History of Mississippi, 1891

Source: Lowry, Robert and McCardle, William H. A History of Mississippi, from the Discovery of the Great River by Hernando DeSoto, Including the Earliest Settlement Made by the French Under Iberville, to the Death of Jefferson Davis [1541-1889]. Jackson, Miss.: R. H. Henry & Co., 1891. Pages 480-482.

Hancock County,

Named for John Hancock, one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence, was established December 14th, 1812. The modest town of Pearlington, now largely interested in sawing and shipping lumber to different parts of the world, was intended in Territorial days to be a place of considerable commercial importance, and with this view, its founders dedicated a large area of land for the purpose of building up a city, and it was for a time a lively and prosperous place.

Among the first settlers of Pearlington and Hancock county, were Francois B. Lenoir, who represented the county prior to 1820 in the Legislature, Noel Jourdan, Elisha Carver, J. C. Monet, Leonard Kimball, General Nixon, Col. Strong, Judge Benj. Sones, Colonel Stewart, Peter Joor, Pierre Saucier, John B. Toulme, Judge J. W. Wingate, Gabriel Bradford, Sidney Lenoir, William and Joseph Wheat, Thomas Poitevant, Dr. Eagar, H. and R. Carre, J. W. Roberts, David Moye, Col. D. S. Dewees, Felton Conley, Francoise Netto, A. H. Hersey, Wm. Friarson, Jordan Smith, Dr. C. A. Calhoun, Chas. Litchfield, Capt. A. P. Boardman, Christian Koch, John Orr, Capt. Raymond Creveas, Dimitry Canna, A. Dimitry, Col. W. R. Hoyt, P. R. R. Pray, who represented the county in the Legislature, and was President of the Constitutional Convention of 1832, Louis Sportono, Alex. Bookter, Jas. A. Ulman, Onerzein Favre, Chas. H. Frazar, Luther Russ, Jesse Depew, Thomas Holmes, and John Dunbar. Among the foregoing names are many who were distinguished in the early days of the Territorial and State governments. Prior to the era of railroads members of the bar from different sections of the State made their way on horse-back to the courts of the coast counties, not only to attend to whatever legal business they might secure, but for the pleasure of enjoying for a few days the health-giving breezes of the Gulf.

The towns in the county are Bay St. Louis, the county site, a prosperous and pleasant little city of some two thousand inhabitants, Pearlington and Gainesville.

The principal streams are Pearl River, on the western border, which affords excellent transportation for lumber sawed in the county, Jordan and Wolf rivers, and a number of smaller streams.

The railroads in the county are the Louisville and Nashville, and the New Orleans and Northeastern, which afford easy and comfortable transportation.

Hancock county has 3,832 acres of cleared land, average value per acre, $2.93. Total value, including incorporated towns, $746,723.

The population of this county as shown by the census report of 1890: Whites, 5,758; colored, 2,526; total, 8,284.

   Senators   Representatives
1820-'21-'22 Isaac R. Nicholson   Noel Jourdan
1823 Laughlin McKay   Jesse Depew
1825 Laughlin McKay   Samuel White
1826 John McLeod    Thomas Holmes
1827-'28-'29 John McLeod   P. R. R. Pray
1830 John McLeod   Wm. Haile
1831 Thomas S. Sterling   - Carver
1833 John McLeod   John Dunbar, B. B. Brewer
1835 Thos. P. Falconer   Jno. Dunbar, B. B. Brewer
1836-'37 Hanson Alsbury   Julius Monet
1838-'39 Hanson Alsbury   John Bond
1840-'41 Hanson Alsbury   Moses Cooke
1842-'43 A. W. Ramsey Moses Cooke
1844 A. W. Ramsey   J. B. Toulme
1846 A. W. Ramsey   B. S. Leonard
1848 A. W. Ramsey   Jno B. Toulme
1850 A. W. Ramsey   Leonard Kimball
1852 A. W. Ramsey   S. B. Pearce
1854 A. W. Ramsey   Julius C. Monet
1856 T. J. McCaughan   Jno. Graves
1857-'58 T. J. McCaughan   Jno. L. Hart
1859-'60-'61 J. B. McRae   W. H. Claiborne
1861-'62 J. B. McRae   Daniel B. Seal
1865-'66-'67 R. Seal   Daniel B. Seal
1870-'71 Jacob J. Seal   Jno. H. Nicholson
1872 Jacob J. Seal   - Leonard
1873 Jacob J. Seal   Redding Byrd
1874 J. P. Carter Redding Byrd
1875 J. P. Carter   H. Sanders
1876-'77 J. P. Carter   H. Saunders
1878 J. P. Carter   Daniel B. Seal
1880 J. P. Carter   Silas J. Leslie
1882-'84 Elliott Henderson   T. M. Favre
1886 Roderick Seal Geo. Arbo
1888 Roderick Seal   Thos. R. Stocker
1890 H. Bloomfield   Daniel B. Seal

 Pages 480-482

Home to Hancock County


COPYRIGHT NOTICE: All files on this site are copyrighted by their creator. They may be linked to but may not be reproduced electronically or otherwise without specific permission from the county host and/or the contributor. Although public information is not in and of itself copyrightable, the format in which they are presented, the notes and comments, etc., are. It is however, quite permissible to print or save the files to a personal computer for personal use ONLY.

Copyright 2005-2008 - MSGenWeb Team - All Rights Reserved
County Coordinator: Denise Wells