School: Teachers Institute (1884)
Contact: Roger C. Davis

Surnames: Parker, Andrus, Artis, Asplin, Avery, Babcock, Ball, Banister, Barnes, Barrett, Bartlett, Bliss, Boleman, Bestwick, Bostwick, Bradt, Bride, Brilley, Brown, Buell, Briggs, Burnes, Campbell, Chadbourne, Chappel, Chase, Clark, Cobban, Conley, Cornell, Coly, Cummings, Currie, Dean, Desilels, Duck, Ellis, Fear, Fletcher, Foster, Ganns, Gilbert, Gunn, Hackett, Hadley, Harmison, Hauser, Hauxhurst, Herrell, Hewitt, Hogan, Horel, Hubbard, Jackson, Joyce, Richardson, Rosebrock, Sands, Sawyer, Sehlegelmilch, Searl, Shell, Stevens, Thatcher, Kearney, Kemp, Kriesel, Kyle, Lancaster, Langdell, Luneau, McDonald, McKean, McMahon, McMann, McMillon, McNeal, McVicar, Muldoon, Muzzie, Nauman, Nichols, Mitter, O'Brien, O'Meara, Pautz, Perkins, Pickett, Reese, Reily, Richards, Workes, Tickner, Tinker, Tracy, Ulurica, Watson, Wight

----Source: Eau Claire Daily Free Press (Eau Claire, Eau Claire County, Wis.) 20 Aug 1884, Page 3

The School-Teachers.

The teachers' institute assembled at the north side school house listened to an address by Prest. W. D. Parker, of the River Falls normal school, Tuesday afternoon. Prof. Parker also conducted an exercise in Geography, illustrating the whole exercise by examples, and occupied the latter part of the afternoon in a discourse on the mutual relations of the teacher and the pupil.

Today's session was opened with 121 present, and the subject of arithmetic and reading in the second form was taken up, as well as an exercise in spelling. The following resolution was adopted:

Resolved, That we, the teachers in this institute assembled, hereby tender our most heartfelt thanks to Pres. D. W. D. Parker for his call on us this afternoon and for his interesting and instructive address during the time of his stay, and hope that whenever we have an institute he may be as willing to call on us again as we are ready to have him come and willing to hear him.

THE REGISTER contains the following names of teachers in attendance upon the institute:

Wilson D. Andrus, Clara Artis, Laura Artis, Mrs. Coreelia Asplin, Anna L. Avery, Gertie A. Babcock, Mrs Addie Babcock, Corrie I. Ball, Mary E. Banister, Ella L. Barnes, Eva Barnes, Olive C. Barnes, Sarah Barrett, Isaac Bartlett, Fannie Bliss, Anna M. Boleman, Kittie Bestwick, Minnie C. Bostwick. Mary A. Bradt, Helen M. Bride, Julia E. Brilley, Anna C. Brown, Callie T. Buell, Chas. O. Briggs, Mary A. Burnes, Mary B. Burnes, Emma T. Campbell, Ida Campbell, .Florence Chadbourne, Hannah A. Chappel, Hattie E. Chase, Lillian Clark, Mabel K. Cobban, Mary E. Conley, Minnie H. Cornell, Alida B. Coly, Louise E. Cummings, Minnie P. Currie, Jennie Dean, Armande Desilels, Maggie Duck, Libby Ellis, Edith E. Fear, Mary E. Fletcher, Hattie E. Foster, Lillie E. Ganns, Sadie Gilbert, Annie S. Gunn. P. H. Hackett, Ida M. Hadley, Alice C. Harmison, Estella Hauser, Mary H. Hauxhurst, Ernest G. Herrell, Hattie Hewitt, Aggie M. Hogan, Olive E. Horel, Elva J. Hubbard, Addie C. Jackson, Minnie C. Joyce, Emma L. Richardson, Jessie A. Richardson, Lillian Rosebrock, Alice J. Sands, Lillie L. Sawyer, Emilie A. Sehlegelmilch, Ida A. Searl, Nora Shell, Willie F. Stevens, Etta Thatcher, Kittie Kearney, Libbie Kearney, Addie Kemp, C. A. Kriesel, Elva I. Kyle, Ella E. Lancaster; Mina Lancaster, Carrie L. Langdell, Mary J. Luneau, Gertrude McDonald, Maggie McKean, Mary J. McKean, Susie E. McKean, Ella McMahon, Emma M. McMahon, Kittie McMann, Jennie McMillon, Sue Preston McNeal, Adelia McVicar, Anna Muldoon, Julia A. Muzzie, Etta M. Nauman, Hattie M. Nauman, Lizzie Nichols, Mrs. M. P. Mitter, Maude Mitter, Nellie O'Brien, Lizzie O'Meara, Mary O'Meara, Ferdinand A. Pautz, Clara L. Perkins, Cora Pickett, Hattie Reese, Kittie M. Reily, Frankie Richards, Hattie J. Richards, Myrtle Richards, Carrie Workes, Florence Tickner, Lizzie T. Tinker, Mettie F. Tracy, Amelia Ulurica, Jessie Watson, Mary G. Wight .




© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel