News: Owen – Losing Their Doctor (Jul 1977)

Transcriber: Stan

Surnames: Arora, Janda, Braswell, Peden, Phillips, Awe, Klabon, Hughes

---------Source: Owen Enterprise (Owen, Clark County, Wis.) 27 Jul 1977

The members of the Owen Development Club have announced the leaving of Dr. Vasu D. Arora of the Owen Medical Clinic. Richard Hughes, spokesman for the club, reported that Dr. Arora has left his practice in Owen and Boyd for a new practice in Epworth, Iowa.

Dr. Arora, from India, arrived and began practice in the medical clinic in December of 1973. He also had an office in Boyd, and lived in Menomonie. His last day to see patients in the Owen Clinic was on Thursday, July 14, and he left on Friday, July 15.

According to clinic office receptionist Betty Janda, the clinic office will remain open for several weeks for collection of bills and taking calls.

In 1954 a group of Owen business men established the Owen Development Club, with the express purpose of securing a doctor for the city. Owen was without a resident physician in the 50’s. In 1955, through the efforts of the Development Club, the Owen Medical Clinic building was built and the first resident doctor was Dr. Harold Braswell. He was followed by Dr. Joh Peden from Scotland, T. Alun Phillips from Wales, and then Dr. Arora.

Several nurse have been employed at the clinic during Dr. Arora’s tenure. Mrs. Arnold (Lydia) Awe started work on December 26, 1973, and Kay Klabon, X-ray technologist, worked for two years to the day of closing. Betty Janda stated in December of 1973.

According to Mr. Hughes, the Owen Development Club will be seeking another doctor to take Dr. Arora’s place.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel