School: Neillsville HS Class of 1925 #3 (Halfway Reunion -1975)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Lukes, Urban, Stoffel, Woelffer. Covell, Garbusch, Durst, Linster, Schieholz, Mills, Morse, Ruchaber, Imislund, Hoesly, Mattson, Wall

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 5/29/1975

NHS Class of 1925 (Halfway Reunion - 1975)

The class that graduated mid-way in the 100-year history of Neillsville High School held a reunion here Sunday and, contrary to what the poet said, the ‘twain did meet.

On one hand were 26 members of the class of 1925; on the other, Gary Lukes and Brenda Lee Urban, valedictorian and salutatorian, respectively, of the most recent graduating class of Neillsville High School.

The former gathered from many part s of the nation, coming from the east coast (Clayton Stoffel of Glen Burnie, Md., and Marie Woelffer Covell of new York state) to the west coast (“Elva Garbusch Durst of Ontario, Ca., and Vivian Linster Schieholz of Portland, Or.)

Reminiscences were a dime a dozen as classmates gathered for a happiness hour at Bali Hai Supper Club just preceding their dinner. And, in the formal affair, one of the things that stood out w as the reminiscence of the two doors of the old high school. One was for girls, the other for boys. That rule stuck throughout the time the “old” high school was in use. It was not until the present high school was placed in service in September of 1955 (Corrected the 1965 to 1955, as I was a student there at that time entering my sophomore year) that a common doorway for boys and girls, alike, was established.

Calvin Mills, former County Clerk and former superintendent of the County Hospital at Owen , was master of ceremonies. He called on individuals, introduced the visitors and handled other such amenities.

Gathered with the group were two who had been their teachers: Mrs. Olivia (Morse) Ruchaber of Neillsville and Clarence Imislund of Eau Claire.

A history of the schools of Neillsville was researched and presented by Mr. and Mrs. Jacob H. Hoesly, members of the committee which included Mr. and Mrs. John Mattson as chairmen; Mr. and Mrs. Mills; and Mr. and Mrs. Fred Wall.




© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel