School: Teachers of Eau Claire County (1884)
Contact: Roger C. Davis

Surnames: Frawley, Ticknor, Cuddy, Buell, Hogan, Bostwick, Saunders, Howland, Schuster, Ames, Clark, Slye, Tinker, Foster, Bevans, Kemp, McNeal, McGregor, Babcock, Barnes, Bliss, Bride, Bartlett, Chattelle, Clapp, Culver, Cummings, Hauxhurst, Hayes, Hosford, Kepler, Kriesel, Lancaster, Lewis, Paterson, Pilcher, Sanford, Tyler, Blakesley

----Source: Eau Claire Daily Free Press (Eau Claire, Eau Claire County, Wis.) 26 Aug 1884, Page 3

The Public Schools.

The schools of the north and the east side districts will open for the fall term next Monday, September 1, and those of the west side district September 8, one week later. It is expected that the new building in the east side district, for primary classes, to be known as the Thorp school, will be ready for occupancy next Monday, but the new primary school which is being erected in the north side district will probably not. be finished until one week later. The force of instructors engaged for the coming-year is as follows:

District No, 1—Principal, M. S. Frawley; teachers—Florence Ticknor, Anna Cuddy, Callie Buell, Aggie Hogan, Minnie Bostwick, Mary Saunders and three others yet to be engaged.

District No. 2—principal, H. C. Howland; teachers—Bertha R. Schuster, Martha J. Ames, Maggie Clark, Mary B. Slye, Lizzie Tinker, Hattie Foster, Mary M. Bevans, Addie Kemp, Susie McNeal. The two last named ladies will have charge of the Thorp school.

District No. 3—principal. J. K. McGregor; teachers—Gertie Babcock, Hettie Barnes, Fanny P. Bliss, Helen Bride, Isaac Bartlett, Ella Chattelle, Ettie M. Clapp, Mrs. T. E. Culver, Louisa Cummings, Mary H. Hauxhurst, Mary Hayes, Margaret Hosford, Julia Kepler, C. A. Kriesel, Ella Lancaster, Mima Lancaster, Irene Lewis, Helen Paterson, Anna Pilcher, Fannie Sanford, A. E. Tyler, Mrs. M. W. Tyler, Carrie A. Blakesley. Of these, four will be selected to take charge of the new building now being erected opposite the Washington school and which is to be completed October 1.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel