News: Kurth (5 Dec 1961)



Surnames: Hughes, Gerhardt, Dietrich, Garbish, Short


----Source: OWEN ENTERPRISE (Owen, Clark County, Wis.) 12/14/1961


At a public hearing on the evening of Dec. 5th, 1961 at the Kurth School in the Town of Grant, the Clark County School Committee dissolved the school district.  The eastern edge of the district will be attached to the Granton School District and the greater share of the area will be attached to the Neillsville School District.  This hearing was the result of a meeting held earlier in the fall at which time the people of the district had indicated their wishes as to where they wanted to go.  A committee was then formed who worked out the details of the petition.  The committee consisted of Calvin Gerhardt, D.W. Hughes, R.J. Dietrich, Fredrick Garbisch and Marjorie Short.  Because of their careful planning the hearing was very short, with no opposition whatsoever.  This was the last area to be attached in the southeastern are of Neillsville.


The effective date will be July 1, 1962.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel