History: Democratic County Convention (1884)
Contact: Roger C. Davis

Surnames: Kepler, Vilas, Hayden, Bartz, Monteith, Gleason, Button, Murphy, Marvin, Olson, Quint, Horan, Gallagher, Schroeder, Powers, Schwahn, Lenz, Hayden, Crandall, Cahill, Galvin, Campbell, McMahon, Grinsell, Adloff, Hanson, Page, Frawley, Olson, Riley, Axtell, Martin, Button, Monteith, Rick, Storms, McDonald, Moses, Kelly, Whipple, Spehle, Quint, McCaghy, Boynton, Koll, Boyington, Lindenthaler, Jacobson, Kelly, Daniels, White, Marvin, Rewey, Straight, Rewey, Donnelly, Stumm, Brace, Culbertson, Schaeffer, Marsh, Douglas, Larson

----Source: Eau Claire Daily Free Press (Eau Claire, Eau Claire County, Wis.) 1 Sept. 1884, Page 3


A democratic convention for Eau Claire county, for the nomination of candidates for county offices and a candidate for the assembly and election of delegates to higher conventions, was called to order at 11 o'clock this morning, at the court house, by S. S. Kepler, chairman of the county committee,

On nomination of L. M. Vilas, H. H. Hayden was chosen temporary chairman, and on nomination of August Bartz, Joseph Monteith, of Augusta, was chosen temporary secretary.

On motion of C. R. Gleason, the chair appointed a committee of three on credentials—C. R. Gleason, Joseph Button and Jerry Murphy.

On motion of L. M. Vilas, the chair appointed a committee of three on permanent organization—J. C. Marvin, George Olson and A. D. Quint.

After a brief recess, the committee on permanent organization reported in favor of making the temporary organization permanent. Adopted.


The committee on credentials re ported the following list of delegates present and entitled to seats, each town, village and ward being entitled to three:

City of Eau Claire—First ward—Emmett Horan John Gallagher, August Schroeder.

Second—John Powers, Wm. Schwahn, George Lenz.

Third-H. H. Hayden, L. M. Vilas, C. R. Gleason.

Fourth—Wm. Crandall (3 votes).

Fifth—Jerry Murphy, Martin Cahill, P. Galvin.

Sixth—J. R. Campbell, John McMahon, John Grinsell.

Seventh—Jacob Adloff, Tollef Hanson, Martin Page.

Eighth—T. F. Frawley, Geo. Olson. T. F. Riley

Bridge Creek—Silas Axtell, Nicholas Martin, J. B. Button (to cast vote absentees).

Augusta Village—Joseph Monteith (to cast vote absentees), A. C. Rick, A. J. Storms.

Pleasant Valley—Peter McDonald, Merwin Moses, Thomas Kelly.

Brunswick—J. J. Whipple, Joseph Spehle, A. D. Quint.

Seymour—Wm Riley (two votes), Wm. McCaghy.

Union—Joseph Boynton, N. B. Koll, Calvin Boyington.

Lincoln—August Bartz, Philip Lindenthaler, J, Jacobson.

Washington—A. Kelly, P. Daniels, David White (to cast vote absentees )

Fairchild—J. C. Marvin (three votes.) Fairchild village—Geo. W. Rewey, Wm. Straight, Henry Rewey.

The report of the committee was adopted. There was no representation from Ludington, Drammen, Otter Creek or Clear Creek.

Adjourned to 2 P. M.


The convention was called to order at 2 o'clock.

For Sheriff—Emmett Horan presented the name of J. C. Donnelly, L. M. Vilas the name of George H. Daniels, John Grinsell that of Peter Stumm. Informal ballot—Daniels 28, Donnelly 16, Strum 5. Mr. Strum's name was withdrawn. Formal ballet—Daniels 33, Donnelly 19. Mr. Daniels was unanimously declared the nominee.
For Clerk of the Court—Informal ballot—L. A. Brace 49, James Culbertson 2. Mr. Brace was declared the unanimous nominee.

For Register of Deeds—informal ballot—H. J. A. Schaeffer 47. Declared formal and unanimous.

For District Attorney—informal bal lot—A. J. Marsh 46, H. H. Hayden l, James Douglas 4. Declared unanimous for Mr. Marsh,

For County Clerk—informal ballot— Lewis Larson 44, J. B. Button 6. John Powers 1. Declared unanimous for Mr. Larson.

As we go to press the convention were balloting for city treasurer.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel