News: Curtiss, Wis. (18 Dec. 1947)

Contact: Stan  

Surnames: Rued, Lakken, Geary, Laabs, Schultz, Kraut, Thompson, Matthias, Pudlas, Mowery, Voigtlander, Peterson, Lulloff, Hanson, Fahrenbach, Goetsch

----Source: Colby Phonograph (Colby, Clark County, Wis.) 12/18/1947

Ciutiss, Wis. - Dec. 18, 1947

At the annual meeting and Xmas party of the Ev. Lutheran Ladies’ Aid held at the parish hall Thursday, Dec. 11, the following officers were elected: President, Miss Agnes Rued; vice president, Mrs. John Lakken; secretary, Mrs. Willard Geary; and treasurer, Mrs. Harry Laabs.

A daughter was born to Mr. and Mrs. Clarence Schultz at St. Joseph’s hospital at Marshfield on Dec. 8th.

The Merry Go Round club enjoyed a Christmas party at the home of Mrs. Ida Kraut on Thursday, Dec. 11th.

Miss Thea Thompson, a teacher in the Beloit city schools who has been a patient at the Wisconsin General Hospital at Madison the past month, arrived here at the home of her sister and brother in law, Mr. and Mrs. Frank Matthias, on Sunday.

The Helping Hand Society will hold their annual meeting and Xmas party at the home of Mrs. Fred Pudlas on Friday afternoon, Dec. 19th.

The Curtiss Public School will present their Christmas program at the village hall on Friday evening, December 19th.

The Evangelical and Reformed church will have their Christmas program at the church on Tuesday evening, Dec. 23rd.

The children of the Tuesday Bible School will give their Christmas program on Sunday evening, Dec. 21, at the parish hall.

Miss Alma Thompson will leave on Saturday for Milwaukee to spend her vacation with her sisters, the Misses Minnie and Esther Thompson.

Students expected home this week-end to spend the Christmas holidays are Miss Mildred Thompson, James Mowery and Henry Voightlander, from the University of Wisconsin, Miss Kathryn Peterson from Central State Teachers College of Stevens Point, and Miss Betty Kraut and Darleen Lulloff from Medford County Normal.

E. M. Peterson was a business visitor at Neillsville on Thursday.

Teachers coming from their schools for the holidays are Miss Anne B. Hanson, Wausau; Miss Mary Thompson, Neenah; Miss Alma Thompson, Boyd; Miss Evelyn Fahrenbach of Thorp, and Harold Goetsch, Blair.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel