Pop.: 599.

Area: 16.4 square miles.

County: Sullivan.

Town Offices: town hall, 835-2389. Selectmen meet Mon. 7 p.m., Oct.-May; first, third and fifth Mon. 7 p.m., rest of year; selectmen’s secretary, Mon.-Tues., 10 a.m. to noon; town clerk, Tues. 10 a.m.-noon, 3-6 p.m. ok

Tax Rate: $30.86, ratio of assessment 85.5 percent.

Registered Voters: 420

Fire Dept.: chief, Gregory Chaffee; (home) 835-6418, 911 or 352-1100.

Police Dept.: chief, Raymond L’Abbe; (home) 835-6192, 911.

Selectmen: John Revilla, Clarence Koss, Fred P. Roentsch.

Town Clerk: Jennifer L. Doyle

Tax Collector: Linda Campbell, 835-6036.

Moderator: Robert Cunniff.

Planning Board: J. Pat Bresland, chairman.

Zoning Board of Adjustment: Carroll “Dave” French, chairman.

Road Agent: Roger L. Pelton.

Recycling Center: Sat. 9 a.m.-5 p.m., Sun. 1:30-4:30 p.m., Wed. 1:30-4:30 p.m.

School Board: Fall Mountain Regional district representatives, Kenneth Hart Jr.

State Representatives: Brenda L. Ferland, D-Charlestown; James G. Phinizy, D-Acworth.

State Senator: Bob Odell, R-Lempster.

Schools: Sarah Porter Elementary (K-4), Alstead Primary (5), Vilas Middle School in Alstead (6-8), Fall Mountain Regional High (9-12).

Library: Shedd-Porter Library in Alstead, 835-6661, Wed. noon-4 and 6-8 p.m.; Thur., Fri. noon-6 p.m.

Churches: Congregational Church (open on occasion).

Major Businesses: WHM Industries, Noise Reduction Products Inc., Bascom’s Sugar House, Hubbard Farms.

Background: This town was formed from parts of Walpole and Charlestown and incorporated in 1787. It is named for N.H. Gov. John Langdon, who served in the Continental Congress and as a senator.

An agricultural town, it has been noted for its large, handsome cattle and fine farms. Rev. Abner Kneeland, who was ordained at the Universalist Church here in 1805, was one of the leading men of that denomination in New England, and the church here was one of the largest in the state by 1853.