NEGenWeb Project Resource Center
On-Line Library

Nebraska State Gazetteer,
Business Directory and Farmers List
for 1890-1891

Some business / town listings A-M

page 67

*   Bayard, is a postoffice in the northwestern part of Cheyenne county, established about two years, since which it has been making wonderful advancements. Population, 50.

Bayard Transcipt (The), Ed Wisner pub.
Burnett S D, hotel.
Lonquist E B, drugs.
O'Hallan Jas, agl implts.
Osborn S H, justice.
Spencer E R, genl mdse.
Stearns E M, hardware, agl implts.
Wall Benj, blacksmith.
Winter Thos., postmaster.
Wisner Ed, pub Bayard Transcript.

 page 86   

   Blackbird, a rural postoffice in the northwestern part of Cuming county, five miles west of Beemer.

Kennedy Geo G, postmaster.

page 118

*   Coburn Junction, as its name implies is the junction of the Omaha and Ponca lines of the C st. P & M Ry in the north central part of Dakota county.

Flickenger G E, sta agt.

page 134

*   Dakota City is the county seat of Dakota county and about one mile from the Missouri river. It is on the line of the C. St. P. L. & O. Ry. five miles southeast of Covington and six miles from Sioux City. It has a population of 500. The North Nebraska Argus and the North Nebraska Eagle are the papers. The religious denominations being represented by the Presbyterian, Methodist and Lutheran.

Ayres F H, tinsmith.
Ayres M O, prop Bank of Dakota City.
Barnett Geo, agl implts.
Broyhill Lincoln, barber.
Easton E, livery
Fair & Evans, attys.
Fairfax J F, genl mdse.
Farmers Hotel, James Willis prop.
Frazer K W, atty.
Hart A, pub North Nebraska Eagle.
Jay Bros, attys.
Kepner Howard D sta, tel, ex agt.
Knapp D, wagonmaker.
McAllister J J, atty.
McCormick Harry A, publisher North Nebraska Argus.
Maxwell C H, phys.
Mesenhoeler Julius, flour and feed.
Mitchell John, backsmith.
Moses H W, meat market.
North Nebraska Argus, Harry A McCormick pub.
Schmied Mell A, postmaster.
Schreiver Bros, drugs.
Schreiver Fred, hardware.
Spencer John T, atty.
Stinson D C Dr, drugs, groceries.
Twohig James P, real estate.
Willis James, prop Farmers Hotel.

page 141

*   Dexter, a flag station on the U. P. Ry., five miles east of Paxton.

Note: Lincoln County


page 215

*   Hartman, a newly established postoffice in the central part of Deuel county, near the North Platte River. Stage from Ogalalla tri-weekly.

Hartman S R, genl mdse, postmaster.
Herman J M, blacksmith. SIZE=1 WIDTH="95%" NOSHADE>

page 222

 *  Hayestown, a postoffice in the extreme southeastern part of Sherman county, 20 miles south of Loup City.

page 252

*   Kelso, a postoffice in the western part of Howard county, 14 miles from St. Paul, the county seat, Dannebrog, the nearest railway station.

Baxter James, justice.
Dixon John, postmaster.

page 254

*   Kowanda, a postoffice in the central part of Deuel county.

Pickering A G, postmaster.
Smith L, justice.

page 298

*   Mound, a postoffice located in the northwestern part of Howard counsy [sic], 20 miles from St. Paul, the county seat.

Beebe J B, justice.
Cosgrove Mary, postmaster.

From copies supplied by Wm. Wever, with lots of "town typing" by Norma Weaver, Donna Bay, John & Len Davis, Holice Ballard Young and several others. These towns will be moved and posted with business lists on the county websites.

Continue with alpha list of towns N-Z

Return to Gazetteer Directory

© 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001 for NEGenWeb Project, W&N Wever, T&C Miller