School: Neillsville, Wis. Athletic Banquet (1958)


Contact: Dolores Mohr Kenyon


Surnames: Lamphear, Hauge, Van Gorden, Ylvisaker, Schoengarth, Lauscher, Allen Crissinger, Giese, Drescher, Thomsen 

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI.) April 17, 1958 

Neillsville, Wisconsin Athletic Banquet (1958) 

George Lamphear, widely known assistant football coach of the University of Wisconsin, will be the principal speaker at the annual Athletic banquet in the high school gymnasium Saturday evening. 

Former freshman coach, Lamphear is the father of one of last year’s stand-out gridders on the university squad.  With the spring training season under way, he is expected to assess the prospects for the Badgers in the fall Big 10 season. 

With five outstanding prospects from last year’s freshman squad, observers have tagged the Wisconsin squad as vastly improved. 

Lamphear also is bringing a motion picture showing highlights of last year’s Big 10 football season, and will give commentary on that. 

Locally, one of the highlights of the fourth annual banquet honoring high school athletes will be the naming of the "Athlete of the Year."  The selection of the outstanding senior already has been made by a committee of the Chamber of Commerce, which sponsors the affair each year. They are aided in their selection by teachers of the high school. 

Selection of the winner is based on 10 basic points encompassing character, effort, citizenship and others, as well as athletic prowess.  On that basis every student who has tried his hand at some sport conceivably could be selected for the honor. 

Announcement of the "Athlete of the Year" and the presentation of the trophy will be made by James Hauge, president of the sponsoring group.  The trophy is kept in the trophy case in the high school, with the winners’ names engraved on it.  A gold medal is given to the youth as a permanent award. 

The dinner will start at 7:15 p.m., and the affair is expected to conclude promptly at 9:15 p.m. 

Co-chairman of the general committee in charge is Richard H. Van Gorden, and Joseph Ylvisaker. Arrangements for the program were made by Judge Lowell D. Schoengarth and Prin. Ivan Lauscher of the high school.  The awards committee is composed of Willard H. Allen, B. H. Crissinger and H. O. Giese. The banquet committee includes Mr. Hauge, Arthur Drescher and Henry Thomsen. 



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel