Logan County (OK) Researchers Homepage
Click here to break out of frames

Seward Township, Logan County, Oklahoma

Seward Township
Logan County, Oklahoma

T15N, R3W Indian Meridian

map image

Researched, written, © and map provided by: Bob Chada

Seward township most probably was named for the town of Seward, located in the south part of section 2 and the north part of section 11. Seward was already an established community on the old Santa Fe railroad (now the Burlington Northern-Santa Fe) prior to the run of 1889. The BN-SF is highlighted in green.

As with Springer township, a portion of the old Oklahoma Railroad Company Interurban line runs through the southeast part of the township. The old St Louis, El Reno & Western just clips the northwest corner of section 6, and the Guthrie and Western branched from the old Santa Fe at Seward and went west thru Navina to Cashion.

In addition to Seward, three other communities are known in the township. They are Berg or Navina, in section 6; Burlington or Waterloo, in the southeast corner of section 35; and Dutcher or Fariview or Lookout, located in section 26.

Burlington, Navina, Seward and Waterloo have all been post offices in the past.

The old Logan County Poor Farm was once located in the northeast quarter of section 10. The land was donated by given to Logan County following the death in 1899 of J. T. Hart, Company B, 10th Infantry, U S A, for an "Orphans Home". Through the years, the property was used for both orphans and the poor prior to its closing and sale by the county.

The Fairview-Navina cemetery is located in the northeast part of section 5, the Seward cemetery in the southwest corner of section 1, and the Seward Memorial cemetery, which is all black, is located in the northeast corner of section 11. It has also been reported that there are several unmarked burials along the west side of the railroad in section 2, and that they represent the original builders of the line that died during construction.

There have been six schools in the township, and they are listed as follows:

School District Closed W/B Section
SW 1
Rock Mound
SW 24
Rose Valley
NE 29
SW 4
S 2
SE 35

|Township Index Page|  |Logan County Researchers Homepage|

Updated: Friday, 08-Aug-2008 16:00:25 CDT

This site may be freely linked, but not duplicated
in any way without consent.

© by Tammie Chada

The copyright (s) on this page must appear on all
copied and/or printed material.

All rights reserved! Commercial use of material within this site is prohibited!