Rockingham County,  NC
Rockingham CO NCGenWeb


Rockingham County is in the north central section of the State and is bounded by Caswell, Guilford and Stokes counties and the State of Virginia. The present land area is 564.94 square miles and the 1990 population was 86,064.

Rockingham was formed in 1785 from Guilford. It was named in honor of Charles Watson-Wentworth, Second Marquis of Rockingham, who was a leader of a party in the British Parliament which advocated American independence. He was Prime Minister when the Stamp Act was repealed.

The first court was held at the home of Adam Tate, at which time the justices were to decide on the place for holding future courts until the courthouse could be erected. In 1787 an act was passed which directed the courthouse to be erected on the land of Charles Mitchell on the east side of Big Rock House Creek. In 1796 an act was passed authorizing the purchase of land from Robert Galloway & Company, where public buildings were situated, and the community of Wentworth was established. In 1797 an act was passed suspending operations on the Wentworth courthouse. In 1798 commissioners were named to establish Wentworth on land given by Robert Galloway for that purpose. The first court was held at Wentworth in May, 1799. Wentworth is the county seat.

Neighboring and nearby Counties 

Alamance County Guilford County Henry County, VA
Caswell County Rowan County Patrick County, VA
Forsyth County Stokes County Pittsylvania County, VA

You are the 1547th  visitor since 23 September 2000

© Copyright 2000-2002 by Debi Kendrick
This page was last updated Monday, 13-May-2002 08:47:21 MDT

[ AHGP] [ USGenWeb ] [ Queries ]  [ Obits ] [ History ]
[ Cemeteries ] [ Families ] [ Photos ] [ Links ] [ Resources ]