News: New Year's Callers (Dec. 1882)

Contact: Roger C. Davis



----Source: EAU CLAIRE DAILY FREE PRESS (Eau Claire, Eau Claire County, Wis.) 30 December 1882, page 3


Some of the ladies are making grand preparations for the reception and entertainment of callers who propose to make the rounds next Monday, the, time honored custom yet being in vougue in this section. Should the weather prove propitious the number of callers will be unusually large, but the number who intend keeping open houses is considerably less than on previous similar occasions. Below a list is given of those who have handed in their names, although there will probably be many more who will receive that were undecided this evening.


Medames Jay Thomas. J. H. Noble, Misses Lillian Drummond, Ida Wright, Ella Robbins, will be at home with Mrs. M. S. Stein at her residence, corner of Emery St. and Porter Avenue.


Mrs. C. A. Chamberlin, corner 3d avenue and Bridge street, assisted by Mrs, C. M. Buffington, Mrs. B. A. Buffington, Mrs. Dr. E. C, French, Mrs. C. A. Stouch and Mrs. Will McIntosh.


Mrs, Geo. W. Smith, Mrs S. W. Chinn, Miss Isa Fish, Miss Fanny Chamberlin, and Miss Cornie Smith with Mrs. Arthur Smith.


Mrs. George T. Thompson and Mrs. Fred H. Graham, with Mrs. H. Walmsley, at the residence of Mr. Marston


Mrs. W. K. Galloway, Misses Petie Bellinger, Mary D. Woodward, with Mrs. F. W. Woodward, at her residence.


Mrs. Still J. Smith will be assisted at her residence by Mrs. W. H. Smith, Mrs. H. E. Houghton,of Durand, Misses Ella Dorwin, Clara Smith, Addie Smith, Susie Spaulding.


With Mrs. R. F. Wilson, Mrs. Isaiah Hale, Miss Sallie Winterbotham, Miss Nellie Wilson.


The hotels are preparing for good feasts for their transient and local guests expected to regale themselves with all of the delicacies of the season next Monday.


Misses Mamie Mason, Jennie Gans, Cora Deming, Lillie Wilcox, Maggie Van Hovenburg, Laura Ledstrand, Edith James, and Mollie Linde, with Emma Argard and Alba Argard. at the residence of M. J. Argard.




© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel