Site Map What's New Search



OK Counties

















"Ellis County History"

          The county was formed by uniting parts of two territorial counties, Day and Woodward and named for Albert H. Ellis, a Vice President of the Oklahoma Constitutional Convention.

          In 1892, the south part of Ellis County was a part of County E, which was named Day County at the first election after the Cheyenne and Arapaho Opening in 1892. The County Seat was located at Ioland and then moved to Grand on Nov 13, 1893.

          The Oklahoma Constitutional Convention decreed that Day County should cease to exist on Nov 16, 1907, and a new county, to be named Ellis should be formed.

          The part of Day County south of the South Canadian River became a part of Roger Mills County - that part north of the river became a part of the new Ellis County. In addition, Townships 20 - 24 N Ranges 23 - 26 W, previously included in Woodward County, would now be part of Ellis County.

          Grand was named the temporary county seat, but was changed to Arnett by vote of the people and moved on Oct 1, 1908.

Arnett - Catesby - Fargo - Gage - Goodwin - Harmon - Shattuck

Statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1908, with general compliance by 1930. Some counties kept birth and death records as early as 1891, but they are incomplete.

Registrar of Vital Statistics
State Department of Health
1000 Northeast Tenth Street
P. O. Box 53551
OklahomaCity, OK 73152
To verify current fees, call

County clerks have all marriage, court, and land records
Ellis Court of Clerks has marriage records from 1892,
divorce records from 1893,
probate records from 1908,
civil court records from 1896
County Clerk has land records from 1898
Ellis County Court House
100 S. Washington Courthouse Sq.
Arnett, OK 73832

Local land office records are at
Oklahoma Department of Libraries
State Archives Division
200 N. E. 18th Street
Oklahoma City, OK 73105

Land Entry case files, original tract books and township plats of the general land office are located at
The National Archives, Kansas City Branch
2306 East Bannister Road
Kansas City, KS 64131

The National Archives, Fort Worth Branch
501 West Felix Street
P. O. Box 6216
Fort Worth, TX 76115

The patents and copies of the tract books and township plats are at
BLM, New Mexico State Office
Federal Building
Box 1449
Sante FE, NM, 87501

        Oklahoma Independent History and Genealogy
        Oklahoma Independent History and Genealogy


        This information has been submitted to the Ellis County Pages. It is offered free to all who visit. The ownership - copyright stays with the submitter.

        These electronic pages may NOT be reproduced for any reason in any format for profit or presentation by any other organization or persons without the written consent of the contributor, or the legal representative of the submitter.

        Independent Pathways In History
        Independent Pathways In History
        American History & Genealogy Project
        American History & Genealogy Project
        American Local History Network
        American Local History Network
        Access GenealogyAccessGenealogy
        Independent History and Genealogy ResearchersIndependent History
        and Genealogy Researchers

         Copyright 2000 Donna Dreyer
        All Rights Reserved.

        You are the17514thVisitor to this Site
        This page was last updatedMonday, 30-Apr-2001 10:13:38 CDT
        This is a FREE page, located at
        The Ellis County, OK History and Genealogy web site
        with FREE access to this information!"