School: Clark County, Wis. - Special School (Picnic - 1958)


Contact: Dolores Mohr Kenyon


Surnames: Samuelson, Gallagher, Haavisto, Malinowski, Severance, Marks, Morley 

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI.) June 12, 1958 

Special School (Picnic - 8 June 1958) 

With 40 people in attendance at a picnic at Greenwood Sunday, the Special school program was concluded for the 1957-1958 season, completing the second year for the project in Clark County. 

Mrs. Joyce Samuelson, Thorp, who supervised the class for Northern Clark County at Owen, and Mrs. Pauline Gallagher, instructor at Neillsville, will return in the fall. 

Of 13 special students in the Owen school, Delbert Haavisto Owen and Andrew Malinowski of Thorp, received diplomas.  At Neillsville, where 16 were enrolled, Anita Severance received her diploma, and Richard Marks received recognition for 100 percent attendance. 

Students enrolled are from eight to 18 years of age. 

Mrs. Gallagher plans to attend summer school at Central State College, Stevens Point, and Mrs. Samuelson will attend summer school at Eau Claire. 

The two classes during the past school year turned out some exceptional handiwork and handicraft; including projects in wood work, papier-mâché, textile painting, creative art, basket weaving, plaster Paris molding of fruits and flowers. 

Leonard Morely, Clark County superintendent, displayed the handicraft at Colby and Gilman last week, and plans to set up a display at the county fair.  "The work is excellent in character," said Mr. Morley, "and would be considered exceptional for any youth group." 



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel