Obit: Sebold, Sister Theodine "Amanda" (1901 - 1989)

Contact: Crystal Wendt

Surnames: Sebold, Finucan, Berger, Kramer

----Sources: Marshfield News Herald (Marshfield, Wood County, Wis.) Monday, 15 May 1989; Page 6

Sebold, Sister Theodine "Amanda" (3 Nov. 1901 - May 1989)

La Crosse - Service for Sister Theodine Sebold, 87, a former Dorchester resident and sister of Herman Sebold of Marshfield were Friday in Mary of the Angelis Chapel, St. Rose Convent, La Crosse. She was a Franciscan Sister of Perpetual Adoration and died Tuesday at Vila St. Joseph, La Crosse.

The Revs. Thomas Finucan and Larry Berger officiated. Burial was in the Catholic Cemetery, La Crosse.

The Schumacher-Kish Funeral Home, La Crosse, handled arrangements.

The former Amanda Sebold was born Nov. 3, 1091, in Dorchester, to Wolfgang and Anna Sebold. She entered St. Rose Convent, La Crosse July 6, 1917.

She was an elementary, secondary and collegiate level teacher in Iowa, Washington, and Wisconsin for 59 years. She received her doctorate in education from the Catholic University of America in 1946 and was missioned to Viterbo College, where she began 35 years of service to the college community. She taught in the education department and held a number of administrative positions, including president and academic dean, head of the education department, and alumni director. She was also the author of the book, "Viterbo College: Continuity and Change."

She was a member of the Eastern Region and was in the 68th year of her religious profession.

Besides her brother, Herman, she is survived by one sister, Helen Kramer of Dorchester, and one other brother, Louis of Dorchester, Wis.

Memorials may be given to Franciscan Sisters of Perpetual Adoration, 912 Market St., La Crosse.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel