News: Marshfield News Items (9 Dec 1898)
Contact: Ken Wood

----Source: Marshfield News Thursday 9 Dec. 1898 P. 5 C 2


Marshfield News Items (9 Dec 1898)

New Lodge Officers

The knights of Pythias held their annual meeting on Thursday evening. The new officers are as follows:
F. R. Upham, C.C.; J. F. Cole, V.C.; E. E. Finney, P; C. S. Vedder, M.W.; A.R. Bouldrie, K.R. S; Lacy Gwin, M. F.; L. E. Williams, M.E.; L. E. Hotchkiss, M.A.; F.P. Cummings and J.R. Boyington, trustee.

Hub Rebekah lodge N. 158 has elected the following officers; Noble Grand, Mrs. K. Thompson; Vice Grand, Mrs. W. G. Murray; Recording secretary, Mrs. P. P. Klock; Financial Secretary, Mrs. H. Horn; Treasurer, Mrs. A. F. Gerwing; trustee, Mrs. H. C. Eiche.

The Masons elected officers last Wednesday for the ensuing year as follows; E. A. Upham, W.M.; E. E. Winch, S.W.; E.E. Ames, JW; H.A. Lathrop, treasurer; W.W. Hollipeter, secretary; Louis Laemle, trustee.

The Macabees, on last Wednesday evening elected officers as follows;
T.C. Arters, C.; F.H. Ward, L.C.; T.F. Vannedom, R.K.; A. Goetschus, F.K.; E.F. Bowen, S.; James Hair, Chap.; Stewart Parks, M.A.; J. Dhein, G.; J. Schwenka, G.; J. Heidler, S.; Nels Nelson, P.; J.O. Bruckert, P.C.

The Catholic Knights on last Saturday evening elected officers as follows; Pres. Michael Steger; Vice Pres., Jos. Seidl; Recording Secretary, Gerhard Marx; Financial Sec'y, John Schuster; treasurer, Louis Bauman; trustee, Jos. Rebsteck, 3 years; Michael Berg, 2 years, John Maslaff 1 year; sentinel, Albert Wirkus; Marshal, Anton Schultz; Banner carrier, Frank Leitner; delegate to state convention, Louis Bauman, alternate, G. Marx.

The Ancient Order of United Workmen elected officers last Saturday evening, as follows; Past Master Workman, Ludolph Wolleson; Master Workman, E. V. Kautsky; Foreman, E. L. Cimmings; Overseer, Jacob C. Lang; guide, Dr. Henry Wahle; Recorder, Jos. O. Bruckert; Financier, D. C. Picket; Receiver, F. A. Broders; Inside Watchman, W. Cummings; Outside Watchman, John Trierweiler; Grand Lodge Representative, L. Wollerson; alternate, F. P. Cummings; Trustee, B. Elvis, Fred Oestreich, F. P. Cummings.

The St. Joseph society's new officers are as follows; President, Frank Luckenbach; Vice President Jos. Rebsteck; Sec'y, A. Kleinheintz; vice sec'y, Jos. Koholka; treasurer, Fred Doll; messenger, John Masslaff; Banner carrier, Jos. Kasberger; marshall, John Juno; director, M.G. Fleckenstein; Waibel, Frank Bichler; physician, W. J. Lonergan; executive committee, Rev. J. Eisen, Jos. Thomas, L. Baiman, Joseph Hoffman, Jos. Seidl.

Pine Tree Camp No. 1342, Moden Woodmen, elected officers on Manday evening, as follows; Venerable Consul, Stewart Smith; Banker, John Hoffman; Adviser, James Christianson; Clerk, C.M. Allen; Escort, Louis Schubert; Watchman, Peter Huth; Sentry, Leo Goldman; physicians, Dr. Budge and Dr. Wahle; managers, H. Andress, A. Goetschius, Peter Lemahieu.

Marshfield Lodge No. 110, I.O.O.F. (International Order of Odd Fellows) elected officers on Tuesday evening of this week; Noble Grand, H. Horn; Vice Grand, T. Wright; Recording Sc'y, E. M. Deming; Financial Sec'y, M. Wright; treasurer, L. Laemle; trustee, P. Cattanach.

Mrs. Catharine Farrish, of Grand Rapids, died last Friday, aged 95 years.

W. H. Cochran too charge of the Centalia postoffice on the 1st inst. Capt. Mennett, the retiring postmaster, espects to spend the winter in the south.





© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel