Obit: Leino, Alma (1884 - 1949)

Contact:  Janet Rogalski


----Source: Stark Family Album

Leino, Alma (24 NOV 1884 - 19 JUN 1949)

Mrs. Alma Leino, Withee, Clark County, Wis., was put in her final resting place in Riverside Cemetery, Wednesday, June 22, 1949, as funeral services were conducted at two o'clock in the afternoon from the Griebenow Funeral Home, with the Rev. V. A. Puotinen, pastor of Bethany Lutheran Church, Owen, officiating.

Pallbearers at the service were: Frank Karye, Gus Salo, George Poppe, George Vollrath, Art Laine and Henry Cass.

Flower girls were: Mesdames Martin Paulson, Bernard Auberg, Roy Auberg, Harry Thorson, Martin Keskimaki, Mike Krach, Al Prock, Tom Jablonic, Bud Roller and Cecil Tormey.

Alma Mary (Parkkonen) Leino was born in Karstula, Vansalandi, Finland, Nov. 24, 1884, passed away at St. Joseph's Hospital, Marshfield, on June 19, 1949, at the age of 64 years, 6 months and 25 days, following a lingering illness. Surviving are Hjalmer Leino, her husband, Withee, two daughters, Mrs. Clarence (Gertrude) Pyatt, Owen, and Mrs. William (Tyrene) Veurink, Withee; 4 granddaughters, 1 great-granddaughter; 2 sisters, Mrs. Henry Isaacson, Eveleth, Minn., Mrs. Wm. Kempkes, Denver, Col.; one brother, Arthur Schalin, Nashwauk, Minn., and several nieces and nephews.

The deceased came to America in 1903 and settled in Virginia, Minn., where she was married Oct. 2, 1905, to Hjalmer Leino, making their home there until 1914, at which time they moved to Withee., Wis., where they engaged in farming for the past 33 years. They have since 1947 resided in the Village of Withee.

During the many years of their association in this community they have made a host of friends who regret the loss of her friendly and sincere companionship.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel