News: Thorp, Wis. - Thorp Finance (1955)

Contact: Dolores Mohr Kenyon


Surnames: Conway, Hayssen, Kamradt, Kostner, Guell, Hammitt, Gruszynski, Broeren, Hirsch, Armbrust 

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI.) July 21, 1955 

Thorp, Wisconsin Finance (1955) 

The Thorp Finance Corporation has purchased control of the Northwestern Acceptance Company and its subsidiary, the Northwestern Loan Company, with four offices in Milwaukee and one in Oconomowoc. 

The purchase price of the two companies, which will be operated under the name of Thorp Finance Corporation of Milwaukee, was not disclosed. The Northwestern firms’ assets reportedly totaled $2 ½ million. 

The acquisition marks the first time that Thorp Finance has had operations in Milwaukee itself.  The purchase gives Thorp Finance a total of 46 offices throughout Wisconsin. 

Francis J. Conway, Thorp president, also will act as head of the new Thorp finance Corporation of Milwaukee.  Goeres Hayssen, formerly president of the two Northwestern companies, will be vice president and a director of Thorp Finance, and Lyle Kamradt, formerly Northwestern vice president, will continue as a Thorp supervisor and director.  Other officers of Thorp Finance Corporation of Milwaukee are: Emil E. Kostner, Corwin C. Guell, Glenn D. Hammitt and Clara Gruszynski, vice presidents; Jean C. Broeren, secretary; Mark J. Hirsch, treasurer, and Walter Armbrust, assistant treasurer. 

Northwestern’s present personnel will remain unchanged and the firms’ activities will continue "substantially along the same lines," but on a larger scope because of the increased capital brought about by the purchase by Thorp, Hayssen said. 



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel