NEGenWeb Project
Resource Center
On-Line Library





      DAVID BUTLER, first governor of the state of Nebraska, was born in the state of Indiana near Bloomington, Monroe County, December, 1829. On the death of his father he assumed charge of a large family and an embarrassed estate. He landed in Nebraska in 1858, still a young man, and engaged in mercantile pursuits in Pawnee City and in raising and dealing in live stock. Prior to his nomination for governor he had served three years in the legislature. On the Fourth of July, 1866 the first message of the first governor of the state of Nebraska was delivered to the legislature. Governor Butler, a republican, was elected in 1866 but did not enter upon the duties of the office until the admission of the state into the union. He served from February 21, 1867 to March 4, 1871, when an article of impeachment was presented against him.

      ROBERT W. FURNAS is one of the men whose life history is inseparably interwoven with the development of his state, and the establishment of its industrial greatness. He was born on a farm near Troy, Ohio, May 5, 1824. His parents were both Quakers from England. At the age of sixteen he learned the printers trade at Covington, Kentucky. He was married in Cincinnati, Ohio, in 1845 to May E. Comas, and eight children were born to them. In 1856 he came to Brownville, this state, and edited the Nebraska Advertiser. He was a member of the council branch of the territorial legislature from 1857 to 1861. In 1861, under a special commission from President Lincoln, as colonel of the United States Army, he recruited and commanded three regiments of Indians in southern Kansas and the Indian territory, and served in the war of the borders in the southwest. Resigning from the regular service, he came to Nebraska with a commission from Jim Lane to recruit. He assisted in recruiting the Second Nebraska Cavalry, was by Gov. A. Saunders appointed its colonel, and served under General Sully against the northern Indians near the line of the British possessions. After being mustered out, he was appointed agent of the Omaha, Ponca, and Winnebago Indians. In 1872 he was elected governor of Nebraska. He has been president and is now secretary of the State Board of Agriculture, having held one of those offices since its organization.

      SILAS GARBER was thirty-seven years of age at the time he became a citizen of Nebraska. He was born in Logan County, Ohio, in 1833. His education was principally acquired before reaching his seventeenth year; subsequent to which time he removed to Clayton County, Iowa. He served with distinction all through the Civil War and spent four years in California. An early settler of Webster county, he represented Webster, Nuckolls and Jefferson Counties in the Legislature and was also probate judge. For one year was Register of the United States Land Office at Lincoln, Nebraska and was then promoted to the governorship, assuming the duties of the office January 12, 1875. His term of office expired January 9. 1879.

      ALBINUS NANCE was born in March, 1848, at Lafayette, Stark County, Illinois. At the age of sixteen he was a soldier in the Civil War and passed through the war and was mustered out with his regiment. He studied at Knox College, Galesburg, Illinois, where the foundation for his professional life was established and where he was admitted to the bar in 1870. Soon thereafter he came to Nebraska and was in the State Legislature from 1874 to 1878, serving as speaker of the house of representatives during his last term. In 1876 he was chairman of the state delegation to the Republican National Convention at Cincinnati. From January 9, 1879 to January 4, 1883 he occupied the gubernatorial chair.

     JAMES W. DAWES, the fifth governor of Nebraska, was born at McConnellsville, Morgan County, Ohio, January 8, 1845, where the



Picture or sketch

Governors of Nebraska.

1 David Butler 2, Robert W. Furnas. 3. Silas Garber. 4. Albinus Nance. 5. James M. Dawes. 6. John M. Thayer. 7. James E. Boyd. 8. Lorenzo Crounse. 9. Silas A. Holcomb. 10. William A. Poynter. 11. Charles H. Deitrich. 12. Ezra Savage.

Prior page


Names index
Picture or sketch

@ 2002 for the NEGenWeb Project by Pam Rietsch, Ted & Carole Miller