NEGenWeb Project
Resource Center
On-Line Library



1870 he married Miss Ada Davison and they have five children. The same year he came to Milford, Nebraska, and was appointed postmaster. He also served as postmaster during Harrison's administration. In 1887 he organized Troop A, N. N. G., was it (sic) captain for over ten years, has been senior vice commander of the Nebraska G. A. R. and was elected Department Commander in 1896. From 1895 to 1897 he was Commandant of the Soldiers' Home at Milford.

      EDWARD ROYSE, Secretary of the State Banking Board, was born in Marion County, Iowa, March 7, 1858. He received his education in the public schools of his native county and at an early age learned telegraphy and for some years was engaged in railroading as an operator and station agent. He came to Nebraska in 1878 and for a time was located at Brownville, then at Peru, and later Aurora, moving from the latter place to Broken Bow, in 1884, where he retains his residence and where he has been engaged in the banking business. Mr. Royse served as Deputy Commissioner of Public Lands and Buildings in 1895 and 1896. In January, 1901, he was appointed secretary of the State Banking Board to serve for a term of two years and in January, 1903, he was re-appointed to serve in the same official capacity for another two year term. Mr. Royse was married March 2, 1880, to Miss Addie Gates, of Brownville, and has a family consisting of one son and one daughter. Mr. Royse served as Mayor of Broken Bow two successive terms, elected both times by the Republicans.

      E. H. BALDWIN was born in Cattarogus (sic) County, New York, in 1837. He was a successful merchant in the East, but deciding to come West he and his wife, who was a teacher from Epworth Academy, emigrated to Nebraska, arriving in the state June 13, 1867. The organization of the Old Settlers' Picnic by Mr. Baldwin in 1887, held at Palmyra, the largest picnic of its kind ever held in Nebraska, commemorated the date of the arrival in Nebraska of Mr. Baldwin and wife. The first officers were E. H. Baldwin, President and J. O. Moore, Secretary. Mr. Baldwin was President for the first four years of the life of the Association, after which time he resigned on account of Impaired health. Members of the Old Settlers' Association have had to be continuous residents from June, 1871, and the success of the organization is a monument to the memory of Mr. Baldwin.

Picture or sketch

Auditorium, Omaha

     The Omaha Auditorium building is two hundred and sixty-four feet long and one hundred and thirty-four feet wide. It is built of brick, stone and steel, and is covered with tile, which makes the building fireproof. It has a seating capacity of seven thousand five hundred and the length of the arena floor for horse show purposes is two hundred feet and the width is seventy-five feet. The stage is sixty-eight by one hundred and twenty-eight feet. It was



built by a stock company with a capital stock of $500,000.00. The cost of construction was $200,000.00 and the ground upon which it is placed cost $55,000.00, making the total cost $255,000.00. The officers are as follows: F. A. Nash, President; T. C. Byrne, Vice-President; Alfred Millard, Treasurer; J. R. Lehmer, Secretary; T. J. Mahoney, Counsel; J. M. Gillan, Assistant Secretary and Manager



Picture or sketch

Section of the Dairy Building, State Farm

     The first organization of this sort was effected at Lincoln in 1885 by a few men interested in stock breeding and from this society was developed the present Nebraska Dairymen's Association. In 1900, there were 512,544 dairy cows and 674,025 cows on the range. The amount of butter produced during this year was 46,244,839 pounds and of cheese, 578,030 pounds. In 1901 there were 106,350 dairy cows added to the stock of the previous year. The good water. and grazing resources, together with the even climate, are largely responsible for the success of the dairy industry.

      Those who have been Presidents of the Nebraska dairymen's Association are: 1886, J. Dixon Avery; 1887, W. G. Whitmore; 1888, J. W. Livringhouse; 1889, J. C. Merrill; 1890, D. P. Ashburn; 1891, J. H. Rushton; 1892, E. J. Hainer; 1893, Wm. Sutton; 1894, W. A. Carpenter; 1895, B. R. Stouffer; 1896, E. F. Howe; 1897, F. H. Vaughn; 1898, Geo. E. Haskell; 1899-1900, John J. King; 1901, J. H.. Rushton; 1902, E. S. Snivley; 1903, J. K. Honeywell. The officers of 1903 were: President, J. K. Honeywell, Lincoln; Vice President, J. S. Clark, Ravenna; Secretary and Treasurer, S. C. Bassett, Gibbon; Directors, B. R. Stouffer, J. C. Merrill, William F. Ulrich, L. D. Stilson and Prof. A. L. Haecker. In 1904, C. A. Clark, of Ravenna, was elected president and S. C. Bassett; Secretary.

Prior page


Names index
Picture or sketch

@ 2002 for the NEGenWeb Project by Pam Rietsch, Ted & Carole Miller