WILLIAM COX ELLIS was born May 5, 1787, in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania. His father, William Ellis, was of Welsh parentage, and emigrated to America in 1762. He first settled in Delaware county, and removed to Lycoming county prior to June, 1778. On the eve of the "Big Runaway," William Ellis rode on horseback from Fort Muncy to a point near the present site of Jersey Shore, and returned the same night, to warn settlers of impending danger. Soon after this he went to Chester county, where he remained until it was safe to return to the West Branch valley. In 1785 he married Mercy Cox of Maryland. Her parents came from England to America in 1774. At The time of his marriage, Mr. Ellis was agent for the large land interests of Samuel Wallis. During the latter’s absence, Mr. Ellis and wife occupied one of the houses near Fort Muncy. There were eleven children born to William Ellis and wife, five of whom grew to maturity: William; Rachel, who married Jacob Haines; Anna, who married Hon. Samuel W. Morris; Charles, who married Deborah Tyson, and for a second wife, Mary L. Morris, and Henry D., who married Mary Strawbridge. William Cox Ellis was educated in the schools of his boyhood days, and July 11, 1810, he married Rebecca, daughter of B. Wister. In 1816 he located in Milton, where he was cashier of the old Milton Bank. While thus employed he read law with Samuel Hepburn and was admitted to the Northumberland bar in 1817. He soon after settled in Muncy, where he practiced law with much success. He was sent to Congress in 1820, and again in 1822. In 1825-26 he served in the State legislature. Mrs. Ellis died, December 8, 1871, aged eighty-two years, followed by her husband, five days later, aged eighty-five.
WILLIAM P. I. PAINTER, retired druggist, was born in Sunbury, Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, August 21, 1818, son of Thomas and Susan (Israel) Painter, and grandson of John and Catherine (Taggart) Painter, pioneers of that county. His great grandfather, in company with his two brothers, immigrated from Germany to America before the Revolution, and his grandfather, John Painter, served in that struggle for independence. The latter married Catherine Taggart, of Northumberland, Pennsylvania, and settled in Chillisquaque township, Northumberland county, where Thomas Painter was born and reared. After reaching his majority, Thomas Painter went to the town of Northumberland, and clerked in a store for several years. He was sheriff of the county in 1812-15, and served in the legislature in 1822-23. In 1827 he purchased the Columbia County Register and removed to Bloomsburg, and conducted that paper until 1843. He also served as a justice of the peace in Bloomsburg about forty years. Mr. Painter married, in 1811, a daughter of Gen. Joseph Israel of New Castle, Delaware, a veteran of the Revolution. Sixteen children were born of this union, seven of whom grew to maturity, and five still survive. The mother died in July, 1845; her husband survived until February, 1862, and died in Muncy, whither he had removed.
The subject of this sketch attended the common schools until he was thirteen years old, and then entered his father’s printing office, and learned the art of typesetting. He remained in the office of the Register about live years, and then went to Pottsville, Pennsylvania, where he followed his trade. At the age of twenty he joined his brother John in the publication of the Mauch Chunk Courier, at Mauch Chunk, Pennsylvania, with which he was connected until February, 1841. In March. 1841, he and his brother, George L. I., came to Muncy and established the Muncy Luminary, with which he was associated about five years, when he sold his interest to his brother and embarked in the drug business. He carried on a drug store in Muncy up to July, 1891, a period of forty-five years, and then turned over the business to his sons. Judge Painter has always been a Whip, and Republican, has served as a justice of the peace fourteen years, and represented Lycoming county in the legislature in 1869. He was re-nominated, but declined the honor. In 1871 he was elected associate judge, and served on the bench five years. While occupying this position he studied law, and was admitted to the bar in 1876, but has given very little attention to the practice of the profession. Judge Painter was married, July 21, 1841, to Sabina, a daughter of Peter and Mary (Boone) Mensch, of Columbia county, Pennsylvania, and has reared a family of nine children, as follows: Joseph I., deceased; Mary M., widow of Harry S. Fessler; Thomas; Sarah B., wife of William H. Everett; Susan A., wife of Michael Myers; William C.; George L. ; Laura W., deceased wife of Clark E. Walton, and Albra W. The family belong to the Protestant Episcopal church, and Judge Painter is a member of the Masonic order. Among the living pioneers of Muncy none stand higher in the esteem and confidence of its best citizens than Judge Painter. For nearly half a century he has watched the growth and development of the West Branch valley, and his enterprise and public spirit have always placed him on the side of progress and reform.
G. L. I. PAINTER, - book dealer and jeweler, was born in Sunbury, Pennsylvania, September 11, 1822, son of Thomas and Susan Painter. He learned the printer’s trade in the office of the Columbia county Register, then published by his father. He came to Muncy in 1841, where he and his brother, William P. I., started the Muncy Luminary. Five years later he purchased his brother’s interest and became solo proprietor and published the paper until 1879, when he turned the business over to his sons. Since then he has carried on a book, stationery, and jewelry store. In February, 1846, Mr. Painter married Amelia W. Bowman, who died in 1849. In May, 1852, he married Rosanna Bridgens, who is the mother of four children: Emma A., wife of F. S. Giger of Philadelphia; William P., a minister of the Protestant Episcopal church; Rose B., and T. B. The last mentioned is the editor and publisher of the Luminary. He married Sue L., daughter of Maj. Henry W. Petrikin of Montoursville. Mr. Painter has been a Republican since the organization of that party, and has served as postmaster of Muncy for twelve years. The family are adherents of the Protestant Episcopal church.
J. M. M. GERNERD, editor of Now and Then, was born in Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, July 22, 1836, son of David and Lydia (Mohr) Gernerd. David Gernerd was of German extraction, and removed from Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, to Lycoming county, in the year 1839. He settled at Muncy, where he worked at his trade, that of a chairmaker, until his death, which occurred December 31, 1846. He married Lydia Mohr, who followed him to the grave in 1855; they were the parents of one child, J. M. M. The latter was educated in the common schools, and in 1864, started a music and variety store in Muncy, Pennsylvania, which he continued until 1872. He has been a clerk in the postoffice at Muncy, and at ‘Various times, about ton years altogether, he has been employed by the First National Bank of Muncy. He has also served two terms as school director and three terms as notary public. For the last ten years he has been interested in the manufacture of bedsprings. Mr. Gernerd instituted the scheme to raise funds for the erection of a monument to the memory of Capt. John Brady; the plan was to receive $1 subscriptions; the list was started in December, 1875, and in less than four years there was a beautiful cenotaph erected at a cost of about $1,600. The unveiling of the monument took place in the Muncy cemetery, October 15, 1879, and was witnessed by thousands of spectators. Mr. Gernerd also took an active interest in securing the necessary funds to erect in the cemetery near Muncy a beautiful monument to perpetuate the names and deeds of the patriotic solders who fell while defending the Union. In June, 1868, Mr. Gernerd started a bright and interesting little magazine, known as Now and Then; it was devoted to collecting and preserving local history, and was exceedingly interesting and valuable; there were nineteen editions published from the beginning until 1878, forming the first volume, at which time it was discontinued until July, 1888, when it again appeared and has been published monthly ever since. He has a collection of Indian relies numbering over 7,000, many of which are very rare and curious, and were nearly all found in the Muncy valley; among this collection are several Indian pipes made of clay and stone, iron tomahawks, stone axes, pestles, and thousands of arrows and spearheads. In July, 1862, he was married to Louisa C. Sieger, of Allentown, Pennsylvania, and to this union has been born one child, Lydia. Mr. Gernerd was a strong Abolitionist, and joined the Republican party at the beginning of that great organization.
CHARLES D. ELDRED, farmer and surveyor, was born in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, September 12, 1816, son of Edward J. and Annie (Northrop) Eldred. Edward J. Eldred was born at the Overshot Mill, Norwood, Middlesex county, England, August 19, 1763, and on May 18, 1798, he embarked on the ship Molly for Philadelphia, and was landed safely on Block Island, July 31, 1798. In the spring of 1799 he was appointed land agent for Pennsylvania, and soon after located in Lycoming county, where he died July 7, 1847. His third wife, whose name was Annie Northrop, survived him three or four years. Charles D. was educated at home by his father until he was seventeen years old. He then entered the office of the Lycoming Gazette as an apprentice, and remained for two years, withdrawing at the end of that time to attend school, the first time in his life. After attending school for three months he taught for six months in the Nippenose valley, returning then to his school duties. He subsequently bought a half interest in the Lycoming Chronicle from Alexander Cummings, and about April 1, 1837, he purchased the remaining half of this journal, and published a paper until the following June, when it was merged into the Lycoming Gazette. The last named paper remained in the hands of Eck & Eldred until May 10, 1838, when Mr. Eldred sold his interest to Mr. Eck, and about the 1st of July of the same year he purchased the entire office from John R. Eck, published the journal for two years, and again sold to Messrs Fitch. During the time he was connected with the newspapers he studied law, and was admitted to the Lycoming county bar, April 1, 1841. He began practice at Lock Haven, Pennsylvania, and at the end of three years returned to Williamsport and resumed the publication of the Lycoming Gazette, in company with John B. Beck. He soon after purchased Beck’s interest and continued in this capacity until 1851. From 1851 to 1855 he was principally engaged in surveying. He was elected associate judge of Lycoming county in The fall of 1856, and served one term. In 1858 he removed to Montoursville, Lycoming county, where he was engaged in lumbering and farming. In 1862 he helped to raise a militia company, known as the Allen Guards, and was elected captain of the same; they entered the Twenty-first Pennsylvania Regiment, and after seeing service for three months, were discharged. He was elected prothonotary for Lycoming county in the fall of 1862, and in the year 1866 he was nominated for the legislature by the Democratic party, but was defeated by a small majority. He bought the property where he now resides in 1868, removing to Muncy, where he has since lived. In 1878 he assisted in organ-izing the West Branch Fire Insurance Company, was elected its first president, and has been its only president, except one year when he acted as secretary. He was married, December 8, 1838, to Mary, daughter of Rev. Henry Lenhart, then of Williamsport. To this union were born nine children: Annie M., deceased; Rebecca C., who married Charles A. Quiggle; Harry L., deceased; Mary; William P.; Edward J., who is surveyor of Lycoming county; John L., deceased; Ida V., who married H. T. Taylor, and Gertrude. Mrs. Eldred died in 1880, and he was again married, to Elizabeth H. McQuaid, of Norristown, Pennsylvania, who died in 1800. Mr. Eldred is a Democrat with independent proclivities. In 1839 he was appointed deputy marshal of Lycoming county and served one year. In 1843 he was appointed postmaster at Lock Haven by President Tyler, and was succeeded in 1844 by George Parsons. He was a delegate to the first convention to nominate Supreme judges after the Constitution was changed so that they were elected directly by the people. In 1858 he was appointed collector of tolls for the West Branch canal at Williamsport, and re-appointed the two succeeding years. He was a trustee when the grounds were purchased on which Dickinson Seminary is located, and the first part of that building was erected during his term of trusteeship.
CHESTER E. ALBRIGHT, physician and surgeon, was born in Northampton county, Pennsylvania, August 21, 1831, and is a son of Andrew and Agnes (Dunn) Albright, natives of the same county. He is a grandson of Henry Albright, and a great grandson of Andrew Albright, who was an armorer under Frederick the Great during the celebrated Seven Years’ war. His father died in February, 1837, and soon afterwards his mother removed to the vicinity of Watsontown, Northumberland county, where she died in August, 1848. Our subject was reared in Northumberland county, and was educated in the common schools and at Lewisburg Academy. In 1850 he began the study of medicine with Dr. William Leiser of Lewisburg, and graduated from the Pennsylvania Medical College, Philadelphia, March 9,1854. He at once commenced practice at Hughesville, Lycoming county, removing to Muncy in the fall of 1856, where he has been actively engaged in the duties of his profession for the past thirty-six years. While Dr. Alright has devoted his attention principally to the practice of medicine, he always has had a natural aptitude for the mechanical arts. He is the inventor and patentee of a number of valuable inventions which are now in use, and takes a deep interest in that line of mechanism.
Dr. Albright was married, October 5, 1854, to Anna R., a daughter of Joseph Webster of Lycoming county. Her grandfather, Abraham Webster, was captured by a band of Indians when twelve years old, at his father’s home in Muncy township, and kept in captivity several years. He was then liberated by a French officer, and returned to his early home in this county. Two of his sisters were taken at the same time, but never returned, and are believed to have been killed by their savage captors. Dr. Albright has reared six children, as follows: Joseph W., who graduated at the University of Pennsylvania in 1879, and is practicing medicine in Muncy; Chester E., who graduated at Lafayette College in 1883, and is now a civil engineer in Philadelphia; William, who is superintendent of the Hughesville Water and Electric Light Company; Andrew C.; Horace, a civil engineer of Philadelphia, and Annie L. The Doctor is a member of the Masonic order, and in politics he is a Republican. He is the oldest active practitioner in Muncy, and is one of the well known and respected physicians of the West Branch valley.
THOMAS WOOD was born, January 21, 1810, in Juniata county, Pennsylvania, and when three years old he moved with his parents to the Muncy valley, Lycoming county, Pennsylvania. His ancestors have many historical associations; his great grandfather, Capt. John Wood, fought under King William at the battle of the Boyne in 1690, and was rewarded for his gallantry with a grant of an estate in County Cavan, Ireland; his great grandfather, James Wood, emigrated to America in 1731, and settled in Cumberland county, Pennsylvania. Thomas Wood was married in 1834 to Margaret D. Beeber, daughter of Col. Jacob Beeber, and to them were born the following children: Elizabeth G., who married Dr. Michael Stock; Rachel T., who married Dr. Charles M. Hill; William J., who is a farmer; George G., and six others who died in infancy. Thomas Wood was a Whig and Republican. He represented Lycoming county in the State legislature during the sessions of 1854-55. He was county commissioner one term, and was a director in the Muncy Bridge Company. For many years he acted as a justice of the peace and settled a number of estates. He was also a major of an early militia company. Mr. Wood died, February 12, 1884, and was highly respected by all who knew him.
GEORGE G. WOOD, physician and surgeon, was born in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, March 19, 1848, son of Thomas and Margaret D. (Beeber) Wood. He was educated in the common schools and at the West Branch High School at Jersey Shore. In 1868 he began the study of medicine, and was graduated from Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, in March, 1872. He began practice at Muncy, and has been in active service ever since. He was secretary of the Muncy Valley Medical Society during its existence, and has contributed a great many articles relating to medicine to the Philadelphia Medical Times, and is also the author of a book on the diseases of infants and young children. In 1886, on account of ill health, he visited the Pacific coast, including the Yellowstone National Park, Puget sound, San Francisco, Yosemite valley, Salt Lake City, and other interesting places, returning in eleven weeks much improved in health, after traveling 9,000 miles. He was married, September 9, 1875, to Jennie E., daughter of H. Noble, of Muncy, and to this union have been born two children: Gorgine, and Kenneth. Inheriting a taste for local history from his father, he has been very active in gathering and preserving some very valuable matter, and has always taken an interest in everything which tends to build up the community in which he lives. He first entered politics as a delegate to the State convention which was held at Easton, Pennsylvania, in 1887, and the following year was nominated by the Democratic party and elected to the State legislature, having the largest majority of any candidate on the ticket.
LLOYD MCCARTY, retired farmer, was born, November 8, 1811, at Muncy, Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, son of William and Mary McCarty. He was educated in the common schools, and learned the cabinet maker’s trade, which he followed for a number of years. From 1860 to 1880 he was engaged in farming, and retired at the latter date. He was married in July, 1841, to Jane McClintock, of Lycoming county, and to them were born two children: William, who is a merchant at Muncy, and Samuel, deceased; the last named enlisted in Company F, Eighty-Fourth Pennsylvania Volunteers, served about three and a half years, and was wounded at the battle of the Wilderness, May 12, 1864, from the effects of which he died on the 27th of the same month. Mr. McCarty was a Whig during the existence of that party, and is now a Republican. Mrs. McCarty is a member of the Presbyterian church.
WILLIAM J. MCCARTY, merchant, was born, June 22, 1842, in Williamsport, son of Lloyd and Jane McCarty. He was educated in the Muncy schools and Dickinson Seminary. He farmed until the age of twenty-five years, when he engaged in civil engineering in various parts of Pennsylvania for a few years. He began the mercantile business in 1871 in partnership with A. W. Tallman. This firm are the only dealers exclusively in dry goods and notions in Muncy. He was married, February 13, 1873, to Mary Cornelia Putnam; they had four children: Emily; Cornelia; Lida, and William. Mr. McCarty. was a member of the Muncy borough council and its president for four years. He has also been town auditor. He is a Republican in politics and supports the Presbyterian church. Mr. McCarty is the owner and lives in the building which was erected by his grandfather, William McCarty, many years ago.
ROBERT ROBB was commissioned an ensign in the French and Indian war 1758, and a few years after the close of the same he removed to Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, locating on the farm now owned by his grandson, Robert. Here he remained until some time after the breaking out of the Revolutionary war, when he went to Carlisle, where he lived until its close, and then returned to Lycoming county. In October, 1791, he was appointed a justice of the peace by Governor Mifflin, and held that position until his death in 1814. He was the father of ten children, all of whom grew to maturity.
JAMES ROBB, son of Robert Robb, was born in Lycoming county in 1775, and was a farmer by occupation. He married Mary Smith, and to them were born five children: Jane; Robert; Nathaniel, deceased; Annie, deceased; and Margaret, deceased. James Robb died in 1856, followed by his widow three years later.
ROBERT ROBB, retired farmer, was born in Muncy township, Lycoming county, May 30, 1816, son of James and Mary (Smith) Robb. The Robb family are descended from Scotch ancestry and were early settlers at Carlisle, Pennsylvania. Robert Robb was educated in the common schools, and has devoted his entire business life to farming and lumbering. April 6, 1852, he was married to Elizabeth McConnell, and to this union were born three children: Annie R.; Thomas W., and Mary, deceased. Mrs. Robb died, September 30, 1858, and he was again married, to Elizabeth J. McMichael, April 30, 1862, and to this union have been born two daughters: Sarah, who married Morris Cuddy, and Elsie. Mr. Robb is a member of the Protestant Episcopal, and his wife of the Methodist Episcopal church.
DANIEL CLAPP was born in Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, January 16, 1821. He received his education in the common schools, and when sixteen years old he began clerking in a store at Danville, Pennsylvania, where he remained about four years. He then returned to his native county, and in company with his brother, Beneval, he went into the mercantile business at Turbutville, and one year later, in September, 1843, they removed their business to Muncy, and continued the same until 1845. At this time Mr. Clapp purchased his brother’s interest and conducted the business alone until 1859, when he was joined by L. S. Smith, and the firm became D. Clapp & Company. This firm dealt heavily in lumber, in connection with their mercantile business, until 1869, when Mr. Clapp purchased the Port Penn saw mill, and was engaged in the manufacture of lumber until his death. Mr. Clapp was married, September 10, 1845, to Catherine L., daughter of Samuel Updegraff, of the "Long Reach." Her father was the youngest son of Derrick Updegraff, a Quaker, who came from York, Pennsylvania, to Lycoming county, towards the close of the last century, and purchased 500 acres of land on the Susquehanna, at what is known as the "Long Reach," where he died in 1815, having reared a family of six children. Samuel Updegraff was born, June 9, 1793, and was the father of six children, of whom Mrs. Clapp is the only survivor. To Daniel and Catherine L. Clapp were born six children, as follows: Alice, wife of J. Artley Beeber of Williamsport; Daniel; Annie, wife of Clarence E. Sprout of Williamsport; Henry; Frank, and May C. Coming to Muncy comparatively poor, Mr. Clapp devoted his energies to his business so success Lilly that he became one of the wealthiest men of Muncy valley. He always took a commendable interest in the growth and prosperity of his adopted home, and was a prominent factor in the erection of the present fine public school building in Muncy. Prior to the war he was a Democrat, but at that period he became a Republican, and remained a stanch supporter of that party up to his death, which occurred April 4, 1886. Daniel Clapp was an enterprising and public spirited citizen, and owed his success to careful business habits, prudent investments, and strict integrity. He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church of Muncy, and a liberal supporter of that organization.
E. M. GREEN, president of the Citizens’ National Bank, was born in Tioga county, New York, March 6, 1816, son of Levi and Mary (Montanye) Green. Both his paternal and maternal grandfathers served in the Revolutionary war. Levi Green as born in Massachusetts, and when quite young removed to the State of New York, and was one of the first settlers of the North Branch valley. He was married Mary Montanye, and to them were born eight children. He died in 1848, and his widow in 1857. The subject of this sketch was educated in the common schools, and is early life was spent on a farm. He migrated from Tioga county, New York, to Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, in 1855, and engaged in the grocery business at Muncy. Two years later he began the hardware business and continued it for about ten years, then gave up the store to his sons. He was a director of the First National Bank of Muncy for ten years, and in 1885, when the Citizens’ National Bank was organized, he was elected its president, and has since filled that position. He was married in 1844 to Jane Robb, a daughter of James Robb, and to them were born three children: Maggie, deceased; Robert Al., and Nathaniel D. Mr. Green and wife are members of the Presbyterian church of Muncy.
JOHN S. DYKINS was a native of the State of New York, aria came to Muncy, Lycoming, county, Pennsylvania, in 1830, where he died in 1880. He married Jane Buck, who died in 1875; she was the mother of six children Daniel B.; Julia, who married D. P. Guise; John, of Randolph, Utah; Ehrman, of Rock Springs, Wyoming; Charles, who lives in Chicago, and James, of Duluth, Minnesota.
DANIEL B. DYKINS, justice of the peace, was born in the. house where he now lives, in Muncy, Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, May 16, 1841, son of John S. and Jane (Buck) Dykins. His mother was a daughter of Daniel Buck, who was born in what is now Muncy Creek township, in 1773. Daniel B. Dykins was educated in the common schools, and July 23, 1861, he enlisted in Company B, Eighth Pennsylvania Cavalry; he ranked as captain from December 24, 1864, until he was discharged, July 24, 1865; he was captured while on post duty, about forty miles below Fredericksburg, Virginia, December 2, 1862, and spent the winter of 1862-63 in Libby prison. After the close of the war he was local editor of the Muncy Luminary for six years, and in 1879 was elected a justice of the peace, and has filled that office ever since; he has been Secretary of the school board twelve years, and secretary and treasurer of the borough council for ten years; is a member of John D. Musser Post, G. A. R., and is Past Regent of Muncy Council, No. W4, Royal Arcanum. Mr. Dykins was married in December, 1867, to Lydia Esenwine, of Towanda, Pennsylvania, and to this union have been born seven children Robert, deceased; Guise; Lizzie; Maud, deceased; John, deceased; Lydia, and Julia.
JOSEPH GUDYKUNST moved to Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, in 1827, and after clerking for a few years in a store, he started a general store at what is called Muncy Mills, where he remained until his death. He married Eliza Shoemaker, and to them were born two children: Ambrose, who lives in California., and A. H. He was killed by a runaway team, April 15, 1887; his wife died, April 25, 1876.
A. H. GUDYKUNST, hardware merchant, was born in Lycoming county, Pennsyl-vania, and was educated in the common schools and the high school at Muncy. August 9, 1861, he enlisted in Company H, One Hundred and Thirty-First Pennsylvania Volunteers, and after a service of nine months was discharged, and re-enlisted in the three months’ call in Company E, One Hundred and Thirty-Seventh Pennsylvania Volunteers. Returning from the war he engaged in the mercantile business at Muncy Mills, continuing for fourteen years. He then sold out and became clerk for L. S. Smith of Muncy for four years. In 1889 he purchased the hardware store of R. M. Green & Brother, and has conducted that business ever since. He is an active member of the John B. Musser Post, G. A. R., and the Royal Arcanum.
DAVID LLOYD was one of the early settlers of the West Branch valley. He was thrown into prison in Canada because of his expressed loyalty to the United State during the war of 1812, about the close of which he escaped and returned to the United States, locating in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania. He was a descendant of Thomas Lloyd, who was descended from Edward the First, of England, and was born in 1640. Thomas Lloyd was educated at Oxford, became a member of the Society of Friends, was persecuted on account of his religious belief, and in 1683 he left Wales and emigrated to America with his family, and joined William Penn’s colony. He held many offices under the Proprietary government, and was the first deputy governor and president of the Provincial Council, from 1684 to 1693, From him have descended the Lloyds of America. Towards the close of the last century, Thomas, William, and Joseph Lloyd went to Canada and there are now about 600 descendants of these brothers in that country. David Lloyd was a blacksmith by trade, which he followed for several years, and then engaged in the mercantile business. He was a justice of the peace for a number of years, and died in 1868. He married Mary Quinn, who died in 1856; she was the mother of eight children: William; Jane; Arthur; Thomas; Mary; Charles S. ; Sarah, and John.
THOMAS LLOYD was born in Clinton township, Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, December 27, 1821, son of David and Mary (Quinn) Lloyd. He was educated in the common schools, and after teaching school and music for a number of years, he engaged in the mercantile business at Mancy, which he has continued ever since. He has also been a surveyor for about forty years. In 1882 he engaged in the manufacture of lumber, which he still continues. Mr. Lloyd was married in August, 1855, to Amelia Green, of Owego, New York, and to this union have been born four children: Frank; De La, who is interested with his father in the store; Charles, who is a machinist, and La Monte, who is a civil engineer living in Philadelphia. Mr. Lloyd was captain of Company K, Fourteenth Pennsylvania Emergency Men, during the late war, and is a member of John D. Musser Post, G. A. R.
GEORGE STOLZ was born in Germany and emigrated to America in 1817 with his parents, who located for a while on a farm near Philadelphia. George Stolz came to Lycoming county, cleared a farm from the woods, and in 1856 he located in Muncy and was engaged in farming and operating a grist mill. From 1858 until his death he carried on a grocery business in Muncy, built a saw mill in 1859, and was engaged in the lumber business. He was married to Mary Aderhold; they were the parents of six children: Two who died in infancy; David; Catherine; Abraham, deceased while in the army, and George. Mrs. Stolz died in March, 1857, and Mr. Stolz was again married, to Mrs. Eliza Geasey, the widow of Isaac Geasey, and to this union were born four children: Sophia; Rachel; Amanda, and Peter, deceased. Mr. Stolz died, February 26, 1888, and his widow May 10, 1891. George Stolz was a very successful business man, and while not a member, he contributed to the sup-port of the Lutheran church. He was a Democrat until after the election of James Buchanan to the presidency, when he became a Republican. He served in the Muncy borough council, and was a director in the First National and City Banks of Muncy.
DAVID STOLZ, grocer, was born, April 15, 1837, in Lycoming, county, son of George and Mary (Aderhold) Stolz. He was educated in the common schools of Hepburn township, and was brought tip at farm labor, and learned the trade of a miller. In 1856 he was employed in his father’s mill, where he remained one and a half years. In the spring of 1858 he became a clerk in his father’s grocery in Muncy, where he has ever since remained, becoming the owner of the same in April, 1888. Mr. Stolz married Emma Stead, and to them have been born eight children: Hattie; Katie; Sallie; Mattie M.; George F.; Bruce; William, and Harry. The family attend the Lutheran church. Mr. Stolz is a Republican, and during the war went out in the Emergency Company K, Fourteenth Reserve, Pennsylvania Volunteer Militia. He has served in the borough council and as school director, and is one of the executors of his father’s estate.
GEORGE S. STOLZ, miller, was born in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, in January, 1843, son of George and Mary (Aderhold) Stolz. He received a common school education and was married, January 13, 1870, to Mary J. Downing, and to this union have been born four children: Thomas G.; Martha B.; Chester A., and Ralph R. Mr. Stolz is one of the enterprising men of Muncy, and is a member of the Royal Arcanum. In politics he is a Republican.
THOMAS G. DOWNING, deceased, was born in Chester county, Pennsylvania, was a tanner by trade, and came to Lycoming county about the year 1835, in company with Enos Holley. He engaged in the tanning business at Lairdsville, this county, remained there a few years, and then purchased a farm in Loyalsock township, where he remained for some time. He was married to Mary Wheland, who died August 11, 1841, and was the mother of four children, two of whom died in infancy, and two grew to maturity: George, and Dennis. As his second wife Mr. Downing married Julia A. Bastian, and to this union were born seven children: One deceased in infancy; Mary J.; John; William, deceased; Margaret E.; Charles ., and Henry. The second Mrs. Downing died, July 11, 1862, and he was again married, to Mary Morris, who survives and is the mother of one child, William. In 1850 Mr. Downing went to Venango county, Pennsylvania, remained fifteen years, and returned to Muncy, where he died, November 14, 1890.
ALEXANDER M. SMITH was born in 1800 in Columbia county, Pennsylvania. He was a son of John Smith. He married Elizabeth, a daughter of Lewis Schuyler, who was born in Germany in 1748, and came to America in 1751 with his parents; the family settled in Germantown, where the parents died when Lewis was twelve years old. He was bound out until eighteen and served an apprenticeship at shoemaking. He married Keziah Horned in 1781 and lived in New Jersey until 1794 when they removed to Pennsylvania, locating near Jerseytown, Columbia county. Lewis Schuyler died in that county in 1837, aged eighty-nine years. He was the father of eleven children: Adam; William; John; Mary; Samuel; Hannah; Elizabeth; Lewis; Henry; Sarah, and Jacob. Alexander and Elizabeth Smith came to Lycoming county in .1827. Mr. Smith followed farming and tanning until 1836, when he began keeping hotel at Hughesville. At the expiration of six years he again resumed farming. He moved to Muncy in 1849, where he kept hotel until he died in February, 1864, at the age of sixty-four years. He was the father of six children; Elisha B.; Lewis S.; Drusilla, who married J. Walbridge; Effie, who married Schooly Allen; John P., and Elizabeth. Alexander Smith was a Democrat and served as constable. He belonged to the Presbyterian church, while his wife was an Episcopalian.
LEWIS S. SMITH, merchant and lumberman, was born in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, February 9, 1880, son of Alexander M. and Elizabeth (Schuyler) Smith. He was educated in the common schools and began teaching at the age of fifteen years, which he followed for five years. After clerking in a store for Daniel Clapp at Muncy for three years, he, in company with Henry F. Harmon, purchased Mr. Clapp’s store. In 1858, by mutual consent, they dissolved partnership, and Mr. Smith joined Mr. Clapp and built his present storeroom. They opened up business in 1859 and continued until Mr. Clapp died in 1882, when Mr. Smith bought Mr. Clapp’s interest, but subsequently sold an interest to Ralph T. and Poland C., his sons. He was married, November 26, 1856, to Mary R. Crouse, of Iowa, and to this union were born five children: J. Boyd, of Philadelphia; Ralph T.; Roland C.; L. Clyde, and Herbert B. Mr. Smith has always taken a deep interest in the Episcopal church. Mr. Smith is a Democrat in politics and served one term as auditor of Lycoming county. He was also burgess of Muncy one term and a director of the Citizens’ National Bank. He took a deep interest in securing the Reading railroad extension into the borough of Muncy.
ELISHA B. SMITH was born in Wolf township, Lycoming county, March 1, 1828, son of Alexander and Elizabeth (Schuyler) Smith. When he was about ten years old he became a mail carrier on the route from Hughesville to Bloomsburg via Muncy, Smith Mills, and Millville, a distance of thirty-six miles, the greater part of which was unsettled, and he was compelled to ford the streams, there being no bridges. He continued this for nearly two years, and afterwards did teaming for his father until reaching his majority. In 1849 he came to Muncy and did general Work until able to purchase a team, with which he hauled the first load of stone for the Muncy river bridge in 1853. He also helped to build the plank road between Hughesville and Muncy in the fall of the same year. He owned and ran a canal boat in 1854, after which he drove a foundry wagon for a firm in Milton until the fall of 1857, when he engaged in the livery business. In 1860 he married Annie M. Childs, daughter of James M. Childs of Montour county. In 1861 he hauled the first load of soldiers from Laporte, Sullivan county, to Muncy. He was in the livery business during this time, and bad the mails to carry from Muncy to Laporte, via Lewis’s Lake, now called Eaglesmere, and also ran a ‘bus to Muncy station carrying the mails. He was also engaged in the coal business at the same time. In 1878 he embarked in the furniture business and subsequently added dry goods and groceries, and has since enjoyed an excellent trade.
WILLIAM HAYES, a retired physician and surgeon, was born at Lewisburg, Union county, Pennsylvania, in 1819, son of William and Mary (Wilson) Hayes. His father was born in Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, was a merchant at Lewisburg for over fifty years, and died in 1846; he married Mary Wilson, who died in 1827, after assisting in rearing a family of eight children. Dr. Hayes was educated at the Milton Academy, Milton, Pennsylvania, and in 1837 began the study of medicine with Dr. Thomas Van Valzah, of Lewisburg, and was graduated from Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, in 1839. He began practice at Bellevue, Ohio, where he remained for eighteen months, returning thence to his native town, where he practiced successfully until 1861. At that time he entered the army as brigade surgeon, to which he was appointed by the President, after having been examined by the examining board of the regular army, at Washington City. He was commissioned, November 9, 1861, and his first assignment to duty was with General Rosecrans at Wheeling. He was afterwards ordered to the first provisional brigade, at Fayetteville, West Virginia, in which General Hayes, subsequently President of the United States, was lieutenant colonel of a regiment. Dr. Hayes was detached in the spring of 1862, and placed in charge of the general hospital, at Wheeling, where he remained two months. When General Fremont took charge of the Mountain department, he was ordered to the field, and was assigned to General Schenck as his staff surgeon. When General Fremont was relieved by General Siegel he was retained as staff surgeon and medical director. After the battle of Slaughter Mountain, he was ordered to establish a hospital at Culpepper Court House, where the wounded, who lay on the battlefield from Saturday till Monday, could be cared for. He went with the same to the Second Battle of Bull Run, thence to Washington City, where he was assigned, for temporary duty, to the medical director at Washington, and took the first train load of wounded from that city to New York, and another car load to Annapolis, Maryland. He then reported to the medical director at Baltimore, and was assigned to duty on the eastern shore of Maryland, then under command of General Lockwood, where he remained until ordered to Point Lookout, and from there to join the Army of the Potomac at Gettysburg. He was detached at Harper’s Ferry, and remained with General Lockwood’s command until the latter was relieved by General Sheridan, when he was made medical director and superintendent of the field hospital for the department of West Virginia. At his own request he was relieved from field duty and placed in charge of the hospital at Fort McHenry; he also had charge of the hospitals at Fort Carroll and Federal Hill, near Baltimore. He was brevetted lieutenant colonel and remained at Fort McHenry until mustered out of service August 1, 1865. He returned home completely broken down in health, purchased a property on North river, above the city of New York, resided there about two years, and then came to Muncy, Pennsylvania, where he has since lived a retired life. He married Sarah, a daughter of Andrew D. Hepburn, and a lady well known in literary circles as a newspaper and magazine writer. To this union were born two daughters: Ada H., and Mary H., deceased.
HENRY SHOEMAKER and his wife Barbara emigrated from Germany to Berks county prior to the Revolutionary war. They subsequently brought their family by wagon and canoes from Harrisburg to Lycoming county, landing with the canoes in May, 1783, at what is known as Walton’s Ferry, a short distance below the mouth of Muncy creek. During his lifetime Mr. Shoemaker became the owner of valuable lands aggregating about 2,000 acres. He was among the first men to construct a grist and saw mill in that section of the county. He was a man of strong mental and physical powers, and was honest and upright in every particular. He died in 1799, the father of nine children: Henry, who married Susan Dudder; Benjamin, who married Mary Scudder; Jacob, who married Margaret Robb; George, who married Isabella Robb; Samuel, who married Rosanna Kidd; Hannah, who married Henry Kirk; Elizabeth, who married Henry Antes; Mary, who married Thomas Youngman, and Susan, who married Edward Gobin.
BENJAMIN AND MARY (SCUDDER) SHOEMAKER were born December 28, 1764, and May 21, 1777, respectively. Mary Scudder was the first white female child born in Lycoming county, and was the daughter of John Scudder, a commissary in the Revolutionary war, who had been twice driven out of the country by the Indians, captured three times by the British, and was released through Masonic influence, he being a high Mason. The children of Benjamin and Mary Shoemaker were: John; Henry; William; Benjamin; Susan; Sarah; Hannah; Mercy, and Mary.
HENRY SHOEMAKER, second son of Benjamin and Mary Shoemaker, was born, February 22, 1794. He studied medicine and settled in Newberry. He was an earnest student, and applying himself closely to his business, he obtained a large and lucrative practice. After practicing medicine for thirty Years, he retired in 1861 to end his days upon the farm where he was born, and on which he lived the remainder of his life enjoying the society of his friends, both old and young, with a vivacity that appeared to carry the spirit of his youth into the lap of old age. He died June 21, 1871. He married Sophia Shoemaker, and they were the parents of seven children: Rosetta, who married William Bennett: Isaac N.; Elizabeth L., who married Dr. Charles L. Lyon; Sarah; Susan D.; Mary S., and Stephen B. The last named was in the employ of the United States government for ten years as storekeeper and gauger of distilled liquors and is engaged in business in the borough of Muncy. He married Mary E., daughter of Maj. Isaac Bruner; they had one son, Henry Bruner Shoemaker, who died when six Years old.
A. D. HOWER, lawyer, was born in Milton, Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, February 21, 1845, son of Nicholas and Elizabeth (Dreisbach) Hower, natives of Northampton county, Pennsylvania. Nicholas Hower, a son of Jacob, came to Milton when he was quite young. There he married Elizabeth Dreisbach, who had also migrated with her parents to Milton. They finally located on a farm near Turbutville, where they died after having reared five children: George W., who practiced law several years in Sunbury, and is How a farmer; A. D.; Aaron A., who taught school many years and is now farming; William H., who is a farmer, and Caroline, who married Charles Windaw. Nicholas Hower was a member of the Lutheran church, and his wife of the Reformed. He was educated at the Minersville Normal School, Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, having been graduated in the scientific and a part of the classical course in 1871. He began the study of law in August of that year, under the able tuition of W. C. Lawson, of Milton, Pennsylvania, and was admitted to the bar, August 4, 1874. He began his practice at Turbutville, Pennsylvania, and soon after was elected principal of the public schools of Muncy, which, in 1875, were converted into a Normal, and he was selected as professor of mathematics and theory and practice of teaching. In July, 1876, he opened an office in Muncy, where he has prosecuted his profession diligently and earnestly ever since. He was married, July 4, 1872, to Drusilla Schuyler, daughter of Lewis Schuyler, residing then near Turbutville, and to this union have been born two children: Bettie and Lewis. Mr. Hower is a Republican and belongs to the Reformed church, while his wife and daughter are members of the Baptist church.
ROBERT K. REEDER, lawyer, was born in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, June 11, 1858, soil of Peter and Sarah (Ritter) Reeder. He was educated at the public schools of Hughesville and Dickinson Seminary, of Williamsport, Pennsylvania. In 1881 he began the study of Law under the tuition of W. E. Crawford, of Hughesville, and was admitted to the bar of Lycoming county in 1883. He practiced law in partnership with his preceptor until 1885, when he was elected to the State legislature, being the youngest member who ever served from this county. At the close of his official career at the State capital he located at Muncy, where he has devoted his entire time to his chosen profession.
WILLIAM R. PEOPLES, lawyer, was born in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, August 1, 1862, son of John M. and Hannah (Royer) Peoples. His father followed teaching as a profession until 1882, since when he has been engaged in the banking business. He married Hannah Royer, and to them were born five children: William R.; J. Henry: Ivie M.: Mary S., and Rossiter M. William R. Peoples was educated at the State Normal School at Lock Haven, Pennsylvania, from which institution he was graduated in the scientific course in 1882. After teaching two years in that school he began the study of law, under the perceptorship of Linn & Crocker, of Williamsport, and continued for one year, when he was elected assistant principal of the Lycoming County Normal School at Muncy, Pennsylvania. The following year he was chosen its principal, and filled that position for five years. April 17, 1800, he was admitted to the bar of Lycoming county, and began practice in Williamsport, remaining one year, and then locating at Muncy. He was married, June 22, 1887, to Lilian M. Watson, of Allenwood, Union county, Pennsylvania, and to them has been born one child, John Watson.
J. GEORGE BECHT, principal of the Lycoming County Normal School, was born in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, July 17, 1865, son of Jacob and Catherine (Kober) Becht. His father immigrated from Germany to America, and located at Montoursville, Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, where he devoted his time to lum-bering, farming, and the manufacture of lime. He married Catherine Kober. Our subject was educated at the Montoursville public school, the Lycoming County Normal, and Lafayette College, having been graduated from the latter institution in 1890. He began teaching school before he was fifteen years old, and has continued ever since, alternating with attendance at college. He was principal, for a time, of the DuBoistown public schools, and was elected to his present position in March, 1891.
REV. H. C. MUNRO, pastor of the First Baptist church of Muncy, was born in Nova Scotia, May 21, 1836, son of Alexander and Jeannette (Dick) Munro. His father immigrated from Scotland to Nova Scotia in 1830, and in 1837 migrated to the United States, locating in Clinton county, Pennsylvania. He was a practical geologist, and was engaged for many years in the manufacture of fire brick, having had the first plant for the manufacture of that article in the State of Pennsylvania. He married Jeannette Dick, and to this union were born ten children: Alexander; John; Annie, deceased; Archibald; Henry; Neal; Robert, deceased; James, deceased; Jeannette, deceased, and Euphemia, deceased. Alexander Munro died in April 1872, followed by his wife, November 4, I878.The subject of this sketch was educated in the common schools and at Bucknell University; he graduated from that institution in 1863, and also took a theological course at the same place. His first charge was at Moreland and Turbutville, Pennsylvania, where he preached from 1865-to 1884. He then came to Muncy, where he has since been in charge of the First Baptist church, and also of the church at Picture Rocks. During his ministry he has built the Turbutville, Moreland, Lairdsville, Picture Rocks, and Montgomery churches. He enlisted in Company A, Twenty-eighth Pennsylvania Emergency Men, during the late war. He was married in 1866 to Sarah F. Derr, and to this union have been born seven children: Bruce; Effie C.; James, deceased; Francis R.; Jennie; Harry, and Mary. Rev. Munro is chaplain of John B. Musser Post, G. A. R.
CHARLES LOSE, county superintendent of public schools, was born in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, March 1, 1856, son of James and Phoebe (Starr) Lose. His father was reared on a farm in Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, came to this county at the age of eighteen years, and learned the shoemaker’s trade at Muncy; at the present time he is a boot and shoe merchant at Montoursville, Lycoming county, and is the father of six children: Kate; Charles; Bartley; Sallie; Irvin, and James, deceased. His wife died in 1884. Our subject, Charles Lose, was educated at Lafayette College and Bucknell University. He began teaching at the age of seventeen years, was principal of Montoursville high school for one year, and the Lycoming County Normal School for four years. In 1884 he was appointed county superintendent of public schools by the State superintendent, to fill the vacancy occasioned by the death of his predecessor, and was elected to the same position in 1887 and 1890. He was married, June 22, 1882, to Rebecca J., oldest daughter of Hon. Henry Johnson, of Williamsport, and to this union have been born four children.
JOHN WALDRON, of the firm of Waldron & Sprout, was born, January 23, 1844, in Muncy Creek township, Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, and came to the borough of Muncy with his parents when he was nine years old, There he remained until the breaking out of the war, when, in 1862, he enlisted in Company G, One Hundred and Thirty-First Pennsylvania Volunteers, was wounded at the battle of Fredericksburg, December 13, 1862, and was mustered out May 23, 1863. In January, 1864, he re-enlisted in Company C, One Hundred and Eighty-Seventh Pennsylvania Volunteers, lost his arm at the battle of Petersburg, in June, 1864, and was mustered out in January, 1865. He at once went to the quartermaster’s department at Washington City, where he remained until June, 1865, returning thence to Muncy, where he remained for two years. He then went to Missouri, worked on a farm a short time, and attended school at St. Louis. He learned telegraphy and followed that occupation until 1880, when he began the manufacture of hay tools, continuing three years, and then forming his present partnership with Charles H. Sprout. He was married in 1875 to Maggie, a daughter of L. B. Sprout, and to them have been born four children: Charles M.; W. Harris; John H., and Fred S. Mr. Waldron is a charter member of the Royal Arcanum, and belongs to John D. Musser Post, G. A. R.
CHARLES H. SPROUT, Of the firm of Waldron & Sprout, manufacturers of mill machinery and bay tools, was born, April 22, 1860, and is a son of Lewis B. Sprout. January 1, 1882, he entered the firm of Sprout & Lichtenthaler, manufacturers of screen doors and window blinds, and the following September he bought his partner’s interest and the firm of Waldron & Sprout was formed, which has existed until the present time. They employ about forty men, and keep the establishment running the entire year. He was married December 31, 1880, to Tranie E. Shipman.
CHARLES M. FAGUE, coal dealer, was born in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, June 20, 1837, son of Jacob and Catherine (Frontz) Fague, and grandson of George Fague, who immigrated from Germany at an early date and settled in what is now Wolf township, Lycoming county, Pennsylvania. To Jacob and Catherine Fague were born the following children: George; Elizabeth, deceased wife of John Houseknecht; Charles M. Ellis; Sarah Ann, deceased; Frank F. ; Maria, deceased wife of Appleton Johnson, and three who died in childhood. Jacob Fague was a farmer and lumber dealer, and died, December 31, 1886. His widow is still a resident of the county. The subject of this sketch was educated in the common schools and was employed on the farm with his father until about 1865, when he engaged in the grocery business at Muncy, which he continued for about ten years. He then began the coal business, which he has continued to the present time. February 28, 1872, he was married to Henrietta, daughter of Jacob Dimm, and to this union have been born four children: Harry P., deceased; Edward M.; Mabel, and Jacob D. Politically he is a Democrat, and has served as director of the Muncy public schools. He is a member of the Masonic order, and takes a deep interest in the prosperity of that fraternity.
GEORGE D. KELLER, retired farmer, was born in Northampton county, Pennsylvania, and is a son of Jacob and Nancy (Dennis) Keller, who immigrated from Germany to the United States at an early date. His grandfather and mother were captured by the Indians when the son was but six years old, and they were kept in captivity for six years. Jacob Keller, the father of George D. Keller, removed from Northampton county, Pennsylvania, to Columbia county, the same State, where he reared a family of seven children, four of whom are living. Our subject, George D. Keller, removed from Columbia to Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, remaining there two years and coming thence to Lycoming county in 1837. He located on a farm, where he remained until 1880; he then moved to Muncy borough, where he has lived a retired life ever since. He was married, April 1, 1844, to Mary Masters, and to this union were born eight children: Elizabeth; Parvin; David, who is a veterinary surgeon of Williamsport; Margaret, deceased: Jacob, who lives in Illinois; George, who resides in Iowa; Hattie, and Andrew G. Mrs. Keller died in May, 1882, and he was again married to Lizzie Wendle.
HENRY WHITMIRE, deceased, was born in Columbia county, Pennsylvania. His grandfather, David, immigrated from Germany to Columbia county, Pennsylvania, where he reared his family. His son, George, who was the father of Henry Whit-mire, was a farmer, and lived and died in Columbia county. Our subject was a shoemaker by trade, and first began business at Dushore, Sullivan county, Pennsylvania. In 1866 he removed to Light Street, Columbia county, Pennsylvania, whence he moved to Muncy, Lycoming county, in 1868, where he worked at his trade and carried on a general shoe business until he died, January 2, 1890. He was married, August 20, 1850, to Rebecca Zeaner, Sullivan county, and to them were born nine children: Three deceased when young; Hannah; Levi; Ella; Charles; Melissa, and Morris E. Mr. Whitmire was one of the respected citizens of the community in which he resided.
SAMUEL S. BUFFINGTON was a blacksmith by trade and followed that occupation about thirty years, but devoted the latter part of his life to farming. He married Catherine Lutz, and to them were born nine children: Henry, deceased; Mary C., deceased; Charles K., deceased; Benjamin H., deceased; S. J.; D. W.; Sarah R.; George W., and Arabella F. The grandfather of Samuel S. Buffington, with his two brothers, immigrated from England to America in the same ship with William Penn, and their descendants have all been natives of Pennsylvania.
S. J. BUFFINGTON, farmer, was born in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, September 28, 1849, soil of Samuel S. and Catherine (Lutz) Buffington. He received a common school education, and remained on his father’s farm until 1880, then moved to Moreland township, Lycoming county, and lived there until 1887, and then moved to the borough of Muncy. He was married January 15, 1878, to Martha, a daughter of Thomas Opp, and to this union have been born three children. Mary, E.; Samuel S., and George W.
DANIEL W. YOTHERS, proprietor of the Commercial Hotel at Muncy, was born, July 1, 1832, in Clearfield county, Pennsylvania, son of Joseph and Elizabeth (Reiter) Yothers. He was educated in the common schools and was employed on a farm and in lumbering until 1866. During the year 1865 he was in partnership with Dr. Potter in the lumber business in Clearfield county, and in the great flood of that year he lost all of his accumulations. He then went to Venango county, Pennsylvania, and followed teaming and boating for four years. For some time he was engaged in the production of oil, also buying and selling that product. At the time that oil was discovered in Butler county he had in stock a large amount, which had cost him $5 per barrel, and which he was compelled to sell at $1 per barrel, thus again reducing his finances to almost nothing. From here he went to Clarion county, where he invested in an oil well which proved to be a failure, and which left him penniless and out of work. We next find him in Butler county, working at the carpenter trade for two years, after which he accepted a position as clerk in a hotel for four years, In 1884 he moved to Muncy, Pennsylvania, and leasing the Muncy Valley House, kept it for five years. He then bought the Commercial Hotel, a neat little building with forty rooms, and has conducted it with good success ever since. In 1886 he was elected a member of the council of Muncy borough, and it was principally through his efforts that the waterworks were built at that place. In 1870 he was a member of the Oil City council, at the time when the waterworks were built at that place. He is a Republican. Mr. Yothers was married in 188t to Helen Thomas of Williamsport.
JOHN F. MANVILLE was born in Bradford county, Pennsylvania, February 5, 1807, son of Murray and Hannah Jane (Wigton) Manville. The Manville family emigrated from Holland to Hoboken, New Jersey, at an early (late, but subsequently settled along the Mohawk river in the State of New York, when the Indians were very numerous. His father, Murray Manville, came to Bradford county, Pennsylvania, about 1800, and in 1810 to Columbia county, the same State. He married Hannah Jane Wigton, and to them were born ton children. Four of Mrs. Manville’s uncles, named Gaylor, were killed at the Wyoming massacre; two other uncles escaped. Oar subject was educated in the common schools, and at the age of sixteen years he began to learn the trade of blacksmith, which occupation he followed for twenty-five years. When he was a boy all grain was cut with the sickel. He recalls a harvest scene in which he saw a line of twenty-four men and women sicklers in one field. He moved to Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, in 1829, and in 1850 he began boating on the Pennsylvania canal and continued the same for fourteen years; in 1853 he transported on his boat the first rolling stock (consisting of locomotive, passenger, and box car), used on the Northern Central railroad from Williamsport to Elmira, New York, and also the first locomotive for the Catawissa railroad. In 1865, after the great flood, he rebuilt the first bridge across the Susquehanna river at Muncy, and in 1867 he removed to Missouri, where he remained for seventeen years, returning thence to Muncy, where he has lived a retired life ever since. He was married in June, 1830, to Rachel Dye, and to this union were born ten children, six of whom are living: Catherine; David; Martha; Elizabeth; John, and Augustus. Mrs. Manville died January 10, 1857, and in 1859 he was again married, to Amelia Waldron, and to them were born four children: Two who died in infancy; and William and Harriet, still living. Air. Manville has always been identified with the Whig and Republican parties, and is a member of the Baptist church.
D. D. MANVILLE, dealer in agricultural implements, was born in Muncy Creek township, Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, October 14, 1833, son of John F. and Rachel (Dye) Manville. He was educated in the common schools, and prior to 1862 he was engaged in boating, but at this time he built a blacksmith shop at Muncy and followed that business until 1883, since when he has devoted his whole time to the sale of agricultural implements, fertilizers, and machinery. June 29, 1863, he enlisted in Company E Thirty-Seventh Pennsylvania Volunteers. He was married, February 13, 1862, to Massie Jane Hall Dunbar, of Lycoming county, and to this union have been born three children: Eda; Annie W. ;and Robert F. Mr. Manville has been a member of the town council of Muncy borough for three years, and overseer of the poor for two years. He is a member of the Baptist church, and has served as clerk of the same for some time and as secretary of the Sunday school for fifteen years.
CHRISTOPHER DIMM was the pioneer of the Dimm family of Lycoming county. He was a son of John Dimm, and was born on the Atlantic during the voyage from Wurtemberg, Germany, to Philadelphia, whither his parents immigrated about 1750. He had one sister, who married a man named Dimner, and that name is still found among descendants of the family. His father, John Dimm, was a carpenter, and followed his trade after coming to Philadelphia, where he died and left his family in humble circumstances. His widow afterwards removed to Berks county, and Christopher was bound out to learn the shoemaker’s trade, at Hamburg. Here he grow to manhood and married Margaret Sidtler, the daughter of a German Lutheran family, and to this union were born eight children who grew to maturity. At the breaking out of the Revolution, he was called out with the Pennsylvania militia, and served his country during the war, being principally kept on guard duty. In 1796 Christopher Dimm, with his family consisting of wife and eight children, removed from Hamburg to Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, and located on a tract of land supposed to belong to the government, situated near the present site of Hughesville. After he had built a house upon this land, he learned that another person held the title, and he consequently withdrew and settled on a tract two and one half miles south of Muncy borough. A portion of this land is still in the possession of his descendants. He accumulated some wealth, and assisted in the development of the county, by aiding in the erection of schools and of Immanuel Lutheran church. He died in 1831, aged seventy-eight years. The names of his children were as follows: Dietrick; Henry; Philip; Jacob; Simon; John; Mary, and Elizabeth.
DIETRICK DIMM learned the blacksmith trade and followed it the greater portion of his life. He married Catherine Beeber, and to them were born six children: Rebecca, who married Thomas McConnell; Mary, who married Jacob Gortner; Sarah, who married a Mr. Goodall; Elizabeth, who married Jacob Gortner; Jacob, and John B. Mrs. Dimm died, May 18, 1848, and her husband, July 18, 1855; both were members of Immanuel Lutheran church. Mr. Dimm. was a justice of the peace for several years.
HENRY DIMM removed to Greenwood township, Juniata county, Pennsylvania, about The year 1800. He married Susan Welt, and to them were born seven children, three of whom died when young. His eldest son, John Dimm, was associate judge of Juniata county; Jacob married Eva Stineling, by whom he had seven children; Samuel died in Kansas in 1886, and Mary married Henry Stroup, by whom she had two children, and died in 1846. Mr. Dimm died, October 10, 1846, aged seventy years.
PHILIP DIMM settled on apart of his father’s homestead. He married Annie Bowman, and to them were born eleven children, five of whom died, in early childhood, and six grew to maturity. One of the sons, George, became a local Methodist preacher, and another, Thomas, became a Free Will Baptist preacher. Philip Dimm. died in 1850.
JACOB DIMM remained on the old homestead. He married Barbara Dubts, and to them were born three children: Henry, who married Elizabeth Hoffman; John, and Mary D., who married Jacob Wallis and lives in Missouri. Jacob Dimm died, March 1, 1812, at the age of thirty-one. His son, John, became the owner of the old homestead farm, and it still belongs to his children. John Dimm was a blacksmith, and subsequently a farmer. He married Sarah Hoffman, and reared a family of five children: George W., a merchant of Muncy; Jacob H.; John D.; Mary C., wife of Clarence B. Bieber, and Emma J. Mr. Dimm. died, October 28, 1885, and his wife, February 17, 1889.
SIMON DIMM was born in August, 1783, and married Elizabeth Menges, and to them were born eight children, two sons who died in childhood, and six daughters. Mrs. Dimm died and he was again married, to Rebecca Rose, and to this union were born two sons and one daughter. Jonathan, the eldest son by his second wife, was graduated from Pennsylvania College at Gettysburg in 1857, and subsequently had the degree of D. D. conferred upon him by his alma mater, and at present is principal of the Classical Department of the Missionary Institute at Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania. Simon Dimm died, August 9, 1872.
JOHN DIMM was born, October 2, 1786, and married Sarah Richard, and to them were born six children; Philip, one of the sons, was drowned by a steamboat disaster on Lake Erie. John Dimm died, May 1, 1829.
MARY DIMM was born in 1789, and married Jacob Beeber, and to them were born six children: Margaret; Julia; Toter D.; John; Charles, and Elizabeth.
ELIZABETH DIMM was born in 1793, and upon the death of her sister, Mary, she assumed the charge of Col. Jacob Beeber’s children, and subsequently married him, and to this union were born three children: Jacob Dimner; Mary, and Susan. Of these, Jacob Dimner died unmarried; Mary married Otis McCarty, and became the mother of four children, and Susan married George Artley, and to them were born twelve children. Elizabeth (Dimm) Beeber died April 15, 1880, in her eighty-seventh year.
JACOB DIMM retired farmer, was born near his present home in Muncy Creek township, September 8, 1813, and is a son of Dietrick and Mary (Beeber) Dimm, and a grandson of Christopher Dimm. Mr. Dimm has always been a farmer. He was married, January 18, 1843, to Emily Mackey, and to this union were born the following children: Sarah E., deceased; Henrietta, who married Charles M. Fague; John Y.; Clara E.; George F., and Harvey J. The last named was married, February 27, 18S4, to Mary C. Stolz, and to this union have been born two children: Lulu D., and Ernest S.
JOHN PHILIP OPP, farmer, son of John and Sarah M. (Fiester) Opp, was born in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, June 11, 1822. He received a common school education, and has always followed farming and lumbering. He was married in 1846 to Abigail Andrews, and to this union have been born eight children: J. Reed; Coleman; Charles; John P.; J. Artley, deceased, and three who died in infancy. Mr. Opp is one of the corporators of the Citizens’ National Bank of Muncy, and has been a director of that institution since its organization. He is one of the well known and representative citizens of Muncy valley, and is recognized as a solid, substantial business man. Mr. Opp is a Republican, and has filled several of the local offices in his township.
PETER FRANTZ was born in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, September 5, 1841, and is a son of Jacob and Elizabeth (Good) Frantz, a grandson of Peter Frantz, and a great grandson of William Frantz, who came from Switzerland to America before the Revolutionary war, and settled in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, and subsequently in Monroe county, whence Peter, the grandfather of our subject, removed to Lycoming county. The Frantz family can thus trace their lineage back to a period antedating the birth of American Independence. The subject of this sketch received a common school education, and was reared on the homestead farm. He has always been engaged in agricultural pursuits, and is recognized as one of the representative farmers of Muncy valley. In January, 1870, he married Alice J., daughter of Charles and Priscilla Wolverton, a native of Montour county, Pennsylvania, whence she removed with her parents to Muncy Creek township, Lycoming county, in girlhood. Mrs. Frantz was born December 16, 1842, and died November 19, 1891, in the faith of the Baptist church, to which denomination Mr. Frantz belongs. He is one of the corporators of the First National Bank of Hughesville, and is a director in that institution. In politics he is a Democrat, has always taken a deep interest in the schools of his township, and is a member of the P. of H. and the Farmers’ Alliance.
HENRY BUCK came from Bucks county, Pennsylvania, to Lycoming county at an early day. He was a tailor by trade, and married Catherine Rhodimel, and to this union were born nine children: Daniel; John; Jacob; Peter; Henry; Elizabeth; Susan; Hannah, and Catherine. Henry Buck died in May, 1791, and was the first person buried in what is known as the Immanuel Lutheran church graveyard, located in Muncy Creek township.
JACOB BUCK, son of Henry Buck, was a farmer by occupation, and married Mary Craft, by whom he had nine children: Charles, deceased; Henry, deceased; Jesse; Samuel, deceased; Daniel; Sarah, deceased; Elizabeth; Susan, deceased, and Hannah, deceased. Jacob Buck died, September 5, 1861, and his widow, August 28, 1867.
HENRY BUCK, son of Jacob Buck, was educated in the common schools, and after teaching school for about ton years he engaged in the mercantile business at Clarkestown (formerly known as Buckstown), and his was the first store at this place. He was elected county commissioner in 1867, and served the full term with credit to himself. He then formed a partnership with P. W. Opp, and manu-factured woolen goods until his death. He married Amelia Pellman, and to this union were born eleven children: Thomas; Charles, deceased; Mary; Walter, who is a merchant at Clarkestown; Ambrose, deceased; Amanda; Jennie; Sallie; Pellman; Annie, and Harry. Mr. Buck died, November 19, 1884, and his widow August 19, 1888.
PETER MICHAEL was born near Shamokin, Pennsylvania, and was a son of Peter Michael, who came to Lycoming county when a young man. His father possessed a good education, and taught school in this county for a number of years, but finally located in Northumberland county, whence he returned to Lycoming county, where he died. The subject of this sketch was a cabinet maker and undertaker, but finally engaged in farming in Muncy Creek township, Lycoming county, where he died in 1880. He married Esther Shoemaker, and reared a family of eight children: Rebecca, wife of Hiram T. McCarty, of Muncy Creek township; Joseph F., of the same township; Mary, wife of John Houseknecht, of Moreland township; 0. P., of Muncy Creek; Sarah A., wife of Jacob Shade, of Turbutville, Pennsylvania; Henrietta, wife of Henry S. Opp, of Muncy Creek; Edward W., sheriff of Lycoming county, and Alfred, of Muncy Creek township. Mrs. Michael died in 1869, a consistent member of the Lutheran church, to which denomination her husband belonged. Mr. Michael was a Democrat in politics. During his early manhood he carried mail on the route from Muncy to Hillsgrove, Pennsylvania.
WILSON OPP, farmer, was born in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, May 4, 1826, son of Jacob and Susan (Fiester) Opp. He received a common school education, and was married in February, 1864, to Sallie Willits, and to this union were born three children: ‘Mary E., deceased; William W., and Margaret L. Mrs. Opp died, October 16, 1874, and he was again married, to Cora N. Shafer, of Philadelphia, and to this union have been born six children: Jacob A.; George W.; Oscar N.; Sallie AV.; Caroline M., and Verus S.
JACOB GRAY came from Berks county, Pennsylvania, about the year 1794, and settled in Lycoming county. He was a weaver by trade, which occupation he followed until the latter part of his life, which was devoted to farming. He was the father of the following children: Lydia, deceased; Mary; Valentine, deceased; John; David, deceased; Peter; Jacob; Christian, deceased; Charles, deceased, and Eliza. Jacob Gray died, August 9, 1841, and his widow, October 6, 1866. It is a strange fact in the history of this family, that three of the children lost the sight of their left eyes, and one the right eye, by accident; Valentine, by an explosion of a gun cap; Eliza, by the bursting of a fruit jar; Peter, by a stick striking his eye when he was splitting wood, in March, 1859; and the wife of John, by the accidental discharge of a gun.
PETER GRAY, farmer, was born in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, November 23, 1820, son of Jacob and Christiana (Barto) Gray. He received a common school education, has devoted his life to rural pursuits, and has filled the various township offices with the exception of assessor; he has been a justice of the peace five years. He was married, February 9, 1843, to Mary Buck, by whom he had two children: Emily, born June 1, 1850, who married Jacob Dimm, of Muncy, and Lydia C., who married Clinton Guyer of Muncy. Mr. Gray located on the farm where he now resides in 1849, and has added by purchase until he now owns a farm of over 200 acres of valuable land. He is one of the most respected and enterprising citizens of the community in which he resides. He and wife have been con-sistent members of the Lutheran church for fifty years.
ISAAC MCCARTY, son of Benjamin McCarty, was a stonemason by trade. Benjamin McCarty laid out the first building lots for the town of Muncy, and feared a large family. Isaac married Sarah Dunkelberger, by whom he had nine children: Peter, deceased; George, deceased; Agnes; Catherine; Isaac B.; Jane, deceased; William; Jesse, deceased, and Mary.
ISAAC D. MCCARTY, farmer, a son of Isaac and Sarah (Dunkelberger) McCarty, was born in 1830, in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania. He received a common school education, and has followed his trade, that of a stonemason, for twenty-five years in connection with farming. He has served his township as assessor and school director. He was married in 1854 to Martha Moyer, and to this union were born nine children: Daniel; John; George, who married Cora Pollock; Mary E., deceased; Mary I.; Edward; Anna; Benjamin, and J. Fannie.
PHILIP OPP was one of the pioneers of the West Branch valley, and was a son of Philip Opp, a native of Germany, who immigrated with his wife and five children to America at an early date. The names of these children and their births are as follows: Catherine Gower, born in 1754; John, who was born in 1755, and died at Danville, Pennsylvania, when a young man; Philip, born in 1759; Eve, born in 1760, and Mary Bogart, born in 1744. Our subject married Hannah Wilson, who was born in 1762. They came to Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, soon after their marriage, settling in the woods and clearing a farm in what is now Moreland township, but were forced by the Indians to return to Danville, whence they came. They subsequently returned to Lycoming county, where he died in 1837, and his widow in 1850; their children were as follows: John; Philip; Jacob; Mary, who married Christopher Derr, and Thomas.
JOHN OPP, eldest son of Philip Opp, Jr., was a farmer and woolen manufacturer. He was appointed captain of a Pennsylvania militia company by the Governor. He married Sarah M. Fiester, by whom he had the following children: Hannah, deceased; Mary, deceased; Sarah; Thomas J.; Phoebe J.; Philip; Susan, deceased; Simon; Priscilla; Benjamin, deceased; Elizabeth, and Charlotte. The mother died in 1856, and the father in August, 1864.
PHILIP OPP, youngest son of Philip Opp, Jr., married Hannah Smith, by whom he had seven children: Thomas; Mary; George; Hiram; Anastasia, who married Philip Smith; Selectia, who married Francis Beeber, and Milton, who was colonel of the Eighty-Fourth Pennsylvania Volunteers, and was killed in the battle of the Wilderness.
JACOB OPP, son of Philip Opp, Jr., married Susan Fiester, and to this union were born five children: Amelia; Sarah, deceased; Charlotte, who married Simpson Smith; Wilson, and Franklin, deceased. Jacob Opp died on February 8, 1865; his wife died December 3, 1831.
MARY OPP, daughter of Philip Opp, Jr., married Christopher Derr, by whom she has had ton children: Hannah, deceased; Philip; Jane; Phoebe; Thomas; Wilson; John; George; Jacob, and Frank.
THOMAS OPP, son of Philip Opp, Jr., married Jane Van Dine, and to this union were born three children: Jane, deceased; P. Wilson, and Martha.
COL. MILTON OPP was one of the gallant and fearless patriots of Lycoming county who laid down their lives in defense of the Union. He was a son of Philip and Hannah (Smith) Opp, and was born in Moreland township, Lycoming county, August 28, 1835. His boyhood years were spent upon his father’s farm, and he early displayed a love of books and a strong desire to obtain a good education. After securing such an education as the public schools of his district afforded, he attended school at Muncy, and began preparing for a collegiate course. In the winter of 1853-54 he entered Bucknell University, at Lewisburg, and his habits of study and general earnestness of purpose soon placed him among the foremost of his class. He also became a popular leader in the social sports and pastimes of the institution, and, gifted with a good voice, soon organized a Glee Club, of which he was the leader for several years. He graduated in 1858, and then entered the Poughkeepsie Law School, Poughkeepsie, New York, from which he graduated with honor in 1860. Returning to his home he was admitted to the bar of Lycoming county, and commenced the practice of his profession. His hopes and aspirations in that calling were soon afterwards laid aside, and he responded to the call to arms. He was commissioned first lieutenant of Company F, Eighty-Fourth Pennsylvania Volunteers, in October, 1861, and served with that regiment, as lieutenant, captain, major, lieutenant colonel, and colonel by successive promotion, up to the battles of the Wilderness, where he was mortally wounded May 6, 1864, while gallantly leading his command in a desperate charge against the enemy. Three days later his spirit took its flight, and a brave, high minded, and accomplished soldier and patriot had given his life as an example to the youth of his native county.
JACOB SHIPMAN was a grandson of Jacob Shipman, who came with his family from Essex county, New Jersey, and located upon the tract of 200 acres in Moreland township where Isaac Shipman, his great grandson, now resides. He was a captain in the war of 1812. John Shipman, his son, married Charlotte La Rue, by whom he had ton children: Jacob; Isaac; John; Charles; Margaret; Elizabeth; Sarah; Catharine; Levina, and Maria; they are all deceased but Sarah and Charles. Jacob Shipman, the eldest of the family, was a farmer by occupation. He married Caroline Britton, by whom he had nine children: Amos; Margaret, deceased; Charlotte, deceased; Elmira; John; Sarah A., deceased; Isaac; Mary J., and an infant, deceased. He was not a member of any church organization, but supported and helped to build many churches. He died August 12, 1888, and his wife, September 16, 1872.
ISAAC SHIPMAN, farmer, was born on the farm where he now lives, August 5, 1835, son of Jacob and Caroline (Britton) Shipman. He was educated in the common schools and taught three terms. He has followed farming the greater portion of his life. November 18, 1869, he was married to Alice Houseknecht, by whom he has had six children: Anna; Jacob; Clyde; Mary; Verus J., and an infant, deceased. Mr. Shipman is one of the leading citizens of Moreland township; he is serving his fourth term as a justice of the peace, and has been overseer of the poor for eight years. In politics he is a Democrat. He and wife are members of the Moreland Lutheran church, in which he has been deacon. He was drafted for service in the late war, but sent a substitute.
WILLIAM FARR was born near Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, February 11, 1769. He married Miss Anna Smith, of Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, who was born in 1777. Soon after their marriage they removed to Lycoming county. They were the parents of seven children: George; Effie; Abbie; Richard B.; Hannah; Sarah, and Rhoda, all deceased except Rhoda, who married Richard Taylor.
RICHARD B. FARR was a farmer by occupation, and married Rachel Farnsworth, a native of Lycoming county, Pennsylvania. He was born June 5, 1799, and his wife was born August 27, 1796; they reared a family of six children: Effie, who married George Derr; Abigail, who married Jacob Dick; Susan, who married Henry Forester; Hannah, who married Andrew Madison; Smith B.; William V., who enlisted at the beginning of the war as first lieutenant of Company F, One Hundred and Sixth Pennsylvania Volunteers. Upon the death of the captain of his company he was promoted to that position, which he filled with honor to the close of the war; he died in Indiana, May 9, 1872. Richard B. Farr and wife were leading members of the Baptist church, and died March.6, 1874, and April 6, 1876, respectively.
SMITH B. FARR, farmer, was born on the farm where, now lives, July 8, 1840, son of Richard B. and Rachel (Farnsworth) Farr. He received his education in the common schools of his neighborhood, and has devoted his life to farming. November 19, 1872, he was married to Miss Anna Warren, and to this union have been born the following children: Eri; Mary; Roy; Smith, and two infants, deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Farr are members of the Moreland Baptist church.
WILLIAM STADON and two brothers came to Pennsylvania at an early date, and located on farms in Northumberland and Columbia counties; William reared a large family; his son Curtis was born in 1785 in Columbia county, and married Keturah McHenry, by whom he had two children: Silas and Hiram. Mrs. Stadon died, and he was again married to a Miss Lundy, and to this union were born four sons: Shively; John; Harvey, and Samuel. Curtis Stadon died in 1865; Hiram, his second son, was born in 1813. He was a manufacturer of woolen goods, and built what was known as the Stadon woolen factory on Laurel run, and also one in Luzerne county, Pennsylvania. He followed the manufacture of woolen goods until 1854, when he turned his attention to farming. He was married in 1840 to Sarah A. Opp, by whom he had two children: Silas M., and John C., who died when three years old. Mr. Stadon died, February 19, 1881.
SILAS M. STADON, farmer, was born in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, March 24, 1841, son of Hiram and Sarah A. (Opp) Stadon. He received a common school education and has spent his business life on a farm. He enlisted in Company K, Forty-third Pennsylvania Militia, June 27, 1863, and was discharged August 13th of the same year. Mr. Stadon was married, February 13, 1868, to Sarah Jane Fague, of Lycoming county; to this union three sons were born: George M.; Hiram Alvin, and Clyde F. Mr. and Mrs. Stadon are members of the Baptist church.
OLIVER H. SLONAKER, farmer, was born in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, in September, 1849, son of John and Matilda (Thomas) Slonaker. His great-grandfather came from Germany and settled in Berks county, Pennsylvania, and subse-quently removed to this county; he reared a large family. One of his sons, who was the grandfather of our subject, reared a family of eight children: William, deceased; Henry; John, deceased; Rebecca; Eliza; and three whose names are unknown. John was a blacksmith by trade, which he followed for many years in connection with farming. He married Matilda Thomas, by whom he had two children: Thomas and Oliver H. Mrs. Slonaker died in 1851, and he was again married, to Leah Thomas, a sister of his first wife, by whom he also had two children. After the death of his second wife, he was married to Mary Dugan, with whom he resides in Michigan. Oliver H. was educated in the common schools, and has devoted his life to farming. In 1873, he was married to Henrietta, daughter of Jacob Poust. To this union have been born six children: Nora; Harvey, deceased; Zelia; Madge; Lloyd, and Edgar. Mr. and Mrs. Slonaker are members of the Lutheran church, and he has always taken an active interest in the principles of the Republican party.
JOHN D. SMITH was born in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, and was a son of Thomas J. Smith, and a grandson of Thomas Smith, a colonel in the Revolutionary war, who at its close settled in Lycoming county, where he was one of the pioneer surveyors. Here his son Thomas J. was born, August 11, 1808, and here he resided up to his death. It is claimed that Thomas J. Smith built the first grist mill in his locality. His children were George; John D., and Effie, all of whom are dead. John D. Smith built the present mill, known as the Smith mill, in Moreland township. He married Mary Metler, by whom he had five children: Thomas, deceased; Catharine; Margaret; Mary, deceased, and Philip M. He died December 29, 1883, and his widow September 9, 1884; they were consistent members of the Moreland Baptist church.
PHILIP M. SMITH, farmer, was born in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, May 30, 1838, and is a son of John D. and Mary (Metler) Smith. He received a common school education, and has devoted his attention to farming and lumbering. He, was married, February 17, 1863, to Anastasia L., daughter of Philip Opp. To, this union have been born seven children: Milton; Effie; Margaret; Harry; May, and two deceased. In politics Mr. Smith is a Democrat, and has filled all of the township offices. He is one of the representative citizens of the community in which he resides.
DANIEL SMITH was a son of John Smith, who came from New Jersey to Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, at an early date, and located near Milton. He reared a family of nine children, Daniel being one of the number. The latter was married in Northumberland county to Sarah Van Low, and removed to Lycoming county. He was the father of ten children: John, deceased; William; David; Peter, deceased; Catherine, deceased; Sarah; Elizabeth; Margaret, deceased; Annie, deceased, and Daniel S. Mr. Smith and wife were members of the Presbyterian church, until they came to this county, when they became Lutherans. He died in 1866, in his eighty-third year, and his wife in 1873.
DANIEL S. SMITH, farmer, was born in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, November 26, 1822, son of Daniel and Sarah (Van Low) Smith. He was educated in the common schools and has followed farming the whole of his life. He was married, May 25, 1847, to Lovina Poust, and to this union have been born nine children: Margaret, who married Thomas Smith; John, who married Lizzie Trick; L. Harvey, who married Tura Hill; William F., who married Mary Hill; Elizabeth, who married George Reese; Sarah J., who married George Kepner; Elmer, who married Annie Nonguesser; Elmira, deceased, and Walter. Mr. Smith has always taken an active interest in the Democratic party; he and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal church, of which he has been steward for twenty years.
SAMUEL E. RITTER, farmer, was born in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, July 22, 1849, a son of Zebedee and Anna (Fox) Ritter. Martin Ritter, the great-grand-father of Samuel E. Ritter, was married to Barbara Fredericks, and to this union there were born eight children: John; George; Martin; Elizabeth; Barbara; Valentine; Jacob, and Samuel. The last two named came to Lycoming county; Samuel married Christiana Starr, by whom he had five children: William, deceased; John; Zebedee; George, and Mary. Zebedee Ritter was the father of Samuel E. Ritter, and married Anna Fox, by whom he had four children: Samuel E.; Mary J., who married John 31. Snyder; John W., and Anthony, deceased. Our subject, Samuel E. Ritter, received a common school education, and has always devoted his life to farming. He was married in 1877 to Henrietta King, and to this union have been born six children: Estella E.; Owen Z.; Raymond K.; Grover C.; Brady F., and Nellie B.
ELLIS WARN, farmer, was born in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, December 2, 1842, son of John S. and Mary (Derr) Warn. Benjamin Warn, his grandfather, came from New Jersey to Lycoming county in 1819, and located on a farm in Moreland township. He was one of the prominent men of his day, and took a great interest in church matters. He was the father of the following children: Sarah; John, deceased; Alexander, deceased; Catherine, deceased; Lucinda, deceased; Benjamin, and Shipman, deceased. John S. Warn, his oldest son, was a farmer and the father of ten children: James; Margaret; Emeline; Ellis; Elmira; Charles; Sarah J., deceased; Ann; Harriet, and Bertha. He died in February, 1885, and his widow March 31, 1890. Our subject, Ellis Warn, was educated in the common schools and has always followed farming. In 1864 he enlisted in Com-pany G, Two Hundred and Third Pennsylvania Volunteers, and served until the close of the war. He was married, December 22, 1870, to Lizzie Trainer, and to this union have been born three children: Clara; Albert T., and Mary. Mr. Warn is a stanch Republican and one of the worthy citizens of the community in which he resides.
SIMON C. HARTRANFT, farmer, was born in Muncy, Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, in November, 1858, and is a son of Samuel and Amanda (Docor) Hartranft. Andrew Hartranft, the grandfather of our subject, removed from Berks county to Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, at an early day. He married a Miss Frankenberger, and to this union were born ten children: Henry, deceased; John, deceased; Jackson, deceased; William, deceased; Conrad, deceased; Samuel; George; Joseph; Elizabeth, and Mary. Samuel, the eldest living child of Andrew Hartranft, is a wagon maker by trade, which occupation he has followed the greater part of his life. He is the father of six sons and four daughters: Joseph; Clarence; Simon C.; William; Henry; Samuel; Elizabeth, who married David Black; Alice, who married Samuel Sprout; Emma, who married Bartley Horner, and Nora, who married Walter Opp, and died July, 1888. The mother of these children died in 1881. Our subject, Simon C. Hartranft, received a common school education, and has always been engaged in farming. March 6, 1885, he was married to Mattie Bitler, and to this union have been born two children: Louella G., and Susan B. Mr. Hartranft and wife are members of the Moreland Baptist church.
JOHN TRICK immigrated from Germany to America in 1832 with his family, and settled in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania. He was a shoemaker by trade and fol-lowed that occupation until b1s death. His wife, Christiana Trick, died in 1837, and he in 1845. They were the parents of eight children: John, deceased; Mary, deceased; Christiana, deceased; Jacob; Dorothy, deceased; Lizzie; Henry, and Margaret, deceased.
JACOB TRICK, farmer, was born in 1826 in Germany, son of John and Christiana Trick, and came to this county with his parents. He was educated in the common schools and learned the carpenter’s trade, which he followed forty years, but is now engaged in farming. He was married in 1848 t o Lydia A., daughter of Jacob Snyder, and to this union have been born the following children: Lizzie, who married John Smith; Henry; John; William; Sarah, who married Henry Do Walt; Emma; Philip, deceased; George; Harvey; Tommy, and Agnes, who married Harvey Harmon. Mr. Trick is an active Republican, and he and wife have been members of the Lutheran church for forty years.
ALBERT TRAINER was born in Chester county, Pennsylvania, and was a son of George Trainer, who came from Ireland to Chester county. The latter was the father of the following children: Esther; Mary; Harriet; Albert; Barnet, and George. Our subject married Mary Stitler; he followed boating twelve years before coming to Lycoming county, which was in 1852, and was a cabinet maker by trade. He was the father of ten children: George; Amanda, who married Charles Thomas, a Baptist preacher of Philadelphia; Annie, who married Albert Oliver; H. Elizabeth, who married Ellis Warn; David S.; Margaret, who married Samuel Bussler; Samaria, who married Walter McFate; Emma, who married William Dye; John, deceased, and Sallie, who married Dr. Harriman. Mr. Trainer died in September, 1888.
DAVID S. TRAINER was born in Chester county, Pennsylvania, October 9, 1846, and is a son of Albert and Mary (Stitler) Trainer. He received a common school education and has always followed farming. He was married, December 29, 1871, to Mary A. Derr, and to this union have been born four children: Elmer; Mary; Frank D., and John H. Mr. Trainer and wife are members of the Baptist church, of which he has been superintendent of the Sunday school for five years.
SOLOMON REED located in Lycoming county shortly after the "Great Runaway," and to avoid trouble with the Indians as well as to secure plenty of wild game, he concluded to push up Little Muncy creek near its head waters. Far removed from any white man’s settlement, he and his followers commenced to form a settlement in the primeval forests, which were as densely populated with wild and ferocious animals as the day when Columbus discovered the continent. To relate the toil and hardships endured, the many narrow escapes from death by swollen streams, wild beasts, severe winters, and forest fires, sounds more like over-drawn fiction now than a stern reality. Yet, suffice to say, by some means, Solomon Reed built a house and barn, cleared about 100 acres of land, planted an orchard, and reared a family of five children, three boys and two girls: William; Jacob; Frederick; Polly, and Katie. William Reed married Margaret Stine, and to this union were born nine children, three of whom are living: S. W. Reed, of Washington, Iowa; Gordon F. Reed, of Williamsport, and Lottie, who married Jacob Hartman, of Franklin town-ship. John Frederick Reed married Elizabeth Whitmire, and to this union were born eleven children, eight of whom are still living: Susan, who married William B. Smith; Julia, who married John Houseknecht; Charles Washington; Thomas; Hiram; George; John, and Michael F.
JACOB REED, son of Solomon Reed, married Ellen Dugan, and to this union were born twelve children, eight of whom are living: Jacob Wilson, who married Julia Poust, and lives in Franklin township; Samuel Perry, who was married twice, and is a merchant at Lairdsville; William Ellis, who was married three times and resides in Williamsport; Peter Mandes, who married Jerusha Buck, and now resides at Genoa, Illinois; Lewis Cass, who is unmarried and lives in Franklin township; Susan Ann, who married Robert Buck, and lives in Franklin township; Rachel Catherine, who married Henry Doane, and lives in Shrewsbury township, and John T.
THOMAS J. RAPER, physician and surgeon, was born in what is now Sullivan county, Pennsylvania, in 1825, son of John and Catherine (Huckle) Raper. His father immigrated from England to America at the age of twenty-one years, and married Catherine Huckle, whose family came from England to America in 1798, and settled in what is now Sullivan county, Pennsylvania. To this union were born two children: Mary, who died in 1890, and Thomas J. When the latter was an infant his father died; his mother survived until 1868. Dr. Raper was educated in the common schools, and at Mifflinburg, Union county, Pennsylvania, under the instruction of Prof. James McClune. After teaching school for ten years he began the study of medicine under Dr. Thomas Lyon, of Williamsport, in 1850. He spent one year at the University Medical College, of New York, and was graduated from Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, in 1853. Dr. Raper began practicing at Lairdsville, this county, and has since devoted his entire attention to his profession. He was married in December, 1853, to Catherine B. Hawley, by whom he has five children: Fannie, widow of Dr. George W. Crawford; Thomas W., who married Mary Vroman; Charles B., who died at the age of twenty-two years; Hary who married Sallie Lyon, and Thomas L., deceased. Mrs. Raper died, March 26, 1891. Dr. Raper has always taken a deep interest in political matters, and has been the Republican committeeman at Lairdsville for fourteen years. He is the present post master at that town.
GEORGE RITTER located on the present site of Turbutville, Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, at an early day. He was the father of seven children: Elizabeth; Martin; George; Valentine; Samuel; Jacob, and one daughter, name unknown. Samuel, a stonemason by trade, came to Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, where he remained until his death. He was the father of five children: William; John; Zebedee; George, and Mary J. William, eldest son of Samuel Ritter, married Lydia Renn, by whom he had eleven children: Thomas J.; Zebedee J.; Jacob B., deceased; William H., deceased; George W., deceased; Samuel P., deceased; Franklin P., deceased; Rhoda A., deceased; John A.; Christiann, and Jeremiah D. For fifteen years he was justice of the peace in Franklin township. John A. was married in 1879 to Miss Mary A. Minier, and to this union were born two children: Jacob H., and J. Brady. Zebedee J. married Jemella Houseknecht, and to this union the following children have been born: Stella G.; William E.; Ernest W., and Christiana, who married H. H. Minier, and has four children: John H.; Fannie H.; Mary J., and Loda B. Jeremiah D. Ritter married Emeline Hill, and of this union six children have been born: Bessie E.; Nora A., deceased; William C., deceased; George M., deceased; Mattie, deceased, and Pearl.
THOMAS J. RITTER, farmer, was born in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, July 25, 1845, son of William and Lydia (Renn) Ritter. He was educated in the com-mon schools and has devoted his life principally to farming and lumbering, and operates a mill at Lairdsville. In January, 1871, he was married to Miss Almira Magargle, and to this union have been born four children: Mary E.; Anna D.; William R., and Thomas J. Mr. Ritter is a member of the I. O. O. F., a Democrat in politics, and has hold minor township offices. He is a member of the Methodist church and trustee in the organization with which he is connected.
GEORGE W. PHILIPS, son of Abia Philips, located in Sullivan county, Pennsylvania, about the year 1841, where he has since devoted his time to farming. Abia Philips was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, May 20, 1780, and located in Columbia county, Pennsylvania, at an early day. His first wife was Ann Guest, by whom he had three sons and three daughters: George W.; Hannah; Martha; Miriam; David, if and Henry Guest. His second wife was Leah Bodine, by whom he had one child, Nancy. His third wife was Rebecca Rote, who bore him six children: Margaret; Sarah; Abia Franklin; Clark; Leah, and Robert. He died November 30, 1856. George W. married Rhoda A. Reese, by whom he had fifteen children: Joseph R., of Danville, Pennsylvania; Abias, of Wilkesbarre; George W., of Penn township; Robert, who died in Missouri; William J., who was killed in a mill at Milton; John, deceased; Henry G., who enlisted in the Twenty-fourth Pennsylvania Cavalry, and was killed at the battle of Five Forks, Virginia; James W., of Sullivan county; Catherine, who married Robert Potter, of Bloomsburg; Margaret, who married H. C. Little, of Picture Rocks; Martha, who married A. W. Ritter, of Hughesville; Alice, who married Bert Swisher; the other three died in infancy.
DAVID C. PHILIPS, farmer, was born in Columbia county, Pennsylvania, October 22, 18,99, son of George W. and Rhoda A Phillips. He received a common school education and learned the carpenter’s trade, which he followed for several years. July 11, 1861, he enlisted in Company H, Fifth Pennsylvania Reserves, and was discharged June 14, 1864, but entered the quartermaster’s department at Washington, and was sent to Point Lookout, Maryland, and remained there in active service until honorably discharged at Washington, February 19, 1866. After returning from the war he resumed his trade for three years and then purchased the farm upon which he now lives. He is also engaged in the manufacture of lumber. He was married, September 17, 1868, to Miss Eurena Starr, by whom he had five children: Harry G.; Thomas A.; William; George W., and one who died in infancy. Mrs. Philips died, November 17, 1875. Mr. Philips is a stanch Republican, and has filled several minor local offices, and is the present township collector. He is a member of Col. John B. Musser Post, G. A. R., of Muncy, also of Lairdsville Lodge, No. 986, I. O. O. F., and the Patrons of Husbandry. He is an enterprising and progressive man, and one of the representative citizens of Franklin township.
JAMES FARNSWORTH, son of Isaac and Mary (Wilkinson) Farnsworth, was born in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, in 1814. He was a wagon maker by trade, but followed farming the latter part of his life. He married Margaret Brewer, who was born in Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, in 1812, by whom he became the father of eight children: Susan, who married Richard W. Lyons; Sadie, who married William Tilley; Melinda; Elizabeth, who married Milton Runyan; Julia A., who married Francis Runyan; Samuel; Catherine, and R. Bartley. Mr. Farnsworth died in 1867, and his widow in 1887. They are consistent members of the Moreland Baptist church.
R. BARTLEY FARNSWORTH, farmer, was born in Franklin township, Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, son of James and Margaret (Brewer) Farnsworth. He received a common school education, and has devoted his life to farming. He was married in October, 1880, to Miss Alice Runyan, and of this union have been born four children: Zana B., William J.; Ina E., and A. Brewer, deceased.
JOHN LOWE was a native of New Jersey. He had four sisters. One married Samuel C. Price, who was four years a judge, and lived and died in New Jersey; another married a Mr. House, who also died in New Jersey; the third married a Mr. Hopkins, a minister, with whom she removed to Canada; the fourth married Michael Paugh, and moved to Lycoming county, Pennsylvania. John Lowe had one son, Henry, by his first wife, and by his second wife, Elizabeth Dudder, four sons and three daughters were born. The sons were: Philip; Thomas, who was a min-ister, and reared a large family, all of whom became members of the Methodist Episcopal church; John, who died at the age of nineteen years, and Isaac, who married a Miss Miller, settled in Columbia county, and reared eight children.
PHILIP LOWE, son of John and Elizabeth Lowe, was twice married. His first wife was a Miss Fague, by whom he had four sons and four daughters: Thomas: John; Charles; Philip; Catherine; Mary; Somilla, and Hannah. His second wife was Mrs. Mary Tanner, by whom he had two sons: Isaac and Henry.
THOMAS LOWE, eldest son of Philip Lowe, was a farmer and lumberman. He married Elizabeth Buck, and to this union were born four children: Catherine; Mary S., deceased; Robert, and Charles. Mrs. Lowe died in 1850, and Mr. Lowe was again married, to Anna Phillips, by whom he reared twelve children: George; Franklin, deceased; Maggie; Alice, deceased; Alfred; Jane, deceased; Leah; Galena; Clark; Dennis; Anna, and Ernest. Mr. Lowe died in 1888, at the age of eighty-two years.
CHARLES LOWE, farmer, was born in Franklin township, Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, February 17, 1846, son or Thomas and Elizabeth (Buck) Lowe. He received a common school education and has devoted his life to farming. He enlisted in Company I, One Hundred and Ninety-ninth Pennsylvania Volunteers, in 1864, and served until the close of the war. He has served in most of the township offices. October 12, 1867, he was married to Catherine Poust, and to this union four children survive: Mary, who is the stenographer for the Bloomsburg School Furniture Manufacturing Company; Florence; George, and Anna. The deceased are Franklin; Jane, and Alice.
ANDREW CROUSE, a native of Baden, Germany, came to America at an early date. He was a tobacconist by trade, which he followed in Philadelphia for some time, and afterward continued the same business at Harrisburg. He then bought 400 acres of land in Columbia county, Pennsylvania, in 1793, upon which he settled and remained until his death. He was a composer of and taught music, and owned the first piano that was ever brought to Columbia county. He married Susan Giger, of Harrisburg, and to this union were born four children: Andrew; Charles; Phenice, deceased, and Sarah, deceased. Mrs. Crouse died, and .Mr. Crouse afterward had eight children born to him by Caroline Weidel: Phoebe, deceased; Maria, deceased; Caroline; Louisa; Philip; John; Hiram, who was murdered and burned in his store at Lairdsville, and Nelson, who lives in Columbia county, Pennsylvania. Andrew Crouse died in 1835. His sons, Philip and John, were born, the former March 9, 1814, and the latter in October, 1816, in Columbia county, Pennsylvania. Philip removed to Lycoming county in 1851, and his brothers, John and Hiram, came soon after. They have since been dealing in lumber and farming.
JACOB HOUSEKNECHT was born in 1799, son of John Houseknecht, one of the earliest settlers of Lycoming county, He reared a family of five sons and five daughters: John; Daniel; Benjamin; Christian; Jacob; Hannah; Betsey; the other three are unknown. Jacob was married to Susan Sones, daughter of Peter Sones, a Revolutionary soldier. To this union were born eleven children: John; Peter, deceased; Betsy, deceased; Jacob; Julia A., who married Adam Renn; Isacher; Charles, who enlisted in the army and was killed by the bursting of a shell at Petersburg; Benjamin, who also enlisted in the army and was wounded at Fredericksburg; Mary, who married William Johnson; Phoebe, who married Thomas McGorden, and Daniel. Mr. Houseknecht died September 1, 1885.
JOHN HOUSEKNECHT, retired farmer, was born in Penn township, Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, May 16, 1821, son of Jacob and Susan (Sones) Houseknecht. He received a common school education, and was married to Jane Bartlow, by whom he has had the following children: Charles N.; Susan; Ira; Peter; Hiram; Albert; Phineas; Nancy; Marietta; Harry, and Edward, Mrs. Houseknecht died, April 16, 1872, and he was again married, to Julia Arthur, the widow of William Arthur. He and wife are members of the Lutheran church.
WILLIAM LORE came from Northampton county, Pennsylvania, to Lycoming county in 1816 and settled upon a farm. He was married to Miss E. Barbara Reed, and to them were born seven children: John, deceased; Catherine; George P., deceased; Elizabeth, deceased; Lydia; Mary, deceased, and William, deceased. Mr. Lore died in 1850, preceded by his wife two years. John, his eldest son, was married to Mary A. Wilson, by whom he had four sons and two daughters: George P.; Mary J.; William J.; Benjamin; Sarah, and Thomas, deceased. John Lore died in 1846, and his widow in 1857.
WILLIAM J. LORE, farmer, was born April 9, 1837, son of John and Mary (Wilson) Lore. He received a common school education, and has devoted his life principally to farming. September 1, 1862, he enlisted in Company I, Eighteenth Pennsylvania Cavalry, and was mustered out of service September 24, 1865. He took an active part in forty-five engagements; was taken prisoner at Cedar Creek, Virginia, and confined in Libby prison, Salisbury prison, and a hospital, in all a term of seven months. Upon his return from the army he resumed farming, which he has since continued, and resides upon the farm whereon his father settled. In 1867, he was elected a justice of the peace, re-elected four times, and has thus served a term of twenty-five years; in 1892 he was again re-elected. He was married, January 12, 1860, to Miss Susan Stackhouse, and to them have been born six children: Thomas W.; Hannah E., who married J. W. Budman; Jacob C.; Judson M.; Sarah M. and Anna M. Mr. and Mrs. Lore are members of the Lutheran church. He is a Democrat in politics, and a member of Lieutenant Bryan Post, G. A. R.
ENOCH FOX was born near Danville, Montour county, Pennsylvania. He was a shoemaker by trade, which he followed for several years in connection with farming. In 1832 he was employed by William Boyd as a coal operator near Girardville, Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania. In 1841 he came to Columbia county, locating near Unityville, near the Lycoming line, and thereafter was a farmer. He served in several township offices, and was an active and enthusiastic Democrat. His family consisted of four children.
JOHN J. FOX, retired farmer and hotel keeper, was born in Montour county, Pennsylvania, April 20, 1828, son of Enoch and Christiana (Sethler) Fox. He received a common school education, at the Danville schools, and began his business life at farming and lumbering, which he followed for twenty-five years. He then went into the mercantile business, and after two years he sold out and went into the hotel business. He has filled most of the township offices. February 27, 1848, he was married to Miss Mary Forsyth, and to this union were born two children: Christiana, who married John M. McClintock, and Amanda, who is the widow of Albert P. Gordner. Mrs. Fox died, September 25, 1886, and Mr. Fox was again married, September 28, 1887, to Mrs. Margaret E. Kitzmiller, of Williamsport. Mr. Fox was one of the charter members of the L O. O. F. of Unityville, and donated a lot upon which the building was erected for that organization. He is a member of the Evangelical Association, was the principal builder of the present church edifice, and gave part of the land for the graveyard. He is a director of the Moreland Fire Insurance Company, of Lairdsville.