Logan County (OK) Researchers Homepage
Click here to break out of frames

A.H.T.A. for Enforcement

A.H.T.A. for Enforcement

Submitted by: Mollie Stehno

Two Conventions Adjourn; Sallisaw and Guthrie for 1914

October 31, 1913—The Marshal Tribune—McAlester—Adopting resolutions thanking the state legislature for the stringent anti-gambling law enacted last winter, strongly indorsing those public officials who have worked consistently for law enforcement and pledging themselves to work for the defeat of officers who have winked at law violations, selecting Sallisaw as the next place of meeting and electing and installing officers for the ensuing year, the eleventh annual convention of the Eastern Oklahoma Anti-Horse Thief association completed its business and adjourned.

Offers or bids for said land must be made in writing, and the same may be left at any time before such sale at 514 South First Street, addressed to Orrin D. BURRIGHT, 514 South First Street, Guthrie, Oklahoma, or delivered to the undersigned personally, or the same may be filed in the office of the Judge of County Court of Logan County at Guthrie, Oklahoma.

Regret was expressed in the resolutions to what was termed an abuse of the referendum in delaying the state’s new anti-gambling bill and the members were pledged to support the law when it some to a vote of the people.

These are the officers elected: State Senator E. T. Sorrels of Wilburton, president; P. A. Fox of Coweta, vice president; William H. Harrison of Checotah, secretary; I. H. Long of Afton, chaplain; Senator Campbell Russell of Warner, member of executive committee. President Sorrels has served as president one year. Secretary Harrison has been the only incumbent of that office since the organization of the association in 1903. Six hundred delegates and visitors were present the closing day. The association now numbers 9,000 members, with more than 300 local chapters.

Western A. H. T. A. Officers

The A. H. T. A. convention adjourned after a two-days’ session. Three hundred delegates were in attendance. The following officers were elected: President, James Kirkwood; vice president, William Marlowe of Bigheart; secretary, Ross B. Kelley of Blackwell; executive committee, W. W. Pierce, Oklahoma City; W. R. Mock, Carnegie, and R. P. Molden, O’Keene. Guthrie was designated as the meeting place for 1914.

|Logan County Tidbits Index Page|

Updated: Friday, 08-Aug-2008 10:21:06 CDT

This site may be freely linked, but not duplicated
in any way without consent.

Format © by Tammie Chada

The copyright (s) on this page must appear on all
copied and/or printed material.

All rights reserved! Commercial use of material within this site is prohibited!