Obit: Brooks, Erwin F. (1851 - 1929)

Contact: Stan


----Source: NEILLSVILLE PRESS (Neillsville, Clark County, Wis.) 01/10/1929

Brooks, Erwin F. (11 DEC 1851 - 4 JAN 1929)

Erwin F. Brooks of the town of Lynn, Clark County, Wis., passed away at the hospital in Marshfield on Friday, Jan. 4, 1929, after a few days illness.

Mr. Brooks was the last of the older Brooks brothers who settled at Lynn in early days. He was born at Elyria, Ohio, Dec. 11, 1851, being the son of Bartemus and Elizabeth Brooks.

The family came to Sparta, Wis. in 1860, and to Lynn, Clark County in 1861, the parents settling on the farm which has been Erwin Brook's home ever since. Here he grew to manhood. On Dec. 25, 1882 he was married to Miss Minnie S. McIntire. A fine farm was developed out of the wilderness, Mr. Brooks engaging quite extensively in logging also for many years. Mr. Brooks took an active part in public affairs during all of his early and middle life and had a wide acquaintance. He was known as a man of integrity and honor, candid in his opinions, a clean and upright citizen.

Mrs. Brooks died March 12, 1907. One child died in infancy. The surviving children are Elsie, Mrs. Ernest Montag of Chili; Mabel, Mrs. R. C. Norman of Seattle, Wash.; Ray E. of Spiceland, Indiana, and Clark A. of the town of Lynn. His brothers, Alonzo, Alva, William George and Dan preceded him in death. One sister, Electa Brooks is living.

Funeral services were held Tuesday, Jan. 8 at the Union Church in Granton, Rev. Wilson Mallory officiating. Burial took place in Lynn Cemetery. The pallbearers were Ferdinand Helm, Edward Ott, Wm. Wagner, Fred Ross, Oscar Johnson and Fred Capelle.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel