Obit: Brooks, Eva #2 (1854 - 1943)

Contact: Crystal Wendt

Surnames: Brooks, Hartson, Hodges, Johnson, Walz

----Sources: The Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark County, Wis.) 18 March 1943

Brooks, Eva (7 Dec. 1854 - 1943)

Mrs. Eva Hartson Brooks, 88, a resident of western South Dakota for the past 32 years, died at the home of her daughter, Mrs. L. C. Hodges, 27 St. Joe Street, Rapid City, S. D, last week Tuesday morning after a short illness.

Mrs. Brooks was born at Elkhorn, Wis., Dec. 7, 1854. She was married to George R. Brooks, the couple celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary two years before Mr. Brooks’ death in 1935. Mr. and Mrs. Brooks lived in the township of Lynn for many years. In 1903 and 1904, Mr. Brooks held the office of sheriff of Clark County, later serving a second term.

More than forty years ago, they went west, settling near Morristown where they lived until Mr. Brooks passed away. Since then Mrs. Brooks had made her home with her daughter in Rapid City.

Surviving are Mrs. Hodges, a son, Earl A. Brooks, Kootenai, Idaho, and an adopted son, C. R. Brooks, Greenville, Ohio, another daughter, Mrs. William G. Johnson, died in 1929.

The Rapid City Daily Journal says of the departed; "Even during her late years, Mrs. Brooks took an interest in national and international affairs, reading newspapers and magazines with unusual thoroughness. She was noted for her cheerfulness and church work during even her advanced years. She could recall from childhood, Civil War episodes, the death of Lincoln and other events."

Funeral services were held at Rapid City last Thursday, the Rev. Walz officiating. Burial was made in the Mountain View Cemetery there.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel