News: Colby (28 Mar 1889)

Contact: Robert Lipprandt 

Surnames: Collier, Foote, Graf, Graham, Gotchy, Hamilton, Healy, Leitle, May, Neumeister, Prosser, Schlachter, Schlecht, Shortell, Taylor, Young, Waldt

----Source: The Tribune - Phonograph (Abbotsford, WI) 3/26/2014

Originally published in the Colby Phonograph, Thursday, March 28, 1889

Undersheriff Nic Healy was in town last Wednesday, summoning jurors on the special venire, on the Schlecht case, and nearly depopulated the east side of the village.

Among those take on the venire from the town of Hull were: J. F. Prosser, M. Graf, James Graham, I. C. Gotchy, Herman Neumeister, J. G. Schlachter, Robert Foote, W. C. May, James Taylor, John Leitle, Geo. Collier, Frank Waldt, M. A. Young, R. Shortell and John Hamilton.

Proposed Town Hull, Town House

Notices have been posted throughout the town of Hull, giving notice that at the annual town meeting the question of building a Town House somewhere in the center of the town will be voted on.

The building of a Town House would entail a large expense that the town is not in condition to stand at present. The taxpayers are burdened now about as heavily as they can stand, and with a judgment of $2,500 hanging over them, we cannot help but believe that it is a mistake to think of adding the expense of building a Town House at this time.

We do not know who the authors of the scheme are, neither do we care, but, we would advise the taxpayers to leave the matter of building a Town House until the judgment and present indebtedness of the town has been settled.

After the judgment has been settled and the other indebtedness is paid, it might be well to consider the question though we should, even then, favor getting the road of the town in good shape first.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel