The Cannon County, Tennessee Genealogy Project


~  About This Website ~ Contact ~  FAQ ~ Home ~

When did Cannon County become a county? And from what counties?
It became a county on January 31, 1836 and was formed from portions of Rutherford, Smith, and Warren Counties.
Where is the county seat of Cannon County?
The county seat is Woodbury, Tennessee.
For whom was Cannon County named?
Cannon County is named in honor of Newton Cannon, then Governor of Tennessee. It was to be named Marshall, in honor of John Marshall, Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court. But before the act was passed, the name Marshall was marked out and Cannon added..

Return to Cannon County Project Homepage

Copyright 1994 - 2007 by William Spurlock
All rights reserved.

The Cannon County, Tennessee Genealogy Project makes no claims or estimates of the validity of the information submitted and reminds you that each new piece of information found should not be taken at face value, but should be researched and proved or disproved by weight of evidence. Among the items you will find are copies of copyright-expired texts pertaining to the history of Cannon County, Tennessee. These must be considered in the era that they were written. You are welcome to copy information found at the Cannon County, Tennessee Genealogy Website for personal use and share information with other researchers or genealogical organizations, but this information may not under any conditions be sold or used in a commercial project without expressed prior written permission.

The information presented in this web page is covered by United States and International Copyright. Don't take it and publish it as your own. This site may be freely linked to but not duplicated in any fashion without written consent.