Obit: Ackerman, Lillie M. (1905 – 1964)                

Contact: Dinah Reinke


Surnames: Ackerman, Roytek, Laabs, Neiks, Gleuzer, Krueger, Johnson, Klocke, Mattson, Klemke, Burtardt, Bucey, Evans, Smith

------ Source: Tribune-Phonograph (Abbotsford, Clark Co., Wis.) 03/26/1964

------ Ackerman, Lillie M. (8 SEP 1905 – 15 MAR 1964)

Funeral services were held for Mrs. Lillie M. Ackerman, 58, and her eight-year-old grand son, John Roytek, both of rural Curtiss, on Wednesday, March 18.  Mrs. Ackerman and John Roytek died of injuries received in an auto accident in the town of Colby on Sunday, March 15.

The Rev. Roger Tellock officiated at the services at St. Paul’s Lutheran church, Curtiss.  Burial was made in Pine Hill cemetery, town of Mayville.

Pallbearers for Mrs. Ackerman were Fred Laabs, Walter Neiks Jr., Bud Gleuzer, Ken Gleuzer, Alvin Krueger and Ben Krueger.

Pallbearers for John Roytek were Dennis Johnson, Bruce Klocke, Steve Laabs, Billy Mattson, Dennis Klemke and Gordon Roytek. 

Lillie M. Ackerman was born Lillie Burtardt on Sept. 8, 1905, in town of Hoard, and received her education in town of Hoard and Curtiss schools.  In 1923 she married Joe Ackerman at Dorchester.  The couple lived on a farm in Curtiss.

Besides her husband, she is survived by three sons, Joe Ackerman Jr., Owen, Floyd Ackerman, Owen, and Orlando Ackerman, Owen; three daughters, Mrs. J. T. (Anita) Bucey, Murray, Ky., Mrs. Don (Dora) Evans, Waukegan, Ill., and Mrs. Barney (Donna) Roytek, Curtiss; 20 grand children; three brothers, John Burtardt, Owen, Gilbert Burtardt, Curtiss, and Reuben Burtardt, Gilman.

Mrs. Ackerman was preceded in death by one sister, Mrs. Albert (Angeline) Smith.

John Roytek, son of Mr. and Mrs. Barney Roytek, Curtiss, was born March 22, 1955.

He is survived by his parents, Barney and Donna Roytek, and two sisters, Diane and Dawn.




© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel