Obit: Roytek, John (1954? - 1964)


Surnames: Ackerman, Roytek, Laabs, Slais

----Source: THORP COURIER (Thorp, Clark County, Wis.) 03/19/1964

Roytek, John (1954? - 15 MAR 1964)

A young boy and his grandmother were killed and six other persons hospitalized as the result of a two-car accident at 5:15 p.m. Sunday. The crash bring to eight the number of persons killed in Clark County traffic in 1964.

Dead are Mrs. Lillian Ackerman, 58, and John Roytek, 9, both of Rt. 1, Curtiss (Clark Co., Wis.). He was the son of Mr. and Mrs. Barney Roytek and was dead on arrival at St. Joseph's Hospital in Marshfield. His grandmother died at the accident scene very shortly after the collision, according to Clark County Coroner Rober Lulloff, Neillsville.

Listed in critical condition in the Marshfield Hospital are Diane Roytek, 8, and Jo Ann Laabs, 16, Owen, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Albert Laabs.

Also hospitalized are Joseph Ackerman, 62, Rt. 1, Curtiss; Mrs. donna Roytek, 27, Dawn Roytek, 2, and John Slais, 22, of Medford.

Authorities said the crash took place midway between Owen and Abbotsford, about one mile south of Curtiss at the intersection of CTH E and Hwy. 29.

Ackerman was driving east on Hwa. 29, he told investigators, when suddenly the Slais car, headed south on CTH E. loomed in front of him. There were no skid marks found at the scene. The Ackerman car, which also carried the Royteks, was thrown on its topin a roadside ditch with several of the occupants being thrown out.

The car Slais was driving went about 200 feet throug a fence into a field, where it remained upright.

The road was reported as being level and dry at the intersection. Miss Laabs was a passenger in the Slais car. Her home is located south of the accident scene.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel