BioM: Johnson, Eileen M. #2 (1954)

Contact: Stan



Surnames: Calkins, Johnson, Keinholz, Sawford, Bawning


----Source: THORP COURIER (Thorp, Clark County, Wis.) 05/13/1954


Johnson, Eileen M. #2 (8 MAY 1954)


Eileen Marie Johnson, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Fred L. Johnson of Withee (Clark Co., Wis.), became the bride of Richard B. Calkins, son of Mr. and Mrs. W. B. Calkins of Eau Claire, in a ceremony performed by Rev. W. Clayton Nielsen at Nazareth Lutheran Church at Withee at 2:00 o’clock Saturday afternoon, May 8th, 1954 in the presence of numerous relatives and friends.


The bride was given in marriage by her father.  She was attired in an ivory satin gown of Chantilly lace with lace yoke and fitted bodice.  She wore long sleeves and a full skirt with appliqués of lace and lace overskirt with a full sweeping train.  Her imported silk illusion fingertip veil fell from a crown of seed pearls and brilliants.  Her wedding bouquet was of white roses and she carried a white Bible and ivory silver handkerchief which had belonged to her great-grandmother.


The matron of honor, Audrey Johnson of La Cross was dressed in Adrian blue and her bridesmaids, Nancy C. Calkins of Eau Claire, the groom’s sister, and Audrey Keinholz of Chicago, wore pink strapless gowns, with tucked lace bodice  and lace jackets.  They carried pink roses on fans to match the dresses.


Fred E. Johnson, the bride’s brother, served as best man, and Richard C. Sawford of Mayville and Peter C. Bawning of St. Paul were ushers.


The wedding reception as held at Nazareth parish Hall.


Out of town guests for the occasion were present from La Crosse, Green Bay, Owen, Chippewa Falls, Thorp, Eau Claire, Loyal, Marshfield, Colby, St. Paul, Red Wing and White Bear, Minn., and Chicago.




© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel