News: M.O.G. Picnic

Contact: Roger C. Davis



Surnames: Porter, Moon, Fowler, Griffin, Ballard, Lyman, Dulaney, Smith, Dorwin, Rust, Clark, Porter, Smith, Swasey, Joyce, Hopkins, Mason, Matchette, Fish, Headley, Farr, Shute, Argard, Wilcox, Bartlett, Sprague, Putnam, Evans, Bletcher, Owens, Kemp, Brown, Teall, Lockwood, Edgerton, Kennedy, French, Clark, Bartlett, Jackson, Metcalf, Abercrombie, Bellinger, Tasker, Rosencranz, Winslow, Tolles, Balcom, Dorwin, Fitch, Starr, Pierce, Hibbard, Young


----Source: Eau Claire Daily Free Press (Eau Claire, Eau Claire County, Wis.) 18 July 1884, Page 3


The M. O. G. Picnic


The M.O.G. Society very successfully carried out one of the most delightful events of the season yesterday afternoon, in their excursion to Porterville. The party left the city in carriages about 3 o'clock, and spent the afternoon in the sylvan surroundings of Porterville. When the evening shades descended and brought the pleasant picnic to a close, the party repaired to Porter & Moon's farm house, where the evening was spent in dancing. Fowler's band having been engaged for the occasion. Fortune favored in the matter of weather, and the drive back to the city was pleasantly accomplished. Following is a list of those composing the party:


Mr. and Mrs. M. Griffin, Mr. and Mrs. Ballard, Dr. and Mrs. Lyman, Mr. and Mrs. D. R. Moon, Mr. and Mrs. Daniel Dulaney, John S. Smith, Miss Ella Dorwin, A. J. Rust, Miss Lizzie Clark, Will Porter, Miss Addie Smith, Miss Carrie Swasey, Miss Nellie Smith, James F. Joyce, Miss Minnie Joyce, A. H. Hopkins of Madison, G. W. Mason Jr., F. J. Matchette, Miss Isa Fish, E. T. Headley, Frank Farr, Miss Mamie Shute, Miss Emma Argard, Miss Lilian Wilcox, Miss Emily Shute, George Argard, Miss Dot Bartlett, Mrs. W. P. Bartlett, Miss Sprague, R. E. Rust, E. B. Putnam, Wm. Evans of St. Paul, Fred Bletcher, Frank Moon, Mr. and Mrs. John Shute, James Owens, Miss Addie Kemp, Miss Lulu Brown, Fred Teall, Charles Smith, Will Lockwood, Miss May Edgerton of Binghampton N.Y., Miss Jo Kennedy, Miss Myrta French, Miss Lillie Clark of Berlin, Wis., E. W. Bartlett, Miss Bertha Jackson, H. K. Metcalf, Miss Ella Abercrombie, Miss Mattie Abercrombie, Miss Eva Abercrombie, Miss Petie Bellinger, Miss Cad Tasker, Miss Helen Rosencranz, G. Winslow, Dewitt Tolles, Miss Mamie Mason, W. H. Balcom, Miss Ida Dorwin of Durand, W. J. Fitch, E. J. Starr of Ripon, Miss Lizzie Pierce of Indianapolis, G. B. Mason, E. H. Hibbard, J. H. Young.




© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel