Montana History

Montana is one of the mountain states, bordering Canada on the North, North and South Dakota on the East, Wyoming on the South, and Idaho on the West.  Montana became a state November 8, 1889 and is the 41st state. 

The name of the state is derived from a Spanish word meaning mountainout and was first used in 1864.  Montana is called the Treasure State.

mt-images/montanaCLR_cg32.gif (8813 bytes)montanaCLR_cg32.gif (8813 bytes)

State Facts:

Capital City: Helena
Area: 147046 sq.mi, 4th Land
Bird: Western Meadowlark
Border States: Idaho - North Dakota - South Dakota - Wyoming
Constitution: 41st State
Economy: Agriculture: Cattle, wheat, barley, sugar beets, hay, hogs. Industry: Mining, lumber and wood products, food processing, tourism.
Flower: Bitterroot
Highest Point: Granite Peak; 12,799 feet, 10th
Lowest Point: Kootenai River; 1800 feet, 47th
Motto: Oro y plata Gold and Silver
Nickname: Treasure State
Origin of state's name: Based on Spanish word for "mountainous"
Song: Montana
Tree: Ponderosa Pine

montanaCLR_cg32.gif (8813 bytes)montanaCLR_cg32.gif (8813 bytes)



Hosted by USGenNet
     This site is hosted by USGenNet, a nonprofit web-hosting service solely supported by tax-deductible donations. If this website has provided you with useful information, please consider making a donation to USGenNet to help keep sites like this online.