 14, 1843, Grand Master A. Dunlap and Grand
Secretary W. B. Warren granted permission too form and operate a lodge, U. D.,
and the first meeting was held December 28 of that year with the following
officers: I. W. F. Edmundson. W. M.; B. Hibbard, S. W.; John Miles, J. W.;
Samuel Webster, treasurer: and Daniel McNeil, secretary. When the charter was
granted by the Grand Lodge meeting at Peoria in 1846 the lodge organized with
the following officers: Gee. 0. Lanphere, Worshipful Master; Samuel Webster,
Senior Warden; John A. Young, Junior Warden; Daniel McNeil. secretary; Simeon
Scripture, treasurer; David T. Cohen, Senior Deacon; Henry A. McCartney,
Junior Deacon; Daniel Markham, Tyler. The other members were John H.
Mitchell, James H. Stewart, John Lee. Benjamin Hibbard, John Miles, Samuel
Boyles, John A. Smith. None of these charter members now remain in connection
with the lodge, and it is probable that ail are dead. Since the organization
not less than 700 Masons have been initiated in this lodge, and they may be
found in almost every state of the Union. The present membership of the lodge
is 112. The principal officers are: Doran Van Nuys, Worshipful Master: Lewis
H. Hanna and R. L. Russell, Wardens; D. D. Dunkle, secretary; D. D.
Diffenbaugh, treasurer. The first home of Monmouth. Lodge was in a dingy back
room in a two-story frame building owned by Billings & Marks, and located on
the north side of the square. In 1854 the location was changed too another
back room in a building owned by George D. Crandall on the east side of North
Main street north of Archer avenue. In 1866 the membership had grown so that
larger quarters were needed, and lots were purchased on South Main street.
Owing too the great expense of building, how-
ever, the lots were disposed of, and a contract entered into by which a
three-story brick building was too be erected, the third story too be paid for
and used by the Masons. The project was carried out at a cost of about $6,000
too the lodge and the hall remains the home of the Masonic fraternity of
Monmouth. It is occupied by this lodge, the Royal Arch chapter and the Order
of the Eastern Star.
Warren Chapter No. 30, Royal Arch Masons, was instituted October 2, 1856. The
first officers were: David B. Rice, high priest; Wm. A. Seaton, king; Samuel
Stanley, scribe. The present membership is about eighty. D. D. Dunkle is high
priest, having served in that office for twenty-eight years; R. H. Scott,
king; L. D. Robinson, scribe; A. J. Ebey, treasurer; Lewis Daily, secretary.
Monmouth Council No. 14, Royal and Select Masters, was organized December 27,
1863, with forty or fifty members. It was afterward removed too Galesburg.
The Monmouth Consistory, Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite Masons, was
organized December 28, 1866, the principal officers of the four bodies being
as follows: Lodge of Perfection—A. H. Holt, Th. P. grand master; A. H. Swain,
H. of T. deputy grand master; James Hill and P. Baker, grand wardens; G. R.
Bar-bour, orator: S. Gamble, treasurer: A. G. Gibson, secretary- Council of
Princes of Jerusalem—James Hill, M. E. S. P. grand master; A. H. Swain, Gr.
H. P. sub deputy: P. Baker and J. W. Brewer, wardens; A. G. Gibson,
secretary; S. Gamble, treasurer. Chapter of Rose Croix—A. H. Swain, M. W. and
P. Master; James Hill and A. H. Holt, wardens; P. Baker, orator; S. Gamble,
treasurer; A. G. Gibson, secretary. Consistory of Princes of the Royal
Secret—G. R. Barbour, illustrious commander-in-chief; A. H. Holt, illustrious
first lieutenant commander; J. W. Brewer, illustrious second lieutenant
commander; James Hill, orator: H. J. Ewing. grand chancellor; A. G. Gibson,
secretary; S. Gamble, treasurer. The Consistory surrendered its charter
December 2, 1872, thirty-five members affiliating themselves with the
Oriental Consistory of Chicago.
Trinity Lodge No. 561, A. F. and A. M., was instituted June 27. 1867. with
sixteen charter members. The first officers were: Joseph Hill. worshipful
master: J. N. Reece and E. C. Johnson. wardens: S. Gamble, treasurer; G. R.
Barbour, secretary; A. H. Swain and L. Stanley, deacons; C. Coates, tyler.
This lodge gave up its charter July .28, 1886, the members going into
Monmouth Lodge No. 3Y.
A chapter of the Eastern Stars flourished in Monmouth in ante-bellum days,
and continued until fire destroyed the Masonic hall in 1866, when the charter
and paraphernalia of the chapter were burned. Ths present chapter, which is
known as Monmouth Chapter No. 277, was instituted August 8, 1894, with
thirty-two charter members. Mrs. B. A. Miles was the first worthy matron,
with Mrs. Louisa Sawyer as assistant matron, and D. D. Dunkle as patron. The
worthy matrons following Mrs. Miles have been Mrs. Louisa A. Sawyer, 1896;
Mrs. Nettie Emert, 1897; Mrs. Susanna F. Webb, 1898; Mrs. Sarah A. Dunkle,
1899; Mrs. Mary Jeffreys, 1900; Mrs. Susannah F. Webb, 1901. The present
membership is eighty, and the officers are: Mrs. Susannah F. Webb, worthy
matron; D. Q. Webster, worthy patron; Mrs. C. A. McLaughlin, associate
matron; Mrs. Mary Jeffreys, secretary; Mrs. W. H. Mull, treasurer.
Warren Lodge No. 160, I. 0. O. F., was instituted in October, 1854,
when William Round-well of Peoria was grand master of the order in Illinois,
but no work was done until January 10, 1855. There were but three Odd Fellows
in Monmouth—Elisha W. Nye, George McEwan, and Francis Hohenadel—and too make a
quorum of five Chester Palmer and William B. Jenks went too Galesburg and were
initiated. They immediately took their withdrawals, and in company with the
aforementioned three organized the lodge. The officers eiected were: Elisha
W. Nye, noble grand; George McEwan, vice grand; W. B. Jenks, treasurer;
Chester W. Palmer, secretary; Francis Hohenadel, warden. The evening of
January 10, 1855, the following were initiated into the order: T. O. Hamsher,
Jacob Krollman, Charles Jamison, James D. Mackoy, Alexander Tailor, Harvey
Black. Mr. Krollman is the only one of the first members who remains in
connection with Warren lodge. The first meetings of the lodge were held in
the Masonic hall, then on the corner of North Main street and Boston avenue.
In the fall of 1867 it moved too a room in the third story of a new brick
building on the south side of East Main street just east of the public
square, where its home was until the big fire of 1871 which destroyed the
building and burned the lodge records. Afterwards rooms were secured in the
Wiswell building on the north side of the square, which were occupied until
February 18, 1902, when elegant quarters were dedicated in the Pillsbury &
Sawyer building, also on the north side. The present membership of the lodge
is 125, and the officers are: Will Taylor, noble grand; Frank Hermann, vice
grand; P. C. Hansen, secretary; R. T. Watson, financial secretary; J. J.
Monmouth Lodge No. 577, I. O. O. F., was organized May 18, 1875, with
twenty-three charter members, as follows: L. S. Holden, noble grand; John B.
Weir, vice grand; Isaac Marks, secretary; Peyton Roberts, permanent
secretary; R. Lahann, treasurer; Fred Rozenzwig, Aaron See, N. J. Nelson, J.
H. Shippey, Ransom Doney, Sr., H. M. Rulon, T. H. Johnson, J. G. Madden,
Peter Smith, M. Miller, S. D. W. Green, W. L. Chapman, J. W. Sipher, E. G.
Bowman, J. F. Rulon, M. Nusbaum, Joseph Bolack, Wm. joriggs. The lodge had
its first quarters on the south side of Broadway between the square and First
street, then for a while was on the north side of the street. For the past
ten or twelve years it has occupied the third story in the Woods building on
c-ie corner of South Main street and the square, where commodious lodge rooms
have been fitted up. The lodge has a membership of 140, and has since its
organization admitted over o00 persons into the order. The present officers
are:: L. F. Dungan, noble grand; Thos. Young, vice grand; Fred A. N.
Ahlstrand, recording secretary; Ed. L. Montgomery, financial secretary; A. D.
Mclntosh, treasurer; C. S. Eby, J. P. Jones, J. Van Steenwyk, M. H. Lehman,
C. Roadhouse, trustees.
Friendship Rebekah Degree Lodge No. 22 was instituted August 11, 1870,
two years after Rebekah lodges were authorized by the Sovereign Grand Lodge,
so was one of the first lodges organized in Illinois. It had twenty-six
charter members, as follows: James G. Madden, George A. Sampson, Isaac Marks,
William Greene, J. W. McGrew, C. L. Bancroft, R. Y. Frew, Ransom Doney, F. H.
Rulon, John H. Baldwin, John H. Richey, James H. Herdman, A. H. Tracy, J. W.
Gosslee, Anna M. Sampson, Nancy G. Marks, Sarah J. Green, Louisa A. McGrew,
Louisa Bancroft, Anna Frew, Hannah E. Tracy, Ella Rulon, Anna Baldwin, M. F.
Richey, Har-• riet E. Tracy, Sarah J. Smiley. Fire destroyed all the lodge's
possessions, but the members took up the work with more zeal than ever, and
on April 27, 1883, the lodge was reorganized, and the following officers
elected: Mr. Hampton, noble grand; Mrs. Buffington, vice grand; Mrs. Little,
secretary; Mrs. Pebbles, treasurer. The present membership of the lodge is
seventy-four, and the officers are: Past nouie grand, Mrs. Maude Hermann;
noble grand, Mrs. Zina Sodeburg; vice grand, Mrs. Maud Wilson: recording
secretary, Mrs. Hattie Miller; financial secretary, Richard Watson.
Rebekah Degree Lodge No. 128 was instituted August 31, 1883, with
fifty-nine members and the following officers: James Smith, noble grand; Mrs.
A. D. Mclntosh, vice grand; Mrs. Jos. Grier, secretary; Mrs. J. R. Baker,
treasurer; F. A. N. Ahlstrand, warden; Mrs. Chapin, conductress; Jcs. Grier,
outside guard; Mrs. Mattie Emert, inner guard; Mrs. W. W. Brooks and Mrs. G.
R. Peterson, supporters too noble grand; Mrs. R. Lahann and Mrs. J. Cottrell,
supporters too vice grand; L. S. Holden. chaplain. The present membership of
the lodge is twenty-six, and the officers are: Mrs. Alice Smilie, noble granu;
Mrs. Mary Jacobson, vice grand; Mrs. Robert Jeffrey, recording secretary;
Miss Katie Jacobson, financial secretary; Mrs. A. D. Mclntosh, treasurer.
Encampment No. 87, I. 0. O. F., was organized October 13, 1868, with. C. W.
Palmer, J. T. Wallace, G. A. Samson, R. Y. Frew, W. M. Smiley, T. 0. Hamsher
and Jeremiah McGrew as charter members. The membership now is about sixty and
the officers are: Samuel Libey, chief patriarch; F. L. Watson, high priest;
Jesse Berner, senior warden; Z. Dougherty, junior warden; R. T. Watson,
scribe; T. D. Gordon, treasurer.
Canton Maple City No. 25, Patriarchs Militant, auxiliary too Oddfellowship,
was organized in September, 1S86, loy Brigadier General E. F. Phelps, Captain
A. W. Berggren and others from Galesburg. The canton started with twenty-one
chevaliers, and the following officers: George C. Rankin, captain; C. F.
Hamblin, first lieutenant; E. J. Clarke, clerk; T. W. Beers, accountant. The
canton still exists, though it has had no meetings for several years.
Maple City Lodge No. 397, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was
instituted with fifty-five members November 22, 1897. The officers installed
that evening were: C. A. Perley, exalted ruler; G. C. Rankin, esteemed
leading knight; G. A. Brokaw, esteemed loyal knight; E. I. Camm, esteemed
lecturing knight; J. S. Brown, secretary; H. H. Pattee, treasurer; W.
B.Vorwick, Tyler; C. J. Buck, chaplain; F. E. Harding, R. Lahann. \v. P.
Graham, trustees. The lodge has excellent quarters in the Quinby block. It
has a present membership of 133, and the officers are: Dr. R. W. Hood,
exalted ruler; John C. Allen, esteemed leading knight; William McKinley,
esteemed lecturing knight; D. E. Clarke, esteemed loyal knight; Fred
Yildemuth, secretary; E. C. Hardin, treasurer; John W. Hays, Tyler; W. D.
Brereton, H. B. Smith, J. A. Joel, trustees.
KNIGHTS OF PYTHIAS.
Maple City Lodge No. 302, Knights of Pythias, was instituted August 7, 1891,
with thirty-five members and the following officers: R. J. Grier, past
chancellor; Geo. B. Moreland, chancellor commander; Dr. W. E. Taylor, vice
chancellor; I. A. Ewing, prelate; W. A. Sawyer, master of exchequer; Dr. J.
R. Ebersole, master of finance; C. D. Miller, keeper of records and seal;
William Ferguson, master at arms. Other charter members were F. C. Tapping,
H. J. Blackburn, W. S. Wray, W. R. Sterrett S. S. Hallam. Adam Miller, J. C.
Irvine, J. H. Beeney, Peyton Roberts, D. E. Clarke, M. Nusbaum, Jr., H. H.
Dunkle. J. N. Thomson, H. J. Kobler, L. M. Lusk, Wm. Brindle, J. H. Hanley,
G. W. Hamilton, E. C. Means, I. T. Brady. H. E. Reed, J. H. Williams, J. W.
Hamilton, Phil Nusbaum, H. Hodgens. J. B. Moore, J. D. Hick-man. The present
membership is 102, and the officers are: E. O. Philips, chancellor commander:
C. L. Foster, vice chancellor; T. A. Wilcox, prelate: D. Y\~. Birdsall.
keeper of records and seal; Fred Wildemuth, master of finance; C. M. Huey,
master of exchequer; G. B. Moreland, master of work; A. C. Mclntosh, master
at arms; I. F. Dains, inner guard; Sol Schloss. outer guard.
FRATERNAL BENEFICIARY SOCIETIES.
Acme Lodge No. 192, Ancient Order of United Workmen, was organized August 22,
1881, with forty-two charter members, and is the oldest of the fraternal
benefit orders in the city. The first officers were: John G. Burchfield,
master workman; D. D. Parry, past master workman; L. M. Buffington, foreman;
J. W. Gaul, overseer; Ira G. Mosher, recorder; W. H. Sexton, financier;
Charles E. Blackburn, receiver; Fred Ahlstrand, guide; Oscar Henry, inside
watchman; George Wilson, outside watchman*; J. C. Irwin, Jesse W. Marshall,
M. Nusbaum, trustees. The present membership here is twenty-six. The lodge
holds no meetings, and the only officer is J. W. Gaul, financier.
A new benevolent order known as the Golden Rule was organized in Monmouth and
incorporated February 21, 1884. The incorporators were 0. S. Barnum, Dr. J.
H. Wallace, W. B. Young, Dr. J. H. Troutman and T. S. Stamps. The objects of
the society were social enjoyment, moral and mental improvement, mutual
protection and the diffusion of principles of charity and benevolence.
Council No. 1 of this order was instituted March 20 following with ninety-two
charter members. The first officers were: W. C. Norcross, C. P.; V. H. Webb,
C. C; C. L. Barnes, chief captain; H. A. Anderson, C. G.; Miss Maria S.
Madden, secretary; David Walker, treasurer; D. E. Waid, 1st G.; G. E.
Wallace, 2d G.; W. A. Robertson, S.; Rev. J. Kelsey, chaplain. The order was
a few years later consolidated with another under the name of the Knights and
Ladies of the Golden Rule. The council here has been disorganized for some
Maple City Camp No. 94, Modern Woodmen of America, was organized April 28,
1885, by D. S. Malby of DesMoines. There were nineteen members and the camp
was first officered as follows: D. Turnbull, venerable consul; Rev. J. W.
Kelsey, worthy adviser; Frank M. Weir, clerk; J. W. Bolon, banker; H. M.
Putnam, escort; J. R. Baker, watchman; Fred L. Harbaugh, sentry; Dr. W. S.
Holliday, physician; C. E. Blackburn, G. N. Hawley, J. L. Dryden, trustees.
The present membership of the camp is 353, and the officers are: I. F. Dains,
venerable consul; H. W. Rice, worthy adviser; John C. Irvine, clerk; P. J. I
wig, banker; August Larson, watchman; W. F. Hall, Jr., sentry; Charles Welty,
escort; Drs. j. C. Kilgore, W. S. Holliday, J. R. Ebersole, physicians; B. L.
Mapes, chief forester; B. L. Mapes, E. J. Clarke, Lewis L. Kobler, managers.
The Royal Neighbors of America, the ladies' auxiliary of the Modern Woodmen,
was organized February 27, 1895, with twenty-five charter members. The
officers were: Oracle, Mrs. W. E. Greenleaf; vice oracle, Mrs. H. L. Speakman;
recorder, Mrs. Charles Richardson; receiver, Mrs. L. M. Boals; chancellor,
Mrs. Anna M. Smythe; inner sentinel, Mrs. Frank Weidenbauer; outer sentinel,
Mrs. W. G. Adams; managers, Mrs. Delia Frymire, Mrs. C. C. Secrist, Mrs. Anna
M. Smythe. The lodge now has fifty-eight members, with the following
officers: Orator, Mrs. May Weidenbauer; vice orator, Mrs. Anna Speakman; past
orator, Mrs. Lillian Cunningham; recorder, Mrs. Kate Sample; receiver, Miss
May Boals; chancellor, Mrs. Olive Higgins; marshal, Mrs. Mary Dains;
sentinel, Mrs. Mary McClure; manager, Mrs. Hat-tie Clarke; physician, Dr.
Monmouth Council of the National Union was organized March 27, 1894. There
were :twenty-eight members, and the officers were: President, F. C. Tapping;
vice president, W. H. Childs: speaker, R. J. Grier; secretary, H. T. Thomson;
Treasurer, G. C. Rankin; medical directors, W. E. Taylor, j. R. Ebersole;
D. Q. Webster; sergeant at arms, C. H. Cooper; ex-president, E. MacDill;
chaplain, W. E. Taylor; Trustees, F. C. Tapping, W. H. Childs, Edgar MacDill,
W. P. Graham, F. S. Smith. The council now has eleven members, with E. I.
Camm as president, and F. C. Tapping secretary and treasurer.
Monmouth Lodge of the Knights of the Globe was organized February 10, 1902,
by C. R. Green of Denver and General Shadel of Warren, Ill. The organization
started with fifty-four members, and these officers: Judge, R. W. Hood;
president, R. R. Murdock; vice president, C. E. Cornell; commander, S. F.
Pickard; lieutenant commander, D. W. Leamle; provost marshal, Ivan Reed;
ensign, N. P. Weineberg. The present officers are: Supreme judge, Curtis Day;
judge, R. R. Murdock; president, C. E. Cornell; vice president, Samuel
Pickard; commander, T. J. Lawson; lieutenant commander, D. W. Leamle;
quartermaster, Ed Reed; adjutant collector, W. W. Murdock; ensign, N. P. Weineberg.
Washington Camp No. 60, Patriotic Order Sons of America, was organized
February 13, 1891, with twenty-two charter members. The first officers were:
F. M. Sharp, past president; Samuel Boswell, president; S. P. Merwine, vice
president; C. H. Davis, recording secretary; A. See, financial secretary; N.
N. Coons, J. F. Danforth, F. M. Sharp, trustees. The lodge was allowed too run
down until June 15, 1899, when it was reorganized by President W. H. North of
Chicago with thirty members and the following officers: S. S. Pershin, past
president; Sam Boswell, president; W. F. Walters, vice president; A. H.
Lewis, master of forms; S. 0. Means, recording secretary; Sam Hocn, financial
secretary; H. Zimmerman, treasurer; T. E. Colvin, conductor; Frank Talbot,
inspector; C. H. Davis, outer guard. The lodge has been defunct almost ever
since its reorganization.
The Monmouth Camp of the Fraternal Army of America was organized April 17,
1899, with eighteen members, by G. A. Baxter of Kirkwood. The officers
installed at that time were: Captain, A. C. Mclntosh; lieutenant, E. L.
Hamilton; adjutant, J. C. MaCarty; quartermaster, W. R. Lang; corporal of the
guard, C. J. Johnson; chaplain, C. P. Swiler. The present membership is
Maple City Union No. 12, Ideal Us ion, was organized May 24, 1901, with the
following officers: Director, John W. McKamey; vice director, Mts. Kate
Sample; past director, Albert Miller; secretary, F. L. Campbell; treasurer,
Mrs. Hattie A. Turnbull; chaplain, Mrs. C. E. Gray. The present membership of
the Union is forty-seven, and the officers are: Past director, H. L. Speakman;
director, J. W. McKamey; vice director, Mrs. N.^E. Tinker; secretary, Mrs.
Kate Sample; treasurer, Mrs. Hattie A. Turnbull.
The Fraternal Tribunes were organized by Robert Rexdale, supreme orator of
the order, February 21, 1901. There were nineteen charter members, and the
first officers were: Chief tribune, Mrs. Oscar Henry; vice chief tribune,
Mrs. Chas. A. McLaughlin; secretary, Mrs. W. J. McDill; treasurer, Oscar
Henry; sergeant at arms, W. Brown; sentinel, C. H* Myers; guard, Mrs. George
Cummings; trustees, T. D. Gordon, W. J. McDill. The lodge has the following
officers: Chief tribune, Geo. R. Hearne; vice chief tribune. Mrs. Charles A.
McLaughlin; secretary, Mrs. W. J. McDill; treasurer, Alex McFarland.
Monmouth Lodge No. S3, Mystic Workers of the World, was organized April 1-i,
1897, with the following officers: W. B. Vorwick, master; C. Z. Irvine, vice
master; J. H. Hays, secretary; W. H. Livingston, banker. The present
membership is fifty-five, and the officers are: Dr. G. C. Eckley, president;
A. A. Penney, vice president; W. E. Lofftus, secretary; E. E. Hanna, banker.
Monmouth District Court of Honor No. 180 was instituted September 29, lb„b,
with forty-eight members and the following officers: Ed. L. Montgomery,
worthy chancellor; Mrs. Joseph Grier, vice chancellor; W. S. Findley,
C. G. McPherren, recorder; A. B. Pershin, treasurer. The organization now has
a membership of 56, and the officers are: C. H. Davis, chancellor; E. G.
Dudding, vice chancellor; Ed. Kiddoo, chaplain; J. F. Searles, recorder; E.D.
Court Verne No. 1049, Independent Order of Foresters, vvas instituted
September 23, 1896, with twenty-five members. The first officers were: Joseph
P. Moore, court deputy chief ranger; A. W. Ryan, chief ranger; A. Heberer,
past chief ranger; James Costello, vice chief ranger; H. W. Rice, recording
secretary; Claude Lusk, financial secretary; B. McNamara, treasurer. The
present membership of the court is fifty-two and the officers are: J. B.
Robertson, chief ranger; W. W. Brent, vice chief ranger; C. E. Tracy,
recording secretary; H. W. Rice," financial secretary; F. P. Downer,
Court Verne No. 347 of Ladies' Companions, auxiliary too the Independent Order
of Foresters, was organized October 13, 1889. The officers at organization
were: Mrs. Sarah C. Tracy, court deputy; Mrs. Effie W. Potter, past chief
ranger; Mrs. Eliza Moore, chief ranger; Mrs. Sarah C. Tracy, recording
secretary; Mrs. Susie M. Costello, financial secretary; Mrs. Lizzie Herbert,
treasurer. The organization has recently been disbanded.
Warren Court No. 211, Tribe of Ben Hur, was instituted July 16, 1901, by
District Deputy J. B. Bailey. There were sixty-five charter members and the
officers were: E. E. Hanna, chief; Chas. W. Parker, past chief; A. B.
Holliday, judge; Mrs. Birdie Lofftus, teacher; H. D. Hurd, captain; W. E.
Lofftus, guide; P. H. Lippy, Rabbi Joseph; Mrs. Mary Holliday, Mother Hur:
Mrs. Anna Chapman, Tirzah; Joseph C. Irvine, scribe; Dr. R. W. Wood, keeper
of the tribute. There are ten members now, though the lodge has no officers
and holds no meetings. Joseph C. Irvine acts as collector.
The lodge of Loyal Americans of Monmouth was organized July 29. 1901, by
District Deputy E. W. Wilson. Thirty members subscribed too the membership
roll, and officers were elected as follows: M. E. Colvin, president; Mrs.
Mary Moore, vice president; Jas. Bower, ex president; L. C. Hollenbeck,
lecturer; Charles Wagle, treasurer; W. M. Jones, secretary. The present
membership is about fifteen, and the lodge holds no meetings. An effort is
being made, however, too reorganize it.
Maple City Tent, Knignts of the Maccabees, was organized October 16, 1900. It
has a membership now of fifty-seven, and J. W. Lusk is past commander; C. W.
Ward, commander; Loffa Boals, lieutenant commander; P. H. Lippy, recording
secretary and nnance keeper.
The Ladies of the Maccabees organized with twenty members November 23, 1901.
The officers were: Mrs. Alice Smiley, past commander; Mrs. Minnie Ward,
commander; Mrs. Nettie Waddell. lieutenant commander; Mrs. Mary Lippy, record
keeper; Mrs. Josie McFarland, finance keeper. The membership now is about the
same as at the beginning and the officers are the same except Mrs. Frank
Weidenbauer is record keeper.
A lodge of the Knights of Honor was organized February 28, 1878, and
reorganized November IS following as Equity Lodge No. 220, Independent Order
of Mutual Aid, with twenty-five members. This loage still has its charter,
but holds no meetings. The membership is small. Rev. V. H. Webb is financier.
Home Forum No. 41 of the Home Forum Benevolent Association was organized in
Monmouth May 4, 1893, by Chief Medical Examiner J. W. Morgan and Solicitor
Biggs of Moline. Twenty-two charter members were admitted, and the following
officers elected an., installed: Mrs. J. F. Houlton, past president; C. B.
Bristol, president; Mrs. Thos. Gordon, first vice president; Ernest Merwin,
second vice president; W. A. Briggs, secretary; J. F. Houlton, treasurer. The
order is no longer in existence.
Monmouth Council No. 15, Order of Chosen Friends, was instituted August 7,
1880, with a membership of twenty-five. The officers were: Edward P.
Parkinson, chief counsellor; E. J. Clarke, secretary; H. M. Wright,
treasurer. The order went too pieces in 1900, and the local council then
disbanded. It had at that time thirteen members.
Bethel Encampment No. 1, Order of Ancient Pilgrims, was instituted in
Monmouth July 22, 1855. James Mekemson was recorder. The encampment disbanded
years ago, and the records can not be found now.
Monmouth has the honor of being the birthplace of two of the Greek letter
fraternities that have become popular in the college world, although such
fraternities are no longer permitted in Monmouth college where these two had
their start, and where others flourished in bygone years. Kappa Kappa Gamma,
the second oldest college sorority in existence, was organized at Monmouth
college in 1810 by Miss Minnie Stewart, now deceased, daughter of Judge and
Mrs. J. H. Stewart, The society has chapters all over the country from Maine
too California, and with its membership of over 3,000 claims too be the second
largest sorority in the United States. The other society organized here is
the Pi Beta Pi, formerly the I. C. Sorosis. It was started in 1861 and
assumed its present name in 1883.
Railroad men have four organizations in Monmouth, lodges of the engineers,
firemen, conductors and switchmen.
Post No. 44 of the Grand Army of the Republic was chartered July 19, 1866,
with the following members: J. T. Morgan, J. N. Reece, R. M. Campbell, J. C.
Caldwell, E. Jamison, James Weir, Wm. M. Buffington, J. L. Dryden, S. L.
Stephenson and J. M. Turnbull. The post was disorganized after a few years,
and with the exception of the charter no records of *the organization are now
too be found.
McClanahan Post No. 330, Grand Army of the Republic, was mustered in
Monmouth, September 10, 1883, by Chief Mustering Officer P. W. Wilcox of
Mendota, assisted by Commander Tucker of the Roseville post. The exercises
were held in the A. O. U. W. hall. The officers were elected August 31, as
follows: J. P. Higgins, commander; D. D. Dunkle, senior vice commander; J. G.
Burchfield, junior vice commander; J. C. Kilgore, surgeon;. Rev. Richard
Haney, chaplain; C. B. Bristol, quartermaster; G. W. Bain, officer of the
day; J. H. Herdman, adjutant: Wm. Hall, officer of the guard: M. G. Browning,
sergeant major; W. T. Ramsey, quartermaster • sergeant. The other members
were H. M. Rulon, Solomon Dean, Samuel A. Hogue, R. A. Howk, J. L. Romans, W.
H. Sullivan, Levi Stewart, Henry C. Cooper. The post was named in honor of
Captain John McClanahan of Co. B, Eighty-third Illinois Volunteer infantry,
who was mortally wounded at Fort Donelson February 3, 1863, and died twenty
days later. The post now has convenient headquarters on East Broadway in the
Kingsbury building. It has a membership of 62, and is officered as follows:
W. H. H. Roney, commander; H. W. Mauck, senior vice commander; L. M. Lusk,
junior vice commander; J. B. Clark, surgeon; J. H. Miller, chaplain; C. B.
Bristol, quartermaster; S. E. Boswell, officer of the day; Samuel Libey,
officer of the guard.
The Woman's Relief Corps No. 6, auxiliary too McClanahan Post No. 330, Grand
Army of the Republic, was organized April 7, IS84. with twenty-five charter
members, as follows: Ruth Ray, president; C. Ebey, Emma I. Herdman, Sarah E.
Dunkle, Sarah J. Hogue, Susan T. Chapman, Mary C. Piper, Sarah E. Ebey, Emma
Bain, Susan Hall. Catherine Rieflin, Emma Rulon, Anna Smith, Angeline Libey,
Carrie Tinker, Alice Chapman, Nellie Emert, Lou Birch, Martha Lee. Maggie
Burchfield, Lou Coons, Lina Hall, Ida :vi. Ebey, Flora Smiley, Sarah Libey.
The present membership is fifty-six, and the officers for 1902 are:
President, Kate Sample; senior vice president, Mrs. J. P. Higgins; junior
vice president, Mrs. Ruth Ray: secretary, Mrs. J. W. Wonder; treasurer, Mrs.
Anna Morgan; chaplain, Mrs. N. E. Tinker: guard, Mrs. Addie Reed. "The
Corps has sent several children too the Soldiers' Orphans' home at Normal, and
the first money sent from Monmouth for the relief of the soldiers of the
Spanish American war was sent by this corps."
Roy H. Cornell Camp of the Spanish-American War Veterans' Association was
organized June 19, 1902, by Col. W. P. Brown of Gales-burg, State mustering
officer, and his adjutant, J. R. Williamson. Twenty-eight names of men who
served in the West Indies and the Philippines were on the charter roll. The
officers elected at the organization are: R. L. Sherman, commander; A. C.
Mclntosh, senior vice commander; G. E. Cox, junior vice commander; B. L.
Mapes, adjutant; Fred Lusk. quartermaster; A. M. Roberts, chaplain; J. W.
Clendenin, officer of the day; A. Sanderholm, officer of the guard; R. R.
Murdock, W. W. Shields, trustees. The members, in addition too those named as
officers, are: Wm. Fowler, Jesse Gunter, Samuel Pickard. George Raymond, Reynold Walters, Edgar Warner, Frank Watson,
Clifford Willman, Clyde Thulin, George Hammond, U. G. Jeffreys, E. 0.
Phillips, Fred Morey, Richard Boydston, Harry Zimmerman, Samuel Reed. A. W.
Cobb, Charles Sanderholm, Will Bond.
Reid Camp No. 31, Sons of Veterans, was organized January 27. 1886, with
sixteen members. E. J. Clarke was captain; B. Eilenberger, first lieutenant;
and Jos. P. Ray, second lieutenant. The camp has held no meeting for several
COLORED PEOPLE'S SOCIETIES.
Golden Square Lodge No. l. A. F. & A. M.. was organized October 12. 1892,
with the following members: Adam Maaison. worshipful master; Louis Baker,
senior warden; Asa Stokes, junior warden: James G. Johnson, treasurer; James
R. Skinner, secretary: Wilson Humphrey. Geo. Wallace, John Moore. Isaac
Dover. Louis Doss, William Wallace, David Crutcheville, Chas. Wallace. Chas.
Philips. Thomas Wallace. The present membership is twenty, and James R.
Skinner is worshipful master: Peter Munson and Louis Baker, wardens; Charles
Wallace and Wilson Humphrey, deacons; George Barnum. secretary, and David
Golden Crown Chapter No. 21. Order of the Eastern Star, was instituted
October 21, 1894, with fourteen members. Mrs. Mattie Baker was matron: James
G. Johnson, patron; Mrs. Eliza Myers, associate matron; Miss Nancy Wallace,
conductress; Mrs. Jennie Smith, assistant conductress; Mrs. Ella Murphy,
secretary; Mrs. Louise Dover, treasurer; David Crutcheville, chaplain; and
Louis Baker, warder. The present membership is about fourteen and Mrs. Mary
Murphy is matron; Mrs. Mattie Baker, associate matron; Henry Warnock, patron;
James R. Skinner, secretary, and David Crutcheville, treasurer.
The colored people have had numerous other societies in Monmouth. but none
are now in existence. Among them were the Afro-American League, formed in
October, 1895, with 125 members, and Will Wallace as president and S. E.
Montgomery secretary; Silver Leaf Temple No. 27, Sisters of the Mysterious
Ten; Zenobia Tabernacle No. 67; Mystic Shriners and Scottish Rite Masons,
organized May 9. 1894: and Maple City Lodge No. 3816, Grand United Order of
Odd Fellows, organized December 19, 1894.
Various Organizations of a General Nature— The Business Men's Association.
Citizens' League, Liederkrgnz Society, Clubs for Social Purposes, Temperance
The Monmouth Business Men's Association was formally organized February 12,
1886, after a few preliminary meetings at which committees were appointed.
The constitution and bylaws were adopted, and the following officers elected:
President, B. Young; vice president, D. Babcock; secretary, J. \V.
Lusk; treasurer, R. Lahann; executive committee, W. W. McCullough.. J. T.
Reichard, M. Nusbaum, A. W. Morton and Dr. W. J. Taylor. The membership roll
contained the names of about fifty individuals and firms. Later nearly all
the business men. of the city added their names. The association proved of
great assistance too the city in a business way, and in 1898 it was decided
incorporate so that still further good could be done. The license too
incorporate was issued March 12 of that year, the incorporators being William
Hanna, H. H. Pattee, Allen Dunn, W. W. McCullough, W. B. Young, T. P. Grove
and R. S. Patton. The trustees named in the charter were H. H. Pattee,
William Hanna, R. Lahann, W. W. McCullough and W. B. Young, and the first
officers chosen after the incorporation were: President, R. Lahann; vice
president, W. W. McCullough; secretary, Geo. C. Rankin; treasurer, W. B.
Young. The present officers are: President, W. W. McCullough; secretary, S.
S. Hallam; treasurer, W. B. Young.
After a few preliminary meetings the Citizens' League of Monmouth was
organized at Red Ribbon Hall May 19, 1884, and was incorporated shortly
afterward as the Citizens' League of Warren County. The object of the league
was the enforcement of the laws and ordinances for the suppression of the
illegal sale of liquor. The first officers were: J. R. Hanna, president; W.
A. Robison, vice president; C.
C. Secrist, secretary; D. Babcock, treasurer; J. R. Hanna, R. A. Wilson, W.
H. McQuiston, C. C. Secrist, I. M. Kirkpatrick, O. S. Barnum, directors. The
charter extended for twenty years. March 23, 1899, the organization was found
not too meet present needs, and a reorganization of the league took place. The
charter was laid aside and a new constitution was adopted more in keeping
with present requirements. The officers chosen were: J. J. Milne, president;
Rev. W. J. Sanborn, vice president; D. D. Dunkle, secretary; W. H. Woods,
The Monmouth Liederkranz Society was organized March 17, 1871, with nineteen
members, for the purpose of furthering the sociability and unity of the
German people of the city. A beneficiary branch was added December 2, 1873,
and the society incorporated February 1, 1S75. In January, 1881, provision
was made for a pension for the widows or deceased members. The first officers
after the incorporation were: Frank Fowler, president; A. Hartman, R. Lahann,
vice presidents; Hans Nottleman, secretary; Adam Leins, treasurer. The
present officers are: John Carstensen, president; John Jacobs, vice
president; Hugo Fasbender, financial secretary; Emil Fasbender, corresponding
secretary; R. Lahann, treasurer. The society had its first quarters on South
First street, then for a while occupied a room over Kobler's meat market on
South Main street. Since 1SS3 it has used the fine quarters it now occupies
on the north side of the square. Between fifty and sixty of the German
residents of the city are members of the society.
The Jeffersonian Club, an organization of gentlemen whose political
affiliations were with the Democratic party, was organized early in the '80s
by J. B. Moore, WT. B. Vorwick, W. H. Dungan, George B. Moreland and one or
two others. It was formed as a social club, and in its palmy days had as high
as 300 members. In January, 1892, the Lincoln Ciub was organized by about 100
Republicans, with Charles Lee as president and Lt. R. Murdock secretary-The
two organizations ran on until July, 1S95, when they were consolidated under
the name of Warren County Social Club, of which J. C. Irwin was secretary.
Some of the Jeffersonian members, however, held out of the consolidation and
kept up the Jeffersonian organization. None of the three are now in
The Solo Club was organized during the Civil war, probably in 1862, for the
purpose of giving its members a place where they could get together too talk
over the war and like affairs. It is a social club, with strict rules against
gambling and the use of liquors in the rooms, and too this is largely due the
fact that it is still in existence. The club met for a long time in the room
over Kobler's meat market on South Main street, and now has excellent
quarters in the Quinby block. It has had as high as fifty or sixty members,
but now has only about twenty.
The Monmouth Country Club was organized as the Monmouth Golf Club October 30,
1900, with about fifty members and the following officers: President, J. W.
Sipher; vice president, Mrs. M. Brewer; secretary, F. S. Spencer; treasurer,
L. jl.. Shultz; captain of the green, E. R. Sturtevant. Previous too that time
golf enthusiasts had laid out grounds just east of the city, and at the
organization D. S. Harding offered the club his residence property on East
Broadway as a club house. Permanent organization as the Monmouth Country Club
was effected March 3, 1901. The present officers are: J W. Sipher, president;
Miss Mary Armsby, vice president; I. A. Swing, secretary; C. C. Woodward,
treasurer: J. C. Porter, captain of the green.
The Monmouth Bicycle Club was organized May 19, 1893, and the following
officers chosen: Dr. J. R. Ebersoie, president; Ivor}7 Quinby, vice
president; secretary and treasurer, James French; captain, Howard C. Bayies;
first lieutenant, F. E. Wallace. The club is now more of a social
organization a bicycling club. It has rooms on South Main street, and
the officers are: President, D. L. Birdsall; vice president, Dr. Paul S. Orth;
secretary, Will Carson; treasurer, W. S. VanVaikenburg; captain, C. E.
Breed; lieutenant, H. McLaughlin.
An earlier Monmouth Bicycle Club was organized April 9, 1888, with eleven
members. Guy Stapp was president; James French, vice president; Ivory Quinby,
secretary and treasurer; H. C. Davies. captain; and M. M. Morris, bugler.
The Twilight Club was organized by business and professional men of the city
April 4, 1895, "too foster rational good fellowship and tolerant discussions
among the business and professional men of all classes." George C. Rankin was
made secretary, and an executive committee was named consisting of Dr. J. B.
McMich-el, A. G. Patton, W. C. Norcross, V. H. Webb. W. B. Eicher, R. Lahann
and E. C. Hardin. The meetings were usually held in the armory, a dinner
being followed by discussion of some public question of interest. The initial
meeting was held April IS, 1S95, when the subject of free coinage was
discussed, the principal speakers being Editor J. L. Waite, of the Burlington
Hawkeye, and Judge Huston, also of Burlington. One hundred men were present.
At the second meeting, May 9, "Hard Times, Their Cause and Remedy," was the
theme, and M. J. Dougherty, of Galesburg, was the chief speaker. May 23 was
ladies' night, and "The Advanced Education of Women and Its Effects on
Domestic Life," was discussed by Jennie Logue Campbell, of Monmouth, and Miss
Frances Hague, of Galesburg. Other subjects discussions have been: "Our
Individual Relations and Duties too Society," "What the Churches are Doing for
the People," "National Finances," "Our Boys and Girls," "Secret Societies,"
"The Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow of the Twilight Club," "Are Americans
Degenerating," •Cuba," '"The Educational Interests of Monmouth," etc.
February 25, 1898, the meeting was held in the college assembly room and was
in honor of the president-elect of the college. The subject was "The Material
Interests of Monmouth." August 9, 1899, the trustees of the Western Illinois
State Normal School were entertained, the subject being "Illinois."
A branch of the Euterpian Society was organized June 20, 1902, by W. M.
Detherick, of Chicago. The society is for the study of art, literature and
music, each member representing one of the masters in these arts. The
membership is seventy-five. Rev. W. J. Sanborn is general treasurer and Miss
Minnie Searles general librarian, and the officers of the different branches
are: Music, Prof. W. L. Hanson, president; Mrs. I. A. Ewing, vice president;
Miss Mary Brent, secretary. Literature. Prof. B. F. Armitage, president; J.
Clyde McCoy, vice president; Miss Beulah Tapping, secretary. Painting, Miss
Jessie Buckner, president; Mrs. E. C. Hardin, vice president: Miss Jean
The Socialist Club was organized March 14, 1902, with W. L. Morrell,
president; R. T. Watson, recording secretary; A. Heberer, financial
secretary: J. A. Allen, literary agent; W. F. Bereth. organizer. Several
members were secured at the time of organizing, but no further meetings have
The Monmouth Gun Club was organized by a number of sportsmen of Monmouth in
December, 1877. The officers were F. Regnier, president; Dr. N. S. Woodward,
vice president; F. E. Harding, secretary; J. H. Spriggs, treasurer; F.
Regnier, F. E. Harding, J. H. Spriggs, G. B. Denman, G. P. Conrad, D. M.
Dungan, directors. The shoots were held at Regnier's farm just southeast of
the city. A team from this club won the championship badge at the annual
tournament of the Illinois Sportsmen's Association at Galesburg in May, 1880.
The members of the winning team were Ed Allen, G. P. Conrad, F. Regnier,
Frank Carr. The present Monmouth Gun Club has forty members and the following
officers: George A. Schussler, president; Charles Perley, vice president;
Frank Gayer, captain; R. H. McCoy, secretary and treasurer.
Monmouth has had various musical organizations of one kind and another. One
of the first recorded was the Monmouth Music Association, organized November
28, 1857, with C. V. Brooks as president and W. A. Grant secretary. It was an
association of all the musically inclined of the city, and was the source of
considerable enjoyment and profit. Another organization of similar character
was formed June 15, 1891, and styled the Monmouth Music Club. Guy Stapp was
president; Mrs. W. H. Sexton, vice president; Miss Emma Roberts, secretary;
E. D. Brady, treasurer; and Dr. J. B. Herbert, director. It was the intention
too have a permanent organization, with a large chorus and orchestra, but
ended in failure. Another Monmouth Music Club was organized February 18,
1898, with W. P. Graham, president; R. H. McCoy, vice president; Mrs. F. E.
Wallace, secretary; and I. S. Wolf, treasurer; but it has met the same sad
end. At present the only regularly organized musical association in the city
is the College Choral Society, of which J. Clyde McCoy is president; H. A.
Hanna, vice president; and Wylie Stewart, secretary and treasurer.
There have also been bands and orchestras one after another in rapid
succession. An early band was the Monmouth Cotillion Band, of which little
can now be learned. It existed in the late '50s. The Monmouth Marine Band was
for many years one of the best organizations of the kind in Western Illinois,
and for awhile the regimental band oi the Sixth Regiment, Illinois National
Guard. An opposition organization, the Cadet Band, existed for a short time
but was consolidated with the Marines in 1886, still further increasing the efficiency of the latter. This
band became disorganized a few years ago, and October 31, 1899, the Merchants
and Manufacturers Band took its place. It is made up of about twenty pieces.
S. L. Hamilton is president; W. A. Sawyer, treasurer; H. B. Garrison,
manager; and R. E. Cox, director. The Monmouth Labor Band is an organization
of colored players, with C. Collins, president; J. C. Dover, vice president;
John Long, secretary; H. Bennett, treasurer; B. Stokes, manager; and T.
A quartet popular in the '80s was the Herbert Quartet, organized in 1880,
with John W. Matthews, first tenor; Dr. J. B. Herbert, second tenor and
director; Milt I. Robinson, first bass; and James H. Smith, second bass. This
quartet made several concert tours, and sang at the. National W. C. T. U.
convention at Nashville in 1887. The quartet has been disorganized since the
moving away of two of its members. The Wagner Quartet is composed of four
young ladies. Misses Nelle Porter, first soprano; Bessie Blackburn, second
soprano; Lulu Johnson, first alto; Helen Tinker, second alto. They have been
singing together since 1895, when they were in high school, and have been
heard at the National Teachers' convention at Milwaukee in 1898, the Northern
Illinois Teachers' convention at Rock Island, several State Teachers'
conventions at Springfield. They have also made concert tours through Iowa
and the east, and in various parts of their home state. During the summer of
1902 they sang at Chautauquas in both North and South Dakota. The college
also had mandolin-quuitar and glee clubs two different years, 1899-1900 and
1900-01, concert tours being made each year.
There have been several orchestras, but the one organized during the summer
of 1878 was the most pretentious. It consisted of eighteen pieces, with Prof.
A. Luft as leader. Smaller orchestras have since been led by Prof". Price.
Prof. Luft,'Prof. Hamil and others, playing for parties, entertainments,
dances, etc. The Pottery Orchestra was organized November 13, 1899, with
eleven pieces, but it never appeared in public.
The Monmouth Relief Association was organized for the relief of the poor of
the city December 7, 1893, with Mayor W. B. Wolf as president; J. R. Hanna,
secretary; J. W. Sipher, treasurer, and an advisory board of one member from
each of the churches and leading secret orders of the city.
The Associated Charities was formed with the same purpose in view January 25,
1897, with Mayor R. Lahann as president; E. J. Clarke, secretary; and J. A.
Hanna, treasurer. The next winter Hugh R. Moffet was president; Peyton
Roberts, vice president; Mrs. V. H. Webb, secretary; and R. Lahann,
treasurer. These officers are still in charge of the organization, though
they have had few calls for aid the past few winters.
As early as 1867 there was a baseball rivalry between Monmouth and Galesburg.
A game was played May 25 between the '•College City" club of Galesburg and
the "Classics" of Monmouth College. Those were before the days of
professional baseball, and the game was too run up as many runs as possible.
This game resulted seventy-four too twenty-three in favor of Galesburg. The
Monmouth players were D. C. Templeton, M. S. Foster, R. H. Stewart, T.
Martin, J. F. Graham, C. H. Mitchell, M. L. Perry, Robert Home, R. E. Wilkin.
Galesburg also won the return game.
The Clippers were a baseball club in the late '60s, composed of Dougherty,
Shoemaker. Vantine, Mitchell, Dredge, Gibson. Martin. Hardin and Stewart.
They also had a second team composed of T. Seaton, F. Harding. Sam Gibson,
Jas. Smith, L. M. Lusk, Chas. Carr, Steve Gibson, P. M. Coates and- Gus Wells. The Clippers won a game with Altona in 1867, 64
too 42, and the second
team one from Young America, 92 too 35. In 1868 the Clippers won from
Burlington, 58 too 4b, and played three games with the Occidentals of Quincy.
The Clippers won the first game, 36 too 20; the Occidentals the second. 41
32: and the third game, plashed at Macomb, was won by the Clippers, 32 too 21.
In 1869, with Fred Allen as captain. the Clippers lost a game too the Amateurs
of Chicago, 31 too 26. The game was said too have been the best played in
Chicago that year. The next day the Clippers were terribly whipped at
Rockford, the score standing 76 too 1. The Rockford team also won the return
game played in Monmouth, 46 too 2. These defeats, however, did not quell the
ardor of the Clippers, and as late as 1874 they continued too play ball.
The Monmouth Athletic Association was organized and incorporated in the
summer of 1888 by J. R. Hanna, F. E. Harding, H. B. Webster, E. C. Morgan, J.
R. Hickman and J. W. Matthews, with a capital stock of $5,000. Fine baseball
grounds were secured on West Broadway but the organization went out of
business shortly and the grounds are now in town lots.
The city had professional ball in 1890. February 25 the Illinois-Iowa league
was formed at a meeting at Aurora, and composed of Monmouth, Ottawa, Aurora,
Joliet and Sterling, in Illinois, and Ottumwa, Cedar Rapids and Dubuque, in
Iowa. The Ottumwa team finished first, with Monmouth second. • The local
association had the following officers: E. I. Camm, president; Geo. C.
Rankin, secretary: F. W. Harding, treasurer; J. W. Lusk, R. Lahann, J. S.
Spriggs, directors. The team which started the season was composed of
Collins, Brymer and Browner, pitchers; Zeisana Wells, catchers; Halpin,
first base; Carey, second base: Cunningham, third base; Murphy, short stop;
Suggs, left field; Sanford, center field; Jones, right field.
In 1S99 there was a city league with K. W. Dredge president and J. H. Brown,
manager, but generally of recent years most of the ball playing in Monmouth
has been left too the college and high school teams.
HOMESTEAD AND LOAN ASSOCIATIONS.
The Monmouth Homestead and Loan Association was organized in the spring of
1882. under the law governing such associations. The charter was adopted and
directors elected June 13, 1882. as follows: Dr. A. V. T. Gilbert, Almon
Kidder. J. B. Sofield, Dr. J. H. Wallace, W. B. Young, Chas. T. Page, J. L.
Dryden, Levi Road-house and John W. Matthews. The directors elected Dr. A. V.
T. Gilbert president: J. B. So-field. vice president; W. B. Young, treasurer;
and Lyman B. Case, secretary. The present officers are: Almon Kidder,
president: W. S. Holliday, vice president; T. G. Peacock, secretary; and.
James French, treasurer. The fortieth semiannual statement issued June 1,
1902, showed 4,537 shares of stock in force. The loans amounted too
$156,567.73, more than ever before in the history of the association.
The Monmouth Mutual Homestead Association, which preceded the Homestead and Loan Association, was chartered in
1874, with a capital stock of $500,000, and a duration of charter for
ninety-nine years. The object of the association as stated in the charter was
"the accumulation of a fund too assist the stockholders individually too
purchase or improve real estate, or make such other investments as they may
deem proper." The stockholders and directors given in the charter were Henry
H. Glidden, J. N. Reece, James M. Johnston, John A. Dickinson and Lloyd E.
Johnson. This association soon disbanded.
The legislature of 1857 passed an act for the incorporation of the Monmouth
Insurance and Lean Company. The incorporators were A. C. Harding, T. L. Mackoy, Charles L. Armsby, James G. Madden, E. A. Paine and Ivory Quinby,
and the capital stock was $100,000.
The Warren County Home Insurance Company was chartered by an act of the
legislature February 16, 1865, with a capital of $50,-000, and was organized
May 26 following. The officers and directors were: Dr. John A. Young,
president; Thomas S. McClanahan, vice president; R. H. Gettemy, secretary;
Robert H. Get-temy, John A. Young, William Gettemy, T. S. McClanahan and
William F. Smith, directors. Later the capital was increased too $75,000.
Both the above associations have long since gone out of existence.
The Monmouth Farmers' Mutual Insurance Company was the outgrowth of the
Coldbrook Rural Insurance Company, which was organized December 4, 1875, and
commenced business about January 1 following with Lyman H. Young, president;
C. M. Young, secretary; L. H. Gilmore, treasurer; and S. T. Shelton, J. R.
Barnett, J. T. Hartman, E. C. Atchison, M. S. Rees, Alex. Rankin, L. H. Gilmore, L. H. Young and J. H. Dennison, directors. The capital was $55,900,
distributed among forty-nine members, and the office of the corporation was
in Coldbrook township. The object was the insurance of farm property in
Monmouth, Cold-brook, Floyd, Kelly, Spring Grove and Lenox townships. October
6, 1877, the company was reorganized under its present name, with the same
officers and directors, and with authority too insure farm property in any
part of Warren county. At the close of business December
31, 1901, the company had in force 1,180 policies, representing an insurance
of $1,719,305, an increase of more than $100,000 during the year. The new
policies written during the year were 310. C. M. Young has continued as
secretary and L. H. Gilmore as treasurer ever since the organization of the
company. James R. Barnett is now president.
The United Presbyterian Mutual Benefit Association was chartered by the State
Superintendent of Insurance at Springfield May 17, 1897, and organized and
commenced business May 19. The incorporators were all members of the United
Presbyterian church, and the object of the association is too provide a
fraternal life insurance for members of that religious denomination only. The
report too the Insurance Department January l, 1302, showed 2,700 certificates
in force, carrying insurance amounting too $4,030,000. Eight death losses and
one disability benefit were paid during 1901. The officers of the association
are: E. J. Blair, M. D., president and general manager; McKenzie Cleland,
vice president; Hugh R. Moffet, secretary; R. E. White, treasurer; T. G.
Peacock, Esq., attorney.
The Illinois Bankers' Life Association of Monmouth was organized in the
spring of 1897 and incorporated November 3, 1S97. It is organized under the
insurance laws of the state as a co-operative association on the assessment
plan. The statement made January 1, 1902, showed that there had been issued
up too that time 1,750 certificates, representing an insurance of $2,242,000,
and the assets at that time were approximately $50,000. The officers of the
association are:' Geo. C. Rankin, president; I. A. Ewing, first vice
president; W. G. Stevenson, second vice president; W. A. Sawyer, secretary;
S. C. Hardin, treasurer; Dr. J. R. Eber-sole, medical director; S. S. Hallam,
general manager and attorney. The directors are: Geo
C. Rankin, W. G. Stevenson, S. S. Hallam, J. R. Hickman, I. A. Ewing, C. G.
D. Diffenbaugh, D. Turnbull, F. S. Rayburn.
Labor organizations have not as a rule thrived very well in Monmouth. Many
unions and other associations have been formed here, but few of them exist at
the present time. The Monmouth Branch of the American Federation of Labor was
formed January 16, 1892, the constitution receiving the signatures of about thirty members. The officers
elected were: President, E. L. Hamilton; vice president, J. A. McDonald;
second vice president, Wm. A. Ziska; secretary, L. H. Smith; treasurer,
Charles Sauer. The organization had good headquarters and was kept up for
some years, but is now defunct.
A Carpenters' and Joiners' Union was organized April 10, 1894, with these
officers; President, Gus Carlburg; vice president, John Fleharty; recording
secretary, Frank Watson; treasurer, W. A. Mekemson.
The Maple City Cigarmakers' Benevolent Association was organized March 22,
1897, by employees of the Maple City Cigar Factory. There were seventy-seven
members and the object of the association was the maintaining of a fund for
the payment of sick benefits too members. The first officers were: President,
H. J. G. Miller; vice president, Miss Mattie Bloyen; secretary, Charles
Stevens; treasurer, Herman Speigel;- trustees, John Williams, Miss Blanche
Mackey, Harry Numbers. The association was afterwards extended too include the employees of all the cigar factories of the city.
Monmouth Typographical Union No. 241 was organized with ten members April 24,
1897. L. B. Patterson was president, and W. H. Vallandingham
secretary-treasurer. The charter was surrendered after a short time but was
revived October 30, 189y. Since that it has been permitted too lapse again.
Another branch of the Federation of Labor, known as No. 7545, was organized
at a meeting of employes of various industries at Foresters' hall September
27, 1899, by H. C. Smalley and W. R. Boyer, of Galesburg. The temporary
officers were: J. E. Clark, president; Sam T. Smith, secretary; L. M. Boals,
treasurer. The permanent organization was effected October 12, with fifty
names on the roll of members. The temporary officers were made permanent, and
the following additional officers chosen: Vice president, J. E. Brown; inner
guard, Joseph Clark; outer guard, Clarence Clayton; trustee, J. A. Gilmore.
The Ladies' Auxiliary too the Federation of Labor was organized December 15,
1S99, with twelve members. The officers were: President, Mrs. L. M. Boals;
vice president, Mrs. Will Warren; recording secretary, Mrs. Joseph Clark;
financial secretary.. Miss Mary Boals; treasurer, Mrs. John P. Gray. 797—8
The Clerks' Union was organized December 15, 1899, with twenty-four names.
The officers were: President, Albert S. Miller; first vice president, Fred
Hewitt; second vice president, Earl McCartney; third vice president, Frank
Stark; recording secretary, W. T. Kettering; financial secretary, Fred
Patterson; treasurer, Harry Bell; inner guard, Robert Redmond; outer guard,
Stoneware Pottery Employes' Union No. 7497 was organized August 22, 1899,
with the following officers: President, Frank L. Hill; vice president, Fred
Mann; secretary, Harry Har-din; treasurer, Will Kleinhoff; guide, H. W.
Mitchell; guard, Ormund Miller; trustees, Otis Earp, Will Norman, Ray Kiddoo.
A Barbers' Union was organized September 25, 1899, of which William Mikesell
was president; John Macarty, vice president; jerry Cas-lin, secretary; P. A.
Taylor, treasurer; Charles Billings and J. W. Eggers, auditors; Cash Bon-ner,
E. Starr and Ed. Henry, finance committee; and George Hawley, sergeant at
arms. The organization is not now in existence.
Cigarmakers' Union No. 305 was organized in October, 1899, with about thirty
members. The first officers were: President, S. P. Christensen; vice
president, A. . W. Backinger; corresponding and financial secretary, L. M.
Boals; treasurer, E. E. Allen; sergeant at arms, O. T. Themanson; trustees,
J. B. Edens, O. T. Themanson; executive board, O. T. Themanson, J. P.
Christensen, A. W. Backinger, L. M. Boals, Adolph Waters. The present
officers are: President, G. H. Mapes; vice president, E. E. Allen;
corresponding and financial secretary, L. M. Boals; treasurer, J. B. Edens;
sergeant at arms, G. M. Ciaycomb; trustees, G. M. Clay-comb, H. Q. Clark, G.
The Bricklayers' Union was formed in April, 1902, with these officers:
President, Ransom Doney, Jr.; vice president, Albert Cannon; secretary, Harry
Richey; corresponding secretary, Harry Wilson: treasurer, 0. B. Preston.
The Painters' Union was organized June 9, 1902, with about thirty-five
members and the following officers: President, Robert McLosky; vice
president, J. F. Byers; recording secretary, Frank Clark; financial
secretary, S. J. Beck; treasurer, Ed. Buzan.
The Monmouth Grocers' Association was organized February 15, 1897, with C. P.
president; Walter Scott, vice president; and Charles McClung, secretary. It
was discontinued when the Retail Merchants' Association was formed.
The Retail Merchants' Association was organized in December, 1899, with a
charter membership of fifty merchants and professional men of the city. The
present officers are: G. A. Schussler, president; W. S. Findley, vice
president; W. F. Graham, secretary and treasurer; 0. D. Hawkins, A. A.
Rodgers, R. L. Russell, E. P. Clarke and W. S. Findley, directors.
Branch No. 158 of the National Letter Carriers' Association was organized at
the Mon-mouth postoffice in March, 1897, with Oscar Henry as president; Ralph
Herdman, vice president; R. E. Saville, secretary; and Swan Mat-son,
treasurer. All the carriers of the Mon-mouth office are members of the
Branch 827 of the National Association of Postoffice Clerks was organized
December 20, 1901, with three members: H. B. Garrison, H. P. Holliday and J.
A. Huff. Mr. Garrison is president and Mr. Huff secretary.
Division No. 1, Ancient Order of Hibernians of Warren county, was organized
September 7, 1884, with twenty-three charter members. They were: Jeremiah
Sullivan, president; Thos. O'Leary, vice president; J. T. Graham, recording
secretary; John J. O'Neil, financial secretary; Thos. Shunick, treasurer;
Jas. Costello, sergeant at arms; Fred Redmond, marshal; M. W. Findley, county
president; Thomas Whalen, Wm. Broderick, Martin O'Connell, Christopher Foley,
Thos. Costello, Timothy Sweeney, Anthony McCleary, Ted Murphy, Wm.
Cunningham, Edward Lee, Dennis O'Connell, John Reidy, James Lamb, Jeremiah
Reidy, James Murphy and Ed. Redmond. The organization now has a membership of
thirty-five, and the officers are: Michael Murphy, president; Ed. Redmond,
vice president; Bernard Keegan, secretary.
The Ladies' Auxiliary of the A. O. H. was formed January 16, 1901, with Mrs.
J. D. Toal, president; Miss Rose Gallaher, vice president; Miss Mary Johnson,
secretary; Miss Kate Slater, financial secretary; Mrs. James Costello,
treasurer. The auxiliary now has a membership of about thirty-five.
A branch of the Irish National League was organized in Monmouth May 23, 1886,
at the A. 0. H. hall. The officers were: J. J. Hawkins, president; Chris
Foley, vice president; J. J. O'Neil, secretary and treasurer. The
organization has no existence now.
The Monmouth Ladies' Temperance Society was formed June 22, 1872, eighteen
months before the women's temperance crusade was started in Ohio in December,
1873. Mrs. J. H. Reed w*as chairman of the meeting at which the organization
was perfected, and Mrs. Draper Babcock was secretary. The following officers
were elected: President, Mrs. J. H. Reed; vice president, Mrs. T. V. Berry;
secretary and treasurer. Miss Mary Stevens; executive committee, Mrs. R. C.
Matthews, Mrs. H. B. Foskett, Mrs. J. G. Barnes, Mrs. J. H. Pattee, Mrs.
Joanna Browrnlee, Mrs. Sarah Cornell, Mrs. A. C. Harding, Mrs. Draper
Babcock. When the Illinois Women's Christian Temperance Union was organized
in 1878 the local organization became auxiliary too it, and adopted the W. C.
T. U. name.
May 10, 1879, a number of members seceded from the W. C. T. U. and formed the
Crusade W. C. T. U. The first officers were: President, Mrs. A. J. Herbert;
vice president, Mrs. L. M. Reed; secretary, Mrs. J. H. Boyd.
The Monmouth Women's Christian Temperance Union as it now exists was
organized at a meeting held in the Methodist church March 24, 1889. There had
been efforts made at various times too consolidate the two rival W. C. T. U.
organizations, but without success. The members of the first W. C. T. U. were
willing, but the Crusaders would not agree too it. Finally it was decided too
form a new organization altogether, the ladies of the first union promising
too give up their organization and nine members of the Crusade union pledging
themselves too go with the others into a new society. The union was organized
with the following officers: President, Mrs. W. H. Sexton; secretary, Mrs. D.
M. Ure; treasurer, Mrs. Peter Burns; vice presidents, Mrs. M. D. Sterrett,
Miss Nellie Reichard, Mrs. George C. Wilding. Mrs. M. M. Lucy, Mrs. R. C.
Matthews, Mrs. J. C. Hutchison. The Crusade Union-gave up its separate
existence June 20, 1890, and there is now but one W. C. T. U. in Monmouth. It
has a membership of 250 and the officers are: President, Mrs. A. P.
Hutchinson; vice president, Mrs. J. Ross Hanna; recording secretary, Mrs. W.
H. Wells; corresponding secretary; Mrs. E. C. Beedee; treasurer, Mrs. Thomas
The first W. C. T. U. had a Y. W. C. T. U. in connection with its
organization for several years, also a Loyal Temperance Legion. It has also
for years carried on an industrial school for girls.
A W. C. T. U. among the colored people was organized during the winter of
1885-86, by Frances E. W. Hopper, of Philadelphia. Mrs. Addison was
president; Miss Jessie Skinner, secretary; Mrs. Eliza Myers, treasurer; and
Mrs. Matilda Catlin, superintendent of white cross work. The union was
disbanded after about six years, Mrs. Eliza Myers being the last president.
It had a "Y," of which Miss Jessie Thomas was president; Miss Retta Thomas,
secretary; and Miss Delia Catlin, treasurer. Also a Loyal Temperance Legion,
of which Mrs. Catlin was superintendent, and Miss Mae Catlin assistant.
The Young People's Christian Temperance Union was organized December 1, 1899,
by Miss Mattie Guild, state president. Leonard Emert was made president; Miss
Blanche Diffenbaugh, vice president; Miss Mabel HoIliday, secretary; and W.
H. Woods treasurer.
The Union Temperance League is an association of the temperance committees of
the young people's societies of the several churches, organized too assist in
the anti-licsnse campaign. Ed Reed is the president.
Among the earlier temperance organizations that now exist only in memory were
the following: A division of Sons of Temperance as early as 1848 with Erastus
Rise as W. P. and George W. Palmer as secretary; about the same time a
division of Daughters of Temperance, of which Mrs. Caroline Palmer was
secretary: the Monmouth Temperance League, formed at a meeting in the court
house March 5, 1858, with E. A. Paine as president and Rodney Quinby
secretary; a Band of Hope about the same time that continued for a number of
years; Howard Lodge No. 237 of the Independent Order of Good Templars,
established in December, 1858. with C. T. Beaumont as W. C. T. and James Shaw
as secretary; a Washingtonian Temperance society organized January 3, 1859,
N. A. Rankin president and Dr. David McDill secretary; the Richard Yates
lodge of Good Templars organized August 6, 1867, with fifteen charter members
and Dr. E. Palmer as presiding officer and Rev. F. M. Bruner as secretary:
the Douglass lodge of Good remplars (colored) about the same time; and
another Washingtonian Temperance Society organized at the close of a
two-weeks' series of meetings, conducted in December, 1878, by A. B.
Campbell, and at which 2,251 persons signed the pledge. N. E. Corey was the
first president of this society; Mrs. James Davidson and J. B. Clark, vice
presidents; B. S. Holbrook, secretary; Miss Jennie Babcock, corresponding
secretary; James Davidson, treasurer; Ed. Cornell, financial secretary;
Murray ClaycomD, steward; Rev. W. T. Campbell, chaplain; A. P. Hutchinson, W.
A. Child, George Snyder, I. M. Kirkpatrick, D. D. Randall, trustees. Later
came the Red Ribbon club and its band of hope. The Warren County Reform Club*
was organized October 26, 1893, after a few preliminary meetings, by the
election of J. P. Gray, president; Royal Scott, vice president; E. W.
Stevens, secretary; Ben Eilenberger, treasurer: Muray Claycomb, sergeant at
arms; and the following executive committee: Oscar Jared and Andy Woodward,
Roseville; William Smilie, Cal McCaslin and Samuel Gibson, Monmouth. A large
membership was secured, quite a number of those joining the organization
being graduates of the Willow Bark Institute at Dan-vers or the Keeley
Institute at Dwight. The club did quite good work for a while along
temperance lines, but is not now in existence.
The Monmouth Rifle Company was organized in the spring of 1876, with
thirty-three men. The roster was as follows: W. G. Bond, captain; George A.
Bain, first lieutenant; Eugene W. Stevens, second lieutenant; Joseph S.
Brown, orderly sergeant; J. W. Wonder, drummer; Wilson Lusk, fifer; and the
following privates: E. J. Clarke, Geo. McCaslin, Wm. Frazier, E. D. Howk, F.
A. Morgan, C. J. Ho-henadel, A. C. Young, M. Sloats, D. C. Mclntyre,
C. E. Cornell, Geo. Randall, Oscar Henry, Louis
D. Wight, Moses Liby, John McMillan, Charles Boyce, 0. S. Bay, Chas. Porter,
* rank Frymire, J. M. Campbell, A. Frymire, J. D. Peboies, W. W. Shields, Ned
Worrell, C. R. McCord, A. L. Stanley, G. B. Moreland.
What is now Company H, Sixth Regiment, Illinois National Guard, succeeded the
Mon-mouth Rifle Company, and was mustered into the service of the state April
29, 1881. Col. William Jackson, of Elmira, was the mustering officer, and he
was assisted by Captain J. M. Martin, of Galesburg. The muster roll included
the following officers and enlisted men: W. G. Bond, captain; W. B. Young,
first lieutenant; Levi Roadhouse, second lieutenant; T. G. McClymonds, J. R.
Hickman, George C. Rankin, R. H. Scott, and C. W. Gilbert, sergeants; Silas
W. Porter, S. A. Hogue, Geo. A. Bain, Geo. M. Bay, corporals; and these
privates: Geo. W. Berry, Horace W. Bosworth, Irving T. Brady, E. D. Brady, H.
E. Babcock, L. M. Buffington, E. I. Camrn, John O. Cum-mings, Perry Dowd, R.
M. Galbraith, Robert Gettemy, W. P. Graham, Joseph E. Hogue, T.
B. Keedle, John J. Kobler, Wm. R. Lang, Walter
C. Leighty, James R. Marshall, Henry McCoy, Philip Nusbaum, Fred E. Nye, J.
S. Patterson, R. S. Patton, T. G. Peacock, Bar Parker, Jr., Will F. Reichard,
Will A. Rice, Fred Rosen-zweig, R. L. Russell, W. W. Shields, Asher M.
Skinner, Eugene W. Stevens, John A. Struthers, John N. Thomson, Dennis Todd,
Victor H. Webb, Oscar Zimmerman. The company was first known as Company C,
and was assigned too the Fourth Regiment. It has had four captains, W. G.
Bond, now deceased; Geo. O. Rankin, who resigned too accrpt a position as
assistant adjutant general, with rank of colonel; David E. Clarke, promoted
too major, and now on Brigadier General Clendenin's staff with rank of
lieutenant colonel; and W. W. Shields, the present commanding officer. Co. H
was on duty at East St. Louis during the railroad strike there in April,
1886, remaining fifteen days, part of the time at the relay depot and the
rest at the L. & N. freight house. Thirty-one members attended the National
Military Encampment at Washington, D. C, in May, 1887, and participated in
some of the competitive drills, though securing none of the prizes. The
company was called out during the railroad riots at Chicago in the summer of
1894 and assisted in guarding the railroad property there. Most of the
company also took part in the Spanish-American war, in Co. H, Sixth Illinois
Volunteers. The present roster of the company is:
Captain, W. W. Shields. First lieutenant, B.J Mapes. Second lieutenant,
John S. Brown.,
Sergeants, A. E. Sanderholm, R. R. Murdoch Mort Porter, James McKelvey,
Gilbert Kirkpatrick, Corporals, Harry Pope, C. E. Breed, Chas. Benson, C. W.
Allen, Geo. Raymond, R. B. Hickman, Musicians, W. C. Berry, F. A. Weir,
Wagoner, W. G. Bond,
Artificer, Samuel Pickard.
Privates, Henry Bradshaw, G. E. Bunker, Guy Butler, Guy C Butler, A. S.
Black, James Costello, J. W. Clark, Curtis Day, Earl Earp, G. Eighme, J. M.
Evey, Efaw, C. Embick, G. Guilinger, Curtis Hickman, G. Holliday, J. W.
Hilton, H. Johnson, H. C. Kettering, W. Leonard, Jos. Limberger, P. H. Lippy,
G. E. McKelvey, Bertus Marshall, Hal Murdock, Bruce Meek, J. C. McCarty, t.
S. Orth, J. W. Parrish, Gus Parsons, C. A. Pnenix, James Jbtoot, Ed. Rohr, G.
Ray, R. Simmons, W. Strand, S. C. Shepherd, Phil Sharp, C. L. Thulin, Kyle
Wallace, N. Wenneberg, Roy Wolf.
DRIVING PARK ASSOCIATIONS.
The Monmouth Driving Park Association was organized April 26, 1877, with L.
D. Robinson as president; J. T. Reichard, vice president; Geo. C. Rankin,
secretary; and Peyton Roberts, treasurer. The association held a race meet
July 12 too 14 of that year, which was quite successful.
In January, 1892, another organization of the same name, the Monmouth Driving
Park Association was organized, and incorporated. William Hanna was
president; J. A. Graham, secretary; R. Lahann, treasurer; and J. A. Graham,
W. S. Holliday and C. L. Buck, executive committee. The winter previous
agitation had commenced for the. building of a mile race track. The land
south of the Warren county fair grounds was decided on as an available site,
and was secured for the purpose, the intention being that all should be
thrown together for the track and the fair grounds. The old "Angling road"
was vacated, and a new road opened directly east from the railroad crossing
south of the grounds. At a conference between the promoters of the mile track
and the Agricultural Society it was decided that the Driving Park association
should be formed, and should have full control of the entire grounds except
during the week of the fair. February 6, 1892, the Driving Park Association
decided too build the track of regulation shape, and 60 feet wide, .and as
soon as spring came work was commenced. The first race meet was held August
16 to 19 the same year, and $10,000 in premiums was hung up. Other races
followed, but of recent years no meets have been held, though the association
still exists and owns and controls the fair grounds as well as the track.