BioM: Rayburn, Barbara Jean (1964)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon



Surnames: Rayburn, Rugg, Alsteen, Slone, Doering, Riley


----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI.) January 16, 1964


Rayburn, Barbara Jean (Marriage - 4 January 1964)


Miss Barbara Jean Rayburn, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Fred Rayburn of Rt. 3, Neillsville, was given in marriage by her father, to George Richard Rugg, Norway, Mich., during a ceremony January 4, at the Loyal Methodist Church. The Rev. Paul Doering officiated. The bride’s grandfather, the Rev. A. C. Riley, offered a closing prayer.  Mr. Rugg is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Edward Alsteen of Norway, Mich.


The bride’s floor-length dress was made of frosted lace over taffeta. The scalloped neckline was highlighted with sequins. The bridal veil was attached to a crown and the bride’s bouquet was of yellow roses.


Kathleen Anne Rayburn, sister of the bride, served as maid-of-honor. She wore a yellow street-length gown and carried a bouquet of yellow and white chrysanthemums.


Attending the groom was his brother, Edward Alsteen of Norway, Mich.  Fred Rayburn, Jr., of Evanston, Ill., and Daniel Rayburn of Rt. 2 Neillsville, were the ushers.


Mrs. Grant Slone was the organist and Kathleen Slone was the soloist.


Following the wedding a reception was held in the church basement.


The bride, a 1962 graduate of Neillsville High School, is employed in Evanston, Ill. The groom is with the Navy and is presently stationed at Great Lakes, Ill.  They will reside at 332 Custer St. Evanston, Ill.


Guests attending the wedding came from Norway, Mich.; Evanston, Ill.; Wilmette, Ill.; Chicago, Ill.; and the following Wisconsin cities: Lodi, Wisconsin Rapids, Willard, Loyal, Unity and Neillsville.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel