Logan County (OK) Researchers Homepage
Click here to break out of frames

Township Information for Logan County Oklahoma

Logan County Township Information

Compiled, Researched and © by: Bob Chada

These township pages will be under construction until all known cemeteries and schools and etc, are in place. So please bear with us.
What we are attempting to do, is take each township in Logan County, Oklahoma and place all we know about the township together, such as cemeteries, old & new schools, historical events that took place within a particular township etc. We are starting with Marshall Township. If you have any information you would like to add here, please e-mail coordinator.
Two points of information about the layout of Logan County. First, the northern boundary line of the county (Marshall, LeBron and Orlando townships) extends some 1/4 mile north into the corresponding townships of Garfield and Noble Counties. The reason for this is that the actual county line in this area was set along the same line which established the southern boundary of the Cherokee Outlet under the 1835 New Echota Treaty.
Second, the eastern three townships of North Cimarron, South Cimarron and Iowa did not become a part of Logan County until after the second land opening of September 22, 1891.


Thanks to Donna Dreyer for this image!

Click on the desired township for a map and information.

Information obtained for township pages comes from one or more of the following references:
  1. Oklahoma Place Names, Second Edition. George Shirk. University of Oklahoma Press, Norman, OK. 1974.
  2. Oklahoma Town and Place Locations, Oklahoma Department of Transportation, Oklahoma City, OK
  3. First Post Offices Within the Boundaries of Oklahoma. George Shirk. Chronicles of Oklahoma, Oklahoma Historical Society, Spring, 1952.
  4. Logan County History, Volume I and II. Helen Holmes, Editor. Jostens/American Yearbook Company, Topeka, KS, 1980.
  5. Logan County Highway Map, Oklahoma Department of Transportation, Oklahoma City, OK.
  6. Appropriate USGS quadrangle maps which cover Logan County.
  7. Railroads of Oklahoma, June 6, 1870-April 1, 1978. Oklahoma Department of Transportation, Survey Division, Oklahoma City, 1978 Rev.
  8. Railroads of Oklahoma, Bulletin No. 60. The Railway and Locomotive Historical Society, Inc. (Included in the above reference)
  9. Oklahoma Outlaw and Lawman Map. Oklahoma Heritage Association Book Center, Oklahoma City, OK, 1989.
  10. Historical Atlas of Oklahoma, Second Edition. John W. Morris, Charles R. Goins, and Edward G. McReynolds. University of Oklahoma Press, Norman, OK, 1976.
  11. Map of Logan County Oklahoma, including the cities of Crescent, Guthrie, Langston and Coyle. Logan County Economic Development Council. Produced by Mosher-Adams, Inc.

email If you have anything you'd like to contribute, please feel free to do so.

Logan County Researchers Homepage

Updated: Friday, 08-Aug-2008 16:00:27 CDT

This site may be freely linked, but not duplicated
in any way without consent.

© by Tammie Chada

The copyright (s) on this page must appear on all
copied and/or printed material.

All rights reserved! Commercial use of material within this site is prohibited!